Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 10, 2015
very nice
Aug 10, 2015
Great campsite although campers are jammed in pretty tight. The resaurant was nice. We stayed during the Sturgis motorcycle rally unknowingly and that was a little aggravating. I also think the prices were jacked up because of it. Beautiful area and really appreciated the shuttle to the evening ceremony at Rushmore.
Aug 10, 2015
Great Location but the rate is the highest we have ever paid. We had reservations for 2 nights but noise from motor cycles was too much for us. We ask and received a refund for the second night.
Aug 10, 2015
Great
Aug 10, 2015
Very commercial and busy site.
Aug 10, 2015
Fantastic. Clean, friendly and great activities for the kids.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Not nearly enough bathrooms for the amount of people. Our narrow campsite had little grass - and a large water tank.
Aug 10, 2015
Had a great time. Nice place
Aug 09, 2015
The issues that I have is the Very poor wireless Both Internet and cell... I have to do business while there every year and had to drive to Hill city to do my business taking away from time enjoying the resort and riding the Ralley. I have stayed with you at Palmer Gulch since 2002. Worst witless seen. Made me think about moving to different camp. Staff was fantastic but 1young male supervisor. Ru
Aug 09, 2015
The site was a bit wet but that was weather issues We also had no water 1 morning but again because of weather the water was dirty and probably plugged filters But it was resolved right away Campground overall very tidy great location and lots to do
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
It was incredible everything there was clean and very well maintained thanks for a wonderful week we will be back.
Aug 09, 2015
We loved it! So much to do especially for a family. We were there for the 75th Anniversary for Sturgis, but will stay again if we are in the area.
Aug 09, 2015
Had a great time. We were there ten years ago, this was our second time.Cant be better!
Aug 09, 2015
Poor rating due to the fact that we made reservations 10 months in advance to be told we cannot have the site we requested. The resort was very understaffed and not at all prepared for the busy week. We were very disappointed and will not return to this location.
Aug 09, 2015
Our campsite was so rocky and uneven it was difficult to walk without tripping. It rained and it became a mud pit. There was NO wifi even though you advertise an Internet cafe on the grounds. Ok campground for children and that's it. For the amount we were charged, it would have covered the cost of a hotel and we could have parked the RV in their parking lot!
Aug 09, 2015
Long delays at check in. RV site was unsuitable for our size of 5th wheel. Very unlevel - almost impossible to step into RV. Sites crowded. People and RV/truck traffic encroaching on site. Chaotic KOA. Signs to KOA not sufficient when travelling from East.
Aug 09, 2015
Centrally located to everything. Friendly staff. They have everything for sale that you will forget when you leave home. And on site restaurants , entertainment, dog walking area, conveniently placed restrooms. They got it all there, man. Cabins to rent, spaces for trailers, or tents (mine). Very memorable. I am sure there so much more and I didn't see it.
Aug 09, 2015
We had a wonderful time at the Rushmore KOA! Staff members were very helpful in meeting our needs. The facilities were clean and kept up.
Aug 09, 2015
no phone service,was not told in advance, no wifi,no cable ,was not told in advance my next call Monday morning will be to koa ceo
Aug 08, 2015
You need to do something about the WiFi no WiFi or phone service It would be nice to have one or the other @ least. We checked out some other Camp Grounds while we were there and they all had phone service and WiFi!! Don't think we will be staying @ Pulmer gulch KOA again!!
Aug 08, 2015
asked to use our reward points upon/before registration but were told we couldn't . the points were not honored, then when we persisted were told it would be a huge ordeal to go back, refund and start over, We felt they just did not want to do it, we would use them elsewhere. While at camp we were accosted by a group of con men, we reported this to the office, otherwise a good stay.
Aug 08, 2015
Internet is not very good, no cable for tv, and only 1 hot shower out of 6. Staff was very pleasant and kind.
Aug 08, 2015
Me and my wife have been coming here for years we love this place being at a great campground with it has to offer that's why we come back thank you for making our stay here always a great one
Aug 08, 2015
The campground is in a great location for all of the tourist sites. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The shuttle to the lighting was very convenient. One of the best we've been to in our travels!!
Aug 08, 2015
Palmer Gulch KOA was in the center of all the sites around Mt. Rushmore. Facilities were clean, adding to the comfort and experience for camping with my family.
Aug 08, 2015
X
Aug 08, 2015
This KOA was touted as a premier destination. We were pleased with the facilities for kids, but the restrooms were filthy (we tried many buildings at various times), the wifi did not work (not even at the registration building), and the upper section has very uneven sites (we did move to a better one). As with many KOAs, location is a determining factor as to whether it is a good destination.
Aug 08, 2015
Aug 08, 2015
AMAZING LOCATION!! We could have stayed another week!! So much for the kids to do. Clean, friendly, accommodating, perfect.
Aug 08, 2015
The campground does offer a great deal of activities for families. This is wonderful if you plan to spend most of your time on the grounds. Vey disappointed in the bathroom facilities. Not enough bathrooms in the areas and not very updated.
Aug 08, 2015
The summer shine or what ever the groups name that helps run the kids area, were fantastic. I enjoyed singing worship songs around the campfire. Everyone we ran into was super nice and helpful. Great time! Could us a few more tables with umbrellas in the pool area, and more tables in the shade by the chess/checker, and volleyball area though.
Aug 08, 2015
Great for kids. Playgrounds are wonderful. Very nice shops on site.
Aug 08, 2015
We reserved a tent site and we're given a place barely large enough for my tent and car to sit on the same gravel drive. The surrounding RVs were so densely packed it seemed obviously double booked. The restrooms at station 4 were filthy (feces stained toilet paper on the floor and one shower where someone had emptied their bowels) my son reported it and no one fixed till the next day
Aug 08, 2015
Nice amenities but the water was dark brown and scary to bath in. Also, the WiFi was too hard to connect to.
Aug 08, 2015
Even in the middle of the 75th Sturgis rally the people and service at this KOA was top notch. It was sold out but you didn't feel crowded. Be prepared for no cell service or wifi (they have it but very little access). Plenty of things to do for kids and adults alike.
Aug 08, 2015
We had a critical problem with are A?C I believe Susan, the Mgr.and all staff went above and beyond to help us and considering the how busy they were that is saying something! Thank You and we will come back. supper place to stay! J&D Schaeffer
Aug 08, 2015
Super clean, easy to get in and out with our big rig and small trailer. Lots of amenities. The restaurant was an added bonus. This is one of the best KOA's we visited on our cross country trip! Thx
Aug 08, 2015
Awesome. The cat's meow of KOA's. Was lucky to get an additional night... The kids had tons of fun!
Aug 08, 2015
Was not happy that my camp space was not available 2nd morning at 11 oclock and that it takes so long to get food at the restaraunt....definetely will not go back to this KOA during Sturgis Rally. Had to leave a day early and if course they would not refund my 82.71..not any percentage of it. .
Aug 08, 2015
This KOA is huge. Avoid it during Sturgis season as the quiet hours are largely ignored. Sites do not have level tent pads. But, the amenities were nice and the kids enjoyed all the fun stuff.
Aug 07, 2015
Love staying here, this was our 3rd year here, just wish we could get Internet and phone signal at out site.
Aug 07, 2015
Needs some greenery at sites.
Aug 07, 2015
sewer backed up at our site, bad service at the restaurant, cold showers, close,loud and rude neighbors. We left 3 days early and they wouldn't refund anything because it was during a bike rally.
Aug 07, 2015
We stayed here over the Sturgis week and it was a horrible experience. From the over priced WET firewood to the RUDE employees in every department to the TINY campsite to the HORRIBLE service and food in the restaurants! I would never recommend this campground to anyone! And to top it off it was incredibly expensive for what we got...
Aug 07, 2015
Once you checked in,paid the for the stay, they where done with u!!! No phone,WiFi,TV,total dead zone.
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals