Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Aug 05, 2013
Very nice staff. Grounds are clean. Needs more bathrooms and showers as well as more cleaning in those facilties. In general, some updating/upgradind is needed in a few of the facilites.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
There were not enough showers, and the showers were dirty. Finding a campsite after dark in a KOA this size very difficult. Staff responsive and very courteous.
Aug 05, 2013
Great campground - lots for kids to do. I would stay here again.
Aug 05, 2013
Super great time! Very accomodating and excellent for kids of all ages.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
Had a Premium site, very disappointed. Pull through flooded, muddy, not enough gravel! Grass, shrub area weedy and not kept up. Premium site not worth extra money.
Aug 04, 2013
We had a great time! We will use this park in the future. I wish my site had cable, it was listed as "full" hookup. I didn't realize cable wasn't included. Wi-fi needs to be a bit more powerful for the amount of people in the campground.
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
Awesome Location!
Aug 03, 2013
There was plenty to do. The staff were friendly and helpful. The forward comfort station could use updating. Better WiFi
Aug 03, 2013
It was a very nice place to stay. We had the poorest camp site of them all (571). Not even sure why they think this spot should be for a camper. Otherwise the place was amazing.
Aug 03, 2013
Great location and staff. Only exception was the water in the pool and water slide was a little dirty, but the staff was working to clean it up. Lots to do at the KOA besides going to Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse monuments. Kid and animal friendly. Even had trash pickup.
Aug 03, 2013
Great Campground. Horrible Internet
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 03, 2013
The only thing that needs robe improved is the water quality. There is toouch iron going to the rvs causing the taps and toilet to run ornge.
Aug 03, 2013
This was a very nice KOA with level parking, a terrific staff, and a lot of entertainment for kids. My one complaint is the horrible internet. Even IF you could connect, it was extremely slow...that coupled in a place where there is no cellular service made things very frustrating when you needed to be able to communicate. Other than that, it was a very nice stay and we will likely be back.
Aug 03, 2013
Great place for a family. Great location.
Aug 03, 2013
Asked for 50 amp each time reservation was made an site was 30 first time and had to strongly ask on second time to get 50 amp. Layout could be spaced to allow more room to maneuver and camp on
Aug 03, 2013
the experience exceeded my expectations. Thanks for the great trip!
Aug 03, 2013
Although the campground facilities are very good ~ we didn't enjoy because we paid premium rate for a rear / remote site.
Aug 03, 2013
Price high. Facilities over taxed. Good stop for kids. Not older adults. Convenient to sights.
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
We were passing through. Arrived late & our paperwork was waiting on us when we got there. Nice, clean & well taken care of. Would definitely again.
Aug 02, 2013
We were traveling in the area last year and saw this KOA and decided then we wanted to come back and stay. WOW, what a nice facility. Nice place for family and kids with LOTS to do. We will be back next year!
Aug 02, 2013
Had an excellent time! Great place for families. Many things to do. Only problem I had was that the lady who brings the horses to the stable went by our campsite each morning at 6:30 hooting and hollering at the horses to keep moving. Our daily wake up call.
Aug 02, 2013
great for the kids, lots to do
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Loved all the enities and great views of mountains. Two suggestions though: change water in hot tubs and waterslide more, very dirty and smelled like pee. Need more showers/bathrooms. Too many people for the amount of showers, even at 7:00 a.m. No room for women to get ready.
Aug 02, 2013
Good proximity to area attractions. Good variety of activities at campground. Some sites had puddles in them after rainfall.
Aug 02, 2013
Loved it! Great place to stay and wonderful people.
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Awesome location and facilities along with friendly and helpful staff. Our 5 year old absolutely loved it with all the things to do.
Aug 01, 2013
Best amenities and activities versus other KOA campgrounds. Great all you can eat pancake breakfast, loved the ATV rentals for trail riding with the family and finally the quality of the showers and restrooms surpasses those of other campgrounds. Definitely should be a top rated KOA in my opinion.
Aug 01, 2013
This was by far the best campground we have ever stayed in. Fantastic activities for everyone. Very clean and accommodating site offers a fantastic family experience.
Aug 01, 2013
This is my first disappointed stay after staying here for 13 years. The pool and hot tub next to our campsite was closed for 5of the 8days, when it opened it was ice cold, hot tub was working the day we left. tadpoles swimming in front pool, slimy water, hot tub too small now. #3bathroom needs remodeling. Sink out of service for 8days or more. Brown water coming out of sinks&faucet on campsite.
Aug 01, 2013
Huge disappointment. The showers were disgusting. I have been camping for many years and your showers were worse than almost all that I have seen. There was mold and mildew on the shower curtains, dirt all over the floors.They were nasty. I will never stay there again- also the campsite was uneven. Buy some fill dirt and level them.
Aug 01, 2013
WOW! Super nice campground with so much to do! Beautifully maintained in the perfect location in the hills. Made this an awesome family vacation for all.
Aug 01, 2013
i know of friends that stayed there. which i told them about your place. It is one of the best places to stay. this is my third time at your campground in the last 15 years. I would not have any problems comming back
Aug 01, 2013
Bathrooms need to be cleaned more... too many people and not enough cleaning... same with piols
Aug 01, 2013
The campgrounds were very family friendly and literally the biggest KOA office I have seen. However,the camping sites were too cramped --way too cramped, and people did not drive 10 MPH so the safety of children is questionable,
Aug 01, 2013
We stay in about 100 campgrounds per year and this without a doubt beats them all. Great people, great facilities, and endless activities.
Aug 01, 2013
Several fun activities for the kids, facilities very clean. Personnel at bounce section near splash pad and bike rentals not happy people should not be there dealing with public. Same as the ice cream store they could smile and mean it. The older greeter gentleman when you arrived very personable. Otherwise everything was good.
Aug 01, 2013
upon check in it had rained. the roads were muddy and with a big rig my coach sank into the mud . I had reserved a deluxe pad but was told upon check in they were all sold out so I wss put in the back with 45' MH and tow. tight spot Internet didnt work and no cell or hot spot service.left a day early - couldn't take the noise
Aug 01, 2013
The bathrooms were dirty - mold on curtains & shower floors in the corners. The bathrooms were "cleaned" daily but in order to get clean they have to pick the trash up off the floor not just use the mop to push it into a corner. I made a reservation for a tent site with water/electric. Had to change sites, first site would have never held 1 tent- respect for customer was lacking.
Aug 01, 2013
Sites were very small. We had no trees. The pool was green. The waterslide water was brown. The staff was helpful and the amenities were fantastic. Nice and quiet, beautiful location. Bathroom was not as good as other KOAs
Aug 01, 2013
Great place everything was well kept. They deliver as promises.
Aug 01, 2013
When we arrived we were assigned to a site that was in a drainage ditch. It was a muddy mess. Next day we were able to move to high ground. There were tons of people and we felt like sardines(not out style). However, the staff was great and the place was super clean and friendly. Tons for our kids to do.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.