Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 10, 2016
The best camp ground we have stayed at. Well kept and clean. A lot of activities for every one in the family.
Aug 10, 2016
The location of this KOA was excellent! Large facility with many features. The issues we had was with the details. The bathrooms and showers were nasty to say the least. The water spigot leaked.,and general housekeeping was not up to par with all the other KOA,s we have used
Aug 10, 2016
Nice facility. Lots of activities. Very close to all attractions in area
Aug 10, 2016
The bathrooms were really bad...not clean and really small, the stool was broken as well. Granted we got there really late...but at night not impressed. Laundry facility dryers need updating...dryers did not all work. In morning saw the beautiful flowers planted and the many things to do at campsite...so the initial impression softened.
Aug 09, 2016
Our family of 5 really had a great time staying at your koa. This is a destination resort in it's own right. So many activities for kids and adults. So convenient with on-site eateries and stores. I was truly impressed with cleanliness of everything and friendliness of staff. Truly made some great vacation memories during our stay and will absolutely stay here again in the future!
Aug 09, 2016
Amazing! There were so many kid activities to do in the KOA itself, we arranged our schedule to hang out for a while. Clean, friendly, helpful and kind. We loved this resort and plan to come back to stay longer soon!
Aug 09, 2016
Campground is nice. Good activities for the kids. Yes it is more spendy and it is going to be busy during the summer. Campgrounds have good spots and bad spots. Wifi and Cell service are the worst part. No cell service on Verizon for me. Bring walkie talkie to communicate for kids if they go out on their own. Food is good and not that expensive if you eat at the restaurants.
Aug 09, 2016
It was great to have rental cars available on site. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Did what was best for us, not what made them the most money. So appreciate that! Already planning another trip west to stay here again!
Aug 09, 2016
We had a wonderful time! Our family enjoyed your many free activities as well as the few that cost. No need to go outside the campground however the surrounding area also had much to offer. We loved the sense of freedom we felt and the friendliness of the KOA staff!
Aug 09, 2016
Our stay was great!
Aug 09, 2016
Amenities outstanding...location exceptional...service top rate!!!
Aug 09, 2016
Very nice campground . Mount Rushmore and Crasy Horse memorial near by .
Aug 09, 2016
Nice campground. Only issue is cell phone signal was non exsistant thus making the wifi useless.
Aug 09, 2016
The campground was great and well taken care of. Just didn't like that was reserved two camp site (even call and talked to someone) and they wouldn't let us park next to each other. We were clear across the campground from each other.
Aug 09, 2016
Great customer service and events for the kids!
Aug 09, 2016
Over priced for the amenities you get for most sites. Wi Fi and Internet service a joke.
Aug 09, 2016
Great
Aug 08, 2016
We payed the extra $10 per day to guarantee our spot up front and ended in the back by the kid zone. We were having a family reunion with out kids and ended up in the area with the most kids. I reserved a spot in September 2015. The manager was very rude about it. I payed over $1100 for our stay. He stated this area was reserved for rally people even though we left before the rally.
Aug 08, 2016
We had a fabulous time. Excellent facilities. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Aug 08, 2016
Great camp sites and very clean. Friendly staff. We will definitely come back.
Aug 08, 2016
Great for kids. Need to put more gravel on sites--way too muddy when rains. Young staff were great with kids
Aug 08, 2016
First time at a KOA and sure will not be the last. Mount Rushmore KOA is a now a yearly stay for us.
Aug 08, 2016
The first 2 nights we had issues with other camper's aggressive dogs not on a leash. After saying something to them and KOA nothing happened. Luckily they only stayed two nights. The water slide was down 4 out of the 6 days we were there. My daughter was able to enjoy it the last day. If you are looking for a relaxing quiet place don't go here. Lots of unsupervised kids.
Aug 08, 2016
Best KOA out there!! We always recommend to friends traveling in the Rushmore area.
Aug 08, 2016
Awesome place! Best place to stay with kids. Great staff. will definitely be returning.
Aug 08, 2016
Great facilities, very friendly staff. John went out of his way when we arrived to help with our trailer and a better campsite.
Aug 08, 2016
We paid way too much for a site that took half an hour to level our trailer. Then the food we had at the restaurant was not very tasty.
Aug 07, 2016
This is the nicest KOA we have stayed at. The only improvement I would offer is the Wine tasting is a great perk of staying here and one that brings us back but have more than 1 person working during 6pm to 7pm.
Aug 07, 2016
This is our favorite campground by far! Very clean, tons of activities for the whole family, the friendly staff always had fun stuff for the kids to do, and it's only a few minutes from Rushmore. We loved our stay here and would definitely come back
Aug 07, 2016
Kids had a great time- so much to do!
Aug 07, 2016
Aug 07, 2016
Although many of the sites were very nice, ours was in a poorly drained muddy area. This is a great campground for kids. Lots of activities but very noisy, even at night with all the young parents. Lots of clean hot showers but only 2 flush toilets for men serving a third of the park. Overall a good experience.
Aug 07, 2016
I called explained we would have a 12 ft trailer. When checking in they did not have any of the information I gave them. Thank goodness for our ambassador John, he worked with us and was able to get everything in our site. The bad thing was when taking a shower we would loose complete water pressure. Also they claim to have Wi-FI but I had bad luck every time I tried to use it. Could not log on.
Aug 07, 2016
Our family enjoyed our stay and all the fun activities available. Horseback trail ride and chuck wagon dinner were great. Suggestions: pool needs more seating and RV sites need better gravel maintenance. Our area was muddy. Thank you!
Aug 07, 2016
The one big issue I had with this campground is that everyone is charged a fee for all the activities such as the water slide pool etc. and also for the dump station. We didn't use any of those but they would not remove the charge. We had full hook-ups and did not need to dump and my kids are older and did not want to use the water activities.
Aug 07, 2016
Water slide was down, I was unable to get WIFI even at the main building. This KOA is huge with lots to do.
Aug 07, 2016
the sites were tight but everyone was friendly. If you have kids there is so much for them to do!
Aug 07, 2016
Love the views from our campsite, friendly staff, tons to do right at the campground!
Aug 07, 2016
We were very happy to stay at this koa. I would recommend expanding cellular coverage and wifi.
Aug 07, 2016
Very nice campground. Facilities were clean and the staff was very helpful. There were also plenty of activities for the whole family.
Aug 07, 2016
We loved how close this KOA is to everything around and the extras that are available, our only draw back was the lack of cashiers when wanting to make purchases during the evening. (none at store, only at the check in line).
Aug 06, 2016
Aug 06, 2016
No wifi or internet was extremely inconvenience, not enough bath houses in upper levels.
Aug 05, 2016
The KOA had everything you could cram into it - however what it doesn't have is common courtesy for other campers - You put out a quite large booklet on dos , don'ts and activities - however you mention nothing about having campers respect other campers campsites - NEVER in all my 40 plus years camping have we seen people literally walking within one inch of camper door.
Aug 05, 2016
Water quality is the worst I have ever seen.
Aug 05, 2016
Beautiful setting, very clean campground, friendly people and so much to do. Loved it!
Aug 05, 2016
great camp. great staff. great activities. terrific location. couldn't have asked for a better KOA. really made our vacation. the only drawback was sites were closer together than we are used too, but that didn't really matter in the big picture. had a wonderful time.!!!!!!!!
Aug 05, 2016
Amazing place
Aug 05, 2016
Sites are on top of each other & has no drainage. Rained everyday we were there & we were in a giant mud hole.
Aug 05, 2016
This campground is located right in the heart of the Black Hills, making it easy to do the day trips to various scenic sites. It is also set back and sheltered from a busy highway, which makes it a relatively quiet campground.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy