Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 26, 2015
Needs better wifi, was center in the places to visited.
Jul 26, 2015
Best campground we have ever been to.
Jul 26, 2015
It's an awesome resort. Staff were very helpful. Tons of activities for kids. Beautiful campground. Will be back again in the future.
Jul 26, 2015
Very limited wifi. Staff was great and plenty of other amenities.
Jul 26, 2015
Asked when making reservations to make sure I could get good wifi. Was told it would be no problem. I lost a lot of business because I could not download any contracts. I even went to your lodge computer that was hardwired to your network and could not download any either. I would be on internet for 10sec then would disconnect. To be honest you should refund my cost of stay as I lost 1000's! If I
Jul 26, 2015
It really is a resort! Wonderful bathrooms, best I've seen. Friendly young people working there. Everyone was friendly.
Jul 26, 2015
Had our two grandsons and there was so much for them to do to keep them busy. The shower and restrooms by us We're very clean. Enjoyed the horseback riding.
Jul 26, 2015
We enjoyed the stay, beautiful campground nice location the only thing that could improve is the water.
Jul 26, 2015
The sites are very small. As in, we asked to be moved from our original site because we couldn't fit both our tent and my truck on the site. The sites are very very close together, very little privacy. Other than that, the location was great and it was good for kids. We were overall disappointed, but not enough to really complain or move elsewhere.
Jul 26, 2015
Very nice campground. Would definitely rebook again.
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Location was great for the places we wanted to see & visit. Food was ok & affordable. No cell reception or cable.
Jul 26, 2015
Fun place for the kids. Busy place though. Great pancake breakfast Excellent location.
Jul 26, 2015
Excellent KOA. It is huge, but with excellent infrastructure. We had a full hookup site, with barbecue and fireplace, close to the playground area. The kids loved it. To sum up, lots of things to do for the kids, not very good if you want to relax because there are too many people around.
Jul 26, 2015
Superb site, first rate amenities for the kids and the location can't be beat.
Jul 26, 2015
This is a great KOA. Though all of our children are grown it was great to see all the children running around the park. The Ponderosa Restaurant is great and the bartender downstairs, sorry forgot his name, was the GREATEST.
Jul 26, 2015
The campground was great and had a wide variety of activities that didn't have extra fees attached. It was also centrally located so driving to other attractions in the area really didn't take up your whole day.
Jul 26, 2015
It was great. We had a great time and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The Chuckwagon dinner was just fantastic and the food was very authentic to the old west. Thanks again.
Jul 26, 2015
Very clean KOA and helpful staff. Bike rental riders need to stay out of the way when RV's are leaving the park, they own the road and do not move for large motorhomes. Great place for younger kids with lots of things for them to do. Breakfast is a great deal if you are hungry.
Jul 26, 2015
Nice place to expensive
Jul 26, 2015
This location is overcrowded. The water is actually brown. The camper next to me washed clothes and they came out discolored. The cell service was miniscule at best. I was not able to find it at all. Although we were given a password for the internet, it did not work well.
Jul 26, 2015
I level site made it hard to step in and out of my May want to be more selective especly for older folks
Jul 25, 2015
Big campground, but really great! We had a wonderfull time.
Jul 25, 2015
Good location to be at was able to take day trips to attractions in the area. Had plenty to do at camp site too.
Jul 25, 2015
Bigger is not always good, but this KOA was the exceptions. The grand Kids loved it.
Jul 25, 2015
use their directions. dont put address in gps. try and get away from main building. they wash rental cars with power washer at 7 am every morning.dont plan on sleeping in because garbage truck rolls thru every morning around 7 and does hot laps so you get every noise that truck makes. other than that a very cool place and they have tons to do
Jul 25, 2015
I think this will be our last stay there. I think it's good for families with young kids, for older kids not so much. No cell service, what happened, 10 years ago we had cell service now none. The internet hot spots didn't work. Never enough staff in the store and they weren't very helpful. Good location to Rushmore the setting is beautiful.
Jul 25, 2015
could use some more office help during peak check-in hours.
Jul 25, 2015
Fun for the whole family ! Very nice
Jul 25, 2015
Great all-you-can-eat pancakes and recreational facilities. My kids enjoyed the impromptu volleyball games with all the other kids.
Jul 25, 2015
Loved the location and all of the activities for our kids, but the sites were tight and cramped. Also since it is a valley it become smoky from camp fires from time to time which made it hard to enjoy the location at night.
Jul 25, 2015
This KOA had many family accommodations & lots of fun!!
Jul 25, 2015
Lots of activities. Friendly helpful staff. It's camping, but has enough comfort features to make it fun. Only recommendation is more washer/dryers. Some waiting time there. Thanks for a great vacation with my boys!!
Jul 25, 2015
Wow, amazing place. Everything was very nice except the wifi was down our entire stay. There was also no phone service so no wifi was a problem when we were trying to plan day trips and other tourist activities and could not look up websites or call to ask questions. Employees mentioned the wifi had been down for a while, but they were trying to fix it.
Jul 25, 2015
Love all of the activities for the kids. Awesome job guys. Done things that could be improved. .... The water. Or water had rust in it. Not god for drinking only used it for washing. The Internet was non existent. Could never sign on. The front bathrooms in the patio sites are in desperate need of updating. All the other shower houses and bathrooms are ALOT better. Great KOA all in all
Jul 25, 2015
KOA reservation states level sites and can accommodate larger rigs. We were assigned a wooded hill site and like all other campers in my area sites were more than 10" off on side hill and slope too severe to level unit. Site could not handle 20' pop-up with small pickup. Had to move other campers vehicles when leaving site. The camp site quality is most important part of visit and this was bad.
Jul 25, 2015
Very happy with the way the staff worked with us to get us moved to a site that would fit our family.
Jul 24, 2015
Internet is virtually non-existent. Down more than up, and when it is, slow is an under-statement.
Jul 24, 2015
Overall the park was great!! The location and amenities are great. The 2 problems we encountered were lack of adequate laundry facilities and a swamp area 3 ft from our trailer with lots of mosquitoes. Also, need additional gravel in the sites.
Jul 24, 2015
We had a great time on our family vacation. There was tons of fun activities for the kids and adults to participate in. We rented an UTV and had a good time on the trails. The resort was well maintained and the staff was wonderful. The food at the Ponderosa restaurant was good especially the fried taco. We plan to return in the future.
Jul 24, 2015
VERY kid friendly! Clean facility and friendly staff. We didn't use the bathrooms as we had full hook up, so no opinion on those. But overall, we were extremely happy with our stay.
Jul 24, 2015
Did not like our stay. They stuck us in some mud hole site. They had plenty of clean grass sites they could have given us.
Jul 24, 2015
We absolutely love this campground, but things were a little off this time. The rain had made our campground unusable without a series of pallets and boards and our fire ring was under water. Also, the water slide, which is my kids favorite, was broken. We did however get in a lovely horseback ride at their stable and enjoy the jumping pillow and rock wall. We will definitely go back.
Jul 24, 2015
Worse campgrd we ever stayed at! Had to move from original site - as did most people in our group (23 rigs!) Water quality very bad- plugged up our water filter- did nothing about it! Too big; too many people, especially kids riding little bikes everywhere!!! :(
Jul 24, 2015
Children loved it, we as grandparents enjoyed it. Campsite was bad....drainage could be improved with a little proper drainage and raising the roads up a bit couldn't cook or eat outside due to wet grounds...no nite campfires...
Jul 24, 2015
No WiFi even at the worst bar ever. We got there on my birthday, ordered a round of drinks for 4 of us. It took 40 minutes to get them. I asked about a birthday drink & never got an answer.
Jul 24, 2015
My complaint is there was no gas in the grill so we had to use our own and the water was brown. When I tried to speak with someone all I got was I'm sorry but no offer to fix the issue. I would not spend the money again for the "deluxe" site since it really wasn't very deluxe. I also would recommend you have your staff wait to bring in new people to the site. We were being rushed off.
Jul 24, 2015
This is our first season of using a travel trailer. We have never been to the Mt Rushmore area but was confident in staying at KOA. Little did we know how big or how many services were actually being provided at this location. It truly is a family paradise. It was a pleasure to stay there and would recommend it to anyone.
Jul 24, 2015
Very accomadating, plenty of activities for the children, very friendly campers and employees!!
Jul 24, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.