Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 19, 2014
The bathrooms were fantastic. Thank you for that.
Jun 19, 2014
We have a 4 yr old son who is on the go from sun up to sun down. He had all sorts of activities to go and do. There were lots of other children to play with. Would go here to camp again
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
We had a little confusion with the electric, after being frustrated and returning to the front desk 3 time, we were finally going to just give up, but Shawn (sp) who was mowing asked us if he could help, he then called Jack (maintenance manager) who then figured out we needed an adpter, so he went somewhere, fixed our reservation, got us an adapter and saved the day, Shawn also help with network
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Staff was friendly, but half the showers were not open on a holiday weekend. Pools and hot tubs were not maintained well. Pool was dark green and the hot tub was lukewarm. Location was good and centralized to Mt Rushmore and surrounding activities.
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
Stayed here before and will stay here again. Great except the weather.
Jun 17, 2014
The Mount Rushmore KOA has to be one of the best KOA's. We stayed in our RV with our 5 grandkids. There is so much for the kids to do they want to go back. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. If you get a chance, stay at the Mount Rushmore KOA!
Jun 17, 2014
Kids had a blast and we camped in luxury for 4 nights. Had to change sites at first due to lack of tent pads and space on most of the tent sites, but once we found 227 we were set!
Jun 17, 2014
Great trip up to South Dakota - clean, well-kept campground, friendly staff - we had a great time!
Jun 17, 2014
Have been here before and it was great. This time, bathrooms were really disgusting. Wads of paper on the floor, in the showers, stagnant dirty water on the shower floors. Also, lots of loud campers this weekend. Had to call on one group who were drunk and loud at about midnight. Another another group were lound until 1 AM. Maybe be proactive with security rounding at quiet time?
Jun 17, 2014
The heated pool could have been a little warmer but other than that our stay was great.
Jun 17, 2014
Very nice facility bad weather stopped us from using all the options available. Still had a nice stay. Keep a restaurant open past 9PM. staff was great
Jun 17, 2014
Many things to do ... Showers could be a little cleaner .
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
Very disappointed. Lots of extra fees. Needed gravel around our site as mud was a problem and you can't stop the rain. Internet service almost non existent. Nice park. Employees were only mildly interested in guests.
Jun 17, 2014
Water at camp site not usable. It was dirty red and muddy Wifi non-existent
Jun 16, 2014
Our stay at the Mt. Rushmore KOA was great! We are a family of four, with two children (ages 8 and 4). This is a great campground with lots of activities for the whole family to enjoy. It's also located in a great spot with easy access to all of the area attractions. We'll definitely be back!
Jun 16, 2014
Truly enjoyed our weekend &hope to return soon. Great site &service.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
after a ruff start with a under water site the rest of the week was great good service great for kids staff very nice
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Beautiful location, friendly staff, great facilities. So much for the kids to do, love all the activities. We will be back!
Jun 16, 2014
beautiful place for family but staff seemed to busy to help a family member locate us...and with no internet connection or cell phone service it was extremely frustrating for both us and our family. We were not given a spot in a nice area, even though many were available but on the main road with all of the maintenance vehicles starting around 6 am going back and forth. Noisy. Beautiful place tho
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
It was great. Very nice facility. Lovely surroundings, close to attractions. Friendly Staff.
Jun 16, 2014
Stay was great, a bit pricey, especially when all amenities were not functional. The appearance of this KOA has improved since our last visit a few years back.
Jun 16, 2014
I love this KOA! My second daughter learned how to ride her bike at the KOA this weekend. My first daughter also learned to ride here 4 years ago. Thank you for the wonderful memories And if I could also add... if you could check out the hot tub by fiddlesticks.... each time we come to the KOA there is a funky green/yellow color in there. The front pool also needed attention this weekend.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
Disappointing, for a delux site at such a high price very poor. Facilities poor, pool out of service for 6 out of 8 days, slide not running, showers cold had to use the other block. Site had to be repaired which meant moving my rig and the waited 3 hrs for repairs to be carried out. Why they couldnt relocate us i dont know. Overall very dissapointed with the value of this VERY!
Jun 15, 2014
The place was great for the grandkids and allowed us a nice rest.
Jun 15, 2014
This was our first camping trip as a family, and we loved every minute of it! The site was perfect, and our boys appreciated the nearby playground. I was very impressed by the abundant hot water in the shower and the cleanliness of the facilities!
Jun 15, 2014
PROS: very friendly staff, oodles of great activities right at the campground for all ages, great location for touring the area, ATV's were a HUGE hit for our family (we have a 20, 19, 15 & 13 year old). CONS: very busy, noisy (our spot was right on the main road with traffic going by at 6:00am including maintenance trucks/vehicles), no cell phone service, some mobile data, weak wifi.
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
awesome place to bring the kids, lots to do
Jun 14, 2014
I rate the site with 4 stars!! The staff was wonderful. The amenities well kept and clean. This was our first stay and we LOVED it! the ONLY reason I do not give 5 stars is because there was a lack of cellphone and WIFI service. If that was available I would give 5 stars. Truly my only complaint.
Jun 14, 2014
Stayed here in a 41 ft MH for 6 nights. Great place. Large sites, close to everything , lots for the kids to do & a couple of restaurants on site.
Jun 14, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
I don't know whee to start! I am driving a band from London and it is their first full US tour. They had the time of their lives at this KOA and the Night shuttle was perfect. The site was great for the tour bus and everyone at KOA... Amazing!! I'll be back with my family ASAP. The group really enjoyed the off-road adventure as well. We needed a week but thx 4 the day!!
Jun 13, 2014
Only 1 complaint - the water source in the laundry is very rusty/dirty. Being away for 2 weeks it was disappointing not to be able to launder clothes. We did one load of white before becoming aware of the water problem which ruined most of the clothes. Other than that the campground was really nice, kid and family friendly!
Jun 13, 2014
Campgrounds were very clean. This is the first place where personal trash was picked up daily ! I am impressed ! For those with kids, a great place with lots of activities. The grilled corn was wonderful also !
Jun 13, 2014
Very nice campground. We liked that it was central to most attractions. Lots to do for families.
Jun 13, 2014
What a great stay. Super clean bathrooms and even after a down pour the grounds drained nicely. Only wish is free hayride in evening.
Jun 12, 2014
beautiful campground, However, serveral things were broken and shut-down. Fustration because you pay a resort fee!
Jun 12, 2014
Simply amazing.....my kids loved it and we will for sure come back longer next summer! We have told several friends about this resort and hope to come back next year in a larger group!!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.