Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 07, 2014
We were very disappointed that the swimming pools were not ready when we stayed at Palmer Gulch over Memorial Weekend. We make Palmer Gulch our annual camping adventure with our grandchildren. They wanted to swim and the pools were not ready. Our grandchildren look forward every year to Palmer Gulch, but were very unhappy this year.
Jun 07, 2014
I did not like the hand-driers in the bathroons. They are way too loud! You can even hear them from a campsite two rows away from the shower-house! Imagine how loud they are in the bathroom. They hurt your ears!
Jun 07, 2014
Awesome park. So much for couples and families to do. Beautiful and convenient location. Checked in for three nights and stayed an extra night just because. Definitely recommend and would go out of our way to stay again. Thank you!
Jun 06, 2014
Awesome campground. Great that we could rent a car to go site seeing. Rented ATV and had a blast driving the trails. Amenities are great. Staff very helpful and nice.
Jun 06, 2014
Fun as usual, but please fix the dog run, high grass and really looked neglected, otherwise, still a great place.
Jun 05, 2014
Staff was fantastic and we had an excellent time in the area. Great facilities and view. Will be back for sure
Jun 05, 2014
Our site was muddy. They only supported verizon. And no TV connection and brown water is not very appealing. Good area for kids.
Jun 05, 2014
Jun 05, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
The BEST experience EVER!! All the staff was so nice and friendly. The campground was really clean and very well taken care of. Very kid friendly, lots of things for the whole family to enjoy. LOVED it!!
Jun 04, 2014
Cost seemed high. Our site was in mud. Surely, another site was available. Never had any dog bags available. Dog biscuits were great. A lot of activities.
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Clean areas and restrooms. Nice staff. WIFI was weak, internet was iffy at best.
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 03, 2014
Great Place, Stuff, Rental and Area. We had a great time and we'll remember the great view we had and watching the dear coming out from site #554. Thanks you
Jun 03, 2014
Very friendly staff, had a good time.
Jun 03, 2014
dirty bathrooms nasty showers no wi-fi staff rude did not care. and no refunds.over priced campsites. Please dont waste your time and money on this camp ground. worste koa ever if you complain it dont get you no where. 56 plus dollors for a popup a night and no refunds. if you dont beleave me try it yourself and you will find out the hard way remember looks are decieving.laundry sucks store pricey
Jun 03, 2014
Excellent facility! Family friendly, pancake breakfast was outstanding! So many ammenities for all ages, Staff was excellent! will diffently return one day! Perfect location to tour Mt. Rushmore!
Jun 02, 2014
Always enjoy your campground. This time bathrooms near our site were closed and pool was not open. Other wise good time.
Jun 02, 2014
The stay was outstanding we have never met so many professional staff. Will will definitely keep this as one of our most memorable stays at a KOA. There were so many activities that we did not have time to check everything out. Keep up the excellent work and we'll see you the next time.
Jun 01, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. The friendliest & most helpful staff we've ever dealt with.
Jun 01, 2014
Jun 01, 2014
Jun 01, 2014
when I called, asked for 50 amp, gave me 30. 3 times I came into the concierge telling them I had no cable, even brought a new cable from the store. On the 4th time complaining of no cable, they finally asked me which site I was on. When I told them, the young man stated that the cable doesn't work in that area! EXTREAMLY UNPROFESSIONAL!
May 31, 2014
Mike & his crew were wonderful! Will be back!
May 31, 2014
Our stay was so great that our kids have made us promise to return every year.
May 31, 2014
May 31, 2014
Terrible internet. Trees are lacking. Lots of things to do.. Price high for what you get. Won't stay again.
May 29, 2014
It was our first stay and we will be calling and booking the same campsite again for next year. The summer kids working the Fun Zone were awesome! Kasin and Kevin are the best! Our kids loved them as well! Thank you again! Happy Campers!
May 29, 2014
we have stayed at this campground many times this time was not so pleasant we had no bathroom or showers that were working they said they would be fixed nobody even attemped to work on them very disapointing
May 29, 2014
I've worked at a KOA years ago and understand their requirements for quality. I was dismayed at the locked-up M/W restroom/shower building and the outside small shower stalls. Peering through the windows the insides were trashed and the outside small shower stalls were dirty/filthy. The store was nice, however there could be better directions to the registration desk......
May 29, 2014
The only thing that 8 wish would have been up was the pools. On the site it said they were suppose to be up on the Saturday before. This was a great place to stay and when a 13 year old enjoyed it you guys are doing a great job. I have not yet got my refund for a day in my account yet.
May 29, 2014
We were very disappointed in our stay. My husband & I wanted to sit back & relax while the kids played in the pool - but the pools, hot tubs & slide were not open, everyday they told the kids it would be open tomorrow. we would not have spent the $ to stay there if we new the pools were not operational. We feel they should have told us when we made reservations.
May 29, 2014
We really enjoyed our time with the fine folks at the gulch. Great place to visit and we'll be back! We only wished the pools and hot tubs had been in working condition. We weren't told at check in and were looking forward to them.
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
Very big and nice and is also great for family's.Great people working there.Thanks again
May 28, 2014
Lovely view, nice kids area, not enough bathrooms (none close to campsite) and they were very dirty or out of order.
May 28, 2014
My biggest problem was the fact that the pool was not open on Memorial Day due to filter problems. I understand things break, but it seemed after three days of staying at the campground that something should have been fixed. The pool was the main reason we booked at this KOA. I know it was opening weekend, but I thought pool problems could have been solved before Memorial Day Weekend.
May 28, 2014
Our stay was interesting in that a group took all the cable sites, campground is in a valley so antenna reception was poor, and no phone service. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This KOA is large and focused on kids and family.
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
Was staff for the AVC mega rally and stayed afterwards for 4 days. Nice campground. Didn't like all the kids riding bikes, etc. in streets and no one watching them. Some didn't care that cars, trucks, and rv's were there. Wish water had been flushed well before campground opened- had pale yellow tint and slight smell. Good location for sightseeing!
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
it was very good thank you
May 28, 2014
Very helpful and friendly staff. We had major car problems and they were very helpful as we worked it out. What made it 4 instead of 5 stars - bathrooms were a little run down and the cell/wifi reception was very spotty.
May 28, 2014
Fabulous campground, this is our second visit.
May 28, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Although I had a great time with family and friends for Memorial Day weekend. The KOA was very disappointing and did not meet my expectations from my last visits. We had a large group (six families with 20 kids) and both pools were down and the waterslide was not working. There are usually more activities for the families. The staff were not as available as usual.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.