Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 18, 2014
We have been back several times now. Great amenities, super location, clean, level sites... very nice spot.
Jul 18, 2014
Lots of things to do. Close to attractions. Very enjoyable and helpful employees.
Jul 18, 2014
Lots of great things to do. Kids were always entertained.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
This is a fabulous family campground. The only thing needed is a little more work on the roads and add a little gravel to the sites
Jul 18, 2014
The campground was lovely and there were lots of fun things to do and see. The bathrooms were nice and convenient. We asked for a shaded site because there is a big open field area that would no thane suites us. Loved the garbage and recycling pick up!
Jul 18, 2014
Great KOA, tons of activities. Only issue was nighttime hay ride. Started at 9pm, had to wait almost 2 hours to get on ride, possibly adding another cart? Kids have a hard time waiting that long for an activity. Beautiful location!
Jul 18, 2014
I made reservations, when i got their, no reservations-so they put me out in in the boon docks the 30A power would go off and on. I was trying to run an a/c. We stayed as long as we could and checked out. I will probably never stay at this campground again. We've stayed there on 3 previous ocassions.....Chuck Doyle 1D288c
Jul 18, 2014
Campsite was dirty,firepit was full of trash & unuseable. No soap in bathroom canisters & campground was overcrowded. On a 5000 mile trip this was the most expensive campground we stayed in & the worst experience. On a positive note, the people in the front office were very professional.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
The best KOA!! Super campground!! So many activities. Can't wait to bring grand kids. Lots of things to see in area. Only complaint, couldn't stay longer!
Jul 17, 2014
We love staying at this KOA! So many amenities and a variety of things to do right there in the resort! Loved all the hanging flower baskets and the front entrance is lit up and looks so inviting. We have stayed here for the past 24 years!
Jul 17, 2014
Fairly nice campground however we found it way too big and busy for our liking. The biggest negative about your campground was the conditions of the showers, we found them to be extremely dirty. Even the benches for clothes were filthy. Some units had hooks missing and no benches, so there was no place for towels and clothes.
Jul 17, 2014
The grandkids loved it, plenty for them to do. We all enjoyed the horseback trail ride. Very friendly help.
Jul 17, 2014
Great resort. Lots to do. For the price, WiFi should have been more reliable. Great place for families.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
J'étais placé sur un site boueux, le 241, sans possibilité de changement. J'ai du annuler 2 jours sur 4 que j'avais réservés afin de changer de ville et de camping. De toute façon, il n'y a pas plus que pour 2 jours d'intérêt dans ce secteur du mont Rushmore.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
The place is one of the most beautiful KOA's I have been to. There is really nothing you could look for this place didn't have. We stayed the extra night because tyhere was to much to see and do. We are looking into going there next year. The staff, especially, the gentlemen getting you to your campsite were very friendly and easy to talk to. All the staff had a big hello just in passing.
Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Great view, friendly staff, enjoyed pancake breakfast and horseback riding. Cons: pool and hot tub were poorly maintained.
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
The stay was very good , nice facility, lots of stuff for the kids. Staff excellent, location good to access other venues. The biggest concern is the public showers. Dated , mold on casings , shower floors cracked and leaking below . All this aside , we could have given you a perfect score. Seriously think about upgrading showers. Thanks : Derrick and Rhonda Johnson.
Jul 16, 2014
Was a nice KOA. Was tenting and they put us on a hill with no level area when there were plenty of flat spots at other open sites. Two of three dryers were out of order at our closest laundry area and nothing was fixed in the 4 days we were there. Plenty for kids to do and they had a blast. Close to everything.
Jul 16, 2014
Always a great headquarters for the Black Hills. This year scheduled a day at the kamp so the kids could take in all the activities the kamp has to offer them. They loved the climbing wall.
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Great place if you have kids. Lots of fun activities for them. Bathrooms by our spot needed cleaning more often.
Jul 16, 2014
We came with a 36 ft 5th wheel plus the length of the truck and gave us a space on a steep side hill and expected us to twist the unit downhill and around corner and then back in to space 594. They did give us a lot that did work only to find no sewer on that space. Next day by noon, issues were resolved by moving again to a full hookup space that we asked for from the beginning.
Jul 16, 2014
It was good, except there was no wifi connection and limited cellular connection. We expected wifi at least somewhere on the grounds.
Jul 16, 2014
Stay away from #624 - not at all level and fills with mud at the slightest bit of rain. Waterslide water was really dirty and splash park water was extremely cold; kids didn't enjoy it too much. Overall, campsite was clean and staff was helpful.
Jul 16, 2014
Staff was helpful, laundry facilities are just okay. Lots of dryers out of order. Great views, nice people, lots of activities for kids. Plenty of showers on a non-holiday weekend. We'd definitely stay again. :)
Jul 16, 2014
Great K9 park even though there was only one rather than two.
Jul 16, 2014
It would be great if the campsite we stayed in (646) had wifi, we had to go up to the front to get it. Everything else was great.
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Poor Internet and cell service, but beautiful location.
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Mt Rushmore KOA was one of the best ones we have stayed at! So many things for the kids to do. We will definitely be returning!
Jul 15, 2014
This is a very nice KOA, the only problem was they did not have wifi available.
Jul 15, 2014
This was one great camp ground to stay at, the host were organized the park was clean and in a beautiful valley. There were a lot of activities to keep my children busy. Cant wait to come back again!!
Jul 15, 2014
What a great family place! We stayed 6 nights and never got bored. I feel like we had the best spot in the campground... Backed to the creek and we got to watch the horses come in and out everyday. This KOA is in the perfect location... Easy to get to Mount Rushmore, Crazy horse, Custer State Park. The staff was great, they play and entertained our kids for hours. Thanks everyone. We will be back
Jul 15, 2014
Awesome place to stay and a great place for the kids!
Jul 15, 2014
A fun place to stay for the whole family. The bouncy mat provided tremendous fun just a short trip from Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy the amenities.
Jul 15, 2014
everything is great for the kids but you need to work on the bathrooms and showers fixing and cleaness
Jul 15, 2014
Everything was fine except for the quality of the water. The water in our hookup was extremely brown and the water in the slide pool and the two smaller swimming pools were also the same.
Jul 15, 2014
Our rese rvations that we made 2yrs ago were repeatedly screwed up. The hall we initially reserved for fiamily reunion and was given to someone else and ours canceled!!! We had reserved cabin fir 4nites they had us diwn for nite. It was was one fuasco after another gor pur group and our next rreunion will be held somewhere else in the black hills area

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.