Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 25, 2016
Jun 25, 2016
It was a great stay I just wish there were a few things that could have been lower in price, like the fire wood bundles. For the a abundance of wood on the forest floor, $6 a bundle was outrageous and made me not want to enjoy having a fire. Thank you!
Jun 25, 2016
Had plenty to do within the campground. Kids loved the slide and splash pad. Bathrooms were nice but could use some ventilation. As soon as anyone showered it was like a sauna in there the rest of the day. Campground was way too crowded though. We had the unfortunate coincidence of arriving on the same day as the rodeo and the place was a madhouse.
Jun 25, 2016
we did not have space for our tent. Went back to the registration desk for help and the lady walked away. We got a hotel and did not stay at the KOA.
Jun 25, 2016
Great for kids - spaces too tight for large rigs - too many people allowed to each site.Front smells like horse pee, and at night it is a huge smoke pit.
Jun 25, 2016
lots to do for kids. very busy. too few showers for the number of campers. Bathroom and shower floors very dirty.
Jun 25, 2016
Fantastic KOA destination! We've stayed in KOA's in so many states and this park takes the cake. Restaurant, bar, pizza & wing shop, ice cream, horse rides, dune buggies on 35 miles of off road terrain. Did it all and we loved it!! So close to everything in the Black Hills. Come here, you'll love it!
Jun 24, 2016
Wonderful amenities and kind helpful staff. The location was perfect for all of the areas activities.
Jun 24, 2016
Beautiful campground with so much for the kids to do! Showers were really dirty though.
Jun 24, 2016
An amazing campground - very friendly staff - great facilities, many options to entertain yourself between exploring Mt. Rushmore and the surrounding natural beauty.
Jun 24, 2016
one of the best We have ever been to. Staff was nice and friendly. Thank you we will be back.
Jun 24, 2016
A very large campground with a number of activities. The staff were friendly and helpful but the full hookup site we had was in very poor condition, a mud hole, not close to level and the sewer connection was up hill! Other sites were like a parking lot ...for $60 a day and not even cable. It was the poorest KOA experience we've ever had. I cannot recommend this campground when there are others av
Jun 24, 2016
We only stayed one night but would return for more nights! Perfect place for kids and we only had time for a few activities of the many offered! Great facility!
Jun 24, 2016
Jun 24, 2016
Awesome resort. The pools and activities were great for the kids and it was clean and centrally located. We would definitely stay here again!!
Jun 24, 2016
This was perfect place nestled in the Black Hills. Perfect for kids and families. My only complaint is the bath houses needed to be cleaned a little more frequently.
Jun 24, 2016
30 amp power almost caught fire because of faulty wiring, the toaster blew the circuit so we were hot with no AC, entire row without power all day to fix, cars speed through this park and the help seem to have no clue to what is going on so when you ask for help....good luck. I wasted my money on this KOA. The store and reservation people are clueless and seem to be lacking training or managment.
Jun 24, 2016
Rv spot very small. Could not put awning out because of tree. Price to high & did not have sewer hook up.
Jun 23, 2016
Great place with a lot to do. We'll be back.
Jun 23, 2016
Very nice place. Wifi didn't work at all
Jun 23, 2016
Jun 23, 2016
Wonderful campground. We rented an UTV and a car. Great place to get ice cream and coffee too. Rodeo was great. Best KOA
Jun 23, 2016
Pull-through spot was extremely small. Not enough room for my TT and truck. This KOA has some great amenities but it was wall-to-wall people crammed in like sardines.
Jun 23, 2016
Loved the grounds. As a former horse owner thought the stables were a-one! Great kid friendly activities! Only complaint was our site was a bit wet and muddy. Some because of rain but even after no rain still a bit soggy!
Jun 23, 2016
Charged a pet fee upon arrival. Front desk was not able to explain what the dog fee went for we are not charged at better koa. Also camp site was small and poorly maintained
Jun 23, 2016
Jun 23, 2016
Fun place with tons of activities for kids and adults!
Jun 23, 2016
Jun 22, 2016
Jun 22, 2016
Only bad thing I could say is a place this big should take you to your sites other than that it was great
Jun 22, 2016
Everything was awesome. Newer comfort station was excellent. Kids had a great time with all the activities available.
Jun 21, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
Site was pretty small: camper and small SUV did not fit on pad, had to park in grass. Wifi was slow and restricted to small areas--which is an issue here (e.g. weather reports) since there was no cellular service (as in "No Service" was displayed on the phone). That being said: the staff and facilities were great and clean, and the location in the heart of the Mount Rushmore area was fantastic!
Jun 21, 2016
Over rated, high priced, no wifi, spaces on hill side were to short for 31 foot trailer. Staff were great.
Jun 21, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
Palmer gully koa was a great place to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I came in to camp with a reservation. The site didn't work for my needs so the general manager Mike went with me and found a spot that would work for my groups special needs. I am greatful the staff cared enough to make sure we were taken care of!
Jun 20, 2016
Only thing that you could improve on is the wifi since using cell service isn't possible.
Jun 20, 2016
This was our first trip to a KOA and our family will definitely be back to this one. The facilities were amazing! The campsites were clean and well kept. Every staff member we met was friendly and went above and beyond. One of the pools was closed for a day and they worked very hard to get it back up and running again. The bathrooms, showers, etc. were spotless. We were impressed!
Jun 20, 2016
Too much noise and people. Ok for family type of customers. Just not our cup of tea.
Jun 20, 2016
if you have kids you would never have to leave the camp ground so much to do
Jun 20, 2016
To large and confusing. Shower house was to far away. No wifi except in a few public areas. Helpful staff and clean facilities just way to big!
Jun 20, 2016
The spot (167) we were at was very wet, so some grading might need to be done. We were surprised not to find cement slabs at each space, especially the pull through (more expensive) spots. One pool was closed half the days we were there, the other was freezing (heater broken?) which made it unusable. No enforcement of some kid area rules (pillow). We still enjoyed out stay.
Jun 20, 2016
So much fun!!
Jun 20, 2016
We got together with some of our children and grandchildren. We were grouped together, 4 campsites, had beautiful weather and completely enjoyed ourselves. Would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay.
Jun 20, 2016
Great place to stay with lots of things for kids to do.
Jun 20, 2016
WIFI never worked. Pool closed most of week and no cellphone reception in valley. Paid way too much for no wifi.
Jun 20, 2016
The kids loved this campground and were sad to go!
Jun 20, 2016
Fun trip! Good location. Nice grounds and kept up well. Showers and bathrooms were clean. This place has just about everything!
Jun 20, 2016
This place is great. Alot of things to do for kids. Staff is helpful and very nice.
Jun 20, 2016
Fun time, bathrooms not the cleanest
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals