Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 29, 2014
Great campground. Staff is always great.
Jul 29, 2014
WiFi did not work. Was told to many people using it. Dont say there is WiFi if it doesnt work. Everything else was great.
Jul 29, 2014
Mount Rushmore was an amazing KOA. So much fun stuff to do there. Only negative thing is our tent site was not the greatest. The site was on a hill, so we had to sleep at an angle.
Jul 29, 2014
Wonderful trip to SD. This was my kids first REAL camping trip and this KOA had soooo much stuff for them to do. The only complaint that I really had was the spaces were so close together. Fun Zone was awesome, good pancakes and love the daily activities for the kids.
Jul 29, 2014
Too crowded. Spaces too close together. Too many gnats. Bathroom and showers were disgusting. Price was way too high when considering what you receive for the price. They charged us extra for our dog. I would not recommend this RV park when there are dozens of nicer ones (we moved to Crooked Creek outside of Hill City which was nicer and much less expensive) and will not stay there again.
Jul 29, 2014
Everyone was friendly and very helpful. Enjoyed being able to rent a car on site as well everything else that was available to rent. My family really enjoyed staying there.
Jul 29, 2014
I was promised cable hookups when I made reservations but was told after check in that cable was not available on most of their sites and they did not have any left. They have an additional mandatory charge for activities but they were only available for a limited amount of time. One of the two pools was green and water slide was closed for repairs. Numerous other problems.
Jul 29, 2014
Fun for the entire family! We traveled with our two and nine year old. Both kids had a blast. Thank you to all of the staff members who made our weekend enjoyable.
Jul 29, 2014
Loved this KOA. So much to do, my son said he was "in heaven"! I, for one, appreciated the lack of technology -- it forced me to relax! Thank you!
Jul 29, 2014
The only complaint I have is that the water in the pools and water slid were very dirty
Jul 29, 2014
This is our absolute favorite KOA. It is hard to find one that comes close. We tell everyone that talks about camping that they must make a trip to Mt. Rushmore.
Jul 29, 2014
This is the most discussing koa I have ever been in! We are older adults that choose koa for the clean restrooms and good shower houses. These were filthy and most of the showere were moldy and paint peeling. Called manager and got no return call. Free wifi was not anywhere in the park. Told to go stand on a hillside and maybe we could get it.HA! Would never stay here and not recommend !!!!!!
Jul 28, 2014
Great place to not only stay over on your way, but a great place to stay! So sorry we just had one night. The kids would have loved to do all the fun things in the camp ground.
Jul 28, 2014
Campground is very crowded and it is hard to get large RVs turned around. Wireless internet does not work in the campground and barely works at the front. That is why my rating is not higher. Other than those two things, the stay was great. Much to do in the campground and the campground is well maintained and very clean.
Jul 28, 2014
Great stay. Only problem was the street light shining in our windows. Felt like we were staying in downtown Chicago :-( (If street lights are needed to help light the way put yellow low wattage bulbs in them so campers can enjoy the night - see the stars and appreciate the campfire light. Camp sites could use a bit more green space - pretty crowded sites with no room to gather around the campfi
Jul 28, 2014
One of the nicest KOA's we have stayed at. Lots of amenities. Only problem was the lack of WiFi at the sites. Close to many attractions. Loved it.
Jul 28, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Mt. Rushmore KOA. There was lots of afternoon activities to keep the kids entertained after the day of sight seeing at all the near by attractions. We liked that it was so close to Mt. Rushmore and Custer. We would have liked it even better if the sited were not so close together. It was a little tight for our preference. The staff and the church service were great.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
While it was very crowded with many spots, this was the result of having so many things for people to do. We found our site easy to get into, all utilities had good access, and everything worked as advertised. This KOA is centrally located to so many things to do in the area.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
This park is a kids dream come true! There were so many activities and fun things to keep them busy and happy. I'm glad they are older so I didn't have to worry about them around the big, busy park! This park is a dream location just a few miles from Mt. Rushmore!
Jul 28, 2014
Your printed and verbal info about the grounds states there is internet service when in fact the only place avail is near the office. We & many others run a business while traveling. Please fix the wifi or let everyone know its not avail.
Jul 28, 2014
Dirty, mold, non working showers, dirty pool, very loud park at night. Needs to have part of park where you have children under 12 years old and other for older kids. I want stay at this park or recommend it to anyone again.
Jul 28, 2014
Had a site, 191, across from the showers that everyone from the west and upper level cut through. Since there was no defined path they took the shortest route even though I parked our car to block access. We had one of the handful of dead trees for shade and were three spots down from barking dogs. Not enough cable sites.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
We loved all the fun activities and kid friendly play equipment. The only complaint would be better care of pool and water slide water and slide surface.
Jul 28, 2014
The campground was very well kept. The bathroom and showers were very clean. Very friendly, helpful, professional staff. I even misplaced my wallet and the staff got it back to me as soon as possible. I highly recommend this campground.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
We have been coming up to your KOA for over 20 years. Even with your huge growth in camping sites and cabins your staff is always first class in service.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Really nice camp ground. A ton of stuff for the kids, loved the shuttle to Mt. Rushmore. Suggestion: would like to see wash stations throughout campground for dishes/pots&pans. Only issue were the bathrooms/showers need to be cleaned maybe more often, found them slimy and somewhat dirty.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
I stayed at this campground about six years ago and it was the trip of a lifetime. Unfortunately this stay was not so nice. Initially we were given a site that half the size of a standard site. This site was also at a major intersection. We were kept awake due to the traffic and kids at the playground after quiet time. The advertised wifi was not working. The staff laughed when asked about the wif
Jul 28, 2014
The only problem I had with this KOA is that the weight limit on a horse back ride. I weigh about 30-40 lbs more. I did see a few horses that could handle heavier person. I'm loosing weight but I'm not stepping on a scale in front of people. this is on my bucket list and as a breast cancer survivor it was disappointing. The rest of the stay was great grounds and baths clean lots for kids to do
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
It was a good home base to relax when tired of siteseeing and caving and climbing rocks. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub (when it was working). Our son enjoyed the pillow and exploring the activities. We also appreciated the quiet after dark.
Jul 28, 2014
Tons of activities and great registration staff. Mike and Sharon were very helpful. Huge campground would recommend staying for a few days and bring a bikes if you have room. Thanks we had a great time!
Jul 28, 2014
Filthy Showers, doors missing; Dining in restaurant was horrific. We were starved and were told, only after we inquired about our order, because it was taking so long, that the order not been submitted. The chef was "backed up" and not taking additional orders and would not even prepare our appetizers while we waited for him to get "caught up".
Jul 28, 2014
bath rooms not cleaned, ants all over toilets and sinks and around perimeter of room 1/4" thick in spots. Broken showers (already too few) and not fixed. shower in back area, no hot water working. hot-tub yellow with urine from kids using it. camp sites too close for fire safety, neighbor's fire ring less than 6 feet from my camper (sparks!), just too many camp units for toilet/shower facilities.
Jul 28, 2014
Everything was great BUT I had a cut on my right foot and got Cellulitis during the stay. I suggest you use a hospital grade anti-microbial in the showers.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
great!!!!
Jul 27, 2014
We had a great time at your koa thank you.
Jul 27, 2014
Lots of activities for kids and adults! Absolutely love this campground!!
Jul 27, 2014
Our sites were the best sites at the camp!! Close to laundry, bathroom, and pool!! When we stay again we will certainly request them!! Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Loved all the free activities and the trail rides. My only recommendation would be to update/remodel the showers. They got the job done, but were quite "dirty" looking, though it could be that they just need an update!
Jul 27, 2014
Great place to stay.
Jul 27, 2014
Bathrooms need updated. Cleaned more frequently. Prices on items high. Booked a shaded site, was given a flooded no shade site. Some poor attitudes at lodge. Terrible service and food at the ponderosa. Location and most other staff very helpful. Great activities.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.