Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 18, 2017
so much to do at the campground. kids absolutely enjoyed it
Jul 18, 2017
One of our best stays. We were impressed with the facility and everyone was top notch.
Jul 18, 2017
Loved it - so beautiful and the staff was amazing!!!
Jul 18, 2017
Mike Atkinson (GM) went above and beyond to accommodate us on a couple of issues - his level of service alone makes us want to come back!
Jul 18, 2017
The only issue we had was the brown water. When I went in to talk to the registration office about it, all they said was that is how South Dakota water is. We have stayed at several places in South Dakota and the water was clear.
Jul 18, 2017
Wonderful campground and great activities for the kids. Our kids had a blast. Although the campground did not fit out style. It was too busy and campsites are too close to one another for our liking.
Jul 18, 2017
Best KOA yet! Great for a destination stay with a young family. We hope to be back when our great-grandson is old enough to enjoy it!
Jul 18, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
Great campground. Close to everything and lots of activities for the kids.
Jul 17, 2017
All the staff was so friendly. Clean and felt safe letting my kids run free.
Jul 17, 2017
Great site. Wifi not Good. Climbing wall hours should be extended. Water slide broke while we were there. Bring back the bubble activity. Extend the Pancake tent to a simple Hamburger lunch or hot dog lunch. Seems like you could utilize it for more then just breakfast.
Jul 17, 2017
Nice facilities but the spaces are too close
Jul 17, 2017
Great place. In today's world. Tough to stay with no wifi or cell coverage. Campground and facilities. Top notch.
Jul 17, 2017
Great campground. So many things to do. Great location and very helpful staff.
Jul 17, 2017
Best KOA in America. They have everything for kids and adults to do. You will never be bored at this KOA.
Jul 17, 2017
Lots of amenities for the kids (and parents!) to enjoy together! Some campsites are a little crowded though.
Jul 17, 2017
Small camp site very close to other sites. Very expensive for a site with no sewer hookup. A "resort fee" for a campground? You've got to be kidding me.
Jul 17, 2017
Showers not kept clean, bench broke while i was changing cloths, picnic table bench broken, weeds needed mowed (in and around our lot) #290 confusion regarding reservation, (Kathy White did excellent job of getting it straightened out) put put golf club handles were very and i mean very dirty, sticky and nasty. Men's restroom had horrible odor (all week)
Jul 17, 2017
Had a wonderful time!!! Kids were entertained..
Jul 17, 2017
Great resort with a lot of fun and different activities for kids!!! Very family friendly!
Jul 17, 2017
Over priced. Outrageous resort "discount" add on fee. Charges for pets you don't have. Good location.
Jul 17, 2017
The showers where the dirtiest showers I have ever been in!! Even right after they where cleaned. The bathroom by the pool had poop on the floor and toilet and it looked the same the next afternoon.
Jul 17, 2017
We rented a car had problems with it and told them about the problems they said the manager would call us we heard nothing the site has a lot to offer but I think it is so big that the people who work there we're not real personable when you needed something Great place for children because you had a lot to offer very expensive there horseback riding was very expensive but load the three dollar
Jul 17, 2017
As a "resort" I would expect the restrooms to smell better than they did. Otherwise, very convenient to visit Mt. Rushmore and surrounding sites.
Jul 17, 2017
Bathrooms are poorly cleaned. Using same mop without wringing? Mats in showers were not cleaned properly. Our bathroom smelled of urine and always had a pool of water in corner by sink. Nasty. Wi-Fi was in unusable. Had rain twice and too many rv sites flooded. Heard a worker tell a camper who had flood concerns "this is a business". Over priced and also, not enough bathrooms for all of campers!
Jul 17, 2017
Enormous Koa. Lots of things for kids to do. Lots of showers as well. Would definitely return. Very close to mt Rushmore.
Jul 17, 2017
Lots of great activities for the kids, friendly staff, good food and reasonably priced. My kids loved the water slide!
Jul 17, 2017
Your phone people need to have better knowledge of the park and what is available and what kind of sites have what! Judy was great on getting us what we wanted but the others were awful!!!!!!
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 16, 2017
VERY NICE, KID FRIENDLY
Jul 16, 2017
Best KOA ever! We look forward to returning someday!! = )
Jul 16, 2017
AMAZING!!!!!!!
Jul 16, 2017
Lots to do for kids--pool, water slide, water play area. Campground is very large so lots of people. Shower house was good. Expensive for just wanting to camp overnight. Is more a destination place.
Jul 16, 2017
The bathrooms need some serious updating
Jul 16, 2017
Great staff! Great activities and facilities for the whole family. Over-all very good cleanliness with the exception of one of the "comfort stations." It tended to have a more than usual unpleasant odor and clogged toilets. But otherwise, yes, we would most definitely stay again!
Jul 16, 2017
The stables were terrific!
Jul 16, 2017
Staff friendly plenty of forestry spaces well maintained.special thank-you to Ben Larson up-grade he provided wasn't initially accepted but turned out great.he knows his Park well!! Some of the space spotters need hospitality training or re-training!!!!!!!!
Jul 16, 2017
Jul 16, 2017
Packed in like sardines, Poor Service, Awful Internet, Expensive + Pet Fee and worst dog park. No shade and LOUD
Jul 16, 2017
The campsites were very close together and the showers were filthy. But the location is conveniently located to Mt Rushmore. We enjoyed the pool and found it refreshing, however very crowded. The pancake breakfast was generous and priced right. However, the coffee shop was very slow service and overpriced.
Jul 16, 2017
This is my third time and every time is better. This is one of the best campgrounds to see the Black hills. Pancake tent is wonderful. Our dog loved his own little park. Watching the horses go back to the stables at night is a treat. This KOA is the best.
Jul 16, 2017
My wife and I stayed here 13 years ago. We were amazed at how much had changed! Always something going on, so if you get bored there, it's your own fault! Beautiful area for sightseeing as well. Only complaint was that our campsite was small. If we had a bigger tent, it would have never fit.
Jul 16, 2017
Nothing but the best could put some money in there spaces
Jul 16, 2017
Camp ground was fine except there was no phone service in that area and there was no Wifi reception.
Jul 16, 2017
Crammed together so tight that your neighbor's sewer line is literally up underneath your picnic table,,, even though we are RVing we always still cook and eat outside.... not for these five days at this KOA. Also the campfire ring was at the very far end past the front end of my tow vehicles front bumper, literally 30 to 40 ft away from where it should have been.
Jul 16, 2017
Campsite 538 - no flat spot to set up tent. Had to sleep on an incline. :( Also shower water was ice cold.
Jul 16, 2017
Lots to do for kids. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Jul 16, 2017
Way too expensive; "resort" fee, dog fee, ridiculous. Never stay there again. Poor RV sites (unlevel, no place to park the car, no septic, no cell service, no cable, low water pressure), staff not helpful, all you want is our money and plenty of it.
Jul 16, 2017
We were there only 2 nights but would love to back for a week. So much to do. Swimming pool & horses were great.
Jul 16, 2017
We have a large 43 foot RV and was given a standard patio site Which required us to disconnect our tow vehicle. The site was very unlevel and had a tree on one side so we were not able to put one of our slides out. No Cable TV /cell phone /or wifi is unacceptable . Only thing going for the campground was it was close to Mt Rushmore and seemed nice for people with children.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals