Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 21, 2016
Good spacing on camp sites. Morning pancakes in the tent is the best reason to wake up in the morning.
Aug 21, 2016
Amazing campground, like staying at a resort! We really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back!
Aug 21, 2016
Your place it wonderful for kids. But was disappointed in how close camp sites were , dirty bathhouses, and pool and hot tub were dirty .
Aug 21, 2016
Great place, great location, great service, great amenities. Too many lights, doesn't get dark, campers too close. We'll probably head to state parks in future. If your into these RV hotels you will not find a better one.
Aug 21, 2016
Everything was great except for WI-FI. Lots of things to do, great location. Friendly, helpful staff.
Aug 21, 2016
Simply Fantastic
Aug 21, 2016
Great place for families with kids . Not so much for older couples . Too many ATV's ruining around . Be very careful parents let their kids run free . Makes restrooms very dirty at times .
Aug 21, 2016
Great place for a family.
Aug 21, 2016
We have stayed in the past but found the bathrooms to be dirty during whole stay. It seemed like this visit the facilities were not kept up as they seemed to be last time. Putt putt course needs some love. Other than that we had a nice stay.
Aug 21, 2016
Everything was wonderful!! However, you do need to install speed bumps on the main road side. We camped in a spot on the side closest to the main road I think 240 .... Vehicles flew by way too fast!!! Not the 10 mph limit that was posted. Very unsafe!!! Otherwise great place!!!
Aug 20, 2016
Every thing was great except the Wi-Fi while present did not work most of the time.
Aug 20, 2016
my stay was wonderful the campground was clean and quiet the staff was friendly I could not ask for anything more a definite must stay if you are in this area
Aug 20, 2016
Too many things to do in one trip. We will be back.
Aug 20, 2016
Our family had a fabulous time, the best KOA we have ever been to!!!
Aug 20, 2016
Our family had a great time! Things are a bit expensive in the store.
Aug 20, 2016
Aug 20, 2016
Best KOA we have ever stayed at! Super friendly staff, awesome accommodations and clean campsites! We were so busy taking in the sights in Mt Rushmore area we didn't have much time to enjoy all that the camp ground offered (like the pool area and fun land) but we did go for a horse back ride! Would have liked to have seen a site for recyclable items.
Aug 20, 2016
I ended up speaking to the General Manager when I called to book our stay. He was phenomenal! The rest of the staff was great too! Always something to do at the campground & friendly and helpful staff to boot!
Aug 19, 2016
This KOA we have stayed at the last 10 years. This year why to expensive we are looking at other places to save money. I am not happy with the resort fee when we use nothing as far as resort and have small place for the camper. Really there are other places with large lots and lower prices.I am just being honest.$90.00 to high a night to stay for 10-14 days
Aug 19, 2016
We loved it. This campground is awesome. There is so much to do right on site. This was our second trip there and we are already planing our 3rd trip there.
Aug 19, 2016
Love the campgrounds,if you travel with children it's awesome! So much to keep them entertained.
Aug 19, 2016
The WiFi was unusable, the sites were narrow and short. It was a good place for families with a lot for kids to do. Over priced for what was received
Aug 19, 2016
Aug 19, 2016
Everything was great the hook ups large spaces for campers. 2 swimming pools and many activities for young kids only thing I can think on improving is the miniature golf course the refurbished.
Aug 19, 2016
We love this KOA. Great amenities! Very clean.
Aug 19, 2016
This place is amazing! My husband and I had a wonderful stay here for my birthday, only downfall is the bathrooms and shower stalls, they were disgusting and need to be cleaned on a regular basis thruought the days.
Aug 18, 2016
Not happy about a few things. You advertise free Wi-Fi, we get there to find out its free Wi-Fi hot spots and if you don't log in first thing in the morning you probabley won't get in. Second and most important, the water at the sites is brown. How do you think this is sanitary for your guests? The third item, there is no place for adults to swim!!! NOT A HAPPY CAMPER.
Aug 18, 2016
Bathrooms need better daily cleaning in the children's camp area
Aug 18, 2016
Was not satisfied with original location. Manager Mike moved us to a great site!! Thanks
Aug 18, 2016
Lots of stuff to do! Very nice, and people were pretty helpful.
Aug 18, 2016
Very nice with many activities for all ages. Would definitely go back.
Aug 18, 2016
The camp ground was nice, except lay out of some of the camping spots was confusing, our neighbours were using our fire pit and table d/t poor lay out.
Aug 18, 2016
The overall campground was great for kids. I was a little disappointed with the fact there was no cable or WIFI for the price we paid. As adults needing a place to stay this would not be my first choice in the future.
Aug 18, 2016
Need to state cable tv hookups are very limited. Very nice campground for our grandkids. Lot of things for young kids to do. Very clean and well maintained.
Aug 18, 2016
The showers were gross - wouldn't use them. Great place for kids - came in late on Fri - got chased out on Sunday - could have enjoyed some kid activities prior to leaving but were told to leave because of check out time - mostly empty campgrounds should encourage people to stay - not push them out the door
Aug 17, 2016
Showers dirty Steep hill to get to bathroom Long lines at store/check-in Very disappointing
Aug 17, 2016
Great visit, our three kids had a blast and we didn't even scratch the surface on all there is to do! Campsites are a little tightly packed, but we didn't stay here for a camping experience.
Aug 17, 2016
Aug 17, 2016
Very nice. Lots of things to do. The trip for the lighting of Mount Rushmore was very nice and the program was very moving.
Aug 17, 2016
Poor or no wifi. Does 911 work? Patrick
Aug 17, 2016
Love all the options for the kids and appreciate that most of them are "free" (easier to pay the $10 resort fee ahead of time than each time they want to do something)
Aug 17, 2016
Too big for us. Got put on just about worse site in campground.
Aug 17, 2016
Our only complaint is that we didn't have cell phone service or Internet.
Aug 17, 2016
Aug 17, 2016
Very nice campground with lots of kids activities. WiFi was not very strong in the camp sites. Worked best at the office and when you are out of country and rely on WiFi to contact people at home to let them know you are safe poor strength in campsite is not helpful.
Aug 17, 2016
Awesome! Kids had a great time! Everyone was friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.
Aug 16, 2016
Beautiful campground! Pancake breakfast was a perfect start to our day! Very friendly staff! Only complaint was the hike from our tent site to the bath house....
Aug 16, 2016
Great campground with LOTS of features and activities. Unfortunately wifi is unusable and cell service is very unreliable so you end up being very isolated - for better or for worse.
Aug 16, 2016
Nice place to stay. Would have given 5 stars, but for the wifi. It advertised 3 hotspots, but connection was unusable almost the entire time.
Aug 16, 2016
The showers an bathrooms near our site were picked up but not as clean as I expected. Shower seats had mold in crevices, the bathroom didn't smell very good even immediately after the cleaning staff was in there and the toilet water was yellow in color several times during our stay which made me question how clean the water was that I showered with.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals