Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

RV Reviews

Jul 04, 2015
Koa needs to switch over to battery operated maintanace vehicles the current gas ones are to loud at 7:00-7:30 in the morning
Jul 04, 2015
Great location - not honest about lack of cell service and wifi. We paid $3.00 per day per dog and there were very very few facilities to potty the dogs (2 of them). The area marked for the dogs had most of the rear fencing missing and the weeds were waist high. Only found two potty areas (very small) with waste containers - no bag dispensers anywhere. Your Website said wifi available on site.
Jul 04, 2015
It is too bad there is not a better way to divert all the rain water than through the sites as it made everything very muddy and stayed that way for the entire week. Otherwise it is a nice campground!!
Jul 04, 2015
The grounds were well maintained and there was plenty for everyone to do.
Jul 04, 2015
We love your KOA, it is well maintained, entertaining, and clean. Only one thing missing, WIFI and maybe it's a good thing. We truly get away from it all. Thanks Marie and Larry
Jul 04, 2015
Although out of the KOA control, the rain impacted our stay. The kids specifically wanted to come here because of your "Fun facilities." Unfortunately the first day the slide was down due to pump and then another day the power outage had everything shut down. We stayed on Rosevelt Rd. It is sooo muddy! Hoping in the future you can add a concrete slab for motorhomes and pave. Bathroom needs work.
Jul 04, 2015
The only problem we had was with ATV rentals, due to weather our 3:30 scheduled reservation was cancelled, totally understandable, however, no one notified us of the cancellation until we showed up at 3:30! This cost us one whole day of our 6 day vacation in SD.
Jul 04, 2015
Very friendly and helpful for such a large campground. When a flash flood threatened we were moved per request from a creekside site to higher ground no questions asked. Mike the GM was very helpful.
Jul 04, 2015
Slight problem when we checked in due to lots of rain but staff quickly corrected the problem. Lots to do and close to Mount Rushmore, Keystone, Custer.
Jul 04, 2015
Love all of the activities available for the kids. What a huge facility. Had one of the largest lightning and thunderstorms I have ever seen one of the nights we stayed. WOW!
Jul 04, 2015
Jul 03, 2015
Over priced for what you get. Pull thurs were rough. WiFi was joke and never worked.
Jul 03, 2015
We didn't have as much fun this year. Very muddy. The power was out too. The spot we had was the premium deluxe with grill etc. 120$ per night. It was super noisy in that spot, trucks non-stop for 3 hours on Wednesday delivering rock, trash and who knows what. The wifi never worked the entire stay. We left a day early because once the power went out we were done.
Jul 03, 2015
The best resort we have ever stayed at. It was awesome!
Jul 03, 2015
Loved this koa. My grandkids were never bored and neither were we. So much for everyone.
Jul 03, 2015
We were very impressed with the campground and the staff. The grounds were kept clean and very well looked after despite poor weather conditions. The activities were great for the kids. THANK YOU
Jul 03, 2015
Other than rain shutting down the kids activities early, and filling the waterslide with mud so the kiddos couldn't use it (they were so excited when they saw it as we were pulling in) This KOA was fantastic. A++++
Jul 03, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. Our kids liked the "Fun Zone," but mom thought some upkeep needed - some things broken or not well arranged. Wish the shower/rest rooms would have been larger. They are clean. Better exhaust fans needed in both restrooms and showers! Nestled in the Ponderosa pines was beautiful & relaxing. Conveniently located - Keystone, Mt. Rushmore, Custer. Thanks!
Jul 03, 2015
Over priced ..to noisy on the road we were on and staff was rude . Heard one day in morning .. Glad I'm off tomorrow I'm tired of these peoples stupid questions
Jul 02, 2015
Requested campsites, arrived and those weren't locked in. Twice before too. May rethink our choice.
Jul 02, 2015
Great resort, beautiful country side, great for the families with all the horses and things to do!!
Jul 02, 2015
This is my second stay at this KOA, and I was a little disappointed. Perhaps it was the volume of campers during this busy weekend, but the bathrooms were fairly consistently not clean. The pool has only one umbrella for shade which makes for unrelieved sun in the middle of the day. And the staff seemed very unaware about the surrounding area. Some small adjustments could make a big difference
Jul 02, 2015
We loved the facilities, the only downside was no cell service and the WiFi was terrible.
Jul 02, 2015
Check is was not a good experience. The site we had agreed upon was given to another customer. The site we were given backed up to the seweage ponds.
Jul 02, 2015
Jul 02, 2015
Jul 02, 2015
3 night stay with 5 people. Directed to a swampy back in site that put our 5th wheel into 6 inches of mud. The rest of the site was water - not just wet. After much ado, we were sent to a small site with no sewer. The 5th wheel did not fit. Hoped to move to a better site on the second day, but no can-do. Zero wifi - not even in listed hotspots. Good location - very poor service.
Jul 02, 2015
Beautiful location but the rest rooms were horrible otherwise I would have given it a 10 and 5 star rating.
Jul 01, 2015
Golf cart escort could have been better. I can read a map....but thought that was KOA's thing. Onsite Stable & Pub 20 Stars! WIFI.....PLEEZE.....Get with it!! You have it....expand the towers....it's a different time my friends. Would consider a company "get-a-way" here...but still need to stay in touch. Not just kids streaming movies...Parents have to work on vacation. Sad -But True. Great KOA
Jul 01, 2015
Friend Staff and plenty to do at the KOA and around the area
Jul 01, 2015
So perfect! Best place for our family!
Jul 01, 2015
Awesome experience!
Jul 01, 2015
We were there 6 days, and loved all the places to shop and eat. The only activity that we thought could be improved was the Chuck Wagon Dinner. Wish the wagon ride could have gone somewhere else besides around the campground. Steaks were less than average, but the rest of the meal was delicious.
Jul 01, 2015
Worst site I have ever had in 10 years of RVing. Muddy, muddy, muddy. Disappointed that KOA allows such sites.
Jul 01, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
Great location and facilities.
Jul 01, 2015
We checked into the office, assigned a spot then drove to the location. Unfortunately, after several rounds of recent rains, our spot was a giant mud puddle. We went back to the office, and we're assigned a new spot quickly by a friendly and helpful desk attendant. Our grandson enjoyed swimming and playing basketball. The downside was the large number of RVs side by side in small spots.
Jul 01, 2015
staff was very courteous and helpful.the reason I did not rate it better,very poor wi-fi,no cable tv,dirt roads had many potholes,plus a resort fee.It came to nearly $80 per night
Jul 01, 2015
We had such a wonderful time at this campground! The kids always had something fun to do. We will definitely be back! The only downfall is lack of wifi!
Jul 01, 2015
Great amenities and service. Employees Mike and Steve went the extra mile to help us when we had car trouble.
Jul 01, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
Lot 555 was terrible, deep road washouts, not level, just a very poor campsite. Wifi reception was 0 none. Our lot location was so poor that we could not even receive a single bar on our verizon phones. So the wife did mention how poor our lot was and the lady behind the registration desk told her she would be able to remember it that way. Unbelievable! We will never stay there again.
Jul 01, 2015
Cramped sites, barking dogs that were left alone in rv. Screaming small children all the time. But that could be the case anywhere. Stil, it affected our experience.
Jul 01, 2015
Roads were so muddy. Enjoyed pancakes.
Jul 01, 2015
Clean campground with a great staff!
Jun 30, 2015
By far the best campground we have stayed at. beautiful scenery and so much for kids to do. Will definitely be coming back next year.
Jun 30, 2015
We had a great time! Lots to do, very helpful staff, very clean rest rooms. We came after many days or rain and parts of the campground were underwater. Needs better drainage.
Jun 30, 2015
Bathroom areas were not very clean. I did not feel comfortable taking a shower because of the cleanliness. When I got coffee one day it took almost 30min. A little under staff. Lots of activities for the kids to do. When I had made reservations I had requested a more remote area than where we were. I feel that we should have been over by the creek.
Jun 30, 2015
So many things to do. The kids were disappointed to leave and sight see. They wanted to stay at the campground!
Jun 30, 2015
Maybe would have rated higher but only was there for one night and didn't get a chance to use the amenities.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.