Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 23, 2016
The location was great. Very quiet considering the number of campers. Definitely would stay again.
Jul 23, 2016
The Wi-Fi did not work that well. Otherwise it was great.
Jul 23, 2016
Great family facility with continual activities, clean and very accommodating. Tom
Jul 23, 2016
Sidewalks would improve this campground greatly. Also, some people can take vacation but still have to work. There is no cell service and I was never able to connect to the WiFi. This was not made clear on the website. Overall, my family liked everything there was to do at the campground, but these few thing kept our stay from being as comfortable as we would have liked.
Jul 23, 2016
Jul 23, 2016
Beautiful facility, very difficult staying their without cell phone or wifi service.
Jul 23, 2016
Sites are small. Resort is excellent for a long term stay over more than a single night. Great amenities. Very pleasant staff.$# all you can eat pancake breafkfast.
Jul 23, 2016
We love staying here and have done so for the last 6 years. My one suggestion would be to give adults more swim time during sun hours in the pool by the main office. We have not used the pool for 2 years now because of all of the kids.
Jul 23, 2016
Positives: great location convenient to visit Mt Rushmore & Crazy Horse monument; staff very friendly Negatives: check in took a long time (30+min) because only one staffer to guide to camp sites; our site was tiny with neighbors dump port only a few feet away (other sites were better and much more spacious); shower/bathroom cleaning in morning prevented access at peak times
Jul 23, 2016
Disappointed that we had to breakdown our camp just to dump tanks and set it back up because there was no "Honey Wagon" to come and dump the tanks. No secured Wi-Fi.
Jul 23, 2016
Our son loved the Fun Zone area however we were a little disappointed in the service we received while checking in.
Jul 23, 2016
There is a bit of inconsistency with the caliber of front desk help. The wi-fi is nonexistent. However, the amenities at this place are amazing!!!
Jul 23, 2016
If you have kids this place is great.We booked for 5 days with pull thru, full hookup well we got back in water sewer electric no cable. WiFi only in spots,advised to only check email,no phone service, one curtsy phone for hole park.Spots with everything are used for over nighters and located right in the middle of all services. I would check out other campgrounds if you don't have kids.
Jul 23, 2016
Needs a bigger dog park. This resort koa is huge and there was a party til 2am at the site next to us which kept us awake. Great place for kids.
Jul 23, 2016
It's a nice campground, but the capacity for the facility is to much. We had to wait for long periods of time to use the restrooms... Got very frustrating. Also it would be very helpful if they would level the lots on a frequent basis. Not only us but we saw several campers struggle to get there rvs in the space and get level. For the money we spent due to location the campground could afford it
Jul 23, 2016
A better sit down restaurant than Ponderosa on site would be nice.
Jul 23, 2016
Super clean, lots of amenities. Great stay
Jul 22, 2016
What a great place to have a family reunion. However, some of us needed to stay connected due to our jobs and had to travel 5 miles or more to get cell service and WIFI. I was told at the front desk that you have three hotspots but sorry to say that none of them worked. Very disappointed with WIFI availability. I did like that there were lots of activities for the kids.
Jul 22, 2016
We had a great time! All 63 of us have a great time!
Jul 22, 2016
Had almost no water pressure the first morning in our camper. Some camping site extremely close together. We had a very nice stay.
Jul 22, 2016
Many improvements from last year, seen a big price jump in things from last year. Still one of the nieces camp grounds.
Jul 22, 2016
The campgrounds had so many activities such as the ATV rentals, horseback riding, chuck wagon dinner, swimming, putt-putt, and daily kids activities that you could never get bored. The staff was very helpful. It was a great place for our family to stay and enjoy the Black Hills.
Jul 22, 2016
This campground has everything! Clean, a lot of activities, and options for everything. We wish we would have been able to stay longer. We plan on returning. It was in a great location and absolutely beautiful!
Jul 22, 2016
Jul 22, 2016
Kids loved it! They really, really, really loved it. But beware: if you plan to work while you stay, plan for no wifi nor cell coverage. Best place is going into a nearby city and find free wifi and enjoy cell coverage. Still a great place especially if you plan to get away from it all.
Jul 22, 2016
Our site was muddy. The staff said it rained. No other sites were muddy. Our bbq (we paid for deluxe site) started on fire - it was so dirty!! We called for help to put the fire out. No one ever came and cleaned it. Good central place and great for people with kids.
Jul 22, 2016
While this KOA has fantastic amenities, the bathrooms were in poor shape needing a lot more attention to cleanliness. Very dirty!
Jul 22, 2016
It was a great place to stay with the kids/grand kids. Nice variety of events and activities/
Jul 22, 2016
A very nice place. Good facilities and plenty to do. We will probably come back when we have time to do more of the activities.
Jul 22, 2016
A little too large for us; camping sites close together, but probably necessary for the area. So many activities, we should have planned an extra day to stay there! Also disappointed that the individual at the information desk discouraged us from Crazy Horse Memorial by telling us it was $25 per person to get in. When we looked in the brochure, it was actually $28 per car. For the 5 of us, tha
Jul 22, 2016
Jul 22, 2016
The place was perfect except the showers were filthy. The cleaners were there once and it didn't look any better after they left.
Jul 22, 2016
Outlying restroom could be a lot cleaner.
Jul 22, 2016
We had a wonderful family vacation & enjoyed all the amenities your resort provided from the horseback riding to the water slide!
Jul 22, 2016
Wonderful views. Very clean! Loved the UTV rental.
Jul 22, 2016
The shop did not have sufficient clerks to help everyone, people were in line for 15-20 minutes to buy ice in the evening before we left for the lighting ceremony. We needed to purchase an item but couldn't wait and the store was closed when we returned.
Jul 22, 2016
We don't usually stay at KOA. This was a great location and we liked the stay. Very large place with lots to do. The bar makes good drinks! People are so nice at camp, I wish the world was one big camp grounds.
Jul 21, 2016
Stayed here many times. Very clean. Family friendly. Rodeo was a special treat! Wish you would reinstate recycling. Looking forward to next summer! Thank you for a great stay.
Jul 21, 2016
Absolutely amazing. Great activities and very friendly staff
Jul 21, 2016
Had a wonderful time. Campsite was in excellent condition. The fun park had what every child would want. I would recommend this campsite to anyone that wants a fun get away.
Jul 21, 2016
My kids love all the activities, highly recommended!
Jul 21, 2016
Way over priced. No WiFi ,no TV for news,no phone service.. Could not get an emergency call. Lost family member. didn't know for two days.Water bad can't even wash clothes. Would not recommend
Jul 21, 2016
Concrete patio, swing, grill and fire ring!! 15 min from Mount Rushmore and other attractions. Staff was very friendly.
Jul 21, 2016
Great place to stay! Lots to do with kids of all ages.
Jul 21, 2016
Everything was good except that we had some trouble to level out the motorhome. The site was so uneven that the standard yellow wedges were not good enough.
Jul 21, 2016
This KOA is probably great for families with children, but for two retired folks we did not care for it. The wifi did not work and we needed to do banking and check our travel plans and could not. We had to go Mt Rushmore to get any wifi. Our phones did not work well either. We felt the sites were small for the prices. Again if you have children this KOA is probably just what you want.
Jul 21, 2016
Friendly
Jul 21, 2016
Jul 21, 2016
Best we have stayed at. Staff was wonderful.
Jul 21, 2016
We didn't have enough time for the kids to play because it rained. But we still had a great time!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals