Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

RV Reviews

Mar 12, 2014
Feb 23, 2014
Amazing stay! We liked being able to rent a car for the day -- very convenient. Lovely setting -- very peaceful even though it was very full -- well done!
Nov 19, 2013
Nice campsite, spacious. The showers were not the cleanest. We couldn't use the pool, waterslide and the play area because of the weather so we can't rate those.
Nov 04, 2013
Nov 03, 2013
Oct 29, 2013
A large, very well run campground!
Oct 23, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
Rental car cost too much.
Oct 09, 2013
We had a wonderful time staying at this KOA Kamground near Moutn Rushmore. It was a beautiful very well maintianed facility and was close to all the things we wanted to see and do. We would highly recommend this KOA and would defnitely stay here again if our travels bring us through that part of the country again!
Oct 08, 2013
Stayed here to see Mt. Rushmore. Great location to see Mt. Rushmore & Crazyhorse Monuments, each within 5 miles or so. Due to the time of year nothing at the KOA was open which was a bummer because we would have liked to try the restaurant. During the high season though, I can tell kids would LOVE this park! They also have one of the best KOA stores i have seen so far!
Oct 07, 2013
crowded & lousy campsites
Oct 07, 2013
We brought our 7 grandkids in June & had so much fun we came back in Sept. & went to the Buffalo Roundup!!! This KOA is big rig friendly, location is the best!! KOA made our trip perfect when our daughter's boyfriend surprised her @ Mt. Rushmore and asked her to marry him. We ended up renting the President's cabin for them to stay while we stayed in our RV, our site had a large patio & furniture
Oct 05, 2013
Oct 04, 2013
Oct 03, 2013
as long as you advertise WiFi and cable-you should make sure they work properly; the problems we had detracted from an otherwise good experience; please address and fix
Oct 02, 2013
my husband and I were on our honeymoon and we made reservations for a camp site farther out and since the time of year those camp areas were closed for season. As we understand that.. we did speak with a real person when booking and they indicated those sites would be there. the manager at the KOA-- WAS not helpful and did not try and keep our business. we will not stay at any KOA's
Oct 02, 2013
This was by far the KOA with the most activities- only they were mostly closed!!! It was very disappointing. It seems only to cater for the summer holiday crowd. Also, the staff were very aloof, and didn't seem to care very much about the clients. It's a shame, becasue they have great facilities. I would stay there again, but only for that. The staff should at least try to be friendlier.
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
the campground was very clean and nice. The bathrooms and showers were especially clean and they even had HOT water. the sites were nice and the scenery was beautiful. Thanks for a wonderful stay.
Oct 01, 2013
Wow, this campground was amazing. We came at the end of their season so we were unable to utilize all of the facilities due to them being closed for the season...but we still had a great time. We'd love to come back during the open season-can't even begin to think of how awesome that would be. VERY kid centered!! Perfect for families.
Oct 01, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
Enjoyed our stay, quiet and very clean. Central, near a lot of activities.
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 29, 2013
Your people, especially Mr. & Mrs Shook and Diane, went above and beyond the call of duty to help us in a personal tragedy we had there. We will be back!
Sep 28, 2013
It is frustrating that our cell phones would not work. We stayed the week of sept 21 and most all features were closed so I cannot comment on any of them. Even the coffee shop was closed. Would be nice to keep that open later in the season.
Sep 28, 2013
Everything about this RV park was great! Great spots, great amenities, great location and we were there just out of the summer season!
Sep 28, 2013
need more signs , we almost turned around and went somewhere else to camp.. otherwise everything else was good
Sep 28, 2013
My wife and I have been in a lot of KOA campgrounds over the last two years. We found that the staff was great with us. But, For a campground like yours I would think that the bathrooms and showers would be a lot better. We felt they were over used and out dated. The dinner at your restaurant was poor. My wife's dinner ended up in the garbage. Don't get me wrong, but, you can do better.
Sep 28, 2013
Very good service, great washrooms. We stayed 2 days and it was great
Sep 27, 2013
Nice campground- the bathrooms near our camper very very clean and well designed.
Sep 27, 2013
location!location!location! Great access to monuments and shopping but staff not as helpful or personable as other KOA's we've stayed in. No escort to site, no offer of assistance. No problems whatsoever,
Sep 27, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Loved being able to see Mt.Rushmore at night- shuttle from campground great. Nice staff and campground
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Facilities were good, convenient to Rushmore. Customer service was poor. Staff were indifferent to me, making me wait when there were available staff to help and then sending me to another line and then the same staff member came over to look over the guy who did help me shoulder. more interested in bossing the other staff around than helping customers. First poor experience at a KOA.
Sep 25, 2013
Sep 25, 2013
Sites not appealing but facilities are great and staff very helpful. Great location
Sep 25, 2013
Everything was fine. The only thing I didn't care for was the cost for staying a night. I realize there is a lot of expense to maintain such a large place. I would be a little concerned recommending the location because of the cost.
Sep 24, 2013
Really great place!
Sep 24, 2013
What a wonderful park in such a fabulous location. Great KOA facility with great KOA people. Everyone was so helpful and friendly.
Sep 24, 2013
Perfect. Really enjoyed having a restaurant to go to on the grounds.
Sep 24, 2013
I enjoyed the spot we were in and the staff were very helpful. My only complaint is the showers. The first night I showered and could not believe the mold and dirt in the shower so on the second day I waited until the cleaning crew came through and went right up there and there was still dirty Q-Tips and other things in my shower stall and mold. Terrible showers.
Sep 23, 2013
Busy Labour Day weekend...but clean and very well run
Sep 23, 2013
Excellent in and out
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 22, 2013
Off season great stay.
Sep 22, 2013
Somewhat upsetting that our reservation was changed to another site without trees - they had closed down the sites with mature sites. Bathrooms clean. Nice folks.
Sep 22, 2013
Very clean and nice. We enjoyed our stay
Sep 22, 2013
Great facilities and staff. Perfect location for Rushmore, Deadwood, Custer State Park, Sylvan Lake and the Caves.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.