Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Nov 13, 2016
Great location. Excellent staff. Lots of activities or total relaxation.
Nov 06, 2016
Great staff, great service. Loves the little extras that are available like the coffee/wine shop! Only downfall is limited TV (only on premium sites) and very limited on site cell service. Would certainly stay again, as one of our favorites so far.
Oct 28, 2016
Just wish it had cell service and wifi
Oct 22, 2016
would stay again....THANKS!!
Oct 21, 2016
Always a pleasure to stay here! Friendly staff. Clean restrooms & showers. Love the Black Hills!!!
Oct 15, 2016
Beautiful facility. Helpful staff.
Oct 14, 2016
Nice campground but very disappointed. We reserved ahead, but got stuck in a crummy RV site next to the restrooms. No grass, tight fit for trailer. Should eliminate this spot as a site and plant grass!
Oct 10, 2016
Very enjoyable.
Oct 09, 2016
One of the best KOAs we've stayed at. The sites are a bit close together for motor homes, but the campground was beautiful with many places to walk and ride your bike. Nice dog park too!
Oct 06, 2016
The best KOA location so far ... spectacular ... Buffalo WY location is also great.
Oct 05, 2016
We were here with our 4 kids the weekend they were closing so most of the extras were already closed for the season, but we loved this place. Very friendly staff, beautiful grounds, and surrounding scenery. Very convenient location to the area. Great place to just hang out with the kids, would love to come back during the summer and enjoy the rest of the fun here!!
Oct 05, 2016
poor service at the store!!
Oct 05, 2016
High Quality RV Park
Oct 04, 2016
Everything worked and the weather was gorgeous. The young man who checked us in was super cool.
Oct 04, 2016
Oct 04, 2016
Facilities are great. Maintaining them was not a priority. Bathroom sinks not cleaned in 2 days I was there. Floors and showers neglected as well, trash in restrooms not emptied.
Oct 04, 2016
One of the best I seen and been too
Oct 03, 2016
Excellent staff and facilities!
Oct 03, 2016
Friendly staff. Clean, well-maintained facility and grounds. Have lots of activities available. Relaxing location.
Oct 03, 2016
Very nice site! Great service!
Oct 03, 2016
Very nice campground staff very helpful, about local attractions.
Oct 03, 2016
Beautiful, spacious and kind staff
Oct 03, 2016
Best KOA I've ever been to. Bathrooms were so clean and absolutely beautiful.
Oct 02, 2016
Accommodating!
Oct 02, 2016
Beautiful place
Oct 02, 2016
Great
Oct 02, 2016
The bathrooms need a remodel otherwise a great place to experience Mount Rushmore
Oct 01, 2016
This was our second time at this KOA, it is a great place to stay, as it is near everything and the staff is great.
Oct 01, 2016
Wonderful KOA, beautiful views and very helpful and friendly staff!!!!!
Oct 01, 2016
Oct 01, 2016
Loved the setting and location, convenient to nearby attractions.
Sep 29, 2016
wonderful location close to Mt Rushmore and Custer State Park. At the end of the season, many of the shops and activities were not available. Wifi is terrible; even from the desktop computer in the lodge, I could not get anything on the internet! Really not acceptable in the 21st century and for a quality facility such as this campground
Sep 29, 2016
Extremely nice and accommodating. Thank you!
Sep 27, 2016
We love the campground, not the resort fee. We are retired and don't use anything that we are paying for, please change that!!
Sep 27, 2016
Great stay, friendly staff, would definitely stay here again.
Sep 27, 2016
Love the area.. KOA representatives are friendly and excel in what to do in the area.
Sep 27, 2016
Our favorite KOA that we have stayed at. Very convenient to all of the surrounding sights. Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Needles Highway
Sep 27, 2016
Our RV spot was muddy and the picnic table was falling apart. The young man who checked us in was in a bad mood and not helpful. We would have liked a more expensive site but was not offered one and we are KOA members. The WIFI was terrible since you get knocked off it every 5 minutes. It is our means of communication.
Sep 26, 2016
Nicest KOA I've ever stayed in. Great staff and KOA is well maintained.
Sep 26, 2016
Beautiful campground, nice showers,restrooms,,restaurant and gift shop. Friendly help.
Sep 26, 2016
Started off bad. Didn't show us our site. Help wouldn't help us find it. When found, not long enough for 21' camper. several trips to office. Only nice lady there was Judy. Got better site. Almost all things advertised was closed a week before labor day. Courtesy ride to Mt Rushmore cost more than parking at Mt Rushmore. only good things was location & Judy. Might have left without her t
Sep 26, 2016
We went to the Black Hills late in the season so all of the concessions were already closed but from what we could see there is plenty for the kids. TV reception in the mountains is non existent so unless you have a satellite dish or get one of the few premium sites. The staff is friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean. We will definitely stay here again.
Sep 25, 2016
Great place.
Sep 25, 2016
Very expensive but well-run operation. Really the only campground with ready access to Rushmore.
Sep 25, 2016
The roads in the park were narrow and a bit confusing-especially with no escort upon arrival. Also-mapquest directed us through Keystone, which meant we had to drive past the Mt. Rushmore entrance-a route the guide book recommended avoiding due to the steep twisting road. Much easier (and) shorter to come from Hill City. Also, a simple sign at the exit indicating which way to turn for Hill City/K
Sep 25, 2016
The place is beautifull but the front desk staff go above and beyond to make your life as miserable as they can. So we left to another place. Maybe other KOA places are not like this
Sep 24, 2016
No cell service was a problem as I needed to check on my brother in the hospital and other family
Sep 24, 2016
First visit to Mount Rushmore KOA and we were impressed with the cleanliness and size. Even though we stayed after all the activities closed for the season, we could tell it is a great place to vacation with lots of activities. We will stay here again.
Sep 24, 2016
Sep 24, 2016
Outstanding The Central location to all surrounding parks and sightseeing drives that a person would take and showcase the areas beauty and rich history is perfect.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy