Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

May 26, 2016
Very helpful staff. Just wish they would publish when things open ie- the Restaurant no notice it opened the day we left.
May 26, 2016
The campground was nice. However, for the price and the additional resort fees, we were very disappointed that there was no cable or WIFI away from the main office. Without cell service in the area, that left us cut off from family, in the event of an emergency.
May 25, 2016
Just not that great. The person who shoes us to our site was kind enough, but it's hard to like a camp site without even a tree and I'm really sorry but if WiFI is advertised, it ought to reach to our campsite. So KOA name sometimes just means expensive electricity for a parking space.
May 24, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. The campground is very clean and the staff very courteous and helpful. We were able to bring our 4 wheeler along and ride the trails on the Federal Land. We were able to do day trips to many sites. We have stayed here before this last trip and plan to return again with all the family.
May 24, 2016
loved the location and looks of the park, we were off season so some things were closed
May 24, 2016
KOA campgrounds are such a blessing to have when traveling in the "RV" world! The staff at these campgrounds are so friendly, courteous and professional! You want a CLEAN place to stay? You got it! You want a helpful place to stay? You got it! You want a nice physical location to stay? You go it! My wife and I cannot say enough as to how great the KOA Campgrounds are!
May 24, 2016
Beautiful setting.The restrooms and showers need upgrading. No cell coverage is a concern, also spotty wifi. Sites are too close together so not much privacy. Rates are way too high for what is offered.
May 23, 2016
May 23, 2016
Filthy bath/shower areas, no WiFi, no cell service. Tiny shelter area for 4-5 people when dangerous storm threatened. Filthy bath/shower areas; photos available.
May 22, 2016
Best campground we ever stayed at. Super clean and stock trout pond. My son fished everyday.
May 22, 2016
Absolutely no problems during our stay. Facilities were always neat and clean. Staff just great and very helpful. Always had a smile
May 22, 2016
This campground was absolutely beautiful and so close to Mt. Rushmore. Our stay was the best one yet!
May 21, 2016
Best KOA we ever stayed at. They have everything a camper could want. If for just a one nite or a week stay.
May 21, 2016
Its a huge place. Lots to do in the area. We were there before they were in full swing for the season so some of the on property things weren't open yet. But still had fun.
May 21, 2016
Fabulous grounds, great staff, above and beyond. I would love to go back!
May 20, 2016
Quoted one rate when I made the reservation and paid. They wouldn't honor the rate upon arrival without conversation with manager. Obviously trying to get people to upgrade to more expensive lot. For such an expensive KOA there is no WIFI or cable TV and due to its location there is no cell phone service. Wouldn't stay there again.
May 19, 2016
This was a great place! Especially enjoyed Grapes and Grain with Shelley, a staff member.She was courteous, helpful, and fun!
May 17, 2016
Wonderful staff and facility. Great location to stay while visiting Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Will definitely return to this KOA
May 13, 2016
Seemed very nice. We came late & left early so we didn't really get a chance to experience it fully but I would have loved to stay longer!
May 13, 2016
awsome, clean,beautiful place,fun for the hole family,lots to do
May 11, 2016
Great time at a very nice campground. The only complaint is that everyone speeds excessively through the campground despite the copious speed limit signs. Our kids were almost hit while playing in our campsite by a lady in a Buick doing around 40 mph. Other than that everyone was extremely friendly and the campground was very clean. Especially liked the fenced in dog park and remodeled bath/shower
May 11, 2016
we stayed 2 nights everything wasnt open , too early in the season early May clean friendly will be back
May 11, 2016
Horrible wi fi, too pricey fpr off season
May 11, 2016
May 10, 2016
Very welcoming, THANK YOU for that! Friendly and helpful staff, just getting up and running for the season so most amenities were closed, but what a beautiful KOA and wonderful people! We'll be coming back later in the season to enjoy everything there is to do!
May 09, 2016
Unfortunately we came too early and the restaurant and speciality stores were not open yet. Looks fun in the summer.
May 09, 2016
Very nice store and helpful people...nice clean site.
May 08, 2016
Nice campground, friendly folks. Totally new shower/bathroom building. Showers on one side of the building only had cold water. Start up problem?

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the comment and sorry for the cold water. The issue has been resolved and the showers are now nice and warm. Hope to see you again soon.
May 07, 2016
Perfect location, especially if you want to hike up towards Harney Peak. Very close by to Mt Rushmore w/ very nice facilities.
May 07, 2016
May 06, 2016
The only thing that would have made it better is if the restraunts open the same time as the camp grounds. Staf was great and very helpfull
Feb 26, 2016
We've stayed at a lot of KOA's but this is by far the best. Beautiful setting, nice people and lots to do for the kids.
Nov 09, 2015
Our camp site was soaking wet but they did take half off. Overall it was a great place but service was slow and ok.
Nov 07, 2015
Very clean. Everyone very courteous and helpful. The Staff very knowledgeable about the attractions to see. Liked the Shower arrangements separated from the bathrooms.
Nov 07, 2015
Nice
Oct 27, 2015
Beautiful campground
Oct 26, 2015
it was exceptional clean and very tidy.
Oct 26, 2015
It was nice to have a place to stop and plug in when all other campgrounds were completely closed for the season. Looks like beautiful facilities.
Oct 20, 2015
Oct 20, 2015
Awesome! Even off-season it was fabulous
Oct 20, 2015
stayed in after season and it worked out great, had power and dump but water was off. I'd come again.
Oct 16, 2015
It was a wonderful park. Very friendly staff.
Oct 15, 2015
This is the only campground that we stay at when we go to the hills. Everyone VERY friendly and helpful there.
Oct 13, 2015
great att, great stay
Oct 11, 2015
Oct 10, 2015
wifi and cell phone crevice was poor
Oct 10, 2015
A nice palace with a lot of amenities!
Oct 07, 2015
we were pleasantly surprised, we have not stayed at a koa and were very impressed with yours
Oct 06, 2015
What a wonderful campground. We were in town for the Crazy Horse Marathon. We look forward to coming back in the summer. So much to do. The location is close to both Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore.
Oct 06, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff .Clean and well maintained.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals