Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Nov 09, 2015
Our camp site was soaking wet but they did take half off. Overall it was a great place but service was slow and ok.
Nov 07, 2015
Very clean. Everyone very courteous and helpful. The Staff very knowledgeable about the attractions to see. Liked the Shower arrangements separated from the bathrooms.
Nov 07, 2015
Nice
Oct 27, 2015
Beautiful campground
Oct 26, 2015
it was exceptional clean and very tidy.
Oct 26, 2015
It was nice to have a place to stop and plug in when all other campgrounds were completely closed for the season. Looks like beautiful facilities.
Oct 20, 2015
Oct 20, 2015
Awesome! Even off-season it was fabulous
Oct 20, 2015
stayed in after season and it worked out great, had power and dump but water was off. I'd come again.
Oct 16, 2015
It was a wonderful park. Very friendly staff.
Oct 15, 2015
This is the only campground that we stay at when we go to the hills. Everyone VERY friendly and helpful there.
Oct 13, 2015
great att, great stay
Oct 11, 2015
Oct 10, 2015
wifi and cell phone crevice was poor
Oct 10, 2015
A nice palace with a lot of amenities!
Oct 07, 2015
we were pleasantly surprised, we have not stayed at a koa and were very impressed with yours
Oct 06, 2015
What a wonderful campground. We were in town for the Crazy Horse Marathon. We look forward to coming back in the summer. So much to do. The location is close to both Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore.
Oct 06, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff .Clean and well maintained.
Oct 06, 2015
This is a great KOA and we are looking forward to coming back this summer for some fun!
Oct 06, 2015
Oct 06, 2015
Enormous campground. Well maintained and very clean bathrooms. We were disappointed that they didn't keep the hot tub going until they closed.
Oct 05, 2015
Although we're not fans of KOAs, coming in late in the season meant that some parks were closed and others had shut off their water, so this was really our only choice. Boy, did we regret it! The front office help was unfriendly, almost surly. This is promoted as a luxury park with many activities and amenities, but they really need to pay more attention to their RV sites. The roads and pads in
Oct 04, 2015
Enjoyed our stay at your camp ground. Very clean , great staff very helpful, beautiful surroundings too. We will be back for sure thank you again.
Oct 04, 2015
Hard to find.
Oct 04, 2015
We stayed at this campground the last week that they were open to RV's for the season. The place was very clean and had nice spaces. It had many amenities although stores were already closed for the winter. Great place to stay. Maybe a little pricey.
Oct 04, 2015
Phenomenal views and great facilities. Many things for children to do. Quick access to Mt. Rushmore area attractions.
Oct 02, 2015
Great campground which lived up to all expectations!
Oct 01, 2015
Very well laid out camp site. Little or no road noise. Very clean and up to date facility.
Sep 30, 2015
Great place!
Sep 30, 2015
Sep 30, 2015
Very efficient and friendly staff and the location was perfect. Centrally located in the Black Hills. Super clean!
Sep 30, 2015
Great stay. Quiet. Good water. Could use more powerful wifi.
Sep 29, 2015
Nice clean bathrooms and showers.
Sep 29, 2015
I was disappointed with our stay at this KOA. I was expecting this fantastic place for our kids to enjoy and found almost all of the fun things closed down for the season. This was not mentioned when I made the reservation. When trying to rent bikes we were told two different prices. The bathrooms were run down and water in the sinks and toilets were brown. Not sure I would return.
Sep 29, 2015
Liked everything about it!
Sep 28, 2015
Great location, loads of activities and great resort!
Sep 28, 2015
Great to have the restaurant as an option. We had a tent so, the parking lot ambiance was a bit of a drag for us.
Sep 28, 2015
Late season. Nearly all reasons to stay at this "resort" and pay the price were closed. Off season rates should be much less. Good location though clean. Utilities for the site we had were too far away, needed double lengths of hose, cable and electric. The patios were a nice touch and everyone was very friendly. Don't count on internet connectivity even in the alleged hot spots.
Sep 28, 2015
Very nice campground and friendly workers. Only complaint is that there was a streetlight right in front of my tent, so it wasn't as "campy" of an experience as I'd hoped.
Sep 28, 2015
Playground was awesome, understand pool being closed, but not the other extras. Quiet, bathrooms clean, could use an update.
Sep 27, 2015
Awesome accommodations! Perfect location to see everything.
Sep 27, 2015
We loved visiting the Black Hills area. Gorgeous landscape and major landmarks to see. The KOA was clean and handy location for visiting the many beautiful monuments. THANKS!
Sep 26, 2015
No contact with outside world. Too bad. Nice otherwise.
Sep 26, 2015
Could tell the young folks were at seasons end not rude but very curt. More mature staff very friendly
Sep 26, 2015
Beautiful campsites, but do to end of season all the amendities were closed.
Sep 26, 2015
pretty place
Sep 24, 2015
Very friendly staff. Very dog friendly. Lots of grassy areas to walk dogs. Very nice clean bathrooms and showers.
Sep 23, 2015
We had a great time at the KOA the rental car was a bit beat up. The campsite and facilities were great.
Sep 23, 2015
It was busy due to time of year and activities at Sturgis. The washrooms were only cleaned once/day which left them filthy for most of the day. Must give kudo's to the office for successfully accommodating a request for additional days in the same site.
Sep 23, 2015
Friendly staff, great location, nice campground.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals