Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
Traveling with Yankee Tours. Rod picked a Great place. Clean,efficient, and yummy breakfast
Jul 21, 2017
Great stay for our family reunion!!Bring walkie talkies as cell service doesn't work! Wifi in 3 places. Although this is good because everyone is talking, playing board and card games. Also singing round the campfire!
Jul 21, 2017
The Campground staff was great. The camps is a little too big for my liking. I did enjoy the shuttle ride to see the lighting of Mt. Rushmore Ralph Bates
Jul 21, 2017
So much to do! Convenient location.
Jul 21, 2017
Driveways become very muddy in daily rains. Needs more gravel and/or pavement. Bathrooms often dirty. Large hairball found in pizza.
Jul 21, 2017
Great campground from the service and amenities to the views. This was our second stay in the past three years, love it. Staff was friendly this stay but remember them being more friendly last visit.
Jul 21, 2017
The staff was all very friendly and our kids loved all the activities! There was so much for kids to do, they were never board.
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
Lots of activities for children and adults. Only thing I didn't like was kids riding bikes after dark and not watching if vehicles were coming. Our GPS also brought us right to here.
Jul 21, 2017
Great
Jul 21, 2017
This is a huge KOA. Beautifully maintained,and like a self-contained mini-community. Close to Mt Rushmore/ Crazy Horse sites. Although our 30' travel trailer barely fit the spot we were assigned, and other campers expressed the same concern, we still would return to this KOA if we were touring this area again. One surprise at check-in was the extra "resort" charge ($10) per day.
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
This place was amazing. So many activities and beautiful setting. Kids loved the pool and water slide and we happened to be there the evening of the rodeo. What a treat.
Jul 21, 2017
Was the worst camping spot we have E#VER had...,.asked tobe moved butthey wouldn't even talk about it. Cancelle the the rest of our reservation and went to a small nice camp ground...DO NOT STAY HERE
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
Very fun for the kids! We were happy with this place. They had a lot to offer!
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
The sites are way too small. The first site we were placed in would not fit a 30' motor home with an awning out. Poor customer service at the counter. I would be happy with a call to explain the rest of the concerns.
Jul 21, 2017
we had been there before many years ago, so it had changed quite a bit but we loved it again.
Jul 21, 2017
It was a great vacation and a nice place to stay no worries when we left for the day to see the sights
Jul 21, 2017
Very enjoyable. Courteous, helpful people, lots of amenities, close to everything we wanted to see
Jul 21, 2017
Very disgusted. While my 11 year old granddaughter and I were in the ladies shower. Male cleaning crew came into ladies shower building even after I shouted out to them please come back later they returned 2 minutes later and began cleaning. I went to the manager at registration and was told that they are foreign workers with limited English PARENTS DO NOT LET YOUR CHILDREN GO TO THE SHOWERS ALONE
Jul 21, 2017
VERY nice place. Lots to do. Would come back. Would recommend this KOA to everyone.
Jul 21, 2017
Horrible. Assigned a campsite better suited for a tent. What s zoo.
Jul 21, 2017
Perfect family resort!!!
Jul 21, 2017
Your staff was a great help with the directions we needed. Our family had a great time. Wish we could have stayed longer!
Jul 20, 2017
This is a great resort for families. Lots to do and the kids loved all water activities. Also a great location for visiting Mt. Rushmore, caves and etc. It's also a beautiful setting and clean. We did, however, have to get used to being "off the grid" for there was no cell service or wifi available in the area. We would stay again, very enjoyable.
Jul 20, 2017
We had a spot right across from the bathrooms. Not a huge deal, but a little annoying early am or evenings with people walking through site. Perhaps a pathway could be installed? Lots of rain and ended up with a 4" deep puddle in our parking spot. Asked for help at front office and none offered. Husband's feet soaked hooking up. :( 3 grandkids LOVED all the activities.
Jul 20, 2017
Bathrooms and showers need to be cleaned more frequently. My husband compared the men's room to the outhouses in Yellowstone. I mentioned this to an employee and he joked about it, and stated that he agreed that they were worse than out houses in Vietnam. I would have hoped that my complaint would have been taken seriously.
Jul 20, 2017
Exceeded our expectations in every way. A destination itself.
Jul 20, 2017
Great place to stay....
Jul 20, 2017
Loved all of the activities for the kids. Staff was very helpful and friendly.
Jul 20, 2017
This is the second time I have stayed at this KOA. It's a good place to go with children. Lots of activities. Close to many nearby attractions.
Jul 20, 2017
Loved all the activities available. The covered wagon ride to the chuckwagon and the horseback riding were the highlights. And the shuttle bus to Mount Rushmore was great.
Jul 20, 2017
Jul 20, 2017
It was a nice park and the kids enjoyed it. The whole area is a connection nightmare, good or bad! We did miss hot water when we needed to shower in the evening. Morning had no problems. We use our phones for many useful things so print what you have researched or plan on spending many hours off the grid.
Jul 20, 2017
So much to see, so much to do. A whole lot larger than we thought.
Jul 20, 2017
Jul 20, 2017
This was great campaite. We will definitely be back.
Jul 20, 2017
Dry nice rv park. I'd stay again. The 4 star is because of the cost. Store items are over priced as is the nightly rate.
Jul 20, 2017
Very family friendly. Would highly recommend this KOA.
Jul 20, 2017
We couldn't be happier. We stayed at the Palmer Gulch site for a week. We were very impressed with all of the activities and the staff who always went above and beyond. You guys truly have thought of everything. I was ultimately impressed with the garbage pickup service!
Jul 20, 2017
Beautiful area to begin with. Check in a breeze and the host service taking you to your sight helps minimize traffic and confusion given the immense size of this resort. Tons of activities and amenities. Loved every minute of our stay and recommend for families and RVers of all ages!
Jul 20, 2017
Had a great time- only complaint is bathrooms didn't ever seem that clean.
Jul 19, 2017
We love it there! So many family friendly activities for all ages. It's also so close to other great attractions in the area.
Jul 19, 2017
Had a wonderful time. Very clean. Wonderful activities for your kids. Would stay again!!
Jul 19, 2017
It was THE BEST! Can anyone give me the name of the people who do the Horseback riding? I'd like to send them an email.
Jul 19, 2017
Restrooms were the filthiest I have seen. They were dirty when I went in in the evening and they still had not been cleaned when I went back in twice the next morning. My premium site was right in the busy section of the campsite and very loud. It rained and part of my site had standing water. We got in a day late due to truck trouble. We got charged for both nights. They didn't seem to care.
Jul 19, 2017
Beautiful campground full of amenities for families and adults. You don't ever want to leave it's so wonderful!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals