Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Aug 25, 2014
Great place for families. It's rather large, so if your unit is further from the activities, expect to walk a lot. A lot of people in the pool, and adult hours are 8-10PM, which makes it hard to enjoy the pool. But I loved the amenities for food/dining, and access to extra activities like horseback riding. It's almost like going to a dude ranch without the price tag.
Aug 25, 2014
Hands down this is one of the best KOA's we have stayed at. Lots to do for the kids and Adults. Close to most of the day excursion tourists sites. My family and I enjoyed our Vacation very much. Thank you!
Aug 25, 2014
We stayed in a camping cabin and absolutely loved our family time there! The campgrounds were amazing - clean, beautiful, and extremely family friendly! Our 3 kids range in age from 4-14 and each one of them had their own amazing experience. Thanks Mt. Rushmore KOA for the best family vacation we've ever had!!
Aug 23, 2014
We had a great time! My 6yo twins loved the splash pad, the pool, the water slide, and the loft in our cabin. Everyone was very nice and courteous. We are already talking about coming back again, just to enjoy the KOA amenities!
Aug 23, 2014
The location is great--it has everything you need right on site. The cabin was new, quiet and well-equipped. My only complaint is that it's incredibly difficult to find your way to cabins at night! There are a lot of roads and turns and the directional signs are small and not lit so they were completely useless. Make them bigger, light them or make them reflective--please!!
Aug 23, 2014
Free wifi was advertised, but we were later told it was not guaranteed in the cabins. Why wouuld you advertise wifi if it is not accessible in the cabins! Also, the numbering system is absurd. I walked around for an hour and a half in the rain looking for my cabin.
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
we reserved a tent only site but were assigned a site in the middle of very noisy rvs and cabins with motorcycle people. It was very late and had to upgrade to cabin and pay $90/night, if I knew about the tent site being in the middle of rvs when I made reservation, I would have stayed at the motel in Keystone for $49/night.
Aug 22, 2014
We had such a fantastic time!! Relaxing for the adults and tons to do for the kids!! Can't wait to go again!
Aug 22, 2014
Clean,fun,quiet,enormous
Aug 21, 2014
Took approx 2 hours to check in. They have 2 comp. Systems which do not communicate with each other. Res were made 4 months in advance for two cabins. Yet at check in they advised they would be at opposite sides of the park. I was told that I could park my RV at the cabin not true.
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
My stay as far as the campground was excellent as always. My group and many other campers were not impressed with your bartender Saturday night! She was late, rude, and was costing you money. We watched couple after couple leave due to her. She also was feeding her dad free beers, at least I never saw him pay for one and at one point I saw him start a fight!!
Aug 21, 2014
Awesome location and the kids activities are great. This was our second stay. We love it.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
I have been here many times over the years. I don't think the filters work in the pools. They are covered in bugs and some were a strange color and smell.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Overall, our stay was good. We had a little mouse problem in our camper cabin. We had to block the bottom of the door at night so the mice couldn't get in.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Need closer restroom/shower facilities for Camping Cabins. Great place to bring the kids though, tons of activities for them. At the end of the day, they are tired! :)
Aug 19, 2014
Very enjoyable, cabin very nice! Water slide and baby pool was not very clean! Water was green at bottom of water slide.
Aug 18, 2014
Great Staff and lots of activities. *KOA needs to due a better job of keeping pool water clean of bugs and such.
Aug 18, 2014
Loved our cabin, it's location and the beautiful view. The pool was a a little gross, hard to see the bottom.
Aug 18, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay, and felt welcomed right from the start. We loved the Pancake breakfast each morning. We were very disappointed of the service at the Ponderosa Restaurant, but the rest of the stay was great.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.