Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jun 06, 2016
We were blessed by the kind staff members, especially Ben the manager. Our tent broke the first day and he was very accomodating. We love the summershiner program and the family friendly music!!!
Jun 06, 2016
never explained air mattress on pull out couch. thought it was just a bad mattress.
Jun 06, 2016
We LOVED the campground at Mount Rushmore! Beautiful! Our Deluxe Kabin was very clean and perfect for our family of 5. Our young children loved the Fun Zone - well worth the $10 activity fee! We hope to return again in the future! Thank you KOA for the wonderful family memories!
Jun 05, 2016
This koa is by far the best outta of the couple dozen I've been too also the ponderosa restaurant was good but could use a few more options and larger portions for the price but all in all extremely happy with my trip
Jun 04, 2016
Jun 03, 2016
We stayed at 8 KOAs on our road trip out West and this was by far the best. We regretted only being there for one night!
Jun 03, 2016
It was great. Fun time for the whole family. would love to come back
Jun 03, 2016
Best KOA we have stayed at. Lots of amenities and fun for the kids. Pancake breakfast was a great deal as well.
Jun 02, 2016
Very nice campground with two pools, alot of activities,and lots of room! Friendly staff too- had a great time!
Jun 02, 2016
We loved it!! Everyone was friendly and so many activities to do. The campgrounds provide so many available accommodations yet we were camping in the gorgeous quite black hills!
Jun 01, 2016
Loved it!
May 31, 2016
We had challenges with our cabin. When we returned for the evening a fuse was blown & we did not have power with several outlets & TV until the following day. We did not realize the fridge was also not working until the morning so our milk, juice, etc. went bad. The fuse was reset when we called it in. The coffee maker in the cabin did not work & was replaced with one filled with mice poop.
May 31, 2016
The campground was nice. We froze our tushes off because we were not prepared to not have a heater. This cabin was also the smallest of the four cabins that we stayed at this week. However, the facility was clean and very relaxing.
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
Awesome. Will come back. Good job Phone people could use work. But everything else was fantastic. See you soon.
May 31, 2016
We loved our stay! The only complaint we have is that the ground at our cabin site was very uneven so our table was on a slight hill and my daughter feel backward on her folding chair. If there is a way to flatten it out, it would be a perfect spot. Thanks for the memories. We had a great time!
May 31, 2016
Very relaxing!
May 31, 2016
This is the largest most expansive KOA I've visited with plenty of extra activity areas and shopping/dining areas. A+
May 31, 2016
Very nice campground with great services and cleaned rest area. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Site is very near to the memorial.
May 30, 2016
Great stay, a little pricey for somethings but overall a very nice campground.
May 29, 2016
Entire family had fun!! Thought it was great that there was limited wifi and no cell service.
May 28, 2016
The staff at Mt. Rushmore KOA was always very friendly and helpful in every part of the KOA. This was our third stay at this KOA and we'll probably come back the next time we're in the Black Hills. One of the best KOAs that I have visited!
May 28, 2016
Our cabin was not clean, lost of death flies beneed the window en gras en dust on the floor under the beds. The campkichten was not opend yet, aldough it was the end of may as they said it would reopen. Very terrible wifi, we couldn't open our mail most of the time.
May 28, 2016
Cabin was nice and clean. A lot of the amenities that drew us to this site were not available because we stayed before the start of the season. The website does not make this clear.
May 28, 2016
friendly helpful staff, clean comfort stations, clean and cozy kamper cabin, clean fresh air to breath and beautiful scenery!
May 27, 2016
My kids have enjoyed staying at the KOA cabins.
May 24, 2016
This is undoubtedly the best KOA in America, and absolutely the best housing in all of the Black Hills. Our cabin was large, pristine, and absolutely perfect for our group of eight. The staff was wonderful, and when we come back, we will absolutely stay here again!
May 23, 2016
Had a great time, I have stayed at this camp ground on more than one occation and enjoy every time, my complaint comes with how poor the WiFi is EVERY visit I make, even if I can walk the distance to be near the "hotspots" it is so bad I'd almost rather drive a few miles to be able to look something up on my phone or message family and friends...for an upper end KOA I think it could be better!
May 22, 2016
Lobby people are very kind. And public washroom was amazingly clean. But inside of cabin was dirty and very cold and only thing you can turn on is one heater because if you use anything else they will cut electricity power
May 20, 2016
Great staff and accommodations! Thank you.
May 16, 2016
It was a wonderful stay. We loved how close we were to everything. We can't wait to come back after Memorial Day!
May 16, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at Plamer gulch KOA. It was very cold at nights, the front desk gave us heaters free of charge to keep us warm...will visit in the future
May 10, 2016
This was the first time we ever stayed at a KOA campground and wow what a way to get someone hooked! Everyone was great and made sure you knew they were there to help even if it was to find a place to eat in the area. Unfortunately not all the things that this campground had to offer was open due to the time of year but it was still a great time in a beautiful area.
May 09, 2016
Best KOA we have ever stayed at! Blows the rest away.
May 09, 2016
We stayed in the Deluxe cabin. The cabin in very nice, however the heater in the main room didn't work. It is noisy. Nothing was open yet, so we didn't get to enjoy the different activities the KOA offers. But I am sure it's a nice place when it's open.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for letting us know about the heat. The issue has been resolved.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals