Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 02, 2016
Great for families, plenty to do for the kids. The staff was great, even went around letting campers know about bad weather in the area.
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
We stayed in a cabin. I wish the bathrooms were closer to our cabin.
Aug 01, 2016
We stayed here 15 years ago in the lodge for our family reunion and returned this time to stay in a deluxe cabin for another reunion. The cabin was fantastic! The loft was perfect for our kids! So many added things for the kids to do. 4 days was not enough time to do it al. Perfect central location.
Aug 01, 2016
Had a great time....
Aug 01, 2016
Only there one night but wish it had been many more. Look forward to returning in the future.
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
Everything was great except the restroom/showers were not clean.
Jul 31, 2016
Cabin was great overall, but had limited utensils - cabin for 8, but only 3-4 spoons?? Black dog hair was on floor and heat registers - that was unpleasant. Would totally recommend this KOA still. Lots of great kids activities - friendly staff.
Jul 31, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
KOA was nice- we enjoyed the extra's it had to offer (wall climbing, bingo, magic show). Excellent view from our campsite. shower facilities were nice/clean; however shower floors were slippery, dangerous w/ minimal h2o pressure- not young child friendly AT ALL, bathing a 2 year old was nearly impossible... Customer service/staff was rude and not helpful, disappointed w/this! Needs attn!
Jul 31, 2016
We stayed in a large cabin, comfortable for 8 people. It was clean, however our toilet ran all night and we had yellow water during our stay that we could not drink The girl that checked us in, Sarah, was less then enthusiastic, gave us no information or details about the place unless we asked. She had no personality what so ever The ice cream store served freezer burned ice cream that was $5
Jul 31, 2016
Great activities for the kids! The showers were a little dirty, but otherwise we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 30, 2016
A fantastic KOA resort! Clean camping cabin in a central location. Family style bathrooms were very clean and large. Pancake breakfast was definitely worth it. Close to Mt. Rushmore. Very friendly staff.
Jul 30, 2016
Enjoyed the activities. Horses coming by camp was awesome. Very peacefully mornings and evenings. Will come again with family.
Jul 30, 2016
Great place. Rained a few days and well water drainage controlled. Lots to do for kids. Cabin was clean. No wifi.
Jul 30, 2016
The pool was in an bad location and smelled like a horse barn. Our cabin was not clean by any means, there was still garbage from the last visitors and a dirty diaper on the floor. Also, on one of the beds the previous person had spilt pop (which never got cleaned up) and the bed's surface was sticky for the rest of the night.
Jul 30, 2016
Nicest shower facilities I've ever seen
Jul 29, 2016
Great place the kids love it and didn't want to leave.
Jul 29, 2016
Not enough bathrooms for number of camping guests. No wifi. At all. Parking dangerous at some Kabin sites. Pancake breakfast is more than $3 unless you can eat breakfast dry. Overall felt is was over priced (even for camp ground store prices) and under delivered on most counts. Have stayed at many KOA's in the past and was disappointed with this one. Location for seeing MT Rushmore is unbeatable.
Jul 29, 2016
My family and I love to stay at this KOA. We have never been disappointed. Its the only place we will stay at when we go to the Mount Rushmore area and always look forward for the stay there.
Jul 29, 2016
Wonderful amenities, so much to do. Cabin was clean and comfortable.
Jul 28, 2016
Very enjoyable stay,friendly staff. We had two young children and we could have spent all day just doing activities at the campground. Thank-you for an enjoyable stay.
Jul 28, 2016
Please know how much we enjoyed our stay!!! Only one wish, please help maintenance be able to fix the water .problem
Jul 28, 2016
Good campground for those travelling with small children. Cabin was expensive, and had no heat/AC; while it was an upgrade over a tent, it wasn't a big upgrade. There were many nice amenities I wish I had time to use.
Jul 28, 2016
We had a great stay at Mt. Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch. There were a lot of activities for the kids. The camp site we had was extremely small & not really suited for a tent but we made it work. We transferred to a cabin for our last night due to rain & we all really liked the cabin. When we return we will stay with KOA again.
Jul 27, 2016
This is our second stay at Palmer Gulch and our family loved our little cabin and had another great visit! The facilities, activities and grounds are perfect for both children and adults. The only change I would like to see would be recycling bins included along with the garbage collection.
Jul 27, 2016
Great 2 room camping cabin- comfortable beds. Plenty of room and privacy. Fun kids activities and very friendly staff. Love the kitchen area to cook in. Excellent camp ground experience!
Jul 27, 2016
We had a great time with family! A great, fun and safe campgrounds to stay at for sure!
Jul 27, 2016
Very nice location and tons for the kids to do! Our Kamper Cabin was perfect for us!
Jul 27, 2016
We stayed in Section D cabins; the bathrooms/showers were terrible. Never once did I see anyone cleaning the bathrooms/showers throughout the day. Our cabin was super dirty under the beds and even found Kleenex and bottle on the bedside. KOA/Hayward was very clean!
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
very clean,family friendly,
Jul 26, 2016
We stayed in a deluxe cabin and really enjoyed the campground. I gave a four star because I think that some improvements can be made to make for a better experience staying in a deluxe cabin. The loft needs window blinds to keep the sun from beating in on the occupants. We did not realize the loft area was not twin beds, but actually only twin mattresses laying on the floor.
Jul 26, 2016
Loved the deluxe cabin we stayed in! Only drawbacks were storage issues and would have been nice to have some shades on the windows to block out some light for nappers or just to sleep in! Otherwise it was perfect! Great cabin, great view, and great deck!
Jul 26, 2016
This was our first visit to KOA and the South Dakota area. It was a family trip and we stayed in a deluxe cabin. It was wonderful. Our kids and grandkids didn't want to leave.
Jul 26, 2016
loved it! so much to do, clean, fun. was our second visit and won't be our last!
Jul 26, 2016
The cabins were awesome! Great location and friendly staff!
Jul 26, 2016
Perfect. Though the kozy kabins need thicker mattesses like aome other KOAs.
Jul 26, 2016
We have been coming there for 16 years. This year there was a very rude worker there that ruined our day and we were ready to leave. My son complained and we should have gotten an apology but did not. We won't be back. I also have this campground as my home base campground on my value card which I will be changing.
Jul 26, 2016
Cabins were perfect, low maintenance to spend time with friends. Scheduled activities were a blast! On site activities were uncomparable! Note: take cash for the pancake breakfast. Comfort station #2 was the best 😂
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
We shared a deluxe cabin with my sister's family. It did not sleep 8 comfortably. The sleeper sofa had a spring out the size of two softballs. The campground has a lot of stuff for kids, but it's just way too packed for our liking. We stayed there years ago and it was a more pleasant experience.
Jul 25, 2016
Beautiful camp, something for everyone! The addition of firepits and permanent seating around them at the cabins was an excellent addition!!! Many upgrades were notice. The groundskeepers are to be commended!
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Great time with lots of family fun- surprisingly quiet, clean and still a relaxed atmosphere. Priceless time with family. thank you!
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
It was fantastic,been here several times and it's always nice it is just a great getaway and close to all the sightseeing areas. Sightseeing areas And we will definitely be back
Jul 25, 2016
Loved all of the ammenities! Fire truck rides, smores, magic shows, pool, slide, basketball, mini-golf were all great!
Jul 25, 2016
HAVE NEVER HAD A BAD TIME THAT RUSHMORE KOA
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy