Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 03, 2017
Great KOA location that offers tons of activities with beautiful scenery.
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
excellent service, very cooperative, and very nice people. They also have the Presidents museum and mini golf in Keystone. excellent attractions.
Aug 01, 2017
Very nice setup, a lot is offered here, perfectly located. No phone reception here... that's good and bad! Lol We'll be back!
Aug 01, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. Many fun things for everyone. Great place or build family memories. We will return again.
Jul 31, 2017
Great place for children and their parents. Lots of activities. Good Pizza and salad at the Ice Cream Shop. A little too much activity for the "introvert". I stayed in a 2 room cabin with daughter and grand children and felt safe.
Jul 31, 2017
great stay
Jul 31, 2017
Our second stay at Palmer Gulch KOA with Grandchildren. A great place to take children. We had a cabin and tent site. The restrooms for our area were in need of updating. Ventilation in men's room was inadequate. Laundry room only had two dryers available for guests. Two other dryers had Out of Order signs, but were actually reserved for Staff use. The Ponderosa Restaurant was excellent.
Jul 31, 2017
The only problem we had was with the bathrooms not being cleaned.People would defecate on the floor or plug up the toilets or use up all of the toilet paper -not a facility issue but a lack of consideration by other guests.Loved all the activities.Loved the pm movie.My son loved the banana bike.I loved the kitchen stove building for cooking.Wish I would have thought to bring a slow cooker.
Jul 31, 2017
Found the comfort stations veary lacking and dirty. considering the price of the cabin and added surcharge
Jul 31, 2017
This KOA is not same level of quality as smaller Mom & Pop owned KOAs we have stayed at. The bathrooms were not as well cared for, and there were no hooks or shelves to put your towel or clothes on in comfort station 4. The kid amenities were great, and our kids did love the bikes. This KOA would be out of this world if the bathrooms were the same high quality we have experienced at smaller KOAs.
Jul 31, 2017
We were very happy with the accomodations, the activities, the friendly staff, the shops, the restaurants, and the cleanliness of the campground.
Jul 31, 2017
What a great campground! So many fun things to do!
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
We had a such a great time! We already booked for next summer! We live in Rapid City, and plan to make this our stay-cation every summer!
Jul 31, 2017
My 16-year old Daughter and I stayed in one of the Camper Cabins for 4 nights, we had a great time! Wonderful location, clean cabins and decent bathroom and shower facilities. Very friendly staff. Camp ground is very large, I would recommend if you want to be close to the pool area to request that upon making your reservation.
Jul 31, 2017
I don't stay at KOA often, but we got a cabin there on the last day of our Black Hills camping trip. I had hoped for a comfortable bed after tent camping, but the mattresses were awful and need of replacement. Otherwise a nice stay.
Jul 31, 2017
Very, very crowded. Our kids are 3 and 4 and could never do the bounce pillow because it was too crowded with older kids. They couldn't do basketball for the same reason. The pools were jam packed. It was very loud until about 11pm. We were told the firetruck ride was cancelled due to rain, but then we saw it drive by later. Our kids were really upset that they couldn't do that either.
Jul 31, 2017
Loved our stay! We would so go again so much for the kids to do.That said our camp fire grate looked as if it had been ran over at some point it was shaped like u instead of flat. And i was not a fan of the way the showers and bathrooms were set up. I suppose that is my personal preference though. They were however clean and close to our cabin. Loved the customer service too.
Jul 30, 2017
We love coming to this campground. We do have some input regarding the deluxe cabin we stayed in while there. It would be a much better experience if there were some type of blinds/shades over the upstairs loft windows to keep the sun from shining in so bright and heating up that area so quickly. The outdoor table for seating needs to accommodate 8 people. There is currently seating for only 4.
Jul 30, 2017
A wonderful stay! Wish the camping areas had a little more person space but otherwise perfect. Staff great, especially Kay, who was very patient with us switching cabins. GREAT breakfast in restaurant and pancake hut was delicious! Can't wait to come back!!
Jul 30, 2017
We have stayed here 20 years ago and brought our friends this time. It is a perfect place for families and couples
Jul 30, 2017
Best KOA we have stayed at. Need to add a parking spot next to our cabin and a possible bridge over to the pool for more convenient access but overall a great campground.
Jul 30, 2017
No firewood with the cabin.
Jul 30, 2017
Wonderful place! Well-maintained, quiet, and a beautiful setting. The only improvements we see could be greater access to restrooms for the cabins and tent campers and a later closing time for the general store.
Jul 30, 2017
Great stay! Our kids loved the experience!
Jul 30, 2017
With four kids under the age of 9 this was a great place to stay. I think they enjoyed the camp ground more the sight seeing in the Hills. Loved the water features, bouncy pillow, even the playground was a hit. It was a little expensive, but worth it for the enjoyment of the kids.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals