Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jun 24, 2015
This is a great place for family gartherings, very family friendly. Very well maintained, staff is great.
Jun 24, 2015
We were there three nights and got hail two of them. Last year I was there two nights and got hailed on once. I no longer think it is a occasional occurrence. Now I need to replace my truck and my tent. Too bad really. I love this campground!
Jun 24, 2015
Very nice campground! It was very clean and lots to do for kids of all ages. The scenery was beautiful as well. The staff was very friendly & helpful! We stayed in a cabin that seemed brand-new. Everything was perfect! I would definitely return again if ever in the area!
Jun 24, 2015
Seem to be more concerned about appearances at the front door than customer service. Bathrooms and shower house at upper area-DISGUSTINGLY DIRTY, NO shower mats, NO shelves for shower items, curtains too small for shower area-did you cut them in half? Way over priced for the quality of service.
Jun 23, 2015
We love Palmer Gulch and will definitely come back in the future.
Jun 23, 2015
Friendly staff. Smooth check in. Great location close to Rushmore and not situated right on the highway like some campgrounds. More bathrooms maybe. Would stay here again.
Jun 23, 2015
Since there is very poor phone reception, the internet needs to be expanded to cover the whole camp. Otherwise our stay was fantastic.
Jun 23, 2015
The deluxe cabin was awesome!! D280 was only 1 year old and very clean and comfortable! The staff was all friendly and helpful!
Jun 22, 2015
We showed up early to try to check in early and a guy at the front counter tolds us not to come back until 3pm as we can't check you in until then
Jun 22, 2015
My kids loved everything about this KOA. We were thrilled with the experience.
Jun 22, 2015
had a great time! weather was rainy, but out of your control. we tried to get a cabin with a bathroom but none were avail. Maybe you need to make more avail. ha
Jun 22, 2015
If you have kids, this is the place to stay during your Black Hills visit.
Jun 22, 2015
Great entertainment for kids and close to MT. Rushmore (Only reasons to come here). DIRTY cabin (mouse droppings on beds) and dirty bathrooms/showers. Mattresses were like lumpy rocks in our cabin, bring your own if you want to sleep. Very crowded campground.
Jun 22, 2015
The unpaved roads were horrible. They were so rough. I understand that you have had a lot of rain in that area, but I would have thought there would have been gravel spread or tractors out there scraping the roads to make smoother.
Jun 22, 2015
What a wonderful experience! Beautiful setting, convenient location and tons of amenities. Our kids will never forget their time at your KOA. They loved the bounce thing, the pool, the water slide the mini golf and pancake breakfast!! We loved the coffee place, too! Everyone was wonderful. Great experience!
Jun 22, 2015
One of my favorite camp grounds.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
The activities are great, but no ac in the cabins ans such a late check-in were drawbacks.
Jun 22, 2015
The hailstorm caused a lot of damage throughout the park, but before the rain had stopped, employees were going campsite to campsite, making sure everyone was okay. The next morning, they were out making repairs and working hard to get the campground back to normal. In better weather: the campground is a lot of fun, with activities, water slide, 2 pools. The store is not overpriced.
Jun 22, 2015
We loved all the family friendly activities and the stores and restraints make it easy to get what we need without needing to leave the resort. Our one Major complaint was the cleanliness of the showers! They were beyond gross. One shower had period blood on the floor and shower stall for both days we were there indicating it had not been cleaned in over 48 hours. Very disappointing!
Jun 22, 2015
Very disappointed in stay, people at check in were rude We were early, said be back about 230, had to wait till after 3 to get room. Horse guide did not even talk on trip. Camp grounds over full, packed in tight, head people in cabin next to me snoring showers not real clean
Jun 22, 2015
Everything was great except the bathrooms, disgusting. They should have warned the poor campers in tents that a major hail / lightning storm was coming so they could take cover. Very bad!!
Jun 22, 2015
It's like summer camp for the whole family!
Jun 21, 2015
Jun 20, 2015
Wifi never worked, but everything else was great!
Jun 20, 2015
We enjoy Palmer Gulch and we will come back next year.
Jun 20, 2015
We had a wonderful time Enjoyed the cabin Will come back
Jun 20, 2015
We had a trailer with us and they put us on a hill with no adequate parking. We went back to the office to request another cabin and got a cabin two cabins down and got stuck! The manager was very helpful but had they put us in a cabin not on a hill it would have never happened. They advertise wifi but they fail to me too it only works in their stores. Will not be staying at a Koa again.
Jun 20, 2015
We loved it!
Jun 19, 2015
great location, but inconvient from cabins to BR & water. need log for parking cabin 113, thought we might go too far & end up crashing into cabin...
Jun 19, 2015
This was a great place for families. They had just about everything you can imagine for kids - bounce house, water slide, 2 swimming pools, a warm whirlpool for kids and adults (very deep though), bike rentals, ping pong, miniature golf, splash pad, ATV and gold cart rentals, 1 on-site restaurant, a tent for bottomless pan-cakes each morning, ice-cream store, fudge store, coffee-wine store, etc..
Jun 19, 2015
Great
Jun 19, 2015
it was fine, the store could have been a little better equipped. the bathrooms where hard for some in our party to get to because of hills, try to add hills into your maps, because your sight is very hilly. staff was great and helpful.
Jun 19, 2015
great family time!
Jun 19, 2015
Great campground! Highly recommend! Will most definitely book here again!
Jun 18, 2015
The bathrooms were constantly dirty even though they have a sign that they clean them throughout the day.
Jun 18, 2015
They advertise internet but there was none. Very frustrating. The cabin should have a chair so can use the table. The bathrooms were filthy.
Jun 17, 2015
I would have liked having heat or cooling in my cabin. I thought it was suppose to be there.
Jun 16, 2015
The bathroom at comfort station number 4 were very dirty. Probably the worst of any KOA that we have stayed at.
Jun 16, 2015
Always nice to visit. The kids and adults always have a great time. Thanks!
Jun 16, 2015
Wonderful, peaceful and well organized place. Will definitely plan to go back again.
Jun 16, 2015
This was my first time at a KOA, and I am new to camping. But this KOA is so big, it felt like you were in a city. I loved the extra activities for the kids, but changed my stay from 2 nights to 1 night. Nothing wrong with the KOA, just not for me.
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
While the "extras" were fun such as the pool, wine tasting bar and pizzeria, we weren't around much to enjoy those things (we're in the Black Hills, after all!). At the end of the day, we just wanted clean, working bathrooms and dry, walkable/drive-able roads. The bathrooms were disgusting, and we had trouble locking some of the doors to the shower. The roads were awful - maybe pave them?
Jun 16, 2015
Very nice facility.
Jun 16, 2015
Great activities for kids but our cabin number 208 was right next to the pool which had a fun running all night. I put in ear plugs and hard hard time sleeping.
Jun 16, 2015
It was rainy for the two days we were there, but we still had a great time! I was glad we chose to stay in a cabin since it made sleeping a little warmer than it would have been in a tent. We loved all the options for the kids, and the staff was wonderful at making sure all of the kids were included!!!
Jun 15, 2015
Loved all the activities for the family. Stayed in a Kabin this time and were very comfortable. Excellent resort!
Jun 15, 2015
Great stay from the staff, cabin, activities, to the food venues.
Jun 15, 2015
Great place to stay. Lots of activities for the kids. Very close to a lot of attractions.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.