Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Cabin Reviews

Aug 04, 2013
This was a great surprise. We pulled in late and were greeted with a pleasant smile and hello. The grounds offered more than expected and we are KOA members and have stayed in many places. None comparred to this stay. Excellent!
Aug 03, 2013
Loved all the fun things for kids and fabulous location, however, for the size of campground, this one needs more bathrooms!
Aug 03, 2013
Bathrooms/showers could use more attention with the amount of campers u have. Maybe clean them at least twice a day. Overpriced camping rate for the size of sites. Sites too close to one another.
Aug 03, 2013
My family and I had a blast. Never a dull moment. Better chemical care on the pool, hot tub and slide would help in a 5 star rating. Thanks for the great memories. P.s the kids gave you a 5 star!!!
Aug 03, 2013
this KOA is tops...you won't find a better place to stay with children and the location was none finer..we enjoyed our stay
Aug 02, 2013
Would have liked a screen door on the kabin. Very hot
Aug 02, 2013
Staff is always very friendly and helpful. Even though our reservations did get messed up when we called to add an additional night to our stay, the staff really was concerned with making things right and accommodating us. Unfortunately as our family has aged and were never really into the kid activities anyways, we will probably look for a less crowded campground with fewer kids running around.
Aug 01, 2013
Our stay in the pull through was great. Our freinds who stayed in cabins had issues with plugged toilets and dirty rest rooms.They where not as pleased.
Aug 01, 2013
The overall family experience was great. The kids loved it. Our cabin was cute, but not clean when we arrived. I would have wished the shower and bath areas would have been cleaned more often. This is not a show stopper, but would have been icing on a great vacation.
Aug 01, 2013
Your advertising is poor. We went there looking forward to a couple attractions and then found out you guys only have them available maybe once a month.
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
The stay was great! Love the KOA grounds, lots of fun for the kids. Our kabin was great. Only would recommend that a bathroom be put closer to the cabins on the hill. Or they need o put some steps on the side of the hill that everyone goes up and own anyway! It is to far for littles ones to go. But overall great!
Jul 31, 2013
very over crowded
Jul 31, 2013
The bathroom by our cabin was absolutely disgusting. Needs to be checked every 2 hrs. The toilets were over flowing for a long time. There was no toilet paper in some of the stalls. The showers were extremely bad. They had mold growing in them and the tile was falling off. These showers need some huge TLC. Power washing or remodeling. The doors need to be left open somehow after showing.
Jul 31, 2013
The pizza restaurant was the only disappointment we had. Food took a while and wasn't that good. Drink machine was out of a lot of choices.
Jul 31, 2013
It was so big. The first couple times we went to our cabin, we became confused as to the correct way to go. I did appreciate that we were close to the restrooms. I do feel that the restroom facility could of had more toilets. There were many of times where there was a line of people waiting to use them. All staff were very helpful and friendly.
Jul 30, 2013
Kids HEAVEN!!!
Jul 30, 2013
We rented a Deluxe 6 person cabin. Was advertised as having a kitchen but only a kitchenette. Was not cleaned when we got there and had to wait 1 hour and then cabin wasn't cleaned very well. Gas grill didn't start well. Some kids activities were advertised but not there also.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Great location! Lots of things to do for the kids. You need someone to watch over the mini-golf area (kids got really out of hand). Bathrooms need ALOT more attention. Dirty, gross, not sanitary. In fact we skipped taking a shower & brushed our teeth with a bottle of water over a trash can in our cabin. Love the entire place but bathrooms really need to be cleaned more often.
Jul 30, 2013
Beautiful campground! But staff was either super friendly or super rude. we rented bikes and went over on our time. They charged us for the overage which was fine. Our fault for going over but so rude when they told us about it. Bathrooms were absolutely disgusting!!!! never cleaned.
Jul 30, 2013
Lots to do for kids
Jul 30, 2013
Very enjoyable stay. Kids loved the trail rides. Pizza was fantastic. But the mildew or what ever that was on the bottoms of all the shower curtains was a total turn off, subtract 1 star. Missoula, Montana KOA is still tops with my family!!!!
Jul 29, 2013
great place for family and kids so much to do. It was a little disappointing that the pool area was closed for two of the days we were there.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Great place for family fun. Tons of great things to do staff was friendly, prices were good and area was close to everything. Would definitely stay again.
Jul 28, 2013
We stayed at 6 different KOA's between NY and Colorado on our vacation, and personally, this was our least favorite. It was too "bustling" for our liking. The pools were crowded (one was green with algae). The cabins were very expensive, and they didn't have a/c or a fan in them. The staff was friendly. This KOA just had more of a "resort feel" to it than a campground.
Jul 28, 2013
Loved location to all the black hills fun. Staff were friendly. Tons to do for kids. Wish we would have had more time to spend at campground. Enjoyed horseback riding and chuck wagon. Only disappointment was how quick it booked. We booked 4+ months ago and had limited options. Would have like to consider a cabin with bathroom or something at lodge but already booked.
Jul 28, 2013
The campground had a lot to offer esp. for children. It was set in a beautiful valley surrounded by the forest and cliffs. The staff were very nice. Unfortunately, our cabin was filthy! The pool was green and dirty. The jacuzzi's had a chemical in them which made them unbearable to sit in. The bathroom's were not kept very clean and needed some fixing. We "might" go back again.
Jul 28, 2013
Very good if you like more of a resort type setting. Very close to Rushmore and other area attractions. Bathrooms are far from a lot of the cabins and seem inadequate for the number of people at the site. A lot of things for kids to do when they are actually open which wasn't the case while we were there.
Jul 27, 2013
all most too big for a KOA, but we had a good time. it was tuff for the KOA staff to keep up with the bathrooms, they were always dirty and smelly.
Jul 27, 2013
I wish we could have stayed longer. Our kids love all the amenities. They have stayed there and played instead of seeing the sites.
Jul 27, 2013
having asked for a cabin in a flat area, I was not listen too and was given cabin on the hill #410 heavy motorcycle and back problems no one listened!!!
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
The issue with this campground is that it is too big to manage successfully. With 500 sites and 55 cabins, you would need to have an employee manning each of the comfort stations all day long to keep trash picked up, toilets and urinals in working order, showers mopped, etc. Knock the size back by at least 50% and you might be able to maintain a higher level of service and cleanliness.
Jul 27, 2013
We totally enjoyed our stay. However, the bathrooms need to be checked every couple of hours or be cleaned better during cleaning times. We loved the variety of activitites offered there.
Jul 27, 2013
We had an enjoyable stay. The large pool next to our cabin was closed. My youngest were disappointed.
Jul 27, 2013
It was frustrating that we picked a campgrund with pool for our children only to experience the pool being out of service during 2 nights of our stay. The other pool was for adult swim only after 8. Otherwise it was a nice stay.
Jul 27, 2013
This was our first time in a Kamping Kabin---very enjoyable and kept us dry!!!! Thank you!
Jul 27, 2013
Your showers need a little maintenance work, the shower heads were spraying the ceiling. The entire place was gorgeous and we had a lot of fun!!!
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
The campground itself is amazing-so many activities (if only it hadn't poured rain for most of the evening of our stay-not your fault)Our kabin was in serious need of upgrades. The door pin fell out, unhinging it, the floor sloped so that the heads of the beds tilted downhill and our floor had a 1/2 foot hole with insulation poking through. Beds were fine and close to the bathrooms-a plus
Jul 26, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay. The last time was 10 or more years ago. Our kids could have spent the whole time at the campground playing than going anywhere else.
Jul 26, 2013
The bed was really hard for ninety dollars a night. The main pool was closed for maintenance. We did have a good time, even though it was a short stay.
Jul 25, 2013
We made this our home base for touring the Mt. Rushmore area. The location was perfect; however, this KOA is expensive. We stayed in a Kamping Kabin located far from the bathroom/showers. The Kabin did not appear to have been cleaned. Floor was dirty and there were dustbunnies and dead flies under the beds.
Jul 25, 2013
Had a great stay! Was amazed at how clean everything was was all the campers. Have told everyone about our time and am already making plans to return!
Jul 25, 2013
Lovely, peaceful kabin site. Reason for lower marks is the bathrooms- the door didn't close in the women's bathroom and there were tons of dead bugs on the wet sink counter. Gross! Showers not any better.
Jul 25, 2013
Very nice KOA, lots of things to do and central to many activities around the area. Enjoyed the Chuck Wagon steak dinner, all the games in the pool area, and how easy it was to get to Mt. Rushmore. One suggestion - bring your own earplugs if you have trouble sleeping as it gets really loud in the campground.
Jul 25, 2013
It is great to have everything you need available at the campground and have many activities. However, the pool and waterslide were quite dirty and the color of the water was gross. One of the hot tubs didn't work at all. The mini-golf course is pretty pathetic also... But all in all - we enjoyed our stay!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.