Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 24, 2015
Love this place
Aug 23, 2015
We enjoyed the adjacent horseback riding and location the most.
Aug 23, 2015
Awesome place for families! Staff were so great, and all the facilities were very clean and well maintained.
Aug 23, 2015
The resort is in a great location. There is so much for the kids and whole family to do! The free mini golf has seen better days but the pools and splash pad were very nice. Our camper cabin could use a little love and the bathrooms were quite a hike to get to. Overall, we had a good stay.
Aug 23, 2015
NO WIFI
Aug 23, 2015
Too many people, poor wifi, and under staffed.
Aug 22, 2015
The staff is as always friendly and helpful, the activities on site were sufficient to keep our kids entertained. The only let down was our Deluxe Cabin, I felt it was a little small and at times I felt like I was in our travel trailer, and for the price I paid I should not of had to replace my own Towels and toilet paper.
Aug 22, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
Cabin and bathrooms were very dirty
Aug 21, 2015
Super variety of activities for children. Accommodated us cheerfully and easily when we decided we needed different accommodations. Sorry to say the advertised wifi is virtually non-existent(even in their "internet cafe" and cell service is truly sketchy. That said, we will happily return!
Aug 21, 2015
We had to chose which KOA for going to Mt.Rushmore from Chicago and we decided here for location (so we don't have to drive more than 30 min for attractions we wanted to visit) and looked fun for kids. It was perfect between modern and country life. We could get wifi or 3g, but comes and goes. (I think it's depends on your device.) We saw chipmunks, but they didn't visit our two room cabin.
Aug 21, 2015
We had a great time and found all of the employees we met to be very friendly and helpful. Hope to see you again in the future. Thanks.
Aug 21, 2015
The KOA is impressive and clean as a facility. However, I don't appreciate paying a $10 resort fee on top of a pricier than usual kamping kabin. The only "resort" amenity available was the pool which should be standard. We couldn't use the rock climbing wall, after asking at least 4 staff members, it turned out nobody really knows when it is operational only that it is not often. Staff rude.
Aug 20, 2015
We loved all the activities for kids! No Wi-Fi or cell phone use through out the park was a definite bummer!! Our cabin had a big puddle of water out the front door and in our fire pit 4 of the 5 nights we stayed. We talked to the office about this but no solution, you need to build a wood patio out front cabins(check out Butte KOA).
Aug 20, 2015
Palmer Gulch KOA is awesome with so many activities you will be amazed. Pancake breakfasts can't be beat. Central location in the Black Hill's is good.
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Has a lot of fun stuff for the kids, but it's a VERY BUSY campground. Should be expected by it's very convenient location to Rushmore.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to our Resort! We love to hear that there was plenty to do for your kids and that you found us convenient to Mt. Rushmore. While we have a very busy park,we recommend you request 4th area on your next visit as it is a much quieter place to camp.
Aug 19, 2015
My only complaint is that the bathrooms were small and far away from our campground.
Aug 19, 2015
There was a bag of trash when we got to our cabin. Even though we reported it 3 times to staff, it was never removed. There was also a car at our cabin site. Somebody did come by once but ultimately at 10:00 pm, I had to ask the people to move it so my car was not out in the road.
Aug 19, 2015
Great family KOA. Was going to stay one night, but decided to stay two. Lots of things to do.
Aug 19, 2015
Only got to stay one night but I'd bring family back ina minute for tent or cabin.
Aug 19, 2015
This place is more like it's own attraction and kind of takes away from why people go there to begin with. I remember when I was there about 17 yrs ago it was not yet as big but still fun. I'm kind of sad that they developed so big.
Aug 19, 2015
Nice place but all camping spaces were very close together
Aug 18, 2015
There was a wide variety of activities available, as well as food options. I especially enjoyed the pancake breakfast in the big tent.
Aug 18, 2015
we were very pleased but found little help from the reunion manager and it was annoying not to be able to stay together or even know where everyone stayed.
Aug 18, 2015
We have always loved visiting here, and trust me, we drive over 18 hours just so the kids can enjoy this KOA. However, very disappointed that my family and other guests were unable to enjoy main fun zone due to busses of kids, not camping there, showing up and taking over the pool. Had no respect for KOA guests, lacked supervision, especially group from FYS. Spent a lot of time & $ for this trip.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Stayed here when I was 13, 18, 21 and now again at 34, bringing my own child! It keeps getting better! I love this KOA, always a friendly staff and so much to offer, never disappointed!! Great place to stay especially for a family vacation! Well priced too!
Aug 18, 2015
Unreal. To summarize, my only regret is that I couldn't stay longer! Thank you, KOA!
Aug 18, 2015
tout est parfait juste décu que la réception nous aie fait attendre 45 minutes alors que notre chalet était vide mais la règle est 3:00 pm
Aug 18, 2015
We stayed in the small cabin without a bathroom. It was cleaning cozy plus the price was right!! We enjoyed our stay tremendously! Perfect location and lots to do on site!
Aug 17, 2015
First time at a KOA. We will definitely be returning. Thanks for a great family summer vacation
Aug 17, 2015
Fantastic stay! This facility should be the one others are shooting for. Restaurant, pizza, ice cream shops! 2 pools and lots of activities! Excellent!!! Just need better Wi-Fi up in the cabin area!!! Thanks for a great stay!
Aug 17, 2015
Well the first night I got there the cabin next to me took my parking space he would not move so I had to go beg for another cabin with a parking space so she finally gave in moved me from 409 to 407 rather than nipping it in the butt and tell that camper to kindly move his car he did not. He was rude to me . The camp was crammed real close my son tripped on a tent line in our path split his chin
Aug 17, 2015
Great as always!!
Aug 17, 2015
My kids requested to live at this KOA. It was super fun for everyone!
Aug 17, 2015
Perfect place for a family, lots of activities and close to everything the black hills has to offer. Clean bathrooms and showers, plenty of food options if you want to eat out. Awesome Place, will be back here within 5 years.
Aug 17, 2015
We spent five days at this KOA, We were really impressed with the grounds, however the cabin we stayed in was not impressive. The cabin is built on a hill and there wasn't enough level ground to put even two lawn chairs around the fire ring. There was no designated parking spot and so we were forced to park on the road. Less than 20 feet in front of our cabin were tent spots.
Aug 17, 2015
We had a great time, even at age 14 my kids still love to come!
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
Wonderful campground. Lots to do and friendly atmosphere. Cabin was nice. Double bed mattress needs replacing. Clean and relatively bug-free area was great!
Aug 16, 2015
Even though we were out and about a lot with our kids, it was great to be able to come back on a hot day & cool off in the pool and have other activities to do when they needed a break from sight-seeing. We highly recommend staying here and the staff was helpful.
Aug 16, 2015
Great kampground, we stayed in a Kabin and it was well used, had writing on the walls of previous people dating back to 2002. No a/c or heat. I am being a bit picking, but that is only due to the high standard that KOA has. Definitely would recommend this for those traveling to the area.
Aug 16, 2015
It was great. Sadly, we couldn't stay more than a night!
Aug 16, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
We enjoyed our time, only complaint is that the showers could be cleaner.
Aug 16, 2015
The bathrooms on the hill had black mold on the shower curtens and on the wall tiles and the bathrooms by the swimming pool most of the time had cold water. We couldn't use the hot tub by the play area because it was almost always full of small kids with lots of pool toys and nobody ever told them that kids weren't to be in it. I have been to this KOA before it was redone and enjoyed my stays
Aug 16, 2015
Tons to do but super crowded. My kids enjoyed the bikes, pool, jumping pillow, and mini golf. I feel like the pool could use some heat and updates. But overall very happy with this stay and a super fun place!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals