Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jun 19, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
Lots of great things to do for kids right at the resort! Bathrooms were relatively clean. Our only issue was with the reservation staff making us move our cabin twice. Not easy to do with two kids in tow. Jack at the front desk was amazingly helpful!
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Had challenges this time. The biggest being all but 3 of the showers in our area were locked with no explanation why?? Negative attitude from the young man working in the coffee shop-saying yuck to a customers drink order and laughing at us when we asked about WiFi-rude! Why pay a $10/nt. activity fee when the pools are not open and you have to pay extra to play mini golf? What does the fee cover?
Jun 18, 2014
The cabin was comfortable, cute with the hanging flower basket, and having our own fire pit and picnic table was so handy. Being near the kid play area and fishing pond were fabulous. Couldn't believe it was so quiet at night too! We will pass on the recommendation to our friends.
Jun 18, 2014
The location is wonderful, staff was helpful and facility was kept up. Great place for children - loved the mini golf course. An actual pay phone would have been nice with limited cell service, though.
Jun 18, 2014
This is a great place to stay with kids!
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
we enjoyed the 5-person cabin & the mini-golf, rock climber & other available activities. Thank you!
Jun 17, 2014
There was mouse crap on the beds. The shift manager gave us $40 off our stay .Then proceeded to tell me the person who cleans the rooms is handicap .NEVER in my life have I wanted to strangle someone. Also 7 of 12 showers were out of order, the laundry room change machine was out of order .along with 1 of 3 dryers. I will never recommend that KOA to anyone.
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Out of 7 showers,there was only one working. One stool didn't work the whole time we were there. The weather was rainy, which is out of their control, therefore a lot of the activities were shut down due to the rain, which left the kids with nothing to do. Even after the rain stopped, they didn't reopen some of the activities. We really like this place, question our return.
Jun 16, 2014
Very enjoyable
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
We spent one night in one of the small one room cabins. Was very clean and relaxing! The showers were very nice because they were all separate and each had their own small dressing area. My only complaint was the bathroom. Some of the toilets didn't flush and was kinda dirty, this could have just been from the large amount of people. Other than that was a blast! I would go back in a heart beat!
Jun 15, 2014
Cabins little dirty and wifi doesn't work but other wise it was great.
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
The stay was okay, but not the best koa experience we've had. One of the main reasons for choosing a koa was the jumping pillow, which didn't work at all the entire time we were there, even though employees kept saying it would be up in a couple hours. Plus, our cabin was not very private.
Jun 13, 2014
Great KOA! There are so many activities to keep the family busy.
Jun 13, 2014
The people and the campground itself was great.the only issues I had were with the cabin, the beds were extremely uncomfortable,and I don't understand why they didn't have a fan for when it got hot, or in our case a little electric heater when it got cold.Especialy when they cost as much as they do.Overall I would come again, pleasant stay for the most part!
Jun 12, 2014
Jun 12, 2014
Kind and courteous staff. Every amenity a person could think of. By far the most complete resort facility in the beautiful Black Hills area!
Jun 12, 2014
Overall we were very happy with our stay. It was unfortunate that the weather did not cooperate with our dates and we had a lot of cold and rain. The cabin was sufficient and I'm glad we brought along a space heater to keep us warm at night.
Jun 12, 2014
Nice place with lots of activities! Would have been nicer if the bounce pillow and rock wall were available during our stay and if the grass was cut by our cabin. Hard to get cell coverage and WiFi. Bathrooms were great.
Jun 11, 2014
We are a Girl Scout troop who visited. The girls had a great time and really enjoyed all the free activities offered. The restrooms were nice and clean as well. The only negative would be that the soap dispensers in the restrooms never seemed to work. Several girls mentioned that they would like to come back to your campground with their families in the future.
Jun 11, 2014
Very kid friendly
Jun 10, 2014
Nice campground, but weather was terrible so cost of cabin turned out to be too much for what we were able to enjoy. Also, reservation instructions advised to bring charcoal for grill and coffee for coffee maker. Neither was necessary. Gas grill and Keurig coffee maker. No one at registration could answer any of my questions. Replies were " I don't know". Not what I wanted to hear!
Jun 10, 2014
I give it an 11!!!!!! So much to do for the kids! Best campground I've been to that has so much to offer! The only downfall was no heaters in the cabin... I will bring one next time ;)
Jun 10, 2014
The cabin we were first placed in was steep and hard to access the second cabin blew a breaker and it took 2 calls & 3 hours to find the breaker to flip it it was on the back of A cabin 4 down from the one we were staying in
Jun 09, 2014
The new deluxe lodges are very cute and nice, but the couch and twin beds are EXTREMELY STIFF, RIGID, AND UNCOMFORTABLE. Note- regular coffee pot is a great idea to have on hand (vs just Kurig). Those would be my ONLY 2 suggestions. Everything else was great. Thanks!
Jun 09, 2014
This was our first stay at a KOA. We were traveling from Montana to Minnesota with our 4 kids (2-10yr). We were ready to stretch out and didn't want a hotel with thin walls and our rambunctious crew disturbing the peace. We wiggled on the play ground, squealed in our cabin and giggled at bedtime without disrupting anyone. A nice coffee and breakfast with lots of running room, and back on the road!
Jun 09, 2014
KOA in General was nice, lots of stuff to do. We rented a cabin, it had not been cleaned in an incredibly long time, grounds hadn't been mowed or trimmed. Path from cabin to bathhouse was very steep and overgrown, needs to be better maintained. Bathhouse not very clean.
Jun 08, 2014
This is a great place for a family to stay. We were in one of the cabins and there is so much to do right at the KOA, you barely need to leave! Our cabin was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jun 08, 2014
It was a great stay! There is so much to do both at the resort and in the beautiful Black Hills! Great location and wonderful people. Thank you for a good experience. I hope to bring another group in the future!
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 07, 2014
I had a wonderful time, the staff was friendly. The grounds were well groomed. I stayed in a basic cabin, no bathroom, but it served my needs perfectly. There are plenty of comfort stations for using the bathroom and plenty of hot water for showering. It rained off and on during my stay, the nights were chilly but I had my electric blanket so I stayed warm. I am already planning my return visit.
Jun 05, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Good all around. Our 2nd visit. Our fire pit had food and garbage dumped in it on arrival, otherwise clean. Staff was courteous and prompt at cleaning out the fire ring. We were delighted with the grandchildren of the Native American musician that performed here. May I suggest you offer them a chance to stay at this KOA before they grow up. They loved the sight of the KOA activities and camp life.
Jun 03, 2014
The deluxe cabin was great! Great space for our 4 member family and 2 dogs. Very clean and good amenities for the family. We took the kids horse back riding and they loved it. They loved the rock wall, pool and put put golf as well. The pancake breakfast was great as well and very reasonably priced.
Jun 03, 2014
Nice place full of kids activities. The staff was kind and helpful. The resort itself needs some TLC with a concerning problem of brown (or pink!) water. Also it's not a quiet and peaceful property with a constant stream of workers in trucks or early morning power washing.
Jun 02, 2014
We were very disappointed in our stay. We did not know in advance that the amenities that we looked forward to enjoying would not be available. If we had, we would have chosen somewhere else to stay.
Jun 01, 2014
We were told that the cabins we reserved would be close to a bathroom since we were traveling with a disabled person and 4 small kids. When we got to our cabins, not only were we far from the bathrooms, but the bathrooms for that section did not work. The people who checked us in did not tell us this and we had to go half way across the entire campsite just to get to a semi working bathroom.
Jun 01, 2014
May 31, 2014
Memorial day. Pool closed. Wi-Fi not only does not work it is actually an ongoing joke with the employees.The You get 5 bar wi-fi but it doesn't connect. But as the manager Brady told me it is: Broken and hasn't worked in 10 years, works but not with people on it, won't work until it gets a 4 million upgrade, or it works fine, all in one long sentence. Then got sarcastic and said 'well it's free"
May 28, 2014
The KOA had a wonderful program filled with activities that my family enjoyed. However our overall stay was not very good. We were placed in a cabin that did not have WORKING bathrooms/showers nearby. The closest place was a long walk and was out of soap for the majority of our trip. I mentioned these concerns and nothing was done to correct them during our stay.
May 28, 2014
We wished we'd known more about Mt. Rushmore KOA and the amenities. As it rained the whole time of our stay we'll take the convienence of a cabin next time and bring the grandkids as we were most impressed with all the activities you had for them.
May 27, 2014
The comfort station closest to us was closed the entire length of our stay. This was a huge hassle for a family of 5 with 3 small kids. Otherwise the campground was good.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.