Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jul 30, 2014
Too many people, not kept up well, too noisy with garbage trucks and dump trucks at 7am, water in pool at water slide was dirty, pool was closed, and everything too expensive for what you get.
Jul 30, 2014
Had a wonderful time & this KOA made it great! There is tons to do, and we stayed in a nice cabin for the family reunion. Highly recommend this place!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Our family stayed in the camping cabin for a week. It was a wonderful place to spend our vacation. The park is centrally located, which is wonderful. The bathrooms, showers and laundry were are all close and convenient. The pool, splash pad, rock wall were a hit with the kids. The camp ground and staff were all wonderful. We will be going back again next year!!
Jul 29, 2014
Friendly service, tons of stuff to do (as if the area didn't offer enough)all in a lovely setting. Had a blast. My first vaycay as a widow with my kids. It was great.
Jul 28, 2014
great facility with lots to do. We stayed in a deluxe cabin an it was great. LOTS of flies.
Jul 28, 2014
Great staff- very kind and patient, especially with kids. Campground was clean and well kept
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Had never stayed at a KOA before, we had a great time. Clean!!
Jul 27, 2014
we stayed for 3 nites in a camping cabin.Our children and their families did the same.it was a fun filled time for all ages,4 to 60.there are enough activities to please everyone and then some.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
In one brief sentence, besides the massive amount of flies, this was a the best campground I have stayed on ever!
Jul 27, 2014
Great place to stay with kids! Nicely located to a variety of activities including hiking, fine dining, site seeing the beautiful Black Hills, and beautiful views of nature. Nice cabins.
Jul 27, 2014
We reserved a 2 room cabin. It was clean and easy for us, as this was just one stop in our week long vacation. The bathrooms had an awful gnat problem which there was a sign of apology on the door. The problem was obviously being addressed by the number of bugs everywhere, but those facilities were unusable. Our kids enjoyed the other amenities available and breakfast was wonderful.
Jul 27, 2014
Everything was great until there was lightening and all outdoor facilities were closed. We could only be at Palmer Gulch for one night and we had just gotten into the pool when it was shut down. It was a bummer because our kids were so looking forward to swimming, water slide, jumping pillow and mini golf.
Jul 27, 2014
Great stay except for the trillion gnats in the bathrooms.
Jul 27, 2014
Wonderful stay and plenty of fun for the grandchildren. We however, did not enjoy the gnats in the restrooms.
Jul 26, 2014
Campground was awesome and the kids loved all the activities! Only complaint was the bugs in the bathrooms...like 1000's of them! Cabins and staff were great!
Jul 26, 2014
Great location! Only complaint was the cleanliness of the bathrooms.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Have used this KOA since mid 1980's. Took our children here, now taking our grandchildren here. There are so many great activities to do right there at the KOA. Climbing wall a great addition. Staff was very pleasant. Only complaint is some ageing bath houses. One is beautiful, new - others dire need of repair. Handicap shower out of use the whole week we were there.
Jul 26, 2014
Great location from several site seeing points. As well plenty of things for the kids to do. A little expensive for the Extras things to do...but overall a Good experiance.
Jul 26, 2014
Our son loved all the activities and met some great kids.
Jul 25, 2014
We went to breakfast. Came back to make sure everything was out of our cabin at 10:30 and it was all cleaned. We still had the keys and had not checked out. Now I am missing my camera. I know I had it on the deck before breakfast. Just saying I did not have a chance to do a final walk through of the cabin. I left one message for supervisor and will continue to until I get a response.
Jul 25, 2014
Location of this KOA was perfect. Activities were fun. Disappointed there weren't more tractors for hay ride...waiting in line for an hour with little kids is impossible. However we loved the deluxe cabin and will enthusiastically recommend this location to our friends. The staff was so friendly and all accommodations were exceptionally clean. We will be back again!
Jul 25, 2014
Beautiful area. We loved all the extras and activities. We liked the restaurant on site but service is slow.. We would have enjoyed the ice cream parlor if the smell of manure from horse stables wasn't so bad. Our cabin was small but did its duty. The bathrooms at the pool were not cleaned once in our stay. The dirt road near the bridge has a huge hole that my son fell in. Had good time.
Jul 25, 2014
Comfort stations very far from cabins. Great with so many activities, but too big and noisy for our taste.
Jul 25, 2014
We enjoyed our overall camping experience, but wished that our cabin had air conditioning. We did bring a fan from home, and the weather helped with our comfort. We also had poor AT&T cell phone service and wifi reception, even when near the main building. We had hoped to use the wifi to help with daily planning, but couldn't. The location of the KOA was a major plus.
Jul 25, 2014
Love the facility. Everyone helpful except the concierge who was very rude.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Perfect for my family. Very kid friendly environment.
Jul 24, 2014
Awesome campground for families! There's so much to do during down-times at the cabin. We stayed in the deluxe cabin, and it was clean and welcoming - with organic soaps and lotions even. The only comment would be to add curtains to the loft windows so that children aren't woken up at 5:30 a.m. from the sun shining in. We'd definitely return to this campground!
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
I would have appreciated knowing how to access extra towels and coffee. Your website also said that the cabin came with everything but we were missing basic cooking utensils and a hair dryer. You offer fishing at a pond but you did not sell fishing licenses and when we asked where to buy one, your staff had a difficult time pointing us in the right direction. Nice stay other than that.
Jul 23, 2014
The activities were amazing in comparison with other KOAs, but the mattress in our cabin was clearly worn out. The bathrooms were cleaned regularly, which was great, but the one by our cabin had a pretty severe gnat problem -at one point they covered the entire sink area in the mens bathroom.
Jul 23, 2014
The cabins & campsites are literally on top of each other so there is no privacy. I think the description they used in the reservation was "removed from busier areas" and "peace & quiet." Definitely not. The bathrooms are not adequate to handle the amount of people staying at the campground. Always a wait time to use facilities, even later at night. Not going back.
Jul 23, 2014
Very nice KOA. Would recommend this to my friends.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
This KOA is an amazing place for families to stay. We felt safe letting our kids go play in the kid zone. The view each morning was awesome. Everything you could need was at the resort. Would definitely recommend to others.
Jul 21, 2014
Cabin was clean, but the bathrooms/showers had knats all over the place. Why are you cleaning a bathroom at 9-10AM? That's prime shower time for many campgrounds. The workers were very polite and helpful. Lots of activities to do, but if you're going to advertise wifi, then invest in having wifi and not something that can support 5 people on it.
Jul 21, 2014
We have been coming to your campground since 1997 and love the way it remains the same, like a great part of the family memories that will remain long after the fun ends! It is like coming home! Restful and relaxing while allowing for fun and new friendships.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Getting towels from the Palmer Gulch Resort was a pain in the A55-- there should be an option for a towel service so a person doesn't have to run towels across the campground and then come back 6-8 hours later for fresh towels.
Jul 20, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.