Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jun 15, 2016
Great amenities. The kids really loved the activity area with pool, games and climbing wall. Cabins felt really close together and the bathrooms were frequently dirty. Daughter complained also about the dirtiness of the girl bathroom stalls.
Jun 15, 2016
Not enough showers and staff
Jun 15, 2016
Loved it and can't wait to go back!!
Jun 15, 2016
Showers were not cleaned well. Overpriced. Misleading reservation host.
Jun 14, 2016
The amenities are wonderful. There is so much to do and it is very central to everything. We are 3rd generation visitors to this campground and have fond memories. I am very disappointed in the housekeeping though. We rented a cabin and for the price of $300.00/night, you would think that you would be offered clean towels and the trash removed. We will probably look else where next time.
Jun 14, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
Fun place to stay with lots to do.Kids love horseback riding and the pool and slide. I love the golf carts and the fact its close to Keystone and Mt. Rushmore and its beautiful in the hills! We will be back again next year!
Jun 13, 2016
Awesome place for families! People/ Staff were great! Needs more restrooms for amount of guest.
Jun 13, 2016
We stayed in a cabin. Was not clean with dirt and cob webs. The hot tub was green. Bathrooms were extremely dirty. Only 30 lay down chairs for 2 pools unexceptable at this size of park.
Jun 12, 2016
We had a great time and will definitely return to this awesome camp ground.mthe facilities were clean and there was so much to do. Our kids made new friends and loved hanging out at the awesome fun zone.
Jun 11, 2016
Jun 11, 2016
We stay at this KOA several times a year. Been coming back for about 6 years. We love the cleanliness, friendliness and the peace of the campgrounds. Rented a cabin for the first time and will probably do it again. We brought our niece from LA this time. She had a blast
Jun 11, 2016
We stayed in a cabin with 3 of our grandkids. They had plenty of activities. They loved fishing, swimming, smores...The bathroom was great but little too far from our cabin. The staff was great!
Jun 10, 2016
Myself, my husband and our 4 children stayed here a and loved it! The kids loved that there was so much to do, however it was not very clean. Out cabin was dirty and the restrooms closest to us were very dirty compared to others around the resort.
Jun 09, 2016
keep up the great work everything was fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jun 09, 2016
For Disabled US Veterans it is always a great place for us to stay.
Jun 08, 2016
Couldn't ask for more! Beautiful scenery, friendly staff and clean cabin and grounds with all the emenities!!!
Jun 08, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay, and would like to come back and bring our extended family!
Jun 07, 2016
This was our first vacation in 15 years KOA helped make it the best and most remembered vacation.
Jun 07, 2016
We had a great time!!!! The kids loved the pool, hot tub, jumping pillow and miniature golf. They enjoyed renting bikes and having ice cream at turtle town. We stayed in a deluxe cabin. It was nice and clean. The only thing was we had to keep asking for towels, etc because we were staying for 5 days. The staff was always nice about getting us whayever we needed!
Jun 07, 2016
Park is very clean, All staff that we ran into were friendly. If going swimming I would suggest going to the pool by the Front store/check in area. Kid zone area pool was freezing, the hot tub(not hot at all)felt like a heated pool so kids were jumping and swimming in it, the toddler pool was so cold I had a hard time sitting in it with my 2yr old after only a couple minutes his lips were purple
Jun 07, 2016
The staff was super friendly. The facilities was very clean and maintained. Flowers were beautiful. Wish there had been cell service but people need a break from that anyway. We hope to get to go back soon.
Jun 07, 2016
We had a wonderful time. Everyone was helpful and nice. Mini-putt could use an upgrade and cleaner bathrooms.
Jun 07, 2016
absolutely wonderful with helpful and friendly staff
Jun 07, 2016
Nice mix of activities. Good service. Bathrooms could have been cleaner.
Jun 06, 2016
We were blessed by the kind staff members, especially Ben the manager. Our tent broke the first day and he was very accomodating. We love the summershiner program and the family friendly music!!!
Jun 06, 2016
never explained air mattress on pull out couch. thought it was just a bad mattress.
Jun 06, 2016
We LOVED the campground at Mount Rushmore! Beautiful! Our Deluxe Kabin was very clean and perfect for our family of 5. Our young children loved the Fun Zone - well worth the $10 activity fee! We hope to return again in the future! Thank you KOA for the wonderful family memories!
Jun 05, 2016
This koa is by far the best outta of the couple dozen I've been too also the ponderosa restaurant was good but could use a few more options and larger portions for the price but all in all extremely happy with my trip
Jun 04, 2016
Jun 03, 2016
We stayed at 8 KOAs on our road trip out West and this was by far the best. We regretted only being there for one night!
Jun 03, 2016
It was great. Fun time for the whole family. would love to come back
Jun 03, 2016
Best KOA we have stayed at. Lots of amenities and fun for the kids. Pancake breakfast was a great deal as well.
Jun 02, 2016
Very nice campground with two pools, alot of activities,and lots of room! Friendly staff too- had a great time!
Jun 02, 2016
We loved it!! Everyone was friendly and so many activities to do. The campgrounds provide so many available accommodations yet we were camping in the gorgeous quite black hills!
Jun 01, 2016
Loved it!
May 31, 2016
We had challenges with our cabin. When we returned for the evening a fuse was blown & we did not have power with several outlets & TV until the following day. We did not realize the fridge was also not working until the morning so our milk, juice, etc. went bad. The fuse was reset when we called it in. The coffee maker in the cabin did not work & was replaced with one filled with mice poop.
May 31, 2016
The campground was nice. We froze our tushes off because we were not prepared to not have a heater. This cabin was also the smallest of the four cabins that we stayed at this week. However, the facility was clean and very relaxing.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals