Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jun 28, 2015
The Bathrooms were so dirty and the toilets were always over flowing the showers were awful. You need to separate the tents form the rest of the camp. And you need a better system for finding your cabin. The water was also awful and undrinkable. If the Pool is for Adults after 9PM the enforce it. It will be a long time before i ever go to another KOA.
Jun 28, 2015
After misjudging the weather and 2 nights in a tent with my 15 year old Daughter They had no problem upgrading us to a cabin that made all the difference of a home camp while we explored the Black Hills in SD
Jun 28, 2015
Great place. A few disappointments. Waterslide was not working.. Rock climbing hours closed too early. Bathrooms/showers up on hill were BAD (dirty and awful smell). Cabin door squeeked so loud! We will come back but hope to see some improvements:)
Jun 28, 2015
AWESOME!!! That should cover it!
Jun 27, 2015
the crew were very helpful and friendly
Jun 27, 2015
Great activities at this KOA. Very big but nice facilities. Bathrooms were clean and convenient, cabins were well maintained. Staff was quick to respond to a request for assistance. Restaurant on site was pretty good too.
Jun 27, 2015
is just wonderful
Jun 26, 2015
Fun place with lot's to do. They tend to short staff themselves at times, especially the cleaning crew. Also, it's a crime to advertise that they have Wifi because it NEVER works. With that said, their Summershiners are great this year! Turtle town is good in Hill City and Keystone, but the one in the KOA is dirty and slow.
Jun 26, 2015
Great family resort!
Jun 26, 2015
Very clean campground and showers. Wifi never worked when we were there. No cell phone reception unless you were at Mt. Rushmore!
Jun 26, 2015
This was my 4th stay at your beautiful KOA but the first time for my parents who stayed in the Palmer Gulch Lodge. From the reservation process for both locations to our stay everything was great. I love this location and won't stay anywhere else in the Hills.
Jun 26, 2015
No chair in cabin No WIFI for Apple products High cost
Jun 26, 2015
Even though we got heavily rained on during our stay, the dryers helped us clean it all up and the staff was great about transferring us to a cabin for the second night
Jun 25, 2015
Overall great experience. Baths/showers by 2nd pool should be cleaned more often. Very sandy,wet and slippery.
Jun 25, 2015
Jun 25, 2015
The swimming pool could use some updates Lots of activities for young kids Bathrooms were very clean, especially the new one
Jun 25, 2015
Great place to stay, very clean! I was super impressed how clean our cabin was!! Loved all the great things to do there for families!! Wish we had more time to stay! Great location, close to everything!!
Jun 24, 2015
Beautiful scenery family/pet friendly,already talking about next year.
Jun 24, 2015
Bath house by pool wasn't cleaned for about 3 days that is the only problem I had
Jun 24, 2015
We weren't expecting the huge size of this KOA. It was a bit bigger than we would have liked. It seemed to have everything though and was quite busy. Considering the proximity to Mount Rushmore, that's to be expected.
Jun 24, 2015
This is a great place for family gartherings, very family friendly. Very well maintained, staff is great.
Jun 24, 2015
We were there three nights and got hail two of them. Last year I was there two nights and got hailed on once. I no longer think it is a occasional occurrence. Now I need to replace my truck and my tent. Too bad really. I love this campground!
Jun 24, 2015
Very nice campground! It was very clean and lots to do for kids of all ages. The scenery was beautiful as well. The staff was very friendly & helpful! We stayed in a cabin that seemed brand-new. Everything was perfect! I would definitely return again if ever in the area!
Jun 24, 2015
Seem to be more concerned about appearances at the front door than customer service. Bathrooms and shower house at upper area-DISGUSTINGLY DIRTY, NO shower mats, NO shelves for shower items, curtains too small for shower area-did you cut them in half? Way over priced for the quality of service.
Jun 23, 2015
We love Palmer Gulch and will definitely come back in the future.
Jun 23, 2015
Friendly staff. Smooth check in. Great location close to Rushmore and not situated right on the highway like some campgrounds. More bathrooms maybe. Would stay here again.
Jun 23, 2015
Since there is very poor phone reception, the internet needs to be expanded to cover the whole camp. Otherwise our stay was fantastic.
Jun 23, 2015
The deluxe cabin was awesome!! D280 was only 1 year old and very clean and comfortable! The staff was all friendly and helpful!
Jun 22, 2015
We showed up early to try to check in early and a guy at the front counter tolds us not to come back until 3pm as we can't check you in until then
Jun 22, 2015
My kids loved everything about this KOA. We were thrilled with the experience.
Jun 22, 2015
had a great time! weather was rainy, but out of your control. we tried to get a cabin with a bathroom but none were avail. Maybe you need to make more avail. ha
Jun 22, 2015
If you have kids, this is the place to stay during your Black Hills visit.
Jun 22, 2015
Great entertainment for kids and close to MT. Rushmore (Only reasons to come here). DIRTY cabin (mouse droppings on beds) and dirty bathrooms/showers. Mattresses were like lumpy rocks in our cabin, bring your own if you want to sleep. Very crowded campground.
Jun 22, 2015
The unpaved roads were horrible. They were so rough. I understand that you have had a lot of rain in that area, but I would have thought there would have been gravel spread or tractors out there scraping the roads to make smoother.
Jun 22, 2015
What a wonderful experience! Beautiful setting, convenient location and tons of amenities. Our kids will never forget their time at your KOA. They loved the bounce thing, the pool, the water slide the mini golf and pancake breakfast!! We loved the coffee place, too! Everyone was wonderful. Great experience!
Jun 22, 2015
One of my favorite camp grounds.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
The activities are great, but no ac in the cabins ans such a late check-in were drawbacks.
Jun 22, 2015
The hailstorm caused a lot of damage throughout the park, but before the rain had stopped, employees were going campsite to campsite, making sure everyone was okay. The next morning, they were out making repairs and working hard to get the campground back to normal. In better weather: the campground is a lot of fun, with activities, water slide, 2 pools. The store is not overpriced.
Jun 22, 2015
We loved all the family friendly activities and the stores and restraints make it easy to get what we need without needing to leave the resort. Our one Major complaint was the cleanliness of the showers! They were beyond gross. One shower had period blood on the floor and shower stall for both days we were there indicating it had not been cleaned in over 48 hours. Very disappointing!
Jun 22, 2015
Very disappointed in stay, people at check in were rude We were early, said be back about 230, had to wait till after 3 to get room. Horse guide did not even talk on trip. Camp grounds over full, packed in tight, head people in cabin next to me snoring showers not real clean
Jun 22, 2015
Everything was great except the bathrooms, disgusting. They should have warned the poor campers in tents that a major hail / lightning storm was coming so they could take cover. Very bad!!
Jun 22, 2015
It's like summer camp for the whole family!
Jun 21, 2015
Jun 20, 2015
Wifi never worked, but everything else was great!
Jun 20, 2015
We enjoy Palmer Gulch and we will come back next year.
Jun 20, 2015
We had a wonderful time Enjoyed the cabin Will come back
Jun 20, 2015
We had a trailer with us and they put us on a hill with no adequate parking. We went back to the office to request another cabin and got a cabin two cabins down and got stuck! The manager was very helpful but had they put us in a cabin not on a hill it would have never happened. They advertise wifi but they fail to me too it only works in their stores. Will not be staying at a Koa again.
Jun 20, 2015
We loved it!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.