Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jul 16, 2017
Need to put air conditioning in all your cabins I'd give it a 10
Jul 15, 2017
We already reserved our cabin for next year! Amazing place/people! Thank you
Jul 15, 2017
The campground was very loud, overcrowded, and children were running around unattended at all times of the day. It was a much different stay this time than our previous visit.
Jul 15, 2017
We had so much fun at KOA!We especially loved the arts and crafts! Thanks for all your help Taylor! The horse back ride and chuckwagon dinner was awesome!
Jul 15, 2017
We all had a blast! Plenty of activities to keep all of us happy and busy. The cabin was perfect for our family of five. Our only disappointment was the lack of thorough cleaning of bathrooms/showers. Giving those areas as much attention as the gorgeous flowers would be greatly appreciated.
Jul 14, 2017
Our family has been enjoying Palmer Gulch since 1990. We have experienced every camping/lodging option that's available from tenting, mountain cabins, camping cabins, deluxe cabins to our 5th wheel this past vacation!! We love the Hills and beautiful Palmer Gulch and all activities for ALL to enjoy. The only thing I would update is the website. Doesn't do justice! Job well done!
Jul 14, 2017
Very clean bathrooms. Plenty for the kids to do. Close to all site seeing.
Jul 14, 2017
Very nice. Very friendly
Jul 13, 2017
Jul 13, 2017
Loved it....there is so much for the grandkids to do...nice variety of activities!
Jul 13, 2017
Our family enjoyed the two room cabin we stayed in. The electrical outlets need fixed and the lighting could be improved a little. Another bathhouse in the area we stayed in would be beneficial as there were a ton of people for one bath house. Kid zone was great, lots to do for every age and the pancake feed was excellent. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to friends.
Jul 13, 2017
nice but way overpriced.
Jul 13, 2017
Kids (and adults) loved it! So much to do and the waterslide was a blast. Great place
Jul 12, 2017
This is the #1 vacation spot for our family of seven! Something to do for everyone on site and close to Black Hills attractions.
Jul 12, 2017
We came at an excellent time. It was me, My boyfriend, another couple and their niece in the cabin with us and it was very spacious..clean..and it stayed so cool!! We were actually cold, but I was thankful to be cold than hot. We also had our dog with us and he loved it. We had so much fun swimming, seeing the horses, And riding the banana bikes!!
Jul 11, 2017
We stayed one night and it was great! Cabin was clean and the employees were friendly and accommodating! BUT! I would not advise RV campers to stay at this KOA...they all seemed very crowed in those spaces. I do need to give a shout out to the pancake man. When he heard it was my son's bday, he stuck a candle in his pancake stack and the whole tent sang to him...it made his day!
Jul 11, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay, the deluxe cabin with loft was a perfect fit for our family, and appreciated being right next to the fun zone. Only minor complaint was no housekeeping to replenish our towels, and the pool had a lot of flies and bugs Needed some attention. But overall wonderful stay, and will be back.
Jul 10, 2017
The only bad thing I'd have to say is that when we checked in and tried to go to our cabin everybody was parked in front of our parking spot it took us till late that evening to finally get into a parking spot so we could go to work cabin we had to walk to other cabins with your other campsites and over a bridge to unload our stuff they were not very compliant with wanting to switch us to a cabin
Jul 10, 2017
We had a camping cabin( unswept and dirty)Way far uphill from any bathhouse(hillside needs steps) All the Resor's extras did NOT make up for the inconvenience and.. there's just no excuse for"Dirty"
Jul 10, 2017
It was a nice spot. Probably more suited for families then party type camping. Lots to do. Friendly staff. Clean. Only knock is the free maps for the area are available but are hard to find without asking.
Jul 10, 2017
We stayed in a cabin(rustic) and it was exactly as expected. Only complaint was the long walk to the Comfort stations(showers & restrooms) as they were located in the middle of the RV area. Most of these units have self-contained facilities so semi-puzzled why the stations aren't closer to rustic cabin/tent area?
Jul 10, 2017
Jul 09, 2017
Wonderful! So much fun. We had three cabins that were very nice. Location was perfect. Staff was friendly and quick to respond when we had concerns.
Jul 09, 2017
Stayed a week in a deluxe cabin. Very nice place with lots to do.center of all attractions
Jul 09, 2017
Great place for people with children under the age of 12. A lot of free activities included in the stay for the kids to keep them occupied when not out sightseeing. Spotty wi-fi but only because I had to get some work done during my stay. Otherwise I wouldn't have needed it at all.
Jul 09, 2017
This place is amazing. So much to do and see you need 3-4 days minimum. Great staff, location, amenities, and food.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals