Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jun 07, 2014
I had a wonderful time, the staff was friendly. The grounds were well groomed. I stayed in a basic cabin, no bathroom, but it served my needs perfectly. There are plenty of comfort stations for using the bathroom and plenty of hot water for showering. It rained off and on during my stay, the nights were chilly but I had my electric blanket so I stayed warm. I am already planning my return visit.
Jun 05, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Good all around. Our 2nd visit. Our fire pit had food and garbage dumped in it on arrival, otherwise clean. Staff was courteous and prompt at cleaning out the fire ring. We were delighted with the grandchildren of the Native American musician that performed here. May I suggest you offer them a chance to stay at this KOA before they grow up. They loved the sight of the KOA activities and camp life.
Jun 03, 2014
The deluxe cabin was great! Great space for our 4 member family and 2 dogs. Very clean and good amenities for the family. We took the kids horse back riding and they loved it. They loved the rock wall, pool and put put golf as well. The pancake breakfast was great as well and very reasonably priced.
Jun 03, 2014
Nice place full of kids activities. The staff was kind and helpful. The resort itself needs some TLC with a concerning problem of brown (or pink!) water. Also it's not a quiet and peaceful property with a constant stream of workers in trucks or early morning power washing.
Jun 02, 2014
We were very disappointed in our stay. We did not know in advance that the amenities that we looked forward to enjoying would not be available. If we had, we would have chosen somewhere else to stay.
Jun 01, 2014
We were told that the cabins we reserved would be close to a bathroom since we were traveling with a disabled person and 4 small kids. When we got to our cabins, not only were we far from the bathrooms, but the bathrooms for that section did not work. The people who checked us in did not tell us this and we had to go half way across the entire campsite just to get to a semi working bathroom.
Jun 01, 2014
May 31, 2014
Memorial day. Pool closed. Wi-Fi not only does not work it is actually an ongoing joke with the employees.The You get 5 bar wi-fi but it doesn't connect. But as the manager Brady told me it is: Broken and hasn't worked in 10 years, works but not with people on it, won't work until it gets a 4 million upgrade, or it works fine, all in one long sentence. Then got sarcastic and said 'well it's free"
May 28, 2014
The KOA had a wonderful program filled with activities that my family enjoyed. However our overall stay was not very good. We were placed in a cabin that did not have WORKING bathrooms/showers nearby. The closest place was a long walk and was out of soap for the majority of our trip. I mentioned these concerns and nothing was done to correct them during our stay.
May 28, 2014
We wished we'd known more about Mt. Rushmore KOA and the amenities. As it rained the whole time of our stay we'll take the convienence of a cabin next time and bring the grandkids as we were most impressed with all the activities you had for them.
May 27, 2014
The comfort station closest to us was closed the entire length of our stay. This was a huge hassle for a family of 5 with 3 small kids. Otherwise the campground was good.
May 27, 2014
Was told pool would be open and it was not. When we asked multiple people working we always got a different answer.
May 27, 2014
Our cabin was not ready on time and not really cleaned. It looked like they only swept the second bedroom and part of the first, under the beds were clearly dirty. Also the bathrooms by our cabin were closed and were not informed of that at the time of check in, the bathrooms and showers that were open where not very clean as well.
May 27, 2014
My only complaint would be the cleanliness of the restrooms. They were dirty and not stocked properly with supplies and had overflowing trash. Other than that, our stay was wonderful and I would definitely recommend this KOA to anyone. My family had a great time.
May 27, 2014
Great facility...could do a little better about keeping the bathrooms and shower area cleaned and stocked. Out of 4 sinks, only 1 had soap and only 2 stalls had toilet paper.. other than that, great place to stay
May 27, 2014
Pool was closed Memorial Day weekend. Kids were frustrated, since the amount of free activities -- including the aging putt putt course -- didn't last them very long. $10 resort fee was too much for what little remained free.
May 27, 2014
The campground was nice but the cabin needed some work. The front porch and stairs were bowed and unstable. We had to be careful with our young children so they did not fall off the stairs.
May 25, 2014
The location was great for visiting the area. The Mt Rushmore camp site is huge lots of fun.
May 22, 2014
Only thing I wish they would let people know that if there is cool weather, that they inform guests staying in cabins that heaters are available. Didn't know this till the second night. Other than that, great stay!
May 15, 2014
No heat in kabin. No chair in kabin. No lamp on table in kabin. Mud in front of porch because of no gravel sidewalk.. Closest restroom over the hill or a drive away. When I gave my feedback to the attendant his reply was , "iI just work here." Well, i will not be bact to this KOA. Worst KOA ever!
May 12, 2014
Outstanding! This was our first time in a KOA Cabin, and we couldn't have been more pleased. I don't know why anyone would stay anywhere else if you're looking to see Mt. Rushmore. We'll be going back!
May 09, 2014
It was outstanding! they said they didn't have our original cabin ready so they upgraded us to the executive grand lodge at no additional cost! Will definitely be back!
May 07, 2014
Thanks to the Mt Rushmore KOA for housing an entire blogger tour! It's great knowing that your staff is so helpful, inventive and just fun!
Feb 16, 2014
you have a lot to do there and that is awesome!! but bathroom cleanliness is very important. there was never a time that I saw them clean. you may need more bathrooms and more help for as many people that stay there. I saw that the same dead bugs and they were still there same place everyday. I was a housekeeper at a resort I look carefully.
Nov 16, 2013
Overall it was a nice KOA with plenty for the kids to do. On site food options were rather expensive. This was our first time staying in a Kabin rather than our camper and we were disappointed. There was a 2" gap between the wall and the floor. The porch steps were pulling away from the porch and dangerous. Finally, the bathrooms weren't adequate for the # of people using them.
Oct 07, 2013
What a great destination with lots of options for family fun. Unfortunately all, but the mini golf, were closed during our stay there. We felt it would be nice to have a reduced rate since most services weren't available.
Oct 02, 2013
We only had time to stay one night and this was our first time staying with KOA and I am happy to say you exceeded my expectations! I'm already working on next year's vacation plans using your cabins. Thank you!
Oct 01, 2013
This is 4th stay at this beautiful facility. I'm a little disappointed as the restroom/shower hall near the office was filthy, staff was not was friendly as normal, and out Kamp Kabin had a crooked door jam that prevented the door from closing completely. Made for a cold and drafty few nights.
Sep 30, 2013
This was our first time in the deluxe cabin. Overall, we were very disappointed. Fitted sheet for pullout couch was stained & floor under bed was filthy, bendable lights above master bed are impractical and broken too boot, shower curtain was moldy, no pans for cooking out (even though I asked in advance if they were provided). For the price, it's totally not worth it.
Sep 30, 2013
It was late in the season when we stayed there and I think we would of enjoyed it more earlier in the summer when the facility was in full swing. An awesome place for a young family to stay.
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 29, 2013
Sep 29, 2013
Sep 29, 2013
A little more space between cabins would make this an even better place. Nice and quiet in late September!
Sep 28, 2013
Loved it, had a wonderful time!
Sep 23, 2013
Nice and quiet!
Sep 21, 2013
We have stayed here multiple times and we always have a great time! See you next year!
Sep 20, 2013
great place. very nice.
Sep 20, 2013
Our first stay at a KOA and it was awesome! Wonderful staff and nice cabin!! Thank you!!
Sep 18, 2013
We stayed in a cabin by the bathrooms (about 1/2 way back). Wi-fi was among the worst of the KOA's we stayed at (I'm beginning to think that wi-fi shouldn't even be advertised because it's awful and frequently not working in most KOA's we've visited). This KOA is huge and quite amazing. Bathrooms were clean and showers are private rooms. Lots to do here.
Sep 16, 2013
Clean, comfortable and affordable.
Sep 15, 2013
Clean, awesome things to do, employees were great. Mattress was hard. Will come back again and recommend this KOA to my friends and family.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
One of our better camping experiences. Good job.
Sep 09, 2013
Great place for kids!!!!
Sep 09, 2013
You are in a good location. Everything is close together including the bathroom stalls. The Internet was unusable. It was a poor signal and was intermittent and slow. There was no air condioning in the cabins.
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Stayed here before w/my kids and had a very nice time. Decided to come again and had very wonderful stay. Thought it was a little expensive though!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.