Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jun 24, 2014
I was extremely disappointed in Station #4 bathrooms and laundry. Most of the inside showers were out of order 4 out of 7. Then all of the outside showers had nothing but cold water. The laundry room had water on the floor and machines were out of order.Also the bathrooms were in poor shape e.g. tp on seats and floor, no soap, soap dispenser broken. Maybe they should be cleaned more than 2x/day.
Jun 24, 2014
Need to update camping cabin - really only one light bulb inside!?!; need much better mattress; way too much activity
Jun 24, 2014
We enjoyed many of the amenities and activities at Palmer Gulch, Mt. Rushmore KOA, however there were some issues. The Wifi bandwidth is so small that I was only able to connect about 5% of the time. Also, the last 2 days we were there no one cleaned the "comfort station" bathrooms and they were out of soap. Yuck. Also the ice cream at Turtle Town is good, but stay away from the food.
Jun 24, 2014
This was the first time I stayed at a KOA with my own kids; it was very family-oriented. Staff was friendly, particularly the SunShiners. The only issue I had with this place was that prior to arrival, I received email reservation confirmation for 3 nights in a kabin using a "Buy 2/Get 3rd night free" Father's Day offer. But, when we went to pay upon arrival, the discount was not granted.
Jun 24, 2014
Excellent! Great family environment! So much for kids to do right at the campground. This is a must visit destination for camping families!
Jun 23, 2014
The cabin was outstanding, the service was truly friendly and helpful, and the activities were fun and affordable!!
Jun 23, 2014
be consistent on cooking the corn on the cob
Jun 23, 2014
We had the best stay! There were so many things for the kids to do. We will be back for sure!
Jun 23, 2014
The most amazing KOA we've been to!
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
My grandgirls loved it they called it KO Wow they kept on talking about all the neet things they did. from swimming to horseback riding
Jun 23, 2014
We weren't aware when we made the reservation that this KOA is the 2nd largest in the nation. It was awesome! So much for the kids to do, so family friendly & picturesque as well. We stayed in one of the small cabins & it was very clean & relaxing sitting outside on the front porch. We're hoping to plan a whole family vacation soon & stay in a larger cabin - for an entire week!
Jun 23, 2014
Our second time here:Stayed in a 2 rm cabin-very clean,nice location except near propane tank and could smell gas when it was being used.Loved activities at campground,pancake tent,clean campground. Pools could have been cleaner,noticed some areas needed maintenance, that's why 4 stars instead of 5.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 22, 2014
We had a great time. There are many camp activities and area attractions nearby . The grounds and restrooms were very clean. The staff were very nice and helpful.
Jun 22, 2014
We had a great stay!Our kids had plenty to do and the facilities were very clean!! Would gladly stay there again.
Jun 20, 2014
Great views,friendly staff,great corn, fun stuff for the kids!
Jun 20, 2014
So many things to do, was blown away on how awesome it was. My family and loved the deluxe cabin we had.
Jun 20, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
Lots of great things to do for kids right at the resort! Bathrooms were relatively clean. Our only issue was with the reservation staff making us move our cabin twice. Not easy to do with two kids in tow. Jack at the front desk was amazingly helpful!
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Had challenges this time. The biggest being all but 3 of the showers in our area were locked with no explanation why?? Negative attitude from the young man working in the coffee shop-saying yuck to a customers drink order and laughing at us when we asked about WiFi-rude! Why pay a $10/nt. activity fee when the pools are not open and you have to pay extra to play mini golf? What does the fee cover?
Jun 18, 2014
The cabin was comfortable, cute with the hanging flower basket, and having our own fire pit and picnic table was so handy. Being near the kid play area and fishing pond were fabulous. Couldn't believe it was so quiet at night too! We will pass on the recommendation to our friends.
Jun 18, 2014
The location is wonderful, staff was helpful and facility was kept up. Great place for children - loved the mini golf course. An actual pay phone would have been nice with limited cell service, though.
Jun 18, 2014
This is a great place to stay with kids!
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
we enjoyed the 5-person cabin & the mini-golf, rock climber & other available activities. Thank you!
Jun 17, 2014
There was mouse crap on the beds. The shift manager gave us $40 off our stay .Then proceeded to tell me the person who cleans the rooms is handicap .NEVER in my life have I wanted to strangle someone. Also 7 of 12 showers were out of order, the laundry room change machine was out of order .along with 1 of 3 dryers. I will never recommend that KOA to anyone.
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Out of 7 showers,there was only one working. One stool didn't work the whole time we were there. The weather was rainy, which is out of their control, therefore a lot of the activities were shut down due to the rain, which left the kids with nothing to do. Even after the rain stopped, they didn't reopen some of the activities. We really like this place, question our return.
Jun 16, 2014
Very enjoyable
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
We spent one night in one of the small one room cabins. Was very clean and relaxing! The showers were very nice because they were all separate and each had their own small dressing area. My only complaint was the bathroom. Some of the toilets didn't flush and was kinda dirty, this could have just been from the large amount of people. Other than that was a blast! I would go back in a heart beat!
Jun 15, 2014
Cabins little dirty and wifi doesn't work but other wise it was great.
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
The stay was okay, but not the best koa experience we've had. One of the main reasons for choosing a koa was the jumping pillow, which didn't work at all the entire time we were there, even though employees kept saying it would be up in a couple hours. Plus, our cabin was not very private.
Jun 13, 2014
Great KOA! There are so many activities to keep the family busy.
Jun 13, 2014
The people and the campground itself was great.the only issues I had were with the cabin, the beds were extremely uncomfortable,and I don't understand why they didn't have a fan for when it got hot, or in our case a little electric heater when it got cold.Especialy when they cost as much as they do.Overall I would come again, pleasant stay for the most part!
Jun 12, 2014
Jun 12, 2014
Kind and courteous staff. Every amenity a person could think of. By far the most complete resort facility in the beautiful Black Hills area!
Jun 12, 2014
Overall we were very happy with our stay. It was unfortunate that the weather did not cooperate with our dates and we had a lot of cold and rain. The cabin was sufficient and I'm glad we brought along a space heater to keep us warm at night.
Jun 12, 2014
Nice place with lots of activities! Would have been nicer if the bounce pillow and rock wall were available during our stay and if the grass was cut by our cabin. Hard to get cell coverage and WiFi. Bathrooms were great.
Jun 11, 2014
We are a Girl Scout troop who visited. The girls had a great time and really enjoyed all the free activities offered. The restrooms were nice and clean as well. The only negative would be that the soap dispensers in the restrooms never seemed to work. Several girls mentioned that they would like to come back to your campground with their families in the future.
Jun 11, 2014
Very kid friendly
Jun 10, 2014
Nice campground, but weather was terrible so cost of cabin turned out to be too much for what we were able to enjoy. Also, reservation instructions advised to bring charcoal for grill and coffee for coffee maker. Neither was necessary. Gas grill and Keurig coffee maker. No one at registration could answer any of my questions. Replies were " I don't know". Not what I wanted to hear!
Jun 10, 2014
I give it an 11!!!!!! So much to do for the kids! Best campground I've been to that has so much to offer! The only downfall was no heaters in the cabin... I will bring one next time ;)
Jun 10, 2014
The cabin we were first placed in was steep and hard to access the second cabin blew a breaker and it took 2 calls & 3 hours to find the breaker to flip it it was on the back of A cabin 4 down from the one we were staying in

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.