Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

May 26, 2015
Excellent KOA. I highly recommend it for anyone wanting to camp near mount rushmore. There are lots of activities and the staff is friendly.
May 26, 2015
It rained the entire stay and we were not able to utilize the kid friendly attractions that we initially stayed at this KOA for. The cabin floors were very slippery and me and my children fell several times. The sofa sleeper bed mattress was so uncomfortable my son could not sleep on it. The towels racks fell off the wall when we used a towel as well as the toilet paper holder. The queen mattress
May 26, 2015
beautiful campground with all amenities anyone could ask for
May 25, 2015
Great KOA loved it I will be back and bring family members
May 25, 2015
A lot of activities for kids, but miss movies at night, especially on a rainy evening. Limited Wi-Fi. The mini golf course needs a make-over. It really shows it's age. Great pancake breakfast.
May 25, 2015
The cabin prices were double that over other local campgrounds, (last minute plans didn't help). Bathrooms were located away from the cabins in the middle of the RV parking. While the staff was great, the overall experience would not make us come back to this campground again.
May 25, 2015
Great location right in between the Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse monuments. Clean facilities and very nice employees. Would definitely stay there again.
May 23, 2015
We were there too early in the season and a lot of the camp wasn't up and running yet (ie: the pizza/ice cream store, the horse rides/buggy show). We would love to come back to experience it all. We loved our cabin and the proximity to all the attractions, especially Mt. Rushmore. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We will hopefully be back one day. We will stay at a KOA again.
May 21, 2015
Great facilities and thanks for doing your best about the wifi. Please upgrade the heaters in cabins.
May 20, 2015
Great customer service.
May 18, 2015
They upgraded our pop-up site to a cabin when I called a few hours before our arrival and there were terrible storms. Sigh of relief since we had our 4 kids with! We were also the first family the season in the restaurant for breakfast. Great service and great ambiance. Thanks!
May 17, 2015
We only stayed one night and it rained like crazy. But the staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back in a couple of months.
May 16, 2015
Staff was very knowledgeable, helpful and nice.
May 16, 2015
Fantastic place and super nice staff.Highly recommend
May 15, 2015
We came in with two young boys expecting to spend a week playing at the local monuments, and got 17 inches of snow instead. The staff upgraded us to a more comfortable cabin and made sure we had everything we needed to still have an amazing stay. Will deffinately be back!
May 15, 2015
They were very helpful and made the stay very nice. It is because of the hosts that we will be back.
May 14, 2015
Really big camp area. Cabin with the loft was very nice. Staff was very friendly. Would recommend
May 13, 2015
The deluxe cabin was clean and cozy. The staff was very friendly and helpful, I would like to visit KOA Mount Rushore again.
May 12, 2015
The weather deteriorated and any possible issues were addressed and solved for us without having to address them. AMAZING
May 04, 2015
We had a terrific time! The only thing that was disappointing was that some of the amenities were not open that we thought should be, like the bike shop! But over all we had a wonder wonderful time!
Dec 23, 2014
Nov 06, 2014
Nov 02, 2014
Staff was great. Physical condition of site was very good. Location was excellent. Two problems: had to pay extra for resort fee;however, last week of season not all amenities were avail. Second: tons of flies in our cabin. Paid extra instead should have gotten a discount instead of paying more.
Oct 16, 2014
Love the restaurant.Came late and left early, but all was fine. Beds were a little close for the bunks. Almost bumped my head in morning. A little dark when walking to bathroom at night.
Oct 16, 2014
The restaurant on site is awful. We stayed 3 nights and the bathrooms were never cleaned the whole time. Yuck.
Sep 30, 2014
DO NOT STAY HERE. No oven or cooktop in deluxe cabins. No real coffee maker. Water gave my daughter and wife diarrhea. Staff unwilling to repair problems found in cabin. Wifi is advertised but has poor coverage and is as slow as dial-up. Campground restaurant is the worst food I have experienced anywhere. This review is cross-posted on Google+ and Yelp.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 28, 2014
Cabin fuses came off..slept with ot lights or heat,Parking in wrong place,bathrooms to far away
Sep 26, 2014
Sep 25, 2014
the staff was extremely pleasant
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 21, 2014
We always love staying in the KOA cabins. This particular cabin was in need of some tender loving care though. Floor was separating from walls and they were using duct tape to close the gap. Porch was very unstable. Fire pit was not cleaned from last tenant. Other than that it was a great location beautiful KOA and lots of great attraction.
Sep 20, 2014
This KOA had great amenities, showers, games, activities, playgrounds, etc. We were there after Labor Day so many of the activities had stopped but I can tell it would be a very hopping place during the summer. We appreciated the parks and they left the mini-golf supplies out so the kids could play. The staff was friendly.
Sep 15, 2014
A high-end KOA, very large with lots of activities. We are very appreciative of the staff. We had booked 2 nights, but snow was rolling in and we were on motorcycles. They let us cancel our 2nd night with no penalty. Only cleanliness issue is that there were hundreds of dead flies in the window track in the cabins. Gross!! Cabin window seals and tracks need to be cleaned better and checked!
Sep 15, 2014
cabin was nice, the pool, water slide,hot tub were cold and dirty, only water warm was kiddy pool & dirty. going to stay another night in van but after spending about 4 hrs we left. wifi was spotty if not existent. tried to talk to front desk, about our rotten stay, she didn't care that our stay sucked AT ALL, spend to much money for nothing. looks can be deceiving. everything costs.
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
The heat in the cabin did not work in the kitchen/living room. It was very chilly the nights we were there and there were not any extra blankets so we were cold all night. They came over the next day to reset the breaker. It worked for a short time then did not work again. Also, the kitchen sink faucet did not work properly. We do like this campground and will stay again.
Sep 13, 2014
Loved the place and the people! Super clean and friendly. We will make this a teary occurrence here!!
Sep 13, 2014
We liked the cabin and the fire pit area, but it was a long walk to the bathrooms, so it was very inconvenient. In the morning, the sewer was backing up into the shower/bathrooms, so it was disgusting. They were working on it when we left, but in the meantime, there were no facilities to use. The location is great since it is so close to the Monuments, but we would stay somewhere else next time.
Sep 10, 2014
The staff was friendly. The sites, restrooms and showers were clean. The pancakes were good.
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 05, 2014
our stay would have been more enjoyable had there been washrooms closer to the cabins on the hill. Or even a proper stairway down the hill. The area on the hill needs more attention; more lighting, broken picnic table, path to cabin from vehicle, over hang of cabin roof too low, (daughter hit her head on the corner).
Sep 03, 2014
I love this place. Beautiful, clean, and lots activities!
Sep 03, 2014
I love a brand new 2014 cabin that I got for my family and I we had a very great fun and experience nice and cozy .
Sep 02, 2014
This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at your KOA and we were not disappointed again. While we didn't partake in any activities on site we had a fantastic cabin. We will be back sometime in the future
Sep 02, 2014
This place was a fantastic fun-filled escape for the entire family. Grounds were very well-planned. Super friendly staff. Cabin was clean.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Awesome! just one grouchy older lady conflict over a firewood misunderstanding! Beautiful!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.