Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jun 19, 2017
Great place! Cabins are wonderful! So much to do at the campground!
Jun 18, 2017
Our family was frustrated by the incorrect info that we were given. Just listening to other families it sounded like they were too.
Jun 18, 2017
We had a very nice spot in one of the cabins. Very nice spot. Kids had a blast.
Jun 17, 2017
Fun time! Kids enjoyed making friends.
Jun 17, 2017
Due to a last minute change in plans I ended up booking a Kamping Kabin here. Extremely glad I did. Was very nice to have something for the kids to do when we were done shopping/sightseeing/exploring for the day. Only issue was the mattress for the full size bed was extremely flat and felt like I was sleeping on the wooden frame . I would and will definitely be back though.
Jun 17, 2017
Everything great, thanks!
Jun 16, 2017
Nice location and little shops and horses but the sites are way too small and crowded and not enough bathrooms.
Jun 16, 2017
We loved the Mount Rushmore KOA!!! There is so much to do there! Our elementary aged kids LOVED it. Perfect for families! Ga Ga Ball, the jumping pillow and horseback riding were a big hit! We stayed in a camping cabin and it suited our family of four wonderfully! It was a great experience and we hope to come back!
Jun 14, 2017
Great
Jun 14, 2017
This was our second year staying at this KOA. It's perfect for our family - our kids (5,3,1) have so much to do there, they don't really get bored, and we don't have to plan many activities outside the campground to keep everyone happy for the week. We love the kamping kabins - the camping experience with the benefit of electricity (I cook all our meals in an electric skillet). Love it!
Jun 14, 2017
This was our second stay at the Palmer Gulch KOA and we loved it even more than the first time! We underestimated how much time to allow for the activities going on at the KOA site the first time around so we were sure to include plenty of time for mini golf, swimming, playing at the playground, and other fun daily activities! We stayed in one of the deluxe camper cabins. We'll be back!
Jun 13, 2017
Rented cabins and might as well have slept on the ground. The beds in all three cabins were hard as the ground. Toilet paper and hand soap empty multiple times Staff was friendly, but unorganized. Too crowded for my liking. Lots of fun stuff to do for the entire family.
Jun 13, 2017
There were 18 members of our family staying in 5 cabins for our annual family camping reunion. Everyone enjoyed it. Thanks.
Jun 13, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. Very clean bathrooms. Grass needed to be mowed around our cabin on the hill.
Jun 13, 2017
Very Good time, plenty of things to do.
Jun 13, 2017
Loved it we come back a couple of times a year, great family oriented resort!
Jun 13, 2017
Perfect location! Wish we could have stayed longer to see/do all that is available in this area. Great campground with tons of extra amenities. The rodeo was fun, we loved to pools, lots for the kids to do. Perfect summer vacation!
Jun 12, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at Palmer Gulch. It was comfortable and convenient to all the local attractions.
Jun 12, 2017
Overall, our stay was great! Kids love it, we were given a great cabin site and campsite away from a lot of the activity. A few improvements: The guy in the golf cart who approached us when we arrived was quite rude. We had no idea where to park when we arrived. He yelled, "You have to move. I have big rigs coming in." The toilets by the Fun Zone were pretty smelly.
Jun 12, 2017
Wow! Couldn't find a place in the hills better to stay with a young family. Kind of spendy, but didn't have to leave the resort for entertainment.
Jun 12, 2017
Pleasantly surprised to see this KOA was 3rd largest in the US, thus having some amenities others did not. Kids enjoyed the "Fun Zone" and helped to keep them busy during down time. Stayed in the basic cabin w/o bathroom and it worked well, especially for the price paid.
Jun 12, 2017
Loved our stay - will be back again!
Jun 12, 2017
We loved the rodeo and we had a nice cabin and facilities!
Jun 11, 2017
The rooms were just as described. Slightly set into the woods, very close to many of nearby attractions. My kids loved the horseback riding at the campground. They had 2 pools and fun areas for the kids (though we were so busy we didn't use them much). 2 restraunts onsite were also both very good with lots of selection. A+!
Jun 11, 2017
the park is beautiful and very clean. the bathrooms are too far away. the park is full of very kind lovely people
Jun 11, 2017
Great time. The only draw back was that our cabin was directly next to play ground every morning got woke up at the crack of dawn bye screaming kids...we just like to have slept in!
Jun 10, 2017
We enjoyed our stay! Very kid friendly, very friendly staff!! We will be back!!
Jun 10, 2017
It's a great place for the entire family. Our only complaint was the discomfort of the mattresses in the 1 room cabin.
Jun 09, 2017
I really enjoy the friendly staff and the family atmosphere. The cabin we stayed at though needed some upkeep. Squeaky loud door and sharp metal on door also,that cut me.
Jun 09, 2017
Great place, clean and well kept cabins and facilities. Nice friendly people. The Turtle Town ice cream is divine! Horse ride was well done, with Kat as our guide.
Jun 08, 2017
Such a great place to stay! Close to everything, friendly staff and the camp grounds are clean and offer so much to do. We will definitely go back!
Jun 07, 2017
Jun 07, 2017
Great resort with tons of things for the kids to do! Everything is well kept and beautiful views. We are repeat guests anWe will definitely go back. The only two things we had issues with was the extremely hard mattresses in the cabins and then Sunday morning there was no one working in the lodge and only 1 person at registration. It wasn't such a big deal for us but people In Line were not happy.
Jun 07, 2017
Though I did not have my kids with me I had an absolute blast and loved all the amenities available the first thing I did when I got home was show my little ones what was available and I'm already planning our trip to return thank you for providing such an amazing place and keeping everything so nice and clean and the staff was amazing thank you again see you soon
Jun 06, 2017
Loved every minute of our stay. Deluxe Cabin, wonderful view. Lots of activities to do. Will stay again!
Jun 06, 2017
Love this koa
Jun 06, 2017
Our stay at KOA was fabulous! Ben helped us several times and was amazing
Jun 06, 2017
Family vacation for three, and a half as mom is pregnant, and our stay was nothing short of amazing. All of the staff were genuinely caring and kind. They waved, smiled and even stopped for a small chat here and there. Bathrooms and showers were impeccably clean and fresh smelling. Cabin was also very clean and easy to manage. We will absolutely be returning. Thank you for the wonderful stay.
Jun 06, 2017
When we stayed in the cabin it did not have heat or a ac unit at all usually when people buy a cabin they have those amenities and I was paying $93 for the cabin for what just a bed and electric outlets I don't mind no TV but please but in a ac unit and heater.
Jun 05, 2017
The facilities are well maintained and there's something for everyone to do, cornhole, volleyball, bands, pools, bikes - even our teenagers & young adult kids loved it! Can't wait to go back! Minutes from Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse was ver convenient!
Jun 05, 2017
Growing up, my family and I would go to the KOA at Palmer Gulch, Mt. Rushmore. Now that I'm older, I brought my son. My family stayed in a single camping cabin and it was more than we expected. We loved the environment, friendly staff and other campers. Every year I go there, it's like hanging with great friends and family.
Jun 04, 2017
Great location for surrounding sights. Everyone very friendly.
Jun 04, 2017
Jun 04, 2017
Quiet where we're at
Jun 04, 2017
This campground would have to be 1 of the best we have camped at. 1 set of Restrooms could do with a major overhaul but that's the only thing we could fault
Jun 03, 2017
We enjoyed the bounce pillow, the mining area, the cabin, the pool, the nightly movies.
Jun 03, 2017
It was super. Loved the horses!
Jun 02, 2017
This is the perfect KOA for a Mount Rushmore visit. It is in the heart of the Keystone / Hill City region. It offers the right amenities for the South Dakota adventure. We did everything here, except ATVs. The stables and the horseback riding was great. We ate ice cream every night. We went to the Mount Rushmore lighting. We slept in a one room cabin and walked to the restrooms. Nice facilities.
Jun 01, 2017
I enjoyed my time, again at Hill City, SD. Staff was great and everything was clean.
Jun 01, 2017
This KOA had plenty of things to do and keep busy. You don't have to bring your own fun, they supply it for you!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals