Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
The location is great, and there are lots of activities for kids. However, there was a very large number of tent and cabin campers tring to use the restroom/shower facilities. Within hours of being cleaned, the restroom looked and smelled like it had not been cleaned e en when I observed it being cleaned. Half of the showers in our bath house were "out of order". The camp kitchen was very dirty.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
I love the location of this KOA, can not beat it. I do love the small shops on site to. I do have to say the camp ground bathroom and showers are filthy. One of the stalls in the men bathroom and feces on the floor for the whole 7 days we were their, that's just wrong and many of the showers and laundry equipment was out of service our entire stay. The cabin we rented had a dirty sock on the bed.
Jun 28, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
Deluxe cabin was perfect. Campground well kept and friendly. So much to do! Favorite part was the horse back riding available right on site!
Jun 28, 2014
The campground is well maintained. All the workers are very friendly and helpful. There is so much to do on the campground, you don't even need to leave. We traveled with 2 12 year old grandsons who stayed busy and had so much fun. Thank you for a wonderful week.
Jun 28, 2014
We loved the campground and the area. I would have given a better rating but the campground was understaffed badly with restrooms and garbage pickup not taken care of on schedule, the pool closed early and opened late and one fairly rude female concierge. But, the positives outweighed the negatives.
Jun 28, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
So much fun for the kids.
Jun 27, 2014
The advertised activities that we wanted to do (fire engine ride and chuck wagon dinner) were not available on the day we stayed. So check to see if things you want to do are available for your date(s) of stay.
Jun 26, 2014
This KOA is a destination point. We loved our Deluxe cabin. Customer service is inconsistent (there are several employees that are outstanding such as the young lady who checked us in on 6/22. When we arrived there was no grill, the supervisor looked at me like I had missed seeing it and informed me that it had to be "there". Instead of apologizing and investigating.
Jun 26, 2014
Cabin dusty and too far from bathroom. Breakfast and children's area good but too crowded. Will not use again One employee at registration area was rude but she was only one all others extremely nice and helpful
Jun 25, 2014
We were not happy with the dog park. It was not fenced in and it was muddy and over run. The wifi did not work anywhere in the park, the waterslide was not working the 1st 3 days we were there. The restrooms were very clean and the staff was great.
Jun 25, 2014
Jun 25, 2014
Everyone was so nice and there was so much to do. I can't remember everyone's names, but the whole staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. The church service was wonderful. Mallory at fiddle sticks was so helpful and friendly. Papas pancakes was fun and delicious! The cooks were friendly and glad to help. This was the best KOA I have stayed at.The cabin was so cute.
Jun 25, 2014
Good pancake breakfast.
Jun 25, 2014
We stayed in a cabin, it was clean, maintenance was done fast on a window screen. The bathrooms were clean. Pancake breakfast was very good.. Would stay there again.. Staff were very friendly and helpful..
Jun 24, 2014
Would've given this four stars, but the bathrooms were absolutely filthy. Probably the worst I've ever seen. This is the only thing that keeps me from going back to that campground. Horseback riding was great.
Jun 24, 2014
Would like to have clean towels in cabins everyday
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
I was extremely disappointed in Station #4 bathrooms and laundry. Most of the inside showers were out of order 4 out of 7. Then all of the outside showers had nothing but cold water. The laundry room had water on the floor and machines were out of order.Also the bathrooms were in poor shape e.g. tp on seats and floor, no soap, soap dispenser broken. Maybe they should be cleaned more than 2x/day.
Jun 24, 2014
Need to update camping cabin - really only one light bulb inside!?!; need much better mattress; way too much activity
Jun 24, 2014
We enjoyed many of the amenities and activities at Palmer Gulch, Mt. Rushmore KOA, however there were some issues. The Wifi bandwidth is so small that I was only able to connect about 5% of the time. Also, the last 2 days we were there no one cleaned the "comfort station" bathrooms and they were out of soap. Yuck. Also the ice cream at Turtle Town is good, but stay away from the food.
Jun 24, 2014
This was the first time I stayed at a KOA with my own kids; it was very family-oriented. Staff was friendly, particularly the SunShiners. The only issue I had with this place was that prior to arrival, I received email reservation confirmation for 3 nights in a kabin using a "Buy 2/Get 3rd night free" Father's Day offer. But, when we went to pay upon arrival, the discount was not granted.
Jun 24, 2014
Excellent! Great family environment! So much for kids to do right at the campground. This is a must visit destination for camping families!
Jun 23, 2014
The cabin was outstanding, the service was truly friendly and helpful, and the activities were fun and affordable!!
Jun 23, 2014
be consistent on cooking the corn on the cob
Jun 23, 2014
We had the best stay! There were so many things for the kids to do. We will be back for sure!
Jun 23, 2014
The most amazing KOA we've been to!
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
My grandgirls loved it they called it KO Wow they kept on talking about all the neet things they did. from swimming to horseback riding
Jun 23, 2014
We weren't aware when we made the reservation that this KOA is the 2nd largest in the nation. It was awesome! So much for the kids to do, so family friendly & picturesque as well. We stayed in one of the small cabins & it was very clean & relaxing sitting outside on the front porch. We're hoping to plan a whole family vacation soon & stay in a larger cabin - for an entire week!
Jun 23, 2014
Our second time here:Stayed in a 2 rm cabin-very clean,nice location except near propane tank and could smell gas when it was being used.Loved activities at campground,pancake tent,clean campground. Pools could have been cleaner,noticed some areas needed maintenance, that's why 4 stars instead of 5.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 22, 2014
We had a great time. There are many camp activities and area attractions nearby . The grounds and restrooms were very clean. The staff were very nice and helpful.
Jun 22, 2014
We had a great stay!Our kids had plenty to do and the facilities were very clean!! Would gladly stay there again.
Jun 20, 2014
Great views,friendly staff,great corn, fun stuff for the kids!
Jun 20, 2014
So many things to do, was blown away on how awesome it was. My family and loved the deluxe cabin we had.
Jun 20, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
Lots of great things to do for kids right at the resort! Bathrooms were relatively clean. Our only issue was with the reservation staff making us move our cabin twice. Not easy to do with two kids in tow. Jack at the front desk was amazingly helpful!
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Had challenges this time. The biggest being all but 3 of the showers in our area were locked with no explanation why?? Negative attitude from the young man working in the coffee shop-saying yuck to a customers drink order and laughing at us when we asked about WiFi-rude! Why pay a $10/nt. activity fee when the pools are not open and you have to pay extra to play mini golf? What does the fee cover?
Jun 18, 2014
The cabin was comfortable, cute with the hanging flower basket, and having our own fire pit and picnic table was so handy. Being near the kid play area and fishing pond were fabulous. Couldn't believe it was so quiet at night too! We will pass on the recommendation to our friends.
Jun 18, 2014
The location is wonderful, staff was helpful and facility was kept up. Great place for children - loved the mini golf course. An actual pay phone would have been nice with limited cell service, though.
Jun 18, 2014
This is a great place to stay with kids!
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
we enjoyed the 5-person cabin & the mini-golf, rock climber & other available activities. Thank you!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.