Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Sep 27, 2015
This looked like a nice campground from the front. The camping cabin we had would have been nice if it hadn't had piles (literally piles) of dead flies on the window sills and the we hadn't spent the whole night with the live ones buzzing around the cabin. This was y first time renting a rustic cabin like this. I don't know if this is normal for this type of thing but I didn't like it.
Sep 26, 2015
Sep 23, 2015
Not too clean in bathroom or in cabin. Pool was closed too.
Sep 22, 2015
The area is BEAUTIFUL. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The amenities are very nice and comfortable. The only challenge is cell phone/wifi reception is nonexistent, which could be an issue for those who need to have access.
Sep 22, 2015
Awesome... Very nice, friendly, Will return
Sep 18, 2015
Because of rain upgraded to a cabin. No chair at table, WiFi signal too weak and thought price was high for off season.
Sep 15, 2015
The campgrounds were very well maintained. The employees at the campground were very helpful.
Sep 14, 2015
My family and I have been staying at the Mount Rushmore KOA since I was a kid and have always loved it! This time was the first time we were staying in what is considered "off season" I wish we would've been notified of all the things that wouldn't have been available this time of year. I was dissapointed in the service while checking in. The lady helping us was rude as if we were an inconvenience
Sep 12, 2015
Too far from the bathroom
Sep 09, 2015
We loved Palmer Gulch! We will definitely stay there again the next time we visit Mt. Rushmore!
Sep 09, 2015
Sep 09, 2015
It was amazing! There is so much to do here. The staff was great! None of us wanted to leave!
Sep 09, 2015
Staff was not friendly.Had to wait to be helped while the staff finished their personal conversation. Were not told of activities going on in park like, pancake breakfast, horses, ect. We stayed in cabin and was not told at check in that the restrooms were so far away. There was a path to the bathroom down a small steep hill that could have very easily had proper steps put in. Will not go back.
Sep 08, 2015
This was a great place to stay with many great activities for the while family!
Sep 08, 2015
We were so happy with this campground!!! Amazing views, clean, nice people...I have already recommended it to 2 people and we have been home for less than a day!
Sep 08, 2015
The pictures we took did no justice to how great this place really is! Tons of activities for our kids (ages 15 mo, 7, and 11) and for adults the scenery and relaxation we got was amazing. The cabin we stayed in was very clean and exactly what we wanted. Never been to such a wonderful place.
Sep 08, 2015
This was the best camping experience my family could've had for our 1st camping trip. Everyone was nice and we all had tons of fun. This is a great location for families and friends to gather. Looking forward to next year and kabin484. Thank you KOA for an amazing family memory.
Sep 08, 2015
I was happy to have a great place to stay while in the Black Hills
Sep 08, 2015
One of the guests in our group had bed bug or flea bites all over them. The drinking water in front of cabin and out of rest room was very hard water had very yellow/orange to brown color. We had an infant with us and bought water.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your review! We were also surprised to hear of the bed bugs and have taken the necessary steps to remove them. As for the water, we have well water and so a slight discoloration is expected throughout the resort. We hope you will try us again in the future. Sincerely, Danielle Akey
Sep 08, 2015
It was so full this labor day weekend and I thought for sure we would not get any sleep but it was so quiet. I got a shower anytime I wanted. Best KOA I have been too. Wish I could of stayed longer to do many of the amenities that were there. Thanks for a great vacation!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay over the Labor Day Holiday! We love hearing that you had such a great time and that our resort exceeded your expecations. We hope to see you again next camping season! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 08, 2015
Showers on Sunday morning were in need of attention. Otherwise awesome service and lots to do for all of the family.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback about your most recent stay! We will make sure to follow up with our shower crew regarding Sunday morning's cleaning. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Black Hills! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 07, 2015
Sep 07, 2015
Very clean KOA, wish there were more bathrooms spread out, was a long walk in the mornings.
Sep 05, 2015
Sep 04, 2015
Sep 03, 2015
The bunks are not for adults and the hide a bed needs to be updated with an air mattress.
Sep 03, 2015
Very nice place to stay and close to everything.
Sep 01, 2015
Been to your KOA many times and always left with many wonderful memories, thanks.
Sep 01, 2015
Site is beautiful with lots of amenities, but our son was too young for many of them. We really enjoyed the pool despite the very cold water, and also took advantage of the very affordable pancake breakfast. We found our cabin to be clean, but it was perched on a very small piece of flat land, so there was limited seating space around the fire and our neighbors were too close.
Sep 01, 2015
Very nice campground. The kids had an awesome time so many things to do. Very clean and friendly a bit expensive but well worth it in the end Thanks
Aug 31, 2015
Ideal location, clean and friendly, we'll definitely be back!
Aug 31, 2015
Beautiful cabin and so much to do and see. We will definitely be coming back!
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 31, 2015
Very Nice KOA. Only problem is WiFi and cell service they are very poor.
Aug 30, 2015
This site is our favorite place to bring the Grandkids. This time we stayed in a Camping Cabin. The beds were very comfortable. The staff were great. The activities were great also.
Aug 29, 2015
The views were breathtaking and the facilities were so clean and well maintained! Already planning to go back next summer!
Aug 29, 2015
Beautiful and very clean. Great location! Love the view of Harney peak and that a trailhead in just across the road.
Aug 28, 2015
Aug 28, 2015
Aug 26, 2015
Great location and many amenities except for no ATT cell coverage coupled with unreliable WiFi. Young staff seemed pretty much indifferent to that problem as well.
Aug 26, 2015
A great spot for the whole family. Make sure you plan to stay more than just one over night. Lots of activities for everyone!
Aug 26, 2015
Great Pancake Breakfast.
Aug 26, 2015
fun times in the Black Hills
Aug 26, 2015
Everything was excellent. I had been there for 2nd time and enjoyed your services, staff and entertainment for the kids. Thanks again, Naser from Lakewood, Colorado.
Aug 26, 2015
Nice showers and facilities, lots to do, great for kids. Great staff.
Aug 25, 2015
We stayed in the deluxe cabin and it was the perfect place for my family. The was a large deck and fire pit to enjoy outside and living space in the cabin. The only thing that would have been nice is more puts and pans to cook with, they were really minimal if you are feeding a family of 7, which is how many people we had.
Aug 25, 2015
Enjoyed that your facility had plenty of activities to entertain our young ones.
Aug 25, 2015
Awesome time in a great place! So many amenities. Will definitely plan to stay again and for a longer stay so we can get in a trail ride.
Aug 25, 2015
Amazing
Aug 25, 2015
Great place. We will be back!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals