Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Cabin Reviews

Aug 13, 2013
Camping cabin flooded 3 times with the rain and little was tried to fix it after it happened even before our stay.
Aug 13, 2013
I will say all in all not bad however the conditions of the gravel roads mixed with the rain was a bad combo something more permanent should be done to resolve the wash issue out of order dryers were a little ridiculous and the showers could of been kept up on a little better I will say the location breakfast views from the pancake tent made my mornings
Aug 13, 2013
Tons of things to do. Love having the community gazebo for cooking and cleaning dishes. Pancake breakfasts also great. These made camping easier. Overall, super for young families, not as great for teens. Problems came with overcrowding and keeping camp clean with large numbers of people- Especially the bathrooms (also the pools). Cold showers at times.
Aug 13, 2013
was really unhappy with the cabin we had the only thing we could do at the cabin was sit on the porch and watch the people just below us dump at the dump station we could not use the picnic table because it was on the hill and sitting on three round rocks to level it and we did not like the idea of using round rocks as leveling blocks so no table to eat on and who wants to eat twenty ft from a d
Aug 13, 2013
I was truly impressed with the cabin that we had. What a great facility. Will certainly stay here in the future.
Aug 13, 2013
Beautiful setting in the Black Hills, great location and lots of amenities right on site. A great family experience!
Aug 13, 2013
We spent 5 great nights in a deluxe cabin. Our family loves all the activities available. The cabin was nice; however, a few additional small hooks in the master bedroom, a large refrigerator; more shelves in the kitchen area, and more gravel or grass outside of the unit would be nice.
Aug 13, 2013
We only stayed one night but could have easily stayed longer - so many activities, so much to see. Only problem we had was that we found the lower bunk beds in the cabin too low - very difficult to get in and out without bumping our heads. We would definitely stay again but not in those cabins.
Aug 12, 2013
This was our 7th year, and as always, the stay was excellent. Thank you KOA folks
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
We have stayed at this resort before and love it. Clean and friendly. the views are spectacular.
Aug 12, 2013
Nice variety of services offered. Would have liked to seen a more extended reach of WIFI to help w/ no cellular service.
Aug 12, 2013
When I checked in for a reservation for a large tent site, I found that not only was there no room for a tent, but my minivan wouldn't even fit on the driveway. There was no way for my family to stay there. I appreciated the customer service, because when I complained they upgraded me to a cabin for no additional fee, but seriously, the campsites should be larger, especially for tents.
Aug 12, 2013
I like staying in the cabins but the WIFI stinks.
Aug 12, 2013
It was a so so place because it was dirty. I know tht there were many people there to stay but the staff did not clean the bathrooms every day and the kids that were their were not very clean kids. The fact the that needed to pay so much for everything you needed to get was sad. You would think the fact that we were their they shouldn't have to charge so much more than a real store.
Aug 11, 2013
Cabin was dirty, but the flash flood didn't help. Impressed with how rapidly roads were repaired--hours. Hot tub and pancakes were nice. Too big.
Aug 11, 2013
This KOA is really big and offer a lot of activities to its guest. My children especially love their water slide and jumping pillow. But the thing that turn me off about this KOA is their lack of attention to the restroom/shower in the kabins area. Plus our kabin in which we stay in had so much dirt. We decided to check out a day early.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Bathrooms & Showers were in great need of cleaning and repair!
Aug 10, 2013
We love this place! Lots of things to do here and near by:) see you next year! :)
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
This KOA offers a lot of activities at a great location however the bathrooms were below standard. There were sinks and urnals out of order during the week of the Sturgis motorcycle rally. here was also a strong need for more washersdryers in the laundry area...Staff was very friendly though!
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
I liked that there was a fishing pond and paddle boats. But everything seemed to cost twice as much as Flintstones in Custer and was alot more crowded. Staff was all friendly except by horse area. Yelled at adult niece for coming within some sort of range of trail...(returning from hike)
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
The cabin floor was very dirty. One of the pools was closed with no sign or reason which is annoying when the campground is so full.
Aug 08, 2013
cabin floor was very dirty.
Aug 08, 2013
This place is INCREDIBLE! I WILL COME BACK AGAIN AND AGAIN!
Aug 07, 2013
Helpful staff,well kept grounds.But,we had a large group of people, spending thousands of dollars to stay there, and I guess we violated the quiet time by talking and laughing too loud. KOA security came in heavy handed and threatened to throw all of us out in the middle of the night because of a complaint by only "ONE" tent camper.It could have been handled in a more friendly manner
Aug 07, 2013
We absolutely love this KOA and is the 2nd time we have been back now. Hoping to come again in the future! The kids love the pools/waterpark/waterslides, and the amount of things to do is amazing.
Aug 06, 2013
Wow, awesome place. We were very surprised when we pulled off the road into the campground. There is a multitude of activities in the campground for kids, families & adults. The views are great. Breakfast was inexpensive but good. Great place to stay on a trip to see Mt. Rushmore. We would come back again just to stay a few days and see the sights around the campground.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Our Kamping Kabin was way to far from any bathroom. Also, too much traffic and not enough places for pedestrians to walk. Felt unsafe just to go to bathroom or get a snack.
Aug 06, 2013
We love this place and come every year. We were close to Comfort Station 4 and thought it could have been cleaner. Even right after the cleaners left, the bathrooms weren't that clean.
Aug 06, 2013
This is a Very busy camp. The location is very convenient but our cabin stairs and deck had major issues. All in our party tripped on the sagging steps and one twisted her ankle. When reported, she was not even asked if she was ok and nothing was done to fix the steps. The deck had separated from the cabin and daylight was very visible under the wall. Very disappointed with this KOA.
Aug 05, 2013
What can you say about this KOA. It has everything for the young and the young at heart. Great place to stay for a few nights while seeing the sites. Love it all from the pond to the bounceing area to the horses. Have stayed several times and will again.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Loved it - great facility, lots of activities. Need better signage along the way. Also # to call to report loud campers. Overall, positive!
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Although the campground is one of our favorites this stay was not. We waited until 345p for check in, our cabin for $250 for the night was filthy. We had to clean kitchen, fridge and sweep before we could stay. Housekeeping staff young and not caring, left toilet tissue for paper towel in kitchen.Poor poor housekeeping, terrible service for $250 a night.Not worth the money at all.
Aug 05, 2013
It was fun with lots of variety for the kids and the bathrooms were very close to our cabin. We will definitely stay there again next summer. Loads of Fun!!
Aug 05, 2013
This KOA has grown way too much since we started staying there years ago. Cabins, tent/camper spots are too close together. Barely enough space to park and have room around the fire pit. TOO CLOSE, not enough personal space - we can hear all conversations through the cabin walls - not a good thing! Like sleeping in a parking lot, what happened to camping in the mountains?
Aug 04, 2013
Location was great. Cabin was ok. It was dusty and dirty sheets on the pull out. First morning we all had to use bath mats for towels as that was what was in our room. Shower leaked. We complained but nothing was done till the 3rd complaint. Stove was awful. Burners too small for large pots. Had to use small one to boil water and with 8 people had to do it 6 times. More to say but no more room
Aug 04, 2013
Great stay, so much to do. I wish there weren't quite as many opportunities to spend money on extras like candy, alcohol, and toys. It was hard to tell the kids no everywhere we turned. :). Stayed in a deluxe cabin, it was great! Loved the secluded location. Will be back again!
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
We booked 2 nights and were under the impression that the "fun crap" package of 10$ per person was an option. We were charged 20$ for pool use, and the other kids fun zone crap, that we never used!!! BULLSHIT! YOU are scamming American travelers. Will NEVER stay here again and will not recommend. Rafter J is MUCH better cabins, cheaper and they do not charge you to use the pool.
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
This was a very fun family vacation. The location was fantastic and the facilities was very clean!
Aug 04, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.