Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jul 06, 2016
Disappointed. I rented an ATV back in February but on the day we were suppose to get it the receptionist told us that it was broke so I had to get a refund. My family was really disappointed about that. Another disappointment was on the 4th of July they were suppose to have shuttles from the KOA going up to Mount Rushmore they told us to sign up the day of. Well we were lied too.
Jul 06, 2016
There is so much to do here! You do need some sort of rental vehicle or bikes to get around, it's so massive. My only complaint was the community kitchen was disgusting, it looked like it hadn't been cleaned for weeks. Very close to both Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Great location.
Jul 05, 2016
Stayed in a nice little cabin. Little hot to start out with but cooled down later a night. Cabins could use a ceiling fan. Didn't get a chance to use all the amenities. Just a short stop over night.
Jul 05, 2016
Very family friendly
Jul 04, 2016
Had everything we needed for entertainment, lodging, and gatherings. Loved The cabin, pancakes, church service, and horse rides.
Jul 04, 2016
Our family met at Palmer Gulch for our annual reunion. It was perfect. There was plenty of activities for the kids. Our cabins were comfortable. It was a great trip.
Jul 04, 2016
Beautiful scene and lots of activities. Wish the horse riding was cheaper as only half my family got to ride due to price. Very clean and well kept
Jul 03, 2016
Perfect vacation. The kids collapsed in their beds each night. Loved the food,store supplies, private clean hot showers!
Jul 03, 2016
They screwed up our reservation. We were told we were going to have to change cabins half way through the stay. It seems that your online reservation sysystem should have a way to pick your camping spot or cabin. Otherwise it's stupid to have one but just make everything over phone.
Jul 03, 2016
It was wonderful and had beautiful views. The lack of internet and Sprint phone service was frustrating though.
Jul 03, 2016
Wonderful cabin, great activities for the family and really close to Rushmore and Custer!
Jul 02, 2016
GREAT, but firewood is to expensive
Jul 02, 2016
Jul 02, 2016
Jul 02, 2016
We loved everything about the campground. There was a ton of activities for my family to do and most importantly the campground was well taken care of. Bathrooms, showers, cabins and pool were very clean.
Jul 01, 2016
It was a good location, but awfully crowded. Perhaps a good location for a family interested in all the activities, but not for people looking for some quiet in the woods.
Jul 01, 2016
We love coming there, have been there at least a dozen years, off & on, first w/my sons & nephews, now w/my 60+ & 70+ yr. sis & brother. We will be back! One very important request, is there any way the campground can have a place to recycle plastic & aluminum? We love our earth :)
Jul 01, 2016
The kids loved it. The cabin was great. We will go again!
Jun 30, 2016
The rooms were so hot when we arrived, that it took several hours for it to cool off. No hair dryer as advertised.
Jun 30, 2016
We love staying at KOA's. You all had a great amount of extras that we truly enjoyed. Our camp sites were a little too close together though. Everything else was perfect.
Jun 29, 2016
Had a wonderful time. One suggestion; we were in cabin 202. The street is a dead end but there is no sign at the beginning of the street to let people know that. We had 20 cars a day coming down and having to make a u-turn.
Jun 29, 2016
This KOA had so much to offer, the best one we have stayed at yet.
Jun 29, 2016
Loved it! We were close to the restrooms and shower so that was good. We had NO internet, but that was good and bad. The activities were great. Our family had a wonderful time!
Jun 28, 2016
The campground was fantastic, The people were great. The cabin (inside and outside) was littered with bees, Outside they were around all of the time. There were dead ones in the front window. I woke up early both mornings with bees in the cabin. I have a child who is afraid of bees and he rarely came to the cabin, except to sleep.
Jun 28, 2016
Great campground, super clean and lots of activities to keep all busy!
Jun 27, 2016
Celebrated my 83rd birthday with my family. . Three generations. Perfect place!!
Jun 27, 2016
We had a great time at Palmer Gulch! Centrally located to many of the attractions, but you don't even have to leave the resort to have a full day! My 10 year old loved the Fun Zone and would have stayed there all day! There was no cell service and the Wifi is almost nonexistent, but that can be a plus too!
Jun 27, 2016
Lack of wfi sucks. You need more routers.
Jun 27, 2016
My kids loved this campground. So much to do after a long day site seeing! They have so many activities and performances at the campground my kids actually looked forward to coming back there at the end of the day.
Jun 27, 2016
The staff was friendly and there was so much to do that we were wishing we could spend another day or two. Facilities were clean. The only negative was that our cabin was pretty far from a bathroom. That was rough with a potty training toddler in tow.
Jun 26, 2016
We had a great stay at Mt. Rushmore KOA! So much for kids to do there!
Jun 25, 2016
We brought our 4 granddaughters for a 4-night, 5-day vacation. They had so much FUN at this resort. There were so many things to do. The deluxe cabin, #280, worked great for our group of 6. I would highly recommend it to anyone coming to the Black Hills!
Jun 25, 2016
Had a fantastic time! We will come again.bathroom situation could be better. One not working often and could be cleaned more often. Otherwise the place is as my granddaughter said "paradise".
Jun 25, 2016
We were very pleased with the amenities and friendly staff.
Jun 25, 2016
It was a great place had a lot of fun with my family will definitely be going back there but do you guys think you can get a little bit thicker mattresses on the hardwood bed frames besides that everything was great
Jun 24, 2016
Only complaint is that it says coffee maker in the cabin but it wasn't specific staying it was a Keurig. There were 4 adults and we all brought coffee for a regular pot. Should just make that more specific. Otherwise it was great! We had kids from 5 to 15 and they all kept busy
Jun 24, 2016
First time to stay here & we loved it!!
Jun 24, 2016
Check in was easy, and helpful with extending my stay.
Jun 23, 2016
The cabin had a spectacular view and the staff always had a smile and were helpful.
Jun 23, 2016
The cabins should have air conditioning. Also you need more bathrooms and the registers in the store should be open so that I don't have to wait 20 minutes to pay for a bag of ice in the same line as campers who are checking in.
Jun 23, 2016
Very dissappointed a resort fee was charged! Especially when there was an additional charge to participate in many of the activities that made the koa a "resort"
Jun 23, 2016
Best KOA we have ever stayed at-loved all the amenities for kids & adults.
Jun 22, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
campsites are so close together that you can hear conversations in the cabins and tents all around you. It is WAY overpopulated. I was assured that we would be in a private quiet area, and this was a lie. I was very clear about this when I booked. We left a day early to escape the crowd. Camping in an urban area would be similar to this KOA. We were deceived by this KOA. AWFUL. DON'T GO HERE
Jun 20, 2016
We really like the Camping grounds and the cabins. The grounds were beautiful. Our problem were the showers which did not seem as clean, to get hot water and pressure we had to shower after 11:00 pm. The laundry had only 6 washing machines and 5 dryers, and no policy was mentioned about people who left their laundry in the machines.
Jun 20, 2016
The cabin had lots of dust bunnies and piles of dirt in the corners. I watched a couple cabins be cleaned and it appears they just used a swiffer, no vacuum of any kind. The showers in the nearest shower house (just down the hill) were very dirty. Tile wasn't level so water didn't drain well. Pool by funzone=dirty. Mowing at 10am by pool=lots of grass in pool area. Maybe mow after pool closes?
Jun 20, 2016
Wonderful KOA! Lots of great activities and fun for everyone. Would love to come back again.
Jun 20, 2016
This place is great for kids.
Jun 20, 2016
So much fun. Wish we could have stayed longer!!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals