Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 30, 2016
We all had a blast at the Palmer Gulch Koa. My only real complaint with it was the loud music that was constantly playing in the fun zone. Wouldn't mind if that was toned down a bit :)
Aug 30, 2016
Loved everything! We will recommend to everyone! Horses were awesome too! Clean environment too!!
Aug 30, 2016
WE LIKED IT FROM THE MOMENT WE DROVE IN CLEAN, FRIENDLY STAFF, GREAT LOCATION, LOVED THE CABIN!!! WE WILL BE BACK
Aug 29, 2016
Camped all week in cabin nice family environment.
Aug 29, 2016
Incredible options of amenities (pools, waterpark, bouncy pillow, volleyball, basketball, waterslide). Limited menu options at restaurant. loved the deluxe cabin! Friendly staff for the most part; ran into a couple of crabby people.
Aug 29, 2016
The cabin was perfect. The beds were comfortable. We were close enough to the bathrooms and the fun zone yet far enough away to have seclusion and quiet. The staff waved every time they passed. The kids enjoyed the variety of the fun zone and activities all day long. All 4 of them wanted to know if we could go again. We even had great neighbors and the weather was perfect. See you next year
Aug 28, 2016
It was a great central location to everything we wanted to see and we had a great time and great service at the resort. The kids had lots of fun swimming, going down the water slide, on the bouncing pillow, splash pad and the giant chess, we didn't get time to do the horses or bike rental but wish we would have made the time. Over all we had a great stay and can't wait to come back again!
Aug 28, 2016
We stayed for 2 nights here in a 2 room cabin with our 3 yr old son only complaints cabin had no heater and beds were extremely hard other wise an amazing place for families so much to do our son didn't want to leave prices at stores there are very reasonable and you can buy anything you need on location we highly recommend this koa to families it's great and in a beautiful setting in the woods.
Aug 28, 2016
We LOVE the KOA! It is the PERFECT place for a family with kids to stay at while visiting the black hills.
Aug 28, 2016
It was our third stay and we loved it! Sad to leave and can't wait to be back:)
Aug 25, 2016
Everything was great expect a couple things. KOA workers seemed to not know about the activities going on around the campground. Also the Pizza/Ice Cream shop late night workers were rude. They first burnt our pizza, then were reluctant to make a new one. This is the pizza place connected to the horse trail rides building.
Aug 25, 2016
Only thing we were not happy with is that we did not get our requested sites and we were camping with family and were given sites across the campground from each other!
Aug 25, 2016
overall was a great place to stay with lots for our family to do! Would recommend to all our friends & family to stay here!
Aug 24, 2016
Cabin could be a little cleaner under the beds and in the corners. Staff was great.
Aug 24, 2016
Both the water slide and one pool were closed. I called to reserve a golf cart and got a person from another KOA that was extremely rude that hung up on me, her name was Erica. Otherwise, it was very big and beautiful.
Aug 24, 2016
Fantastic stay in the Black Hills - only wish we had booked for longer. Staff was friendly, facility was clean, and I was amazed with all that was going on. Definitely would stay there again on our next trip to the area.
Aug 24, 2016
This was the most amazing camp grounds I have ever stayed at.
Aug 24, 2016
Aug 23, 2016
We would highly recommend this place, along with a horseback riding trail guide with Jake. Great crew who stepped up when a few things went wrong. Not going to give a full five stars. There's always room to improve and please work on keeping the showers cleaner.
Aug 23, 2016
We loved the cabin site, all-you-eat pancakes, and convenient access to all the other offered amenities. We wish we could have stayed longer.
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
It rained mist of iur time there which limited the activities the kids could do but we understand safety concerns. The only real negative was someone threw up in a shower and it didnt get cleaned for a whole day and the womans bathroom had standing water in a corner which didnt seem safe either. It was the one by where the rodeo was held
Aug 22, 2016
I have been coming here since I was a kid and have great memories. Now, I intend to give my kids the same great experiences I had.
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
This is a great place for families with kids. There are numerous activities to entertain kids. We enjoy coming here with our grandkids. When we made our reservation, Jennifer was very helpful and friendly. We were very happy with the units she reserved for us.
Aug 22, 2016
Great stay!
Aug 21, 2016
We've stayed at the KOA three times in the past. We love the place plenty to do with the kids, great activities. We stayed in a camping cabin. The only complaint is the beds not much cushion to sleep on.
Aug 20, 2016
Love it. Will continue to stay at KOA's
Aug 20, 2016
This camp ground is wonderful. We have a large family and our cabin with a deck was perfect! The staff is very friendly and we will most definitely return.
Aug 20, 2016
The setting was beautiful and the campgrounds were very nicely located near area attractions. We enjoyed our horseback ride and the water slide but the bathrooms were disgusting. I understand that when camping it will not be like a hotel but they were not clean at all. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay!
Aug 20, 2016
We were in a small cabin with our three children and we had a blast. The children lived being able to run around and do their own thing. The cabin was clean, the bathrooms were maintained. The staff was so very friendly. We git home yesterday and the kids already asked when we can go back. Thank you for a great week.
Aug 19, 2016
quiet and clean, lots to do, enjoyed the breakfast. I know its a family atmosphere, but better cell phone would be nice, we came in late could not contact others there before us and not sure where they were. I know its not the end of the world, we survived millions of years with out those dam cell phones, was funny to watch the young crawl the rocks looking for cell phone service. Wow spoiled....
Aug 19, 2016
Great location, clean, and very kid friendly.
Aug 19, 2016
It was quiet at night and that is something that is very important to me.Staff was very helpful.
Aug 19, 2016
Clean, many activities for kids and adults. Beautiful.
Aug 19, 2016
awesome place!!!
Aug 18, 2016
We have stayed numerous time at your Kampground. We come for the Sturgis Rally and have always enjoyed our stay, besides the rally there is plenty to do. Already have reservations for next year.
Aug 18, 2016
Aug 18, 2016
Lots to do for kids and close to all the Black Hills has to offer
Aug 18, 2016
Aug 17, 2016
Too short. Too expensive. I've been staying at this KOA since 1996 because I thoroughly enjoy it. But you have nearly priced me out of your market. About a 60 percent price increases over a 20 year span. I retired in 2007 and my income decreased 40 percent. There are minor maintenance and repair issues that have been ignored at least 3 years. I did put it in writing before I left this year.
Aug 17, 2016
The grounds are beautiful. Nice flowers and well maintained. We stayed in a cabin so used to bathroom facilities and the ahowers were not really clean but usable. Must have rained alot before we got there because the showers were full of mud. Kids loved the fun zone and horse back riding.
Aug 17, 2016
Aug 17, 2016
the only fault is i paid a sight garrenty didnt get that sight
Aug 17, 2016
Only negative was being put in the kid area when I specifically asked not to be in the child area. Booked on line.
Aug 16, 2016
Very Family Friendly, lots to do. Awesome for kids and the best KOA I have been to.
Aug 16, 2016
In the shower/bath house that's located in the middle directly from the office there needs to be an air exchanger and massive exhaust fan installed as its so humid in there after people have been showering.
Aug 16, 2016
We love this camp ground. Plenty of things to do and see in the area. Cabins always clean. The staff are always friendly and helpful. Excellent place!see ya next summer.
Aug 15, 2016
great grounds and facilities, just need some shade threes...
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy