Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Aug 05, 2014
Not really camping, it's like it's own small town-very busy! Self sufficient for those who never want to leave the KOA. In the past we double stacked the mattresses, they no longer fit inside the frame so ended up sleeping on the single thickness-it's not comfy. Price has tripled on camping cabins since we started coming here, no longer worth it.
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
As I pulled in, I was informed that I would have to move as they were expecting 100 of campers that day, uh, guess what, I paid more for my cabin so I expected a bit more of respect and courtesy. I also had picked online to have a cabin near the kids area and was informed I could have paid $10 more to guarantee a cabin, sounds like bait and switch. we ended up with a cabin far from the restrooms
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Great facilities, clean cabin and friendly staff. Will defiantly visit again.
Aug 04, 2014
Very noisey, rest room sanitation needs to be monitored more closely
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The bathrooms need to be cleaned more than once a day. They need to be cleaned in the late afternoon and again either late at night or early in the morning so that they are not filthy during the evening and early in the morning when most people use them.
Aug 04, 2014
The stay was great lots to do. But check in was horrible very rude people working the counter
Aug 04, 2014
Been coming here since our kids were little and still coming and they're now 18 21 25 and 29! Wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Black Hills!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The staff was really friendly and helpful. The cleanliness of the cabins, bathrooms, and showers weren't quite as good as I expected from KOA, but as good or better than any other campground. The facilities were in good shape and well maintained.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
good time with the grandkids!!
Aug 03, 2014
Lots of thing for kids to do.
Aug 03, 2014
We stayed there close to the time of Sturgis motorcycle rally so there were many loud motorcycles -
Aug 02, 2014
We stayed at the Mount Rushmore KOA for 3 nights in the a one room cabin. We had a wonderful time! My boys (9 and 10) enjoyed all the kid activities, especially the jumping pillow and kayaks on the lake. The cabin was a perfect size for our family of 4. It was close proximity to many local attractions and served as a great base and retreat between our busy days exploring the Black Hills.
Aug 02, 2014
great facilities,great location for Rushmore-crazy horse-Custer parks.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Very big with lots to do. You could vacation at this KOA.
Aug 02, 2014
Kids loved it- Hard to get them to leave all the activities at the camp to do site seeing.
Aug 01, 2014
Great facilities and service!
Aug 01, 2014
I was in #406 by myself & I was comfortable. I will be returning next summer with my Wife and Daughter & I hope to upgrade to a cabin with a bathroom. Thank you.
Aug 01, 2014
Everyone was polite (okay -- the workers, not all the fellow campers), the camp was well cared for & clean. A pleasant stay. A point off for the "small print" @ breakfast.
Jul 31, 2014
We had a wonderful time and your campgrounds and facilities and staff were wonderful thank you
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Very nice campground. Well kept, lots of activities and very friendly staff. None better!
Jul 30, 2014
Well, when we booked our cabin. We received confirmation that the cabin would include large secluded wooden deck. That was not the case.
Jul 30, 2014
Too many people, not kept up well, too noisy with garbage trucks and dump trucks at 7am, water in pool at water slide was dirty, pool was closed, and everything too expensive for what you get.
Jul 30, 2014
Had a wonderful time & this KOA made it great! There is tons to do, and we stayed in a nice cabin for the family reunion. Highly recommend this place!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Our family stayed in the camping cabin for a week. It was a wonderful place to spend our vacation. The park is centrally located, which is wonderful. The bathrooms, showers and laundry were are all close and convenient. The pool, splash pad, rock wall were a hit with the kids. The camp ground and staff were all wonderful. We will be going back again next year!!
Jul 29, 2014
Friendly service, tons of stuff to do (as if the area didn't offer enough)all in a lovely setting. Had a blast. My first vaycay as a widow with my kids. It was great.
Jul 28, 2014
great facility with lots to do. We stayed in a deluxe cabin an it was great. LOTS of flies.
Jul 28, 2014
Great staff- very kind and patient, especially with kids. Campground was clean and well kept
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Had never stayed at a KOA before, we had a great time. Clean!!
Jul 27, 2014
we stayed for 3 nites in a camping cabin.Our children and their families did the same.it was a fun filled time for all ages,4 to 60.there are enough activities to please everyone and then some.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
In one brief sentence, besides the massive amount of flies, this was a the best campground I have stayed on ever!
Jul 27, 2014
Great place to stay with kids! Nicely located to a variety of activities including hiking, fine dining, site seeing the beautiful Black Hills, and beautiful views of nature. Nice cabins.
Jul 27, 2014
We reserved a 2 room cabin. It was clean and easy for us, as this was just one stop in our week long vacation. The bathrooms had an awful gnat problem which there was a sign of apology on the door. The problem was obviously being addressed by the number of bugs everywhere, but those facilities were unusable. Our kids enjoyed the other amenities available and breakfast was wonderful.
Jul 27, 2014
Everything was great until there was lightening and all outdoor facilities were closed. We could only be at Palmer Gulch for one night and we had just gotten into the pool when it was shut down. It was a bummer because our kids were so looking forward to swimming, water slide, jumping pillow and mini golf.
Jul 27, 2014
Great stay except for the trillion gnats in the bathrooms.
Jul 27, 2014
Wonderful stay and plenty of fun for the grandchildren. We however, did not enjoy the gnats in the restrooms.
Jul 26, 2014
Campground was awesome and the kids loved all the activities! Only complaint was the bugs in the bathrooms...like 1000's of them! Cabins and staff were great!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.