Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jul 20, 2015
The only complaint we had like ALL the KOA's we stayed at this week was that there was no wifi access again. The KOA itself was fantastic, however when you're from another country on a data plan you need wifi to plan your next day and for business. The food and service at the Pizza place was fantastic.
Jul 20, 2015
Our stay was fabulous. Perfect views and a perfect camp ground. Tons of activities for all ages.
Jul 20, 2015
we found out we were going to be in the area the night before we went. When we called they had a 2 room cabin available for us to stay in. It was nice. I loved the hominess of the swing on the front porch. It was like a little community. I would stay again.
Jul 19, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA. We loved that it was centralized to the surrounding attractions.
Jul 19, 2015
We had such a awesome time and the facilities was great. So much outdoor activities for the families. I recommend to stay there again in the future.
Jul 19, 2015
Our family loved this campground. It is the best we stayed in. The kids enjoyed all the things to do. Keep up the excellent work.
Jul 19, 2015
Nice campground....seemed a bit crowded but clean. Would camp there again.
Jul 18, 2015
I will list a few problems and will also be sending a more complete email to KOA. Arrived at our site to find the previous persons trash bagged and still sitting next to cabin steps inside of cabin dirty, extremely long walk to bathroom, people yelling,talking loudly until atleast 1am this resumed at 5:45 am. The wifi didn't work the whole of the time we were there.
Jul 18, 2015
We had a great stay while in the Black Hills. The only complaint my wife or I had was the water pressure at the komfort station we used. I really enjoyed the variety of activities that were available for our three children (7,5,3). I would highly recommend this KOA as a destination or basecamp while visiting the Black Hills.
Jul 18, 2015
Outstanding facility with well kept equipment. Only negative was the putt-putt course is in need of upkeep.
Jul 18, 2015
Great Cabin I stayed in. Lots good facilities and entertainment for kids. All you eat pancakes under the tent a good deal. Only real downer WI-FI very weak. At check in the staff was up front about it. No surprise. Overall very satisfying stay. Thanks
Jul 18, 2015
Lots of "stuff" to do at this campground and that was nice. As for the cabin itself, it was very dirty and cabin electrical outlets were all loose and we couldn't plug anything in and have it stay. Bathroom and showers were muddy and dirty.
Jul 18, 2015
I only stayed with you because my family wanted to. I avoid KOA because they are expensive and the anti-camping experiece in my mind.
Jul 17, 2015
Frustrated that check-in states 1:00 for all sites. Arrived at 1:30 but was told since we have a 1 bedroom cabin we couldn't check in until 3:00. At 2:50 asked if it was ready and refused to give us keys until 3:00. Sat there for 1 1/2 hours with 2 small kids. Cabin floors were filthy. Not accommodating. Knats were an issue in the bathrooms. Kids missed the movies at nights they use to offer.
Jul 17, 2015
We loved the family activities that were available to us during our stay. The campground is close enough to easily get to town but far enough away to be "away from it all." The staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 17, 2015
Great location, lots to do for kids & adults.
Jul 16, 2015
We enjoyed all the amenities offered. The only thing I didn't like were the mice!
Jul 16, 2015
It was great Danielle Akey was great. When I made my reservation I could only book a camping cabin for 9 days then had to move to another cabin. Danielle made away so we could stay in the same cabin. GOD DOING. Thank-you God. We also got along great ministering along side the Sun Shine Team. Awesome group on fire for GOD. Oh and we will booking for next year along with some friends. Thanks Terry
Jul 16, 2015
I've been coming to this KOA for 18 years. It's always improving, well-maintained, and family friendly. We enjoy the variety of activities and amenities. It's our favorite place to stay!
Jul 16, 2015
We were in a camping cabin for just one night but wished we had more time to spend at this fun campground! They have everything a family could want on a vacation and it was extremely well cared for and all the staff was very friendly.
Jul 16, 2015
Beautiful location. Loved all the things to do at campground.
Jul 16, 2015
Great service! Needs more bathrooms! ! Maybe clean bathrooms after the morning rush not during it. Cabins were decent. WiFi hotspot is questionable. No cell service at all.
Jul 14, 2015
An awesome campground with friendly service, beautiful landscape, excellent food at restaurant, pancake tent and pizza place. Lots of activties for the entire family on site and close to all major attractions.The deluxe cabins were equipped with the necessities which was the beginning to a great vacation since we came from thousands of miles away. What a memorable vacation for all 17.
Jul 14, 2015
There were so many things to do as a family! The cabins were nice and the staff was very friendly. The only downfall was the paper towel in the bathroom by Fun Zone was always empty!
Jul 14, 2015
Lots of fun stuff to do here; we wished we'd allowed more time in the KOA
Jul 14, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay! Was told by reservations on phone that check in was @ 1pm not 3. Though the confirmation E-mail specified, we did not see it and booked flights to arrive a bit too early. Check-in was smooth though,cabin was clean and staff Was polite. The weeds were too high on our site and the adult swim @the front pool not enforced,kid's there ever night.
Jul 14, 2015
It was a great experience and one of the nicest camp grounds I have ever staid in.
Jul 13, 2015
Great location, tons of activities for every age. Wifi was down the whole time, bathrooms could have been cleaner.
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Great amenities for a campground! We could have stayed there without getting bored. The cabin was clean and in a great location relative to the restrooms/showers. We WILL come again!
Jul 12, 2015
Had a great time and was very family friendly with all the activities available. Well run, friendly staff and onsight facilities made our stay fun, easy and convenient. Extremely satisfied!
Jul 12, 2015
The deluxe cabin was really nice. It had everything you needed and a nice outside deck area as well. Lots of things for the kids to do and a great location for driving to other activities in the area.
Jul 12, 2015
The registration process was a bit of a joke.
Jul 12, 2015
The deluxe cabin we stayed in exceeded our expectations. We did a lot of the activities at the campground and my family enjoyed them all. It is a crowded and there are lots of people throughout the camp but the cabins blocked most of the noise and our neighbors were considerate. The Chuckwagon dinner felt overpriced for what was done. Will stay there again if in the area.
Jul 12, 2015
This place was great it had everything. The cabin was wonderful. The only issue was the internet, it was just hot spots and they never did work even after they had it fixed. We stayed for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Our kids had a wonderful time..
Jul 12, 2015
This KOA far surpasses any other. The cabins are cute, clean, and comfortable. There are tons of activities for the kids to do, and parents too! The setting is beautiful, and so close to Mt. Rushmore and many other attractions.
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Cabin on the hill overlooking the campground was beautiful. Family friendly! Nice bathrooms/showers. Would have been nice to have paper towels at bathroom sinks to wipe up water from previous user. Be helpful if potable water was pointed out at check-in for tenters and camping cabins to use for cooking.
Jul 12, 2015
Wonderful - very family friendly - associates were friendly - clean
Jul 12, 2015
It was fun from start to finish. The kids had a blast. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!
Jul 12, 2015
A great place to see the Black hills from. Clean, friendly staff, and so much to do at the KOA while you're there. The cabin was perfect.
Jul 11, 2015
1 No WiFi!! 2. K Kabin dead bolt lock was broken and took almost 2 days to fix!! ? Partial refund ?
Jul 11, 2015
Alot of things to do so much so that you really don't need to go anywhere. Wifi didn't work well. Not really for us but if you want all tour entertainment in 9ne place, definitely come here.
Jul 11, 2015
We had a great time. The location was great and the kids loved all of the kid friendly activities. We will be back!
Jul 11, 2015
This was our favorite KOA that we stayed at while going cross country. There was so much for kids that did not cost extra - which we really appreciated. The on site restaurant was great and reasonably priced. My only complaint was that it was obvious that some of the staff were summer hires and while polite, were not very well informed and failed to provide basic information about the site.
Jul 10, 2015
it was eveerything a KOA should not be. very crowded, wifi was spotty at best and only at 2am
Jul 10, 2015
I loved the options of things to do, swimming, mini golfing, horse riding, utv trail riding and on and on, We'll definitely be coming back!
Jul 10, 2015
We had no idea this KOA was going to be the cluster of out of control kids that it was. I know they're just having fun but it was too much. Way, way to much activity. Wifi wasn't available and there was no willingness to compensate. Front desk help was pleasant but no organization in helping people. We won't go back.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.