Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Aug 23, 2014
We had a great time! My 6yo twins loved the splash pad, the pool, the water slide, and the loft in our cabin. Everyone was very nice and courteous. We are already talking about coming back again, just to enjoy the KOA amenities!
Aug 23, 2014
The location is great--it has everything you need right on site. The cabin was new, quiet and well-equipped. My only complaint is that it's incredibly difficult to find your way to cabins at night! There are a lot of roads and turns and the directional signs are small and not lit so they were completely useless. Make them bigger, light them or make them reflective--please!!
Aug 23, 2014
Free wifi was advertised, but we were later told it was not guaranteed in the cabins. Why wouuld you advertise wifi if it is not accessible in the cabins! Also, the numbering system is absurd. I walked around for an hour and a half in the rain looking for my cabin.
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
we reserved a tent only site but were assigned a site in the middle of very noisy rvs and cabins with motorcycle people. It was very late and had to upgrade to cabin and pay $90/night, if I knew about the tent site being in the middle of rvs when I made reservation, I would have stayed at the motel in Keystone for $49/night.
Aug 22, 2014
We had such a fantastic time!! Relaxing for the adults and tons to do for the kids!! Can't wait to go again!
Aug 22, 2014
Clean,fun,quiet,enormous
Aug 21, 2014
Took approx 2 hours to check in. They have 2 comp. Systems which do not communicate with each other. Res were made 4 months in advance for two cabins. Yet at check in they advised they would be at opposite sides of the park. I was told that I could park my RV at the cabin not true.
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
My stay as far as the campground was excellent as always. My group and many other campers were not impressed with your bartender Saturday night! She was late, rude, and was costing you money. We watched couple after couple leave due to her. She also was feeding her dad free beers, at least I never saw him pay for one and at one point I saw him start a fight!!
Aug 21, 2014
Awesome location and the kids activities are great. This was our second stay. We love it.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
I have been here many times over the years. I don't think the filters work in the pools. They are covered in bugs and some were a strange color and smell.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Overall, our stay was good. We had a little mouse problem in our camper cabin. We had to block the bottom of the door at night so the mice couldn't get in.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Need closer restroom/shower facilities for Camping Cabins. Great place to bring the kids though, tons of activities for them. At the end of the day, they are tired! :)
Aug 19, 2014
Very enjoyable, cabin very nice! Water slide and baby pool was not very clean! Water was green at bottom of water slide.
Aug 18, 2014
Great Staff and lots of activities. *KOA needs to due a better job of keeping pool water clean of bugs and such.
Aug 18, 2014
Loved our cabin, it's location and the beautiful view. The pool was a a little gross, hard to see the bottom.
Aug 18, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay, and felt welcomed right from the start. We loved the Pancake breakfast each morning. We were very disappointed of the service at the Ponderosa Restaurant, but the rest of the stay was great.
Aug 18, 2014
this was our 4th summer at your KOA, our first in a cabin. I made the reservation for cabins between the pool & paddleboats, but when we arrived, we were placed in a cabin above the lodge. While it was nice, it was a walk to the kid's area. Staff were very helpful. It would be fun to have more bikes and maybe updated.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Bathrooms were nice and the cabins were clean. For those who are less mobile, everything on-site is not a far walk away from the cabins. Most staff at the Registration office were very helpful with our group. Prices were reasonable and the KOA would be a great place to stay if you are looking to check out Mt. Rushmore and other destinations.
Aug 17, 2014
The kids had tons of things to do and had a lot of fun. The pancake breakfasts were a big hit each morning. The Kamping Kabins could use a little updating/cleaning. For example, our door caught on the floor after you opened it approx. 1 foot.
Aug 17, 2014
Perfect cabin. Couldn't have been better location for us. Had a great time
Aug 17, 2014
The adult staff was fantastic. There needs to be consistent policies regarding the water slide. One youth staff would allow four kids to go down the slide, while the next staff would allow only one. This confuses the young kids who were doubling up with their siblings. There should be supervision at the pool. My kids especially liked the kayaks at the pond. The staff was genuine and hospitable.
Aug 17, 2014
Lots to do at this KOA. The staff was very accommodating. In fact we were assisted by a friendly staff member in securing a cabin at an out of state KOA for the following evening. Much appreciated.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
we had a wonderful time, great accommodations and location. Great amenities for families with younger kids, nice to be able to have our dog with us.
Aug 15, 2014
If we had based our decision to stay here on the way we were treated when we were trying to make a reservation we would never stay here. Once we got through the reservation line telling us all cabins were booked through the end of the season the office stating the same thing the manager not returning our call and Melody threatening to hang up on my husband when he expressed his frustration: good.
Aug 15, 2014
Bathrooms were not clean when they said they would be very dirty showers, wifi and cell service does not work at all in the campground. The firewood they sell to people stinks and smokes so bad the entire campground was filled with smoke every night making it impossible to open cabin windows or sit outside. We all ended up with horrible raw sore throats from all the smoke.
Aug 14, 2014
one of the best have been at need to spend more than a night to really see and enjoy all the activities
Aug 13, 2014
The only complaint is that the security does not patrol enough as I was kept awake by others in the area until 1am on two different nights.
Aug 13, 2014
Great value, worth every dollar. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Cabin, property,and restroom/showers was clean and well maintained. See you soon KOA. Thanks
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
The bathrooms closest to our cabin were not nice. Bugs everywhere and not very clean. Our cabin had settled and there was a large gap between the wall and the floor leading outside. Easy access for all kinds of critters. Overall the KOA was nice. I will return but in a trailer. Cabins were not worth it and I prefer not to use the bathrooms.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Awsome place. Our 5 time here and plan to return
Aug 12, 2014
Great Place. Some improvements needed. The water slide pool needs to be cleand. It is green. The evening shift at concierge needs follow through with ATV reservations. I booked Saturday afternoon for a Sunday 8:30am rental. Not enough characters to explain
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Loved this place and would have gave it 5 stars but we stayed in a Kabin and they were about $20 more than other koa's. The amenities were great and all at no cost... Mini golf, water slide, kayaks, paddle boat, pool, playground, water park area, programs for the kids all day and a movie at night! We'd come back, really clean, on sight dining, nice staff. Thanks
Aug 11, 2014
Everything at this KOA camp was excellent for our stay. Thank you and we will be back next year.
Aug 11, 2014
We have been coming to your campgrounds for over 25 years. And most recently we have stayed with you the past 11 years during the Black Hills Motorcycle Rally. We always enjoy the quiet atmosphere, friendly staff, and the clean facilities. We also like the idea of having a selection of places to eat right at the campgrounds. We truly enjoy and look forward to returning each year. Thank You!
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Cabin was great. The pizza was good. Wings too hot, onion rings burnt. Some of the staff was in a bad mood, and acted if we were the cause of their bad day. Bathroom closes to us failed. Probably will not visit during bike week.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.