Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jul 06, 2017
Everything was great, staff was very helpful, its a beautiful facility, only issue we found was the price of the wood, it changed three times while we were there over a 5 day period, we started at 3.00 a bundle, tto 6.00 a bundle and by the time we left we paid 9.00 for a bundle. Not sure why the price jump but it def should be marked somewhere.
Jul 06, 2017
This was an amazing place to stay! My family enjoyed all the extra activities this KOA provided. It was clean and well maintained. Thank you. As my daughter put it, "KOA is a-ok!!"
Jul 05, 2017
This resort is the best place we have ever stayed!! The staff was awesome and helpful! There are unlimited activities for the kids and boredom is never an issue! The bathrooms and showers were always clean and never lacking maintenance. We stayed in a cabin and it was clean upon arrival! We will stay here again and will recommend to all of our friends and family!
Jul 05, 2017
I liked the shuttle service to Mt Rushmore, the staff was friendly and professional. Lots of amenities!
Jul 04, 2017
Great place but really needs improvements to WIFi/ cell phone service. Even the ethernet yields dial-up speeds at best.
Jul 04, 2017
This is the most amazing KOA. The cabins were nice, bathrooms clean, and the kids area is amazing. PLUS you are right in the middle of everything you want to visit. Don't plan on WiFi working, but the laundry has ethernet if you bring your cord.
Jul 04, 2017
not given the campsites that we reserved !!!!!
Jul 04, 2017
Our visit at this campground resort was fantastic, and we hope to go back every year. Food/items purchased on the resort can get a little spendy, but that was the only downfall for us. Extremely kid/family friendly and a blast for all.
Jul 03, 2017
It was a great stay, lots to do. Rodeo was fun. Great staff, especially Skyler,Jamie,Martin and John. Would definitely go back.
Jul 03, 2017
We will stay again because we love this resort....however, we had multiple problems with the cabin, the mis-information & knowledge of the staff, and the hidden charges during the stay. We enjoy the setting & activities - but overall, the place is somewhat unappealing due to the crowds, and moderate hassles throughout the stay.
Jul 02, 2017
Great staff, kids and grandkids loved all the amenities, centrally located to all the places to see
Jul 02, 2017
We had a blast!
Jul 02, 2017
Jul 02, 2017
Jul 02, 2017
Would be a great place to stay for families with children. Not for single people or young adults/adults traveling without children. No wifi, no service, no mini fridges, no a/c, so needless to say, my stay as a college student on vacation who needed to do homework wasn't able to be fulfilled when we were told when we registered there was "definitely wifi for that"
Jul 01, 2017
It was a great stay cabins were clean and comfortable everything was priced fairly except for the convenience store that was robbery
Jul 01, 2017
We were very pleased with the activities available for the kids! Very nice swimming facilities. Our cabin wasn't very clean & although it says there's a sleeping loft, we weren't expecting twin mattresses on the floor. Better description would have been nice. The campgrounds were clean & very well kept. Overall great experience & we had fun!
Jul 01, 2017
Been coming here for years! My 2 sons & I came for 7 Summers, took a long break, now my 2 siblings & I have come the last 3 Summers. We are ages 60-70. There's always something to do, or, we can rest & relax. It's great for ALL ages. Staff is very pleasant & helpful too, and it's clean & beautiful. Thanks for all you do to make vacations wonderfully memorable!
Jun 30, 2017
Very clean cabin. Staff was very friendly. Sharon Myers shared the best things!!!
Jun 28, 2017
Was a great stay
Jun 27, 2017
It was fun for the whole family.
Jun 27, 2017
Jun 27, 2017
We loved everything about this campground except the bathrooms. It would be great if they were cleaned more often..
Jun 26, 2017
We were welcomed to KOA with friendly staff. Our family had a great time at your KOA as there was plenty of fun things to do for all at no charge. We ate all the pancakes we wanted for $3 to get our day started....Awesome! The Deluxe Cabin was nice but for a party of 8 (4 adults,4 kids) a little too small for us. Again, thanks for making our vacation memorable. We will be back.
Jun 26, 2017
I woke early on Saturday, went to shower, used the handicapped shower near my cabin and had NO hot water. I was very pissed and will never stay with you again!!!!
Jun 26, 2017
So much fun! Thank you!
Jun 26, 2017
Bathroom connected to the pool house never had paper towel in it. I even talked to 3 different employees about it and they all promised they would take care of it. Annoying, considering I was there for 4 days! Otherwise the campground was nice.
Jun 26, 2017
We had a family reunion at your KOA. It met all of our needs and exceeded our expectations! Thank you for making this such an excellent trip to the Black Hills! We will be back😀
Jun 26, 2017
The staff are all happily and willingly available to help the campers. Everyone from the check-in staff, cleaning crew, servers, and cashiers were friendly and helpful! It's a great place to stay!
Jun 26, 2017
Showers could have had more water pressure and hot water.
Jun 26, 2017
Not enough bathrooms/showers for the amount of people staying there!
Jun 26, 2017
NA
Jun 26, 2017
The only complaint is the lack of safety between the playground and the basketball court. I witnessed a little girl get hit in the face by a basketball. Otherwise we really enjoy it up there
Jun 25, 2017
It was an awesome experience.
Jun 24, 2017
This KOA is huge. There is a lot of things to do that do no cost extra. (Pool, waterslide, mini golf, movies, wine tasting). Sometimes is was far to get to things because of its size though. The only downside was the bathrooms. I never felt that they were clean. I know this is probably due to the high volume of people but I feel they should be accommodating for that by cleaning more.
Jun 24, 2017
Beautiful place with fantastic amenities
Jun 23, 2017
On the plus side, there was a lot for the kids to do. However, our campsite was very small and we were ridiculously close to the camper next to us. Also, the water pressure was so low we had to use our water pump to be able to shower.
Jun 23, 2017
We have been to many KOAs and this one, though having many activities for the kids, was dirty and very crowded. The scenery and location to Black Hills attractions was very convenient, but if you are looking for a clean, quiet place to stay this would not be it.
Jun 23, 2017
Great facility. Clean. Well maintained. Wish our tent site was a bit more level.
Jun 23, 2017
Jun 22, 2017
All the bathrooms at some point during the day were out of toilet paper! Maybe need a better schedule for checking bathrooms are stocked. They were otherwise clean, but 4 stalls in women's bathroom and only one had toilet paper and that toilet was out of order!
Jun 21, 2017
I stayed at three different KOA's on my road trip, and this by far was the most in-need of upgrading. The shower facilities were nasty and very uncomfortable, and my cabin was quite dusty and old. The thing I like about this KOA is it is isolated, quiet, and the pool/play area is VERY fun for kids and adult kids like myself.
Jun 21, 2017
Loved every minute of our stay. Helped make our first family vacation a comfortable one while we made memories to last a lifetime!
Jun 21, 2017
So much fun here! There is so much to do. The camp is clean and quiet at night. Really enjoyed our stay here.
Jun 20, 2017
Micheal and his team were so helpful to move us to a new cabin after check-in. Our original cabin was located next to a propane tank, right by RV waste dump and overlooking the busy parking area, where they also wash UTVs. Michael was very nice, took the time to juggle some other families around and put us in a wonderful location! Nathaniel and Todd at UTVs and all dining staff were also amazing!
Jun 20, 2017
Jun 20, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
This KOA was fabulous! It was truly in the middle of everything and had so many fun activities for the kids. This was a very family friendly KOA, and extremely well maintained.
Jun 19, 2017
We love this family friendly campground! This is our second time here and it most definitely will not be our last! We recommend it to everyone who tells us they are coming to the area!
Jun 19, 2017
love this place and the people running it. They are helpful and friendly.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals