Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jun 22, 2015
The unpaved roads were horrible. They were so rough. I understand that you have had a lot of rain in that area, but I would have thought there would have been gravel spread or tractors out there scraping the roads to make smoother.
Jun 22, 2015
What a wonderful experience! Beautiful setting, convenient location and tons of amenities. Our kids will never forget their time at your KOA. They loved the bounce thing, the pool, the water slide the mini golf and pancake breakfast!! We loved the coffee place, too! Everyone was wonderful. Great experience!
Jun 22, 2015
One of my favorite camp grounds.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
The activities are great, but no ac in the cabins ans such a late check-in were drawbacks.
Jun 22, 2015
The hailstorm caused a lot of damage throughout the park, but before the rain had stopped, employees were going campsite to campsite, making sure everyone was okay. The next morning, they were out making repairs and working hard to get the campground back to normal. In better weather: the campground is a lot of fun, with activities, water slide, 2 pools. The store is not overpriced.
Jun 22, 2015
We loved all the family friendly activities and the stores and restraints make it easy to get what we need without needing to leave the resort. Our one Major complaint was the cleanliness of the showers! They were beyond gross. One shower had period blood on the floor and shower stall for both days we were there indicating it had not been cleaned in over 48 hours. Very disappointing!
Jun 22, 2015
Very disappointed in stay, people at check in were rude We were early, said be back about 230, had to wait till after 3 to get room. Horse guide did not even talk on trip. Camp grounds over full, packed in tight, head people in cabin next to me snoring showers not real clean
Jun 22, 2015
Everything was great except the bathrooms, disgusting. They should have warned the poor campers in tents that a major hail / lightning storm was coming so they could take cover. Very bad!!
Jun 22, 2015
It's like summer camp for the whole family!
Jun 21, 2015
Jun 20, 2015
Wifi never worked, but everything else was great!
Jun 20, 2015
We enjoy Palmer Gulch and we will come back next year.
Jun 20, 2015
We had a wonderful time Enjoyed the cabin Will come back
Jun 20, 2015
We had a trailer with us and they put us on a hill with no adequate parking. We went back to the office to request another cabin and got a cabin two cabins down and got stuck! The manager was very helpful but had they put us in a cabin not on a hill it would have never happened. They advertise wifi but they fail to me too it only works in their stores. Will not be staying at a Koa again.
Jun 20, 2015
We loved it!
Jun 19, 2015
great location, but inconvient from cabins to BR & water. need log for parking cabin 113, thought we might go too far & end up crashing into cabin...
Jun 19, 2015
This was a great place for families. They had just about everything you can imagine for kids - bounce house, water slide, 2 swimming pools, a warm whirlpool for kids and adults (very deep though), bike rentals, ping pong, miniature golf, splash pad, ATV and gold cart rentals, 1 on-site restaurant, a tent for bottomless pan-cakes each morning, ice-cream store, fudge store, coffee-wine store, etc..
Jun 19, 2015
Great
Jun 19, 2015
it was fine, the store could have been a little better equipped. the bathrooms where hard for some in our party to get to because of hills, try to add hills into your maps, because your sight is very hilly. staff was great and helpful.
Jun 19, 2015
great family time!
Jun 19, 2015
Great campground! Highly recommend! Will most definitely book here again!
Jun 18, 2015
The bathrooms were constantly dirty even though they have a sign that they clean them throughout the day.
Jun 18, 2015
They advertise internet but there was none. Very frustrating. The cabin should have a chair so can use the table. The bathrooms were filthy.
Jun 17, 2015
I would have liked having heat or cooling in my cabin. I thought it was suppose to be there.
Jun 16, 2015
The bathroom at comfort station number 4 were very dirty. Probably the worst of any KOA that we have stayed at.
Jun 16, 2015
Always nice to visit. The kids and adults always have a great time. Thanks!
Jun 16, 2015
Wonderful, peaceful and well organized place. Will definitely plan to go back again.
Jun 16, 2015
This was my first time at a KOA, and I am new to camping. But this KOA is so big, it felt like you were in a city. I loved the extra activities for the kids, but changed my stay from 2 nights to 1 night. Nothing wrong with the KOA, just not for me.
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
While the "extras" were fun such as the pool, wine tasting bar and pizzeria, we weren't around much to enjoy those things (we're in the Black Hills, after all!). At the end of the day, we just wanted clean, working bathrooms and dry, walkable/drive-able roads. The bathrooms were disgusting, and we had trouble locking some of the doors to the shower. The roads were awful - maybe pave them?
Jun 16, 2015
Very nice facility.
Jun 16, 2015
Great activities for kids but our cabin number 208 was right next to the pool which had a fun running all night. I put in ear plugs and hard hard time sleeping.
Jun 16, 2015
It was rainy for the two days we were there, but we still had a great time! I was glad we chose to stay in a cabin since it made sleeping a little warmer than it would have been in a tent. We loved all the options for the kids, and the staff was wonderful at making sure all of the kids were included!!!
Jun 15, 2015
Loved all the activities for the family. Stayed in a Kabin this time and were very comfortable. Excellent resort!
Jun 15, 2015
Great stay from the staff, cabin, activities, to the food venues.
Jun 15, 2015
Great place to stay. Lots of activities for the kids. Very close to a lot of attractions.
Jun 15, 2015
Camper cabin had bad mice - probably because all the old cabins have 1" gaps under door. We did get moved to nicer cabin. Long way to walk to very mediocre bathroom. Nicer bathroom required driving. WiFi worked for maybe 1/2 hour close to main lodge. Rest of time we got no signal. Expensive for what we got. Store prices way high. Some things should be included that cost extra.
Jun 15, 2015
Very clean, caring staff, activities were outstanding
Jun 15, 2015
Most of our stay was good. We were put by the fishing pond that was going to over flow so we had to be moved. Then had to go back to that spot without the rest of our group, as they were moved someone else. THat was the reason we all traveled to SOuth Dakota together to be together. WOn't stay be the fishing pond again. THe slide was broke the jumping pillow was down most the time.
Jun 14, 2015
Very good!! Very clean and comfortable!! Wonderful service!!
Jun 14, 2015
It was a very busy place. The staff was very helpful and had great customer service skills.
Jun 13, 2015
I'm sure the park is wonderful during the summer. Not very informative about ALL of their lodging options other then the expensive ones. I wish I had of done more research. But very nice informative staff. One stop shop everything was right there that you needed.
Jun 12, 2015
The way the wi-fi is advertised, you would think it would actually work work at some point. And asking the desk twice to check on the animals under the cabin that were making a chewing /scratching noise and having no one come out either time to atleast pretend to do something is poor customer service. It would be nice to somehow communicate that there is also no cell phone service at resort,
Jun 12, 2015
We always enjoy our time when we stay at this KOA. The kids enjoy all the activities.
Jun 12, 2015
Jun 12, 2015
My stay was fab, the only major complaint was the wifi reception/access was very poor. There should be signs posted for the chuck wagon show, was misdirected by KoA staff.
Jun 11, 2015
There were a lot of activities. The staff is wonderful. It was also very clean.
Jun 11, 2015
When flooding in the area began to cause the lake near our cabin to overflow. KOA employees swooped in and moved all of our supplies to a cabin up the hill. Within minutes we were back to eating smores and enjoying our vaction. Management that actually manages problems is the reason we keep coming back.
Jun 11, 2015
We had a great time! We really enjoyed all of the family/kid friendly activities. I HAVE ALREADY been recommending your KOA to our family.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.