Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jul 16, 2016
We ARE FROM MINNESOTA AND It Was So Beautiful there! It was very enjoyable for us and kids
Jul 16, 2016
Enjoyed our stay - location, grounds, activities. Disappointed with bathrooms and shower set-up (small/cramped/cannot accommodate a large number of people. Also there is no safe place to go in case of a tornado.
Jul 15, 2016
Too crowded. Bathrooms too far away from Kamping Cabins. No A/C in cabins.
Jul 15, 2016
Nice cabin. A lot to do for kids. Only a lot of noise of guests entering al night to camping.
Jul 15, 2016
Our car bottomed out EVERY time we pulled into our camp site, cabin was not level, site & fire pit was on hill, sites were too close together, bathrooms were over crowded ALL the time, no hot water for our showers, hot tub water was yellow, store did not open until 7am, smell of stable while eating ice cream & pizza. The location of the park was very nice, beautiful scenery,the pancakes were great
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 15, 2016
What a fantastic place! We will definitely be back! Thank you for everything!
Jul 14, 2016
The only complaint I have is that there are no recycling bins. All that plastic that just goes into the garbage is disgraceful. You owe it to the world and future generations to have recycling at your facilities.
Jul 14, 2016
We had a wonderful time, very family friendly! Lots to do, kids had a blast! Our cabin was ok but needs some work. The bed was so slanted you could almost roll right off with out trying. Also the door would get caught on the floor and hard to open so our kids could not open it by them selves... Super annoying! Other than that the stay was great!
Jul 14, 2016
The smoke from all the bonfires was so overwhelming it sent my son into an ashtma attack and we had to leave the same night we arrived due to not being able to breathe. The rest of the family also was overwhelmed by the smoke. too many cabins crowded into a small spot with the smoke filling a crowded area of the campground.
Jul 14, 2016
I wish we would have had more time to experience all there was to do here. A great place to set up shop for a vacation, and take day trips. It's very crowded and hectic though, so if you want a quiet camping experience this is not the place for you.
Jul 13, 2016
So relaxing and yet has plenty to do for fun.
Jul 13, 2016
Extremely fun place to stay lots of things for young and old. But...the front desk screwed up my reservation and was unwilling to work with me or make appropriate accommodations. We ended up cutting our stay short and leaving early. I am truely disappointed as we have been coming to this campground every year for 7 years and never had experienced anything like this. I will probably not return. :-/
Jul 12, 2016
Best koa and great service love this place and close to mount rushmore
Jul 12, 2016
Palmer Gulch KOA is a wonderful facility with lots of amenities. My only complaint was that they scheduled the restroom cleaning in our area all three days between 8:30-9:30 a.m. when EVERYBODY is just getting going in the morning. But there was hardly anyone in the campground between 11-1 p.m. The next closest restroom was in an uninhabited area quite a ways away.
Jul 12, 2016
Had a great stay in a deluxe cabin. Definitely come back.
Jul 11, 2016
Cabin very clear, friendly staff, beautiful scenery and so much to do!
Jul 11, 2016
The deluxe cabin was the perfect way to camp without having to "camp"!
Jul 11, 2016
Only complaint was cabins had not been cleaned, we found dirty underwear left by the people before us. For the amount of money spent on these cabins they should be cleaned
Jul 11, 2016
Nice place, very crowded.
Jul 11, 2016
Perfect stay words can't express enough how much fun we had!
Jul 11, 2016
Great time .
Jul 10, 2016
The pool and activities were fantastic. However, there was no wi-fi to speak of, and phone coverage was spotty at best.
Jul 10, 2016
An example of a campground that only cares about packing and cramming millions of camp units into a small space for financial gain. Our fire ring was at the edge of the road so you could fit two chairs around it,unless you wanted to sit in the road. Unsupervised children at golf were hitting the balls so hard they were hitting the building and nobody talked to them. Bathrooms closed from 8:30-9:45
Jul 09, 2016
This was our first camping experience and it was fantastic. The kids loved it. The only thing I'd change would be to have the cleaning done on the bathrooms at a less popular time. It seemed it was always closed in the mid-morning.
Jul 09, 2016
We stayed in the cabin with the kid's loft. Great space. Loved that the shampoo, lotion, and coffee in the cabin were all organic. This location provides sheets and blankets for you. However, this location does not have great wifi which is a problem if you are a student or need to reach your email for work. They have three wifi locations but they were not great or even good quality.
Jul 09, 2016
great pancake breakfast, lots of fun things to do, and friendly staff. Beds in cabin were extremely uncomfortable, and Ponderosa Restaurant was mediocre at best.
Jul 08, 2016
I booked a 30 person reunion here. I expected good service at the price we paid. Instead we had to scavenge for amenities and service like towels, garbage retrieval, and basic amenities I'd expect to receive. Plus, trying to plan the trip was a nightmare because it's a rarity to get people to answer the phones at your facility! This place has potential to shine, but things seemed disjointed.
Jul 08, 2016
Everything was in great repair and we had an excellent time! Never have found another camp ground with this kind of amenities!
Jul 08, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
Great stay and the staff was eager to help with anything. The only improvement that I would suggest is to get cell phone service available.
Jul 07, 2016
The cabins clean. Everyone was super nice. Tons of activities for the family!
Jul 07, 2016
Absolutely wonderful!
Jul 07, 2016
Lots of activites.
Jul 06, 2016
Great campground and deluxe cabin.
Jul 06, 2016
Disappointed. I rented an ATV back in February but on the day we were suppose to get it the receptionist told us that it was broke so I had to get a refund. My family was really disappointed about that. Another disappointment was on the 4th of July they were suppose to have shuttles from the KOA going up to Mount Rushmore they told us to sign up the day of. Well we were lied too.
Jul 06, 2016
There is so much to do here! You do need some sort of rental vehicle or bikes to get around, it's so massive. My only complaint was the community kitchen was disgusting, it looked like it hadn't been cleaned for weeks. Very close to both Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Great location.
Jul 05, 2016
Stayed in a nice little cabin. Little hot to start out with but cooled down later a night. Cabins could use a ceiling fan. Didn't get a chance to use all the amenities. Just a short stop over night.
Jul 05, 2016
Very family friendly
Jul 04, 2016
Had everything we needed for entertainment, lodging, and gatherings. Loved The cabin, pancakes, church service, and horse rides.
Jul 04, 2016
Our family met at Palmer Gulch for our annual reunion. It was perfect. There was plenty of activities for the kids. Our cabins were comfortable. It was a great trip.
Jul 04, 2016
Beautiful scene and lots of activities. Wish the horse riding was cheaper as only half my family got to ride due to price. Very clean and well kept
Jul 03, 2016
Perfect vacation. The kids collapsed in their beds each night. Loved the food,store supplies, private clean hot showers!
Jul 03, 2016
They screwed up our reservation. We were told we were going to have to change cabins half way through the stay. It seems that your online reservation sysystem should have a way to pick your camping spot or cabin. Otherwise it's stupid to have one but just make everything over phone.
Jul 03, 2016
It was wonderful and had beautiful views. The lack of internet and Sprint phone service was frustrating though.
Jul 03, 2016
Wonderful cabin, great activities for the family and really close to Rushmore and Custer!
Jul 02, 2016
GREAT, but firewood is to expensive
Jul 02, 2016
Jul 02, 2016
Jul 02, 2016
We loved everything about the campground. There was a ton of activities for my family to do and most importantly the campground was well taken care of. Bathrooms, showers, cabins and pool were very clean.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals