Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jul 04, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
The bathrooms were filthy with toilets backed up daily & 3 of the 8 showers out of order. All the campsites (Cabins, Tents & RVs) are WAY too close to each other offering no privacy. The pool that was open was disgusting, with the other one closed the whole time we were there. The Pancake tent & firewood was WAY overpriced! Too many dogs & dog-poop! Ghetto campground but beautiful scenery!
Jul 03, 2014
We loved it! Lots of activities for the kids, all the necessities, and great location. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.
Jul 03, 2014
Huge koa, very close to mt rushmore, lots to do! General store has about everything you may have forgotten, very friendly people. No heaters in cabins, but they will give you one with a $20 deposit. Could've stayed here a whole week easily!
Jul 03, 2014
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 03, 2014
This place was very nice. Best location in the hills. Lots of things to do for the kids at the camp ground. Reasonable prices for things in the stores and snack areas. Only problem was there were a number of showers out of order which caused lines. 20-25% not working in our building.
Jul 02, 2014
Bathroom was always dirty and in disrepair. There is no excuse for no hooks or shelves in shower (poor/lazy maintenance). I was clearly overcharged on bill but it took three meetings to get it straightened out. Tent campers placed 10 feet in front of our camping cabin even though many other options were available. This campground has gone way downhill (10 stays in 13 years).
Jul 02, 2014
The best KOA in the nation, without a doubt.
Jul 02, 2014
This campground has lots of fun activities for kids. We stayed in a camping cabin. Very disappointed in the cleanliness. Cabin was dirty. I swept the floor and we couldn't believe how much dirt there was from the previous campers. Bathrooms and showers were disgusting. They need a serious deep cleaning. Pizza place was great! Splash pad and playgrounds were hits with my kids.
Jul 01, 2014
Nice campground, but HUGE, more like a small town than a campground. Nothing bad to say other than this is not a typical KOA so don't go in expecting that.
Jul 01, 2014
This was not my favorite but I knew when we booked it was large, many features we did not need so expensive. We ended up cleaning the ground around our cabin of the cigarette butts, limes, candy wrappers etc.
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
We stayed at the Mt. Rushmore KOA for 5 days during our family reunion 6/21 thru 6/26. I made my reservations in December of 2013 and was disspointed that staff let somebody else change my reservation without my knowledge or permission. I ended up in a cabin very far away from the rest of the family as an outcome. Cabin flooded, customer service was not the best. Grounds and amenities were great.
Jun 30, 2014
Excellent place to stay. Great employees, amenities, and things to do. Would have liked panned for gold in the creek, but entire creek sides were thick with weeds and brush.
Jun 30, 2014
Our kabin was exactly what was expected. Activities were awesome, staff friendly, clean bathrooms. Loved our stay!
Jun 30, 2014
Great location nestled in the mountains surrounding Rushmore! Lots of great activities for kids and a fantastic pancake breakfast!
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
The location is great, and there are lots of activities for kids. However, there was a very large number of tent and cabin campers tring to use the restroom/shower facilities. Within hours of being cleaned, the restroom looked and smelled like it had not been cleaned e en when I observed it being cleaned. Half of the showers in our bath house were "out of order". The camp kitchen was very dirty.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
I love the location of this KOA, can not beat it. I do love the small shops on site to. I do have to say the camp ground bathroom and showers are filthy. One of the stalls in the men bathroom and feces on the floor for the whole 7 days we were their, that's just wrong and many of the showers and laundry equipment was out of service our entire stay. The cabin we rented had a dirty sock on the bed.
Jun 28, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
Deluxe cabin was perfect. Campground well kept and friendly. So much to do! Favorite part was the horse back riding available right on site!
Jun 28, 2014
The campground is well maintained. All the workers are very friendly and helpful. There is so much to do on the campground, you don't even need to leave. We traveled with 2 12 year old grandsons who stayed busy and had so much fun. Thank you for a wonderful week.
Jun 28, 2014
We loved the campground and the area. I would have given a better rating but the campground was understaffed badly with restrooms and garbage pickup not taken care of on schedule, the pool closed early and opened late and one fairly rude female concierge. But, the positives outweighed the negatives.
Jun 28, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
So much fun for the kids.
Jun 27, 2014
The advertised activities that we wanted to do (fire engine ride and chuck wagon dinner) were not available on the day we stayed. So check to see if things you want to do are available for your date(s) of stay.
Jun 26, 2014
This KOA is a destination point. We loved our Deluxe cabin. Customer service is inconsistent (there are several employees that are outstanding such as the young lady who checked us in on 6/22. When we arrived there was no grill, the supervisor looked at me like I had missed seeing it and informed me that it had to be "there". Instead of apologizing and investigating.
Jun 26, 2014
Cabin dusty and too far from bathroom. Breakfast and children's area good but too crowded. Will not use again One employee at registration area was rude but she was only one all others extremely nice and helpful
Jun 25, 2014
We were not happy with the dog park. It was not fenced in and it was muddy and over run. The wifi did not work anywhere in the park, the waterslide was not working the 1st 3 days we were there. The restrooms were very clean and the staff was great.
Jun 25, 2014
Jun 25, 2014
Everyone was so nice and there was so much to do. I can't remember everyone's names, but the whole staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. The church service was wonderful. Mallory at fiddle sticks was so helpful and friendly. Papas pancakes was fun and delicious! The cooks were friendly and glad to help. This was the best KOA I have stayed at.The cabin was so cute.
Jun 25, 2014
Good pancake breakfast.
Jun 25, 2014
We stayed in a cabin, it was clean, maintenance was done fast on a window screen. The bathrooms were clean. Pancake breakfast was very good.. Would stay there again.. Staff were very friendly and helpful..
Jun 24, 2014
Would've given this four stars, but the bathrooms were absolutely filthy. Probably the worst I've ever seen. This is the only thing that keeps me from going back to that campground. Horseback riding was great.
Jun 24, 2014
Would like to have clean towels in cabins everyday
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
I was extremely disappointed in Station #4 bathrooms and laundry. Most of the inside showers were out of order 4 out of 7. Then all of the outside showers had nothing but cold water. The laundry room had water on the floor and machines were out of order.Also the bathrooms were in poor shape e.g. tp on seats and floor, no soap, soap dispenser broken. Maybe they should be cleaned more than 2x/day.
Jun 24, 2014
Need to update camping cabin - really only one light bulb inside!?!; need much better mattress; way too much activity
Jun 24, 2014
We enjoyed many of the amenities and activities at Palmer Gulch, Mt. Rushmore KOA, however there were some issues. The Wifi bandwidth is so small that I was only able to connect about 5% of the time. Also, the last 2 days we were there no one cleaned the "comfort station" bathrooms and they were out of soap. Yuck. Also the ice cream at Turtle Town is good, but stay away from the food.
Jun 24, 2014
This was the first time I stayed at a KOA with my own kids; it was very family-oriented. Staff was friendly, particularly the SunShiners. The only issue I had with this place was that prior to arrival, I received email reservation confirmation for 3 nights in a kabin using a "Buy 2/Get 3rd night free" Father's Day offer. But, when we went to pay upon arrival, the discount was not granted.
Jun 24, 2014
Excellent! Great family environment! So much for kids to do right at the campground. This is a must visit destination for camping families!
Jun 23, 2014
The cabin was outstanding, the service was truly friendly and helpful, and the activities were fun and affordable!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.