Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 13, 2016
Nice place, clean! Great people all over, everyone very helpful! We will be back
Aug 13, 2016
We had stayed in years past, we were amazed at the improvments that have been made.The camp is so close to everthing a visitor might want to see or do.
Aug 13, 2016
We have stayed at this KOA many, many times over the past 25 years. We keep coming back...enough said.
Aug 12, 2016
We stay every year for sturgis and have a great time every year meeting new people !!
Aug 12, 2016
Clean
Aug 12, 2016
Someone had gotten sick in one of the two men's washroom stalls in the upper area by the 400's cabins and it wasn't cleaned up for the three hours that I noticed. At least one of your members was at the location.
Aug 12, 2016
Aug 12, 2016
This KOA is huge! Great hot tub and other fun things to do, friendly staff. First time in a kabin and it was very nice. Restrooms were clean but need some attention to stall door hardware. I liked that the showers were centrally located for males and females, not in separate restrooms.
Aug 12, 2016
Great spot for kids.
Aug 11, 2016
We have been staying at your KOA for over 25 years and every year for the past 14 years and it has always been a great experience. We always look forward to our return trips. Thank you!
Aug 11, 2016
Nice place - arrived on day 1 of Sturgis so I think it was much more full than normal. Would recommend if you're able to take advantage of extra services (waterslides, horseback riding, etc) but if you're just sleeping, probably not worth the extra $$$.
Aug 10, 2016
We were a bit disappointed in the hours of the splash park/slide on Sunday. We chose to stay here for those activities for our kids and barely got to use them due to the fact that they opened so late in the morning. Since we needed to get back on the road we didn't get much time to play.
Aug 08, 2016
The price we were charge was more than 3x what we were quoted!! The campground was nice. The manager helped us as much as he could, but it was still more than twice the amount.
Aug 08, 2016
Everything was Very nice and the people were helpful the only thing that I didn't like was that the bathroom had toilet paper all over the floors and it didn't get taken care of for a couple days
Aug 08, 2016
What an awesome campground! Can't wait to come back.
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
We love KOA s , but this one was different. Our group was all firemen with our wives, they knew that and put us on a hill. Cabins were not clean.
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
Great time and have to give it to you all ,with the best service and things to do for any body will be back thank you !!
Aug 08, 2016
Never stayed at a KOA before, but will definitely stay again! Four kids loved it and so did we! Have already recommended it to family and friends. The Camping Cabins were cozy and fun for the kids and the comfort stations clean and close by. We miss the Black Hills already!
Aug 07, 2016
Excellent stay - lots to do
Aug 07, 2016
We had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely come back. I would also recommend that my family and friends stay here. Excellent place to stay with kids.
Aug 07, 2016
Great cabin, horrible pool and showers.
Aug 06, 2016
The amenities, staff and location are terrific. Unfortunately, the evenings are choked with smoke. Not sure if this is due to being in the gulch, sold out campground or green wood.
Aug 05, 2016
Unable to check in at check in time-cabin was not cleaned yet. Bathrooms were disgusting and need to be cleaned continually!! Overall had a fun family vacation but was disappointed with several things on this trip. We have been to this campground many times before and not experienced these things. Very frustrating!!
Aug 05, 2016
The amenities, beauty and cleanliness of this KOA made it our top vacation of the summer.
Aug 05, 2016
Aug 05, 2016
Aug 05, 2016
Our favorite place to stay in the Hills.
Aug 05, 2016
Cabin was not cleaned. Bath house and bath disgusting. They were not cleaned the whole time we were there
Aug 04, 2016
Wonderful. Lots for kids to do and convenient location.
Aug 04, 2016
Great for kids. A lot to do. Very clean!
Aug 04, 2016
This is a huge and beautiful site. I wish that we had a longer stay so that we could explore a little more. Constructively, I will say that our cabin needed a good long sweeping. The staff members that we interfaced with were less friendly than I'm accustomed and seemed to care more about getting the transaction over with than being helpful. I'm sure we encountered the exception the the rule.
Aug 04, 2016
Aug 04, 2016
Awesome camper cabin!!
Aug 03, 2016
This is a large KOA so there is a lot of traffic. Besides that it was a very nice stay.
Aug 03, 2016
Bathrooms/showers were horrible! We were there for one week and I never show them cleaned. They were wet and dirty always. My kids loved the fun place!
Aug 03, 2016
Great location and amenities.
Aug 02, 2016
already planning our trip back. the staff were helpful and cheerful over the phone. the campground was clean. the amenities made for an amazing experience.
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Great for families, plenty to do for the kids. The staff was great, even went around letting campers know about bad weather in the area.
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
We stayed in a cabin. I wish the bathrooms were closer to our cabin.
Aug 01, 2016
We stayed here 15 years ago in the lodge for our family reunion and returned this time to stay in a deluxe cabin for another reunion. The cabin was fantastic! The loft was perfect for our kids! So many added things for the kids to do. 4 days was not enough time to do it al. Perfect central location.
Aug 01, 2016
Had a great time....
Aug 01, 2016
Only there one night but wish it had been many more. Look forward to returning in the future.
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
Everything was great except the restroom/showers were not clean.
Jul 31, 2016
Cabin was great overall, but had limited utensils - cabin for 8, but only 3-4 spoons?? Black dog hair was on floor and heat registers - that was unpleasant. Would totally recommend this KOA still. Lots of great kids activities - friendly staff.
Jul 31, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals