Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Stayed here when I was 13, 18, 21 and now again at 34, bringing my own child! It keeps getting better! I love this KOA, always a friendly staff and so much to offer, never disappointed!! Great place to stay especially for a family vacation! Well priced too!
Aug 18, 2015
Unreal. To summarize, my only regret is that I couldn't stay longer! Thank you, KOA!
Aug 18, 2015
tout est parfait juste décu que la réception nous aie fait attendre 45 minutes alors que notre chalet était vide mais la règle est 3:00 pm
Aug 18, 2015
We stayed in the small cabin without a bathroom. It was cleaning cozy plus the price was right!! We enjoyed our stay tremendously! Perfect location and lots to do on site!
Aug 17, 2015
First time at a KOA. We will definitely be returning. Thanks for a great family summer vacation
Aug 17, 2015
Fantastic stay! This facility should be the one others are shooting for. Restaurant, pizza, ice cream shops! 2 pools and lots of activities! Excellent!!! Just need better Wi-Fi up in the cabin area!!! Thanks for a great stay!
Aug 17, 2015
Well the first night I got there the cabin next to me took my parking space he would not move so I had to go beg for another cabin with a parking space so she finally gave in moved me from 409 to 407 rather than nipping it in the butt and tell that camper to kindly move his car he did not. He was rude to me . The camp was crammed real close my son tripped on a tent line in our path split his chin
Aug 17, 2015
Great as always!!
Aug 17, 2015
My kids requested to live at this KOA. It was super fun for everyone!
Aug 17, 2015
Perfect place for a family, lots of activities and close to everything the black hills has to offer. Clean bathrooms and showers, plenty of food options if you want to eat out. Awesome Place, will be back here within 5 years.
Aug 17, 2015
We spent five days at this KOA, We were really impressed with the grounds, however the cabin we stayed in was not impressive. The cabin is built on a hill and there wasn't enough level ground to put even two lawn chairs around the fire ring. There was no designated parking spot and so we were forced to park on the road. Less than 20 feet in front of our cabin were tent spots.
Aug 17, 2015
We had a great time, even at age 14 my kids still love to come!
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
Wonderful campground. Lots to do and friendly atmosphere. Cabin was nice. Double bed mattress needs replacing. Clean and relatively bug-free area was great!
Aug 16, 2015
Even though we were out and about a lot with our kids, it was great to be able to come back on a hot day & cool off in the pool and have other activities to do when they needed a break from sight-seeing. We highly recommend staying here and the staff was helpful.
Aug 16, 2015
Great kampground, we stayed in a Kabin and it was well used, had writing on the walls of previous people dating back to 2002. No a/c or heat. I am being a bit picking, but that is only due to the high standard that KOA has. Definitely would recommend this for those traveling to the area.
Aug 16, 2015
It was great. Sadly, we couldn't stay more than a night!
Aug 16, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
We enjoyed our time, only complaint is that the showers could be cleaner.
Aug 16, 2015
The bathrooms on the hill had black mold on the shower curtens and on the wall tiles and the bathrooms by the swimming pool most of the time had cold water. We couldn't use the hot tub by the play area because it was almost always full of small kids with lots of pool toys and nobody ever told them that kids weren't to be in it. I have been to this KOA before it was redone and enjoyed my stays
Aug 16, 2015
Tons to do but super crowded. My kids enjoyed the bikes, pool, jumping pillow, and mini golf. I feel like the pool could use some heat and updates. But overall very happy with this stay and a super fun place!
Aug 14, 2015
Amazing campground with lots of activities for kiddos!! Great location, close to Mount Rushmore and all the "must see/do" activities while you're there!
Aug 14, 2015
We had a great stay. Our only complaint is that it was difficult to get to the bathrooms from our camping cabin. It would have been nice to have a trail through the campers to the bathrooms.
Aug 14, 2015
Our stay was from 8/3-8/10 in a deluxe cabin. We ran out of toilet paper and no one ever cleaned the cabin. I had to ask for toilet paper and asked to have clean towels, also asked if they would just clean the bathroom. That wasn't done they just brought towels and left TV on and door unlocked when they left.
Aug 13, 2015
Love the location and hospitality. Nice to have a good restaurant on premises. Wifi and data however are almost impossible to receive so be aware. Beware too the loose and uneven gravel getting a motorcycle into any spot on the hills yet still I would go back in a heartbeat. Thanks for everything Justin!
Aug 13, 2015
Great place to stay!😊
Aug 12, 2015
Awesome accomodations. Clean, quiet campground. Would not hesitate to recommend Palmer Gulch KOA to anyone else.
Aug 12, 2015
Very pleasant stay. Clean restrooms/showers. Nice elaborate facilities ie: Pizza, winery, store, public fireplaces, ice cream store, gift store, lots to do there with family, etc. They have everything there. Awesome!!! place to stay at.
Aug 12, 2015
I have stayed at many KOA's and this one was very good. Lots of activities for the kids, great layout, views, location. I would go back! Only issue - the campground is understaffed for the volume of people. One person running the store, long lines, out of coffee because they are so busy. Needs more staff for busier times. Same goes for bathroom cleaning - volume equals more staff.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Your staff and campground are the BEST!!! It's like heaven on earth!!! See you next year.
Aug 11, 2015
we have stayed there before and will stay again. The extra high cost for the Sturgis rally is bad for KOA and should be stopped.
Aug 11, 2015
We really enjoyed this campground. We didn't think we would spend too much time there with all the sightseeing to do, but we ended up back to the campground early every day. We stayed in a cabin right by the "fun zone". It was perfect, we didn't have to be on the actual playground to watch our daughter. We could see all the activities from the back of our cabin. We will definitely return.
Aug 11, 2015
Great resorts. Great campground. The parking could be a little more bike friendly
Aug 11, 2015
beautiful resort with so much to do
Aug 11, 2015
Beautiful, friendly staff and I would definitely go back!
Aug 11, 2015
We had a great stay. There are so many things for the kids to do, nice clean facilities, great stores! Perfectly located between all of the attractions in the surrounding area. We were disappointed because our cabin was clean, but there was no key at the time of check in so we had to wait an additional hour to get in. After traveling 500 miles, that was rough.
Aug 10, 2015
only there for 4 days but had an awesome time. Very nice employees' and very helpful. we will definitely be back.
Aug 10, 2015
Nice quiet area with no cell signal or WIFI to interrupt your stay.
Aug 10, 2015
Very enjoyable
Aug 10, 2015
Great place!
Aug 10, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at Mount Rushmore KOA. But the maintenance and cleanliness in the cabins could have been much better! The sink in the bathroom barely drained. The sheets and comforters on the beds had stains on them. The ceiling fans had a very thick layer of dust on them. The water was a yellow orange color. We could never drink it. These things made us feel uncomfortable about our stay.
Aug 10, 2015
nice koa, little mix up asked for two cabins next to each other did not happen booked in jan. was not happy since the price was so high to stay there
Aug 10, 2015
With our family road trip vacation planned over a year ago and being from out of town, it was very disappointing to find we arrived during Sturgis. We managed to find a cabin with you for 2 nights, but the noise and disruption was disturbing for a family based campground. On a positive note, the step up to our cabin was way too high and when we notified you, maintenance was there within 30 minutes
Aug 10, 2015
Difficult navigating roads, especially in the dark. Roads in bad condition, expected paved roads to the sites. Staff was amazing, great to work with and to provide great area information.
Aug 09, 2015
It was excellent and we are going to come back next year. It will be our 10th year in a row. Thank you all at the Camp for making it an enjoyable stay.
Aug 09, 2015
Great campground store prices through the roof. Would recommend make sure you don't forget anything. Restrooms was not very well maintain was mud and hair left over a week.
Aug 09, 2015
Very Nice, we had a great time, i was in K451, Sara at the Bar was so nice to us, she is star employee. one thing comes to mind, there are more showers, toilet stalls at the lower building where the motorhome are?. building where tents and camping cabins are (where they are needed more have less) water has a strange color to it? But all in all we had a blast!! Pappy Paancakes are awesome!!!!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.