Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Sep 21, 2016
Wonderful place to stay. Amazing staff.
Sep 21, 2016
Beautiful facility. Great view. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay again and recommend to friends.
Sep 19, 2016
Our Kabin was full of dead flies. I was hoping for an "off season" rate. No such thing existed. Over all facilities were good.
Sep 19, 2016
everyone was very friendly, it was very clean, and there was a lot to do for the little ones. We would gladly stay there again.
Sep 19, 2016
Can't beat the location and the staff was excellent!
Sep 19, 2016
Friendly Staff. Beautiful Campground central to everything in the Black Hills.
Sep 18, 2016
Once settled into our camping cabin, all was fine (took few times to get into the correct one). Having no internet or cell service at campsite very difficult. Nice place for kids!! Lots of activities and close to major sites.
Sep 18, 2016
no chair available for the desk- is available at other KOAs. no place to sit except on bed. Had to ask for an electric heater which was then provided. poor access to bathrooms. but is clean with great bathrooms altho not vented from showers so whole area hot and steamy.
Sep 12, 2016
Palmer Gulch was by far one of the best KOA's our family has stayed at. There were many activities for the kids to enjoy and take part in. We rented a deluxe cabin and had no complaints. It was very clean and stocked with what we needed.
Sep 12, 2016
Stayed in a camp cabin....Bathroom was located in the middle of RV section, waiting line to use two toilets, not camp cabin friendly.....
Sep 11, 2016
Clean, quiet, and friendly
Sep 09, 2016
Loved it! Deluxe cabin was perfect with everything we needed. So many things for everyone to do! Will definately stay again. 2 suggestions; 1. Better wifi, if you are not at lodge you will have no phone service. 2. Have a KOA channel on the TV that lists the day's weather, activities etc
Sep 08, 2016
Omg. This Kia is off the charts. Beautiful. Lots of wilderness with nice accommodations. Close to mt Rushmore
Sep 07, 2016
Unbelieveable how clean the whole KOA campground was, including the Comfort Rooms, exceptional. Only thing lacking, we stayed in Exec cabin and parking was inadequate for 8 guests. The cabins were exceptionally clean and well furnished.
Sep 07, 2016
We love the place, but left a day after labor day. We didn't know that the amenities would be shut down before we got to use them! The grounds were great but amenities quit early on labor day!!!
Sep 06, 2016
staff was friendly, cabin and restrooms were clean and a lot of activities
Sep 06, 2016
This was our first time camping at a KOA campground and we could not be more impressed. We loved our camping cabin, the bathrooms were clean, and there was so many fun activities for the kids.
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
Excellent! We had such a great time in the Resort and the surrounding area. So much to do and see and what a beautiful area - we will definitely be back!
Sep 06, 2016
Our stay here was awesome! Our cabin was clean and neat and our beds were comfortable! I loved that we had a full size refridgerator, a Keurig coffee maker, and grill! The staff was amazing and helpful. We can't wait to book our next stay!
Sep 06, 2016
We had a wonderful stay! The cabin was great, the activities were great! Was an all around amazing campground!
Sep 06, 2016
Pretty crowded campground. Sites are 10' apart in some spots. comfort station was under sized for the amount of people using it. Needs to be cleaned several times a day.
Sep 06, 2016
Great Facilities and Staff! Everyone was friendly and helpful with every encounter. This place is awesome, always something to do and close to many attractions. Not that you even have to leave this place. ATV Rentals, Horse Back Riding, Pools, Mini Golf, Splash Pad, Restaurants, Store, Ice Cream, Wine and Fudge, and much much more. Thanks for the wonderful getaway!
Sep 06, 2016
Quick check in! Lots of ammenities!
Sep 06, 2016
Outstanding campground. Lots of family activities. Very friendly staff.
Sep 05, 2016
The kids were busy and having fun the whole time and therefore, we as parents had a great time. Great job!!
Sep 05, 2016
Great cabin, amenities and facilities. Nice personnel as well.
Sep 05, 2016
Cabins were clean. Inadequate parking. Too few serving and mixing bowls. Would be nice to know what kind of coffee pots are available for keurig lovers who don't expect keurig coffee pots and bring wrong coffee. Kitchen way under stocked as far as larger cooking and serving appliances, etc. No griddle. Should be more in a cabin that sleeps 8.
Sep 05, 2016
Sep 03, 2016
Everything was great except there was zero phone service or wifi.
Sep 02, 2016
The Mount Rushmore KOA is amazing!! We were super,excited with all that it had to offer..the kids never got bored with so many activities to do from,morning until night. My only con is the cleanliness of the bathrooms & showers..this needed improvement.otherwise everything was perfect!
Sep 02, 2016
I liked the location, activities, etc. but thought it was very expensive to stay at a camping cabin. $100 per night for a camping cabin without a/c or water is high. What else can a low income family do?
Sep 01, 2016
Sep 01, 2016
the cabin didnt have a heater or A/C so it was very cold in the night.
Aug 30, 2016
Great place for a family vacation!
Aug 30, 2016
We all had a blast at the Palmer Gulch Koa. My only real complaint with it was the loud music that was constantly playing in the fun zone. Wouldn't mind if that was toned down a bit :)
Aug 30, 2016
Loved everything! We will recommend to everyone! Horses were awesome too! Clean environment too!!
Aug 30, 2016
WE LIKED IT FROM THE MOMENT WE DROVE IN CLEAN, FRIENDLY STAFF, GREAT LOCATION, LOVED THE CABIN!!! WE WILL BE BACK
Aug 29, 2016
Camped all week in cabin nice family environment.
Aug 29, 2016
Incredible options of amenities (pools, waterpark, bouncy pillow, volleyball, basketball, waterslide). Limited menu options at restaurant. loved the deluxe cabin! Friendly staff for the most part; ran into a couple of crabby people.
Aug 29, 2016
The cabin was perfect. The beds were comfortable. We were close enough to the bathrooms and the fun zone yet far enough away to have seclusion and quiet. The staff waved every time they passed. The kids enjoyed the variety of the fun zone and activities all day long. All 4 of them wanted to know if we could go again. We even had great neighbors and the weather was perfect. See you next year
Aug 28, 2016
It was a great central location to everything we wanted to see and we had a great time and great service at the resort. The kids had lots of fun swimming, going down the water slide, on the bouncing pillow, splash pad and the giant chess, we didn't get time to do the horses or bike rental but wish we would have made the time. Over all we had a great stay and can't wait to come back again!
Aug 28, 2016
We stayed for 2 nights here in a 2 room cabin with our 3 yr old son only complaints cabin had no heater and beds were extremely hard other wise an amazing place for families so much to do our son didn't want to leave prices at stores there are very reasonable and you can buy anything you need on location we highly recommend this koa to families it's great and in a beautiful setting in the woods.
Aug 28, 2016
We LOVE the KOA! It is the PERFECT place for a family with kids to stay at while visiting the black hills.
Aug 28, 2016
It was our third stay and we loved it! Sad to leave and can't wait to be back:)
Aug 25, 2016
Everything was great expect a couple things. KOA workers seemed to not know about the activities going on around the campground. Also the Pizza/Ice Cream shop late night workers were rude. They first burnt our pizza, then were reluctant to make a new one. This is the pizza place connected to the horse trail rides building.
Aug 25, 2016
Only thing we were not happy with is that we did not get our requested sites and we were camping with family and were given sites across the campground from each other!
Aug 25, 2016
overall was a great place to stay with lots for our family to do! Would recommend to all our friends & family to stay here!
Aug 24, 2016
Cabin could be a little cleaner under the beds and in the corners. Staff was great.
Aug 24, 2016
Both the water slide and one pool were closed. I called to reserve a golf cart and got a person from another KOA that was extremely rude that hung up on me, her name was Erica. Otherwise, it was very big and beautiful.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals