Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Cabin Reviews

Aug 30, 2015
This site is our favorite place to bring the Grandkids. This time we stayed in a Camping Cabin. The beds were very comfortable. The staff were great. The activities were great also.
Aug 29, 2015
The views were breathtaking and the facilities were so clean and well maintained! Already planning to go back next summer!
Aug 29, 2015
Beautiful and very clean. Great location! Love the view of Harney peak and that a trailhead in just across the road.
Aug 28, 2015
Aug 28, 2015
Aug 26, 2015
Great location and many amenities except for no ATT cell coverage coupled with unreliable WiFi. Young staff seemed pretty much indifferent to that problem as well.
Aug 26, 2015
A great spot for the whole family. Make sure you plan to stay more than just one over night. Lots of activities for everyone!
Aug 26, 2015
Great Pancake Breakfast.
Aug 26, 2015
fun times in the Black Hills
Aug 26, 2015
Everything was excellent. I had been there for 2nd time and enjoyed your services, staff and entertainment for the kids. Thanks again, Naser from Lakewood, Colorado.
Aug 26, 2015
Nice showers and facilities, lots to do, great for kids. Great staff.
Aug 25, 2015
We stayed in the deluxe cabin and it was the perfect place for my family. The was a large deck and fire pit to enjoy outside and living space in the cabin. The only thing that would have been nice is more puts and pans to cook with, they were really minimal if you are feeding a family of 7, which is how many people we had.
Aug 25, 2015
Enjoyed that your facility had plenty of activities to entertain our young ones.
Aug 25, 2015
Awesome time in a great place! So many amenities. Will definitely plan to stay again and for a longer stay so we can get in a trail ride.
Aug 25, 2015
Amazing
Aug 25, 2015
Great place. We will be back!
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
Great activities for the whole family. We enjoyed the economical cabins for 5 and the kids enjoyed camping in the tent right outside. Pancake breakfast was a big hit every day!! Thanks again. Wayne Safranski and family
Aug 24, 2015
Was nice not having wireless and cell phone so was like being off the grid.
Aug 24, 2015
Love this place
Aug 23, 2015
We enjoyed the adjacent horseback riding and location the most.
Aug 23, 2015
Awesome place for families! Staff were so great, and all the facilities were very clean and well maintained.
Aug 23, 2015
The resort is in a great location. There is so much for the kids and whole family to do! The free mini golf has seen better days but the pools and splash pad were very nice. Our camper cabin could use a little love and the bathrooms were quite a hike to get to. Overall, we had a good stay.
Aug 23, 2015
NO WIFI
Aug 23, 2015
Too many people, poor wifi, and under staffed.
Aug 22, 2015
The staff is as always friendly and helpful, the activities on site were sufficient to keep our kids entertained. The only let down was our Deluxe Cabin, I felt it was a little small and at times I felt like I was in our travel trailer, and for the price I paid I should not of had to replace my own Towels and toilet paper.
Aug 22, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
Cabin and bathrooms were very dirty
Aug 21, 2015
Super variety of activities for children. Accommodated us cheerfully and easily when we decided we needed different accommodations. Sorry to say the advertised wifi is virtually non-existent(even in their "internet cafe" and cell service is truly sketchy. That said, we will happily return!
Aug 21, 2015
We had to chose which KOA for going to Mt.Rushmore from Chicago and we decided here for location (so we don't have to drive more than 30 min for attractions we wanted to visit) and looked fun for kids. It was perfect between modern and country life. We could get wifi or 3g, but comes and goes. (I think it's depends on your device.) We saw chipmunks, but they didn't visit our two room cabin.
Aug 21, 2015
We had a great time and found all of the employees we met to be very friendly and helpful. Hope to see you again in the future. Thanks.
Aug 21, 2015
The KOA is impressive and clean as a facility. However, I don't appreciate paying a $10 resort fee on top of a pricier than usual kamping kabin. The only "resort" amenity available was the pool which should be standard. We couldn't use the rock climbing wall, after asking at least 4 staff members, it turned out nobody really knows when it is operational only that it is not often. Staff rude.
Aug 20, 2015
We loved all the activities for kids! No Wi-Fi or cell phone use through out the park was a definite bummer!! Our cabin had a big puddle of water out the front door and in our fire pit 4 of the 5 nights we stayed. We talked to the office about this but no solution, you need to build a wood patio out front cabins(check out Butte KOA).
Aug 20, 2015
Palmer Gulch KOA is awesome with so many activities you will be amazed. Pancake breakfasts can't be beat. Central location in the Black Hill's is good.
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Has a lot of fun stuff for the kids, but it's a VERY BUSY campground. Should be expected by it's very convenient location to Rushmore.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to our Resort! We love to hear that there was plenty to do for your kids and that you found us convenient to Mt. Rushmore. While we have a very busy park,we recommend you request 4th area on your next visit as it is a much quieter place to camp.
Aug 19, 2015
My only complaint is that the bathrooms were small and far away from our campground.
Aug 19, 2015
There was a bag of trash when we got to our cabin. Even though we reported it 3 times to staff, it was never removed. There was also a car at our cabin site. Somebody did come by once but ultimately at 10:00 pm, I had to ask the people to move it so my car was not out in the road.
Aug 19, 2015
Great family KOA. Was going to stay one night, but decided to stay two. Lots of things to do.
Aug 19, 2015
Only got to stay one night but I'd bring family back ina minute for tent or cabin.
Aug 19, 2015
This place is more like it's own attraction and kind of takes away from why people go there to begin with. I remember when I was there about 17 yrs ago it was not yet as big but still fun. I'm kind of sad that they developed so big.
Aug 19, 2015
Nice place but all camping spaces were very close together
Aug 18, 2015
There was a wide variety of activities available, as well as food options. I especially enjoyed the pancake breakfast in the big tent.
Aug 18, 2015
we were very pleased but found little help from the reunion manager and it was annoying not to be able to stay together or even know where everyone stayed.
Aug 18, 2015
We have always loved visiting here, and trust me, we drive over 18 hours just so the kids can enjoy this KOA. However, very disappointed that my family and other guests were unable to enjoy main fun zone due to busses of kids, not camping there, showing up and taking over the pool. Had no respect for KOA guests, lacked supervision, especially group from FYS. Spent a lot of time & $ for this trip.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Stayed here when I was 13, 18, 21 and now again at 34, bringing my own child! It keeps getting better! I love this KOA, always a friendly staff and so much to offer, never disappointed!! Great place to stay especially for a family vacation! Well priced too!
Aug 18, 2015
Unreal. To summarize, my only regret is that I couldn't stay longer! Thank you, KOA!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.