Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Nov 07, 2016
This is a VERY large campground lots of activity going on. The coffee shop lady was very informative about the area and very lovely to speak with. We were told the wrong area when we first got there and was required to locate camp spot on our own annoying but not a deal breaker. The restaurant on site stayed open for us as we went to eat 10 mins before closing.
Oct 06, 2016
The location of this KOA is excellent regarding the amazing sites in the area!
Oct 05, 2016
We were almost the only ones there as the season is close to closing. However it was wonderful! We enjoyed the space, the silence and serenity. Plenty of things to do if you stay at the site, yet centrally located to so much more! We'd love to come back again and again!
Oct 04, 2016
Driving in late I was I was grateful for the easy night check in. A packet with our name, key, and map to our cabin sitting outside the registration door after hours. The gentleman checking me in the next morning was very helpful and accommodating. The cleaning/grounds crew were so very nice!! We will be back soon!! Thank you!
Oct 04, 2016
We usually bring our RV here, but wanted to try out your deluxe cabins. Very clean, beautiful, & comfortable. We loved it. We will be back in the spring as soon as you open. Wish you were open in the winter!
Oct 03, 2016
We stayed in one of the camping kabins without a bathroom. It had a dangerous step up to the porch, no chair, old beds with the most uncomfortable mattress of any KOA that we have stayed at--other KOAs have had very comfortable ones.The cabin is located up a hill from the bathrooms, steps need to be constructed for a safe way down the hill.We saw two people almost fall trying to get down it.
Sep 30, 2016
The fudge shop, espresso shop, ice cream shop, pizza- all CLOSED as well as shuttle to the Mt. Rushmore site, which was the whole PURPOSE OF us WANTING TO STAY THERE! They should offer a huge discount if that's the case. I mean really. Enjoyed the deluxe cabin though.
Sep 29, 2016
Great staff, great bathroom. Outstanding view of Harney Peak from the campground.
Sep 28, 2016
Very nice!! We stayed here before and had great experiences both times!! Love the staff, so nice!!
Sep 27, 2016
I've been coming here since I was a kid, and now that I'm in my late 30's I love the executive lodges! Wow! Already planning our stay next year!
Sep 27, 2016
The campground and staff were great. Two things, upon check in the girl could of told us there were heaters for the cabins, we found out 2 days later that you had them. And secondly you over charge for wood, 6 dollars plus for 5 sticks of wood was ridiculous. Why not make it affordable to have camp fires. Why rape people on overpriced wood?
Sep 27, 2016
Nice, Clean And Friendly
Sep 27, 2016
Sep 26, 2016
Excellent stay with four guys on motorcycles
Sep 26, 2016
Cabin was very clean and comfortable.
Sep 21, 2016
Wonderful place to stay. Amazing staff.
Sep 21, 2016
Beautiful facility. Great view. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay again and recommend to friends.
Sep 19, 2016
Our Kabin was full of dead flies. I was hoping for an "off season" rate. No such thing existed. Over all facilities were good.
Sep 19, 2016
everyone was very friendly, it was very clean, and there was a lot to do for the little ones. We would gladly stay there again.
Sep 19, 2016
Can't beat the location and the staff was excellent!
Sep 19, 2016
Friendly Staff. Beautiful Campground central to everything in the Black Hills.
Sep 18, 2016
Once settled into our camping cabin, all was fine (took few times to get into the correct one). Having no internet or cell service at campsite very difficult. Nice place for kids!! Lots of activities and close to major sites.
Sep 18, 2016
no chair available for the desk- is available at other KOAs. no place to sit except on bed. Had to ask for an electric heater which was then provided. poor access to bathrooms. but is clean with great bathrooms altho not vented from showers so whole area hot and steamy.
Sep 12, 2016
Palmer Gulch was by far one of the best KOA's our family has stayed at. There were many activities for the kids to enjoy and take part in. We rented a deluxe cabin and had no complaints. It was very clean and stocked with what we needed.
Sep 12, 2016
Stayed in a camp cabin....Bathroom was located in the middle of RV section, waiting line to use two toilets, not camp cabin friendly.....
Sep 11, 2016
Clean, quiet, and friendly
Sep 09, 2016
Loved it! Deluxe cabin was perfect with everything we needed. So many things for everyone to do! Will definately stay again. 2 suggestions; 1. Better wifi, if you are not at lodge you will have no phone service. 2. Have a KOA channel on the TV that lists the day's weather, activities etc
Sep 08, 2016
Omg. This Kia is off the charts. Beautiful. Lots of wilderness with nice accommodations. Close to mt Rushmore
Sep 07, 2016
Unbelieveable how clean the whole KOA campground was, including the Comfort Rooms, exceptional. Only thing lacking, we stayed in Exec cabin and parking was inadequate for 8 guests. The cabins were exceptionally clean and well furnished.
Sep 07, 2016
We love the place, but left a day after labor day. We didn't know that the amenities would be shut down before we got to use them! The grounds were great but amenities quit early on labor day!!!
Sep 06, 2016
staff was friendly, cabin and restrooms were clean and a lot of activities
Sep 06, 2016
This was our first time camping at a KOA campground and we could not be more impressed. We loved our camping cabin, the bathrooms were clean, and there was so many fun activities for the kids.
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
Excellent! We had such a great time in the Resort and the surrounding area. So much to do and see and what a beautiful area - we will definitely be back!
Sep 06, 2016
Our stay here was awesome! Our cabin was clean and neat and our beds were comfortable! I loved that we had a full size refridgerator, a Keurig coffee maker, and grill! The staff was amazing and helpful. We can't wait to book our next stay!
Sep 06, 2016
We had a wonderful stay! The cabin was great, the activities were great! Was an all around amazing campground!
Sep 06, 2016
Pretty crowded campground. Sites are 10' apart in some spots. comfort station was under sized for the amount of people using it. Needs to be cleaned several times a day.
Sep 06, 2016
Great Facilities and Staff! Everyone was friendly and helpful with every encounter. This place is awesome, always something to do and close to many attractions. Not that you even have to leave this place. ATV Rentals, Horse Back Riding, Pools, Mini Golf, Splash Pad, Restaurants, Store, Ice Cream, Wine and Fudge, and much much more. Thanks for the wonderful getaway!
Sep 06, 2016
Quick check in! Lots of ammenities!
Sep 06, 2016
Outstanding campground. Lots of family activities. Very friendly staff.
Sep 05, 2016
The kids were busy and having fun the whole time and therefore, we as parents had a great time. Great job!!
Sep 05, 2016
Great cabin, amenities and facilities. Nice personnel as well.
Sep 05, 2016
Cabins were clean. Inadequate parking. Too few serving and mixing bowls. Would be nice to know what kind of coffee pots are available for keurig lovers who don't expect keurig coffee pots and bring wrong coffee. Kitchen way under stocked as far as larger cooking and serving appliances, etc. No griddle. Should be more in a cabin that sleeps 8.
Sep 05, 2016
Sep 03, 2016
Everything was great except there was zero phone service or wifi.
Sep 02, 2016
The Mount Rushmore KOA is amazing!! We were super,excited with all that it had to offer..the kids never got bored with so many activities to do from,morning until night. My only con is the cleanliness of the bathrooms & showers..this needed improvement.otherwise everything was perfect!
Sep 02, 2016
I liked the location, activities, etc. but thought it was very expensive to stay at a camping cabin. $100 per night for a camping cabin without a/c or water is high. What else can a low income family do?
Sep 01, 2016
Sep 01, 2016
the cabin didnt have a heater or A/C so it was very cold in the night.
Aug 30, 2016
Great place for a family vacation!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy