Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
It rained mist of iur time there which limited the activities the kids could do but we understand safety concerns. The only real negative was someone threw up in a shower and it didnt get cleaned for a whole day and the womans bathroom had standing water in a corner which didnt seem safe either. It was the one by where the rodeo was held
Aug 22, 2016
I have been coming here since I was a kid and have great memories. Now, I intend to give my kids the same great experiences I had.
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
This is a great place for families with kids. There are numerous activities to entertain kids. We enjoy coming here with our grandkids. When we made our reservation, Jennifer was very helpful and friendly. We were very happy with the units she reserved for us.
Aug 22, 2016
Great stay!
Aug 21, 2016
We've stayed at the KOA three times in the past. We love the place plenty to do with the kids, great activities. We stayed in a camping cabin. The only complaint is the beds not much cushion to sleep on.
Aug 20, 2016
Love it. Will continue to stay at KOA's
Aug 20, 2016
This camp ground is wonderful. We have a large family and our cabin with a deck was perfect! The staff is very friendly and we will most definitely return.
Aug 20, 2016
The setting was beautiful and the campgrounds were very nicely located near area attractions. We enjoyed our horseback ride and the water slide but the bathrooms were disgusting. I understand that when camping it will not be like a hotel but they were not clean at all. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay!
Aug 20, 2016
We were in a small cabin with our three children and we had a blast. The children lived being able to run around and do their own thing. The cabin was clean, the bathrooms were maintained. The staff was so very friendly. We git home yesterday and the kids already asked when we can go back. Thank you for a great week.
Aug 19, 2016
quiet and clean, lots to do, enjoyed the breakfast. I know its a family atmosphere, but better cell phone would be nice, we came in late could not contact others there before us and not sure where they were. I know its not the end of the world, we survived millions of years with out those dam cell phones, was funny to watch the young crawl the rocks looking for cell phone service. Wow spoiled....
Aug 19, 2016
Great location, clean, and very kid friendly.
Aug 19, 2016
It was quiet at night and that is something that is very important to me.Staff was very helpful.
Aug 19, 2016
Clean, many activities for kids and adults. Beautiful.
Aug 19, 2016
awesome place!!!
Aug 18, 2016
We have stayed numerous time at your Kampground. We come for the Sturgis Rally and have always enjoyed our stay, besides the rally there is plenty to do. Already have reservations for next year.
Aug 18, 2016
Aug 18, 2016
Lots to do for kids and close to all the Black Hills has to offer
Aug 18, 2016
Aug 17, 2016
Too short. Too expensive. I've been staying at this KOA since 1996 because I thoroughly enjoy it. But you have nearly priced me out of your market. About a 60 percent price increases over a 20 year span. I retired in 2007 and my income decreased 40 percent. There are minor maintenance and repair issues that have been ignored at least 3 years. I did put it in writing before I left this year.
Aug 17, 2016
The grounds are beautiful. Nice flowers and well maintained. We stayed in a cabin so used to bathroom facilities and the ahowers were not really clean but usable. Must have rained alot before we got there because the showers were full of mud. Kids loved the fun zone and horse back riding.
Aug 17, 2016
Aug 17, 2016
the only fault is i paid a sight garrenty didnt get that sight
Aug 17, 2016
Only negative was being put in the kid area when I specifically asked not to be in the child area. Booked on line.
Aug 16, 2016
Very Family Friendly, lots to do. Awesome for kids and the best KOA I have been to.
Aug 16, 2016
In the shower/bath house that's located in the middle directly from the office there needs to be an air exchanger and massive exhaust fan installed as its so humid in there after people have been showering.
Aug 16, 2016
We love this camp ground. Plenty of things to do and see in the area. Cabins always clean. The staff are always friendly and helpful. Excellent place!see ya next summer.
Aug 15, 2016
great grounds and facilities, just need some shade threes...
Aug 15, 2016
we stayed in a cabin - which was dusty from the ground - had a very long walk to the bathrooms and the camp kitchen - this is a very busy camp ground with lots to do - some of the trailer sites are very cramped.
Aug 15, 2016
The ladies working in the Kitchen on Saturday night 8/13 (Helena and another who's name I didn't catch) were awesome!
Aug 15, 2016
The cabin was very small to accomodate 5 people. There was only one shelf and no other benches or places to set personal items. Also, the cabin was very far from the bathroom and down a steep hill - not a trek I'd want to make in the middle of the night. It would be nice if basic bathrooms with toilet/sink were more plentiful even if you had to walk a little further to the shower house.
Aug 15, 2016
Shower house was very uncomfortable due to lack of any exhaust or ventilation; also lacked convenient shelving and/or hooks. Wifi/mobile capabilities far below advertised service. Rating and referral would otherwise be higher.
Aug 15, 2016
We had a great stay! Nice Kabin, great amenities, beautiful scenery. Thanks KOA!
Aug 14, 2016
Awesome place. Kids enjoyed the Fun Zone and horseback riding. Very nice cabin. Will be back in the future.
Aug 14, 2016
spectacular
Aug 14, 2016
This place is amazing! So many wonderful amenities! The kids loved this place and so did we! Can't wait to come back!
Aug 13, 2016
I have been staying there 16 years I like it very very much
Aug 13, 2016
Aug 13, 2016
Nice place, clean! Great people all over, everyone very helpful! We will be back
Aug 13, 2016
We had stayed in years past, we were amazed at the improvments that have been made.The camp is so close to everthing a visitor might want to see or do.
Aug 13, 2016
We have stayed at this KOA many, many times over the past 25 years. We keep coming back...enough said.
Aug 12, 2016
We stay every year for sturgis and have a great time every year meeting new people !!
Aug 12, 2016
Clean
Aug 12, 2016
Someone had gotten sick in one of the two men's washroom stalls in the upper area by the 400's cabins and it wasn't cleaned up for the three hours that I noticed. At least one of your members was at the location.
Aug 12, 2016
Aug 12, 2016
This KOA is huge! Great hot tub and other fun things to do, friendly staff. First time in a kabin and it was very nice. Restrooms were clean but need some attention to stall door hardware. I liked that the showers were centrally located for males and females, not in separate restrooms.
Aug 12, 2016
Great spot for kids.
Aug 11, 2016
We have been staying at your KOA for over 25 years and every year for the past 14 years and it has always been a great experience. We always look forward to our return trips. Thank you!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals