Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Cabin Reviews

Aug 29, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
Fantastic! Tons of fun things to entertain the kids and the camp is always clean. Would do this trip again!!
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
The cabin was dirty on the inside. It needs a power washer taken to it. It also smelled. We went to Keystone and bought some baking soda to try and take the smell out. The pools were full of bugs. I have never seen pools that bad at a KOA before. We won't be staying at this KOA again!
Aug 28, 2014
Entrance to cabin looks like a lawsuit waiting to happen. Uneven steps, rock path. Spouse had hard time using steps. Rails would help. Otherwise, loved it
Aug 28, 2014
Only wish we ciuld have stayed longer than 1 night so as to enjoy the extra stuff to do.
Aug 26, 2014
Left refreshed and happy, the whole family, as usual! Thanks so much!
Aug 26, 2014
Really well run. You can tell that the management is leading and training the staff well. Even though this place is bustling with lots of families, we felt our camp site was quiet. The view is incredible and there was so much for our kids to of at the KOA. The location to get to all the area attractions is perfect too.
Aug 25, 2014
I truly recommend this place - the kids loved the activities and did not want to leave. I will be returning to this fantastic place in two years with extended family!
Aug 25, 2014
Great stay great for kids !!!
Aug 25, 2014
Great place for families. It's rather large, so if your unit is further from the activities, expect to walk a lot. A lot of people in the pool, and adult hours are 8-10PM, which makes it hard to enjoy the pool. But I loved the amenities for food/dining, and access to extra activities like horseback riding. It's almost like going to a dude ranch without the price tag.
Aug 25, 2014
Hands down this is one of the best KOA's we have stayed at. Lots to do for the kids and Adults. Close to most of the day excursion tourists sites. My family and I enjoyed our Vacation very much. Thank you!
Aug 25, 2014
We stayed in a camping cabin and absolutely loved our family time there! The campgrounds were amazing - clean, beautiful, and extremely family friendly! Our 3 kids range in age from 4-14 and each one of them had their own amazing experience. Thanks Mt. Rushmore KOA for the best family vacation we've ever had!!
Aug 23, 2014
We had a great time! My 6yo twins loved the splash pad, the pool, the water slide, and the loft in our cabin. Everyone was very nice and courteous. We are already talking about coming back again, just to enjoy the KOA amenities!
Aug 23, 2014
The location is great--it has everything you need right on site. The cabin was new, quiet and well-equipped. My only complaint is that it's incredibly difficult to find your way to cabins at night! There are a lot of roads and turns and the directional signs are small and not lit so they were completely useless. Make them bigger, light them or make them reflective--please!!
Aug 23, 2014
Free wifi was advertised, but we were later told it was not guaranteed in the cabins. Why wouuld you advertise wifi if it is not accessible in the cabins! Also, the numbering system is absurd. I walked around for an hour and a half in the rain looking for my cabin.
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
we reserved a tent only site but were assigned a site in the middle of very noisy rvs and cabins with motorcycle people. It was very late and had to upgrade to cabin and pay $90/night, if I knew about the tent site being in the middle of rvs when I made reservation, I would have stayed at the motel in Keystone for $49/night.
Aug 22, 2014
We had such a fantastic time!! Relaxing for the adults and tons to do for the kids!! Can't wait to go again!
Aug 22, 2014
Clean,fun,quiet,enormous
Aug 21, 2014
Took approx 2 hours to check in. They have 2 comp. Systems which do not communicate with each other. Res were made 4 months in advance for two cabins. Yet at check in they advised they would be at opposite sides of the park. I was told that I could park my RV at the cabin not true.
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
My stay as far as the campground was excellent as always. My group and many other campers were not impressed with your bartender Saturday night! She was late, rude, and was costing you money. We watched couple after couple leave due to her. She also was feeding her dad free beers, at least I never saw him pay for one and at one point I saw him start a fight!!
Aug 21, 2014
Awesome location and the kids activities are great. This was our second stay. We love it.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
I have been here many times over the years. I don't think the filters work in the pools. They are covered in bugs and some were a strange color and smell.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Overall, our stay was good. We had a little mouse problem in our camper cabin. We had to block the bottom of the door at night so the mice couldn't get in.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Need closer restroom/shower facilities for Camping Cabins. Great place to bring the kids though, tons of activities for them. At the end of the day, they are tired! :)
Aug 19, 2014
Very enjoyable, cabin very nice! Water slide and baby pool was not very clean! Water was green at bottom of water slide.
Aug 18, 2014
Great Staff and lots of activities. *KOA needs to due a better job of keeping pool water clean of bugs and such.
Aug 18, 2014
Loved our cabin, it's location and the beautiful view. The pool was a a little gross, hard to see the bottom.
Aug 18, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay, and felt welcomed right from the start. We loved the Pancake breakfast each morning. We were very disappointed of the service at the Ponderosa Restaurant, but the rest of the stay was great.
Aug 18, 2014
this was our 4th summer at your KOA, our first in a cabin. I made the reservation for cabins between the pool & paddleboats, but when we arrived, we were placed in a cabin above the lodge. While it was nice, it was a walk to the kid's area. Staff were very helpful. It would be fun to have more bikes and maybe updated.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Bathrooms were nice and the cabins were clean. For those who are less mobile, everything on-site is not a far walk away from the cabins. Most staff at the Registration office were very helpful with our group. Prices were reasonable and the KOA would be a great place to stay if you are looking to check out Mt. Rushmore and other destinations.
Aug 17, 2014
The kids had tons of things to do and had a lot of fun. The pancake breakfasts were a big hit each morning. The Kamping Kabins could use a little updating/cleaning. For example, our door caught on the floor after you opened it approx. 1 foot.
Aug 17, 2014
Perfect cabin. Couldn't have been better location for us. Had a great time
Aug 17, 2014
The adult staff was fantastic. There needs to be consistent policies regarding the water slide. One youth staff would allow four kids to go down the slide, while the next staff would allow only one. This confuses the young kids who were doubling up with their siblings. There should be supervision at the pool. My kids especially liked the kayaks at the pond. The staff was genuine and hospitable.
Aug 17, 2014
Lots to do at this KOA. The staff was very accommodating. In fact we were assisted by a friendly staff member in securing a cabin at an out of state KOA for the following evening. Much appreciated.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
we had a wonderful time, great accommodations and location. Great amenities for families with younger kids, nice to be able to have our dog with us.
Aug 15, 2014
If we had based our decision to stay here on the way we were treated when we were trying to make a reservation we would never stay here. Once we got through the reservation line telling us all cabins were booked through the end of the season the office stating the same thing the manager not returning our call and Melody threatening to hang up on my husband when he expressed his frustration: good.
Aug 15, 2014
Bathrooms were not clean when they said they would be very dirty showers, wifi and cell service does not work at all in the campground. The firewood they sell to people stinks and smokes so bad the entire campground was filled with smoke every night making it impossible to open cabin windows or sit outside. We all ended up with horrible raw sore throats from all the smoke.
Aug 14, 2014
one of the best have been at need to spend more than a night to really see and enjoy all the activities
Aug 13, 2014
The only complaint is that the security does not patrol enough as I was kept awake by others in the area until 1am on two different nights.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.