Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jun 28, 2016
The campground was fantastic, The people were great. The cabin (inside and outside) was littered with bees, Outside they were around all of the time. There were dead ones in the front window. I woke up early both mornings with bees in the cabin. I have a child who is afraid of bees and he rarely came to the cabin, except to sleep.
Jun 28, 2016
Great campground, super clean and lots of activities to keep all busy!
Jun 27, 2016
Celebrated my 83rd birthday with my family. . Three generations. Perfect place!!
Jun 27, 2016
We had a great time at Palmer Gulch! Centrally located to many of the attractions, but you don't even have to leave the resort to have a full day! My 10 year old loved the Fun Zone and would have stayed there all day! There was no cell service and the Wifi is almost nonexistent, but that can be a plus too!
Jun 27, 2016
Lack of wfi sucks. You need more routers.
Jun 27, 2016
My kids loved this campground. So much to do after a long day site seeing! They have so many activities and performances at the campground my kids actually looked forward to coming back there at the end of the day.
Jun 27, 2016
The staff was friendly and there was so much to do that we were wishing we could spend another day or two. Facilities were clean. The only negative was that our cabin was pretty far from a bathroom. That was rough with a potty training toddler in tow.
Jun 26, 2016
We had a great stay at Mt. Rushmore KOA! So much for kids to do there!
Jun 25, 2016
We brought our 4 granddaughters for a 4-night, 5-day vacation. They had so much FUN at this resort. There were so many things to do. The deluxe cabin, #280, worked great for our group of 6. I would highly recommend it to anyone coming to the Black Hills!
Jun 25, 2016
Had a fantastic time! We will come again.bathroom situation could be better. One not working often and could be cleaned more often. Otherwise the place is as my granddaughter said "paradise".
Jun 25, 2016
We were very pleased with the amenities and friendly staff.
Jun 25, 2016
It was a great place had a lot of fun with my family will definitely be going back there but do you guys think you can get a little bit thicker mattresses on the hardwood bed frames besides that everything was great
Jun 24, 2016
Only complaint is that it says coffee maker in the cabin but it wasn't specific staying it was a Keurig. There were 4 adults and we all brought coffee for a regular pot. Should just make that more specific. Otherwise it was great! We had kids from 5 to 15 and they all kept busy
Jun 24, 2016
First time to stay here & we loved it!!
Jun 24, 2016
Check in was easy, and helpful with extending my stay.
Jun 23, 2016
The cabin had a spectacular view and the staff always had a smile and were helpful.
Jun 23, 2016
The cabins should have air conditioning. Also you need more bathrooms and the registers in the store should be open so that I don't have to wait 20 minutes to pay for a bag of ice in the same line as campers who are checking in.
Jun 23, 2016
Very dissappointed a resort fee was charged! Especially when there was an additional charge to participate in many of the activities that made the koa a "resort"
Jun 23, 2016
Best KOA we have ever stayed at-loved all the amenities for kids & adults.
Jun 22, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
campsites are so close together that you can hear conversations in the cabins and tents all around you. It is WAY overpopulated. I was assured that we would be in a private quiet area, and this was a lie. I was very clear about this when I booked. We left a day early to escape the crowd. Camping in an urban area would be similar to this KOA. We were deceived by this KOA. AWFUL. DON'T GO HERE
Jun 20, 2016
We really like the Camping grounds and the cabins. The grounds were beautiful. Our problem were the showers which did not seem as clean, to get hot water and pressure we had to shower after 11:00 pm. The laundry had only 6 washing machines and 5 dryers, and no policy was mentioned about people who left their laundry in the machines.
Jun 20, 2016
The cabin had lots of dust bunnies and piles of dirt in the corners. I watched a couple cabins be cleaned and it appears they just used a swiffer, no vacuum of any kind. The showers in the nearest shower house (just down the hill) were very dirty. Tile wasn't level so water didn't drain well. Pool by funzone=dirty. Mowing at 10am by pool=lots of grass in pool area. Maybe mow after pool closes?
Jun 20, 2016
Wonderful KOA! Lots of great activities and fun for everyone. Would love to come back again.
Jun 20, 2016
This place is great for kids.
Jun 20, 2016
So much fun. Wish we could have stayed longer!!
Jun 19, 2016
Clean, fun campground.....definitely not our parent's KOA...Entire family loved it!!!! Thank you to all the hard working g staff
Jun 18, 2016
This was out second time at Mt. Rushmore KOA. It is still a great place to stay, but they have expanded so much they havent stayed caught up on some things they need. They need another camp kitchen back past the second swimming pool. They also need to do something about the water system, it was orange and horrible tasting the whole week.
Jun 18, 2016
Very clean nice Koa but the cabin beds leave something to be desired.
Jun 18, 2016
The campground was very nice. Our deluxe cabin was very nice & perfect for our family of 4. We were very happy to be tucked up and away from the main campground for privacy. Only reason I am not giving a 5 star rating is because the pool was closed every day but one while we were there. Very frustrating. The kids were disappointed as the other pool was cold & smelled - next to the stables.
Jun 18, 2016
Nice stay in deluxe cabin with kids loft. Only hick up was I had made a reservation for a 6 seater UTV. Once there they gave me a 4 seater. (When I called to reserve I specifically had female agent check to make sure 6 seater. She said it was) luckily person had 6 seater didn't want it so we traded.
Jun 18, 2016
Jun 18, 2016
We had a great time! Tons to do for the kids at this KOA and close to a lot sites we wanted to see! Staff were very friendly and helpful!
Jun 18, 2016
Great for kids and adults, so many things to do, VERY accommodating!!!!
Jun 17, 2016
The staff were absolutely fantastic! Loved our nightly walks and visits to the ice cream shop. We will be back.
Jun 17, 2016
You need internet/cell reception!!!
Jun 16, 2016
Cabin doors warped so not able to close completely, bathrooms a long walk with hills away. hot tub over run with kids (no kid rule needed in hot tubs or with an adult only).
Jun 16, 2016
We loved staying here!
Jun 16, 2016
Jun 15, 2016
Great place for kids, so much to do.
Jun 15, 2016
It is obvious that it is a great family place. You do shine!!! A summer worker there told us that you are Christians, and it does show. Wish we could have made the church service before we left on Sunday. Stand firm, you can trust God's heart for you as you apply biblical standards to your business in all areas. Cheryl Gerger
Jun 15, 2016
Great amenities. The kids really loved the activity area with pool, games and climbing wall. Cabins felt really close together and the bathrooms were frequently dirty. Daughter complained also about the dirtiness of the girl bathroom stalls.
Jun 15, 2016
Not enough showers and staff
Jun 15, 2016
Loved it and can't wait to go back!!
Jun 15, 2016
Showers were not cleaned well. Overpriced. Misleading reservation host.
Jun 14, 2016
The amenities are wonderful. There is so much to do and it is very central to everything. We are 3rd generation visitors to this campground and have fond memories. I am very disappointed in the housekeeping though. We rented a cabin and for the price of $300.00/night, you would think that you would be offered clean towels and the trash removed. We will probably look else where next time.
Jun 14, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
Fun place to stay with lots to do.Kids love horseback riding and the pool and slide. I love the golf carts and the fact its close to Keystone and Mt. Rushmore and its beautiful in the hills! We will be back again next year!
Jun 13, 2016
Awesome place for families! People/ Staff were great! Needs more restrooms for amount of guest.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals