Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jul 22, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
Comfort station 1 really needs upgrading. Only 1 toilet flushed in womens bathroom and upon arriving, only 1 shower head worked well. Same for mens bathroom.
Jul 22, 2017
Lots of activities do and overall cleanliness. Poor to average water pressure Would use again.
Jul 22, 2017
Please have fans for cabins without AC. Could use updates to put-put and water slide attractions
Jul 21, 2017
I loved almost everything about this accommodation. It was a bit too crowded for me. In our deluxe cabin, the air mattress on the pull out kept deflating, and when I complained about it, no one cared; the response was that they were already aware of the problem. When you pay that much, you should be able to be comfortable. Other than that, we had a great time!
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
So much fun for the whole family!
Jul 21, 2017
You offer alot of activities for the children, which is very good, but the "Comfort Stations" were very disappointing. A small improvement would be to provide hooks in the facilities. I would also recommend cleaning them regularly. I have stayed in many campgrounds, and yours had one of the poorest facilities.
Jul 20, 2017
I have been staying at this campground for 30 years!! It has only gotten better with time. So many things to do, truly awesome! I gave 4 stars because I feel the cleaning crew could be doing a better job but otherwise a wonderful stay as always!!
Jul 20, 2017
I stayed here long ago when I was a child--it's quite different now, but my kids had the same wonderful experience. Super friendly staff, lots to do, comfy cabin. Thanks!
Jul 19, 2017
Very disappointed in staff that went up on my porch and threw away $300 in laundry away. And no one was willing or interested or anything to locate it.
Jul 19, 2017
Jul 19, 2017
We really enjoyed all of the activities that the KOA had for children. Our children had so much fun on the water slide and in the pool.
Jul 18, 2017
Great facility. So many things to do. What a resort!
Jul 18, 2017
It's an enormous place! With plenty to do for the kids. But, as big as it is.. there are hardly any bathrooms! We stayed in a cabin and had to walk about 5 minutes just to get to a bathroom! The site is very small. There are people coming and going at all hours of the night! It's very loud.
Jul 18, 2017
Cabin was in need of updates. Some of the outlets wouldn't hold a plug also the door was warped on the cabin to the point that unless it was dead bolted it didn't shut. The Pools, restaurants and grounds were all beautiful and clean. The bathrooms were all a LONG way away from our cabin and up hill both ways, this was a huge problem for my mother, the bath houses were overused and dirty.
Jul 17, 2017
We were here for a family reunion. The reservations with a block of rooms were made 3 years ago. There were several problems along the way. We will not have another reunion here. Our little cabin was fine but the communication with the whole resort was disappointing.
Jul 17, 2017
We were a little too close to our neighbors but other than that we loved the place. We will be back
Jul 17, 2017
I lover all of the activities for the kidsame and for the most part the staff was helpful and friendly. The reason for the lower rating is we had to wait an hour to check in because our cabin was not ready. We live approximately 2 hours away and got there tight at check in time to make the most of our time. The only other thing is the pool and pool area was not very clean. Love the area though.
Jul 16, 2017
There is so much for kids to do there plus you are centrally located to everything. Our kids were sad to leave but are looking forward to the next trip.
Jul 16, 2017
When i made the reservations I asked to be close to 3 other cabins of people that were traveling with us. No one told us to pay an extra to ensure we were near them or anything. No one reached out to us and told us. We were by the main building and they were by the redeo grounds. All together I also could never reach anyone that could give me answers. Plus bad location of cabin Rocky.
Jul 16, 2017
It was awesome, our Grandkids had the time of their lives. Being so close to Mt. Rushmore was ideal. We did have a squeaky door on our Camper Cabin, but it was still wonderful. Staff was great.
Jul 16, 2017
Need to put air conditioning in all your cabins I'd give it a 10
Jul 15, 2017
We already reserved our cabin for next year! Amazing place/people! Thank you
Jul 15, 2017
The campground was very loud, overcrowded, and children were running around unattended at all times of the day. It was a much different stay this time than our previous visit.
Jul 15, 2017
We had so much fun at KOA!We especially loved the arts and crafts! Thanks for all your help Taylor! The horse back ride and chuckwagon dinner was awesome!
Jul 15, 2017
We all had a blast! Plenty of activities to keep all of us happy and busy. The cabin was perfect for our family of five. Our only disappointment was the lack of thorough cleaning of bathrooms/showers. Giving those areas as much attention as the gorgeous flowers would be greatly appreciated.
Jul 14, 2017
Our family has been enjoying Palmer Gulch since 1990. We have experienced every camping/lodging option that's available from tenting, mountain cabins, camping cabins, deluxe cabins to our 5th wheel this past vacation!! We love the Hills and beautiful Palmer Gulch and all activities for ALL to enjoy. The only thing I would update is the website. Doesn't do justice! Job well done!
Jul 14, 2017
Very clean bathrooms. Plenty for the kids to do. Close to all site seeing.
Jul 14, 2017
Very nice. Very friendly
Jul 13, 2017
Jul 13, 2017
Loved it....there is so much for the grandkids to do...nice variety of activities!
Jul 13, 2017
Our family enjoyed the two room cabin we stayed in. The electrical outlets need fixed and the lighting could be improved a little. Another bathhouse in the area we stayed in would be beneficial as there were a ton of people for one bath house. Kid zone was great, lots to do for every age and the pancake feed was excellent. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to friends.
Jul 13, 2017
nice but way overpriced.
Jul 13, 2017
Kids (and adults) loved it! So much to do and the waterslide was a blast. Great place
Jul 12, 2017
This is the #1 vacation spot for our family of seven! Something to do for everyone on site and close to Black Hills attractions.
Jul 12, 2017
We came at an excellent time. It was me, My boyfriend, another couple and their niece in the cabin with us and it was very spacious..clean..and it stayed so cool!! We were actually cold, but I was thankful to be cold than hot. We also had our dog with us and he loved it. We had so much fun swimming, seeing the horses, And riding the banana bikes!!
Jul 11, 2017
We stayed one night and it was great! Cabin was clean and the employees were friendly and accommodating! BUT! I would not advise RV campers to stay at this KOA...they all seemed very crowed in those spaces. I do need to give a shout out to the pancake man. When he heard it was my son's bday, he stuck a candle in his pancake stack and the whole tent sang to him...it made his day!
Jul 11, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay, the deluxe cabin with loft was a perfect fit for our family, and appreciated being right next to the fun zone. Only minor complaint was no housekeeping to replenish our towels, and the pool had a lot of flies and bugs Needed some attention. But overall wonderful stay, and will be back.
Jul 10, 2017
The only bad thing I'd have to say is that when we checked in and tried to go to our cabin everybody was parked in front of our parking spot it took us till late that evening to finally get into a parking spot so we could go to work cabin we had to walk to other cabins with your other campsites and over a bridge to unload our stuff they were not very compliant with wanting to switch us to a cabin
Jul 10, 2017
We had a camping cabin( unswept and dirty)Way far uphill from any bathhouse(hillside needs steps) All the Resor's extras did NOT make up for the inconvenience and.. there's just no excuse for"Dirty"
Jul 10, 2017
It was a nice spot. Probably more suited for families then party type camping. Lots to do. Friendly staff. Clean. Only knock is the free maps for the area are available but are hard to find without asking.
Jul 10, 2017
We stayed in a cabin(rustic) and it was exactly as expected. Only complaint was the long walk to the Comfort stations(showers & restrooms) as they were located in the middle of the RV area. Most of these units have self-contained facilities so semi-puzzled why the stations aren't closer to rustic cabin/tent area?
Jul 10, 2017
Jul 09, 2017
Wonderful! So much fun. We had three cabins that were very nice. Location was perfect. Staff was friendly and quick to respond when we had concerns.
Jul 09, 2017
Stayed a week in a deluxe cabin. Very nice place with lots to do.center of all attractions
Jul 09, 2017
Great place for people with children under the age of 12. A lot of free activities included in the stay for the kids to keep them occupied when not out sightseeing. Spotty wi-fi but only because I had to get some work done during my stay. Otherwise I wouldn't have needed it at all.
Jul 09, 2017
This place is amazing. So much to do and see you need 3-4 days minimum. Great staff, location, amenities, and food.
Jul 08, 2017
We rented 6 deluxe cabins and there was 30 of us, we all enjoyed our stay and your campground. We did wonder why with so many guests that you don't have a recycling program? Other than that, everything was great. Sincerely, Ron and PJ Garcia
Jul 08, 2017
Amazing time! Kids loved all the activities and horses.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals