Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Cabin Reviews

Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
This KOA is an amazing place for families to stay. We felt safe letting our kids go play in the kid zone. The view each morning was awesome. Everything you could need was at the resort. Would definitely recommend to others.
Jul 21, 2014
Cabin was clean, but the bathrooms/showers had knats all over the place. Why are you cleaning a bathroom at 9-10AM? That's prime shower time for many campgrounds. The workers were very polite and helpful. Lots of activities to do, but if you're going to advertise wifi, then invest in having wifi and not something that can support 5 people on it.
Jul 21, 2014
We have been coming to your campground since 1997 and love the way it remains the same, like a great part of the family memories that will remain long after the fun ends! It is like coming home! Restful and relaxing while allowing for fun and new friendships.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Getting towels from the Palmer Gulch Resort was a pain in the A55-- there should be an option for a towel service so a person doesn't have to run towels across the campground and then come back 6-8 hours later for fresh towels.
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Staff was great. Contractors were great. Had some problems with the cabin and I filled out a comment sheet covering all. You have a great place, but attention to detail as I pointed out would have made it even better.
Jul 19, 2014
Our stay became awesome halfway thru our stay - - due only to Melissa at the Lodge. Melissa gave us all info we needed to make our stay very comfortable and fun. This information should have been given to us when we registered in, we even asked on our first day. All the activities for the families were great for every member of the family. If we are ever back in the area we will stay at KOA again
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Pros: 1. Playground - The kids loved it. 2. Centrally located in Black Hills 3. Lots of activities at the campground. 4. Pancake Breakfast was great. Cons: 1. Several washers/dryers out if order. Took a long time to do laundry. 2. Showers had little or no water pressure. 3. Mattresses in camping cabin were harder than expected. 4. A couple of the staff were less than friendly.
Jul 18, 2014
Employees friendly & helpful. Activities for all. Too many showers out of order and cold water.
Jul 18, 2014
Very clean and lots of activities for young children. Very nice!
Jul 17, 2014
When we arrived at our cabin: the wooden handle was hanging because a screw was loose, the lock had to be forced open (I oiled it), and there was a cigarette hole on the big mattress. The $10.00 "Resort Fee" is a ripoff. We will never again stay at a KOA that is run by a corporation. I used to think the Mt Rushmore KOA was the best (stayed 4 previous years)KOA; now, it's the WORST.
Jul 17, 2014
See my previous review.
Jul 17, 2014
Great close location to Mt. Rushmore. Tons to do for families with kids. Our cabin was clean. The only negative was some of the showers didn't work and two of the five of us had showers that smelled like sewer. Other than that, I would stay here again.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
We aren't big campers, so staying in a cabin was perfect for us! The kids felt like they were camping, but we didn't have to worry about a tent, etc.. Thanks for making a family memory for us!
Jul 16, 2014
Great Koa,we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 16, 2014
What a place! The site was very, very large and it hosted a plethora of activities for the kids. It was clean, well maintained, beautiful surroundings, helpful staff, great coffee and so many options. It almost felt like a camping resort. I can see why they won the President's Award! My only regret is not staying longer!!
Jul 16, 2014
Nice campground, large but not too busy. Plenty to do, good breakfast. Long walk from cabin to restroom, limited space around cabin, especially in front. Air Conditioning would be nice, especially with pets staying during the day. Otherwise, a nice cabin. WiFi was so weak we could not use it. Good location.
Jul 15, 2014
Cabin was dirty, not enough showers/restrooms for amount of tents/cabins.
Jul 14, 2014
Perfect summer getaway right in the heart of the gorgeous Black Hills. Our three 9-yr olds LOVED all the activities for kids and we loved all the amenities including horseback riding. Will definitely be going back next summer!
Jul 14, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. The staff was extremely accommodating. The only BIG problem we had with our stay - and it is pretty big, is that we paid for a Deluxe Cabin and there was no nearby parking for us upon arrival. When you pay that much for a cabin there should be nearby parking to the cabin. Consider designated, numbered parking spaces for deluxe cabins please.
Jul 14, 2014
Little upsetting I picked a remote cabin and I was placed by kiddie land did not really enjoy it. Used bathrooms at pool and they were only so so clean. My kids enjoyed the boats and bikes that is about it. This was our 2nd time camping at your campground not sure if I would do a 3rd.
Jul 14, 2014
AMAZING service, worth every penny! After traveling 22 hours from south Lake Tahoe, not knowing what we were getting into, we were impressed with every aspect of the KOA! Better then any we've EVER stayed at! We will be returning next year for another week!
Jul 14, 2014
Great place for the kids and family. Many different activities to keep everyone busy. We have been there three times now and would not think about going anywhere else. Great place and would reccomend to everyone.
Jul 14, 2014
Awesome place for families with kids of any age! Cabins were extremely clean as well as the other facilities!
Jul 14, 2014
$94 was a ridiculous price for the uncomfortable Camping Cabin, we won't be back.
Jul 14, 2014
We had a great time. The park grounds, showers,and restrooms were clean, patrons and staff were friendly. I forgot my hiking boots and Jack at the front desk let me know where to get hiking boosts. Thank you. Jeremy Weadon
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Love it. Plenty to do. We should have stayed longer and will definitely be back.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Stayed in a camper cabin, which was perfect for our needs.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Far more than we expected. We should have booked an additional day. Our play was just to use this as home base for our sightseeing. Wow the kids absolutely loved the campground and we were very impressed. The staff were all very nice. Sadly my husband lost his work phone during our stay. We plan on returning next year.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Super nice KOA! The only improvements that need made are with Internet service through out the camp ground. Also, it was the only KOA that we've stayed at that didn't have a chair in the Kamping Cabin. Other than that it was excellent!
Jul 12, 2014
The KOA is great. It is huge and has many amenities. There is a lot of things for the kids to do there. We did not get to do as many things there as my kids wanted to because we only had three days in the area. There are several pools, a slide, spray park, jump pillow, climbing wall, hay rides and more! We stayed in the Deluxe cabins and they were well worth the money.
Jul 12, 2014
Everything was great until I got nipped by a chipmunk! Overall a great stay, but I would suggest that you try to do something about the critters living under your cabins!
Jul 12, 2014
Great family fun! Enjoyed the 2 room Kamping Kabin with three teens, worked out great!
Jul 12, 2014
We were in a camping cabin and the fire pit was way to close to the edge hill so we couldn't sit around the fire.
Jul 11, 2014
I loved it
Jul 11, 2014
I'd like to say it's better but the only positive I can say is that it is convenient to Mt. Rushmore. It's crowded and unclean. The wireless claim is silly. We tried all 3 hotspots (even at 5am) and could never get connectivity. They should not advertise wireless. If you want a good location, go for it but we've have stayed at much better KOA's.
Jul 09, 2014
Jul 09, 2014
This Kampground is big and beautiful with a lot to do. Swimming pools, horseback riding, ATV's... You'll never get bored while staying here.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.