Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Cabin Reviews

Feb 16, 2014
you have a lot to do there and that is awesome!! but bathroom cleanliness is very important. there was never a time that I saw them clean. you may need more bathrooms and more help for as many people that stay there. I saw that the same dead bugs and they were still there same place everyday. I was a housekeeper at a resort I look carefully.
Nov 16, 2013
Overall it was a nice KOA with plenty for the kids to do. On site food options were rather expensive. This was our first time staying in a Kabin rather than our camper and we were disappointed. There was a 2" gap between the wall and the floor. The porch steps were pulling away from the porch and dangerous. Finally, the bathrooms weren't adequate for the # of people using them.
Oct 07, 2013
What a great destination with lots of options for family fun. Unfortunately all, but the mini golf, were closed during our stay there. We felt it would be nice to have a reduced rate since most services weren't available.
Oct 02, 2013
We only had time to stay one night and this was our first time staying with KOA and I am happy to say you exceeded my expectations! I'm already working on next year's vacation plans using your cabins. Thank you!
Oct 01, 2013
This is 4th stay at this beautiful facility. I'm a little disappointed as the restroom/shower hall near the office was filthy, staff was not was friendly as normal, and out Kamp Kabin had a crooked door jam that prevented the door from closing completely. Made for a cold and drafty few nights.
Sep 30, 2013
This was our first time in the deluxe cabin. Overall, we were very disappointed. Fitted sheet for pullout couch was stained & floor under bed was filthy, bendable lights above master bed are impractical and broken too boot, shower curtain was moldy, no pans for cooking out (even though I asked in advance if they were provided). For the price, it's totally not worth it.
Sep 30, 2013
It was late in the season when we stayed there and I think we would of enjoyed it more earlier in the summer when the facility was in full swing. An awesome place for a young family to stay.
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 29, 2013
Sep 29, 2013
Sep 29, 2013
A little more space between cabins would make this an even better place. Nice and quiet in late September!
Sep 28, 2013
Loved it, had a wonderful time!
Sep 23, 2013
Nice and quiet!
Sep 21, 2013
We have stayed here multiple times and we always have a great time! See you next year!
Sep 20, 2013
great place. very nice.
Sep 20, 2013
Our first stay at a KOA and it was awesome! Wonderful staff and nice cabin!! Thank you!!
Sep 18, 2013
We stayed in a cabin by the bathrooms (about 1/2 way back). Wi-fi was among the worst of the KOA's we stayed at (I'm beginning to think that wi-fi shouldn't even be advertised because it's awful and frequently not working in most KOA's we've visited). This KOA is huge and quite amazing. Bathrooms were clean and showers are private rooms. Lots to do here.
Sep 16, 2013
Clean, comfortable and affordable.
Sep 15, 2013
Clean, awesome things to do, employees were great. Mattress was hard. Will come back again and recommend this KOA to my friends and family.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
One of our better camping experiences. Good job.
Sep 09, 2013
Great place for kids!!!!
Sep 09, 2013
You are in a good location. Everything is close together including the bathroom stalls. The Internet was unusable. It was a poor signal and was intermittent and slow. There was no air condioning in the cabins.
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Stayed here before w/my kids and had a very nice time. Decided to come again and had very wonderful stay. Thought it was a little expensive though!
Sep 03, 2013
Bathroom could have been cleaner. Shower curtain had mold on it.
Sep 03, 2013
we had a problem with our cabin 402 which was fixed. However we couldn't get rid of what sounded like a smoke alarm.Harry was great fixing that and changing the tv. We did discover late Sunday night that behind the couch is a propane alarm and whenever anyone sat or moved on the couch it set off that alarm, not the other alarm. we had a great time Thank you.
Sep 03, 2013
The campground it great but the showers very dirty.
Sep 03, 2013
A wonderful KOA. Very nice campground and extremely helpful and happy people
Sep 03, 2013
We can't wait to come back next spring/summer it is always so much fun and the campground is always so clean. Staff are so friendly and helpful all the time.
Sep 03, 2013
With all of the options of things to do at this KOA, we were surprised that there was not something to help keep the Kamping Kabins cool like a fan or something. We have stayed at many KOA's & most of them in the warmer areas have either a fan or air conditioner. We love the variety of things to do but it was difficult to sleep when the kabins are hot and stuffy. This KOA is one of our favorites
Sep 03, 2013
We have stayed several times at this KOA. We love staying there but this stay was the least enjoyable experience that we have had. We ended up with a site on the hill side even though we booked a site close to the pool.
Sep 03, 2013
The restrooms were a terrible mess. In the womens restroom the first sink didnt even have and knobs so couldnt even be used, the sink next to it wouldnt drain. So was down two 2 sinks for ALOT of women to brush teeth, wash face, etc. There were several showers that all weekend had do not distrub on them, they were locked as there was problems cuz no one could use them. Very disappointed!!!
Sep 02, 2013
This was a nice Kamp site, however maybe because it's one of the largest KOA, it seem to commerical like and just too many people and RV. However Customer service was wonderful and people were all very kind.
Sep 02, 2013
The initial impression was very good. The cabin had nails instead of clothes hooks. The door inside had been chewed by a dog. The bathroom was not clean. The dirt was not recent. Under the mats was black Yuk. One shower in the men's room would not work. The bath was never busy as in most KOA's and you could see why. Repairs and diligent cleaning are a must. Managers need to check!!! Ron
Sep 01, 2013
Great location - friendly staff. Loved the pancakes! Stores/shops had it all! Only negative were the bathrooms/showers off Roosevelt needed attention. Loved the trees and view!
Aug 31, 2013
We had never stayed at KOAs before coming to SD. Couldn't believe what I've been missing! Thanks so much for great experience AND memories for my family.
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 30, 2013
Camper cabins were clean, but would stay in reg cabin next time. The staff very friendly, tons of activities to do in addition to everything we wanted to see and do in the area! The only downfall was the location of the bathrooms in the middle of a bunch of RV's, which are equipped with bathrooms. We had to walk quite a distance to the restroom with 4 & 7 year olds, including in the middle of nigh
Aug 28, 2013
Such a nice place to stay. This week we have stayed at three KOA Kabins and your was the nicest! The view was wonderful. We would love to come back. I loved the reading lights above the bed in the master bedroom. Just wish we had a stove top but the grill worked great. We bought an electric frying pan after our stay with you.
Aug 28, 2013
Great kid friendly activities,but upon arrival our deluxe cabin should have been cleaned more thoroughly:dirt on floor,toilet dirty and grill filthy,Young staff at general store not helpful at all.(could not even find salt & pepper),but Katie at Grinds and Grapes,extremely pleasant and helpful.Young employees should be more informed about local area amenities .great pancakes!
Aug 27, 2013
this is an amazing place. great scenery, great amenities, and great location,
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
No comments, just great!!!
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Nice place to stay, however when we first checked in to cabin it was very dirty. It had not been cleaned, there was food, garbage and dirty underwear on the cabin floor. Also the fire pit was full of garbage.
Aug 26, 2013
It was a wonderful stay at the Rushmore KOA. We stayed in one of the new Deluxe cabins and that was very clean. The only complaints were that we only had 4 folks for 6 of us staying there and the cooktop didn't get warm enough to boil a large pot of water. But with a fire pit and outdoor gas grill, we improvised. The folks there were very friendly and we plan to come back again!
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
We love that in this day and age you guys have a Faith weekend! What a great time to come and join other believers in Jesus! Such an encouragement to us! Great staff, clean, and beautiful! Thank you!!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.