Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

May 28, 2016
The staff at Mt. Rushmore KOA was always very friendly and helpful in every part of the KOA. This was our third stay at this KOA and we'll probably come back the next time we're in the Black Hills. One of the best KOAs that I have visited!
May 28, 2016
Our cabin was not clean, lost of death flies beneed the window en gras en dust on the floor under the beds. The campkichten was not opend yet, aldough it was the end of may as they said it would reopen. Very terrible wifi, we couldn't open our mail most of the time.
May 28, 2016
Cabin was nice and clean. A lot of the amenities that drew us to this site were not available because we stayed before the start of the season. The website does not make this clear.
May 28, 2016
friendly helpful staff, clean comfort stations, clean and cozy kamper cabin, clean fresh air to breath and beautiful scenery!
May 27, 2016
My kids have enjoyed staying at the KOA cabins.
May 24, 2016
This is undoubtedly the best KOA in America, and absolutely the best housing in all of the Black Hills. Our cabin was large, pristine, and absolutely perfect for our group of eight. The staff was wonderful, and when we come back, we will absolutely stay here again!
May 23, 2016
Had a great time, I have stayed at this camp ground on more than one occation and enjoy every time, my complaint comes with how poor the WiFi is EVERY visit I make, even if I can walk the distance to be near the "hotspots" it is so bad I'd almost rather drive a few miles to be able to look something up on my phone or message family and friends...for an upper end KOA I think it could be better!
May 22, 2016
Lobby people are very kind. And public washroom was amazingly clean. But inside of cabin was dirty and very cold and only thing you can turn on is one heater because if you use anything else they will cut electricity power
May 20, 2016
Great staff and accommodations! Thank you.
May 16, 2016
It was a wonderful stay. We loved how close we were to everything. We can't wait to come back after Memorial Day!
May 16, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at Plamer gulch KOA. It was very cold at nights, the front desk gave us heaters free of charge to keep us warm...will visit in the future
May 10, 2016
This was the first time we ever stayed at a KOA campground and wow what a way to get someone hooked! Everyone was great and made sure you knew they were there to help even if it was to find a place to eat in the area. Unfortunately not all the things that this campground had to offer was open due to the time of year but it was still a great time in a beautiful area.
May 09, 2016
Best KOA we have ever stayed at! Blows the rest away.
May 09, 2016
We stayed in the Deluxe cabin. The cabin in very nice, however the heater in the main room didn't work. It is noisy. Nothing was open yet, so we didn't get to enjoy the different activities the KOA offers. But I am sure it's a nice place when it's open.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for letting us know about the heat. The issue has been resolved.
Oct 29, 2015
was very pleased with my stay. restrooms were very clean and grounds were clean as well, staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Oct 05, 2015
We really loved the campground and all the great things you had to do. Your location makes it easy to get to the popular tourist areas. We had interactions with several of the staff and had very positive results. Thank you.
Oct 05, 2015
Very nice campground. Stayed in a deluxe cabin and the amenities were great. Only issue was no lights to help light the roads, difficult to find our cabin.
Oct 05, 2015
We had a great stay here. Very relaxing and just what we needed. It's also so close to so many wonderful little towns and Mt. Rushmore, if you're in the area it's a no-brainer to stay here. Beautiful campground and fantastic staff. Couldn't ask for more!
Oct 03, 2015
I wish we lived closer to this KOA, I would take my Grandkids here every year! I will be looking for other KOA's like this one in California! We were an all adult group with 8 people, stayed in 3 cabins and 1 motorhome; it was a perfect location to see the sites and the cabins were great. Our group took advantage of the fire rings and the decks. We had a great time.
Sep 29, 2015
Awesome KOA! Great staff and wonderful activities for the family. Will definitely be back.
Sep 28, 2015
it was great!!!
Sep 28, 2015
The cabin was clean and the location was great!! There is poor cell reception and the bathroom stalls are tiny. The running water is rust color so we were reluctant to use the facilities for showers or brushing teeth. We still paid the 'resort fee' even though the pools were closed and the pancake breakfasts were closed for the season.
Sep 28, 2015
The cabin and campground were wonderful. I'm not sure who owns the pub and restaurant, but they were not very friendly. The pub was closed the two days we were there. Me and the 3 other people with me ordered appetizers and beers at the restaurant(that was almost empty) and we were told that our business was not wanted unless we were going to order dinner. We will NEVER go there again.
Sep 27, 2015
standard camping cabins could be cleaner
Sep 27, 2015
This looked like a nice campground from the front. The camping cabin we had would have been nice if it hadn't had piles (literally piles) of dead flies on the window sills and the we hadn't spent the whole night with the live ones buzzing around the cabin. This was y first time renting a rustic cabin like this. I don't know if this is normal for this type of thing but I didn't like it.
Sep 26, 2015
Sep 23, 2015
Not too clean in bathroom or in cabin. Pool was closed too.
Sep 22, 2015
The area is BEAUTIFUL. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The amenities are very nice and comfortable. The only challenge is cell phone/wifi reception is nonexistent, which could be an issue for those who need to have access.
Sep 22, 2015
Awesome... Very nice, friendly, Will return
Sep 18, 2015
Because of rain upgraded to a cabin. No chair at table, WiFi signal too weak and thought price was high for off season.
Sep 15, 2015
The campgrounds were very well maintained. The employees at the campground were very helpful.
Sep 14, 2015
My family and I have been staying at the Mount Rushmore KOA since I was a kid and have always loved it! This time was the first time we were staying in what is considered "off season" I wish we would've been notified of all the things that wouldn't have been available this time of year. I was dissapointed in the service while checking in. The lady helping us was rude as if we were an inconvenience
Sep 12, 2015
Too far from the bathroom
Sep 09, 2015
We loved Palmer Gulch! We will definitely stay there again the next time we visit Mt. Rushmore!
Sep 09, 2015
Sep 09, 2015
It was amazing! There is so much to do here. The staff was great! None of us wanted to leave!
Sep 09, 2015
Staff was not friendly.Had to wait to be helped while the staff finished their personal conversation. Were not told of activities going on in park like, pancake breakfast, horses, ect. We stayed in cabin and was not told at check in that the restrooms were so far away. There was a path to the bathroom down a small steep hill that could have very easily had proper steps put in. Will not go back.
Sep 08, 2015
This was a great place to stay with many great activities for the while family!
Sep 08, 2015
We were so happy with this campground!!! Amazing views, clean, nice people...I have already recommended it to 2 people and we have been home for less than a day!
Sep 08, 2015
The pictures we took did no justice to how great this place really is! Tons of activities for our kids (ages 15 mo, 7, and 11) and for adults the scenery and relaxation we got was amazing. The cabin we stayed in was very clean and exactly what we wanted. Never been to such a wonderful place.
Sep 08, 2015
This was the best camping experience my family could've had for our 1st camping trip. Everyone was nice and we all had tons of fun. This is a great location for families and friends to gather. Looking forward to next year and kabin484. Thank you KOA for an amazing family memory.
Sep 08, 2015
I was happy to have a great place to stay while in the Black Hills
Sep 08, 2015
One of the guests in our group had bed bug or flea bites all over them. The drinking water in front of cabin and out of rest room was very hard water had very yellow/orange to brown color. We had an infant with us and bought water.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your review! We were also surprised to hear of the bed bugs and have taken the necessary steps to remove them. As for the water, we have well water and so a slight discoloration is expected throughout the resort. We hope you will try us again in the future. Sincerely, Danielle Akey
Sep 08, 2015
It was so full this labor day weekend and I thought for sure we would not get any sleep but it was so quiet. I got a shower anytime I wanted. Best KOA I have been too. Wish I could of stayed longer to do many of the amenities that were there. Thanks for a great vacation!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay over the Labor Day Holiday! We love hearing that you had such a great time and that our resort exceeded your expecations. We hope to see you again next camping season! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 08, 2015
Showers on Sunday morning were in need of attention. Otherwise awesome service and lots to do for all of the family.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback about your most recent stay! We will make sure to follow up with our shower crew regarding Sunday morning's cleaning. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Black Hills! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 07, 2015
Sep 07, 2015
Very clean KOA, wish there were more bathrooms spread out, was a long walk in the mornings.
Sep 05, 2015
Sep 04, 2015
Sep 03, 2015
The bunks are not for adults and the hide a bed needs to be updated with an air mattress.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals