Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jul 21, 2016
Great overall. Customer service and the cleanliness of the bathrooms/showers could definitely improve.
Jul 21, 2016
We had a wonderful time!! We go to the Mt. Rushmore KOA every year.
Jul 20, 2016
Great place and location. Well kept up. Bathroom/showers were cleaned consistently. Please get a recycling program for plastic bottles.
Jul 20, 2016
Everything was great except my mom and dad stayed at the lodge and there bathroom had mold all over.
Jul 20, 2016
BEST KOA I'VE EVER STAYED AT!! I will be coming back again.
Jul 20, 2016
We had a blast! We were disappointed in how crammed in everyone was. It took away from the "camping" experience a bit!
Jul 20, 2016
Fun place to stay with family, and lots to do on the campground.
Jul 20, 2016
This was a very nice KOA we really liked all the amenities lots of people but it was overridden by the wonderful amenities at this resort. This was our 4th time at that KOA.
Jul 19, 2016
Lots of family activities here and really enjoyed our camping cabin. Don't expect wifi around the campground, which is exactly as advertised. Thanks for a great stay!
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
I was very impressed with the KOA. It was clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. Family had a great time.
Jul 18, 2016
Overall AWESOME....only issue were a couple very rude employees...at check-in and cashiering.
Jul 18, 2016
My stay at Palmer Gulch was Amazing!!! The staff especially Jackie were so helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The kids loved the trail ride and pool and especially watching the horses run right by our cabin in the morning and night!!! Thank you so much to all for making our trip wonderful!!!
Jul 18, 2016
This place was AMAZING!!
Jul 18, 2016
Great KOA! Lots to do. My only recommendation would be more wifi spots throughout the campground.
Jul 18, 2016
Very friendly staff, although at times wait time in line was longer than usual, especially in the morning. WiFi needs improvement. This was our 2nd stay , and love all the amenities, but what happened to the paddle boats??
Jul 17, 2016
A huge disappointment. This place is too big for itself. Front desk gave incorrect information and were slow Hot water was unreliable, bathrooms went an entire day without soap, quiet times were not enforced, and even though it is big, Tent Sites were on Front of cabins, some people were stuck camping in the playground, and activities were not done by koa but outsourced to a Christian youth group.
Jul 17, 2016
This is the 3rd time I have stayed at this KOA. The first time I stayed was as a child when my parents camped there on a visit to Mt Rushmore, I have stayed now there with my family 2 time in the past 2 years. Great place to stay with a friendly and caring staff!! There Thank you for a wonderful time filled with great memories!
Jul 17, 2016
Our cabin k307's door REALLY need oiled!! The bathrooms needed cleaned more often.
Jul 16, 2016
Some of the fire pits need upgrading.
Jul 16, 2016
We ARE FROM MINNESOTA AND It Was So Beautiful there! It was very enjoyable for us and kids
Jul 16, 2016
Enjoyed our stay - location, grounds, activities. Disappointed with bathrooms and shower set-up (small/cramped/cannot accommodate a large number of people. Also there is no safe place to go in case of a tornado.
Jul 15, 2016
Too crowded. Bathrooms too far away from Kamping Cabins. No A/C in cabins.
Jul 15, 2016
Nice cabin. A lot to do for kids. Only a lot of noise of guests entering al night to camping.
Jul 15, 2016
Our car bottomed out EVERY time we pulled into our camp site, cabin was not level, site & fire pit was on hill, sites were too close together, bathrooms were over crowded ALL the time, no hot water for our showers, hot tub water was yellow, store did not open until 7am, smell of stable while eating ice cream & pizza. The location of the park was very nice, beautiful scenery,the pancakes were great
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 15, 2016
What a fantastic place! We will definitely be back! Thank you for everything!
Jul 14, 2016
The only complaint I have is that there are no recycling bins. All that plastic that just goes into the garbage is disgraceful. You owe it to the world and future generations to have recycling at your facilities.
Jul 14, 2016
We had a wonderful time, very family friendly! Lots to do, kids had a blast! Our cabin was ok but needs some work. The bed was so slanted you could almost roll right off with out trying. Also the door would get caught on the floor and hard to open so our kids could not open it by them selves... Super annoying! Other than that the stay was great!
Jul 14, 2016
The smoke from all the bonfires was so overwhelming it sent my son into an ashtma attack and we had to leave the same night we arrived due to not being able to breathe. The rest of the family also was overwhelmed by the smoke. too many cabins crowded into a small spot with the smoke filling a crowded area of the campground.
Jul 14, 2016
I wish we would have had more time to experience all there was to do here. A great place to set up shop for a vacation, and take day trips. It's very crowded and hectic though, so if you want a quiet camping experience this is not the place for you.
Jul 13, 2016
So relaxing and yet has plenty to do for fun.
Jul 13, 2016
Extremely fun place to stay lots of things for young and old. But...the front desk screwed up my reservation and was unwilling to work with me or make appropriate accommodations. We ended up cutting our stay short and leaving early. I am truely disappointed as we have been coming to this campground every year for 7 years and never had experienced anything like this. I will probably not return. :-/
Jul 12, 2016
Best koa and great service love this place and close to mount rushmore
Jul 12, 2016
Palmer Gulch KOA is a wonderful facility with lots of amenities. My only complaint was that they scheduled the restroom cleaning in our area all three days between 8:30-9:30 a.m. when EVERYBODY is just getting going in the morning. But there was hardly anyone in the campground between 11-1 p.m. The next closest restroom was in an uninhabited area quite a ways away.
Jul 12, 2016
Had a great stay in a deluxe cabin. Definitely come back.
Jul 11, 2016
Cabin very clear, friendly staff, beautiful scenery and so much to do!
Jul 11, 2016
The deluxe cabin was the perfect way to camp without having to "camp"!
Jul 11, 2016
Only complaint was cabins had not been cleaned, we found dirty underwear left by the people before us. For the amount of money spent on these cabins they should be cleaned
Jul 11, 2016
Nice place, very crowded.
Jul 11, 2016
Perfect stay words can't express enough how much fun we had!
Jul 11, 2016
Great time .
Jul 10, 2016
The pool and activities were fantastic. However, there was no wi-fi to speak of, and phone coverage was spotty at best.
Jul 10, 2016
An example of a campground that only cares about packing and cramming millions of camp units into a small space for financial gain. Our fire ring was at the edge of the road so you could fit two chairs around it,unless you wanted to sit in the road. Unsupervised children at golf were hitting the balls so hard they were hitting the building and nobody talked to them. Bathrooms closed from 8:30-9:45
Jul 09, 2016
This was our first camping experience and it was fantastic. The kids loved it. The only thing I'd change would be to have the cleaning done on the bathrooms at a less popular time. It seemed it was always closed in the mid-morning.
Jul 09, 2016
We stayed in the cabin with the kid's loft. Great space. Loved that the shampoo, lotion, and coffee in the cabin were all organic. This location provides sheets and blankets for you. However, this location does not have great wifi which is a problem if you are a student or need to reach your email for work. They have three wifi locations but they were not great or even good quality.
Jul 09, 2016
great pancake breakfast, lots of fun things to do, and friendly staff. Beds in cabin were extremely uncomfortable, and Ponderosa Restaurant was mediocre at best.
Jul 08, 2016
I booked a 30 person reunion here. I expected good service at the price we paid. Instead we had to scavenge for amenities and service like towels, garbage retrieval, and basic amenities I'd expect to receive. Plus, trying to plan the trip was a nightmare because it's a rarity to get people to answer the phones at your facility! This place has potential to shine, but things seemed disjointed.
Jul 08, 2016
Everything was in great repair and we had an excellent time! Never have found another camp ground with this kind of amenities!
Jul 08, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals