Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Cabin Reviews

Dec 23, 2014
Nov 06, 2014
Nov 02, 2014
Staff was great. Physical condition of site was very good. Location was excellent. Two problems: had to pay extra for resort fee;however, last week of season not all amenities were avail. Second: tons of flies in our cabin. Paid extra instead should have gotten a discount instead of paying more.
Oct 16, 2014
Love the restaurant.Came late and left early, but all was fine. Beds were a little close for the bunks. Almost bumped my head in morning. A little dark when walking to bathroom at night.
Oct 16, 2014
The restaurant on site is awful. We stayed 3 nights and the bathrooms were never cleaned the whole time. Yuck.
Sep 30, 2014
DO NOT STAY HERE. No oven or cooktop in deluxe cabins. No real coffee maker. Water gave my daughter and wife diarrhea. Staff unwilling to repair problems found in cabin. Wifi is advertised but has poor coverage and is as slow as dial-up. Campground restaurant is the worst food I have experienced anywhere. This review is cross-posted on Google+ and Yelp.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 28, 2014
Cabin fuses came off..slept with ot lights or heat,Parking in wrong place,bathrooms to far away
Sep 26, 2014
Sep 25, 2014
the staff was extremely pleasant
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 21, 2014
We always love staying in the KOA cabins. This particular cabin was in need of some tender loving care though. Floor was separating from walls and they were using duct tape to close the gap. Porch was very unstable. Fire pit was not cleaned from last tenant. Other than that it was a great location beautiful KOA and lots of great attraction.
Sep 20, 2014
This KOA had great amenities, showers, games, activities, playgrounds, etc. We were there after Labor Day so many of the activities had stopped but I can tell it would be a very hopping place during the summer. We appreciated the parks and they left the mini-golf supplies out so the kids could play. The staff was friendly.
Sep 15, 2014
A high-end KOA, very large with lots of activities. We are very appreciative of the staff. We had booked 2 nights, but snow was rolling in and we were on motorcycles. They let us cancel our 2nd night with no penalty. Only cleanliness issue is that there were hundreds of dead flies in the window track in the cabins. Gross!! Cabin window seals and tracks need to be cleaned better and checked!
Sep 15, 2014
cabin was nice, the pool, water slide,hot tub were cold and dirty, only water warm was kiddy pool & dirty. going to stay another night in van but after spending about 4 hrs we left. wifi was spotty if not existent. tried to talk to front desk, about our rotten stay, she didn't care that our stay sucked AT ALL, spend to much money for nothing. looks can be deceiving. everything costs.
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
The heat in the cabin did not work in the kitchen/living room. It was very chilly the nights we were there and there were not any extra blankets so we were cold all night. They came over the next day to reset the breaker. It worked for a short time then did not work again. Also, the kitchen sink faucet did not work properly. We do like this campground and will stay again.
Sep 13, 2014
Loved the place and the people! Super clean and friendly. We will make this a teary occurrence here!!
Sep 13, 2014
We liked the cabin and the fire pit area, but it was a long walk to the bathrooms, so it was very inconvenient. In the morning, the sewer was backing up into the shower/bathrooms, so it was disgusting. They were working on it when we left, but in the meantime, there were no facilities to use. The location is great since it is so close to the Monuments, but we would stay somewhere else next time.
Sep 10, 2014
The staff was friendly. The sites, restrooms and showers were clean. The pancakes were good.
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 05, 2014
our stay would have been more enjoyable had there been washrooms closer to the cabins on the hill. Or even a proper stairway down the hill. The area on the hill needs more attention; more lighting, broken picnic table, path to cabin from vehicle, over hang of cabin roof too low, (daughter hit her head on the corner).
Sep 03, 2014
I love this place. Beautiful, clean, and lots activities!
Sep 03, 2014
I love a brand new 2014 cabin that I got for my family and I we had a very great fun and experience nice and cozy .
Sep 02, 2014
This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at your KOA and we were not disappointed again. While we didn't partake in any activities on site we had a fantastic cabin. We will be back sometime in the future
Sep 02, 2014
This place was a fantastic fun-filled escape for the entire family. Grounds were very well-planned. Super friendly staff. Cabin was clean.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Awesome! just one grouchy older lady conflict over a firewood misunderstanding! Beautiful!
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
The stay was great . My daughter had fun. The only thing we didnt like is the rest room, not that we had problem that it was far but it was down the hill and we had to walk everytime in the RV ground to use the Restroom.
Sep 01, 2014
A wonderful place to create family memories. This KOA has everything!
Sep 01, 2014
This part of America is so beautiful and Mt. Rushmore KOA is definatly the campground to choose in this area. Staff were really friendly people. I especially enjoyed talking with the sweet lady in the wine and coffee shop. We'll be back!
Sep 01, 2014
This is one of the most gorgeous parts of America and Mt. Rushmore KOA added to the beauty. Amazing campground!
Sep 01, 2014
Aug 31, 2014
Aug 31, 2014
Aug 30, 2014
This was a wonderful place to stay. We ate at the Ponderosa and the portions were very generous and great tasting. The prices at the general store were very reasonable. The staff were all wonderful and my children felt very safe anywhere in the area. We loved the amenities and the cabin we stayed in. Very clean in public areas.
Aug 30, 2014
A lot of aging potential. Some fun stuff for the kids but overall the whole Koa is in need of a renewing. Cabins sinking into soil and several inches off level, cabins starting to stink (we tried three different ones). Great location. Friendly staff.
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
Fantastic! Tons of fun things to entertain the kids and the camp is always clean. Would do this trip again!!
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
The cabin was dirty on the inside. It needs a power washer taken to it. It also smelled. We went to Keystone and bought some baking soda to try and take the smell out. The pools were full of bugs. I have never seen pools that bad at a KOA before. We won't be staying at this KOA again!
Aug 28, 2014
Entrance to cabin looks like a lawsuit waiting to happen. Uneven steps, rock path. Spouse had hard time using steps. Rails would help. Otherwise, loved it
Aug 28, 2014
Only wish we ciuld have stayed longer than 1 night so as to enjoy the extra stuff to do.
Aug 26, 2014
Left refreshed and happy, the whole family, as usual! Thanks so much!
Aug 26, 2014
Really well run. You can tell that the management is leading and training the staff well. Even though this place is bustling with lots of families, we felt our camp site was quiet. The view is incredible and there was so much for our kids to of at the KOA. The location to get to all the area attractions is perfect too.
Aug 25, 2014
I truly recommend this place - the kids loved the activities and did not want to leave. I will be returning to this fantastic place in two years with extended family!
Aug 25, 2014
Great stay great for kids !!!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.