Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Cabin Reviews

Jul 28, 2015
This campground is more of a RESORT! It is amazing - the facilities are fantastic and very clean, there is so much to do for the kids from the pool, splash area, jump pillow, water slide, panning for gold -- and 4 eateries ON SITE and the Horse Stables!! Beautiful, would recommend this KOA to everyone!!
Jul 28, 2015
My family and I really enjoyed our four days at KOA. There was so much to do to keep busy and cool off. We also enjoyed the restaurant we ate at. Thank you so much for the great stay.
Jul 28, 2015
This KOA is close to lots of great activities, and we made several day trips from here (Custer Gold Days, Custer State Park, Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse Mt., Badlands, Deadwood, Devil's Tower, Sturgis, Jewel Cave, Wind Cave). Tons of activities on site for young kids. Older kids liked the horseback riding and ATV. Cabins and parking a bit tight, but workable. We'll be back!
Jul 28, 2015
We stayed in the camping cabins. The bathrooms could have been cleaner. The workers were very helpful all the time.
Jul 28, 2015
Exactly what we needed after 5 weeks on the road.
Jul 28, 2015
Our children enjoyed the kids fun zone. One thing I wished was that the visitors staying with pets would respect when there is a sign "no pets allowed" they would respect that.
Jul 27, 2015
Great stay as always! Awesome activities and setting for the kids!
Jul 27, 2015
It has really grown in the last 10 years! The restrooms could have been cleaner. Our Kamping Kabin was wonderful! It was very clean and comfortable. The food at the Ponderosa restaurant on site was awful. We couldn't eat it and they took 25% off our bill.
Jul 27, 2015
Overheard at bike rental shack: Kid: can we still rent bikes? Grey-bearded KOA employee: you mean because of the lightning? YOU THINK I CARE? Go ahead! Rent one! We have been staying at the Palmer Gulch KOA for 5 years, and this was the worst group of employees we've seen. We were also disappointed that there were no longer paddle boats or movies shown at night. Boo.
Jul 27, 2015
So much to do for families with kids. Very clean and will organized. We checked out of our cabin a day early (though late afternoon), due to not feeling good and I wanted to get home and they credited my credit card for the night we didn't stay. I did not expect that and am truly grateful for that. I would stay again.
Jul 26, 2015
This is our second time staying at this campground. The staff go out of their way to make the kids feel special. There were some attractions not working, but there are so many other things to do. We loved the chuckwagon dinner!!
Jul 26, 2015
Great stay with the kids
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Had a great stay! Clean, friendly staff. Lots to do if you do not want to leave campground. Cabin was perfect for our family. Close to major attractions in area.
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Being new to RVing, this KOA is a bit to big, but for families It might be great. Everyone was very helpful during my 1 night stay & I have reservations to be with you again next week.
Jul 26, 2015
What a fun place. So much for the kids and parents to do.
Jul 25, 2015
My story is so long that I will just say.....I couldn't have asked for a better place to be, the staff was more than accommodating. I would come back here every chance I had.
Jul 25, 2015
For an Expensive resort KOA you would think the cabins would ALL have a/c and not smell like rotten eggs.
Jul 25, 2015
We didn't have kids with us but it was great to see all the entertainment for the kids, clean bathrooms and the bus ride for the night lighting was great
Jul 24, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay in one of the deluxe cabins. Would love to stay in that exact cabin again.
Jul 24, 2015
Amazing. I brought 4 kids by myself. As a single mom I was a little worried about feeling safe. But after the first couple hours I felt at home. Tre kids played & I wasn't worried at all. We all had a great time. A trip of a lifetime. Thank you
Jul 24, 2015
Always a great place to stay. They are always improving the resort.
Jul 24, 2015
Highly disappointed in customer service. If you need a bathroom close by make sure you call and request it. Cabin was far from bathroom and was told most people just walk outside there cabin at night and just squat there. They were not willing to help out until after 11 p.m. Stay at the Custer KOA. Smaller but worth it!
Jul 24, 2015
I wish I had a little more verbal information on the cabin I was staying and verbal information on the amenities and tell everyone about the sides to the pancake breakfast which was delicious!! Would have like to how horse back riding and need more atv trails
Jul 23, 2015
We stayed at this KOA 25 years ago. Went back this 2015 and was better than ever. This is the nicest KOA we have ever stayed at. Very kid friendly. Lots of things to do with the family. Great place to stay. We will stay there again. No question.
Jul 23, 2015
The cabins were very nice, but any other koa I stopped at the cabins have screen doors and fans. Also no grill, just a fire pit.staff was awesome!
Jul 23, 2015
This campsite has a lot of activities , wish we could have stayed longer.
Jul 22, 2015
This is a great campground with lots of fun amenities. It is also in a central location. It was a great place for a family vacation!
Jul 22, 2015
Place is beautiful, lots to do, great location in the Black Hills. Loved the cookout centre. Would definitely come back but not in the one bedroom cabin. The 5th bunk is completely useless. Also, the bathrooms near us were not adequate, the shower stalls tiny and many stalls were missing their hooks. They need a makeover like the beautiful one in the middle of the Rv's near the main building.
Jul 22, 2015
The KOA staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 22, 2015
Loved the pancake tent, swimming pool/slide, kid activities, and coffee shop!
Jul 21, 2015
Nice stay. 4 th time. Comfort stations could use a bit of updating/deep cleaning.
Jul 21, 2015
We were in the camping cabins. the cabins were nice, they did what we needed. I was not pleased with the cleanliness of the bathroom /shower area. It appeared they only cleaned them once a day, and that was questionable. Even the main lodge nathrooms in a 24 hr period never got cleaned.
Jul 21, 2015
We loved the cabin we rented (D402). We ate at the Ponderosa, & was disappointed - esp. that the women's restroom had no working water faucets, so no way to wash my hands. I think that's against sanitation rules to be open for serving when that happens. Also, there was only 1 server for all the tables - so obviously, the service was poor. Gals at the registration desk were outstanding, though!
Jul 21, 2015
Thank you
Jul 20, 2015
We had a great visit. Loved all the activities for the kids!
Jul 20, 2015
awesome location. Great staff, and awesome cleanliness. Loved the cabins, and all the activities. Would totally come here again.
Jul 20, 2015
Awesome!! This is a great place for a family vacation!! So much to do! Only disappointment was that they don't allow kids under 7 ride the horses even if they are experienced. They don't allow riding double either.
Jul 20, 2015
This place was just as I remember it as a little girl. We will for sure be staying here again, my kids had a great time and an experience they will never forget.
Jul 20, 2015
The only complaint we had like ALL the KOA's we stayed at this week was that there was no wifi access again. The KOA itself was fantastic, however when you're from another country on a data plan you need wifi to plan your next day and for business. The food and service at the Pizza place was fantastic.
Jul 20, 2015
Our stay was fabulous. Perfect views and a perfect camp ground. Tons of activities for all ages.
Jul 20, 2015
we found out we were going to be in the area the night before we went. When we called they had a 2 room cabin available for us to stay in. It was nice. I loved the hominess of the swing on the front porch. It was like a little community. I would stay again.
Jul 19, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA. We loved that it was centralized to the surrounding attractions.
Jul 19, 2015
We had such a awesome time and the facilities was great. So much outdoor activities for the families. I recommend to stay there again in the future.
Jul 19, 2015
Our family loved this campground. It is the best we stayed in. The kids enjoyed all the things to do. Keep up the excellent work.
Jul 19, 2015
Nice campground....seemed a bit crowded but clean. Would camp there again.
Jul 18, 2015
I will list a few problems and will also be sending a more complete email to KOA. Arrived at our site to find the previous persons trash bagged and still sitting next to cabin steps inside of cabin dirty, extremely long walk to bathroom, people yelling,talking loudly until atleast 1am this resumed at 5:45 am. The wifi didn't work the whole of the time we were there.
Jul 18, 2015
We had a great stay while in the Black Hills. The only complaint my wife or I had was the water pressure at the komfort station we used. I really enjoyed the variety of activities that were available for our three children (7,5,3). I would highly recommend this KOA as a destination or basecamp while visiting the Black Hills.
Jul 18, 2015
Outstanding facility with well kept equipment. Only negative was the putt-putt course is in need of upkeep.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.