Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 10, 2016
We always enjoy our stay at the Mount Rushmore KOA. Lots of activities for our kids and friendly campers around us. We also had a great campsite allowing my elderly parents to visit since it was flat. Thank you for a great time!
Jul 10, 2016
This resort would be a great destination even if it were not within a few miles of Mt. Rushmore. Their WiFi and cell phone coverage was below par. Their reservation system was not very efficient. Although their system said they had no full hook ups available there were two full hookups empty across from us.
Jul 10, 2016
Was given spot #347. What a rip off. I reserved it for 7 people and discovered on arrival that there would be a $5.50 fee for each person over 2 (so an extra $27.50), meaning that the camping spot with no amenities cost as much as two hotel rooms. The campsite was barely large enough to fit our tents, and it was the side of a hill; all our tents were on a slant. I'll never do KOA again.
Jul 10, 2016
Jul 10, 2016
The friendliest staff for sure! Our family had an excellent experience because of how well kept the grounds were, how many 'things' there were to do and with how accommodating the KOA staff was. We'll be back for sure!
Jul 10, 2016
I was disappointed to say the least in the front desk's ability to put our 3 party group together. We all paid for a rv spot in january so we could be together but no one asked us when reserving a spot to put a $10 dollar deposit down and pick a numbered sight. Ruined our vacation!!! we tried to switch and get closer, but computer illiterate workers couldn't complete or didn't care. Never KOA
Jul 09, 2016
Great place to stay. lots of activities, is clean environment. cabins are nice too.
Jul 09, 2016
Great location and beautiful surroundings! The rental car service was a huge plus for us. Only things we wish we'd known ahead of time: book activities early (i.e. ATVs and trail rides). Also, wifi and phone service is non-existent; doesn't even work well at hotspots. Only thing we'd change! The restaurant and Grapes & Grinds were both welcome options to have onsite!
Jul 09, 2016
We had the BEST stay at your KOA! Everyone on staff was helpful and super wonderful to speak with. Our trip to South Dakota was beyond anything we could have ever dreamed of and your campground had a big part in it. We will recommend this campground to all our family and friends!
Jul 09, 2016
The wifi was not available during our stay. The staff seemed to indicate that it is always unreliable. I understand not having wifi when camping, but don't advertise wifi hotspots on your web site if it is weak or not available.
Jul 09, 2016
Great place to stay, nice location to visit the monuments & attractions! Our shower house by Roosevelt needed updated compares to the other comfort stations.
Jul 09, 2016
We always have enjoyed this KOA and this last time was no exception. Our only complaint was that we were not able to be placed closer to our travelling companions (my brother)although we had booked our stays 4 months ago.
Jul 09, 2016
We had a very difficult experience with renting a car there. They gave us a car that had 200K miles on it from 2003. No radio, squeaky brakes, bad shape. They refused to let us trade it in for one that they originally offered us. They did not care about making us happy. We spent 12 days at the campground, and they did not go out of their way to help. A BIG disappointment
Jul 09, 2016
The resort is very well maintained. The only reason we aren't giving it higher rating is because of the wifi service. We were told there were two hot spot areas on the property. We tried both locations and kept getting a No Service message. Very misleading and in today's world, you should offer wifi.
Jul 09, 2016
This was our first camping experience and it was fantastic. The kids loved it. The only thing I'd change would be to have the cleaning done on the bathrooms at a less popular time. It seemed it was always closed in the mid-morning.
Jul 09, 2016
I would have rated this higher had it not been for the miserable service provided by your rental car concession. The first car had a problem with the door. The second card had ac problems. The third car had a car bra that flapped against the hood and made a constant obnoxious noise. In addition, the car had 120,000 miles, was 13 years old, and they charged $85 per day. Total rip off.
Jul 09, 2016
Great location only miles to Mt Rushmore, beautiful area. Limited tent camping sites. We were originally given a site that was so small there wasn't room for our car and tent. I asked if we could change and they were easy to work with. Bathrooms and showers, but for the tent camping and cabins you are sharing 5 stalls with hundreds of people. Long walk to empty bathrooms by where the RVs park.
Jul 09, 2016
Restrooms too far and not enough of them for the amount of people staying there. The lot was a good size, the pancakes, movie and Indian dancing was a great addition to our time there. Wi-fi throughout grounds would have been nice.
Jul 09, 2016
great facility, great staff, will bring our grandchildren next time.
Jul 09, 2016
Loved it!
Jul 09, 2016
BEST CAMPGROUND we've seen in 4 yrs with our RV. Amazing kid zone, friendly staff and awesome facilities. There is more to do here than you can even imagine. Wish we had booked 4 nights instead of only two. We will return!!!
Jul 09, 2016
Super awesome!! The kids had a bast!
Jul 09, 2016
Restroom cleaning/maintenance poorly timed. Tent site not level
Jul 09, 2016
We stayed in the cabin with the kid's loft. Great space. Loved that the shampoo, lotion, and coffee in the cabin were all organic. This location provides sheets and blankets for you. However, this location does not have great wifi which is a problem if you are a student or need to reach your email for work. They have three wifi locations but they were not great or even good quality.
Jul 09, 2016
Great, family friendly campground
Jul 09, 2016
great pancake breakfast, lots of fun things to do, and friendly staff. Beds in cabin were extremely uncomfortable, and Ponderosa Restaurant was mediocre at best.
Jul 08, 2016
No water pressure, sometimes no water at all. When reported, no one cared or tried to do anything. Cramped space.
Jul 08, 2016
I booked a 30 person reunion here. I expected good service at the price we paid. Instead we had to scavenge for amenities and service like towels, garbage retrieval, and basic amenities I'd expect to receive. Plus, trying to plan the trip was a nightmare because it's a rarity to get people to answer the phones at your facility! This place has potential to shine, but things seemed disjointed.
Jul 08, 2016
We had an amazing time camping here! My boys loved being able to swim, slide, basketball all the activities and Movie night many things for kids to do! We enjoyed our 1st family vaca in mount Rushmore KOA.we loved the horses riding behind our camp! So many things to do and. We'll be back for future vacations! Thank you so much for such a great time
Jul 08, 2016
Put the location aside, this campground is one of the best. The location obviously makes it better. Your activities and their staff, store, facilities were the best. Specifically your activity staff, they were some of the nicest people we have ever met and made my kids feel like family. My kids are at home writing letters to some of them.
Jul 08, 2016
Everything was in great repair and we had an excellent time! Never have found another camp ground with this kind of amenities!
Jul 08, 2016
Loved our stay here! One minor complaint would be the need for a few more showers, and air conditioned bathrooms. Hope to be back again!
Jul 08, 2016
When I made reservations I was not informed that I would be charged $3 a day for my two pets nor was I told that there was a $10 a day resort fee in which we did not use the pool, or any other amenities that the fee was for. The roads could also need some improvement as well. I spent over $400 for 6 nights for a space barely long enough for our trailer and truck to fit in.
Jul 08, 2016
Great campground. Love all the amenities. And who can beat the view, priceless!
Jul 08, 2016
We would have enjoyed our stay more, but unfortunately my wife had been sick.
Jul 08, 2016
It was a good place to stay, given that we didn't know the area. Because of the price, though, we would probably stay somewhere else next time.
Jul 08, 2016
Jul 08, 2016
While a very large campground facility, the staff work hard to keep the grounds clean and in good working order. We stayed over 4th of July weekend and had a great time. The kids loved the pool and slide when we were not out sight-seeing. Our neighbors were courteous and friendly. Sites 409, 410 and 411 are great selections. Away from the crowds, along a creek, and facing a pasture.
Jul 08, 2016
We had a great time. The campgrounds were clean, and accommodated our request to be near a friend that had booked separately. My boys loved the bouncy pillow!
Jul 08, 2016
very nice location; everything was perfect
Jul 08, 2016
Let me start with the fact this is a very well run facility. Clean, well equipped with great staff. Why I cannot give it a higher rating is that for me, it was just too big with too many people and all of the noise, crowding, etc. that comes with this. Quiet hours were not really followed and it was really only ever quiet between 11 PM and 5:30 AM. If this does not matter to you, it's GREAT.
Jul 08, 2016
Tent side was uneven and rocky. Not sure why they would put us there with so many flat grassy sites available. The pictures look great, until you actually want to us the amenities. The WIFI doesn't work unless you are an employee. The rock wall is only open from 2-5pm. I guess that is one way of advertising, without actually having to provide.
Jul 08, 2016
Jul 08, 2016
We had an excellent stay! Our kids loved all the activities!
Jul 08, 2016
Disappointed about the lack of cell reception. Promote you have wifi, but is really non-existant. Sites are extremely tight, barely room to park on your own site. Husband had egg shells in his fried egg from the restaurant. If you like being in the middle of no where, this is a great option. Kids loved seeing the horses and the ice cream was delicious.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for the lack of great connectivity this is why we do not promote our WiFi we actually warn you on our webpage that we are in the mountains and lack the infrastructure for great bandwidth. We hope that your time of being disconnected was relaxing nonetheless.
Jul 08, 2016
The campground states they have free Wi-Fi but out of all the visits I've stayed there, the Internet is either inaccessible or so slow that it won't perform.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for the lack of great connectivity this is why we do not promote our WiFi we actually warn you on our webpage that we are in the mountains and lack the infrastructure for great bandwidth. We hope that your time of being disconnected was relaxing nonetheless.
Jul 07, 2016
Great stay and the staff was eager to help with anything. The only improvement that I would suggest is to get cell phone service available.
Jul 07, 2016
The whole family had a blast and memories were made for a lifetime. The no service spots for WiFi was frustrating but the again we were on vacation
Jul 07, 2016
Love the place the kids had a good time. Already made reservation for next year.
Jul 07, 2016
So much to do...Staff very friendly. Very convenient to surrounding excursions. Grounds and bathrooms well taken care of. Overall great stay.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals