Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 13, 2014
didnt get type of sight that i requsted or that i have had in past was dissapointed sight was to small for my truck and trailer
Aug 13, 2014
Everything was fine but our site was a little to small for our trailer and we had a lot of moud after rain. The service was excellent !
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
One of the best campgrounds out there.
Aug 13, 2014
Wonderful campground, great amenities. The parking sites would be wonderful if they were paved vs gravel.
Aug 13, 2014
Had a great trip! The pools were a hit with my teen boys and the wine tasting was a nice touch, too! Our campsite was clean and daily trash pick up was a very nice addition! We will be back next year for sure!
Aug 13, 2014
Stay as always for past 6 years was great except for incident in retail store regarding faulty propane cans. Associates made me feel terrible about returning 2nd can that was faulty. Staff made me feel so bad it ruined my day! Ironically, did not want to leave my motor home! I have worked in Exec Office @ Saks Fifth Avenue for 25 years and have never felt so bad...
Aug 13, 2014
Very clean and quiet. Staff was soooo helpful and friendly
Aug 13, 2014
Great facilities. Even with all the motorcycles it was a good place to get some sleep.
Aug 13, 2014
The bathrooms closest to our cabin were not nice. Bugs everywhere and not very clean. Our cabin had settled and there was a large gap between the wall and the floor leading outside. Easy access for all kinds of critters. Overall the KOA was nice. I will return but in a trailer. Cabins were not worth it and I prefer not to use the bathrooms.
Aug 13, 2014
This is a huge park and it was very busy because of Sturgis bike week. Everything went smoothly with check-in. The laundry was clean. But internet connectivity was poor.
Aug 13, 2014
Campers were WAY to close together. Unable to have a camp fire without melting the neighbors camper. Neighbors sewer pipe was a foot from our door step!!! We were unable to play any camping games due to the size of the spot. It's all about the $$$...they try to fit as many as they can in such a small area to make more money. For the price we paid per night we should have been able to have a fire.
Aug 13, 2014
Best part of this place is its staff! Caring, eager-to-assist young staff!
Aug 13, 2014
Where we were put was extremely noisy. We had to park our truck in the grass which took away from our outside space. There was no easy way to get to the restrooms without going thru someone's space. Could not stay connected to WI-FI. We were charged a resort fee for things we would not use. We were not told there was a motorcycle rally in the area when we made reservations.
Aug 13, 2014
This was a bad time to visit Mt. Rushmore. We made our reservations by phone but were not told of a MAJOR motorcycle convention nor that we would listen to rumbling bikes from 6 a.m. to midnight. A great disappointment for a family from Texas to see a National Monument and had to put up with all the motorcycle madness. We left a day early and could not get back any of our reservation money
Aug 13, 2014
We had a great time at this camp. It was like a mini town. Kids had a great time at the shops. Staff we're very friendly. Pancakes were delicious.
Aug 13, 2014
Everything was great.
Aug 13, 2014
The most expensive KOA we have ever stayed at. We were stuck in site 610. Basically a mud puddle with a leaky faucet, a broken picnic table, no trees, neighbor right on top of us and our sewer hook up under our neighbor's picnic table with a broken cap. Beautiful sites up the hill went unoccupied. $71 per night. You can certainly tell this KOA is corporate owned.
Aug 12, 2014
the place has deteriorated beyond compare. Five years ago it was the best KOA in existence. Now it doesn't even have the basics like internet and phone service.
Aug 12, 2014
Sturgis Bike Rally an annual event for us. Always stay here, in same site each year. Love it!
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Awsome place. Our 5 time here and plan to return
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
The staff was rude and unhelpfull and they just put us in a random spot instead of the spots my family reserved beside each other
Aug 12, 2014
Great place for families, just older adults, not so much, You pay alot more for things you dont use, Plus a lot of the spots are not really good and seem crowded. Mainly the hill area. people were great there.
Aug 12, 2014
Stay was fantastic. Perfect location for the rides we wanted to take while there. We have already booked same location for next year. Lana and Jim Barnett were both extremely helpful the whole time we were there. Having a bike wash was really excellent for us as we did ride thru some muddy locations. Also, the pancake breakfasts were excellent as well, as well as the camp store. Michael Pierc
Aug 12, 2014
Had a great time at this koa, the only thing that i wish they could improve is wifi in the far side of the camp site.
Aug 12, 2014
This is the best KOA we have ever stayed at - the best campground even! Everything was great, staff were friendly, my kids had so much fun. Great location to top it off, will definitely be back!!
Aug 12, 2014
We made reservations a couple months in advance because of the Rally going on. Our site assigned to us was on the end and adjacent to the roadway with heavy traffic. We requested a site change and the girl graciously obliged. Our new site was in the trees and had nice views. I know it was Sturgis, but it would be nice if there were more bathroom stalls.
Aug 12, 2014
My kids and I had an exceptional stay. There was so much to do at the campground and close by. Everything was clean and the staff was friendly. I have recommended this to all of my friends. We will definitely be back. THANK YOU!! Sandra Kappes & Kids.
Aug 12, 2014
Great Place. Some improvements needed. The water slide pool needs to be cleand. It is green. The evening shift at concierge needs follow through with ATV reservations. I booked Saturday afternoon for a Sunday 8:30am rental. Not enough characters to explain
Aug 12, 2014
The best KOA ever, many things for the family to do.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
we enjoyed our stay and it was really nice, but we were disappointed in the size of the site for the $76.00 we paid. We have a 38 ft. Coachman and we didn't a lot of extra space at all. It was a very family friendly KOA and had a lot for the kids to do.
Aug 12, 2014
we really enjoy our stay this is a place that I recommended to all my friends and family very friendly people safe and family oriented
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Small campsite, with no trees around, it was a tent only site. Had to clean up the dog poop before we could pitch the tent. Noisey--people did not honor the 10 pm quiet time, especially the RVers. Bathrooms and showers very, very clean. Would stay again, but would request certain campsites we noted that had shade. Yes I would recommend this KOA.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Loved this place and would have gave it 5 stars but we stayed in a Kabin and they were about $20 more than other koa's. The amenities were great and all at no cost... Mini golf, water slide, kayaks, paddle boat, pool, playground, water park area, programs for the kids all day and a movie at night! We'd come back, really clean, on sight dining, nice staff. Thanks
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
No privacy- site was near stables terrible smell of urine-loud campers with bad language late into the night- 56.00 too high
Aug 11, 2014
Everything at this KOA camp was excellent for our stay. Thank you and we will be back next year.
Aug 11, 2014
We have been coming to your campgrounds for over 25 years. And most recently we have stayed with you the past 11 years during the Black Hills Motorcycle Rally. We always enjoy the quiet atmosphere, friendly staff, and the clean facilities. We also like the idea of having a selection of places to eat right at the campgrounds. We truly enjoy and look forward to returning each year. Thank You!
Aug 11, 2014
WiFi service needs improvement. Pappa's Pancake breakfast and the Ponderosa Restaurant are two of the assets that keep us wanting to stay at the Mount Rushmore KOA near Hill City, SD.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
We were there 9 days and could only get on your wifi twice. The showers were filthy.
Aug 11, 2014
Beautiful facility that is well managed however we selected this site as your web site says wifi is available. I am a business owner and have to stay connected and I was in this campground 9 days and 8 nights and was able to get connected once and then got kicked off after a few minutes. Cell service is hit and miss so it was a very trying week had to drive to Hlll City to check email
Aug 11, 2014
I would have rated 5 stars except for internet access non existent. even the internet cafe was offline during my weeks stay.this has been issue for years,it can be resolved if KOA just resolved to do it.
Aug 11, 2014
Fabulous campground!!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.