Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 10, 2015
We had a great trip. The KOA was fun, convenient, and beautiful.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Difficult navigating roads, especially in the dark. Roads in bad condition, expected paved roads to the sites. Staff was amazing, great to work with and to provide great area information.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Not nearly enough bathrooms for the amount of people. Our narrow campsite had little grass - and a large water tank.
Aug 10, 2015
Had a great time. Nice place
Aug 10, 2015
The tent site was extremely comfortable and the area was beautiful, staff was attentive and the ammenities were very well maintained and clean.
Aug 10, 2015
Our stay was very pleasant and there was always something to do. Its something we would like to do possibly again in another area eventually.
Aug 09, 2015
The issues that I have is the Very poor wireless Both Internet and cell... I have to do business while there every year and had to drive to Hill city to do my business taking away from time enjoying the resort and riding the Ralley. I have stayed with you at Palmer Gulch since 2002. Worst witless seen. Made me think about moving to different camp. Staff was fantastic but 1young male supervisor. Ru
Aug 09, 2015
The site was a bit wet but that was weather issues We also had no water 1 morning but again because of weather the water was dirty and probably plugged filters But it was resolved right away Campground overall very tidy great location and lots to do
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
It was excellent and we are going to come back next year. It will be our 10th year in a row. Thank you all at the Camp for making it an enjoyable stay.
Aug 09, 2015
Great campground store prices through the roof. Would recommend make sure you don't forget anything. Restrooms was not very well maintain was mud and hair left over a week.
Aug 09, 2015
It was incredible everything there was clean and very well maintained thanks for a wonderful week we will be back.
Aug 09, 2015
We loved it! So much to do especially for a family. We were there for the 75th Anniversary for Sturgis, but will stay again if we are in the area.
Aug 09, 2015
Had a great time. We were there ten years ago, this was our second time.Cant be better!
Aug 09, 2015
Poor rating due to the fact that we made reservations 10 months in advance to be told we cannot have the site we requested. The resort was very understaffed and not at all prepared for the busy week. We were very disappointed and will not return to this location.
Aug 09, 2015
Our campsite was so rocky and uneven it was difficult to walk without tripping. It rained and it became a mud pit. There was NO wifi even though you advertise an Internet cafe on the grounds. Ok campground for children and that's it. For the amount we were charged, it would have covered the cost of a hotel and we could have parked the RV in their parking lot!
Aug 09, 2015
Always a great stay. Already planning next yrs vacation there and bringing a group! Thanks for all you do to make Mt Rushmore KOA the best!
Aug 09, 2015
Professional staff, relaxing, and clean. So beautiful and serene.
Aug 09, 2015
Very Nice, we had a great time, i was in K451, Sara at the Bar was so nice to us, she is star employee. one thing comes to mind, there are more showers, toilet stalls at the lower building where the motorhome are?. building where tents and camping cabins are (where they are needed more have less) water has a strange color to it? But all in all we had a blast!! Pappy Paancakes are awesome!!!!!
Aug 09, 2015
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Showers and restrooms are clean and nice. Tent sites are a little small compared to what their site says.
Aug 09, 2015
It was a great campground. Very helpful staffs. Definitely would stay and recommend.
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Long delays at check in. RV site was unsuitable for our size of 5th wheel. Very unlevel - almost impossible to step into RV. Sites crowded. People and RV/truck traffic encroaching on site. Chaotic KOA. Signs to KOA not sufficient when travelling from East.
Aug 09, 2015
Centrally located to everything. Friendly staff. They have everything for sale that you will forget when you leave home. And on site restaurants , entertainment, dog walking area, conveniently placed restrooms. They got it all there, man. Cabins to rent, spaces for trailers, or tents (mine). Very memorable. I am sure there so much more and I didn't see it.
Aug 09, 2015
Beautiful place!
Aug 09, 2015
We had a wonderful time at the Rushmore KOA! Staff members were very helpful in meeting our needs. The facilities were clean and kept up.
Aug 09, 2015
no phone service,was not told in advance, no wifi,no cable ,was not told in advance my next call Monday morning will be to koa ceo
Aug 08, 2015
You need to do something about the WiFi no WiFi or phone service It would be nice to have one or the other @ least. We checked out some other Camp Grounds while we were there and they all had phone service and WiFi!! Don't think we will be staying @ Pulmer gulch KOA again!!
Aug 08, 2015
asked to use our reward points upon/before registration but were told we couldn't . the points were not honored, then when we persisted were told it would be a huge ordeal to go back, refund and start over, We felt they just did not want to do it, we would use them elsewhere. While at camp we were accosted by a group of con men, we reported this to the office, otherwise a good stay.
Aug 08, 2015
Internet is not very good, no cable for tv, and only 1 hot shower out of 6. Staff was very pleasant and kind.
Aug 08, 2015
Me and my wife have been coming here for years we love this place being at a great campground with it has to offer that's why we come back thank you for making our stay here always a great one
Aug 08, 2015
The campground is in a great location for all of the tourist sites. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The shuttle to the lighting was very convenient. One of the best we've been to in our travels!!
Aug 08, 2015
Palmer Gulch KOA was in the center of all the sites around Mt. Rushmore. Facilities were clean, adding to the comfort and experience for camping with my family.
Aug 08, 2015
X
Aug 08, 2015
This KOA was touted as a premier destination. We were pleased with the facilities for kids, but the restrooms were filthy (we tried many buildings at various times), the wifi did not work (not even at the registration building), and the upper section has very uneven sites (we did move to a better one). As with many KOAs, location is a determining factor as to whether it is a good destination.
Aug 08, 2015
Aug 08, 2015
Aug 08, 2015
The bathrooms where very nice. The campground area I was in was hard to find a flat spot. Made it work though.
Aug 08, 2015
This was such a beautiful campground with great amenities for the kids and adults. The staff was friendly, the campground was very clean.
Aug 08, 2015
AMAZING LOCATION!! We could have stayed another week!! So much for the kids to do. Clean, friendly, accommodating, perfect.
Aug 08, 2015
The campground does offer a great deal of activities for families. This is wonderful if you plan to spend most of your time on the grounds. Vey disappointed in the bathroom facilities. Not enough bathrooms in the areas and not very updated.
Aug 08, 2015
The summer shine or what ever the groups name that helps run the kids area, were fantastic. I enjoyed singing worship songs around the campfire. Everyone we ran into was super nice and helpful. Great time! Could us a few more tables with umbrellas in the pool area, and more tables in the shade by the chess/checker, and volleyball area though.
Aug 08, 2015
Great for kids. Playgrounds are wonderful. Very nice shops on site.
Aug 08, 2015
Great
Aug 08, 2015
We reserved a tent site and we're given a place barely large enough for my tent and car to sit on the same gravel drive. The surrounding RVs were so densely packed it seemed obviously double booked. The restrooms at station 4 were filthy (feces stained toilet paper on the floor and one shower where someone had emptied their bowels) my son reported it and no one fixed till the next day
Aug 08, 2015
Nice amenities but the water was dark brown and scary to bath in. Also, the WiFi was too hard to connect to.
Aug 08, 2015
Even in the middle of the 75th Sturgis rally the people and service at this KOA was top notch. It was sold out but you didn't feel crowded. Be prepared for no cell service or wifi (they have it but very little access). Plenty of things to do for kids and adults alike.
Aug 08, 2015
This our favorate place to stay. Our RV is parked so we have switched over to the Deluxe Kabins.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.