Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 18, 2013
Our family had a great vacation and will tell everyone about you!
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Many items
Aug 18, 2013
Amazing activities and beautiful scenery, and the kids never had time to be bored. Best campground and staff I've ever seen. The only downside was the rain and the flys were pretty bad.
Aug 18, 2013
This was our first time to rent an RV and we absolutely loved the KOA campground. The people were great and the location was the best!
Aug 18, 2013
Another enjoyable visit. Thanks!
Aug 18, 2013
Everything was outstanding at this campground....except for the washrooms. They were very disappointing. Loved all the amenities. We will definitely be back sometime.
Aug 18, 2013
There are plenty of activities for campers to do, especially the kids. And the all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast is a big plus!
Aug 18, 2013
Managers were a little stressed out when we asked questions about cable tv. Wonderful koa going to send our family to stay in cabin.
Aug 18, 2013
Nicely located to near by attractions. And offered a lot of different activities. Irated poorly because your seriously right next to your neighbor!we barely had room to fit our tent. The bathrooms are far away! With little ones it really sucked. We had neighbors come in the middle of the night multiple times and wake us up. The koa didn't give us our 4th night free when it said it on the web
Aug 18, 2013
big campground with lots to do. Always clean an staff was awesome! Not any problems.
Aug 18, 2013
Our greatest complaint is that the kids were having too much fun to leave the campground to sightsee. Wonderful time! We have 6 kids and there was something to keep them all entertained. Great location.
Aug 18, 2013
The campground is awesome enjoyed our stay except for the evening storms that rolled through but that is nature which we have no control over. Thanks for the hospitality. Lloyd R.
Aug 18, 2013
There was not enought bathrooms for the number of people at the campground. The pool closest to the front desk was disgusting. The showers/bathrooms had no ventilation so it was very uncomfortable to bath and take care of personal business. Didn't get that loving care feeling like I do at other KOA's.
Aug 18, 2013
This was by far the most elaborate KOA we have stayed at. Unfortunately, the pool water was extremely dirty & chemically off-ballanced, which was obvious by the garbage, insects & debris, as well as the greenish color to the water. The bathrooms were filthy & the programs shown on the brochures were not regularly offered to guests. Asside from this, the park was gigantic.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
My actual stay was 3-11 August 2013. I have been staying with you since the 1970's to present. I have watched the camp ground grow to what it is today. I love staying here, but the prices keep sneeking up. The 10.00 per night fee for all the kids stuff is not real fair to those of us who do not use those amenities. At the cost we are paying we could stay at a hotel. I love my Mt Rushmore KOA!
Aug 18, 2013
Other than the hale storm that damaged our RV, the stay was very entertaining. No worries about the RV damage, we know you can't control the weather, we have never seen ping-pong sized hale before, so we got to add it to our bucket list! That said, I do want to inform you that the water pressure and temp in the rear showers was marginal at best. WORST shower I've ever taken at any KOA facility!
Aug 18, 2013
Beautiful location , nice folks , marginal bathroom cleanliness , would really like to see an I90 exit to take in the KOA book .
Aug 18, 2013
Very expensive. Lots to do with kids but if you don't have any you pay a lot for a so so site
Aug 17, 2013
Restroom always dirty the site where i get set up was always muddy told Mr Allen and did nothing i asked for gravel but nothing was done i m very disapointed whith the service
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
The drive up in the mountains was very nice, however when we got there we found that the washrooms were dirty some showers were missing door handles on the doors and the KOA staff drove to fast for a campground, they did not even move to the side when walking down the road. I would try a different KOA next time in the area.
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
We loved the option to stay in a camping cabin. The campground is incredible with so many activities available, as well as shops. Definitely a place we will come back to.
Aug 17, 2013
This camp ground sounded fun but further inspection proved otherwise. The grounds were poorly kept (dirty restrooms, moss growing in the pool, hot tub and play areas) when we arrived our tent site fire pit was full of garbage. Over heard several complaints from other campers including a gentlemen that had an emergency and needed to get to the hospital and was told by workers that they were busy.
Aug 17, 2013
Very enjoyable and centrally located for a lot of the attractions. Very family friendly.
Aug 17, 2013
I was impressed with the cleanliness, comfort and fun accessibility of all the facilities! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Loved it and will definitely stay again when in the area and recommend it to my friends.
Aug 16, 2013
Your campground needs improvements in several areas. Mostly, social networking and also news/TV reception. There is no reason that both cannot be adequately achieved. The other is your maintenance on shower/toilet facilities. When doors won't shut and stools don't flush, it is inexcusable.
Aug 16, 2013
This is a huge campground. On the plus, there was a lot to do right at the campground. We really appreciated the kids programs. On the minus, we reserved online if Feb. but were given a less than desirabe site. Our major complaint was the showers. There was black mold growing on the doorframes and shower curtian. Many showers had grout missing. Hairballs were not cleaned the 4 days we were there.
Aug 16, 2013
Huge place! Great customer service. Enjoyed our stay.
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
i have been coming to koa palmer gulch for many years and i love it:) i would and will recommend this koa to family and friends. it is an awesome campground
Aug 16, 2013
très beau terrain de camping, par contre, l'entretien ménager des toilettes et douches étaient négligés. Nous séjournons dans plusieurs KOA et s'est le premier avec des lacunes sur le ménage/salubrité des salles de toilettes et douches. difficultés également avec la captation du réseau cellulaire et internet.
Aug 16, 2013
We loved the camp ground but the only problem we had was when we arrived at night in the camp ground, we checked in and asked for someone to take us to our site the young girl behind the counter asked the young men and he said no, she said oh its real easy to find. Well we ended up lost and having to call the help line, a security man came and helped us to our site. Our stay was great.
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
Great campground for families with kids. Bathrooms need a deep cleaning. Expensive if you just want a place to park a trailer
Aug 16, 2013
Wonderful See you next Year
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
We decided to stay at a KOA because we knew KOA had high standards. The campground and it's landscaping is excellent. But the bathrooms were unacceptable. The showers were filthy with trash, hair and filth and did not have hot water. Two of the five toilets remained clogged. I was shocked at the low standard of the bathrooms. We would never return.
Aug 16, 2013
Kids were upset when we had to leave campground to see Mount Rushmore! Amenities were fantastic.
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
If you have kids its great,Also several mean dogs there.something that I don t like.
Aug 16, 2013
No Internet service Although when making reservations The staff said there was good Internet service With high speed broadband Stop advertising you have Internet service when you do not.
Aug 16, 2013
It couldn't have been better. Thank you!
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Staff very friendly lovely place to stay! A+++++
Aug 15, 2013
Because our children are grown, the one anninity that we would really appreciate is wifi. We have had at least limited service in the past; this year it was nonexistent ! You need improved Internet service; it's the way of the world
Aug 15, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.