Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2016
This was, by far, our favorite campground on our Rushmore trip. As an IT administrator, by trade, I would have appreciated better/working Wi-Fi. It's within an hour of everything we wanted to do and had plenty to offer, when we didn't want to go out. The sites were a bit cramped, but otherwise a fantastic site. We would definitely recommend to others.
Aug 01, 2016
So fun for the kids!
Aug 01, 2016
Had a great time....
Aug 01, 2016
So much to do at this KOA! Best for RVs, tent sites were limited! Our tent was in a lane of RVS - very noisy!
Aug 01, 2016
Filty bathrooms and campsite covered with dog poop. Had to park on hill.Not sewer hookup even at 89 a night People gave 11 refund for our unhappiness Just wanted clean.
Aug 01, 2016
Loved it! Beautiful location in the Black Hills! After a day of sightseeing it was nice to come back and unwind, enjoy the scenery, have some ice cream, so much to do right there. Definitely coming back and bring the grandkids!!!
Aug 01, 2016
Was a great time with my family, lots of activities for children. only down side the wait for pancakes took about an hour to get in.
Aug 01, 2016
Only there one night but wish it had been many more. Look forward to returning in the future.
Aug 01, 2016
We love this place!!!
Aug 01, 2016
Great staff, tons of amenities for all ages. Had an amazing time with the family.
Aug 01, 2016
Campsites are packed ridiculously close together. Showers and bathrooms were filthy. Way too many people, it was like camping downtown. Not my favorite KOA by any means.
Aug 01, 2016
This place is fantastic!!! My family loved everything about this campground. There is so much to do. The only thing that I did not care for is the wifi we happened to be there when it was rain on and off and it was impossible to plan ahead due to the fact that the wifi was terrible and we could not get radar on our phones. Clean, staff so friendly and helpful. Location excellent!
Aug 01, 2016
Bathroom and shower facilities were small and dirty constantly.
Aug 01, 2016
GREAT resort- would recommend it to ANY camper!
Aug 01, 2016
Very friendly staff, beautiful campgrounds, very clean. Arriving late wasn't an issue, someone was there to take us to our site which we really appreciated.
Aug 01, 2016
This was an amazing facility with every amenity we could have asked for. Location was great. DO NOT expect to be able to communicate with the outside world. Verizon and most other carriers do not cover the area. AT&T has very weak 3g coverage (T-mobile can use it too) but the connection drops out constantly. Campground wi-fi is a single satellite connection for all guests so DO NOT plan to use it.
Aug 01, 2016
Fun great people
Aug 01, 2016
Was clean and people were helpful. Very busy and hard to call anyone for help - hold lines were 30 min plus
Aug 01, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
Excellent
Aug 01, 2016
False advertising by KOA by stating they have WIFI. When I asked the manager how I could get access he stated you probably won't! I asked why he said they only allow 250 devices are allowed access and they have ~500 campsite. Also there is no cell service to provide your own wifi access. KOA is falsely advertising!!!
Aug 01, 2016
We had a lot of fun! The kids loved the water slide and just a over all great stay! Definitely worth the money!!
Aug 01, 2016
This KOA is fantastic for families. This is our fifth time back and we will return again. From horseback riding to a restaurant and an ice-cream shop plus a water-slide to a rock climbing wall, there is something for everyone. The Wifi is non-existent but bathrooms/showers are exceptional and service is great.
Aug 01, 2016
This KOA is so kid friendly. Little ones always have something fun to do. From swimming to the big jumping pad to out door MOVIES!! My boys by love mini Golf!!! There are also Adult activities scheduled during the evening when the kids have an activity for them to attend! Awesome
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
Was here for a family reunion. No way of communicating with others as well we're spread so apart.
Jul 31, 2016
Everything was great except the restroom/showers were not clean.
Jul 31, 2016
Cabin was great overall, but had limited utensils - cabin for 8, but only 3-4 spoons?? Black dog hair was on floor and heat registers - that was unpleasant. Would totally recommend this KOA still. Lots of great kids activities - friendly staff.
Jul 31, 2016
Great facility! The kids had a great time and the fire pit area in each site was awesome! Plus the accommodated us by putting us next to our travel buddies! Perfect stay!
Jul 31, 2016
Concrete patio was cracked and standing water after rain events, better drainage in some locations needed.
Jul 31, 2016
Biggest KOA we stayed at on our USA tour. Just to many people crowded together for our taste. Never used the pools (kids). Laundry was the best of all our KOA's.
Jul 31, 2016
We loved it. the place was awesome!
Jul 31, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
KOA was nice- we enjoyed the extra's it had to offer (wall climbing, bingo, magic show). Excellent view from our campsite. shower facilities were nice/clean; however shower floors were slippery, dangerous w/ minimal h2o pressure- not young child friendly AT ALL, bathing a 2 year old was nearly impossible... Customer service/staff was rude and not helpful, disappointed w/this! Needs attn!
Jul 31, 2016
Toller Platz, sehr nettes Team! Leider schlechtes WiFi.
Jul 31, 2016
We had a wonderful time! My kids loved all the amenities, swimming, water slide, bikes, rock climbing, gem mining, ice cream at Turtle Town, horseback riding. There were endless possibilities of things to do. The scenery was beautiful too!
Jul 31, 2016
Everything was nice about the campground except the showers. Quite possibly the dirtiest, most disgusting showers we have ever had. Every door we opened was more disgusting than the next, i.e.. Bloody towels laying on the floor. Staff was fine. The pool, water slide and mini golf all nice.
Jul 31, 2016
Nice friendly place to stay. You can go and do your sight seeing and come back an relax in hot tub,pool. Has something for everyone young and old.
Jul 31, 2016
We stayed in a large cabin, comfortable for 8 people. It was clean, however our toilet ran all night and we had yellow water during our stay that we could not drink The girl that checked us in, Sarah, was less then enthusiastic, gave us no information or details about the place unless we asked. She had no personality what so ever The ice cream store served freezer burned ice cream that was $5
Jul 31, 2016
Campground is great, however they along with other KOA sites have a tendency to mess up reservations and do nothing to accomadate. The Ponderosa Restaurant at this site is a joke at best... ask for a grilled cheese and you will see :)
Jul 31, 2016
Solid Internet connection is needed and should be available for the cost of the sites.
Jul 31, 2016
Plenty of amenities. Pretty tight quarters for some campers. We had a fairly large sight with 3 big holes to either fill with water in the rain or twist an ankle while walking. The bathrooms and showers were not very well kept. Stall doors were grungy and no one cleaned around the backside of the faucets. It was busy enough that the bathrooms/showers needed complete cleaning more than once a day.
Jul 31, 2016
Great activities for the kids! The showers were a little dirty, but otherwise we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 31, 2016
While I realize you try to accommodate as many people as possible the tent sites suffer from it greatly. I was so tight in site 433 that the user in 432 parked on one of my tent stakes.
Jul 31, 2016
This place has it all. Horses, Chuck wagon dinner, pools. We loved the pancake tent. Our tent site was beautiful, quiet at night. Definitely would stay again.
Jul 31, 2016
Over the top good for activities and for camp spots - Under the top poor for camp spots - just a tight parking lot
Jul 31, 2016
A little hard to find, better signage would be an asset.
Jul 31, 2016
This is so over priced. We got there and checked in and were told there was some water at the site but it would dry up soon. It never dried up and after some rain our camper was surrounded by water.They did give me another site after talking to management.I have stayed at many KOA's and this was the WORST. They need more drainage and better planning for rain. Contact me for more info
Jul 31, 2016
Great amenities and service. Love the location and the views.
Jul 30, 2016
What a fun campground. We stayed with our grandsons and they had so much fun with all the activities in the fun zone. We appreciated having a fire ring for preparing s'mores!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals