Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 29, 2014
This is truly the Rolls Royce of KOA campgrounds. The staff, including the GM, Mike, are so engaging and helpful. Their GM is always chatting with guests as he is doing all he needs to do. This is a destination campground, not just a one night stay. There is so much for children to do. The facilities are extremely clean and they even recycle. Kudos for that.
Jun 29, 2014
Our stay was very nice. As two adults with no children, we didn't use any of the extra facilities but we did find the location very good for our visit to Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park. It would have been nice to have had Cable TV. One suggestion, all KOA's should have a much better recycling program, i.e., paper, all plastics and all glass.
Jun 28, 2014
I love the location of this KOA, can not beat it. I do love the small shops on site to. I do have to say the camp ground bathroom and showers are filthy. One of the stalls in the men bathroom and feces on the floor for the whole 7 days we were their, that's just wrong and many of the showers and laundry equipment was out of service our entire stay. The cabin we rented had a dirty sock on the bed.
Jun 28, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
The site is nice and close to Mount Rushmore. However, it is a busy site. Great if you have children, not quite as relaxing people without would like. Also, they have new showers that are like Saunas! No venting or any type of air movement. This is the reason I am giving this site a 4 and not a 5. The wood doors on the shower stalls are swollen and very difficult to close.
Jun 28, 2014
Deluxe cabin was perfect. Campground well kept and friendly. So much to do! Favorite part was the horse back riding available right on site!
Jun 28, 2014
The campground is well maintained. All the workers are very friendly and helpful. There is so much to do on the campground, you don't even need to leave. We traveled with 2 12 year old grandsons who stayed busy and had so much fun. Thank you for a wonderful week.
Jun 28, 2014
The campground is amazing. Close to all the attractions in the area. There is a lot to do while staying and we were never bored.
Jun 28, 2014
Tent sites very close
Jun 28, 2014
Great facilities and staff.
Jun 28, 2014
I had a great stay at the KOA Mt. Rushmore. The facilities were excellent and very kid friendly. The staff was also excellent and very helpful!
Jun 28, 2014
We loved the campground and the area. I would have given a better rating but the campground was understaffed badly with restrooms and garbage pickup not taken care of on schedule, the pool closed early and opened late and one fairly rude female concierge. But, the positives outweighed the negatives.
Jun 28, 2014
Wonderful staff, especially the maintenance crew. Everyone was very helpful when we had to extend our stay 4 days because of a broken 5th wheel hitch and landing gear. Our grandkids had a blast and the pancake breakfast was a hit. The only negative was the lack of cell service; which would have really helped when we were working on our hitch repairs.
Jun 28, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
WOW WOW WOW. A very well run operation. The staff was great and friendly and the tent sites were clean and well separated. We loved it!!!!
Jun 28, 2014
Great employees. Need more showers and fix clothes dryers not working.
Jun 28, 2014
NEVER STAY HERE. After staying here I'm ready to cancel my KOA membership
Jun 28, 2014
We thought your campground was beautiful and offered all the amenities except the dog park needed attention. It was run down!
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
This KOA was great. Something for every member of the family. The free pancakes were amazing!
Jun 27, 2014
Awesome campground lots of amenities. Would definitely recommend
Jun 27, 2014
Beautiful campgrounds! Bathrooms were very clean and well maintained. We had a tent campsite and it was rather small. It was one on the end and it was small for what we paid, but the campground amenities were very nice.
Jun 27, 2014
So much fun for the kids.
Jun 27, 2014
Awesom sites
Jun 27, 2014
They have to get a couple of things fixed. We come to relax and get away but require working internet service to check in with family, work, etc. During our 5-day stay they had ZERO service. We went to their so-called "hot spots" and even their little 2-station internet cafe- BASICALLY NO SERVICE. Kids activities were way off this year- jumping pillow was broke down, foam pool was a bust.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
Reservation was mixed up in office and lots of mud in some RV spots. Other than that the facility was great and much enjoyed by our kids. We would surely come back. Thanks!
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
We had a great time. There was quite a bit of things for the kids to do. Nice, clean campsite and facilities.
Jun 27, 2014
The advertised activities that we wanted to do (fire engine ride and chuck wagon dinner) were not available on the day we stayed. So check to see if things you want to do are available for your date(s) of stay.
Jun 27, 2014
Staff were reasonable and fulfilled my special request. the kamping kabins could have been cleaner. Many extras for the family and close enough to be a base camp I did stay one extra day
Jun 27, 2014
Stayed here in a fifth wheel, awesome park, much more than we expected!
Jun 27, 2014
I was very happy with the staff and the way I was received when I arrived . the campground was clean and presentable. Problably could use a better WIFI ssyste.
Jun 27, 2014
If you are traveling with kids you will love this KOA. If you like to socialize you will love this KOA. This park has everything including horseback riding.
Jun 27, 2014
Great place if you want to be isolated from the world, lots of entertainment and things for kids, wifi is weak and only a few sites get cable, but great location for Rushmore and Crazy Horse, forget cell phone reception, so it is great for families, can spend some quality time, Margie is an angel, really sweet lady, and Assistant Mgr Brent I believe, good man, friendly and helpful
Jun 27, 2014
We were put in a site made for a camp trailer (we are a 40' diesel pusher) even the escort knew we were too big for the site but we were not allowed to move. when my wife inquired at the desk if they knew the coordinates for direct TV she was told it was her responsibility to know that. it is my opinion that thisark in more interested in filling sites than caring for people already there.
Jun 27, 2014
Great campground for kids. We very much enjoyed our stay there. Will be back again sometime.
Jun 27, 2014
Everyone was so very helpful! Would be terrific to bring kids for vacation with all ever activities available. However, the lack of wii fi was a Huge negative. We had no way to contact our families as even cell service was hit and miss, also. We were told at the desk this was a long term problem. No service for us would be a reason we would not stay here again.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
The campground was not to my liking, just personal. the staff was fantastic. Everything runs like clock work and I know the families that stayed there had a wonderful time. NG
Jun 27, 2014
Had a problem with the original site I was assigned. Staff found me a new site with no problem even though they were full. Great facility. Tons of things to do and very friendly staff.
Jun 26, 2014
This campground has virtually NO wireless internet service although they advertise that it is available. I missed an important meeting since there is no cell phone service either. Full hookups does not include cable. Other than those issues the campground was good.
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
This KOA is a destination point. We loved our Deluxe cabin. Customer service is inconsistent (there are several employees that are outstanding such as the young lady who checked us in on 6/22. When we arrived there was no grill, the supervisor looked at me like I had missed seeing it and informed me that it had to be "there". Instead of apologizing and investigating.
Jun 26, 2014
It was great!
Jun 26, 2014
AWESOME campground. The kids had a great time. Everyone was very friendly. This is THE place to stay in the Mount Rushmore area.
Jun 26, 2014
it is expensive, however we knew that. Great for kids(we have none). Everyone very focused on great customer service. Very friendly welcoming staff
Jun 26, 2014
This is a wonderful campground. It is very clean, with modern shower houses and they respect the quiet times. Loved all the activities. There is only one thing they need to improve and that would be the wireless internet. We were there in a GIANT hail storm and had no idea -no storm warnings at all due to no wifi and no cell service out there. Otherwise this is the best KOA in South Dakota!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.