Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Super place for kids! Amazing amount of things to do! Beautiful area! Mt. Rushmore is a bucket list place....KOA a fun place to stay while accomplishing!
Jul 02, 2014
Lots of activities for the kids, clean and friendly . Planning our next trip soon!
Jul 02, 2014
Great please to stay, wish we could have spent more time there. Will go back for sure.
Jul 02, 2014
Only complaint was the staff driving too fast throughout the grounds. Several examples were seen in our four days, including two kids on bikes being cutoff by a golf cart while other guest vehicles were waiting for the kids to clear the intersection.
Jul 02, 2014
Fun activities for kids, good customer service, amenities and good price.
Jul 02, 2014
Bathroom was always dirty and in disrepair. There is no excuse for no hooks or shelves in shower (poor/lazy maintenance). I was clearly overcharged on bill but it took three meetings to get it straightened out. Tent campers placed 10 feet in front of our camping cabin even though many other options were available. This campground has gone way downhill (10 stays in 13 years).
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
The best KOA in the nation, without a doubt.
Jul 02, 2014
Great amenities and clean bathrooms were terrific.
Jul 02, 2014
Great time, great scenery! Plenty to do no matter the size of the family. Wish the tent sites would have been sectioned a little better. It would have also be nice to have a pad for the tents, since it was so wet.
Jul 02, 2014
Absolutely the best KOA we have ever stayed at. The only negative was the poor wifi which may be due to the location ,
Jul 02, 2014
This is a very large KOA with lots of families, but still very quiet, staff always had a smile, very helpful. Many activities, we loved our stay. Close to many tourist attractions.
Jul 02, 2014
This campground has lots of fun activities for kids. We stayed in a camping cabin. Very disappointed in the cleanliness. Cabin was dirty. I swept the floor and we couldn't believe how much dirt there was from the previous campers. Bathrooms and showers were disgusting. They need a serious deep cleaning. Pizza place was great! Splash pad and playgrounds were hits with my kids.
Jul 02, 2014
Good amenities and kids activities. Our spot was noisy, dusty, small, worst we've had in 30 yrs of camping. 10 year old grandson got stuck in the shower twice as the big wooden doors swell up and stick. Everyone was complaining about the doors.
Jul 02, 2014
Large campground with plenty of activities. Very noisy in the central part of the campground, especially around the maintenance building. Thought atv rental cost was too high.
Jul 02, 2014
We stayed for two nights and rented a car from the KOA. That was convenient and reasonable in order to drive to the local destinations. Was a nice campground.
Jul 01, 2014
Had planned a family reunion the previous year. Had many problems from the start to the very end. Everything went wrong from planning and reservations all the way down to green firewood. Would never recommend for a large group.
Jul 01, 2014
We were part of a reunion and had our camping reservations for several months. Those of us who had campsites were very pleased with the sites and camping facilities.
Jul 01, 2014
Still noisy after 10 pm. Quieted down after 11. Would do better enforcement of quiet hours.
Jul 01, 2014
Awesome!!!
Jul 01, 2014
Had two night here and the facilities were excellent. Proximity to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse Monuments make it a must stay.
Jul 01, 2014
Nice campground, but HUGE, more like a small town than a campground. Nothing bad to say other than this is not a typical KOA so don't go in expecting that.
Jul 01, 2014
First time camping at a KOA. Loved all the activities offered but didn't like that the sites were on top of each other.
Jul 01, 2014
This was not my favorite but I knew when we booked it was large, many features we did not need so expensive. We ended up cleaning the ground around our cabin of the cigarette butts, limes, candy wrappers etc.
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Awesome time! Super fun horeseback ride, and covered wagon cookout. Kids didn't want to leave the campground due to waterslide, pool, inflatables, and all the other activities. Morning pancakes were great. Clean your bathrooms more and the stay would have been 100% perfect.
Jul 01, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay and all the family freindly amenities. Our campsite was very small. To the point where our car was parked maybe 2 feet from our picnic table. The fire pit only being several feet from the picnic table. This made for a lot of smoke infiltrating the eating/prepping area. There was no escaping it. Also there was no shade. The showers could have been maintained better.
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
it was Awesome! I wish the other KOA's would follow your footsteps. great fun!!
Jul 01, 2014
My complaint is the annoying way that 2 female horse wranglers woke us each morning. Quiet hours are 10pm to 7am, yet from 630am to 650am they SCREAMED yip,yip,yip and move it,move it, move it on the trail behind our tent campsite to lead the horses to the stables. Surely, the horses know the routine and do not need 20 mins of yelling to trot to their work area! Need to find a better/quieter way.
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Too big, not. Personal, frist AID needed but no help offered, inadequate for foreigners from outside the US!
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Great place. Awesome stay. We extended our stay twice, moved campsites twice, but was worth it.
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Had a great time. By far the best KOA we've stayed at. However, I would suggest that you designate an area for a doggie bathroom. We were in site #300, right next to the small playground, and that seemed to be the preferred area for folks to take their dogs. It was a bit disturbing to see people potty their dogs, and then see kids playing in the same grass shortly thereafter.
Jun 30, 2014
Great facility, however we feel that management needs to be more involved in the day-to-day operations. We had a family reunion there recently with many reservations made in Feb. However, when we got there, one cabin had been given to someone else, even though it was reserved for us and checked on the day before. Also, a dirty cabin was given to some in our party with nothing else available.
Jun 30, 2014
We stayed at the Mt. Rushmore KOA for 5 days during our family reunion 6/21 thru 6/26. I made my reservations in December of 2013 and was disspointed that staff let somebody else change my reservation without my knowledge or permission. I ended up in a cabin very far away from the rest of the family as an outcome. Cabin flooded, customer service was not the best. Grounds and amenities were great.
Jun 30, 2014
Grea place! Conveinient to all the major attractions and the staff was tremendous. Only negatives were the shower house next to our area being cleaned too early in AM so we had to trek to another one; Hot tib in pool area looked very dirty; lack of abilility to comunicate with the outsoiide world (also a +)
Jun 30, 2014
We had a great time at Mount Rushmore KOA. this KOA can be a vacation stay all together. Many things to do at this KOA. Staff was always helpful, and greeted you every time when you entered the door.
Jun 30, 2014
Nice place, however they missed our request to have our two parties located together. The staff tried to correct the problem but said they couldnt find two sites together. Funny, because we had open spots next to us both nights. This put us walking clear across the campground to have meals with our family. Otherwise, great place in a beautiful location. Well situated to visit Rushmore.
Jun 30, 2014
Disney version of KOA-lots to do. They kids has so much to do. The pancake b'fast was super fun, nice shopping, chuck wagon diner a score, all and all we loved it!!!!
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Excellent place to stay. Great employees, amenities, and things to do. Would have liked panned for gold in the creek, but entire creek sides were thick with weeds and brush.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
This is a GREAT KOA for family and kids but a very poor KOA for those wanting a relaxing get away. No Wifi, or cell service and very noisy all night long. The Staff is great.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.