Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 14, 2015
this campground was amazing! we loved the kamp kitchen. it made it quick and convenient to cook. we also loves the unisex showers! they were much larger and nicer than traditional camp showers.
Jun 14, 2015
Trevor was AWESOME!! He tried to make our stay comfortable despite the rain and mud. Nice campground for families looking to entertain the kiddies.
Jun 14, 2015
Great location...beautiful grounds...pancake breakfast is awesome.
Jun 14, 2015
Great location in the Black Hills.
Jun 14, 2015
Tent site not level, although it was nice grass. Water running down all the streets so you had to walk in mud. Sites crowded together. WIFI didn't work at all at our campsite and was way slow to useless everywhere else.
Jun 14, 2015
Had a wonderful time the weather didn't cooperat but that's nature. 5 days beautiful 2 days cool and wet. Really nice facilities all about the kids which is wonderful. Thanks for a great time.
Jun 14, 2015
Great location and amenities. Will definitely stay again!
Jun 14, 2015
Our stay at PG KOA occurred just after a period of heavy rains, and in fact, after 2 days of nice weather, it rained again as we departed. The showers, therefore, were rather muddy, but not sure what more could be done, except to put more manpower on it. The kids had a great time using the pool and going on a horseback ride...and making craft leather bracelets with the staff. Nice resort.
Jun 14, 2015
We were very pleased with this Koa. Only problem we had was we booked a new camp site with a grill and patio and when we showed up to check in they said they no longer had that reservation and gave a different spot! We had to go out and buy a grill as the staff at Koa was not helpful in finding out why our reservation was not the one we ordered!
Jun 14, 2015
Disappointing. The place where we were staying was a swimming pool even after a sunny day. No WiFi at the place only at the entrance. High price (75 dollars per night) bad quality.
Jun 14, 2015
Jun 14, 2015
No cell service, no Wi-Fi at sites (only at office or shopping areas). Very expensive. But, Great pancakes & amenities for kids. Close to Mt. Rushmore.
Jun 14, 2015
It was a very busy place. The staff was very helpful and had great customer service skills.
Jun 14, 2015
Thanks for the Great stay and great memories!
Jun 13, 2015
Our recent stay at Mt. Rushmore KOA was great. All facilities were very clean, staff was very friendly and all of the recreational amenities made for a great time for everyone in our party. We will return!
Jun 13, 2015
would of been better if more things were open/available to use....no refund/credit was even offered.
Jun 13, 2015
Jun 13, 2015
fantastic view of the mountain!
Jun 13, 2015
Heated pools were great. Large hot tub at 2n pool a bonus. Lived the wine tastings, but tell people ahead of time to have ID's! Walked all the way up and didn't have it... Rocks for gold mining priced too high. Never had water slide or rock climbing available - like you weren't ready for the summer season - step it up!
Jun 13, 2015
My grandkids loved the pancake breakfast best followed by the different activities for them.
Jun 13, 2015
We had a great time! Close t o lots of attractions. Was great to camp in the mountains. Lots of great amenities available.
Jun 13, 2015
I'm sure the park is wonderful during the summer. Not very informative about ALL of their lodging options other then the expensive ones. I wish I had of done more research. But very nice informative staff. One stop shop everything was right there that you needed.
Jun 13, 2015
Everyone was very friendly. Lots of amenities and the view is beautiful. The bathroom/shower areas were pretty dirty both times I used them, but other than that, everything was great.
Jun 13, 2015
Jun 13, 2015
We had a great time at this KOA. We could have stayed the whole week and never left the campsite, there was so much to do! Very clean bathrooms and showers! Lots of things for the kids to do. Cannot wait to come back!
Jun 13, 2015
Weather wasn't nice while we were here, but there was so much to do, it didn't matter. Two ways to improve things might be to put more gravel on the dirt roads to fill in the potholes and make drainage more efficient, and install a faster skimmer on the south pool to reduce the number of flies in the pool. This KOA overall is great. We stay at a lot of them, but none we have tried had so much.
Jun 13, 2015
Great kids activities and kind, friendly supervisors! We loved our trail ride and the ice cream shop and coffee shop!
Jun 13, 2015
Jun 13, 2015
Sight was not level and very muddy. The picnic table was broken. Dis colored water. Resort fee not an option.
Jun 12, 2015
I know we reserved a campsite just after days of rain, but having made my reservation 9 months in advance, being told I was at the wrong KOA incorrectly given site in standing water. Corrected next day after I complained. Then rented golf cart 2 days in advance, the day I picked it up one cart left that wouldn't run. Poor organization. Close to sites but will not go back
Jun 12, 2015
Great customer service!!!
Jun 12, 2015
The way the wi-fi is advertised, you would think it would actually work work at some point. And asking the desk twice to check on the animals under the cabin that were making a chewing /scratching noise and having no one come out either time to atleast pretend to do something is poor customer service. It would be nice to somehow communicate that there is also no cell phone service at resort,
Jun 12, 2015
Great! Except wifi did not work and the slide was broken. Also, please work on the mini golf course, it's neglected. Otherwise very nice.
Jun 12, 2015
We always enjoy our time when we stay at this KOA. The kids enjoy all the activities.
Jun 12, 2015
Jun 12, 2015
Had a great time. Camp site was roomy enough for easy pull in and a feeling of privacy. Restrooms and shower facilities were exceptional! We found water pressuee to be a little low but just went to tanks and pump vs city intake. Only neqative was wifi, poor to not available, as well as cell phone connectivity. If you have issues at home you need to keep track of, you might end up stressed A rated!
Jun 12, 2015
We appreciated the mgmt helping to compensate for our not getting the deluxe site we reserved by giving us bus passes to Mt. Rushmore. Beautiful campground!
Jun 12, 2015
The "new" deluxe sites way up in the 250's have major traffic flow on both roads in front and in back of the sites. They are located across the street from the playground, swimming pool, bicycle rentals, basketball hoops and bouncing house. Great if you have kids but not for those who don't. Screaming and yelling ALL the time. These new Deluxe sites are not for everyone and needs to be noted.
Jun 12, 2015
This is the largest KOA I've ever seen! It has some nice facilites - 2 pools, lots of kids activities, plenty of bathrooms, but NO CELL, NO WI-FI as promised. Even the internet cafe lacked service! Plus we were packed in like sardines but there were plenty of spacious sites elsewhere in the park. Had we known, we would've asked for them. If you don't have kids might be better to stay elsewhere
Jun 12, 2015
Other than the bouts with the rain and puddles, (but you can't control the weather). We had a GREAT vacation. So many sights are so near, endless entertainment. Our daughter and grandchildren loved all of the activities at the campground. Thank you! I'd definitely come back!!
Jun 12, 2015
Jun 12, 2015
This was the worst campsite we stayed at during our 11 day vacation. It was overpriced, the site was uneven and hard to get into and there was a 10 dollar resort saver package that was charged which we don't even know what it was for. A very bad experience.
Jun 12, 2015
Jun 12, 2015
Great place for kids, very poor wifi for the size of the park, need to maintain cement pads, a little too pricy for what you get
Jun 12, 2015
My stay was fab, the only major complaint was the wifi reception/access was very poor. There should be signs posted for the chuck wagon show, was misdirected by KoA staff.
Jun 12, 2015
This KOA campground was amazing. We have a rooftop tent on our 4Runner and they let us drive around to find the perfect spot. The emenities were clean and handy and the people were great!!!!
Jun 11, 2015
There were a lot of activities. The staff is wonderful. It was also very clean.
Jun 11, 2015
I understand that the weather had an impact on some of the activities but was a little disappointed that nobody ever made any offer or effort to compensate us for the inconvenience. Many of the things that we selected this campground for were unavailable to our kids while we were there. (Climbing wall, jump station, water slide etc.)Our kids were looking forward to these things!
Jun 11, 2015
When flooding in the area began to cause the lake near our cabin to overflow. KOA employees swooped in and moved all of our supplies to a cabin up the hill. Within minutes we were back to eating smores and enjoying our vaction. Management that actually manages problems is the reason we keep coming back.
Jun 11, 2015
So much offered at this one location. We stayed at 7 KOA locations thru out the Glacier, Yellowstone, Big Horn and Black Hills area and this one was the second best place we stayed. It is obvious you care about the people that visit your facility. Really enjoyed the stables being right on site!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.