Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 07, 2016
Loved our stay! Our site was beautiful, the kids had fun & we are already planning a trip back
Jul 07, 2016
Top notch! A little something for everyone! Wonderful facility. Great kids activities. We all enjoyed ourselves.... nice, well-stocked store, friendly arrival, horses, 4-seater bikes to rent, big play structure, splash pad, pool with hot tub and mini golf. We will be back!!!
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
Did not appreciate a charge for something called a "Super Saver Package" or something like that. I have no idea what this is for and you are the only KOA that charged me for this. I feel ripped off.
Jul 06, 2016
The stay was awesome everyone loved the horse back riding & the facilities!
Jul 06, 2016
Great location! This KOA had some many amenities. You have to try to be bored. Courteous staff and well kept campground. Definitely would stay again.
Jul 06, 2016
my site held a lot of water and stayed muddy but loved the campground
Jul 06, 2016
Internet is non existent but you won't need it...there is so much to do!
Jul 06, 2016
Great campground and deluxe cabin.
Jul 06, 2016
Disappointed. I rented an ATV back in February but on the day we were suppose to get it the receptionist told us that it was broke so I had to get a refund. My family was really disappointed about that. Another disappointment was on the 4th of July they were suppose to have shuttles from the KOA going up to Mount Rushmore they told us to sign up the day of. Well we were lied too.
Jul 06, 2016
We stayed two nights. Absolutely no wifi anywhere. We asked and were told to go the wine bar for good wifi. None! This is a huge KOA. Tons of people. Lots of things for the kids to do.
Jul 06, 2016
Great site! Great location, awesome amenities and friendly staff. Only drawback was dirt roads throughout, got a bit muddy in rain, but it is camping. 😀
Jul 06, 2016
This resort was fantastic except for the bathrooms and the Wi-Fi. The bathrooms never seem to be clean and the Wi-Fi never worked.
Jul 06, 2016
If you are tent camping some of the areas are rather cramped. It would be nice if there were more sites designated camping sites. The staff at the ice cream shop were very rude to my children. They dumped my sons ice cream on the counter & yelled at him for making a mess and they made my daughter get their own ice for their smoothies. A plan for notifying guests of severe weather would be nice.
Jul 06, 2016
Best campground we've visited! There was so much to do...for adults and children alike! Staff were all friendly and professional.
Jul 06, 2016
There is so much to do here! You do need some sort of rental vehicle or bikes to get around, it's so massive. My only complaint was the community kitchen was disgusting, it looked like it hadn't been cleaned for weeks. Very close to both Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Great location.
Jul 06, 2016
Our stay was awesome! We got in at 1:30, our map and info package was by the front office waiting for us, the security guy escorted us to our spot after a 15 hour drive. Never caught his name, but Thank you! Manager Ben Larson a big Thank You to you and your staff for making our time at the Mount Rushmore KOA an awesome memory!!
Jul 06, 2016
There is so much to do for families and kids. It was a great stay. I wish the hallway going to the bathrooms could've been mopped a little more often as it was very muddy all the time. Other than that, it was a fantastic stay and beautiful surroundings.
Jul 06, 2016
I would have given it a 5 star, however there a few rude employees in the general store that could benefit from customer service lessons. The site was beautiful however, lots to do for the kids and well Maintained.
Jul 06, 2016
Great overall experience. The grounds and pool areas were very clean. The restroom cleanliness and restroom maintenance could be improved
Jul 06, 2016
Jul 06, 2016
Ran out of hot water at showers. Son and wife not happy...
Jul 06, 2016
Many fun activities! My boys loved the pool and basketball court. Everyone was very friendly. Dean K. helped us when our car wouldn't start. Prices a bit high in the stores for things like ice, food staples, and fire starters. We would visit again and will recommend!
Jul 06, 2016
LOVED THIS CAMPGROUND!!!! I stay at KOAs all of the time. This was my second time at this location. Ranks as one of my favorites!!!
Jul 06, 2016
Very loud with so many people everywhere.
Jul 06, 2016
Campground has many amenities, but is way too big.
Jul 06, 2016
So many activities for the family to do but most cost extra. Very busy place! Had fun!
Jul 06, 2016
Bathrooms were not cleaned regularly.
Jul 06, 2016
Bathrooms and showers were dirty. We had a 30 amp slot with no sewer dumpage for 2 nights. VERY crowded. Kid stuff was good

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for no sewer on your site as they were all booked. We recommend that you make reservations as early as possible to get the best site for your needs.
Jul 05, 2016
General Mgr. Mike made extra effort to make up for dissatisfactions I had with less than satisfactory conditions in the shower and campground water system. Busy weekend, but maintenance items should have been dealt with -- like no hooks in the showers and broken legs on benches. He was very eager to make us happy customers, and I would stay there again.
Jul 05, 2016
Had a great time! will be back for sure the kids just loved it! by far the best koa we have stayed at!
Jul 05, 2016
Stayed in a nice little cabin. Little hot to start out with but cooled down later a night. Cabins could use a ceiling fan. Didn't get a chance to use all the amenities. Just a short stop over night.
Jul 05, 2016
camping prices are way to high!
Jul 05, 2016
was told there was wifi, but it sucked. Also, no use of our phone - wasn't able to contact our sons to even let them know what site we were on...luckily didn't need phone for an emergency...Other than being muddy it was ok.
Jul 05, 2016
SO much for the kids to do! Camp site was beautiful. Grounds beautifully maintained. Bathrooms and showers as clean as could be expected.
Jul 05, 2016
If you have kids, there is plenty for them to do at the Palmer Gulch KOA! Some great activities and lots of space for them to roam around. It seemed that many of the tent spaces were unshaded and very close together. In our case, we had one of those "unshaded" spots, and we were also placed adjacent to one of the kids' playgrounds, which was very well used (see above), but also very noisy.
Jul 05, 2016
Fantastics 3 night stay. Kids are already asking to go back.
Jul 05, 2016
Very family friendly
Jul 05, 2016
Lots of activities for children, staff very friendly and tons of amenities on property. Lack of dependable Wi-Fi annoying and comfort station #1 needs a serious remodel-
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
everything was great but the rain
Jul 05, 2016
The bathrooms could be a lot cleaner.
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
The facilities are very good, a great place for an extended stay. One big gripe. If you advertise WiFi, then have enough WiFi bandwith. It was unusable the entire time (was told too many people). I chose this KOA in part due to WiFi accessibility for work, and had none for 3 days.
Jul 05, 2016
Restroom facilities not large enough for the number of people. Garbage dumpsters over flowing. Customer service and other amenities/services were great.
Jul 05, 2016
The kiddos loved it, so we loved it! Star Wars movie was an awesome bonus!
Jul 05, 2016
nice camp
Jul 05, 2016
Very nice campground, so much to do, clean, friendly and accommodating.
Jul 05, 2016
The whole family had a great time, things to keep busy, and relax in the beautiful surroundings!
Jul 04, 2016
Had everything we needed for entertainment, lodging, and gatherings. Loved The cabin, pancakes, church service, and horse rides.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals