Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Campground is great for families. Lots of things to do onsite. Grounds are kept clean. Restrooms/showers exceed campground standards. Sigh....the dog run area is sad. Grass overgrown, trash can full and not emptied for several days. Oh and I still cant figure out why a 78yr old woman was denied purchase at the wine tasting event because she didnt bring her ID card with her...really?
Aug 16, 2014
Very poor water pressure . No cel or internet service at all unless right at check in area. Water pressure was my biggest complaint .
Aug 16, 2014
The ponderosa restaurant food was terrible!
Aug 15, 2014
For families with kids
Aug 15, 2014
Was disappointed we couldn't have a fire as our neighbor's slide out was only 2' away from the pit. Was not able to move sites, and the crew sent to move the firepit said it was too much work. Seems like the longer the stay, the worse the site. :(
Aug 15, 2014
It is simply a world-class campground. Having camped across the west, this is the finest facility in any state.
Aug 15, 2014
we had a wonderful time, great accommodations and location. Great amenities for families with younger kids, nice to be able to have our dog with us.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
If we had based our decision to stay here on the way we were treated when we were trying to make a reservation we would never stay here. Once we got through the reservation line telling us all cabins were booked through the end of the season the office stating the same thing the manager not returning our call and Melody threatening to hang up on my husband when he expressed his frustration: good.
Aug 15, 2014
Bathrooms were not clean when they said they would be very dirty showers, wifi and cell service does not work at all in the campground. The firewood they sell to people stinks and smokes so bad the entire campground was filled with smoke every night making it impossible to open cabin windows or sit outside. We all ended up with horrible raw sore throats from all the smoke.
Aug 15, 2014
Super place. Grand kids enjoyed it!!!
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
This is more of a resort than a campground. Our family enjoyed the pool and the horses. There was a lot of trash in the fire ring.
Aug 15, 2014
Everything was awesome especially the chuck wagon dinner. The only bad was the internet was terrible could not even get my work emails. My suggestion would be how they manage in other countries. limit by password the number of devices and no video streaming or large downloads,
Aug 15, 2014
Great accommodations, but KOA was a little too big and a little too crowded for my liking.
Aug 14, 2014
A beautiful campground with flowers everywhere! Just a couple of issues. The price were way too high in the grocery "store" and we went into the ponderosa to eat and were told we had to sit in a dark room at the back, even though the place was empty. The hostess said we couldn't sit by.a window because they seat by "sections". What's that all about? We went elsewhere to eat.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
Great KOA including staff and amenities. Only poor was internet.. We rely on internet for our business in which there was none our entire 1 week stay. However, we did learn the entire area is hit or miss.
Aug 14, 2014
one of the best have been at need to spend more than a night to really see and enjoy all the activities
Aug 14, 2014
The stay at the KOA was comfortable, affordable, and relaxing...so much to do!
Aug 14, 2014
We loved it!!
Aug 14, 2014
This KOA is SOOO AWESOME!! It is beautiful property, lots of activities to do, staff is very helpful at check-in giving helpful suggestions of activities on the grounds, closest restroom and water. This is the BEST KOA location we have been at. Only complaint was the water in the kids slide was dirty but probably from the dirt on the stairs to go to the top.
Aug 14, 2014
Such an amazing experience! We can't wait to go back!
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
Fun Zone was fantastic for my kids!!
Aug 14, 2014
Great activities, beautiful campground. Clean bathrooms and showers.
Aug 14, 2014
Awesome an well maintained.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Great but don't think everyone should have to pay for all kids amenities. Go back to charging for children. Especially during the rally
Aug 13, 2014
The only complaint is that the security does not patrol enough as I was kept awake by others in the area until 1am on two different nights.
Aug 13, 2014
Enjoyed the stay with no problems. The new Superviser was not as friendly as past ones.
Aug 13, 2014
Enjoyed the campground except for several days of rain. Only complaint was the laundry, needs some new machines. Staff did a great job of keeping bathrooms cleaned inspite of the bad weather.
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Great value, worth every dollar. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Cabin, property,and restroom/showers was clean and well maintained. See you soon KOA. Thanks
Aug 13, 2014
didnt get type of sight that i requsted or that i have had in past was dissapointed sight was to small for my truck and trailer
Aug 13, 2014
Everything was fine but our site was a little to small for our trailer and we had a lot of moud after rain. The service was excellent !
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
One of the best campgrounds out there.
Aug 13, 2014
Wonderful campground, great amenities. The parking sites would be wonderful if they were paved vs gravel.
Aug 13, 2014
Had a great trip! The pools were a hit with my teen boys and the wine tasting was a nice touch, too! Our campsite was clean and daily trash pick up was a very nice addition! We will be back next year for sure!
Aug 13, 2014
Stay as always for past 6 years was great except for incident in retail store regarding faulty propane cans. Associates made me feel terrible about returning 2nd can that was faulty. Staff made me feel so bad it ruined my day! Ironically, did not want to leave my motor home! I have worked in Exec Office @ Saks Fifth Avenue for 25 years and have never felt so bad...
Aug 13, 2014
Very clean and quiet. Staff was soooo helpful and friendly
Aug 13, 2014
Great facilities. Even with all the motorcycles it was a good place to get some sleep.
Aug 13, 2014
The bathrooms closest to our cabin were not nice. Bugs everywhere and not very clean. Our cabin had settled and there was a large gap between the wall and the floor leading outside. Easy access for all kinds of critters. Overall the KOA was nice. I will return but in a trailer. Cabins were not worth it and I prefer not to use the bathrooms.
Aug 13, 2014
This is a huge park and it was very busy because of Sturgis bike week. Everything went smoothly with check-in. The laundry was clean. But internet connectivity was poor.
Aug 13, 2014
Campers were WAY to close together. Unable to have a camp fire without melting the neighbors camper. Neighbors sewer pipe was a foot from our door step!!! We were unable to play any camping games due to the size of the spot. It's all about the $$$...they try to fit as many as they can in such a small area to make more money. For the price we paid per night we should have been able to have a fire.
Aug 13, 2014
Best part of this place is its staff! Caring, eager-to-assist young staff!
Aug 13, 2014
Where we were put was extremely noisy. We had to park our truck in the grass which took away from our outside space. There was no easy way to get to the restrooms without going thru someone's space. Could not stay connected to WI-FI. We were charged a resort fee for things we would not use. We were not told there was a motorcycle rally in the area when we made reservations.
Aug 13, 2014
This was a bad time to visit Mt. Rushmore. We made our reservations by phone but were not told of a MAJOR motorcycle convention nor that we would listen to rumbling bikes from 6 a.m. to midnight. A great disappointment for a family from Texas to see a National Monument and had to put up with all the motorcycle madness. We left a day early and could not get back any of our reservation money

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.