Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2014
Dirty, mold, non working showers, dirty pool, very loud park at night. Needs to have part of park where you have children under 12 years old and other for older kids. I want stay at this park or recommend it to anyone again.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Had a site, 191, across from the showers that everyone from the west and upper level cut through. Since there was no defined path they took the shortest route even though I parked our car to block access. We had one of the handful of dead trees for shade and were three spots down from barking dogs. Not enough cable sites.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
We loved all the fun activities and kid friendly play equipment. The only complaint would be better care of pool and water slide water and slide surface.
Jul 28, 2014
The campground was very well kept. The bathroom and showers were very clean. Very friendly, helpful, professional staff. I even misplaced my wallet and the staff got it back to me as soon as possible. I highly recommend this campground.
Jul 28, 2014
Lots of things to do besides see Mount Rushmore. The all you can pancakes are the best!
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
We have been coming up to your KOA for over 20 years. Even with your huge growth in camping sites and cabins your staff is always first class in service.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Really nice camp ground. A ton of stuff for the kids, loved the shuttle to Mt. Rushmore. Suggestion: would like to see wash stations throughout campground for dishes/pots&pans. Only issue were the bathrooms/showers need to be cleaned maybe more often, found them slimy and somewhat dirty.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Friendly staff and lots for the kids to do!
Jul 28, 2014
Suggest you ask tent sizes for proper sites and maybe send a confirmation picture of your site because my confirmation page said "Your Campsite Tent, No hookups Grassy tent sites along Palmer Creek offer a quiet campsite away from the busy activities of the campground. Get back to the basics of camping in these primitive sites." We were nowhere near this creek. Other than that a great stay.
Jul 28, 2014
I stayed at this campground about six years ago and it was the trip of a lifetime. Unfortunately this stay was not so nice. Initially we were given a site that half the size of a standard site. This site was also at a major intersection. We were kept awake due to the traffic and kids at the playground after quiet time. The advertised wifi was not working. The staff laughed when asked about the wif
Jul 28, 2014
The only problem I had with this KOA is that the weight limit on a horse back ride. I weigh about 30-40 lbs more. I did see a few horses that could handle heavier person. I'm loosing weight but I'm not stepping on a scale in front of people. this is on my bucket list and as a breast cancer survivor it was disappointing. The rest of the stay was great grounds and baths clean lots for kids to do
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Had never stayed at a KOA before, we had a great time. Clean!!
Jul 28, 2014
It was a good home base to relax when tired of siteseeing and caving and climbing rocks. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub (when it was working). Our son enjoyed the pillow and exploring the activities. We also appreciated the quiet after dark.
Jul 28, 2014
Tons of activities and great registration staff. Mike and Sharon were very helpful. Huge campground would recommend staying for a few days and bring a bikes if you have room. Thanks we had a great time!
Jul 28, 2014
Filthy Showers, doors missing; Dining in restaurant was horrific. We were starved and were told, only after we inquired about our order, because it was taking so long, that the order not been submitted. The chef was "backed up" and not taking additional orders and would not even prepare our appetizers while we waited for him to get "caught up".
Jul 28, 2014
bath rooms not cleaned, ants all over toilets and sinks and around perimeter of room 1/4" thick in spots. Broken showers (already too few) and not fixed. shower in back area, no hot water working. hot-tub yellow with urine from kids using it. camp sites too close for fire safety, neighbor's fire ring less than 6 feet from my camper (sparks!), just too many camp units for toilet/shower facilities.
Jul 28, 2014
Everything was great BUT I had a cut on my right foot and got Cellulitis during the stay. I suggest you use a hospital grade anti-microbial in the showers.
Jul 28, 2014
We love this place and so do our kids lots of stuff for the kids to do. We did end up changing locations do to some of the tent sights not being large enough to hold our party . The office staff was very attentive to our needs and helped us to re-locate.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
we stayed for 3 nites in a camping cabin.Our children and their families did the same.it was a fun filled time for all ages,4 to 60.there are enough activities to please everyone and then some.
Jul 27, 2014
great!!!!
Jul 27, 2014
We had a great time at your koa thank you.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Lots of activities for kids and adults! Absolutely love this campground!!
Jul 27, 2014
Our sites were the best sites at the camp!! Close to laundry, bathroom, and pool!! When we stay again we will certainly request them!! Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Loved all the free activities and the trail rides. My only recommendation would be to update/remodel the showers. They got the job done, but were quite "dirty" looking, though it could be that they just need an update!
Jul 27, 2014
Great place to stay.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Bathrooms need updated. Cleaned more frequently. Prices on items high. Booked a shaded site, was given a flooded no shade site. Some poor attitudes at lodge. Terrible service and food at the ponderosa. Location and most other staff very helpful. Great activities.
Jul 27, 2014
Wifi didn't work Flies were all over sink in Comfort station 4 Fire ants all over wall behind urinals. Flies were taking over some of the shower rooms. The hot tubs in kid area was full of yellow water. There was also a lot of kids in them all the time.
Jul 27, 2014
Lean and well maintained. Definitely a great place for kids. Wifi is only available at 3 hotspots however. Enjoyed our stay.
Jul 27, 2014
First-rate family fun. Great location, friendly helpful folks at every turn. A special thank you to Jim, who showed us our camp sight upon check in, he was friendly and great with our kids. A wonderful time!
Jul 27, 2014
We had so much fun as a family. There was always so much to do that we almost didn't want to go explore the sights. One thing we did miss was an indoor area where we could get away from the elements and play some indoor games. Otherwise a great and exciting place to stay.
Jul 27, 2014
Superb Campground with a lot of fun activities for kids and families. Well kept up, and the employees were very friendly and helpful. Only 10 minutes from Mt. Rushmore too.. Great place to camp!
Jul 27, 2014
Pool water was dirty. Bathrooms needed cleaned more often.
Jul 27, 2014
Wow! What a campground! We will be coming back next summer for a week or two so we can spend some time, can't wait!
Jul 27, 2014
In one brief sentence, besides the massive amount of flies, this was a the best campground I have stayed on ever!
Jul 27, 2014
Great place to stay with kids! Nicely located to a variety of activities including hiking, fine dining, site seeing the beautiful Black Hills, and beautiful views of nature. Nice cabins.
Jul 27, 2014
We reserved a 2 room cabin. It was clean and easy for us, as this was just one stop in our week long vacation. The bathrooms had an awful gnat problem which there was a sign of apology on the door. The problem was obviously being addressed by the number of bugs everywhere, but those facilities were unusable. Our kids enjoyed the other amenities available and breakfast was wonderful.
Jul 27, 2014
More amenities were offered than we anticipated. Well kept KOA.
Jul 27, 2014
Loved it! Very active place for kiddos! Water slide, 2 pools, bball court, vball court, the kamp kitchens are dirtyweren't cleaned the whole time we were there. The komfort station nearest us was run down and needs a lot more cleaning. Staff was great and attentive!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.