Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 04, 2014
We always love staying at the Palmer Gulch KOA! So many things for the kids to do while mom and dad relax!! We love the horses, the pancake tent, the pools but mostly we love the awesome views! Thanks for a great vacation again!
Aug 04, 2014
This is a wonderful KOA! There is so much to do for kids. My children loved the water slide, pools, jumping pillow, climbing wall, mini golf, hayrides and the many other fun things to do here. The KOA also had a group called the Summershiners who planned so many fun, family friendly activities throughout the day and we're always so friendly. I would highly recommend this KOA!!
Aug 04, 2014
Very noisey, rest room sanitation needs to be monitored more closely
Aug 04, 2014
great place to camp if you are wanting to see the sights of the area.. the facilties were good but seemed "over used".. alot of campers and not enough accomidations.. but the people were great and with the addition of some more showers and bathrooms this could easily be my favorite KOA!!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The bathrooms need to be cleaned more than once a day. They need to be cleaned in the late afternoon and again either late at night or early in the morning so that they are not filthy during the evening and early in the morning when most people use them.
Aug 04, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Rushmore KOA while visiting the Black Hills!
Aug 04, 2014
Great location. Tons of activities. Laundromat could use some maintenance.
Aug 04, 2014
Well, I started to give two stars but that's not really fair because it was just to crowded for us..We did stay in July, the most traveled time of the year.I gave 4 stars because it it a very nice campground. parking for checking in was crazy, we were 4 abreast and 4 deep waiting. an outside check in would solve the problem.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The stay was great lots to do. But check in was horrible very rude people working the counter
Aug 04, 2014
Been coming here since our kids were little and still coming and they're now 18 21 25 and 29! Wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Black Hills!
Aug 04, 2014
The campground was much too big for personal preference. The map was very confusing so we struggled to find showers and the swimming pool based on the map. The staff was friendly.
Aug 04, 2014
Bathrooms need to be cleaned more often!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
We were there along with our daughter and grandson and their families as we attended our oldest sons retirement from the Air Force in Rapid City on Aug. 1st. This was our second year of camping at your KOA. The campground is very well kept and pretty quiet. It was a little annoying hearing the wranglers whooping and hollering early while gathering the horses in.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The staff was really friendly and helpful. The cleanliness of the cabins, bathrooms, and showers weren't quite as good as I expected from KOA, but as good or better than any other campground. The facilities were in good shape and well maintained.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The workers are very friendly and I'm sure its a fine KOA. But I would not recommend this as a place & time to stay because it was rather loud with bikers coming in late and leaving early. Cabins are very close to tent sites. The men's bathroom stalls had foul language and pictures draw on them. Inappropriate for kids and disgusting to see appeals for sex acts.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
We had a great stay and didn't have enough time to do all the activities we wanted to do.
Aug 04, 2014
We were very disappointed by the poor (non-existent) internet service. We loved the campground for everything else and plan to return with our grandson.
Aug 04, 2014
Overall the facility was a great oasis for the family during our trip to Mt. Rushmore. Our individual site could have used some gravel as well as the roads. Lots of mud when it rained.
Aug 04, 2014
Way too loud, there were manhy koa vehicles and golf carts cruising the park but still loud music was allowed til 11pm that kept us awake and the music started again at 7am, I know it was Sturgis weekend but still you need to consider your other guests and enforce the noise rules. Probably wont stay here again. Tom West
Aug 04, 2014
2 few bathrooms small camp site drain system in middle which made site smaller dirty bathrooms no escort to find site
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Bathroom and showers were under maintained. A pool of water was always in the hallway to bathroom. Ceiling tile in showers needed to be replaced.
Aug 04, 2014
Amazing KOA, fantastic facilities and kids entertainment, it is certainly a holiday destination and was difficult to drag our daughter away! Thank you for reasonably prices laundromat too.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Extremely crowded KOA. Our site was right up against our neighbors. Noisy. When we asked several staff members what to do with our grey water, they asked, your what? You know, our dish water. They asked, you do dishes? We found no facilities for doing dishes. Did love the shower house. Finally one I could stand under the shower head and have enough room to move around.
Aug 03, 2014
Are trip was great and koa made it even better. Everyone was so helpful and kind. And the stable people were excellet . This place was the clean's camp ground I have been in. Beautiful place to stay. We will be back. The Whites from Indiana.
Aug 03, 2014
Awsome campground! Loved all the great things to do there! Only complaint is that the ponderosa restaurant is garbage ,,,, waitresses were unorganized and it took way to long to get our food. We gave it four chances to get better during our stay and all four time were bad, however the food is great. Loved renting the atvs...
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
During our week long stay the pool was filthy and cloudy. The bathrooms were always full of bugs and no where to put your clothes while showering to keep them from the bugs. The campsites were too crowded. The restaurant food was not even close to good. The activities for the children were great though and the staff was great as well.
Aug 03, 2014
I've been here twice now and this is the very best KOA ever!
Aug 03, 2014
This KOA was the best we stayed at. It offered the most activities and facilities. This KOA set our expectations too high to even compare any other site without sounding like we were complaining. If every KOA was this nice we would travel more.
Aug 03, 2014
Received limited wifi. Campground was well maintained and clean with a beautiful setting.
Aug 03, 2014
Awesome stay. very pretty. nice location. bathrooms a little dirty. Water slide water was dirty. over all---an ok stay
Aug 03, 2014
Good service, friendly staff. Lots of activities for families. Some sites are more close together than others. Overall this was a great KOA.
Aug 03, 2014
Nice location, but too big and chaotic for its own good. Cons: Basically two kinds of campsites: Flat and no shade, or shaded with rocky terrain. (Our site had a culvert-fed wash that ran through the middle of our site.) WiFi does not work, period. Bathrooms were a bit gross, even by KOA standards. Pros: Pancake breakfast is cheap and fun. Decent prices in the store, too.
Aug 03, 2014
Nous avons trouvé très désagréable que les gens du secteur des tentes circulent sur notre terrain pour aller au bloc sanitaire. Ce serait intéressant qu'il y ait un passage d'aménager.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
loved everything---but the trail ride girl needs to do some fact checking. Raspberries have been growing wild for hundreds of years, and her horse knowledge is also poor/humorous but not correct.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.