Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2017
Front desk staff needs to learn customer service and training. Our bad experience started at the front desk. It took three visits to finally get our issue resolved by Makalay. A previous commitment was made by "Ben" however no notes were added to our reservations which leaves me with no choice but to never visit this KOA or recommend this KOA to any of my camping mates.
Aug 01, 2017
great family park.. numerous things for families to enjoy!I however missed having my wifi to look up my maps etc an even going to some spots I had no service.However it was a welcome change to watch so many families enjoy doing things with their kids !
Aug 01, 2017
Best time ever!!! Rodeo was awesome!! Wished we had more time. Will definitely be back. Will be taking horse back trail rides next time!
Aug 01, 2017
For sure the best koa we have stayed with!
Aug 01, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. Many fun things for everyone. Great place or build family memories. We will return again.
Aug 01, 2017
Advised by clerk to use restroom too far away. It was Late and I couldn't find it was so far away and I didn't want to leave my children (1 adult) for that long. So I came back; went to pool which was very nice. It wasn't til the next day that the right restroom was found; nice but too far; that place was too big. Didn't know where to put my garbage or get water. You only good for RVs. 😤
Aug 01, 2017
So much fun for our family! Great clean facilities, and plenty to keep the kids busy.
Aug 01, 2017
No cell phone service no wifi at camp site no parking at camp site fishing pond smelled of dead fish
Jul 31, 2017
Laundry facilities need to be fixed so there is enough if them. Two of the dryers were broken and none of the soap containers were working. Other then that a fantastic stay!
Jul 31, 2017
Wi-Fi and/or 4G cell service would be nice
Jul 31, 2017
We brought our grandson with us and he had an epic great time (his words). Mini golf, movies, activities, rock wall, bouncing pillow..... the fun never ended for him. Staff were all great too.
Jul 31, 2017
Great place for children and their parents. Lots of activities. Good Pizza and salad at the Ice Cream Shop. A little too much activity for the "introvert". I stayed in a 2 room cabin with daughter and grand children and felt safe.
Jul 31, 2017
Was a wonderful place. Lots of activities! However, I was told no pets, and there were tons of pets. We had to kennel our dog because told no pets.
Jul 31, 2017
great stay
Jul 31, 2017
This is our 2nd stay at this resort. First time was in the Lodge but now we have a motorhome so we were in the campground. Met our kids and grandkids here. There is so much to do at the resort and in the Black Hills. Very enjoyable!
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
Need to clean pool more often
Jul 31, 2017
Our second stay at Palmer Gulch KOA with Grandchildren. A great place to take children. We had a cabin and tent site. The restrooms for our area were in need of updating. Ventilation in men's room was inadequate. Laundry room only had two dryers available for guests. Two other dryers had Out of Order signs, but were actually reserved for Staff use. The Ponderosa Restaurant was excellent.
Jul 31, 2017
Beautiful scenery, lots of things for the kids to do and good location for many of the attractions!
Jul 31, 2017
The only problem we had was with the bathrooms not being cleaned.People would defecate on the floor or plug up the toilets or use up all of the toilet paper -not a facility issue but a lack of consideration by other guests.Loved all the activities.Loved the pm movie.My son loved the banana bike.I loved the kitchen stove building for cooking.Wish I would have thought to bring a slow cooker.
Jul 31, 2017
This was a really neat place to stay in the Black Hills area. The kids were at the Fun Zone the whole time we were at our campsite. The chuckwagon dinner show was fantastic! The only concern was that we were shoehorned into a pull-thru that was barely large enough for our camper and truck and took some manuevering to get out of.
Jul 31, 2017
Restroom/Showers (comfort station 1) are inadequate, outdated, filthy, and generally repulsive. Biggest is NOT best! Some capital reinvestment of some of your very high fees is certainly in order.
Jul 31, 2017
Great!
Jul 31, 2017
It was great!
Jul 31, 2017
Found the comfort stations veary lacking and dirty. considering the price of the cabin and added surcharge
Jul 31, 2017
This KOA is not same level of quality as smaller Mom & Pop owned KOAs we have stayed at. The bathrooms were not as well cared for, and there were no hooks or shelves to put your towel or clothes on in comfort station 4. The kid amenities were great, and our kids did love the bikes. This KOA would be out of this world if the bathrooms were the same high quality we have experienced at smaller KOAs.
Jul 31, 2017
We were very happy with the accomodations, the activities, the friendly staff, the shops, the restaurants, and the cleanliness of the campground.
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
If you like a super busy campground, this is for you. It was non stop, people everywhere. Camp sites were right on top of one another, i could hear our neighbors snoring at night. We were backed up to the woods and horse path where we the smell of horse poop lingered for days.
Jul 31, 2017
Very friendly staff, very nice accommodations. Our 6 year old absolutely loves Palmers Gulch!
Jul 31, 2017
Great activities for kids otherwise a miserable experience. Our camp site was a major thoroughfare for people day and night.
Jul 31, 2017
Our kids loved the campground, we loved that there was many activities for the kids to do. However we were not impressed with our spot, very small for a 40 foot camper which left us having to park our pickup away from the camper. It rained a lot while we were there and everything is on gravel which left a huge mess where we were camping. Overall very nice campground and we hope to return!
Jul 31, 2017
Needed medical attention, staff was uniformed as to where urgent care was (was sent to Rapid City, found out later one is in Custer). Also our comfort station #4 was not nearly as clean and nice as #1. I wouldn't shower there again.
Jul 31, 2017
What a great campground! So many fun things to do!
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
Camping site was narrow due to trees on both sides. Showers were dirty not well maintained. Three of four light bulbs were burnt out in bathroom. Laundry room three of four dryers didn't work. Loved the activities for the kids in the fun center.
Jul 31, 2017
Very helpful especially a young lady on the desk named Skyler. Very clean, well maintained. Excursion to Mount Rushmore excellent.
Jul 31, 2017
Love this place!! Employees are the best!!
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
We had a such a great time! We already booked for next summer! We live in Rapid City, and plan to make this our stay-cation every summer!
Jul 31, 2017
My 16-year old Daughter and I stayed in one of the Camper Cabins for 4 nights, we had a great time! Wonderful location, clean cabins and decent bathroom and shower facilities. Very friendly staff. Camp ground is very large, I would recommend if you want to be close to the pool area to request that upon making your reservation.
Jul 31, 2017
Great family place. Only downfall would have been there were not enough golf carts - for the entire weekend. Other than that it was perfect! Pancakes were awesoem
Jul 31, 2017
This place has everything! Clean and fun. You kids never want to leave.
Jul 31, 2017
I don't stay at KOA often, but we got a cabin there on the last day of our Black Hills camping trip. I had hoped for a comfortable bed after tent camping, but the mattresses were awful and need of replacement. Otherwise a nice stay.
Jul 31, 2017
We loved staying at such a clean facility!
Jul 31, 2017
The park was great for families with smaller children as there was lots to do, but with a teen and no cell service, not so much. On top of that, we were put in Space 163 and it was a mud bog. All our levelers were in red mud and our stairs couldn't be put out right.
Jul 31, 2017
Great activities for families with children.
Jul 31, 2017
Amazing place to stay for a great price!
Jul 31, 2017
This koa is beautiful there were lots of things for the kids to do wish we could have had more time.
Jul 31, 2017
Very, very crowded. Our kids are 3 and 4 and could never do the bounce pillow because it was too crowded with older kids. They couldn't do basketball for the same reason. The pools were jam packed. It was very loud until about 11pm. We were told the firetruck ride was cancelled due to rain, but then we saw it drive by later. Our kids were really upset that they couldn't do that either.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals