Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 21, 2013
WATER CONNECTION WAS LEAKING..........WIFI NOT REALAIBLE AND SOMETIME HARD TO LOG ON. FOX NEWS CHANNEL WAS SNOWY.........LAUNDRY IS TERRIBLE. POOR PRESSURE......TOOK 1.5 HOURS FOR ONE MACHINE YOU HAVE A GREAT PLACE .......GET THE EQUIPMENT WORKING AS IT SHOULD
Aug 21, 2013
A Great Resort Site. Many Activities, Pool, Horse Back riding, Roundup dinners, Restaurants, Wine Tasting Etc. Needs Work: Enforcement of Rules, Speed, Kids riding bikes, ATV's and $ Wheelers drive like maniacs. Quiet time. Management must not be afraid to enforce the rules. Clients are going to get hurt. Laundries need updating.
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Great place to stay! Cabins are clean, plenty of activities to choose from. Horse back riding was nice, ATV rentals were fantastic, plenty of pools and friendly staff. The restrooms need attention more often. But they are not horrible...just need attentions more often. The location to all attractions is perfect. Overall, we HIGHLY recommend staying here.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
This Kampground is huge! Unfortunately, the bath houses were not in great shape - poor plumbing (husband had a cold shower), doors sticking, vent fans not working. We were in a section surrounded by unplumbed cabins and the bath house traffic was horrible! Also the hookups in our pull thru site were way at one end and we had to unhook the car and park it at the far end of the site.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Attached to a hotel this was a huge resort with lots of amenities. Great poil and jacuzzi area, large campsite in wooded setting, lots of kids activities. Perfect for exploring the area. 5 min to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse Monuments.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Our Axel on our camper broke in the way out from WI and had to stay in the repair shop all week! Koa staff immediately got on the task and moved our party of 5 into a Kamping Kabin at no extra charge. We had a wonderful week and will definitely be back. Thank you!
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Very crowded, but it's the height of vacation season. The bar and restaurants are a great touch.
Aug 20, 2013
Awesome vacation
Aug 20, 2013
Lots to do, we had a great time. We will be back.
Aug 20, 2013
Site was terribly uneven and rocky. Roads were terrible. The park itself has nice immenities but for me far too big to enjoy. Spread out too much.
Aug 20, 2013
Like KOA's but this one was too big for us. As Retiree's, the walk to the main building was too much for us so we only went a couple of times. I like to see kids having fun; but most kids there seemed to not have parents keeping an eye on them. Riding bikes without a single glance to see if someone was walking.
Aug 20, 2013
We had a great time, we always do.
Aug 20, 2013
Picnic tables were rotting, we had to use neighbors as ours was missing, spacing between rv's was too narrowband price was too much for what we got questioning if going to a koa has any advantages over a mom and pop park
Aug 20, 2013
Super nice staff and campground. Had to arrange a late checkout for a short notice event. KOA helped me out big time! This is the best place to stay in the hills if you have kids...or are just a big kid! Highly recommend this place.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
I have stayed at this KOA a number of times...always been clean....this time our cabin was FILTHY and I will NEVER come back...there are 3 other KOA's around that area and I will be booking a cabin at one of those instead. Our cabin was disgusting and it had a terrible smell....one night was too much for me. We were so close to just leaving the same day we checked in. Terrible!!!
Aug 19, 2013
I loved having the cooking gazebo. The only negative to the campground was the lack of cell phone service.
Aug 19, 2013
Would have rated an 8 or 9, but the bathrooms were not good. Cold showers!
Aug 19, 2013
There are so many activities available. The cooking center was especially appreciated, and the fresh herbs were great. Overall the campground is very attractive, with ts of beautiful flowers. The one drawback was the condition of the bathrooms and showers. We went across the grounds each evening to shower, as the ones near the tent area weren't kept up. They should be cleaned more than once a day.
Aug 19, 2013
It is nice but way to busy for our family. A little to loud at times.I felt it was dangerous at times with cars, bikers, & kids running around the pool area and the streets. But, there are a lot of things to do which our kids liked. But we would not stay there again. Thank you!
Aug 19, 2013
The site that we were put at was so un-level for a trailer. That hole area needs to be re-stoned and leveled. The water hook up leaked. the fire rings were not placed properly. Some were up side down and needed repaired. The tables needed repaired.looks like all the money is being used on other things that you charge for and not the camp sites.
Aug 19, 2013
We pulled in with an RV/car in a downpour.There was a man with a white beard in a yellow slickers who stood under the awning who waved us on we could barely see & had no idea what he was talking about we drove aimlessly around the campground-this was very frustrating, he should have come up to our RV and told us to pull into the staging area.hottub H2o was green-sadly didn't use them. Internet-bad
Aug 19, 2013
Employees assigning spaces need more education on size of space vs. unit people have. Need to fix some pot holes to keep mud down.
Aug 19, 2013
Bathrooms and showers dirty. Hot tub and children's pool dirty. A lot of amenities need more upkeep.
Aug 19, 2013
Crowded, dirty, very poorly maintained. Wish I could get my money back.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
We had a great time staying at your KOA, it is so kid friendly. We will definetly recommend your Kampground to all of our friends!
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
water rusty at site
Aug 19, 2013
A perfect base location for kids as there is so much to do!
Aug 19, 2013
We loved it! Its a very wonderful place for any family with or without kids.
Aug 19, 2013
When we took a shower the stall was musty smelling and had mold in the stall. The tent spots either had no shade or was not level so we were at a tilt. The fire pit was not cleaned out. Sites were way too close to each other no privacy. At the breakfast we had three orders of bacon and the guy argued with us that we only had two when he seen the colored chips we had.
Aug 19, 2013
This KOA was the highpoint in my granddaughter's vacation with me. She loved the horses and the pools
Aug 19, 2013
The best Campground I've every been too. Simply amazing! Thank you fou all the memories!
Aug 19, 2013
All of the staff went out of their way to make you feel at home, it was a great place to go and see all the sites from there.
Aug 19, 2013
Maintenance and/or housekeeping needed to be increased. Shower house closest to my site was dirty and not completely operational.
Aug 19, 2013
Great K.O.A.,was here in 2002 and its gotten better. Long time K.O.A. person, loved it.
Aug 19, 2013
Clean and fun place for entire family. First time camping there and really enjoyed it. Will definitely be back next year. Thanks
Aug 19, 2013
I went here based on previous trips here over the years. Was disappointed with attitude of staff. Quality of campground was down. My grand kids rented a pedal car $15 per hour broke the rule took it out of lower camp are staff had them return it after 15 minutes no refund. Fine they broke the rules. 15 minutes later another group got busted but got to keep them. Only diff was age and color.
Aug 19, 2013
We have stayed here for three years now for a number of days. Always very happy. This last trip really left us scratching our heads. The service was very lac luster and the cleanliness of the restrooms and the property was very disappointing. We did book Labor Day weekend as well hoping things are different. We love this park and want it to be our favorite place to camp.
Aug 19, 2013
people were speeding with vehicles atv's motor homes etc. well in excess of 10mph. down on the paved road near the campsites. That includes all KOA Staff! Most KOA's we stayed at are 5mph. Campsites are too close together it was like being squished in a sardine can.Those sites should be closed and trees planted. You moved us to 611 w was great more space fire pits too close to other RV'S
Aug 19, 2013
Fantastic campground! Very clean, family friendly, great staff, beautiful scenery around it - and so many activities to do! Highly recommend staying here at Palmer Gulch Mt. Rushmore.
Aug 19, 2013
I thought it was over price for us staying there , the extra resort fee and it was not for older people to enjoy, there to many fires pits being used, too much smoke, made hard for my 80 yr old mom to breath coming from sea level, Great place for kids and young adults
Aug 18, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.