Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 4

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 23, 2016
It was nearly perfect! The one issue we had was that none of the comfort stations have changing tables. They need to be in the men's and women's bathrooms.
Aug 23, 2016
We loved the cabin site, all-you-eat pancakes, and convenient access to all the other offered amenities. We wish we could have stayed longer.
Aug 23, 2016
Awesome place and all the activities 👍🏻🇺🇸😘
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
It rained mist of iur time there which limited the activities the kids could do but we understand safety concerns. The only real negative was someone threw up in a shower and it didnt get cleaned for a whole day and the womans bathroom had standing water in a corner which didnt seem safe either. It was the one by where the rodeo was held
Aug 22, 2016
Love this place. So much fun. Rodeo was a great idea and a huge benefit
Aug 22, 2016
I thought it to be quite pricey. It is more for families and not motorcycle riders who will be there only to sleep and swim. I feel like people who camp with no children should be given a price break.
Aug 22, 2016
I have been coming here since I was a kid and have great memories. Now, I intend to give my kids the same great experiences I had.
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Very much liked our stay. Only suggestions would be to clean the bathrooms a few more times a day and improve the Wifi.
Aug 22, 2016
The campsite was great. The WiFi router could be reset more often. You could connect to the router but it sounded like no one could connect to the internet at the out post. I understand the bandwidth but even with low bandwidth should be able to connect to something.
Aug 22, 2016
Everyone was friendly and the place immaculately clean everywhere! Thank you
Aug 22, 2016
We had a RV and tent adjacent sites. Selection was VG. However, I wish I would of had known, during reservation process that a tent was able to be set-up on an RV site as I discovered there were many such situations. Leaned this upon check-out that we could of requested. This would of saved some dollars and made it more convenient for family and children. Will be sure to do so next time.
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
We love this campground!! Very fun for kids!
Aug 22, 2016
We stayed at this campground for 3 nights in August 2016. Great activities for the kids, super clean bathrooms/showers and the convenience stores were great. Rented a car, as we had an RV to see the local sites. We will be back!
Aug 22, 2016
Beautiful and centrally located in the Black Hills. Conveniences that few campsites offer, and very clean and well-managed. There were many cool activities for the kids! We had a great stay and highly recommend the campground!
Aug 22, 2016
Wonderful camping here!! Everyone very helpful and polite! Would advise anyone to stay here !!
Aug 22, 2016
This is a great place for families with kids. There are numerous activities to entertain kids. We enjoy coming here with our grandkids. When we made our reservation, Jennifer was very helpful and friendly. We were very happy with the units she reserved for us.
Aug 22, 2016
Great location, great facilities and friendly staff. the only complaint is that the pools were very cold and the pool by the stables could use a skim to get the bugs out
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Great stay!
Aug 22, 2016
Over crowded tourist trap. 40$ for a tent site on a hill surrounded within arms reach by strangers. Can't see the night sky for all the lights, can't hear any nature sounds for all the generator noise, bathrooms were not clean. There is a nice state park Campground right across the road! Stay there!
Aug 22, 2016
Loved it!!
Aug 21, 2016
Good spacing on camp sites. Morning pancakes in the tent is the best reason to wake up in the morning.
Aug 21, 2016
Amazing campground, like staying at a resort! We really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back!
Aug 21, 2016
Your place it wonderful for kids. But was disappointed in how close camp sites were , dirty bathhouses, and pool and hot tub were dirty .
Aug 21, 2016
Great place, great location, great service, great amenities. Too many lights, doesn't get dark, campers too close. We'll probably head to state parks in future. If your into these RV hotels you will not find a better one.
Aug 21, 2016
Everything was great except for WI-FI. Lots of things to do, great location. Friendly, helpful staff.
Aug 21, 2016
Simply Fantastic
Aug 21, 2016
Great place for families with kids . Not so much for older couples . Too many ATV's ruining around . Be very careful parents let their kids run free . Makes restrooms very dirty at times .
Aug 21, 2016
We've stayed at the KOA three times in the past. We love the place plenty to do with the kids, great activities. We stayed in a camping cabin. The only complaint is the beds not much cushion to sleep on.
Aug 21, 2016
Great place for a family.
Aug 21, 2016
After arriving at 1 am, there were people staying on the site we paid for and had it completely blocked off so we had to set up camp around them. Were only there for the one night so we didn't have much time to enjoy the Koa. The people working there were friendly though
Aug 21, 2016
We have stayed in the past but found the bathrooms to be dirty during whole stay. It seemed like this visit the facilities were not kept up as they seemed to be last time. Putt putt course needs some love. Other than that we had a nice stay.
Aug 21, 2016
Everything was wonderful!! However, you do need to install speed bumps on the main road side. We camped in a spot on the side closest to the main road I think 240 .... Vehicles flew by way too fast!!! Not the 10 mph limit that was posted. Very unsafe!!! Otherwise great place!!!
Aug 20, 2016
Every thing was great except the Wi-Fi while present did not work most of the time.
Aug 20, 2016
my stay was wonderful the campground was clean and quiet the staff was friendly I could not ask for anything more a definite must stay if you are in this area
Aug 20, 2016
Love it. Will continue to stay at KOA's
Aug 20, 2016
Too many things to do in one trip. We will be back.
Aug 20, 2016
Our family had a fabulous time, the best KOA we have ever been to!!!
Aug 20, 2016
This camp ground is wonderful. We have a large family and our cabin with a deck was perfect! The staff is very friendly and we will most definitely return.
Aug 20, 2016
Our family had a great time! Things are a bit expensive in the store.
Aug 20, 2016
Aug 20, 2016
The setting was beautiful and the campgrounds were very nicely located near area attractions. We enjoyed our horseback ride and the water slide but the bathrooms were disgusting. I understand that when camping it will not be like a hotel but they were not clean at all. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay!
Aug 20, 2016
Best KOA we have ever stayed at! Super friendly staff, awesome accommodations and clean campsites! We were so busy taking in the sights in Mt Rushmore area we didn't have much time to enjoy all that the camp ground offered (like the pool area and fun land) but we did go for a horse back ride! Would have liked to have seen a site for recyclable items.
Aug 20, 2016
I ended up speaking to the General Manager when I called to book our stay. He was phenomenal! The rest of the staff was great too! Always something to do at the campground & friendly and helpful staff to boot!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals