Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 01, 2017
Only have a few cable-hookups - misleading advertising Friendly staff - restaurant good. Need DVD rentals or book exchange. Somewhat disappointed.
Jun 01, 2017
May 31, 2017
Excellent service, polite and helpful work force have stayed here many times and many more in the future
May 31, 2017
Friendly staff. A well organized check in. Beautiful grounds.
May 31, 2017
May 31, 2017
A good place to stay with kids! Alot of things to do at the campground. We stayed in a camping cabin with bunks in the front and a bed in the back. We all (6) fit great. The cabin didn't have heat or ac but they gave us a electric space heater for the stay! Only bad time was the line for the pancake hut, 45 plus. We hit it at a busy time i guess but learned our lesson and went into town after that
May 31, 2017
Great campground! So much for kids to do! This is an amazing KOA!
May 31, 2017
Great place and great staff. Very clean and organized. Lots of things for the kids to do. One of the best we have been at from all over the country.
May 31, 2017
The campground has many things to do and a number of eating and snack options if you don't want to cook. Very family friendly with hiking nearby and other sites in the surrounding area.
May 31, 2017
We were unable to use the "Fresh Water" as it came out brownish.
May 31, 2017
Very large campground, more rustic resort than campground. The only drawback for people who need connectivity is that there in none. Limited wifi near the laundry but no cell service. If that isn't something you need then it's a lovely setting with lots of activities.
May 31, 2017
Awesome place to stay very family oriented. Close to all attractions in the area. Will stay here again if in a the area. Staff very friendly and helpful you have to see it to believe it.
May 31, 2017
My stay was not pleasant at all for the simple fact that there were no clear sign postings on how to navigate through the park. The campground was too massive to not have signs posted everywhere.
May 30, 2017
Excellent stay and facilities.
May 30, 2017
This is one of the finest campgrounds we have ever stayed at!! The amenities, staff, activities were all top notch. We will definitely recommend to all our friends.
May 30, 2017
The campground was ill prepared for the Memorial Day weekend kickoff to the camping season. The main pool in the kids area was not available and the mini golf course was being resurfaced throughout the weekend making it unplayable. If you don't prepare and plan ahead, you fail. It's unfortunate all who booked and paid for this weekend didn't get their full value.
May 30, 2017
Our family had a great stay! The resort had so many activities for the kids. The beds in the cabins were rock hard and I was a little bummed that I emailed for information and never got a reply. I called to make sure all the amenities were going to be available Memorial Day weekend and was told they would but the pool I requested a cabin near was not filled.
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
I love this KOA. Plenty of stuff to do without even leaving the campground. The staff is friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is great. Kids can run around carefree and participate in lots of activities while the adults can grill out, campfire, and lounge in one of the two hot tubs. I also love that one of the pools has adult hours from 8-10. AWESOME!
May 30, 2017
It was disappointing that the pools were not open due to needing to be painted and also that they were working on the mini golf during the same time. These things could be done outside of Memorial day to Labor day...in the other 9, non vacation months.
May 30, 2017
Wonderful facility and people
May 30, 2017
My family loves this place! So much to do and everything is kept nice. Can't wait to plan our next visit!
May 30, 2017
My stay was great. It gave me w total reset. The only thing is, I would like to have done more swimming but the pool was dirty.
May 30, 2017
Such gracious, helpful folks always available . . .Just look for the bright yellow shirts. Thank you for a super friendly stay!
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
Great for our grandchildren 👍👍
May 30, 2017
We were there for a quick overnight stay but wished we had more time to explore. Great KOA with lots of fun activities and places to explore.
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
Had a great time at the Koa so much to do for kids the staff was so friendly and very helpful would recommend this place to everyone
May 30, 2017
Great place except... the WIFI is useless and there is no cell service. so if you want to stay connected then go somewhere else, otherwise it's a very nice place and the people are really great!
May 30, 2017
The campground was awesome it's really large and has everything possible u would need they have a little store, coffee shop, restaurant, car rentals, golf cart rentals, bike rentals. Activities to do for the kids and adults, trail rides I could go on and on...amazing place!
May 30, 2017
We and our grandchildren really enjoyed our camping experience. The only negative was the service an attitude at the Ponderosa restaurant. We walked out.
May 30, 2017
We've stayed at this KOA many times and never had problems. This time garbage was overflowing, the ATM was out of money, only half the bathroom stalls were unlocked, and the desk agents refused to give us either military discount or AAA discounts. Very disappointing compared to normal. We will be back, so hopefully this was just a beginning of the season oops.
May 30, 2017
People were great. A more informed sign in person would help. Not all pull throughs are created equal and when you have over 40 feet it would be nice to know you can fit.
May 30, 2017
Very nicely maintained facility with activities to keep everyone happy!
May 30, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. Only problem was the service and attitude of the employees at the Ponderosa restaurant. After waiting over 30 minutes for a table,we left.
May 30, 2017
Friendly staff and helpful. Clean and lots of great things to do. I would definitely stay there again.
May 30, 2017
Over crowded
May 29, 2017
I rated with 4 stars because I was very disappointed with the WiFi hotspots. Only 3 and even then not working well. I needed it for my roadtrip so I really missed it.
May 29, 2017
very well run !!!
May 29, 2017
Very enjoyable stay. The adults loved the full service coffee shop, and the kids enjoyed all the activities (particularly the ride in a fire truck!). The showers could have stood to be a little cleaner, but it's a busy campsite and that was somewhat expected.
May 29, 2017
Grrrrrrrrrrrreat!
May 29, 2017
May 29, 2017
Mike the manager was very helpful good man. Wifi and no phone service not good.
May 29, 2017
So friendly
May 28, 2017
Awesome campground, especially for families with small kids. Lots of different options for accommodations including regular lodge rooms. DUE to location, cellular data access is poor and their WIFI is weak, so plan to just enjoy your surroundings.
May 28, 2017
Cleanest bathrooms ever in a KOA. Great facilities.
May 28, 2017
Wonderful experience!
May 28, 2017
May 28, 2017
Ba beautiful and well kept koa. The only problem is the price! We paid 79 a night plus they charge a 10 a night resort fee! Do they think they are the Marriot? Koa is really pricing themselves out. We could of stayed in a hotel for 10 more a night and had a buffet breakfast too. Again, it is a beautiful campground but it is only a campground. Nice clean bathrooms, wide pull throughs,2 pools.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals