Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 03, 2016
We wished we would have stayed more than one night. Very friendly staff. This KOA is Awesome. Clean showers.
Aug 03, 2016
Great family oriented campground!
Aug 03, 2016
Aug 03, 2016
Great location. All the amenities and so much for the kids. Lots of things to explore. Great customer service. No wifi or ATT or Verizon signal but nice to be off the grid.
Aug 03, 2016
We had a great time! Fun family activities. We can't wait to visit again.
Aug 03, 2016
Stayed 4 nights. Was amazed at all the activities for the kids. Horseback riding was wonderful. The restrooms were very cllean. Staff was very friendly. Loved all the lovely landscaping. Pride shows in this KOA
Aug 03, 2016
Very nice clean campsite with many things to enjoy.
Aug 03, 2016
The location and facilities were perfect for our needs.
Aug 02, 2016
This is the best place to stay in the Black Hills.....the Chuckwagon Ride and show is a must!
Aug 02, 2016
Our family had a great time on our vacation. Special thanks to the staff there as they really stepped up when we were caught in a hail storm while horseback riding. Our son went missing briefly and they were absolutely fantastic!!!! Thank you so much. We'll be back.
Aug 02, 2016
It was a Family Reunion that brought us to you. Everything worked out perfectly ! Shelby and Billie were both very professional in seeing that our accommodations were in place. I can't say enough for the entire experience.
Aug 02, 2016
Love the campground and activities. Please don't have bathroom facilities cleaned at the same time. One day the pool and station 3 bathrooms were closed at same time. More gravel to offset the mud would be wonderful.
Aug 02, 2016
Our granddaughter enjoyed the variety of activities. Parking our truck was the only problem we encountered, not enough room.
Aug 02, 2016
Ben Larson was very supportive and helped us create a "Plan B" after we locked ourselves out of our camper. Mike Atkinson also helped out. Cell phone service & internet connectivity would be much appreciated. Of 8 campgrounds this is the only one that didn't have reliable cell & internet service from mobile devices.
Aug 02, 2016
Pleasantly surprised - we will definitely go back!
Aug 02, 2016
No WiFi at camp sites; No cel. phone service.
Aug 02, 2016
We had a lot of fun and really enjoyed the movies and pool. We wish there were more chess games so we didn't have to wait so long because it was so fun!
Aug 02, 2016
Best Koa that we have ever stayed at on vacation! My kids said they could've stayed another week!
Aug 02, 2016
Nice clean facility, great location friendly staff..
Aug 02, 2016
already planning our trip back. the staff were helpful and cheerful over the phone. the campground was clean. the amenities made for an amazing experience.
Aug 02, 2016
It was our first overnight with a campsite & it was great & convenient! Thank you!
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Great for families, plenty to do for the kids. The staff was great, even went around letting campers know about bad weather in the area.
Aug 02, 2016
We absolutely loved the campground!!!!
Aug 02, 2016
Lots of great activities. Only disappointment was the excess water at out site. It needed to be graded better to encourage run off instead of having the water stand. We were basically camped in a lake
Aug 02, 2016
Beautiful site, great amenities, very helpful and friendly people. We had a great time and would return in a heartbeat.
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Everything was great except the firewood. Everyone around us was having trouble getting it to burn. Having a campfire is a critical part of enjoying camping for our family.
Aug 02, 2016
We had a blast and enjoyed all the fun. Thanks for a memorable vacation.
Aug 02, 2016
Best KOA in western USA out of 16 we visited in 25 days.
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Although we weren't at the campground very much, due to other vacation plans, it was very nice and staff was very helpful.
Aug 02, 2016
LARGE GROUNDS bathroom was dirty all day and night do not know if it was ever cleaned when we were there. Things to do but those things were not kept up
Aug 02, 2016
Amazing campground
Aug 02, 2016
I had a good time there, will come back in the future. Do have some friendly staff there. Helped me out with my camping spot.
Aug 02, 2016
unexpected stay, everything was good and a lot of facilities. Thank you
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
We stayed in a cabin. I wish the bathrooms were closer to our cabin.
Aug 02, 2016
Great for families but way too expensive for traveling retirees. Amenities we don't want or need. Won't use KOA if anyway possible in the future!
Aug 02, 2016
We enjoyed a beautiful spot tent camping for 4 nights! Excellent view of the tower on top of Harney Peak where we hiked with the kids. Our three kiddos loved the jumping pillow. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Site #445 given to us was a bit small for a four-man tent. It was non-grass with lots of small stones. Our first night rained so it made quite a mess since it's not grass. I have nowhere to park my car so I parked it side by side with the tent. Good thing I'm not using the picnic table so I pushed it out of our way to make more room. I gave it a 3 star for the nice facilities and it's staff.
Aug 02, 2016
Very friendly people..posted storm warnings. Allowed us extra time for check out due to vehicle damage from hitting animal on I90 on wayour in.
Aug 01, 2016
We stayed here 15 years ago in the lodge for our family reunion and returned this time to stay in a deluxe cabin for another reunion. The cabin was fantastic! The loft was perfect for our kids! So many added things for the kids to do. 4 days was not enough time to do it al. Perfect central location.
Aug 01, 2016
Everything here was exactly what we thought it would be and more. The kids loved it too. Our only regret is not staying in this location longer.
Aug 01, 2016
only thing... no cell service and wifi was little or none.. made it difficult to keep in touch with kids
Aug 01, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
Awesome place to stay especially if you have children.
Aug 01, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
Enjoyed our stay! Great people, location, and many fun activities to do whether you are staying at the campground or seeing the sites!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals