Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 11, 2016
Horrible wi fi, too pricey fpr off season
May 11, 2016
May 10, 2016
This was the first time we ever stayed at a KOA campground and wow what a way to get someone hooked! Everyone was great and made sure you knew they were there to help even if it was to find a place to eat in the area. Unfortunately not all the things that this campground had to offer was open due to the time of year but it was still a great time in a beautiful area.
May 10, 2016
Very welcoming, THANK YOU for that! Friendly and helpful staff, just getting up and running for the season so most amenities were closed, but what a beautiful KOA and wonderful people! We'll be coming back later in the season to enjoy everything there is to do!
May 09, 2016
Best KOA we have ever stayed at! Blows the rest away.
May 09, 2016
May 09, 2016
Unfortunately we came too early and the restaurant and speciality stores were not open yet. Looks fun in the summer.
May 09, 2016
We stayed in the Deluxe cabin. The cabin in very nice, however the heater in the main room didn't work. It is noisy. Nothing was open yet, so we didn't get to enjoy the different activities the KOA offers. But I am sure it's a nice place when it's open.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for letting us know about the heat. The issue has been resolved.
May 09, 2016
Very nice store and helpful people...nice clean site.
May 08, 2016
Nice campground, friendly folks. Totally new shower/bathroom building. Showers on one side of the building only had cold water. Start up problem?

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the comment and sorry for the cold water. The issue has been resolved and the showers are now nice and warm. Hope to see you again soon.
May 07, 2016
Perfect location, especially if you want to hike up towards Harney Peak. Very close by to Mt Rushmore w/ very nice facilities.
May 07, 2016
May 07, 2016
The staff was amazing, especially Ben, and even though not everything was open it was our favorite spot on a cross country trek.
May 06, 2016
The only thing that would have made it better is if the restraunts open the same time as the camp grounds. Staf was great and very helpfull
Apr 26, 2016
grate place to stay very clean
Feb 26, 2016
We've stayed at a lot of KOA's but this is by far the best. Beautiful setting, nice people and lots to do for the kids.
Nov 09, 2015
Our camp site was soaking wet but they did take half off. Overall it was a great place but service was slow and ok.
Nov 07, 2015
Very clean. Everyone very courteous and helpful. The Staff very knowledgeable about the attractions to see. Liked the Shower arrangements separated from the bathrooms.
Nov 07, 2015
Nice
Oct 29, 2015
was very pleased with my stay. restrooms were very clean and grounds were clean as well, staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Oct 27, 2015
Beautiful campground
Oct 26, 2015
it was exceptional clean and very tidy.
Oct 26, 2015
It was nice to have a place to stop and plug in when all other campgrounds were completely closed for the season. Looks like beautiful facilities.
Oct 20, 2015
Oct 20, 2015
Awesome! Even off-season it was fabulous
Oct 20, 2015
stayed in after season and it worked out great, had power and dump but water was off. I'd come again.
Oct 16, 2015
It was a wonderful park. Very friendly staff.
Oct 15, 2015
This is the only campground that we stay at when we go to the hills. Everyone VERY friendly and helpful there.
Oct 13, 2015
great att, great stay
Oct 11, 2015
Oct 10, 2015
wifi and cell phone crevice was poor
Oct 10, 2015
A nice palace with a lot of amenities!
Oct 07, 2015
Great campground, beautiful views. A lot of amenities were closed because we went there after Labor Day. The bathrooms and showers were really nice.
Oct 07, 2015
we were pleasantly surprised, we have not stayed at a koa and were very impressed with yours
Oct 06, 2015
What a wonderful campground. We were in town for the Crazy Horse Marathon. We look forward to coming back in the summer. So much to do. The location is close to both Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore.
Oct 06, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff .Clean and well maintained.
Oct 06, 2015
This is a great KOA and we are looking forward to coming back this summer for some fun!
Oct 06, 2015
Oct 06, 2015
Enormous campground. Well maintained and very clean bathrooms. We were disappointed that they didn't keep the hot tub going until they closed.
Oct 05, 2015
We really loved the campground and all the great things you had to do. Your location makes it easy to get to the popular tourist areas. We had interactions with several of the staff and had very positive results. Thank you.
Oct 05, 2015
Very nice campground. Stayed in a deluxe cabin and the amenities were great. Only issue was no lights to help light the roads, difficult to find our cabin.
Oct 05, 2015
We had a great stay here. Very relaxing and just what we needed. It's also so close to so many wonderful little towns and Mt. Rushmore, if you're in the area it's a no-brainer to stay here. Beautiful campground and fantastic staff. Couldn't ask for more!
Oct 05, 2015
Although we're not fans of KOAs, coming in late in the season meant that some parks were closed and others had shut off their water, so this was really our only choice. Boy, did we regret it! The front office help was unfriendly, almost surly. This is promoted as a luxury park with many activities and amenities, but they really need to pay more attention to their RV sites. The roads and pads in
Oct 04, 2015
Enjoyed our stay at your camp ground. Very clean , great staff very helpful, beautiful surroundings too. We will be back for sure thank you again.
Oct 04, 2015
Hard to find.
Oct 04, 2015
We stayed at this campground the last week that they were open to RV's for the season. The place was very clean and had nice spaces. It had many amenities although stores were already closed for the winter. Great place to stay. Maybe a little pricey.
Oct 04, 2015
Phenomenal views and great facilities. Many things for children to do. Quick access to Mt. Rushmore area attractions.
Oct 03, 2015
I wish we lived closer to this KOA, I would take my Grandkids here every year! I will be looking for other KOA's like this one in California! We were an all adult group with 8 people, stayed in 3 cabins and 1 motorhome; it was a perfect location to see the sites and the cabins were great. Our group took advantage of the fire rings and the decks. We had a great time.
Oct 03, 2015
Wifi did not work. Even when it does it's only available at the main bldg. no cell service. Store only open until 6. Tried to speak to a manager and he never returned my call. Unhelpful staff
Oct 02, 2015
Great campground which lived up to all expectations!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals