Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 02, 2017
Showers were dirty and lacked water pressure and hot temperature.
Aug 02, 2017
The restrooms were filthy and didn't work. Not enough restrooms for the campers that were present . Not all staff were friendly. Many campers didn't follow campsite regulations and staff turned a blind eye. Travelled across the entire US and Canada and it was a disappointing stay. It is conveniently close to Mt Rushmore which is probably why it is so popular . There were lots to do with kids
Aug 02, 2017
Loved the atmosphere, but the campsites are way to close. Barely could fit our camper in our spot and was on very un-even ground. Otherwise everything was good! :)
Aug 02, 2017
Kids were OUT OF CONTROL!!! The parents were not watching their kids As they rode the three wheel bikes in front of cars and trucks. They looked at you as if they dared you to say something!! The speed limit was 10mph but you had a 10 year old driving a golf cart FULL of kids as fast as it would go with no regards to traffic! Disappointing!! Will not Return!
Aug 02, 2017
This is an excellent campground with many facilities and conveniently located. My only complaint is that the band width of the wireless hot spots is woefully inadequate. Unless very early in the morning or very late at night, it was basically useless and there is no cellular service. Otherwise I would highly recommend this campground. Great staff and great facilities!
Aug 02, 2017
Love that it was so close to Mt. Rushmore. This place is huge. If you have little kids 5-12 there is so much for them to do. If you have older ones who rely on Wifi or cell service it's not a good place, the service is awful. Very busy and crowded but it was manageable
Aug 02, 2017
Best KOA (or any family campground) in the country! Put aside any questions you may have. Staff is super helpful. Programs facilities and grounds are terrific. And the bathrooms are very clean. They will exceed your expectations on every level!
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
excellent service, very cooperative, and very nice people. They also have the Presidents museum and mini golf in Keystone. excellent attractions.
Aug 02, 2017
No internet at all,not even at hot spot.Very packed and crowded.Dirty shower room. No soap shelve, all wet floor and no floor mat to step on.Men and women share shower rooms. The rate was so high for the quality of staying ($78/night)
Aug 02, 2017
Koa community was great.however wi-fi was not great and the bathrooms need improving.
Aug 02, 2017
Amazing place. Kids loved it.
Aug 01, 2017
Lots of amenities, close to all the sights. Staff was helpful when our trailer had a problem. But the campground is too big,too busy and way, way, way too noisy. All the facilities were crowded. No wifi, cell service or over-the-air tv. Sites are small. Oh and did I mention that it's noisy?
Aug 01, 2017
Absolutely loved this KOA close to everything and so much to do on site. Their handicap bathroom was not in use almost our entire trip and daughter is in a wheel chair was surprised and disappointed not typical KOA to have things broken
Aug 01, 2017
LOTS and LOTS and LOTS of things to do here. Very clean. Very easy to check in. Great food and activities. The kids had a blast! Horse back riding, pools, slides, atv rentals, etc. Very well organized and informed staff. We enjoyed our stay immensely and when back in this area will definitely be back here!
Aug 01, 2017
we loved it was great it has change a lot since we were here in 2009-----Ken & Noel
Aug 01, 2017
Lot's of activities, friendly staff, and great food!
Aug 01, 2017
Most staff friendly, nice sites, clean area, plenty of things for kids to do on site, shopping food on site, close to most area attractions, would recommend.
Aug 01, 2017
Very nice setup, a lot is offered here, perfectly located. No phone reception here... that's good and bad! Lol We'll be back!
Aug 01, 2017
1) The bathrooms were very nasty at times. The showers were dirty.2) No Wi-Fi or cell phone connection 3) Could really use some shade. The amenities were great and kids had a wonderful time.
Aug 01, 2017
We loved this KOA. This is ideal for young families as there are multiple activities that kids of all ages can do here. Our kids (5,3,1) loved the pool, bounce pillow, mini golf, and panning for gemstones. There is a nice bike trail that loops around the property that makes it nice to walk for ice cream. We are already planning when we can come back we loved it that much!
Aug 01, 2017
Aug 01, 2017
Very clean place. lots of fun activities. sites were level for rvs. most staff was friendly. perfect location for a koa. Downside was expensive
Aug 01, 2017
This campground was way too busy for my family, and the campsites for us we're too far away from the kid zone, hauling three kids and stuff to the kid zone was crazy! But that being said the staff was friendly! We didn't spend much time at camp anyway. The rodeo was amazing!! The rental cars are super sketchy, ours was overflowing antifreeze at the top of needles hey, 1/2 the day was spent.
Aug 01, 2017
Very fun, lots for the kids to do! They loved the fun zone! Flapjack breakfasts were great! Campsites are very crowded- our fire pit was so close to the site behind us we were practically sitting on top of them. Cost of horse rides and wagon rides seemed expensive.
Aug 01, 2017
Nice family oriented campground. Great activities. Sites way too small. Sewer pipes less than 1 foot from picnic table. Dirty bathrooms and no wifi at all.
Aug 01, 2017
Bathrooms were DISGUSTING!!!! DIRTY, NO TOILET PAPER & SMELLED. The showers were also pretty disgusting too!!! Questionable if I will ever stay again! The activities for kids are good but our camping space was kinda small. Just expected more for price paid.
Aug 01, 2017
Staff was some of the best and most accommodating I have ever seen.
Aug 01, 2017
Front desk staff needs to learn customer service and training. Our bad experience started at the front desk. It took three visits to finally get our issue resolved by Makalay. A previous commitment was made by "Ben" however no notes were added to our reservations which leaves me with no choice but to never visit this KOA or recommend this KOA to any of my camping mates.
Aug 01, 2017
great family park.. numerous things for families to enjoy!I however missed having my wifi to look up my maps etc an even going to some spots I had no service.However it was a welcome change to watch so many families enjoy doing things with their kids !
Aug 01, 2017
Best time ever!!! Rodeo was awesome!! Wished we had more time. Will definitely be back. Will be taking horse back trail rides next time!
Aug 01, 2017
For sure the best koa we have stayed with!
Aug 01, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. Many fun things for everyone. Great place or build family memories. We will return again.
Aug 01, 2017
Advised by clerk to use restroom too far away. It was Late and I couldn't find it was so far away and I didn't want to leave my children (1 adult) for that long. So I came back; went to pool which was very nice. It wasn't til the next day that the right restroom was found; nice but too far; that place was too big. Didn't know where to put my garbage or get water. You only good for RVs. 😤
Aug 01, 2017
So much fun for our family! Great clean facilities, and plenty to keep the kids busy.
Aug 01, 2017
No cell phone service no wifi at camp site no parking at camp site fishing pond smelled of dead fish
Jul 31, 2017
Laundry facilities need to be fixed so there is enough if them. Two of the dryers were broken and none of the soap containers were working. Other then that a fantastic stay!
Jul 31, 2017
Wi-Fi and/or 4G cell service would be nice
Jul 31, 2017
We brought our grandson with us and he had an epic great time (his words). Mini golf, movies, activities, rock wall, bouncing pillow..... the fun never ended for him. Staff were all great too.
Jul 31, 2017
Great place for children and their parents. Lots of activities. Good Pizza and salad at the Ice Cream Shop. A little too much activity for the "introvert". I stayed in a 2 room cabin with daughter and grand children and felt safe.
Jul 31, 2017
Was a wonderful place. Lots of activities! However, I was told no pets, and there were tons of pets. We had to kennel our dog because told no pets.
Jul 31, 2017
great stay
Jul 31, 2017
This is our 2nd stay at this resort. First time was in the Lodge but now we have a motorhome so we were in the campground. Met our kids and grandkids here. There is so much to do at the resort and in the Black Hills. Very enjoyable!
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
Need to clean pool more often
Jul 31, 2017
Our second stay at Palmer Gulch KOA with Grandchildren. A great place to take children. We had a cabin and tent site. The restrooms for our area were in need of updating. Ventilation in men's room was inadequate. Laundry room only had two dryers available for guests. Two other dryers had Out of Order signs, but were actually reserved for Staff use. The Ponderosa Restaurant was excellent.
Jul 31, 2017
Beautiful scenery, lots of things for the kids to do and good location for many of the attractions!
Jul 31, 2017
The only problem we had was with the bathrooms not being cleaned.People would defecate on the floor or plug up the toilets or use up all of the toilet paper -not a facility issue but a lack of consideration by other guests.Loved all the activities.Loved the pm movie.My son loved the banana bike.I loved the kitchen stove building for cooking.Wish I would have thought to bring a slow cooker.
Jul 31, 2017
This was a really neat place to stay in the Black Hills area. The kids were at the Fun Zone the whole time we were at our campsite. The chuckwagon dinner show was fantastic! The only concern was that we were shoehorned into a pull-thru that was barely large enough for our camper and truck and took some manuevering to get out of.
Jul 31, 2017
Restroom/Showers (comfort station 1) are inadequate, outdated, filthy, and generally repulsive. Biggest is NOT best! Some capital reinvestment of some of your very high fees is certainly in order.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals