Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 18, 2014
We loved it,the views amazing!So much fun stuff that the kids did for free! Loved the horse back riding, rates reasonable.Golf carts & buggy rentals were pricey Disappointed in showers,they were dirty & gross! They were also too small for a mom & child. Overall loved it,seems like a little money back into a few things,& maintenance would be exactly what it needs to be perfect!
Aug 17, 2014
The kids had tons of things to do and had a lot of fun. The pancake breakfasts were a big hit each morning. The Kamping Kabins could use a little updating/cleaning. For example, our door caught on the floor after you opened it approx. 1 foot.
Aug 17, 2014
Perfect cabin. Couldn't have been better location for us. Had a great time
Aug 17, 2014
The adult staff was fantastic. There needs to be consistent policies regarding the water slide. One youth staff would allow four kids to go down the slide, while the next staff would allow only one. This confuses the young kids who were doubling up with their siblings. There should be supervision at the pool. My kids especially liked the kayaks at the pond. The staff was genuine and hospitable.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
We brought a wide age range with us and every one rated this the best campground we stayed at! Great job!
Aug 17, 2014
It was clean and quiet at night and we wish we could've stayed longer to enjoy all they have to offer.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
The staff and the shower facilities were great. The water slide is terrible and the pool was dirty, my kids didn't eve want to swim in it.
Aug 17, 2014
We always enjoy your campground ! The grounds are well kept, plenty to do! The help is very friendly!
Aug 17, 2014
Great activities for the kids, cell phone reception has improved in some spots as well.
Aug 17, 2014
Lots to do at this KOA. The staff was very accommodating. In fact we were assisted by a friendly staff member in securing a cabin at an out of state KOA for the following evening. Much appreciated.
Aug 17, 2014
Beautiful Setting and a great Staff.
Aug 16, 2014
Very enjoyable, staff were very helpfull.
Aug 16, 2014
No wi fi connection -- ever. Bugs. Mud puddles. Expensive. Up charges for unneeded services. Need a separate area for senior citizens or adults with no children. And discounts for seniors.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
The camp was clean. had a lot of activities for the kids. We enjoyed meeting and talking with Sarah the bartender. She is very sweet. The wifi connection needs to be fixed.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Mt. Rushmore koa was awesome. Great staff, stores, activities, and location.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Campground is great for families. Lots of things to do onsite. Grounds are kept clean. Restrooms/showers exceed campground standards. Sigh....the dog run area is sad. Grass overgrown, trash can full and not emptied for several days. Oh and I still cant figure out why a 78yr old woman was denied purchase at the wine tasting event because she didnt bring her ID card with her...really?
Aug 16, 2014
Very poor water pressure . No cel or internet service at all unless right at check in area. Water pressure was my biggest complaint .
Aug 16, 2014
The ponderosa restaurant food was terrible!
Aug 15, 2014
For families with kids
Aug 15, 2014
Was disappointed we couldn't have a fire as our neighbor's slide out was only 2' away from the pit. Was not able to move sites, and the crew sent to move the firepit said it was too much work. Seems like the longer the stay, the worse the site. :(
Aug 15, 2014
It is simply a world-class campground. Having camped across the west, this is the finest facility in any state.
Aug 15, 2014
we had a wonderful time, great accommodations and location. Great amenities for families with younger kids, nice to be able to have our dog with us.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
If we had based our decision to stay here on the way we were treated when we were trying to make a reservation we would never stay here. Once we got through the reservation line telling us all cabins were booked through the end of the season the office stating the same thing the manager not returning our call and Melody threatening to hang up on my husband when he expressed his frustration: good.
Aug 15, 2014
Bathrooms were not clean when they said they would be very dirty showers, wifi and cell service does not work at all in the campground. The firewood they sell to people stinks and smokes so bad the entire campground was filled with smoke every night making it impossible to open cabin windows or sit outside. We all ended up with horrible raw sore throats from all the smoke.
Aug 15, 2014
Super place. Grand kids enjoyed it!!!
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
This is more of a resort than a campground. Our family enjoyed the pool and the horses. There was a lot of trash in the fire ring.
Aug 15, 2014
Everything was awesome especially the chuck wagon dinner. The only bad was the internet was terrible could not even get my work emails. My suggestion would be how they manage in other countries. limit by password the number of devices and no video streaming or large downloads,
Aug 15, 2014
Great accommodations, but KOA was a little too big and a little too crowded for my liking.
Aug 14, 2014
A beautiful campground with flowers everywhere! Just a couple of issues. The price were way too high in the grocery "store" and we went into the ponderosa to eat and were told we had to sit in a dark room at the back, even though the place was empty. The hostess said we couldn't sit by.a window because they seat by "sections". What's that all about? We went elsewhere to eat.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
Great KOA including staff and amenities. Only poor was internet.. We rely on internet for our business in which there was none our entire 1 week stay. However, we did learn the entire area is hit or miss.
Aug 14, 2014
one of the best have been at need to spend more than a night to really see and enjoy all the activities
Aug 14, 2014
The stay at the KOA was comfortable, affordable, and relaxing...so much to do!
Aug 14, 2014
We loved it!!
Aug 14, 2014
This KOA is SOOO AWESOME!! It is beautiful property, lots of activities to do, staff is very helpful at check-in giving helpful suggestions of activities on the grounds, closest restroom and water. This is the BEST KOA location we have been at. Only complaint was the water in the kids slide was dirty but probably from the dirt on the stairs to go to the top.
Aug 14, 2014
Such an amazing experience! We can't wait to go back!
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
Fun Zone was fantastic for my kids!!
Aug 14, 2014
Great activities, beautiful campground. Clean bathrooms and showers.
Aug 14, 2014
Awesome an well maintained.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Great but don't think everyone should have to pay for all kids amenities. Go back to charging for children. Especially during the rally

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.