Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 16, 2015
Excellent KOA, 6 mi from Mt. Rushmore, large gift shop, groceries, 500+ sites. Lot of water on road, muddy sites. Ours was great on hill, with great view, gravel level spot. Long walk to BR - 0.44 miles one way. 2 inground hot tube (one broken), 2 nicely heated pools, 4 very good baths, one older. NO cable, hotspot Wifi. Nice onsite bar.
Jun 16, 2015
Very nice facility.
Jun 16, 2015
Too expensive and too many additional charges, Really 3.00 per day for my small dog. Limited WIFI, and cable. Plus $10.00/day saver pack. Saved what?
Jun 16, 2015
I was very disappointed in the fact that I could not connect to WIFI any of the time I was there. That is one thing I look for in a campground. Otherwise the stay was great.
Jun 16, 2015
Great activities for kids but our cabin number 208 was right next to the pool which had a fun running all night. I put in ear plugs and hard hard time sleeping.
Jun 16, 2015
It was rainy for the two days we were there, but we still had a great time! I was glad we chose to stay in a cabin since it made sleeping a little warmer than it would have been in a tent. We loved all the options for the kids, and the staff was wonderful at making sure all of the kids were included!!!
Jun 16, 2015
Everything was great. The rain made it a little messy. Some of the sites could use some more gravel.
Jun 16, 2015
Good: on site activities, proximity to Mt Rushmore, staff were courteous and helpful. Bad: parked in muddy,unimproved area. Adjacent sites had concrete pads. WiFi unusable except in Hotspot almost 1/2 mile away although signal was good. Roads in disrepair, credited to much rain in recent weeks. Not park issue: no AT&T cell service.
Jun 16, 2015
Nice facility. Easy to navigate. Bathrooms/showers great. Nice amenities.
Jun 15, 2015
Loved all the activities for the family. Stayed in a Kabin this time and were very comfortable. Excellent resort!
Jun 15, 2015
Great stay from the staff, cabin, activities, to the food venues.
Jun 15, 2015
Great place to stay. Lots of activities for the kids. Very close to a lot of attractions.
Jun 15, 2015
Camper cabin had bad mice - probably because all the old cabins have 1" gaps under door. We did get moved to nicer cabin. Long way to walk to very mediocre bathroom. Nicer bathroom required driving. WiFi worked for maybe 1/2 hour close to main lodge. Rest of time we got no signal. Expensive for what we got. Store prices way high. Some things should be included that cost extra.
Jun 15, 2015
At first glance this KOA appeared out of this world with all the amenities it offered. However, campers were packed in like sardines and the bathrooms were not clean. This KOA is way too big, loud and offers no privacy. Our biggest complaint is that the advertised wifi DID NOT WORK which is one of the main reasons we selected this KOA. Additionally, there was a drunken shouting match.
Jun 15, 2015
Very clean, caring staff, activities were outstanding
Jun 15, 2015
waterslide not working.
Jun 15, 2015
Most of our stay was good. We were put by the fishing pond that was going to over flow so we had to be moved. Then had to go back to that spot without the rest of our group, as they were moved someone else. THat was the reason we all traveled to SOuth Dakota together to be together. WOn't stay be the fishing pond again. THe slide was broke the jumping pillow was down most the time.
Jun 15, 2015
I recently stayed at your resort, I liked the stores and the shuttle bus driver to Mount Rushmore was very nice so kudos to him. Nice place to stay The only thing that was a bump in the road I tried calling the concierge desk 10 plustimes and no one answered so that I could sign up for the shuttle and I left a message with the supervisor and no one ever called me back. Luckily I was able to signu
Jun 15, 2015
Employees were mostly friendly but manager hadn't communicated schedule or broken equipment to employees. Many of the kid activities were broken or not labeled right on schedule.
Jun 15, 2015
Our tent site was a bit small, but overall the location was great! The showers could be cleaned more frequently as a lot of people stay at this KOA. The service was very friendly, pancake breakfast was a hit with my family. Overall it was a nice camping site, next time we hope the water slide is open.
Jun 15, 2015
Very nice Plenty for the kids to do
Jun 15, 2015
Very clean and very nice facilities. The staff was pleasant and the restaurant, Ponderosa, that we ate at had good food. Nice for a pit stop but if looking for actual camping, I would choose a place where the sites aren't right on top of each other. There is no privacy whatsoever.
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
This place is a joke. No Wi-Fi, no cable. I reserved the deluxe patio site and no gas grill. 2 days later I got a wooden swing. Staff has poor service. Bathrooms and showers never cleaned. Brought to their attention and nothing was done.
Jun 15, 2015
Extremely clean campground. A few issues.... We had no wifi for our stay. Even right at the hotspots we had no connection. Very disappointed since this was a deciding factor. Also the roads to the hillside sites is extremely erroded. We broke a grill from the extreme bouncing and struggled up the hill almost getting stuck.
Jun 15, 2015
Excellent experience! Loved the clean washrooms! The fire pit was very difficult to cook on, it was our only complaint (not deep enough).
Jun 15, 2015
The SummerShine staff was outstanding & the resort had a lot to offer & entertain!! The women's bathroom by the pool & by our campsite was a little gross. The roads had huge, unavoidable ruts (maybe from the excess rain). A little dissappointed the waterslide wasn't working. I know the firetruck was probably fun, but so annoying to head over & over & over. Out campsite was also very noisy.
Jun 15, 2015
A great campground with so many amenities. Love the all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast and the shuttle to Mount Rushmore. Love the all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast and the shuttle to Mount Rushmore . The kids love the on-site horseback riding . Definitely a do over
Jun 15, 2015
Great location and great activities. However they rip you off on the luxury sites. No bigger than others. The place is a mud pit. Our entire site was nothing but thick mud. I was standing in water and mud to my ankles just trying to unhook. I feel completely rip off and won't stay there again. They also offer Internet but if you use a apple product good luck. awful awful awful.
Jun 15, 2015
We had a great time. Loved all the amenities that were offered, great customer service working with me to get coordinating spots, and the friendliness of the staff. However we were very disgusted that the bathroom/showers were not cleaned once in the 4 days we stayed. By the time we left only 1 of the 4 toilets were functioning. It was very disappointing as this campground is great overall
Jun 15, 2015
Nice, except for the water all around our site. We know there had been a lot of rain. Need to improve the drainage in that area. Site 636.
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
The campground was beautiful and staff was friendly and helpful. There was tons of stuff to do without leaving camp. The kids were bummed the waterslide was not in use. That is the only reason it is not a perfect 5.
Jun 14, 2015
Very good!! Very clean and comfortable!! Wonderful service!!
Jun 14, 2015
this campground was amazing! we loved the kamp kitchen. it made it quick and convenient to cook. we also loves the unisex showers! they were much larger and nicer than traditional camp showers.
Jun 14, 2015
Trevor was AWESOME!! He tried to make our stay comfortable despite the rain and mud. Nice campground for families looking to entertain the kiddies.
Jun 14, 2015
Great location...beautiful grounds...pancake breakfast is awesome.
Jun 14, 2015
Great location in the Black Hills.
Jun 14, 2015
Tent site not level, although it was nice grass. Water running down all the streets so you had to walk in mud. Sites crowded together. WIFI didn't work at all at our campsite and was way slow to useless everywhere else.
Jun 14, 2015
Had a wonderful time the weather didn't cooperat but that's nature. 5 days beautiful 2 days cool and wet. Really nice facilities all about the kids which is wonderful. Thanks for a great time.
Jun 14, 2015
Great location and amenities. Will definitely stay again!
Jun 14, 2015
Our stay at PG KOA occurred just after a period of heavy rains, and in fact, after 2 days of nice weather, it rained again as we departed. The showers, therefore, were rather muddy, but not sure what more could be done, except to put more manpower on it. The kids had a great time using the pool and going on a horseback ride...and making craft leather bracelets with the staff. Nice resort.
Jun 14, 2015
We were very pleased with this Koa. Only problem we had was we booked a new camp site with a grill and patio and when we showed up to check in they said they no longer had that reservation and gave a different spot! We had to go out and buy a grill as the staff at Koa was not helpful in finding out why our reservation was not the one we ordered!
Jun 14, 2015
Disappointing. The place where we were staying was a swimming pool even after a sunny day. No WiFi at the place only at the entrance. High price (75 dollars per night) bad quality.
Jun 14, 2015
Jun 14, 2015
No cell service, no Wi-Fi at sites (only at office or shopping areas). Very expensive. But, Great pancakes & amenities for kids. Close to Mt. Rushmore.
Jun 14, 2015
It was a very busy place. The staff was very helpful and had great customer service skills.
Jun 14, 2015
Thanks for the Great stay and great memories!
Jun 13, 2015
Our recent stay at Mt. Rushmore KOA was great. All facilities were very clean, staff was very friendly and all of the recreational amenities made for a great time for everyone in our party. We will return!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.