Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 12, 2015
Clean neat and very organized. Firewood delivery was spot on. Awesome tent camping experience!
Aug 12, 2015
We had stayed at this campground two years ago. It was sad to see the change that has taken place. It was a warm and friendly place but now it has gotten to be a cold hearted money grab-ing place.
Aug 12, 2015
While this KOA has lots of activities and a great bargain on the bus tour to Mount Rushmore the tap water quality was terrible, it was actually yellow and smelled of sulfur. We took pictures of the water and sent them to KOA. Luckily we had enough water with us for cooking and washing.
Aug 12, 2015
Grounds were great, Employees couldn't be better and locations was perfect. But Wi-Fi access was the worst. had to be in a special location and not move a quarter of an inch or the signal would be lost. Would not have been a problem but cell service was almost non existent.
Aug 12, 2015
Great spot to go with kids as there are a lot of activities. Camping spots are small, old picnic tables and showers aren't very clean. Over priced!
Aug 12, 2015
It was great, the only down side is the walk to the bathroom. Otherwise it was very quiet peaceful, and friendly.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Have stayed each year during the rally 14 consecutive years, this was my last, changing camps. The prices have doubled over time, at $87 per night for 30 amp site it's just gouging us. Park is over crowded with no park controls on noise, excessive length trucks & Fifth wheels blocking streets due to small sites. Every year camp turns into a mud hole w/rain, solution PAVEMENT? Moving Rafter J Bar.
Aug 11, 2015
Your staff and campground are the BEST!!! It's like heaven on earth!!! See you next year.
Aug 11, 2015
we have stayed there before and will stay again. The extra high cost for the Sturgis rally is bad for KOA and should be stopped.
Aug 11, 2015
I am a Viet Nam Vet and 68 years of age. I reserved a tent site in April at $32.71 a night but by the time I got out of there, I was overcharged more than $150 dollars. Due to my health, I had to leave early and go home. I have always camped at KOA's and the price included everything on the property. This was a classic example of price gouging. Never again.
Aug 11, 2015
Repeat visit for us, loved the shuttle to mt Rushmore, pancakes, and great coffee shop! Came for Sturgis but love the country camping. The Young's
Aug 11, 2015
The site I was at the fire pit is plaste right were the back of the camper would be 😟
Aug 11, 2015
Nice location. Beautiful scenery. Wi-fi spotty at best. Cell service practically non-existsnt.
Aug 11, 2015
Very pleasant. Our best KOA yet.
Aug 11, 2015
it was fine.
Aug 11, 2015
We really enjoyed this campground. We didn't think we would spend too much time there with all the sightseeing to do, but we ended up back to the campground early every day. We stayed in a cabin right by the "fun zone". It was perfect, we didn't have to be on the actual playground to watch our daughter. We could see all the activities from the back of our cabin. We will definitely return.
Aug 11, 2015
My only complaint is the lack of hot water for showing in the comfort station. It's the one in the way back near our campsite 419. Maybe add more water heaters. Other than that..we love staying there during the Sturgis Rally week.
Aug 11, 2015
the best
Aug 11, 2015
6 year during rally,,,, always good ,,,,bathroom shower house this year was a little under par....but other wise great stay..
Aug 11, 2015
Great resorts. Great campground. The parking could be a little more bike friendly
Aug 11, 2015
beautiful resort with so much to do
Aug 11, 2015
Not long enough to take advantage of all that was offered. Inconvenient no cell service. Couldn't figure out pay phones.
Aug 11, 2015
Clean, Quiet, good food, freindly staff,full facilities-pool,laundry,showers,store
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Just had a hard time finding our site and had to ask 3 people for help. Everything else went fine.
Aug 11, 2015
Beautiful, friendly staff and I would definitely go back!
Aug 11, 2015
Best Campground, we ever visited. Beautiful, clean, friendly staff, great activities.
Aug 11, 2015
We had a great stay. There are so many things for the kids to do, nice clean facilities, great stores! Perfectly located between all of the attractions in the surrounding area. We were disappointed because our cabin was clean, but there was no key at the time of check in so we had to wait an additional hour to get in. After traveling 500 miles, that was rough.
Aug 10, 2015
only there for 4 days but had an awesome time. Very nice employees' and very helpful. we will definitely be back.
Aug 10, 2015
Nice quiet area with no cell signal or WIFI to interrupt your stay.
Aug 10, 2015
it is always a pleasure to stay
Aug 10, 2015
Very enjoyable
Aug 10, 2015
only problem was camp site was not what i told it would be but bike week you make the best of things
Aug 10, 2015
Great place!
Aug 10, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at Mount Rushmore KOA. But the maintenance and cleanliness in the cabins could have been much better! The sink in the bathroom barely drained. The sheets and comforters on the beds had stains on them. The ceiling fans had a very thick layer of dust on them. The water was a yellow orange color. We could never drink it. These things made us feel uncomfortable about our stay.
Aug 10, 2015
Amazing staff, very helpful. The park was beautifully taken care of, we will be back in the future.
Aug 10, 2015
GREAT PLACE VERY CLEAN DURIGN STURGIS RALLY HAD A GREAT TIME
Aug 10, 2015
It would be great if you could boost the WiFi set up in your area
Aug 10, 2015
It was a great stay. The only downside to the stay was the restaurant. The food was not very good both times in the evenings and seriously over priced.But the campsites and bathrooms were very well maintained and clean. All the staff was very friendly.I would certainly stay there again, just not eat there again.
Aug 10, 2015
Excellent camp ground, have stayed there a couple of times. Will return in the future.
Aug 10, 2015
nice koa, little mix up asked for two cabins next to each other did not happen booked in jan. was not happy since the price was so high to stay there
Aug 10, 2015
Was not pleased that we were charged extra $20 for this campground. Traveling with 2 other families, told we were charged extra because we asked to be near each other. That is ridiculous. WE booked at many other KOAs without extra charge.
Aug 10, 2015
Great campground
Aug 10, 2015
Enjoyed the area tremendously. Wonderful time.
Aug 10, 2015
Very lively KOA, beautiful location
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
I love this place...I've stayed here three times. The showers are wonderful!!
Aug 10, 2015
With our family road trip vacation planned over a year ago and being from out of town, it was very disappointing to find we arrived during Sturgis. We managed to find a cabin with you for 2 nights, but the noise and disruption was disturbing for a family based campground. On a positive note, the step up to our cabin was way too high and when we notified you, maintenance was there within 30 minutes
Aug 10, 2015
very nice

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.