Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
I thought it was a lovely campground. The only thing I found a little disturbing is when I was in the laundry room I heard 2 people talking about how one's kids shoes were stolen, the other lady said her laundry was missing several pieces. I know you cant control thief's but it was unsettling and I felt that I could not leave my stuff outside for fear of someone stealing it.
Jul 06, 2014
Many amenities especially for children. Restrooms were horrid in the morning. They need cleaning more than once a day due to the number of campers.
Jul 06, 2014
We believe this is quite possibly the best campground we have ever stayed at. Super family friendly - and yet affordable at the same time. We will most definitely be back!!!
Jul 06, 2014
Cabins were cute. Would have been nice if there were restrooms a bit more closer to the cabins. But all-in-all, a good place to stay...
Jul 06, 2014
I was a very friendly place. The campsite needed a little work and the bathrooms needed a little work also but all in all it was a good stay
Jul 06, 2014
The reservation did not detail all the charges until you were there. I think the charges were high. The bathrooms were not maintained on a regular basis and there were not enough. Location was great, but too many sites in too little space.
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Beautiful setting; well maintained campground. Lots of activities. Friendly staff. Sites a bit crowded, but we were at the end of a row, so didnt have to deal with that.
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Fantastic Campground in a beautiful area! All KOA campgrounds we stayed at were good -- some just better than others! The Ft. Smith Arkansas is also very nice.
Jul 05, 2014
Jul 05, 2014
Was nice, especially liked the showers. Appreciated providing bus to take us to the lighting of Mount Rushmore. Asked why $10.00 resort fee and was told because they had a pool, which does not make sense. Appreciate the program with Christian Colleges for workers.
Jul 05, 2014
Jul 05, 2014
The park was very clean, organized and had plenty of activities for adults and kids. I gave a rating of 4 stars instead of 5 because: They packed campers in tight. In the main area RV's are stacked in side by side; closer than my house is to the next house. Barely a tree. The hilly sites had trees; the main area had little to no trees. The other thing I don't like with commercial campgrounds is th
Jul 05, 2014
Every member of the staff that I encountered was wonderful.
Jul 05, 2014
Terrible campsites. I was on a gravel drive that had lots of muddy holes. The area I was assigned had very small, short gravel parking. They have lots of amenities for kids, many at extra cost, but he camping is BAD. Most sites had NO shade.
Jul 05, 2014
The fishing was terrific. But they still owe me one dollar.
Jul 04, 2014
Surprised with the $10 dump fee
Jul 04, 2014
Other than a hail storm that came by surprise, it was a beautiful and memorable stay. Our grandson did not want to leave. There were so many activities for him to do. Horse riding was excellent. We will go back!
Jul 04, 2014
Only one night in this site. Very nice with concrete patio and cable TV We used this campground for a home base to sight see.
Jul 04, 2014
We were moved to this site after staying in a larger site the night before. The bathroom was near this site and was very nice and clean but, people used our site as a cut thru. No cable! I would like to see the weather before heading out to sight see. The kids used the camp water park and play ground and had a lot of fun! Made new friends!
Jul 04, 2014
Friendly service, clean facilities, and good camp site. Will recommend!
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
Advertised Wi-Fi but could not receive nor could anyone else, kids were.mgr on duty rude and didn't care. Take off internet that you have it. I understand in the mts. And poor reception but don't brag about it if it won't work, o would have stayed at koa in Rapid City. Could have given a discount but again mgr.rude and arrogant!! Jim,
Jul 03, 2014
The bathrooms were filthy with toilets backed up daily & 3 of the 8 showers out of order. All the campsites (Cabins, Tents & RVs) are WAY too close to each other offering no privacy. The pool that was open was disgusting, with the other one closed the whole time we were there. The Pancake tent & firewood was WAY overpriced! Too many dogs & dog-poop! Ghetto campground but beautiful scenery!
Jul 03, 2014
Everything was FANTASTIC! All KOA's need to use this location as an example of how it should be!!!
Jul 03, 2014
Not a bad place, but certainly not first class. Nice showers, nice pool, decent value. Hot tub was luke-warm and dirty. Spots were the tightest I'd ever seen. If my neighbor hadn't left before me, I might not have been able to pull out of my pull-thru spot. Internet didn't work at all, which made it tough to plan our next stop. I expected a bit more from a KOA.
Jul 03, 2014
We love this KOA. Come every year now. Only thing I would love to see improved is the WIFI connection. We were right in the lobby of the Lodge and still couldn't get on. Normally I wouldn't mind except I had a paper due for college and had to go in to town to submit it instead of being able to right there.
Jul 03, 2014
There is no cell so when. They say call 911 for help how can you with no cell in the park. Also they say they have wifi but during a five day stay we were only able to get on once and we did that by going to the main store. It never worked again and I talking to the staff and other thay all agree it's bad and that you are out of touch during your entire stay!
Jul 03, 2014
We loved it! Lots of activities for the kids, all the necessities, and great location. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.
Jul 03, 2014
We had a great time. The staff was amazing! They were all happy, friendly and went out of their way to help. The campground was clean and our kids loved all of the activities.
Jul 03, 2014
Huge koa, very close to mt rushmore, lots to do! General store has about everything you may have forgotten, very friendly people. No heaters in cabins, but they will give you one with a $20 deposit. Could've stayed here a whole week easily!
Jul 03, 2014
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 03, 2014
This place was very nice. Best location in the hills. Lots of things to do for the kids at the camp ground. Reasonable prices for things in the stores and snack areas. Only problem was there were a number of showers out of order which caused lines. 20-25% not working in our building.
Jul 03, 2014
My family loves to camp here...there is so much fun stuff for the kids to do.
Jul 03, 2014
Great amenities, views! Tight roadways. Helpful staff
Jul 03, 2014
We love staying here. We've stayed quite a few times, in several different parts of the park. We love it!
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Super place for kids! Amazing amount of things to do! Beautiful area! Mt. Rushmore is a bucket list place....KOA a fun place to stay while accomplishing!
Jul 02, 2014
Lots of activities for the kids, clean and friendly . Planning our next trip soon!
Jul 02, 2014
Great please to stay, wish we could have spent more time there. Will go back for sure.
Jul 02, 2014
Only complaint was the staff driving too fast throughout the grounds. Several examples were seen in our four days, including two kids on bikes being cutoff by a golf cart while other guest vehicles were waiting for the kids to clear the intersection.
Jul 02, 2014
Fun activities for kids, good customer service, amenities and good price.
Jul 02, 2014
Bathroom was always dirty and in disrepair. There is no excuse for no hooks or shelves in shower (poor/lazy maintenance). I was clearly overcharged on bill but it took three meetings to get it straightened out. Tent campers placed 10 feet in front of our camping cabin even though many other options were available. This campground has gone way downhill (10 stays in 13 years).
Jul 02, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.