Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 15, 2015
I felt that the campground was extremely over priced for the value. For the amount paid, the campsite amenities was disappointing. No TV and inadequate WIFI was something I didn't expect. I thought the supervision of the children's activities were lacking. The pool needed supervision, since parents on older kids weren't there to keep them in line. As a grandparent I was concerned for safety.
Aug 15, 2015
Lets see no phone service, weak wifi, no television, and an extra $10 a day resort fee. Yes it is the closeet to Mt. Rushmore, that is lucky isn't it!
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
The only thingcthey should do different is open the store before 7 am. Everything else was great.
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
Many things to do. All of the staff were very friendly and helpfull
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
We were part of 5 RV group to use this campground. The consensus is: if you like your water full of sediment, restrooms that smell of urine, high prices,useless wifi and a general disregard for reservations made, this is the place for you.Only two of us got the sites we reserved.They did not want to fix it until it was pointed out that the units would not fit on the assigned sites.
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
We were really disappointed with the cost of this park for the lack of services. No internet or phone service. No cable. The activities we might have considered cost even more like the shuttle to my Rushmore. It's very kids oriented and I could see more value for a family. We also had a medical issue and had to rent a car in emergency. We returned the car within three hours but had to pay a day
Aug 14, 2015
Amazing campground with lots of activities for kiddos!! Great location, close to Mount Rushmore and all the "must see/do" activities while you're there!
Aug 14, 2015
Modern clean facilities and plenty of activities for the whole family, many of which are free.
Aug 14, 2015
We had a great stay. Our only complaint is that it was difficult to get to the bathrooms from our camping cabin. It would have been nice to have a trail through the campers to the bathrooms.
Aug 14, 2015
Our stay was from 8/3-8/10 in a deluxe cabin. We ran out of toilet paper and no one ever cleaned the cabin. I had to ask for toilet paper and asked to have clean towels, also asked if they would just clean the bathroom. That wasn't done they just brought towels and left TV on and door unlocked when they left.
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
The campsite was nice but there was no WiFi or TV as was advertised. And the layout was very confusing, There were no road directions.
Aug 14, 2015
we were just stopping by. too busy for a pass thru. great for a family and kids.
Aug 13, 2015
water quality is terrible! ruined a new water filter in two days,it was like I was filtering muddy water right from a creek.first five minutes of running water it smelled like toilet water.
Aug 13, 2015
Water for our site was unusable. Rusty
Aug 13, 2015
Showers were GROSS, as in no one was cleaning them! And we had NO Wi-Fi service. Otherwise the campground was great! Lots for the kids to do!!
Aug 13, 2015
Great staff. But. You spend a lot on the camp store and the sites are mud puddles and swamp like when it rains For 100 bucks a night this camp was way way over priced
Aug 13, 2015
Love the location and hospitality. Nice to have a good restaurant on premises. Wifi and data however are almost impossible to receive so be aware. Beware too the loose and uneven gravel getting a motorcycle into any spot on the hills yet still I would go back in a heartbeat. Thanks for everything Justin!
Aug 13, 2015
Very friendly, helpful, and professional........ Thanks for everything ........
Aug 13, 2015
Totally awesome. Great lay out and super friendly staff made our stay 1 of our best trips yet. We will be back.
Aug 13, 2015
Site had standing water. Was impossible to set up a tent. Was an awful site for my small grand children. I asked to move to a different site and was given worse options. Receptionist was not helpful.
Aug 13, 2015
Bathrooms, pool and showers were dirty. Workers were just playing basketball with each other. Bathrooms in the morning didn't have power so showers were cold. Toilets were plugged up.
Aug 13, 2015
Wonderful campground!!! So much to do for both children and adults. Very clean campground and friendly staff. My only downfall was poor wifi, hard to keep in touch with family.
Aug 13, 2015
Great place to stay!😊
Aug 13, 2015
The campground is extremely clean and well-laid out. It is a very pleasant atmosphere, and very family friendly. We enjoyed the little church service on Sunday, too! The registration clerk, Adrianne, was extremely helpful, and very friendly. A very pleasant and welcoming first impression of your campground!!
Aug 13, 2015
Had a great time at the KOA! Kids loved the park and many things they were able to do!
Aug 13, 2015
Beautiful and clean resort. Too bad we have no young chores as it is wonderfully set up for young families
Aug 12, 2015
Second time we have stayed here for the Sturgis ralley. It has been great both times. We actually filled out the form to stay again next year, and in the same space 135.
Aug 12, 2015
Awesome accomodations. Clean, quiet campground. Would not hesitate to recommend Palmer Gulch KOA to anyone else.
Aug 12, 2015
My stay at the Mount Rushmore campground was a great experience. Thanks for making my stay most enjoyable!
Aug 12, 2015
Excellent campground! Staff was friendly and helpful. ONLY downfall is NO cell service, and extremely limited WiFi - both unfortunate necessities nowadays.
Aug 12, 2015
Nice and friendly people. Clean and a lot of things to do onsite. Announcements what's going on on SlickerStage could be better.
Aug 12, 2015
I have stayed twice for Sturgis week in 07 & 15 & would not even consider staying else where YOU ALL ARE #1 :) #aTrueResort
Aug 12, 2015
Stayed in July. Did not have a great experience. NOT KOA's FAULT! Record rains in May and June washed out several sites (Mine was reserved in January) Location is amazing and TONS of activities were offered. We felt cramped and uncomfortable with the repaired site and the crowded (sold out) campground. KOA did everything they could to try to accommodate to no avail. Refunded $. Great for kids!
Aug 12, 2015
Great spot and awesome service. Pancake breakfast was fantastic and pools were clean and enjoyable. Nice mtn biking right behind and horses on site to rent. Awesome KOA
Aug 12, 2015
Very pleasant stay. Clean restrooms/showers. Nice elaborate facilities ie: Pizza, winery, store, public fireplaces, ice cream store, gift store, lots to do there with family, etc. They have everything there. Awesome!!! place to stay at.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
I have a business and necessary that I have internet when I'm away. I paid your raised rates because you advertised WIFI. I sat in the Registration Office and tried all over the park for 5 days and the only WIFI I got was in Hill City and I will be complaining to the KOA Home Office besides having to $48.00 to park in a field with no services of any kind. I had 2 reservation 1 for me and 1 for a f
Aug 12, 2015
I have been 9 times now for the Sturgis run and would not stay anywhere else.Close to everything here in the black hills. Staff are wonderful. Lots of amenities to keep occupied. First class
Aug 12, 2015
I have stayed at many KOA's and this one was very good. Lots of activities for the kids, great layout, views, location. I would go back! Only issue - the campground is understaffed for the volume of people. One person running the store, long lines, out of coffee because they are so busy. Needs more staff for busier times. Same goes for bathroom cleaning - volume equals more staff.
Aug 12, 2015
Clean neat and very organized. Firewood delivery was spot on. Awesome tent camping experience!
Aug 12, 2015
We had stayed at this campground two years ago. It was sad to see the change that has taken place. It was a warm and friendly place but now it has gotten to be a cold hearted money grab-ing place.
Aug 12, 2015
While this KOA has lots of activities and a great bargain on the bus tour to Mount Rushmore the tap water quality was terrible, it was actually yellow and smelled of sulfur. We took pictures of the water and sent them to KOA. Luckily we had enough water with us for cooking and washing.
Aug 12, 2015
Grounds were great, Employees couldn't be better and locations was perfect. But Wi-Fi access was the worst. had to be in a special location and not move a quarter of an inch or the signal would be lost. Would not have been a problem but cell service was almost non existent.
Aug 12, 2015
Great spot to go with kids as there are a lot of activities. Camping spots are small, old picnic tables and showers aren't very clean. Over priced!
Aug 12, 2015
It was great, the only down side is the walk to the bathroom. Otherwise it was very quiet peaceful, and friendly.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.