Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 20, 2015
We had a trailer with us and they put us on a hill with no adequate parking. We went back to the office to request another cabin and got a cabin two cabins down and got stuck! The manager was very helpful but had they put us in a cabin not on a hill it would have never happened. They advertise wifi but they fail to me too it only works in their stores. Will not be staying at a Koa again.
Jun 20, 2015
We loved it!
Jun 20, 2015
Great pool for the kids! Campsites are a little small for motorhomes. Shuttle for MR was a really nice feature.
Jun 20, 2015
Lovely campground will be back.
Jun 20, 2015
A little crowded and expensive, but plenty of activities for kids.
Jun 20, 2015
Drainage needs to be worked on. The grass was so muddy and it could not be cut, so we were unable to use our fire pit or the picnic table. The grass by our site was a wet our dogs were covered in mud and soaked the whole time. Was not too happy about that. People were friendly and the fun zone was very nice.
Jun 20, 2015
A little too big. And the showers were not designed to drain water so water and mud were everywhere. Other than that a great place.
Jun 20, 2015
Real nice. Good and clean.
Jun 19, 2015
great location, but inconvient from cabins to BR & water. need log for parking cabin 113, thought we might go too far & end up crashing into cabin...
Jun 19, 2015
Perfectly awful experience. The place is a mud hole. While there has been an unusual amount of rain, some gravel trucked in would have helped. Internet WiFi totally useless. Over 300 sites trying to get on one connection. They could spend a buck on more bandwidth. No cable TV at a premium site. Laundry was dirty. Price why out of line for the service provided. We left 2 days ea
Jun 19, 2015
Would like to have stayed longer.
Jun 19, 2015
This was a great place for families. They had just about everything you can imagine for kids - bounce house, water slide, 2 swimming pools, a warm whirlpool for kids and adults (very deep though), bike rentals, ping pong, miniature golf, splash pad, ATV and gold cart rentals, 1 on-site restaurant, a tent for bottomless pan-cakes each morning, ice-cream store, fudge store, coffee-wine store, etc..
Jun 19, 2015
This was our first experience with our new Motor Home, after many hours of driving, I had a couple of problems with my hookups and your staff was right there to walk me through it, it is a lot different reading the book and actually doing it, but your staff was so supportive. They even came back a couple hours later and checked up on me and celebrated with me that we were all settled.
Jun 19, 2015
Lower rated due to no wifi. With no wifi and no phone service could not keep in contact with family at home.
Jun 19, 2015
Very nice and resort like however our site was very small.
Jun 19, 2015
Great
Jun 19, 2015
it was fine, the store could have been a little better equipped. the bathrooms where hard for some in our party to get to because of hills, try to add hills into your maps, because your sight is very hilly. staff was great and helpful.
Jun 19, 2015
Lots of kid activities. Beer sold on site. Beautiful view. The only negative is lack of privacy. Spots seemed to be crammed in with no trees in between. Had a great time. Will definitely go back.
Jun 19, 2015
The tent sites are way too close to each other. However, my son loved all the activities.
Jun 19, 2015
great family time!
Jun 19, 2015
Hate to rate so low b/c staff is wonderful!!! But the smell of campfire smoke was really overpowering/sickening. Need more gravel 4 rain. Water is dirty color - safe to drink but unappetizing. Pay extra even if u don't use kiddy stuff.butpeople were great. Wifi doesn't work & shouldn't be advertised.
Jun 19, 2015
Great campground! Highly recommend! Will most definitely book here again!
Jun 18, 2015
Lots of things to do for all ages. Inexperience front desk staff mixed up reservations. No to Poor internet. No to poor cell phone access. outside of the mix ups, the older staff tried to make things right but in a few incidents it was too late.
Jun 18, 2015
It is an awesome resort with tons to do for kids and adults. So close to all the sites you want to see in the area. Downside. It rained a lot and since there are very few paved roads or sites, it was a muddy mess. We cut short our stay since the kids could not use all the great amenities at the campground without being full of mud. Just pave the roads and sites and this is a top resort!
Jun 18, 2015
The bathrooms were constantly dirty even though they have a sign that they clean them throughout the day.
Jun 18, 2015
Added annoying fees to quoted price when we signed in.
Jun 18, 2015
No cell service (Verizon). No wifi. Hot spots were not working.
Jun 18, 2015
Surrounding view is lovely with lots of amenities. Staff was friendly and efficient. RV sites are close with no trees. Hundreds of campsites, feels very crowded. Activities geared for young kids, not teenagers. No cell service or wifi and hot spots didn't work. Expensive if not using amenities. Water out of faucet light brownish. We left a day early. Just not for us.
Jun 18, 2015
Great stay overall but if you don't have satellite you must reserve deluxe patio sites to get cable tv. Non functioning camp canine but they charge you an extra $3 per dog!!??! Also don't know what the $10 per day resort fee was for. Loved the friendly gal at the main snack bar. Enjoyable trails if you rent ATV. Try the fried tacos at the restaurant but be really hungry or share,they are huge but
Jun 18, 2015
Very kid friendly. We saw lots of families. Workers were very friendly rained a lot while we were there so very muddy
Jun 18, 2015
This is a beautiful KOA destination. Although the Wi-Fi and cellular reception is poor to nonexistent. The bathroom cleanliness was also regrettable.
Jun 18, 2015
Jun 18, 2015
They advertise internet but there was none. Very frustrating. The cabin should have a chair so can use the table. The bathrooms were filthy.
Jun 18, 2015
Was very nice. Everything you would want or need. Just to many people and campers for us. To crowded. Location was 6-7 miles to Mt Rushmore. Very convenient. If you don't mind the crowds, good place to stay.
Jun 17, 2015
Very enjoyable with lots of activities for the kids. We did miss not having the movies.
Jun 17, 2015
The activities and facilities are great. We always have a good time!
Jun 17, 2015
Our site was taken and although they found us another spot, it was muddy and it took us over 45 minutes before we pulled in. There was no refund of any kind just a bundle of wood given, which we couldnt use because our youngest is allergic to smoke,for our "inconvenience". The grounds were all muddy and it was such a bummer that after a long day of traveling we didn't come into a "resort".
Jun 17, 2015
I would have liked having heat or cooling in my cabin. I thought it was suppose to be there.
Jun 17, 2015
Jun 17, 2015
Great big resort and lots to do, we had rain for our stay so my comments may be a little jaded by that. With the rain, everything was a little muddy and sloppy. Overall great resort, but a little pricey. Additional $10 resort fee added to all nights.
Jun 16, 2015
The bathroom at comfort station number 4 were very dirty. Probably the worst of any KOA that we have stayed at.
Jun 16, 2015
Always nice to visit. The kids and adults always have a great time. Thanks!
Jun 16, 2015
This is an amazing place!!! We had a wonderful stay. There is so much for the kids to do. I wish the water slide would have worked. Also it would be nice to have more activities in the evening, karaoke, dances, better bands
Jun 16, 2015
Wonderful, peaceful and well organized place. Will definitely plan to go back again.
Jun 16, 2015
Only complaint--young people at front desk had no info about area. Need to teach local infor. Loved our stay. Thanks for having church!
Jun 16, 2015
This was my first time at a KOA, and I am new to camping. But this KOA is so big, it felt like you were in a city. I loved the extra activities for the kids, but changed my stay from 2 nights to 1 night. Nothing wrong with the KOA, just not for me.
Jun 16, 2015
Lots to do at this park. There are plenty of family activities including panning and horseback riding. Food at Turtle Town was pricey and decent. Except for the long lines, breakfast tent was very good. Only bad point was no wifi throughout the camp, but isn't that the point of camping? Overall very good family resort that I would recommend.
Jun 16, 2015
Our campsite was extremely muddy, and we had reserved 3 spots side by side and did not get them, we were seperated. We will not come back to this KOA agai n, nor will we recommend it.
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
While the "extras" were fun such as the pool, wine tasting bar and pizzeria, we weren't around much to enjoy those things (we're in the Black Hills, after all!). At the end of the day, we just wanted clean, working bathrooms and dry, walkable/drive-able roads. The bathrooms were disgusting, and we had trouble locking some of the doors to the shower. The roads were awful - maybe pave them?

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.