Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2014
Very nice campground! The only thing I have to complain about is the lack of room on the campsite for the towing vehicle.
Aug 08, 2014
Wished I would've known before making reservations! Added Charges: $10 daily resort fee on top of daily rate;on/off peak daily rates; $3 per day/per dog extra charge. This would've have been OK except the dog area was disgusting. Lots of old dog poop laying round;receptacle was overflowing. Cleaned up after complaining. Stinky showers with mold;water pressure at campsite was a trickle;no WFI;
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Enjoyed close proximity to Rushmore and Crazy Horse while still being in quiet country setting. Restaurant, coffee bar, stables all terrific, well stocked store a plus. Would like to see more gravel on unpaved roads, but overall upkeep is terrific.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
wonderful clean facilities and grounds. Quiet during night time. Support people were great at any time, store was stocked with what you needed. Great place to stay
Aug 08, 2014
Nice, clean, family friendly park.
Aug 08, 2014
Great location- loved the kids activity area, store on site and pancake tent! Only complaint is that hot tub and baby pool were dirty.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
I loved the amenities, but we were disappointed in the lack of internet service and poor cell phone service. I enjoyed the wine tasting and the other shops.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Had a camping cabin and stayed 5 nights and 6 days. Very happy with all the amenities offered.
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
8 of us camped on sites 304 and 305, it was amazing! We fished every morning, license were reasonable. The campsite was perfect, something to do everyday. We rented the ATVs and the golf carts, what a blast. The canoes and pedal boats were free, they were pretty fun too.
Aug 07, 2014
Crazy thunderstorm came through at 4:30 am blew our rain fly right off our tent. Thank goodness for the dryers in the laundry room!
Aug 07, 2014
This place is a great place to stay,but the 1st night in cabin 404 when we were making the bed the sheets for the pull out were totally dirty as well as the pillows were just disgusting had stains all over them. I took them to the front desk and they gave us new sheets but had no pillows and there was no dish soap. I wish they would have compenstated for thatbut they did not offer but still great
Aug 07, 2014
Was in for 3 nights of camping with my kids. I had previously stayed at this same KOA as a kid. Had a fantastic time...only downside was the incredibly loud bikes (Sturgis bike rally) and one rude neighbor, but even that didn't ruin our stay. Would likely plan to visit at least week prior/week after next time.
Aug 07, 2014
Great facilities with tons to do for everyone. Great location for attractions in the area
Aug 07, 2014
We had a quick stay, no problem checking in at 11:00 PM was nice. And who doesn't like all you can eat pancakes.
Aug 07, 2014
Great place for families with kids.
Aug 07, 2014
A great place...but they need to manage the flies. The stables have a fly and smell issue. We have stayed five years and it gets worse annually.
Aug 07, 2014
The only reason for the 3 rating is due to the poor cleanliness of the showers....we tried to use another area which was spotless but there was no hot water...maybe why they were so clean? Campsite was great, all activities offered were great, restaurant had good food & service. Horseback riding was excellent. Great big area for pets to run & play. Great camping experience overall! Thank you
Aug 07, 2014
Outstanding experience! Helpful staff, clean facilities and great activities for the kids!
Aug 07, 2014
The only thing I thought really needed improvement was the bathrooms. They had a bad gnat problem and were treating it but not wiping any of the dead gnats off of anything! But they were super nice and friendly and the camp had so many fun things to do and so many activities.
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Our cabin was not as good as others we have stayed in. The mattresses could be replaced, the door didn't open all the way, and the wood could use a good sweeping/cleaning. Everything else was very nice.
Aug 06, 2014
n wifi when I reserved the site it said i had wifi. water presser was low. staff weas helpfull but could do nothing about it.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
The activities for the kids are fabulous and the grounds are beautiful. The showers are needing some updating, but overall it is a great place!!
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
That was an awesome stay, our kids does not even want to leave the campground.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
My stay exceeded my every expectation; the camp ground was clean, the cabins are adorable, staff is friendly and helpful, and all of the amenities was a great surprise. My visit was over Sturgis weekend, and we were concerned with how full the campsite was, and about noise, but as instructed on our pamphlet, right at 10pm the whole place became quiet and we were able to sleep restfully.
Aug 06, 2014
I asked for shade for my tent site, but didn't get any. And, the site was on a slope so had to pitch right next to the road, which was the flattest part of the site. Showers were not as good as I have seen at other KOAs.
Aug 06, 2014
My first time to Black Hills. Simply beautiful. The KOA had everything a young family would ever want. Only one problem the fire pit to close to RV. Needs to be in middle of grassy space
Aug 06, 2014
Had a great time, the activities kept the children engaged and busy in a fun atmosphere. All the staff were excellent and helpful. This is a great place to stay, Thank you all.
Aug 06, 2014
Nice accommodations. Cabin was clean and comfortable. Very busy atmosphere which wasn't what we were expecting. There were many great activities for kids & adults of all ages. Spent one night on our trip back home and didn't have the chance to partake in any activities. Would be nice if the resort fee of 10.00 was optional for those who do not use all the extras and just need a place to stay.
Aug 06, 2014
Some of the most helpful and kind people I've ever had the chance to meet. My kids loved this place. They had so much to do they wanted to stay for more time than we had. They were sad to leave. It's beautiful too. Love those Black Hills!
Aug 06, 2014
We had a great time, and there were so many activities for kids and adults to do. We really liked our tent location because it was under trees, it was quiet and it was not too far from the restrooms and showers. We also enjoyed having a fire in the firepit every evening.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Just great for kids, so much to keep them busy. The shuttle up to Mt Rushmore was very convenient. The horseback riding right there at the campground was very good. Overall one our better KOA experiences.
Aug 06, 2014
WOW. Very nice facility. Like staying in a hotel. Only problem, the campground is so large that we frequently got disoriented finding our spot.
Aug 05, 2014
We missed hearing the City Slickers on three nights as we usually do when we stay with you. Hope they are back to regular three night schedule next year!!
Aug 05, 2014
great family reunion I would have liked to hear more of the Hill City Slickers play more than just the two nights we really liked listening to the music.
Aug 05, 2014
Beautiful area and quiet. Loved our deluxe cabin!
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
The location was wonderful. There was plenty of what we wanted to do very close to the KOA. We took advantage of the horse trail ride, Mount Rushmore, Keystone, challenging mountain biking and climbed one of the peaks looking for a mine. The maintenance staff was very helpful to help us with issues we were having with our RV trailer. We were pleased with our site although our WiFi did not work.
Aug 05, 2014
Not really camping, it's like it's own small town-very busy! Self sufficient for those who never want to leave the KOA. In the past we double stacked the mattresses, they no longer fit inside the frame so ended up sleeping on the single thickness-it's not comfy. Price has tripled on camping cabins since we started coming here, no longer worth it.
Aug 05, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.