Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 06, 2017
Wonderful location for visiting monuments and a great facility
Jun 06, 2017
Loved the place . There was so much to do we didnt even leave . We even extended our stay 2 extra days . The staff was EXCELLENT !!! I will most definitely come back
Jun 06, 2017
Loved every minute of our stay. Deluxe Cabin, wonderful view. Lots of activities to do. Will stay again!
Jun 06, 2017
Love this koa
Jun 06, 2017
Everything and everyone was great, except the woman at the Pancake Tent who told us that my wife could not bring her protein powder into the tent. She cited SD health code stating that nothing could be brought into the tent area. How ridiculous! We were asking her to allow my wife to eat breakfast with her family. If we had an infant with a bottle or baby food would we also be told to leave?
Jun 06, 2017
Beautiful park with extremely clean restrooms/showers. So much for the kids to do they hardly wanted to leave to go see Mt Rushmore. Would highly recommend this to anyone traveling to the Black Hills area.
Jun 06, 2017
Our stay at KOA was fabulous! Ben helped us several times and was amazing
Jun 06, 2017
Family vacation for three, and a half as mom is pregnant, and our stay was nothing short of amazing. All of the staff were genuinely caring and kind. They waved, smiled and even stopped for a small chat here and there. Bathrooms and showers were impeccably clean and fresh smelling. Cabin was also very clean and easy to manage. We will absolutely be returning. Thank you for the wonderful stay.
Jun 06, 2017
Very nice location and amenities.
Jun 06, 2017
One pool was down our whole stay. It opened up the day we were leaving. Had to drive our vehicle up to the other pool since we were camped by the other pool. Also you need more golf carts to rent.
Jun 06, 2017
WOW where do I start. Traveled nearly 7,000 miles this trip and by far this is the nicest KOA we have ever stayed at. There's everything to do you can want. Me and the wife added this area to our MUST return list.
Jun 06, 2017
Wonderful campground
Jun 06, 2017
Noisy. Poor water quality. Dirty showers. More like a redneck Disneyland than a KOA. 4 wheelers buzzing around, camp personel trimming with weedeaters on Sunday morning, campers leaving barking dogs in trailers all day, sirens and screaming kids until 10pm. If you are older and like peace & quiet, stay elsewhere.
Jun 06, 2017
When we stayed in the cabin it did not have heat or a ac unit at all usually when people buy a cabin they have those amenities and I was paying $93 for the cabin for what just a bed and electric outlets I don't mind no TV but please but in a ac unit and heater.
Jun 05, 2017
The facilities are well maintained and there's something for everyone to do, cornhole, volleyball, bands, pools, bikes - even our teenagers & young adult kids loved it! Can't wait to go back! Minutes from Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse was ver convenient!
Jun 05, 2017
We loved the freedom our kids had to roam the KOA and the large amount of amenities they enjoyed. The gaga ball was super fun for them, and they spent hours playing. The also enjoyed heading to the pancake breakfast every morning on their own. The adults in our crew were impressed with the cleanliness of everything and how lovely the grounds were. We will be back to this South Dakota KOA!
Jun 05, 2017
We had a great time. I took others that have never stayed at any KOA before and were highly impressed with the friendly staff and the clean bathrooms and showers.
Jun 05, 2017
very nice and staff was friendly and helpful but had to watch out for the "droppings" in the grass
Jun 05, 2017
It would have been better if all your services had been up and running, all the pools, mini golf, the cowboy dinner. Would be nice to know that the pancake feed was cash only before we got down there and had no cash. Showers were dirty.
Jun 05, 2017
We had a great experience and will indeed recommend...I did ask someone at the Registration desk the 2nd day of our 5 day visit to have hand soap put in the handicap bathroom in the campground and when we left it still had not been done...other than that it was perfect!
Jun 05, 2017
Growing up, my family and I would go to the KOA at Palmer Gulch, Mt. Rushmore. Now that I'm older, I brought my son. My family stayed in a single camping cabin and it was more than we expected. We loved the environment, friendly staff and other campers. Every year I go there, it's like hanging with great friends and family.
Jun 05, 2017
Awesome staff and they have so much for the kids to do I've never seen a campground like it. Amazing
Jun 04, 2017
It was alright
Jun 04, 2017
Beautiful place, everything u need is there, u dont have to leave the property.. great time1
Jun 04, 2017
Great location for surrounding sights. Everyone very friendly.
Jun 04, 2017
The camp ground was great! The staff friendly and helpful. Lots of activities for the kids. Just wish there would have been cell service or a better wifi
Jun 04, 2017
Awesome facility, especially with younger kids. We will be back. John, Denver CO
Jun 04, 2017
Great location. Super friendly staff. Kids area and activities were above expectations.
Jun 04, 2017
Jun 04, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed or stay. We stayed six nights and could not take advantage of everything the rv park had to offer. I guess we will have to come back.
Jun 04, 2017
Quiet where we're at
Jun 04, 2017
This campground would have to be 1 of the best we have camped at. 1 set of Restrooms could do with a major overhaul but that's the only thing we could fault
Jun 04, 2017
Wonderful park but they moved us 4 times in 7 days. The staff didn't have it together. We asked to stay where we were 3 of the 4 times but were denied. Love all the activities provided. Just a hassle to move.
Jun 03, 2017
We love this KOA! Everything is clean and the staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. Looking forward to going back next year.
Jun 03, 2017
We enjoyed the bounce pillow, the mining area, the cabin, the pool, the nightly movies.
Jun 03, 2017
It was super. Loved the horses!
Jun 03, 2017
Great place - too bad we couldn't stay longer to take advantage of all the extras.
Jun 03, 2017
Jun 03, 2017
The staff was very friendly. There are many activities to do. This is the by far best KOA I have ever stayed at.
Jun 03, 2017
I requested a site as far away from the kids acticities as possible--ended up across from the kids zone!! Park wasn't full either. Also advertised 2 heated pools, I even verified while making reservation, only 1 pool had water! Cable was also advertised, not available. Site was level and the shuttle to Rushmore was the best thing there for me. If you have children they will love it.
Jun 02, 2017
Very good area. Lots of interesting things to do. Wifi was useless and tv cable very snowy.
Jun 02, 2017
Wonderful park!! Close to everything and beautiful scenery. Only concern would be the Bark Park needs to be bigger and have better drainage.
Jun 02, 2017
Beautiful campground! Super close to Rushmore and crazy hourse! Loved the all you can eat pancake tent! The only bummer was that there is no cell service to call home and tge wifi is poor. But we would stay again! Dtaff was super friendly.
Jun 02, 2017
This is the perfect KOA for a Mount Rushmore visit. It is in the heart of the Keystone / Hill City region. It offers the right amenities for the South Dakota adventure. We did everything here, except ATVs. The stables and the horseback riding was great. We ate ice cream every night. We went to the Mount Rushmore lighting. We slept in a one room cabin and walked to the restrooms. Nice facilities.
Jun 01, 2017
Jun 01, 2017
I enjoyed my time, again at Hill City, SD. Staff was great and everything was clean.
Jun 01, 2017
What a great place,,! Especially your guy Eric Wilson. We needed to do some fender bracket repairs. He got us a drill and got us the proper screws, saving us another trip to Hill City.... thanks Eric The Weber's
Jun 01, 2017
This KOA had plenty of things to do and keep busy. You don't have to bring your own fun, they supply it for you!
Jun 01, 2017
All of the staff were quite helpful and seemed to enjoy their job. The only issue we had was the ability to fill a propane tank after 8:00pm. We unfortunately ran out (with a 7 month old) and had to leave the site to purchase another tank. Other than that - loved the place!
Jun 01, 2017
Beautiful place with lots of amenities. Sure wish the swimming pool would have been open, but we were there about a week before Memorial Day, which was when they open. Food was great at the restaurant there. Sites are nice and nice walking area at the campground.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals