Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 12, 2015
Had a great time and took advantage of many of your amenities!!
Jul 12, 2015
The registration process was a bit of a joke.
Jul 12, 2015
The deluxe cabin we stayed in exceeded our expectations. We did a lot of the activities at the campground and my family enjoyed them all. It is a crowded and there are lots of people throughout the camp but the cabins blocked most of the noise and our neighbors were considerate. The Chuckwagon dinner felt overpriced for what was done. Will stay there again if in the area.
Jul 12, 2015
Great area, nice amenities. Staff was clearly overworked and facility was understaffed for it's size (according to comments from KOA staff!). We planned to eat at the restaurant onsite but when we walked in a KOA staff member was yelling at a customer, so we decided to leave. Sites were not cleaned well between guests. Overall dissapointed in this stay.
Jul 12, 2015
This place was great it had everything. The cabin was wonderful. The only issue was the internet, it was just hot spots and they never did work even after they had it fixed. We stayed for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Our kids had a wonderful time..
Jul 12, 2015
Great for families. Very clean sites. Some of the shower houses could be updated.
Jul 12, 2015
This KOA far surpasses any other. The cabins are cute, clean, and comfortable. There are tons of activities for the kids to do, and parents too! The setting is beautiful, and so close to Mt. Rushmore and many other attractions.
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Our one night stay was nice. because of the short time that we were there, the opportunity to use the extensive recreational activities offered never came about. The pull thru site was easy to get in to and out of. Maneuvering the 32' 5th wheel around the campground was easy with the wide turns and ample road surface. The power and water was easy to get to.
Jul 12, 2015
They need more bathrooms for the number of campers. Because of the traffic, the bathrooms and showers weren't always acceptable. Drainage needs to be addressed because the roads were washed out and needed to be repaired 3 times during our 7 day stay. A child threw up in the pool and no one responded to the request for assistance. Sites are way too small! Great location!
Jul 12, 2015
Kids sum it up amazing restaurant food was very good highly impressed over all
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Cabin on the hill overlooking the campground was beautiful. Family friendly! Nice bathrooms/showers. Would have been nice to have paper towels at bathroom sinks to wipe up water from previous user. Be helpful if potable water was pointed out at check-in for tenters and camping cabins to use for cooking.
Jul 12, 2015
Once we got a pull through site that we requested and paid for instead of back in that they wanted to put us in. Things were good
Jul 12, 2015
older bathrooms were hard to get into to very small, other than that very friendly and accommodating and clean with lots to do at this site.
Jul 12, 2015
Your Office Staff were extremely obliging. Your campgrounds are totally inadequate. (potholes, no pads, no WIFI, overpriced, uneven grounds, totally unsatisfactory)
Jul 12, 2015
We had a wonderful stay. Great staff and great facilities. It was just really loud for our little ones at night as they were going to bed. Wish we could have slept somewhere else and visited during the day. That being said we were in a central location right by the bathrooms and pool and stuff. We also couldn't believe how close it was to so many fun things like Mt Rushmore, Bear world etc....
Jul 12, 2015
Wonderful - very family friendly - associates were friendly - clean
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Someone was in our assigned place. The people working at the desk said the problem started earlier in the day when some other people camped in the wrong spot because the labels for the spots are not clearly placed. Luckily there was an empty spot nearby so it all worked out. All in all, we had a great time at this KOA! Lots of great activities for the kids.
Jul 12, 2015
Overall, great place. Much to do for our kids. They loved it! Cannot get internet/cell phone access. Bathrooms in the registration building needed much attention. For such a large operation, it was run fairly well.
Jul 12, 2015
It was fun from start to finish. The kids had a blast. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!
Jul 12, 2015
I don't like the $10 per camper pack this campground adds to the rate. Something about value - beyond me.
Jul 12, 2015
A great place to see the Black hills from. Clean, friendly staff, and so much to do at the KOA while you're there. The cabin was perfect.
Jul 12, 2015
I enjoyed the stay at Mt. Rushmore KOA. My only complaint is that I sent multiple emails trying to ask questions prior to my stay, only to have those emails not answered. Also, the day of our arrival, we were coming in very late and we repeatedly tried calling from the road and was unable to get anyone to answer the phone. Very disconcerting. campsite was great, communications poor.
Jul 12, 2015
Great activities for the kids. Loved the pancakes for breakfast.
Jul 12, 2015
Very clean and very friendly staff. Lots of on-site activities and the Ponderosa restaurant staff was excellent and served good food.
Jul 12, 2015
Great place to stay if in the Mr Rushmore area. The only suggestion I have is for more benches and chairs in the kid zone area for parents is with younger kids. With that being said, the kid zone is a great place to keep the kids entertained with water slideas and climbing walls and the pool
Jul 12, 2015
Nice campground with a lot of things to do, my kids loved it!!!
Jul 12, 2015
It was too high priced! We were seniors placed in the fun zone for kids. No wifi, no internet! Too far from camp sight to front and last but not least the shower floors were full of sand and water with no safety Matt to stand on. Too many in bathroom . Three deep to mirror. There were three nice people there. Other than that, wouldn't go back
Jul 11, 2015
enjoyed tie dying, pancakes, ATVing, seeing the sights.
Jul 11, 2015
lots of fun
Jul 11, 2015
The campground wAs awesome:). Facilities were clean. tons of activities! Staff was awesome. Special shout out to Bill the golf cart guy.
Jul 11, 2015
Best family campground we have ever been to!
Jul 11, 2015
My kids loved all the activities that were included in our stay. We are use to having a lot more room at the campsite itself but the neighboring campers were respectful so it was okay being that close
Jul 11, 2015
1 No WiFi!! 2. K Kabin dead bolt lock was broken and took almost 2 days to fix!! ? Partial refund ?
Jul 11, 2015
Alot of things to do so much so that you really don't need to go anywhere. Wifi didn't work well. Not really for us but if you want all tour entertainment in 9ne place, definitely come here.
Jul 11, 2015
Stayed there 4 out of 5 years. Will not stay anywhere else. Great time for the kids!
Jul 11, 2015
This was our first time staying at this KOA- I was very impressed with the staff who went out of their way to make us comfortable. The activities for our kids was also plus! If we are ever in the Hills area again- you'll be seeing us again!
Jul 11, 2015
A beautiful resort, with plenty to do. Only downfall was very limited internet access. But, the idea of camping and relaxing is to become disconnected.
Jul 11, 2015
My wife and I stayed here three nights on a summer road trip to the Black Hills. She had never been here, but I remembered staying here as a kid twenty years ago. We found the PERFECT campsite with the best view (thanks, Margie!), and with all there is to do, the services and hospitality you provide, we will definitely be back for more adventures!
Jul 11, 2015
Great campground. Wasn't to excited about the $10.00 a day extra charge for campground activities. They sais it was for wine tasting and pool charge and entertainment charge. I feel that should be included in the daily camping rate. Need to fix the GPS address brings you in he wrong way.
Jul 11, 2015
The wifi and cellphone service could be a little better.
Jul 11, 2015
Loved it so much we decided to stay longer! We loved the atmosphere; beautiful flowers everywhere, and picturesque mountains. Numerous thing for evertone to enjoy. Loved the Hill City Slickers, the water slide, TurtleTown food, and jumping pillow. The only disappointment was my daughter was too young to go on a horse/trail ride. You must be six. Plenty of other things to keep you entertained.
Jul 11, 2015
We had a great time. The location was great and the kids loved all of the kid friendly activities. We will be back!
Jul 11, 2015
The price was way too much for what we received. Our site included a patch of grass approximately 6 feet by 6 feet; not even big enough for our tent. Also, the showers and bathrooms were not clean. On the positive, there were a lot of kids activities available.
Jul 11, 2015
Very small camping area
Jul 11, 2015
We loved it! Convenient, clean, friendly staff, and plenty to do! We will be back!
Jul 11, 2015
This was our favorite KOA that we stayed at while going cross country. There was so much for kids that did not cost extra - which we really appreciated. The on site restaurant was great and reasonably priced. My only complaint was that it was obvious that some of the staff were summer hires and while polite, were not very well informed and failed to provide basic information about the site.
Jul 11, 2015
WiFi advertised but did not work. Have stayed at this KOA two times previously and our phones worked and my hotspot worked. This time no phone signal and my hotspot did not work so counted in the KOA's WiFi which did NOT work at all. Had to drive a few miles away and use my Sprint Hotspot. Will NOT stay at this KOA and will no longer recommend to friends and colleagues.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.