Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 31, 2016
Great time . Good people .Lots of fun things for the kids to do .
May 31, 2016
Everything was clean and easily accessible. There were a number of activities for kids and it was in a good location.
May 31, 2016
Nice park
May 30, 2016
By far the best KOA I have stayed at, and I have been to at least 30. The staff is very friendly. Amenities are amazing. Great large kids play area. Already planning our trip there for next year.
May 30, 2016
What a great spot! I heard it was the Disneyland of koa and it definitely was! Loved watching nba tournament at the bar!
May 30, 2016
Great stay, a little pricey for somethings but overall a very nice campground.
May 30, 2016
LOVED the bartender Jim 😀 Great showers and space
May 29, 2016
Entire family had fun!! Thought it was great that there was limited wifi and no cell service.
May 29, 2016
Great location near Mt Rushmore - we did the bus to the night show which was great- pancake breakfast and all the other amenities were awesome
May 29, 2016
An oasis with everything you need 😏
May 28, 2016
The staff at Mt. Rushmore KOA was always very friendly and helpful in every part of the KOA. This was our third stay at this KOA and we'll probably come back the next time we're in the Black Hills. One of the best KOAs that I have visited!
May 28, 2016
Our cabin was not clean, lost of death flies beneed the window en gras en dust on the floor under the beds. The campkichten was not opend yet, aldough it was the end of may as they said it would reopen. Very terrible wifi, we couldn't open our mail most of the time.
May 28, 2016
Cabin was nice and clean. A lot of the amenities that drew us to this site were not available because we stayed before the start of the season. The website does not make this clear.
May 28, 2016
friendly helpful staff, clean comfort stations, clean and cozy kamper cabin, clean fresh air to breath and beautiful scenery!
May 28, 2016
It would have been nice to know that the fun zone didn't open up until memorial weekend ahead of time other than that it was a great place to stay!
May 28, 2016
It was great!
May 27, 2016
NO WIFI..Without a doubt the pinnacle of KOA Kampgrounds. Has everything and then some. Friendly staff great location. My BIG complaint is why is wifi limited to the store area and not available throughout the camp. No cell reception so wifi is NEEDED without leaving your camper. It has everything else especially for kids. Cant say enough about the beauty..NO WIFI and we were close to the store.
May 27, 2016
Nicest KOA we've stayed at so far. We WILL be back again.
May 27, 2016
We were quite disappointed with this KOA due to their lack of being prepared for the season. We understand that they just opened, but felt they should have been more set up for customers than they were. We were also upset that the charged for the dogs, yet the K-9 kamp was overgrown and there were no bags or scoopers available. We were unhappy with the unprofessionalism of the younger staff.
May 27, 2016
My kids have enjoyed staying at the KOA cabins.
May 27, 2016
Great place with great views and so close that you can drive to mount rhusmore at night too.
May 26, 2016
Staff goes out of their way to be helpful to guests. John helped me find a camp spot relatively out of the wind. Restrooms kept very clean. Great location.
May 26, 2016
Very helpful staff. Just wish they would publish when things open ie- the Restaurant no notice it opened the day we left.
May 26, 2016
The campground was nice. However, for the price and the additional resort fees, we were very disappointed that there was no cable or WIFI away from the main office. Without cell service in the area, that left us cut off from family, in the event of an emergency.
May 25, 2016
Just not that great. The person who shoes us to our site was kind enough, but it's hard to like a camp site without even a tree and I'm really sorry but if WiFI is advertised, it ought to reach to our campsite. So KOA name sometimes just means expensive electricity for a parking space.
May 24, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. The campground is very clean and the staff very courteous and helpful. We were able to bring our 4 wheeler along and ride the trails on the Federal Land. We were able to do day trips to many sites. We have stayed here before this last trip and plan to return again with all the family.
May 24, 2016
This is undoubtedly the best KOA in America, and absolutely the best housing in all of the Black Hills. Our cabin was large, pristine, and absolutely perfect for our group of eight. The staff was wonderful, and when we come back, we will absolutely stay here again!
May 24, 2016
loved the location and looks of the park, we were off season so some things were closed
May 24, 2016
KOA campgrounds are such a blessing to have when traveling in the "RV" world! The staff at these campgrounds are so friendly, courteous and professional! You want a CLEAN place to stay? You got it! You want a helpful place to stay? You got it! You want a nice physical location to stay? You go it! My wife and I cannot say enough as to how great the KOA Campgrounds are!
May 24, 2016
Beautiful setting.The restrooms and showers need upgrading. No cell coverage is a concern, also spotty wifi. Sites are too close together so not much privacy. Rates are way too high for what is offered.
May 23, 2016
Had a great time, I have stayed at this camp ground on more than one occation and enjoy every time, my complaint comes with how poor the WiFi is EVERY visit I make, even if I can walk the distance to be near the "hotspots" it is so bad I'd almost rather drive a few miles to be able to look something up on my phone or message family and friends...for an upper end KOA I think it could be better!
May 23, 2016
May 23, 2016
Filthy bath/shower areas, no WiFi, no cell service. Tiny shelter area for 4-5 people when dangerous storm threatened. Filthy bath/shower areas; photos available.
May 22, 2016
Best campground we ever stayed at. Super clean and stock trout pond. My son fished everyday.
May 22, 2016
Absolutely no problems during our stay. Facilities were always neat and clean. Staff just great and very helpful. Always had a smile
May 22, 2016
Lobby people are very kind. And public washroom was amazingly clean. But inside of cabin was dirty and very cold and only thing you can turn on is one heater because if you use anything else they will cut electricity power
May 22, 2016
This campground was absolutely beautiful and so close to Mt. Rushmore. Our stay was the best one yet!
May 21, 2016
Best KOA we ever stayed at. They have everything a camper could want. If for just a one nite or a week stay.
May 21, 2016
Its a huge place. Lots to do in the area. We were there before they were in full swing for the season so some of the on property things weren't open yet. But still had fun.
May 21, 2016
Fabulous grounds, great staff, above and beyond. I would love to go back!
May 20, 2016
Great staff and accommodations! Thank you.
May 20, 2016
Quoted one rate when I made the reservation and paid. They wouldn't honor the rate upon arrival without conversation with manager. Obviously trying to get people to upgrade to more expensive lot. For such an expensive KOA there is no WIFI or cable TV and due to its location there is no cell phone service. Wouldn't stay there again.
May 19, 2016
This was a great place! Especially enjoyed Grapes and Grain with Shelley, a staff member.She was courteous, helpful, and fun!
May 17, 2016
Wonderful staff and facility. Great location to stay while visiting Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Will definitely return to this KOA
May 16, 2016
It was a wonderful stay. We loved how close we were to everything. We can't wait to come back after Memorial Day!
May 16, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at Plamer gulch KOA. It was very cold at nights, the front desk gave us heaters free of charge to keep us warm...will visit in the future
May 13, 2016
Seemed very nice. We came late & left early so we didn't really get a chance to experience it fully but I would have loved to stay longer!
May 13, 2016
awsome, clean,beautiful place,fun for the hole family,lots to do
May 11, 2016
Great time at a very nice campground. The only complaint is that everyone speeds excessively through the campground despite the copious speed limit signs. Our kids were almost hit while playing in our campsite by a lady in a Buick doing around 40 mph. Other than that everyone was extremely friendly and the campground was very clean. Especially liked the fenced in dog park and remodeled bath/shower
May 11, 2016
we stayed 2 nights everything wasnt open , too early in the season early May clean friendly will be back
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals