Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 22, 2014
Clean,fun,quiet,enormous
Aug 22, 2014
This is by far the biggest site we have stayed at - everything was perfect and the grounds were beautiful. We had to have our truck repaired and a rental car was available at the site! The pools were warm. The pancake breakfast is to die for. Bring your own WiFi hotspot!!
Aug 22, 2014
So much to offer- we had a great time! Loved the water areas and slide
Aug 22, 2014
Our stay at this KOA was awesome.The place has everything you need and then some. On site car rental and on site horseback riding were a big plus for us. The eating and shopping on site was extremely helpful. The staff that checked us in were friendly,courteous and of course helpful.The staff that we encountered on the grounds were courteous and helpful. We will return. Thanks
Aug 22, 2014
Couldn't be better!!!
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Always a fun experience for my whole family.
Aug 21, 2014
Took approx 2 hours to check in. They have 2 comp. Systems which do not communicate with each other. Res were made 4 months in advance for two cabins. Yet at check in they advised they would be at opposite sides of the park. I was told that I could park my RV at the cabin not true.
Aug 21, 2014
The staff members were very friendly and helpful. The trip to Mt. Rushmore for the lighting ceremony was fantastic. The breakfast they served was delicious and the restaurant on the grounds was very nice. I'll definitely stay there again.
Aug 21, 2014
We came for a family reunion and loved it! Thanks for activities for all ages and grassy, comfortable sites.
Aug 21, 2014
Location was great, decent pools, showers were perfect. The firewood was overpriced. But overall we had a great stay and would go again!
Aug 21, 2014
Fantastic experience
Aug 21, 2014
It is a little difficult to get to the bathrooms from the tent sites without walking thru the RV sites which is king of rude...maybe a path thru would be nice
Aug 21, 2014
This facility was like a summer camp for kids! I can't believe how much they offered for them to do at no extra charge. My kids are still talking about it and will likely for a long time. Unfortunately, the wifi is really not available in the summer with the number of campers trying to use it.
Aug 21, 2014
We had a great time and will return.
Aug 21, 2014
Very clean campground. Love that there are 2 pools. My daughter loved jump pillow. Beautiful flowers throughout park.
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Coolest KOA I have ever seen!!!! Definite future stay!!!
Aug 21, 2014
Last time we stayed here was 4 years ago. That stay was amazing! This time it was sub par. The washrooms were gross, never clean. We went to the New washrooms and they were a bit better but still dirty all the time. Will stay somewhere else. Oh, and the fellow working the counter was kind of rude too. I was very disappointed as the last stay was so nice that is what made us come back this time.
Aug 21, 2014
Great place if you have kids,clean. Wifi poor
Aug 21, 2014
this koa needs more WiFi hotspots and TV cable added to all full hookup sites, the water in the swimming pools was very dirty. you can't beat the atmosphere and Papas pancake tent!
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
My stay as far as the campground was excellent as always. My group and many other campers were not impressed with your bartender Saturday night! She was late, rude, and was costing you money. We watched couple after couple leave due to her. She also was feeding her dad free beers, at least I never saw him pay for one and at one point I saw him start a fight!!
Aug 21, 2014
Awesome location and the kids activities are great. This was our second stay. We love it.
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Amenities were really great. Bathrooms and shower building clean and well light. Kids fun zone was very creative and kids loved it! The pool for the waterslide was dark grey brown and I wish the cleaned the water mid day or something. Other pools and hot tub clean. Biggest dissapointment was wifi didnt work, not even near hot spot. No clear instructions how to troubleshoot.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
I have been here many times over the years. I don't think the filters work in the pools. They are covered in bugs and some were a strange color and smell.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Overall, our stay was good. We had a little mouse problem in our camper cabin. We had to block the bottom of the door at night so the mice couldn't get in.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Well run campground. Only complaint is that good tent sites are disappearing to make way for cabins. Have been coming to this campground for over two decades but may have to find a new campground that caters more to tent campers.
Aug 20, 2014
The things that I didn't like were: showers were filthy and not cleaned often enough. Also the mark up on items such as milk is just plain wrong!! $4.50 for a HALF GALLON! Terrible! Also there was no rock climbing wall as stated on your brochures/website. The horses and chuck wagon dinner were fabulous!!
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
This KOA is wonderful for families. Many things to do and nice facilities.
Aug 20, 2014
Need closer restroom/shower facilities for Camping Cabins. Great place to bring the kids though, tons of activities for them. At the end of the day, they are tired! :)
Aug 20, 2014
While we were only there for two nights, it was our type of resort. Loved that the kids had a water slide, bouncing pillow and many other things that were free to go to. It had a restuarant, wine tasting for grown ups and films for the kids. Excellant resort.
Aug 19, 2014
Great campground! Kids had a blast! Clean facilities!
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
Nice staff, but extremely small campsites. More restrooms for easier access would also be nice instead of having to haul the kids down a large hill every time. Kids love to swim so the 2 pools were nice, but missed out on the rock climbing wall, because it was in for repairs. For the price and added fees, I think we will choose a different campsite in the future.
Aug 19, 2014
Best koa by far for the whole family on my so far 52 day vacation Have not seen another like this one in all my travels Will be back
Aug 19, 2014
Viele Aktivitäten auf dem Campingplatz möglich, gut für Familien, gut geführter Platz, saubere Restrooms
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
the site that we were given needed to be graded, the rain had washed away gravel and left a low spot where the door was. needed to use a milk crate to add a step. Also the site was small, limited level area for chairs and table.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.