Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 18, 2014
Loved this campground!! It had all the activities needed for the kids, especially the horseback riding and UTV rentals. Only down side was very poor WiFi service, could connect to router but no service. Very poor cell service too.
Aug 18, 2014
Was having a great time until we went to have a drink in the bar. The bartender on 8/16/14 was horribly rude to all of her customers and her father physically attacked my friend. All other aspects of the campground are great and once we were kicked out of the bar a waitress of the resturant apologized to us saying it was not the first time. She even bought us a round of drinks from her own money.
Aug 18, 2014
Loved our cabin, it's location and the beautiful view. The pool was a a little gross, hard to see the bottom.
Aug 18, 2014
We were extremely impressed with the cleanliness of the facility and the helpfulness of the staff. The numerous on-site activities for every age and the additional amenities (car rental and such) are the biggest reason we will be back year after year!!! Thanks for a wonderful first vacation for our family.
Aug 18, 2014
the girl on the slide was busy playing with her cell phone the whole time the kids were up there very inappropriate. on the bounty pad the young kid was busy chatting with his friend not watching the kids on the bouncy pad and there were over 20 of them. A couple of them were bumping into each other getting hurt. I finally said something to him and then he finally watches them.
Aug 18, 2014
They worked hard to get us a convenient spot close to the services we would be using. Great location close to Rushmore
Aug 18, 2014
It is like a hotel that you bring your own room to.
Aug 18, 2014
So many great activities for our kids! All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Will definately be coming back in the future.
Aug 18, 2014
Campground restroom was 'grossly' under served. Staff spent little time to keep them clean. We wont stay there again
Aug 18, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay, and felt welcomed right from the start. We loved the Pancake breakfast each morning. We were very disappointed of the service at the Ponderosa Restaurant, but the rest of the stay was great.
Aug 18, 2014
We reserved 3 weeks prior to staying, upon arrival we were escorted to our site which had just been 'fixed' due to a water pipe being broken. The site was a mud pit and I'm shocked the gentleman who took us to the site didn't suggest (or insist) us being moved. The mud wouldn't have been too bad except it rained 3 of the 4 nights we stayed. Not impressed, we won't stay here again.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Wonderful resort. We do understand it is more family orientated but we prefer a smaller more secluded RV campground with much less noise and hubbub. A great staff and all personnel were exceptionally friendly, informative and helpful.
Aug 18, 2014
We came camping with some of our friends, we brought a total of 8 kids. With all the activities and fun things to do, we never struggled to entertain them and this made cooking so much easier.
Aug 18, 2014
Good family fun.
Aug 18, 2014
this was our 4th summer at your KOA, our first in a cabin. I made the reservation for cabins between the pool & paddleboats, but when we arrived, we were placed in a cabin above the lodge. While it was nice, it was a walk to the kid's area. Staff were very helpful. It would be fun to have more bikes and maybe updated.
Aug 18, 2014
This KOA was beautifully maintained and offered so much for everyone. Also conveniently located to all attractions.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Bathrooms were nice and the cabins were clean. For those who are less mobile, everything on-site is not a far walk away from the cabins. Most staff at the Registration office were very helpful with our group. Prices were reasonable and the KOA would be a great place to stay if you are looking to check out Mt. Rushmore and other destinations.
Aug 18, 2014
We loved it,the views amazing!So much fun stuff that the kids did for free! Loved the horse back riding, rates reasonable.Golf carts & buggy rentals were pricey Disappointed in showers,they were dirty & gross! They were also too small for a mom & child. Overall loved it,seems like a little money back into a few things,& maintenance would be exactly what it needs to be perfect!
Aug 17, 2014
The kids had tons of things to do and had a lot of fun. The pancake breakfasts were a big hit each morning. The Kamping Kabins could use a little updating/cleaning. For example, our door caught on the floor after you opened it approx. 1 foot.
Aug 17, 2014
Perfect cabin. Couldn't have been better location for us. Had a great time
Aug 17, 2014
The adult staff was fantastic. There needs to be consistent policies regarding the water slide. One youth staff would allow four kids to go down the slide, while the next staff would allow only one. This confuses the young kids who were doubling up with their siblings. There should be supervision at the pool. My kids especially liked the kayaks at the pond. The staff was genuine and hospitable.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
We brought a wide age range with us and every one rated this the best campground we stayed at! Great job!
Aug 17, 2014
It was clean and quiet at night and we wish we could've stayed longer to enjoy all they have to offer.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
The staff and the shower facilities were great. The water slide is terrible and the pool was dirty, my kids didn't eve want to swim in it.
Aug 17, 2014
We always enjoy your campground ! The grounds are well kept, plenty to do! The help is very friendly!
Aug 17, 2014
Great activities for the kids, cell phone reception has improved in some spots as well.
Aug 17, 2014
Lots to do at this KOA. The staff was very accommodating. In fact we were assisted by a friendly staff member in securing a cabin at an out of state KOA for the following evening. Much appreciated.
Aug 17, 2014
Beautiful Setting and a great Staff.
Aug 16, 2014
Very enjoyable, staff were very helpfull.
Aug 16, 2014
No wi fi connection -- ever. Bugs. Mud puddles. Expensive. Up charges for unneeded services. Need a separate area for senior citizens or adults with no children. And discounts for seniors.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
The camp was clean. had a lot of activities for the kids. We enjoyed meeting and talking with Sarah the bartender. She is very sweet. The wifi connection needs to be fixed.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Mt. Rushmore koa was awesome. Great staff, stores, activities, and location.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Campground is great for families. Lots of things to do onsite. Grounds are kept clean. Restrooms/showers exceed campground standards. Sigh....the dog run area is sad. Grass overgrown, trash can full and not emptied for several days. Oh and I still cant figure out why a 78yr old woman was denied purchase at the wine tasting event because she didnt bring her ID card with her...really?
Aug 16, 2014
Very poor water pressure . No cel or internet service at all unless right at check in area. Water pressure was my biggest complaint .
Aug 16, 2014
The ponderosa restaurant food was terrible!
Aug 15, 2014
For families with kids
Aug 15, 2014
Was disappointed we couldn't have a fire as our neighbor's slide out was only 2' away from the pit. Was not able to move sites, and the crew sent to move the firepit said it was too much work. Seems like the longer the stay, the worse the site. :(
Aug 15, 2014
It is simply a world-class campground. Having camped across the west, this is the finest facility in any state.
Aug 15, 2014
we had a wonderful time, great accommodations and location. Great amenities for families with younger kids, nice to be able to have our dog with us.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
If we had based our decision to stay here on the way we were treated when we were trying to make a reservation we would never stay here. Once we got through the reservation line telling us all cabins were booked through the end of the season the office stating the same thing the manager not returning our call and Melody threatening to hang up on my husband when he expressed his frustration: good.
Aug 15, 2014
Bathrooms were not clean when they said they would be very dirty showers, wifi and cell service does not work at all in the campground. The firewood they sell to people stinks and smokes so bad the entire campground was filled with smoke every night making it impossible to open cabin windows or sit outside. We all ended up with horrible raw sore throats from all the smoke.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.