Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 15, 2016
Jul 15, 2016
Palmer Gulch KOA is a wonderfully fun place to take the family. Lots of activities for everyone, busy but not so packed you are unable to participate in everything. We love going here every year.
Jul 15, 2016
Our tenting location was fantastic. The restrooms were busy and could be cleaned more often. Also disappointing non-working wifi!
Jul 15, 2016
We loved it!!
Jul 15, 2016
What a fantastic place! We will definitely be back! Thank you for everything!
Jul 15, 2016
Although this was a large site, we were very impressed that the camping tents were sited away from the RV's. It was quiet at night, and the facilities were more than adequate and always clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you.
Jul 15, 2016
Reservations were messed up. They tried to move me to a site with no electricity. Wifi isn't spotty it's non-existent. Hot tub was full of toddlers with no adult supervision. I have nothing good to say about this campground. No apologies were given by the staff just excuses.
Jul 15, 2016
The park is huge and offers a ton of stuff to do. Which is good, because you are not going to want to Be in your site, the sites are small, not level and the sewer connection was actually above my camper, which is obviously difficult. Very close to Mt Rushmore, which is nice.
Jul 15, 2016
Excellent Kamground
Jul 14, 2016
The only complaint I have is that there are no recycling bins. All that plastic that just goes into the garbage is disgraceful. You owe it to the world and future generations to have recycling at your facilities.
Jul 14, 2016
Great location. Not as nice as other KOAs at which we stayed. Office and store a little crazy. Young man with accent who filled propane was very courteous and helpful.
Jul 14, 2016
We had a wonderful time, very family friendly! Lots to do, kids had a blast! Our cabin was ok but needs some work. The bed was so slanted you could almost roll right off with out trying. Also the door would get caught on the floor and hard to open so our kids could not open it by them selves... Super annoying! Other than that the stay was great!
Jul 14, 2016
Lots of nice activities for kids, front store was nice, campground was nice and clean, great location. Drawbacks were cell coverage/wifi coverage - I missed a couple of work calls while I was there. Would also be nice to have a few more trees so you don't feel quite as close to the neighbors.
Jul 14, 2016
Wow! What fun KOA. Friendly service and tons of fun activities. There was never a dull moment and this KOA is a perfect location for day trips. We will be going back!
Jul 14, 2016
5 stars isn't enough! We were so impressed with our stay here. Everyone was friendly, comfort station 2 was very fresh and clean, always. Beautiful grassy campsites next to the lake. so much fun for the kids. I have already given this KOA recommendation to my friends heading to the Black Hills. We all want to come back!! There was so much to do we didn't get to do. Thanks for a fun vacation!
Jul 14, 2016
Jul 14, 2016
We are family of 5 with kids (8, 2 and 1) and they all had a blast! In the future the camp would benefit from another swimming pool but either way the fun zone was awesome. We will be back in a couple of years to do the activites we didn't fit in like trail rides on horse and UTV and the chuckwagon supper. Thank you for wonderful 6 day vacation.
Jul 14, 2016
Campsites were stacked together and you are no longer able to pick which site you want; internet was poor at best; the sunshiner's who led the activities acted like they wanted to be anywhere other than here, they were condescending about activities that were scheduled and acted like we were an inconvenience. You need to clone the young man who takes the chips at the pancake stand, he is delightfu
Jul 14, 2016
Awesome activities for the kids, all workers super hospitable, although it was packed we had a delightful time.
Jul 14, 2016
The smoke from all the bonfires was so overwhelming it sent my son into an ashtma attack and we had to leave the same night we arrived due to not being able to breathe. The rest of the family also was overwhelmed by the smoke. too many cabins crowded into a small spot with the smoke filling a crowded area of the campground.
Jul 14, 2016
I wish we would have had more time to experience all there was to do here. A great place to set up shop for a vacation, and take day trips. It's very crowded and hectic though, so if you want a quiet camping experience this is not the place for you.
Jul 14, 2016
What a great place for families! Beautiful location, so much to do... we loved the 1920s restaurant, Grapes & Grinds, outdoor movies and the entire Fun Zone. Was last at your KOA in 1988, at age 14; what a thrill to come back with my own daughter. Thanks for a great stay!!
Jul 14, 2016
Overall we enjoyed our stay. We tried to extend our stay by 2 nights and I had to talk to several people in the registration office to extend the stay. It was very frustrating and time consuming to simply extend our trip. After getting the trip extended we found a notice on our camper that we were supposed to check out that day so I had to go back to registration to figure it out again.
Jul 14, 2016
We absolutley enjoyed our stay, our kids had an amazing tI me. The only thing I would like to see adjusted is the speed limit, I think it should be 5 mph instead of 10 through the camp..
Jul 13, 2016
If you are going to visit the Black Hills this is the place to stay. A long way in but once there your days are full from morning till night.
Jul 13, 2016
Site are too crowded and little parking at them. But great locations and plenty to do for the kids. No wifi and the sites is a downer as well.
Jul 13, 2016
I cannot tell you how awesome this place is. Disney Land of KOA's. So much to do kids had a blast. Rodeo was awesome, good awesome, horse back riding for my wife and daughter was great. Thank you.
Jul 13, 2016
Flat parking spots are great but if your on the hill side be weary as our spot we couldn't unhook as we were concerned that the trailer would go down the hill.
Jul 13, 2016
I reserved a tent spot with power and water two months in advance and specified the size and dimensions of my tent. arrival discovered that the assigned tent site was way too small for my tent! The staff seemed clueless about the actual size of their campsites and we ended up at a site without per or water. We're it not for a friendly neighbor, we would not have had air in our mattress!
Jul 13, 2016
So relaxing and yet has plenty to do for fun.
Jul 13, 2016
Campground was better than expected. Comfort stations could have been cleaner.
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
The only negative I found was they only cleaned the bathrooms once a day. There were too many people using them and needed more attention.
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
I have stayed at many KOA's over the years and Mount Rushmore,Palmer Gulch KOA is by far the BEST. The staff was awesome. Totally set up for family fun. I rate the bathrooms/shower a 10.
Jul 13, 2016
We were unaware that this was a resort style KOA. If we had known that we would not have chosen to camp here. With that said, if you like camping with restaurants, multiple pools/spray park, rock climbing, a rodeo and goldmining...this might be a good fit for your family.
Jul 13, 2016
Extremely fun place to stay lots of things for young and old. But...the front desk screwed up my reservation and was unwilling to work with me or make appropriate accommodations. We ended up cutting our stay short and leaving early. I am truely disappointed as we have been coming to this campground every year for 7 years and never had experienced anything like this. I will probably not return. :-/
Jul 13, 2016
Best KOA we have stayed at, customer service was top notch. Lots of added extras, water slide, pools, horseback riding, wagon ride to dinner, bingo, gold panning, movie nights ( some cost extra some are free), breakfast, close to lots of outdoor activities not just Mount Rushmore just to name a few. Huge camp ground lots of people and kids great place for families.
Jul 13, 2016
We had a great time. The rodeo was awesome! Kids loved all the activities
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
My first thought was wow this is a huge campground. Things are spread out and wasn't a problem. Wish WiFi was available at your campsite but understand the difficulty in that. Was actually nice to be disconnected for most of the week. Great stay. Plan to return.
Jul 12, 2016
Best koa and great service love this place and close to mount rushmore
Jul 12, 2016
Palmer Gulch KOA is a wonderful facility with lots of amenities. My only complaint was that they scheduled the restroom cleaning in our area all three days between 8:30-9:30 a.m. when EVERYBODY is just getting going in the morning. But there was hardly anyone in the campground between 11-1 p.m. The next closest restroom was in an uninhabited area quite a ways away.
Jul 12, 2016
Best KOA we have ever stayed at. Helpful staff, clean amenities and beautiful landscaping. The $3 all you can eat pancake breakfast was awesome too!
Jul 12, 2016
My kids had a blast that part was great! The complaint I have is how unclean the bathrooms/showers were. Once a day isn't enough, with all the clay and dirty the showers were always dirty. And the showers are not women friendly. Not to sound gross but were do women put there used hygene items when showering? I was very grossed out and unhappy
Jul 12, 2016
very crowded but still enjoyed it and would come again would get a site that,s not next to a dumpster!
Jul 12, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
There is no wifi, not even in their "hotspots", so do not expect to have service. Additionally, the location of the campground places you in a valley eliminating cell service as well. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 12, 2016
Had a great stay in a deluxe cabin. Definitely come back.
Jul 12, 2016
Great for the family. Well oiled machine. Only complaint was with a full campground the amount of bathrooms/showers was inadequate in some areas of the park. Also they need cleaned far more often.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals