Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 22, 2015
Internet only at the reservation center. Very poorly maintained. Tent sites not level. Bathrooms very dirty. Worst KOA we've ever stayed at.
Jun 22, 2015
Called to verify my reservation and our group could be together and was told it was possible, but wasn't at check in. Also asked the condition of the campsites, due to the recent rain, told they were ok, but we stayed in a mud hole. The last thing is the showers were nasty and hadn't been cleaned that day, and it was 11 am.
Jun 22, 2015
One of the BEST campgrounds we've ever stayed at!!!!!
Jun 22, 2015
pros-We had a great time! This is a very nice campground. Large lots. Very clean. cons- no cellular service, little to no Wi-Fi. Need to have more sites with cable hook ups. Firewood is expensive for the size of the bundles considering it is pine and burns quickly. It takes several bundles to have a small camp fire for smores. The kids loved the 3 wheeled bikes but were to expensive to ride mor
Jun 22, 2015
Very nice campground. They recieved a lot of rain recetnly and the staff was working to improve the roads. We had some major storms come through and it would have been nice to see the weather but there is no cell service or wifi in most of the park. We had a great time renting the ATV and the chuck wagon dinner as well as the rest of the parks amenities.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
The activities are great, but no ac in the cabins ans such a late check-in were drawbacks.
Jun 22, 2015
The hailstorm caused a lot of damage throughout the park, but before the rain had stopped, employees were going campsite to campsite, making sure everyone was okay. The next morning, they were out making repairs and working hard to get the campground back to normal. In better weather: the campground is a lot of fun, with activities, water slide, 2 pools. The store is not overpriced.
Jun 22, 2015
We had road that started at 0530 right outside our camper.
Jun 22, 2015
They charged me more when I got there,different from when I made online reservation. Wifi doesn't work at all so plan on no phone at all when there. They charge everyone a resort fee per night, even if you don't use anything. And even still some of the stuff costs more money. Most expensive KOA, we used to stay all the time, but no more. Too many people if you are wanting to get away.
Jun 22, 2015
We loved all the family friendly activities and the stores and restraints make it easy to get what we need without needing to leave the resort. Our one Major complaint was the cleanliness of the showers! They were beyond gross. One shower had period blood on the floor and shower stall for both days we were there indicating it had not been cleaned in over 48 hours. Very disappointing!
Jun 22, 2015
While the campground was clean and offered a variety of activities and amenities, the lack of cell phone service and internet availability in this day in age, was disheartening.
Jun 22, 2015
After driving 13 hours I was so impressed with the hospitality and service and kind workers there. Very clean and fun for us. Thank you to you all. There was not one person that was not helpful. We did the horse ride as well and those girls are very kind also. Great customer service!!!! thanks again. Kim
Jun 22, 2015
We were put in a site that was muddy with standing water.Grass needed mowing No cell service and no wifi. Hail storms both nights. Damage to RV. Not a pleasant experience at all!
Jun 22, 2015
Charged us daily Resort Saver Package fee of $10 for KOA amenities that are free at every other KOA we have visited. Charged for our dogs which have been free at other KOAs. No cable and water slide closed even though we paid for these in Resort Saver package.We feel ripped off.Beautiful location, we will use another campground next time.
Jun 22, 2015
Very disappointed in stay, people at check in were rude We were early, said be back about 230, had to wait till after 3 to get room. Horse guide did not even talk on trip. Camp grounds over full, packed in tight, head people in cabin next to me snoring showers not real clean
Jun 22, 2015
Everything was great except the bathrooms, disgusting. They should have warned the poor campers in tents that a major hail / lightning storm was coming so they could take cover. Very bad!!
Jun 22, 2015
It's like summer camp for the whole family!
Jun 22, 2015
Oh my. The disneyland of KOA's! The campground was beautiful. The shuttle up to Mt Rushmore was a nice feature we took advantage of. Already thinking about when/how we'll be back!
Jun 22, 2015
Very clean, safe, friendly, and fun for adults and kids of all ages! The WIFI was not accessible for some reason. We were told the wrong time for the shuttle bus to MT. Rushmore, so we missed it and had to drive our RV. Times for shuttle busses should be printed on receipt. We will be back :)
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Close to Mt. Rushmore and in the trees. Resort style campus with lots of amenities.
Jun 21, 2015
Jun 21, 2015
Zero cell service. Advertise wifi but barely works. All laundry coin change machines were broken. Water quality is very rusty. Kids had a great time with all the activities. If all the mentioned issues were taken care of I would have rated it much better.
Jun 21, 2015
Great amenities and friendly staff, but the entire camp is unpaved and it rained every day so it was a mud pit when walking the dogs. Adding to the fun, the drain hole was on a slight hill higher than the camper. Needless to say, gravity had the last laugh when emptying the gray/black water--terrible.
Jun 21, 2015
The orig site was muddy and we were upgraded at no extra cost, so grateful for that!! Close to Mt Rushmore, could site see more.
Jun 21, 2015
Jun 21, 2015
My 6 year old daughter had an amazing time!!!!!
Jun 21, 2015
Nice campground-terrible water situation.
Jun 21, 2015
Most of the sites were vers muddy, roads are full of potholes. WiFi very poor all over the place.
Jun 21, 2015
For the price per night we paid we expected at the least no potholes in the roads and wifi. Manager said at checkin it would cost $30K to put in wifi so they are not doing it. very disappointed!
Jun 21, 2015
Due to all the rain the sites are really muddy and messy. There is no cell service anywhere on the site. They claim that there were WiFi hot spots but we could not connect to the WiFi from those locations.
Jun 21, 2015
Great place to bring kids.
Jun 21, 2015
We had never stayed at a KOA location before and were a little nervous about what to expect. The facilities were nice, as were our fellow campers. A nice change to some of the other places we have tent camped!
Jun 21, 2015
Awesome campground that is both adult and kid friendly! Best campground we have stayed at in the 15 years we've been camping!!
Jun 20, 2015
By far the best KOA we have stayed at!
Jun 20, 2015
nice place to stay very friendly hosts just a little pricey
Jun 20, 2015
Wifi never worked, but everything else was great!
Jun 20, 2015
We were unfortunately located right on Palmer Rd. It was very heavy traffic, and due to a leaky spigot the road was always wet and loud. The traffic on this road was also way over the 10mph speed limit. This campground does not have the set up for children to safely navigate through it. The traffic is simply too heavy and fast. The shower house was very impressive though-very private and clean.
Jun 20, 2015
We enjoy Palmer Gulch and we will come back next year.
Jun 20, 2015
Great resort. Will stay again if we return to area. Need to improve wifi strength is only complaint.
Jun 20, 2015
Had a wonderful time!
Jun 20, 2015
I know that it rained all the time we were there but roads and spots need work
Jun 20, 2015
Beautiful campground. Something for everyone.
Jun 20, 2015
Jun 20, 2015
We had a wonderful time Enjoyed the cabin Will come back
Jun 20, 2015
Best campground we ever stayed at. The bathrooms and showers were awesome and kids loved all the activities. The pools were excellent!!!
Jun 20, 2015
Very nice. Enjoyed breakfast at Pappa's. We were initially placed in a spot only approachable down a steep hill. Our site was change. Internet was problematic.
Jun 20, 2015
Staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Jun 20, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.