Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 05, 2016
Sep 05, 2016
We stayed over Labor Day weekend and although the campground was full you could still find quiet places to walk. Beautiful flowers and helpful staff.
Sep 05, 2016
Well run, friendly staff.
Sep 04, 2016
Very nice campground with lots to do at the campground and in the local area. On checkin, we became aware of a discrepancy between the Palmer Gulch website and our confirmation email regarding our site. We thought we had a deluxe site (that's what the email said) but we had actually booked a standard. I spoke to the manager and he fixed the website on the spot. Nice job. We even caught fish!
Sep 04, 2016
Great place to stay close to Mt. Rushmore. Lots of amenities and activities.
Sep 04, 2016
Thanks again for another Great Stay at the Rushmore KOA. From the time we called to reserve spots until we packed to leave. It was a great time for us all. We had a group of 6 campers and we are planning it again for next year. Have stayed there several times and will continue to stay with you all. Thanks again.
Sep 03, 2016
We've been coming to your KOA for over 30 years and it's always been an outstanding experience. We feel this trip was one of the best trips we've had! My only comment is regarding your gift shop... You need a variety of quality nature T-Shirts, some pullover sweatshirts without hoods and more variety like your old gift shop used to have. I'm a big gift shop shopper! Thank You we'll see you again
Sep 03, 2016
Everything was great except there was zero phone service or wifi.
Sep 03, 2016
Beautiful park. A perfect place for families with so many fun things to do.. Water features, play areas, all amazing. A bit expensive if you are planning on a lot of day trips and not taking advantage of the amenities. We loved our stay but probably would not stay again unless we had our grandchildren with us.
Sep 02, 2016
The Mount Rushmore KOA is amazing!! We were super,excited with all that it had to offer..the kids never got bored with so many activities to do from,morning until night. My only con is the cleanliness of the bathrooms & showers..this needed improvement.otherwise everything was perfect!
Sep 02, 2016
There's something for everyone. Pricey, but worth it for the convenience. My only negative comment is that for the price people pay, a decent WiFi and cell service connection should be available throughout the campsite.
Sep 02, 2016
This is the best KOA campground we've ever stayed at. The facilities were lovely, the fun zone was awesome, and the people were so kind and accommodating. We will come back to stay here!
Sep 02, 2016
I liked the location, activities, etc. but thought it was very expensive to stay at a camping cabin. $100 per night for a camping cabin without a/c or water is high. What else can a low income family do?
Sep 02, 2016
KOA is a very nice place to camp. Everything was great. Very kid friendly!!!
Sep 01, 2016
Sep 01, 2016
the cabin didnt have a heater or A/C so it was very cold in the night.
Sep 01, 2016
Bigger is better! My grandkids ages 9 and 13 had a ball we even stayed an extra day to nurture new friendships they made.(not to mention all the fun activities).All services and necessities were taken care of great. We'll be back
Sep 01, 2016
The place was amazing to bring the kids to! They had an amazing time!
Sep 01, 2016
Outstanding resort with excellent facilities!
Sep 01, 2016
Very friendly staff. Very helpful. Very clean and nice place to visit. Wish we could have stayed longer .
Sep 01, 2016
The wifi is inadequate. Even at the store it was challenging to pull up email as you constantly had to resign into network It was misleading to say you had a hot spot when the spots not so hot. Beautiful campground. Clean and great programs. But don't rely on GSP or just signage to get you there. Ensure you have directions.
Sep 01, 2016
Overall we were very pleased. Very clean and great activities for the kids. 2 complaints though: - Mini-golf needed serious maintenance. Replacing the "carpet" and fixing the water feature on that one hole would have been great. - WiFi was terrible. I know it's camping, but we plan some of our trips around me being able to get some work done while the kids are playing. This made that difficul
Aug 31, 2016
The campground scenery was beautiful. There was plenty for the kids to do there. No one was bored. Even the adults had an amazing time. I'm sure the horseback riding would have been beautiful but we didn't have time. Everyone was super friendly. We forgot to pack one of our members breakfasts and he ate at the pancake tent every day. This place was amazing.
Aug 31, 2016
Nicest KOA ever. Would highly recommend if visiting the Black Hills. No fenced dog walk but plenty of grassy areas to walk dogs. Nice pool. Clean bathrooms and showers. Would love to stay there again.
Aug 31, 2016
I loved everything that was offered at this KOA! I'm already planning to return next summer, but definitely for at least a week. Maybe two or three!
Aug 31, 2016
MUSIC AT POOL AREA VERY VERY ANNOYING ESPECIALLY AT NIGHT!!!
Aug 31, 2016
We had a great time! The kids loved all the activities and we wished we could have stayed longer.
Aug 31, 2016
This was our first RV trip and what high expectations were set staying at the Mount Rushmore KOA. We went to the night time ceremony at Mount at Mount Rushmore just to enjoy all the activities in the kids fun zone. Still did not get to see and do it all. We will stay longer next time!!!
Aug 31, 2016
Would be a great park to visit with children. Roads are good. Sites are nice and large. park is clean and well maintained. Did not use restrooms/showers/laundry. staff is knowledgeable and friendly
Aug 31, 2016
really liked the camp grounds, good location, great facility, would like to thank Billie at registration desk for great info on area places, and helping with route to Cody, wy. Many thanks, would definitely stay again and recommend to others.
Aug 31, 2016
Awesome place to stay if you are traveling with the children. Busy with activities galore. Koa staff great give it all stars. Only problem we had was with our 30 amp service and felt staff/maintenance was not considerate enough. Made us purchase an additional 50 amp plug in.
Aug 30, 2016
Too far from everything for us and too many kids staying up all hours and making noise. The guests drove way too fast for the number of children present. Absolutely no way to communicate. No WIFI and no cellular signal.
Aug 30, 2016
Great place for a family vacation!
Aug 30, 2016
Aug 30, 2016
We all had a blast at the Palmer Gulch Koa. My only real complaint with it was the loud music that was constantly playing in the fun zone. Wouldn't mind if that was toned down a bit :)
Aug 30, 2016
Nice and clean campground with lots for the kids to do. The rodeo was a pleasant surprise...the whole family loved it.
Aug 30, 2016
Loved everything! We will recommend to everyone! Horses were awesome too! Clean environment too!!
Aug 30, 2016
Most things were good during our stay, but lack of staff kept some things closed during the day. Also the mini-golf course is in desperate need of renovation - it is terrible.
Aug 30, 2016
It was a very loud place to stay, not very outdoorsy, very close tent sites packed too close together. Our kids had a great time with the amenities, but as for a place to tent camp, not what we were expecting. The KOA location is great, the people were friendly, it is just a little too commercial for our type of camping.
Aug 30, 2016
Aug 30, 2016
I had a wonderful stay at the Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch. I would like to bring your attention to the Comfort Stations, however. Four stalls hardly seems enough to accommodate the number of campers in the surrounding tents, kamper kabins and travel trailers. Quite frankly, the ladies room was never clean. The same can be said about the shower stalls.
Aug 30, 2016
Our favorite place on the planet!!!!!
Aug 30, 2016
Very friendly, accommodating, lots to do and see in the area. We will definitely be back!!!!😊
Aug 30, 2016
CLEAN, FAIR SIZE LOTS, PEOPLE VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFULL. LOVE THE AREA. No phone signal,hot spot no signal
Aug 30, 2016
Aug 30, 2016
Great views!
Aug 30, 2016
WE LIKED IT FROM THE MOMENT WE DROVE IN CLEAN, FRIENDLY STAFF, GREAT LOCATION, LOVED THE CABIN!!! WE WILL BE BACK
Aug 29, 2016
The site was extremely small. Over crowded with kids all around. The Ponderosa food was horrible. Burger was burnt
Aug 29, 2016
Camped all week in cabin nice family environment.
Aug 29, 2016
Incredible options of amenities (pools, waterpark, bouncy pillow, volleyball, basketball, waterslide). Limited menu options at restaurant. loved the deluxe cabin! Friendly staff for the most part; ran into a couple of crabby people.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy