Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
From the minute we arrived until we checked out our time at the KOA Mt. Rushmore was fantastic. Kudo's to Jane at registration for excellent customer service. Keep up the great work!
Aug 25, 2014
So many great things to do and see at this location and area can't wait to come back
Aug 25, 2014
Hands down this is one of the best KOA's we have stayed at. Lots to do for the kids and Adults. Close to most of the day excursion tourists sites. My family and I enjoyed our Vacation very much. Thank you!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
We stayed in a camping cabin and absolutely loved our family time there! The campgrounds were amazing - clean, beautiful, and extremely family friendly! Our 3 kids range in age from 4-14 and each one of them had their own amazing experience. Thanks Mt. Rushmore KOA for the best family vacation we've ever had!!
Aug 25, 2014
thank you so much for such a clean and friendly place to stay. I think we had the best spot in the campground :) Thank you to the signers for their performance! I would highly recommend to others!
Aug 25, 2014
They do not tell you when you make a reservation that they will charge you a $10 a day "resort fee" on top of space fee. No cable no WiFi very hit or miss phone service. Great kids park but seniors not so much. Be sure ask about all fees before booking.
Aug 25, 2014
Amazing first camp experience!! My kids absolutely loved all the activities!! Very clean as well!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
I thought I was suppose to get wifi, but the site I was in did not receive it. Also, my waste water hookup was higher than my camper, causing me trouble disconnecting from the waste water connection. The area is beautiful and staff friendly.
Aug 24, 2014
All of the amenities were awesome. The staff was extremely friendly.
Aug 24, 2014
This KOA has it all. That said the cell reception was very poor- not necessarily KOAs fault and the wi-fi only worked in a few "hot spots" not within the campground and only a few had cable. So we were comm out for 3 days - withdrawal!!!!!.
Aug 24, 2014
Great location, quiet campground, lots of amenities, including 2 pools, full service restaurant, and also pancake breakfast. Had a very pleasant stay here and would definitely come back here if we were in the area again.
Aug 24, 2014
We had a wonderful time! Thank you! We were also excited to find out our weekend was on Family Faith weekend. It was the icing on the cake and we were joyful.
Aug 24, 2014
An amazing facility and we look forward to returning next year!
Aug 24, 2014
Beautiful setting, clean facility, friendly people and EXTRAORDINARY flowers.
Aug 24, 2014
The stay was wonderful. The people at the front desk where outstanding and understanding about our situation at the camp site. When we arived for our stay the camp site that was alucated to us was full of dog poop. The manager moved us and had the site cleaned up ASAP. So the next couple would not go through and poppy site. I would love to stay there again and I think I might.
Aug 24, 2014
Aug 24, 2014
We had a wonderful experience. This place is out of this world.
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
We had a great time! My 6yo twins loved the splash pad, the pool, the water slide, and the loft in our cabin. Everyone was very nice and courteous. We are already talking about coming back again, just to enjoy the KOA amenities!
Aug 23, 2014
The location is great--it has everything you need right on site. The cabin was new, quiet and well-equipped. My only complaint is that it's incredibly difficult to find your way to cabins at night! There are a lot of roads and turns and the directional signs are small and not lit so they were completely useless. Make them bigger, light them or make them reflective--please!!
Aug 23, 2014
Great place to stay. Best campground we've been at. So much to do onsite and plenty to keep a child happy and entertained.
Aug 23, 2014
great place....stayed here before so i kinda knew what we were in for. This place is great for kids and adults a-like
Aug 23, 2014
Internet service through out the campground would be great.
Aug 23, 2014
Shower heads positioned 2 high for short people. Shower stalls & surrounding area with plastic stand pretty dirty. Restroom was great. Nice & clean. Laundry room needs 1 or 2 chairs. A bench isn't enough. For me, needing more dryers, I had to use the bench when he left to climb on to get my clothes out on top. Bottoms in use. Love that u have a church service. Nice and friendly staff.
Aug 23, 2014
This is perhaps the best family KOA we have ever stayed at and would have received 5 Stars had it not been for disgusting bathrooms.
Aug 23, 2014
Excellent facilities and lots of amenities to safely entertain our grandchildren when we were not out sightseeing. Very friendly and helpful staff!!
Aug 23, 2014
Great for families, plenty to do onsite, staff was super friendly and helpful. Campground was kept clean with the exception of the showers in the bathrooms. Moldy shower curtains, benches and tile - gross. Other then that we had a great stay and the kids loved the campground!! Also the location is perfect; close to things to do and Hill City which was nice for an afternoon of civilization:)
Aug 23, 2014
Not escorted to our site especially when we asked. Given wrong info on getting to site.Site too small
Aug 23, 2014
The only disappointment was the restrooms and showers. They were in dire need of a good deep cleaning and the shower heads just dribbled out water. Other than this the campground was great. Please fix these showers and we'll be back
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
Great facilities but... when we made our reservation, this KOA failed to notify us of all the extra charges such as a $10.00 per day "resort" fee and a $3.00 per dog per day for our 3 dogs (and their Kamp K9 was unusable). On top of all that, there was no TV available (even antenna) and no Wi-Fi at the site. So instead of the 4 days we had originally reserved, we left after one night.
Aug 23, 2014
Free wifi was advertised, but we were later told it was not guaranteed in the cabins. Why wouuld you advertise wifi if it is not accessible in the cabins! Also, the numbering system is absurd. I walked around for an hour and a half in the rain looking for my cabin.
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
We really only spent the night because we got in so late and had to leave early. But we wish we could have explored all you offer. Grand kids were very disappointed that we were not able to stay longer.want to plan a return trip here.
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
This campground had all the bells and whistles. Fully stocked, great bathrooms. The only recommendation I would have is to now allow small children to use the hot tubs. It's unsanitary. I would have liked to have used them, but they were always filled with small kids.
Aug 22, 2014
Excellent campground!
Aug 22, 2014
loved the campground, everything about it except the phone service and wifi. Get those fixed and its a 10 all the way around
Aug 22, 2014
we reserved a tent only site but were assigned a site in the middle of very noisy rvs and cabins with motorcycle people. It was very late and had to upgrade to cabin and pay $90/night, if I knew about the tent site being in the middle of rvs when I made reservation, I would have stayed at the motel in Keystone for $49/night.
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
The best campground we have ever stated at! Tehachapi, CA
Aug 22, 2014
Loved it....so much for kids to do, that they didn't want to leave.
Aug 22, 2014
We had such a fantastic time!! Relaxing for the adults and tons to do for the kids!! Can't wait to go again!
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
Clean,fun,quiet,enormous
Aug 22, 2014
This is by far the biggest site we have stayed at - everything was perfect and the grounds were beautiful. We had to have our truck repaired and a rental car was available at the site! The pools were warm. The pancake breakfast is to die for. Bring your own WiFi hotspot!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.