Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 16, 2016
We ARE FROM MINNESOTA AND It Was So Beautiful there! It was very enjoyable for us and kids
Jul 16, 2016
Stayed for a week and would definitely stay again. Location is the best. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Jul 16, 2016
Great place to stay, lots of great amenities. I just wish they had better internet. It was basically non existent as even the Internet cafe people told me it hardly ever works. Even with that, I still highly recommend this KOA.
Jul 16, 2016
Enjoyed our stay - location, grounds, activities. Disappointed with bathrooms and shower set-up (small/cramped/cannot accommodate a large number of people. Also there is no safe place to go in case of a tornado.
Jul 16, 2016
Jul 16, 2016
Such an awesome place! Friendly staff, lots of activities and the pancake breakfast is awesome!
Jul 16, 2016
Great facility! The amenities were greatly enjoyed by the two grandsons. The staff was exceptionally helpful. Bathrooms and showers were clean! No complaints about this place, only complements!
Jul 16, 2016
Worst stop on our trip. Bigger is not better! Horrible customer service, they have an horrible I don't care attitude. Managers Ben and Dillion did not impress. Dirty bathrooms, brown water green spa & NO wifi! Had to relocate as spot given was I. Horrible condition, told to go to other spot which was taken, then told no more spots. found site, and then got red tagged next day for their mistake
Jul 16, 2016
Campsites are packed in tight for a resort, and lack of reliable wifi or cell service is annoying for the price and having to pay a resort fee.
Jul 16, 2016
We did not get the site we reserved. But staff were very helpful!
Jul 16, 2016
Not senior.friendlywife fell on grade while directing parking. Limbs obstructing site. Cold shower at bathhouse
Jul 15, 2016
Too crowded. Bathrooms too far away from Kamping Cabins. No A/C in cabins.
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 15, 2016
Nice cabin. A lot to do for kids. Only a lot of noise of guests entering al night to camping.
Jul 15, 2016
The campground for kids is top notch, the activities,movies swimming water slide and the grounds rate all great big kid or little. The cleanliness of the bathrooms and showers are a 3 star. If you have kids no better place to stay around Mt Rushmore. Four stars only because of restrooms and showers not cleaned routinely
Jul 15, 2016
Great resort, plenty of places to ear, the food was good. Many activities for children and adults . Only negative is WiFi doesn't work and no cell coverage in the park . Some premium sites have Cable TV if that's important otherwise just 2 channels with air antennae . The best KOA we have stayed in 10's for everything
Jul 15, 2016
Really Great campground!!! Beautiful views and so much to do!!!
Jul 15, 2016
This place is massive, tent site we had was tiny and sloped badly. Bathrooms were clean but quiet a hike. On a good note, close to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. We won't stay there again.
Jul 15, 2016
Kid zone and rodeo were a lot of fun and kept kids busy. Location of KOA is great as many outside activities are close by Ned not far to drive too.
Jul 15, 2016
There is no wifi at this park. They say there is in designated areas, but you can't connect. I asked several employees "what's the trick to connect"? They told me they can't connect to it either. Fix the wifi or quit advertising that you have it!!!!
Jul 15, 2016
It was neat and clean. Everyone was helpful and kind. Loved that it had something for all ages!
Jul 15, 2016
Our car bottomed out EVERY time we pulled into our camp site, cabin was not level, site & fire pit was on hill, sites were too close together, bathrooms were over crowded ALL the time, no hot water for our showers, hot tub water was yellow, store did not open until 7am, smell of stable while eating ice cream & pizza. The location of the park was very nice, beautiful scenery,the pancakes were great
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 15, 2016
Palmer Gulch KOA is a wonderfully fun place to take the family. Lots of activities for everyone, busy but not so packed you are unable to participate in everything. We love going here every year.
Jul 15, 2016
Our tenting location was fantastic. The restrooms were busy and could be cleaned more often. Also disappointing non-working wifi!
Jul 15, 2016
We loved it!!
Jul 15, 2016
What a fantastic place! We will definitely be back! Thank you for everything!
Jul 15, 2016
Although this was a large site, we were very impressed that the camping tents were sited away from the RV's. It was quiet at night, and the facilities were more than adequate and always clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you.
Jul 15, 2016
Reservations were messed up. They tried to move me to a site with no electricity. Wifi isn't spotty it's non-existent. Hot tub was full of toddlers with no adult supervision. I have nothing good to say about this campground. No apologies were given by the staff just excuses.
Jul 15, 2016
The park is huge and offers a ton of stuff to do. Which is good, because you are not going to want to Be in your site, the sites are small, not level and the sewer connection was actually above my camper, which is obviously difficult. Very close to Mt Rushmore, which is nice.
Jul 15, 2016
Excellent Kamground
Jul 14, 2016
The only complaint I have is that there are no recycling bins. All that plastic that just goes into the garbage is disgraceful. You owe it to the world and future generations to have recycling at your facilities.
Jul 14, 2016
Great location. Not as nice as other KOAs at which we stayed. Office and store a little crazy. Young man with accent who filled propane was very courteous and helpful.
Jul 14, 2016
We had a wonderful time, very family friendly! Lots to do, kids had a blast! Our cabin was ok but needs some work. The bed was so slanted you could almost roll right off with out trying. Also the door would get caught on the floor and hard to open so our kids could not open it by them selves... Super annoying! Other than that the stay was great!
Jul 14, 2016
Lots of nice activities for kids, front store was nice, campground was nice and clean, great location. Drawbacks were cell coverage/wifi coverage - I missed a couple of work calls while I was there. Would also be nice to have a few more trees so you don't feel quite as close to the neighbors.
Jul 14, 2016
Wow! What fun KOA. Friendly service and tons of fun activities. There was never a dull moment and this KOA is a perfect location for day trips. We will be going back!
Jul 14, 2016
5 stars isn't enough! We were so impressed with our stay here. Everyone was friendly, comfort station 2 was very fresh and clean, always. Beautiful grassy campsites next to the lake. so much fun for the kids. I have already given this KOA recommendation to my friends heading to the Black Hills. We all want to come back!! There was so much to do we didn't get to do. Thanks for a fun vacation!
Jul 14, 2016
Jul 14, 2016
We are family of 5 with kids (8, 2 and 1) and they all had a blast! In the future the camp would benefit from another swimming pool but either way the fun zone was awesome. We will be back in a couple of years to do the activites we didn't fit in like trail rides on horse and UTV and the chuckwagon supper. Thank you for wonderful 6 day vacation.
Jul 14, 2016
Campsites were stacked together and you are no longer able to pick which site you want; internet was poor at best; the sunshiner's who led the activities acted like they wanted to be anywhere other than here, they were condescending about activities that were scheduled and acted like we were an inconvenience. You need to clone the young man who takes the chips at the pancake stand, he is delightfu
Jul 14, 2016
Awesome activities for the kids, all workers super hospitable, although it was packed we had a delightful time.
Jul 14, 2016
The smoke from all the bonfires was so overwhelming it sent my son into an ashtma attack and we had to leave the same night we arrived due to not being able to breathe. The rest of the family also was overwhelmed by the smoke. too many cabins crowded into a small spot with the smoke filling a crowded area of the campground.
Jul 14, 2016
I wish we would have had more time to experience all there was to do here. A great place to set up shop for a vacation, and take day trips. It's very crowded and hectic though, so if you want a quiet camping experience this is not the place for you.
Jul 14, 2016
What a great place for families! Beautiful location, so much to do... we loved the 1920s restaurant, Grapes & Grinds, outdoor movies and the entire Fun Zone. Was last at your KOA in 1988, at age 14; what a thrill to come back with my own daughter. Thanks for a great stay!!
Jul 14, 2016
Overall we enjoyed our stay. We tried to extend our stay by 2 nights and I had to talk to several people in the registration office to extend the stay. It was very frustrating and time consuming to simply extend our trip. After getting the trip extended we found a notice on our camper that we were supposed to check out that day so I had to go back to registration to figure it out again.
Jul 14, 2016
We absolutley enjoyed our stay, our kids had an amazing tI me. The only thing I would like to see adjusted is the speed limit, I think it should be 5 mph instead of 10 through the camp..
Jul 13, 2016
If you are going to visit the Black Hills this is the place to stay. A long way in but once there your days are full from morning till night.
Jul 13, 2016
Site are too crowded and little parking at them. But great locations and plenty to do for the kids. No wifi and the sites is a downer as well.
Jul 13, 2016
I cannot tell you how awesome this place is. Disney Land of KOA's. So much to do kids had a blast. Rodeo was awesome, good awesome, horse back riding for my wife and daughter was great. Thank you.
Jul 13, 2016
Flat parking spots are great but if your on the hill side be weary as our spot we couldn't unhook as we were concerned that the trailer would go down the hill.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals