Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 16, 2015
Tons to do but super crowded. My kids enjoyed the bikes, pool, jumping pillow, and mini golf. I feel like the pool could use some heat and updates. But overall very happy with this stay and a super fun place!
Aug 16, 2015
This isn't your typical park and sleep campground. There are so many activities for everyone and is super close to Mount Rushmore. There is no internet or cell service at all though.
Aug 15, 2015
Atmosphere/appearance wonderful and over the top. Cleanliness extremely poor. Young personnel staff very rude and unhelpful. Internet amenities horrible, should of had a mini business center with a few hard wired internet computers since there is no cell coverage. Very disappointing. More cable sites would have been nice to be at least able to see the weather channel, or a lounge that with TV.
Aug 15, 2015
Very expensive, too muddy, no phone or tv reception, not enough room for parking, should not be watering plants at 6:00am.
Aug 15, 2015
Sites are very close together, Wifi is non existent
Aug 15, 2015
It was great. Few things:lots of kid workers hanging around doing nothing when there was things to be doing, bathrooms could be cleaned more often, worker shortage in main office, always out of coffee, poor lightening in pool area very unsafe even for an adult to watch child, grumpy worker at pizza place.
Aug 15, 2015
This site has so much potential with the right mgmt team the Wifi was down and the staff had no urgency to correct it. Other staff members could be heard taking about poor mgmt practices-very disappointing
Aug 15, 2015
The WiFi is poor, I understand it was busy being the last weekend of the Sturgis Rally but accepting the agreement and actually connecting was difficult. Even having a decent signal on my laptop I was never successful in connecting. On my iPhone only when in the lodge, I was able to connect and sort of use the very slow WiFi. I will be paying two late fees because of my inability to connect.
Aug 15, 2015
Loved camping on the hill. It was like camping but we had the luxury of a resort. Thanks for the great time.
Aug 15, 2015
The camp site was in somewhat poor condition with a very large rut from a very large vehicle right outside our camper door, their resolution was a piece of plywood. Our site was also very wet and muddy a majority of the time of our stay. The staff was nice and friendly. Disappointed in our stay for what it cost because of the crappy camp site.
Aug 15, 2015
No Internet available due to being around mountains. Small sites, and no septic, only dump station. Positive points were that there were alot of activities and play areas for kids. Town nearby was very quaint and old time feel. Over all, good location and nice stay.
Aug 15, 2015
I felt that the campground was extremely over priced for the value. For the amount paid, the campsite amenities was disappointing. No TV and inadequate WIFI was something I didn't expect. I thought the supervision of the children's activities were lacking. The pool needed supervision, since parents on older kids weren't there to keep them in line. As a grandparent I was concerned for safety.
Aug 15, 2015
Lets see no phone service, weak wifi, no television, and an extra $10 a day resort fee. Yes it is the closeet to Mt. Rushmore, that is lucky isn't it!
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
The only thingcthey should do different is open the store before 7 am. Everything else was great.
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
Many things to do. All of the staff were very friendly and helpfull
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
We were part of 5 RV group to use this campground. The consensus is: if you like your water full of sediment, restrooms that smell of urine, high prices,useless wifi and a general disregard for reservations made, this is the place for you.Only two of us got the sites we reserved.They did not want to fix it until it was pointed out that the units would not fit on the assigned sites.
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
We were really disappointed with the cost of this park for the lack of services. No internet or phone service. No cable. The activities we might have considered cost even more like the shuttle to my Rushmore. It's very kids oriented and I could see more value for a family. We also had a medical issue and had to rent a car in emergency. We returned the car within three hours but had to pay a day
Aug 14, 2015
Amazing campground with lots of activities for kiddos!! Great location, close to Mount Rushmore and all the "must see/do" activities while you're there!
Aug 14, 2015
Modern clean facilities and plenty of activities for the whole family, many of which are free.
Aug 14, 2015
We had a great stay. Our only complaint is that it was difficult to get to the bathrooms from our camping cabin. It would have been nice to have a trail through the campers to the bathrooms.
Aug 14, 2015
Our stay was from 8/3-8/10 in a deluxe cabin. We ran out of toilet paper and no one ever cleaned the cabin. I had to ask for toilet paper and asked to have clean towels, also asked if they would just clean the bathroom. That wasn't done they just brought towels and left TV on and door unlocked when they left.
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
The campsite was nice but there was no WiFi or TV as was advertised. And the layout was very confusing, There were no road directions.
Aug 14, 2015
we were just stopping by. too busy for a pass thru. great for a family and kids.
Aug 13, 2015
water quality is terrible! ruined a new water filter in two days,it was like I was filtering muddy water right from a creek.first five minutes of running water it smelled like toilet water.
Aug 13, 2015
Water for our site was unusable. Rusty
Aug 13, 2015
Showers were GROSS, as in no one was cleaning them! And we had NO Wi-Fi service. Otherwise the campground was great! Lots for the kids to do!!
Aug 13, 2015
Great staff. But. You spend a lot on the camp store and the sites are mud puddles and swamp like when it rains For 100 bucks a night this camp was way way over priced
Aug 13, 2015
Love the location and hospitality. Nice to have a good restaurant on premises. Wifi and data however are almost impossible to receive so be aware. Beware too the loose and uneven gravel getting a motorcycle into any spot on the hills yet still I would go back in a heartbeat. Thanks for everything Justin!
Aug 13, 2015
Very friendly, helpful, and professional........ Thanks for everything ........
Aug 13, 2015
Totally awesome. Great lay out and super friendly staff made our stay 1 of our best trips yet. We will be back.
Aug 13, 2015
Site had standing water. Was impossible to set up a tent. Was an awful site for my small grand children. I asked to move to a different site and was given worse options. Receptionist was not helpful.
Aug 13, 2015
Bathrooms, pool and showers were dirty. Workers were just playing basketball with each other. Bathrooms in the morning didn't have power so showers were cold. Toilets were plugged up.
Aug 13, 2015
Wonderful campground!!! So much to do for both children and adults. Very clean campground and friendly staff. My only downfall was poor wifi, hard to keep in touch with family.
Aug 13, 2015
Great place to stay!😊
Aug 13, 2015
The campground is extremely clean and well-laid out. It is a very pleasant atmosphere, and very family friendly. We enjoyed the little church service on Sunday, too! The registration clerk, Adrianne, was extremely helpful, and very friendly. A very pleasant and welcoming first impression of your campground!!
Aug 13, 2015
Had a great time at the KOA! Kids loved the park and many things they were able to do!
Aug 13, 2015
Beautiful and clean resort. Too bad we have no young chores as it is wonderfully set up for young families
Aug 12, 2015
Second time we have stayed here for the Sturgis ralley. It has been great both times. We actually filled out the form to stay again next year, and in the same space 135.
Aug 12, 2015
Awesome accomodations. Clean, quiet campground. Would not hesitate to recommend Palmer Gulch KOA to anyone else.
Aug 12, 2015
My stay at the Mount Rushmore campground was a great experience. Thanks for making my stay most enjoyable!
Aug 12, 2015
Excellent campground! Staff was friendly and helpful. ONLY downfall is NO cell service, and extremely limited WiFi - both unfortunate necessities nowadays.
Aug 12, 2015
Nice and friendly people. Clean and a lot of things to do onsite. Announcements what's going on on SlickerStage could be better.
Aug 12, 2015
I have stayed twice for Sturgis week in 07 & 15 & would not even consider staying else where YOU ALL ARE #1 :) #aTrueResort
Aug 12, 2015
Stayed in July. Did not have a great experience. NOT KOA's FAULT! Record rains in May and June washed out several sites (Mine was reserved in January) Location is amazing and TONS of activities were offered. We felt cramped and uncomfortable with the repaired site and the crowded (sold out) campground. KOA did everything they could to try to accommodate to no avail. Refunded $. Great for kids!
Aug 12, 2015
Great spot and awesome service. Pancake breakfast was fantastic and pools were clean and enjoyable. Nice mtn biking right behind and horses on site to rent. Awesome KOA

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.