Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 21, 2014
this koa needs more WiFi hotspots and TV cable added to all full hookup sites, the water in the swimming pools was very dirty. you can't beat the atmosphere and Papas pancake tent!
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
My stay as far as the campground was excellent as always. My group and many other campers were not impressed with your bartender Saturday night! She was late, rude, and was costing you money. We watched couple after couple leave due to her. She also was feeding her dad free beers, at least I never saw him pay for one and at one point I saw him start a fight!!
Aug 21, 2014
Awesome location and the kids activities are great. This was our second stay. We love it.
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Amenities were really great. Bathrooms and shower building clean and well light. Kids fun zone was very creative and kids loved it! The pool for the waterslide was dark grey brown and I wish the cleaned the water mid day or something. Other pools and hot tub clean. Biggest dissapointment was wifi didnt work, not even near hot spot. No clear instructions how to troubleshoot.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
I have been here many times over the years. I don't think the filters work in the pools. They are covered in bugs and some were a strange color and smell.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Overall, our stay was good. We had a little mouse problem in our camper cabin. We had to block the bottom of the door at night so the mice couldn't get in.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Well run campground. Only complaint is that good tent sites are disappearing to make way for cabins. Have been coming to this campground for over two decades but may have to find a new campground that caters more to tent campers.
Aug 20, 2014
The things that I didn't like were: showers were filthy and not cleaned often enough. Also the mark up on items such as milk is just plain wrong!! $4.50 for a HALF GALLON! Terrible! Also there was no rock climbing wall as stated on your brochures/website. The horses and chuck wagon dinner were fabulous!!
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
This KOA is wonderful for families. Many things to do and nice facilities.
Aug 20, 2014
Need closer restroom/shower facilities for Camping Cabins. Great place to bring the kids though, tons of activities for them. At the end of the day, they are tired! :)
Aug 20, 2014
While we were only there for two nights, it was our type of resort. Loved that the kids had a water slide, bouncing pillow and many other things that were free to go to. It had a restuarant, wine tasting for grown ups and films for the kids. Excellant resort.
Aug 19, 2014
Great campground! Kids had a blast! Clean facilities!
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
Nice staff, but extremely small campsites. More restrooms for easier access would also be nice instead of having to haul the kids down a large hill every time. Kids love to swim so the 2 pools were nice, but missed out on the rock climbing wall, because it was in for repairs. For the price and added fees, I think we will choose a different campsite in the future.
Aug 19, 2014
Best koa by far for the whole family on my so far 52 day vacation Have not seen another like this one in all my travels Will be back
Aug 19, 2014
Viele Aktivitäten auf dem Campingplatz möglich, gut für Familien, gut geführter Platz, saubere Restrooms
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
the site that we were given needed to be graded, the rain had washed away gravel and left a low spot where the door was. needed to use a milk crate to add a step. Also the site was small, limited level area for chairs and table.
Aug 19, 2014
The only aspect that I was disappointed with was the WiFi connection. It did not work at all and would have presented difficulties if I would have had to complete any work.
Aug 19, 2014
Fantastic stay! Would have been much more enjoyable with kids. There could be a little more space between spots and at least a path between campers to get to the center restroom more easily.
Aug 19, 2014
Awesome campground with great amenities. We stayed here to see Mt. Rushmore while traveling to our new home, but had I realized what was at this location I'd have built at least another day, if not two, to stay and enjoy the facility. Will definitely try to go back again some day.
Aug 19, 2014
Hidden charges added to our daily rate....they charged for our ONE dog and $10 daily activity fees...... The workers buzzed fast around the campground in the ATVs and vans constantly......we were put in a spot in front of the dumpster that was emptied at 7:30 am.....for a site that we paid $71.00 a night for....NO WAY....
Aug 19, 2014
the staff was very accomadating and friendly. On a bad note,I was struck by a child riding a bicycle and was bruised and cut and terribly sore. Maybe there should be bicycle paths so these accidents don't occur.The staff was right there to assist me when this happened and continued to check on me during our stay Thank you to the staff!
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
We had a great time at your KOA. Our eight year old daughter loved the pool and all the activities you provided for the kids. We would definitely come and stay there again.
Aug 19, 2014
Very enjoyable, cabin very nice! Water slide and baby pool was not very clean! Water was green at bottom of water slide.
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Great Staff and lots of activities. *KOA needs to due a better job of keeping pool water clean of bugs and such.
Aug 18, 2014
fantastic staff, great KOA, kept up well,lots to do...only suggestion is :to ENFORCE the 8-10 PM ADULT swim time at front pool. we had to ask 2 nights/times for the staff to come and enforce it..BRADY ( great staff) gladly came and handled it...we;d prefer not have to come and have to ask staff to enforce it. We have stayed here many times and will again.
Aug 18, 2014
Th campground was nice
Aug 18, 2014
Bath houses, small, old and dirty. Sites not flat, only deluxe area has concrete roads, nice area, but less than expected.
Aug 18, 2014
All I have come to expect from first level KOA resorts!
Aug 18, 2014
Loved this campground!! It had all the activities needed for the kids, especially the horseback riding and UTV rentals. Only down side was very poor WiFi service, could connect to router but no service. Very poor cell service too.
Aug 18, 2014
Was having a great time until we went to have a drink in the bar. The bartender on 8/16/14 was horribly rude to all of her customers and her father physically attacked my friend. All other aspects of the campground are great and once we were kicked out of the bar a waitress of the resturant apologized to us saying it was not the first time. She even bought us a round of drinks from her own money.
Aug 18, 2014
Loved our cabin, it's location and the beautiful view. The pool was a a little gross, hard to see the bottom.
Aug 18, 2014
We were extremely impressed with the cleanliness of the facility and the helpfulness of the staff. The numerous on-site activities for every age and the additional amenities (car rental and such) are the biggest reason we will be back year after year!!! Thanks for a wonderful first vacation for our family.
Aug 18, 2014
the girl on the slide was busy playing with her cell phone the whole time the kids were up there very inappropriate. on the bounty pad the young kid was busy chatting with his friend not watching the kids on the bouncy pad and there were over 20 of them. A couple of them were bumping into each other getting hurt. I finally said something to him and then he finally watches them.
Aug 18, 2014
They worked hard to get us a convenient spot close to the services we would be using. Great location close to Rushmore
Aug 18, 2014
It is like a hotel that you bring your own room to.
Aug 18, 2014
So many great activities for our kids! All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Will definately be coming back in the future.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.