Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 07, 2017
More amenities then most camp grounds. Very clean and very friendly.
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
RV campsites are close together. Kids enjoyed natural pond. Lots of activities and we'll established campgrpund. Convenient location.
Aug 07, 2017
The fun for the kids is amazing at this locations. Lots to do. The water slide was a particular favorite among my kids. As a negative, there needs to be at least one more bathroom for the cabins on the hill. It was a good 5 minute walk to the closest bathrooms up a hill, not fun at night.
Aug 07, 2017
This was our second time to stay both visit were outstanding! Excellent facilities very friendly staff.
Aug 07, 2017
What a great campground! Staff was friendly and helpful, the kids had a blast, so much to do! The pools are heated, showers and bathrooms are clean. Great place at an affordable rate for the whole family.
Aug 07, 2017
This was our first time tent camping as a family without anyone else, and I was not looking forward to it. I was worried about dirt sites and gross bathrooms, but this KOA had neither! I was so impressed by our beautiful grass-covered site and the bathrooms were clean and very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful, and there were tons of amenities to use. We're looking forward to returning!
Aug 07, 2017
Amazing time at a amazing place. Will be going back for sure.
Aug 07, 2017
It was truly a resort!
Aug 07, 2017
Very nice park with lots to do.......
Aug 07, 2017
Very nice park with lots to do for the kids and adults.....
Aug 07, 2017
Huge facility! Our campsite was great; it was private and shady. The resort was in a great location for exploring all over the Black Hills Forest and around Mt. Rushmore.
Aug 07, 2017
Great stopping point on our cross-country trip. Close to many sights and Mt. Rushmore and for us, the lack of internet and phone connectivity was a blessing. We will be back
Aug 07, 2017
Everyone is so friendly which is hard to find with summer help these days. Clean restrooms. The grounds are very well maintained and the hanging baskets all over the grounds adds a beautiful touch of color. Lots of events to keep the kids busy. They liked the science experiments. This was our 3rd visit to this campground and most certainly will NOT be our last.
Aug 06, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
This is the best KOA that we have ever stayed in. If you have kids, there is so much for them to do right there. It's easy access to all of the siteseeing. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and hated to leave.
Aug 06, 2017
Amazing amenities! It was great that almost everything was included in the cost. Views were fabulous! There was no phone service and wifi didn't reach our site. Bathrooms were clean but a little outdated.
Aug 06, 2017
LOTS of things for kids/families to do. Check-in process rather cumbersome, although not different from other campgrounds, however the volume of people coming in at one time makes it more of a cluster. Also, our site was between the bath house in the middle and the tents and we constantly had people walking through our site because there is no pass through for them.
Aug 06, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
This resort was amazing and extremely family friendly. We will definitely stay again!
Aug 06, 2017
Was very enjoyable. Alot of things to enjoy at the facility. Enjoyable for all ages.
Aug 06, 2017
This was our first KOA stay. While we like state parks better because we are tent campers. The bathrooms by all thevRVs were so clean and nice and the kids loved the kids zone.
Aug 06, 2017
Friendly staff. Really nice facility. Spectacular view. Can hardly wait till we can stay again except next time will be at least a whole week long!
Aug 06, 2017
Lots of great amenities for families with kids.
Aug 06, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
not happy with the burgers at the little shop, otherwise, it was nice
Aug 06, 2017
Enforce morning quiet hours on playgrounds.
Aug 06, 2017
Beautiful location! Lots to do! Clean facilities. Will go back!
Aug 06, 2017
Very beautiful Koa. Extremely kid friendly and very helpful with making our trip fantastic. The ambassadors there are so helpful with golf cart transportation for my 76 year old mom which made her experience awesome. Thank you so much palmer gulch koa.
Aug 06, 2017
The tent site was small couldn't use the campfire tent was to close to it. This campsite was packed in like sardines. First time staying here so the church and all kid outdoor avities was a surprise and I enjoyed everything that they offered. How ever we did go to the all you can eat pancakes tent and my kids got sick of the milk that we ordered and threw up. Please check the temperature of frig
Aug 06, 2017
Bon camping. Ce camping est immense. Bon service. Nous avons bien aimé.
Aug 06, 2017
Great location for all the sites. Two pools and great hiking trails across the street.
Aug 06, 2017
really nice stay. we had to change sites for our last night but that worked out ok. When getting ready to leave we had a problem with our main slideout. Gary from your maintenance dept. was able to take out the broken part and fix a piece in so that we could get the slide in and be on our way. A big thanks to Gary from the Burkes and Ruanes.
Aug 06, 2017
Great facility, very busy and noisy
Aug 06, 2017
The bathrooms near our site were amazingly clean and even had hooks on the back of the bathroom stall doors! We weren't traveling with kids so didn't participate in any family activities, but with playground, horses, etc., & activities offered throughout the day, this spot is ideal for families!!! And anyone else who wants a fresh cup of coffee in the morning or a fully-stocked camping store.
Aug 06, 2017
Throughly enjoyed the campground and all of your facilities. We didn't even need to leave the campground if we didn't want to. Suggestions: One of the other KOA's we stayed in had a sewer hose already attached at the dumping station for campers use, it expedited matters. Also, your propane station is too close to the dumping station. 3 RVs were waiting to dump, but couldn't .
Aug 06, 2017
The most overpriced 75 a night campground ever. Elbow to elbow, muddy gravel roads, loud blaring music all over campground and neighbor campfire 5 feet from my camper. My first and last visit. Trash laying around and not being picked up gets the worse rating of any CG I have ever stayed at.
Aug 06, 2017
This was the biggest and nicest KOA we have ever stayed at. Tons of stuff to do and many places to eat, highly recommended!!
Aug 06, 2017
By far the best KOA we've ever stayed in. It was the weekend before Sturgis and despite many challenges the staff remained calm and courteous. We'll be back for sure.
Aug 05, 2017
Over the top hosts. Great place for families especially for those with kids. Will continue to recommend the facility to others.
Aug 05, 2017
Wonderful stay with lots to do. Wish there were bathrooms closet to camper cabins though.
Aug 05, 2017
Grounds and camp sites were great. all the KOA people were friendly and helpful and great amenities for just about any thing you could want to do
Aug 05, 2017
Aug 05, 2017
Our stay was good but the website was a bit misleading regarding the amenities. The internet was so bogged down that it was unusable. Also, the restrooms were probably in the poorest shape of any KOA I've been to. Very overpriced for what is offered.
Aug 05, 2017
Good facilities, Reserved 3 sites, supposed to be next to each other, they where not, was not told that ever, found out when we where shown to our sites, made 2 different attempts at the registration to move and was not moved. Bathrooms could use more cleaning. The campground was beautiful, grass well kept. Flowers where gorgous. Staff was friendly.
Aug 05, 2017
Unfortunately we were only there 1 night, it is a beautiful "Kampground"
Aug 05, 2017
This campground was great and the staff were so helpful. This is a fantastic campground if you have children as there are so many activities. We did the chuck wagon dinner which was excellent. My only complaint was the wi-fi. it was only in the few designated areas and it was hard to get on and very slow, at times almost unusable.
Aug 05, 2017
This KOA is beautiful and very well taken care of. The staff is very friendly and helpful!
Aug 05, 2017
Full service, food, coffee, pool, loved this campground. So close to mount Rushmore
Aug 05, 2017
WE LOVED THE ACTIVITIES AND ACCOMMODATIONS HERE - BUT THE BATHROOMS WERE NOT KEPT CLEAN
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals