Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 27, 2013
There was only two minor complaints we had. The bathroom facilities nearest our campsite was a bit outdated and at times looked disheveled. The hand dryer was not operating very efficiently. The other was there were young kids unsupervised at the mini golf area swinging the clubs dangerously in hitting the ball uncontrolled. We told staff they said that there was nothing they could do.
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Wonderful staff! Great park for families, but great for the retired crowd also! Spacious sights! Beautiful setting! We'll be back!
Aug 27, 2013
GREAT KOA POOR INTERNET !!
Aug 27, 2013
Amazing, very beautiful camp grounds, Wounderful activities for all ages. Very organized. LOVE IT ALL!!!!!!!!!!
Aug 27, 2013
The campground was noisy and packed due to the Faith concert. Had plenty for the kids to do but a little much for me.
Aug 26, 2013
No comments, just great!!!
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
This is a wonderful campground with lots of activities and a very helpful staff. The biggest problem for me as at other campgrounds is the wifi was practically speaking, non-existent. That combined with no cell signal made sharing photos of our vacation or any other communication difficult and frustrating. They have wifi and it does work a little but definitely needs upgraded.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Great if you have kids and are staying awhile. We were staying one night and it was too busy and tons of people. Very nice KOA/resort though. Would love to come back when we have kids.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Nice place to stay, however when we first checked in to cabin it was very dirty. It had not been cleaned, there was food, garbage and dirty underwear on the cabin floor. Also the fire pit was full of garbage.
Aug 26, 2013
It was a wonderful stay at the Rushmore KOA. We stayed in one of the new Deluxe cabins and that was very clean. The only complaints were that we only had 4 folks for 6 of us staying there and the cooktop didn't get warm enough to boil a large pot of water. But with a fire pit and outdoor gas grill, we improvised. The folks there were very friendly and we plan to come back again!
Aug 26, 2013
We enjoyed the campground as we were celebrating our granddaughter's birthday. the only problem was the site we were in...our camper is 41 feet long and we were backed up right to the creek! The traffic was high by our site as the Faith weekend was happening then, too. Overall we really enjoyed it.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Probably the best KOA Kampground that we have stayed at! The grounds are clean, simple to navigate, quiet, tons of things to do, for all ages - right there on the grounds - and centrally located to all of the attractions in the Black Hills! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
When we arrived we were allocated in a little place in slope with no grass although there were lot of better places available. We complained and move to another place but didnĀ“t feel well attended. The woman in reception was disageeable. The showers were not very clean. All in all, not great value for the price
Aug 26, 2013
IT WAS GREAT
Aug 26, 2013
We love that in this day and age you guys have a Faith weekend! What a great time to come and join other believers in Jesus! Such an encouragement to us! Great staff, clean, and beautiful! Thank you!!
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
We were only able to stay 1 night, but loved our stay and can't wait to come back when we will be able to stay longer. Our kids are college/hs age, but still had a great time in the pools and mini golf in Keystone. Thanks!!
Aug 26, 2013
Absolutely fabulous in every way! Magnificent setting. Great v alue for the price. Plenty of additional amenities on site at reasonable prices. Staff was courteous and uniformly helpful. They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. I can't imagine that there is a better KOA - or a better campground anywhere. I have stayed at Fort Wilderness campground at Disney World and this is better!
Aug 26, 2013
Love the cabin setup. Nice and quiet. Great place for kids!
Aug 26, 2013
Beautiful campground, tons of activities, great staff, lots of area attractions. Perfect for families!
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Stayed during Faith weekend. Wishore rules on ATV's and Dogs were enforced! Also signage getting to park way to far back from road and hidden by big pine tree. Maybe small sign nearer road would be helpful.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
We really enjoyed the campground and all the amenities. There was almost too much to do at the campgrounds, the kids didn't want to leave to go sight seeing.... thank you for making our stay so wonderful and we will be back.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Fantastic family friendly camping!! Love It!!!!
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
This KOA was an oasis! We had a long trip from Chicago to Mt. Rushmore and this was a terrific reward. My only suggestion...SIGNAGE!!! When you are unfamiliar with the area and the roads are dangerous/steep/zigzags, a couple of KOA signs to ensure you are, indeed, headed in the right direction would be very welcome!!! I think the last one before arriving at KOA was 6 or 7 miles before.
Aug 25, 2013
Our son loved the fun zone and all the activities, but the cabin floor had not been cleaned before we arrived and the bathrooms were borderline unacceptable for our entire trip. A campground this size should clean the bathrooms more frequently, especially the ones near the pool.
Aug 25, 2013
lots to do....good places to eat....friendly staff....
Aug 25, 2013
Loved the entire experience! Beautiful campground, lovely staff & lots of activities to keep everyone entertained! Location is super convenient, too!
Aug 25, 2013
You'd be hard-pressed to find a KOA or other campground with more amenities. Centrally located, as opposed to Rapid City KOA. The latter part of our stay coincided with the beginning of the Sturgis rally, so motorcycles were everywhere and the campground was continually at capacity (AVOID a stay during rally). The sheer amount of people was more than the restrooms / showers could handle (MESSY!)
Aug 25, 2013
we had the noisy neighbors and after I told the management about loud noise until 12midnight they were up until 1am the next night and I heard them say they were told they would get kicked out... do you think they cared and no one from KOA was around at midnight to tell these people to be quite... 4 nights of noise until 1am... and so I will never go back there again... or another KOA
Aug 25, 2013
This is a great campground. Lots of activities and fun things to do. The cabin was very comfortable. The tent sites look nice and shady as well. We didn't get to take advantage of any of the extra activities, but they looked like a lot of fun. We are thinking about coming back with our tent sometime.
Aug 25, 2013
enjoyed our stay. Our grandkids loved it. Didn't want to leave. My 3yr old grandson loved the Fire truck ride. Thanks CE from Texas
Aug 25, 2013
This is a GREAT KOA, the best we have stayed in so far. The only thing we would have changed, would be to enforce the 10 mph speed limit, and to stop the pedal riding at dusk...kids were flying around the park, and could hardly be seen, by the vehicles wizzing by going too fast. The park is beautiful, and the shuttle to Mt Rushmore was indeed an unexpected pleasure.
Aug 25, 2013
Had a great stay. Kids enjoyed the pools and the horseback riding.
Aug 25, 2013
A wonderfully fun place for the kids. ( 8,8,10) ; plenty of organized and nonorganized activities. Restaurant Nd cafe was welcomed. Pancake breakfast budget friendly. Location is perfect to act as a "base camp" for area activities. Friendly staff. All areas were clean and maintained on a daily basis.
Aug 25, 2013
One of the best campgrounds we have stayed at. Facilities were very nice. Ideally located for exploring the black hills and Custer. All encounters with staff were pleasant. I would stay there again. Thanks.
Aug 25, 2013
The KOA was great. Lots to do, but the staff was not always friendly. We were disappointed that we could not attend the covered wagon dinner - we were told it was full, but found out later that it was not full. Conveniently located.
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Best campground ever! The grandkids love all of the activities...horseback rides, golf, swimming, and tons of other stuff. Our reservations for the golf carts got messed up, but Marci took care of us and gave us a 4-wheeler for the first day..excellent customer service! Wonderful campsite, also...and we got to have a camfire this year!!
Aug 24, 2013
This was the second time we stayed at the campground. The staff are great and there is every facility you can imagine. However, I was hugely disappointed with the quality of the WIFI. It is terrible! So if that isn't a deal breaker for you, this is the best place to stay for families or couples in the black hills!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.