Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 08, 2015
Everyone was very helpful. Great bathrooms and showers. Did not know that such a campground existed.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great review! We love hearing that our staff was so helpful and that our bathhouses exceeded your expections! We hope to see you next camping season! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 08, 2015
Showers on Sunday morning were in need of attention. Otherwise awesome service and lots to do for all of the family.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback about your most recent stay! We will make sure to follow up with our shower crew regarding Sunday morning's cleaning. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Black Hills! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 08, 2015
Said we could watch the first college football game of the year at restaurant as long as we bought drinks. We did and they were very rude and then refused to allow any sound on the television because sound is "against their policy" Did I mention how rude they were? We were quiet, polite, and had our small children with us so it wasn't like we were disturbing anything...plus we were only ones there

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback about our onsite restaurant. I will be sure to pass your notes along to them as I know your feedback is very important to them! I assure you they will take the necessary steps to improve based on this review. Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 07, 2015
Very efficient. Nice people. Beautiful area and central to attractions. Don't need to leave koa so much fun stuff to do there. Very pleased!
Sep 07, 2015
Sep 07, 2015
Very clean KOA, wish there were more bathrooms spread out, was a long walk in the mornings.
Sep 07, 2015
Friendly staff, clean facilities, plenty for kids to do would stay longer next time.
Sep 07, 2015
Sep 07, 2015
I was disappointed with two things one being the fact that it almost two days and three trips to complain about a clogged toilet in one of the bathrooms. The second is advised wifi. The service was nonexistent. When we arrived on Wednesday morning it had a full signal but my phone show no Internet service. Either boost the Internet or don't advertise free wifi
Sep 07, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Sep 07, 2015
Great stay could've maybe liked the pool a little warmer but all in all good time and clean.
Sep 07, 2015
Start by saying the staff and all the people working where great. This is not my style for camping. Every site is very close I worried about my fire pit being too close to the next camper. There is no room for parking after disconnecting. Just too many people for me. Other than that there is tons of stuff for the kids and adults to do.
Sep 07, 2015
i feel robed, the price for a tent site was on the website $21.00 and we had to pay $30.00 ?? the answer was oh they have not changed the website duh. and the site was not wurth the $ 30.00. WIFI sucks only 2 points available and you had to be within 5 yards to have reception.
Sep 07, 2015
We loved the feel of it, all the activities, more then you can even plan in one day! Great staff and friendly people!!
Sep 07, 2015
The nicest camp ground I have camped in. It's very clean with lots of staff to help with anything, and a large option of camp sights and ways to camp there. I was very impressed.
Sep 07, 2015
Over Priced for Senior Citizens. Great for Family with Kids. Poor Internet and Phone reception, if at all possible. Would not stay at this campground again.
Sep 07, 2015
Best KOA we've ever stayed at!!!
Sep 07, 2015
Saturday of labour day weekend - nonreservatio- NO PRONLEM! Wild happening KOA. One night is not enough. The amenities amazing. Unfortunately we only enjoyed the laundry facilities. Big plus was the pancake breakfast. 😎. Washroom and showers, the other necessisity - #1. All staff were professional and friendly.
Sep 06, 2015
you guys are the standard in which all others try to be, one issue was only, fair,I am an amputee of 40 plus years,my point is I know how get around the few obsticles that I am confronted with each day,while showering in the bath house next to spacs 136 I was stepping from the shower with my finger tips on the shower curtain rod,it was so severily rotted,the whole rod and all came down causeing me
Sep 06, 2015
The ponderosa restaurant and Papas pancakes were outstanding. The activities offered were excellent for all ages. Live music by Marley Cook was beautiful. All KOA personnel were polite and accommodating. We would definitely return.
Sep 06, 2015
Absolutely wonderful but need to seriously upgrade your wifi. Best pizza and ice cream. Front desk staff very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable.
Sep 06, 2015
This place was great, friendly helpful staff, kids had a good time with all the kiddie things to do. I don't know why there is complaints about the size, it is big but they state that on the web site. As for the wifi again they let you know where you have service and where you don't so I'm not sure again why the complaints... Maybe some folks don't know how to read or listen so well.
Sep 06, 2015
We felt like this KOA was very unorganized we had extreme difficulty finding our campsite the numbers didn't match at all. The sites we crowded and you have to pay for nearly every activity.
Sep 05, 2015
Sep 05, 2015
Great park centrally located reasonably price very well kept up they even pickup your garbage (nice) they have lots of activity,nice pool,wished they had cable and wifi in the whole park we would stay there again
Sep 05, 2015
Best KOA or camp any where!
Sep 05, 2015
Sep 05, 2015
Sep 05, 2015
very overpriced-as senior citizens, we felt a $20.00 fee on top of the regular high rate was not necessary. We did not use anything extra and price did not include cable TV. Had to go to 2nd site due to person checking us into a poor site not suited to Class C MH.
Sep 04, 2015
Awesome location, friendly staff, beautiful campground esp with patio sites.. Could use a few more shady spots but we loved it .
Sep 04, 2015
Sep 04, 2015
Sep 04, 2015
Enjoyed our stay. Lots of amenities. Only disappointment was lack of WiFi throughout the campground. Access to reliable internet is extremely important to those of us who work remotely.
Sep 04, 2015
Diane & Sara gave us a welcome, from there it was all down hill. We waiting 15 mins for an escort that never showed Scott.Our site wasn't level plus small, didn't have cable or wifi. We have traveled KOA's all over the country, never paid this much before plus a resort fee when we didn't use anything. Registered for 2 night tried to get out of 2nd night, no we didn't give them 48hr notice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our Resort. I have refunded your card for the second night that you did not stay. I'm sorry this did not happen at the time of your departure as we do not require a 48 hour notice as was told to you. Sincerely, Danielle Akey
Sep 03, 2015
Great locations! But very small sites.
Sep 03, 2015
We loved everything and the staff was super nice.
Sep 03, 2015
The bunks are not for adults and the hide a bed needs to be updated with an air mattress.
Sep 03, 2015
Very nice place to stay and close to everything.
Sep 03, 2015
Had a great time, the summer shiners did a great job with our kids. The only issue we had was with our water. It came out of our tap very brown so we had to get water from other sites
Sep 02, 2015
The call center does not understand what each campground's sites are like. Electrical sites with tent's can turn into big ordeal. This campground also floods, as it did where are tent was located...
Sep 02, 2015
Sep 01, 2015
The campground is very big and quite expansive. Yet, WIFI is available only at two spots near the entrance. Considering tue high price, this is ridiculous ! Our Site (#602) was at a slope of a hill and not completely even. Friendliness at registration was OK. We had much better KOA campgrounds during our holiday, e.g. Devils Tower, or Erstes Park.
Sep 01, 2015
We had a great experience at Mt. Rushmore KOA. There is a lot to do and it is located close to many different attractions. I highly recommend this campground! Looking forward to coming back again!
Sep 01, 2015
Been to your KOA many times and always left with many wonderful memories, thanks.
Sep 01, 2015
Site is beautiful with lots of amenities, but our son was too young for many of them. We really enjoyed the pool despite the very cold water, and also took advantage of the very affordable pancake breakfast. We found our cabin to be clean, but it was perched on a very small piece of flat land, so there was limited seating space around the fire and our neighbors were too close.
Sep 01, 2015
The staff were very nice and the facility is lovely -- especially for people with children. However, the amount of smoke (people burning campfires) at night prevented us from venturing outdoors or opening our windows for the cool air. We even had to take our smoke detectors down inside the RV. This was very disappointing since there was a meteor shower going on that week.
Sep 01, 2015
Very nice campground. The kids had an awesome time so many things to do. Very clean and friendly a bit expensive but well worth it in the end Thanks
Sep 01, 2015
We have stated here several times and will again. This time we were tenting and sites were not very level but we made them work. Lots of people here but it is centrally located for visiting the area. Lots to do at park.
Sep 01, 2015
The all you can eat pancakes were awesome and the tent site was large and grassy. The showers were a little small and there was only a small stool to put your clothes and shower supplies. There were some very small tent sites. The picnic table was on a hill so if you go to the front of the table you fall into a hole.The packages of wood were pretty small.
Sep 01, 2015
Lots to do, helpful staff, great location
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals