Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 17, 2015
Great place to hang out and relax.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
We had the best family weekend! So much to do for all ages! Will definately be back next year!!
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
My kids absolutely loved it there. They loved all the activities that were offered. I very much loved the cleanliness of the bathrooms & showers. We will definitely be visiting again.
Aug 17, 2015
It was an amazing experience. It made our trip affordable but extremely enjoyable. The cleanliness and warm hospitality makes me want to come back just to hang out at the camp ground for relaxation.
Aug 17, 2015
A better wifi system would make it 5 stars.
Aug 17, 2015
We have stayed at Palmers Gulch almost every year for several years this year a 4 night stay, pretty expensive, the water was yellow didn't really want to shower in it but had to! Might try it again next year we'll see ?
Aug 17, 2015
Great campgrounds! It is beautiful, clean and close to many things to do. There are plenty of activities for the kids. We can't wait to come again!
Aug 17, 2015
Excellent time for kids. Wifi was not usable
Aug 17, 2015
The nicest KOA we have ever stayed at!
Aug 16, 2015
While the campground, as a whole, was great, the mud was unbelievable! The RV sites are too close to each other. The staff was great and there was a lot to do. Also, I think it's the most expensive KOA.
Aug 16, 2015
Considering the time of year and the Sturgis rally we had a great time!!! Was our third visit to Mt Rushmore KOA, and will always plan to stay there we we visit the Black Hills
Aug 16, 2015
Shame shame..I've told 100 people to stay away from this koa. Not only did the staff not care about the way this dump was being run, neither did corporate. You lost my business along with ten family members and so far, half of the 100 people I have told. So glad I used my credit card to pay, I've reversed the charges and I'll see you in court-bet I'll win
Aug 16, 2015
Wonderful campground. Lots to do and friendly atmosphere. Cabin was nice. Double bed mattress needs replacing. Clean and relatively bug-free area was great!
Aug 16, 2015
Even though we were out and about a lot with our kids, it was great to be able to come back on a hot day & cool off in the pool and have other activities to do when they needed a break from sight-seeing. We highly recommend staying here and the staff was helpful.
Aug 16, 2015
This was by far the best campground we've ever stayed at. The facilities and grounds were beautiful! Our kids enjoyed the water slide and rock wall as well as all of the activities. The staff went out of there way to be friendly and helpful! Palmer Gulch is in the perfect location for all of the attractions near Mt. Rushmore.
Aug 16, 2015
Three night stay. Accomodating site. Clean restrooms.
Aug 16, 2015
Street light in middle of campground made star viewing and sleeping difficult.
Aug 16, 2015
Great kampground, we stayed in a Kabin and it was well used, had writing on the walls of previous people dating back to 2002. No a/c or heat. I am being a bit picking, but that is only due to the high standard that KOA has. Definitely would recommend this for those traveling to the area.
Aug 16, 2015
Very nice facilities. Well taken care of and maintained. Great activities for the children. Disappointed about the extra $10/day fee not mentioned upon the reservation. Fees are already very high. Laundry facility inadequate. Need to update dryers and the time notice on the wall. It took twice as long as noted to wash and dry clothes. Beautiful setting and area.
Aug 16, 2015
It was great. Sadly, we couldn't stay more than a night!
Aug 16, 2015
Had a wonderful time, and the facilities were great. Loved being greeted by a guy on a golf cart helping us park our big rig. Wireless internet doesn't actually work except at the coffee shop, and even there it was extremely slow.
Aug 16, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
I had a horrible mice problem in my tent site 303. Everyone around me did too. Killed 3 mice in one day. One even chewed a whole through the bottom of my tent. Was able to move to a new site that was better. Also rented ATV for our last day but was told last minute that we couldn't go because it was broken. Not happy about that. Overall, it was a good place to stay.
Aug 16, 2015
We enjoyed our time, only complaint is that the showers could be cleaner.
Aug 16, 2015
This has to be the biggest and best KOA I've ever stayed in. Really enjoyed my stay there!
Aug 16, 2015
The bathrooms on the hill had black mold on the shower curtens and on the wall tiles and the bathrooms by the swimming pool most of the time had cold water. We couldn't use the hot tub by the play area because it was almost always full of small kids with lots of pool toys and nobody ever told them that kids weren't to be in it. I have been to this KOA before it was redone and enjoyed my stays
Aug 16, 2015
What a great place to stay, it has everything you could every want. I wish we could of stayed more then 2 days
Aug 16, 2015
Campsite was dirty from previous campers lots of cigarette butts around. Showers were very worn and tired. Overall wasn't the worst but definitely not worth the extra " resort" fee.
Aug 16, 2015
When we needed assistance to stay longer we were moved to a spot with no full hookups noticing the one we were in never got occupied. Moving a rv is not the funnest. They could have made effort to keep us in the original. Other than that no trees for shade And all else was great with entertainment. Thank you
Aug 16, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
Tons to do but super crowded. My kids enjoyed the bikes, pool, jumping pillow, and mini golf. I feel like the pool could use some heat and updates. But overall very happy with this stay and a super fun place!
Aug 16, 2015
This isn't your typical park and sleep campground. There are so many activities for everyone and is super close to Mount Rushmore. There is no internet or cell service at all though.
Aug 15, 2015
Atmosphere/appearance wonderful and over the top. Cleanliness extremely poor. Young personnel staff very rude and unhelpful. Internet amenities horrible, should of had a mini business center with a few hard wired internet computers since there is no cell coverage. Very disappointing. More cable sites would have been nice to be at least able to see the weather channel, or a lounge that with TV.
Aug 15, 2015
Very expensive, too muddy, no phone or tv reception, not enough room for parking, should not be watering plants at 6:00am.
Aug 15, 2015
Sites are very close together, Wifi is non existent
Aug 15, 2015
It was great. Few things:lots of kid workers hanging around doing nothing when there was things to be doing, bathrooms could be cleaned more often, worker shortage in main office, always out of coffee, poor lightening in pool area very unsafe even for an adult to watch child, grumpy worker at pizza place.
Aug 15, 2015
This site has so much potential with the right mgmt team the Wifi was down and the staff had no urgency to correct it. Other staff members could be heard taking about poor mgmt practices-very disappointing
Aug 15, 2015
The WiFi is poor, I understand it was busy being the last weekend of the Sturgis Rally but accepting the agreement and actually connecting was difficult. Even having a decent signal on my laptop I was never successful in connecting. On my iPhone only when in the lodge, I was able to connect and sort of use the very slow WiFi. I will be paying two late fees because of my inability to connect.
Aug 15, 2015
Loved camping on the hill. It was like camping but we had the luxury of a resort. Thanks for the great time.
Aug 15, 2015
The camp site was in somewhat poor condition with a very large rut from a very large vehicle right outside our camper door, their resolution was a piece of plywood. Our site was also very wet and muddy a majority of the time of our stay. The staff was nice and friendly. Disappointed in our stay for what it cost because of the crappy camp site.
Aug 15, 2015
No Internet available due to being around mountains. Small sites, and no septic, only dump station. Positive points were that there were alot of activities and play areas for kids. Town nearby was very quaint and old time feel. Over all, good location and nice stay.
Aug 15, 2015
I felt that the campground was extremely over priced for the value. For the amount paid, the campsite amenities was disappointing. No TV and inadequate WIFI was something I didn't expect. I thought the supervision of the children's activities were lacking. The pool needed supervision, since parents on older kids weren't there to keep them in line. As a grandparent I was concerned for safety.
Aug 15, 2015
Lets see no phone service, weak wifi, no television, and an extra $10 a day resort fee. Yes it is the closeet to Mt. Rushmore, that is lucky isn't it!
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
The only thingcthey should do different is open the store before 7 am. Everything else was great.
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
Many things to do. All of the staff were very friendly and helpfull
Aug 15, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.