Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 18, 2015
Unreal. To summarize, my only regret is that I couldn't stay longer! Thank you, KOA!
Aug 18, 2015
Have always loved staying at Palmer Gulch so much fun for everyone
Aug 18, 2015
Great stay and our tent site was a pleasure. Enjoyed the pool, hot tub and pancake breakfast, too.
Aug 18, 2015
tout est parfait juste décu que la réception nous aie fait attendre 45 minutes alors que notre chalet était vide mais la règle est 3:00 pm
Aug 18, 2015
We stayed in the small cabin without a bathroom. It was cleaning cozy plus the price was right!! We enjoyed our stay tremendously! Perfect location and lots to do on site!
Aug 18, 2015
Lots to do... Unfortunatley, we had to drive into hill city to get phone service... I had a few papers to trun in for work and the wifi was not working.
Aug 18, 2015
over priced..They also let kids (8-9) drive off road vehicles through the camp. Wi-Fi ? What a joke. There is none & no cell coverage. The water pressure was terrible. But the weather was nice.
Aug 18, 2015
This campground is nice but they have the site's right on top of each other. To crowded!! The man at the bike rental was totally rude and the kids got yelled at everywhere they tried to ride. To much traffic for bike rentals. UNSAFE!!
Aug 18, 2015
This was by far the best KOA that we have ever stayed at! Not only was the beautiful scenery breathtaking, there were so many activities to appeal to both the kids and adults! We will definitely be coming back to this resort.
Aug 18, 2015
It is conveniently close to Rushmore. Very nice. Lots of amenities and stuff to do. Pricey, but it is a resort. However, for that @$!# much money the WiFi should work everywhere in the park but it doesn't work even at the front desk area where they say it works. Ticked cause I really needed that. They need front loading washers for sleeping bags etc.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Too much chlor in pool. Burning eyes and color fadin in bath suit.
Aug 18, 2015
We love this Place we stay here every year. It would be nice to get some kind of Discount as we did in the past for coming back I the next year. I think we have been here 10 out of the last 15 years from KY to SD.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your most recent stay at our Resort! We also appreciate your loyalty and while we currently do not have a repeat coupon we will most certainly look into adding that for 2016. We hope that you will continue to choose to stay at our Resort in years to come.
Aug 18, 2015
I made my reservations back in December 2014 for August 2015 and asked for a full hookup pull through as I was towing a trailer. I was contacted and they found a dry camping spot for me. Once there I found out that people were able to get full hookup pull through spots after I reserved mine. No one contacted me to give me what I requested.???

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Resort. After reviewing the reservation log it showed you reserved a site without sewer. I am sorry for the confusion on your booking and hope that you will give us a chance to exceed your expectations in the future. Danielle Akey
Aug 18, 2015
Love it, just wet beyond their control. Rained at night Sunny in the day time.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great review! We are so glad you and your family had such a great time during your stay. We have definitely had our fair share of rain this year! We hope you will choose to stay with us again when you are back in the area! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Aug 18, 2015
This was a great find. Hard to believe the other KOAs can charge the same amount for the amenities they are lacking in comparison.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great review about our Resort! We work hard to exceed our guests expectations and I'm so glad to hear that we accomplished that for your family on this trip! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Black Hills! Sincerely, Danielle Akey Assistant Manager
Aug 17, 2015
Pricey but alot for children to do!
Aug 17, 2015
Customer Service has went down from last year. I understand it is under new management. A lot of standing water an several camp sites after storms.Was very disapointed from our stay last year.
Aug 17, 2015
did not get what I payed for And I reg 14 mths be for I got there. It seems not one person knows what is going on.
Aug 17, 2015
My family has been staying at this KOA for the last 30 years and we enjoy it every time we come. The opportunities for things to do are endless! One thing I would complain about is the cost, I have gone camping all over the US and this is the most expensive campground I've stayed in, by far. Also, I was there for 8 nights and the WiFi never worked. It would connect and disconnect constantly.
Aug 17, 2015
We love staying here!!
Aug 17, 2015
First time at a KOA. We will definitely be returning. Thanks for a great family summer vacation
Aug 17, 2015
Simply AWESOME!!!!
Aug 17, 2015
This was the worst. Bad roads, small cramped sites, horrible restrooms (filthy 90%of time), not enough facilities (restrooms or showers).
Aug 17, 2015
Fantastic stay! This facility should be the one others are shooting for. Restaurant, pizza, ice cream shops! 2 pools and lots of activities! Excellent!!! Just need better Wi-Fi up in the cabin area!!! Thanks for a great stay!
Aug 17, 2015
Place was great till you realize that they hate tenters. sites for tents are sub-par and the bathrooms are located near people who do not need them
Aug 17, 2015
Beautiful setting...but crowded
Aug 17, 2015
This was our second trip to Palm Gulch KOA. We booked a specific area (sites 247 area) that we stayed in last year. Upon arriving we were given a site which was more or less flooded out. IT had wooden pallets layed down (for our comfort i assume) in front of the site. The site was saturated from rain. We were told there was nothing the KOA could do for us. Our KOA Membership discount wasnt apld
Aug 17, 2015
Well the first night I got there the cabin next to me took my parking space he would not move so I had to go beg for another cabin with a parking space so she finally gave in moved me from 409 to 407 rather than nipping it in the butt and tell that camper to kindly move his car he did not. He was rude to me . The camp was crammed real close my son tripped on a tent line in our path split his chin
Aug 17, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay. But seemed to b too busy. We like a laid back camping experience. Enjoyed horse riding and laundry facility.
Aug 17, 2015
Great place for a family reunion. Excellent facilities. Pleasant staff. Great location to tour the Black Hills.
Aug 17, 2015
If you feel like paying 4$ for a half gallon of milk than stay here. The site are mud and grass. no internet and no phone service. for what they charge i think they could at lease supply internet access. Run by a Corporation what do you expect! not for me.
Aug 17, 2015
Great as always!!
Aug 17, 2015
This is my second year at koa, and it's getting beter and beter, ur family the satisfaction its gives and all feel refresh when we leave, the staff is very professional and very helpful and hospitality is great ! We will be back!👍
Aug 17, 2015
Great, helpful staff. Always greeted with a smile. Clean restrooms and showers. Campsite a bit rocky but nice neighbors. Great stay!
Aug 17, 2015
Location location location. I was there for Sturgis MC Rally and was told it was 16 miles to Rapid City and 18 miles from there to Sturgis. They did not allow me to cancel my reservations and relocate. I will NEVER stay there again. Management was not helpful either!
Aug 17, 2015
My kids requested to live at this KOA. It was super fun for everyone!
Aug 17, 2015
Perfect place for a family, lots of activities and close to everything the black hills has to offer. Clean bathrooms and showers, plenty of food options if you want to eat out. Awesome Place, will be back here within 5 years.
Aug 17, 2015
We spent five days at this KOA, We were really impressed with the grounds, however the cabin we stayed in was not impressive. The cabin is built on a hill and there wasn't enough level ground to put even two lawn chairs around the fire ring. There was no designated parking spot and so we were forced to park on the road. Less than 20 feet in front of our cabin were tent spots.
Aug 17, 2015
What a wonderful campground. Has so much to offer that you really don't need to go look at attractions or find a place for dinner.
Aug 17, 2015
Very centrally located to all attractions, clean and with a ton of activities for the kids. The restaurants, coffee shop were very reasonably priced and the pancake breakfast was great.
Aug 17, 2015
Good place for kids
Aug 17, 2015
We had a great time, even at age 14 my kids still love to come!
Aug 17, 2015
Great place to hang out and relax.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
We had the best family weekend! So much to do for all ages! Will definately be back next year!!
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
My kids absolutely loved it there. They loved all the activities that were offered. I very much loved the cleanliness of the bathrooms & showers. We will definitely be visiting again.
Aug 17, 2015
It was an amazing experience. It made our trip affordable but extremely enjoyable. The cleanliness and warm hospitality makes me want to come back just to hang out at the camp ground for relaxation.
Aug 17, 2015
A better wifi system would make it 5 stars.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.