Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Sep 03, 2013
The restrooms were a terrible mess. In the womens restroom the first sink didnt even have and knobs so couldnt even be used, the sink next to it wouldnt drain. So was down two 2 sinks for ALOT of women to brush teeth, wash face, etc. There were several showers that all weekend had do not distrub on them, they were locked as there was problems cuz no one could use them. Very disappointed!!!
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
We had so much fun at the Faith Family Weekend! The whole weekend was a total blast and I would tell anyone that wants to have fun in the Black Hills to stay at Palmer Gulch anytime! It is worth it !
Sep 02, 2013
This was a nice Kamp site, however maybe because it's one of the largest KOA, it seem to commerical like and just too many people and RV. However Customer service was wonderful and people were all very kind.
Sep 02, 2013
The initial impression was very good. The cabin had nails instead of clothes hooks. The door inside had been chewed by a dog. The bathroom was not clean. The dirt was not recent. Under the mats was black Yuk. One shower in the men's room would not work. The bath was never busy as in most KOA's and you could see why. Repairs and diligent cleaning are a must. Managers need to check!!! Ron
Sep 02, 2013
we had a great time although we thought that the wood was extremley expensive. considering that the mountains are full of dead wood that is only good for fire wood we would have thought it would be a little less.
Sep 02, 2013
Feces on restroom wall. Bartender rude.
Sep 02, 2013
Awesome would be how I describe our visit. The staff were great,very helpful. We enjoyed the horseback rides too.
Sep 01, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Great weekend! Looking forward to Faith weekend next year. Could I suggest a week earlier as my kids start school the following Monday. If it was a week sooner, we would stay till the Monday after.
Sep 01, 2013
Overall the say was okay. Friendly and helpful staff. If you have kids there are great amenities BUT our tent site was extremely small and had no cover. It was almost impossible to place a tent, small car picnic table on our site in a way that the fire pit wouldn`t affect everything.
Sep 01, 2013
Unbelievable, this is a resort, not just a campground. Will highly recommend
Sep 01, 2013
Great location - friendly staff. Loved the pancakes! Stores/shops had it all! Only negative were the bathrooms/showers off Roosevelt needed attention. Loved the trees and view!
Sep 01, 2013
Our stay was perfect! From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed.... The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the bathrooms and showers were top notch. the pancake breakfast was tasty and a fun way to start the morning. we will return and we have already recommended this location to our friends!!
Sep 01, 2013
Lots of amenities. However very pricey. I have never paid a daily fee at a KOA for a dog or to use the pool. $3 per day for the dog and $10 per day for the pool! In addition to $57 per night for cAmping. That will be a deterrent for any return visits.
Aug 31, 2013
This was our first stay at KOA Mount Rushmore and we throughly enjoyed the staff and amenities. Great location to see all the attractions in and around the Black Hills.
Aug 31, 2013
enjoyed the beauty of SD..youre grounds are fantastic..Colorad could take lessons from you..pancakes were really fhe best that I have ever used in a camp groundun (good too)resurant,snack bar,wine room,showers..all superb...being handicapt youreshowers were the best ever Thanks to al youre staff
Aug 31, 2013
We had never stayed at KOAs before coming to SD. Couldn't believe what I've been missing! Thanks so much for great experience AND memories for my family.
Aug 31, 2013
It was gorgeous campground one of the best I stayed in a lot of activities for the kids it couldn't of been better
Aug 31, 2013
HAD A GREAT TIME WITH GRANDKIDS. LOCATION AND STAFF WERE GREAT. SOME ACTIVITES WERE SHUT DOWN BEFORE LABOR DAY WHICH WAS A SURPRISE TO US. OVERALL A GREAT PLACE.
Aug 31, 2013
Awesome campground staff very cordial and helpful.
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 30, 2013
Washrooms in front section not up to standard of other facilities. Horse stables (and smell) too close to front swimming pool. Surprised this even meets national health standards.
Aug 30, 2013
Aug 30, 2013
Camper cabins were clean, but would stay in reg cabin next time. The staff very friendly, tons of activities to do in addition to everything we wanted to see and do in the area! The only downfall was the location of the bathrooms in the middle of a bunch of RV's, which are equipped with bathrooms. We had to walk quite a distance to the restroom with 4 & 7 year olds, including in the middle of nigh
Aug 30, 2013
Disappointed in limited cable availability 38/463 sites. New pet Kamp OK, but needs work. Easy access to local attractions.
Aug 29, 2013
This was the second year in a row that we stayed at Palmer Gulch KOA. Our family loves it and I recommend it to everyone!
Aug 29, 2013
Great place to bring your family!
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
Such a nice place to stay. This week we have stayed at three KOA Kabins and your was the nicest! The view was wonderful. We would love to come back. I loved the reading lights above the bed in the master bedroom. Just wish we had a stove top but the grill worked great. We bought an electric frying pan after our stay with you.
Aug 28, 2013
Great kid friendly activities,but upon arrival our deluxe cabin should have been cleaned more thoroughly:dirt on floor,toilet dirty and grill filthy,Young staff at general store not helpful at all.(could not even find salt & pepper),but Katie at Grinds and Grapes,extremely pleasant and helpful.Young employees should be more informed about local area amenities .great pancakes!
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
Very nice, we've been traveling and staying there for 20 years. Thank you for making it wheelchair friendly. Our sons are know bringing their family to Rushmore KOA for vacations.
Aug 28, 2013
Staff was friendly and very accommodating. Beautiful scenery. Not many wooded sites. LOTS of things for the kiddos to do! Food at the Ponderosa restaurant was good too.
Aug 28, 2013
This was the second time we've stayed here this summer. This is an awesome camp resort! We were here for the Faith weekend and it was great. This campground is in a great location nestled in the heart of the black hills. There is so much to do in and around the campground. You guys would be a great host for Hills Alive as well.
Aug 28, 2013
When I made reservations I asked for full hookups. We were put in spot 269 which does not have cable. I expected cable. You could not find a spot with cable for two days. We were disappointed and stayed in 269.
Aug 28, 2013
Palmer Gulch KOA is well-kept, and in a beautiful setting. The staff of the camp has obviously worked hard to make sure there are a lot of activities to choose from for all ages. There is simply too much to fit it all in! It was so nice to start the day with a hot cup of tea at Grapes and Grinds in the morning and end it around the campfire before retiring at night. Camp stores are well stocked!
Aug 28, 2013
Beautiful surroundings. The perfect location for start off point to explore the area. So much for kids to do. Family oriented. Loved it!!!!!1
Aug 28, 2013
I liked it so much I wish I could live there and the have a good pool were they got a hot tub :D and they have a fast water slide from Debbie's grandson p.s awesome jumping pillow
Aug 28, 2013
Office very helpful! Restrooms near by Site 591 very unclaen for all two days! Not possible to use WC!
Aug 28, 2013
Great campground. Way too expensive with the extra activity charge.
Aug 28, 2013
The staff was helpful and friendly. There were lots of activities for my kids. Only complaint was our campsite was near the horse trail and we could smell their poop really strong in the mornings!
Aug 27, 2013
this is an amazing place. great scenery, great amenities, and great location,
Aug 27, 2013
Outstanding facilities. Never been in a KOA any better as far as available facilities. Well done.
Aug 27, 2013
Lot's to do for the kids! Sites are close to others and restrooms are few and far between.
Aug 27, 2013
This KOA was nice with a lot of things to do. The restaurant staff at the Ponderosa could have been more courteous and there was no waiting area for a table and it was raining outside.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.