Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 31, 2016
We had a great time! The kids loved all the activities and we wished we could have stayed longer.
Aug 31, 2016
This was our first RV trip and what high expectations were set staying at the Mount Rushmore KOA. We went to the night time ceremony at Mount at Mount Rushmore just to enjoy all the activities in the kids fun zone. Still did not get to see and do it all. We will stay longer next time!!!
Aug 31, 2016
Would be a great park to visit with children. Roads are good. Sites are nice and large. park is clean and well maintained. Did not use restrooms/showers/laundry. staff is knowledgeable and friendly
Aug 31, 2016
really liked the camp grounds, good location, great facility, would like to thank Billie at registration desk for great info on area places, and helping with route to Cody, wy. Many thanks, would definitely stay again and recommend to others.
Aug 31, 2016
Awesome place to stay if you are traveling with the children. Busy with activities galore. Koa staff great give it all stars. Only problem we had was with our 30 amp service and felt staff/maintenance was not considerate enough. Made us purchase an additional 50 amp plug in.
Aug 30, 2016
Too far from everything for us and too many kids staying up all hours and making noise. The guests drove way too fast for the number of children present. Absolutely no way to communicate. No WIFI and no cellular signal.
Aug 30, 2016
Great place for a family vacation!
Aug 30, 2016
Aug 30, 2016
We all had a blast at the Palmer Gulch Koa. My only real complaint with it was the loud music that was constantly playing in the fun zone. Wouldn't mind if that was toned down a bit :)
Aug 30, 2016
Nice and clean campground with lots for the kids to do. The rodeo was a pleasant surprise...the whole family loved it.
Aug 30, 2016
Loved everything! We will recommend to everyone! Horses were awesome too! Clean environment too!!
Aug 30, 2016
Most things were good during our stay, but lack of staff kept some things closed during the day. Also the mini-golf course is in desperate need of renovation - it is terrible.
Aug 30, 2016
It was a very loud place to stay, not very outdoorsy, very close tent sites packed too close together. Our kids had a great time with the amenities, but as for a place to tent camp, not what we were expecting. The KOA location is great, the people were friendly, it is just a little too commercial for our type of camping.
Aug 30, 2016
Aug 30, 2016
I had a wonderful stay at the Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch. I would like to bring your attention to the Comfort Stations, however. Four stalls hardly seems enough to accommodate the number of campers in the surrounding tents, kamper kabins and travel trailers. Quite frankly, the ladies room was never clean. The same can be said about the shower stalls.
Aug 30, 2016
Our favorite place on the planet!!!!!
Aug 30, 2016
Very friendly, accommodating, lots to do and see in the area. We will definitely be back!!!!😊
Aug 30, 2016
CLEAN, FAIR SIZE LOTS, PEOPLE VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFULL. LOVE THE AREA. No phone signal,hot spot no signal
Aug 30, 2016
Aug 30, 2016
Great views!
Aug 30, 2016
WE LIKED IT FROM THE MOMENT WE DROVE IN CLEAN, FRIENDLY STAFF, GREAT LOCATION, LOVED THE CABIN!!! WE WILL BE BACK
Aug 29, 2016
The site was extremely small. Over crowded with kids all around. The Ponderosa food was horrible. Burger was burnt
Aug 29, 2016
Camped all week in cabin nice family environment.
Aug 29, 2016
Incredible options of amenities (pools, waterpark, bouncy pillow, volleyball, basketball, waterslide). Limited menu options at restaurant. loved the deluxe cabin! Friendly staff for the most part; ran into a couple of crabby people.
Aug 29, 2016
We had a great stay at Palmer Gulch! Our kids age 2-5 had a blast, they loved the breakfast tent, mining for gold station and the jump pad.
Aug 29, 2016
Nice campground as far as location to MtRushmore . We liked that our campsite was located in a wooded area with fantastic views of Mt. Harney. Issues are campground is too big with not enough clean bathrooms
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
A beautiful campground. Some how got put in a spot that fit our camper but no room for the truck.
Aug 29, 2016
Excellent KOA-great staff! 2 suggestions: 1. Do NOT start playing music in the kids area until 10 AM--even if one is awake, hearing classic pop at 8 AM is just not a good thing. There is no value in starting the music at 8 AM..wait until much later. 2. Do NOT advertise having wifi when you really don't have a functioning system. The wifi is very, very poor..
Aug 29, 2016
It was huge. And muddy. And noisy. And expensive.
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
The cabin was perfect. The beds were comfortable. We were close enough to the bathrooms and the fun zone yet far enough away to have seclusion and quiet. The staff waved every time they passed. The kids enjoyed the variety of the fun zone and activities all day long. All 4 of them wanted to know if we could go again. We even had great neighbors and the weather was perfect. See you next year
Aug 29, 2016
Facilities and amenities are awesome. My dogs did bark and they talked to me. They were plenty and did it professionally. Great job.
Aug 29, 2016
Was a nice, clean campground. Advertised having wifi, but did not. High price.
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
Our kids just loved this resort, and so did we. We plan to make this a yearly destination!
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
This rv parks is very clean and has plenty of things to do and enjoy. The staff was very helpful I would recommend a stay here.
Aug 29, 2016
We have so much fun every time we go! This campground is the destination for us. Keystone and hill city are just a bonus!
Aug 29, 2016
Very nice facility with lots of activities for the kids. Some of the activities are expensive. We really liked our particular site. Very poor cell and wifi reception. Will stay again soon!
Aug 29, 2016
Bummed you can't get WiFi on your site and NO Tv reception at all.....but otherwise nice
Aug 29, 2016
Beautiful campground, lots of things to do, great Ambassadors, very friendly and helpful.
Aug 29, 2016
Aug 29, 2016
Great stay. Thank you!
Aug 28, 2016
We had a great time. Close to everything in the area.
Aug 28, 2016
We had a wonderful stay! The staff was great and we loved our site. One recommendation would be ventilation in the showers on the flats closest to the fun zone.
Aug 28, 2016
It was a great central location to everything we wanted to see and we had a great time and great service at the resort. The kids had lots of fun swimming, going down the water slide, on the bouncing pillow, splash pad and the giant chess, we didn't get time to do the horses or bike rental but wish we would have made the time. Over all we had a great stay and can't wait to come back again!
Aug 28, 2016
This place was amazing, we wished we had stayed more days! There was so much stuff to do and it was mostly free! The kids would definitely not been bored for days.
Aug 28, 2016
We stayed for 2 nights here in a 2 room cabin with our 3 yr old son only complaints cabin had no heater and beds were extremely hard other wise an amazing place for families so much to do our son didn't want to leave prices at stores there are very reasonable and you can buy anything you need on location we highly recommend this koa to families it's great and in a beautiful setting in the woods.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals