Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 06, 2016
No TV, water flows down hill better!
Sep 06, 2016
The low marks are basically for the site(596) we had. Not level and the sewer hole was up on the side of the hill, higher than my camper drain. Very friendly & courteous staff. Extra $10 resort fee per day wasn't worth it for us as we were there to sightsee. Great place for kids if you have them. Plenty of activities.
Sep 06, 2016
The facility itself is amazing!! The wi-fi is horrible, dont count on it working. Most of the employees were not very friendly, mostly kids. We told a girl at the store in back that kids were destroying the mini golf and she said that she only worked at the store, not her issue. Also, the guy that checked us in, Im sorry people checking in is such a big inconvenience to you.
Sep 06, 2016
This was our first time camping at a KOA campground and we could not be more impressed. We loved our camping cabin, the bathrooms were clean, and there was so many fun activities for the kids.
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
Great place in a beautiful setting, tons of activities for all ages. Perfect location for a Black Hills vacation. Bathrooms need updating.
Sep 06, 2016
Stayed over 4th of July weekend. We liked our campsite although everyone had a campfire at night and it was extremely smokey. Facilities were in good shape although the womens shower needed cleaning. No wifi at our site was a disappointment. This is a huge resort and they did a good job managing all of the people and activities. Overall, we liked it.
Sep 06, 2016
Was a great family vacation! We have 4 kids ages 3-16 and the campground had many activities for all my children! Well done!
Sep 06, 2016
Excellent! We had such a great time in the Resort and the surrounding area. So much to do and see and what a beautiful area - we will definitely be back!
Sep 06, 2016
Beautiful setting. Nice and clean. Resort like feel. A ton to do.
Sep 06, 2016
The facility and staff were great and the location/view are wonderful. I think there could have been a little more attention to the daily activities and making sure the staff was all on the same page, if the staff is unsure of the activities the guests are completely unsure.
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
We had a great time. We really enjoyed the water slide, pool,chuck wagon dinner and bus ride to Mount Rushmore was all a lot of fun.
Sep 06, 2016
Our stay here was awesome! Our cabin was clean and neat and our beds were comfortable! I loved that we had a full size refridgerator, a Keurig coffee maker, and grill! The staff was amazing and helpful. We can't wait to book our next stay!
Sep 06, 2016
Not at all what we expected from our first stay at a KOA. Loud, undisciplined children, no respect for personal space from fellow campers and way over priced for what you get. If this is a representation of the crowd that KOA's attract then we'll stick to National/State parks.
Sep 06, 2016
My family and I absolutely love KOA. We have been camping at Palmer Gulch for 8 years now. Unfortunately we can no longer afford it. Especially when we can get a hotel room cheaper.
Sep 06, 2016
This is a good place to take the kids while staying in the BH's. We will likely be back. That being said, there are several areas of inprovement that could take place to justify the cost that is being charged. 1) the bathrooms need some work. 2) water quality not good. 3) WiFi is horrible.
Sep 06, 2016
Best KOA that we have stayed. So many things to do and very friendly staff!
Sep 06, 2016
It was wonderful with lots to do for the kids.
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
Beautiful place. Lots of activities for kids that don't cost extra (mini golf, rock climbing wall, water slide and pools, dances, spray park, live music, fishing pond, etc). Ideal for kids. If you want quiet and peace, ask for a spot on the outskirts of camp, very busy around the "fun zone". Not a lot of negatives to report. Scott (Labor day wknd 2016)
Sep 06, 2016
I loved the campground and all the amenities it had to offer - great place for kids!Just 1 thing, the coffee shop had about a 30 minute wait and the day we left we couldnt get assistance in the Ponderosa. The people before us were waiting for 30 minutes and still had not been seated. They should have been better staffed for a holiday weekend! Only one server at each place. Id still give it another
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
The camp was extremely kid friendly and our two year old had a blast with all of the activities. Great family memories! My only reason for 4/5 stars is that the tent sites were very close together and while we had a good site, there were others around us that I am not sure where I would have set up a tent as the entire site was on a hill. Overall fantastic experience and very friendly staff.
Sep 06, 2016
We had a wonderful stay! The cabin was great, the activities were great! Was an all around amazing campground!
Sep 06, 2016
It was amazing. The customer service is great!
Sep 06, 2016
Wonderful time! Will be back for sure!!
Sep 06, 2016
So much to do! Pools, waterslide, a kid fun zone, bouncy pillow, music, comedians, movies and more! A resort!!
Sep 06, 2016
Too crowded. Very, very poor internet (yes, its important to me). No cable---why no cable ? Seems like an easy fix. Lots for the kids to do. Nice location for the area sites.
Sep 06, 2016
While the campground and activities were the best...we had rented a group tent for a family reunion. When we arrived there, it was set up for a wedding. I got a refund but cannot believe the booked the tent to 3 parties for the same day. DISAPPOINTED!!
Sep 06, 2016
Great place to stay if you have children campsites a little small
Sep 06, 2016
Pretty crowded campground. Sites are 10' apart in some spots. comfort station was under sized for the amount of people using it. Needs to be cleaned several times a day.
Sep 06, 2016
It was Awesome! It exceeded our expectations. Had 2 grandchildren with us and they had the best time ever!!
Sep 06, 2016
It was the perfect location for camping near Mt. Rushmore...
Sep 06, 2016
Great Facilities and Staff! Everyone was friendly and helpful with every encounter. This place is awesome, always something to do and close to many attractions. Not that you even have to leave this place. ATV Rentals, Horse Back Riding, Pools, Mini Golf, Splash Pad, Restaurants, Store, Ice Cream, Wine and Fudge, and much much more. Thanks for the wonderful getaway!
Sep 06, 2016
We did not use the amenities as our children are grown. If you have young kids this is the place to come. You won't find anything better to keep them entertained! No Internet or Verizon Wireless but clean and comfortable campground!
Sep 06, 2016
Amazing resort! The staff accommodated my husband with his disability by shuttling us to the village up front since we were located at the other end of the park. Absolutely gorgeous-wish we had our grandkids with us to take advantage of all of the fun things to do! Thanks so much!
Sep 06, 2016
The people working the registeation and store could me much more friendly. Kind of a downer. The you g man working the cafe/winery was amazing. Hope to see him next year. Loved the music and gas pits by the stables. Ventilation in the comfort centers really needs looking at. So uncomfortably hot/hard to breath in there. Also could have been cleaner. But all around, my favorite.
Sep 06, 2016
Great location for any kind of event big or small!! We celebrated a wedding here and are planning the next big family event here as well!!
Sep 06, 2016
Took my girls here to enjoy some activities in the area and all they wanted to do is stay at the resort. Well done guys! Great place. The best base camp for hitting all the sights and activities in the area. Staff is top notch and everything you need is right on site. Tent sites were clean and had good water. All the other campers were fun and courteous. If you have kids this is the place!
Sep 06, 2016
Quick check in! Lots of ammenities!
Sep 06, 2016
Outstanding campground. Lots of family activities. Very friendly staff.
Sep 05, 2016
Lousy internet, and they don't seem motivated to do anything. No shade at site, old bathroom. Huge park, better for people with kids. Expensive - resort fee is onerous.
Sep 05, 2016
The accommodations at your resort are amazing and great fun was had by all. The flower were ever so beautiful, and everything was welcoming.woulduse your KOA again. We had a reunion there and the shower house and staff were excellent. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!!! Rita Loeffen
Sep 05, 2016
The kids were busy and having fun the whole time and therefore, we as parents had a great time. Great job!!
Sep 05, 2016
Great cabin, amenities and facilities. Nice personnel as well.
Sep 05, 2016
Cabins were clean. Inadequate parking. Too few serving and mixing bowls. Would be nice to know what kind of coffee pots are available for keurig lovers who don't expect keurig coffee pots and bring wrong coffee. Kitchen way under stocked as far as larger cooking and serving appliances, etc. No griddle. Should be more in a cabin that sleeps 8.
Sep 05, 2016
Spent 6 nights here, truly a great experience. This park is near all of the attractions and has so much to offer if you just stay in the park. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
Sep 05, 2016
Real nice and quiet until the weekend. Has everything you need as far as services. Grandkids really liked the place.
Sep 05, 2016
Excellent facility, lots of fun activities, thank you for your hospitality, everyone of your staff was friendly and helpful. We will be back, thank you
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy