Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 22, 2015
Very disappointed in stay, people at check in were rude We were early, said be back about 230, had to wait till after 3 to get room. Horse guide did not even talk on trip. Camp grounds over full, packed in tight, head people in cabin next to me snoring showers not real clean
Jun 22, 2015
Everything was great except the bathrooms, disgusting. They should have warned the poor campers in tents that a major hail / lightning storm was coming so they could take cover. Very bad!!
Jun 22, 2015
It's like summer camp for the whole family!
Jun 22, 2015
Oh my. The disneyland of KOA's! The campground was beautiful. The shuttle up to Mt Rushmore was a nice feature we took advantage of. Already thinking about when/how we'll be back!
Jun 22, 2015
Very clean, safe, friendly, and fun for adults and kids of all ages! The WIFI was not accessible for some reason. We were told the wrong time for the shuttle bus to MT. Rushmore, so we missed it and had to drive our RV. Times for shuttle busses should be printed on receipt. We will be back :)
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Close to Mt. Rushmore and in the trees. Resort style campus with lots of amenities.
Jun 21, 2015
Jun 21, 2015
Zero cell service. Advertise wifi but barely works. All laundry coin change machines were broken. Water quality is very rusty. Kids had a great time with all the activities. If all the mentioned issues were taken care of I would have rated it much better.
Jun 21, 2015
Great amenities and friendly staff, but the entire camp is unpaved and it rained every day so it was a mud pit when walking the dogs. Adding to the fun, the drain hole was on a slight hill higher than the camper. Needless to say, gravity had the last laugh when emptying the gray/black water--terrible.
Jun 21, 2015
The orig site was muddy and we were upgraded at no extra cost, so grateful for that!! Close to Mt Rushmore, could site see more.
Jun 21, 2015
Jun 21, 2015
My 6 year old daughter had an amazing time!!!!!
Jun 21, 2015
Nice campground-terrible water situation.
Jun 21, 2015
Most of the sites were vers muddy, roads are full of potholes. WiFi very poor all over the place.
Jun 21, 2015
For the price per night we paid we expected at the least no potholes in the roads and wifi. Manager said at checkin it would cost $30K to put in wifi so they are not doing it. very disappointed!
Jun 21, 2015
Due to all the rain the sites are really muddy and messy. There is no cell service anywhere on the site. They claim that there were WiFi hot spots but we could not connect to the WiFi from those locations.
Jun 21, 2015
Great place to bring kids.
Jun 21, 2015
We had never stayed at a KOA location before and were a little nervous about what to expect. The facilities were nice, as were our fellow campers. A nice change to some of the other places we have tent camped!
Jun 21, 2015
Awesome campground that is both adult and kid friendly! Best campground we have stayed at in the 15 years we've been camping!!
Jun 20, 2015
By far the best KOA we have stayed at!
Jun 20, 2015
nice place to stay very friendly hosts just a little pricey
Jun 20, 2015
Wifi never worked, but everything else was great!
Jun 20, 2015
We were unfortunately located right on Palmer Rd. It was very heavy traffic, and due to a leaky spigot the road was always wet and loud. The traffic on this road was also way over the 10mph speed limit. This campground does not have the set up for children to safely navigate through it. The traffic is simply too heavy and fast. The shower house was very impressive though-very private and clean.
Jun 20, 2015
We enjoy Palmer Gulch and we will come back next year.
Jun 20, 2015
Great resort. Will stay again if we return to area. Need to improve wifi strength is only complaint.
Jun 20, 2015
Had a wonderful time!
Jun 20, 2015
I know that it rained all the time we were there but roads and spots need work
Jun 20, 2015
Beautiful campground. Something for everyone.
Jun 20, 2015
Jun 20, 2015
We had a wonderful time Enjoyed the cabin Will come back
Jun 20, 2015
Best campground we ever stayed at. The bathrooms and showers were awesome and kids loved all the activities. The pools were excellent!!!
Jun 20, 2015
Very nice. Enjoyed breakfast at Pappa's. We were initially placed in a spot only approachable down a steep hill. Our site was change. Internet was problematic.
Jun 20, 2015
Staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Jun 20, 2015
Jun 20, 2015
We had a trailer with us and they put us on a hill with no adequate parking. We went back to the office to request another cabin and got a cabin two cabins down and got stuck! The manager was very helpful but had they put us in a cabin not on a hill it would have never happened. They advertise wifi but they fail to me too it only works in their stores. Will not be staying at a Koa again.
Jun 20, 2015
We loved it!
Jun 20, 2015
Great pool for the kids! Campsites are a little small for motorhomes. Shuttle for MR was a really nice feature.
Jun 20, 2015
Lovely campground will be back.
Jun 20, 2015
A little crowded and expensive, but plenty of activities for kids.
Jun 20, 2015
Drainage needs to be worked on. The grass was so muddy and it could not be cut, so we were unable to use our fire pit or the picnic table. The grass by our site was a wet our dogs were covered in mud and soaked the whole time. Was not too happy about that. People were friendly and the fun zone was very nice.
Jun 20, 2015
A little too big. And the showers were not designed to drain water so water and mud were everywhere. Other than that a great place.
Jun 20, 2015
Real nice. Good and clean.
Jun 19, 2015
great location, but inconvient from cabins to BR & water. need log for parking cabin 113, thought we might go too far & end up crashing into cabin...
Jun 19, 2015
Perfectly awful experience. The place is a mud hole. While there has been an unusual amount of rain, some gravel trucked in would have helped. Internet WiFi totally useless. Over 300 sites trying to get on one connection. They could spend a buck on more bandwidth. No cable TV at a premium site. Laundry was dirty. Price why out of line for the service provided. We left 2 days ea
Jun 19, 2015
Would like to have stayed longer.
Jun 19, 2015
This was a great place for families. They had just about everything you can imagine for kids - bounce house, water slide, 2 swimming pools, a warm whirlpool for kids and adults (very deep though), bike rentals, ping pong, miniature golf, splash pad, ATV and gold cart rentals, 1 on-site restaurant, a tent for bottomless pan-cakes each morning, ice-cream store, fudge store, coffee-wine store, etc..
Jun 19, 2015
This was our first experience with our new Motor Home, after many hours of driving, I had a couple of problems with my hookups and your staff was right there to walk me through it, it is a lot different reading the book and actually doing it, but your staff was so supportive. They even came back a couple hours later and checked up on me and celebrated with me that we were all settled.
Jun 19, 2015
Lower rated due to no wifi. With no wifi and no phone service could not keep in contact with family at home.
Jun 19, 2015
Very nice and resort like however our site was very small.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.