Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 22, 2016
Beautiful and centrally located in the Black Hills. Conveniences that few campsites offer, and very clean and well-managed. There were many cool activities for the kids! We had a great stay and highly recommend the campground!
Aug 22, 2016
Wonderful camping here!! Everyone very helpful and polite! Would advise anyone to stay here !!
Aug 22, 2016
This is a great place for families with kids. There are numerous activities to entertain kids. We enjoy coming here with our grandkids. When we made our reservation, Jennifer was very helpful and friendly. We were very happy with the units she reserved for us.
Aug 22, 2016
Great location, great facilities and friendly staff. the only complaint is that the pools were very cold and the pool by the stables could use a skim to get the bugs out
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Great stay!
Aug 22, 2016
Over crowded tourist trap. 40$ for a tent site on a hill surrounded within arms reach by strangers. Can't see the night sky for all the lights, can't hear any nature sounds for all the generator noise, bathrooms were not clean. There is a nice state park Campground right across the road! Stay there!
Aug 22, 2016
Loved it!!
Aug 21, 2016
Good spacing on camp sites. Morning pancakes in the tent is the best reason to wake up in the morning.
Aug 21, 2016
Amazing campground, like staying at a resort! We really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back!
Aug 21, 2016
Your place it wonderful for kids. But was disappointed in how close camp sites were , dirty bathhouses, and pool and hot tub were dirty .
Aug 21, 2016
Great place, great location, great service, great amenities. Too many lights, doesn't get dark, campers too close. We'll probably head to state parks in future. If your into these RV hotels you will not find a better one.
Aug 21, 2016
Everything was great except for WI-FI. Lots of things to do, great location. Friendly, helpful staff.
Aug 21, 2016
Simply Fantastic
Aug 21, 2016
Great place for families with kids . Not so much for older couples . Too many ATV's ruining around . Be very careful parents let their kids run free . Makes restrooms very dirty at times .
Aug 21, 2016
We've stayed at the KOA three times in the past. We love the place plenty to do with the kids, great activities. We stayed in a camping cabin. The only complaint is the beds not much cushion to sleep on.
Aug 21, 2016
Great place for a family.
Aug 21, 2016
After arriving at 1 am, there were people staying on the site we paid for and had it completely blocked off so we had to set up camp around them. Were only there for the one night so we didn't have much time to enjoy the Koa. The people working there were friendly though
Aug 21, 2016
We have stayed in the past but found the bathrooms to be dirty during whole stay. It seemed like this visit the facilities were not kept up as they seemed to be last time. Putt putt course needs some love. Other than that we had a nice stay.
Aug 21, 2016
Everything was wonderful!! However, you do need to install speed bumps on the main road side. We camped in a spot on the side closest to the main road I think 240 .... Vehicles flew by way too fast!!! Not the 10 mph limit that was posted. Very unsafe!!! Otherwise great place!!!
Aug 20, 2016
Every thing was great except the Wi-Fi while present did not work most of the time.
Aug 20, 2016
my stay was wonderful the campground was clean and quiet the staff was friendly I could not ask for anything more a definite must stay if you are in this area
Aug 20, 2016
Love it. Will continue to stay at KOA's
Aug 20, 2016
Too many things to do in one trip. We will be back.
Aug 20, 2016
Our family had a fabulous time, the best KOA we have ever been to!!!
Aug 20, 2016
This camp ground is wonderful. We have a large family and our cabin with a deck was perfect! The staff is very friendly and we will most definitely return.
Aug 20, 2016
Our family had a great time! Things are a bit expensive in the store.
Aug 20, 2016
Aug 20, 2016
The setting was beautiful and the campgrounds were very nicely located near area attractions. We enjoyed our horseback ride and the water slide but the bathrooms were disgusting. I understand that when camping it will not be like a hotel but they were not clean at all. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay!
Aug 20, 2016
Best KOA we have ever stayed at! Super friendly staff, awesome accommodations and clean campsites! We were so busy taking in the sights in Mt Rushmore area we didn't have much time to enjoy all that the camp ground offered (like the pool area and fun land) but we did go for a horse back ride! Would have liked to have seen a site for recyclable items.
Aug 20, 2016
I ended up speaking to the General Manager when I called to book our stay. He was phenomenal! The rest of the staff was great too! Always something to do at the campground & friendly and helpful staff to boot!
Aug 20, 2016
We were in a small cabin with our three children and we had a blast. The children lived being able to run around and do their own thing. The cabin was clean, the bathrooms were maintained. The staff was so very friendly. We git home yesterday and the kids already asked when we can go back. Thank you for a great week.
Aug 20, 2016
Aug 19, 2016
This KOA we have stayed at the last 10 years. This year why to expensive we are looking at other places to save money. I am not happy with the resort fee when we use nothing as far as resort and have small place for the camper. Really there are other places with large lots and lower prices.I am just being honest.$90.00 to high a night to stay for 10-14 days
Aug 19, 2016
quiet and clean, lots to do, enjoyed the breakfast. I know its a family atmosphere, but better cell phone would be nice, we came in late could not contact others there before us and not sure where they were. I know its not the end of the world, we survived millions of years with out those dam cell phones, was funny to watch the young crawl the rocks looking for cell phone service. Wow spoiled....
Aug 19, 2016
Great location, clean, and very kid friendly.
Aug 19, 2016
We loved it. This campground is awesome. There is so much to do right on site. This was our second trip there and we are already planing our 3rd trip there.
Aug 19, 2016
Love the campgrounds,if you travel with children it's awesome! So much to keep them entertained.
Aug 19, 2016
It was quiet at night and that is something that is very important to me.Staff was very helpful.
Aug 19, 2016
The WiFi was unusable, the sites were narrow and short. It was a good place for families with a lot for kids to do. Over priced for what was received
Aug 19, 2016
Aug 19, 2016
Everything was great the hook ups large spaces for campers. 2 swimming pools and many activities for young kids only thing I can think on improving is the miniature golf course the refurbished.
Aug 19, 2016
Clean, many activities for kids and adults. Beautiful.
Aug 19, 2016
awesome place!!!
Aug 19, 2016
We love this KOA. Great amenities! Very clean.
Aug 19, 2016
This place is amazing! My husband and I had a wonderful stay here for my birthday, only downfall is the bathrooms and shower stalls, they were disgusting and need to be cleaned on a regular basis thruought the days.
Aug 18, 2016
We have stayed numerous time at your Kampground. We come for the Sturgis Rally and have always enjoyed our stay, besides the rally there is plenty to do. Already have reservations for next year.
Aug 18, 2016
Aug 18, 2016
Not happy about a few things. You advertise free Wi-Fi, we get there to find out its free Wi-Fi hot spots and if you don't log in first thing in the morning you probabley won't get in. Second and most important, the water at the sites is brown. How do you think this is sanitary for your guests? The third item, there is no place for adults to swim!!! NOT A HAPPY CAMPER.
Aug 18, 2016
Bathrooms need better daily cleaning in the children's camp area
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals