Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 18, 2016
Clean and pleasant facilities but terrible wifi connection and no cell service means that staying in touch is hard with our party within the campground was hard. Therefore the wifi needs to be expanded or updated to get a better rating.
Jul 18, 2016
The kids were very sad to leave,
Jul 18, 2016
Great activities for the whole family. Well maintained.
Jul 18, 2016
My only complaint with the campground was we were placed in dog row and did not get a pull through site which we had requested while other dog owners were given pull through sites with much larger dogs than a chihuahua. We had requested a pull through site because we had stayed there before and were able to get internet and cable service which we needed for work while on vacation.
Jul 18, 2016
My stay at Palmer Gulch was Amazing!!! The staff especially Jackie were so helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The kids loved the trail ride and pool and especially watching the horses run right by our cabin in the morning and night!!! Thank you so much to all for making our trip wonderful!!!
Jul 18, 2016
This is a great campsite - lots to do for kids of all ages!! Pancake breakfast was delicious!!
Jul 18, 2016
It was my fault for not understanding this was a resort not a campground. People are piled on top of each other. There is no privacy. I would recommend this place to people who do not want to experience the outdoors. If you enjoy camping and scenery, do not stay here.
Jul 18, 2016
We got a site with no shade at all for a popup camper. Campsite was way to loud. We left a day early just to go somewhere more shady. We asked to move sites and they gave us another site in the field. We asked for a primitive site when we booked. I do not recommend this campgrounds unless you want no sleep and a hot tent or camper.
Jul 18, 2016
Great place.
Jul 18, 2016
Loved the kids activities and the pools. Every area was very very clean.The flower plantings were very cheerful. Loved the horses being onsite for trail riding
Jul 18, 2016
This place was AMAZING!!
Jul 18, 2016
great place for families and kids!
Jul 18, 2016
Loved it. Well be back for sure. Wish there was a path to the restrooms by site 163 so if you're in 226 lie we were there was a more direct way to go instead of walking the entire row and around or cutting thru someone's site which is disrespectful.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Very accommodating, friendly, clean. It met all our needs. I love that it was family friendly.
Jul 18, 2016
Great KOA! Lots to do. My only recommendation would be more wifi spots throughout the campground.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Very friendly staff, although at times wait time in line was longer than usual, especially in the morning. WiFi needs improvement. This was our 2nd stay , and love all the amenities, but what happened to the paddle boats??
Jul 18, 2016
Best KOA stay! Would definitely return.
Jul 18, 2016
Fun family environment. Lots of activities. Recommend signing up for the chuck wagon dinner! They need to trim bushes by bike path and level the bridge.
Jul 18, 2016
Beautiful facility. Great staff. Very busy campgraound with lots of people. Very family friendly and great location.
Jul 18, 2016
Great location! Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse close by. Great activities for everyone at the campground. Only problem is the lack of wifi bandwidth for the amount of campers and cell signal is very bad due to be in the hills. But not a negative point but a great point to bring the family closer together.
Jul 18, 2016
Quite, campground. Clean bathroom.
Jul 17, 2016
We were impressed with our campground and kids enjoyed the pools, but need more gravel around sewer when it rains!
Jul 17, 2016
The Disneyland of camping for kids & parents. Great central location for visiting area natural wonders.
Jul 17, 2016
The resort was nice with lots of amenities, however, our campsite was extremely loud at all hours due to large amounts of traffic going by. Also, on one occasion, another camper had spread dirty, wet toilet paper all over the bathroom. When we complained to the resort staff they told us nothing could be done until the following morning. That had not happened by 10:30am which we found unacceptable
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
As they say, "It's always a good day at Palmer Gulch KOA". We've been staying at Palmer Gulch since 2002, always clean, employees helpful, the pancakes are great. It is a large place, we haven't gotten lost yet! I recommend to all who ask where to stay in the Hills. We'll be back, again, and again
Jul 17, 2016
Extremely pleased with the amenities at this KOA. Everything a family could need or want during their vacation including UTV/car rentals, horse back riding, pools, restaurants etc. The list goes on and on! We will definitely put on our "to return" list!
Jul 17, 2016
The Palmer Gulch KOA Kampground is amazing. There is always something to do, the grounds are clean, and the staff is very friendly. Definitely one of our favorite places to stay!
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Like To See cable tv&Wifi,The Campsite Was To far from Restrooms&playground, To rocky For Bike Riding, For Grandaughter.
Jul 17, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. We stayed for 2 nights. We enjoyed all the amenities and liked that it was so close to Mount Rushmore. We really enjoyed the rodeo!
Jul 17, 2016
A huge disappointment. This place is too big for itself. Front desk gave incorrect information and were slow Hot water was unreliable, bathrooms went an entire day without soap, quiet times were not enforced, and even though it is big, Tent Sites were on Front of cabins, some people were stuck camping in the playground, and activities were not done by koa but outsourced to a Christian youth group.
Jul 17, 2016
The kids dance party was top notch! I'd wished the showers had been updated and cleaner but nothing is perfect.
Jul 17, 2016
It was one of the best and nicest campgrounds we have stayed at I would recommend it to anyone
Jul 17, 2016
Great place to stay with kids
Jul 17, 2016
This is the 3rd time I have stayed at this KOA. The first time I stayed was as a child when my parents camped there on a visit to Mt Rushmore, I have stayed now there with my family 2 time in the past 2 years. Great place to stay with a friendly and caring staff!! There Thank you for a wonderful time filled with great memories!
Jul 17, 2016
There are so many opportunities for different activities there. It is well cared for and clean.
Jul 17, 2016
Super Clean bathrooms that are cleaned periodically throughout the day. Great coffee shop for the AM. Splash pad, Pool, Water slide for the kids... and adults lol. On site store has a decent amount of things and a good price. Planning on staying here again.
Jul 17, 2016
A great campground to stay at-beautiful setting😊
Jul 17, 2016
this was the worst campsite we have ever had. Below the hill where you can see when you drive in is pretty, but where they stuck us and many other campers that were to big for the spots were nothing but dirt and over crowed. We heard nothing but complaining from other campers for the same reasons. I would not recommend this KOA to anyone on the the campsite alone.
Jul 17, 2016
Our cabin k307's door REALLY need oiled!! The bathrooms needed cleaned more often.
Jul 17, 2016
A really big KOA with lots to do. The showers started out ok, but by the third day they were horrible. Hair everywhere, benches were dirty, and there was a tampon in one shower stall.
Jul 17, 2016
They were very accommodating when I wanted to stay a 3rd night. In fact I even liked the site better than the first.
Jul 17, 2016
very nice and lots for kids to do had a bad site for leveling the office cleared it up right away and got us a new site
Jul 17, 2016
Very clean. Friendly staff. Easy to find.
Jul 17, 2016
Expensive, water is brown and bad tasting. Campground wayyyy to jammed in and busy. Very noisy.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals