Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Sep 15, 2013
Rude staff. If you're open then all amenities should stay open until end of season too. I felt slighted and cheated. Also, I noticed preferential treatment for expensive rigs.
Sep 14, 2013
Camp ground is nice but they need to put some work into drains on roads for rain storms. They also need to up grade there internet survice for campers. ( No SERVICE ) also up grade water service to camp site, bigger pumps, need TV service to all camp sites. It is a very quit camp ground even during bikeweek !!!!!
Sep 14, 2013
your location was perfect for the attractions that we wanted to see.
Sep 14, 2013
Excellent customer service. I needed to leave a day early and received a refund which I was not expecting. Very friendly staff.
Sep 14, 2013
Love it
Sep 14, 2013
Expensive, but a nice place with a lot of activities. We stayed on Labor Day weekend, when it was very full. But, a great place.
Sep 13, 2013
This was a beautiful KOA the only thing is that our site was a bit small and I had informed them of our camper length when I booked the reservation I understand wanting to keep our group together. I booked our reservation with plenty of time to find something close by that would have been long enough and wide enough.
Sep 13, 2013
only complaint was k9 park sooo far away. beautiful park great stay. bike trails were great for dog walks a+
Sep 13, 2013
Overall everything was fantastic. Very clean bathrooms. Well maintained. My only complaint would be that the staff member who helped us when we arrived to register was not very kind or helpful.
Sep 13, 2013
nice place but with all activities and shops closed not much fun.
Sep 12, 2013
We found this kampground well kept, quiet, and placed in a beautiful setting. We would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay for a while in this part of the country.
Sep 12, 2013
Sep 12, 2013
Everything is great except for WIFI & Cellular reception. The WIFI bandwidth is woefully deficient & cellular service is non-existent. This is the age of technology- GET WITH IT. Those who wish to get away from technoogy can turn their devices off.
Sep 12, 2013
Non-deluxe 50 amp pull throughs are marginal for 40 ft towing. Disappointed that with empty campground host initially placed us in a cramped site next to the dumpster.
Sep 12, 2013
Sep 12, 2013
Sep 12, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
very relaxing, quiet. lots of activities for grandkids to do right at campground - the reason we went there.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
Excellent facilities. Great location for the many attractions in the area. Ability to hire a car on site was excellent for us as we only had the hired RV and would not have been able to do the Needles Highway otherwise.
Sep 11, 2013
What a beautiful view. Close to every thing you would possiable want to do and see. Clean and friendly.
Sep 10, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
One of our better camping experiences. Good job.
Sep 10, 2013
Lots of things to do. Nice level sites. Restaurants and shops right there. Convenient to all attractions.
Sep 10, 2013
Everything was PERFECT. My only recommendation would be to leave the pools up and in running condition when it's still 90 degrees out.
Sep 10, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff. Lots of activities for adults and children. Nice to have several dining options on location. We had a great time.
Sep 10, 2013
We have already booked our reservation for next year.
Sep 10, 2013
Huge campsite and perfectly situated for all attractions. We paid a resort fee of $10 but no swimming pools were open in the 90 degree heat. We should not have paid this fee. We were placed beside another rig and yet the campsite was empty. We should have been spaced out. Staff were very helpful.
Sep 10, 2013
The only things we were unhappy about was with the temps in the 90's that the other pool and water slide Were not open. We were very unhappy with the all you can eat pancake breakfast. We arrived st 8:30 and there was only 3 tables with customers and they were all eating. We waited until 9:30 for a table and placed our order and it took until 10:15 to get our pancakes. Very slow service.
Sep 09, 2013
Although I'm against forced "resort Fees" for the use of attractions I will not use (pool, concerts, pancake breakfast, wine tasting, etc), I am especially appalled at having to pay $10 a night extra for that fee after Labor Day when the services are no longer available! The flowers were beautiful, the resort is clean and the staff friendly and plentiful, but paying $60 extra bugged me.
Sep 09, 2013
Great place for kids!!!!
Sep 09, 2013
everything is awesome at this resort and I could do list many many things that we live. Since there are so few things not to like I would like to see those couple items fixed so this place is perfect in our eyes. They need to get the wifi consistently good when the park is busy. It never works when people are using it heavily. The cell phone service is basically non-existent but if the internet wo
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
We arrived later in the evening so didn't have a chance to see all the campground or take in some of the activities. Great staff at reception desk! Nice site.
Sep 09, 2013
It was great!
Sep 09, 2013
We try to come out to Mt. Rushmore KOA a couple times of year. We absolutely love it and can't wait till next year!
Sep 09, 2013
Beautiful facility, however end of season "surlys" has affected the employees
Sep 09, 2013
You are in a good location. Everything is close together including the bathroom stalls. The Internet was unusable. It was a poor signal and was intermittent and slow. There was no air condioning in the cabins.
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
Lots of nice amenities but camping sites were probably worst of any KOA where I have stayed. Camp sites were too cramped and close, my site had trash when I arrived and still there when I left (4 days), there was a mud hole with standing water on my left side. Staff tended to be uncaring, unprepared, and unconcerned. This was my 3rd long motorhome trip this year; stayed at several KOA's.
Sep 08, 2013
lots to do met wonderful friends a bit commerical for me. kids loved it
Sep 08, 2013
It is clean.Family oriented environment is fantastic.But it just felt too crowded.
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 07, 2013
Never a dull moment! Enjoyable for kids and adults alike!
Sep 07, 2013
It was great - too great because the kids didnt want to ever leave the KOA to go sight seeing!! We had a wonderful time - so much to do and people were very friendly. Only bummer was that the pools were shut down a lot due to "vandalism".
Sep 07, 2013
Great area and clean park. But, it had very poor wifi that did not work most of time. Add to that the lack of cell phone coverage and you have no communication with your family or emergency services if needed. Given that you pay a premium to stay at this CG I found this park did not deliver.
Sep 07, 2013
Very nice. We stayed there before, 5 yrs. ago.
Sep 07, 2013
Very very nice.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.