Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 23, 2016
Loved the grounds. As a former horse owner thought the stables were a-one! Great kid friendly activities! Only complaint was our site was a bit wet and muddy. Some because of rain but even after no rain still a bit soggy!
Jun 23, 2016
Charged a pet fee upon arrival. Front desk was not able to explain what the dog fee went for we are not charged at better koa. Also camp site was small and poorly maintained
Jun 23, 2016
Jun 23, 2016
Very dissappointed a resort fee was charged! Especially when there was an additional charge to participate in many of the activities that made the koa a "resort"
Jun 23, 2016
Fun place with tons of activities for kids and adults!
Jun 23, 2016
Jun 23, 2016
Best KOA we have ever stayed at-loved all the amenities for kids & adults.
Jun 22, 2016
Jun 22, 2016
Only bad thing I could say is a place this big should take you to your sites other than that it was great
Jun 22, 2016
Jun 22, 2016
Everything was awesome. Newer comfort station was excellent. Kids had a great time with all the activities available.
Jun 22, 2016
Wonderful KOA! So many activities, restaurants and places to go, we wish we could have stayed longer to take advantage of everything there. Our tent campsite was great, reasonably secluded and very quiet. Bathrooms were updates and quite clean. Would definitely come back.
Jun 21, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
campsites are so close together that you can hear conversations in the cabins and tents all around you. It is WAY overpopulated. I was assured that we would be in a private quiet area, and this was a lie. I was very clear about this when I booked. We left a day early to escape the crowd. Camping in an urban area would be similar to this KOA. We were deceived by this KOA. AWFUL. DON'T GO HERE
Jun 21, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
Site was pretty small: camper and small SUV did not fit on pad, had to park in grass. Wifi was slow and restricted to small areas--which is an issue here (e.g. weather reports) since there was no cellular service (as in "No Service" was displayed on the phone). That being said: the staff and facilities were great and clean, and the location in the heart of the Mount Rushmore area was fantastic!
Jun 21, 2016
Over rated, high priced, no wifi, spaces on hill side were to short for 31 foot trailer. Staff were great.
Jun 21, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
The only thing we didn't like was that there were nightly movies advertised on the website/brochure, but there were no movies during our stay. We were looking forward to having something to do after dark.
Jun 21, 2016
My family and I had a blast camping over father's day weekend
Jun 20, 2016
Palmer gully koa was a great place to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I came in to camp with a reservation. The site didn't work for my needs so the general manager Mike went with me and found a spot that would work for my groups special needs. I am greatful the staff cared enough to make sure we were taken care of!
Jun 20, 2016
We really like the Camping grounds and the cabins. The grounds were beautiful. Our problem were the showers which did not seem as clean, to get hot water and pressure we had to shower after 11:00 pm. The laundry had only 6 washing machines and 5 dryers, and no policy was mentioned about people who left their laundry in the machines.
Jun 20, 2016
Only thing that you could improve on is the wifi since using cell service isn't possible.
Jun 20, 2016
This was our first trip to a KOA and our family will definitely be back to this one. The facilities were amazing! The campsites were clean and well kept. Every staff member we met was friendly and went above and beyond. One of the pools was closed for a day and they worked very hard to get it back up and running again. The bathrooms, showers, etc. were spotless. We were impressed!
Jun 20, 2016
Too much noise and people. Ok for family type of customers. Just not our cup of tea.
Jun 20, 2016
if you have kids you would never have to leave the camp ground so much to do
Jun 20, 2016
The cabin had lots of dust bunnies and piles of dirt in the corners. I watched a couple cabins be cleaned and it appears they just used a swiffer, no vacuum of any kind. The showers in the nearest shower house (just down the hill) were very dirty. Tile wasn't level so water didn't drain well. Pool by funzone=dirty. Mowing at 10am by pool=lots of grass in pool area. Maybe mow after pool closes?
Jun 20, 2016
To large and confusing. Shower house was to far away. No wifi except in a few public areas. Helpful staff and clean facilities just way to big!
Jun 20, 2016
The spot (167) we were at was very wet, so some grading might need to be done. We were surprised not to find cement slabs at each space, especially the pull through (more expensive) spots. One pool was closed half the days we were there, the other was freezing (heater broken?) which made it unusable. No enforcement of some kid area rules (pillow). We still enjoyed out stay.
Jun 20, 2016
So much fun!!
Jun 20, 2016
We got together with some of our children and grandchildren. We were grouped together, 4 campsites, had beautiful weather and completely enjoyed ourselves. Would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay.
Jun 20, 2016
Great place to stay with lots of things for kids to do.
Jun 20, 2016
WIFI never worked. Pool closed most of week and no cellphone reception in valley. Paid way too much for no wifi.
Jun 20, 2016
Wonderful KOA! Lots of great activities and fun for everyone. Would love to come back again.
Jun 20, 2016
we had a blast! nice tent sites with shade, close to everything!
Jun 20, 2016
This place is great for kids.
Jun 20, 2016
LOTS of fun for all! Bathrooms were CLEAN & impressive! Our tent site (310) was great! (The drinking water spigot needs to be fixed. It sprays water everywhere.) Thank you for a great experience!! We'll be back! Running the horses by our tent at 6:30 the 1st morning scared the crap out of us. Thought it was some guy yelling at his dog! But the next morning, it was like a natural alarm clock! :-)
Jun 20, 2016
The kids loved this campground and were sad to go!
Jun 20, 2016
So much fun. Wish we could have stayed longer!!
Jun 20, 2016
Fun trip! Good location. Nice grounds and kept up well. Showers and bathrooms were clean. This place has just about everything!
Jun 20, 2016
This place is great. Alot of things to do for kids. Staff is helpful and very nice.
Jun 20, 2016
Fun time, bathrooms not the cleanest
Jun 20, 2016
There are so many things to do, that I have recommended Palmer Gulch to my daughter & husband who have 4 young boys. They would have a great time and get some history as well.
Jun 20, 2016
Nice campground, but too expensive for the wifi to NEVER work and to not have cell reception. I pick KOA so I can still have a taste of civilization, but this wifi didn't work at all. For $100/night this must work. The pool was also closed during the week for an unknown reason. The resort is clean though and the ice cream shop was nice.
Jun 20, 2016
Great location and friendly employees.
Jun 20, 2016
All is great. Staff very helpful. Wish it was a little cheaper, tho.
Jun 20, 2016
Originally planned to stay only two nights but extended our stay for five nights. Very clean with amazing views and lots to do (rented a UTV and went horseback riding). Great pizza/ice cream parlor as well as a coffee/wine shop. Staff was extremely polite and helpful.
Jun 20, 2016
What a great KOA! The nicest I have been in yet! So much to do in the area and in the campground.
Jun 20, 2016
I don't have enough time for all the issues I had here.
Jun 19, 2016
Great place to vacation.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals