Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 15, 2017
Very nice campground and very convenient to the sites of the Ruhmore area.
Aug 15, 2017
They put us right in a group of a family reunion people walking through our camp site and little kids riding there bikes through it. Was very disappointed.
Aug 15, 2017
I have stayed at this KOA several times and really enjoyed it but when booking a site and stating you are traveling on a motorcycle consideration should be taken for ease of access to your site.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
It was beautiful, the staff were friendly, you have everything available to you, the bathrooms were clean and our tent site was perfect.
Aug 15, 2017
Excellent amenities! Clean well kept cabins and grounds. Helpful courteous staff! Lots to do and something for everyone! We were a family group of 7 adults and 8 kids. This was the 3rd time we stayed at Palmer Gulch and we'll be back. Loved it!
Aug 15, 2017
Loved it, very pleasant staff and atmosphere.
Aug 15, 2017
Bathrooms/showers were gross at times. Need to be cleaned more often when busy. Would have liked better WiFi, because it was so full internet was basically non existent, which also can be a pro...
Aug 15, 2017
Our stay was awesome! Thereally was so much to do and see at the campground and in the area. Our only problem was that the GPS took us to the service entrance of the campground and it was difficult to find driving an RV.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
We loved our time here. It was very clean, well maintained, loads of things to do and very little cell phone service (which is a good thing).
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
The staff was friendly. The pizza was very good. The cabin was what we expected. We did not have any problems during our 4 night stay. Location was perfect-both the campground and the location of our cabin. Talked to many people from different parts of the country that you don't get to do when staying in motels. Sitting on the front porch each night is what made it all great.
Aug 15, 2017
This was a pretty good stay, some of the employees didn't want to answer a single question before 7 am which was a little off putting.
Aug 15, 2017
overall good
Aug 15, 2017
Wow!!!
Aug 15, 2017
Way too crowded, campfires made the air very smokey. We couldn't even see the stars at night. Was not up to standards of a "Holiday" resort. No landscaping between sites. Very dusty. Did not compare to the Glacier KOA. Kids running around EVERYWHERE! You should try to have an adult only area do we could have had a more pleasant experience. Too crowded for campfires!!!
Aug 15, 2017
Best KOA we have ever visited! Kids loved the Fun zone, awesome restaurants and store. Helpful and friendly staff. Only thing not great was waiting forever for the "escort" golf cart. It was taking sooo long. There were at least 4vehicles ahead of us and we had been sitting there for 20minutes. Finally I just left and found the site on my own. Escort was unnecessary and waste of time
Aug 14, 2017
Really nice campground, the staff is very friendly and has a lot of activities.
Aug 14, 2017
Room was not cleaned properly
Aug 14, 2017
Easy check in, directions were spot on! The facilities were clean and well maintained. So much to do in the park for the whole family. Shower houses were very nice! I really was impressed with monitoring of the campground by the staff. Made us feel safe! Also one of the staff helped us to obtain items needed to secure our recreational vehicle. Job Well done!
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
I like staying in the camping cabins, at 63 I an tired of sleeping in tents! The one I stayed in (K106 if I remember correctly) the shelf was hanging down at weird angle. Looked like the supports needed to be re-nailed or something. It could have been a little cleaner, I had to wipe off the mattress, there was some grass or something on it. I did enjoy my stay and plan on staying with you again.
Aug 14, 2017
Aside from the hills to get there, lol it was fabulous! Clean, friendly staff, lots of stuff for the kids to do even though we didn't use it, too busy site seeing. We loved it and would love to return.
Aug 14, 2017
Had a great stay, there were many changes from when I had stayed years before, but were all good. Larger but still great staff and very clean. My choice of a place to stay, hope to be back next year. Thank You for a great stay.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
We LOVED our stay at the camping cabin!! We are going to be back for sure. Clean, lots of things to do for the whole family.
Aug 14, 2017
Great place and very nice staff.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Have stayed there 8 years now we come for Sturgis. Always great no problems!
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Huge, amazing campgrounds! So much to do!
Aug 14, 2017
I've been going to this koa for over 20 years I was there when you had gas pumps in front of the small building you signed in on. This stay was excellent except for 2 things , I was quoted when I made my reservation a 10 dollar fee to hold my spot that I wanted. when I got there they charged me 20.00, they said I was mis quoted and it cost 20. so see if you can get your reservation agents up to sp
Aug 14, 2017
Been coming to Palmer Gulch on and off for 25 years and it gets better every time! Excellent facilities and plenty for the kids/grandkids. It's a family tradition. I would 't think of staying anywhere else in the Black Hills.
Aug 14, 2017
Great as always
Aug 14, 2017
We had so much fun here! Next time we'll stay longer so we can enjoy everything this campground has to offer.
Aug 14, 2017
Palmer Gulch has been our Stay vacation w/grandkids for years. Made reservations well in advance with specific request. Husband is 100%disabled veteran. Arrived said could not honor due to Rally. Due to health issue cancel 1 day but would not reimburse due to Rally! Health worsened had to leave even 1 day earlier called before 11AM to say we left early in AM again no reimburse due to Rally. REALLY
Aug 14, 2017
Best campground ever! So many kid and family activities! Beautiful scenery and little personal touches like flower planters. It was huge and was way over what I had expected! Would go again or recommend to anyone in a heart beat! Incredible place!!!!
Aug 14, 2017
Beautiful place. Lots of stuff to do!!
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Very high priced, bathrooms way to far away.
Aug 14, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The environment was well maintained and safe. We will be back!
Aug 14, 2017
We had a wonderful time at your facilities. I pastor a urban church and all but one of our children were from the projects. They would not stop thanking me for taking them camping and to SD. Your staff treated us so good that I will recommend you to everyone that I know going to SD. God bless you... In Christ Pastor John Gallegos.
Aug 14, 2017
Nice place for kids and lots of things to do. Thanks for the breakfast (pancakes). Bathrooms were clean and people were friendly. Had some trouble sizing my RV and trailer in the space that was assigned to us. Tight fit.
Aug 14, 2017
Family vacation, what an unexpected pleasure!
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Pros and Cons at this KOA, the sites are WAY too close together, but they do have all the amenities on the grounds you'd ever want at a "campground." Happy to see the bathrooms were updated and cleaner than in recent years! Cabin however was not as clean and in fact the bottom bunk was in need of repair, broken and at a slant. :/
Aug 14, 2017
The showers were very old and dirty and our camp site was small and the picnic table was broken/unusable. But the kids LOVED the fun zone and all the activities.
Aug 14, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals