Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 08, 2016
Expensive & Dirty Bathrooms.
Sep 08, 2016
Way to much smoke from campfires. Pancake breakfast ran out of batter at 10 am on last day!! Had to go to rapid city for breakfast...disappointing!
Sep 08, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The campsite was beautiful and well maintained. Bathrooms/showers were clean. The KOA is in a great location and is close to all the tourist attractions. I would stay here again.
Sep 08, 2016
We enjoyed camping here. As others have said no cell coverage but that was okay by me. Lots to do with most of it free. Tks
Sep 08, 2016
Way to expensive for what we needed. The park is gorgeous but the cost is prohibitive. They charge double compared to other KOAs but you paid extra for services of all kinds. Lots to do and centered right in the middle of all we wanted to see. We paid extra for cable and wifi and got neither. We also had no phone service if this is important to you
Sep 08, 2016
Sep 08, 2016
Omg. This Kia is off the charts. Beautiful. Lots of wilderness with nice accommodations. Close to mt Rushmore
Sep 07, 2016
Wouldn't answer phone when we were trying to find campground on a rainy night. Made reservation year in advance for motorhome 30' towing had to take trailer off and still barely fit on spot!!!!
Sep 07, 2016
nice park
Sep 07, 2016
Unbelieveable how clean the whole KOA campground was, including the Comfort Rooms, exceptional. Only thing lacking, we stayed in Exec cabin and parking was inadequate for 8 guests. The cabins were exceptionally clean and well furnished.
Sep 07, 2016
The campgrounds and all of its facilities were top notch! My only concern was the low morale of the staff members. Many staff members had poor customer service and appeared to be pre-occupied with concerns greater then the campers! Palmer Gulch management: please take better care of your staff! There should be no reason for them to be disgruntled towards campers if they are being well taken
Sep 07, 2016
This is a great family campground. There are so many fun activities for the kids that they didn't even have time to do everything. The facilities were clean and everything seems well maintained. We have already made plans to return next summer.
Sep 07, 2016
Staff is great, the campground is clean & tidy, pool & hot tub are maintained, a little pricey, the wi-fi needs an upgrade, no cell signal, awesome view of Harney Peak, lots of cool amenities, will stay again! Thank you!
Sep 07, 2016
There's really no reason to have to leave this camp ground. Everything you need is right there and very kid friendly.
Sep 07, 2016
Sep 07, 2016
We love the place, but left a day after labor day. We didn't know that the amenities would be shut down before we got to use them! The grounds were great but amenities quit early on labor day!!!
Sep 07, 2016
LOVE this place!!! Went twice this summer and plan on going back next summer for an entire week. Top Notch!
Sep 07, 2016
Great location to Mt Rushmore and Custer St park. Staff was very helpful and lots of things to do at the koa. Site was set off from main campground so there was no wifi. I would recommend asking for a site behind the office.
Sep 07, 2016
Wonderful facility with more amenities than one would imagine at a KOA. I'm sure they'll improve their wireless network for those of us tied to our technology, and try to make the improved bath facility less like a sauna.
Sep 07, 2016
It rained pretty good and I know that is Mother Nature but when you pay $80 for a camping spot you would think there would be enough gravel so there wouldn't be ankle deep mud at your camper door.
Sep 07, 2016
Right where we wanted to be, with helpful staff and all the amenities you could possibly want. The kids loved it!
Sep 07, 2016
I would think every kid would love it!
Sep 06, 2016
staff was friendly, cabin and restrooms were clean and a lot of activities
Sep 06, 2016
Lots to do if you are so inclined but having to pay a $10/day resort fee on top of the camping fee is a bit much. Our water was quite discolored at the spigot but better after passing thru our water filter. Friendly staff.
Sep 06, 2016
No TV, water flows down hill better!
Sep 06, 2016
The low marks are basically for the site(596) we had. Not level and the sewer hole was up on the side of the hill, higher than my camper drain. Very friendly & courteous staff. Extra $10 resort fee per day wasn't worth it for us as we were there to sightsee. Great place for kids if you have them. Plenty of activities.
Sep 06, 2016
The facility itself is amazing!! The wi-fi is horrible, dont count on it working. Most of the employees were not very friendly, mostly kids. We told a girl at the store in back that kids were destroying the mini golf and she said that she only worked at the store, not her issue. Also, the guy that checked us in, Im sorry people checking in is such a big inconvenience to you.
Sep 06, 2016
This was our first time camping at a KOA campground and we could not be more impressed. We loved our camping cabin, the bathrooms were clean, and there was so many fun activities for the kids.
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
Great place in a beautiful setting, tons of activities for all ages. Perfect location for a Black Hills vacation. Bathrooms need updating.
Sep 06, 2016
Stayed over 4th of July weekend. We liked our campsite although everyone had a campfire at night and it was extremely smokey. Facilities were in good shape although the womens shower needed cleaning. No wifi at our site was a disappointment. This is a huge resort and they did a good job managing all of the people and activities. Overall, we liked it.
Sep 06, 2016
Was a great family vacation! We have 4 kids ages 3-16 and the campground had many activities for all my children! Well done!
Sep 06, 2016
Excellent! We had such a great time in the Resort and the surrounding area. So much to do and see and what a beautiful area - we will definitely be back!
Sep 06, 2016
Beautiful setting. Nice and clean. Resort like feel. A ton to do.
Sep 06, 2016
The facility and staff were great and the location/view are wonderful. I think there could have been a little more attention to the daily activities and making sure the staff was all on the same page, if the staff is unsure of the activities the guests are completely unsure.
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
We had a great time. We really enjoyed the water slide, pool,chuck wagon dinner and bus ride to Mount Rushmore was all a lot of fun.
Sep 06, 2016
Our stay here was awesome! Our cabin was clean and neat and our beds were comfortable! I loved that we had a full size refridgerator, a Keurig coffee maker, and grill! The staff was amazing and helpful. We can't wait to book our next stay!
Sep 06, 2016
Not at all what we expected from our first stay at a KOA. Loud, undisciplined children, no respect for personal space from fellow campers and way over priced for what you get. If this is a representation of the crowd that KOA's attract then we'll stick to National/State parks.
Sep 06, 2016
My family and I absolutely love KOA. We have been camping at Palmer Gulch for 8 years now. Unfortunately we can no longer afford it. Especially when we can get a hotel room cheaper.
Sep 06, 2016
This is a good place to take the kids while staying in the BH's. We will likely be back. That being said, there are several areas of inprovement that could take place to justify the cost that is being charged. 1) the bathrooms need some work. 2) water quality not good. 3) WiFi is horrible.
Sep 06, 2016
Best KOA that we have stayed. So many things to do and very friendly staff!
Sep 06, 2016
It was wonderful with lots to do for the kids.
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
Beautiful place. Lots of activities for kids that don't cost extra (mini golf, rock climbing wall, water slide and pools, dances, spray park, live music, fishing pond, etc). Ideal for kids. If you want quiet and peace, ask for a spot on the outskirts of camp, very busy around the "fun zone". Not a lot of negatives to report. Scott (Labor day wknd 2016)
Sep 06, 2016
I loved the campground and all the amenities it had to offer - great place for kids!Just 1 thing, the coffee shop had about a 30 minute wait and the day we left we couldnt get assistance in the Ponderosa. The people before us were waiting for 30 minutes and still had not been seated. They should have been better staffed for a holiday weekend! Only one server at each place. Id still give it another
Sep 06, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
The camp was extremely kid friendly and our two year old had a blast with all of the activities. Great family memories! My only reason for 4/5 stars is that the tent sites were very close together and while we had a good site, there were others around us that I am not sure where I would have set up a tent as the entire site was on a hill. Overall fantastic experience and very friendly staff.
Sep 06, 2016
We had a wonderful stay! The cabin was great, the activities were great! Was an all around amazing campground!
Sep 06, 2016
It was amazing. The customer service is great!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals