Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2015
Being new to RVing, this KOA is a bit to big, but for families It might be great. Everyone was very helpful during my 1 night stay & I have reservations to be with you again next week.
Jul 26, 2015
Very nice campground. Would definitely rebook again.
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Location was great for the places we wanted to see & visit. Food was ok & affordable. No cell reception or cable.
Jul 26, 2015
Fun place for the kids. Busy place though. Great pancake breakfast Excellent location.
Jul 26, 2015
Great friendly staff! The park was clean & loved the many flower arrangements. The many amenities were phenomenal for entertaining our young children. We had a large wooded tent site which is exactly what we were hoping for, however, if we were in an RV, the sites seemed very tight. Loved having a restaurant & horse stable on-site. That was great!
Jul 26, 2015
Excellent KOA. It is huge, but with excellent infrastructure. We had a full hookup site, with barbecue and fireplace, close to the playground area. The kids loved it. To sum up, lots of things to do for the kids, not very good if you want to relax because there are too many people around.
Jul 26, 2015
Loved our spot and the area. Would recommend the staff to smile or wave to people. I would wave hi and many would just look at me. The bathrooms were ok. The activities were great and kept us occupied. I was recommend the spot we had by what I told the reservationists. He hit the jackpot for what my family needed.
Jul 26, 2015
Superb site, first rate amenities for the kids and the location can't be beat.
Jul 26, 2015
What a fun place. So much for the kids and parents to do.
Jul 26, 2015
This is a great KOA. Though all of our children are grown it was great to see all the children running around the park. The Ponderosa Restaurant is great and the bartender downstairs, sorry forgot his name, was the GREATEST.
Jul 26, 2015
The campground was great and had a wide variety of activities that didn't have extra fees attached. It was also centrally located so driving to other attractions in the area really didn't take up your whole day.
Jul 26, 2015
It was great. We had a great time and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The Chuckwagon dinner was just fantastic and the food was very authentic to the old west. Thanks again.
Jul 26, 2015
Very clean KOA and helpful staff. Bike rental riders need to stay out of the way when RV's are leaving the park, they own the road and do not move for large motorhomes. Great place for younger kids with lots of things for them to do. Breakfast is a great deal if you are hungry.
Jul 26, 2015
Nice place to expensive
Jul 26, 2015
This location is overcrowded. The water is actually brown. The camper next to me washed clothes and they came out discolored. The cell service was miniscule at best. I was not able to find it at all. Although we were given a password for the internet, it did not work well.
Jul 26, 2015
I level site made it hard to step in and out of my May want to be more selective especly for older folks
Jul 26, 2015
We were assigned a tent site that the number wasn't visible from the road and there were people in it then the second site we were assigned was barely big enough for our truck and tent. There were no bathrooms near our tent site and when we did travel to one to take a shower the hot water ran out mid shower.
Jul 25, 2015
Big campground, but really great! We had a wonderfull time.
Jul 25, 2015
Good location to be at was able to take day trips to attractions in the area. Had plenty to do at camp site too.
Jul 25, 2015
Bigger is not always good, but this KOA was the exceptions. The grand Kids loved it.
Jul 25, 2015
use their directions. dont put address in gps. try and get away from main building. they wash rental cars with power washer at 7 am every morning.dont plan on sleeping in because garbage truck rolls thru every morning around 7 and does hot laps so you get every noise that truck makes. other than that a very cool place and they have tons to do
Jul 25, 2015
I think this will be our last stay there. I think it's good for families with young kids, for older kids not so much. No cell service, what happened, 10 years ago we had cell service now none. The internet hot spots didn't work. Never enough staff in the store and they weren't very helpful. Good location to Rushmore the setting is beautiful.
Jul 25, 2015
Lots of fun for the kids! Magic show was super fun.
Jul 25, 2015
I would like to have seen recycling containers for beverage bottles. And I would recommend benches for parents to sit on in splash pad and playground areas. Otherwise, this was a fabulous, fun "resort-style" campground and I would highly recommend for families!
Jul 25, 2015
could use some more office help during peak check-in hours.
Jul 25, 2015
Fun for the whole family ! Very nice
Jul 25, 2015
Very nice facilities. Some tents spaces are on a hill. Loved the cafe/wine bar. Perfect proximity to Mount Rushmore and other attractions.
Jul 25, 2015
Very friendly staff, Big campground with many amenities especially for the kids, Bathrooms were small and not always very clean.
Jul 25, 2015
My story is so long that I will just say.....I couldn't have asked for a better place to be, the staff was more than accommodating. I would come back here every chance I had.
Jul 25, 2015
the site is great, but the is a lot of noise from other campers.. The staff didn't do much about it.
Jul 25, 2015
Great all-you-can-eat pancakes and recreational facilities. My kids enjoyed the impromptu volleyball games with all the other kids.
Jul 25, 2015
Loved the location and all of the activities for our kids, but the sites were tight and cramped. Also since it is a valley it become smoky from camp fires from time to time which made it hard to enjoy the location at night.
Jul 25, 2015
This KOA had many family accommodations & lots of fun!!
Jul 25, 2015
Lots of activities. Friendly helpful staff. It's camping, but has enough comfort features to make it fun. Only recommendation is more washer/dryers. Some waiting time there. Thanks for a great vacation with my boys!!
Jul 25, 2015
Wow, amazing place. Everything was very nice except the wifi was down our entire stay. There was also no phone service so no wifi was a problem when we were trying to plan day trips and other tourist activities and could not look up websites or call to ask questions. Employees mentioned the wifi had been down for a while, but they were trying to fix it.
Jul 25, 2015
More than we expected. Nice central location. Friendly staff. Great place for families.
Jul 25, 2015
Love all of the activities for the kids. Awesome job guys. Done things that could be improved. .... The water. Or water had rust in it. Not god for drinking only used it for washing. The Internet was non existent. Could never sign on. The front bathrooms in the patio sites are in desperate need of updating. All the other shower houses and bathrooms are ALOT better. Great KOA all in all
Jul 25, 2015
KOA reservation states level sites and can accommodate larger rigs. We were assigned a wooded hill site and like all other campers in my area sites were more than 10" off on side hill and slope too severe to level unit. Site could not handle 20' pop-up with small pickup. Had to move other campers vehicles when leaving site. The camp site quality is most important part of visit and this was bad.
Jul 25, 2015
For an Expensive resort KOA you would think the cabins would ALL have a/c and not smell like rotten eggs.
Jul 25, 2015
Very happy with the way the staff worked with us to get us moved to a site that would fit our family.
Jul 25, 2015
We didn't have kids with us but it was great to see all the entertainment for the kids, clean bathrooms and the bus ride for the night lighting was great
Jul 24, 2015
Internet is virtually non-existent. Down more than up, and when it is, slow is an under-statement.
Jul 24, 2015
Overall the park was great!! The location and amenities are great. The 2 problems we encountered were lack of adequate laundry facilities and a swamp area 3 ft from our trailer with lots of mosquitoes. Also, need additional gravel in the sites.
Jul 24, 2015
We had a great time on our family vacation. There was tons of fun activities for the kids and adults to participate in. We rented an UTV and had a good time on the trails. The resort was well maintained and the staff was wonderful. The food at the Ponderosa restaurant was good especially the fried taco. We plan to return in the future.
Jul 24, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay in one of the deluxe cabins. Would love to stay in that exact cabin again.
Jul 24, 2015
Amazing. I brought 4 kids by myself. As a single mom I was a little worried about feeling safe. But after the first couple hours I felt at home. Tre kids played & I wasn't worried at all. We all had a great time. A trip of a lifetime. Thank you
Jul 24, 2015
VERY kid friendly! Clean facility and friendly staff. We didn't use the bathrooms as we had full hook up, so no opinion on those. But overall, we were extremely happy with our stay.
Jul 24, 2015
Did not like our stay. They stuck us in some mud hole site. They had plenty of clean grass sites they could have given us.
Jul 24, 2015
This KOA was so busy and they had a difficult time keeping up with the demand of the campers. Lines were too long and access was not convenient for everything from coffee to showers. Showers and restrooms were very dirty. We waited 35 minutes for a coffee.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.