Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 09, 2016
While only one night, my 7 year old daughter and I had a great time. We used a number of the campground offerings and enjoyed all of them.
Jun 09, 2016
Kids LOVED it. Internet SUCKED but they admitted that at registration. The nearby coffee shop needs to figure out how to keep coffee customers from having to wait twenty minutes while they make a mocha, macchiato, with two sugars, a shot of espresso, two drops of milk, with caramel on top or whatever. Put the regular coffee pot in front of the counter with a cigar box for the money.
Jun 09, 2016
N/A
Jun 09, 2016
An amazing vacation mostly in part to our stay at the KOA. We have 3 teenagers and they had an amazing time with the bikes, putput, pools, and overall variety of activities! Loved it!
Jun 08, 2016
Great experience.
Jun 08, 2016
For over $100 per night you would think the resort would be able to figure out how to get wifi to every customer.
Jun 08, 2016
Couldn't ask for more! Beautiful scenery, friendly staff and clean cabin and grounds with all the emenities!!!
Jun 08, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay, and would like to come back and bring our extended family!
Jun 08, 2016
Very nice and helpful staff! Campground is well maintained. Lots of things to do ... swimming, kids waterslide, climbing wall, mini golf, shops, trail rides, etc. I was a little disappointed in how close the campsites were to each other. Our daughter and friends were staying in a tent site and those were extremely close together, and backed up to Kabins. But we had a nice camp experience.
Jun 08, 2016
Our kids LOVED this KOA resort! The water slide, tock climbing wall, trampoline pillow and renting the low rider banana bikes were a blast! (wish they sold those bikes). There is so much to do here at the KOA when you return from site seeing the area. Loved the daily activities each day especially the. Evening attractions- magic show, chainsaw art and more!
Jun 08, 2016
Although the camp ground was nice the lack of cell coverage outside of a couple of distant hot spots left us cut off if we had had an emergency or needed to be reached in a home emergency. The same applies to internet access.
Jun 08, 2016
Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Lots to see and do!
Jun 08, 2016
We had such a great time, we actually extended our stay an extra day The camp is amazing with so much to do.Loved that we were able to rent a car for the day. Will definately plan to come again and stay longer.
Jun 07, 2016
The Palmer Gulch KOA was very clean and the staff was great! The kids loved it and can't wait to visit again!!
Jun 07, 2016
This was our first vacation in 15 years KOA helped make it the best and most remembered vacation.
Jun 07, 2016
We had a great time!!!! The kids loved the pool, hot tub, jumping pillow and miniature golf. They enjoyed renting bikes and having ice cream at turtle town. We stayed in a deluxe cabin. It was nice and clean. The only thing was we had to keep asking for towels, etc because we were staying for 5 days. The staff was always nice about getting us whayever we needed!
Jun 07, 2016
Park is very clean, All staff that we ran into were friendly. If going swimming I would suggest going to the pool by the Front store/check in area. Kid zone area pool was freezing, the hot tub(not hot at all)felt like a heated pool so kids were jumping and swimming in it, the toddler pool was so cold I had a hard time sitting in it with my 2yr old after only a couple minutes his lips were purple
Jun 07, 2016
The staff was super friendly. The facilities was very clean and maintained. Flowers were beautiful. Wish there had been cell service but people need a break from that anyway. We hope to get to go back soon.
Jun 07, 2016
Jun 07, 2016
Best KOA we have been to!
Jun 07, 2016
We had a wonderful time. Everyone was helpful and nice. Mini-putt could use an upgrade and cleaner bathrooms.
Jun 07, 2016
The staff was great and the "fun zone" was great, but the tent sites were extremely small. They would pass as large parking spots but not a tent site. Definitely not a site size worth paying $170 for. The National forest camping has nicer(bigger) tent sizes and is a third of the price.
Jun 07, 2016
Jun 07, 2016
Surroundings are beautiful on the mountains. Found the same trash in the same shower 3 days in a row. Pools dirty and cold, no bathrooms nearby. Coffee shop great. Horseback riding very nice. Office staff great.
Jun 07, 2016
It was a very comfortable campground. Always clean and always someone if help was needed. Great. Showers and Toilets were spotless....
Jun 07, 2016
absolutely wonderful with helpful and friendly staff
Jun 07, 2016
Enjoyable stay. Will tell my friends
Jun 07, 2016
We had a great stay,didn't want to leave. Best KOA ever!!!
Jun 07, 2016
Jun 07, 2016
Nice mix of activities. Good service. Bathrooms could have been cleaner.
Jun 07, 2016
Great for kids, lots to do and the personnel let kids be kids.
Jun 07, 2016
Always a pleasure to stay here
Jun 06, 2016
We were blessed by the kind staff members, especially Ben the manager. Our tent broke the first day and he was very accomodating. We love the summershiner program and the family friendly music!!!
Jun 06, 2016
never explained air mattress on pull out couch. thought it was just a bad mattress.
Jun 06, 2016
We LOVED the campground at Mount Rushmore! Beautiful! Our Deluxe Kabin was very clean and perfect for our family of 5. Our young children loved the Fun Zone - well worth the $10 activity fee! We hope to return again in the future! Thank you KOA for the wonderful family memories!
Jun 06, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. The only thing that was frustrating is that the site map is hard to read & it took us a while in the dark to find our campground. Other than that it was fun!
Jun 06, 2016
The wireless was not working, even asked for assistance but no one was educated with it. With weather it is a reliable source when you are traveling.
Jun 06, 2016
Very nice site and location but is it worth double the cost over other nice sites
Jun 06, 2016
Jun 06, 2016
No Internet accessible at our campsite
Jun 05, 2016
We love staying @ Mount Rushmore KOA. Looking forward to going back there next year!
Jun 05, 2016
The best one we have stayed at yet!!!!
Jun 05, 2016
Very clean and well cared for park. The staff was friendly
Jun 05, 2016
This koa is by far the best outta of the couple dozen I've been too also the ponderosa restaurant was good but could use a few more options and larger portions for the price but all in all extremely happy with my trip
Jun 05, 2016
This was our 3 red visit to Pulmer Gulch KOA and we love all the amenities. However, with limited cell service and no wifi, we were disappointed. Also cable was only available in the most expensive campsites. REALLY.?
Jun 05, 2016
Jun 05, 2016
Jun 05, 2016
Kid had a great time - lots of amenities!
Jun 05, 2016
The Internet did not work,we had awful directions and couldn't find our camp site, the numbering of the campground is very confusing, 200. 400 600 all mixed together. The staff acted like they didn't care when we addressed our issues, they literally said, " ohh okay," while rolling eyes. The place is beautiful but not worth the money at all!
Jun 05, 2016
Very nice, clean campground. We were extremely impressed with the improvements they've made over the past 2 years. New picnic area, new chairs, tables, and they dramatically improved the all you can eat pancake tent. Really nice. People at the front desk were excellent and helped us with questions we had. Employee's KOA truck was desperately in need of repair...but he had a great attitude.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals