Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 19, 2015
Hate to rate so low b/c staff is wonderful!!! But the smell of campfire smoke was really overpowering/sickening. Need more gravel 4 rain. Water is dirty color - safe to drink but unappetizing. Pay extra even if u don't use kiddy stuff.butpeople were great. Wifi doesn't work & shouldn't be advertised.
Jun 19, 2015
Great campground! Highly recommend! Will most definitely book here again!
Jun 18, 2015
Lots of things to do for all ages. Inexperience front desk staff mixed up reservations. No to Poor internet. No to poor cell phone access. outside of the mix ups, the older staff tried to make things right but in a few incidents it was too late.
Jun 18, 2015
It is an awesome resort with tons to do for kids and adults. So close to all the sites you want to see in the area. Downside. It rained a lot and since there are very few paved roads or sites, it was a muddy mess. We cut short our stay since the kids could not use all the great amenities at the campground without being full of mud. Just pave the roads and sites and this is a top resort!
Jun 18, 2015
The bathrooms were constantly dirty even though they have a sign that they clean them throughout the day.
Jun 18, 2015
Added annoying fees to quoted price when we signed in.
Jun 18, 2015
No cell service (Verizon). No wifi. Hot spots were not working.
Jun 18, 2015
Surrounding view is lovely with lots of amenities. Staff was friendly and efficient. RV sites are close with no trees. Hundreds of campsites, feels very crowded. Activities geared for young kids, not teenagers. No cell service or wifi and hot spots didn't work. Expensive if not using amenities. Water out of faucet light brownish. We left a day early. Just not for us.
Jun 18, 2015
Great stay overall but if you don't have satellite you must reserve deluxe patio sites to get cable tv. Non functioning camp canine but they charge you an extra $3 per dog!!??! Also don't know what the $10 per day resort fee was for. Loved the friendly gal at the main snack bar. Enjoyable trails if you rent ATV. Try the fried tacos at the restaurant but be really hungry or share,they are huge but
Jun 18, 2015
Very kid friendly. We saw lots of families. Workers were very friendly rained a lot while we were there so very muddy
Jun 18, 2015
This is a beautiful KOA destination. Although the Wi-Fi and cellular reception is poor to nonexistent. The bathroom cleanliness was also regrettable.
Jun 18, 2015
Jun 18, 2015
They advertise internet but there was none. Very frustrating. The cabin should have a chair so can use the table. The bathrooms were filthy.
Jun 18, 2015
Was very nice. Everything you would want or need. Just to many people and campers for us. To crowded. Location was 6-7 miles to Mt Rushmore. Very convenient. If you don't mind the crowds, good place to stay.
Jun 17, 2015
Very enjoyable with lots of activities for the kids. We did miss not having the movies.
Jun 17, 2015
The activities and facilities are great. We always have a good time!
Jun 17, 2015
Our site was taken and although they found us another spot, it was muddy and it took us over 45 minutes before we pulled in. There was no refund of any kind just a bundle of wood given, which we couldnt use because our youngest is allergic to smoke,for our "inconvenience". The grounds were all muddy and it was such a bummer that after a long day of traveling we didn't come into a "resort".
Jun 17, 2015
I would have liked having heat or cooling in my cabin. I thought it was suppose to be there.
Jun 17, 2015
Jun 17, 2015
Great big resort and lots to do, we had rain for our stay so my comments may be a little jaded by that. With the rain, everything was a little muddy and sloppy. Overall great resort, but a little pricey. Additional $10 resort fee added to all nights.
Jun 16, 2015
The bathroom at comfort station number 4 were very dirty. Probably the worst of any KOA that we have stayed at.
Jun 16, 2015
Always nice to visit. The kids and adults always have a great time. Thanks!
Jun 16, 2015
This is an amazing place!!! We had a wonderful stay. There is so much for the kids to do. I wish the water slide would have worked. Also it would be nice to have more activities in the evening, karaoke, dances, better bands
Jun 16, 2015
Wonderful, peaceful and well organized place. Will definitely plan to go back again.
Jun 16, 2015
Only complaint--young people at front desk had no info about area. Need to teach local infor. Loved our stay. Thanks for having church!
Jun 16, 2015
This was my first time at a KOA, and I am new to camping. But this KOA is so big, it felt like you were in a city. I loved the extra activities for the kids, but changed my stay from 2 nights to 1 night. Nothing wrong with the KOA, just not for me.
Jun 16, 2015
Lots to do at this park. There are plenty of family activities including panning and horseback riding. Food at Turtle Town was pricey and decent. Except for the long lines, breakfast tent was very good. Only bad point was no wifi throughout the camp, but isn't that the point of camping? Overall very good family resort that I would recommend.
Jun 16, 2015
Our campsite was extremely muddy, and we had reserved 3 spots side by side and did not get them, we were seperated. We will not come back to this KOA agai n, nor will we recommend it.
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
While the "extras" were fun such as the pool, wine tasting bar and pizzeria, we weren't around much to enjoy those things (we're in the Black Hills, after all!). At the end of the day, we just wanted clean, working bathrooms and dry, walkable/drive-able roads. The bathrooms were disgusting, and we had trouble locking some of the doors to the shower. The roads were awful - maybe pave them?
Jun 16, 2015
Excellent KOA, 6 mi from Mt. Rushmore, large gift shop, groceries, 500+ sites. Lot of water on road, muddy sites. Ours was great on hill, with great view, gravel level spot. Long walk to BR - 0.44 miles one way. 2 inground hot tube (one broken), 2 nicely heated pools, 4 very good baths, one older. NO cable, hotspot Wifi. Nice onsite bar.
Jun 16, 2015
Very nice facility.
Jun 16, 2015
Too expensive and too many additional charges, Really 3.00 per day for my small dog. Limited WIFI, and cable. Plus $10.00/day saver pack. Saved what?
Jun 16, 2015
I was very disappointed in the fact that I could not connect to WIFI any of the time I was there. That is one thing I look for in a campground. Otherwise the stay was great.
Jun 16, 2015
Great activities for kids but our cabin number 208 was right next to the pool which had a fun running all night. I put in ear plugs and hard hard time sleeping.
Jun 16, 2015
It was rainy for the two days we were there, but we still had a great time! I was glad we chose to stay in a cabin since it made sleeping a little warmer than it would have been in a tent. We loved all the options for the kids, and the staff was wonderful at making sure all of the kids were included!!!
Jun 16, 2015
Everything was great. The rain made it a little messy. Some of the sites could use some more gravel.
Jun 16, 2015
Good: on site activities, proximity to Mt Rushmore, staff were courteous and helpful. Bad: parked in muddy,unimproved area. Adjacent sites had concrete pads. WiFi unusable except in Hotspot almost 1/2 mile away although signal was good. Roads in disrepair, credited to much rain in recent weeks. Not park issue: no AT&T cell service.
Jun 16, 2015
Nice facility. Easy to navigate. Bathrooms/showers great. Nice amenities.
Jun 15, 2015
Loved all the activities for the family. Stayed in a Kabin this time and were very comfortable. Excellent resort!
Jun 15, 2015
Great stay from the staff, cabin, activities, to the food venues.
Jun 15, 2015
Great place to stay. Lots of activities for the kids. Very close to a lot of attractions.
Jun 15, 2015
Camper cabin had bad mice - probably because all the old cabins have 1" gaps under door. We did get moved to nicer cabin. Long way to walk to very mediocre bathroom. Nicer bathroom required driving. WiFi worked for maybe 1/2 hour close to main lodge. Rest of time we got no signal. Expensive for what we got. Store prices way high. Some things should be included that cost extra.
Jun 15, 2015
At first glance this KOA appeared out of this world with all the amenities it offered. However, campers were packed in like sardines and the bathrooms were not clean. This KOA is way too big, loud and offers no privacy. Our biggest complaint is that the advertised wifi DID NOT WORK which is one of the main reasons we selected this KOA. Additionally, there was a drunken shouting match.
Jun 15, 2015
Very clean, caring staff, activities were outstanding
Jun 15, 2015
waterslide not working.
Jun 15, 2015
Most of our stay was good. We were put by the fishing pond that was going to over flow so we had to be moved. Then had to go back to that spot without the rest of our group, as they were moved someone else. THat was the reason we all traveled to SOuth Dakota together to be together. WOn't stay be the fishing pond again. THe slide was broke the jumping pillow was down most the time.
Jun 15, 2015
I recently stayed at your resort, I liked the stores and the shuttle bus driver to Mount Rushmore was very nice so kudos to him. Nice place to stay The only thing that was a bump in the road I tried calling the concierge desk 10 plustimes and no one answered so that I could sign up for the shuttle and I left a message with the supervisor and no one ever called me back. Luckily I was able to signu
Jun 15, 2015
Employees were mostly friendly but manager hadn't communicated schedule or broken equipment to employees. Many of the kid activities were broken or not labeled right on schedule.
Jun 15, 2015
Our tent site was a bit small, but overall the location was great! The showers could be cleaned more frequently as a lot of people stay at this KOA. The service was very friendly, pancake breakfast was a hit with my family. Overall it was a nice camping site, next time we hope the water slide is open.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.