Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 10, 2013
Everything was PERFECT. My only recommendation would be to leave the pools up and in running condition when it's still 90 degrees out.
Sep 10, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff. Lots of activities for adults and children. Nice to have several dining options on location. We had a great time.
Sep 10, 2013
We have already booked our reservation for next year.
Sep 10, 2013
Huge campsite and perfectly situated for all attractions. We paid a resort fee of $10 but no swimming pools were open in the 90 degree heat. We should not have paid this fee. We were placed beside another rig and yet the campsite was empty. We should have been spaced out. Staff were very helpful.
Sep 10, 2013
The only things we were unhappy about was with the temps in the 90's that the other pool and water slide Were not open. We were very unhappy with the all you can eat pancake breakfast. We arrived st 8:30 and there was only 3 tables with customers and they were all eating. We waited until 9:30 for a table and placed our order and it took until 10:15 to get our pancakes. Very slow service.
Sep 09, 2013
Although I'm against forced "resort Fees" for the use of attractions I will not use (pool, concerts, pancake breakfast, wine tasting, etc), I am especially appalled at having to pay $10 a night extra for that fee after Labor Day when the services are no longer available! The flowers were beautiful, the resort is clean and the staff friendly and plentiful, but paying $60 extra bugged me.
Sep 09, 2013
Great place for kids!!!!
Sep 09, 2013
everything is awesome at this resort and I could do list many many things that we live. Since there are so few things not to like I would like to see those couple items fixed so this place is perfect in our eyes. They need to get the wifi consistently good when the park is busy. It never works when people are using it heavily. The cell phone service is basically non-existent but if the internet wo
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
We arrived later in the evening so didn't have a chance to see all the campground or take in some of the activities. Great staff at reception desk! Nice site.
Sep 09, 2013
It was great!
Sep 09, 2013
We try to come out to Mt. Rushmore KOA a couple times of year. We absolutely love it and can't wait till next year!
Sep 09, 2013
Beautiful facility, however end of season "surlys" has affected the employees
Sep 09, 2013
You are in a good location. Everything is close together including the bathroom stalls. The Internet was unusable. It was a poor signal and was intermittent and slow. There was no air condioning in the cabins.
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
Lots of nice amenities but camping sites were probably worst of any KOA where I have stayed. Camp sites were too cramped and close, my site had trash when I arrived and still there when I left (4 days), there was a mud hole with standing water on my left side. Staff tended to be uncaring, unprepared, and unconcerned. This was my 3rd long motorhome trip this year; stayed at several KOA's.
Sep 08, 2013
lots to do met wonderful friends a bit commerical for me. kids loved it
Sep 08, 2013
It is clean.Family oriented environment is fantastic.But it just felt too crowded.
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 07, 2013
Never a dull moment! Enjoyable for kids and adults alike!
Sep 07, 2013
It was great - too great because the kids didnt want to ever leave the KOA to go sight seeing!! We had a wonderful time - so much to do and people were very friendly. Only bummer was that the pools were shut down a lot due to "vandalism".
Sep 07, 2013
Great area and clean park. But, it had very poor wifi that did not work most of time. Add to that the lack of cell phone coverage and you have no communication with your family or emergency services if needed. Given that you pay a premium to stay at this CG I found this park did not deliver.
Sep 07, 2013
Very nice. We stayed there before, 5 yrs. ago.
Sep 07, 2013
Very very nice.
Sep 07, 2013
everything was first class
Sep 06, 2013
The flies were terrible because of manure. The smell was sickening because of horse manure . Plenty to do. Just don't go while school is out. Too crowded . This KOA needs fly predators to control flies . Gone twice no need to go again. Each time gets worse .
Sep 06, 2013
By far the best campground I have ever been to, activities were legitimate (not cheesy) ATV rental, horseback riding, fishing, wagon. Views abound, this is a serious KOA. Two items they might consider is one, we had no WiFi or cell eventhough they had WiFi it wouldn't work for many and second there it too much worker traffic on golfcarts, vans, trucks, etc. Seemed like they were back and forth,
Sep 06, 2013
The only reason I have been coming back to Mount Rushmore koa is because i been going every summer as a kid. Other than that I'm In the military been for 10 years and the bathrooms at your koa are sick. I have seen better bathroom in the military. That and people (campers) are rude. They drive around fast and loud with there brights I brought everything up they said what do you want us to do
Sep 06, 2013
We always love coming to the Mt. Rushmore KOA every year. They have lots of fun stuff for the kids to do, great Quad trails to take our family and friends on, clean amenities, and lots of variety for the whole group. We have a group of friends and their families that come every year and truly enjoy ourselves to the fullest!
Sep 06, 2013
Was so wonderful for our 2 year old grandaughter. She had been in car for over 15 hrs and it was wonderful for her to have so much to do.
Sep 06, 2013
Too many dogs. BIG dogs. BIG mess.
Sep 05, 2013
Our family said.."This is like Disney Land!" We had the most wonderful, memorable time!
Sep 05, 2013
It was great. Water park for the kiddies, a movie every night, and car rentals so you can see all the local attractions for those traveling by RV.
Sep 05, 2013
Overall an enjoyable stay, would return again. Was disappointed with waterslide for kids way too dirty, and made reservation and paid 10 dollars to "hold" site #549 got there and was given site #597 which does not have cable but paid same rate quoted for site with cable??? No explanation as to why site changed. Loved the pancake breakfast very nicely done, especially nice on day of check out.
Sep 05, 2013
Fantastic campground for family. We were very impressed with all of the activities/play centers for children!
Sep 04, 2013
we had a tent s site next to the horse trail was nice then we got rained out, moved to the top of the hill but there the gravel roads were washed out the next morning, all in all we will be back in two years
Sep 04, 2013
Awesome place! Tons of fun activities for the whole family. Very clean. Only complaint was that the shower doors were difficult to open and close.
Sep 04, 2013
Facilities and Staff were great!
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
Beautiful place. Nice people. Traffic past our site was non-stop and most were going too fast.
Sep 04, 2013
WE ENJOYED EVERY MINUTE OF OUR STAY-SOO CLOSE TO MT RUSHMORE WE WOULD DO IT AGAIN & HOPE TO
Sep 04, 2013
Everything!! Was wonderful... Except bathroom and showers in #4 were regularly dirty and terribly mildewed the entire time...we actually on the second day started walking all the way over to another comfort station rather than deal with that. Mildew, dirt, poor water pressure ...not good. But otherwise our time was wonderful!
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
This is a great park, but not on a holiday weekend. People were driving their ATVs all over the roads and they were noisy and disrespectful of other campers.
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Stayed here before w/my kids and had a very nice time. Decided to come again and had very wonderful stay. Thought it was a little expensive though!
Sep 03, 2013
Excellent location with many activities for kids. We have a 5 and 7 year old, and there was way more to do than they could keep up with.
Sep 03, 2013
Bathroom could have been cleaner. Shower curtain had mold on it.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.