Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2015
Where do I start? Everything from the locale to the Summer Shine workers, to the KOA staff members, to the play grounds, bathrooms, entertainment and just everything about this campground is awesome. We originally booked for 2 nights and quickly extended our stay for an additional 2 nights. We will definitely be back!!!! Thanks so much!!
Jul 28, 2015
Campsite was full of ruts and muddy from the day before rain. Maintenance came and added some gravel. Also gave me free bundle of wood for the problem. WiFi very limited, at Hot spots it hardly worked at all. Everything else was very good.
Jul 28, 2015
Our children enjoyed the kids fun zone. One thing I wished was that the visitors staying with pets would respect when there is a sign "no pets allowed" they would respect that.
Jul 27, 2015
The best campground ever! So beautiful and so much to do there! Staff extremely friendly and nice. We had a family reunion there and it was perfect! Will definitely camp there again and recommend highly to anyone. Just fabulous!
Jul 27, 2015
There was no place to park my tow vehicle, low water pressure, no internet WiFi or Hotspot. It felt like we were at a county park. Very disappointing for KOA. Resort activities did not start on time, kids were left to wait for attendants to get the equipment ready. If the jumping pillow opens at 9:00, then open at 9:00, not 9:45. The climbing wall was never open the when we were there...
Jul 27, 2015
This KOA is perfect. Plenty of things to do - ATV - The Chuck Wagon dinner, Dining at the Ponderosa - awesome!! Great Spot - we'll be back!
Jul 27, 2015
Great stay as always! Awesome activities and setting for the kids!
Jul 27, 2015
It would have been nice if the campsites were a little farther apart and the fire rings weren't so close to the campers. Was not able to get on the WiFy and we had no access to the cable tv. Other than that it was great. My grandson had a ball with the water slide and all of the other things there was for the kids to do.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
The whole place was very clean and the adult pool was nice. The staff takes very good care of you and helps when needed. I've never seen a place with so much to do and still keeping it so nice and clean. The showers and bathrooms were well kept. They give you garbage bags and pick up ever day. I would have liked a bigger sight but they allowed me to park my trailer for my Quads out of the way,
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time! Probably could use a few more people working to help with all the people. Very busy. Our site was nice and lots for the kids to do. They had a ball!!
Jul 27, 2015
Beautiful campground with amazing activities for the kids.
Jul 27, 2015
My son woke up missing the KOA this morning and said when he gets older he is going to work hard and a lot so he can stay longer. Second year here and we love it.
Jul 27, 2015
I wish EVERY KOA had the facilities and conveniences of this one! Places to eat, car rental, ATV rental, horseback riding...all at the campground! We are already planning a return trip!
Jul 27, 2015
Wifi is horrible.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Loved how kid friendly it was. Nice people and super friendly!
Jul 27, 2015
Bad thunder storms both nights(golf ball size hail). Not their fault! Very crowded. Got poison oak from creekside campsite!!
Jul 27, 2015
The staff was friendly. We camped in a back in site. Driving in it looked like every KOA. The entrance to the grounds were nice, but past that point, the campsites were not that great. They need a lot of work. The showers were outdated. We did not use the pool or any of the play areas so I can not rate these areas. It was the most expensive campground we stayed at on this trip and the poorest site
Jul 27, 2015
enjoyed it very much.the grandkids had a lot of fun.looking foward to coming back again soon. thank-you
Jul 27, 2015
Loved the wine tasting and all of the extra swimming, and fun perks. The staff was so kind and helpful. Will come again and recommend to others. The land was well kept and clean.
Jul 27, 2015
Beautiful location,; beautiful facilities overall. Friendly, helpful staff. Campsite (240) sucked. Requested space for 30ft. 5th wheel. Unit barely fit. Neighbors had to move their vehicles to enable me to park rig. Was unable to extend awning becuase truck took up space. Muddy. Grass uncut. Might stay agian IF I get a better site. Have had better sites in national forests at 1/3 the price.
Jul 27, 2015
Excellent facilities nice employees and great activities.
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time at our stay. Lot's of family activities. We wish we would have had some tree cover at our tent camp site. Other then that top notch.
Jul 27, 2015
It has really grown in the last 10 years! The restrooms could have been cleaner. Our Kamping Kabin was wonderful! It was very clean and comfortable. The food at the Ponderosa restaurant on site was awful. We couldn't eat it and they took 25% off our bill.
Jul 27, 2015
We felt very lucky to get a same-day site and appreciated the stores and food vendors available (as we got in too late to eat outside of the camp). My only critiques were that we were put right next to the playground (would've at least liked to have known that even if that's all that was open) and wish the sites were just a bit cheaper.
Jul 27, 2015
Would give 5 stars if they didn't bring the horses through the trail at 6 A.M. with VERY obnoxious yelling every morning.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
WOW!!!! Everything is exceptional. From the natural beauty of the Black Hills to the monuments to the camp ground. Our kids were treated like royalty by the staff the Summershine ministry was phenomenal WE WILL BE BACK!!!! Thanks to everyone for an AWESOME STAY!!!!
Jul 27, 2015
Large campground with lots for the kids. Friendly staff. The 2 stores were out of swim diapers, which I thought would be fully stocked at a place like this.
Jul 27, 2015
Great place for kids! However, lot 262 & 263 are not appropriate for a 25-30 ft. camper. They should be reserved for pop-ups. Need a separate place to ride low rider rental bikes. Roads are too congested. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 27, 2015
Kids love this place. . .my only concern this year was the WIFI connection was not very good.
Jul 27, 2015
We were disapointex when we were awake at 5 in the morning becausd some people decided to go to the toilet with there harley. Rules of common life were not respected and we are thinking to avoid koa camping anymore. Moreover, wifi was not available and we paid 10$ fees for a resprt we don't enjoyed. Hope our next experience eill be better
Jul 27, 2015
Overheard at bike rental shack: Kid: can we still rent bikes? Grey-bearded KOA employee: you mean because of the lightning? YOU THINK I CARE? Go ahead! Rent one! We have been staying at the Palmer Gulch KOA for 5 years, and this was the worst group of employees we've seen. We were also disappointed that there were no longer paddle boats or movies shown at night. Boo.
Jul 27, 2015
My first experience is with the most unhappy staff and depressed staff that one are not knowlegable about their jobs and should not be in a position of dealing with the public. But this is just a reflection of the untrained manager or the absence of one. Also the site was totally unusable for pulling into and even the staff that directed me to nthe spot commented. This says no one checks.
Jul 27, 2015
Good facilities, clean fun camp
Jul 27, 2015
We have stayed here several times now, and each time I like this campground more. You have great activities and amenities, and the staff is always very helpful and efficient. A major plus is that you have great coffee!! My only concern was that the pools seemed a bit green, but I must admit that it wasn't bad enough to keep me from letting my kids swim. We will be back!
Jul 27, 2015
So much to do for families with kids. Very clean and will organized. We checked out of our cabin a day early (though late afternoon), due to not feeling good and I wanted to get home and they credited my credit card for the night we didn't stay. I did not expect that and am truly grateful for that. I would stay again.
Jul 27, 2015
Only thing we dislike about this campground is the amount of kids in the hot tub.... We ourselves have young kids so we understand however as an adult we would love to be able to take a hot tub after a long travel day or touring all day however here they allow kids to use to hot tubs as a pool would be great to have a hot tub for only adults!
Jul 27, 2015
This is a great place for families traveling with kids.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
I've stayed at this campground before so it was not the 1st time. Check in was great. Easy and the staff were very pleasant, but the campsite that we were assigned to was terrible. I had asked for a spot for 2 tents. This spot was very small and there was no level ground there at all. For over $40 per night just for a place to pitch a tent, I was very disappointed.
Jul 27, 2015
the nicest and cleanest KOA that we stayed at the 2 weeks we were traveling!!
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
First, we had made reservations in 2013 for our family reunion and when we arrived, we did not get the building we had paid for; the water was a horrible dirty brown filled with; the KOA administration was not willing to work with us. I do like the facilities, with lots of things for the children to do; the workers are very friendly, but our experience staying there this year was very poor.
Jul 26, 2015
This is the most AMAZING campground!!! There is so much to do. May not get great cell phone service but your on vacation who Care... It's all about making the memories with your family. I will be back in two years with more family and friends. Can't wait.
Jul 26, 2015
This is our second time staying at this campground. The staff go out of their way to make the kids feel special. There were some attractions not working, but there are so many other things to do. We loved the chuckwagon dinner!!
Jul 26, 2015
Very kid friendly and so much for them to do. Great for the whole family!!
Jul 26, 2015
Needs better wifi, was center in the places to visited.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals