Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 18, 2014
Palmer Gulch is amazing! Our family had an incredible time and will be back for sure. We have not done a lot of camping and this was a great way to ease into it. Lots of activities and fun for all ages. Thanks to everyone who made it so fun!
Jul 18, 2014
This is a fabulous family campground. The only thing needed is a little more work on the roads and add a little gravel to the sites
Jul 18, 2014
The campground was lovely and there were lots of fun things to do and see. The bathrooms were nice and convenient. We asked for a shaded site because there is a big open field area that would no thane suites us. Loved the garbage and recycling pick up!
Jul 18, 2014
Great KOA, tons of activities. Only issue was nighttime hay ride. Started at 9pm, had to wait almost 2 hours to get on ride, possibly adding another cart? Kids have a hard time waiting that long for an activity. Beautiful location!
Jul 18, 2014
I made reservations, when i got their, no reservations-so they put me out in in the boon docks the 30A power would go off and on. I was trying to run an a/c. We stayed as long as we could and checked out. I will probably never stay at this campground again. We've stayed there on 3 previous ocassions.....Chuck Doyle 1D288c
Jul 18, 2014
Campsite was dirty,firepit was full of trash & unuseable. No soap in bathroom canisters & campground was overcrowded. On a 5000 mile trip this was the most expensive campground we stayed in & the worst experience. On a positive note, the people in the front office were very professional.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
The best KOA!! Super campground!! So many activities. Can't wait to bring grand kids. Lots of things to see in area. Only complaint, couldn't stay longer!
Jul 17, 2014
We love staying at this KOA! So many amenities and a variety of things to do right there in the resort! Loved all the hanging flower baskets and the front entrance is lit up and looks so inviting. We have stayed here for the past 24 years!
Jul 17, 2014
Fairly nice campground however we found it way too big and busy for our liking. The biggest negative about your campground was the conditions of the showers, we found them to be extremely dirty. Even the benches for clothes were filthy. Some units had hooks missing and no benches, so there was no place for towels and clothes.
Jul 17, 2014
The grandkids loved it, plenty for them to do. We all enjoyed the horseback trail ride. Very friendly help.
Jul 17, 2014
Great resort. Lots to do. For the price, WiFi should have been more reliable. Great place for families.
Jul 17, 2014
When we arrived at our cabin: the wooden handle was hanging because a screw was loose, the lock had to be forced open (I oiled it), and there was a cigarette hole on the big mattress. The $10.00 "Resort Fee" is a ripoff. We will never again stay at a KOA that is run by a corporation. I used to think the Mt Rushmore KOA was the best (stayed 4 previous years)KOA; now, it's the WORST.
Jul 17, 2014
The kamp was very accommodating and had various events. It was convenient being placed by the restrooms and a small playground. I loved that breakfast was cheap with all you can eat pancakes. The location was fantastic for traveling from attraction to attraction. I wish we had more time and better weather to stay and enjoy all of the accommodations that were offered:)
Jul 17, 2014
See my previous review.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Great close location to Mt. Rushmore. Tons to do for families with kids. Our cabin was clean. The only negative was some of the showers didn't work and two of the five of us had showers that smelled like sewer. Other than that, I would stay here again.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
J'étais placé sur un site boueux, le 241, sans possibilité de changement. J'ai du annuler 2 jours sur 4 que j'avais réservés afin de changer de ville et de camping. De toute façon, il n'y a pas plus que pour 2 jours d'intérêt dans ce secteur du mont Rushmore.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
We aren't big campers, so staying in a cabin was perfect for us! The kids felt like they were camping, but we didn't have to worry about a tent, etc.. Thanks for making a family memory for us!
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Plenty to do, nice facilities.
Jul 17, 2014
The place is one of the most beautiful KOA's I have been to. There is really nothing you could look for this place didn't have. We stayed the extra night because tyhere was to much to see and do. We are looking into going there next year. The staff, especially, the gentlemen getting you to your campsite were very friendly and easy to talk to. All the staff had a big hello just in passing.
Jul 16, 2014
Great Koa,we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Great view, friendly staff, enjoyed pancake breakfast and horseback riding. Cons: pool and hot tub were poorly maintained.
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
What a place! The site was very, very large and it hosted a plethora of activities for the kids. It was clean, well maintained, beautiful surroundings, helpful staff, great coffee and so many options. It almost felt like a camping resort. I can see why they won the President's Award! My only regret is not staying longer!!
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
It was only for an overnight stay while sort of passing through. I found the campground so nice, I wished we were staying longer. Will stay there again if in the area.
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
The stay was very good , nice facility, lots of stuff for the kids. Staff excellent, location good to access other venues. The biggest concern is the public showers. Dated , mold on casings , shower floors cracked and leaking below . All this aside , we could have given you a perfect score. Seriously think about upgrading showers. Thanks : Derrick and Rhonda Johnson.
Jul 16, 2014
Was a nice KOA. Was tenting and they put us on a hill with no level area when there were plenty of flat spots at other open sites. Two of three dryers were out of order at our closest laundry area and nothing was fixed in the 4 days we were there. Plenty for kids to do and they had a blast. Close to everything.
Jul 16, 2014
Nice campground, large but not too busy. Plenty to do, good breakfast. Long walk from cabin to restroom, limited space around cabin, especially in front. Air Conditioning would be nice, especially with pets staying during the day. Otherwise, a nice cabin. WiFi was so weak we could not use it. Good location.
Jul 16, 2014
Always a great headquarters for the Black Hills. This year scheduled a day at the kamp so the kids could take in all the activities the kamp has to offer them. They loved the climbing wall.
Jul 16, 2014
Fantastic! Very kid friendly! Lots to do! Love all the amenities!
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Great place if you have kids. Lots of fun activities for them. Bathrooms by our spot needed cleaning more often.
Jul 16, 2014
We came with a 36 ft 5th wheel plus the length of the truck and gave us a space on a steep side hill and expected us to twist the unit downhill and around corner and then back in to space 594. They did give us a lot that did work only to find no sewer on that space. Next day by noon, issues were resolved by moving again to a full hookup space that we asked for from the beginning.
Jul 16, 2014
It was good, except there was no wifi connection and limited cellular connection. We expected wifi at least somewhere on the grounds.
Jul 16, 2014
Stay away from #624 - not at all level and fills with mud at the slightest bit of rain. Waterslide water was really dirty and splash park water was extremely cold; kids didn't enjoy it too much. Overall, campsite was clean and staff was helpful.
Jul 16, 2014
Staff was helpful, laundry facilities are just okay. Lots of dryers out of order. Great views, nice people, lots of activities for kids. Plenty of showers on a non-holiday weekend. We'd definitely stay again. :)
Jul 16, 2014
Great K9 park even though there was only one rather than two.
Jul 16, 2014
It would be great if the campsite we stayed in (646) had wifi, we had to go up to the front to get it. Everything else was great.
Jul 16, 2014
Cleanest, friendliest, quietest.
Jul 15, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.