Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 10, 2017
Fantastic all around.
Jul 10, 2017
Very clean staff very helpful and friendly
Jul 10, 2017
Jul 10, 2017
Sites are not level! Paths to restrooms are horrible! From nose bleed section to fun zone is to far without shade benches to rest! Need more shade and benches in fun zone!
Jul 10, 2017
perfect place to visit the black hills.
Jul 10, 2017
The Walt Disney of Campgrounds
Jul 10, 2017
The stay was excellent. My grandkids loved the fun zone. A way you could improve is by making the wifi usable.
Jul 10, 2017
This was by far the most disappointing stay I have had at a KOA. Very small site, the picnic table leg was rusted through and the boards were so old and warped it was unusable. Twice I asked one of the people driving around to have it looked at, which never happened. In this day and age, internet access has become almost a necessity. I was never able to connect 400 characters are not enough.
Jul 10, 2017
It worked really well for all of us
Jul 10, 2017
Love. This. Park. It was great.
Jul 10, 2017
Jul 10, 2017
The only bad thing I'd have to say is that when we checked in and tried to go to our cabin everybody was parked in front of our parking spot it took us till late that evening to finally get into a parking spot so we could go to work cabin we had to walk to other cabins with your other campsites and over a bridge to unload our stuff they were not very compliant with wanting to switch us to a cabin
Jul 10, 2017
Great facilities for our two boys and family! Loved the views as well!
Jul 10, 2017
Great environment with lots of activities.
Jul 10, 2017
We had a camping cabin( unswept and dirty)Way far uphill from any bathhouse(hillside needs steps) All the Resor's extras did NOT make up for the inconvenience and.. there's just no excuse for"Dirty"
Jul 10, 2017
The campground met our needs. We chose KOA based on availability. We really didn't use many of the amenities (pool, mini golf, etc) and prefer more rustic and private surroundings. But the campground was well maintained and had decent bathroom & shower facilities. The staff was courteous & helpful. No complaints!
Jul 10, 2017
It was a nice spot. Probably more suited for families then party type camping. Lots to do. Friendly staff. Clean. Only knock is the free maps for the area are available but are hard to find without asking.
Jul 10, 2017
Awesome staff!
Jul 10, 2017
This campground is located in a beautiful spot close to Mt Rushmore National Park, but away from the tourist trap congestion!
Jul 10, 2017
Great location, very clean, and friendly staff.
Jul 10, 2017
This resort has great amenities, especially if visiting with kids. The negatives...campsites are right on top of each other. We stayed at a tent site and we were crammed between cabins and other tents with not one piece of flat ground to pitch our tent on. Definitely no such thing as privacy.
Jul 10, 2017
I am so disappointed with this KOA. way to exp We booked several months in advance as 2 parties to be together. on arrival you did not work to get us together and had to use our cars to get to each others site. We will NOT stay here again. You need to fix this.
Jul 10, 2017
Women's bath - two showers were filthy & one was not working...needs better ventilation in bathrooms. For the cost, I feel that these facilities could be more conducive to comfort. Fee advertized should include all of the extras added upon check in - $118 quoted, $144 charged!
Jul 10, 2017
Amenities were nice. Friendly staff and restaurant was superb. RV exmaybe be different, but the tent sites were uneven, crowded, unshaded, and generally unsatisfactory. The showers were also less sanitary than we found in other State Parks on the way to the KOA. We were so disgusted with our tent site (#469) that we left without staying the night. Just showered and left before nightfall. just bad
Jul 10, 2017
We stayed in a cabin(rustic) and it was exactly as expected. Only complaint was the long walk to the Comfort stations(showers & restrooms) as they were located in the middle of the RV area. Most of these units have self-contained facilities so semi-puzzled why the stations aren't closer to rustic cabin/tent area?
Jul 10, 2017
SUPER FUN
Jul 10, 2017
Check in clerks were very nice and courteous. Campground is clean with a lot of activities. Worked great as a base for our activities off site. The campsites are very close together. Too many people for our family.
Jul 10, 2017
Let me start by saying that I'm a longtime fan of KOAs. This KOA however was not the standard that I have come to appreciate. We reserved a water/electric site for $60/night. When we got there they added $10 for amenities which we do not use. We had no choice. They advertised WiFi. It was non-existent. We NEVER got it. Four wheelers at all hours, items tied to trees. We will not be returning.
Jul 10, 2017
Jul 10, 2017
We had a great time camping and loved how this location was so close to mount rushmore.
Jul 10, 2017
We asked to move sites after first night because the tent site we had had no shade, no trees, and we were basically sharing a little field with other campers. whole campground felt clustered and cluttered, all sites were very tight together, small, and hard to even define 1 site from the next. Comfort stations always packed and filled with lines. Bike paths/sidewalks would do wonders.
Jul 10, 2017
Jul 10, 2017
The stay was great, only problem was that the car rental lost my paper work with my picture ID, Credit card info and address. was a bit shocking.
Jul 10, 2017
We LOVED EVERYTHING about it. Can't wait to come back
Jul 09, 2017
In 3 years of f/t travel and numerous KOA's, this is by far the largest, most crowded, busiest and most expensive KOA I've stayed at. I opted for a "Deluxe Patio" site - unfortunately, I was placed in site 121. Unfortunate for many reasons but out especially the traffic - Right across the road from the very busy check-in, close to the rear of the main check in building. Between a constant influ
Jul 09, 2017
Wonderful! So much fun. We had three cabins that were very nice. Location was perfect. Staff was friendly and quick to respond when we had concerns.
Jul 09, 2017
Fun - Great - Memorable! Read reviews prior to our 2017 4th of July visit. Yes the sites are close quarters and Wi-Fi is sporadic at best. But get past these two things and have a great time in the middle of the Black Hills! We loved our time at this KOA. Check out the UTV rentals, water slide, pools, fudge, ice cream, scenery, and mini-golf. Mt Rushmore, Hill City, and Keystone 15 minutes away.
Jul 09, 2017
Great stay extremely friendly staff. Comfort station #1 could use some updating but everything was in working order.
Jul 09, 2017
This is the 5th summer our family and friends have stayed. I call this the Disney of KOA. My only suggeston is to have a designated check in and Return for cars,atv and golf carts. I hit rush hour and waited in line a long time just to return golf cart keys. Also a little disappointed about having to now pay for wine tasting. It's free in hillcity.
Jul 09, 2017
Stayed a week in a deluxe cabin. Very nice place with lots to do.center of all attractions
Jul 09, 2017
The KOA is very nice, lots of activities, pool, Bikes, rentals, etc. There are wi fi hot spots however we got zero connection on 4 different divices. We also had zero tv for a week, therefore we had to leave camp to get info on wild fires in our home area. If you have kids may be worth the money but unless planning to spend time in park to use the activities I feel it's over priced.
Jul 09, 2017
Great place for people with children under the age of 12. A lot of free activities included in the stay for the kids to keep them occupied when not out sightseeing. Spotty wi-fi but only because I had to get some work done during my stay. Otherwise I wouldn't have needed it at all.
Jul 09, 2017
This place is amazing. So much to do and see you need 3-4 days minimum. Great staff, location, amenities, and food.
Jul 09, 2017
This KOA was a great place to stay as a family. The reasons for 4 stars instead of five: the bathrooms could have been better cleaned and the pancake breakfast (Extra $$) was lackluster. Plan to make your own breakfast and you'll be fine. My kids took advantage of all the Fun Zone activities and had a great time. We would definitely stay there again.
Jul 09, 2017
We were only in and out, but were really excited about the options available and hope to return. We were a little frustrated with the wait time for the escort to our site. We could have found it.
Jul 09, 2017
Always our 1st choice and the best KOA we have ever been to! Lots to do just at the resort, clean bathrooms and friendly staff. Thanks for another year of memories and until next time!
Jul 09, 2017
Have stayed here several years ago and the upgrades are great the fun zone was great..the ability to rent a car is a great asset. Great location
Jul 09, 2017
Had a wonderful time. A great atmosphere with plenty of fun things to do. Initial campsite was too small but your staff were willing to work with us to find something more suitable. Thank you for everything!
Jul 09, 2017
we were at site 195. This is in the middle of several very crowded Streets . No prinacy. Wifi did also not work. Positive: all you need is available.
Jul 09, 2017
Great place to stay
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals