Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2016
Everything was great the amenities and the staff a great place to stay HOWEVER the showers were filthy almost felt dirtier after a shower
Jul 26, 2016
Workes were friendly campsights a little small some of the restrooms needed attention
Jul 25, 2016
Friendly staff, Good central location to all the sites to see. No wifi in camping area (only at lodge)or cell service in campground and for a couple of people in our group kind of a pain as they had to check in with work while there. They rent 4 wheel bikes that hold 4 kids no designated area for them to ride so they are doing on streets of campground and of course they are not watching.
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
The facility at Mount Rushmore, SD was very nice. the site we reserved and stayed in was supposed to be 75ft. but we are 60 ft. total and had just fit in the pull-through. Very clean and staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 25, 2016
Le WiFi n'est pas toujours opérationnel. Pas de réseau téléphonique.
Jul 25, 2016
We shared a deluxe cabin with my sister's family. It did not sleep 8 comfortably. The sleeper sofa had a spring out the size of two softballs. The campground has a lot of stuff for kids, but it's just way too packed for our liking. We stayed there years ago and it was a more pleasant experience.
Jul 25, 2016
Beautiful camp, something for everyone! The addition of firepits and permanent seating around them at the cabins was an excellent addition!!! Many upgrades were notice. The groundskeepers are to be commended!
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Great time lots of stuff for the kids
Jul 25, 2016
Bathrooms were dirty. Resort fee unnecessary. Unfriendly staff. Not enough bathrooms for the amount of sites
Jul 25, 2016
Tried to write a comprehensive review but was cut short by the small number of characters. I'll head over to TripAdvisor to write a full review. Here is the Cole's Notes version. rude and impatient staff in the store Coffee shop not open due to staffing problems $10 resort fee is a joke and shouldn't be charge. Stayed in KOA's every night for two weeks and this one was the worst.
Jul 25, 2016
Our stay was fantastic however we would like to see a recycle station for water bottles and such after all camping is about being in the outdoors and being in the outdoors is loving mother nature and taking care of her
Jul 25, 2016
AMAZING! Just the most wonderful stay at a campground I have ever had. We got the free Rodeo. All the fun activities etc. Truly a resort experience!
Jul 25, 2016
Beyond FANTASTIC!
Jul 25, 2016
Great place for kids, not so much for a retired couple like us. Expensive and our site was adjacent to an overflowing dumpster, flies and smell were bad.
Jul 25, 2016
Family friendly campground, so many activities for the family to do together. Grounds are well kept and staff was friendly. Centrally located to surrounding area attractions.
Jul 25, 2016
Scenery was beautiful but staff was rude and not helpful what so ever. Extremely disappointed.
Jul 25, 2016
Great time with lots of family fun- surprisingly quiet, clean and still a relaxed atmosphere. Priceless time with family. thank you!
Jul 25, 2016
The 1st clerk at check-in ignored me, then the cashier in gift store was very unpleasant, then at the pancake breakfast, the lady asked me about my bottled water, she said outside food wasn't allowed and followed that statement up with "I wouldn't bring food into your home." ...what was I gonna do, walk all the way back to my tent site, leave my water, and walk back up to the pancake tent...wth
Jul 25, 2016
I liked the seasonal staff. I did not find the permanent staff as friendly.
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Mostly it was dirty and lacked the conveniences of other KOAs. Bathrooms were atrocious. No sinks for washing camp dishes. Stayed here bcz I wanted to ride horses, but their stables stunk like old zoo elephant habitats- and I ride, too. Lost my appetite for it.
Jul 25, 2016
I have always enjoyed staying at Palmer Gulch. The staff is so friendly and helpful. There are so many activities right on the campground it isn't even necessary to leave. There is some type of entertainment every night, we saw a chainsaw artist. The restaurant on site is delicious and reasonably priced and they also have a fast food restaurant on site too. And the pancake tent, amazing!!
Jul 25, 2016
My one complaint was that people who weren't staying at the resort came to swim. The pool was busy enough with paying guests.
Jul 25, 2016
We just finished a cross country trip staying at multiple different campgrounds. Some KOA, some not. We had three boys with us - ages 11, 12, & 13. This campground by far was the favorite. The staff was friendly. The campground bathrooms were clean. The setting of the Black Hills was amazing! Great place to stay!
Jul 25, 2016
The accommodations and activities offered would require an extended stay to experience fully. Clean, friendly, and accessible, this is a destination KOA, not just a stop along the way.
Jul 25, 2016
It was fantastic,been here several times and it's always nice it is just a great getaway and close to all the sightseeing areas. Sightseeing areas And we will definitely be back
Jul 25, 2016
Loved all of the ammenities! Fire truck rides, smores, magic shows, pool, slide, basketball, mini-golf were all great!
Jul 25, 2016
HAVE NEVER HAD A BAD TIME THAT RUSHMORE KOA
Jul 25, 2016
Kids loved it! We were not happy with the site we parked in. It was right on the main corner near the kid zone, too much activity, everyone walks by, kids movie on until after 9. We faced that way so no way to get away from it. Would stay again but tell the reservation not to put us ther.
Jul 25, 2016
Cabins are too close together, people behind us could be seen and heard at window, neighbors up until 3, air conditioning would be nice! Bathrooms are a hike, cleaning once a day with as many people that visited was not enough, clogged toilets stay that way all day, the wall behind the hand dryer was gross. Coffee at the coffee shop overpriced, beats Starbucks. The people working were very friendl
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
This site is awesome! The employees are helpful and friendly! Our cabin was clean and comfy! The comfort station we were near was clean and well kept. My only down is that we couldn't stay longer! Thanks for a wonderful weekend!
Jul 25, 2016
Extremely crowded and loud.
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
This KOA has everything to do. Your kids will love it. But... If you want any peace and quiet you won't get it here.
Jul 25, 2016
Everything u could want, but too busy for us. Tent beside us too close, talked each nite til 2 am, loudly. Nice activities.
Jul 25, 2016
Site was too small. - no place to park vehicle...on hill with little space. The pool was suppose to stay open until 10:00 PM and kids were told to leave at 9:15. Restroom facilities were good.
Jul 25, 2016
Love the campground but cabins were way overpriced for what you get!
Jul 25, 2016
We really enjoyed the all you could eat pancakes, mini golf, and wax museum. Would recommend a better place for women to blow dry after showers. It made the bathroom gross. Also there were so many people that at times I was worried we were going to hit someone while we drove.
Jul 24, 2016
Great for kids activities, which we did not need. No shade for most sites so it was really difficult to enjoy the campsite.
Jul 24, 2016
Much more crowded than I remember from last time. Lots of fun things to do.
Jul 24, 2016
Jul 24, 2016
We were disappointed in our camp sites. When we reserved our sites, I thought we were getting two sites next to each other or very close. We were miles apart. I said we would take full hook ups for both sites(pop-up didn't require full hook up as travel trailer did)as we wanted to be near each other. We feel we should have been told at time of reservation that we would not be near each other.
Jul 24, 2016
great campground, our kids loved the fun zone & it was located near a lot of the attractions we wanted to see. My only complaint is with a woman who worked at Turtles, my daughter has an anaphylactic egg allergy & when I asked about their chocolate i e cream she was very rude and insensitive. Luckily a nice boy was willing to help us, or we would have left.
Jul 24, 2016
Great campground. Bathrooms and showers not as clean as in other times we have stayed
Jul 24, 2016
Great place for kids -- so much to do!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy