Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 19, 2016
Best place ever, so much to do for the entire family.
Jun 19, 2016
Lots of fun activities for the kids
Jun 19, 2016
Jun 19, 2016
We were told when we made the reservation that it was FULL hookups.The receipt said FULL hookups it was not. The sight was pretty run down. Disappointed for the price,
Jun 18, 2016
This was out second time at Mt. Rushmore KOA. It is still a great place to stay, but they have expanded so much they havent stayed caught up on some things they need. They need another camp kitchen back past the second swimming pool. They also need to do something about the water system, it was orange and horrible tasting the whole week.
Jun 18, 2016
Great campground with nice amenities! Showers and bathrooms the best I've seen!!!
Jun 18, 2016
Great facility,family friendly,endless things to do immaculate highly recommended
Jun 18, 2016
Very clean nice Koa but the cabin beds leave something to be desired.
Jun 18, 2016
Fantastic!! Wish we could've squeezed in another day of our trip just to hang out at the park!!
Jun 18, 2016
The campground was very nice. Our deluxe cabin was very nice & perfect for our family of 4. We were very happy to be tucked up and away from the main campground for privacy. Only reason I am not giving a 5 star rating is because the pool was closed every day but one while we were there. Very frustrating. The kids were disappointed as the other pool was cold & smelled - next to the stables.
Jun 18, 2016
My Kids love it!!!
Jun 18, 2016
Nice stay in deluxe cabin with kids loft. Only hick up was I had made a reservation for a 6 seater UTV. Once there they gave me a 4 seater. (When I called to reserve I specifically had female agent check to make sure 6 seater. She said it was) luckily person had 6 seater didn't want it so we traded.
Jun 18, 2016
It is a must for me to tell them that I have been sent straight to the best campground in a central location for your vacation needs WE had a great time with the new friends Of KOA it's a great time for the hole family WE will be back
Jun 18, 2016
Jun 18, 2016
Only issue was one of the pools was not open all the time
Jun 18, 2016
Though the park is a great setting I would only recommend it for people with kids. Over priced for the services we had no dump and tough to get into with our size coach but I find all KOA's overpriced.
Jun 18, 2016
We had a great time! Tons to do for the kids at this KOA and close to a lot sites we wanted to see! Staff were very friendly and helpful!
Jun 18, 2016
Only place to stay in the Black Hills! Loved it. We'll be back.
Jun 18, 2016
WOW! Stayed a a lot of Campground/Resorts and this is what everyone else hope to be. If you have kids this is THE place. Well done from check in to check out.
Jun 18, 2016
The map showing the location of our camping spot was worse than useless. The 30 amp electric hook up was not 30 amp, it consistently tripped the breakers. We were charged an extra $20 for a "Resort Saver Package", whatever that was for. Overpriced and too big.
Jun 18, 2016
Great for kids and adults, so many things to do, VERY accommodating!!!!
Jun 18, 2016
Very clean, pancake breakfast was very good but should state pancakes are $3 for all you can eat. Had a courtesy phone which was a great idea. I thought thevresortvfee of $10 was a little much considering the price of overnight stay.
Jun 17, 2016
The staff were absolutely fantastic! Loved our nightly walks and visits to the ice cream shop. We will be back.
Jun 17, 2016
You need internet/cell reception!!!
Jun 17, 2016
The pancake tent took my money And refused me service even though I had pu.t my service dog outside! Disappointed in the anti American attitude. They got angry because I tried to discuss it ,and they refused to serve me. They said it was their right! Wish I did not buy that membership card!
Jun 17, 2016
They were accommodating when it came to switching our site to another that we liked better. Beware of what your neighbors might be like though.... The staff is great!! you will probably enjoy it. We are of a different kind, so if we were still who we used to be, we probably would have had a ball... Very convienently located and lots to do. MOTORCYCLES Will love this area!!! It's very nice.
Jun 17, 2016
Great for families with children
Jun 17, 2016
First time with RV and Mt Rushmore. Very nice hospitality. Did not come for the Rodeo but after that the first night it was all great.
Jun 17, 2016
Great kids activities. Clean. Pizza and restaurant were good, not great. Quiet campground. We didn't do the trail rides but watched others enjoying it, horse stalls were very nice. Fun bikes to rent. Check-in easy. Only complaint was our camper was way to big for the place we were assigned. Tree right there couldn't use awning.
Jun 17, 2016
Registration was quick. Everyone was very pleasant to work with and extremely friendly. Facilities were in excellent condition and very clean. We can't wait to stay again!
Jun 17, 2016
So much to do, kind helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere! Our kids favorite stop on a lengthy trip! Bathrooms were a bit messy at times, but with the number of people here it would be hard to keep up. Highly recommend requesting a tent site near the creek. Lots of fun!
Jun 17, 2016
Wish we could of stayed longer. So much to do. Great place.
Jun 17, 2016
Amazing amount of amenities! Friendly, helpful staff, very clean facilities. Very close to Mt. Rushmore.
Jun 16, 2016
Loved it!! We had our 3 kids with us and there was so much to do for them - we had a blast!
Jun 16, 2016
Cabin doors warped so not able to close completely, bathrooms a long walk with hills away. hot tub over run with kids (no kid rule needed in hot tubs or with an adult only).
Jun 16, 2016
Great campground with great amenities and lots for the kids to do. Almost didn't want to leave to go see the local attractions!
Jun 16, 2016
Great service. Friendly and efficient employees. My only complaint is in regards to the water. It was a clear brown. My water filter took care of some of it, but brownish water still flowed through the faucets in my trailer.
Jun 16, 2016
We loved staying here!
Jun 16, 2016
Super fun - wifi horrible. That's ok, you're on vacation.
Jun 16, 2016
Absolutely gorgeous KOA! Very well run and organized.
Jun 16, 2016
He overall grounds were nice however the bathroom facilities closest to our site was disgusting. Overall the concerns paled in comparison to the Mount Rushmore monument.
Jun 16, 2016
Was an awesome place to stay close to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse.
Jun 16, 2016
Jun 16, 2016
We were very disappointed with this busy campground. For such a big site the wifi connection was unacceptable, especially as there is no mobile coverage . The service in the Ponderosa restaurant was poor we waited over an hour for food which still didn't arrive. The management of this site needs an overhaul.
Jun 15, 2016
Not perfect, but above the median.
Jun 15, 2016
Wonderful stay. A lot of activities. Great staff. A little pricy.
Jun 15, 2016
We liked it! But whit such a luxury campground and then no Wifi, it was hard to stay in touch with our family in the Netherlands that was a disappointment. Then when you accept a stay from a 2 person without kids party. Why put them next to the playgrounds. Beside this we had a great time!
Jun 15, 2016
Too big, too many people. The sites were literally on top of one another. The sites on either side and right behind us were so close we could have all shared the same fire ring. Bathrooms were not clean - out of soap and toilet paper. Other campers were walking through our site all the time. This is probably what you get with such a big operation - think we will stick to the smaller KOAs in future
Jun 15, 2016
Great place for kids, so much to do.
Jun 15, 2016
It is obvious that it is a great family place. You do shine!!! A summer worker there told us that you are Christians, and it does show. Wish we could have made the church service before we left on Sunday. Stand firm, you can trust God's heart for you as you apply biblical standards to your business in all areas. Cheryl Gerger
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals