Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 18, 2016
The showers were gross - wouldn't use them. Great place for kids - came in late on Fri - got chased out on Sunday - could have enjoyed some kid activities prior to leaving but were told to leave because of check out time - mostly empty campgrounds should encourage people to stay - not push them out the door
Aug 18, 2016
Great location, but small and unleveled tent site for a high price. Shower, restrooms not as well maintained as in other kampgrounds.
Aug 17, 2016
Too short. Too expensive. I've been staying at this KOA since 1996 because I thoroughly enjoy it. But you have nearly priced me out of your market. About a 60 percent price increases over a 20 year span. I retired in 2007 and my income decreased 40 percent. There are minor maintenance and repair issues that have been ignored at least 3 years. I did put it in writing before I left this year.
Aug 17, 2016
Showers dirty Steep hill to get to bathroom Long lines at store/check-in Very disappointing
Aug 17, 2016
Great visit, our three kids had a blast and we didn't even scratch the surface on all there is to do! Campsites are a little tightly packed, but we didn't stay here for a camping experience.
Aug 17, 2016
Aug 17, 2016
Nice pitch, great facilities, although showers could have been a little cleaner.
Aug 17, 2016
Very nice. Lots of things to do. The trip for the lighting of Mount Rushmore was very nice and the program was very moving.
Aug 17, 2016
The grounds are beautiful. Nice flowers and well maintained. We stayed in a cabin so used to bathroom facilities and the ahowers were not really clean but usable. Must have rained alot before we got there because the showers were full of mud. Kids loved the fun zone and horse back riding.
Aug 17, 2016
Poor or no wifi. Does 911 work? Patrick
Aug 17, 2016
Love all the options for the kids and appreciate that most of them are "free" (easier to pay the $10 resort fee ahead of time than each time they want to do something)
Aug 17, 2016
Pleasant stay based on location and the services provided. place to eat and drink or just get a snack
Aug 17, 2016
Aug 17, 2016
Too big for us. Got put on just about worse site in campground.
Aug 17, 2016
Our only complaint is that we didn't have cell phone service or Internet.
Aug 17, 2016
the only fault is i paid a sight garrenty didnt get that sight
Aug 17, 2016
Aug 17, 2016
Very nice campground with lots of kids activities. WiFi was not very strong in the camp sites. Worked best at the office and when you are out of country and rely on WiFi to contact people at home to let them know you are safe poor strength in campsite is not helpful.
Aug 17, 2016
Awesome! Kids had a great time! Everyone was friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.
Aug 17, 2016
As soon as I got there it started to rain and the storms kept coming. Not a lot to do for kids when there is bad weather. We ended up leaving after three hours
Aug 17, 2016
Only negative was being put in the kid area when I specifically asked not to be in the child area. Booked on line.
Aug 16, 2016
Very Family Friendly, lots to do. Awesome for kids and the best KOA I have been to.
Aug 16, 2016
Beautiful campground! Pancake breakfast was a perfect start to our day! Very friendly staff! Only complaint was the hike from our tent site to the bath house....
Aug 16, 2016
Beautiful, safe setting, friendly staff and tons of family friendly activities made for a wonderful vacation to the Black Hills.
Aug 16, 2016
Great campground with LOTS of features and activities. Unfortunately wifi is unusable and cell service is very unreliable so you end up being very isolated - for better or for worse.
Aug 16, 2016
In the shower/bath house that's located in the middle directly from the office there needs to be an air exchanger and massive exhaust fan installed as its so humid in there after people have been showering.
Aug 16, 2016
Like the campgrounds but NOT thrilled with the site we were 1st given & changed. The bathrooms in the tent area NEED DESPARATE UPDATING & cleaned more often. (Worth the long walk to the other bathrooms for cleaner, larger showers) It's too bad people can't follow the quiet hours, they are up & about at 5 a.m. taking their campsite down, slamming car doors, talking LOUD.
Aug 16, 2016
Nice place to stay. Would have given 5 stars, but for the wifi. It advertised 3 hotspots, but connection was unusable almost the entire time.
Aug 16, 2016
We love this camp ground. Plenty of things to do and see in the area. Cabins always clean. The staff are always friendly and helpful. Excellent place!see ya next summer.
Aug 16, 2016
The showers an bathrooms near our site were picked up but not as clean as I expected. Shower seats had mold in crevices, the bathroom didn't smell very good even immediately after the cleaning staff was in there and the toilet water was yellow in color several times during our stay which made me question how clean the water was that I showered with.
Aug 16, 2016
Great place, but pricey.
Aug 16, 2016
Our stay her was very good the campground is spectacular. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The manager even took me to the Post Office to get a package that was sent to me.
Aug 16, 2016
lots to keep the kids going
Aug 15, 2016
Clean friendly lots of fun.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
Host was great. Will stay again
Aug 15, 2016
great grounds and facilities, just need some shade threes...
Aug 15, 2016
Wonderful stay and nice mountains and trees
Aug 15, 2016
Beautifull resort!Treated excelent!
Aug 15, 2016
great place for the family!
Aug 15, 2016
we stayed in a cabin - which was dusty from the ground - had a very long walk to the bathrooms and the camp kitchen - this is a very busy camp ground with lots to do - some of the trailer sites are very cramped.
Aug 15, 2016
A fun, fun place...so much to see and do. Wish we could have stayed a week.
Aug 15, 2016
The ladies working in the Kitchen on Saturday night 8/13 (Helena and another who's name I didn't catch) were awesome!
Aug 15, 2016
had a blast
Aug 15, 2016
The cabin was very small to accomodate 5 people. There was only one shelf and no other benches or places to set personal items. Also, the cabin was very far from the bathroom and down a steep hill - not a trek I'd want to make in the middle of the night. It would be nice if basic bathrooms with toilet/sink were more plentiful even if you had to walk a little further to the shower house.
Aug 15, 2016
Shower house was very uncomfortable due to lack of any exhaust or ventilation; also lacked convenient shelving and/or hooks. Wifi/mobile capabilities far below advertised service. Rating and referral would otherwise be higher.
Aug 15, 2016
Great place!
Aug 15, 2016
My family and I had such a great time camping there (I have been camping plenty of times personally, but it was the rest of my family's first time). My wife is now fully on board with camping in the future and she has already been looking into camping at other KOA sites around the country.
Aug 15, 2016
Been staying here since 2000 always been excellent nicest Koa we stayed at keep up the good work thanks mike
Aug 15, 2016
Lots of activities for the kids. Great campground.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals