Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 06, 2015
X
May 05, 2015
Fantastic! Staff was exceptional.Beautiful well maintained grounds. Excellent proximity to area attractions. Would definitely return!
May 04, 2015
We had a terrific time! The only thing that was disappointing was that some of the amenities were not open that we thought should be, like the bike shop! But over all we had a wonder wonderful time!
May 04, 2015
Bathroom/shower facility has unisex showers that were spotless. Gravel road freshly graded. Some sections have gentle slope to rv parking sites. Very helpful staff. One bar verizon.
May 03, 2015
We actually showed up almost 2 weeks before they were open for the season and we were able to stay all by ourselves! Granted we had no water, but had electricity. It was awesome to wake up to deer grazing outside our trailer.
Dec 23, 2014
Nov 06, 2014
Nov 02, 2014
Staff was great. Physical condition of site was very good. Location was excellent. Two problems: had to pay extra for resort fee;however, last week of season not all amenities were avail. Second: tons of flies in our cabin. Paid extra instead should have gotten a discount instead of paying more.
Oct 19, 2014
Most of the amenities were closed for the season but we appreciated the central location.
Oct 16, 2014
THIS CAMPGROUND HAS NO PROBLEM COMING IN AS THE #1 CAMPGROUND FOR KOA!
Oct 16, 2014
Love the restaurant.Came late and left early, but all was fine. Beds were a little close for the bunks. Almost bumped my head in morning. A little dark when walking to bathroom at night.
Oct 16, 2014
The restaurant on site is awful. We stayed 3 nights and the bathrooms were never cleaned the whole time. Yuck.
Oct 16, 2014
They were very helpful in helping me resolve an issue with my tow vehicle. I cannot say enough about the staff and their assistance.
Oct 16, 2014
Oct 15, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
this park is more expensive than the rest of the parks we visited.
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 05, 2014
All the staff members were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely recommend this KOA to anyone who asks! The park was beautifully kept, also.
Oct 05, 2014
Hi, we are from Germany and traveled by RV from Minnesota to South Dakota. Your campground was the best on our way. Clean, comfortable, friendly stuff and a wonderful place to relax and enjoy all the sightseeings in the Black Hills. S. and G. Bauerfeind
Oct 05, 2014
Oct 04, 2014
very friendly and helpful staff beautiful resort
Oct 04, 2014
Was a large campground with plenty of room. Had an event when we were ther and was a pleasant surprise to the stay.
Oct 04, 2014
Best, biggest KOA I've ever seen! Amazing facility.
Oct 03, 2014
Great reception and directions. Poor internet. No cable TV access. Restaurant was open for last evening and missing many items. Would come again if in area.
Oct 01, 2014
I've never had to pay 3 dollars or any amount per dog per day at any rv park before.
Oct 01, 2014
You actually have a great campground but the lack of internet/phone service is unacceptable to people like us who run their business from the road! Wouldn't recommend this to anyone who needs to stay connected!
Oct 01, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
DO NOT STAY HERE. No oven or cooktop in deluxe cabins. No real coffee maker. Water gave my daughter and wife diarrhea. Staff unwilling to repair problems found in cabin. Wifi is advertised but has poor coverage and is as slow as dial-up. Campground restaurant is the worst food I have experienced anywhere. This review is cross-posted on Google+ and Yelp.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
WOW!! Fabulous location! Friendly folks! Amazing forest scenery from our rv! Wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights. Best KOA ever!!! and the restaurant on premises was such a bonus. Stayed in late Sept. but I bet summer would be so great with all the activities!! Highly recommend.
Sep 30, 2014
Clean and well maintained - just wish that all the activities and shops weren't closed during our stay.
Sep 30, 2014
Wonderful
Sep 29, 2014
Great place to stay
Sep 29, 2014
Perfect location. Clean campground with lots of room and easy access.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
This stay was our first with KOA. We were very pleased and recommend it highly. Thanks for helping our vacation being successful. We had a great time!
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
I had a very good experience at this kampground. no complaints.
Sep 28, 2014
Cabin fuses came off..slept with ot lights or heat,Parking in wrong place,bathrooms to far away
Sep 28, 2014
Most beautiful campground we have stayed during our cross country trip. Well worth the effort to stay at this campground. Excellent staff and very helpful.
Sep 28, 2014
Beautiful scenic campground Friendly staff Thanks to Jim who went above and beyond. Tell him thanks from Susan and John site 104.
Sep 28, 2014
One of the best campgrounds we have ever stayed at. Great staff, location, beautiful area, and easy to find all other area attractions. You folks should be proud of your campgrounds. A+
Sep 28, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
The restrooms and showers were very well kept.
Sep 26, 2014
We loved the campground,it was very nice. unfortunately we were there at the end of the season and many things were closed up. I would not, however, recommend the Ponderosa restaurant.the food was all from cans or frozen and was not good.
Sep 26, 2014
Sep 26, 2014
GREAT people & location.Disappointed some things at park were shut down for season, but understand!
Sep 26, 2014
Great service
Sep 25, 2014
the staff was extremely pleasant

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.