Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 26, 2015
The campground was clean and well maintained. When our reserved testate was very mucky from the unusual amount of rain, the staff was very helpful in allowing us to move to a drier site.
Jun 26, 2015
The stay was great! I was disappointed that the two sites that we booked were not put next to each other like promised.
Jun 26, 2015
We came with our Son and his family. It was a great place for the gandkids. They totally loved all the activities available. Wonderful family place to stay. Best KOA that we've stayed at. Thank you,
Jun 26, 2015
The staff was friendly and helpful. Our campsite was in great condition.
Jun 26, 2015
This was my 4th stay at your beautiful KOA but the first time for my parents who stayed in the Palmer Gulch Lodge. From the reservation process for both locations to our stay everything was great. I love this location and won't stay anywhere else in the Hills.
Jun 26, 2015
Nice location poor service when it comes to phone and Internet which hasn't improved over several years. I was having auto issues and couldn't even call anyone to help me.
Jun 26, 2015
road speed
Jun 26, 2015
Way too busy and hectic. We were assigned a poor site on a steep slope. Sewer out fall was up hill and difficult to drain. Poor drainage on pad. Had steak dinner at Ponderosa which was over priced and not good. Staff was helpful.
Jun 26, 2015
No chair in cabin No WIFI for Apple products High cost
Jun 26, 2015
No Cable, No Antenna TV, No Internet, No Cell Phone Service, Very dirty Showers, like showering in a mud hole. No transportation from front to back for tours. Need more gravel in drive, RV really muddy, could not walk to front without boots. Will not be back.😢
Jun 26, 2015
Even though we got heavily rained on during our stay, the dryers helped us clean it all up and the staff was great about transferring us to a cabin for the second night
Jun 25, 2015
Overall great experience. Baths/showers by 2nd pool should be cleaned more often. Very sandy,wet and slippery.
Jun 25, 2015
Nice KOA but very busy and noisy if up in front. Had a deluxe site which was very nice but the power washers going on for hours on end weren't.
Jun 25, 2015
Location was perfect.
Jun 25, 2015
The campground was clean and well laid out. Had no issues with our stay. Staff was helpful and always had a smile on their face.
Jun 25, 2015
Jun 25, 2015
It was a muddy swamp. I understand KOA cannot control the weather but they can control the drainage. Very disorganized front desk. The first spot they sent us to was occupied. The second spot had 8" of water where the hook ups were. The third and last spot available had 2" of water. The spot next to us sat vacant for our stay and was completely dry. No WIFI of Cell Service.
Jun 25, 2015
The swimming pool could use some updates Lots of activities for young kids Bathrooms were very clean, especially the new one
Jun 25, 2015
Great place. We will be back.
Jun 25, 2015
Almost too big. It does not have the small family campground feel. There was two major storms while we were there and not one person asked us how we were doing.
Jun 25, 2015
Great family friendly resort, clean and fun for the kids! Although we paid extra for wifi, there was no wifi. Don't be fooled and pay the extra for it!
Jun 25, 2015
Great place to stay, very clean! I was super impressed how clean our cabin was!! Loved all the great things to do there for families!! Wish we had more time to stay! Great location, close to everything!!
Jun 25, 2015
Overall we had a ton of fun at all the attractions, appreciated the clean bathrooms and showers and it was mostly good weather. The only thing we didn't like was that our campsite was on a hill and it was hard to find a good spot for our tent.
Jun 25, 2015
Awesome had a great time😀😀😀
Jun 25, 2015
Jun 25, 2015
I wish I could bring all 12 of my grandchildren here and my 5 great grand children. The staff was very helpful and the prices for the extra was reasonable. Thank you Hill City K.O.A.
Jun 25, 2015
My children loved it there. We liked the variety of activities, food options and shower and laundry availability. We enjoyed horseback riding. The wranglers and guide were all very nice and helpful. My only complaint is it would be nice to have more spacing between sites and trees/shrubbery for privacy and to feel more woodsy or "campy".
Jun 25, 2015
Thank you and we had a wonderful time during our stay. Our Granddaughters were happy just to be there and enjoyed all the children's facilities that you have available. Wished we would of had a longer stay and hope to be back soon!
Jun 25, 2015
Huge KOA lots of things to do for the whole family.
Jun 25, 2015
The lodge was nice but the campground needed to be mowed. The bathhouse #4 was very nasty. Showers full of dirt hair and rocks the toilets had black rings. We left a day early due to the conditions of the bathrooms. We complained and then it was the first time in 2 days the restroom was cleaned some what. My standards are much higher than their efforts. I don't anticipate we will ever use them
Jun 25, 2015
CAmpground was very wet from previous rIn and unfortunately our hook up was in 1 inch of water sewer connection not reachable had us dump station next day staff was very helpful good not great experience
Jun 24, 2015
Beautiful scenery family/pet friendly,already talking about next year.
Jun 24, 2015
Bath house by pool wasn't cleaned for about 3 days that is the only problem I had
Jun 24, 2015
We weren't expecting the huge size of this KOA. It was a bit bigger than we would have liked. It seemed to have everything though and was quite busy. Considering the proximity to Mount Rushmore, that's to be expected.
Jun 24, 2015
This is a great place for family gartherings, very family friendly. Very well maintained, staff is great.
Jun 24, 2015
We were there three nights and got hail two of them. Last year I was there two nights and got hailed on once. I no longer think it is a occasional occurrence. Now I need to replace my truck and my tent. Too bad really. I love this campground!
Jun 24, 2015
We had a wonderful time! All of the staff there were very helpful and friendly. Thank you for having us!
Jun 24, 2015
Very nice campground! It was very clean and lots to do for kids of all ages. The scenery was beautiful as well. The staff was very friendly & helpful! We stayed in a cabin that seemed brand-new. Everything was perfect! I would definitely return again if ever in the area!
Jun 24, 2015
Great Campground for families. Not so much for those of us wanting a quieter experience. Very large campground but just too many people. Did experience Golf Ball size hail stones in the evening. Made it one of the most memorable nights at a campsite at which I have stayed.
Jun 24, 2015
Seem to be more concerned about appearances at the front door than customer service. Bathrooms and shower house at upper area-DISGUSTINGLY DIRTY, NO shower mats, NO shelves for shower items, curtains too small for shower area-did you cut them in half? Way over priced for the quality of service.
Jun 24, 2015
Had water under camper 5 days. No internet. Little space between spots. Designed for kids. Too big a camping. Place. No ladder available to check the hail damage everyone had!
Jun 24, 2015
Much too high a price to stay in a jammed up campgtound. Wifi was totally useless. Everything is much more expensive than a regular koa. Staff was friendly and kids had fun. Good pancakes.
Jun 24, 2015
Employees were wonderful. Our camper did not fit in first site given. The second site was on an incline.No place to put picnic table on level ground. Fire pit too close to camper.
Jun 24, 2015
When we checked in the older dark haired woman was not friendly at all. We felt like cattle being herded through a gate. this was by far the dirtiest and muddiest KOA we have ever stayed in. Roads need a lot of improvement and so do the campsites. Very noisey, could not use wifi in any area and no cable tv. We will not be back
Jun 24, 2015
It had rained before we arrived so it was so muddy. The showers were extremely dirty. Hair in the drain, what looked like mold on the bath mat,toilet plugged & muddy footprints on floor.I didn't use that shower but none of them were very clean. Looked in them the next day & looked as if they had not even been cleaned. We stayed in June in a Trailer.
Jun 24, 2015
Wonderful staff and facility.
Jun 24, 2015
KOA- our favorite in Midwest. Rushmore altered opinion. Excited about trail rides; during ride, "gentleman" freely smoked vapo-cig and veered off trail, saying he wanted some fun. Do you want your guests' children to be exposed to this behavior at your facility? Your guests were clueless-walking thru occupied sites. A camping etiquette handout might be helpful at check-in.
Jun 24, 2015
Was not told about incoming storm at check-in, campground has no emergency weather notification plan. Internet was out, so I had no other source to know it was coming. Endured life-threatening hailstorm in a tent with no warning to seek shelter.
Jun 24, 2015
Camp site was a swamp asked for new site after they gave away site we were suppose to be in that was high and dry and was told all other sites were full we proceed to see full hook up which is what I had be empty through out are stay and numerous so called deluxe sites wasn't Even offered to get one if I paid difference I was put in crappy site that they had no plans of using by there mistake
Jun 24, 2015
No one showed us to our site. I had to flag down help since my site had too much water to stay on and ask for a different site.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.