Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 26, 2015
it was exceptional clean and very tidy.
Oct 26, 2015
It was nice to have a place to stop and plug in when all other campgrounds were completely closed for the season. Looks like beautiful facilities.
Oct 20, 2015
Oct 20, 2015
Awesome! Even off-season it was fabulous
Oct 20, 2015
stayed in after season and it worked out great, had power and dump but water was off. I'd come again.
Oct 16, 2015
It was a wonderful park. Very friendly staff.
Oct 15, 2015
This is the only campground that we stay at when we go to the hills. Everyone VERY friendly and helpful there.
Oct 13, 2015
great att, great stay
Oct 11, 2015
Oct 10, 2015
wifi and cell phone crevice was poor
Oct 10, 2015
A nice palace with a lot of amenities!
Oct 07, 2015
Great campground, beautiful views. A lot of amenities were closed because we went there after Labor Day. The bathrooms and showers were really nice.
Oct 07, 2015
we were pleasantly surprised, we have not stayed at a koa and were very impressed with yours
Oct 06, 2015
What a wonderful campground. We were in town for the Crazy Horse Marathon. We look forward to coming back in the summer. So much to do. The location is close to both Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore.
Oct 06, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff .Clean and well maintained.
Oct 06, 2015
This is a great KOA and we are looking forward to coming back this summer for some fun!
Oct 06, 2015
Oct 06, 2015
Enormous campground. Well maintained and very clean bathrooms. We were disappointed that they didn't keep the hot tub going until they closed.
Oct 05, 2015
We really loved the campground and all the great things you had to do. Your location makes it easy to get to the popular tourist areas. We had interactions with several of the staff and had very positive results. Thank you.
Oct 05, 2015
Very nice campground. Stayed in a deluxe cabin and the amenities were great. Only issue was no lights to help light the roads, difficult to find our cabin.
Oct 05, 2015
We had a great stay here. Very relaxing and just what we needed. It's also so close to so many wonderful little towns and Mt. Rushmore, if you're in the area it's a no-brainer to stay here. Beautiful campground and fantastic staff. Couldn't ask for more!
Oct 05, 2015
Although we're not fans of KOAs, coming in late in the season meant that some parks were closed and others had shut off their water, so this was really our only choice. Boy, did we regret it! The front office help was unfriendly, almost surly. This is promoted as a luxury park with many activities and amenities, but they really need to pay more attention to their RV sites. The roads and pads in
Oct 04, 2015
Enjoyed our stay at your camp ground. Very clean , great staff very helpful, beautiful surroundings too. We will be back for sure thank you again.
Oct 04, 2015
Hard to find.
Oct 04, 2015
We stayed at this campground the last week that they were open to RV's for the season. The place was very clean and had nice spaces. It had many amenities although stores were already closed for the winter. Great place to stay. Maybe a little pricey.
Oct 04, 2015
Phenomenal views and great facilities. Many things for children to do. Quick access to Mt. Rushmore area attractions.
Oct 03, 2015
I wish we lived closer to this KOA, I would take my Grandkids here every year! I will be looking for other KOA's like this one in California! We were an all adult group with 8 people, stayed in 3 cabins and 1 motorhome; it was a perfect location to see the sites and the cabins were great. Our group took advantage of the fire rings and the decks. We had a great time.
Oct 03, 2015
Wifi did not work. Even when it does it's only available at the main bldg. no cell service. Store only open until 6. Tried to speak to a manager and he never returned my call. Unhelpful staff
Oct 02, 2015
Great campground which lived up to all expectations!
Oct 01, 2015
Very well laid out camp site. Little or no road noise. Very clean and up to date facility.
Sep 30, 2015
Great place!
Sep 30, 2015
Sep 30, 2015
Very efficient and friendly staff and the location was perfect. Centrally located in the Black Hills. Super clean!
Sep 30, 2015
Great stay. Quiet. Good water. Could use more powerful wifi.
Sep 29, 2015
Awesome KOA! Great staff and wonderful activities for the family. Will definitely be back.
Sep 29, 2015
Nice clean bathrooms and showers.
Sep 29, 2015
I was disappointed with our stay at this KOA. I was expecting this fantastic place for our kids to enjoy and found almost all of the fun things closed down for the season. This was not mentioned when I made the reservation. When trying to rent bikes we were told two different prices. The bathrooms were run down and water in the sinks and toilets were brown. Not sure I would return.
Sep 29, 2015
Liked everything about it!
Sep 28, 2015
it was great!!!
Sep 28, 2015
The cabin was clean and the location was great!! There is poor cell reception and the bathroom stalls are tiny. The running water is rust color so we were reluctant to use the facilities for showers or brushing teeth. We still paid the 'resort fee' even though the pools were closed and the pancake breakfasts were closed for the season.
Sep 28, 2015
Great location, loads of activities and great resort!
Sep 28, 2015
The free wifi here is terrible. When we got to our site to set up, the site next to us had put their tent on our site so we were right next to them and there wasn't anything we could do because they close the desk at 6:00 pm which is really early for coming in on a Friday night.
Sep 28, 2015
Great to have the restaurant as an option. We had a tent so, the parking lot ambiance was a bit of a drag for us.
Sep 28, 2015
Late season. Nearly all reasons to stay at this "resort" and pay the price were closed. Off season rates should be much less. Good location though clean. Utilities for the site we had were too far away, needed double lengths of hose, cable and electric. The patios were a nice touch and everyone was very friendly. Don't count on internet connectivity even in the alleged hot spots.
Sep 28, 2015
The cabin and campground were wonderful. I'm not sure who owns the pub and restaurant, but they were not very friendly. The pub was closed the two days we were there. Me and the 3 other people with me ordered appetizers and beers at the restaurant(that was almost empty) and we were told that our business was not wanted unless we were going to order dinner. We will NEVER go there again.
Sep 28, 2015
Very nice campground and friendly workers. Only complaint is that there was a streetlight right in front of my tent, so it wasn't as "campy" of an experience as I'd hoped.
Sep 28, 2015
We just needed somewhere to pitch a tent for one night. Very glad we found the KOA. The facilities were really nice and the campground was quiet.
Sep 28, 2015
Playground was awesome, understand pool being closed, but not the other extras. Quiet, bathrooms clean, could use an update.
Sep 27, 2015
standard camping cabins could be cleaner
Sep 27, 2015
Awesome accommodations! Perfect location to see everything.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals