Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 24, 2015
As usual pretty good stay, Busy place but bathrooms can be cleaner and WiFi has got to be fixed. Has been an issue for the last three years. Since cell reception is so bad WiFi is a must.
Aug 24, 2015
Our site was at the top of the hill and was wonderful. Beautiful setting and friendly people.
Aug 24, 2015
Nice clean place. Convenient showers/restrooms and friendly staff.
Aug 23, 2015
We enjoyed the adjacent horseback riding and location the most.
Aug 23, 2015
Awesome place for families! Staff were so great, and all the facilities were very clean and well maintained.
Aug 23, 2015
The resort is in a great location. There is so much for the kids and whole family to do! The free mini golf has seen better days but the pools and splash pad were very nice. Our camper cabin could use a little love and the bathrooms were quite a hike to get to. Overall, we had a good stay.
Aug 23, 2015
Beautiful resort with lots to do. Great amenities. Great family resort but too many kids riding rented bikes, etc. Very dangerous. If you go, be sure you stop by the wine tasting and ice cream shop!
Aug 23, 2015
This KOA has it all. Our secoƱd time there. Will definitely stay again.
Aug 23, 2015
NO WIFI
Aug 23, 2015
Only wish the map was better.
Aug 23, 2015
Wonderful,so much for the kids and family.grandkids loved the planed entertainment each night. and the facilities where clean. A great exsperience.
Aug 23, 2015
Too many people, poor wifi, and under staffed.
Aug 23, 2015
Aug 23, 2015
Aug 23, 2015
Really fun place for kids. Bathrooms and showers are clean. My only "complaint" was we were sleeping in a pretty big tent and were given a very small tent site. This place is so big that I didn't want to drive back to the registration desk to ask for a different site so made it work. So if you are tenting, be sure to ask for a site that will accommodate your tent size at check in.
Aug 23, 2015
Very nice and affordable campground. Lots to do.
Aug 22, 2015
The staff is as always friendly and helpful, the activities on site were sufficient to keep our kids entertained. The only let down was our Deluxe Cabin, I felt it was a little small and at times I felt like I was in our travel trailer, and for the price I paid I should not of had to replace my own Towels and toilet paper.
Aug 22, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
Loved everything about the campground and most of all the Staff went beyond in helping us when we had truck problems! Thank you for making our week a wonderful family trip!
Aug 22, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
Kids loved it! Very family friendly!
Aug 22, 2015
Great accommodations a just a little to crowded for us if you do return we will reserve a site that is a little more off the path of cars.
Aug 22, 2015
Minus the all day and all night rain it was a beautiful area for a campground but the tent sites were too close to the cabins as well as each other. The bathroom facilities were nice and showers clean!
Aug 22, 2015
Cabin and bathrooms were very dirty
Aug 22, 2015
Absolutely no cell service or available wifi make an otherwise great campground pretty inconvenient. We had to drive to make a phone call.
Aug 22, 2015
Great place to go
Aug 22, 2015
You are too expensive and the receptionist was rude to my brother from the minute he walke into your office.
Aug 22, 2015
Staff is super friendly and helpful. At fist I was worried about staying up the hill, but it did work out and quieter then below. I have a service dog and I was treated very well. We enjoyed our stay. stay.
Aug 22, 2015
Can't wait to come back.
Aug 22, 2015
Poorly trained staff did not offer escort to site and provided useless directions. Hotspot wifi useless because instructions not provided. Too much money for such poor service.Hilltop site very tilted and uneven. Road to hilltop difficult to get traction on for heavy, large rig.
Aug 22, 2015
Very high price, with too few toilets, and no campsite WiFi; WiFi was only available at 2 campground entrance WiFi hotspots - vacations and the need to stay in touch are not mutually exclusive! Also, despite the offer of guides to take us to our campsite, the polite office folks should have been able to show us how to get there on our own, but were not able to do so.
Aug 22, 2015
Makes you feel like a kid again.
Aug 22, 2015
The KOA itself was great- except that the property was SO big it took us nearly 20 minutes to find our campsite (it was dark, but did not have enough signage). The bathrooms were very clean! Unfortunately, we were given a spot no more than 15-20 feet away from a playground so we were awoken well before 6am from children playing. Great place for kids- I would NOT recommend if you don't have kids.
Aug 22, 2015
Nice but virtually no internet or cell service available and had a terrible bartender

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your review! While we are unable to control the cell service here in the valley we are actively looking at ways to improve our WIFI throughout the park. I will pass along to the restaurant about your experience with their bartender. We know they will appreciate your feedback!
Aug 22, 2015
Wonderful stay and many things to do for the kids,our 9 and 11 year old had a great...

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your most recent stay at our Resort! We love hearing that your family had such a fun time during your visit. We hope to see you next camping season! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Aug 21, 2015
Lots to do here. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because no phone or internet service or cable.
Aug 21, 2015
Super variety of activities for children. Accommodated us cheerfully and easily when we decided we needed different accommodations. Sorry to say the advertised wifi is virtually non-existent(even in their "internet cafe" and cell service is truly sketchy. That said, we will happily return!
Aug 21, 2015
WOW, it was absolutely beautiful!! There was so much to do especially if you brought children. We hope to bring our grandson next year.
Aug 21, 2015
The park was nice and centrally located to see everything. Our site was muddy but overall a good stay.
Aug 21, 2015
Lots of amenities, activities and excitement! A very large, crowded KOA, not a quiet camp experience. It was much harder to let my kids roam free because it was like being at an amusement park. I would go there again.
Aug 21, 2015
It was GREAT!
Aug 21, 2015
Aug 21, 2015
We had to chose which KOA for going to Mt.Rushmore from Chicago and we decided here for location (so we don't have to drive more than 30 min for attractions we wanted to visit) and looked fun for kids. It was perfect between modern and country life. We could get wifi or 3g, but comes and goes. (I think it's depends on your device.) We saw chipmunks, but they didn't visit our two room cabin.
Aug 21, 2015
Aug 21, 2015
We had a great time and found all of the employees we met to be very friendly and helpful. Hope to see you again in the future. Thanks.
Aug 21, 2015
The KOA is impressive and clean as a facility. However, I don't appreciate paying a $10 resort fee on top of a pricier than usual kamping kabin. The only "resort" amenity available was the pool which should be standard. We couldn't use the rock climbing wall, after asking at least 4 staff members, it turned out nobody really knows when it is operational only that it is not often. Staff rude.
Aug 20, 2015
Very nice campground. Could use more bathrooms. Overall vry nice
Aug 20, 2015
We loved all the activities for kids! No Wi-Fi or cell phone use through out the park was a definite bummer!! Our cabin had a big puddle of water out the front door and in our fire pit 4 of the 5 nights we stayed. We talked to the office about this but no solution, you need to build a wood patio out front cabins(check out Butte KOA).
Aug 20, 2015
Beautiful park, so many things to do for all age groups. So close to all tourist sights. Thank You for hospitality.
Aug 20, 2015
It's an OK facility. Hot tub was filthy. Sites were anything but level. We had two days of rain and some of the sites had 6" of water in them. No cell phone service whatsoever. Paid for the 5 grandchildren to take a trail ride but they were cancelled and closed, so I'm not sure how I'm going to get the $150+ back. ATV's were a blast.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.