Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2016
Wonderful views. Very clean! Loved the UTV rental.
Jul 22, 2016
The shop did not have sufficient clerks to help everyone, people were in line for 15-20 minutes to buy ice in the evening before we left for the lighting ceremony. We needed to purchase an item but couldn't wait and the store was closed when we returned.
Jul 22, 2016
We don't usually stay at KOA. This was a great location and we liked the stay. Very large place with lots to do. The bar makes good drinks! People are so nice at camp, I wish the world was one big camp grounds.
Jul 22, 2016
Hot showers. Plenty to do. Quiet by bedtime. Lots of family options to plan and do. Great facility.
Jul 22, 2016
This was our first time camping at a KOA Kampground. Our original vacation plans were to camp one night and stay in a hotel the next night. We were so impressed when we got to our tent camp site, that we immediately cancelled our hotel reservation and reserved the second night at KOA! We plan on coming back next year, bringing more family, and staying longer!
Jul 22, 2016
Awesome KOA. Great for the kids. Only complaint is that the tent sites are too close together and not level.
Jul 22, 2016
Loved the skit. Clean bathrooms!!! Nicely kept up grounds and camping cabin.What a great place.
Jul 21, 2016
Stayed here many times. Very clean. Family friendly. Rodeo was a special treat! Wish you would reinstate recycling. Looking forward to next summer! Thank you for a great stay.
Jul 21, 2016
Absolutely amazing. Great activities and very friendly staff
Jul 21, 2016
Had a wonderful time. Campsite was in excellent condition. The fun park had what every child would want. I would recommend this campsite to anyone that wants a fun get away.
Jul 21, 2016
Great overall. Customer service and the cleanliness of the bathrooms/showers could definitely improve.
Jul 21, 2016
My kids love all the activities, highly recommended!
Jul 21, 2016
The kids loved all of the activities and amenities, the water slide especially. Lovely setting and great campground!
Jul 21, 2016
Way over priced. No WiFi ,no TV for news,no phone service.. Could not get an emergency call. Lost family member. didn't know for two days.Water bad can't even wash clothes. Would not recommend
Jul 21, 2016
We had a wonderful time!! We go to the Mt. Rushmore KOA every year.
Jul 21, 2016
Concrete patio, swing, grill and fire ring!! 15 min from Mount Rushmore and other attractions. Staff was very friendly.
Jul 21, 2016
Great place to stay! Lots to do with kids of all ages.
Jul 21, 2016
we loved the whole experience. There was lots to do and the area was beautiful. They even let us change tent sites so our boys could use their hammocks. The only thing we didn't like was the sand in the Volleyball pit it was full of rocks. They should just make it a grass court. We would definately stay here again!!
Jul 21, 2016
Everything was good except that we had some trouble to level out the motorhome. The site was so uneven that the standard yellow wedges were not good enough.
Jul 21, 2016
Staff was extremely accommodating, we lost our tent in a bad wind and rain storm and they were so nice in giving us a cabin to stay in for the night till we were able to replace our tent, above and beyond, the only thing that was not good was the food in the restaurants and the prices were a little much, but enjoyed our time for the most part.
Jul 21, 2016
This KOA is probably great for families with children, but for two retired folks we did not care for it. The wifi did not work and we needed to do banking and check our travel plans and could not. We had to go Mt Rushmore to get any wifi. Our phones did not work well either. We felt the sites were small for the prices. Again if you have children this KOA is probably just what you want.
Jul 21, 2016
Friendly
Jul 21, 2016
Jul 21, 2016
Best we have stayed at. Staff was wonderful.
Jul 21, 2016
We didn't have enough time for the kids to play because it rained. But we still had a great time!
Jul 21, 2016
First time at a KOA and was skeptical to try but this facility out performed our expectations as it was clean, with many extras we never knew would have been offered. The staff was well organized, courteous, and helpful in every way. I'm sure not all KOA's are this nice but this one was great. We were given a nice quiet spot on the outer edges of the campground after calling the same day.
Jul 21, 2016
Great stay. Great tent camping spots. The only negative thing I would say is that our camp spot was missing the number plaquered. This made it difficult to find and even the person that escorted us wasn't sure but gave us a spot in the area of where it should be. But I would stay again when I am back in SD.
Jul 21, 2016
1)Packed in like sardines! 2)There was meant to be a dump at your site but I never found it. 3)Noisy. 4)Incredibly expensive for what it was. 5)Crap food at their restaurant Ponderosa. 6)No internet service even though they promise free wifi. 7)Badly lit areas with very small signage - impossible to find your spot at night. 8)Lousy customer service:I rang 8 times in a 2 hour period. No ans
Jul 20, 2016
Great place and location. Well kept up. Bathroom/showers were cleaned consistently. Please get a recycling program for plastic bottles.
Jul 20, 2016
Had a blast! Kids loved the fun zone.
Jul 20, 2016
Everything was great except my mom and dad stayed at the lodge and there bathroom had mold all over.
Jul 20, 2016
Plenty to do if you have young children.
Jul 20, 2016
BEST KOA I'VE EVER STAYED AT!! I will be coming back again.
Jul 20, 2016
Second time here. The people are friendly and always willing to help if needed. We had family flying out of Rapid City . They rented me a vehicle and allowed me to leave my camper there after my days were up until I could get back from Rapid. We will be back.
Jul 20, 2016
We had a blast! We were disappointed in how crammed in everyone was. It took away from the "camping" experience a bit!
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
This campground has everything you need, and is kept clean.
Jul 20, 2016
We had a wonderful time. This is the perfect campground for families with hound kids - the amenities and activities were great! My kids loved the pools, water slide, playground, and organized activities like the movies and crafts. The grounds are very pretty and well-maintained. It does get a bit crowded, but we were fine with that!
Jul 20, 2016
Fun place to stay with family, and lots to do on the campground.
Jul 20, 2016
This was a very nice KOA we really liked all the amenities lots of people but it was overridden by the wonderful amenities at this resort. This was our 4th time at that KOA.
Jul 20, 2016
For the busiest KOA in the country it ran really well. Major thunderstorm with hail as we were setting up. The staff was very helpful and made sure everyone was alright.
Jul 20, 2016
Lots of amenities and close to several historic and family fun locations!
Jul 19, 2016
This is by far the best KOA we stay at. This is are 4th summer here. There is something for everyone. We can't wait to come back next summer.
Jul 19, 2016
Best yet! Extremely family friendly, kids loved it.
Jul 19, 2016
Great for all ages!Very clean and fun activities all around!
Jul 19, 2016
We had a great time! This is the place you want to stay if you have kids! There's so much for them to do! Our family loved the UTV ride and the horseback riding as well. There's something for everyone young and old:)
Jul 19, 2016
The camp was everything we wanted and the kids needed - things to do for the kids that were easily accessible in a lovely setting - great pancake breakfast made it easy to get the family ready for adventures in the nearby area - Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Sylvan Lake, Custer State Park and the amazing Mammoth Site. Kids did not want to leave and asked to come back next year - just fabulous!!
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
We absolutely loved our trip and this Kampground was our first KOA experience. we couldn't say enough great things about the staff and how many great activities they have. It was so hard to leave.
Jul 19, 2016
Everything is great except for cell and internet coverage which are horrible.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals