Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 27, 2016
Sep 27, 2016
Our RV spot was muddy and the picnic table was falling apart. The young man who checked us in was in a bad mood and not helpful. We would have liked a more expensive site but was not offered one and we are KOA members. The WIFI was terrible since you get knocked off it every 5 minutes. It is our means of communication.
Sep 26, 2016
Excellent stay with four guys on motorcycles
Sep 26, 2016
Nicest KOA I've ever stayed in. Great staff and KOA is well maintained.
Sep 26, 2016
Beautiful campground, nice showers,restrooms,,restaurant and gift shop. Friendly help.
Sep 26, 2016
Started off bad. Didn't show us our site. Help wouldn't help us find it. When found, not long enough for 21' camper. several trips to office. Only nice lady there was Judy. Got better site. Almost all things advertised was closed a week before labor day. Courtesy ride to Mt Rushmore cost more than parking at Mt Rushmore. only good things was location & Judy. Might have left without her t
Sep 26, 2016
Cabin was very clean and comfortable.
Sep 26, 2016
We went to the Black Hills late in the season so all of the concessions were already closed but from what we could see there is plenty for the kids. TV reception in the mountains is non existent so unless you have a satellite dish or get one of the few premium sites. The staff is friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean. We will definitely stay here again.
Sep 25, 2016
Great place.
Sep 25, 2016
Very expensive but well-run operation. Really the only campground with ready access to Rushmore.
Sep 25, 2016
The roads in the park were narrow and a bit confusing-especially with no escort upon arrival. Also-mapquest directed us through Keystone, which meant we had to drive past the Mt. Rushmore entrance-a route the guide book recommended avoiding due to the steep twisting road. Much easier (and) shorter to come from Hill City. Also, a simple sign at the exit indicating which way to turn for Hill City/K
Sep 25, 2016
The place is beautifull but the front desk staff go above and beyond to make your life as miserable as they can. So we left to another place. Maybe other KOA places are not like this
Sep 24, 2016
No cell service was a problem as I needed to check on my brother in the hospital and other family
Sep 24, 2016
First visit to Mount Rushmore KOA and we were impressed with the cleanliness and size. Even though we stayed after all the activities closed for the season, we could tell it is a great place to vacation with lots of activities. We will stay here again.
Sep 24, 2016
Sep 24, 2016
Outstanding The Central location to all surrounding parks and sightseeing drives that a person would take and showcase the areas beauty and rich history is perfect.
Sep 24, 2016
Clean, enjoyable, friendly
Sep 24, 2016
It is a beautiful campgrounds.
Sep 24, 2016
Beautiful park. No cell service at times and wifi was hard to get, but understandable with the location in a valley.
Sep 23, 2016
having everything on site was awesome
Sep 23, 2016
Loved it! We'll be back.
Sep 23, 2016
Was very nice. But when I unhooked my water hose I put some in a 5 gallon bucket to flush waist tank. It was brown and full of rust. That's what I showered in for 6 days. Otherwise very nice.
Sep 23, 2016
Good location but no cell service or wifi. Nice restroom and shower facilities but the sites are small. We couldn't keep our car on our site with our 35 foot motorhome. The dog park was not cleaned or resupplied in the three days we stayed.
Sep 23, 2016
Although it was close to the end of the RVing season, the KOA staff remained friendly and professional.
Sep 23, 2016
We had a very nice stay. Quiet, beautiful scenery and great location for touring the area.
Sep 23, 2016
Excellent!! Great sites. Great restaurant. Only drawback - NO cell service and very poor internet.
Sep 22, 2016
Had a great stay, people are very nice. Had planty of space. Would have liked to have WIFI.
Sep 22, 2016
the facilities were great. They need to get Wifi to whole campground. No TV unless you're hook to cable. Cell service in the campground not great. That is not their fault.
Sep 22, 2016
beautiful place
Sep 22, 2016
all good
Sep 22, 2016
If they had internet service in the actual RV camping area I would have given them 5 stars. Keep in mind no cell phone or internet services anyplace but the check in store are.
Sep 22, 2016
Probably one of the BEST we stayed at..... Very friendly, clean and well laid out
Sep 22, 2016
This may be a nice place in season but off season the rates do not reflect the services. We parked in a gravel area, with straw for grass with intermittent Wi-Fi at best and no TV reception. We were told the restaurant was open until 9:00 Pm but when we went for dinner at 8:05 it was closed. When trying to make reservations we were disconnected several times. This park may be better in season
Sep 22, 2016
They have basically shut down for the season, most amenities closed, WiFi horrible but still charging a "resort" fee. Not worth the $$!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for the misunderstanding about resort amenities and activities. We will do better with the listings online. I also did check you payment record and a Resort fee was not charges.
Sep 21, 2016
Wonderful place to stay. Amazing staff.
Sep 21, 2016
Friendly stuff, quiet
Sep 21, 2016
Beautiful facility. Great view. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay again and recommend to friends.
Sep 21, 2016
Sep 21, 2016
Amenities galore were advertised but during our stay - ALL CLOSED. Apparently, shutting down for the season means BEFORE you shut down for the season. YET we were STILL charged the SAME high price as if all amenities were available. Will never stay here again. We left 2 days earlier than planned. No AT&T nor Verizon phone service, no internet & only 6 cable channels of which ONE comes in clear.
Sep 21, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. The bathrooms were amazingly clean. We came on the off season, but wished the ice cream shop would have been open yet.
Sep 21, 2016
Wonderful people to deal with.
Sep 20, 2016
A great place to stay in the summer for folks looking for a campground with plenty to do. When all those extras are open or available the resort fee makes perfect sense. When many of these extras are closed, when they don't escort you to your site, and when they don't deliver firewood, the resort fee is not fair. Could not find our confirmed reservation. Great location saves this KOA.
Sep 20, 2016
We stayed here years ago and were very pleased. This time we were very disappointed. First KOA where they did not escort us to our spot. We pull a 40' 5th wheel with a crew cab short box. We were too long for our spot. I was too tired to try to manage to drive back to the office and too tired to walk. I am not young anymore. So we unhooked and found some parking a distance off. GREATLYDISAPPOINTED
Sep 20, 2016
Staff were friendly, store was well-stocked, bathroom facility was clean and very nice. We would definitely camp here again!
Sep 20, 2016
Very nice park but no mention of a $3/day dog fee when making reservations, nor do they tell you that only 36 out of 615 sites have cable, nor there is no TV reception from your antennas, nor that you have zero cell phone service from any provider. I asked for a cement pull through site when making my reservation and was told my site was paved. No cement pads in the park. Lots of mis-information.
Sep 19, 2016
Our Kabin was full of dead flies. I was hoping for an "off season" rate. No such thing existed. Over all facilities were good.
Sep 19, 2016
everyone was very friendly, it was very clean, and there was a lot to do for the little ones. We would gladly stay there again.
Sep 19, 2016
Super nice campground. My favorite in the Black Hills so far. Lots of space and activities for my kids. When they say the WIFI is limited, they aren't kidding. All of the campgrounds in the Hills are expensive, and this one is no exception. Other than price and WIFI they are 5 star. Will stay again.
Sep 19, 2016
Sep 19, 2016
Can't beat the location and the staff was excellent!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy