Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 4

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 19, 2016
We liked that it is central to everything in the Rushmore area, but the restrooms were not that clean. Our RV hook up experience was not good. The water hookup leaked and we could not use the water because we arrived late in the evening. They did fix it in the morning, but not having water was a pain.
Sep 18, 2016
Once settled into our camping cabin, all was fine (took few times to get into the correct one). Having no internet or cell service at campsite very difficult. Nice place for kids!! Lots of activities and close to major sites.
Sep 18, 2016
Extremely clean and organized- highly recommended to family and friends
Sep 18, 2016
no chair available for the desk- is available at other KOAs. no place to sit except on bed. Had to ask for an electric heater which was then provided. poor access to bathrooms. but is clean with great bathrooms altho not vented from showers so whole area hot and steamy.
Sep 18, 2016
We were very disappointed with this KOA. All of the activities were shut down because it was after Labor Day but the prices were not discounted. We were told that we have purchases full hook-ups. No TV and Internet service was only at the registration desk. Very disappointed!!!!!
Sep 18, 2016
A little pricey. More of a resort than a campground. Beautiful area and easy access to Rushmore and other tourist attractions nearby. No WIFI or phone or anything due to location in a valley. Clean facilities. Off season it was very nice!
Sep 18, 2016
Amazing bathrooms and showers! We weren't able to stay long (one night) but we definitely want to come back. Very nice place!
Sep 17, 2016
Very nice Campground.Enjoyed the restraunt for breakfast and dinner. Would definitely stay there again.
Sep 17, 2016
Sep 17, 2016
Muddy need cement or at the very least gravel parking slots. Otherwise quite lovely
Sep 17, 2016
We loved our time there thank you
Sep 17, 2016
Very expensive for what you get! Pull through spot had huge puddles of water from rain( need to be filled in and better drainage - no wifi or phone bars at all - only in the laundry room! Very expensive and many of their services that they promote are closed after Memorial Day but no discounts fir staying! Washrooms clean!
Sep 16, 2016
We loved the campground, thought maybe the sites we a little closer to each other than we would have liked. Staff was very nice and the views were amazing. Loved that you could rent a car so we didn't have to drive out huge truck thru the hills. Really enjoyed it!!!!😃
Sep 16, 2016
Resort KOA so a little pricey. Most amenities were not available due to being the day after labor day. No cell service and the wifi doesn't reach the campsite made planning the next phase of our trip very difficult. Extending the wifi to the campsites is a much needed improvement to this KOA.
Sep 16, 2016
Great set up and lovely staff!
Sep 16, 2016
All activities were close for the season but it is a great camp ground
Sep 16, 2016
Beautiful landscape, centrally located to everything. Loved the place! One lady in gift shop wasnt friendly.
Sep 16, 2016
More than a campground this KOA is a resort with lots for kids to do. We stayed in September when it was mostly us retired folk. Quiet, safe and clean. A bit high priced probably because of proximity to Mt. Rushmore.
Sep 16, 2016
No cell service nor wifi
Sep 15, 2016
We had a great time there. Everything we did was so fun it was the best koa we have ever stayed at. Having activities all for kids was great. The staff was always nice. We are coming back next year.
Sep 15, 2016
We arrived at 12:30am after a long day on the road. The space we had been assigned was way too short for our rig but it was corrected the next morning. The WiFi was almost non-existant but other than that we had a great time.
Sep 15, 2016
What an awesome place!!! We were so impressed with the cleanliness of the park and all of the things there were to do without leaving the park. My three kiddos ages 9-15 had plenty to keep them busy for our 5 night stay. Pancakes were great and we all enjoyed the icecream and pizza.I would say that the only thing I was a little disappointed with was the friendliness of some of the staff.
Sep 15, 2016
This is a premiere RV park. Everyone was so friendly and nice. A bit expensive for an RV park.
Sep 15, 2016
Too crowded. Too many young kids. Too much noise. Cheap laundry machines that don't do a good job.
Sep 15, 2016
The location was fantastic and the hiking was great. Could have used a more secluded camp site, but where we set up was beautiful.
Sep 15, 2016
Very nice accommodations. Highly recommend your lamp. Thanks
Sep 15, 2016
Sep 15, 2016
Sep 14, 2016
Sep 14, 2016
Fantastic facility with all amenities. Good restaurant, lots of showers, kid friendly. Helpful staff also.
Sep 14, 2016
Very nice, enjoyed our stay! Great location!!
Sep 14, 2016
It was good. The washrooms are clean.
Sep 13, 2016
Clean and friendly
Sep 13, 2016
Great Campground, Not Happy with the extra fees, need to address the lack of Wifi on site, due to the very poor cell service in the area. Every thing else was about as good as it gets.
Sep 13, 2016
Campground centrally located in Cody. Very friendly and helpful staff. Only downside is horrible WiFi even sitting in he office.
Sep 13, 2016
Sep 13, 2016
Had a great stay. Liked there was a restaurant on site. Staff was helpful and overall wonderful. Store was well stocked for our needs. The only problem was there was no cell, TV or Internet service and we needed to keep in touch with family. I made good use of the courtest phone that was awailable. We were also thrilled the stables and riding were available after Labor Day.
Sep 12, 2016
Sep 12, 2016
Palmer Gulch was by far one of the best KOA's our family has stayed at. There were many activities for the kids to enjoy and take part in. We rented a deluxe cabin and had no complaints. It was very clean and stocked with what we needed.
Sep 12, 2016
We really enjoyed this location, although we visited when most of the amenities were closed down. The wifi didn't work, which was difficult when we needed to be connected for work.
Sep 12, 2016
Very close access to Mt Rushmore which I guess justifies the price. Great sites, restroom could be cleaner.
Sep 12, 2016
Stayed in a camp cabin....Bathroom was located in the middle of RV section, waiting line to use two toilets, not camp cabin friendly.....
Sep 12, 2016
The Disneyland of campgrounds. Great layout, lots of activities and things to do and the location is beautiful.
Sep 12, 2016
Beautiful location for KOA. Loved all the amenities (horses, restaurants, shows, stores, rentals). However, although advertised, there isn't internet service that works often or consistently. In addition, the bathrooms were never cleaned for the 48 hours of our stay and the showers were filthy. And the swimming pool was also dirty - my son wouldn't swim in the pool.
Sep 12, 2016
We have recommended your KOA to others already.
Sep 12, 2016
The staff was super friendly and helpful. Gorgeous park with lots of activities for the kids.
Sep 12, 2016
The first site we received was a big mud hole, after setting up we had to move as we couldn't get into our vehicle with all the water and mud. Second site was dry but water had to be shut down for repairs. When turned back on water was brown for quite a while then finally cleared. We extended our stay by one more day but was greeted the next morning by a loud knock on door to check out. Rude.
Sep 12, 2016
This is a great KOA and the people are very nice and helpful. They had two water line breaks while we where there and it plugged up my water filter and others in the Camp. Lots to do here at this KOA and around it. Would stay here again. Jeff
Sep 12, 2016
Great!
Sep 12, 2016
Stay was great. Would help if maps were more accurate and easy to understand.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals