Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 28, 2015
Very nice campground and friendly workers. Only complaint is that there was a streetlight right in front of my tent, so it wasn't as "campy" of an experience as I'd hoped.
Sep 28, 2015
We just needed somewhere to pitch a tent for one night. Very glad we found the KOA. The facilities were really nice and the campground was quiet.
Sep 28, 2015
Playground was awesome, understand pool being closed, but not the other extras. Quiet, bathrooms clean, could use an update.
Sep 27, 2015
standard camping cabins could be cleaner
Sep 27, 2015
Awesome accommodations! Perfect location to see everything.
Sep 27, 2015
We loved visiting the Black Hills area. Gorgeous landscape and major landmarks to see. The KOA was clean and handy location for visiting the many beautiful monuments. THANKS!
Sep 27, 2015
This looked like a nice campground from the front. The camping cabin we had would have been nice if it hadn't had piles (literally piles) of dead flies on the window sills and the we hadn't spent the whole night with the live ones buzzing around the cabin. This was y first time renting a rustic cabin like this. I don't know if this is normal for this type of thing but I didn't like it.
Sep 26, 2015
Very large KOA. No generous camp space/privacy as adverstised. Lots of amenities for kids. Close to attractions. Would recommend other camp sites all within a few minutes of attractions.
Sep 26, 2015
No contact with outside world. Too bad. Nice otherwise.
Sep 26, 2015
Sep 26, 2015
Could tell the young folks were at seasons end not rude but very curt. More mature staff very friendly
Sep 26, 2015
Beautiful campsites, but do to end of season all the amendities were closed.
Sep 26, 2015
The store needs to stay open later than 6 pm. Awesome KOA.
Sep 26, 2015
pretty place
Sep 24, 2015
Very friendly staff. Very dog friendly. Lots of grassy areas to walk dogs. Very nice clean bathrooms and showers.
Sep 24, 2015
I wish some of the ammenities had still been open, but other than that it was very nice!
Sep 23, 2015
We had a great time at the KOA the rental car was a bit beat up. The campsite and facilities were great.
Sep 23, 2015
It was busy due to time of year and activities at Sturgis. The washrooms were only cleaned once/day which left them filthy for most of the day. Must give kudo's to the office for successfully accommodating a request for additional days in the same site.
Sep 23, 2015
Friendly staff, great location, nice campground.
Sep 23, 2015
The grounds were beautiful, but 3/4 of the campground was already closed for the season. No WiFi or cell coverage. The pool and shops out front were already closed for the season. The prices were still high. I wouldn't stay there again. Not worth what they charge.
Sep 23, 2015
Not too clean in bathroom or in cabin. Pool was closed too.
Sep 23, 2015
Sep 23, 2015
Clean facilities and campground. Close to about anything you would want to do. Nice store and excellent service.
Sep 22, 2015
The area is BEAUTIFUL. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The amenities are very nice and comfortable. The only challenge is cell phone/wifi reception is nonexistent, which could be an issue for those who need to have access.
Sep 22, 2015
great
Sep 22, 2015
Restrooms and showers need attention
Sep 22, 2015
The least friendlist KOA that we have stayed at in a month as well as the most expensive. they charged us full price plus extra for our dogs but most of the services were closed down (pool, hot tub and the general Store). Also no Wifi in the campground unless you wanted to sit at the main building. They were not very helpful. when we phoned to book a campsite we asked about the evening tour
Sep 22, 2015
Awesome... Very nice, friendly, Will return
Sep 21, 2015
Very well planned and operated camp ground.Well staffed,clean and friendly.We have stay there many years and will come back in the future.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great review about our Resort! We love to hear that we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for your loyalty and we will see you on your next trip to the Black Hills! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 21, 2015
The campground was great but two days later I realized it was Value Kard Appreciation Weekend and I had paid full price for 2 nights, even using a $50 rewards. I called to try to fix this oversight but just got the phone call run around.
Sep 21, 2015
The campground was really nice with a view of the mountains and a small lake. The staff was very friendly. The store has every5hing you need from beer to water. The showers and restrooms are really clean. You can even rent special bikes that can fit up to 4 people. Great place to stay!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great review! We love that we exceeded your expectations and hope to see you again next camping season! Sincerely, Danielle Akey - Assistant Manager
Sep 21, 2015
My stay at the campground was great I liked everything about it and will definitely be back
Sep 21, 2015
Beautiful grounds. Restaurant and cabins were great. Lovely place to stay and lots of kids' activities.
Sep 21, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
Dogs not on leash. People speeding in the campground. Was given s very poor space when many others were available. Staff ok but still driving way too fast.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our Resort. Thank you for making us aware of the speeding and pets not on a leash; we will address the speeding with our staff and be on the lookout for pet owners not adhering to our leash rules. Sincerely, Danielle Akey
Sep 21, 2015
This weekend was after the "season" which resulted in almost all of the facilities were closed. There was no pools, water slides, climbing wall, or bouncing pillow open. Just the put put course. When we asked about the bouncy pillow we were told there was no one to man it. We would have gladly paid the $10 "resort" fee to have some of the other activities open.
Sep 21, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay, everything was perfect for us.
Sep 21, 2015
Stay was great but it would have been nice to know all the stuff for kids was shut down for the season. We didn't see that advertised anywhere. Campground was clean, nice and friendly staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your great review! I'm sorry we did not communicate effectively that our activities run from Memorial Day to Labor Day. We will work to have this in a more visible place so you will not run into this problem in the future. We hope to see you next camping season! Sincerely,Danielle Akey
Sep 21, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
Excellent t facil Excellent facility but wi co needs to be improved a lot He Excellent ca iLife
Sep 20, 2015
Amazing place! Something for everyone! Highly recommend it!
Sep 20, 2015
Just Wonderful!
Sep 20, 2015
Perfect location. Very well maintained.
Sep 20, 2015
Sep 19, 2015
no cell or wifi service
Sep 19, 2015
Best KOA this trip (5 visited). Staff was very friendly, lots of activities. Kids loved the pool and golf, parents the hot tub. Very close to everything in the black hills and showers were hit and clean, spacious.
Sep 19, 2015
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Sep 19, 2015
Too close to next campsite; grass yellowed from dogs; no wifi or cell service
Sep 19, 2015
The service was excellent. The bathrooms were modern and clean. Great location for venturing out to sightsee. Nice views. Restaurant was good. The only thing that could be improved is WiFi service. What more could you ask for than a coffee and wine bar next to the Laundromat!
Sep 19, 2015
Nice resort. Great facilities.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals