Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 05, 2014
Hi, we are from Germany and traveled by RV from Minnesota to South Dakota. Your campground was the best on our way. Clean, comfortable, friendly stuff and a wonderful place to relax and enjoy all the sightseeings in the Black Hills. S. and G. Bauerfeind
Oct 05, 2014
Oct 04, 2014
very friendly and helpful staff beautiful resort
Oct 04, 2014
Was a large campground with plenty of room. Had an event when we were ther and was a pleasant surprise to the stay.
Oct 04, 2014
Best, biggest KOA I've ever seen! Amazing facility.
Oct 03, 2014
Great reception and directions. Poor internet. No cable TV access. Restaurant was open for last evening and missing many items. Would come again if in area.
Oct 01, 2014
I've never had to pay 3 dollars or any amount per dog per day at any rv park before.
Oct 01, 2014
You actually have a great campground but the lack of internet/phone service is unacceptable to people like us who run their business from the road! Wouldn't recommend this to anyone who needs to stay connected!
Oct 01, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
DO NOT STAY HERE. No oven or cooktop in deluxe cabins. No real coffee maker. Water gave my daughter and wife diarrhea. Staff unwilling to repair problems found in cabin. Wifi is advertised but has poor coverage and is as slow as dial-up. Campground restaurant is the worst food I have experienced anywhere. This review is cross-posted on Google+ and Yelp.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
WOW!! Fabulous location! Friendly folks! Amazing forest scenery from our rv! Wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights. Best KOA ever!!! and the restaurant on premises was such a bonus. Stayed in late Sept. but I bet summer would be so great with all the activities!! Highly recommend.
Sep 30, 2014
Clean and well maintained - just wish that all the activities and shops weren't closed during our stay.
Sep 30, 2014
Wonderful
Sep 29, 2014
Great place to stay
Sep 29, 2014
Perfect location. Clean campground with lots of room and easy access.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
This stay was our first with KOA. We were very pleased and recommend it highly. Thanks for helping our vacation being successful. We had a great time!
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
I had a very good experience at this kampground. no complaints.
Sep 28, 2014
Cabin fuses came off..slept with ot lights or heat,Parking in wrong place,bathrooms to far away
Sep 28, 2014
Most beautiful campground we have stayed during our cross country trip. Well worth the effort to stay at this campground. Excellent staff and very helpful.
Sep 28, 2014
Beautiful scenic campground Friendly staff Thanks to Jim who went above and beyond. Tell him thanks from Susan and John site 104.
Sep 28, 2014
One of the best campgrounds we have ever stayed at. Great staff, location, beautiful area, and easy to find all other area attractions. You folks should be proud of your campgrounds. A+
Sep 28, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
The restrooms and showers were very well kept.
Sep 26, 2014
We loved the campground,it was very nice. unfortunately we were there at the end of the season and many things were closed up. I would not, however, recommend the Ponderosa restaurant.the food was all from cans or frozen and was not good.
Sep 26, 2014
Sep 26, 2014
GREAT people & location.Disappointed some things at park were shut down for season, but understand!
Sep 26, 2014
Great service
Sep 25, 2014
the staff was extremely pleasant
Sep 25, 2014
Well run, great layout. Could use stronger wifi
Sep 25, 2014
It wasn't bad, but there was only one person to check campers in and work the gift shop when we checked in around 6pm there was only 15 spots out of over 200 that had T-V hookups and the wi-fi was unattainable .
Sep 24, 2014
Very nice!
Sep 24, 2014
Internet was very slow and only worked part of the time. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our stay. Water was coming up from under the tiles in the lower laundry room.
Sep 24, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
Beautiful, clean campground with so much to do. Can't wait to go back!!
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
The park was large, clean and quiet. The quiet part is unusual for a KOA. I would have liked to have internet at my campsite as I am also working while on vacation, but this was not a big drawback.
Sep 22, 2014
Our stay was great, it is a beautiful campground. While I realize that when we were there you where close to closing for the season, we were very disappointed in the food service at the restaurant. They were out of several items on the menu. My only suggestion would be to make sure that what is on your menu is available at all times of the year. We only visited once, our first night there.
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
The family atmosphere could not be greater than it is at the Palmer Gulch KOA. We visit there at least once a year and look forward to returning next year. We say THANK YOU to everyone there.
Sep 22, 2014
Everyone there was very nice. The grounds were very clean, as were the shower areas. The polka paloosa was fun.
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 21, 2014
We always love staying in the KOA cabins. This particular cabin was in need of some tender loving care though. Floor was separating from walls and they were using duct tape to close the gap. Porch was very unstable. Fire pit was not cleaned from last tenant. Other than that it was a great location beautiful KOA and lots of great attraction.
Sep 21, 2014
I was traveling alone with my dog, and as a female traveling alone can be scary, but the members of this koa were wonderful. They put me in a spot that I was near the restrooms and the office and one member whose name I'm sad I didn't get brought my dog a tennis ball and told me where I could get someone if I ever needed help. Thank you!
Sep 20, 2014
There were gnat problems and a dead bird outside the restrooms (which remained there even after telling someone. Fortunately we had a camper and didn't need to use the restrooms.
Sep 20, 2014
This KOA had great amenities, showers, games, activities, playgrounds, etc. We were there after Labor Day so many of the activities had stopped but I can tell it would be a very hopping place during the summer. We appreciated the parks and they left the mini-golf supplies out so the kids could play. The staff was friendly.
Sep 20, 2014
A terrific site and the the staff were fantastic!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.