Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 23, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
The park was large, clean and quiet. The quiet part is unusual for a KOA. I would have liked to have internet at my campsite as I am also working while on vacation, but this was not a big drawback.
Sep 22, 2014
Our stay was great, it is a beautiful campground. While I realize that when we were there you where close to closing for the season, we were very disappointed in the food service at the restaurant. They were out of several items on the menu. My only suggestion would be to make sure that what is on your menu is available at all times of the year. We only visited once, our first night there.
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
The family atmosphere could not be greater than it is at the Palmer Gulch KOA. We visit there at least once a year and look forward to returning next year. We say THANK YOU to everyone there.
Sep 22, 2014
Everyone there was very nice. The grounds were very clean, as were the shower areas. The polka paloosa was fun.
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 21, 2014
We always love staying in the KOA cabins. This particular cabin was in need of some tender loving care though. Floor was separating from walls and they were using duct tape to close the gap. Porch was very unstable. Fire pit was not cleaned from last tenant. Other than that it was a great location beautiful KOA and lots of great attraction.
Sep 21, 2014
I was traveling alone with my dog, and as a female traveling alone can be scary, but the members of this koa were wonderful. They put me in a spot that I was near the restrooms and the office and one member whose name I'm sad I didn't get brought my dog a tennis ball and told me where I could get someone if I ever needed help. Thank you!
Sep 20, 2014
There were gnat problems and a dead bird outside the restrooms (which remained there even after telling someone. Fortunately we had a camper and didn't need to use the restrooms.
Sep 20, 2014
This KOA had great amenities, showers, games, activities, playgrounds, etc. We were there after Labor Day so many of the activities had stopped but I can tell it would be a very hopping place during the summer. We appreciated the parks and they left the mini-golf supplies out so the kids could play. The staff was friendly.
Sep 20, 2014
A terrific site and the the staff were fantastic!
Sep 20, 2014
Friendly employees, great RV site, and great facilities.
Sep 19, 2014
it was great well kept, clean and pretty seating. will be back someday. Mid September a little late for the shops to be open but lots to see close by.
Sep 19, 2014
Great time there everyone friendly and helpful. Campsites a little close but they made it very campy with horses on site store and restaurant. Would come here agsin
Sep 19, 2014
Amazing kampground! Super friendly and helpful staff. Well maintained grounds and restrooms/showers. Very convenient location between Crazy Horse and Mt Rushmore. We definitely plan to stay here again!
Sep 18, 2014
Fantastic facility! Not five stars because of poor WiFi.
Sep 18, 2014
Sep 18, 2014
Approaching end of season so very quiet but a great location. Loved the deer coming onto site and the night sky was amazing
Sep 18, 2014
We have stayed at a lot of koas since aug 4 this year. We came to Rushmore on the 9/12-9/17. We asked about the free night and were told our stay doesn't qualify. The man told us, but you have 33,000 pts. Do u want to use those? It will give you a free night almost. So we did. We went in later, and found that we did qualify, but we had used our pts, so we couldn't use the free night. Disappointed
Sep 18, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
great fall colors
Sep 17, 2014
We really enjoyed this campground. Nice, clean and plenty to do.
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
No cable sites were available for the length of our stay, which was disappointing. The site we were on was just barely long enough for our RV. The firepit was too close to RV to use. Shuttle to Mt. Rushmore was not available, which was the biggest disappointment.
Sep 16, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
Prefer more private restrooms as at Moab UT.
Sep 16, 2014
Best campground I've stayed at in awhile.
Sep 16, 2014
This is the nicest KOA we have ever stayed at and we have been to many. Wonderful sites, awesome staff, and equipped with everything we needed - even souvenirs! Thank you for a wonderful time.
Sep 15, 2014
A high-end KOA, very large with lots of activities. We are very appreciative of the staff. We had booked 2 nights, but snow was rolling in and we were on motorcycles. They let us cancel our 2nd night with no penalty. Only cleanliness issue is that there were hundreds of dead flies in the window track in the cabins. Gross!! Cabin window seals and tracks need to be cleaned better and checked!
Sep 15, 2014
cabin was nice, the pool, water slide,hot tub were cold and dirty, only water warm was kiddy pool & dirty. going to stay another night in van but after spending about 4 hrs we left. wifi was spotty if not existent. tried to talk to front desk, about our rotten stay, she didn't care that our stay sucked AT ALL, spend to much money for nothing. looks can be deceiving. everything costs.
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
Beautiful, scenic campground. Very clean. Centrally located in black hills for site seeing for our stay.
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
The heat in the cabin did not work in the kitchen/living room. It was very chilly the nights we were there and there were not any extra blankets so we were cold all night. They came over the next day to reset the breaker. It worked for a short time then did not work again. Also, the kitchen sink faucet did not work properly. We do like this campground and will stay again.
Sep 15, 2014
You have a great staff and lots of things to do for children. Extremely clean...
Sep 14, 2014
BEST PLACE TO BE TO SEE ALL THE SITES
Sep 14, 2014
After ariving and setting up my tent I found that there was a stream of water 4 feet wide seperating my site from the rest of my site I called and talked to the assistent manager and he told my it was my fault I asked to speak to the manager and he never called me back and he wouldn't take my calls when I called This is by far the worst KOA I have ever stayed at!
Sep 14, 2014
our first KOA stay. very nice staff and very well kept facility. everything that you need.
Sep 14, 2014
Great check in procedure and personnel. Somewhat difficult to relocate campsite after dark after returning from the Mt. Rushmore evening program. Limited signage to find somewhat remote campsite after dark.
Sep 13, 2014
Very nice campground. However, make double sure you have a reservation! Staff didn't have us down as travel together (3 rigs), nor our sites when we arrived!
Sep 13, 2014
Loved the place and the people! Super clean and friendly. We will make this a teary occurrence here!!
Sep 13, 2014
Awesome, very nice and capable staff. Great experience.....
Sep 13, 2014
We liked the cabin and the fire pit area, but it was a long walk to the bathrooms, so it was very inconvenient. In the morning, the sewer was backing up into the shower/bathrooms, so it was disgusting. They were working on it when we left, but in the meantime, there were no facilities to use. The location is great since it is so close to the Monuments, but we would stay somewhere else next time.
Sep 13, 2014
We called and asked if Wi-Fi was available and was told that it was. When we got there we had little if any Wi-Fi for three days. We were told to go a certain spot to have it more available.
Sep 13, 2014
GREAT, HOWEVER, POOR WI-FI, NONE
Sep 12, 2014
It was perfect. Crew was nice-positive and helpful
Sep 12, 2014
Best time my family has had in a long time. Nice clean family friendly campground. Lots of fun!!!!
Sep 11, 2014
THIS PLACE IS GREAT,FRIENDLY EMPLOYEES AND STAFF, CLEAN, IF THERE IS A PROBLEM, THEY ARE CORRECTING IT RIGHT AWAY. THE BEST KOA WE HAVE STAYED AT AND I THINK THIS IS LIKE OUR 8TH YEAR AND PLAN ON RETURNING. LOVE IT. THANKS EVERYONE FOR MAKING OUR VACATION WOUNDERFUL. THE NEISER'S

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.