Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 11, 2016
The deluxe cabin was the perfect way to camp without having to "camp"!
Jul 11, 2016
The place has lots of amenities for children and the staff is helpful and friendly. Comfort Station #4 needs to be brought up to the standards of CS #2. The bathrooms need fans installed NOW. The stench floats out to the hallway where people await use of the showers. The showers need more hooks and small shelves for placing shampoo bottles and other grooming aids. The showers were not very clean
Jul 11, 2016
Our family Stayed here at the KOA Rushmore on the July 4th week.super busy time, hats off to all the staff. Campers on the other hand drove way to fast with all the little one ridding and walking around the roads. great clean restrooms until a camper decided to deface the new interior, mean people are just ugly. Great location lots to do within the surrounding area. We will recommend this KOA
Jul 11, 2016
Only complaint was cabins had not been cleaned, we found dirty underwear left by the people before us. For the amount of money spent on these cabins they should be cleaned
Jul 11, 2016
Fun!
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
We were not too happy. It was in a great location has some great amenities like the kids park and bathrooms were nice. But the lack of internet/phone reception, no wifi, overcrowded, and over charging for extra amenities, lack of paved the sites and road and too many evening campfires made the entire park very smokey and unpleasant.
Jul 11, 2016
so much to do
Jul 11, 2016
So many things to do that we could have easily forgotten why we came in the first place. Close to everything
Jul 11, 2016
What a neat place! Next time I'm staying longer and getting Full Hok Ups!
Jul 11, 2016
Nice place, very crowded.
Jul 11, 2016
Perfect stay words can't express enough how much fun we had!
Jul 11, 2016
Great campground. lots of stuff for kids and adults. Close to Mt Rushmore and other Keystone town. Would definitely stay again
Jul 11, 2016
What an amazing place to stay!! From the cleanliness of the entire camp ground to the professionalism and friendly faces of all staff personnel, we were extremely impressed with our stay! Thank you for working hard to make your guests feel welcomed and 100% special! Your hard work and dedication to this campground is appreciated beyond words.
Jul 11, 2016
We had a great experience at this KOA. Nice friendly staff, clean park. However, the Wifi and internet reception was not so good but if you are on vacation you shouldn't need that anyway!!!
Jul 11, 2016
Great time .
Jul 11, 2016
Family Vacation, We arrived late on a Friday and left the following Saturday. We have a 6 and 3 year old and this stay was great. Campsites were convenient and easy in and out. They have 2 pools nice playground and activities everyday. Located within 30 minutes of almost everything you want to see. and on all main roads. Stables are right on the grounds, store a bit spendy.
Jul 11, 2016
We enjoyed our stay for the most part, but the campground was crowded, different from our experiences camping in state parks. The firewood sold was expensive and due to the type of wood, very smoky. Amenities and staff were great, but not sure we would stay again, opting for a park that affords a little more privacy for campers. Also, our tent site was on a hill.
Jul 11, 2016
Very nice campground. Great location and a lot of activities for kids. Staff very friendly. Only issue is I work when I travel and was told there was wifi but no cell service and wifi signal was mostly non existent. Not a big deal for a few days. Just went into town.
Jul 11, 2016
Overall out stay was excellent. Great facilities and activities. The only negative I have is that the campsites are too close together which makes it hard to have any privacy within the site. All in all, however, we had a great time
Jul 11, 2016
Nice campground with lots of activities and great location. Only downside is there were tons of young children running around with no supervision.
Jul 11, 2016
Great campground. Always stay there when in the Black Hills.
Jul 11, 2016
Wonderful stay my family and I really enjoyed it
Jul 11, 2016
They are so rude here I will never stay here again
Jul 11, 2016
Was so much fun! Sad to leave! Will be back soon!! Great family place!
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
Not enough or close enough restrooms. Too hilly for older folks, must drive to use facilities. Not kept very clean for a KOA
Jul 11, 2016
Had a tent site that was okay but didn't have a good level spot. Lots of ants crawling on the tent. Shower/bathroom could use updating, small and hot. On a motorcycle so didn't like having to drive on the gravel road.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
Great place--except for the PRIC!. Families would do very good here....!
Jul 11, 2016
Great campground to enjoy the black hills and attractions.Lots of activities to do for the family!
Jul 11, 2016
Great place! Just booked for next year in June. Bringing grandchildren, kids fun zone absolutely wonderful! Manager and staff have cheery helpful attitudes!
Jul 11, 2016
Awesome campground and a perfect location for a black hills site seeing trip! The amenities, location, and customer service were outstanding.
Jul 11, 2016
really close to Rushmore and highways. a bit of a circus with OCEANS of people and RVs. felt a bit like a football field with RVs but that's not the fault of KOA. it is REALLY geared towards kids and activities where I had just come from quiet and seclusion. comfort station 1 needs to be updated - no REALLY.
Jul 11, 2016
It was awsome as usual, we have stayed there more than once and we're always refreshed after our stay.
Jul 11, 2016
Great customer service! Manager accessible. Well maintained. Variety of activities. Can't wait to come back!
Jul 11, 2016
This is a fantastic campground/resort! My family and I had a great time. our only regret is that we could not have stayed longer!
Jul 11, 2016
Any concern was addressed, except cellphone service, excellent customer service.
Jul 11, 2016
Bathrooms needed serious attention several times. Also site was less than near level and took some work to get usable. With price that we pay for this site, should have been in better condition.
Jul 11, 2016
The wifi was almost impossible to connect from our phones and iPads. We enjoyed the activities provided with our nine year old daughter.
Jul 11, 2016
Very accommodating!
Jul 10, 2016
The place has a great family atmosphere. We stayed in the tent area. Which was nicely landscaped and maintained with grass. Wish we had a tree to shade us though. Loved the fact that they have a trash pick up every morning! We didn't have kids with us but still appreciated that there was plenty to do for them. I would love to take my grandson there. Will recommend to others!
Jul 10, 2016
Great place to stay! Easy to get to so many places because it is centrally located in the Black Hills. Nice places to eat and the general store has everything you might need.
Jul 10, 2016
This is a great and clean campground with lots to do.
Jul 10, 2016
Very nice place, great location and lots of stuff to do for everybody!
Jul 10, 2016
Only issue with this KOA is its advertised having WIFI but the signal is non existent even near the main buildings. This may not be an issue for some but it is if you need to be able to communicate or needing the ability to be reached. Outside of this the place is great!
Jul 10, 2016
Great place to stay with or without the kids
Jul 10, 2016
6 nights of one of the greatest campgrounds we've been to ever! My family didn't want to leave...ever!!
Jul 10, 2016
A lot of nice conveniences with the little town. Far too crowded with neighbors too close. No internet or wifi access even at the main resort and town.
Jul 10, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals