Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 14, 2014
Best Campground EVER!!! So many things for my daughter to do just at the campground! Excellent staff, food, scenery and activities. Will definitely be returning!
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
You advertised WiFi NOT HAPPY.Talked to Lots of Campers about it NOT Happy This is Our Home away from HOME.This is how we keep in touch with Family who are far away.We found out after supper Wednesday July 9 that we had a family emergency could have left sooner but because of your WiFi we had to leave Thursday morning.All the campers we talked to were upset.pool & hottub could be cleaner
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
This place was overwhelming! It was fun to have the pub and pancakes on site! The labels on the campsites were confusing and we had to swap with our neighbors because of a mix up.
Jul 14, 2014
we had a great time
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Great family place would loved to have stayed another 3 days. Quiet time should be enforced for 4 wheelers. Greaat restrooms
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Mike runs the best campground on earth!!!!
Jul 13, 2014
some or rest rooms need some help or update
Jul 13, 2014
Kids had non stop fun and entertainment. Made it easy on us.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
We had a great time If you are in an RV make sure to put a filter on your water line unless you don't mind brown water
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Our second stay, lovely grounds, great activities & amenities, but Internet simply doesn't work, even in the café it was spotty. Unable to connect with wireless device. Complained and was told sorry nothing we can do, been trying to fix for 5 years. Other campers constantly walking through our site, 1 of 5 sinks had soap in the dispenser for duration of stay. Unacceptable for the rate charged.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
There were too many unaccompanied children in the miniature golf area. One child riding electric toy riding on the golf ramps; one child of 5 joined our family when playing. A KOA rep should be placed outside. The pool at the bottom of the water slide looked like a mud pit ; should have something at the top of the slide for the kids to wash their feet in before going down the slide.
Jul 13, 2014
Stayed in a camper cabin, which was perfect for our needs.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Nice, clean place but cold showers.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Grouchy morning rental desk help and two of the young employees enjoy taking the single reclining rental bikes and repeatedly crashing head-on into one another. The campsite is beautiful and there are lots of things to keep children entertained.
Jul 13, 2014
This was our 6th summer vacation spent at the Mount Rushmore Koa and won't be our last. Great new additions, especially the rock wall!
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Far more than we expected. We should have booked an additional day. Our play was just to use this as home base for our sightseeing. Wow the kids absolutely loved the campground and we were very impressed. The staff were all very nice. Sadly my husband lost his work phone during our stay. We plan on returning next year.
Jul 13, 2014
The tent site was not secluded as stated. There was no number to call for help like when the toilet was plugged. The drunks were loud at night. Plenty to see and do at the campground, especially for kids.
Jul 13, 2014
Nice campground
Jul 13, 2014
Je n'apprécie pas du tout d'avoir à payer un supplément de 10$ obligatoire en plus du tarif déjà très élevé pour y séjourner. Ce supplément sert ,à ce que l'on m'a dit ,à payer pour les infrastructures récréatives installées pour les enfants...que je n'ai évidemment pas utilisé.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
The only complaint I have is site 557 really isnt big enough to have a pop up camper and utilize the camp fire. It also needs a bit of leveling. But overall it was great.
Jul 13, 2014
Super nice KOA! The only improvements that need made are with Internet service through out the camp ground. Also, it was the only KOA that we've stayed at that didn't have a chair in the Kamping Cabin. Other than that it was excellent!
Jul 13, 2014
There was some issue with KOA not receiving the reservation we made. The staff went out of their way to squeeze us in to a spot. The Manager was excellent and should be commended for his customer service.
Jul 13, 2014
Staff was friendly!
Jul 12, 2014
The KOA is great. It is huge and has many amenities. There is a lot of things for the kids to do there. We did not get to do as many things there as my kids wanted to because we only had three days in the area. There are several pools, a slide, spray park, jump pillow, climbing wall, hay rides and more! We stayed in the Deluxe cabins and they were well worth the money.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Everything was great until I got nipped by a chipmunk! Overall a great stay, but I would suggest that you try to do something about the critters living under your cabins!
Jul 12, 2014
My only disappointment was the wi fi connection. Even at the store where it is advertised to work. Part of the reason we stayed there was the wi fi as I had to work some.....and then was unable to do so. Don't advertise wi fi when you have such a poor connection.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
there was so much to do at this site. the location is great also
Jul 12, 2014
The events for kids are awesome. The shower i used had a cracked floor pan and smelled of sewer. But overall we had a great time. You could add some zip lines in the campground.
Jul 12, 2014
Nice clean campground. Friendly staff, just don't plan on WiFi even though it states you get it. Even had trouble at the "hot spots".
Jul 12, 2014
Pool looked green but hopefully from iron only. Bathrooms needed more attention during the day more then once. Needed to mow sites more often. Great location to touring sites quick and easy wood cost a lot and was little wet hard to start fire. Fun but busy place lots to do with kids
Jul 12, 2014
There were to many people, but that being said it was a great facility with many activities for the family.
Jul 12, 2014
Shower houses were filthy. Staff was rude except for the parking guides. Pools were dirty and hot tubs did not work. My wife forgot her shampoo in showers, asked the front desk if clean up found it. She rolled her eyes and said " some camper probably already stoled it!" Wife recovered shampoo from cleaning lady days later by herself. Will never stay at a KOA again, almost ruined our vacation
Jul 12, 2014
Great family fun! Enjoyed the 2 room Kamping Kabin with three teens, worked out great!
Jul 12, 2014
We were in a camping cabin and the fire pit was way to close to the edge hill so we couldn't sit around the fire.
Jul 12, 2014
This was our first time ever camping and it could not have been better. We had a great RV site (243) on the creek. There is so much for kids to do here. My 8 and 10 year old boys rode their bikes everywhere and had a blast. Everything is very clean and well-maintained. We would definitely come back.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.