Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
We had a fabulous time, we will be coming back to stay with y'all again!! It's been one of our favorite KOA's!!
Jul 20, 2014
I loved everything about this KOA, except that the wifi does not work. I do not like the fact that the KOA advertises that wifi is available, but then it is not. Even the wired connection in the coffee shop was very unreliable.
Jul 20, 2014
Was a clean, kept up campgrounds with many things for kids of all ages, including adults, to do. Don't plan on being able to use wifi...not likely which caused a problem with my daughter who had to try to sign on to an on-line class she was taking. Staff friendly.
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Getting towels from the Palmer Gulch Resort was a pain in the A55-- there should be an option for a towel service so a person doesn't have to run towels across the campground and then come back 6-8 hours later for fresh towels.
Jul 20, 2014
We stayed for six nights at campsite 654. We enjoyed all of the amenities and activities that the campground has to offer. I felt very safe and I am extremely please with the KOA staff and their joyful attitudes.
Jul 20, 2014
We had a great time, friendly staff and great kids activies.
Jul 20, 2014
We only made reservations for two nights. Upon arrival we asked about adding an extra night to our stay and it was granted without any hesitation. Great facility for kids and the amount of services they offer are astounding. Already telling family about this KOA for future visits
Jul 20, 2014
Wonderful facilities and activities to keep the whole family busy. Prices were pretty reasonable too. First time out with the family and our camper/trailer. Had a blast. Thanks and we will see you again some time!
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
We had a great time at the koa.It has a lot of activities and is very clean and nicely landscaped. Only concern is if towing vehicle becomes incapitated you have to ask neigbouring campers to move rv due to liability.This KOA will not do this.
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
We like how easy it was to check in and get a tent site. When we didn't like the site we choose and found one that we liked, they were accommodating.The bathroom/shower were clean, however there were a lot of showers that were not working so there was a line.There was a lot of fun activities for the kids and they had a great time and that is what camping is all about.Having fun and making memories
Jul 20, 2014
Granddaughters loved it.
Jul 20, 2014
Great fun. Clean, lots of activities and great staff!!
Jul 20, 2014
best ever
Jul 20, 2014
I have rated this KOA 5 stars in the past but this time we tent camped near an older bath/shower station. The bathrooms were old and needed updating. Some of the showers didn't function properly to get warm water. The pools did not look clean and were very uninviting. Employee couldn't tell us what pet fee was used for. They sleep in our tents and WE clean up after them!
Jul 20, 2014
This is the first KOA I have stayed in. First assigned tent site was teeny and crowded. The host agreed and found us a much better one. One of the nearby campers had a dog not on a leash which started to bark at me closely and I feared it would bite me. For an older couple looking for a quite and serene camping space this is not the place. But it seems great for families.
Jul 19, 2014
Staff was great. Contractors were great. Had some problems with the cabin and I filled out a comment sheet covering all. You have a great place, but attention to detail as I pointed out would have made it even better.
Jul 19, 2014
Our stay became awesome halfway thru our stay - - due only to Melissa at the Lodge. Melissa gave us all info we needed to make our stay very comfortable and fun. This information should have been given to us when we registered in, we even asked on our first day. All the activities for the families were great for every member of the family. If we are ever back in the area we will stay at KOA again
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Great
Jul 19, 2014
We stayed at this KOA for 5 nights. Great amenities, clean helpful staff and tons of things to do.
Jul 19, 2014
Everything was great but wifi was not working
Jul 19, 2014
Campground is great. However, I would recommend the bottleneck between the water slide and the golf be widened. This is a very high traffic area, where kids, RVs, dogs and horses meet. It's a huge hazard for kids. There also is a tree that unless the RV is driving down the center it will take their AC off. When leaving, an RV was parked near and shut the road down as nobody could get past.
Jul 19, 2014
Pros: 1. Playground - The kids loved it. 2. Centrally located in Black Hills 3. Lots of activities at the campground. 4. Pancake Breakfast was great. Cons: 1. Several washers/dryers out if order. Took a long time to do laundry. 2. Showers had little or no water pressure. 3. Mattresses in camping cabin were harder than expected. 4. A couple of the staff were less than friendly.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Great place for the kids and family, in the middle of the Black Hills attractions. Second time we have stayed there.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
This was our 4th time staying and we can't wait to come back next year!! The camp ground is very family friendly and so much to do. The Staff is amazing! Awesome vacation!
Jul 19, 2014
Great location, lots of activities for children. Wifi is a little weak.
Jul 19, 2014
It was a bit of a "gong show", very busy, noisy and urban like. The teenagers would tomcat late and ignore requests by security to be quiet. The staff was generally not experienced and lacked customer service skills. The wine shop people and the pancake breakfast brunch were well above average in their delivery.
Jul 19, 2014
Can you say EXTRA FEES for EVERYTHING!!! Even after getting one night free, our bill was over $150! KOA is supposed to be family-friendly, but KOA charges extra for each child! NOT family friendly in our book!
Jul 19, 2014
We were pleasantly surprised at how nice this campground was. The bathroom/shower area was clean and new looking. There is a lot for families to do there. The pancake breakfast was great!
Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Great facilities for the kids, very quiet at night, lots to do, free firewood. Cons: A long walk to get to restrooms, tiny sites. Wifi is a joke and should not be advertised. According to the manager, 1.5MB download split up between three hotspots and five hundred campers. You must go to the hotspot at 4am if you want to get on.
Jul 19, 2014
Nice facility, lots to do
Jul 19, 2014
Very busy. Kids riding bikes on the road everywhere. It smells like stables
Jul 18, 2014
Great place to take kids. Location is wonderful. This is a very busy KOA but it is quiet at the same time. We will be back for sure.
Jul 18, 2014
I was impressed with all of the activities geared towards children. There was always something to do at the KOA after touring around the Black Hills.
Jul 18, 2014
Employees friendly & helpful. Activities for all. Too many showers out of order and cold water.
Jul 18, 2014
I have to say that this was the best KOA that we've ever stayed.So family oriented and friendly.
Jul 18, 2014
We have been back several times now. Great amenities, super location, clean, level sites... very nice spot.
Jul 18, 2014
Lots of things to do. Close to attractions. Very enjoyable and helpful employees.
Jul 18, 2014
Lots of great things to do. Kids were always entertained.
Jul 18, 2014
Very clean and lots of activities for young children. Very nice!
Jul 18, 2014
This campground is packed full of extra amenities. They do not have good internet access, but to me that defeats the purpose of camping. My reason for the lower rating is that it is extremely crowded and busy. I prefer the seclusion and quiet offered at other campgrounds. However, since I have now stayed there on three separate occasions over 2 decades it is clearly not a bad campground.
Jul 18, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.