Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 24, 2014
Way too crowded for our tastes. Nice though.
Jul 24, 2014
Advertising "free WiFi", and providing excuses for not having a usable service is known as 'bait & switch'. It is frankly illegal. You should be ashamed of doing that. It is not a technical issue, it is a financial one. Invest in the infrastructure and the problem will go away. Otherwise change your advertising to tell the truth before someone commits to stay there.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
I would have appreciated knowing how to access extra towels and coffee. Your website also said that the cabin came with everything but we were missing basic cooking utensils and a hair dryer. You offer fishing at a pond but you did not sell fishing licenses and when we asked where to buy one, your staff had a difficult time pointing us in the right direction. Nice stay other than that.
Jul 23, 2014
Lots of things for children to do. Need to educate campers not to walk through other's campsites. Need clearer paths for restrooms for cabin campers.
Jul 23, 2014
The KOA was perfect for our family. The only two complaints would be the showers could be cleaned more often and the people who brought the horses in every morning at 6am woke us all up with their yelling. The things to do at campground were great. Thank you.
Jul 23, 2014
The activities were amazing in comparison with other KOAs, but the mattress in our cabin was clearly worn out. The bathrooms were cleaned regularly, which was great, but the one by our cabin had a pretty severe gnat problem -at one point they covered the entire sink area in the mens bathroom.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
This koa was not clean and it smelled like sewer the whole entire time. We had to check out 2 days early :(
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
The wii was up but did not work the three days we were there. Tryed about 10 times a day.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
The cabins & campsites are literally on top of each other so there is no privacy. I think the description they used in the reservation was "removed from busier areas" and "peace & quiet." Definitely not. The bathrooms are not adequate to handle the amount of people staying at the campground. Always a wait time to use facilities, even later at night. Not going back.
Jul 23, 2014
Had a great time, lots of things to do.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Very nice campgrounds and very friendly and nice people on staff. The campground is huge and has lots of amenities for the entire family. Only real complaint would be that the campsites are placed way to close together and have NO privacy. Our fire ring was RIGHT next to the sewer line for the next door camper, kind of gross. Did not use the fire ring.
Jul 23, 2014
Still at a site too small even though I told them my size, springs pop up every where as I am 3 feet from step into a creek. Muddy and weedy. Three managers, lots or sorry but nothing else. Checked out early.
Jul 23, 2014
Very nice KOA. Would recommend this to my friends.
Jul 23, 2014
Great campground for families with children but otherwise very disappointing. Employees are fantastic but bathrooms and showers are dirty. They promise free Wifi but don't have it. Hot tubs waters are full of iron and look and feel grimey.
Jul 23, 2014
Something for everyone! Clean, great staff, quiet at night, great for kids & showers/laundry facilities great. Playgrounds awesome. Would definitely return.
Jul 23, 2014
This place is no typical camping ground. It is a resort for any family. There are tons of activities to do. Make sure you stay there long enough to enjoy all the amenities that are offered
Jul 23, 2014
It was a good stay. Suggest that the birds nest over the camper kitchen be removed. Maybe the birds have moved on.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Not only did the kids have an amazing time so did we :)
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Great family friendly place! Simply rated low because we are not into such crowded places.
Jul 23, 2014
The amenities and location were perfect. I only gave it 4 stars though because the water pressure was terrible. The water was literally dripping out of the shower, and switched from hot to cold very quickly without even touching the faucet. Otherwise, it was great!
Jul 23, 2014
Loved everything, but the WiFi is awful and only in "hotspots". This should be more clear in their listing.
Jul 22, 2014
not sure if it was just the time of year or not but we experienced gnat problems in the restroom. other than that the activities and resort were fine.
Jul 22, 2014
Great place if you want to park your rv or trailer on a carnival fairway. Mobs of kids on bikes tearing through your site. Constant stream of people walking past site. Not a place for those who are looking for relaxation and quiet. Great place to be if you enjoy crowds.
Jul 22, 2014
The activities team was great. Kids REALLY enjoyed themselves (and us parents did too!) The campground was very clean and well taken care of. Very nice place to vacation!! Will recommend to anyone travelling to the Black Hills.
Jul 22, 2014
a great place to stay and spend a weekend.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Amazing camping resort! So much fun for the whole family. Friendly, helpful staff! We have made this our annual family vacation spot!!!
Jul 22, 2014
OMG, not sure you will be happy with this rating... Checked in at dark ,we were instructed to campsite #599. reservations for our 36 ft (40 ft incl 5th wheel ext )to include 50 amp. We were directed to circle past the site & back in. Impossible!! R steps were 5" from the neighbors sewer. Ugh . Site had 30 amp, unstable, terrribly small, maintenance were the best, the rest was bad. Not recommen
Jul 22, 2014
We had so much fun! Great family getaway with so much to do. Can't wait to come back again soon!
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
It was so great we recommended it to our friends and they stayed there the next week!
Jul 22, 2014
Great for families, but not great for quiet older people
Jul 22, 2014
Nice helpful staff. Big but cozy! Family fun...
Jul 21, 2014
Great location, great amenities and great staff.
Jul 21, 2014
This KOA is an amazing place for families to stay. We felt safe letting our kids go play in the kid zone. The view each morning was awesome. Everything you could need was at the resort. Would definitely recommend to others.
Jul 21, 2014
The hot tubs were filthy.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Very happy to help when wanting to stay another night in same site. Very helpful upon arrival early. Only improvement pool needed attention sometimes Great place will be back next year
Jul 21, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.