Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 25, 2016
The 1st clerk at check-in ignored me, then the cashier in gift store was very unpleasant, then at the pancake breakfast, the lady asked me about my bottled water, she said outside food wasn't allowed and followed that statement up with "I wouldn't bring food into your home." ...what was I gonna do, walk all the way back to my tent site, leave my water, and walk back up to the pancake tent...wth
Jul 25, 2016
I liked the seasonal staff. I did not find the permanent staff as friendly.
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Mostly it was dirty and lacked the conveniences of other KOAs. Bathrooms were atrocious. No sinks for washing camp dishes. Stayed here bcz I wanted to ride horses, but their stables stunk like old zoo elephant habitats- and I ride, too. Lost my appetite for it.
Jul 25, 2016
I have always enjoyed staying at Palmer Gulch. The staff is so friendly and helpful. There are so many activities right on the campground it isn't even necessary to leave. There is some type of entertainment every night, we saw a chainsaw artist. The restaurant on site is delicious and reasonably priced and they also have a fast food restaurant on site too. And the pancake tent, amazing!!
Jul 25, 2016
My one complaint was that people who weren't staying at the resort came to swim. The pool was busy enough with paying guests.
Jul 25, 2016
We just finished a cross country trip staying at multiple different campgrounds. Some KOA, some not. We had three boys with us - ages 11, 12, & 13. This campground by far was the favorite. The staff was friendly. The campground bathrooms were clean. The setting of the Black Hills was amazing! Great place to stay!
Jul 25, 2016
The accommodations and activities offered would require an extended stay to experience fully. Clean, friendly, and accessible, this is a destination KOA, not just a stop along the way.
Jul 25, 2016
It was fantastic,been here several times and it's always nice it is just a great getaway and close to all the sightseeing areas. Sightseeing areas And we will definitely be back
Jul 25, 2016
Loved all of the ammenities! Fire truck rides, smores, magic shows, pool, slide, basketball, mini-golf were all great!
Jul 25, 2016
HAVE NEVER HAD A BAD TIME THAT RUSHMORE KOA
Jul 25, 2016
Kids loved it! We were not happy with the site we parked in. It was right on the main corner near the kid zone, too much activity, everyone walks by, kids movie on until after 9. We faced that way so no way to get away from it. Would stay again but tell the reservation not to put us ther.
Jul 25, 2016
Cabins are too close together, people behind us could be seen and heard at window, neighbors up until 3, air conditioning would be nice! Bathrooms are a hike, cleaning once a day with as many people that visited was not enough, clogged toilets stay that way all day, the wall behind the hand dryer was gross. Coffee at the coffee shop overpriced, beats Starbucks. The people working were very friendl
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
This site is awesome! The employees are helpful and friendly! Our cabin was clean and comfy! The comfort station we were near was clean and well kept. My only down is that we couldn't stay longer! Thanks for a wonderful weekend!
Jul 25, 2016
Extremely crowded and loud.
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
This KOA has everything to do. Your kids will love it. But... If you want any peace and quiet you won't get it here.
Jul 25, 2016
Everything u could want, but too busy for us. Tent beside us too close, talked each nite til 2 am, loudly. Nice activities.
Jul 25, 2016
Site was too small. - no place to park vehicle...on hill with little space. The pool was suppose to stay open until 10:00 PM and kids were told to leave at 9:15. Restroom facilities were good.
Jul 25, 2016
Love the campground but cabins were way overpriced for what you get!
Jul 25, 2016
We really enjoyed the all you could eat pancakes, mini golf, and wax museum. Would recommend a better place for women to blow dry after showers. It made the bathroom gross. Also there were so many people that at times I was worried we were going to hit someone while we drove.
Jul 24, 2016
Great for kids activities, which we did not need. No shade for most sites so it was really difficult to enjoy the campsite.
Jul 24, 2016
Much more crowded than I remember from last time. Lots of fun things to do.
Jul 24, 2016
Jul 24, 2016
We were disappointed in our camp sites. When we reserved our sites, I thought we were getting two sites next to each other or very close. We were miles apart. I said we would take full hook ups for both sites(pop-up didn't require full hook up as travel trailer did)as we wanted to be near each other. We feel we should have been told at time of reservation that we would not be near each other.
Jul 24, 2016
great campground, our kids loved the fun zone & it was located near a lot of the attractions we wanted to see. My only complaint is with a woman who worked at Turtles, my daughter has an anaphylactic egg allergy & when I asked about their chocolate i e cream she was very rude and insensitive. Luckily a nice boy was willing to help us, or we would have left.
Jul 24, 2016
Great campground. Bathrooms and showers not as clean as in other times we have stayed
Jul 24, 2016
Great place for kids -- so much to do!
Jul 24, 2016
Jul 24, 2016
We had a hard time finding our tent site because it was not marked. We did have to get security to escort us but they were very friendly. We loved the fun zone.The activities had everyone in our group entertained.
Jul 24, 2016
Very nice time with the family. Nice resort. Restrooms could have been cleaned a bit more often, but it didn't ruin our stay. A wide variety of options for kids. Great location in the black hills. Very close to many fun attractions.
Jul 24, 2016
Staff was friendly and courteous. Had fun with our stay. We rented a car and had no issues. WIFI was mostly nonexistent ! Much needed improvements with WIFI should be at the top of KOA list !
Jul 24, 2016
Jul 24, 2016
Congested compared to other KOAs we have stayed at. Wanted to purchase something at camp store but waited for approx. 3 minutes and couldn't find a staff to ring it up so we just left.
Jul 24, 2016
Wonderful KOA wish we would have known about it 10 years ago when our kids were smaller!
Jul 24, 2016
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Ceiling fans in cabins should be installed. I understand that 100 degree heat is rare but did happened both times we stayed at this KOA.
Jul 24, 2016
Jul 24, 2016
Great place, great staff. Only down fall in my opinion were the restrooms & showers. Several shower stalls did not have hooks for clothes and towels or place to set soap and shampoo. Also for size of place, having just 2 stalls in men's room created lines of 5 to 6 people at times. Aside from that the place and all it had to offer were great.
Jul 24, 2016
Just plain AWESOME all the way around!!!
Jul 24, 2016
Love this KOA! Multiple playgrounds, hiking paths, close to Mount Rushmore, activities throughout the day for families, food options, shops! Truly resort camping!
Jul 24, 2016
Staff was very nice thank you with a lot of people. They were very helpful and we were able to Rent-A-Car. They really knew what they were doing. We enjoyed our stay we were there for three days. Kids love it. The horses were awesome!
Jul 24, 2016
Golf course needs to be maintained. Bathrooms were out of toilet paper all day.
Jul 24, 2016
Spots were to close, had to change sports once. Staff that we talked to was rude to us. Bathrooms and showers were always dirty and broken. Need staff to monitor putt-putt area, kids running around causing issues with my family with small kids. Cost is very high and after paying for that high price there were a lot of things that were extra. We will never stay here again or at any other KOA.
Jul 24, 2016
Showers very dirty clearly never thoroughly cleaned. They should spend more time on that then watering flowers. The men that direct you to your camp site were rude. This place has gotten too big
Jul 24, 2016
Lots of activities for the kids. The staff was very helpful and informative. We had a great time
Jul 23, 2016
Rental cabin was not clean. Floor, bathroom mirror, shower stall,entrance door,handle,wood,and glass.
Jul 23, 2016
The location was great. Very quiet considering the number of campers. Definitely would stay again.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals