Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 13, 2016
What a great place for kids! So much to do! Gorgeous setting. Kind of a madhouse though, so much going on! Our site was teeny and not even on map. No internet. Comfort Stations were quite a hike and in continual use so a bit messy. Wasn't a relaxing stay for 2 older folks, but I can see why fsmilies love it.
Jun 13, 2016
We had a great experience. We wished the wi-fi was better and phone signal better. Lots of great activities to do and close to all attractions. Great place. We will be back.
Jun 13, 2016
This KOA is such and amazing place to stay. We've always had the best customer service here. This last weekend we were put in a site next to a dog, my daughter has always been afraid of them. I went to the front desk and asked if we could move and they found us a new site, even in an extremely busy weekend! We were very grateful!
Jun 13, 2016
We had a really great time. Loved the pool, horseback riding and the rodeo was awesome. The location of the park was great too. We really enjoyed ourselves. Thank you.
Jun 13, 2016
What a wonderful, family-oriented campground. There is so much to do -- especially for kids.
Jun 13, 2016
Everyone had a great time! We will definitely be back!
Jun 13, 2016
This place was awesome so much to do the family loved it wish I could've stayed longer. The only Thing I didn't care for was a few campsites near us had way to many people and cars they are parking in my campsite and blocking my car and had their kids running through our site all day and night
Jun 13, 2016
Great stop on our trip, thanks for having us!
Jun 12, 2016
We had a great time and will definitely return to this awesome camp ground.mthe facilities were clean and there was so much to do. Our kids made new friends and loved hanging out at the awesome fun zone.
Jun 12, 2016
So much fun!
Jun 12, 2016
This KOA has it all! It's huge, extremely clean, and the amenities are amazing. Horse riding, ATV rentals, car rentals, swimming pools & hot tubs, kids play area with tons to do, pancake breakfast, and more. Great location near everything important to see, MT. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer Park, Caves, etc. My family and I would go again.
Jun 12, 2016
Our three girls absolutely loved the all the great activities! We did horse back riding twice. Amazing views and amenities! Loved it!
Jun 12, 2016
Jun 12, 2016
Very large.Very well run. Tons of things for the kids to do. Truly a KOA resort.
Jun 12, 2016
Beautiful campground and facilities. Just maybe work on getting better wifi!
Jun 12, 2016
Excellent stay. Employee where great
Jun 12, 2016
We enjoyed are stay and will be back again. Next time we will request a spot in a row or two off the main road through the resort. There are cars, campers, golf carts and people going back and forth 24 hours a day.
Jun 12, 2016
Clean restrooms. Seemed like enough staff. Fun family setting.
Jun 12, 2016
The most fun koa we have been to. Clean and safe place to camp with our 4 children.
Jun 11, 2016
Kid fun zone was great. Views are awesome, and staff was very friendly. Both pools always had lots of bugs though, making nonefforts of us want to swim
Jun 11, 2016
Great location.So much for grand kids and adults to do.The view of Harney Peak has to be one of the best at any KOA.
Jun 11, 2016
Great for families, lots to do to entertain the kids. The staff is fantastic! They were very accommodating with my request to move. So why not 5 stars and a 10? It's a VERY kid friendly place.
Jun 11, 2016
The splash pad was not working the whole 5 days we were there.also there are rules for the hot tub that need to be enforced, like no small child, especially at the one in the fun zone. everything else was great, bathrooms super clean, staff super nice.
Jun 11, 2016
Great staff. Clean park. I will return.
Jun 11, 2016
Jun 11, 2016
Very nice place and the staff are extremely pleasant.
Jun 11, 2016
alot of activities for the children at a reasonable fee or most of them are free. Large park, but alot of beautiful spaces and cabins. Would definitely stay again, compared to other KOA's on this trip. Thank you to a great staff
Jun 11, 2016
Jun 11, 2016
We loved the location awesome bathrooms rental car and all that you offer not to mention the fabulous scenery!! Jackie was fabulous and very helpful and friendly we greatly appreciate the amazing customer service! Loved our stay
Jun 11, 2016
We stay at this KOA several times a year. Been coming back for about 6 years. We love the cleanliness, friendliness and the peace of the campgrounds. Rented a cabin for the first time and will probably do it again. We brought our niece from LA this time. She had a blast
Jun 11, 2016
We stayed in a cabin with 3 of our grandkids. They had plenty of activities. They loved fishing, swimming, smores...The bathroom was great but little too far from our cabin. The staff was great!
Jun 10, 2016
Very friendly and professional 5 star staff! Everything was clean, level, & set up for relaxation & fun. The view of Harney Peak from our RV was amazing. The car rental was easy & very convenient. The Hill City Sliders and s'mores were a highlight. Thanks, KOA!!
Jun 10, 2016
I enjoyed my stay at the KOA Mount Rushmore my knees were attended two very professionally all my questions were answered professionally the food was excellent the horseback riding instructors were very professional and a guide was very professional had a great time !!!!
Jun 10, 2016
We have stayed there 2 times before and like the campground, but this time the water pressure was terrible. We were in site 547 and some mornings we didn't have water at all for a short time.
Jun 10, 2016
Jun 10, 2016
Tons of activities for the kids. Everything was clean and in good working order. The only issues I faced were the extremely weak wifi and low water pressure/lack of hot water. Had to take a cold shower one day and the washers at the laundry took so long to fill that if took me a total of two hours to do one load of laundry!
Jun 10, 2016
Jun 10, 2016
Campground was really nice however there is no phone signal and their Wi-Fi is not good
Jun 10, 2016
Jun 10, 2016
Amazing!
Jun 10, 2016
First time in the Black Hills. Couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Accommodations were beyond expectations. Location was great to allow us to access many of the great activities in the Hills.
Jun 10, 2016
Myself, my husband and our 4 children stayed here a and loved it! The kids loved that there was so much to do, however it was not very clean. Out cabin was dirty and the restrooms closest to us were very dirty compared to others around the resort.
Jun 10, 2016
pools were not the cleanest but overall love this campground
Jun 09, 2016
One of the best camp grounds. With so many activities I can't name them all. You can even rent a Car to get around that comes with a sticker too get into the park.
Jun 09, 2016
This is a wonderful place to stay. We camped with our kids and grandkids. We loved the many many activities to keep everyone busy. The location proximity to the tourist sites was perfect. The campground was clean, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We will stay here the next time we come to the Black Hills for a family vacation! Thank you for a fun filled family trip!
Jun 09, 2016
When we booked, we looked at the pictures online and the campground looked much more open then it actually was. It felt more like a parking lot where we were parked. Also the advertising said we had Internet and we did not. We had to go to town to log on and work. We will not stay there again for that reason. The best part were the Son Shiners and the sweet Sunday morning service.
Jun 09, 2016
keep up the great work everything was fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jun 09, 2016
Great campground when personal ATV's aren't running up and down the road all day and evening. We own ATV's and enjoy them, but the frequency in which some campers feel the need to operate the machines within the campground is ridiculous.
Jun 09, 2016
For Disabled US Veterans it is always a great place for us to stay.
Jun 09, 2016
The best campground I have ever stayed at. Had everything you could possibly need. Very clean, friendly and well organized in a beautiful setting. Already making plans to come back.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals