Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 24, 2015
Bath house by pool wasn't cleaned for about 3 days that is the only problem I had
Jun 24, 2015
We weren't expecting the huge size of this KOA. It was a bit bigger than we would have liked. It seemed to have everything though and was quite busy. Considering the proximity to Mount Rushmore, that's to be expected.
Jun 24, 2015
This is a great place for family gartherings, very family friendly. Very well maintained, staff is great.
Jun 24, 2015
We were there three nights and got hail two of them. Last year I was there two nights and got hailed on once. I no longer think it is a occasional occurrence. Now I need to replace my truck and my tent. Too bad really. I love this campground!
Jun 24, 2015
We had a wonderful time! All of the staff there were very helpful and friendly. Thank you for having us!
Jun 24, 2015
Very nice campground! It was very clean and lots to do for kids of all ages. The scenery was beautiful as well. The staff was very friendly & helpful! We stayed in a cabin that seemed brand-new. Everything was perfect! I would definitely return again if ever in the area!
Jun 24, 2015
Great Campground for families. Not so much for those of us wanting a quieter experience. Very large campground but just too many people. Did experience Golf Ball size hail stones in the evening. Made it one of the most memorable nights at a campsite at which I have stayed.
Jun 24, 2015
Seem to be more concerned about appearances at the front door than customer service. Bathrooms and shower house at upper area-DISGUSTINGLY DIRTY, NO shower mats, NO shelves for shower items, curtains too small for shower area-did you cut them in half? Way over priced for the quality of service.
Jun 24, 2015
Had water under camper 5 days. No internet. Little space between spots. Designed for kids. Too big a camping. Place. No ladder available to check the hail damage everyone had!
Jun 24, 2015
Much too high a price to stay in a jammed up campgtound. Wifi was totally useless. Everything is much more expensive than a regular koa. Staff was friendly and kids had fun. Good pancakes.
Jun 24, 2015
Employees were wonderful. Our camper did not fit in first site given. The second site was on an incline.No place to put picnic table on level ground. Fire pit too close to camper.
Jun 24, 2015
When we checked in the older dark haired woman was not friendly at all. We felt like cattle being herded through a gate. this was by far the dirtiest and muddiest KOA we have ever stayed in. Roads need a lot of improvement and so do the campsites. Very noisey, could not use wifi in any area and no cable tv. We will not be back
Jun 24, 2015
It had rained before we arrived so it was so muddy. The showers were extremely dirty. Hair in the drain, what looked like mold on the bath mat,toilet plugged & muddy footprints on floor.I didn't use that shower but none of them were very clean. Looked in them the next day & looked as if they had not even been cleaned. We stayed in June in a Trailer.
Jun 24, 2015
Wonderful staff and facility.
Jun 24, 2015
KOA- our favorite in Midwest. Rushmore altered opinion. Excited about trail rides; during ride, "gentleman" freely smoked vapo-cig and veered off trail, saying he wanted some fun. Do you want your guests' children to be exposed to this behavior at your facility? Your guests were clueless-walking thru occupied sites. A camping etiquette handout might be helpful at check-in.
Jun 24, 2015
Was not told about incoming storm at check-in, campground has no emergency weather notification plan. Internet was out, so I had no other source to know it was coming. Endured life-threatening hailstorm in a tent with no warning to seek shelter.
Jun 24, 2015
Camp site was a swamp asked for new site after they gave away site we were suppose to be in that was high and dry and was told all other sites were full we proceed to see full hook up which is what I had be empty through out are stay and numerous so called deluxe sites wasn't Even offered to get one if I paid difference I was put in crappy site that they had no plans of using by there mistake
Jun 24, 2015
No one showed us to our site. I had to flag down help since my site had too much water to stay on and ask for a different site.
Jun 23, 2015
You need to clean the restrooms and for gods sake, spend some money on gravel, the mud was unacceptable and quite easily overcome with some money and elbow grease
Jun 23, 2015
A great spot to use as a staring point to local things to do and see. If you decide to stay at the campgrounds lots of things to do there as well. People were very friendly. Great for families that are not rough-it type of campers. Awesome for kids. The site got hit with golf ball size hail. KOA employee checked on us as we were in a tent. Definitely will be back again!
Jun 23, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
Durning our week stay the campground was a mud hole. This was not the first rain and won't be the Last. The sites need to be raised and gravel need to be put on all the roads. It didn't rain every day but because the pot holes were never attended to it was a swamp just getting to and from the camper. Every camper couldn't believe the condition of the sites and roads. Not worth what we paid!
Jun 23, 2015
You have a great facility that is in a great location. No cellphone service and little to no wifi signal negates your well run facility.
Jun 23, 2015
Way too expensive! Wifi did not work. Everything costs extra and is over-priced. Premium space is not premium. It is the same as all the others. Concrete patio was missing pieces. Maintenance staff was not friendly. Full report will be at www.rvparkreviews.com
Jun 23, 2015
Tons of things to do, very well run.
Jun 23, 2015
We love Palmer Gulch and will definitely come back in the future.
Jun 23, 2015
Friendly staff. Smooth check in. Great location close to Rushmore and not situated right on the highway like some campgrounds. More bathrooms maybe. Would stay here again.
Jun 23, 2015
You don't get what you pay for when they can move you around and around to accommodate someone else
Jun 23, 2015
We had a great stay, It would have been great if you would have stopped the rain
Jun 23, 2015
Had a great time the staff did a wonderful job keeping the campground clean even with all the rain the have had
Jun 23, 2015
We have been to this KOA several times and this is the dirtiest it has ever been! The showers were terrible! We were told that the reason we could not get on the internet was due to our type of computer. After arriving home, we read comments and found out the internet had not been working for a long time. We felt like we needed a refund due to services that were not available. May not return!
Jun 23, 2015
Move the horses away from the pool and food and it would be much better for the front sites. Other than that and the price of ice we had a wonderful stay.
Jun 23, 2015
Since there is very poor phone reception, the internet needs to be expanded to cover the whole camp. Otherwise our stay was fantastic.
Jun 23, 2015
We were promised WiFi and cable and did not have any WiFi at all and no cable until late the last day of our stay. Absolutely unacceptable with the promise made to us. My husband had to work online and couldn't because of this. For what we spent on a premium site we were not happy.
Jun 23, 2015
Although this KOA has many great qualities I was not impressed by any of the staff members. They were rude, unfriendly, not willing to help with anything and certainly didnt make us feel welcome. This KOA is nice for the activities they provide but if you are looking for a relaxing stay go somewhere else!!
Jun 23, 2015
Beautiful setting but no connectivity - cell phones, internet, or TV. They say they have Wi-Fi, but we were never able to connect.
Jun 23, 2015
I stayed at two particular sites at Rushmore. This particular site was spectacular. Definitely recommend. A lot of fun activities for the children to do. Very clean amenities. Great location.
Jun 23, 2015
We had an amazing time at the Palmers Gulch KOA. The staff are outstanding. They did everything they could to make our stay memorable. The grounds were clean and the facilities were amazing. I would definitely come back to this campground in a heartbeat. Thanks again for helping us make a life time of lasting family memories. Front desk girls were above and beyond helpful and friendly.
Jun 23, 2015
Very much enjoyed our stay. everyone was so friendly and helpful.
Jun 23, 2015
We had no fire pit most likely due to the rain washing it away, but it would have been nice to know about it before the camper was situated. Tight spots if neighboring campers have multiple slides. Our spot was muddy which was difficult with a dog. Staff were friendly.
Jun 23, 2015
The campground is pretty nice. Luckily for us, the people in the tent spot next to ours didn't show up or else it would have been really tight. They cram everyone in. But it's cheaper than getting a hotel in the area.
Jun 23, 2015
The campground had a lot of fun activities and was the largest KOA that I have ever stayed at. I didn't care for the site that I stayed at as I had a lot of standing water, which attracted a lot of bugs. I am sure that most other sites were nice. I would stay at this camp ground again.
Jun 23, 2015
Hail destroyed all four of my air-conditioners and my car. won't be back. Site was muddy, needed some gravel in it. for the money it cost,was not good
Jun 23, 2015
The deluxe cabin was awesome!! D280 was only 1 year old and very clean and comfortable! The staff was all friendly and helpful!
Jun 23, 2015
Lots of hail damage but KOA staff wonderful - out in full force. Wish prices were better for nightly rates but still a wonderful facility.
Jun 23, 2015
Good sight but tent sights not level. Options available ex.) bikes ,atv, a little $$. Bathrooms and showers great but need more maitanence attention to keep so with traffic flow of occupants. On the plus side pool and hot tub nice and clean.
Jun 23, 2015
No internet service which we paid for. Too many packed into a small space
Jun 22, 2015
We have visited this KOA three times in the past four years. This year was disappointing. Very disorganized, less events for the kids, but worst of all, the most unfriendly staff we've ever encountered. We certainly hope things change, or we may need to look elsewhere for a campground next summer. Best of luck that you can figure things out and update the KOA and improve overall!
Jun 22, 2015
Awesome staff, great amenities, great food, nice sites, strange camp fire placement, nice bathrooms and showers.
Jun 22, 2015
We showed up early to try to check in early and a guy at the front counter tolds us not to come back until 3pm as we can't check you in until then

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.