Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 20, 2015
The tent spot we were given was very tiny. Our tent barely fit. The bathrooms were filthy and one toilet was broken the entire time of our stay. We created a wait in the women's bathroom.
Jul 20, 2015
It would depend on what kind of stay they wanted.
Jul 20, 2015
We liked the campground and the activities it had to offer for the kids. At $72+ per night it got to be a bit high, beings we had our own camper, compared to getting a motel room, however we were ok doing this vs motel.
Jul 20, 2015
Lots of fun activities for the kids!
Jul 20, 2015
It was very noisy all day and night. Our camping spot was very wet and swampy.
Jul 20, 2015
Water slide looked sketchy/ water was science experiment. Bathroom/shower area could use deep clean, not just touch up. But your staff was AWESOME! Everyone was so nice and truly happy to help!
Jul 20, 2015
We had a great time and the campground was clean and had a lot of activities.
Jul 20, 2015
I was very dissatisfied with the site we were given. It was too short (back of Motorhome hanging over small stream) and nothing more than a "mud hole" with a 4 x 8 ft. sheet of plywood as our "front yard". We liked everything else about the park, especially the restaurant and the beautiful local scenery.
Jul 20, 2015
This is a awesome campground. One if the nicest places I've stayed.
Jul 20, 2015
Had a great stay. It was beautiful. If I could have waved a wand to change anything, it would have been 1) bigger bathrooms, and 2) have soap available for sale :) Otherwise, everything was a delight. We took advantage of the wax museum and mini golf and enjoyed that too. We will return!
Jul 20, 2015
Our stay was fabulous. Perfect views and a perfect camp ground. Tons of activities for all ages.
Jul 20, 2015
Absolutely wonderful! Would recommend to all. Only two items were a tad bit disappointing the showers and the laundry. Both did not match the high caliber of the rest of the facilities and the great service of the staff. Thank you for a memorable time in South Dakota!
Jul 20, 2015
Fine place.
Jul 20, 2015
we found out we were going to be in the area the night before we went. When we called they had a 2 room cabin available for us to stay in. It was nice. I loved the hominess of the swing on the front porch. It was like a little community. I would stay again.
Jul 19, 2015
We enjoyed a fantastic visit at the Mount Rushmore KOA. The location is close to everything! Rent the UTVs! It's a ton of fun! My only gripe is the lack of decent WiFi. I know everyone says we are roughing it, but it's 2015! Having reliable connectivity would have made it easier to monitor the weather (we had severe weather), research nearby restaurants etc.
Jul 19, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA. We loved that it was centralized to the surrounding attractions.
Jul 19, 2015
Fantastic! So close to all the attractions. Wonderfully helpful staff.
Jul 19, 2015
one of the best KOA campgrounds we have stayed at. Your assistant mgr Danielle Akey resolved a issue on a mix up on reservations done by call center with professionalism and speed. reat job.
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Loved it! So many activities for the kids! they had a ball. Loved the dance party at night for the kids, especially our 5 year old.
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
We had such a awesome time and the facilities was great. So much outdoor activities for the families. I recommend to stay there again in the future.
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Great place to stay. Everyone (staff) was nice
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Everything was great, only suggestion is to increase the wifi ability
Jul 19, 2015
A few friendly staff and a few not so friendly. No one seemed to have answers. Site was not level, didn't have enough blocks to get level. our fire pit was our neighbors bump. 5 feet in front of our door was the neighbors water and electric. Directly behind that was the open sewer. Camping site was awful, campground was ok, busy and packed but that was expected. Pick another campground, not here.
Jul 19, 2015
WIFI service was very poor to non existent. The constant stench from the horse stables was an unwelcome greeting.
Jul 19, 2015
Nice campground, but packed a little tight. Good activities for the kids, but know that there's no cell service and no working wifi (even though they claim to have it) so if you have to contact anyone or check your email you have to leave the grounds.
Jul 19, 2015
Beautifully maintained; nice to have transportation to Mt Rushmore; and the horseback riding tour was amazing!
Jul 19, 2015
BEST KOA EVER! They do charge a daily resort fee, but that means that just about everything there is included. The kampground is HUGE, has lots to do, including a restaurant and mini-mall area. We will definitely be back, as this is now our favorite KOA, and the one we are comparing all others to, which isn't fair, because it's the best!
Jul 19, 2015
Only stay for one night. Wish I can stay for more. I can stay at this campground for week. This is a resort and got lots of resort activities
Jul 19, 2015
What a great place for the kids! So many activities in the campground and amazing sights in the area.
Jul 19, 2015
Our family loved this campground. It is the best we stayed in. The kids enjoyed all the things to do. Keep up the excellent work.
Jul 19, 2015
We chose this campground for our son. The resort has many activities for children that will keep them occupied after a long day of sightseeing. The bathrooms were clean and showers were well maintained. The proximity to other campers is close and can be loud at times. Our biggest complaint was the road surface material which turned into a thick, slick mud after it rained.
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
It was too big and not very personal like the other KOAs we've been to before. Camp site was sloped and too close to neighbors. Bathroom was dirty and too far from oure site even though I asked for somewhere not too far because of little ones.
Jul 19, 2015
Bad wifi
Jul 19, 2015
Need to level out some of the sites, my husband has never had so much trouble setting up trailer because of the unlevel site. Setting is beautiful and lots of amenities even though we didn't use them. Should consider not charging people who don't use them just stayng to camp.
Jul 19, 2015
Great campground but nonfunctional wifi is big disadvantage. Other than that, great!
Jul 19, 2015
Nice campground....seemed a bit crowded but clean. Would camp there again.
Jul 19, 2015
Excellent! Most of all, your reservation staff member went out of her way to accommodate us on short notice! My sincere gratitude!
Jul 19, 2015
Bathrooms were filthy. Campers crammed in like sardines. No observation of 10pm quiet time.
Jul 18, 2015
We stay every year for the last 9 years and no dissapointment this time either had a great 2 weeks at the park and will be back next year
Jul 18, 2015
I will list a few problems and will also be sending a more complete email to KOA. Arrived at our site to find the previous persons trash bagged and still sitting next to cabin steps inside of cabin dirty, extremely long walk to bathroom, people yelling,talking loudly until atleast 1am this resumed at 5:45 am. The wifi didn't work the whole of the time we were there.
Jul 18, 2015
Your facility has gotten to big our first time we stayed was about ten years ago. It was smaller and all amenities were closer. It's was still an enjoyable stay but to big.
Jul 18, 2015
I have stayed in many KOA's, and this is the prettiest location we have ever seen. The campground has several amenities like horseback riding and restaurant that were really nice. However, the mgmt of the campground is severely lacking. For campsites, you don't get what is advertised (and paid for), and the restrooms were not cleaned often, and were quite disgusting on several visits. Its a shame
Jul 18, 2015
This is a very nice campground with very friendly people and beautiful setting. It may be a bit tight for some people and a bit pricey but they provide a lot of things. We enjoyed our stay
Jul 18, 2015
We had a great stay while in the Black Hills. The only complaint my wife or I had was the water pressure at the komfort station we used. I really enjoyed the variety of activities that were available for our three children (7,5,3). I would highly recommend this KOA as a destination or basecamp while visiting the Black Hills.
Jul 18, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.