Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 23, 2015
Although this KOA has many great qualities I was not impressed by any of the staff members. They were rude, unfriendly, not willing to help with anything and certainly didnt make us feel welcome. This KOA is nice for the activities they provide but if you are looking for a relaxing stay go somewhere else!!
Jun 23, 2015
Beautiful setting but no connectivity - cell phones, internet, or TV. They say they have Wi-Fi, but we were never able to connect.
Jun 23, 2015
I stayed at two particular sites at Rushmore. This particular site was spectacular. Definitely recommend. A lot of fun activities for the children to do. Very clean amenities. Great location.
Jun 23, 2015
We had an amazing time at the Palmers Gulch KOA. The staff are outstanding. They did everything they could to make our stay memorable. The grounds were clean and the facilities were amazing. I would definitely come back to this campground in a heartbeat. Thanks again for helping us make a life time of lasting family memories. Front desk girls were above and beyond helpful and friendly.
Jun 23, 2015
Very much enjoyed our stay. everyone was so friendly and helpful.
Jun 23, 2015
We had no fire pit most likely due to the rain washing it away, but it would have been nice to know about it before the camper was situated. Tight spots if neighboring campers have multiple slides. Our spot was muddy which was difficult with a dog. Staff were friendly.
Jun 23, 2015
The campground is pretty nice. Luckily for us, the people in the tent spot next to ours didn't show up or else it would have been really tight. They cram everyone in. But it's cheaper than getting a hotel in the area.
Jun 23, 2015
The campground had a lot of fun activities and was the largest KOA that I have ever stayed at. I didn't care for the site that I stayed at as I had a lot of standing water, which attracted a lot of bugs. I am sure that most other sites were nice. I would stay at this camp ground again.
Jun 23, 2015
Hail destroyed all four of my air-conditioners and my car. won't be back. Site was muddy, needed some gravel in it. for the money it cost,was not good
Jun 23, 2015
The deluxe cabin was awesome!! D280 was only 1 year old and very clean and comfortable! The staff was all friendly and helpful!
Jun 23, 2015
Lots of hail damage but KOA staff wonderful - out in full force. Wish prices were better for nightly rates but still a wonderful facility.
Jun 23, 2015
Good sight but tent sights not level. Options available ex.) bikes ,atv, a little $$. Bathrooms and showers great but need more maitanence attention to keep so with traffic flow of occupants. On the plus side pool and hot tub nice and clean.
Jun 23, 2015
No internet service which we paid for. Too many packed into a small space
Jun 22, 2015
We have visited this KOA three times in the past four years. This year was disappointing. Very disorganized, less events for the kids, but worst of all, the most unfriendly staff we've ever encountered. We certainly hope things change, or we may need to look elsewhere for a campground next summer. Best of luck that you can figure things out and update the KOA and improve overall!
Jun 22, 2015
Awesome staff, great amenities, great food, nice sites, strange camp fire placement, nice bathrooms and showers.
Jun 22, 2015
We showed up early to try to check in early and a guy at the front counter tolds us not to come back until 3pm as we can't check you in until then
Jun 22, 2015
We have stayed at this koa a number of times. This is the first time we have had to jump puddles to get to our site. Which we wouldn't have minded as much, but we had asked for a different site and were told no. We had seen drier stops that were open the whole time we were there. Otherwise our stay would have been very nice.
Jun 22, 2015
My kids loved everything about this KOA. We were thrilled with the experience.
Jun 22, 2015
had a great time! weather was rainy, but out of your control. we tried to get a cabin with a bathroom but none were avail. Maybe you need to make more avail. ha
Jun 22, 2015
Need one or the other, WiFi or cell phone access. Need emergency contact with family and friends outside.
Jun 22, 2015
Internet doesn't work even in hot spots. Cable fuzzy. Deluxe patio falling apart. If you are on main road, constant noise and traffic and noise. Crowded and expensive
Jun 22, 2015
If you have kids, this is the place to stay during your Black Hills visit.
Jun 22, 2015
We love coming out because everyone is so friendly and helpful. Place is very clean. We loved our 601 spot! Also, my first time horseback riding in 28 years. My husband lost his voice box to cancer so he speaks very softly. Girls that took us out riding constantly checked if he was OK. Very conscious of his not being able to yell out if he was in trouble. See you June 2016...
Jun 22, 2015
Our site was very muddy/wet - I know it rained a lot but other sites were nothing like ours. We have stayed there 2 other times and convinced our family to do a reunion there due to our pleasant stays in the past - not so this time. The gravel roads are horrible!! There were pot holes and washouts all over - piles of gravel were there but in our 5 days we never saw anyone do anything about it.
Jun 22, 2015
Great entertainment for kids and close to MT. Rushmore (Only reasons to come here). DIRTY cabin (mouse droppings on beds) and dirty bathrooms/showers. Mattresses were like lumpy rocks in our cabin, bring your own if you want to sleep. Very crowded campground.
Jun 22, 2015
The unpaved roads were horrible. They were so rough. I understand that you have had a lot of rain in that area, but I would have thought there would have been gravel spread or tractors out there scraping the roads to make smoother.
Jun 22, 2015
What a wonderful experience! Beautiful setting, convenient location and tons of amenities. Our kids will never forget their time at your KOA. They loved the bounce thing, the pool, the water slide the mini golf and pancake breakfast!! We loved the coffee place, too! Everyone was wonderful. Great experience!
Jun 22, 2015
We had sewer back up at our site and all the sites down our road stunk. It was not even enjoyable to go out side.
Jun 22, 2015
One of my favorite camp grounds.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Internet only at the reservation center. Very poorly maintained. Tent sites not level. Bathrooms very dirty. Worst KOA we've ever stayed at.
Jun 22, 2015
Called to verify my reservation and our group could be together and was told it was possible, but wasn't at check in. Also asked the condition of the campsites, due to the recent rain, told they were ok, but we stayed in a mud hole. The last thing is the showers were nasty and hadn't been cleaned that day, and it was 11 am.
Jun 22, 2015
One of the BEST campgrounds we've ever stayed at!!!!!
Jun 22, 2015
pros-We had a great time! This is a very nice campground. Large lots. Very clean. cons- no cellular service, little to no Wi-Fi. Need to have more sites with cable hook ups. Firewood is expensive for the size of the bundles considering it is pine and burns quickly. It takes several bundles to have a small camp fire for smores. The kids loved the 3 wheeled bikes but were to expensive to ride mor
Jun 22, 2015
Very nice campground. They recieved a lot of rain recetnly and the staff was working to improve the roads. We had some major storms come through and it would have been nice to see the weather but there is no cell service or wifi in most of the park. We had a great time renting the ATV and the chuck wagon dinner as well as the rest of the parks amenities.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
The activities are great, but no ac in the cabins ans such a late check-in were drawbacks.
Jun 22, 2015
The hailstorm caused a lot of damage throughout the park, but before the rain had stopped, employees were going campsite to campsite, making sure everyone was okay. The next morning, they were out making repairs and working hard to get the campground back to normal. In better weather: the campground is a lot of fun, with activities, water slide, 2 pools. The store is not overpriced.
Jun 22, 2015
We had road that started at 0530 right outside our camper.
Jun 22, 2015
They charged me more when I got there,different from when I made online reservation. Wifi doesn't work at all so plan on no phone at all when there. They charge everyone a resort fee per night, even if you don't use anything. And even still some of the stuff costs more money. Most expensive KOA, we used to stay all the time, but no more. Too many people if you are wanting to get away.
Jun 22, 2015
We loved all the family friendly activities and the stores and restraints make it easy to get what we need without needing to leave the resort. Our one Major complaint was the cleanliness of the showers! They were beyond gross. One shower had period blood on the floor and shower stall for both days we were there indicating it had not been cleaned in over 48 hours. Very disappointing!
Jun 22, 2015
While the campground was clean and offered a variety of activities and amenities, the lack of cell phone service and internet availability in this day in age, was disheartening.
Jun 22, 2015
After driving 13 hours I was so impressed with the hospitality and service and kind workers there. Very clean and fun for us. Thank you to you all. There was not one person that was not helpful. We did the horse ride as well and those girls are very kind also. Great customer service!!!! thanks again. Kim
Jun 22, 2015
We were put in a site that was muddy with standing water.Grass needed mowing No cell service and no wifi. Hail storms both nights. Damage to RV. Not a pleasant experience at all!
Jun 22, 2015
Charged us daily Resort Saver Package fee of $10 for KOA amenities that are free at every other KOA we have visited. Charged for our dogs which have been free at other KOAs. No cable and water slide closed even though we paid for these in Resort Saver package.We feel ripped off.Beautiful location, we will use another campground next time.
Jun 22, 2015
Very disappointed in stay, people at check in were rude We were early, said be back about 230, had to wait till after 3 to get room. Horse guide did not even talk on trip. Camp grounds over full, packed in tight, head people in cabin next to me snoring showers not real clean
Jun 22, 2015
Everything was great except the bathrooms, disgusting. They should have warned the poor campers in tents that a major hail / lightning storm was coming so they could take cover. Very bad!!
Jun 22, 2015
It's like summer camp for the whole family!
Jun 22, 2015
Oh my. The disneyland of KOA's! The campground was beautiful. The shuttle up to Mt Rushmore was a nice feature we took advantage of. Already thinking about when/how we'll be back!
Jun 22, 2015
Very clean, safe, friendly, and fun for adults and kids of all ages! The WIFI was not accessible for some reason. We were told the wrong time for the shuttle bus to MT. Rushmore, so we missed it and had to drive our RV. Times for shuttle busses should be printed on receipt. We will be back :)

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.