Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Very good if you like more of a resort type setting. Very close to Rushmore and other area attractions. Bathrooms are far from a lot of the cabins and seem inadequate for the number of people at the site. A lot of things for kids to do when they are actually open which wasn't the case while we were there.
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
I made two reservations over the phone, one for me one for my daughter. I have a value card to use for my sight. The person I talked to said he would give me a 10% discount for the second sight. When I got there I was told that I couldn't get the discount for the second sight, so the person I talked to lied to me.
Jul 28, 2013
The only thing to improve would be the bathrooms. We used comfort station #4 the most, and the bathrooms we never really clean. The shower curtains had mold growing on them and bathroom was out of toilet paper more than once. Otherwise, all was good. Love your campground.
Jul 28, 2013
Location was great. Was surprised there was a fee for the shuttle bus to mount rushmore. Wish the horses were not next to the ice cream shop. It was a little stinky while eating!
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Beautiful situated, checkin irrational - had to wait outside for a service staff that never arrived. After 25 minutes I went in again to ask where the person went. Unorganized. Asked why WiFi did not work - answer: many is complaining you have to wait for it to work! Got poor speed and signal after half an hour. Campsite very clean, calm despite a lot of guests. Staff young and donĀ“t care.
Jul 28, 2013
The campsite was very accommodating in moving our campsite to a slightly larger site, however the sites in those areas have are disturbed by the street lights by the front parking lot.
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
all most too big for a KOA, but we had a good time. it was tuff for the KOA staff to keep up with the bathrooms, they were always dirty and smelly.
Jul 27, 2013
First time campers at a koa is was a super positive experience staff was super friendly and soon as I pulled in directed me where to go that was really nice after a long drive. All the amenities were top notch I will definitely camp koa again
Jul 27, 2013
Pool closed for two days even though they kept saying it would be open the next day. Road graters going through mid day. Definitely not coming back!
Jul 27, 2013
Beautiful grounds, well taken care of, friendly staff, safe area and good food in Ponderosa restaurant. All in all, it was very nice!!!
Jul 27, 2013
The shower and restroom facilities are very dirty. Even after the crew came to clean they were not clean. I think this place could be much better if they had a couple more restroom/shower facilities and they were cleaned better.
Jul 27, 2013
I wish we could have stayed longer. Our kids love all the amenities. They have stayed there and played instead of seeing the sites.
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Great campground for kids!!!
Jul 27, 2013
Great place; has everything; run by nice people!
Jul 27, 2013
having asked for a cabin in a flat area, I was not listen too and was given cabin on the hill #410 heavy motorcycle and back problems no one listened!!!
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Stay good, great kids area, not good arrangement for bikes on the roads where the traffic is so heavy
Jul 27, 2013
The issue with this campground is that it is too big to manage successfully. With 500 sites and 55 cabins, you would need to have an employee manning each of the comfort stations all day long to keep trash picked up, toilets and urinals in working order, showers mopped, etc. Knock the size back by at least 50% and you might be able to maintain a higher level of service and cleanliness.
Jul 27, 2013
We totally enjoyed our stay. However, the bathrooms need to be checked every couple of hours or be cleaned better during cleaning times. We loved the variety of activitites offered there.
Jul 27, 2013
While the campground was nice.The sites need to be shaded or at least Aline the sites for some afternoon shade.The bigger problem was the horrible fly situation.We could hardly be outside for amount of flys.Maybe moving the dumpster full of horse manure near the campground would be a start.On our next trip to the hills we will have to find a different spot and we can't recommend this campground .
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
We had an enjoyable stay. The large pool next to our cabin was closed. My youngest were disappointed.
Jul 27, 2013
I was quite disappointed in some of the activities we were looking forward to during our stay. The rock wall was closed the first night we were there and the second night it started thundering before we got to the front of the line. My kids refused to go on the jumping pillow because they were afraid of getting hurt by too many kids on it. The water slide was super slow/emptied into a dirty pool.
Jul 27, 2013
The kids activities were great! The pancake breakfast every morning was delicious! However, the showers were very dirty and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a long time. There was barely any water pressure-took a long time to take a shower.
Jul 27, 2013
The site was terrible. Everybody right on top of everybody.Extremely high fees for very little value. I will do everything in my power to avoid staying in a KOA campsite ever again. I will never recommend it to anybody as well.Come to Canada to see REAL campsites.
Jul 27, 2013
We stayed for two nights. It is a fabulous place to stay and especially if you have a family. We really enjoyed it was close to a lot of places and had what we needed. It was a really nice place to stay and if we are there again we will stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone
Jul 27, 2013
The campground was awesome, but whats up with the water in the pools and water slide. Green and dirty.
Jul 27, 2013
It was frustrating that we picked a campgrund with pool for our children only to experience the pool being out of service during 2 nights of our stay. The other pool was for adult swim only after 8. Otherwise it was a nice stay.
Jul 27, 2013
Wow, this is a big campground with lots to do with the kids, very close to Mount Rushmore. The bar/grill is very good. Sites could be marked clearer as we had trouble finding our site as well as some of the campers that came in after dark. Overall this is a great campground.
Jul 27, 2013
This was our first time in a Kamping Kabin---very enjoyable and kept us dry!!!! Thank you!
Jul 27, 2013
Wow, huge KOA. Lots going on and plenty to do...Super crowded but well run. The smell at the food shack was about the only poor thing, besides the crowds, but hey it's Mt. Rushmore....
Jul 27, 2013
Your showers need a little maintenance work, the shower heads were spraying the ceiling. The entire place was gorgeous and we had a lot of fun!!!
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Campground is well kept and in a beautiful location. The majority of the staff was nice, Price to value however is questionable, local convenience stores were cheaper than purchases within the campground. The convenience of having stores at the campground is nice but really $2.59 for disposable salt and pepper? and 9.99 for a small can of off? all in the trip was worth the money spent
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Perfect for our family, especially for the kids! Thank you!!!!
Jul 26, 2013
The campground itself is amazing-so many activities (if only it hadn't poured rain for most of the evening of our stay-not your fault)Our kabin was in serious need of upgrades. The door pin fell out, unhinging it, the floor sloped so that the heads of the beds tilted downhill and our floor had a 1/2 foot hole with insulation poking through. Beds were fine and close to the bathrooms-a plus
Jul 26, 2013
All amenities were top notch. Our site located on Palmer Rd (main access road to most sites) was very noisy and busy. I was concerned for safety as most vehicles were driving waaay over 10 mph.
Jul 26, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay. The last time was 10 or more years ago. Our kids could have spent the whole time at the campground playing than going anywhere else.
Jul 26, 2013
Great family campground. Lots of activities. Big and busy but receptive staff.
Jul 26, 2013
I took my two sons tent camping at the KOA. We had such a fun time that we ended up extending our stay for one more night. There are a lot of fun things to do in this area. We loved Sylvan Lake,the Jewel Cave, and Mount Rushmore as well as all the fun activities inside the KOA. We would recommend this KOA to our friends. Thanks!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.