Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 21, 2015
We loved the many activities they provide for us while we stayed there. My kids didn't want to go anywhere they wanted to stay and play at the KOA!
Jul 21, 2015
Nice stay. 4 th time. Comfort stations could use a bit of updating/deep cleaning.
Jul 21, 2015
The spots are too small. The manager was changing peoples sites with out putting the change into the computer system. This left us a choice between two muddy spots or one small spot were the larger next door neighbors visitors parking in out spot. I suggest you buy some gravel for your spots so people would not have to put there campers in muddy spots. This was the worst stay of our trip.
Jul 21, 2015
We were in the camping cabins. the cabins were nice, they did what we needed. I was not pleased with the cleanliness of the bathroom /shower area. It appeared they only cleaned them once a day, and that was questionable. Even the main lodge nathrooms in a 24 hr period never got cleaned.
Jul 21, 2015
people working ice cream shop bike rental, need to get another job very rude. Site we stayed in over priced
Jul 21, 2015
Excellent place to camp!......lots for the kids to do!
Jul 21, 2015
wonderful camp ground
Jul 21, 2015
we should have stayed longer!
Jul 21, 2015
KOA needs to install sidewalks to get people in and out of fun zone. This is a very busy campground with very poor pedestrian safety measures.
Jul 21, 2015
We loved the cabin we rented (D402). We ate at the Ponderosa, & was disappointed - esp. that the women's restroom had no working water faucets, so no way to wash my hands. I think that's against sanitation rules to be open for serving when that happens. Also, there was only 1 server for all the tables - so obviously, the service was poor. Gals at the registration desk were outstanding, though!
Jul 21, 2015
The place was very nice, very peaceful at night despite many people there. Many showers but only two toilets. The wifi was not working. Not enough deckchairs around the pool.
Jul 21, 2015
Thank you
Jul 21, 2015
Very disappointing for a KOA. Very narrow roads. Free Wifi non existent even in lodge lobby and only for Apple devices. Too many other nicer and less expensive campgrounds in area to ever stay here again. Most enjoyable part of stay was that we were away all day and evening sightseeing.
Jul 21, 2015
wish we stayed longer to enjoy all your camp had to offer. we will return.
Jul 21, 2015
Disagreeable staff, except the concier who really helped us obtain reservations at KOAs for our next two stops. Site was too small for our rig and badly eroded from the recent rain.
Jul 21, 2015
We were there five days and had a great time! We started out with campsite 601 which was fine for my husband and I, but we were concerned because it was steep and our grandkids were coming. We asked to move and Danelle worked and worked and succeeded in getting us a better spot! God bless her! Also, we love the Sunday service. (Miss the paddle boats though.)
Jul 21, 2015
THis was our 4th Trip and We were quite disappointed, we were moved to a location that was up a steep hill. We had our 4 month old and 3 year old grandsons that had to be toted up and down this big hill. The 3 year old fell going down it and injured his knee due to the steep incline. I was told when making reservations that we would be in 287 & 288, as I said we needed near the playground.
Jul 21, 2015
roads are in terrible condition lots of potholes, site was very poorly maintained, reported to staff who seemed too busy to care, poor customer service
Jul 20, 2015
Great experience. Liked the fact that kids were free. Everyone was very nice.
Jul 20, 2015
The Kids Zone was fantastic. We would have planned more time here if we had known. A fun destination for camping.
Jul 20, 2015
We had a great visit. Loved all the activities for the kids!
Jul 20, 2015
Everything was good except there their wi-fi was poor and the water in the water slide was green.
Jul 20, 2015
Great stat. Kids thoroughly enjoyed the campground. Thanks for the memories!!
Jul 20, 2015
We wish we could have stayed longer and taken advantage of the many opportunities at this resort.
Jul 20, 2015
This is a very large KOA, hundreds of people. The pools were very nice, showers as clean as can be expected, trail ride best we have ever done, food/price good. At night it smells like the forest is on fire with smoke wafting from every direction. Dont expect any help backing in at this resort! Probably wont stay there again, but it was fun for my tweens.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Tight spots, little shade were the only drawbacks. Beautiful restrooms and plenty of activities gave this place it's four star rating from me.
Jul 20, 2015
nice camp spots, nice amenities. Loved the pancake tent. Bathrooms and showers were dirty and in disrepair
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
awesome location. Great staff, and awesome cleanliness. Loved the cabins, and all the activities. Would totally come here again.
Jul 20, 2015
We had our 2 grand-daughters with us for 5 days. Each day after we toured 2 or 3 adttractions we came back to our Rv. The girl couldn't wait to swim, bounce, ride their bike, climb the wall or play on the playground. Sometimes I think they enjoyed the activities at the campground more than the attractions of the Black Hills. We will definately bring them back
Jul 20, 2015
everything was great, many things for the kids to do. sidewalks around the fun zone next to the road would be VERY helpful. Pedestrians and motor coaches sharing the same space, very dangerous.
Jul 20, 2015
Awesome!! This is a great place for a family vacation!! So much to do! Only disappointment was that they don't allow kids under 7 ride the horses even if they are experienced. They don't allow riding double either.
Jul 20, 2015
When we arrived we had a medium sized site but our 12 man tent wouldn't fit so we asked if we could switch and with hesitation we were directed to a site perfect for our overly large tent. Thank You KOA for making our stay so comfortable and helping us find an area to suit our needs!!!!
Jul 20, 2015
This place was just as I remember it as a little girl. We will for sure be staying here again, my kids had a great time and an experience they will never forget.
Jul 20, 2015
- LOTS of activities for the kids. - Nice tent campsites. (BTW - Had to go to registration desk three time to be reassigned a site as the first site didn't exist and the second was occupied. We finally just picked our own site and then told the registration desk which one we were in.)
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
We had a great stay at this KOA. Friendly staff, great location, so much for the kids to do, clean. The whole experience didn't disappoint. We had a great time!
Jul 20, 2015
Your laundry facilities need help and are expensive.
Jul 20, 2015
The only complaint we had like ALL the KOA's we stayed at this week was that there was no wifi access again. The KOA itself was fantastic, however when you're from another country on a data plan you need wifi to plan your next day and for business. The food and service at the Pizza place was fantastic.
Jul 20, 2015
A lot of great activities for kids!! Wish Wi-Fi and phone service was a little better.
Jul 20, 2015
My children loved. All the activities
Jul 20, 2015
This place was complete chaos. Geared to small children. We camped here with an 18, 17 and 16 year old and there wasn't much for them to do. Also, they may claim they have free wifi, but we sure couldn't get any. Also, expect to be about 10 feet from another camper on both sides.
Jul 20, 2015
This was by far the biggest and "fanciest" KOA we stayed at on our big Out West adventure...the staff was friendly, courteous and proffesional...A+
Jul 20, 2015
Had a great stay. Have been going to your camp for the past 35 years, not every year. Would like to see better cell service, know this is not your problem. As both my wife and I are professinals who are on call it would be nice to be able to communicate while in camp and not have to go outside of the area. had a great trip and looking forward to coming back next year.
Jul 20, 2015
The tent spot we were given was very tiny. Our tent barely fit. The bathrooms were filthy and one toilet was broken the entire time of our stay. We created a wait in the women's bathroom.
Jul 20, 2015
It would depend on what kind of stay they wanted.
Jul 20, 2015
We liked the campground and the activities it had to offer for the kids. At $72+ per night it got to be a bit high, beings we had our own camper, compared to getting a motel room, however we were ok doing this vs motel.
Jul 20, 2015
Lots of fun activities for the kids!
Jul 20, 2015
It was very noisy all day and night. Our camping spot was very wet and swampy.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.