Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
Very big and nice and is also great for family's.Great people working there.Thanks again
May 28, 2014
Lovely view, nice kids area, not enough bathrooms (none close to campsite) and they were very dirty or out of order.
May 28, 2014
My biggest problem was the fact that the pool was not open on Memorial Day due to filter problems. I understand things break, but it seemed after three days of staying at the campground that something should have been fixed. The pool was the main reason we booked at this KOA. I know it was opening weekend, but I thought pool problems could have been solved before Memorial Day Weekend.
May 28, 2014
Our stay was interesting in that a group took all the cable sites, campground is in a valley so antenna reception was poor, and no phone service. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This KOA is large and focused on kids and family.
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
Was staff for the AVC mega rally and stayed afterwards for 4 days. Nice campground. Didn't like all the kids riding bikes, etc. in streets and no one watching them. Some didn't care that cars, trucks, and rv's were there. Wish water had been flushed well before campground opened- had pale yellow tint and slight smell. Good location for sightseeing!
May 28, 2014
The KOA had a wonderful program filled with activities that my family enjoyed. However our overall stay was not very good. We were placed in a cabin that did not have WORKING bathrooms/showers nearby. The closest place was a long walk and was out of soap for the majority of our trip. I mentioned these concerns and nothing was done to correct them during our stay.
May 28, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at KOA Mt Rushmore- lots of activities / enjoyed that there were restaurants and shops on site. Our first tent camping trip - our family enjoyed the experience. Only suggestion better maintenance on bathroom facility/ no soap in bathroom, lack of toilet paper, and over flowing trash in women's restroom.
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
it was very good thank you
May 28, 2014
Very helpful and friendly staff. We had major car problems and they were very helpful as we worked it out. What made it 4 instead of 5 stars - bathrooms were a little run down and the cell/wifi reception was very spotty.
May 28, 2014
Fabulous campground, this is our second visit.
May 28, 2014
We wished we'd known more about Mt. Rushmore KOA and the amenities. As it rained the whole time of our stay we'll take the convienence of a cabin next time and bring the grandkids as we were most impressed with all the activities you had for them.
May 28, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Although I had a great time with family and friends for Memorial Day weekend. The KOA was very disappointing and did not meet my expectations from my last visits. We had a large group (six families with 20 kids) and both pools were down and the waterslide was not working. There are usually more activities for the families. The staff were not as available as usual.
May 27, 2014
The comfort station closest to us was closed the entire length of our stay. This was a huge hassle for a family of 5 with 3 small kids. Otherwise the campground was good.
May 27, 2014
Really looked forward to enjoying the pool but it was closed the entire weekend. Not very happy about that. Busiest weekend and no pool...also mini golf course was a wreck. I wouldn't normally complAin about trivial stuff like this, but when my 6 yr old complains there must be a problem. Also WiFi was not working. Again not a huge deal but storms rolled in and had no way to tell the wx.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
EXPECTED A LOT MORE FOR THE MONEY- REQUESTED SPOTS WITH COMPLETE HOOKUPS DID NOT GET SEWER- CLOSEST BATHROOMS WERE OUT OF ORDER THE NEXT CLOSEST BATHROOMS WERE ALSO OUT OF ORDER! NIGHTMARE EVERYTIME ONE OF THE 20+ IN OUR PARTY HAD TO WALK ACROSS PARK TO GO! WATERSLIDE WASN'T WORKING AND POOL WAS CLOSED- CAUSED US TO LOOK FOR MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE ALTERNATIVES. HAS POTENTIAL.........
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
The restaurant above the campground was over priced for the food...ordered a steak med rare got it med to well done. The bathroom was out of soap everyday and by the last day no toilet paper, to me there is no excuse for this since there is a cleaning crew daily. The pool was closed past labor day which the kids were upset about. There was stuff for them to there and it was a nice place
May 27, 2014
Was told pool would be open and it was not. When we asked multiple people working we always got a different answer.
May 27, 2014
AMAZING,, almost wished my kids were still young..
May 27, 2014
Our cabin was not ready on time and not really cleaned. It looked like they only swept the second bedroom and part of the first, under the beds were clearly dirty. Also the bathrooms by our cabin were closed and were not informed of that at the time of check in, the bathrooms and showers that were open where not very clean as well.
May 27, 2014
My only complaint would be the cleanliness of the restrooms. They were dirty and not stocked properly with supplies and had overflowing trash. Other than that, our stay was wonderful and I would definitely recommend this KOA to anyone. My family had a great time.
May 27, 2014
Great facility...could do a little better about keeping the bathrooms and shower area cleaned and stocked. Out of 4 sinks, only 1 had soap and only 2 stalls had toilet paper.. other than that, great place to stay
May 27, 2014
Pool was closed Memorial Day weekend. Kids were frustrated, since the amount of free activities -- including the aging putt putt course -- didn't last them very long. $10 resort fee was too much for what little remained free.
May 27, 2014
The campground was nice but the cabin needed some work. The front porch and stairs were bowed and unstable. We had to be careful with our young children so they did not fall off the stairs.
May 26, 2014
Great place. Fun for all ages, plenty of activities to keep busy
May 26, 2014
We have. Ever been in a KoA with such a positive feeling. This one gives personal attention, a variety of campsites, cleanliness, and beauty of AreA. Very impressive !
May 26, 2014
very clean, friendly staff and organized!!
May 26, 2014
As the largest US KOA with tons of sites and activities it can be overwhelming. Very well maintained and on-site restaurant was very good. Brady, Supv at registration helped pick the perfect site for us. Being in a deadzone for phone & internet was a big deal for us. Probably too many people for us. if towing, DON'T go through keystone, steep and slow. follow KOA's directions thru High City.
May 26, 2014
I chose this KOA because it was only 5 miles from Mt. Rushmore.The property was clean and the staff was awesome. They have cheap rental cars on site allowing me to enjoy everything the town had to offer without having to drive the RV...including a memorable helicopter ride to see Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse.
May 26, 2014
The bath rooms for the area of camping spots 450 or so They were out of order. The showers were being used as bathrooms. Had to go all the way to the main Gift shop to use the restrooms. They still charged the same amount as the other areas with clean and workable bathrooms. For family's its great for areas around the main view of where you enter just don't go around the corner.
May 25, 2014
The location was great for visiting the area. The Mt Rushmore camp site is huge lots of fun.
May 25, 2014
Rest rooms were not ready when we arrived. Adventure Caravans program went well. As retirees, we would not spend $70 per night for facilities that have not use for us. You are great for families.
May 25, 2014
Large and very professional. No Wi-Fi at our site.
May 25, 2014
The staff was friendly and helpful. The campground was clean and in a great location. Would defiantly return
May 25, 2014
May 25, 2014
May 25, 2014
We were escorted t a muddy site, there were plenty that were not muddy, we went back to the office and were begrudingley relocated to a campsite that was better. A pretty park, but, the rates should be lower during the off season, no pool etc to use prior to Memorial Day. A nice setting though.
May 24, 2014
Absolute one of the best KOA, s in years. Only two issues, no cell phone service and wifi don't work at the sites. The campground has good resturant and activities.
May 24, 2014
Great location for riding our motorcycle. Many amenities we do not use. Price before Holiday very reasonable. Okay showers and WIFI.
May 24, 2014
Wifi did not work until I manually took the IP of receptionist's iphone. Please ask your IT to upgrade wifi to support at least 3 devices per RV/camper/cabin.
May 23, 2014
If you don't want to you your cell phone or wifi you might like this place for a over night stay. If you need to do laundry don't do it here go down town. The people here were very friendly and knowledgable.
May 22, 2014
Only thing I wish they would let people know that if there is cool weather, that they inform guests staying in cabins that heaters are available. Didn't know this till the second night. Other than that, great stay!
May 21, 2014
We are full time RV'ers and have been to many KOA's. This has to be the largest. This is a kid's dream, sites are nice size the view is beautiful BUT they don't tell you there is no cell service!! If you want to get your kids away from the outside world this is a great place. Workers and staff are very friendly and helpful. Would have given it a 10 except for phone service.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.