Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2014
Great location from several site seeing points. As well plenty of things for the kids to do. A little expensive for the Extras things to do...but overall a Good experiance.
Jul 26, 2014
Used site 624 cramped,Muddy and you could smell the dumpster behind it. I think I will try another camp ground next time.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
It was great ! We stayed an extra day just because how much fun we were all having !
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
We had a great time . The camp ground are nice and clean and the employes were very helpful and friendly .
Jul 26, 2014
The campground was fine however, the knants were HORRIBLE in the bathrooms. If you have a problem, there needs to be more than one time of cleaning a day. Also, you have staff everywhere else, someone needs to man the putt putt so some kids that are left to run wild on the grounds, don't hurt someone messing around.
Jul 26, 2014
Attendant extremely friendly and helpful, facilities well keep and clean, a lot of activities for families. Only complain the alcohol and cigarette ID purchase require by the manager if you can not differentiate between a 70 year old and a 17 year old them you must may need to find a different job!!!
Jul 26, 2014
Excellent bathroom/shower facilities, lots of family activities, pancake breakfast under the tent, variety of small stores on site. Close to Mt Rushmore, but peaceful and serene. Only negatives were that we had to root thru the grass to find campsite #, and ATM was down. Great stay!
Jul 26, 2014
Our son loved all the activities and met some great kids.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Beautiful surroundings & excellent amenities. Great location in Black Hills Nat'l Park area-very central location to many attractions! Must stay.
Jul 26, 2014
Great location, services, store, pool. We had "Aaron" help us out with a bunch of questions regarding the campground, etc. and he was incredibly helpful.
Jul 25, 2014
We went to breakfast. Came back to make sure everything was out of our cabin at 10:30 and it was all cleaned. We still had the keys and had not checked out. Now I am missing my camera. I know I had it on the deck before breakfast. Just saying I did not have a chance to do a final walk through of the cabin. I left one message for supervisor and will continue to until I get a response.
Jul 25, 2014
Great place for kids. Disappointed in the wifi, couldn't get service at all.
Jul 25, 2014
Location of this KOA was perfect. Activities were fun. Disappointed there weren't more tractors for hay ride...waiting in line for an hour with little kids is impossible. However we loved the deluxe cabin and will enthusiastically recommend this location to our friends. The staff was so friendly and all accommodations were exceptionally clean. We will be back again!
Jul 25, 2014
Beautiful area. We loved all the extras and activities. We liked the restaurant on site but service is slow.. We would have enjoyed the ice cream parlor if the smell of manure from horse stables wasn't so bad. Our cabin was small but did its duty. The bathrooms at the pool were not cleaned once in our stay. The dirt road near the bridge has a huge hole that my son fell in. Had good time.
Jul 25, 2014
Enjoyed the campground . Kids were thrilled with the activities that were available to them. Just a little too much traffic- cars coming and going all the time - made us a little nervous about our little one and getting too close to the road. Also dump site should not be so close to camp sites- pay too much money to have to smell that smell everyday.
Jul 25, 2014
Comfort stations very far from cabins. Great with so many activities, but too big and noisy for our taste.
Jul 25, 2014
Clean showers , great food , lots of activities.
Jul 25, 2014
So I stayed another night
Jul 25, 2014
There was no internet service at our site or the hotspot indicated on their map. Other than that it was a very nice place.
Jul 25, 2014
We had a great camping site! However, the handicapped accessible shower was out of order the entire time of our 4 night stay. Didn't have kids with us but would be a great spot for kids. Amazingly, by 10 o'clock the campground was very quiet.
Jul 25, 2014
My sister & her family & my family met there (from MT and MN). We had a kamping kabin and a site for a pop-up. We had a total of 7 children between the two families. After a full day of sight-seeing & seeing what the KOA had to offer, our second day was spent completely at the campground. The activities offered were amazing and everyone had a blast. I highly recommend this A+ campsite!
Jul 25, 2014
Beautiful facility with so much to do for the kids. Highlights were the pool and bouncy castles. The slide was a disappointment tho. The campsites should be monitored better as we rented two spots and someone parked in one of ours. Daddy's Pancakes was good but additional charge for extras was expensive. We had a rude awakening when they moved the horses from pasture to stables at 6 a.m.
Jul 25, 2014
We enjoyed our overall camping experience, but wished that our cabin had air conditioning. We did bring a fan from home, and the weather helped with our comfort. We also had poor AT&T cell phone service and wifi reception, even when near the main building. We had hoped to use the wifi to help with daily planning, but couldn't. The location of the KOA was a major plus.
Jul 25, 2014
Love the facility. Everyone helpful except the concierge who was very rude.
Jul 25, 2014
to many people for the amount of comfort stations that were available. Was unable to use the shower the two times I attempted and the bathrooms ere all ways full. Need more for the number of sites and cabins.
Jul 25, 2014
2 minor complaints NoCell phone service Some more attention to rest room early morning bugs on sinks & floor
Jul 25, 2014
Too busy to be personal. Didn't care that campers were so close to one another that awnings could not be pulled out. Nice activities for kids but water in slide and wading pool very dirty.
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Great location, excellent amenities. But WAY too crowded.
Jul 24, 2014
Just two gents toilette cubicles in a comfort station near Roosevelt with many many people wanting to use the toilet! WiFi hotspots absolutely useless! It's a gigantic RV Park so that the minimal supply of bandwidth is severely clogged by so many people wishing to use the Internet for different purposes and when a kid lgs in and starts streaming videos or games then there's no Internet.
Jul 24, 2014
Perfect for my family. Very kid friendly environment.
Jul 24, 2014
Great service and great views. People were always friendly and helpful. Being in a valley it was difficult for TV and internet reception, but no need for that with all the sites and things to do.
Jul 24, 2014
Our family had a lot of fun!!! We liked all if the extras... Hayride, rock wall, and all the fun things to do for kids. I just thought the bathroom and showers needed to be cleaner. Also like that they had a place for us to do laundry but all but one of the dryers was broken. I also thought that the shrubs by the RV's need to be taken care of. Overall we enjoy the camp and others families like it.
Jul 24, 2014
Awesome campground for families! There's so much to do during down-times at the cabin. We stayed in the deluxe cabin, and it was clean and welcoming - with organic soaps and lotions even. The only comment would be to add curtains to the loft windows so that children aren't woken up at 5:30 a.m. from the sun shining in. We'd definitely return to this campground!
Jul 24, 2014
I rate your KOA as great. We had a wonderful time. I like to see the water situation get better. Taste very poor. Lots of fun great staff and we will be back next year for a two week stay with my grandson. Thanks everyone. Ron Blasko
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
This was a great place with lots of activities for the kids. We stayed here 11 years ago too. The showers were full of gnats so we used our own facilities, but otherwise everything else was great.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
great time and place, it was our 2nd time there thanks.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
We stayed right along the boat pond and it was a great location! We didn't stay long enough to partake in all the activities, but A+ for having them available and for the quality!
Jul 24, 2014
The staff was very helpful. The amenities at this KOA are pretty unbelievable (i.e. pool/splash park, volleyball, mini golf, horseback riding, etc). Great location. Only downside is that the tent sites (with electric) are very small but staff as very accommodating helping us find something that would work for our two tents.
Jul 24, 2014
Way too crowded for our tastes. Nice though.
Jul 24, 2014
Advertising "free WiFi", and providing excuses for not having a usable service is known as 'bait & switch'. It is frankly illegal. You should be ashamed of doing that. It is not a technical issue, it is a financial one. Invest in the infrastructure and the problem will go away. Otherwise change your advertising to tell the truth before someone commits to stay there.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.