Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 31, 2016
Over the top good for activities and for camp spots - Under the top poor for camp spots - just a tight parking lot
Jul 31, 2016
A little hard to find, better signage would be an asset.
Jul 31, 2016
This is so over priced. We got there and checked in and were told there was some water at the site but it would dry up soon. It never dried up and after some rain our camper was surrounded by water.They did give me another site after talking to management.I have stayed at many KOA's and this was the WORST. They need more drainage and better planning for rain. Contact me for more info
Jul 31, 2016
Great amenities and service. Love the location and the views.
Jul 30, 2016
What a fun campground. We stayed with our grandsons and they had so much fun with all the activities in the fun zone. We appreciated having a fire ring for preparing s'mores!
Jul 30, 2016
A fantastic KOA resort! Clean camping cabin in a central location. Family style bathrooms were very clean and large. Pancake breakfast was definitely worth it. Close to Mt. Rushmore. Very friendly staff.
Jul 30, 2016
Lots of fun so much to do
Jul 30, 2016
Wifi advertised, but in 2 days only 1 text message went through. Forget sending a picture. Just to get 3 words through to husband "we are fine" kept kicking back as undeliverable. Wifi, if advertised, should be available, regardless of "too many people". There should be enough wifi for all.
Jul 30, 2016
Lots to do and keep the family entertained.
Jul 30, 2016
Ce camping est une usine, trop de monde, emplacements trop petits et serrés, aucune intimité. Même pas de wifi qui fonctionne alors que c'est un minimum. Faites un effort pour régler ce problème de wifi et empilez moins les gens !
Jul 30, 2016
This was the best camp ground we have stayed yet! There was something to do for the whole family. Great facility's
Jul 30, 2016
Stay was great however when we made the reservation we asked for a pull through and got a back in on top of a hill-😒 For a senior not very comfortable with backing a camper that did not sit well. Great pools, activities, location. Might have more selection of menu at Ponderosa! Loved Papa's pancakes! Great idea and great way to start the day!
Jul 30, 2016
We loved the campground and all of its amenities!
Jul 30, 2016
Enjoyed the activities. Horses coming by camp was awesome. Very peacefully mornings and evenings. Will come again with family.
Jul 30, 2016
we had only one night reservation but wanted to stay 3 nights we were told we may need to move every day but we could stay that was accepted but it sure used up a lot of our time the camp is great for famlies. the laudry rooms had a lot of broken machines.
Jul 30, 2016
Great place. Rained a few days and well water drainage controlled. Lots to do for kids. Cabin was clean. No wifi.
Jul 30, 2016
Wow, more of a resort than a campground. We could have stayed at just the campground and enjoyed the many amenities and been very happy. Not sure the spots with concrete pads / picnic tables are worth it as they are close the front, no shade and are very tightly packed in. Be sure to double check the address on your GPS so you don't get directed to the back service road like we did!
Jul 30, 2016
Jul 30, 2016
Jul 30, 2016
Was so busy going to see everything else that we didn't have the time to enjoy what this site has to offer! So many different activities and amenities that we are looking forward to coming back and using this as our hang out.
Jul 30, 2016
This was a fun resort to stay at but there were a lot of people there.
Jul 30, 2016
very well located to tour the black hills and surrounding areas of Rushmore and custer.
Jul 30, 2016
The pool was in an bad location and smelled like a horse barn. Our cabin was not clean by any means, there was still garbage from the last visitors and a dirty diaper on the floor. Also, on one of the beds the previous person had spilt pop (which never got cleaned up) and the bed's surface was sticky for the rest of the night.
Jul 30, 2016
Great experience. Lots of fun things to do for all ages. Great staff. Highly recommend.
Jul 30, 2016
Over-all, this is a great campground. It is too bad a few things leave negative thoughts about our stay. For Pete's Sake, level out the drive-ways and haul in gravel. Recent rains caused water to stand on the campground streets and campsites. Standing water was under our vehicle, and in the pull-through sites the three days we were there. Pot Holes also were filled with water, making rough roads.
Jul 30, 2016
Nicest shower facilities I've ever seen
Jul 30, 2016
We found this park too large for our liking. Pool slide was not working. Breakfast at the Ponderosa restaurant was sub par, except for the biscuits and gravy. Shuttle to Mt. Rushmore was a convenient redeeming quality. Ice cream stand closed just before the first bus arrived back from the Mt. Water was highly chlorinated, would not recommend for drinking.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize about the pool slide we had it off-line for one day for maintenance, bummer it was the day you were there. Our drinking water is perfectly safe and falls within all standards. We are glad you enjoyed the shuttle.
Jul 29, 2016
Great location to the tourist sites. Activities for kids are fantastic. Wifi doesn't exist despite supposed hot spots. Full hookup sites are too close and muddy. Still worth the stay.
Jul 29, 2016
Great place the kids love it and didn't want to leave.
Jul 29, 2016
It was great. We had a problem with the ice cream lady and the mgr went to work and made us 100 percent satisfied. Way better than I had expected. All of the employees were fantastic and made us feel so welcome and comfortable. See ya next year .
Jul 29, 2016
Our wonderful time was marred by the actions of one of your employees who SCREAMED at my sister for trying to allow traffic to flow around the dump station. She was really shook up over just trying to be kind. :(
Jul 29, 2016
Not enough bathrooms for number of camping guests. No wifi. At all. Parking dangerous at some Kabin sites. Pancake breakfast is more than $3 unless you can eat breakfast dry. Overall felt is was over priced (even for camp ground store prices) and under delivered on most counts. Have stayed at many KOA's in the past and was disappointed with this one. Location for seeing MT Rushmore is unbeatable.
Jul 29, 2016
Jul 29, 2016
So wonderful. Clean, super friendly staff, so much to do, beautiful setting. We tented in the rain, sprang a leek so bailed a day early and they gave us a refund for our last night without asking. Can't say enough about this incredible place.
Jul 29, 2016
Jul 29, 2016
It't great for families with kids. Activities that kids will want to do over and over again. Unfortunately it didn't work for us since we are in need of either cell service or reliable wifi due to our business we conduct while traveling. There is no cell service since it's located in a gulch and the 3 hotspots are a joke. No reliable connection to the outside world. Bigger isn't always better!
Jul 29, 2016
We had a great time in your campground. You could improve on your wifi
Jul 29, 2016
great resort for kids and lots to do for them. my 4 year old and 21 month old absolutely loved the water slide and pool. biggest negative was no WiFi or cell reception. unable to connect with the WiFi anywhere on the resort. we had an emergency and couldn't call anyone using our cells which use at&t data.
Jul 29, 2016
Additional washroom need for campground C and D
Jul 29, 2016
Nice park.
Jul 29, 2016
My family and I love to stay at this KOA. We have never been disappointed. Its the only place we will stay at when we go to the Mount Rushmore area and always look forward for the stay there.
Jul 29, 2016
Wonderful amenities, so much to do. Cabin was clean and comfortable.
Jul 29, 2016
Lots to do for a family but priciest campground we have ever been in!
Jul 28, 2016
Very enjoyable stay,friendly staff. We had two young children and we could have spent all day just doing activities at the campground. Thank-you for an enjoyable stay.
Jul 28, 2016
This KOA has it all EXCEPT WIFI. Lots of fun for the kids and roomy sites. In an area with no cell service they should provide better WIFI.
Jul 28, 2016
Please know how much we enjoyed our stay!!! Only one wish, please help maintenance be able to fix the water .problem
Jul 28, 2016
Great place, lot of activities, kids loved it. Beautiful grounds. Only negative is do not count on wi-fi.
Jul 28, 2016
Great place!
Jul 28, 2016
This KOA is in a beautiful location near Mt. Rushmore. We had a beautiful campsite facing a tree covered mountain. The activities available for the children are numerous. Although the campground was incredibly busy, campers were respectful of quiet hours. The only complaint I have is the dirty bathrooms and showers. but we attributed that the the sheer volume of people that visit the campgroun
Jul 28, 2016
We had the best stay at the campground, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. I will always go to this KOA when going to South Dakota it was perfect for my son and myself and it is pet friendly which is helpful!! thank you KOA Campgrounds
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy