Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 19, 2017
This was our 3rd stay in the last year. We love this koa! My kids love all the activities like the firetruck rides and the movies. We'll be back next year!
Jun 19, 2017
Beautiful resort. Great employees. Will definitely be returning.
Jun 19, 2017
love this place and the people running it. They are helpful and friendly.
Jun 19, 2017
Our family had a wonderful experience all around. We are confident we will be returning.
Jun 19, 2017
Facility was nice but I am very disappointed in the hidden fees. It $40 for 1dog and cat for 3 days plus when I called to tell them I was putting up 2 tents, the lady said no problem but gave us a hard time at checking and said she was adding $6 per night. I also was unable to find a dish washing station as I was tenting. Cold water isn't ideal for washing dishes.
Jun 19, 2017
This Koa was very clean bathrooms were clean there was lots to do for the kids we were only supposed to stay here three days and ended up staying a week and we will be back awesomeness vacation ever
Jun 19, 2017
to extensive, campground was very dirty, there was more mud then lawn
Jun 19, 2017
had a blast, kids loved it!
Jun 19, 2017
Stayed here in mid June was a nice clean campground facilities were well taken care of. I have 2 little girls and although the restrooms looked close they were about a 1/4 of a mile away from my sight which made things interesting at 3 in the morning. But Over all a nice stay with lots of fun activities for the kids.
Jun 19, 2017
The campground was great. But site 565 was about the worst spot in the whole campground!! We Tried to relocate but nothing was available. It is crammed on the corner of a Y and the neighbors septic drain was almost in the middle of our site and there slideout encroached as well!! This site should be a green space!
Jun 19, 2017
The staff was very acomadating lots of things for my daughter to do felt very safe and so close to all the sites
Jun 19, 2017
Great place! Cabins are wonderful! So much to do at the campground!
Jun 19, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
It was very family friendly! Lots of stuff for the kids to do. However, there were 15 + kids in the small "spa" the whole time we were there, & campsites were right on top of each other with little to no privacy. We were disappointed.
Jun 19, 2017
Excellent kampground! 2 families, 6 kids, 5 adults and We ALL had a blast. We even extended our stay by 2 nights. Next year we are planning 2 weeks!
Jun 19, 2017
The music was loud. The man at the desk was hard to understand.
Jun 18, 2017
No inter net or phone servic
Jun 18, 2017
Our family was frustrated by the incorrect info that we were given. Just listening to other families it sounded like they were too.
Jun 18, 2017
fantastic location and amenities! Loved our time there. Fun zone is perfect for the kids. Rented UTV...amazing! The only "con" was that the restrooms/shower areas were pretty gross...standing water and mildew smell.
Jun 18, 2017
We stayed here for 6 nights and could have stayed longer. It is in a great location to see all the sights, there is a ton of stuff for the whole family with events every day. The sites were nice and the bathrooms were clean.
Jun 18, 2017
We had a very nice spot in one of the cabins. Very nice spot. Kids had a blast.
Jun 18, 2017
Lots of fun for the kids! Rodeo was great!
Jun 18, 2017
It is a very nice park and the employees are wonderful,but your services such as telephone and wifi sucks,terrible you should not advertise it as a service rather say that it is unacceptable and lousy or say it is very hard to get, enjoy your vacation.
Jun 18, 2017
Great
Jun 18, 2017
It was a quick stop overnight on the way to Mt. Rushmore. The site we had was not ideal for a tent d/t the incline on the mountain but we managed. Overall, clean and well maintained. Staff was courteous. We enjoyed the all you could eat pancakes in the big top for breakfast.
Jun 18, 2017
This place has it all! Stores, places to eat, fun for families and kids. And every staff member that we dealt with in any part of the campground was so friendly. Wish we lived closer we would be back sooner than later!
Jun 17, 2017
Great campground. The arc rental was the best part of the trip hands down. Bathrooms could have been cleaner but the showers were fine A great place for families.
Jun 17, 2017
Wanted to stay longer, but had health issues not related to camp ground. Thank you7
Jun 17, 2017
Fun time! Kids enjoyed making friends.
Jun 17, 2017
The slide was down once again for all but one of the days we stayed. Our cabin had a decent amount of spiders and a lot of ants on the deck. The camping kitchen only had 1 good grill and was not cleaned good. This ace is a great unique place and if they paid attention to details it would amazing. I think they should stop raising rates and instead start working on some small yet important details.
Jun 17, 2017
Great for families with young children but not so much for older children and adults campers. Friendly ataff.
Jun 17, 2017
Jun 17, 2017
Jun 17, 2017
Due to a last minute change in plans I ended up booking a Kamping Kabin here. Extremely glad I did. Was very nice to have something for the kids to do when we were done shopping/sightseeing/exploring for the day. Only issue was the mattress for the full size bed was extremely flat and felt like I was sleeping on the wooden frame . I would and will definitely be back though.
Jun 17, 2017
Great place! Every staff member we encountered was helpful and friendly.
Jun 17, 2017
One of the best campgrounds we have ever stayed!!!! Very nicely maintained and run!!
Jun 17, 2017
Advertised internet but there is no internet except in a few spots and the worker who signed us in said those are even very sketchy. Advertised a water slide and it was closed. A fellow camper said it's been closed for years. I was charged $3 each for my dogs. I have never been charged for my dogs even at other koa camps. Too expensive, too loud, and no phone signal either.
Jun 17, 2017
Add a second bus on busy nights so the same driver doesn't need to make two runs He was a great bus driver
Jun 17, 2017
Everything great, thanks!
Jun 17, 2017
Very nice and BIG park. Great for most if not all ages, but particularly those with children. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Jun 16, 2017
Lovely site spoiled by totally inadequate number of showers and restrooms. WiFi hotspots never accessible.
Jun 16, 2017
Great place to stay. The staff was amazing. Many things to do with the kids.
Jun 16, 2017
Beautiful park with lots of fun for the entire family! Great location close to Mt Rushmore. Nice big pull through spots.
Jun 16, 2017
Nice location and little shops and horses but the sites are way too small and crowded and not enough bathrooms.
Jun 16, 2017
Had a great time very helpful staff and there was a lot of fun activities the best koa I've been to so far
Jun 16, 2017
Loved every moment! Exceeded expectations, truly a vacation destination. Thank you!
Jun 16, 2017
I would have rated it a full 5 but the kids slide was closed 4 or the 5 days we stayed. Some maintenance needed in the restrooms but otherwise lost of fun for the whole family. Beautiful central location. Would stay again for sure.
Jun 16, 2017
Worth the drive! This place is amazing!
Jun 16, 2017
We loved the Mount Rushmore KOA!!! There is so much to do there! Our elementary aged kids LOVED it. Perfect for families! Ga Ga Ball, the jumping pillow and horseback riding were a big hit! We stayed in a camping cabin and it suited our family of four wonderfully! It was a great experience and we hope to come back!
Jun 16, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals