Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 11, 2016
Great location.So much for grand kids and adults to do.The view of Harney Peak has to be one of the best at any KOA.
Jun 11, 2016
Great for families, lots to do to entertain the kids. The staff is fantastic! They were very accommodating with my request to move. So why not 5 stars and a 10? It's a VERY kid friendly place.
Jun 11, 2016
The splash pad was not working the whole 5 days we were there.also there are rules for the hot tub that need to be enforced, like no small child, especially at the one in the fun zone. everything else was great, bathrooms super clean, staff super nice.
Jun 11, 2016
Great staff. Clean park. I will return.
Jun 11, 2016
Jun 11, 2016
Very nice place and the staff are extremely pleasant.
Jun 11, 2016
alot of activities for the children at a reasonable fee or most of them are free. Large park, but alot of beautiful spaces and cabins. Would definitely stay again, compared to other KOA's on this trip. Thank you to a great staff
Jun 11, 2016
Jun 11, 2016
We loved the location awesome bathrooms rental car and all that you offer not to mention the fabulous scenery!! Jackie was fabulous and very helpful and friendly we greatly appreciate the amazing customer service! Loved our stay
Jun 11, 2016
We stay at this KOA several times a year. Been coming back for about 6 years. We love the cleanliness, friendliness and the peace of the campgrounds. Rented a cabin for the first time and will probably do it again. We brought our niece from LA this time. She had a blast
Jun 11, 2016
We stayed in a cabin with 3 of our grandkids. They had plenty of activities. They loved fishing, swimming, smores...The bathroom was great but little too far from our cabin. The staff was great!
Jun 10, 2016
Very friendly and professional 5 star staff! Everything was clean, level, & set up for relaxation & fun. The view of Harney Peak from our RV was amazing. The car rental was easy & very convenient. The Hill City Sliders and s'mores were a highlight. Thanks, KOA!!
Jun 10, 2016
I enjoyed my stay at the KOA Mount Rushmore my knees were attended two very professionally all my questions were answered professionally the food was excellent the horseback riding instructors were very professional and a guide was very professional had a great time !!!!
Jun 10, 2016
We have stayed there 2 times before and like the campground, but this time the water pressure was terrible. We were in site 547 and some mornings we didn't have water at all for a short time.
Jun 10, 2016
Jun 10, 2016
Tons of activities for the kids. Everything was clean and in good working order. The only issues I faced were the extremely weak wifi and low water pressure/lack of hot water. Had to take a cold shower one day and the washers at the laundry took so long to fill that if took me a total of two hours to do one load of laundry!
Jun 10, 2016
Jun 10, 2016
Campground was really nice however there is no phone signal and their Wi-Fi is not good
Jun 10, 2016
Jun 10, 2016
Amazing!
Jun 10, 2016
First time in the Black Hills. Couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Accommodations were beyond expectations. Location was great to allow us to access many of the great activities in the Hills.
Jun 10, 2016
Myself, my husband and our 4 children stayed here a and loved it! The kids loved that there was so much to do, however it was not very clean. Out cabin was dirty and the restrooms closest to us were very dirty compared to others around the resort.
Jun 10, 2016
pools were not the cleanest but overall love this campground
Jun 09, 2016
One of the best camp grounds. With so many activities I can't name them all. You can even rent a Car to get around that comes with a sticker too get into the park.
Jun 09, 2016
This is a wonderful place to stay. We camped with our kids and grandkids. We loved the many many activities to keep everyone busy. The location proximity to the tourist sites was perfect. The campground was clean, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We will stay here the next time we come to the Black Hills for a family vacation! Thank you for a fun filled family trip!
Jun 09, 2016
When we booked, we looked at the pictures online and the campground looked much more open then it actually was. It felt more like a parking lot where we were parked. Also the advertising said we had Internet and we did not. We had to go to town to log on and work. We will not stay there again for that reason. The best part were the Son Shiners and the sweet Sunday morning service.
Jun 09, 2016
keep up the great work everything was fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jun 09, 2016
Great campground when personal ATV's aren't running up and down the road all day and evening. We own ATV's and enjoy them, but the frequency in which some campers feel the need to operate the machines within the campground is ridiculous.
Jun 09, 2016
For Disabled US Veterans it is always a great place for us to stay.
Jun 09, 2016
The best campground I have ever stayed at. Had everything you could possibly need. Very clean, friendly and well organized in a beautiful setting. Already making plans to come back.
Jun 09, 2016
While only one night, my 7 year old daughter and I had a great time. We used a number of the campground offerings and enjoyed all of them.
Jun 09, 2016
Kids LOVED it. Internet SUCKED but they admitted that at registration. The nearby coffee shop needs to figure out how to keep coffee customers from having to wait twenty minutes while they make a mocha, macchiato, with two sugars, a shot of espresso, two drops of milk, with caramel on top or whatever. Put the regular coffee pot in front of the counter with a cigar box for the money.
Jun 09, 2016
N/A
Jun 09, 2016
An amazing vacation mostly in part to our stay at the KOA. We have 3 teenagers and they had an amazing time with the bikes, putput, pools, and overall variety of activities! Loved it!
Jun 08, 2016
Great experience.
Jun 08, 2016
For over $100 per night you would think the resort would be able to figure out how to get wifi to every customer.
Jun 08, 2016
Couldn't ask for more! Beautiful scenery, friendly staff and clean cabin and grounds with all the emenities!!!
Jun 08, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay, and would like to come back and bring our extended family!
Jun 08, 2016
Very nice and helpful staff! Campground is well maintained. Lots of things to do ... swimming, kids waterslide, climbing wall, mini golf, shops, trail rides, etc. I was a little disappointed in how close the campsites were to each other. Our daughter and friends were staying in a tent site and those were extremely close together, and backed up to Kabins. But we had a nice camp experience.
Jun 08, 2016
Our kids LOVED this KOA resort! The water slide, tock climbing wall, trampoline pillow and renting the low rider banana bikes were a blast! (wish they sold those bikes). There is so much to do here at the KOA when you return from site seeing the area. Loved the daily activities each day especially the. Evening attractions- magic show, chainsaw art and more!
Jun 08, 2016
Although the camp ground was nice the lack of cell coverage outside of a couple of distant hot spots left us cut off if we had had an emergency or needed to be reached in a home emergency. The same applies to internet access.
Jun 08, 2016
Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Lots to see and do!
Jun 08, 2016
We had such a great time, we actually extended our stay an extra day The camp is amazing with so much to do.Loved that we were able to rent a car for the day. Will definately plan to come again and stay longer.
Jun 07, 2016
The Palmer Gulch KOA was very clean and the staff was great! The kids loved it and can't wait to visit again!!
Jun 07, 2016
This was our first vacation in 15 years KOA helped make it the best and most remembered vacation.
Jun 07, 2016
We had a great time!!!! The kids loved the pool, hot tub, jumping pillow and miniature golf. They enjoyed renting bikes and having ice cream at turtle town. We stayed in a deluxe cabin. It was nice and clean. The only thing was we had to keep asking for towels, etc because we were staying for 5 days. The staff was always nice about getting us whayever we needed!
Jun 07, 2016
Park is very clean, All staff that we ran into were friendly. If going swimming I would suggest going to the pool by the Front store/check in area. Kid zone area pool was freezing, the hot tub(not hot at all)felt like a heated pool so kids were jumping and swimming in it, the toddler pool was so cold I had a hard time sitting in it with my 2yr old after only a couple minutes his lips were purple
Jun 07, 2016
The staff was super friendly. The facilities was very clean and maintained. Flowers were beautiful. Wish there had been cell service but people need a break from that anyway. We hope to get to go back soon.
Jun 07, 2016
Jun 07, 2016
Best KOA we have been to!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals