Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 03, 2015
This KOA is amazing. The only thing I could say where it needs improvement is their cell phone reception. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend anyone to stay there.
Aug 03, 2015
We had the best time and the KOA was awesome!
Aug 03, 2015
one of the best KOA,plenty of things for kids, great staff, 2nd time here, gets better everytime
Aug 03, 2015
We love this KOA (5 years in a row). They have made great improvements every year. But this year we had a few issues. Two different days we had cold showers(stayed 4 days). And the water at the RV site and in the bathrooms was discolored(light brown and had an odor). Not sure what caused these issues but the overall facility is very good.
Aug 03, 2015
It was good fun with lots of things to do in the camp but also in a great location for the local sites.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Rustic cabin was clean and shower/toilet facility was acceptable given the campground was packed. Staff was accomodating and pleasant. Convenient and scenic location.
Aug 03, 2015
It was a very nice campground, very quiet at night. Alot of stuff to do and close to the places that we wanted to go and see. Liked the shuttle to Mt Rushmore so much easier than driving there ourselves. Enjoyed watching the horses being taken to and from the riding stables it was really cool to watch.
Aug 03, 2015
Great place in Black Hills with a ton of things to do for the kids. Treed spots are nice but like most KOAs you are pretty close to your neighbour. I would have given 5 stars but our site wasn't level at all. Great service though, when we needed more levelling boards they gave us a free 2x6 board to cut down into what we needed.
Aug 03, 2015
We were there with family and friends. Our campsite was on a slope so made getting in and out of camper a little difficult. Camp water was worse than we've ever seen it and had to go someplace else and run good clear water thru our whole water system to flush out the brown residue. Campsites are expensive for what we get and do. May not stay again.
Aug 03, 2015
I thought the Rushmore KOA was a good fit for my family because of all of the stuff we could do on the resort, but our campground was sloped and there was no grass. Also, I didn't think the pools were kept very clean & showers needed more hooks for clothes and towels.
Aug 03, 2015
A lot of things to do. Atvs were awesome. Kids loved riding the horses. Showers were great
Aug 03, 2015
Great service and located right in the middle of everything we wanted to visit
Aug 03, 2015
My family of 4 stayed here for 4 nights. The location in relationship to Mount Rushmore was perfect. The food at the Ponderosa restaurant was surprisingly good for a campground. The reason we cannot rate this five stars are because of the shower facilities, the non-existant wi-fi, and the rudeness of a few people. Stopped at 7 different KOA's over the past 10 days. Showers here the worst.
Aug 03, 2015
What a lovely place. The staff is so friendly and respectful. We truly enjoyed the daily events centered around children's enjoyment. The bathrooms were clean including the entire campground. The fresh flowers are an added bonus. We would love to come back and our kids were sad to go. We will recommend this KOA to everyone who is looking for a fantastic family vacation. Thank you
Aug 03, 2015
The tent site was nice but the resort fee was not ($10 a day) and for what??? All the camp bathrooms and showers were absolutely filthy. Trash and human waste left in the stalls for days and a thick film of mold with filth mixed in. When we complained to the manager and showed photos he offered a few days refund but that's not what we wanted we want the problem resolved. Clean up your act!!!!!!!!!
Aug 03, 2015
Good activities for kids, good location, glad we could reserve it, but OMG too crowded! While we were sleeping in our tent (site481) our neighbors built a giant fire in their fire pit. It was just feet from us. We could've gone up in flames!
Aug 03, 2015
This was my second stay at this KOA. The lodge/cabin I stayed in last year was wonderful. This time we camped in a tent and our site was very small and there was not much grass so everything got muddy. I probably wouldn't recommend the tent camping here.
Aug 03, 2015
Had a great time. Grateful for the roof over our heads when the cloud burst surprised us at 3 in the morning! Such a beautiful area.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
There's no phone service, no WiFi, and no over-night patrol to keep people from partying all night. They say there's WiFi but it will not let you get to the internet. There are fewer toilets/showers than there should be and theyre always dirty. Otherwise, this is a good campground and in a great location to get everywhere. Ive been here twice but I wont pick this place again.
Aug 03, 2015
Great stay ! There's nothing they don't have and the pancakes were great!
Aug 03, 2015
Nice facility Bathrooms clean and sites good size I did NOT like that you had to go to office for wifi or that no quiet hours were enforced-- there were loud motorcycles after midnite and before 6am
Aug 02, 2015
Very good area for the grandkids to play .close to everything in the Black Hills
Aug 02, 2015
We really had a wonderful time and would stay here again if we come back to the Black Hills area.
Aug 02, 2015
Lots of activity for the kids...but the wifi HOT spots (not even available unless you take a trip) were a JOKE. We have used primarily KOA campgrounds on this trip but this has now been the THIRD or FOURTH KOA that advertised Wifi that was a JOKE!! EVERY camper we spoke with has complained about this being a real problem on the road. I am guessing they don't really care because of locations!
Aug 02, 2015
Positives:lovely amenities: stables, snack/coffee/wine shops, restaurant, firepits, pools, events. Negatives: NO CELL OR WIFI SERVICE AT SITE! Truck needed service asap in Rapid City, comp office telephone made it difficult to connect with busy business.Car rental dirty inside/out, dog hair, mothball smell, allergic wife incurred hives,refunded. Don't stay here if you need connection to world!
Aug 02, 2015
Had an awesome time! Excellent staff!
Aug 02, 2015
Other than the hail storm everything was great!!!
Aug 02, 2015
This campground has a lot of activities, places to eat, drink. Everything was though so we could have a nice time. But it is very large and we prefer human size places. also may I suggest that the restrooms would be in an different place than the sink where we brush our teeth, I'm sure you understand why.
Aug 02, 2015
Loved this campground! Plenty for kids and adults to do. Our only complaint was our waitress in the restaurant for breakfast two separate days (older white thin woman. Never smiled, service was terrible, had to tell the hostess we were leaving before she personag got our drinks for us. What was so difficult about 3 waters and an iced tea...). The evening wItresses were great as was the food.
Aug 02, 2015
Great place, lots of kids stuff, water at the site was unusable but there are cooking and dishwashing area close by
Aug 02, 2015
Lots of fun!
Aug 02, 2015
Great stop for kids. So many fun activities. Central location to all attractions.
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
We have stayed here for many years. Love this koa
Aug 02, 2015
The staff are all wonderful. The kids had a ball. I didn't even mind being overrun with Harleys.
Aug 02, 2015
Our stay was Great! The staff were fun. Plenty to do at the facility. We had a great vacation.
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Everyone there was super nice, and, as always, we love eating at the Ponderosa. Thank you, everyone, for making our stay fun and memorable!
Aug 02, 2015
Great place to stay. Lots of things to do for the kids and close to Rushmore. Would be nice to have a life guard at the pools :-)
Aug 02, 2015
Didn't realize it was a "resort" when we booked. Felt the daily rate was high, then to be charged an amenities fee was unexpected. Since we didn't use any of the "amenities" except the pool, we felt like we were being taken advantage of. Wouldn't stay there again. Prefer the smaller, family oriented KOAs.
Aug 02, 2015
It was great, just not long enough of a stay for us to really enjoy. Would love to come back again!!
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Their is a lot to do on site. Great time
Aug 02, 2015
We had a great time and wished we could stay longer! We hope to come back again soon. We loved the convenient location and all the fun camp ground activities. The only thing that I would change is the wifi connection reliability. I didn't mind not having a phone connection, but I did need to make contact with family.
Aug 02, 2015
Fantastic! Did not have enough time to enjoy everything....have to return 😀 Thanks KOA!!
Aug 02, 2015
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals