Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 19, 2016
We love the location and amenities that this KOA offers. We loved the pancake breakfast, stables and chuckwagon that are available as extras. The kids enjoyed the jumping pillow. The only downside is that the bathrooms could be cleaned more than once a day with the number of people using them. We will be back if we visit the area again.
Jul 19, 2016
Tons of amenities. Huge campground in a great location. Young kids working there were super. Clean restrooms. Downside is that there was traffic going by our site constantly which made it not safe for the kids. Dryers didn't work.
Jul 19, 2016
Lots of family activities here and really enjoyed our camping cabin. Don't expect wifi around the campground, which is exactly as advertised. Thanks for a great stay!
Jul 19, 2016
Don't have the pancake breakfast! Very gross! Otherwise, top notch!
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
We loved everything about this camping area. Perfect for our family (4yr old and 9 yr old).
Jul 19, 2016
Had reservation for deluxe patio, when arrived several open spaces and spot for "us "still had camper in it. Told computer error and no spot got lesser site, guided by golf cart KOA to spot, and paid that fee. Found out the site was for someone with adjoining site so had to move. Promised deluxe next day. Moved again next day, noted several deluxe sites open during stay.7 th time there.ugh
Jul 19, 2016
When booking I missed the word "resort". The location of the campground was awesome and the services offered were great. It was extremely busy ALL of the time. While the onsite car rental was great for us the car we were given wasn't. Just a little too busy for us and what we're used to while camping.
Jul 19, 2016
Awesome!
Jul 19, 2016
The campground is awesome but the office was having major reservation issues and we were in the middle of it. It got resolved but lots of unhappy people shaking their heads.
Jul 19, 2016
great, clean, fun, place to stay!!!!!
Jul 19, 2016
The site was at such an angle that it bottomed out the rear of my RV when it was level. The water was brown.
Jul 19, 2016
So much to do we decided to stay longer. Perfect location close driving distance to everything. Added convienance of being able to rent car at site.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
This was our second time camping here. We love KOA's for their kids activities and clean washrooms. What was lacking on this trip was wifi availability was extremely poor. If due to terrain you cannot provide quality wifi then do not advertise it. I was also disappointed that they are now charging for things such as bike rentals which before were included as part of the camping/resort fee.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Mount Rushmore KOA was like checking into a time share. It had everything and our family would stay again.
Jul 18, 2016
I was very impressed with the KOA. It was clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. Family had a great time.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Our favorite campground!!!
Jul 18, 2016
This campground had it all. We used it as a base camp while we drove to explore all the beautiful scenery in SD. Staff was extremely helpful. Bathrooms were nice and clean!
Jul 18, 2016
Overall AWESOME....only issue were a couple very rude employees...at check-in and cashiering.
Jul 18, 2016
train and fun but hard to get internet and cell service
Jul 18, 2016
Clean and pleasant facilities but terrible wifi connection and no cell service means that staying in touch is hard with our party within the campground was hard. Therefore the wifi needs to be expanded or updated to get a better rating.
Jul 18, 2016
The kids were very sad to leave,
Jul 18, 2016
Great activities for the whole family. Well maintained.
Jul 18, 2016
My only complaint with the campground was we were placed in dog row and did not get a pull through site which we had requested while other dog owners were given pull through sites with much larger dogs than a chihuahua. We had requested a pull through site because we had stayed there before and were able to get internet and cable service which we needed for work while on vacation.
Jul 18, 2016
My stay at Palmer Gulch was Amazing!!! The staff especially Jackie were so helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The kids loved the trail ride and pool and especially watching the horses run right by our cabin in the morning and night!!! Thank you so much to all for making our trip wonderful!!!
Jul 18, 2016
This is a great campsite - lots to do for kids of all ages!! Pancake breakfast was delicious!!
Jul 18, 2016
It was my fault for not understanding this was a resort not a campground. People are piled on top of each other. There is no privacy. I would recommend this place to people who do not want to experience the outdoors. If you enjoy camping and scenery, do not stay here.
Jul 18, 2016
We got a site with no shade at all for a popup camper. Campsite was way to loud. We left a day early just to go somewhere more shady. We asked to move sites and they gave us another site in the field. We asked for a primitive site when we booked. I do not recommend this campgrounds unless you want no sleep and a hot tent or camper.
Jul 18, 2016
Great place.
Jul 18, 2016
Loved the kids activities and the pools. Every area was very very clean.The flower plantings were very cheerful. Loved the horses being onsite for trail riding
Jul 18, 2016
This place was AMAZING!!
Jul 18, 2016
great place for families and kids!
Jul 18, 2016
Loved it. Well be back for sure. Wish there was a path to the restrooms by site 163 so if you're in 226 lie we were there was a more direct way to go instead of walking the entire row and around or cutting thru someone's site which is disrespectful.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Very accommodating, friendly, clean. It met all our needs. I love that it was family friendly.
Jul 18, 2016
Great KOA! Lots to do. My only recommendation would be more wifi spots throughout the campground.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Very friendly staff, although at times wait time in line was longer than usual, especially in the morning. WiFi needs improvement. This was our 2nd stay , and love all the amenities, but what happened to the paddle boats??
Jul 18, 2016
Best KOA stay! Would definitely return.
Jul 18, 2016
Fun family environment. Lots of activities. Recommend signing up for the chuck wagon dinner! They need to trim bushes by bike path and level the bridge.
Jul 18, 2016
Beautiful facility. Great staff. Very busy campgraound with lots of people. Very family friendly and great location.
Jul 18, 2016
Great location! Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse close by. Great activities for everyone at the campground. Only problem is the lack of wifi bandwidth for the amount of campers and cell signal is very bad due to be in the hills. But not a negative point but a great point to bring the family closer together.
Jul 18, 2016
Quite, campground. Clean bathroom.
Jul 17, 2016
We were impressed with our campground and kids enjoyed the pools, but need more gravel around sewer when it rains!
Jul 17, 2016
The Disneyland of camping for kids & parents. Great central location for visiting area natural wonders.
Jul 17, 2016
The resort was nice with lots of amenities, however, our campsite was extremely loud at all hours due to large amounts of traffic going by. Also, on one occasion, another camper had spread dirty, wet toilet paper all over the bathroom. When we complained to the resort staff they told us nothing could be done until the following morning. That had not happened by 10:30am which we found unacceptable
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals