Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Great
Jul 19, 2014
We stayed at this KOA for 5 nights. Great amenities, clean helpful staff and tons of things to do.
Jul 19, 2014
Everything was great but wifi was not working
Jul 19, 2014
Campground is great. However, I would recommend the bottleneck between the water slide and the golf be widened. This is a very high traffic area, where kids, RVs, dogs and horses meet. It's a huge hazard for kids. There also is a tree that unless the RV is driving down the center it will take their AC off. When leaving, an RV was parked near and shut the road down as nobody could get past.
Jul 19, 2014
Pros: 1. Playground - The kids loved it. 2. Centrally located in Black Hills 3. Lots of activities at the campground. 4. Pancake Breakfast was great. Cons: 1. Several washers/dryers out if order. Took a long time to do laundry. 2. Showers had little or no water pressure. 3. Mattresses in camping cabin were harder than expected. 4. A couple of the staff were less than friendly.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Great place for the kids and family, in the middle of the Black Hills attractions. Second time we have stayed there.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
This was our 4th time staying and we can't wait to come back next year!! The camp ground is very family friendly and so much to do. The Staff is amazing! Awesome vacation!
Jul 19, 2014
Great location, lots of activities for children. Wifi is a little weak.
Jul 19, 2014
It was a bit of a "gong show", very busy, noisy and urban like. The teenagers would tomcat late and ignore requests by security to be quiet. The staff was generally not experienced and lacked customer service skills. The wine shop people and the pancake breakfast brunch were well above average in their delivery.
Jul 19, 2014
Can you say EXTRA FEES for EVERYTHING!!! Even after getting one night free, our bill was over $150! KOA is supposed to be family-friendly, but KOA charges extra for each child! NOT family friendly in our book!
Jul 19, 2014
We were pleasantly surprised at how nice this campground was. The bathroom/shower area was clean and new looking. There is a lot for families to do there. The pancake breakfast was great!
Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Great facilities for the kids, very quiet at night, lots to do, free firewood. Cons: A long walk to get to restrooms, tiny sites. Wifi is a joke and should not be advertised. According to the manager, 1.5MB download split up between three hotspots and five hundred campers. You must go to the hotspot at 4am if you want to get on.
Jul 19, 2014
Nice facility, lots to do
Jul 19, 2014
Very busy. Kids riding bikes on the road everywhere. It smells like stables
Jul 18, 2014
Great place to take kids. Location is wonderful. This is a very busy KOA but it is quiet at the same time. We will be back for sure.
Jul 18, 2014
I was impressed with all of the activities geared towards children. There was always something to do at the KOA after touring around the Black Hills.
Jul 18, 2014
Employees friendly & helpful. Activities for all. Too many showers out of order and cold water.
Jul 18, 2014
I have to say that this was the best KOA that we've ever stayed.So family oriented and friendly.
Jul 18, 2014
We have been back several times now. Great amenities, super location, clean, level sites... very nice spot.
Jul 18, 2014
Lots of things to do. Close to attractions. Very enjoyable and helpful employees.
Jul 18, 2014
Lots of great things to do. Kids were always entertained.
Jul 18, 2014
Very clean and lots of activities for young children. Very nice!
Jul 18, 2014
This campground is packed full of extra amenities. They do not have good internet access, but to me that defeats the purpose of camping. My reason for the lower rating is that it is extremely crowded and busy. I prefer the seclusion and quiet offered at other campgrounds. However, since I have now stayed there on three separate occasions over 2 decades it is clearly not a bad campground.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
Palmer Gulch is amazing! Our family had an incredible time and will be back for sure. We have not done a lot of camping and this was a great way to ease into it. Lots of activities and fun for all ages. Thanks to everyone who made it so fun!
Jul 18, 2014
This is a fabulous family campground. The only thing needed is a little more work on the roads and add a little gravel to the sites
Jul 18, 2014
The campground was lovely and there were lots of fun things to do and see. The bathrooms were nice and convenient. We asked for a shaded site because there is a big open field area that would no thane suites us. Loved the garbage and recycling pick up!
Jul 18, 2014
Great KOA, tons of activities. Only issue was nighttime hay ride. Started at 9pm, had to wait almost 2 hours to get on ride, possibly adding another cart? Kids have a hard time waiting that long for an activity. Beautiful location!
Jul 18, 2014
I made reservations, when i got their, no reservations-so they put me out in in the boon docks the 30A power would go off and on. I was trying to run an a/c. We stayed as long as we could and checked out. I will probably never stay at this campground again. We've stayed there on 3 previous ocassions.....Chuck Doyle 1D288c
Jul 18, 2014
Campsite was dirty,firepit was full of trash & unuseable. No soap in bathroom canisters & campground was overcrowded. On a 5000 mile trip this was the most expensive campground we stayed in & the worst experience. On a positive note, the people in the front office were very professional.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
The best KOA!! Super campground!! So many activities. Can't wait to bring grand kids. Lots of things to see in area. Only complaint, couldn't stay longer!
Jul 17, 2014
We love staying at this KOA! So many amenities and a variety of things to do right there in the resort! Loved all the hanging flower baskets and the front entrance is lit up and looks so inviting. We have stayed here for the past 24 years!
Jul 17, 2014
Fairly nice campground however we found it way too big and busy for our liking. The biggest negative about your campground was the conditions of the showers, we found them to be extremely dirty. Even the benches for clothes were filthy. Some units had hooks missing and no benches, so there was no place for towels and clothes.
Jul 17, 2014
The grandkids loved it, plenty for them to do. We all enjoyed the horseback trail ride. Very friendly help.
Jul 17, 2014
Great resort. Lots to do. For the price, WiFi should have been more reliable. Great place for families.
Jul 17, 2014
When we arrived at our cabin: the wooden handle was hanging because a screw was loose, the lock had to be forced open (I oiled it), and there was a cigarette hole on the big mattress. The $10.00 "Resort Fee" is a ripoff. We will never again stay at a KOA that is run by a corporation. I used to think the Mt Rushmore KOA was the best (stayed 4 previous years)KOA; now, it's the WORST.
Jul 17, 2014
The kamp was very accommodating and had various events. It was convenient being placed by the restrooms and a small playground. I loved that breakfast was cheap with all you can eat pancakes. The location was fantastic for traveling from attraction to attraction. I wish we had more time and better weather to stay and enjoy all of the accommodations that were offered:)
Jul 17, 2014
See my previous review.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Great close location to Mt. Rushmore. Tons to do for families with kids. Our cabin was clean. The only negative was some of the showers didn't work and two of the five of us had showers that smelled like sewer. Other than that, I would stay here again.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
J'étais placé sur un site boueux, le 241, sans possibilité de changement. J'ai du annuler 2 jours sur 4 que j'avais réservés afin de changer de ville et de camping. De toute façon, il n'y a pas plus que pour 2 jours d'intérêt dans ce secteur du mont Rushmore.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
We aren't big campers, so staying in a cabin was perfect for us! The kids felt like they were camping, but we didn't have to worry about a tent, etc.. Thanks for making a family memory for us!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.