Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 27, 2015
This campground is really large. It is too expensive because it is close to a national monument. Your check in process was fast and excellent but your campground i s too crowded, the spaces are small and inadequate. Space 534 assigned to me for my 30 foot trailer and truck was not level and too small. There are too many people competing for restrooms and showers. In short it was lousy.
Jun 26, 2015
Very disappointed there wasn't any wifi. The website says wifi and it does not specifie only in areas. I have to work while traveling and I wasn't able to get on the Internet.
Jun 26, 2015
Made reservations months in advance and was put in the worst and furthest spot from amenities. I have stayed in many KOA parks and this was by far the worst experience I have had. For what I got at the price I paid I felt was a total rip off. Also was not able to use sewer because the sewer inlet was higher than the outlet on RV. I think common sense should have told them this won't work.
Jun 26, 2015
Fun place with lot's to do. They tend to short staff themselves at times, especially the cleaning crew. Also, it's a crime to advertise that they have Wifi because it NEVER works. With that said, their Summershiners are great this year! Turtle town is good in Hill City and Keystone, but the one in the KOA is dirty and slow.
Jun 26, 2015
Great family resort!
Jun 26, 2015
Kid friendly everywhere we went! From horseback riding to papa's pancakes and the very popular bounce pad we all had a great time! Take the shuttle to the Mt. Rushmore evening ceremony. WOW! Dave M. Waukee IA.
Jun 26, 2015
Very clean campground and showers. Wifi never worked when we were there. No cell phone reception unless you were at Mt. Rushmore!
Jun 26, 2015
This is our second time camping here. We love it! So much fun for the family, plenty of things for the kids to do, we hardly left the campground this time because the kids were so busy making new friends and doing lots of activities. Love this campground! Will be returning again!
Jun 26, 2015
The campground was clean and well maintained. When our reserved testate was very mucky from the unusual amount of rain, the staff was very helpful in allowing us to move to a drier site.
Jun 26, 2015
The stay was great! I was disappointed that the two sites that we booked were not put next to each other like promised.
Jun 26, 2015
We came with our Son and his family. It was a great place for the gandkids. They totally loved all the activities available. Wonderful family place to stay. Best KOA that we've stayed at. Thank you,
Jun 26, 2015
The staff was friendly and helpful. Our campsite was in great condition.
Jun 26, 2015
This was my 4th stay at your beautiful KOA but the first time for my parents who stayed in the Palmer Gulch Lodge. From the reservation process for both locations to our stay everything was great. I love this location and won't stay anywhere else in the Hills.
Jun 26, 2015
Nice location poor service when it comes to phone and Internet which hasn't improved over several years. I was having auto issues and couldn't even call anyone to help me.
Jun 26, 2015
road speed
Jun 26, 2015
Way too busy and hectic. We were assigned a poor site on a steep slope. Sewer out fall was up hill and difficult to drain. Poor drainage on pad. Had steak dinner at Ponderosa which was over priced and not good. Staff was helpful.
Jun 26, 2015
No chair in cabin No WIFI for Apple products High cost
Jun 26, 2015
No Cable, No Antenna TV, No Internet, No Cell Phone Service, Very dirty Showers, like showering in a mud hole. No transportation from front to back for tours. Need more gravel in drive, RV really muddy, could not walk to front without boots. Will not be back.😢
Jun 26, 2015
Even though we got heavily rained on during our stay, the dryers helped us clean it all up and the staff was great about transferring us to a cabin for the second night
Jun 25, 2015
Overall great experience. Baths/showers by 2nd pool should be cleaned more often. Very sandy,wet and slippery.
Jun 25, 2015
Nice KOA but very busy and noisy if up in front. Had a deluxe site which was very nice but the power washers going on for hours on end weren't.
Jun 25, 2015
Location was perfect.
Jun 25, 2015
The campground was clean and well laid out. Had no issues with our stay. Staff was helpful and always had a smile on their face.
Jun 25, 2015
Jun 25, 2015
It was a muddy swamp. I understand KOA cannot control the weather but they can control the drainage. Very disorganized front desk. The first spot they sent us to was occupied. The second spot had 8" of water where the hook ups were. The third and last spot available had 2" of water. The spot next to us sat vacant for our stay and was completely dry. No WIFI of Cell Service.
Jun 25, 2015
The swimming pool could use some updates Lots of activities for young kids Bathrooms were very clean, especially the new one
Jun 25, 2015
Great place. We will be back.
Jun 25, 2015
Almost too big. It does not have the small family campground feel. There was two major storms while we were there and not one person asked us how we were doing.
Jun 25, 2015
Great family friendly resort, clean and fun for the kids! Although we paid extra for wifi, there was no wifi. Don't be fooled and pay the extra for it!
Jun 25, 2015
Great place to stay, very clean! I was super impressed how clean our cabin was!! Loved all the great things to do there for families!! Wish we had more time to stay! Great location, close to everything!!
Jun 25, 2015
Overall we had a ton of fun at all the attractions, appreciated the clean bathrooms and showers and it was mostly good weather. The only thing we didn't like was that our campsite was on a hill and it was hard to find a good spot for our tent.
Jun 25, 2015
Awesome had a great time😀😀😀
Jun 25, 2015
Jun 25, 2015
I wish I could bring all 12 of my grandchildren here and my 5 great grand children. The staff was very helpful and the prices for the extra was reasonable. Thank you Hill City K.O.A.
Jun 25, 2015
My children loved it there. We liked the variety of activities, food options and shower and laundry availability. We enjoyed horseback riding. The wranglers and guide were all very nice and helpful. My only complaint is it would be nice to have more spacing between sites and trees/shrubbery for privacy and to feel more woodsy or "campy".
Jun 25, 2015
Thank you and we had a wonderful time during our stay. Our Granddaughters were happy just to be there and enjoyed all the children's facilities that you have available. Wished we would of had a longer stay and hope to be back soon!
Jun 25, 2015
Huge KOA lots of things to do for the whole family.
Jun 25, 2015
The lodge was nice but the campground needed to be mowed. The bathhouse #4 was very nasty. Showers full of dirt hair and rocks the toilets had black rings. We left a day early due to the conditions of the bathrooms. We complained and then it was the first time in 2 days the restroom was cleaned some what. My standards are much higher than their efforts. I don't anticipate we will ever use them
Jun 25, 2015
CAmpground was very wet from previous rIn and unfortunately our hook up was in 1 inch of water sewer connection not reachable had us dump station next day staff was very helpful good not great experience
Jun 24, 2015
Beautiful scenery family/pet friendly,already talking about next year.
Jun 24, 2015
Bath house by pool wasn't cleaned for about 3 days that is the only problem I had
Jun 24, 2015
We weren't expecting the huge size of this KOA. It was a bit bigger than we would have liked. It seemed to have everything though and was quite busy. Considering the proximity to Mount Rushmore, that's to be expected.
Jun 24, 2015
This is a great place for family gartherings, very family friendly. Very well maintained, staff is great.
Jun 24, 2015
We were there three nights and got hail two of them. Last year I was there two nights and got hailed on once. I no longer think it is a occasional occurrence. Now I need to replace my truck and my tent. Too bad really. I love this campground!
Jun 24, 2015
We had a wonderful time! All of the staff there were very helpful and friendly. Thank you for having us!
Jun 24, 2015
Very nice campground! It was very clean and lots to do for kids of all ages. The scenery was beautiful as well. The staff was very friendly & helpful! We stayed in a cabin that seemed brand-new. Everything was perfect! I would definitely return again if ever in the area!
Jun 24, 2015
Great Campground for families. Not so much for those of us wanting a quieter experience. Very large campground but just too many people. Did experience Golf Ball size hail stones in the evening. Made it one of the most memorable nights at a campsite at which I have stayed.
Jun 24, 2015
Seem to be more concerned about appearances at the front door than customer service. Bathrooms and shower house at upper area-DISGUSTINGLY DIRTY, NO shower mats, NO shelves for shower items, curtains too small for shower area-did you cut them in half? Way over priced for the quality of service.
Jun 24, 2015
Had water under camper 5 days. No internet. Little space between spots. Designed for kids. Too big a camping. Place. No ladder available to check the hail damage everyone had!
Jun 24, 2015
Much too high a price to stay in a jammed up campgtound. Wifi was totally useless. Everything is much more expensive than a regular koa. Staff was friendly and kids had fun. Good pancakes.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.