Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 12, 2017
better wifi and cell signal
Jun 12, 2017
The bathrooms were out of toilet paper way to often. They should be checked more.
Jun 12, 2017
Jun 12, 2017
This was our first stay at any KOA and they set the bar high! The staff was so friendly. The campgrounds were well maintained. The restaurants were all delicious and well priced (especially the ice cream). But above all the location was perfect! We took advantage of the horseback riding and UTV rentals that are right on property. We had ages 13 to 63 in our group. FANTASTIC place to stay!!
Jun 12, 2017
Jun 12, 2017
It is the nicest camp we have ever stayed in including thousand trails. I just wish we didn't live so far away. I would like to stay there again, but we live in Ca and are not likely to be going that way again. Thank you for a wonderful place to stay
Jun 12, 2017
Had a blast!!! Friendly people and will be back for sure
Jun 12, 2017
Jun 12, 2017
Overall, our stay was great! Kids love it, we were given a great cabin site and campsite away from a lot of the activity. A few improvements: The guy in the golf cart who approached us when we arrived was quite rude. We had no idea where to park when we arrived. He yelled, "You have to move. I have big rigs coming in." The toilets by the Fun Zone were pretty smelly.
Jun 12, 2017
Wow! Couldn't find a place in the hills better to stay with a young family. Kind of spendy, but didn't have to leave the resort for entertainment.
Jun 12, 2017
Best campground we uave ever stayed at!
Jun 12, 2017
Pleasantly surprised to see this KOA was 3rd largest in the US, thus having some amenities others did not. Kids enjoyed the "Fun Zone" and helped to keep them busy during down time. Stayed in the basic cabin w/o bathroom and it worked well, especially for the price paid.
Jun 12, 2017
very mean, nasty supervisor on registration desk at check in on June 8 in the afternoon around 2:30. She ruined the positive, happy, experience we had the previous year with great customer service. She set a negative, unhappy tone.
Jun 12, 2017
Jun 12, 2017
Loved our stay - will be back again!
Jun 12, 2017
It was so nice that we stayed an extra night. Our kids had so much fun, there were alot of great activities for them! It was safe, clean, and everyone was super friendly and helpful!
Jun 12, 2017
Only thing wrong was they didn't monitor the parked cars by the campsites. They were partly in the road and with our 36 foot Rv and tow car, it was hard to get around them
Jun 12, 2017
Busy campground with a lot of activities for all age groups. Staff helpful, and genuine.
Jun 12, 2017
We loved the rodeo and we had a nice cabin and facilities!
Jun 12, 2017
Everything was great. Although, the Wi-Fi issue needs to be fixed.
Jun 12, 2017
We had a wonderful experience at your KOA. Will recommend to others and will return. Thanks.
Jun 12, 2017
Fine campground with everything you need except wifi. It is so bad that it is not even usable for emails and they shouldn't be allowed to claim that they offer it.
Jun 12, 2017
Safe,friendly,clean campground. The rodeo was a blast. So much for kids to do and experience.
Jun 12, 2017
Great location! Amenities were fantastic, our 4 year old didn't even want to leave the site the day after we got there!
Jun 12, 2017
It was impossible to level our 24ft class C unit and requested a different space. For our three night stay, we had to stay 2 nights in one space and then move for the third night. We missed the bus for the Mt Rushmore trip as we were never told we had to board 15 min before departure. Too many appologies.
Jun 12, 2017
The tent campsite we had did not have a flat area for the tent but otherwise it was a wonderful experience. Everyone was very friendly and lots of activities to do. There really was no reason to leave if you didn't want too! Would highly recooked it this campground just going get a cabin next time.
Jun 12, 2017
We are already planning a trip here for next summer after discovering this hidden gem!
Jun 11, 2017
The rooms were just as described. Slightly set into the woods, very close to many of nearby attractions. My kids loved the horseback riding at the campground. They had 2 pools and fun areas for the kids (though we were so busy we didn't use them much). 2 restraunts onsite were also both very good with lots of selection. A+!
Jun 11, 2017
Horse droppings smell very strong throughout the park.
Jun 11, 2017
Although the kids loved all of the activities available, the camp was not being maintained well. The restrooms were disgusting, with clogged toilets.
Jun 11, 2017
Jun 11, 2017
Great Park they escort you to your site and lots to do. We wish they had larger sites we could not use our rear deck
Jun 11, 2017
We had an amazing time-great campground with so much for the kids to do. The only improvement to note is there is no cell or internet service even though there were two "hot spots". There was no connection.
Jun 11, 2017
Got a spot next to the creek, absolutely loved it!
Jun 11, 2017
the park is beautiful and very clean. the bathrooms are too far away. the park is full of very kind lovely people
Jun 11, 2017
Sites were not maintained ... Water leaked excessively road grader working on dirt roads daily.
Jun 11, 2017
Great time. The only draw back was that our cabin was directly next to play ground every morning got woke up at the crack of dawn bye screaming kids...we just like to have slept in!
Jun 11, 2017
great location, super for kids!
Jun 11, 2017
Our stay at this KOA was fantastic! Plenty of activities on site and located in the perfect spot to explore the many nearby attractions. The staff were friendly and helpful! Loved our trip staying here!
Jun 11, 2017
We LOVED this KOA! Can't wait to come back someday! Lots to do for families and the whole place is geared towards family fun!!
Jun 11, 2017
Great place to stay, plenty of amenities, staff are very Friendly and helpful. Several eateries on grounds to choose from. Bathhouses could replenish the toilet paper more often.
Jun 11, 2017
Friendly & helpful staff. Clean grounds , convenient amenities, great view.
Jun 10, 2017
The best campground we have ever stayed in. Very impressed with the friendly and helpful staff. Can't wait to return!
Jun 10, 2017
with out a doubt Mount Rushmore KOA was the best campground we have ever stayed at. Friendly staff, beautiful grounds, all kinds of fun things to do. I highly recommend this campground if you are in going to Mount Rushmore . You won't be disappointed .
Jun 10, 2017
We enjoyed our stay! Very kid friendly, very friendly staff!! We will be back!!
Jun 10, 2017
Jun 10, 2017
The only complaint is the Wi-Fi and cell reception was terrible... but we were in the valley of a mountain range, so it makes sense. Friendly staff and amazing amenities. Will go again!
Jun 10, 2017
It's a great place for the entire family. Our only complaint was the discomfort of the mattresses in the 1 room cabin.
Jun 10, 2017
I work all the time, everywhere I go and internet (wifi) is a must for me. Very disappointed and surprised that a KOA this day in age didn't have it!
Jun 10, 2017
Wonderful place! My grandson enjoyed the giant jumping pillow, pools, water slide--everything! We especially enjoyed the trail ride on the horses with our awesome guide, Sammie!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals