Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 30, 2016
Was so busy going to see everything else that we didn't have the time to enjoy what this site has to offer! So many different activities and amenities that we are looking forward to coming back and using this as our hang out.
Jul 30, 2016
This was a fun resort to stay at but there were a lot of people there.
Jul 30, 2016
very well located to tour the black hills and surrounding areas of Rushmore and custer.
Jul 30, 2016
The pool was in an bad location and smelled like a horse barn. Our cabin was not clean by any means, there was still garbage from the last visitors and a dirty diaper on the floor. Also, on one of the beds the previous person had spilt pop (which never got cleaned up) and the bed's surface was sticky for the rest of the night.
Jul 30, 2016
Great experience. Lots of fun things to do for all ages. Great staff. Highly recommend.
Jul 30, 2016
Over-all, this is a great campground. It is too bad a few things leave negative thoughts about our stay. For Pete's Sake, level out the drive-ways and haul in gravel. Recent rains caused water to stand on the campground streets and campsites. Standing water was under our vehicle, and in the pull-through sites the three days we were there. Pot Holes also were filled with water, making rough roads.
Jul 30, 2016
Nicest shower facilities I've ever seen
Jul 30, 2016
We found this park too large for our liking. Pool slide was not working. Breakfast at the Ponderosa restaurant was sub par, except for the biscuits and gravy. Shuttle to Mt. Rushmore was a convenient redeeming quality. Ice cream stand closed just before the first bus arrived back from the Mt. Water was highly chlorinated, would not recommend for drinking.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize about the pool slide we had it off-line for one day for maintenance, bummer it was the day you were there. Our drinking water is perfectly safe and falls within all standards. We are glad you enjoyed the shuttle.
Jul 29, 2016
Great location to the tourist sites. Activities for kids are fantastic. Wifi doesn't exist despite supposed hot spots. Full hookup sites are too close and muddy. Still worth the stay.
Jul 29, 2016
Great place the kids love it and didn't want to leave.
Jul 29, 2016
It was great. We had a problem with the ice cream lady and the mgr went to work and made us 100 percent satisfied. Way better than I had expected. All of the employees were fantastic and made us feel so welcome and comfortable. See ya next year .
Jul 29, 2016
Our wonderful time was marred by the actions of one of your employees who SCREAMED at my sister for trying to allow traffic to flow around the dump station. She was really shook up over just trying to be kind. :(
Jul 29, 2016
Not enough bathrooms for number of camping guests. No wifi. At all. Parking dangerous at some Kabin sites. Pancake breakfast is more than $3 unless you can eat breakfast dry. Overall felt is was over priced (even for camp ground store prices) and under delivered on most counts. Have stayed at many KOA's in the past and was disappointed with this one. Location for seeing MT Rushmore is unbeatable.
Jul 29, 2016
Jul 29, 2016
So wonderful. Clean, super friendly staff, so much to do, beautiful setting. We tented in the rain, sprang a leek so bailed a day early and they gave us a refund for our last night without asking. Can't say enough about this incredible place.
Jul 29, 2016
Jul 29, 2016
It't great for families with kids. Activities that kids will want to do over and over again. Unfortunately it didn't work for us since we are in need of either cell service or reliable wifi due to our business we conduct while traveling. There is no cell service since it's located in a gulch and the 3 hotspots are a joke. No reliable connection to the outside world. Bigger isn't always better!
Jul 29, 2016
We had a great time in your campground. You could improve on your wifi
Jul 29, 2016
great resort for kids and lots to do for them. my 4 year old and 21 month old absolutely loved the water slide and pool. biggest negative was no WiFi or cell reception. unable to connect with the WiFi anywhere on the resort. we had an emergency and couldn't call anyone using our cells which use at&t data.
Jul 29, 2016
Additional washroom need for campground C and D
Jul 29, 2016
Nice park.
Jul 29, 2016
My family and I love to stay at this KOA. We have never been disappointed. Its the only place we will stay at when we go to the Mount Rushmore area and always look forward for the stay there.
Jul 29, 2016
Wonderful amenities, so much to do. Cabin was clean and comfortable.
Jul 29, 2016
Lots to do for a family but priciest campground we have ever been in!
Jul 28, 2016
Very enjoyable stay,friendly staff. We had two young children and we could have spent all day just doing activities at the campground. Thank-you for an enjoyable stay.
Jul 28, 2016
This KOA has it all EXCEPT WIFI. Lots of fun for the kids and roomy sites. In an area with no cell service they should provide better WIFI.
Jul 28, 2016
Please know how much we enjoyed our stay!!! Only one wish, please help maintenance be able to fix the water .problem
Jul 28, 2016
Great place, lot of activities, kids loved it. Beautiful grounds. Only negative is do not count on wi-fi.
Jul 28, 2016
Great place!
Jul 28, 2016
This KOA is in a beautiful location near Mt. Rushmore. We had a beautiful campsite facing a tree covered mountain. The activities available for the children are numerous. Although the campground was incredibly busy, campers were respectful of quiet hours. The only complaint I have is the dirty bathrooms and showers. but we attributed that the the sheer volume of people that visit the campgroun
Jul 28, 2016
We had the best stay at the campground, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. I will always go to this KOA when going to South Dakota it was perfect for my son and myself and it is pet friendly which is helpful!! thank you KOA Campgrounds
Jul 28, 2016
Good campground for those travelling with small children. Cabin was expensive, and had no heat/AC; while it was an upgrade over a tent, it wasn't a big upgrade. There were many nice amenities I wish I had time to use.
Jul 28, 2016
This is the second time that I have stayed at this KOA. There has been many changes made since I stayed there.
Jul 28, 2016
Honestly, I would give this KoA more stars if the staff was friendlier but it seemed like every person I talked to hated my guts. Not to mention the tent sites were right on top of each other. It'd be nice to have even a couple more feet of space. Overall disappointed.
Jul 28, 2016
Given wrong spot number. Made to move spots in a hail storm. Tried to remedy situation. Took 4 trips to the office to finally get someone to assist us. Park is overfull and the spots are small and crowded. I would NOT stay here again.
Jul 28, 2016
We had a great stay at Mt. Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch. There were a lot of activities for the kids. The camp site we had was extremely small & not really suited for a tent but we made it work. We transferred to a cabin for our last night due to rain & we all really liked the cabin. When we return we will stay with KOA again.
Jul 27, 2016
We had a family reunion at this KOA, and stayed 7 nights. It was a good place for the reunion EXCEPT for the lack of a useable internet connection. Internet access was non-existent, even at or near the so-called "hot-spots". A bare-bones WiFi system such as this is no longer acceptable to many of us who use it for banking, bill paying, reservations, e-mail, etc.
Jul 27, 2016
this is a perfect place for families--so many kid friendly activities. I probably would have rated it higher if it had WiFi
Jul 27, 2016
This is our second stay at Palmer Gulch and our family loved our little cabin and had another great visit! The facilities, activities and grounds are perfect for both children and adults. The only change I would like to see would be recycling bins included along with the garbage collection.
Jul 27, 2016
bathrooms always dirty. And showers . Left a day early!Our campsite was on gravel .No grass. Very disappointed!!!!!!
Jul 27, 2016
Great 2 room camping cabin- comfortable beds. Plenty of room and privacy. Fun kids activities and very friendly staff. Love the kitchen area to cook in. Excellent camp ground experience!
Jul 27, 2016
This Park is set up for kids of all ages. It needs some TLC in the kid zone but it worked. If you want a quiet park do not come here. Something is always moving horse drawn wagons, tractors, kids and Rigs. Plus the horses love leaving surprises, it normally gets cleaned up after a while.
Jul 27, 2016
We had a great time with family! A great, fun and safe campgrounds to stay at for sure!
Jul 27, 2016
Very nice location and tons for the kids to do! Our Kamper Cabin was perfect for us!
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
This was a great place to stop during our road trip to Mt. Rushmore. The amenities were great and had everything we needed and picturesque landscape we did not expect.
Jul 27, 2016
Enjoyed our stay very much! So much to do! Wish a cell phone booster was installed in the campground. Overall a near perect facility.
Jul 27, 2016
too crowded ad noisy
Jul 27, 2016
We stayed in Section D cabins; the bathrooms/showers were terrible. Never once did I see anyone cleaning the bathrooms/showers throughout the day. Our cabin was super dirty under the beds and even found Kleenex and bottle on the bedside. KOA/Hayward was very clean!
Jul 27, 2016
Fantastic great people very helpful been there three times this was parexcelant
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals