Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 25, 2015
My story is so long that I will just say.....I couldn't have asked for a better place to be, the staff was more than accommodating. I would come back here every chance I had.
Jul 25, 2015
the site is great, but the is a lot of noise from other campers.. The staff didn't do much about it.
Jul 25, 2015
Great all-you-can-eat pancakes and recreational facilities. My kids enjoyed the impromptu volleyball games with all the other kids.
Jul 25, 2015
Loved the location and all of the activities for our kids, but the sites were tight and cramped. Also since it is a valley it become smoky from camp fires from time to time which made it hard to enjoy the location at night.
Jul 25, 2015
This KOA had many family accommodations & lots of fun!!
Jul 25, 2015
Lots of activities. Friendly helpful staff. It's camping, but has enough comfort features to make it fun. Only recommendation is more washer/dryers. Some waiting time there. Thanks for a great vacation with my boys!!
Jul 25, 2015
Wow, amazing place. Everything was very nice except the wifi was down our entire stay. There was also no phone service so no wifi was a problem when we were trying to plan day trips and other tourist activities and could not look up websites or call to ask questions. Employees mentioned the wifi had been down for a while, but they were trying to fix it.
Jul 25, 2015
More than we expected. Nice central location. Friendly staff. Great place for families.
Jul 25, 2015
Love all of the activities for the kids. Awesome job guys. Done things that could be improved. .... The water. Or water had rust in it. Not god for drinking only used it for washing. The Internet was non existent. Could never sign on. The front bathrooms in the patio sites are in desperate need of updating. All the other shower houses and bathrooms are ALOT better. Great KOA all in all
Jul 25, 2015
KOA reservation states level sites and can accommodate larger rigs. We were assigned a wooded hill site and like all other campers in my area sites were more than 10" off on side hill and slope too severe to level unit. Site could not handle 20' pop-up with small pickup. Had to move other campers vehicles when leaving site. The camp site quality is most important part of visit and this was bad.
Jul 25, 2015
For an Expensive resort KOA you would think the cabins would ALL have a/c and not smell like rotten eggs.
Jul 25, 2015
Very happy with the way the staff worked with us to get us moved to a site that would fit our family.
Jul 25, 2015
We didn't have kids with us but it was great to see all the entertainment for the kids, clean bathrooms and the bus ride for the night lighting was great
Jul 24, 2015
Internet is virtually non-existent. Down more than up, and when it is, slow is an under-statement.
Jul 24, 2015
Overall the park was great!! The location and amenities are great. The 2 problems we encountered were lack of adequate laundry facilities and a swamp area 3 ft from our trailer with lots of mosquitoes. Also, need additional gravel in the sites.
Jul 24, 2015
We had a great time on our family vacation. There was tons of fun activities for the kids and adults to participate in. We rented an UTV and had a good time on the trails. The resort was well maintained and the staff was wonderful. The food at the Ponderosa restaurant was good especially the fried taco. We plan to return in the future.
Jul 24, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay in one of the deluxe cabins. Would love to stay in that exact cabin again.
Jul 24, 2015
Amazing. I brought 4 kids by myself. As a single mom I was a little worried about feeling safe. But after the first couple hours I felt at home. Tre kids played & I wasn't worried at all. We all had a great time. A trip of a lifetime. Thank you
Jul 24, 2015
VERY kid friendly! Clean facility and friendly staff. We didn't use the bathrooms as we had full hook up, so no opinion on those. But overall, we were extremely happy with our stay.
Jul 24, 2015
Did not like our stay. They stuck us in some mud hole site. They had plenty of clean grass sites they could have given us.
Jul 24, 2015
This KOA was so busy and they had a difficult time keeping up with the demand of the campers. Lines were too long and access was not convenient for everything from coffee to showers. Showers and restrooms were very dirty. We waited 35 minutes for a coffee.
Jul 24, 2015
We absolutely love this campground, but things were a little off this time. The rain had made our campground unusable without a series of pallets and boards and our fire ring was under water. Also, the water slide, which is my kids favorite, was broken. We did however get in a lovely horseback ride at their stable and enjoy the jumping pillow and rock wall. We will definitely go back.
Jul 24, 2015
One of the nicest KOA's we've ever stayed at! Would recommend for couples...families...or anybody! Great resort! We even got to do free mini golf in town by showing our receipt for staying at the KOA!
Jul 24, 2015
Very nice campground, within minutes of Mt Rushmore. Plenty of activity for kids and adults. Well kept and clean bathrooms and showers. This is a large place, that at times got crowded, may not be a good fit for people who need a more laid back atmosphere.
Jul 24, 2015
Worse campgrd we ever stayed at! Had to move from original site - as did most people in our group (23 rigs!) Water quality very bad- plugged up our water filter- did nothing about it! Too big; too many people, especially kids riding little bikes everywhere!!! :(
Jul 24, 2015
Children loved it, we as grandparents enjoyed it. Campsite was bad....drainage could be improved with a little proper drainage and raising the roads up a bit couldn't cook or eat outside due to wet grounds...no nite campfires...
Jul 24, 2015
No WiFi even at the worst bar ever. We got there on my birthday, ordered a round of drinks for 4 of us. It took 40 minutes to get them. I asked about a birthday drink & never got an answer.
Jul 24, 2015
My complaint is there was no gas in the grill so we had to use our own and the water was brown. When I tried to speak with someone all I got was I'm sorry but no offer to fix the issue. I would not spend the money again for the "deluxe" site since it really wasn't very deluxe. I also would recommend you have your staff wait to bring in new people to the site. We were being rushed off.
Jul 24, 2015
This is our first season of using a travel trailer. We have never been to the Mt Rushmore area but was confident in staying at KOA. Little did we know how big or how many services were actually being provided at this location. It truly is a family paradise. It was a pleasure to stay there and would recommend it to anyone.
Jul 24, 2015
Very accomadating, plenty of activities for the children, very friendly campers and employees!!
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
They do not have quite time, to late and way to early with the horses and road work. The facility was nice and the people who worked there were pleasant but noisey.
Jul 24, 2015
Always a great place to stay. They are always improving the resort.
Jul 24, 2015
We were not happy at this campground at all. This is the first time we stayed there. The campsites are very narrow, short and are far from level. There is NO TV,WIFI OR CELL PHONE SIGNAL in most of the campground. So if that's you kind of camping then enjoy it. But most of the people we talked to near us were not happy either.
Jul 24, 2015
Highly disappointed in customer service. If you need a bathroom close by make sure you call and request it. Cabin was far from bathroom and was told most people just walk outside there cabin at night and just squat there. They were not willing to help out until after 11 p.m. Stay at the Custer KOA. Smaller but worth it!
Jul 24, 2015
I wish I had a little more verbal information on the cabin I was staying and verbal information on the amenities and tell everyone about the sides to the pancake breakfast which was delicious!! Would have like to how horse back riding and need more atv trails
Jul 24, 2015
I originally was excited about this koa, especially when we checked in and saw the facilities available. However we got to our 'site' which was a 25 sq foot patch of gravel and grass hugging 2 roads and a parking lot where there was barely room for us to park. It was ridiculous. We were planning to stay in KOA's all the way to California but after seeing how you pack in guests I probably won't.
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
Loved the area, everyone was very helpful. Our grandkids enjoyed the fun zone and made many friends
Jul 23, 2015
We stayed at this KOA 25 years ago. Went back this 2015 and was better than ever. This is the nicest KOA we have ever stayed at. Very kid friendly. Lots of things to do with the family. Great place to stay. We will stay there again. No question.
Jul 23, 2015
The cabins were very nice, but any other koa I stopped at the cabins have screen doors and fans. Also no grill, just a fire pit.staff was awesome!
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
This park is huge! Tons of stuff for the kids to do. It was full for most of our stay and very busy. Very close to Mt. Rushmore. The bathrooms and showers were a bit run down and the men's bathroom smelled most of the time. Even after cleaning. No internet at the sites, even though it was advertised on the website. Couldn't even get on at the so called hotspots. No cel phone service at all.
Jul 23, 2015
Just passing through on vacation
Jul 23, 2015
When we arrived the family that had reserved the 2 sites next to us were overflowing into our site. It was awkward to have to have that conversation with them. They were nice about it, but I think they had been confused by the way the tent spaces were marked. Bathrooms could have used more attention. Minor issues, but overall great stay, though! Thank you so much!
Jul 23, 2015
Had a great time.
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
When we arrived, we were placed in a site that was completely flooded. Though it was a full hookup site, we were not able to utilize the sewage since it was flooded. Parking in the site in a swamp was not ok. The site should never have been available for anyone to use.
Jul 23, 2015
Wonderful stay. We enjoyed all the amenities, I felt safe letting the kids run, lots of staff, for the most part friendly. My only negative comment would be the wifi - or lack of wifi. Wonderful stay - we will be back someday.
Jul 23, 2015
Really nice campsite, so much entertainment! Little too crowded for my taste, but probably great when traveling with kids!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.