Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 16, 2017
When i made the reservations I asked to be close to 3 other cabins of people that were traveling with us. No one told us to pay an extra to ensure we were near them or anything. No one reached out to us and told us. We were by the main building and they were by the redeo grounds. All together I also could never reach anyone that could give me answers. Plus bad location of cabin Rocky.
Jul 16, 2017
VERY NICE, KID FRIENDLY
Jul 16, 2017
Best KOA ever! We look forward to returning someday!! = )
Jul 16, 2017
AMAZING!!!!!!!
Jul 16, 2017
Lots to do for kids--pool, water slide, water play area. Campground is very large so lots of people. Shower house was good. Expensive for just wanting to camp overnight. Is more a destination place.
Jul 16, 2017
The bathrooms need some serious updating
Jul 16, 2017
Great staff! Great activities and facilities for the whole family. Over-all very good cleanliness with the exception of one of the "comfort stations." It tended to have a more than usual unpleasant odor and clogged toilets. But otherwise, yes, we would most definitely stay again!
Jul 16, 2017
The stables were terrific!
Jul 16, 2017
Staff friendly plenty of forestry spaces well maintained.special thank-you to Ben Larson up-grade he provided wasn't initially accepted but turned out great.he knows his Park well!! Some of the space spotters need hospitality training or re-training!!!!!!!!
Jul 16, 2017
Jul 16, 2017
Packed in like sardines, Poor Service, Awful Internet, Expensive + Pet Fee and worst dog park. No shade and LOUD
Jul 16, 2017
Jul 16, 2017
The campsites were very close together and the showers were filthy. But the location is conveniently located to Mt Rushmore. We enjoyed the pool and found it refreshing, however very crowded. The pancake breakfast was generous and priced right. However, the coffee shop was very slow service and overpriced.
Jul 16, 2017
This is my third time and every time is better. This is one of the best campgrounds to see the Black hills. Pancake tent is wonderful. Our dog loved his own little park. Watching the horses go back to the stables at night is a treat. This KOA is the best.
Jul 16, 2017
My wife and I stayed here 13 years ago. We were amazed at how much had changed! Always something going on, so if you get bored there, it's your own fault! Beautiful area for sightseeing as well. Only complaint was that our campsite was small. If we had a bigger tent, it would have never fit.
Jul 16, 2017
It was awesome, our Grandkids had the time of their lives. Being so close to Mt. Rushmore was ideal. We did have a squeaky door on our Camper Cabin, but it was still wonderful. Staff was great.
Jul 16, 2017
Nothing but the best could put some money in there spaces
Jul 16, 2017
Camp ground was fine except there was no phone service in that area and there was no Wifi reception.
Jul 16, 2017
Crammed together so tight that your neighbor's sewer line is literally up underneath your picnic table,,, even though we are RVing we always still cook and eat outside.... not for these five days at this KOA. Also the campfire ring was at the very far end past the front end of my tow vehicles front bumper, literally 30 to 40 ft away from where it should have been.
Jul 16, 2017
Campsite 538 - no flat spot to set up tent. Had to sleep on an incline. :( Also shower water was ice cold.
Jul 16, 2017
Lots to do for kids. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Jul 16, 2017
Way too expensive; "resort" fee, dog fee, ridiculous. Never stay there again. Poor RV sites (unlevel, no place to park the car, no septic, no cell service, no cable, low water pressure), staff not helpful, all you want is our money and plenty of it.
Jul 16, 2017
Horrible. Felt like a sardine with the very small sites. People in site next to us smoked marijuana and drank until midnight. No hot water in shower. This is not a campground. It's a zoo. Worst KOA or campground I have ever stayed in.
Jul 16, 2017
We were there only 2 nights but would love to back for a week. So much to do. Swimming pool & horses were great.
Jul 16, 2017
Need to put air conditioning in all your cabins I'd give it a 10
Jul 16, 2017
We have a large 43 foot RV and was given a standard patio site Which required us to disconnect our tow vehicle. The site was very unlevel and had a tree on one side so we were not able to put one of our slides out. No Cable TV /cell phone /or wifi is unacceptable . Only thing going for the campground was it was close to Mt Rushmore and seemed nice for people with children.
Jul 15, 2017
Great location and nice staff
Jul 15, 2017
We loved our stay with the exception of no WIFI or cell phone coverage. It is funny they have signs about downloading the KOA app but you can't cause no WIFI or cell coverage. Liked fun zone and activities for kids, pool, slide, horses, bikes, mini golf etc. Scenary is in the rocks above they cram you in with little separation between sites and no trees for full hookups.
Jul 15, 2017
Jul 15, 2017
Really enjoyed all the kids activities. Internet is horrible. No cell service and wireless was terrible. Need to invest in internet connections. If you want to be off radar its the place to be. Tons of fun things to do. I would go back. If you want a quiet place, this isnt it during the day. Very busy.
Jul 15, 2017
We love the campground, but I think the customer service could improve some. The concierge service gave us wrong info on 4th of July fireworks, which messed up our plans and then we ended up missing fireworks completely. They didn't seem knowledgeable for a concierge service overall during our stay there. Otherwise, everything else was great.
Jul 15, 2017
Location is perfect for day trips. Loved seeing and hearing the horses every morning and evening come by our campsite. Bathrooms, especially Men's needed constant attention at Comfort Station 3. Pools, activities, laundry, food and coffee were great!
Jul 15, 2017
We Had a wonderful time at your resort! So many things to do! This is the third time we have stayed here, but we did have some issues. 1st my 10% coupon was not honored upon check-in. 2nd not enough staff for the amount of guests. Rules didn't seem to apply. For instance, the adult swim time at the pool was not enforced. When I asked staff, she did not have an answer. 3rd Wi-Fi non existent.
Jul 15, 2017
Mud hole after rain. No cable, internet, or phone service. Poor/spotty hot spots. Expensive because of amenities we don't use. Noisy and crowded, but great for a children's vacation. Staff helpful,roads graded after rain to dry out, very nice restaurant which serves alcohol
Jul 15, 2017
Lots of activities for kids and adults. Quiet, safe, clean. Great location, beautiful scenery. Showers could be cleaner and updated.
Jul 15, 2017
Wish you would have better internet or cell service.
Jul 15, 2017
Excellent experience. Staff very helpful. Only recommendation is that a designated path should be made for the tent campers to go through campsites to bathrooms. Will definitely return but wouldn't want site 162 again.
Jul 15, 2017
Best stay ever!
Jul 15, 2017
We already reserved our cabin for next year! Amazing place/people! Thank you
Jul 15, 2017
I stayed here for one night on a two-month road trip. Having stayed at MANY other KOA's in the Western US, this one was, by far, the best bang for your buck. The facilities and amenities were outstanding as was the staff. For the cost of a tent site, this KOA offers the most for your money!
Jul 15, 2017
The campground was very loud, overcrowded, and children were running around unattended at all times of the day. It was a much different stay this time than our previous visit.
Jul 15, 2017
Great camp ground, It's certainly good for kids. there is a lot to entertain them.
Jul 15, 2017
Some of the employees are happy, some are grumpy. showers are awesome to have but need to be cleaned. trailer spots are way too small. I would stay again if I had younger children with me and stayed in a cabin by the water, but otherwise not worth the money paid.
Jul 15, 2017
We enjoyed this place. I'm normally not a fan of KOA, but this location is well worth the price. My two kids (10 & 13) we never bored, which is not easy to accomplish. We rented both the UTV and horse rides. Very fun.
Jul 15, 2017
camp sites need a little work but all the amenities were great
Jul 15, 2017
Lots to do. Fun for the kids. Clean. Store is super expensive though. And some guests were loud late into the night. Overall, good place to stay.
Jul 15, 2017
We had SO MUCH FUN! We came for Mount Rushmore and other sites around South Dakota, but my kids would have happily stayed the entire 3 days at the KOA and not go see anything else. Tons of fun things to do, helpful & friendly staff, clean restrooms, and great campsites! We will be back!
Jul 15, 2017
We had so much fun at KOA!We especially loved the arts and crafts! Thanks for all your help Taylor! The horse back ride and chuckwagon dinner was awesome!
Jul 15, 2017
Wonderful campground. One feedback note is that our one site had a hill of mud and could use some restoration. My brother s site was close and very grassy so we spent more time there.
Jul 15, 2017
We all had a blast! Plenty of activities to keep all of us happy and busy. The cabin was perfect for our family of five. Our only disappointment was the lack of thorough cleaning of bathrooms/showers. Giving those areas as much attention as the gorgeous flowers would be greatly appreciated.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals