Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
I really wish that the Wifi service that was promised on the website actually would have worked. I had plans to complete work while my children were napping and was unable to do so because the service that was promised was unavailable/unreliable. I was able to access Wifi once for about five minutes during my 5 day stay.
Jul 31, 2013
Very disappointed with our stay. Most expensive KOA on our cross country trip, by far. Map to site was printed wrong and we had to circle 3x to get to our site. Tons of red mud. Can't control the weather but would have expected paved roads. We won't be back! :(
Jul 31, 2013
very over crowded
Jul 31, 2013
Tia Grabow was a poor first person to meet. Mercedes Busetti was good. My clothes got torn in the washer, my package was not handled properly, I am disappointed.
Jul 31, 2013
The bathroom by our cabin was absolutely disgusting. Needs to be checked every 2 hrs. The toilets were over flowing for a long time. There was no toilet paper in some of the stalls. The showers were extremely bad. They had mold growing in them and the tile was falling off. These showers need some huge TLC. Power washing or remodeling. The doors need to be left open somehow after showing.
Jul 31, 2013
The pizza restaurant was the only disappointment we had. Food took a while and wasn't that good. Drink machine was out of a lot of choices.
Jul 31, 2013
The campsite I was assigned was a virtual mud hole. The table was half in a water hole and could not be used. The weather was occasional showers and the problem was poor drainage. We were told that you were sorry all sites cannot be good.
Jul 31, 2013
I will never stay at a KOA again...expensive and so crowded that the slide out of the trailer next to us pushed into our own tent. This was a horrible experience...both KOAs we stayed at this trip!
Jul 31, 2013
Loved our tent site and extra facilities and water play areas.
Jul 31, 2013
It was so big. The first couple times we went to our cabin, we became confused as to the correct way to go. I did appreciate that we were close to the restrooms. I do feel that the restroom facility could of had more toilets. There were many of times where there was a line of people waiting to use them. All staff were very helpful and friendly.
Jul 31, 2013
This is our second year in a row, and would still go back. My 4 boys keep so busy with all the things to do. My only suggestion would be to place seating next to some activities, (paddle boats, jumping pillow), for the parents watching the children.
Jul 31, 2013
We were greated immediately as we drove in. Shown to our large site backed up to a big grassy area. All personnel were so friendly and helpful. Their furnishing a bus to the lighting at Mt. rushmore was awesome. $6. a person is cheap so you don't have to drive and pay parking. Would recommend this place to anyone going that way.
Jul 31, 2013
Great location, near the Monument. With kids do not stay "on the hill" as you will be too far from features. Too few baths & those available were unclean even after complaint to maintenance staff. Appears to suffer from a lack of good management. On a positive note, lots of things to do & the shuttle to the Monument is convenient.
Jul 30, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff, beautiful accommodations, just one slightly negative: although campers are to be quiet until 7am, the four wheelers and other noise commence at 5:30 am, both on Sunday and Monday, during our stay.
Jul 30, 2013
This is a very large campground. Bathrooms need to be serviced more often! Loved the horseback riding and the chuckwagon dinner.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Great place to stay while exploring the Black Hills area. Wonderful for families with younger children with all the activities going on at the KOA.
Jul 30, 2013
Amazing location and campground. Best of times!
Jul 30, 2013
The site (503) we stayed at was great. The only thing that bothered us, was there was not quiet time enforcement. People come and go at all hours. The staff are very friendly and there are lots of activities for everyone in the family. Great location to all sight seeing locations.
Jul 30, 2013
Very kid friendly and a wonderful staff. Had tons of events to do and see. Fun for all ages. Cell service was the only downer.
Jul 30, 2013
Nicely located so we could take in the sights without traveling long distances. Spots were large enough to really enjoy being out of doors. Very clean, well managed. Great activites for the whole family.
Jul 30, 2013
My family loves it here. We go nowhere else!!! There is so much to do and it is such a nice, clean place. We will camp here whenever we go camping!!!
Jul 30, 2013
Kids HEAVEN!!!
Jul 30, 2013
We rented a Deluxe 6 person cabin. Was advertised as having a kitchen but only a kitchenette. Was not cleaned when we got there and had to wait 1 hour and then cabin wasn't cleaned very well. Gas grill didn't start well. Some kids activities were advertised but not there also.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
This was the best KOA. Lots of fun activities for the kids that were free. Real close to Mt. Rushmore. No cable in most of the sites and no cell reception.
Jul 30, 2013
Overpriced for an overnight stay. RV site was small and sparse given the price.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Great location! Lots of things to do for the kids. You need someone to watch over the mini-golf area (kids got really out of hand). Bathrooms need ALOT more attention. Dirty, gross, not sanitary. In fact we skipped taking a shower & brushed our teeth with a bottle of water over a trash can in our cabin. Love the entire place but bathrooms really need to be cleaned more often.
Jul 30, 2013
Beautiful campground! But staff was either super friendly or super rude. we rented bikes and went over on our time. They charged us for the overage which was fine. Our fault for going over but so rude when they told us about it. Bathrooms were absolutely disgusting!!!! never cleaned.
Jul 30, 2013
Lots to do for kids
Jul 30, 2013
The campground was in such a beautiful spot - very good location - everyone we encountered was very friendly. My only complaint is that the bathrooms should be cleaned more often than once a day. They got really gross.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Wonderful Campground ! So much stuff for the kids to do! Wonderful staff even delivered firewood straight to the campsite ! We will be back again next summer !
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Great place to take family, lots to do, but some things a bit pricey. Had a shuttle for night lighting of Rushmore, good!
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Wonderful place, friendly helpful staff, many activities, msny included with campground fee. Appreciate the stables being right there! Only problem was with the adapter for the electric, had to buy one in town, but will be prepared next time!
Jul 30, 2013
The bathrooms and showers near our campsite were horrible. We ended up going to another bathroom and shower facility halfway through our stay. If it wasn't for the bathrooms I would stay again, but I don't believe I will just because of them. Everything else was very nice. It seems as though the bathrooms were over used and that there needed to be more available. We stayed at site 611.
Jul 30, 2013
We enjoyed our stay . However, it was a little overpriced for the site we had....gaveled and flooded. Shuttle to Mt. Rushmore at night was absolutely breathtaking!
Jul 30, 2013
Very enjoyable stay. Kids loved the trail rides. Pizza was fantastic. But the mildew or what ever that was on the bottoms of all the shower curtains was a total turn off, subtract 1 star. Missoula, Montana KOA is still tops with my family!!!!
Jul 30, 2013
We were able to spend two enjoyable nights at this KOA. It was just about all that was expected. The staff was very helpful.
Jul 30, 2013
The kids had a fun time. The campground was more crowded than I'd prefer, but for the location, it's understandable. Nice place to stay for accessibility to the surrounding area. If you're looking for more solitude, this isn't the place.
Jul 30, 2013
Bathroom was not kept clean, showers needed repairs and cleaned. Unexpected $10 per day fee for extras we didn't need nor partake. We enjoyed it 25 years ago, not so much this time.
Jul 30, 2013
We have stayed at this KOA 1-2 times a year for the last 5 years. We love this campground but we stayed in a different area this time. We used our tent - our tent site was terrible not enough room to set up or to be comfortable.. The restroom and showers for this area are terrible - they need an upgrade - showers were cold and the toilets were broken and gross.. We drove to the other bathrooms

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.