Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 27, 2014
Superb Campground with a lot of fun activities for kids and families. Well kept up, and the employees were very friendly and helpful. Only 10 minutes from Mt. Rushmore too.. Great place to camp!
Jul 27, 2014
Pool water was dirty. Bathrooms needed cleaned more often.
Jul 27, 2014
Wow! What a campground! We will be coming back next summer for a week or two so we can spend some time, can't wait!
Jul 27, 2014
In one brief sentence, besides the massive amount of flies, this was a the best campground I have stayed on ever!
Jul 27, 2014
Great place to stay with kids! Nicely located to a variety of activities including hiking, fine dining, site seeing the beautiful Black Hills, and beautiful views of nature. Nice cabins.
Jul 27, 2014
We reserved a 2 room cabin. It was clean and easy for us, as this was just one stop in our week long vacation. The bathrooms had an awful gnat problem which there was a sign of apology on the door. The problem was obviously being addressed by the number of bugs everywhere, but those facilities were unusable. Our kids enjoyed the other amenities available and breakfast was wonderful.
Jul 27, 2014
More amenities were offered than we anticipated. Well kept KOA.
Jul 27, 2014
Loved it! Very active place for kiddos! Water slide, 2 pools, bball court, vball court, the kamp kitchens are dirtyweren't cleaned the whole time we were there. The komfort station nearest us was run down and needs a lot more cleaning. Staff was great and attentive!
Jul 27, 2014
Everything was great until there was lightening and all outdoor facilities were closed. We could only be at Palmer Gulch for one night and we had just gotten into the pool when it was shut down. It was a bummer because our kids were so looking forward to swimming, water slide, jumping pillow and mini golf.
Jul 27, 2014
Great stay except for the trillion gnats in the bathrooms.
Jul 27, 2014
Wonderful stay and plenty of fun for the grandchildren. We however, did not enjoy the gnats in the restrooms.
Jul 27, 2014
Not much shade, but lots to do for all ages. Very well run camp ground
Jul 27, 2014
This KOA was so filthy I cut my stay short. The pool was terrible, sites were small, rude people. I do not know why there would be a $10 resort fee for staying in such a bad place. This KOA should be visited by health inspectors it would be shut down
Jul 27, 2014
On a dirt road backin with 30 amp service when I requested a 50 amp pull through and was told ok but you may have to move each day. 30 amp did not stay on . Checked to see where I would be the following day of my 3 night stay & was told another site just like it. Cancelled and moved to a better campground .
Jul 26, 2014
Campground was awesome and the kids loved all the activities! Only complaint was the bugs in the bathrooms...like 1000's of them! Cabins and staff were great!
Jul 26, 2014
We had a wonderful time at Mt. Rushmore KOA! There are so many things to do and activities! We will definitely come back again!
Jul 26, 2014
It was great. Thanks. U may want to leave trash bags daily when u pick up so we could have continued to recycle.
Jul 26, 2014
Great location! Only complaint was the cleanliness of the bathrooms.
Jul 26, 2014
there does need to be a few more seats in the restrooms, for as many sites and cabins that there are. we love the location and all the wonderful amenities. it was our 3rd time staying at Palmer Gulch! One employee, Jane from Mass. was not as customer friendly as she should be, but the rest of the staff was great.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Have used this KOA since mid 1980's. Took our children here, now taking our grandchildren here. There are so many great activities to do right there at the KOA. Climbing wall a great addition. Staff was very pleasant. Only complaint is some ageing bath houses. One is beautiful, new - others dire need of repair. Handicap shower out of use the whole week we were there.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Great place for kids and close to attractions. The only bad thing is the wifi is terrible otherwise we enjoyed it!!
Jul 26, 2014
Very nice location - my one complaint would be that the 'quiet time' should be strictly enforced. We were kept awake long after 11.00 by car engines, headlights shining into the tent, people shouting, arguing and laughing. Just my two cents! Otherwise, a lovely location.
Jul 26, 2014
Lots of activities for kids! Comfort stations were always clean, staff was very friendly, and pancake breakfast was the BEST! My only 2 complaints are the constant traffic going through the campground, which w/ a campground of this size I don't know how you would fix, and the wet firewood. Overall, we really did enjoy our stay. Thanks!
Jul 26, 2014
Great location from several site seeing points. As well plenty of things for the kids to do. A little expensive for the Extras things to do...but overall a Good experiance.
Jul 26, 2014
Used site 624 cramped,Muddy and you could smell the dumpster behind it. I think I will try another camp ground next time.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
It was great ! We stayed an extra day just because how much fun we were all having !
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
We had a great time . The camp ground are nice and clean and the employes were very helpful and friendly .
Jul 26, 2014
The campground was fine however, the knants were HORRIBLE in the bathrooms. If you have a problem, there needs to be more than one time of cleaning a day. Also, you have staff everywhere else, someone needs to man the putt putt so some kids that are left to run wild on the grounds, don't hurt someone messing around.
Jul 26, 2014
Attendant extremely friendly and helpful, facilities well keep and clean, a lot of activities for families. Only complain the alcohol and cigarette ID purchase require by the manager if you can not differentiate between a 70 year old and a 17 year old them you must may need to find a different job!!!
Jul 26, 2014
Excellent bathroom/shower facilities, lots of family activities, pancake breakfast under the tent, variety of small stores on site. Close to Mt Rushmore, but peaceful and serene. Only negatives were that we had to root thru the grass to find campsite #, and ATM was down. Great stay!
Jul 26, 2014
Our son loved all the activities and met some great kids.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Beautiful surroundings & excellent amenities. Great location in Black Hills Nat'l Park area-very central location to many attractions! Must stay.
Jul 26, 2014
Great location, services, store, pool. We had "Aaron" help us out with a bunch of questions regarding the campground, etc. and he was incredibly helpful.
Jul 25, 2014
We went to breakfast. Came back to make sure everything was out of our cabin at 10:30 and it was all cleaned. We still had the keys and had not checked out. Now I am missing my camera. I know I had it on the deck before breakfast. Just saying I did not have a chance to do a final walk through of the cabin. I left one message for supervisor and will continue to until I get a response.
Jul 25, 2014
Great place for kids. Disappointed in the wifi, couldn't get service at all.
Jul 25, 2014
Location of this KOA was perfect. Activities were fun. Disappointed there weren't more tractors for hay ride...waiting in line for an hour with little kids is impossible. However we loved the deluxe cabin and will enthusiastically recommend this location to our friends. The staff was so friendly and all accommodations were exceptionally clean. We will be back again!
Jul 25, 2014
Beautiful area. We loved all the extras and activities. We liked the restaurant on site but service is slow.. We would have enjoyed the ice cream parlor if the smell of manure from horse stables wasn't so bad. Our cabin was small but did its duty. The bathrooms at the pool were not cleaned once in our stay. The dirt road near the bridge has a huge hole that my son fell in. Had good time.
Jul 25, 2014
Enjoyed the campground . Kids were thrilled with the activities that were available to them. Just a little too much traffic- cars coming and going all the time - made us a little nervous about our little one and getting too close to the road. Also dump site should not be so close to camp sites- pay too much money to have to smell that smell everyday.
Jul 25, 2014
Comfort stations very far from cabins. Great with so many activities, but too big and noisy for our taste.
Jul 25, 2014
Clean showers , great food , lots of activities.
Jul 25, 2014
So I stayed another night
Jul 25, 2014
There was no internet service at our site or the hotspot indicated on their map. Other than that it was a very nice place.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.