Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 24, 2015
This KOA was so busy and they had a difficult time keeping up with the demand of the campers. Lines were too long and access was not convenient for everything from coffee to showers. Showers and restrooms were very dirty. We waited 35 minutes for a coffee.
Jul 24, 2015
We absolutely love this campground, but things were a little off this time. The rain had made our campground unusable without a series of pallets and boards and our fire ring was under water. Also, the water slide, which is my kids favorite, was broken. We did however get in a lovely horseback ride at their stable and enjoy the jumping pillow and rock wall. We will definitely go back.
Jul 24, 2015
One of the nicest KOA's we've ever stayed at! Would recommend for couples...families...or anybody! Great resort! We even got to do free mini golf in town by showing our receipt for staying at the KOA!
Jul 24, 2015
Very nice campground, within minutes of Mt Rushmore. Plenty of activity for kids and adults. Well kept and clean bathrooms and showers. This is a large place, that at times got crowded, may not be a good fit for people who need a more laid back atmosphere.
Jul 24, 2015
Worse campgrd we ever stayed at! Had to move from original site - as did most people in our group (23 rigs!) Water quality very bad- plugged up our water filter- did nothing about it! Too big; too many people, especially kids riding little bikes everywhere!!! :(
Jul 24, 2015
Children loved it, we as grandparents enjoyed it. Campsite was bad....drainage could be improved with a little proper drainage and raising the roads up a bit couldn't cook or eat outside due to wet grounds...no nite campfires...
Jul 24, 2015
No WiFi even at the worst bar ever. We got there on my birthday, ordered a round of drinks for 4 of us. It took 40 minutes to get them. I asked about a birthday drink & never got an answer.
Jul 24, 2015
My complaint is there was no gas in the grill so we had to use our own and the water was brown. When I tried to speak with someone all I got was I'm sorry but no offer to fix the issue. I would not spend the money again for the "deluxe" site since it really wasn't very deluxe. I also would recommend you have your staff wait to bring in new people to the site. We were being rushed off.
Jul 24, 2015
This is our first season of using a travel trailer. We have never been to the Mt Rushmore area but was confident in staying at KOA. Little did we know how big or how many services were actually being provided at this location. It truly is a family paradise. It was a pleasure to stay there and would recommend it to anyone.
Jul 24, 2015
Very accomadating, plenty of activities for the children, very friendly campers and employees!!
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
They do not have quite time, to late and way to early with the horses and road work. The facility was nice and the people who worked there were pleasant but noisey.
Jul 24, 2015
Always a great place to stay. They are always improving the resort.
Jul 24, 2015
We were not happy at this campground at all. This is the first time we stayed there. The campsites are very narrow, short and are far from level. There is NO TV,WIFI OR CELL PHONE SIGNAL in most of the campground. So if that's you kind of camping then enjoy it. But most of the people we talked to near us were not happy either.
Jul 24, 2015
Highly disappointed in customer service. If you need a bathroom close by make sure you call and request it. Cabin was far from bathroom and was told most people just walk outside there cabin at night and just squat there. They were not willing to help out until after 11 p.m. Stay at the Custer KOA. Smaller but worth it!
Jul 24, 2015
I wish I had a little more verbal information on the cabin I was staying and verbal information on the amenities and tell everyone about the sides to the pancake breakfast which was delicious!! Would have like to how horse back riding and need more atv trails
Jul 24, 2015
I originally was excited about this koa, especially when we checked in and saw the facilities available. However we got to our 'site' which was a 25 sq foot patch of gravel and grass hugging 2 roads and a parking lot where there was barely room for us to park. It was ridiculous. We were planning to stay in KOA's all the way to California but after seeing how you pack in guests I probably won't.
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
Loved the area, everyone was very helpful. Our grandkids enjoyed the fun zone and made many friends
Jul 23, 2015
We stayed at this KOA 25 years ago. Went back this 2015 and was better than ever. This is the nicest KOA we have ever stayed at. Very kid friendly. Lots of things to do with the family. Great place to stay. We will stay there again. No question.
Jul 23, 2015
The cabins were very nice, but any other koa I stopped at the cabins have screen doors and fans. Also no grill, just a fire pit.staff was awesome!
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
This park is huge! Tons of stuff for the kids to do. It was full for most of our stay and very busy. Very close to Mt. Rushmore. The bathrooms and showers were a bit run down and the men's bathroom smelled most of the time. Even after cleaning. No internet at the sites, even though it was advertised on the website. Couldn't even get on at the so called hotspots. No cel phone service at all.
Jul 23, 2015
Just passing through on vacation
Jul 23, 2015
When we arrived the family that had reserved the 2 sites next to us were overflowing into our site. It was awkward to have to have that conversation with them. They were nice about it, but I think they had been confused by the way the tent spaces were marked. Bathrooms could have used more attention. Minor issues, but overall great stay, though! Thank you so much!
Jul 23, 2015
Had a great time.
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
When we arrived, we were placed in a site that was completely flooded. Though it was a full hookup site, we were not able to utilize the sewage since it was flooded. Parking in the site in a swamp was not ok. The site should never have been available for anyone to use.
Jul 23, 2015
Wonderful stay. We enjoyed all the amenities, I felt safe letting the kids run, lots of staff, for the most part friendly. My only negative comment would be the wifi - or lack of wifi. Wonderful stay - we will be back someday.
Jul 23, 2015
Really nice campsite, so much entertainment! Little too crowded for my taste, but probably great when traveling with kids!
Jul 23, 2015
We loved the overall facility. Almost like a resort! Dislikes were the Internet ( or lack of) never could get on at all. The showers were also in need of attention in the AM. Very dirty around 6am from the night before of swimming I'm guessing. Very dirty to take a morning shower. Other than that the facility was great. I Would love to stay there again!
Jul 23, 2015
This campsite has a lot of activities , wish we could have stayed longer.
Jul 23, 2015
Staff is extremely friendly, activities are fun, bathrooms/ showers are clean. The problem is the number of people they cram into the space. It is insane. We had to go to 3 different camp sites before we found room to set up our tent. People are right on top of each other. There is no privacy or peace. Between babies crying, dogs barking, car alarms going off all night, sleep is impossible!
Jul 23, 2015
The Koa should consider updating it water park features. Too small of area for the mass number of guests who can stay(lots of sites). The guests kids run around at night at all hours, we had no encounters, but some other campers did. Just a busy time of year I guess.
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
Cost too much
Jul 23, 2015
They need to pay more attention to where they assign big rigs (over 37' towing). Was put a slot for a pop-up or tag along. When I left the morning of the 22nd I damaged my rig. I know they were busy but can do a lot better with the cleaning of the rest rooms. We paid an extra $10 per day for other amenities for that price they should do a better job cleaning the facilities.
Jul 23, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. Only sorry that cell phones don't work and internet also. We were there from Sat. to Thurs. and couldn't contact family.
Jul 23, 2015
Great for kids, however we are seniors and found the campground very crowded and noisy. Forget the 10 MPH speed limit the staff drove around at twice that speed.
Jul 22, 2015
Our large group used the extremely clean group area for several meals. The abundant flowers were a beautiful backdrop. Hated no wifi or cellular but it is a gulch! Go no tech I say! Wonderful destination KOA!
Jul 22, 2015
Have been RV ing to PG KOA for 20+ years to family reunions. All visits, before this one were A rated. This one felt "bottom line" a C +. Want details? : crowded, "jammed in" RVs, not as friendly, no 6AM coffee. Exception: Chuck Wagon dinner-fantastic!
Jul 22, 2015
Very Expensive!!! No internet or phone service made it difficult for our family to communicate. Most all other family members stayed elsewhere because of previous stay issues. Will be staying elsewhere the next visit to the area.
Jul 22, 2015
Had a great time. Lots of fun and great set up for kids.
Jul 22, 2015
this is a very busy KOA. Great if traveling with kids. ChuckWagon dinner was fantastic. Laundry facilities good. I enjoyed very much because my grandkids were able to stay busy.
Jul 22, 2015
Fun campground in a beautiful place. Crowded, but fun. Lots to do.
Jul 22, 2015
The staff was great. Very helpful and friendly. The site 584 was subpar. It was muddy and sized for a camper, not for a fifthwheel. I had to back my trailer past the pad, onto the grass and there was no cable hookup.
Jul 22, 2015
you guys had everything. Showers and bathrooms were clean and warm. lots of activities for the kids
Jul 22, 2015
This is a great campground with lots of fun amenities. It is also in a central location. It was a great place for a family vacation!
Jul 22, 2015
Stayed 8 nights. Good base for side trips. Lots to do for all ages. Could use better wifi reception and band width.
Jul 22, 2015
Place is beautiful, lots to do, great location in the Black Hills. Loved the cookout centre. Would definitely come back but not in the one bedroom cabin. The 5th bunk is completely useless. Also, the bathrooms near us were not adequate, the shower stalls tiny and many stalls were missing their hooks. They need a makeover like the beautiful one in the middle of the Rv's near the main building.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.