Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 16, 2014
Our stay at the Mt. Rushmore KOA was great! We are a family of four, with two children (ages 8 and 4). This is a great campground with lots of activities for the whole family to enjoy. It's also located in a great spot with easy access to all of the area attractions. We'll definitely be back!
Jun 16, 2014
We LOVE the Palmer Gulch / Mt Rushmore KOA. Despite the thunderstorms and downpours our family STILL had a great time. There is always something to do on the property - rain or shine - or the staff has a bunch of recommendations for fun in the surrounding area. This KOA is only 10 minutes from Mt Rushmore so it's in a great location. We tent camped by the pond
Jun 16, 2014
Truly enjoyed our weekend &hope to return soon. Great site &service.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Out of 7 showers,there was only one working. One stool didn't work the whole time we were there. The weather was rainy, which is out of their control, therefore a lot of the activities were shut down due to the rain, which left the kids with nothing to do. Even after the rain stopped, they didn't reopen some of the activities. We really like this place, question our return.
Jun 16, 2014
after a ruff start with a under water site the rest of the week was great good service great for kids staff very nice
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Beautiful location, friendly staff, great facilities. So much for the kids to do, love all the activities. We will be back!
Jun 16, 2014
beautiful place for family but staff seemed to busy to help a family member locate us...and with no internet connection or cell phone service it was extremely frustrating for both us and our family. We were not given a spot in a nice area, even though many were available but on the main road with all of the maintenance vehicles starting around 6 am going back and forth. Noisy. Beautiful place tho
Jun 16, 2014
Very enjoyable
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
It was great. Very nice facility. Lovely surroundings, close to attractions. Friendly Staff.
Jun 16, 2014
Stay was great, a bit pricey, especially when all amenities were not functional. The appearance of this KOA has improved since our last visit a few years back.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
We spent one night in one of the small one room cabins. Was very clean and relaxing! The showers were very nice because they were all separate and each had their own small dressing area. My only complaint was the bathroom. Some of the toilets didn't flush and was kinda dirty, this could have just been from the large amount of people. Other than that was a blast! I would go back in a heart beat!
Jun 16, 2014
I love this KOA! My second daughter learned how to ride her bike at the KOA this weekend. My first daughter also learned to ride here 4 years ago. Thank you for the wonderful memories And if I could also add... if you could check out the hot tub by fiddlesticks.... each time we come to the KOA there is a funky green/yellow color in there. The front pool also needed attention this weekend.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
Disappointing, for a delux site at such a high price very poor. Facilities poor, pool out of service for 6 out of 8 days, slide not running, showers cold had to use the other block. Site had to be repaired which meant moving my rig and the waited 3 hrs for repairs to be carried out. Why they couldnt relocate us i dont know. Overall very dissapointed with the value of this VERY!
Jun 15, 2014
Cabins little dirty and wifi doesn't work but other wise it was great.
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
The place was great for the grandkids and allowed us a nice rest.
Jun 15, 2014
This was our first camping trip as a family, and we loved every minute of it! The site was perfect, and our boys appreciated the nearby playground. I was very impressed by the abundant hot water in the shower and the cleanliness of the facilities!
Jun 15, 2014
PROS: very friendly staff, oodles of great activities right at the campground for all ages, great location for touring the area, ATV's were a HUGE hit for our family (we have a 20, 19, 15 & 13 year old). CONS: very busy, noisy (our spot was right on the main road with traffic going by at 6:00am including maintenance trucks/vehicles), no cell phone service, some mobile data, weak wifi.
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
The stay was okay, but not the best koa experience we've had. One of the main reasons for choosing a koa was the jumping pillow, which didn't work at all the entire time we were there, even though employees kept saying it would be up in a couple hours. Plus, our cabin was not very private.
Jun 14, 2014
awesome place to bring the kids, lots to do
Jun 14, 2014
I rate the site with 4 stars!! The staff was wonderful. The amenities well kept and clean. This was our first stay and we LOVED it! the ONLY reason I do not give 5 stars is because there was a lack of cellphone and WIFI service. If that was available I would give 5 stars. Truly my only complaint.
Jun 14, 2014
Stayed here in a 41 ft MH for 6 nights. Great place. Large sites, close to everything , lots for the kids to do & a couple of restaurants on site.
Jun 14, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
I don't know whee to start! I am driving a band from London and it is their first full US tour. They had the time of their lives at this KOA and the Night shuttle was perfect. The site was great for the tour bus and everyone at KOA... Amazing!! I'll be back with my family ASAP. The group really enjoyed the off-road adventure as well. We needed a week but thx 4 the day!!
Jun 13, 2014
Great KOA! There are so many activities to keep the family busy.
Jun 13, 2014
Only 1 complaint - the water source in the laundry is very rusty/dirty. Being away for 2 weeks it was disappointing not to be able to launder clothes. We did one load of white before becoming aware of the water problem which ruined most of the clothes. Other than that the campground was really nice, kid and family friendly!
Jun 13, 2014
Jun 13, 2014
Campgrounds were very clean. This is the first place where personal trash was picked up daily ! I am impressed ! For those with kids, a great place with lots of activities. The grilled corn was wonderful also !
Jun 13, 2014
Very nice campground. We liked that it was central to most attractions. Lots to do for families.
Jun 13, 2014
Jun 13, 2014
The people and the campground itself was great.the only issues I had were with the cabin, the beds were extremely uncomfortable,and I don't understand why they didn't have a fan for when it got hot, or in our case a little electric heater when it got cold.Especialy when they cost as much as they do.Overall I would come again, pleasant stay for the most part!
Jun 13, 2014
What a great stay. Super clean bathrooms and even after a down pour the grounds drained nicely. Only wish is free hayride in evening.
Jun 12, 2014
Jun 12, 2014
beautiful campground, However, serveral things were broken and shut-down. Fustration because you pay a resort fee!
Jun 12, 2014
Simply amazing.....my kids loved it and we will for sure come back longer next summer! We have told several friends about this resort and hope to come back next year in a larger group!!!
Jun 12, 2014
Kind and courteous staff. Every amenity a person could think of. By far the most complete resort facility in the beautiful Black Hills area!
Jun 12, 2014
Overall we were very happy with our stay. It was unfortunate that the weather did not cooperate with our dates and we had a lot of cold and rain. The cabin was sufficient and I'm glad we brought along a space heater to keep us warm at night.
Jun 12, 2014
Nice place with lots of activities! Would have been nicer if the bounce pillow and rock wall were available during our stay and if the grass was cut by our cabin. Hard to get cell coverage and WiFi. Bathrooms were great.
Jun 11, 2014
We are a Girl Scout troop who visited. The girls had a great time and really enjoyed all the free activities offered. The restrooms were nice and clean as well. The only negative would be that the soap dispensers in the restrooms never seemed to work. Several girls mentioned that they would like to come back to your campground with their families in the future.
Jun 11, 2014
The reason I rate this is because I had a broken up cement pad and standing water in my site the whole week stay. My water valve leaked bad when on construction work being done at the campground starting at 7:00 in the morning for a deluxe site I didn't get it.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.