Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
This park was just too big for me. Of course I was there during peak season. The facilities were nice but the constant traffic gave the impression of being in grand central station. We paid extra for cable and it never worked.
Jul 29, 2014
I liked the KOA office and all that it had to offer. Our camp site left a little to be desired. For the money we spent to stay there I expected better. When it rained nearly all of our site was flooded and the site was so small we where walking out our door and stepping on the neighbors cords and hoses and I wouldn't have wanted them to build a fire as close as they where to my camper.
Jul 29, 2014
Friendly and courteous staff. Convenient location to all the sites. Quiet peacefull nights. Many activities for all ages. On our return trip we will ride the four-seat bike and take a trail ride. We were also impressed the politeness of the other campers, including the children. A lot of good people! See you all again next year:)
Jul 29, 2014
Great campground. Staff is always great.
Jul 29, 2014
WiFi did not work. Was told to many people using it. Dont say there is WiFi if it doesnt work. Everything else was great.
Jul 29, 2014
Mount Rushmore was an amazing KOA. So much fun stuff to do there. Only negative thing is our tent site was not the greatest. The site was on a hill, so we had to sleep at an angle.
Jul 29, 2014
Our family stayed in the camping cabin for a week. It was a wonderful place to spend our vacation. The park is centrally located, which is wonderful. The bathrooms, showers and laundry were are all close and convenient. The pool, splash pad, rock wall were a hit with the kids. The camp ground and staff were all wonderful. We will be going back again next year!!
Jul 29, 2014
Wonderful trip to SD. This was my kids first REAL camping trip and this KOA had soooo much stuff for them to do. The only complaint that I really had was the spaces were so close together. Fun Zone was awesome, good pancakes and love the daily activities for the kids.
Jul 29, 2014
Too crowded. Spaces too close together. Too many gnats. Bathroom and showers were disgusting. Price was way too high when considering what you receive for the price. They charged us extra for our dog. I would not recommend this RV park when there are dozens of nicer ones (we moved to Crooked Creek outside of Hill City which was nicer and much less expensive) and will not stay there again.
Jul 29, 2014
Everyone was friendly and very helpful. Enjoyed being able to rent a car on site as well everything else that was available to rent. My family really enjoyed staying there.
Jul 29, 2014
We had a wonderful time staying with you! It is our 3rd time staying and we will definitely be back. You are in a great location, are very clean, family friendly and we had a great stay! THANKS!!
Jul 29, 2014
I was promised cable hookups when I made reservations but was told after check in that cable was not available on most of their sites and they did not have any left. They have an additional mandatory charge for activities but they were only available for a limited amount of time. One of the two pools was green and water slide was closed for repairs. Numerous other problems.
Jul 29, 2014
Fun for the entire family! We traveled with our two and nine year old. Both kids had a blast. Thank you to all of the staff members who made our weekend enjoyable.
Jul 29, 2014
Loved this KOA. So much to do, my son said he was "in heaven"! I, for one, appreciated the lack of technology -- it forced me to relax! Thank you!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
The only complaint I have is that the water in the pools and water slid were very dirty
Jul 29, 2014
This is our absolute favorite KOA. It is hard to find one that comes close. We tell everyone that talks about camping that they must make a trip to Mt. Rushmore.
Jul 29, 2014
Friendly service, tons of stuff to do (as if the area didn't offer enough)all in a lovely setting. Had a blast. My first vaycay as a widow with my kids. It was great.
Jul 29, 2014
This is the most discussing koa I have ever been in! We are older adults that choose koa for the clean restrooms and good shower houses. These were filthy and most of the showere were moldy and paint peeling. Called manager and got no return call. Free wifi was not anywhere in the park. Told to go stand on a hillside and maybe we could get it.HA! Would never stay here and not recommend !!!!!!
Jul 28, 2014
Great place to not only stay over on your way, but a great place to stay! So sorry we just had one night. The kids would have loved to do all the fun things in the camp ground.
Jul 28, 2014
Campground is very crowded and it is hard to get large RVs turned around. Wireless internet does not work in the campground and barely works at the front. That is why my rating is not higher. Other than those two things, the stay was great. Much to do in the campground and the campground is well maintained and very clean.
Jul 28, 2014
great facility with lots to do. We stayed in a deluxe cabin an it was great. LOTS of flies.
Jul 28, 2014
Great stay. Only problem was the street light shining in our windows. Felt like we were staying in downtown Chicago :-( (If street lights are needed to help light the way put yellow low wattage bulbs in them so campers can enjoy the night - see the stars and appreciate the campfire light. Camp sites could use a bit more green space - pretty crowded sites with no room to gather around the campfi
Jul 28, 2014
One of the nicest KOA's we have stayed at. Lots of amenities. Only problem was the lack of WiFi at the sites. Close to many attractions. Loved it.
Jul 28, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Mt. Rushmore KOA. There was lots of afternoon activities to keep the kids entertained after the day of sight seeing at all the near by attractions. We liked that it was so close to Mt. Rushmore and Custer. We would have liked it even better if the sited were not so close together. It was a little tight for our preference. The staff and the church service were great.
Jul 28, 2014
Great staff- very kind and patient, especially with kids. Campground was clean and well kept
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
While it was very crowded with many spots, this was the result of having so many things for people to do. We found our site easy to get into, all utilities had good access, and everything worked as advertised. This KOA is centrally located to so many things to do in the area.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
My wife and I took our 3 year old and 1.5 year old on their first camping trip here. We had a great time. There is so much to do for kids of all ages. The only thing we didn't really like was the 6 am "wake up call" by the horse herders but we got over it. Will be back if we come to the area again!
Jul 28, 2014
This park is a kids dream come true! There were so many activities and fun things to keep them busy and happy. I'm glad they are older so I didn't have to worry about them around the big, busy park! This park is a dream location just a few miles from Mt. Rushmore!
Jul 28, 2014
Your printed and verbal info about the grounds states there is internet service when in fact the only place avail is near the office. We & many others run a business while traveling. Please fix the wifi or let everyone know its not avail.
Jul 28, 2014
Dirty, mold, non working showers, dirty pool, very loud park at night. Needs to have part of park where you have children under 12 years old and other for older kids. I want stay at this park or recommend it to anyone again.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Had a site, 191, across from the showers that everyone from the west and upper level cut through. Since there was no defined path they took the shortest route even though I parked our car to block access. We had one of the handful of dead trees for shade and were three spots down from barking dogs. Not enough cable sites.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
We loved all the fun activities and kid friendly play equipment. The only complaint would be better care of pool and water slide water and slide surface.
Jul 28, 2014
The campground was very well kept. The bathroom and showers were very clean. Very friendly, helpful, professional staff. I even misplaced my wallet and the staff got it back to me as soon as possible. I highly recommend this campground.
Jul 28, 2014
Lots of things to do besides see Mount Rushmore. The all you can pancakes are the best!
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
We have been coming up to your KOA for over 20 years. Even with your huge growth in camping sites and cabins your staff is always first class in service.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Really nice camp ground. A ton of stuff for the kids, loved the shuttle to Mt. Rushmore. Suggestion: would like to see wash stations throughout campground for dishes/pots&pans. Only issue were the bathrooms/showers need to be cleaned maybe more often, found them slimy and somewhat dirty.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Friendly staff and lots for the kids to do!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.