Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 07, 2015
Great staff, well maintained
Aug 07, 2015
We stayed here over the Sturgis week and it was a horrible experience. From the over priced WET firewood to the RUDE employees in every department to the TINY campsite to the HORRIBLE service and food in the restaurants! I would never recommend this campground to anyone! And to top it off it was incredibly expensive for what we got...
Aug 07, 2015
Once you checked in,paid the for the stay, they where done with u!!! No phone,WiFi,TV,total dead zone.
Aug 07, 2015
Great campground
Aug 07, 2015
Felt crowded. Huge KOA. If you are looking for a camping experience, didn't get that much here. If you are looking for a cheap place near Mt Rushmore, great place.
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
Lots o activities for kids. The campers are packed a little tight.
Aug 07, 2015
Loved the campground. But, We were not happy that there was no cell phone service. The first night we encountered a large hail storm that caused major damage to our vehicles. if we had cell service, we might have had warning so we could cover the vehicles.
Aug 07, 2015
10 mph speed limit needs enforcing
Aug 07, 2015
Camp site was very small and several of the lower sites the ground was wet. You did not want to back off of the pads into the grass for fear of getting stuck.
Aug 07, 2015
Fun for my whole family and in a beautiful location! Can't wait to go back!
Aug 07, 2015
Awesome! Clean! The kids loved it - very friendly.
Aug 07, 2015
Great time! Wish there were better cell phone service though. Was tough to check in with my wife.
Aug 06, 2015
We stay here a lot during Sturgis rally I love how convenient it is!!! We love it here
Aug 06, 2015
Despite having somewhat of a less desirable campsite, the amenities were outstanding. I did a lot of research prior to booking with KOA - Mount Rushmore, and after visiting the area and having driven by the other options I had no regrets.
Aug 06, 2015
My father & I stayed there to be close to Sturgis and the beautiful rides through the Black Bills. We stayed at lot #516. It was not level and was small. Other than that we enjoyed our stay.
Aug 06, 2015
Enjoyed our stay very much. Very sorry we were not able to stay longer.
Aug 06, 2015
Nice campground. Clean, friendly people willing to help if needed. Lots to do for kids. Awesome shower house. Did not care for where we were located. Felt cramped and no privacy. Would have preferred opportunity to look at available sights and choose for ourselves when making reservations on line.
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
Great KOA for families
Aug 06, 2015
We were expecting more of an adult atmosphere since we specifically went out during a motorcycle rally. The facilities needed more maintence and check ups. We were lied to about wifi availability, and a/c, no reception. There was suppose to be adult time in the pool, which there always a handful of kids in during the designated times and areas. Won't be returning.
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
this was not our first stay at this KOA, last year we had a problem wish the promised camp site,but got it worked out,this year I was told when making a reservation where the site was located,but when checking in,was told that who ever told me the site DID NOT NO,what they were talking about,so we took what we were offered,A back in mud hole,when hooking up power etc,mud was over my ankles.
Aug 06, 2015
Was the largest KOA I've ever stayed at. Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy all the great activities offered. We did enjoy the super tasty pizza in the cafe.
Aug 06, 2015
We had an awesome stay!!
Aug 06, 2015
The best place to stay in the Black Hills. TONS of activities for kids to do. We will definitely be backnext time we come to South Dakota :)
Aug 06, 2015
KOA Palmer Gulch is a great place to camp - a beautiful location. There are so many activities for children and adults. The night sky is phenomenal!!
Aug 06, 2015
We had a wonderful time at the Rushmore koa. First time we ever stayed in a sleeper cabin. Great experience. Would do again. Also stayed at the koa in custer. Also very nice. Best was at Rushmore.
Aug 06, 2015
We stay every year...love it.
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
It was great, except for the restrooms which were too HOT for comfort, if you know what I mean...
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
Our campsite left a little to be desired, but overall, we were satisfied
Aug 06, 2015
Great place for family fun!!!
Aug 06, 2015
great place for kids
Aug 06, 2015
This is the most overpriced KOA in I have ever stayed at. I asked about a military discount vs KOA value card and was told the military was more. They gave me military discount of 10% and then added a $10.00 charge for the amenities they offered! The cabin did not have AC or a fan!!! I was extremely disappointed with my stay and will not return!
Aug 06, 2015
Very organized! Nice amenities. Would return again!
Aug 05, 2015
Rushmore KOA has it all. Great location and facilities.
Aug 05, 2015
I noticed several things in the campground in disrepair. The fix was as simple as some new wood or fresh stain. Food quality in the Palmer Gulch restaurant was hit or miss. Overall the KOA staff was friendly and helpful
Aug 05, 2015
we have been staying here for the last 13 yrs. and have seen very little improvements to the shower houses, bathrooms, and laundry rooms. the campsites back by site 625 were bad. When it rained there weren't any good drainage practices in place, and the sites would pond up and flood with water. Bath houses weren't clean and lacked warm water. Toilets weren't maintained and there was too few of the
Aug 05, 2015
The deluxe cozy cabins are great comfortable roomy and the deck with the gas grill and fire pit are outstanding thank you
Aug 05, 2015
Great location and a lot to do! Hot tub water was questionable, but overall a great experience!
Aug 05, 2015
We had a great time
Aug 05, 2015
Nice campground. Well kept. Thanks
Aug 05, 2015
Many amenities at the camp ground do not work or fall short of expectations, I brought these obvious problems to management and was told to leave, it being the Thursday before Sturgis and having made my reservations here a month earlier I wasn't able to, the black hills are wonderful, The KOA management knows this and uses it to allow them to be as rude as they are incompetent.
Aug 05, 2015
This was our 2nd stay this summer. Kelsey (in the lodge) was helpful and sweet! She was able to find us 2 close sites during this busy summer season to accommodate our family. It was very much appreciated! We look forward to our next stay!
Aug 05, 2015
Good KampGround. Will go their again. (even with thunder storms, flooding etc.) Traveling on their dirt roads on a motorcycle, w/trailer was interesting... Loved the area.
Aug 05, 2015
We stay for three nights, before motorcycle rally. Had a nice site-534, Could have been a little bigger for our family size tent. Enjoyed the facility very much and everyone was very Friendly!!! Would like to come back another time.
Aug 05, 2015
It was so fun! Very affordable and we loved ever second of being there!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals