Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2014
Everyone was polite (okay -- the workers, not all the fellow campers), the camp was well cared for & clean. A pleasant stay. A point off for the "small print" @ breakfast.
Aug 01, 2014
A very busy place...
Aug 01, 2014
Your staff was extremely helpful in finding us additional sights and an RV repairman when we had to extend our stay during one of their busiest weeks due to a problem with our coach.
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
First time campers...LOVE IT!
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
It was the best KOA we stayed at. There was so much for the kids to do.. In fact we extended our stay we liked it so much! We would stay here again if we ever come back out west!!
Jul 31, 2014
We had a wonderful time and your campgrounds and facilities and staff were wonderful thank you
Jul 31, 2014
Your camp ground is very nice. My 2 suggestions are your advertised wi-fi was a joke. Even up to the front the service was sketchy at best. The other suggestion is we paid for a better RV space. The cement pad out side the door was broken and I tripped and nearly hit the deck. Please consider if you advertise wi-fi, make sure you really have it. Your campground is very nice.
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Super close to Mt Rushmore. Great facilities. Bathrooms were clean. The pancake breakfast is a great deal.
Jul 31, 2014
Even though we had to make multiple changes to our reservation the staff was always friendly and helpful. The kids thought we were in paradise with all of the awesome activities! Great place to stay.
Jul 31, 2014
WE thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My son just had back surgery and was able to horseback ride and he had a ball. Kudo's to the staff at the stables. They were awesome. We also enjoyed the restaurant and pub and the balcony was delightful. Only negative was the restrooms by our site. I have to say it was not management or maintenance's fault. The men's room was disgusting due to guests behavio
Jul 31, 2014
We enjoyed the camp ground! Sites are a little tight but didn't really bother us. The pool was a little gross looking towards end of the day but that happens with kids. The horses were great and we loved the chuck wagon ride!
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Very nice campground. Well kept, lots of activities and very friendly staff. None better!
Jul 31, 2014
Most amazing KOA we've been to. Now my boys have high expectations that may never be met again!
Jul 31, 2014
very busy, was moved 3 times but very clean and nice.
Jul 31, 2014
HUGE Campground, well stoked and well run. CLOSE to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse + everything else. LOTS fo do in Cmpgd.
Jul 31, 2014
Lots of things to do but we paid extra for wifi and it didn't work at all. Even outside was useless.
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
I can't understand the mentality of stabling horses next to the eating areas. The stench was overwelming! I will not be coming back.
Jul 30, 2014
Far and away the worst KOA stayed at. We booked a tent site. Because they had overbooked there was a pickup truck, towable RV and boat trailer in our site when we came back. Staff said we had to share. There was not even room for my car left and had to park several hundred yards away. Our RV neighbors drank, smoked and partied less than 10 feet from our tent. Staff would not do anything. No sleep.
Jul 30, 2014
Lots of fun things to do at this KOA The Resort is ok, the horse rides were less than expected. Great base camp for exploring the black hills. Breakfast was good, just get there early or wait a while.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
This is our second year staying and we look forward to the third!
Jul 30, 2014
This KOA is a great place to stay if you're visiting the area. It would also be a great destination spot. The kids loved all the activities provided. Facilities seemed fairly well maintained. The only complaint would be that the woman running the horses went right by our site every morning at 6:00 (during quiet hours) and was whooping and hollering extremely loudly.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
The stay was great but they need to do something about the internet.
Jul 30, 2014
Well, when we booked our cabin. We received confirmation that the cabin would include large secluded wooden deck. That was not the case.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
My wife, my grandson, and I had a great time. We wish we could have stayed longer. We do plan a longer stay in the future. We got turned around while on our way there. KOA people, on the phone, did a great job of helping us find our way. A wonderful bunch of people! MT. Rushmore had so many things to do and is so close to a variety of other activities!
Jul 30, 2014
This resort comes exactly as advertised. More expensive than most KOA's but a TON of stuff to do. We never left the campsite for 2 days.
Jul 30, 2014
Had a great time! Kids loved the Ghost Ride & swimming pools. Only downside was privacy. Felt campers were a bit too close together. Thank you for having us!!
Jul 30, 2014
Extremely busy & crowded. Man escorted us to our spot & someone was in it. Instead of sending us to a new spot had to drive my rig back to office & stand in long line again. Moved us one spot over. Water in laundry so brown (from iron) it blotched & ruined a $60 white sweatshirt. Daughter had a hair in her nachos from small onsite deli. Laundry and showers rooms filthy. Wouldn't go back.
Jul 30, 2014
very busy campground. Lots of things to do for kids. The mini golf course should be upgraded. It looks very old and not maintained.
Jul 30, 2014
Our stay would have been so much better with reliable internet service which you advertised
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Too many people, not kept up well, too noisy with garbage trucks and dump trucks at 7am, water in pool at water slide was dirty, pool was closed, and everything too expensive for what you get.
Jul 30, 2014
Had a wonderful time & this KOA made it great! There is tons to do, and we stayed in a nice cabin for the family reunion. Highly recommend this place!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Wow. So much to do. Extremely friendly staff! Thank you!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
This park was just too big for me. Of course I was there during peak season. The facilities were nice but the constant traffic gave the impression of being in grand central station. We paid extra for cable and it never worked.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.