Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 01, 2014
Jun 01, 2014
when I called, asked for 50 amp, gave me 30. 3 times I came into the concierge telling them I had no cable, even brought a new cable from the store. On the 4th time complaining of no cable, they finally asked me which site I was on. When I told them, the young man stated that the cable doesn't work in that area! EXTREAMLY UNPROFESSIONAL!
May 31, 2014
Mike & his crew were wonderful! Will be back!
May 31, 2014
Our stay was so great that our kids have made us promise to return every year.
May 31, 2014
May 31, 2014
May 31, 2014
Memorial day. Pool closed. Wi-Fi not only does not work it is actually an ongoing joke with the employees.The You get 5 bar wi-fi but it doesn't connect. But as the manager Brady told me it is: Broken and hasn't worked in 10 years, works but not with people on it, won't work until it gets a 4 million upgrade, or it works fine, all in one long sentence. Then got sarcastic and said 'well it's free"
May 31, 2014
Terrible internet. Trees are lacking. Lots of things to do.. Price high for what you get. Won't stay again.
May 29, 2014
It was our first stay and we will be calling and booking the same campsite again for next year. The summer kids working the Fun Zone were awesome! Kasin and Kevin are the best! Our kids loved them as well! Thank you again! Happy Campers!
May 29, 2014
we have stayed at this campground many times this time was not so pleasant we had no bathroom or showers that were working they said they would be fixed nobody even attemped to work on them very disapointing
May 29, 2014
I've worked at a KOA years ago and understand their requirements for quality. I was dismayed at the locked-up M/W restroom/shower building and the outside small shower stalls. Peering through the windows the insides were trashed and the outside small shower stalls were dirty/filthy. The store was nice, however there could be better directions to the registration desk......
May 29, 2014
The only thing that 8 wish would have been up was the pools. On the site it said they were suppose to be up on the Saturday before. This was a great place to stay and when a 13 year old enjoyed it you guys are doing a great job. I have not yet got my refund for a day in my account yet.
May 29, 2014
We were very disappointed in our stay. My husband & I wanted to sit back & relax while the kids played in the pool - but the pools, hot tubs & slide were not open, everyday they told the kids it would be open tomorrow. we would not have spent the $ to stay there if we new the pools were not operational. We feel they should have told us when we made reservations.
May 29, 2014
We really enjoyed our time with the fine folks at the gulch. Great place to visit and we'll be back! We only wished the pools and hot tubs had been in working condition. We weren't told at check in and were looking forward to them.
May 29, 2014
May 29, 2014
Very big and nice and is also great for family's.Great people working there.Thanks again
May 28, 2014
Lovely view, nice kids area, not enough bathrooms (none close to campsite) and they were very dirty or out of order.
May 28, 2014
My biggest problem was the fact that the pool was not open on Memorial Day due to filter problems. I understand things break, but it seemed after three days of staying at the campground that something should have been fixed. The pool was the main reason we booked at this KOA. I know it was opening weekend, but I thought pool problems could have been solved before Memorial Day Weekend.
May 28, 2014
Our stay was interesting in that a group took all the cable sites, campground is in a valley so antenna reception was poor, and no phone service. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This KOA is large and focused on kids and family.
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
Was staff for the AVC mega rally and stayed afterwards for 4 days. Nice campground. Didn't like all the kids riding bikes, etc. in streets and no one watching them. Some didn't care that cars, trucks, and rv's were there. Wish water had been flushed well before campground opened- had pale yellow tint and slight smell. Good location for sightseeing!
May 28, 2014
The KOA had a wonderful program filled with activities that my family enjoyed. However our overall stay was not very good. We were placed in a cabin that did not have WORKING bathrooms/showers nearby. The closest place was a long walk and was out of soap for the majority of our trip. I mentioned these concerns and nothing was done to correct them during our stay.
May 28, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at KOA Mt Rushmore- lots of activities / enjoyed that there were restaurants and shops on site. Our first tent camping trip - our family enjoyed the experience. Only suggestion better maintenance on bathroom facility/ no soap in bathroom, lack of toilet paper, and over flowing trash in women's restroom.
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
it was very good thank you
May 28, 2014
Very helpful and friendly staff. We had major car problems and they were very helpful as we worked it out. What made it 4 instead of 5 stars - bathrooms were a little run down and the cell/wifi reception was very spotty.
May 28, 2014
Fabulous campground, this is our second visit.
May 28, 2014
We wished we'd known more about Mt. Rushmore KOA and the amenities. As it rained the whole time of our stay we'll take the convienence of a cabin next time and bring the grandkids as we were most impressed with all the activities you had for them.
May 28, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Although I had a great time with family and friends for Memorial Day weekend. The KOA was very disappointing and did not meet my expectations from my last visits. We had a large group (six families with 20 kids) and both pools were down and the waterslide was not working. There are usually more activities for the families. The staff were not as available as usual.
May 27, 2014
The comfort station closest to us was closed the entire length of our stay. This was a huge hassle for a family of 5 with 3 small kids. Otherwise the campground was good.
May 27, 2014
Really looked forward to enjoying the pool but it was closed the entire weekend. Not very happy about that. Busiest weekend and no pool...also mini golf course was a wreck. I wouldn't normally complAin about trivial stuff like this, but when my 6 yr old complains there must be a problem. Also WiFi was not working. Again not a huge deal but storms rolled in and had no way to tell the wx.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
EXPECTED A LOT MORE FOR THE MONEY- REQUESTED SPOTS WITH COMPLETE HOOKUPS DID NOT GET SEWER- CLOSEST BATHROOMS WERE OUT OF ORDER THE NEXT CLOSEST BATHROOMS WERE ALSO OUT OF ORDER! NIGHTMARE EVERYTIME ONE OF THE 20+ IN OUR PARTY HAD TO WALK ACROSS PARK TO GO! WATERSLIDE WASN'T WORKING AND POOL WAS CLOSED- CAUSED US TO LOOK FOR MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE ALTERNATIVES. HAS POTENTIAL.........
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
The restaurant above the campground was over priced for the food...ordered a steak med rare got it med to well done. The bathroom was out of soap everyday and by the last day no toilet paper, to me there is no excuse for this since there is a cleaning crew daily. The pool was closed past labor day which the kids were upset about. There was stuff for them to there and it was a nice place
May 27, 2014
Was told pool would be open and it was not. When we asked multiple people working we always got a different answer.
May 27, 2014
AMAZING,, almost wished my kids were still young..
May 27, 2014
Our cabin was not ready on time and not really cleaned. It looked like they only swept the second bedroom and part of the first, under the beds were clearly dirty. Also the bathrooms by our cabin were closed and were not informed of that at the time of check in, the bathrooms and showers that were open where not very clean as well.
May 27, 2014
My only complaint would be the cleanliness of the restrooms. They were dirty and not stocked properly with supplies and had overflowing trash. Other than that, our stay was wonderful and I would definitely recommend this KOA to anyone. My family had a great time.
May 27, 2014
Great facility...could do a little better about keeping the bathrooms and shower area cleaned and stocked. Out of 4 sinks, only 1 had soap and only 2 stalls had toilet paper.. other than that, great place to stay
May 27, 2014
Pool was closed Memorial Day weekend. Kids were frustrated, since the amount of free activities -- including the aging putt putt course -- didn't last them very long. $10 resort fee was too much for what little remained free.
May 27, 2014
The campground was nice but the cabin needed some work. The front porch and stairs were bowed and unstable. We had to be careful with our young children so they did not fall off the stairs.
May 26, 2014
Great place. Fun for all ages, plenty of activities to keep busy
May 26, 2014
We have. Ever been in a KoA with such a positive feeling. This one gives personal attention, a variety of campsites, cleanliness, and beauty of AreA. Very impressive !
May 26, 2014
very clean, friendly staff and organized!!
May 26, 2014
As the largest US KOA with tons of sites and activities it can be overwhelming. Very well maintained and on-site restaurant was very good. Brady, Supv at registration helped pick the perfect site for us. Being in a deadzone for phone & internet was a big deal for us. Probably too many people for us. if towing, DON'T go through keystone, steep and slow. follow KOA's directions thru High City.
May 26, 2014
I chose this KOA because it was only 5 miles from Mt. Rushmore.The property was clean and the staff was awesome. They have cheap rental cars on site allowing me to enjoy everything the town had to offer without having to drive the RV...including a memorable helicopter ride to see Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.