Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 15, 2017
We had SO MUCH FUN! We came for Mount Rushmore and other sites around South Dakota, but my kids would have happily stayed the entire 3 days at the KOA and not go see anything else. Tons of fun things to do, helpful & friendly staff, clean restrooms, and great campsites! We will be back!
Jul 15, 2017
We had so much fun at KOA!We especially loved the arts and crafts! Thanks for all your help Taylor! The horse back ride and chuckwagon dinner was awesome!
Jul 15, 2017
Wonderful campground. One feedback note is that our one site had a hill of mud and could use some restoration. My brother s site was close and very grassy so we spent more time there.
Jul 15, 2017
We all had a blast! Plenty of activities to keep all of us happy and busy. The cabin was perfect for our family of five. Our only disappointment was the lack of thorough cleaning of bathrooms/showers. Giving those areas as much attention as the gorgeous flowers would be greatly appreciated.
Jul 15, 2017
We stayed here traveling to WY and we did not want to leave!! The campground is gorgeous and Mike and his staff are so nice. We had our horse with us and they had stalls and runs for her and trails to ride her on!! We will be back but for a longer period next time.
Jul 15, 2017
Great resort with lots of activities of the kids. Only negative was the "resort fee". Not sure what this is and why it was tacked onto our stay. Also, I was charged tax on milk. Does South Dakota really charge tax on food?
Jul 15, 2017
Jul 15, 2017
The RV park is great. The lack of Wifi was unacceptable for the amount you charge for an RV pull through site. We will not recommend your Site to our friends until you have acceptable WIFI. We belong to FMCA and I will let them know of the problem. Most of the people we travel with depend on WIFI and do not stay in Parks with Marginal or no WIFI.
Jul 15, 2017
This KOA is to big for its own good.
Jul 15, 2017
Clean facilities (although varied in style), wonderful activities for kids, safe area, great water points. Dry camping on the fish pond was amazing. Camp spots are somewhat crowded and close together, with cars driving through sites to get to another site. Limited parking. Check in process was overall smooth, but can be congested and frustrating if unfamiliar with procedure.
Jul 14, 2017
This KOA was super and the operators are very kind. The only drawback is - and I'm certain you know this-there is NO cell service and the wifi is almost nonexistent.
Jul 14, 2017
Our family has been enjoying Palmer Gulch since 1990. We have experienced every camping/lodging option that's available from tenting, mountain cabins, camping cabins, deluxe cabins to our 5th wheel this past vacation!! We love the Hills and beautiful Palmer Gulch and all activities for ALL to enjoy. The only thing I would update is the website. Doesn't do justice! Job well done!
Jul 14, 2017
Very beautiful and very kid friendly. Very accomidating to the disabled, Thanks!!
Jul 14, 2017
Everything was good except no cell service or wifi available at our site. I would think that a KOA of this size could solve that issue. We work while we travel. Thanks,
Jul 14, 2017
Great amenities, very clean. Probably a bit too large for our preferences, though, and lacked a 'personal connection' with the staff likely due to the sheer size of the place. Loved the dining options and proximenity to Mt. Rushmore.
Jul 14, 2017
Very clean bathrooms. Plenty for the kids to do. Close to all site seeing.
Jul 14, 2017
The high reservation fee is only justified by the location. We were sited near the entrance in a pull through site with a gas grill that was filthy. Some litter was left on the site. We have stayed at much nicer KOAs at 1/4 the cost. Disappointed but given the heavy usage it is not unexpected.
Jul 14, 2017
Stayed in spot 191. Constantly had foot traffic through our lot due to therr being no path to the comfort station near our lot. Very poor layout. Very short lot so truck had to be disconnected and parked on grass. No tv recrption, no wifi, no phone. Appears money only spent on things that could be charged for after you pay ovrr 80.00 per night. I booked this planning on taking grandkids. Did not
Jul 14, 2017
Kids loved it, but a little crowded for the adults
Jul 14, 2017
It's a koa on steroids. Awesome
Jul 14, 2017
Showers were in desperate need of care/repair. QC/maintenance needs to get off their duff. Lots of folks driving around, didn't see any maintenance. Wifi was not available even at hotspots. They advertise it, but not there. Great location. Friendly staff. Come well stocked.
Jul 14, 2017
We loved staying here. Lots for kids to do, helpful staff, and beautiful location.
Jul 14, 2017
My grandkids had so much fun with all the things to do, so did the adults. Will definitely stay there if we come out to South Dakota again. Thanks for everything
Jul 14, 2017
The campground was nice with a lot of activities especially for the kids. Our spot was very small, which I did expect. There were just so many kids it wasn't the most relaxing camping trip. The wifi did not work and you can not really get cell phone service at this location.
Jul 14, 2017
Great koa lots of things to do . Only stayed 2 nights but wish we stayed more .
Jul 14, 2017
The fun zone for kids was great and we loved the pancakes each morning! Our trail ride was a highlight for sure. It was nice being so close to Rushmore!
Jul 14, 2017
Very nice. Very friendly
Jul 14, 2017
Will never stay there again. we didn't get what we asked for and the people that helped us, blamed US for not getting what we asked for. No room, super crowded and not worth the money you pay to stay there. I will never recommend this KOA to anyone.
Jul 13, 2017
I am giving it a three star instead of more because it is seriously lacking in the restroom department. I have stayed in three other KOA campgrounds so far this trip and they are all smaller, but have more available toilets. They have also been much cleaner restrooms. That being said, the staff was friendly and my kids loved all of the activities.
Jul 13, 2017
Plenty of activities for the kids but sites are too close together. Very congested. And I didn't find a dog park.
Jul 13, 2017
Jul 13, 2017
Loved it....there is so much for the grandkids to do...nice variety of activities!
Jul 13, 2017
Our family enjoyed the two room cabin we stayed in. The electrical outlets need fixed and the lighting could be improved a little. Another bathhouse in the area we stayed in would be beneficial as there were a ton of people for one bath house. Kid zone was great, lots to do for every age and the pancake feed was excellent. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to friends.
Jul 13, 2017
The facility was amazing and clean, the staff was friendly and eager to help, and there are endless fun and adventure provided on site. This KOA made our vacation go from great to amazing.
Jul 13, 2017
Great facility for children - tons of activities for them to do. The WIFI (I know its camping, but I work remote and needed WIFI) is pretty terrible if you need internet expect a 35-40 min drive for anything reliable.
Jul 13, 2017
Jul 13, 2017
Great location, friendly staff, lots to do there.
Jul 13, 2017
Too congested in the middle with the fun zone especially in the afternoon/evening creating a potential danger for pedestrians and drivers.
Jul 13, 2017
The only campground that should be used while visiting The Black Hills without a doubt. A 4 Star campground. Thank you for such an enjoyable and memorable vacation.
Jul 13, 2017
Great place for kids. Friendly helpful staff. Downside was very spotty, limited internet in only a few places in the expansive grounds. Some people need to work while on the road.
Jul 13, 2017
nice but way overpriced.
Jul 13, 2017
Great family place!
Jul 13, 2017
Kids (and adults) loved it! So much to do and the waterslide was a blast. Great place
Jul 13, 2017
Very large park, great for kids with plenty of activities. Down side is it is a large park with very little space for RV. Mislead about the "Full Hookups". They advertise 30 & 50 amp., but when we arrived all they had was 30 amp available. It was a big hassle.
Jul 13, 2017
some of the pull through sites on the other side of the creek are a bit tight but other than that the place is far and above any other KOA!
Jul 13, 2017
I surprised at the price (about $150 for 2 nights for a tent site) but after arriving and exploring I soon realized why. There is an abundance of activities that are complimentary to include mini golf, climbing wall, pool etc. The only complaint I have is that our campsite (545) was NOT graded. There was no level area on that site at all for a tent. I have already recommended this KOA!!
Jul 13, 2017
nice
Jul 13, 2017
the site was unlevel and hard to get in & out of. The fire rings for the next site was right next to our trailer. The amenities such as pool was great for kids, but lack of wifi or service did make it difficult to make plans for the surrounding area.
Jul 13, 2017
Great location, tons to do in the park as well
Jul 13, 2017
Too crowded...WiFi not operable except at 5:30am standing directly in front of main office ...but great for kids which seems to be the target audience
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals