Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 03, 2013
Aug 03, 2013
The only thing that needs robe improved is the water quality. There is toouch iron going to the rvs causing the taps and toilet to run ornge.
Aug 03, 2013
This was a very nice KOA with level parking, a terrific staff, and a lot of entertainment for kids. My one complaint is the horrible internet. Even IF you could connect, it was extremely slow...that coupled in a place where there is no cellular service made things very frustrating when you needed to be able to communicate. Other than that, it was a very nice stay and we will likely be back.
Aug 03, 2013
Great place for a family. Great location.
Aug 03, 2013
Asked for 50 amp each time reservation was made an site was 30 first time and had to strongly ask on second time to get 50 amp. Layout could be spaced to allow more room to maneuver and camp on
Aug 03, 2013
Bathrooms/showers could use more attention with the amount of campers u have. Maybe clean them at least twice a day. Overpriced camping rate for the size of sites. Sites too close to one another.
Aug 03, 2013
My family and I had a blast. Never a dull moment. Better chemical care on the pool, hot tub and slide would help in a 5 star rating. Thanks for the great memories. P.s the kids gave you a 5 star!!!
Aug 03, 2013
We were Tent camping with minimal supplies. Pancake breakfast and restaurant made it incredibly easy for us. Free showers were an added bonus. Great experience!
Aug 03, 2013
the experience exceeded my expectations. Thanks for the great trip!
Aug 03, 2013
Although the campground facilities are very good ~ we didn't enjoy because we paid premium rate for a rear / remote site.
Aug 03, 2013
We Loved our stay! We celebrated our daughters 15th birthday there and the group across from us even sang to her!The pancakes were amazing as were all the amenities. Only negative was choosing between all the local attractions or all the fun things to do in camp! We can't wait to come back!
Aug 03, 2013
this KOA is tops...you won't find a better place to stay with children and the location was none finer..we enjoyed our stay
Aug 03, 2013
Price high. Facilities over taxed. Good stop for kids. Not older adults. Convenient to sights.
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Would have liked a screen door on the kabin. Very hot
Aug 02, 2013
We were passing through. Arrived late & our paperwork was waiting on us when we got there. Nice, clean & well taken care of. Would definitely again.
Aug 02, 2013
We were traveling in the area last year and saw this KOA and decided then we wanted to come back and stay. WOW, what a nice facility. Nice place for family and kids with LOTS to do. We will be back next year!
Aug 02, 2013
Had an excellent time! Great place for families. Many things to do. Only problem I had was that the lady who brings the horses to the stable went by our campsite each morning at 6:30 hooting and hollering at the horses to keep moving. Our daily wake up call.
Aug 02, 2013
great for the kids, lots to do
Aug 02, 2013
We had the best time. Can't wait to return.
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Loved all the enities and great views of mountains. Two suggestions though: change water in hot tubs and waterslide more, very dirty and smelled like pee. Need more showers/bathrooms. Too many people for the amount of showers, even at 7:00 a.m. No room for women to get ready.
Aug 02, 2013
Good proximity to area attractions. Good variety of activities at campground. Some sites had puddles in them after rainfall.
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Staff is always very friendly and helpful. Even though our reservations did get messed up when we called to add an additional night to our stay, the staff really was concerned with making things right and accommodating us. Unfortunately as our family has aged and were never really into the kid activities anyways, we will probably look for a less crowded campground with fewer kids running around.
Aug 02, 2013
Loved it! Great place to stay and wonderful people.
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Awesome location and facilities along with friendly and helpful staff. Our 5 year old absolutely loved it with all the things to do.
Aug 01, 2013
Best amenities and activities versus other KOA campgrounds. Great all you can eat pancake breakfast, loved the ATV rentals for trail riding with the family and finally the quality of the showers and restrooms surpasses those of other campgrounds. Definitely should be a top rated KOA in my opinion.
Aug 01, 2013
This was by far the best campground we have ever stayed in. Fantastic activities for everyone. Very clean and accommodating site offers a fantastic family experience.
Aug 01, 2013
Our stay in the pull through was great. Our freinds who stayed in cabins had issues with plugged toilets and dirty rest rooms.They where not as pleased.
Aug 01, 2013
The overall family experience was great. The kids loved it. Our cabin was cute, but not clean when we arrived. I would have wished the shower and bath areas would have been cleaned more often. This is not a show stopper, but would have been icing on a great vacation.
Aug 01, 2013
This is my first disappointed stay after staying here for 13 years. The pool and hot tub next to our campsite was closed for 5of the 8days, when it opened it was ice cold, hot tub was working the day we left. tadpoles swimming in front pool, slimy water, hot tub too small now. #3bathroom needs remodeling. Sink out of service for 8days or more. Brown water coming out of sinks&faucet on campsite.
Aug 01, 2013
Huge disappointment. The showers were disgusting. I have been camping for many years and your showers were worse than almost all that I have seen. There was mold and mildew on the shower curtains, dirt all over the floors.They were nasty. I will never stay there again- also the campsite was uneven. Buy some fill dirt and level them.
Aug 01, 2013
WOW! Super nice campground with so much to do! Beautifully maintained in the perfect location in the hills. Made this an awesome family vacation for all.
Aug 01, 2013
i know of friends that stayed there. which i told them about your place. It is one of the best places to stay. this is my third time at your campground in the last 15 years. I would not have any problems comming back
Aug 01, 2013
Bathrooms need to be cleaned more... too many people and not enough cleaning... same with piols
Aug 01, 2013
The campgrounds were very family friendly and literally the biggest KOA office I have seen. However,the camping sites were too cramped --way too cramped, and people did not drive 10 MPH so the safety of children is questionable,
Aug 01, 2013
We stay in about 100 campgrounds per year and this without a doubt beats them all. Great people, great facilities, and endless activities.
Aug 01, 2013
Several fun activities for the kids, facilities very clean. Personnel at bounce section near splash pad and bike rentals not happy people should not be there dealing with public. Same as the ice cream store they could smile and mean it. The older greeter gentleman when you arrived very personable. Otherwise everything was good.
Aug 01, 2013
Your advertising is poor. We went there looking forward to a couple attractions and then found out you guys only have them available maybe once a month.
Aug 01, 2013
upon check in it had rained. the roads were muddy and with a big rig my coach sank into the mud . I had reserved a deluxe pad but was told upon check in they were all sold out so I wss put in the back with 45' MH and tow. tight spot Internet didnt work and no cell or hot spot service.left a day early - couldn't take the noise
Aug 01, 2013
The bathrooms were dirty - mold on curtains & shower floors in the corners. The bathrooms were "cleaned" daily but in order to get clean they have to pick the trash up off the floor not just use the mop to push it into a corner. I made a reservation for a tent site with water/electric. Had to change sites, first site would have never held 1 tent- respect for customer was lacking.
Aug 01, 2013
Sites were very small. We had no trees. The pool was green. The waterslide water was brown. The staff was helpful and the amenities were fantastic. Nice and quiet, beautiful location. Bathroom was not as good as other KOAs
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Great place everything was well kept. They deliver as promises.
Aug 01, 2013
When we arrived we were assigned to a site that was in a drainage ditch. It was a muddy mess. Next day we were able to move to high ground. There were tons of people and we felt like sardines(not out style). However, the staff was great and the place was super clean and friendly. Tons for our kids to do.
Aug 01, 2013
Many things done really well. The complaint I have is the bathrooms were very dirty!! The soap dispensers were broken, The shower curtains had mold on them, the countertops and floors were filthy, and the walls need a good scrubbing. I realize this is a large campground with many people using the bathrooms, but the kids cleaning them need to be trained properly how to do the job well.
Aug 01, 2013
Great place if you travel with children but not good if you are looking for peace and quiet. No wi-fi at sites, no cable, no cell phone signal. Sites and roads are red dirt which turn into a mud when it rains. Very expensive. One of the worst camping experiences in my 35 years traveling in RV's.
Aug 01, 2013
The stay was great! Love the KOA grounds, lots of fun for the kids. Our kabin was great. Only would recommend that a bathroom be put closer to the cabins on the hill. Or they need o put some steps on the side of the hill that everyone goes up and own anyway! It is to far for littles ones to go. But overall great!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.