Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
The cabin was comfortable, cute with the hanging flower basket, and having our own fire pit and picnic table was so handy. Being near the kid play area and fishing pond were fabulous. Couldn't believe it was so quiet at night too! We will pass on the recommendation to our friends.
Jun 18, 2014
The location is wonderful, staff was helpful and facility was kept up. Great place for children - loved the mini golf course. An actual pay phone would have been nice with limited cell service, though.
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
This is a great place to stay with kids!
Jun 17, 2014
Stayed here before and will stay here again. Great except the weather.
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
we enjoyed the 5-person cabin & the mini-golf, rock climber & other available activities. Thank you!
Jun 17, 2014
The Mount Rushmore KOA has to be one of the best KOA's. We stayed in our RV with our 5 grandkids. There is so much for the kids to do they want to go back. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. If you get a chance, stay at the Mount Rushmore KOA!
Jun 17, 2014
Kids had a blast and we camped in luxury for 4 nights. Had to change sites at first due to lack of tent pads and space on most of the tent sites, but once we found 227 we were set!
Jun 17, 2014
Great trip up to South Dakota - clean, well-kept campground, friendly staff - we had a great time!
Jun 17, 2014
Have been here before and it was great. This time, bathrooms were really disgusting. Wads of paper on the floor, in the showers, stagnant dirty water on the shower floors. Also, lots of loud campers this weekend. Had to call on one group who were drunk and loud at about midnight. Another another group were lound until 1 AM. Maybe be proactive with security rounding at quiet time?
Jun 17, 2014
There was mouse crap on the beds. The shift manager gave us $40 off our stay .Then proceeded to tell me the person who cleans the rooms is handicap .NEVER in my life have I wanted to strangle someone. Also 7 of 12 showers were out of order, the laundry room change machine was out of order .along with 1 of 3 dryers. I will never recommend that KOA to anyone.
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
The heated pool could have been a little warmer but other than that our stay was great.
Jun 17, 2014
We came to the KOA at Mount Rushmore for a two night stay, tent camping. My husband and I have four children 3-16 in age and they all had a great time. The boats, jump pad, climbing wall and playground were the perfect outlet for their energy after almost two weeks of travel. Shower and restroom facilities were close and clean. We'd definitely stay again when in the area!!!
Jun 17, 2014
Very nice facility bad weather stopped us from using all the options available. Still had a nice stay. Keep a restaurant open past 9PM. staff was great
Jun 17, 2014
Many things to do ... Showers could be a little cleaner .
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
Very disappointed. Lots of extra fees. Needed gravel around our site as mud was a problem and you can't stop the rain. Internet service almost non existent. Nice park. Employees were only mildly interested in guests.
Jun 17, 2014
Water at camp site not usable. It was dirty red and muddy Wifi non-existent
Jun 16, 2014
Our stay at the Mt. Rushmore KOA was great! We are a family of four, with two children (ages 8 and 4). This is a great campground with lots of activities for the whole family to enjoy. It's also located in a great spot with easy access to all of the area attractions. We'll definitely be back!
Jun 16, 2014
We LOVE the Palmer Gulch / Mt Rushmore KOA. Despite the thunderstorms and downpours our family STILL had a great time. There is always something to do on the property - rain or shine - or the staff has a bunch of recommendations for fun in the surrounding area. This KOA is only 10 minutes from Mt Rushmore so it's in a great location. We tent camped by the pond
Jun 16, 2014
Truly enjoyed our weekend &hope to return soon. Great site &service.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Out of 7 showers,there was only one working. One stool didn't work the whole time we were there. The weather was rainy, which is out of their control, therefore a lot of the activities were shut down due to the rain, which left the kids with nothing to do. Even after the rain stopped, they didn't reopen some of the activities. We really like this place, question our return.
Jun 16, 2014
after a ruff start with a under water site the rest of the week was great good service great for kids staff very nice
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Beautiful location, friendly staff, great facilities. So much for the kids to do, love all the activities. We will be back!
Jun 16, 2014
beautiful place for family but staff seemed to busy to help a family member locate us...and with no internet connection or cell phone service it was extremely frustrating for both us and our family. We were not given a spot in a nice area, even though many were available but on the main road with all of the maintenance vehicles starting around 6 am going back and forth. Noisy. Beautiful place tho
Jun 16, 2014
Very enjoyable
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
It was great. Very nice facility. Lovely surroundings, close to attractions. Friendly Staff.
Jun 16, 2014
Stay was great, a bit pricey, especially when all amenities were not functional. The appearance of this KOA has improved since our last visit a few years back.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
We spent one night in one of the small one room cabins. Was very clean and relaxing! The showers were very nice because they were all separate and each had their own small dressing area. My only complaint was the bathroom. Some of the toilets didn't flush and was kinda dirty, this could have just been from the large amount of people. Other than that was a blast! I would go back in a heart beat!
Jun 16, 2014
I love this KOA! My second daughter learned how to ride her bike at the KOA this weekend. My first daughter also learned to ride here 4 years ago. Thank you for the wonderful memories And if I could also add... if you could check out the hot tub by fiddlesticks.... each time we come to the KOA there is a funky green/yellow color in there. The front pool also needed attention this weekend.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
Disappointing, for a delux site at such a high price very poor. Facilities poor, pool out of service for 6 out of 8 days, slide not running, showers cold had to use the other block. Site had to be repaired which meant moving my rig and the waited 3 hrs for repairs to be carried out. Why they couldnt relocate us i dont know. Overall very dissapointed with the value of this VERY!
Jun 15, 2014
Cabins little dirty and wifi doesn't work but other wise it was great.
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
The place was great for the grandkids and allowed us a nice rest.
Jun 15, 2014
This was our first camping trip as a family, and we loved every minute of it! The site was perfect, and our boys appreciated the nearby playground. I was very impressed by the abundant hot water in the shower and the cleanliness of the facilities!
Jun 15, 2014
PROS: very friendly staff, oodles of great activities right at the campground for all ages, great location for touring the area, ATV's were a HUGE hit for our family (we have a 20, 19, 15 & 13 year old). CONS: very busy, noisy (our spot was right on the main road with traffic going by at 6:00am including maintenance trucks/vehicles), no cell phone service, some mobile data, weak wifi.
Jun 15, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.