Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 30, 2014
This KOA is a great place to stay if you're visiting the area. It would also be a great destination spot. The kids loved all the activities provided. Facilities seemed fairly well maintained. The only complaint would be that the woman running the horses went right by our site every morning at 6:00 (during quiet hours) and was whooping and hollering extremely loudly.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
The stay was great but they need to do something about the internet.
Jul 30, 2014
Well, when we booked our cabin. We received confirmation that the cabin would include large secluded wooden deck. That was not the case.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
My wife, my grandson, and I had a great time. We wish we could have stayed longer. We do plan a longer stay in the future. We got turned around while on our way there. KOA people, on the phone, did a great job of helping us find our way. A wonderful bunch of people! MT. Rushmore had so many things to do and is so close to a variety of other activities!
Jul 30, 2014
This resort comes exactly as advertised. More expensive than most KOA's but a TON of stuff to do. We never left the campsite for 2 days.
Jul 30, 2014
Had a great time! Kids loved the Ghost Ride & swimming pools. Only downside was privacy. Felt campers were a bit too close together. Thank you for having us!!
Jul 30, 2014
Extremely busy & crowded. Man escorted us to our spot & someone was in it. Instead of sending us to a new spot had to drive my rig back to office & stand in long line again. Moved us one spot over. Water in laundry so brown (from iron) it blotched & ruined a $60 white sweatshirt. Daughter had a hair in her nachos from small onsite deli. Laundry and showers rooms filthy. Wouldn't go back.
Jul 30, 2014
very busy campground. Lots of things to do for kids. The mini golf course should be upgraded. It looks very old and not maintained.
Jul 30, 2014
Our stay would have been so much better with reliable internet service which you advertised
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Too many people, not kept up well, too noisy with garbage trucks and dump trucks at 7am, water in pool at water slide was dirty, pool was closed, and everything too expensive for what you get.
Jul 30, 2014
Had a wonderful time & this KOA made it great! There is tons to do, and we stayed in a nice cabin for the family reunion. Highly recommend this place!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Wow. So much to do. Extremely friendly staff! Thank you!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
This park was just too big for me. Of course I was there during peak season. The facilities were nice but the constant traffic gave the impression of being in grand central station. We paid extra for cable and it never worked.
Jul 29, 2014
I liked the KOA office and all that it had to offer. Our camp site left a little to be desired. For the money we spent to stay there I expected better. When it rained nearly all of our site was flooded and the site was so small we where walking out our door and stepping on the neighbors cords and hoses and I wouldn't have wanted them to build a fire as close as they where to my camper.
Jul 29, 2014
Friendly and courteous staff. Convenient location to all the sites. Quiet peacefull nights. Many activities for all ages. On our return trip we will ride the four-seat bike and take a trail ride. We were also impressed the politeness of the other campers, including the children. A lot of good people! See you all again next year:)
Jul 29, 2014
Great campground. Staff is always great.
Jul 29, 2014
WiFi did not work. Was told to many people using it. Dont say there is WiFi if it doesnt work. Everything else was great.
Jul 29, 2014
Mount Rushmore was an amazing KOA. So much fun stuff to do there. Only negative thing is our tent site was not the greatest. The site was on a hill, so we had to sleep at an angle.
Jul 29, 2014
Our family stayed in the camping cabin for a week. It was a wonderful place to spend our vacation. The park is centrally located, which is wonderful. The bathrooms, showers and laundry were are all close and convenient. The pool, splash pad, rock wall were a hit with the kids. The camp ground and staff were all wonderful. We will be going back again next year!!
Jul 29, 2014
Wonderful trip to SD. This was my kids first REAL camping trip and this KOA had soooo much stuff for them to do. The only complaint that I really had was the spaces were so close together. Fun Zone was awesome, good pancakes and love the daily activities for the kids.
Jul 29, 2014
Too crowded. Spaces too close together. Too many gnats. Bathroom and showers were disgusting. Price was way too high when considering what you receive for the price. They charged us extra for our dog. I would not recommend this RV park when there are dozens of nicer ones (we moved to Crooked Creek outside of Hill City which was nicer and much less expensive) and will not stay there again.
Jul 29, 2014
Everyone was friendly and very helpful. Enjoyed being able to rent a car on site as well everything else that was available to rent. My family really enjoyed staying there.
Jul 29, 2014
We had a wonderful time staying with you! It is our 3rd time staying and we will definitely be back. You are in a great location, are very clean, family friendly and we had a great stay! THANKS!!
Jul 29, 2014
I was promised cable hookups when I made reservations but was told after check in that cable was not available on most of their sites and they did not have any left. They have an additional mandatory charge for activities but they were only available for a limited amount of time. One of the two pools was green and water slide was closed for repairs. Numerous other problems.
Jul 29, 2014
Fun for the entire family! We traveled with our two and nine year old. Both kids had a blast. Thank you to all of the staff members who made our weekend enjoyable.
Jul 29, 2014
Loved this KOA. So much to do, my son said he was "in heaven"! I, for one, appreciated the lack of technology -- it forced me to relax! Thank you!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
The only complaint I have is that the water in the pools and water slid were very dirty
Jul 29, 2014
This is our absolute favorite KOA. It is hard to find one that comes close. We tell everyone that talks about camping that they must make a trip to Mt. Rushmore.
Jul 29, 2014
Friendly service, tons of stuff to do (as if the area didn't offer enough)all in a lovely setting. Had a blast. My first vaycay as a widow with my kids. It was great.
Jul 29, 2014
This is the most discussing koa I have ever been in! We are older adults that choose koa for the clean restrooms and good shower houses. These were filthy and most of the showere were moldy and paint peeling. Called manager and got no return call. Free wifi was not anywhere in the park. Told to go stand on a hillside and maybe we could get it.HA! Would never stay here and not recommend !!!!!!
Jul 28, 2014
Great place to not only stay over on your way, but a great place to stay! So sorry we just had one night. The kids would have loved to do all the fun things in the camp ground.
Jul 28, 2014
Campground is very crowded and it is hard to get large RVs turned around. Wireless internet does not work in the campground and barely works at the front. That is why my rating is not higher. Other than those two things, the stay was great. Much to do in the campground and the campground is well maintained and very clean.
Jul 28, 2014
great facility with lots to do. We stayed in a deluxe cabin an it was great. LOTS of flies.
Jul 28, 2014
Great stay. Only problem was the street light shining in our windows. Felt like we were staying in downtown Chicago :-( (If street lights are needed to help light the way put yellow low wattage bulbs in them so campers can enjoy the night - see the stars and appreciate the campfire light. Camp sites could use a bit more green space - pretty crowded sites with no room to gather around the campfi
Jul 28, 2014
One of the nicest KOA's we have stayed at. Lots of amenities. Only problem was the lack of WiFi at the sites. Close to many attractions. Loved it.
Jul 28, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Mt. Rushmore KOA. There was lots of afternoon activities to keep the kids entertained after the day of sight seeing at all the near by attractions. We liked that it was so close to Mt. Rushmore and Custer. We would have liked it even better if the sited were not so close together. It was a little tight for our preference. The staff and the church service were great.
Jul 28, 2014
Great staff- very kind and patient, especially with kids. Campground was clean and well kept
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
While it was very crowded with many spots, this was the result of having so many things for people to do. We found our site easy to get into, all utilities had good access, and everything worked as advertised. This KOA is centrally located to so many things to do in the area.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
My wife and I took our 3 year old and 1.5 year old on their first camping trip here. We had a great time. There is so much to do for kids of all ages. The only thing we didn't really like was the 6 am "wake up call" by the horse herders but we got over it. Will be back if we come to the area again!
Jul 28, 2014
This park is a kids dream come true! There were so many activities and fun things to keep them busy and happy. I'm glad they are older so I didn't have to worry about them around the big, busy park! This park is a dream location just a few miles from Mt. Rushmore!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.