Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 03, 2014
Nice location, but too big and chaotic for its own good. Cons: Basically two kinds of campsites: Flat and no shade, or shaded with rocky terrain. (Our site had a culvert-fed wash that ran through the middle of our site.) WiFi does not work, period. Bathrooms were a bit gross, even by KOA standards. Pros: Pancake breakfast is cheap and fun. Decent prices in the store, too.
Aug 03, 2014
Nous avons trouvé très désagréable que les gens du secteur des tentes circulent sur notre terrain pour aller au bloc sanitaire. Ce serait intéressant qu'il y ait un passage d'aménager.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
loved everything---but the trail ride girl needs to do some fact checking. Raspberries have been growing wild for hundreds of years, and her horse knowledge is also poor/humorous but not correct.
Aug 03, 2014
good time with the grandkids!!
Aug 03, 2014
We loved our tent camping trip at KOA Mt Rushmore. The staff was over the top friendly. Pancake breakfast delicious. My only complaint would be the pool was dirty (1/2 closed for 2 days) the registration bathroom was down one stall for 5 days and the bathrooms by tent site rarely had hand soap. All things we could deal with. Would come back again if our travels take us this way.
Aug 03, 2014
Would have gave it a perfect score except for having only one paddle boat for the entire camp ground and got to the last hay rack ride only to be told they were filled. Even after showing up on time!Isn't that why we paid extra for all the activities!? over all great location for all other surrounding attractions
Aug 03, 2014
Lots of thing for kids to do.
Aug 03, 2014
We stayed there close to the time of Sturgis motorcycle rally so there were many loud motorcycles -
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
The only reason it is not 5 stars and extremely likely is that you advertise WiFi but it does not work, and no cell phone service, in these times people use he internet to plan there day and have a need to be in touch with the outside world, I talked to someone at your desk and they said everything has been tried, we have a car on Mars that we comunicate with, SD much closer, plese don't advertise
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Original campsite #607 was unsuitable, no where to even sit around th campfire, we were given one other spot to move to. Did not appreciate the extra $10added to the daily fee without even bing told about it. I'd prefer to chose which activiies i would pay extra for. Also didnt appreiciate the horse wranglers making so much noise at 615am bring the horses in, i was trying to sleep.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
1. Slide not being watched by workers. Girl sat against the railing eating lunch. Kids ran into each other at bottom of slide. 2. Bathhouse closest to office is awful. Should be bulldozed and replaced. 3. Grass was mowed in premium site area and not blown off cement. Campers were left with grass to track into rvs.
Aug 02, 2014
The grounds were very clean and well maintained. Lots of activities for everyone from kids to adults to do. All the employees were very friendly and helpful showing us to our site. I would like to have better WIFI at campsite. The only time I would have liked a little more help was when I asked one employee at the desk about the crappy TV reception. He said it can get that way and it was not full.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
If you plan to do a lot of sight seeing while in the area, this place is not worth the money because you will not get your money's worth with all of the activities at this campground. The shower/bathroom facilities were less than desirable.
Aug 02, 2014
Bathrooms filthy. Both pools and water slide filthy. Not usable. Lots of wonderful amenities that take the attention away from the basics required to be comfortable. Florals beautiful and saw a gentlemen tending to them daily. Yet even at 5 am the bathrooms just intolerable.
Aug 02, 2014
We had a lot of fun and really enjoyed the camp ground!
Aug 02, 2014
Great campground..been there many times..you do however need to get your wireless internet fixed...if you don't I won't be back.
Aug 02, 2014
Loved your campground. It was very well kept - stayed in a delux pull through with a motorhome. Loved all the conveniences....
Aug 02, 2014
We stayed at the Mount Rushmore KOA for 3 nights in the a one room cabin. We had a wonderful time! My boys (9 and 10) enjoyed all the kid activities, especially the jumping pillow and kayaks on the lake. The cabin was a perfect size for our family of 4. It was close proximity to many local attractions and served as a great base and retreat between our busy days exploring the Black Hills.
Aug 02, 2014
we have stayed at this KOA before. we were disappointed in the condition of shower house this stay. shower curtains had mildew on them and smelled like mildew. 2 showers out of service most of stay, 1 leaked so badly large puddle in middle of hallway at all times, 1 had zero water pressure. also everyone should be able to have fun but the ATV's running around half the night got really old listenin
Aug 02, 2014
Absolutely a the greatest, cleanest, funnest campground!
Aug 02, 2014
great facilities,great location for Rushmore-crazy horse-Custer parks.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Very big with lots to do. You could vacation at this KOA.
Aug 02, 2014
Kids loved it- Hard to get them to leave all the activities at the camp to do site seeing.
Aug 02, 2014
We just returned from our five day stay at your park and the kids are still smiling! The activities for kids were amazing and so much fun they didn't want to leave! The valley that the campground is located in is really beautiful and well laid out. My favorite part of the park was the friendly staff. Everyone was helpful and kind. We are already planning our return trip for next year!Thank you!
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Fun amenities, could be cleaner and pools/hot tub were out of order some times. Close camping sites, felt we would have liked more space. A bit rundown, with a little more work, could be much nicer. Activity schedule was fun for the kids. Staff were friendly. Bathrooms needed daily cleaning, soap was out frequently. Liked the wine tasting.
Aug 02, 2014
It was a great to time at your campground but the showers needed much attention and in need of remodeling. The odor in the showers from mold-mildew is overpowering.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Campground was nice, but crowded. If you have children, they can literally stay busy all day, with activities, the pool, bouncy tramp, and other things. Our slot, even though we paid for full service, was very small, and on a gravel road. Reception of cell phones is sporadic, at best, and hotspots were not so hot. Staff was wonderful, and very accommodating.
Aug 02, 2014
Lots of fun activities for kids and very friendly staff. Bathrooms could be cleaned more often.
Aug 02, 2014
We only stayed one night to check the campground out for a future stay with the grandkids. There are lots of activities for all ages. It's a little pricey for an overnight stay without taking advantage of the extra amenities.
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
We have gone to this KOA twice and will continue coming back because of the wonderful experience we always have. My kids have the time of their lives.
Aug 01, 2014
Big campground with many activities and amenities, would never have to leave campground! Wi-fi not good, but they told you that when you checked in. Two pools for kids. Beautiful setting and close proximity to Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park.
Aug 01, 2014
The KOA facility was very nice, with wonderful amenities. For those whom might need internet connectivity, you might want to look for a more suitable facility. For the price per night, additional boosters or technology should be invested in. We had better support in remote sections of the hills. This shouldn't be.
Aug 01, 2014
Great facilities and service!
Aug 01, 2014
After 2 weeks in beautiful campgrounds around Yellowstone and Glacier National Park, this campground felt more like a county fair than actual camping. It was crowded, there were screaming kids everywhere, the water out of the taps was brown, and the RVs outnumbered tents 20 to 1. If you want any kind of relaxing, authentic camping experience, skip this campground. It was a circus.
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
I was in #406 by myself & I was comfortable. I will be returning next summer with my Wife and Daughter & I hope to upgrade to a cabin with a bathroom. Thank you.
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Awesome view of the rock formation to the south. Friendly staff and evey thing you need at the main lodge. The grand kids loved all of the activities. Will come back in a few years.
Aug 01, 2014
Wish for more teen things to do. (ie) movie nights - large field area of land up by cabins could have been an ice cream & movie screen area for teen movies. -bathrooms/showersrestrooms should be tended to & looked in on multiple times a day/more often. Golf cart rentals/ family bikes were $ too high.. More in fleet to lease & for less per day. Pancake tent was great. All in All, so fun, Great Jo

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.