Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 27, 2016
terrains trop petits. tables vieillissantes.
Jun 27, 2016
Friendly staff, nice facilities. Unlimited pancake breakfast option was great!
Jun 27, 2016
Beautiful, beautiful! It really is a resort. I wish we could have stayed for a few weeks.
Jun 27, 2016
Bathrooms at comfort stations were horribly dirty and out of paper stock.
Jun 27, 2016
There should be bicycle lanes for all the bikes.
Jun 26, 2016
Nice campground with great views in a great location. The firewood is extremely overpriced and the WiFi is terrible.
Jun 26, 2016
This is my third stay at Palmer's Gulch KOA.It is all about location. We had a group of 18 for five nights and did not have enough time to see everything that we wanted. We will undoubtedly visit again.
Jun 26, 2016
Awesome place that has all the things ya need!
Jun 26, 2016
Beautiful setting with helpful staff and something for everyone!
Jun 26, 2016
It is a parking lot. Noisy neighbors. They changed our site which caused 45 min of wasted time. Did not get 50 amp that paid for and reserved. Kept blowing circuit due to this. Gave a credit back on card at least when complained. Sewer hole was way too far from our unit and uphill. Hard to dump.
Jun 26, 2016
friendly and courteous, wonderful sites with excellent hook ups, scenic and beautiful parking areas, I love the culture, the swimming was fantastic, horseback riding was outstanding, the Cowboys and cowgirls are very helpful, I really really really enjoyed mine in my family way to go KOA. good job
Jun 26, 2016
Loved it - great facilities and nice staff
Jun 26, 2016
Everyone was excellent but Hanna was magnificent in solving a problem our neighbor had with the sewer. She got us moved until things could be cleaned up. Wonderful employee.
Jun 26, 2016
Restrooms and showers very dirty.
Jun 26, 2016
We had a great time. There was so much to do at the campground and I the area that we could have used another day. All the staff was friendly and seemed to make sure everything was fun and clean for the guests.
Jun 26, 2016
The kids loved it! The stables were wonderful! WiFi was a downer and the mini golf course needs some work
Jun 26, 2016
It is a great place for a family, they have alot of activities for children.
Jun 26, 2016
We had a great stay at Mt. Rushmore KOA! So much for kids to do there!
Jun 26, 2016
Bathrooms and showers were very clean. Campsite was nice and spacious. Just need to improve wifi coverage and ban smoking on the grounds or have a designated spot for it.
Jun 26, 2016
Great Cuck wagon dinner show. Problem with people cutting thru our campsite to get to bathroom. There should have been a public sidewalk so the sites were afforded more privacy. Bus trip to lighting ceremony was good.
Jun 26, 2016
The Sellitti's grave and the staff outstanding.
Jun 26, 2016
The largest KOA I have stayed at; with the Fun zone for kids and a Chuckwagon supper this KOA has it all! It is only a few miles from Mt. Rushmore and many other attractions....we will be back next year!!! Thanks for a great stay!
Jun 26, 2016
Staff was rude, very busy place and overpriced for what you get.
Jun 26, 2016
Tent site on a slope, very disappointed. Cabin neighbors loud past midnight.
Jun 25, 2016
We brought our 4 granddaughters for a 4-night, 5-day vacation. They had so much FUN at this resort. There were so many things to do. The deluxe cabin, #280, worked great for our group of 6. I would highly recommend it to anyone coming to the Black Hills!
Jun 25, 2016
Even though we were in the area to tour and view the beautiful scenery, when we got back to the campground, they had many great things to do for the kids. I was told this is the best KOA by a co-worker and so far for our experience, this is true. Thank you!
Jun 25, 2016
Jun 25, 2016
Had a fantastic time! We will come again.bathroom situation could be better. One not working often and could be cleaned more often. Otherwise the place is as my granddaughter said "paradise".
Jun 25, 2016
It was a great stay I just wish there were a few things that could have been lower in price, like the fire wood bundles. For the a abundance of wood on the forest floor, $6 a bundle was outrageous and made me not want to enjoy having a fire. Thank you!
Jun 25, 2016
Fun place. Tent site was huge . Slight hill was a bit awkward for tent, but well kept grassy site, lots of trees. Enjoyed the night sky and watching bats at dusk.
Jun 25, 2016
Had plenty to do within the campground. Kids loved the slide and splash pad. Bathrooms were nice but could use some ventilation. As soon as anyone showered it was like a sauna in there the rest of the day. Campground was way too crowded though. We had the unfortunate coincidence of arriving on the same day as the rodeo and the place was a madhouse.
Jun 25, 2016
we did not have space for our tent. Went back to the registration desk for help and the lady walked away. We got a hotel and did not stay at the KOA.
Jun 25, 2016
Great for kids - spaces too tight for large rigs - too many people allowed to each site.Front smells like horse pee, and at night it is a huge smoke pit.
Jun 25, 2016
Lots of stuff to do and great that it was all open late! Close to all the attractions.
Jun 25, 2016
We were very pleased with the amenities and friendly staff.
Jun 25, 2016
The staff were all courteous and helpful, campsites were nice, the only complaint we had it felt like they were understaffed. The bathrooms by us didn't look like they got cleaned as often as the should have.
Jun 25, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. For such a large campground, it was very quiet. The highlight of our trip was the chuck wagon dinner on our last night!
Jun 25, 2016
It was a great place had a lot of fun with my family will definitely be going back there but do you guys think you can get a little bit thicker mattresses on the hardwood bed frames besides that everything was great
Jun 25, 2016
lots to do for kids. very busy. too few showers for the number of campers. Bathroom and shower floors very dirty.
Jun 25, 2016
Fantastic KOA destination! We've stayed in KOA's in so many states and this park takes the cake. Restaurant, bar, pizza & wing shop, ice cream, horse rides, dune buggies on 35 miles of off road terrain. Did it all and we loved it!! So close to everything in the Black Hills. Come here, you'll love it!
Jun 24, 2016
Only complaint is that it says coffee maker in the cabin but it wasn't specific staying it was a Keurig. There were 4 adults and we all brought coffee for a regular pot. Should just make that more specific. Otherwise it was great! We had kids from 5 to 15 and they all kept busy
Jun 24, 2016
Wonderful amenities and kind helpful staff. The location was perfect for all of the areas activities.
Jun 24, 2016
Beautiful campground with so much for the kids to do! Showers were really dirty though.
Jun 24, 2016
An amazing campground - very friendly staff - great facilities, many options to entertain yourself between exploring Mt. Rushmore and the surrounding natural beauty.
Jun 24, 2016
one of the best We have ever been to. Staff was nice and friendly. Thank you we will be back.
Jun 24, 2016
A very large campground with a number of activities. The staff were friendly and helpful but the full hookup site we had was in very poor condition, a mud hole, not close to level and the sewer connection was up hill! Other sites were like a parking lot ...for $60 a day and not even cable. It was the poorest KOA experience we've ever had. I cannot recommend this campground when there are others av
Jun 24, 2016
First time to stay here & we loved it!!
Jun 24, 2016
We only stayed one night but would return for more nights! Perfect place for kids and we only had time for a few activities of the many offered! Great facility!
Jun 24, 2016
Check in was easy, and helpful with extending my stay.
Jun 24, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals