Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 03, 2015
Over priced ..to noisy on the road we were on and staff was rude . Heard one day in morning .. Glad I'm off tomorrow I'm tired of these peoples stupid questions
Jul 03, 2015
Great campground, just needs better wifi signal since there is terrible cell service
Jul 03, 2015
When we arrived at our campsite, we realized that we would not be able to use the electricity because we did not have an RV. We went to the office and Diane was very helpful in getting us a new campsite for our tent. We were very pleased with our stay except the thunderstorm that blew in through the night was a little scary. If we ever feel the need to visit Mt Rushmore again, we would stay here!
Jul 03, 2015
FnFan
Jul 02, 2015
Requested campsites, arrived and those weren't locked in. Twice before too. May rethink our choice.
Jul 02, 2015
Great resort, beautiful country side, great for the families with all the horses and things to do!!
Jul 02, 2015
A lot to do but chaotic. Need a specific track to keep rental bikes off the roads. Need pedestrian paths to keep them off the roads. Water slide broken. cabins were hot - need a/c.
Jul 02, 2015
This is my second stay at this KOA, and I was a little disappointed. Perhaps it was the volume of campers during this busy weekend, but the bathrooms were fairly consistently not clean. The pool has only one umbrella for shade which makes for unrelieved sun in the middle of the day. And the staff seemed very unaware about the surrounding area. Some small adjustments could make a big difference
Jul 02, 2015
The campground has a lot of fun activities but charges a lot more than other campgrounds to compensate. The staff was friendly and helpful. They need to put more effort into maintaining their wifi. The campground is in a cell phone dead zone for Verizon and AT&T, and their wifi is non-existent in most of the campground and overburdened where it exists.
Jul 02, 2015
We loved the facilities, the only downside was no cell service and the WiFi was terrible.
Jul 02, 2015
Check is was not a good experience. The site we had agreed upon was given to another customer. The site we were given backed up to the seweage ponds.
Jul 02, 2015
Great amenities. Would have rather had cabin with plumbing. Thought things like shuttle to Mount Rushmore and chuckwagon rides were included in price of stay. Felt misled from website.
Jul 02, 2015
I've never seen a campground like this before! It was simply amazing. Of course we left to do touristy things, but we certainly didn't have to! Water slide, splash pad, pools, activities, playgrounds, pedal car rentals, this place had it all! All, that is except for a strong wifi signal, WHICH WAS GREAT! We loved being totally unplugged. Thanks for a great stay!
Jul 02, 2015
Jul 02, 2015
Jul 02, 2015
3 night stay with 5 people. Directed to a swampy back in site that put our 5th wheel into 6 inches of mud. The rest of the site was water - not just wet. After much ado, we were sent to a small site with no sewer. The 5th wheel did not fit. Hoped to move to a better site on the second day, but no can-do. Zero wifi - not even in listed hotspots. Good location - very poor service.
Jul 02, 2015
Had a great time! Definitely would come back. This would be a great place for a family reunion - tons of stuff for kids and adults.
Jul 02, 2015
Beautiful location but the rest rooms were horrible otherwise I would have given it a 10 and 5 star rating.
Jul 01, 2015
We had a great time at the Kampground. The only thing that we were disappointed in was the WIFI. It was really hard to get connected to and when we could was usually after midnight.
Jul 01, 2015
Golf cart escort could have been better. I can read a map....but thought that was KOA's thing. Onsite Stable & Pub 20 Stars! WIFI.....PLEEZE.....Get with it!! You have it....expand the towers....it's a different time my friends. Would consider a company "get-a-way" here...but still need to stay in touch. Not just kids streaming movies...Parents have to work on vacation. Sad -But True. Great KOA
Jul 01, 2015
Friend Staff and plenty to do at the KOA and around the area
Jul 01, 2015
So perfect! Best place for our family!
Jul 01, 2015
Awesome experience!
Jul 01, 2015
The bathrooms behind our cabin were poorly maintained/cleaned. The door to our cabin squeeked so loud! We were disappointed the water slide wasn't open. We know this is a great place to stay...but a few things were different this time.
Jul 01, 2015
Great kamp, lots to do and lots of places to explore close...would have ask for cabin closer to showers and bath house if to do again
Jul 01, 2015
We were there 6 days, and loved all the places to shop and eat. The only activity that we thought could be improved was the Chuck Wagon Dinner. Wish the wagon ride could have gone somewhere else besides around the campground. Steaks were less than average, but the rest of the meal was delicious.
Jul 01, 2015
Worst site I have ever had in 10 years of RVing. Muddy, muddy, muddy. Disappointed that KOA allows such sites.
Jul 01, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
Great location and facilities.
Jul 01, 2015
We checked into the office, assigned a spot then drove to the location. Unfortunately, after several rounds of recent rains, our spot was a giant mud puddle. We went back to the office, and we're assigned a new spot quickly by a friendly and helpful desk attendant. Our grandson enjoyed swimming and playing basketball. The downside was the large number of RVs side by side in small spots.
Jul 01, 2015
staff was very courteous and helpful.the reason I did not rate it better,very poor wi-fi,no cable tv,dirt roads had many potholes,plus a resort fee.It came to nearly $80 per night
Jul 01, 2015
We had such a wonderful time at this campground! The kids always had something fun to do. We will definitely be back! The only downfall is lack of wifi!
Jul 01, 2015
Bathrooms and showers need remodeling
Jul 01, 2015
Great family activities, loved the Kamp Kitchen and shower facilities. Kids loved the pool (I loved the hot tub) and splash areas. If we had stayed longer, we would have enjoyed the bike rentals too.
Jul 01, 2015
Great amenities and service. Employees Mike and Steve went the extra mile to help us when we had car trouble.
Jul 01, 2015
This Koa is really too crowded and tight for us. The front desk check in was fantastic and the guides. Bathrooms and showers were disgusting.
Jul 01, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
Lot 555 was terrible, deep road washouts, not level, just a very poor campsite. Wifi reception was 0 none. Our lot location was so poor that we could not even receive a single bar on our verizon phones. So the wife did mention how poor our lot was and the lady behind the registration desk told her she would be able to remember it that way. Unbelievable! We will never stay there again.
Jul 01, 2015
Cramped sites, barking dogs that were left alone in rv. Screaming small children all the time. But that could be the case anywhere. Stil, it affected our experience.
Jul 01, 2015
Roads were so muddy. Enjoyed pancakes.
Jul 01, 2015
Clean campground with a great staff!
Jul 01, 2015
The resort aspect of the campground was a surprise to me and is not to my personal taste of how I would enjoy nature. The resort fee took the price of the campground from expensive to very expensive. Wifi access and performance was poor and there was a lack of publicly accessible power outlets for anyone not staying at a powered site. However, staff was nice, facilities were nice and clean
Jun 30, 2015
Very nice cabin. Lots of activities to keep the kids busy. The fire pit was a bit too close to the cabin and the smoke from the pit blew directly into the cabin on most nights.
Jun 30, 2015
By far the best campground we have stayed at. beautiful scenery and so much for kids to do. Will definitely be coming back next year.
Jun 30, 2015
We had a great time! Lots to do, very helpful staff, very clean rest rooms. We came after many days or rain and parts of the campground were underwater. Needs better drainage.
Jun 30, 2015
Bathroom areas were not very clean. I did not feel comfortable taking a shower because of the cleanliness. When I got coffee one day it took almost 30min. A little under staff. Lots of activities for the kids to do. When I had made reservations I had requested a more remote area than where we were. I feel that we should have been over by the creek.
Jun 30, 2015
So many things to do. The kids were disappointed to leave and sight see. They wanted to stay at the campground!
Jun 30, 2015
Maybe would have rated higher but only was there for one night and didn't get a chance to use the amenities.
Jun 30, 2015
Staff was very friendly. stayed here for 3 nights and would recommend to others in the future.
Jun 30, 2015
This was our 4th stay at this campground and we would come again. Our campsite was flooded when we arrived and when we left. We had about 3 days when it was dry. The new cement patio is cracked and there was so much mud in the grass and near the fire pit that we could not enjoy either one of them. I know that nothing can be one about Mother nature but there has to be a better drainages system.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.