Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 27, 2014
This KOA was great. Something for every member of the family. The free pancakes were amazing!
Jun 27, 2014
Awesome campground lots of amenities. Would definitely recommend
Jun 27, 2014
Beautiful campgrounds! Bathrooms were very clean and well maintained. We had a tent campsite and it was rather small. It was one on the end and it was small for what we paid, but the campground amenities were very nice.
Jun 27, 2014
So much fun for the kids.
Jun 27, 2014
Awesom sites
Jun 27, 2014
They have to get a couple of things fixed. We come to relax and get away but require working internet service to check in with family, work, etc. During our 5-day stay they had ZERO service. We went to their so-called "hot spots" and even their little 2-station internet cafe- BASICALLY NO SERVICE. Kids activities were way off this year- jumping pillow was broke down, foam pool was a bust.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
Reservation was mixed up in office and lots of mud in some RV spots. Other than that the facility was great and much enjoyed by our kids. We would surely come back. Thanks!
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
We had a great time. There was quite a bit of things for the kids to do. Nice, clean campsite and facilities.
Jun 27, 2014
The advertised activities that we wanted to do (fire engine ride and chuck wagon dinner) were not available on the day we stayed. So check to see if things you want to do are available for your date(s) of stay.
Jun 27, 2014
Staff were reasonable and fulfilled my special request. the kamping kabins could have been cleaner. Many extras for the family and close enough to be a base camp I did stay one extra day
Jun 27, 2014
Stayed here in a fifth wheel, awesome park, much more than we expected!
Jun 27, 2014
I was very happy with the staff and the way I was received when I arrived . the campground was clean and presentable. Problably could use a better WIFI ssyste.
Jun 27, 2014
If you are traveling with kids you will love this KOA. If you like to socialize you will love this KOA. This park has everything including horseback riding.
Jun 27, 2014
Great place if you want to be isolated from the world, lots of entertainment and things for kids, wifi is weak and only a few sites get cable, but great location for Rushmore and Crazy Horse, forget cell phone reception, so it is great for families, can spend some quality time, Margie is an angel, really sweet lady, and Assistant Mgr Brent I believe, good man, friendly and helpful
Jun 27, 2014
We were put in a site made for a camp trailer (we are a 40' diesel pusher) even the escort knew we were too big for the site but we were not allowed to move. when my wife inquired at the desk if they knew the coordinates for direct TV she was told it was her responsibility to know that. it is my opinion that thisark in more interested in filling sites than caring for people already there.
Jun 27, 2014
Great campground for kids. We very much enjoyed our stay there. Will be back again sometime.
Jun 27, 2014
Everyone was so very helpful! Would be terrific to bring kids for vacation with all ever activities available. However, the lack of wii fi was a Huge negative. We had no way to contact our families as even cell service was hit and miss, also. We were told at the desk this was a long term problem. No service for us would be a reason we would not stay here again.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
The campground was not to my liking, just personal. the staff was fantastic. Everything runs like clock work and I know the families that stayed there had a wonderful time. NG
Jun 27, 2014
Had a problem with the original site I was assigned. Staff found me a new site with no problem even though they were full. Great facility. Tons of things to do and very friendly staff.
Jun 26, 2014
This campground has virtually NO wireless internet service although they advertise that it is available. I missed an important meeting since there is no cell phone service either. Full hookups does not include cable. Other than those issues the campground was good.
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
This KOA is a destination point. We loved our Deluxe cabin. Customer service is inconsistent (there are several employees that are outstanding such as the young lady who checked us in on 6/22. When we arrived there was no grill, the supervisor looked at me like I had missed seeing it and informed me that it had to be "there". Instead of apologizing and investigating.
Jun 26, 2014
It was great!
Jun 26, 2014
AWESOME campground. The kids had a great time. Everyone was very friendly. This is THE place to stay in the Mount Rushmore area.
Jun 26, 2014
it is expensive, however we knew that. Great for kids(we have none). Everyone very focused on great customer service. Very friendly welcoming staff
Jun 26, 2014
This is a wonderful campground. It is very clean, with modern shower houses and they respect the quiet times. Loved all the activities. There is only one thing they need to improve and that would be the wireless internet. We were there in a GIANT hail storm and had no idea -no storm warnings at all due to no wifi and no cell service out there. Otherwise this is the best KOA in South Dakota!
Jun 26, 2014
Cabin dusty and too far from bathroom. Breakfast and children's area good but too crowded. Will not use again One employee at registration area was rude but she was only one all others extremely nice and helpful
Jun 26, 2014
Our first night was a storm. The second night we got a new site and it wasn't a mud pit.
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
A lot of services and activities, but the RVs are packed in like sardines. Also, the bathhouse was less than adequate, with 1/2 of the showers out of order and only 4 toilet stalls, which were not clean. I understand daily use contributes to being dirty, but there was feces smeared on the wall for at least 2 days. However, the camp location simply cannot be beat.
Jun 26, 2014
Site # 180 needs to be rebuilt so it is out of the mud when it rains. I informed Grounds crew & was told they would rebuild after I left the site. Should have been fixed & rebuilt before I even arrived.
Jun 26, 2014
Low marks probably not KOA's fault. Due to days of rain our site was under water, shorted out our electric, and caused 8 of us to stay inside.
Jun 25, 2014
We were not happy with the dog park. It was not fenced in and it was muddy and over run. The wifi did not work anywhere in the park, the waterslide was not working the 1st 3 days we were there. The restrooms were very clean and the staff was great.
Jun 25, 2014
Great campgrounds! My family had a wonderful time! The staff was 'A Class'!
Jun 25, 2014
Jun 25, 2014
Although this is a great campground for children with many things to do, the 3 adults in our party stayed here for a week and used only as a base for our day trips. We found the staff friendly and campground clean/convenient for our activities.
Jun 25, 2014
Everyone was so nice and there was so much to do. I can't remember everyone's names, but the whole staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. The church service was wonderful. Mallory at fiddle sticks was so helpful and friendly. Papas pancakes was fun and delicious! The cooks were friendly and glad to help. This was the best KOA I have stayed at.The cabin was so cute.
Jun 25, 2014
Good pancake breakfast.
Jun 25, 2014
Jun 25, 2014
We stayed in a cabin, it was clean, maintenance was done fast on a window screen. The bathrooms were clean. Pancake breakfast was very good.. Would stay there again.. Staff were very friendly and helpful..
Jun 25, 2014
Our campsite was very small woth hardly room for a table. I thought the shower floors were dirty. The roads in our section were poor and very little gravel on sites. We had better experiences in smaller campgrounds.
Jun 24, 2014
Would've given this four stars, but the bathrooms were absolutely filthy. Probably the worst I've ever seen. This is the only thing that keeps me from going back to that campground. Horseback riding was great.
Jun 24, 2014
Would like to have clean towels in cabins everyday
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
I was extremely disappointed in Station #4 bathrooms and laundry. Most of the inside showers were out of order 4 out of 7. Then all of the outside showers had nothing but cold water. The laundry room had water on the floor and machines were out of order.Also the bathrooms were in poor shape e.g. tp on seats and floor, no soap, soap dispenser broken. Maybe they should be cleaned more than 2x/day.
Jun 24, 2014
The only issue we had was the internet. We were never able to access it. When I asked I was informed that the system was overloaded.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.