Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 27, 2015
Beautiful campground with amazing activities for the kids.
Jul 27, 2015
My son woke up missing the KOA this morning and said when he gets older he is going to work hard and a lot so he can stay longer. Second year here and we love it.
Jul 27, 2015
I wish EVERY KOA had the facilities and conveniences of this one! Places to eat, car rental, ATV rental, horseback riding...all at the campground! We are already planning a return trip!
Jul 27, 2015
Wifi is horrible.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Loved how kid friendly it was. Nice people and super friendly!
Jul 27, 2015
Bad thunder storms both nights(golf ball size hail). Not their fault! Very crowded. Got poison oak from creekside campsite!!
Jul 27, 2015
The staff was friendly. We camped in a back in site. Driving in it looked like every KOA. The entrance to the grounds were nice, but past that point, the campsites were not that great. They need a lot of work. The showers were outdated. We did not use the pool or any of the play areas so I can not rate these areas. It was the most expensive campground we stayed at on this trip and the poorest site
Jul 27, 2015
enjoyed it very much.the grandkids had a lot of fun.looking foward to coming back again soon. thank-you
Jul 27, 2015
Loved the wine tasting and all of the extra swimming, and fun perks. The staff was so kind and helpful. Will come again and recommend to others. The land was well kept and clean.
Jul 27, 2015
Beautiful location,; beautiful facilities overall. Friendly, helpful staff. Campsite (240) sucked. Requested space for 30ft. 5th wheel. Unit barely fit. Neighbors had to move their vehicles to enable me to park rig. Was unable to extend awning becuase truck took up space. Muddy. Grass uncut. Might stay agian IF I get a better site. Have had better sites in national forests at 1/3 the price.
Jul 27, 2015
Excellent facilities nice employees and great activities.
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time at our stay. Lot's of family activities. We wish we would have had some tree cover at our tent camp site. Other then that top notch.
Jul 27, 2015
It has really grown in the last 10 years! The restrooms could have been cleaner. Our Kamping Kabin was wonderful! It was very clean and comfortable. The food at the Ponderosa restaurant on site was awful. We couldn't eat it and they took 25% off our bill.
Jul 27, 2015
We felt very lucky to get a same-day site and appreciated the stores and food vendors available (as we got in too late to eat outside of the camp). My only critiques were that we were put right next to the playground (would've at least liked to have known that even if that's all that was open) and wish the sites were just a bit cheaper.
Jul 27, 2015
Would give 5 stars if they didn't bring the horses through the trail at 6 A.M. with VERY obnoxious yelling every morning.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
WOW!!!! Everything is exceptional. From the natural beauty of the Black Hills to the monuments to the camp ground. Our kids were treated like royalty by the staff the Summershine ministry was phenomenal WE WILL BE BACK!!!! Thanks to everyone for an AWESOME STAY!!!!
Jul 27, 2015
Large campground with lots for the kids. Friendly staff. The 2 stores were out of swim diapers, which I thought would be fully stocked at a place like this.
Jul 27, 2015
Great place for kids! However, lot 262 & 263 are not appropriate for a 25-30 ft. camper. They should be reserved for pop-ups. Need a separate place to ride low rider rental bikes. Roads are too congested. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 27, 2015
Kids love this place. . .my only concern this year was the WIFI connection was not very good.
Jul 27, 2015
We were disapointex when we were awake at 5 in the morning becausd some people decided to go to the toilet with there harley. Rules of common life were not respected and we are thinking to avoid koa camping anymore. Moreover, wifi was not available and we paid 10$ fees for a resprt we don't enjoyed. Hope our next experience eill be better
Jul 27, 2015
Overheard at bike rental shack: Kid: can we still rent bikes? Grey-bearded KOA employee: you mean because of the lightning? YOU THINK I CARE? Go ahead! Rent one! We have been staying at the Palmer Gulch KOA for 5 years, and this was the worst group of employees we've seen. We were also disappointed that there were no longer paddle boats or movies shown at night. Boo.
Jul 27, 2015
My first experience is with the most unhappy staff and depressed staff that one are not knowlegable about their jobs and should not be in a position of dealing with the public. But this is just a reflection of the untrained manager or the absence of one. Also the site was totally unusable for pulling into and even the staff that directed me to nthe spot commented. This says no one checks.
Jul 27, 2015
Good facilities, clean fun camp
Jul 27, 2015
We have stayed here several times now, and each time I like this campground more. You have great activities and amenities, and the staff is always very helpful and efficient. A major plus is that you have great coffee!! My only concern was that the pools seemed a bit green, but I must admit that it wasn't bad enough to keep me from letting my kids swim. We will be back!
Jul 27, 2015
So much to do for families with kids. Very clean and will organized. We checked out of our cabin a day early (though late afternoon), due to not feeling good and I wanted to get home and they credited my credit card for the night we didn't stay. I did not expect that and am truly grateful for that. I would stay again.
Jul 27, 2015
Only thing we dislike about this campground is the amount of kids in the hot tub.... We ourselves have young kids so we understand however as an adult we would love to be able to take a hot tub after a long travel day or touring all day however here they allow kids to use to hot tubs as a pool would be great to have a hot tub for only adults!
Jul 27, 2015
This is a great place for families traveling with kids.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
I've stayed at this campground before so it was not the 1st time. Check in was great. Easy and the staff were very pleasant, but the campsite that we were assigned to was terrible. I had asked for a spot for 2 tents. This spot was very small and there was no level ground there at all. For over $40 per night just for a place to pitch a tent, I was very disappointed.
Jul 27, 2015
the nicest and cleanest KOA that we stayed at the 2 weeks we were traveling!!
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
First, we had made reservations in 2013 for our family reunion and when we arrived, we did not get the building we had paid for; the water was a horrible dirty brown filled with; the KOA administration was not willing to work with us. I do like the facilities, with lots of things for the children to do; the workers are very friendly, but our experience staying there this year was very poor.
Jul 26, 2015
This is the most AMAZING campground!!! There is so much to do. May not get great cell phone service but your on vacation who Care... It's all about making the memories with your family. I will be back in two years with more family and friends. Can't wait.
Jul 26, 2015
This is our second time staying at this campground. The staff go out of their way to make the kids feel special. There were some attractions not working, but there are so many other things to do. We loved the chuckwagon dinner!!
Jul 26, 2015
Very kid friendly and so much for them to do. Great for the whole family!!
Jul 26, 2015
Needs better wifi, was center in the places to visited.
Jul 26, 2015
Best campground we have ever been to.
Jul 26, 2015
Great stay with the kids
Jul 26, 2015
It's an awesome resort. Staff were very helpful. Tons of activities for kids. Beautiful campground. Will be back again in the future.
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Very limited wifi. Staff was great and plenty of other amenities.
Jul 26, 2015
Asked when making reservations to make sure I could get good wifi. Was told it would be no problem. I lost a lot of business because I could not download any contracts. I even went to your lodge computer that was hardwired to your network and could not download any either. I would be on internet for 10sec then would disconnect. To be honest you should refund my cost of stay as I lost 1000's! If I
Jul 26, 2015
Had a great stay! Clean, friendly staff. Lots to do if you do not want to leave campground. Cabin was perfect for our family. Close to major attractions in area.
Jul 26, 2015
It really is a resort! Wonderful bathrooms, best I've seen. Friendly young people working there. Everyone was friendly.
Jul 26, 2015
Had our two grandsons and there was so much for them to do to keep them busy. The shower and restrooms by us We're very clean. Enjoyed the horseback riding.
Jul 26, 2015
We enjoyed the stay, beautiful campground nice location the only thing that could improve is the water.
Jul 26, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.