Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 4

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 05, 2016
Wifi was advertised as available but was not. The park was a resort with much more than we needed but that made it a poor place for someone looking for a basic night's accommodation.
Aug 05, 2016
Cabin was not cleaned. Bath house and bath disgusting. They were not cleaned the whole time we were there
Aug 04, 2016
Wonderful. Lots for kids to do and convenient location.
Aug 04, 2016
the staff was helpful and the kids activities were well run and maintained. the facilities were very clean.
Aug 04, 2016
what a fun and exciting place!!! so much going on fun foir everyone, beautiful setting ...Horses!!!! campfires every nite.. tydye teeshirts was fun, nightly movies, dancing swimming!!! love it
Aug 04, 2016
Super endroit familial. il y a plein d'activit├ęs.
Aug 04, 2016
WIFI terrible. You need to hire more people to work in coffee shop and ice cream shop--poor service.
Aug 04, 2016
Great for kids. A lot to do. Very clean!
Aug 04, 2016
What an awesome KOA! We were blown away by the number of activities and the shear size. The golf cart rental was a wonderful feature as well.
Aug 04, 2016
Aug 04, 2016
Very nice, amenities were plentiful, the restaurant was less than desirable.
Aug 04, 2016
We had a great experience. Our kids loved the pool, mini golf,the waterside, and the bounce pad. Just remember they have horse rides so don't be alarmed to hear them getting ready in the morning.
Aug 04, 2016
This is a huge and beautiful site. I wish that we had a longer stay so that we could explore a little more. Constructively, I will say that our cabin needed a good long sweeping. The staff members that we interfaced with were less friendly than I'm accustomed and seemed to care more about getting the transaction over with than being helpful. I'm sure we encountered the exception the the rule.
Aug 04, 2016
With 4 kids ranging in ages 2 months to 13 years old, it is difficult to go on vacations and be able to entertain all of them. But KOA Mt Rushmore at Palmer Gulch was the perfect destination. We all had a blast!
Aug 04, 2016
Aug 04, 2016
So much to do, wish we could have stayed another week!
Aug 04, 2016
What an amazing campground
Aug 04, 2016
This was our first time at a KOA and it was excellent. Enough activities for the kids. Turtle town food was excellent along with the service. Very pleased with our stay.
Aug 04, 2016
Aug 04, 2016
We only live 60 miles away but our stay was the perfect celebration for our son's 11th birthday! Thank you!
Aug 04, 2016
Awesome camper cabin!!
Aug 04, 2016
Nice location and excellent for the kids! Due to the large number of guests (probably but thats not an excuse) the sanitary facilities were rather dirty!
Aug 04, 2016
staff was super. all work so hard to please guest
Aug 04, 2016
Too crowded and chaotic
Aug 04, 2016
The campground was lovely with lots to do. We stayed the week before Sturgis, so it was a bit busy. Other than that, out only complaint was with a few younger staff members in need of customer service training.
Aug 03, 2016
This is a large KOA so there is a lot of traffic. Besides that it was a very nice stay.
Aug 03, 2016
While the sites are close together, there is so much to offer at this campground! The pool and waterslide were our favorites, and the bathrooms and showers were clean. The kids are already asking when we can go back!
Aug 03, 2016
Great staff. Clean park in a perfect location.
Aug 03, 2016
Good location, Good service.
Aug 03, 2016
Bathrooms/showers were horrible! We were there for one week and I never show them cleaned. They were wet and dirty always. My kids loved the fun place!
Aug 03, 2016
The camp sites need to be updated, with a better wifi system, better cable tv system and better road condition material, so when it rain you don't have to walk in mud. I also was disappointed in the deluxe camp site as the grass was more mud than grass. The pad was not very level, as my RV tires where off of the ground, so I had to move the RV around to get it so the tires where no off of the grou
Aug 03, 2016
Great location and amenities.
Aug 03, 2016
Wonderful place. Much to do. We had a breakdown (slider wouldn't come in). They were very helpful and gave us a place to park the extra night.
Aug 03, 2016
It was ok. Some staff were helpful and friendly, some were very rude. Bathrooms and showers are fairly clean. The stay was expensive. Though you do have access to showers, a pool, and fun zone for kids, the price was still too high for just these amenities. Unfortunately, we didn't get to enjoy the outdoor amenities due to the thunderstorm. It would've been nice to get a partial refund.
Aug 03, 2016
Loved it! It was more of a resort than a campground with lots of activities and amenities. Great location too!
Aug 03, 2016
We wished we would have stayed more than one night. Very friendly staff. This KOA is Awesome. Clean showers.
Aug 03, 2016
Great family oriented campground!
Aug 03, 2016
Aug 03, 2016
Great location. All the amenities and so much for the kids. Lots of things to explore. Great customer service. No wifi or ATT or Verizon signal but nice to be off the grid.
Aug 03, 2016
We had a great time! Fun family activities. We can't wait to visit again.
Aug 03, 2016
Stayed 4 nights. Was amazed at all the activities for the kids. Horseback riding was wonderful. The restrooms were very cllean. Staff was very friendly. Loved all the lovely landscaping. Pride shows in this KOA
Aug 03, 2016
Very nice clean campsite with many things to enjoy.
Aug 03, 2016
The location and facilities were perfect for our needs.
Aug 02, 2016
This is the best place to stay in the Black Hills.....the Chuckwagon Ride and show is a must!
Aug 02, 2016
Our family had a great time on our vacation. Special thanks to the staff there as they really stepped up when we were caught in a hail storm while horseback riding. Our son went missing briefly and they were absolutely fantastic!!!! Thank you so much. We'll be back.
Aug 02, 2016
It was a Family Reunion that brought us to you. Everything worked out perfectly ! Shelby and Billie were both very professional in seeing that our accommodations were in place. I can't say enough for the entire experience.
Aug 02, 2016
Love the campground and activities. Please don't have bathroom facilities cleaned at the same time. One day the pool and station 3 bathrooms were closed at same time. More gravel to offset the mud would be wonderful.
Aug 02, 2016
Our granddaughter enjoyed the variety of activities. Parking our truck was the only problem we encountered, not enough room.
Aug 02, 2016
Ben Larson was very supportive and helped us create a "Plan B" after we locked ourselves out of our camper. Mike Atkinson also helped out. Cell phone service & internet connectivity would be much appreciated. Of 8 campgrounds this is the only one that didn't have reliable cell & internet service from mobile devices.
Aug 02, 2016
Pleasantly surprised - we will definitely go back!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals