Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 30, 2016
Love KOA, and Palmer Gulch is one of the best.
Jun 30, 2016
Best campground ever.Will be coming back.Highly recommend
Jun 30, 2016
all great, very improved from our 1st visit 13 years ago!!!! a lot more events !
Jun 30, 2016
Nice place with lots of family things to do. Staff is very friendly. Only complaint would be small RV sites with neighbors too close.
Jun 30, 2016
Awesome campground. Only complaint would be the need for larger laundry facilities. Wonderful staff, great family friendly campground.
Jun 30, 2016
My family and I love this KOA it had everything we needed or wanted the only negative thing I can think of is the water pressure was horrible up on the hill I stayed there before down on the flat part of the valley with plenty of water pressure so if you're going to stay here stay below the hill
Jun 30, 2016
This place was great,had everything!
Jun 30, 2016
Nice and clean campsite. Close to Crazyhorse and Mt. Rushmore. Only bad things are: no cell service and very limited wifi.
Jun 29, 2016
The wide arrange of amenities and things to do was outstanding. And the staff was very helpful and friendly. We were blown away!
Jun 29, 2016
Why would u put 2 adults no kids right up against a playground? Children unruly & running thru my camp site. Bathroom smelled & dirty. Informed supervisor. Nothing done. Should have adult only section.
Jun 29, 2016
Try another place. We were placed in a terrible tent site, it did not have shade and was right next to a playground. The bathrooms were NASTY! We had to walk to the middle to find a clean shower. Over crowded. Good pool and good stores. Close to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy horse. 30 miles from Walmart.
Jun 29, 2016
Had a wonderful time. One suggestion; we were in cabin 202. The street is a dead end but there is no sign at the beginning of the street to let people know that. We had 20 cars a day coming down and having to make a u-turn.
Jun 29, 2016
Great place!!
Jun 29, 2016
This KOA had so much to offer, the best one we have stayed at yet.
Jun 29, 2016
Jun 29, 2016
Loved it! We were close to the restrooms and shower so that was good. We had NO internet, but that was good and bad. The activities were great. Our family had a wonderful time!
Jun 29, 2016
Great stay. We could have spent the whole week at the campground alone. The only criticism is the smoke at night from all the camp fires. I think consideration of limiting the campfires would be reasonable (charge more for these sites). Definitely planning a return visit though.
Jun 29, 2016
Fun
Jun 29, 2016
This place is huge and has a lot of ammenities. It's also incredibly loud day and night. The baths/showers are extremely worn and filthy. The wi-fi service is non-existent. There are a lot of activities for kids and a bar for the adults. Overall, if you're traveling with kids and want an amusement park atmosphere, this is for you. If you're looking to enjoy peace and nature, it is not.
Jun 29, 2016
Nice place for families.
Jun 29, 2016
We loved it
Jun 28, 2016
Very expensive. No cell service and no internet service. For the money we should have had these basic services.
Jun 28, 2016
grandchildren loved all the activities at the park. Adults didn't like lines to use laundry or showers. Not enough for the size of campground.
Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
Great resort place. Wish we had had more time there to fully use the amenities
Jun 28, 2016
The campground was fantastic, The people were great. The cabin (inside and outside) was littered with bees, Outside they were around all of the time. There were dead ones in the front window. I woke up early both mornings with bees in the cabin. I have a child who is afraid of bees and he rarely came to the cabin, except to sleep.
Jun 28, 2016
Fabulous resort-2 pools all kinds f activities fr the kids and Abdul's too!(horses riding, won ride dinners!) restaurants pub and sme Roos etc are set up to look like a town. The wifi was no-extent and there' s no phoe service. The saff are extrely helplful. Close to everything. If you have a really arge if take the truck rote it the park as the regular route s steep and winding.
Jun 28, 2016
Great campground! Would have given a 5 if not for the horrible wi-fi. There is little to no phone service but they advertise wi-fi availability. It is non-existent to so slow you'll give up before getting any response. I'd have felt better if they said it wasn't available Everything else about this KOA is first rate. Loved the pancake breakfast tent. Abundant activities for the kids.
Jun 28, 2016
Was a great place felt like a resort The grandkids were very entertained Will stay there again Very impressed.
Jun 28, 2016
We stayed here before in 2012 & that is why we came back. Although the premium RV sites are a bit pricey - they're great sites. The grounds has a lot to offer for everyone. Close to many worthwhile sights & activities.
Jun 28, 2016
The staff was friendly and helpful! I was very impressed at all the activities for the kids. They were never board!
Jun 28, 2016
We had a great stay! The coolest KOA we have stayed at yet!
Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
The Disneyland if all KOAs. Coolest place ever
Jun 28, 2016
Absolutely the kid mecca of the West. Great people, great sites and all around great experience. We have stayed many times and we will stay many more. Every year you guys improve or add something. Thank you.
Jun 28, 2016
This was the nicest campground we've visited. Lots of activities and very clean and pretty. Wish you were closer to our home!
Jun 28, 2016
very family/kid friendly with lots of activities and nice bath/showers. Camp sites felt a little cramped.
Jun 28, 2016
Great campground, super clean and lots of activities to keep all busy!
Jun 27, 2016
Lots to do, nice place
Jun 27, 2016
Celebrated my 83rd birthday with my family. . Three generations. Perfect place!!
Jun 27, 2016
We had a great time at Palmer Gulch! Centrally located to many of the attractions, but you don't even have to leave the resort to have a full day! My 10 year old loved the Fun Zone and would have stayed there all day! There was no cell service and the Wifi is almost nonexistent, but that can be a plus too!
Jun 27, 2016
Lack of wfi sucks. You need more routers.
Jun 27, 2016
Wonderful campground and wonderful experience! This is a kids haven! The activity staff was great with all the children. We did have bad customer service at the ice cream/pizza parlor. But everything else was amazing!
Jun 27, 2016
What an amazing place to stay. So much fun for kids - young and old!
Jun 27, 2016
My kids loved this campground. So much to do after a long day site seeing! They have so many activities and performances at the campground my kids actually looked forward to coming back there at the end of the day.
Jun 27, 2016
The facility is beautiful and clean but very busy
Jun 27, 2016
Great location. Staff mostly friendly and helpful. Nice to have stables and fun zone on the property. However, sites are small and close together. Many fire rings are placed on slopes and are hard to use/ gather around. No enforcement of quiet hours. We were near a group partying loudly until after midnight. Kids had a great time but if you want a peaceful camp experience this is not it.
Jun 27, 2016
It's a beautiful campground, we really enjoyed our stay.
Jun 27, 2016
No cell phone service and Wi-Fi was nonexistent
Jun 27, 2016
Very friendly staff. Very crowded. It did not seem like camping but rather just jamming as many campers in one area as you could. I think the prices were a little excessive given we just wanted to camp and launch from there.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals