Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 05, 2013
Unfortunately, we were somewhat disappointed with our stay at Mt Rushmore KOA. The problem existed with the cleanliness of the washrooms, everything else was beyond excellent. With a campground of this size, people unfortunately feel anonymous and believe they can act like pigs and it shows in the state of the showers. There must be a better cleaning schedule devised to overcome this behaviour.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
The water in the wading pool, water slide and the Hot Tub did not appear to be very clean. This campground is too large for my tastes.
Aug 05, 2013
Loved it - great facility, lots of activities. Need better signage along the way. Also # to call to report loud campers. Overall, positive!
Aug 05, 2013
Our family really enjoyed our stay at the Hill City KOA. My husband called it 'the Disney World of camping'. We went on the Chuckwagon dinner and horseback riding. Our kids rave about the horses saying it was their favorite thing on the whole trip. We have stayed at many camp locations and some other KOA's and this one was the best! Thanks.
Aug 05, 2013
Friendly & helpful staff. Wonderful amenities.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
We reserved a secluded site with trees, we ended up in the middle of the grounds. We had a septic line from a neighboring RV attach under our pcinic table. We were 10' from neighbors. The fire pit was unusable due to the fact that it was 5' from our camper. The showers and bathrooms were disgusting. There is Wifi but only near the main building (good luck connecting though).
Aug 05, 2013
Great campground for families
Aug 05, 2013
Dirty bathrooms, dirty showers. Some showers worked well while others did not work, flooded, etc. One shower had just been "cleaned" & it had a bottle cap & cotton swab on floor. BUT lots of great activities for the kids and family. Stores and kids play activities are open most of the day late into the night which was great and different than most campgrounds w/ limited hours. Great location.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Need to work on reservations better had to move 3 times because you did not get my reservation right when we called .
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Too Expensive, Sewer connections not placed within reach, no WiFI, no cable TV.
Aug 05, 2013
Very nice staff. Grounds are clean. Needs more bathrooms and showers as well as more cleaning in those facilties. In general, some updating/upgradind is needed in a few of the facilites.
Aug 05, 2013
Although the campground is one of our favorites this stay was not. We waited until 345p for check in, our cabin for $250 for the night was filthy. We had to clean kitchen, fridge and sweep before we could stay. Housekeeping staff young and not caring, left toilet tissue for paper towel in kitchen.Poor poor housekeeping, terrible service for $250 a night.Not worth the money at all.
Aug 05, 2013
It was fun with lots of variety for the kids and the bathrooms were very close to our cabin. We will definitely stay there again next summer. Loads of Fun!!
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
There were not enough showers, and the showers were dirty. Finding a campsite after dark in a KOA this size very difficult. Staff responsive and very courteous.
Aug 05, 2013
Great campground - lots for kids to do. I would stay here again.
Aug 05, 2013
Great family friendly campground. We will definitely be back soon!
Aug 05, 2013
Super great time! Very accomodating and excellent for kids of all ages.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
This KOA has grown way too much since we started staying there years ago. Cabins, tent/camper spots are too close together. Barely enough space to park and have room around the fire pit. TOO CLOSE, not enough personal space - we can hear all conversations through the cabin walls - not a good thing! Like sleeping in a parking lot, what happened to camping in the mountains?
Aug 04, 2013
Had a Premium site, very disappointed. Pull through flooded, muddy, not enough gravel! Grass, shrub area weedy and not kept up. Premium site not worth extra money.
Aug 04, 2013
Location was great. Cabin was ok. It was dusty and dirty sheets on the pull out. First morning we all had to use bath mats for towels as that was what was in our room. Shower leaked. We complained but nothing was done till the 3rd complaint. Stove was awful. Burners too small for large pots. Had to use small one to boil water and with 8 people had to do it 6 times. More to say but no more room
Aug 04, 2013
We had a great time! We will use this park in the future. I wish my site had cable, it was listed as "full" hookup. I didn't realize cable wasn't included. Wi-fi needs to be a bit more powerful for the amount of people in the campground.
Aug 04, 2013
Great stay, so much to do. I wish there weren't quite as many opportunities to spend money on extras like candy, alcohol, and toys. It was hard to tell the kids no everywhere we turned. :). Stayed in a deluxe cabin, it was great! Loved the secluded location. Will be back again!
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
We booked 2 nights and were under the impression that the "fun crap" package of 10$ per person was an option. We were charged 20$ for pool use, and the other kids fun zone crap, that we never used!!! BULLSHIT! YOU are scamming American travelers. Will NEVER stay here again and will not recommend. Rafter J is MUCH better cabins, cheaper and they do not charge you to use the pool.
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
This was a very fun family vacation. The location was fantastic and the facilities was very clean!
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
I felt like the overall campground was awesome, but our individual campsite left something to be desired.
Aug 04, 2013
Great campground. Plenty for the whole family to do. Quiet at night and great facilities. Close to everything.
Aug 04, 2013
Very convenient location, plenty of activities for the family, clean/warm showers. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Great value for our family and a great reason we stay at KOAs while on a road trip.
Aug 04, 2013
Awesome Location!
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
This was a great surprise. We pulled in late and were greeted with a pleasant smile and hello. The grounds offered more than expected and we are KOA members and have stayed in many places. None comparred to this stay. Excellent!
Aug 03, 2013
There was plenty to do. The staff were friendly and helpful. The forward comfort station could use updating. Better WiFi
Aug 03, 2013
It was a very nice place to stay. We had the poorest camp site of them all (571). Not even sure why they think this spot should be for a camper. Otherwise the place was amazing.
Aug 03, 2013
Loved all the fun things for kids and fabulous location, however, for the size of campground, this one needs more bathrooms!
Aug 03, 2013
Great location and staff. Only exception was the water in the pool and water slide was a little dirty, but the staff was working to clean it up. Lots to do at the KOA besides going to Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse monuments. Kid and animal friendly. Even had trash pickup.
Aug 03, 2013
Great Campground. Horrible Internet

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.