Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Just had a hard time finding our site and had to ask 3 people for help. Everything else went fine.
Aug 11, 2015
Beautiful, friendly staff and I would definitely go back!
Aug 11, 2015
Best Campground, we ever visited. Beautiful, clean, friendly staff, great activities.
Aug 11, 2015
We had a great stay. There are so many things for the kids to do, nice clean facilities, great stores! Perfectly located between all of the attractions in the surrounding area. We were disappointed because our cabin was clean, but there was no key at the time of check in so we had to wait an additional hour to get in. After traveling 500 miles, that was rough.
Aug 10, 2015
only there for 4 days but had an awesome time. Very nice employees' and very helpful. we will definitely be back.
Aug 10, 2015
Nice quiet area with no cell signal or WIFI to interrupt your stay.
Aug 10, 2015
it is always a pleasure to stay
Aug 10, 2015
Very enjoyable
Aug 10, 2015
only problem was camp site was not what i told it would be but bike week you make the best of things
Aug 10, 2015
Great place!
Aug 10, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at Mount Rushmore KOA. But the maintenance and cleanliness in the cabins could have been much better! The sink in the bathroom barely drained. The sheets and comforters on the beds had stains on them. The ceiling fans had a very thick layer of dust on them. The water was a yellow orange color. We could never drink it. These things made us feel uncomfortable about our stay.
Aug 10, 2015
Amazing staff, very helpful. The park was beautifully taken care of, we will be back in the future.
Aug 10, 2015
GREAT PLACE VERY CLEAN DURIGN STURGIS RALLY HAD A GREAT TIME
Aug 10, 2015
It would be great if you could boost the WiFi set up in your area
Aug 10, 2015
It was a great stay. The only downside to the stay was the restaurant. The food was not very good both times in the evenings and seriously over priced.But the campsites and bathrooms were very well maintained and clean. All the staff was very friendly.I would certainly stay there again, just not eat there again.
Aug 10, 2015
Excellent camp ground, have stayed there a couple of times. Will return in the future.
Aug 10, 2015
nice koa, little mix up asked for two cabins next to each other did not happen booked in jan. was not happy since the price was so high to stay there
Aug 10, 2015
Was not pleased that we were charged extra $20 for this campground. Traveling with 2 other families, told we were charged extra because we asked to be near each other. That is ridiculous. WE booked at many other KOAs without extra charge.
Aug 10, 2015
Great campground
Aug 10, 2015
Enjoyed the area tremendously. Wonderful time.
Aug 10, 2015
Very lively KOA, beautiful location
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
I love this place...I've stayed here three times. The showers are wonderful!!
Aug 10, 2015
With our family road trip vacation planned over a year ago and being from out of town, it was very disappointing to find we arrived during Sturgis. We managed to find a cabin with you for 2 nights, but the noise and disruption was disturbing for a family based campground. On a positive note, the step up to our cabin was way too high and when we notified you, maintenance was there within 30 minutes
Aug 10, 2015
very nice
Aug 10, 2015
Great campsite although campers are jammed in pretty tight. The resaurant was nice. We stayed during the Sturgis motorcycle rally unknowingly and that was a little aggravating. I also think the prices were jacked up because of it. Beautiful area and really appreciated the shuttle to the evening ceremony at Rushmore.
Aug 10, 2015
Great Location but the rate is the highest we have ever paid. We had reservations for 2 nights but noise from motor cycles was too much for us. We ask and received a refund for the second night.
Aug 10, 2015
Great
Aug 10, 2015
Very commercial and busy site.
Aug 10, 2015
Impressed by the accomodations
Aug 10, 2015
Fantastic. Clean, friendly and great activities for the kids.
Aug 10, 2015
We had a great trip. The KOA was fun, convenient, and beautiful.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Difficult navigating roads, especially in the dark. Roads in bad condition, expected paved roads to the sites. Staff was amazing, great to work with and to provide great area information.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Not nearly enough bathrooms for the amount of people. Our narrow campsite had little grass - and a large water tank.
Aug 10, 2015
Had a great time. Nice place
Aug 10, 2015
The tent site was extremely comfortable and the area was beautiful, staff was attentive and the ammenities were very well maintained and clean.
Aug 10, 2015
Our stay was very pleasant and there was always something to do. Its something we would like to do possibly again in another area eventually.
Aug 09, 2015
The issues that I have is the Very poor wireless Both Internet and cell... I have to do business while there every year and had to drive to Hill city to do my business taking away from time enjoying the resort and riding the Ralley. I have stayed with you at Palmer Gulch since 2002. Worst witless seen. Made me think about moving to different camp. Staff was fantastic but 1young male supervisor. Ru
Aug 09, 2015
The site was a bit wet but that was weather issues We also had no water 1 morning but again because of weather the water was dirty and probably plugged filters But it was resolved right away Campground overall very tidy great location and lots to do
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
It was excellent and we are going to come back next year. It will be our 10th year in a row. Thank you all at the Camp for making it an enjoyable stay.
Aug 09, 2015
Great campground store prices through the roof. Would recommend make sure you don't forget anything. Restrooms was not very well maintain was mud and hair left over a week.
Aug 09, 2015
It was incredible everything there was clean and very well maintained thanks for a wonderful week we will be back.
Aug 09, 2015
We loved it! So much to do especially for a family. We were there for the 75th Anniversary for Sturgis, but will stay again if we are in the area.
Aug 09, 2015
Had a great time. We were there ten years ago, this was our second time.Cant be better!
Aug 09, 2015
Poor rating due to the fact that we made reservations 10 months in advance to be told we cannot have the site we requested. The resort was very understaffed and not at all prepared for the busy week. We were very disappointed and will not return to this location.
Aug 09, 2015
Our campsite was so rocky and uneven it was difficult to walk without tripping. It rained and it became a mud pit. There was NO wifi even though you advertise an Internet cafe on the grounds. Ok campground for children and that's it. For the amount we were charged, it would have covered the cost of a hotel and we could have parked the RV in their parking lot!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals