Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 03, 2016
Amenities were fabulous and the kids enjoyed them all. However the campsite were way too close together. I felt very crowded
Jul 03, 2016
Great location and very kid friendly. Would definitely recommend this campground.
Jul 03, 2016
Wonderful cabin, great activities for the family and really close to Rushmore and Custer!
Jul 03, 2016
Absolutely ideal location to camp when visiting Mt. Rushmore. Terrific staff, lots of activities, spacious, clean and well kept. I highly recommend this facility. By far the best I have ever stayed at!!
Jul 03, 2016
Absolutely wonderful! Best campground ever!
Jul 03, 2016
Jul 03, 2016
The best KOA we've been too!
Jul 03, 2016
Way too expensive compared to other area campgrounds. $10 Resort fee is a ridiculous charge when you don't have time or intent to use their 'resort' facility. Might be fine if you intend to stay in the KOA, and not tour the Black Hills. If you're out Touring the Hills and sightseeing, there are better places to stay. Wi-Fi connection totally nonexistent, even in pavilion where the Wi-Fi tower is
Jul 03, 2016
Really nice campground, clean and a lot of services, too bad the internet is so poor, seems to be a real problem with all the KOA's
Jul 03, 2016
It was great. Shower water was lukewarm
Jul 03, 2016
This is a great family friendly site. The views were amazing. KOA staff was circulating throughout the facility to offer help, directions, and security. There were plenty of activities for our family to do. I wish we had the time to stay an additional night.
Jul 02, 2016
This was our first stay with you. We came with another family who have been to your camp grounds 3 times. What a great time we had as did our kids! Great accommodations! We had a great site ...our neighbor's were a bit close and we could hear them each morning, but we loved that our site was shaded most of the day. Thanks for a great time and super friendly staff! We will visit again. Jodi
Jul 02, 2016
Jul 02, 2016
Jul 02, 2016
GREAT, but firewood is to expensive
Jul 02, 2016
Jul 02, 2016
We stayed to go see Mount Rushmore. The facilities were great. The amenities were excellent. Be sure to reserve you chuck wagon dinner early cause it's great!
Jul 02, 2016
Jul 02, 2016
Jul 02, 2016
We loved everything about the campground. There was a ton of activities for my family to do and most importantly the campground was well taken care of. Bathrooms, showers, cabins and pool were very clean.
Jul 02, 2016
Jul 02, 2016
We loved our say at your KOA. It was, by far, the nicest one we've stayed at! All of the kids activities were awesome and proximity to Mt. Rushmore couldn't have been better.Better internet would be nice!
Jul 02, 2016
Jul 02, 2016
We enjoyed are stay there.I felt the campsites were to close together (sardine can).Location was great minutes to a lot of places.Bath houses were great well maintained.we will be back
Jul 02, 2016
Website address directed me to back gate. Sewage dump for site was slightly uphill.
Jul 02, 2016
Sad miniature golf. Things looked run down. Breakfast was fantastic. Staff were very kind and friendly.
Jul 02, 2016
Great time, lots of fun stuff for kids. Pool, splash Pad, mini golf, water slide and more. Only draw back is the lot sizes were small, we had to disconnect our toad, in a very uneven pull through
Jul 01, 2016
It was a good location, but awfully crowded. Perhaps a good location for a family interested in all the activities, but not for people looking for some quiet in the woods.
Jul 01, 2016
Prices are flat out OUT OF LINE in comparison to the property. No value here. Need to drop price point to match what the property is, "an average property". Also, how is it that your reservation center can't communicate with the actual property? What if there was an emergency? Saving grace is the pancake tent, kept you from a 1 star review.
Jul 01, 2016
The cell reception and internet are non functioning. When I am being charged a service fee per day for internet and other things i would expect that things would work. Unfortunately if you family needed to get a hold of you here, they are not able to. It was nice to have horse back riding at the campground. The kids had fun walking up daily and feeding and petting the horses.
Jul 01, 2016
Could not have been more enjoyable !
Jul 01, 2016
Jul 01, 2016
We love coming there, have been there at least a dozen years, off & on, first w/my sons & nephews, now w/my 60+ & 70+ yr. sis & brother. We will be back! One very important request, is there any way the campground can have a place to recycle plastic & aluminum? We love our earth :)
Jul 01, 2016
Our campsite was very small and hard to get into. This is a very busy campground but it has lots of amenities which my children enjoyed. It was hard to drive in and out of the campground because people walk down the middle of the road with no regard to cars around them. Overall it suited our needs as a stopover to visit Mt. Rushmore.
Jul 01, 2016
Super clean bathrooms and showers with no waiting. Great amenities. The kids loved it. The horsed and wranglers Erica and Jim were wonderful with our 8 year old granddaughter. If you need a place that is more than kid friendly, this is the place.
Jul 01, 2016
A very nice place to stay!
Jul 01, 2016
We stayed here for 3 nights and i have been amazed with the fun zone they have for kids. Bathroom and shower is AAA+
Jul 01, 2016
Organization and friendly staff is this KOA's strength.The people in the office were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Unfortunately, the bathrooms were filthy and so was the pool.
Jul 01, 2016
The kids loved it. The cabin was great. We will go again!
Jul 01, 2016
Very crowded for facilities to handle. Was backed into a mud hole for a parking spot, impossible to get in and out of camper without stepping in deep mud.
Jul 01, 2016
Clean, well kept and fun! Just know if you're looking for a wilderness camping experience this not the place. Sites are very close together and there are few trees in the camp itself.
Jul 01, 2016
Excellent campground! Full of activities and priced in a way as to not break the bank. My family was VERY impressed! We will definitely be back.
Jun 30, 2016
This campground has a lot of activities but is DIRTY. We were there for 8 days, the comfort station was constantly dirty and the trash bin was constantly overflowing with trash. Other than lack of cleanliness, it was a good place to stay.
Jun 30, 2016
We will most definitely come back to this KOA Camp Ground again. It was so full of so many things to do at this KOA LOVED IT
Jun 30, 2016
If you get the right campsite, and we did, this place is lots of fun. The kids are constantly entertained with things to do. The local stables are good. We love Mt. Rushmore National Monument and this is a great place to stay when visiting. It is crowded though so be prepared for that.
Jun 30, 2016
The rooms were so hot when we arrived, that it took several hours for it to cool off. No hair dryer as advertised.
Jun 30, 2016
We love staying at KOA's. You all had a great amount of extras that we truly enjoyed. Our camp sites were a little too close together though. Everything else was perfect.
Jun 30, 2016
Jun 30, 2016
Google maps brought us in from the rear entrance which made traversing the camp site confusing. Very little direction to the registration office in the dark, thankfully a staffer pointed us in the right direction.
Jun 30, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals