Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 04, 2015
Nice campground...but our spot was literally in a swamp with 4 inches of mud surrounding all the hookups and the pad. Staff was professional but not particularly helpful.
Aug 04, 2015
This maybe a good campground for parents with children but without Internet service at most sites, and no television or cellphone service it is hard to recommend this place to older folks except as a stop over spot for visits to Mt Rushmore. On the positive side it is a pretty setting. We stayed in a full service spot.
Aug 04, 2015
Awesome KOA
Aug 04, 2015
Need more shuttle service from remote sites to areas around park
Aug 04, 2015
Noce very large KOA. Very close to Mt Rushmore
Aug 04, 2015
There is a lot of fun things to do there and the people who work there treated us great!
Aug 03, 2015
Wonderful campground, I would have given it a 5 star, but the sights are quite small, otherwise, there is a ton for kids to do all day, a wonderful place to stay, and would recommend to everyone.
Aug 03, 2015
professional...organized...well maintained. Nice area.
Aug 03, 2015
lot of things for families to do. not real motorcycle friendly. parking for motorcycle was not convenient.
Aug 03, 2015
Nice campground for a family vacation, many activities to keep children busy and a good location for visiting interesting sights in the surrounding area.
Aug 03, 2015
Great location..lots of activities for the kids. Our favorite part was the pancake breakfast...and catching the pancakes :-) . The only negative was they were having women's rest room issues when we were there.
Aug 03, 2015
Un seul problème on nous a déclassé sans pré avis pour nous localiser dans un espace trop petit pour notre roulotte suite à notre mécontentement on nous installe sur un site de qualité inférieure à ce que nous avions demandés ils nous ont chargé un prix moindre mais je suis quand même beaucoup decue
Aug 03, 2015
a huge kaon but had a smaller feel very well run wish wifi would have been available at site
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Reservation for 6 nights, stayed 4. Overall a typical KOA with sites very close together and packed in tightly. This KOA is very large with NOT enough staff to tend to it. The amount of taffice in/out daily requires twice the staff they had. Dirty showers and bathrooms were the norm. The staff overall were helpful, but many were not. Very poor directions from check in staff re lot location/no help
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Had a great time. Campsite and comfort station were clean and organized!! Staff very helpful and friendly.
Aug 03, 2015
Our fifth wheel site was fine. The problem was the tent site. We had two and they were both in low lying areas. It rained and the tents were in the path of water running across the road. Other tents were also flooded. We had actually changed from the first site as it was in tall grass and obvious that rain ran through it also. If there is not a tent site available just so:(
Aug 03, 2015
Very clean, , laundry facilities are below par, not recommended. If you want wifi or cell service spotty if any. The pool facilities are great, we are traveling with grandchildren and this place was made for them. We have a 40 ft towing and it was easy in out.
Aug 03, 2015
Enjoyed the stay..dissatisfied with the fire pit location
Aug 03, 2015
This KOA is amazing. The only thing I could say where it needs improvement is their cell phone reception. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend anyone to stay there.
Aug 03, 2015
We had the best time and the KOA was awesome!
Aug 03, 2015
one of the best KOA,plenty of things for kids, great staff, 2nd time here, gets better everytime
Aug 03, 2015
We love this KOA (5 years in a row). They have made great improvements every year. But this year we had a few issues. Two different days we had cold showers(stayed 4 days). And the water at the RV site and in the bathrooms was discolored(light brown and had an odor). Not sure what caused these issues but the overall facility is very good.
Aug 03, 2015
It was good fun with lots of things to do in the camp but also in a great location for the local sites.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Rustic cabin was clean and shower/toilet facility was acceptable given the campground was packed. Staff was accomodating and pleasant. Convenient and scenic location.
Aug 03, 2015
It was a very nice campground, very quiet at night. Alot of stuff to do and close to the places that we wanted to go and see. Liked the shuttle to Mt Rushmore so much easier than driving there ourselves. Enjoyed watching the horses being taken to and from the riding stables it was really cool to watch.
Aug 03, 2015
Great place in Black Hills with a ton of things to do for the kids. Treed spots are nice but like most KOAs you are pretty close to your neighbour. I would have given 5 stars but our site wasn't level at all. Great service though, when we needed more levelling boards they gave us a free 2x6 board to cut down into what we needed.
Aug 03, 2015
We were there with family and friends. Our campsite was on a slope so made getting in and out of camper a little difficult. Camp water was worse than we've ever seen it and had to go someplace else and run good clear water thru our whole water system to flush out the brown residue. Campsites are expensive for what we get and do. May not stay again.
Aug 03, 2015
I thought the Rushmore KOA was a good fit for my family because of all of the stuff we could do on the resort, but our campground was sloped and there was no grass. Also, I didn't think the pools were kept very clean & showers needed more hooks for clothes and towels.
Aug 03, 2015
A lot of things to do. Atvs were awesome. Kids loved riding the horses. Showers were great
Aug 03, 2015
Great service and located right in the middle of everything we wanted to visit
Aug 03, 2015
My family of 4 stayed here for 4 nights. The location in relationship to Mount Rushmore was perfect. The food at the Ponderosa restaurant was surprisingly good for a campground. The reason we cannot rate this five stars are because of the shower facilities, the non-existant wi-fi, and the rudeness of a few people. Stopped at 7 different KOA's over the past 10 days. Showers here the worst.
Aug 03, 2015
What a lovely place. The staff is so friendly and respectful. We truly enjoyed the daily events centered around children's enjoyment. The bathrooms were clean including the entire campground. The fresh flowers are an added bonus. We would love to come back and our kids were sad to go. We will recommend this KOA to everyone who is looking for a fantastic family vacation. Thank you
Aug 03, 2015
The tent site was nice but the resort fee was not ($10 a day) and for what??? All the camp bathrooms and showers were absolutely filthy. Trash and human waste left in the stalls for days and a thick film of mold with filth mixed in. When we complained to the manager and showed photos he offered a few days refund but that's not what we wanted we want the problem resolved. Clean up your act!!!!!!!!!
Aug 03, 2015
Good activities for kids, good location, glad we could reserve it, but OMG too crowded! While we were sleeping in our tent (site481) our neighbors built a giant fire in their fire pit. It was just feet from us. We could've gone up in flames!
Aug 03, 2015
This was my second stay at this KOA. The lodge/cabin I stayed in last year was wonderful. This time we camped in a tent and our site was very small and there was not much grass so everything got muddy. I probably wouldn't recommend the tent camping here.
Aug 03, 2015
Had a great time. Grateful for the roof over our heads when the cloud burst surprised us at 3 in the morning! Such a beautiful area.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
There's no phone service, no WiFi, and no over-night patrol to keep people from partying all night. They say there's WiFi but it will not let you get to the internet. There are fewer toilets/showers than there should be and theyre always dirty. Otherwise, this is a good campground and in a great location to get everywhere. Ive been here twice but I wont pick this place again.
Aug 03, 2015
Great stay ! There's nothing they don't have and the pancakes were great!
Aug 03, 2015
Nice facility Bathrooms clean and sites good size I did NOT like that you had to go to office for wifi or that no quiet hours were enforced-- there were loud motorcycles after midnite and before 6am
Aug 02, 2015
Very good area for the grandkids to play .close to everything in the Black Hills
Aug 02, 2015
We really had a wonderful time and would stay here again if we come back to the Black Hills area.
Aug 02, 2015
Lots of activity for the kids...but the wifi HOT spots (not even available unless you take a trip) were a JOKE. We have used primarily KOA campgrounds on this trip but this has now been the THIRD or FOURTH KOA that advertised Wifi that was a JOKE!! EVERY camper we spoke with has complained about this being a real problem on the road. I am guessing they don't really care because of locations!
Aug 02, 2015
Positives:lovely amenities: stables, snack/coffee/wine shops, restaurant, firepits, pools, events. Negatives: NO CELL OR WIFI SERVICE AT SITE! Truck needed service asap in Rapid City, comp office telephone made it difficult to connect with busy business.Car rental dirty inside/out, dog hair, mothball smell, allergic wife incurred hives,refunded. Don't stay here if you need connection to world!
Aug 02, 2015
Had an awesome time! Excellent staff!
Aug 02, 2015
Other than the hail storm everything was great!!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.