Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 19, 2015
Employees were all very nice and helpful. It is a beautiful park. The prices were a little high due to the fact that WiFi only worked when we were close to the office and cell service was not available. However, they did provide a phone in the office to use for free. Beautiful area!!!
Sep 19, 2015
Sep 18, 2015
The entrance was very nice and people that work there were very nice. Need to fix concrete pads, fix lawn furniture and trim the lots. Was close to points of interest. over all we enjoyed our stay.
Sep 18, 2015
Sep 18, 2015
Location is great. Staff helpful, clean and well kept.
Sep 18, 2015
Beautiful and clean park, we enjoyed are stay. crappy wi-fi though, need to work on that.
Sep 18, 2015
Because of rain upgraded to a cabin. No chair at table, WiFi signal too weak and thought price was high for off season.
Sep 18, 2015
very nice campground. Clean and enjoyed the polkagalooza
Sep 18, 2015
Our second stay. We feel,the rate was too high for closed amenities and Iron water that we couldn't drink. No cell signal and no wifi at sites.
Sep 18, 2015
Loved it all, except for the brown water?
Sep 18, 2015
I would have given you a 5 star rating if it wouldn't have been for the Ladies Bath House. The stalls were so narrow it was either straddle the commode or squeeze between the commode and wall to get the door open. The bathhouse door had been propped open all day so by night time the vanity was full of bugs, both dead and alive. Not an appetizing way to brush one's teeth.
Sep 18, 2015
Great friendly staff. Thought The spaces were told close and noisy.
Sep 17, 2015
Beautiful park with so much to do.
Sep 17, 2015
Outstanding park with terrific employees. We will return!
Sep 17, 2015
This is one of the nicest KOAs we have stayed in!
Sep 16, 2015
Top notch facility. Best in the west.
Sep 16, 2015
Awesome place - center to all of Black Hills - there are correct on web site - don't trust your GPS - be sure to pay attention to directions on HWY 244 - it gets really dark in Hills at night nice sites, nice showers - great stay grate activity place breakfast under tent was totally convienient
Sep 16, 2015
I understand it wqs Labor Day weekend,but too busy for our taste. Late night noise next site. Quiet time not enforced. Camper in next site left.
Sep 16, 2015
Campgrounds were clean and tidy. The staff was always helpful. The only negative was the restaurant. The staff was awesome the food left a lot to be desired. The cocktails were perfect. This is an opportunity to make a restaurant shine. The friendly staff can not make up of substandard food
Sep 16, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at Mt. Rushmore KOA. It is a large park in a beautiful setting. The staff was courteous and friendly. I understand the park has little to do with the lack of cell phone reception however the lack of Wi-Fi throughout the park can and should be remedied by the park. The pull through spaces were a little short for todays longer RVs forcing most to park their tow/pull vehicle
Sep 16, 2015
Totally Awesome place! We highly recommend this place!
Sep 16, 2015
Beautiful resort. Restrooms are big and gorgeous. Spaces could be longer so you don't park on the grass.
Sep 15, 2015
Relaxing, Friendly, Quite & Well Maintained
Sep 15, 2015
I reserved a site and informed this KOA that I was bringing our 2 little dogs along. The dog park/dog run was absolutely horrible. The grass was not trimmed, lots of weeds, a broken teeter totter and the poop bags were not located in the dog run. I did not take my dogs to this dog run after seeing it once for fear of either snakes, fleas or ticks in the long un-kept grass. Dogs are not welcomed.
Sep 15, 2015
The campgrounds were very well maintained. The employees at the campground were very helpful.
Sep 15, 2015
wish three things - 1) that their most expensive sites were not directly in front of the screaming kids zone all day and well into the night. 2) That you could get a coffee before 8:00am and a wine after 8:00pm from the café 3)that the roads between the sites were paved instead of dirt.
Sep 15, 2015
Why is the resort fee on when most activities end Labor day. Why is it when we called and asked for 228 we were told 100-301 was closed because they were going to be working on the water, There were campers the whole time we stayed. Did not make us happy campers this year. Everything was closed this year, kind of disappointing.
Sep 15, 2015
I can't say anything bad about this location it was great in all areas
Sep 15, 2015
We tented and arrived late at night the staff made sure we where able to find our location and the showers fantastic experience thanks again
Sep 15, 2015
Sep 14, 2015
Love it, love it, although I think they should at least have the coffee shop, ice cream shop, etc open past Labor Day. The campground was very busy but both were closed
Sep 14, 2015
My family and I have been staying at the Mount Rushmore KOA since I was a kid and have always loved it! This time was the first time we were staying in what is considered "off season" I wish we would've been notified of all the things that wouldn't have been available this time of year. I was dissapointed in the service while checking in. The lady helping us was rude as if we were an inconvenience
Sep 14, 2015
We enjoyed this campground immensely. The only thing that would really make this site perfect is the lack of cell service and WIFI connection. I have a cell phone booster and a portable WIFI service in my motorhome but had no connectivity at all.
Sep 14, 2015
There was food and empty containers in our spot when we arrived but it was the end of a busy weekend so I know it was difficult to cover all the work. Wish some of the venues had stayed open after Labor Day. But at least you kept the restaurant open so thank you for that!!!
Sep 14, 2015
Very disappointed that we did not know all kids activities were closed for the year. On the mobile site, it is only listed in very small print at the very bottom of the activities page. I have a call in to the manager concerning this issue.
Sep 14, 2015
Nice site but way to expensive for the service you do not get! First bad experience was with the concierge Diane from Pennsylvania. Asked her why the charge for dogs Her response was because people don't pick up after them Well your dog park is rundown and has no poppy bags. Second bad experience was we got stuck with a spot next to the fly infested trash dumpster. Had no cable TV or WiFi.
Sep 14, 2015
Sep 14, 2015
Check in personnel were more concerned with promoting activities planned for that night. No cable with full hookups. Overall KOA prices are getting to high for the one or two night camper. You seem to be catering to a longer stay camper.
Sep 13, 2015
sure does have a lot of things for the kids, I just wish we could have been just a little farther away from the kids play area (pool, splash pad, pillow pad) so not as loud. but at quite time it got quite that is for sure. A lot of great features like the car rentals right there at the park, very nice restaurant. the store/office had just about everything you needed. All the help was great.
Sep 13, 2015
What an experience. Great for kids and adults as well. Only complaint is making reservations by phone/they don't answer-tried 4 times before making on line. Advertise WIFI but don't say you have to walk over two blocks to get to hot spot.
Sep 13, 2015
Over priced since all the amenities were closed for the season. Small sites. nice restrooms and s good restaurant but I would checkout other parks before this one.
Sep 13, 2015
Sep 12, 2015
Too far from the bathroom
Sep 12, 2015
Overall, excellent. Staff was helpful and activities were fun. However, wifi didn't work at either hotspot location, and finding our assigned camp spot was difficult; labels were confusing.
Sep 12, 2015
Beautiful clean grounds with many amenities and close to several attractions in the area.
Sep 12, 2015
We called to reserve a spot as we were vacationing and moving. Specifically requested a long site to park both vehicles and both trucks. Arrived to a sight that wouldn't even fit one truck and the tent camper. They did give us a bigger site but kinda acted like they were doing us a favor by giving us an upgrade free of charge. When in all actuality that is what I had requested to start with.
Sep 11, 2015
Something must be done with your water. The sand and iron in the water stains the clothes in the washing machines. Can't drink it as it comes out the faucet brown Other than that I had a good time.
Sep 11, 2015
great place to stay. Great views. Easy access to MT Rushmore.
Sep 11, 2015
Was disappointed to be told no Veteran's discount when your website stated that you offered one. Otherwise, extremely pleased with the experience. The Ponderosa Restaurant was great. The staff and food was A-1. Dave Mohr Chamberlain, SD
Sep 11, 2015
It was family friendly and there was something to do for everybody. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Facilities were excellent.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals