Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 02, 2015
Very good area for the grandkids to play .close to everything in the Black Hills
Aug 02, 2015
We really had a wonderful time and would stay here again if we come back to the Black Hills area.
Aug 02, 2015
Lots of activity for the kids...but the wifi HOT spots (not even available unless you take a trip) were a JOKE. We have used primarily KOA campgrounds on this trip but this has now been the THIRD or FOURTH KOA that advertised Wifi that was a JOKE!! EVERY camper we spoke with has complained about this being a real problem on the road. I am guessing they don't really care because of locations!
Aug 02, 2015
Positives:lovely amenities: stables, snack/coffee/wine shops, restaurant, firepits, pools, events. Negatives: NO CELL OR WIFI SERVICE AT SITE! Truck needed service asap in Rapid City, comp office telephone made it difficult to connect with busy business.Car rental dirty inside/out, dog hair, mothball smell, allergic wife incurred hives,refunded. Don't stay here if you need connection to world!
Aug 02, 2015
Had an awesome time! Excellent staff!
Aug 02, 2015
Other than the hail storm everything was great!!!
Aug 02, 2015
This campground has a lot of activities, places to eat, drink. Everything was though so we could have a nice time. But it is very large and we prefer human size places. also may I suggest that the restrooms would be in an different place than the sink where we brush our teeth, I'm sure you understand why.
Aug 02, 2015
Loved this campground! Plenty for kids and adults to do. Our only complaint was our waitress in the restaurant for breakfast two separate days (older white thin woman. Never smiled, service was terrible, had to tell the hostess we were leaving before she personag got our drinks for us. What was so difficult about 3 waters and an iced tea...). The evening wItresses were great as was the food.
Aug 02, 2015
Great place, lots of kids stuff, water at the site was unusable but there are cooking and dishwashing area close by
Aug 02, 2015
Lots of fun!
Aug 02, 2015
Great stop for kids. So many fun activities. Central location to all attractions.
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
We have stayed here for many years. Love this koa
Aug 02, 2015
The staff are all wonderful. The kids had a ball. I didn't even mind being overrun with Harleys.
Aug 02, 2015
Our stay was Great! The staff were fun. Plenty to do at the facility. We had a great vacation.
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Everyone there was super nice, and, as always, we love eating at the Ponderosa. Thank you, everyone, for making our stay fun and memorable!
Aug 02, 2015
Great place to stay. Lots of things to do for the kids and close to Rushmore. Would be nice to have a life guard at the pools :-)
Aug 02, 2015
Didn't realize it was a "resort" when we booked. Felt the daily rate was high, then to be charged an amenities fee was unexpected. Since we didn't use any of the "amenities" except the pool, we felt like we were being taken advantage of. Wouldn't stay there again. Prefer the smaller, family oriented KOAs.
Aug 02, 2015
It was great, just not long enough of a stay for us to really enjoy. Would love to come back again!!
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Their is a lot to do on site. Great time
Aug 02, 2015
We had a great time and wished we could stay longer! We hope to come back again soon. We loved the convenient location and all the fun camp ground activities. The only thing that I would change is the wifi connection reliability. I didn't mind not having a phone connection, but I did need to make contact with family.
Aug 02, 2015
Fantastic! Did not have enough time to enjoy everything....have to return 😀 Thanks KOA!!
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
.
Aug 01, 2015
Great experience. Friendly staff, more than enough things to do for the kids, clean facilities, easy in and out for the RV.
Aug 01, 2015
It was just beautiful! Everyone was very helpful and very present! We want to come back soon!! Everything cernterally located. Perfect
Aug 01, 2015
Loved this KOA. The only downs I saw were when we ordered a cheeseburger from the fast food place and it was missing cheese, the young man grabbed it and handed it to me without gloves or anything. Kind of gross. And while it advertised wifi, it did not work at all. (We were told that's the norm) With no cell reception there, this was a big down for us. Everything else was great. The kids loved it
Aug 01, 2015
this campground was excellent everything you would ever need to enjoy your vacation is right here. very very comfortable and enjoyable
Aug 01, 2015
Great place to stay. Very family friendly. But in today's world they should have cell phone and wifi service. Absolutely zero wifi and cell phone service. Otherwise a wonderful campground.
Aug 01, 2015
This was a great stay, however I need to say that it is absolutely ridiculous that they advertise wifi. No cell signal and no wifi and we walked all over the resort. There were poor grandparents trying to find a place to skype and even at the coffee shop and main lodge we could not get anything. It was a great stay for families as there is a lot to do for kids. We enjoyed our cabin and the showers
Aug 01, 2015
Beautiful campground! Lots of activities for kids, teens, and adults. Very clean. Courteous staff. We enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely return for a future stay. Thanks for the great experience!
Aug 01, 2015
WONDERFUL!The Hail Storm added to our adventures in the Black Hills!
Aug 01, 2015
Very nice camp ground. Well kept bathrooms! The grass needed to be cut and terrible problem with rodents around our cabin. Need to take care of the gopher problem!!!!
Aug 01, 2015
Great location, super kid friendly, will do it again. Staff and support personnel were great as well
Aug 01, 2015
We enjoyed our stay! So much for kids to do! We would come back and the kids asked when! The dryers were not working in our area so I went to another one. Not enough bathrooms and showers for the campground either. We always waited. The one water slide needs to be fixed/updated/or more water pressure. You go down at a snails pace. Definitely a disappointment.
Aug 01, 2015
Loved the campground. Staff very friendly.
Aug 01, 2015
Love the central location to so many attraction in the Black Hills, and the number of activities for the kids
Aug 01, 2015
Tent sites are cramped, site we were in there was a large SUV (KOA worker had a trailer parked in the vehicle spot) parked in the grass on our site, we were forced to put tents on the neighboring site.
Aug 01, 2015
Friendly, clean and lots for kids to do at the campground. We loved it.
Aug 01, 2015
Wow,just wow!
Aug 01, 2015
Very nice camping grounds! We loved it and plan on going back there.
Jul 31, 2015
For a campground this size and during the busiest time, I would rate it about an 8. They definitely need more washers and dryers. The visitors did a good job with the 10 mph speed limit, but some of the young KOA workers drove too fast. The KOA did do an excellent job of repairing the roads after the hail/rain storm. I was impressed with that!
Jul 31, 2015
Great place. Great people. Unfortunately we couldn't stsy longer tonseize all tje attrations of this kamp
Jul 31, 2015
The campground was incredibly crowded and packed in,there is very little space between you and the next camper. The bathrooms are very limited and not easily accessible. We stayed up on the hill in the 500's and with my mom and her bad knee along with small kids we had to drive to the bathrooms each time, especially in the middle of the night. The WiFi NEVER worked even at the internet cafe.
Jul 31, 2015
Outstanding. Awesome staff! Love the fresh flowers.
Jul 31, 2015
All good, however the sewer is up hill? Tree over grown couldn't put out the awning. You have a lot of activity for the whole family really like that.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.