Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 31, 2014
Very nice campground. Well kept, lots of activities and very friendly staff. None better!
Jul 31, 2014
Most amazing KOA we've been to. Now my boys have high expectations that may never be met again!
Jul 31, 2014
very busy, was moved 3 times but very clean and nice.
Jul 31, 2014
HUGE Campground, well stoked and well run. CLOSE to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse + everything else. LOTS fo do in Cmpgd.
Jul 31, 2014
Lots of things to do but we paid extra for wifi and it didn't work at all. Even outside was useless.
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
I can't understand the mentality of stabling horses next to the eating areas. The stench was overwelming! I will not be coming back.
Jul 30, 2014
Far and away the worst KOA stayed at. We booked a tent site. Because they had overbooked there was a pickup truck, towable RV and boat trailer in our site when we came back. Staff said we had to share. There was not even room for my car left and had to park several hundred yards away. Our RV neighbors drank, smoked and partied less than 10 feet from our tent. Staff would not do anything. No sleep.
Jul 30, 2014
Lots of fun things to do at this KOA The Resort is ok, the horse rides were less than expected. Great base camp for exploring the black hills. Breakfast was good, just get there early or wait a while.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
This is our second year staying and we look forward to the third!
Jul 30, 2014
This KOA is a great place to stay if you're visiting the area. It would also be a great destination spot. The kids loved all the activities provided. Facilities seemed fairly well maintained. The only complaint would be that the woman running the horses went right by our site every morning at 6:00 (during quiet hours) and was whooping and hollering extremely loudly.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
The stay was great but they need to do something about the internet.
Jul 30, 2014
Well, when we booked our cabin. We received confirmation that the cabin would include large secluded wooden deck. That was not the case.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
My wife, my grandson, and I had a great time. We wish we could have stayed longer. We do plan a longer stay in the future. We got turned around while on our way there. KOA people, on the phone, did a great job of helping us find our way. A wonderful bunch of people! MT. Rushmore had so many things to do and is so close to a variety of other activities!
Jul 30, 2014
This resort comes exactly as advertised. More expensive than most KOA's but a TON of stuff to do. We never left the campsite for 2 days.
Jul 30, 2014
Had a great time! Kids loved the Ghost Ride & swimming pools. Only downside was privacy. Felt campers were a bit too close together. Thank you for having us!!
Jul 30, 2014
Extremely busy & crowded. Man escorted us to our spot & someone was in it. Instead of sending us to a new spot had to drive my rig back to office & stand in long line again. Moved us one spot over. Water in laundry so brown (from iron) it blotched & ruined a $60 white sweatshirt. Daughter had a hair in her nachos from small onsite deli. Laundry and showers rooms filthy. Wouldn't go back.
Jul 30, 2014
very busy campground. Lots of things to do for kids. The mini golf course should be upgraded. It looks very old and not maintained.
Jul 30, 2014
Our stay would have been so much better with reliable internet service which you advertised
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Too many people, not kept up well, too noisy with garbage trucks and dump trucks at 7am, water in pool at water slide was dirty, pool was closed, and everything too expensive for what you get.
Jul 30, 2014
Had a wonderful time & this KOA made it great! There is tons to do, and we stayed in a nice cabin for the family reunion. Highly recommend this place!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Wow. So much to do. Extremely friendly staff! Thank you!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
This park was just too big for me. Of course I was there during peak season. The facilities were nice but the constant traffic gave the impression of being in grand central station. We paid extra for cable and it never worked.
Jul 29, 2014
I liked the KOA office and all that it had to offer. Our camp site left a little to be desired. For the money we spent to stay there I expected better. When it rained nearly all of our site was flooded and the site was so small we where walking out our door and stepping on the neighbors cords and hoses and I wouldn't have wanted them to build a fire as close as they where to my camper.
Jul 29, 2014
Friendly and courteous staff. Convenient location to all the sites. Quiet peacefull nights. Many activities for all ages. On our return trip we will ride the four-seat bike and take a trail ride. We were also impressed the politeness of the other campers, including the children. A lot of good people! See you all again next year:)
Jul 29, 2014
Great campground. Staff is always great.
Jul 29, 2014
WiFi did not work. Was told to many people using it. Dont say there is WiFi if it doesnt work. Everything else was great.
Jul 29, 2014
Mount Rushmore was an amazing KOA. So much fun stuff to do there. Only negative thing is our tent site was not the greatest. The site was on a hill, so we had to sleep at an angle.
Jul 29, 2014
Our family stayed in the camping cabin for a week. It was a wonderful place to spend our vacation. The park is centrally located, which is wonderful. The bathrooms, showers and laundry were are all close and convenient. The pool, splash pad, rock wall were a hit with the kids. The camp ground and staff were all wonderful. We will be going back again next year!!
Jul 29, 2014
Wonderful trip to SD. This was my kids first REAL camping trip and this KOA had soooo much stuff for them to do. The only complaint that I really had was the spaces were so close together. Fun Zone was awesome, good pancakes and love the daily activities for the kids.
Jul 29, 2014
Too crowded. Spaces too close together. Too many gnats. Bathroom and showers were disgusting. Price was way too high when considering what you receive for the price. They charged us extra for our dog. I would not recommend this RV park when there are dozens of nicer ones (we moved to Crooked Creek outside of Hill City which was nicer and much less expensive) and will not stay there again.
Jul 29, 2014
Everyone was friendly and very helpful. Enjoyed being able to rent a car on site as well everything else that was available to rent. My family really enjoyed staying there.
Jul 29, 2014
We had a wonderful time staying with you! It is our 3rd time staying and we will definitely be back. You are in a great location, are very clean, family friendly and we had a great stay! THANKS!!
Jul 29, 2014
I was promised cable hookups when I made reservations but was told after check in that cable was not available on most of their sites and they did not have any left. They have an additional mandatory charge for activities but they were only available for a limited amount of time. One of the two pools was green and water slide was closed for repairs. Numerous other problems.
Jul 29, 2014
Fun for the entire family! We traveled with our two and nine year old. Both kids had a blast. Thank you to all of the staff members who made our weekend enjoyable.
Jul 29, 2014
Loved this KOA. So much to do, my son said he was "in heaven"! I, for one, appreciated the lack of technology -- it forced me to relax! Thank you!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
The only complaint I have is that the water in the pools and water slid were very dirty
Jul 29, 2014
This is our absolute favorite KOA. It is hard to find one that comes close. We tell everyone that talks about camping that they must make a trip to Mt. Rushmore.
Jul 29, 2014
Friendly service, tons of stuff to do (as if the area didn't offer enough)all in a lovely setting. Had a blast. My first vaycay as a widow with my kids. It was great.
Jul 29, 2014
This is the most discussing koa I have ever been in! We are older adults that choose koa for the clean restrooms and good shower houses. These were filthy and most of the showere were moldy and paint peeling. Called manager and got no return call. Free wifi was not anywhere in the park. Told to go stand on a hillside and maybe we could get it.HA! Would never stay here and not recommend !!!!!!
Jul 28, 2014
Great place to not only stay over on your way, but a great place to stay! So sorry we just had one night. The kids would have loved to do all the fun things in the camp ground.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.