Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 08, 2015
The deluxe cabin was very clean. Everything that you need to make the stay comfortable was supplied.
Jul 08, 2015
Jul 08, 2015
Had a nice time. Our granddaughter loved it. So much for her to do.
Jul 08, 2015
This KOA is awesome! Great location to everything. There is no internet or phone service until you are in the next town but there is plenty to keep you busy. The pizza place is great and fudge shop fantastic! The all you can eat pancakes are good but the service is not that good- If you have any allergies they can't tell you what's in their food? Stay was great, I would return.
Jul 08, 2015
You need to have a better way so family's can have sites together. I included a note on my reservations that I wanted 2 sites together and when we checked in they said there were no sites together yet the site next to mine had new campers in it almost every day or was empty the time we were there. The check in person was not willing to move someone or help us in any other way. We camped for 5 days
Jul 08, 2015
Nice setting, loads of activities for families and kids!
Jul 08, 2015
Enjoyed our 2 overnight stay, very well organised for the size of the site Thank you
Jul 08, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay and will return. Could have done without the noisy neighbors up all night playing music though.
Jul 08, 2015
it was brief but this is a very cool koa. Maybe there could be a more direct path from the cabins to the bathroom, but I was just happy to be in a beautiful campground in the beautiful black hills.
Jul 08, 2015
Cabin 101 was literally feet from a main road. Even though the posted speed limit was 10 mph no one drove that slow. Especially the employees -- they came flying up and down the road in golf carts and vans. Was NOT a quiet or relaxing cabin. Bathrooms were filled with bugs and NO toilet paper.
Jul 08, 2015
Combat camping at its finest. Tent site with no hookups had no shade. Kids running and riding through my site, which is a big no no where I come from. Restaurant service was poor. Drunks in the hot tub. Closest water spigot in the middle of a stream.
Jul 08, 2015
We enjoyed the stay at My. Rushmore KOA. However, the 2 issues we had were, our campsite was too small and narrow for our camper and there were no bathroom/shower facilities on the hill where our campsite was located, they were all where the larger campsites were located. We had to drive to use the facilities.
Jul 08, 2015
Lots to do clean bathrooms and cabin my kids loved their horseback ride awesome place
Jul 08, 2015
We had a blast, met so many wonderful people and our grandkids had so much fun. We will be back and tell others about your KOA!!!!!
Jul 08, 2015
Rainy night of stay, but the employees were ever so kind and thorough about making sure they give best information about all facilities. Very nice place!
Jul 08, 2015
We had a great stay. There is so much to do and it is very family friendly.
Jul 08, 2015
Great location and lots to do. The food in the ice cream shop was ok -- ice cream was good! Coffee shop very cute and employees nice. Problem: The booking place did not tell us the cabin did not have sheets! But thank goodness, the front desk helped us find some!! thank you!!!
Jul 08, 2015
So much to do!
Jul 08, 2015
Clean and lots to do.
Jul 07, 2015
We had a great reunion with 53 people in attendance. 51 were staying on site. The amenities are wonderful. My only negative comment would be that the shelter could use some fixing up-especially the weather curtains and the floor. Otherwise, wonderful!!
Jul 07, 2015
Restrooms with showers toward the front of your complex needs to be updated otherwise everything was great
Jul 07, 2015
Advertise wi-fi and didn't work. Would think for price charged to stay you could afford to update. Need wi-fi or cell service to plan excursions.
Jul 07, 2015
Water in pools was freezing cold. Chuck Wagon drove through campground and not as advertised, huge disappointment for the expense. 2 bedroom cabins are barely maintained, deck was falling apart.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
Great facility with tons of stuff to occupy the kids. This is aside from all of the things to do in the area. There were days the kids wanted to stop sightseeing and go back to the fun zone, or to fish or ride horses. Great place highly recommended. Also there was NO phone service so it was a true vacation.
Jul 07, 2015
We had a great stay! we will return. The staff and management were wonderful and all the amenities were wonderful
Jul 07, 2015
It was overcrowded, muddy everywhere, no wifi.....the worst was the mud. We couldn't leave the motor home. We traveled from New Jersey to California and have stayed in many KOAs. This was the only disappointing one. The staff service wasn't great either. Long lines and not very helpful.
Jul 07, 2015
Great family fun. Could spend a week just at the site.
Jul 07, 2015
Very family friendly! Excellent place for kids of any age. UTV rentals were very fun.
Jul 07, 2015
IT was great
Jul 07, 2015
Everything was great. The only complaint was the water slide was broken as well as the hottub.
Jul 07, 2015
I thought our stay was excellent. My only negative feedback would be the tight accessibility to park in the medium to large sized trailer spots. Other than that, I would make the Palmer Gulch KOA a repeate visit every time we visit SD due to the outstanding location and staff.
Jul 07, 2015
I was disappointed that the wifi didn't work at all. I understand the campground was full, but it is difficult to look up area event info with no wifi and limited cell phone signal. Don't advertise that you have it if you can't provide wifi in your busiest season! I was also disappointed that there was only one garbage can for pet waste. It wasn't emptied in days and located in a busy area. Yuck!
Jul 07, 2015
Everything was fun and well-kept. One exception-WIFI. In three days neither us or any other campers we talked with could access the WIFI. You need to be truthful. There is no wifi at your campground. People might be just fine about that, but advertizing/posting that you have wifi is wrong. You don't.
Jul 07, 2015
No cellphone service. Wifi signal practically non-existant. Drive a few miles out of camp to get a signal. Horseback Riding was fun. Pretty clean. Firewood was awful, not dry at all. Neither I nor my neighboring camps could get it to burn. Sit-down Restaurant was okay. Mozzarella sticks were great. Blue cheese burger, too much sauce, not enough cheese for my tastes but okay.
Jul 07, 2015
A big shout out to Dylan for the excellent customer service for helping getting us moved to a site that our camper would fit in. I made our reservation with the call center and they put us in a site that our 5th wheel wouldn't fit. I would suggest that the people from the call center have a little more knowledge of the sites. Also ALL of your staff should be on the same page with your pet policy.
Jul 07, 2015
It's a campground for kids, not adults. With 2 pools, one should be adults only. WiFi was advertised but it never worked and no one was doing anything about it. Since an amenity was not available, I should get a refund. Restrooms are cleaned irregularly so there is no way of knowing when they are open.
Jul 07, 2015
We were lucky to get a cabin on short notice. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was good, and a bargain. Bathrooms were filthy. & showers so nasty that I refused to use them. Cabin was cute and clean.
Jul 07, 2015
The tent campsite was absolutely horrible! I should have asked for a refund!
Jul 06, 2015
The campground was good but very expense and I was charged a lot more money at check-in than I was quoted the year before when I made my reservation!! Excuse giving was 4th of July weekend!!
Jul 06, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 06, 2015
we had a great time! only issue was a general flooding problem at the camp. Take care of that, you get a 10!
Jul 06, 2015
There is no wifi or cell service anywhere on the campground, which most KOA employees admitted to. Also, the power went out for a day and they did nothing to compensate for this. They charged us $350 extra between 5 families to "guarantee" spots next to each other, even though the campground was never full. Would not recommend or ever stay there again.
Jul 06, 2015
Beautiful executive cabin. Everything we needed for a great vacation. We only wish we had a few more days to spare.
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Great location, tons of activities, Kids loved this KOA and wished we could have stayed longer. It's a HUGE resort, we were fortunate to be tucked up in off the "main drag". Roads were a rutted mess of mud, but the resort itself was worth a longer stay. Only complaint - charge me $3/day for my dog, and the dog park had 16" high grass in it - unusable.
Jul 06, 2015
We needed to spend at least a week! Your facility has so much to offer for a family. Thank you.
Jul 06, 2015
The location is perfect! Close to everything. The staff is helpful. We didn't have cell service or wi fi very easily. But, it is vacation!
Jul 06, 2015
Our stay was in the middle of June and there had been a lot of rain. Our spot was very muddy, with standing water. I asked to be moved, and was told there were no available spots in our category. I know you cannot control the weather, but a free upgrade to a dry spot or a partial refund would have been great. Not sure if we will stay here again.
Jul 06, 2015
We were very dissatisfied. Our campsite was a muddy mess. Site employees told us they were full but there were empty sites every night. One site was supposedly saved for a 36 ft rig but ended up with a pop up.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.