Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 04, 2014
Advertised Wi-Fi but could not receive nor could anyone else, kids were.mgr on duty rude and didn't care. Take off internet that you have it. I understand in the mts. And poor reception but don't brag about it if it won't work, o would have stayed at koa in Rapid City. Could have given a discount but again mgr.rude and arrogant!! Jim,
Jul 03, 2014
The bathrooms were filthy with toilets backed up daily & 3 of the 8 showers out of order. All the campsites (Cabins, Tents & RVs) are WAY too close to each other offering no privacy. The pool that was open was disgusting, with the other one closed the whole time we were there. The Pancake tent & firewood was WAY overpriced! Too many dogs & dog-poop! Ghetto campground but beautiful scenery!
Jul 03, 2014
Everything was FANTASTIC! All KOA's need to use this location as an example of how it should be!!!
Jul 03, 2014
Not a bad place, but certainly not first class. Nice showers, nice pool, decent value. Hot tub was luke-warm and dirty. Spots were the tightest I'd ever seen. If my neighbor hadn't left before me, I might not have been able to pull out of my pull-thru spot. Internet didn't work at all, which made it tough to plan our next stop. I expected a bit more from a KOA.
Jul 03, 2014
We love this KOA. Come every year now. Only thing I would love to see improved is the WIFI connection. We were right in the lobby of the Lodge and still couldn't get on. Normally I wouldn't mind except I had a paper due for college and had to go in to town to submit it instead of being able to right there.
Jul 03, 2014
There is no cell so when. They say call 911 for help how can you with no cell in the park. Also they say they have wifi but during a five day stay we were only able to get on once and we did that by going to the main store. It never worked again and I talking to the staff and other thay all agree it's bad and that you are out of touch during your entire stay!
Jul 03, 2014
We loved it! Lots of activities for the kids, all the necessities, and great location. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.
Jul 03, 2014
We had a great time. The staff was amazing! They were all happy, friendly and went out of their way to help. The campground was clean and our kids loved all of the activities.
Jul 03, 2014
Huge koa, very close to mt rushmore, lots to do! General store has about everything you may have forgotten, very friendly people. No heaters in cabins, but they will give you one with a $20 deposit. Could've stayed here a whole week easily!
Jul 03, 2014
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 03, 2014
This place was very nice. Best location in the hills. Lots of things to do for the kids at the camp ground. Reasonable prices for things in the stores and snack areas. Only problem was there were a number of showers out of order which caused lines. 20-25% not working in our building.
Jul 03, 2014
My family loves to camp here...there is so much fun stuff for the kids to do.
Jul 03, 2014
Great amenities, views! Tight roadways. Helpful staff
Jul 03, 2014
We love staying here. We've stayed quite a few times, in several different parts of the park. We love it!
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Super place for kids! Amazing amount of things to do! Beautiful area! Mt. Rushmore is a bucket list place....KOA a fun place to stay while accomplishing!
Jul 02, 2014
Lots of activities for the kids, clean and friendly . Planning our next trip soon!
Jul 02, 2014
Great please to stay, wish we could have spent more time there. Will go back for sure.
Jul 02, 2014
Only complaint was the staff driving too fast throughout the grounds. Several examples were seen in our four days, including two kids on bikes being cutoff by a golf cart while other guest vehicles were waiting for the kids to clear the intersection.
Jul 02, 2014
Fun activities for kids, good customer service, amenities and good price.
Jul 02, 2014
Bathroom was always dirty and in disrepair. There is no excuse for no hooks or shelves in shower (poor/lazy maintenance). I was clearly overcharged on bill but it took three meetings to get it straightened out. Tent campers placed 10 feet in front of our camping cabin even though many other options were available. This campground has gone way downhill (10 stays in 13 years).
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
The best KOA in the nation, without a doubt.
Jul 02, 2014
Great amenities and clean bathrooms were terrific.
Jul 02, 2014
Great time, great scenery! Plenty to do no matter the size of the family. Wish the tent sites would have been sectioned a little better. It would have also be nice to have a pad for the tents, since it was so wet.
Jul 02, 2014
Absolutely the best KOA we have ever stayed at. The only negative was the poor wifi which may be due to the location ,
Jul 02, 2014
This is a very large KOA with lots of families, but still very quiet, staff always had a smile, very helpful. Many activities, we loved our stay. Close to many tourist attractions.
Jul 02, 2014
This campground has lots of fun activities for kids. We stayed in a camping cabin. Very disappointed in the cleanliness. Cabin was dirty. I swept the floor and we couldn't believe how much dirt there was from the previous campers. Bathrooms and showers were disgusting. They need a serious deep cleaning. Pizza place was great! Splash pad and playgrounds were hits with my kids.
Jul 02, 2014
Good amenities and kids activities. Our spot was noisy, dusty, small, worst we've had in 30 yrs of camping. 10 year old grandson got stuck in the shower twice as the big wooden doors swell up and stick. Everyone was complaining about the doors.
Jul 02, 2014
Large campground with plenty of activities. Very noisy in the central part of the campground, especially around the maintenance building. Thought atv rental cost was too high.
Jul 02, 2014
We stayed for two nights and rented a car from the KOA. That was convenient and reasonable in order to drive to the local destinations. Was a nice campground.
Jul 01, 2014
Had planned a family reunion the previous year. Had many problems from the start to the very end. Everything went wrong from planning and reservations all the way down to green firewood. Would never recommend for a large group.
Jul 01, 2014
We were part of a reunion and had our camping reservations for several months. Those of us who had campsites were very pleased with the sites and camping facilities.
Jul 01, 2014
Still noisy after 10 pm. Quieted down after 11. Would do better enforcement of quiet hours.
Jul 01, 2014
Awesome!!!
Jul 01, 2014
Had two night here and the facilities were excellent. Proximity to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse Monuments make it a must stay.
Jul 01, 2014
Nice campground, but HUGE, more like a small town than a campground. Nothing bad to say other than this is not a typical KOA so don't go in expecting that.
Jul 01, 2014
First time camping at a KOA. Loved all the activities offered but didn't like that the sites were on top of each other.
Jul 01, 2014
This was not my favorite but I knew when we booked it was large, many features we did not need so expensive. We ended up cleaning the ground around our cabin of the cigarette butts, limes, candy wrappers etc.
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Awesome time! Super fun horeseback ride, and covered wagon cookout. Kids didn't want to leave the campground due to waterslide, pool, inflatables, and all the other activities. Morning pancakes were great. Clean your bathrooms more and the stay would have been 100% perfect.
Jul 01, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay and all the family freindly amenities. Our campsite was very small. To the point where our car was parked maybe 2 feet from our picnic table. The fire pit only being several feet from the picnic table. This made for a lot of smoke infiltrating the eating/prepping area. There was no escaping it. Also there was no shade. The showers could have been maintained better.
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
it was Awesome! I wish the other KOA's would follow your footsteps. great fun!!
Jul 01, 2014
My complaint is the annoying way that 2 female horse wranglers woke us each morning. Quiet hours are 10pm to 7am, yet from 630am to 650am they SCREAMED yip,yip,yip and move it,move it, move it on the trail behind our tent campsite to lead the horses to the stables. Surely, the horses know the routine and do not need 20 mins of yelling to trot to their work area! Need to find a better/quieter way.
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Too big, not. Personal, frist AID needed but no help offered, inadequate for foreigners from outside the US!
Jul 01, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.