Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 05, 2016
If you have kids, there is plenty for them to do at the Palmer Gulch KOA! Some great activities and lots of space for them to roam around. It seemed that many of the tent spaces were unshaded and very close together. In our case, we had one of those "unshaded" spots, and we were also placed adjacent to one of the kids' playgrounds, which was very well used (see above), but also very noisy.
Jul 05, 2016
Fantastics 3 night stay. Kids are already asking to go back.
Jul 05, 2016
Very family friendly
Jul 05, 2016
Lots of activities for children, staff very friendly and tons of amenities on property. Lack of dependable Wi-Fi annoying and comfort station #1 needs a serious remodel-
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
everything was great but the rain
Jul 05, 2016
The bathrooms could be a lot cleaner.
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
The facilities are very good, a great place for an extended stay. One big gripe. If you advertise WiFi, then have enough WiFi bandwith. It was unusable the entire time (was told too many people). I chose this KOA in part due to WiFi accessibility for work, and had none for 3 days.
Jul 05, 2016
Restroom facilities not large enough for the number of people. Garbage dumpsters over flowing. Customer service and other amenities/services were great.
Jul 05, 2016
The kiddos loved it, so we loved it! Star Wars movie was an awesome bonus!
Jul 05, 2016
nice camp
Jul 05, 2016
Very nice campground, so much to do, clean, friendly and accommodating.
Jul 05, 2016
The whole family had a great time, things to keep busy, and relax in the beautiful surroundings!
Jul 04, 2016
Had everything we needed for entertainment, lodging, and gatherings. Loved The cabin, pancakes, church service, and horse rides.
Jul 04, 2016
Our family met at Palmer Gulch for our annual reunion. It was perfect. There was plenty of activities for the kids. Our cabins were comfortable. It was a great trip.
Jul 04, 2016
Beautiful scene and lots of activities. Wish the horse riding was cheaper as only half my family got to ride due to price. Very clean and well kept
Jul 04, 2016
Jul 04, 2016
We really enjoyed the campground. We like all the amenities. We were unhappy with our campsite. It had rained prior to us arriving and flooded half of site. We had to park our truck in inches of muddy water which ectended up to the door of our RV. It never dried up. The KOA staff did nothing to assist us. At a RV resort such as this, we would expect a little more for a $75.00 a day site.
Jul 04, 2016
We booked an expensive wide pull through site. We got a site on a hill, so narrow that we had to park at one edge of the slope to make space within an inch to open the slide out. We were charged an extra $10 for "amenities" we didn't use. We had to back out of the site (660) due to poor grading at the end of the site. The waste connection was at the high end of the site - not functional.
Jul 04, 2016
this was a superb site, all the facilities we needed, central location, friendly staff, all in all an excellent stay.
Jul 04, 2016
We liked everything about the koa, people were great and my grandkids had a blast.
Jul 04, 2016
very nice facility for kids and adults that want activities. We have couple of issues.1-We had space 220, very dirty, dusty and uneven space, not happy!2- restrooms were most of the time dirty. Need more cleaning people on duty for the restrooms especially since this KOA is a very busy one. Need to assign a person for each restroom in order to make sure they are always clean.
Jul 04, 2016
Nice space between sites. Clean showers and bathrooms. Lots of amenities. Centrally located to Crazy Horse and Mt Rushmore.
Jul 04, 2016
Great time, lots to do and a friendly staff!
Jul 04, 2016
Lots to do at the campground!!!! Very family friendly, but can be noisy in the morning because of the crowds at the campground.
Jul 04, 2016
Family friendly, clean, and tons of fun.
Jul 04, 2016
Very nice campground with a lot of activities. Very close to Mt Rushmore and Keystone. Especially liked the pancake breakfast under the big tent!
Jul 04, 2016
The one complaint I have is that I feel like the check in staff needs more knowledge of the actual sites we went out 4 times to find a big enough site with grass. The people up front should familiarize themselves with the grounds. It was very frustrating. It was pretty pricey for camping as well.otherwise it was fun and a very pretty setting
Jul 04, 2016
Bathrooms and showers were way to small. The water pressure was horrible. Those are pretty important things when you are camping. Other than that it was great!
Jul 03, 2016
We LOVE this KOA! There is so much for our kids to do, which means less entertainign for my husband and I! They continue to make this site better and better and update on a regular basis. We will be back, likely next year!
Jul 03, 2016
Perfect vacation. The kids collapsed in their beds each night. Loved the food,store supplies, private clean hot showers!
Jul 03, 2016
Jul 03, 2016
Loved everything about our stay, except for no cell service and very limited wifi. Managed to have a great stay and learned to live without phone and wifi. Who knew?
Jul 03, 2016
We have already started talking to our family about coming back with us next year!!!!
Jul 03, 2016
This is the perfect place to take kids. There's so much to keep them busy. We did have an incident with a really inappropriate staff member who threw dirt in my 6 year Olds face. Other than that the place was well kept, clean and exceeded my expectations.
Jul 03, 2016
They screwed up our reservation. We were told we were going to have to change cabins half way through the stay. It seems that your online reservation sysystem should have a way to pick your camping spot or cabin. Otherwise it's stupid to have one but just make everything over phone.
Jul 03, 2016
It was like disneyland for camping. There was plenty to entertain the kids and all the rustic beauty for the adults that you would expect from the Black Hills. I will definitely be back again in the future.
Jul 03, 2016
Wow! Stayed here about 15 yrs ago and de used to come back. Had no idea that so much had been added to this place!!
Jul 03, 2016
Jul 03, 2016
It was wonderful and had beautiful views. The lack of internet and Sprint phone service was frustrating though.
Jul 03, 2016
Amenities were fabulous and the kids enjoyed them all. However the campsite were way too close together. I felt very crowded
Jul 03, 2016
Great location and very kid friendly. Would definitely recommend this campground.
Jul 03, 2016
Wonderful cabin, great activities for the family and really close to Rushmore and Custer!
Jul 03, 2016
Absolutely ideal location to camp when visiting Mt. Rushmore. Terrific staff, lots of activities, spacious, clean and well kept. I highly recommend this facility. By far the best I have ever stayed at!!
Jul 03, 2016
Absolutely wonderful! Best campground ever!
Jul 03, 2016
Jul 03, 2016
The best KOA we've been too!
Jul 03, 2016
Way too expensive compared to other area campgrounds. $10 Resort fee is a ridiculous charge when you don't have time or intent to use their 'resort' facility. Might be fine if you intend to stay in the KOA, and not tour the Black Hills. If you're out Touring the Hills and sightseeing, there are better places to stay. Wi-Fi connection totally nonexistent, even in pavilion where the Wi-Fi tower is
Jul 03, 2016
Really nice campground, clean and a lot of services, too bad the internet is so poor, seems to be a real problem with all the KOA's
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals