Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
My stay exceeded my every expectation; the camp ground was clean, the cabins are adorable, staff is friendly and helpful, and all of the amenities was a great surprise. My visit was over Sturgis weekend, and we were concerned with how full the campsite was, and about noise, but as instructed on our pamphlet, right at 10pm the whole place became quiet and we were able to sleep restfully.
Aug 06, 2014
I asked for shade for my tent site, but didn't get any. And, the site was on a slope so had to pitch right next to the road, which was the flattest part of the site. Showers were not as good as I have seen at other KOAs.
Aug 06, 2014
My first time to Black Hills. Simply beautiful. The KOA had everything a young family would ever want. Only one problem the fire pit to close to RV. Needs to be in middle of grassy space
Aug 06, 2014
Had a great time, the activities kept the children engaged and busy in a fun atmosphere. All the staff were excellent and helpful. This is a great place to stay, Thank you all.
Aug 06, 2014
Nice accommodations. Cabin was clean and comfortable. Very busy atmosphere which wasn't what we were expecting. There were many great activities for kids & adults of all ages. Spent one night on our trip back home and didn't have the chance to partake in any activities. Would be nice if the resort fee of 10.00 was optional for those who do not use all the extras and just need a place to stay.
Aug 06, 2014
Some of the most helpful and kind people I've ever had the chance to meet. My kids loved this place. They had so much to do they wanted to stay for more time than we had. They were sad to leave. It's beautiful too. Love those Black Hills!
Aug 06, 2014
We had a great time, and there were so many activities for kids and adults to do. We really liked our tent location because it was under trees, it was quiet and it was not too far from the restrooms and showers. We also enjoyed having a fire in the firepit every evening.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Just great for kids, so much to keep them busy. The shuttle up to Mt Rushmore was very convenient. The horseback riding right there at the campground was very good. Overall one our better KOA experiences.
Aug 06, 2014
WOW. Very nice facility. Like staying in a hotel. Only problem, the campground is so large that we frequently got disoriented finding our spot.
Aug 05, 2014
We missed hearing the City Slickers on three nights as we usually do when we stay with you. Hope they are back to regular three night schedule next year!!
Aug 05, 2014
great family reunion I would have liked to hear more of the Hill City Slickers play more than just the two nights we really liked listening to the music.
Aug 05, 2014
Beautiful area and quiet. Loved our deluxe cabin!
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
The location was wonderful. There was plenty of what we wanted to do very close to the KOA. We took advantage of the horse trail ride, Mount Rushmore, Keystone, challenging mountain biking and climbed one of the peaks looking for a mine. The maintenance staff was very helpful to help us with issues we were having with our RV trailer. We were pleased with our site although our WiFi did not work.
Aug 05, 2014
Not really camping, it's like it's own small town-very busy! Self sufficient for those who never want to leave the KOA. In the past we double stacked the mattresses, they no longer fit inside the frame so ended up sleeping on the single thickness-it's not comfy. Price has tripled on camping cabins since we started coming here, no longer worth it.
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
This is the best KOA we've ever stayed at. We will be recommending it to all of our friends as well as fellow campers we meet. It was very clean, staff were professional and helpful. Amenities were great. We'll be back!
Aug 05, 2014
My family enjoyed our stay! Lots of activities and very family friendly. Cell service was nonexistent so it was hard to do business but we managed and had a great time.
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
had an amazing time. loved the palmer gulch Koa. would recommend it to anyone.
Aug 05, 2014
The tent site the facilities and the services were all excellent - we will be back.
Aug 05, 2014
Dirty bathrooms, even worse showers were not cleaned daily. Both pools were dirty and 2/4 dryers in laundry blew cool air. No "out of orders signs" were placed on dryers, so people just kept putting in quarters and not getting clothes dry. Riding horses looked dirty and thin. Shops were clean and staffed with quality people. Reasonable prices for camping. The Kid Zone was safe and well staffed.
Aug 05, 2014
As I pulled in, I was informed that I would have to move as they were expecting 100 of campers that day, uh, guess what, I paid more for my cabin so I expected a bit more of respect and courtesy. I also had picked online to have a cabin near the kids area and was informed I could have paid $10 more to guarantee a cabin, sounds like bait and switch. we ended up with a cabin far from the restrooms
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Great facilities, clean cabin and friendly staff. Will defiantly visit again.
Aug 04, 2014
tHE CAMPGROUND IS WELL MAINTAINED, FLOWERS ETC. VERY NICE BUT LOTS OF PLUMBING ISSUES IN THE SHOWERS AND BATHROOMS. HAD TO WAIT WHILE SEVERAL SHOWERS WERE UNUSABLE. PEOPLE WERE GREEAT AND HELPFUL
Aug 04, 2014
Very nice KOA. Only issue I had was with the laundry. The Washing machine I used did not have cold water although I selected it. Because it used hot water there was rust/iron stains on all of my new white shirts. There was a sign about iron in the water that I belatedly read. But living in an area with iron I know that cold water is less likely to have iron stains.
Aug 04, 2014
Wish we could have been given a quieter section of the park. Being at the front of your main drag did not lend itself to a peaceful dinner.
Aug 04, 2014
best KOA ammenities ever
Aug 04, 2014
I enjoyed my time at the KOA. Lots to do. The wood though was pricey and lots of smokey fires. Mud in the shower stalls can't be helped but overall, the showers were not very clean. The coffee shop needs more help and more counterspace. I would increase the size. Our laundry was stained by the washing machines and we used 3 of them.
Aug 04, 2014
400 characters not enough. Store and front were great. Campsites w/ water and electric tiny. Showers dirty and moldy. Bathrooms dirty. Other than the front, worst KOA I've stayed at.
Aug 04, 2014
THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY ( OUR 3RD TIME ) . YOU NEED TO RE-THINK THE RELIGEOUS GROUP DOING SKITS @ THE STAGE. MANY FOUND IT IN-APPROPRIATE !
Aug 04, 2014
We always love staying at the Palmer Gulch KOA! So many things for the kids to do while mom and dad relax!! We love the horses, the pancake tent, the pools but mostly we love the awesome views! Thanks for a great vacation again!
Aug 04, 2014
This is a wonderful KOA! There is so much to do for kids. My children loved the water slide, pools, jumping pillow, climbing wall, mini golf, hayrides and the many other fun things to do here. The KOA also had a group called the Summershiners who planned so many fun, family friendly activities throughout the day and we're always so friendly. I would highly recommend this KOA!!
Aug 04, 2014
Very noisey, rest room sanitation needs to be monitored more closely
Aug 04, 2014
great place to camp if you are wanting to see the sights of the area.. the facilties were good but seemed "over used".. alot of campers and not enough accomidations.. but the people were great and with the addition of some more showers and bathrooms this could easily be my favorite KOA!!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The bathrooms need to be cleaned more than once a day. They need to be cleaned in the late afternoon and again either late at night or early in the morning so that they are not filthy during the evening and early in the morning when most people use them.
Aug 04, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Rushmore KOA while visiting the Black Hills!
Aug 04, 2014
Great location. Tons of activities. Laundromat could use some maintenance.
Aug 04, 2014
Well, I started to give two stars but that's not really fair because it was just to crowded for us..We did stay in July, the most traveled time of the year.I gave 4 stars because it it a very nice campground. parking for checking in was crazy, we were 4 abreast and 4 deep waiting. an outside check in would solve the problem.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The stay was great lots to do. But check in was horrible very rude people working the counter
Aug 04, 2014
Been coming here since our kids were little and still coming and they're now 18 21 25 and 29! Wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Black Hills!
Aug 04, 2014
The campground was much too big for personal preference. The map was very confusing so we struggled to find showers and the swimming pool based on the map. The staff was friendly.
Aug 04, 2014
Bathrooms need to be cleaned more often!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.