Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
I would have given a 2.5 if half stars had been possible. There were some aspects which were nice, such as the gift shop, laundry facilities, and the convieniance of some of the other stores. Some not so nice. WiFi was spotty and slow, bathrooms and showers dirty, quiet hours not enforced, barista was clueless.
Aug 13, 2013
My kids and I are already planning to spend more time here next time. So much to do at the campground and in the area. Fantastic!
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
This was our 7th year, and as always, the stay was excellent. Thank you KOA folks
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
The only bad thing we have is that the bathrooms/showers were not clean at all in the mornings
Aug 12, 2013
My family likes coming to KOA we like the clean facilities and grounds and plenty for kids to enjoy during stay and its central location to other area attractions
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Great as always. friendly people. only issue was the water did not look good this year had a brown tint to it.
Aug 12, 2013
great place, only down side was the rain had no place to go except right under our camper and through our campsite, that being said I'll be back next year and we still like that spot & I enjoyed meeting Jumping Buffalo he was an interesting fellow
Aug 12, 2013
Had a great time tent camping at this KOA. The rain was a bummer but enjoyed the nightly movies and morning pancakes. Lots to do at the campground. We have stayed here before and will again.
Aug 12, 2013
Great facility and very friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 12, 2013
We have stayed at this resort before and love it. Clean and friendly. the views are spectacular.
Aug 12, 2013
Nice variety of services offered. Would have liked to seen a more extended reach of WIFI to help w/ no cellular service.
Aug 12, 2013
Everything was fine except I could not get hone or wifi at my campsite.:(
Aug 12, 2013
My family and I visited the campground and were amazed at the amenities that were available. The children ‎loved the waterslide and bounce pillow the most. My biggest complaint (and reason for only 4 stars) is the ‎wireless internet didnt work. In this campground you are secluded, and just out of reach of cell phone ‎reception, TV Antenna reception, so without Internet you ha
Aug 12, 2013
Didn't get the area we wanted. Was told it was booked, but saw some available. Did not have any cell service in this location - which is why we requested the other spot - Wi-Fi was horrible when we were told this spot would be great since we had work to do during our visit. Requested rock to be put in under our door to cover the mud pit & it never showed up. May never stay here again.
Aug 12, 2013
Nice and clean and very friendly staff. Lots of fun things for the kids to do!! Enjoyed our stay with you.
Aug 12, 2013
Stayed a week with kids. There was so much for the kids to do, we had a blast! Only issue was my daughter developed a rash I believe from the pool/hot tub. May need to keep a closer eye on the chemical composition.
Aug 12, 2013
I think this campground suffers from size. The restrooms are TOO few, needed maintenance and DIRTY. The front desk was 'manned' by people college age or younger, who lacked basic business skills and the gal helping us couldn't have been less interested. The store only had one person working the register each time I went in and was always backed up. Great setting, badly managed.
Aug 12, 2013
nice bathroom and showers. Friendly staff.
Aug 12, 2013
since we are both over 50 years old, I think there should be a lower rate on the facility charges as we do not use all the things that family's with kids do.
Aug 12, 2013
Facilities were good. Activities we knew about were fun but we had to ask about everything. We were put on the entry/exit road and motorcycles roared by until 2am and started again at 6am. Guests you know are noisy should be put where they will be the least disruptive. Finally, I did not get my member discount at your store because the clerk didn't know about it & her cash register didn't work.
Aug 12, 2013
This was our second time to stay here and everything was really good. The only things we did not like was the WIFI which was intermittent (same as last year). Also, the pads where you park your RV/Trailers need to have more gravel. It rained quite a bit while we were here and our site never dried up so there was water and mud where we parked our RV and vehicle. Thank you.
Aug 12, 2013
Friendly staff, lots of activities for kids to do, location relative to other Black Hills tourist activities great. Big detractor to this KOA is the condition of the bathroom facilities and how poorly they were cleaned. Lots of people at this campground and once-a-day cleaning of the bathrooms doesn't cut it. Would look at other campgrounds/resorts before I made decision to stay here again.
Aug 12, 2013
When I checked in for a reservation for a large tent site, I found that not only was there no room for a tent, but my minivan wouldn't even fit on the driveway. There was no way for my family to stay there. I appreciated the customer service, because when I complained they upgraded me to a cabin for no additional fee, but seriously, the campsites should be larger, especially for tents.
Aug 12, 2013
This was our first time for camping at Palmer Gulch, although we have visited the campground several times in the past years. We enjoyed our stay and even though it was at the beginning of the Sturgis Bike Rally, I was impressed at how quiet the campground became at night. The bikers that stayed were very respectful of other campers. This campground offers so much for families with children.
Aug 12, 2013
Our camping trip was fantastic. We stayed in a tent site along the creek - and it was beautiful. We have four young children and the activities available kept them busy and happy. The campground was kept clean and the staff was very helpful. We will definitely stay here again.
Aug 12, 2013
I like staying in the cabins but the WIFI stinks.
Aug 12, 2013
It was a so so place because it was dirty. I know tht there were many people there to stay but the staff did not clean the bathrooms every day and the kids that were their were not very clean kids. The fact the that needed to pay so much for everything you needed to get was sad. You would think the fact that we were their they shouldn't have to charge so much more than a real store.
Aug 12, 2013
Good Ice Cream but I left with a bad taste in my mouth over you $10.00/person "activity fee". I wasn't warned about that ahead of time.
Aug 12, 2013
I wouldnt stay here in a tent again. Maybe in a cabin or rv. There was thunder, lightning and rain every day.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Close to most of the touristy things, lots of activities nearby for the kids. Just a fun place to stay...although the sites were a little muddy due to alot of recent rain. Even had rental cars on-site.
Aug 11, 2013
Despite the storms and flooding at our campsite overall was very good Bathrooms could be a little cleaner as could the showers many stalls had a lot of mold prices in store should be comparable to actual prices in grocery.
Aug 11, 2013
Everything was awesome. The only complaint we had was the horrible cell phone reception and wifi signal. For the price there should be better coverage.
Aug 11, 2013
One very large problem is not internet or phone service. No one at home could contact us if they had to.
Aug 11, 2013
Cabin was dirty, but the flash flood didn't help. Impressed with how rapidly roads were repaired--hours. Hot tub and pancakes were nice. Too big.
Aug 11, 2013
We wish we had planned to stay longer. This campground has tons of stuff to do and is very clean
Aug 11, 2013
We had a great time. Everyone was very helpful. We will return! Thanks.
Aug 11, 2013
Great place. Great value. Tons of things to do.
Aug 11, 2013
Great amenities. Extremely small tent campsite with no trees and no privacy. I had to pitch my rent an inch from the road. The water is brown, which the campground says is typical and supposedly normal.
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Great place to stay. A ton of activities. people were very nice. Campground was quiet. The bathrooms/shower rooms were very dirty. I complained and did not get an apology just that other people had complained and they were sending people up to clean it. when I went in later the wall was wiped down but the bathrooms and showers were still gross. Would have rated higher if cleaner.
Aug 11, 2013
This KOA is really big and offer a lot of activities to its guest. My children especially love their water slide and jumping pillow. But the thing that turn me off about this KOA is their lack of attention to the restroom/shower in the kabins area. Plus our kabin in which we stay in had so much dirt. We decided to check out a day early.
Aug 11, 2013
Over all this was a great place to stay. Our only complaint was our area was not level unless we pulled right up next to the tree on the side and then we couldn't open our awning. The spot we have probably shouldn't be used for a trailer. Other than that, the pools were great and staff was super friendly and helpful.
Aug 11, 2013
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 11, 2013
Clean and friendly, great location for seeing the Black Hills area!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.