Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2016
Very enjoyable stay,friendly staff. We had two young children and we could have spent all day just doing activities at the campground. Thank-you for an enjoyable stay.
Jul 28, 2016
This KOA has it all EXCEPT WIFI. Lots of fun for the kids and roomy sites. In an area with no cell service they should provide better WIFI.
Jul 28, 2016
Please know how much we enjoyed our stay!!! Only one wish, please help maintenance be able to fix the water .problem
Jul 28, 2016
Great place, lot of activities, kids loved it. Beautiful grounds. Only negative is do not count on wi-fi.
Jul 28, 2016
Great place!
Jul 28, 2016
This KOA is in a beautiful location near Mt. Rushmore. We had a beautiful campsite facing a tree covered mountain. The activities available for the children are numerous. Although the campground was incredibly busy, campers were respectful of quiet hours. The only complaint I have is the dirty bathrooms and showers. but we attributed that the the sheer volume of people that visit the campgroun
Jul 28, 2016
We had the best stay at the campground, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. I will always go to this KOA when going to South Dakota it was perfect for my son and myself and it is pet friendly which is helpful!! thank you KOA Campgrounds
Jul 28, 2016
Good campground for those travelling with small children. Cabin was expensive, and had no heat/AC; while it was an upgrade over a tent, it wasn't a big upgrade. There were many nice amenities I wish I had time to use.
Jul 28, 2016
This is the second time that I have stayed at this KOA. There has been many changes made since I stayed there.
Jul 28, 2016
Honestly, I would give this KoA more stars if the staff was friendlier but it seemed like every person I talked to hated my guts. Not to mention the tent sites were right on top of each other. It'd be nice to have even a couple more feet of space. Overall disappointed.
Jul 28, 2016
Given wrong spot number. Made to move spots in a hail storm. Tried to remedy situation. Took 4 trips to the office to finally get someone to assist us. Park is overfull and the spots are small and crowded. I would NOT stay here again.
Jul 28, 2016
We had a great stay at Mt. Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch. There were a lot of activities for the kids. The camp site we had was extremely small & not really suited for a tent but we made it work. We transferred to a cabin for our last night due to rain & we all really liked the cabin. When we return we will stay with KOA again.
Jul 27, 2016
We had a family reunion at this KOA, and stayed 7 nights. It was a good place for the reunion EXCEPT for the lack of a useable internet connection. Internet access was non-existent, even at or near the so-called "hot-spots". A bare-bones WiFi system such as this is no longer acceptable to many of us who use it for banking, bill paying, reservations, e-mail, etc.
Jul 27, 2016
this is a perfect place for families--so many kid friendly activities. I probably would have rated it higher if it had WiFi
Jul 27, 2016
This is our second stay at Palmer Gulch and our family loved our little cabin and had another great visit! The facilities, activities and grounds are perfect for both children and adults. The only change I would like to see would be recycling bins included along with the garbage collection.
Jul 27, 2016
bathrooms always dirty. And showers . Left a day early!Our campsite was on gravel .No grass. Very disappointed!!!!!!
Jul 27, 2016
Great 2 room camping cabin- comfortable beds. Plenty of room and privacy. Fun kids activities and very friendly staff. Love the kitchen area to cook in. Excellent camp ground experience!
Jul 27, 2016
This Park is set up for kids of all ages. It needs some TLC in the kid zone but it worked. If you want a quiet park do not come here. Something is always moving horse drawn wagons, tractors, kids and Rigs. Plus the horses love leaving surprises, it normally gets cleaned up after a while.
Jul 27, 2016
We had a great time with family! A great, fun and safe campgrounds to stay at for sure!
Jul 27, 2016
Very nice location and tons for the kids to do! Our Kamper Cabin was perfect for us!
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
This was a great place to stop during our road trip to Mt. Rushmore. The amenities were great and had everything we needed and picturesque landscape we did not expect.
Jul 27, 2016
Enjoyed our stay very much! So much to do! Wish a cell phone booster was installed in the campground. Overall a near perect facility.
Jul 27, 2016
too crowded ad noisy
Jul 27, 2016
We stayed in Section D cabins; the bathrooms/showers were terrible. Never once did I see anyone cleaning the bathrooms/showers throughout the day. Our cabin was super dirty under the beds and even found Kleenex and bottle on the bedside. KOA/Hayward was very clean!
Jul 27, 2016
Fantastic great people very helpful been there three times this was parexcelant
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
very clean,family friendly,
Jul 27, 2016
Great resort site--only stayed one night on our way home, but would love to return for a few days. Kids loved the splash zone and the playgrounds. Nice sized tent spots where we were. Could use better lighting on the street signs--was hard to find our spot in the dark.
Jul 27, 2016
My daughter enjoyed the horse ride very much. All of your employees were very nice. However, you've created a tiny version of Branson Mo. Near Mt. Rushmore. It's noisy, chaotic, and opposite of what camping should be. Between the family's watching big screen tvs outside their mobile homes & waking to the sound of pressure washers st 6am...never again.
Jul 26, 2016
We stayed in a deluxe cabin and really enjoyed the campground. I gave a four star because I think that some improvements can be made to make for a better experience staying in a deluxe cabin. The loft needs window blinds to keep the sun from beating in on the occupants. We did not realize the loft area was not twin beds, but actually only twin mattresses laying on the floor.
Jul 26, 2016
Loved the deluxe cabin we stayed in! Only drawbacks were storage issues and would have been nice to have some shades on the windows to block out some light for nappers or just to sleep in! Otherwise it was perfect! Great cabin, great view, and great deck!
Jul 26, 2016
Excellent campgrounds and staff. Well kept and maintained.
Jul 26, 2016
Lots for kids to do and the whole family.
Jul 26, 2016
This was our first visit to KOA and the South Dakota area. It was a family trip and we stayed in a deluxe cabin. It was wonderful. Our kids and grandkids didn't want to leave.
Jul 26, 2016
I am surprised, this is suppose to be a resort location. I will never go here again because: The site wasn't nice The bathroom stalls were so small you had to stand in the toilet to open the stall door The resturants were filthy The camping site was downwind from the horses it smelled like a barn The staff was unhelpful when I asked to be moved my family has horse allergies.
Jul 26, 2016
This is a wonderful place to stay if you like the open country and the smell of the clean fresh air, the campgrounds has everything you could possibly need while staying, great experience 🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸
Jul 26, 2016
Great Campground. Pool was a little cold. Wi fi not so good. Loved the store.
Jul 26, 2016
Anyone with kids should stay here but would not recommend for a quiet evening by the campfire. Sites were great but rules/regulations were not enforced. Neighbor was washing his RV - water running down the street. Across street was a 5th wheel, 2 tents and 4 vehicles on one site. Staff was excellent. Kudos to grounds keeper. Flowers/etc beautiful and well tended. Second time I have stayed.
Jul 26, 2016
Location and amenities were great. However, I was disappointed that the facilities were not better maintained. The mini golf course was really a shambles with torn carpeting, crumbling retaining walls and even a pool of disgusting water that had apparently once been a water feature. Showers had seriously compromised caulking and grout, and smelled of mildew. Other things looked shabby, also.
Jul 26, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
Great accommodations and the staff were very friendly at check in. Everything was just right! Thank you!
Jul 26, 2016
Great location and wonderful and helpful people. It's a great place to camp with lots of activities for the whole family.
Jul 26, 2016
Enjoyed our stay,
Jul 26, 2016
I love the bazillion flowers I saw all over the camp site!! It was hot but God gave me an opportunity to use one of two beautiful pools. We read, chatted with neighbors, had fudge, pizza and ice cream and explored the camp site. This is our second year and I am still raving about it to all our neighbors back home in Nebraska. Way to go South Dakota...it was our home away from home for five days:
Jul 26, 2016
Our stay was a bit disappointing. The space 135 had numerous issues. We had to run the water for 10-12 minutes to get rid of the rusty brown color. The Cable connection was broken. For first timers I suggest your host who guides a camper to their sight ask if one has questions before driving off. The men's shower/bathroom close to 135 was nasty and in need of remodeling especially the showers.
Jul 26, 2016
The only issue was that we were not co-located close to family we were meeting, but our location was more remote, wooded, and quiet than theirs, so in the end it worked out okay.
Jul 26, 2016
loved it! so much to do, clean, fun. was our second visit and won't be our last!
Jul 26, 2016
The cabins were awesome! Great location and friendly staff!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals