Mount Rushmore KOA

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 11, 2014
Les salles de bain devraient être retouchées plusieurs fois par jour plutôt que juste une fois.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Cabin was very dirty - old dirt and stuff under beds. Other than that a nice KOA
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
We loved it!!! So pleasantly surprised with all the amenities!!!!
Aug 11, 2014
Staff was very helpful and friendly. The only bad thing was the placement of out fire pit.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Very clean. Friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 10, 2014
We have stayed at this koa numerous times and loved it. We highly recommend this campground for families with kids. There is always something going on at the campground for them. Lots of sightseeing is close by,for day trips. We will be back again soon!!!
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
The dirt roads in campground deteriorated to a muddy mess when it rained. Consider paving the main branch roads within campground.
Aug 10, 2014
Excellent, other than a bad experience with your staff. Called the VA discount a "coupon". I suspect true managment doesn't feel the same. It's not a coupon... It's appriciation for sacrifices made - and I appreciate the thought... But calling the discount a coupon is insulting to those of use who have sacrificed more than you could understand unless you've been their.
Aug 10, 2014
The staff were very helpful and made us feel very comfortable. The facilities were clean and well maintained.
Aug 10, 2014
The lady that checked us in and the people in the gift shop need to smile more. The restrooms and the shower rooms were always clean.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
I think the campground was well kept and well designed we were tenting and had the ability to cook out or use the grills. Also the campground staff were all helpful and I would personally recommend this campground to friends and family. I also plan to use it again.
Aug 10, 2014
Your staff was extremely helpful in finding sites for us to move to when we had to extend our stay during a very busy stay. Kudos to Sharon for all her help.
Aug 10, 2014
Great place to stay! Staff was very helpful in finding us a spot for our big tent when the spot we were assigned was too small. Plenty to do to keep you busy not only in the KOA park but also driving distance. We will be returning!!
Aug 10, 2014
This is a very big KOA. Loved the small place feel the people strived for! Lots of services and activities at this KOA. Loved it!!
Aug 10, 2014
Our stay was great! The grounds were very clean and lots of things to do. The staff was very good. It's been a log time since we stayed at a KOA and we were surprised as to how good it was. If we get the opportunity, we will return.
Aug 09, 2014
Great place to stay, very clean, lots for the kids to do. We come back every year. Great view. Thank you KOA for such a great camp ground.
Aug 09, 2014
I only stayed for one night,but really loved the cabin I stayed in.
Aug 09, 2014
It was centered in the area we wanted to tour. It is a good place for families. You keep it nice and clean. The staff answered our questions when put to them
Aug 09, 2014
The Mt Rushmore KOA is a vacation destination on it's own. We had a wonderful stay. Mark & Kath Henn The Villages, FL
Aug 09, 2014
We had a great visit. Enjoyed all of the activities. Kim, the trail leader was especially wonderful. We appreciated the rental cars and were relieved we could explore Sturgis, Crazy Horse and the surrounding area without having to unhook our RV. CHECK OUT MY TRIPADVISOR REVIEW . amymd2014.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
We loved everything! Disappointed in the bathrooms...need to be updated. Soap never worked by the sinks, bathrooms smelled like sewer back up all the time. Wish the Chuck Wagon dinner would still run even during Sturgis. Families are still there...not everyone is a biker.
Aug 09, 2014
Very scenic cabin. Nice amenities too including a public cooking area and sinks to wash dishes in. Bathrooms and showers were plenty and very clean.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Awesome! Lots of activities for the kids, two pools, hot tubs, this place is awesome!
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
This facilities were great. There were plenty of activities for the children. Plus it was a centralized location to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. The staff are extremely curtious and help.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
been going to this location for 4 years and this year they decided not to clean the camping kitchens, after we told them it needed attention they cleaned it once in a weeks time, traveling on a motorcycle and counting on these types of places is important to us with limited space.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Very nice campground! The only thing I have to complain about is the lack of room on the campsite for the towing vehicle.
Aug 08, 2014
Wished I would've known before making reservations! Added Charges: $10 daily resort fee on top of daily rate;on/off peak daily rates; $3 per day/per dog extra charge. This would've have been OK except the dog area was disgusting. Lots of old dog poop laying round;receptacle was overflowing. Cleaned up after complaining. Stinky showers with mold;water pressure at campsite was a trickle;no WFI;
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Enjoyed close proximity to Rushmore and Crazy Horse while still being in quiet country setting. Restaurant, coffee bar, stables all terrific, well stocked store a plus. Would like to see more gravel on unpaved roads, but overall upkeep is terrific.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
wonderful clean facilities and grounds. Quiet during night time. Support people were great at any time, store was stocked with what you needed. Great place to stay
Aug 08, 2014
Nice, clean, family friendly park.
Aug 08, 2014
Great location- loved the kids activity area, store on site and pancake tent! Only complaint is that hot tub and baby pool were dirty.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
I loved the amenities, but we were disappointed in the lack of internet service and poor cell phone service. I enjoyed the wine tasting and the other shops.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Had a camping cabin and stayed 5 nights and 6 days. Very happy with all the amenities offered.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.