Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 24, 2014
Would like to have clean towels in cabins everyday
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
I was extremely disappointed in Station #4 bathrooms and laundry. Most of the inside showers were out of order 4 out of 7. Then all of the outside showers had nothing but cold water. The laundry room had water on the floor and machines were out of order.Also the bathrooms were in poor shape e.g. tp on seats and floor, no soap, soap dispenser broken. Maybe they should be cleaned more than 2x/day.
Jun 24, 2014
The only issue we had was the internet. We were never able to access it. When I asked I was informed that the system was overloaded.
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
What a wonderful place to camp. Our children ages 19,7,6 all had a fun filled time. Your activities are a blessing! There were so many things to see and do nearby we will have to come again. Breakfast area was so nice too. My husband said he's never had such good bacon ( I think it was the fresh air) only downfall I can say to improve is the showerhouse. Had cold showers. Had to go to new one
Jun 24, 2014
Wi fi is awful!
Jun 24, 2014
Amazing! Would have been an easy 5 stars if the showers were cleaner and warm. Everything else was awesome!
Jun 24, 2014
Great for kids, I am a ATV/UTV fan but wish there was a curfew on riding. All else was great....
Jun 24, 2014
Need to update camping cabin - really only one light bulb inside!?!; need much better mattress; way too much activity
Jun 24, 2014
We enjoyed many of the amenities and activities at Palmer Gulch, Mt. Rushmore KOA, however there were some issues. The Wifi bandwidth is so small that I was only able to connect about 5% of the time. Also, the last 2 days we were there no one cleaned the "comfort station" bathrooms and they were out of soap. Yuck. Also the ice cream at Turtle Town is good, but stay away from the food.
Jun 24, 2014
This was the first time I stayed at a KOA with my own kids; it was very family-oriented. Staff was friendly, particularly the SunShiners. The only issue I had with this place was that prior to arrival, I received email reservation confirmation for 3 nights in a kabin using a "Buy 2/Get 3rd night free" Father's Day offer. But, when we went to pay upon arrival, the discount was not granted.
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
Excellent! Great family environment! So much for kids to do right at the campground. This is a must visit destination for camping families!
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
The cabin was outstanding, the service was truly friendly and helpful, and the activities were fun and affordable!!
Jun 23, 2014
The setting is beautiful and nicely located close to many attractions. However, we had a family reunion and had reserved cabins six months in advance. Even though our reservations were verified the day before, half of our cabins were rented out to someone else the day we arrived. This is extremely poor management, and training is obviously not a requirement for your front desk people.
Jun 23, 2014
be consistent on cooking the corn on the cob
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
We had the best stay! There were so many things for the kids to do. We will be back for sure!
Jun 23, 2014
great place with awesome resources - just really need to fix the internet piece - says there is WiFi but very spotty and if people come there expecting to work or if they come and need to be checking on someone after surgery - we had to drive out of campground and find a place with cell service to call home and check on my mom. That was a disappointment since it is advertised as available
Jun 23, 2014
The most amazing KOA we've been to!
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Beautiful grounds and surroundings,loved it-but-many showers out of order, horse staff didn't know any answers to q's about property,sites too close together, pool very cold, hot tub water disgusting. otherwise great vacation!!
Jun 23, 2014
Love the stay, great location great staff!
Jun 23, 2014
Site was not worth $70 a night...grass needed cut and site was unlevel and very tiny site. Place was too busy and too big. Pool was closed due to problems. Showers needed cleaned more often and fixed...no hot water in one and the floor of another was broke.Check in employee was very nice and friendly but did not know the area attraction.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
The campground has all the amenities you could ask for. They were very accommodating and helpful. All the staff was friendly and helpful. No WiFi if you need this though.
Jun 23, 2014
Advertised WiFi connectivity, but was actually only a couple of hot spots in a couple of buildings. Also there was zero cell phone signal; it would be nice to know that the campground has no cell phone coverage.
Jun 23, 2014
The most + quality was the variety of fun activities for children. However they were not always open as scheduled. There was no Internet service, only a lame excuse that there were too many campers for their bandwidth. Don't advertise you have it - OR EXPAND IT. We had to change sites after the first night as the smell from the nearby horse manure dumpster kept us indoors w/windows closed.
Jun 23, 2014
My grandgirls loved it they called it KO Wow they kept on talking about all the neet things they did. from swimming to horseback riding
Jun 23, 2014
We weren't aware when we made the reservation that this KOA is the 2nd largest in the nation. It was awesome! So much for the kids to do, so family friendly & picturesque as well. We stayed in one of the small cabins & it was very clean & relaxing sitting outside on the front porch. We're hoping to plan a whole family vacation soon & stay in a larger cabin - for an entire week!
Jun 23, 2014
Our second time here:Stayed in a 2 rm cabin-very clean,nice location except near propane tank and could smell gas when it was being used.Loved activities at campground,pancake tent,clean campground. Pools could have been cleaner,noticed some areas needed maintenance, that's why 4 stars instead of 5.
Jun 23, 2014
Wifi needs to be better.
Jun 23, 2014
The grandkids enjoyed the activities. However we wish for better internet service at the 'hotspot' locations. We don't need internet all over the entire campground.
Jun 23, 2014
Great place for kids. Only issue is that cell coverage is very poor and WiFi didn't work.
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Beautiful location
Jun 22, 2014
Awesome stay!!
Jun 22, 2014
We had a great time. There are many camp activities and area attractions nearby . The grounds and restrooms were very clean. The staff were very nice and helpful.
Jun 22, 2014
We don't have kids but I still think this is one of the most incredible parks. I have posted pics on my Facebook page and suggested it to everyone who has children. We would definitely come back!
Jun 22, 2014
Bathrooms and showers were horribly dirty. We complained and were told that it was just to hard to keep up with the usage volume. The water at your camp site is filled with Sulfur and has a horrible smell, color and taste. So you are paying for water you can't even use at your site. Very disappointed.
Jun 22, 2014
We had a great week, staff was friendly! The only problem was the price of a 1/2 gallon of milk!
Jun 22, 2014
Great Facility Grandchildren had a won derful Great Great Facility. Grandchildren had a wonderful time. We are planning to return within the next 24 months.
Jun 22, 2014
Jun 22, 2014
We had a great stay!Our kids had plenty to do and the facilities were very clean!! Would gladly stay there again.
Jun 22, 2014
Great facility with all the amenities you want. A great location to visit all the attractions that the Blackhills offers.
Jun 22, 2014
Great location & so much to see & do,
Jun 22, 2014
Palmer Gulch KOA is always a great time for our family! Our son wanted to have his 11th birthday party here and there was plenty for him and his friends to do. His friends said it was the best party ever! As a mom I am always pleased with the professional staff and cleanliness of the campground and bathrooms. Thank you for another wonderful camping experience!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.