Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
It was great, except for the restrooms which were too HOT for comfort, if you know what I mean...
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
Our campsite left a little to be desired, but overall, we were satisfied
Aug 06, 2015
Great place for family fun!!!
Aug 06, 2015
great place for kids
Aug 06, 2015
This is the most overpriced KOA in I have ever stayed at. I asked about a military discount vs KOA value card and was told the military was more. They gave me military discount of 10% and then added a $10.00 charge for the amenities they offered! The cabin did not have AC or a fan!!! I was extremely disappointed with my stay and will not return!
Aug 06, 2015
Very organized! Nice amenities. Would return again!
Aug 05, 2015
Rushmore KOA has it all. Great location and facilities.
Aug 05, 2015
I noticed several things in the campground in disrepair. The fix was as simple as some new wood or fresh stain. Food quality in the Palmer Gulch restaurant was hit or miss. Overall the KOA staff was friendly and helpful
Aug 05, 2015
we have been staying here for the last 13 yrs. and have seen very little improvements to the shower houses, bathrooms, and laundry rooms. the campsites back by site 625 were bad. When it rained there weren't any good drainage practices in place, and the sites would pond up and flood with water. Bath houses weren't clean and lacked warm water. Toilets weren't maintained and there was too few of the
Aug 05, 2015
The deluxe cozy cabins are great comfortable roomy and the deck with the gas grill and fire pit are outstanding thank you
Aug 05, 2015
Great location and a lot to do! Hot tub water was questionable, but overall a great experience!
Aug 05, 2015
We had a great time
Aug 05, 2015
Nice campground. Well kept. Thanks
Aug 05, 2015
Many amenities at the camp ground do not work or fall short of expectations, I brought these obvious problems to management and was told to leave, it being the Thursday before Sturgis and having made my reservations here a month earlier I wasn't able to, the black hills are wonderful, The KOA management knows this and uses it to allow them to be as rude as they are incompetent.
Aug 05, 2015
This was our 2nd stay this summer. Kelsey (in the lodge) was helpful and sweet! She was able to find us 2 close sites during this busy summer season to accommodate our family. It was very much appreciated! We look forward to our next stay!
Aug 05, 2015
Good KampGround. Will go their again. (even with thunder storms, flooding etc.) Traveling on their dirt roads on a motorcycle, w/trailer was interesting... Loved the area.
Aug 05, 2015
We stay for three nights, before motorcycle rally. Had a nice site-534, Could have been a little bigger for our family size tent. Enjoyed the facility very much and everyone was very Friendly!!! Would like to come back another time.
Aug 05, 2015
It was so fun! Very affordable and we loved ever second of being there!
Aug 05, 2015
I followed through with reservation after learning the total of $250+ for a tent space with water and electricity only because I had committed to meeting others there. The space was hardly large enough for us and I feared that another camper backing a pop-up camper into the adjacent space could easily have hit our tent that first night of our stay. Will stay at Custer SP next trip.
Aug 05, 2015
nice stay but more expensive than thought it should be. we had no children so most of the amenities were not of interest to us.
Aug 05, 2015
Very clean. Employees were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this KOA to everyone.
Aug 05, 2015
Great location!
Aug 05, 2015
Need more bathrooms only 8 toilets for over 300 + females. The tables on some sites are bad, broken. The staff provided top notch service. We were escorted personally to our site. The folks in th camp store were super friendly. There were plenty of activities for kids. The food at the Resort restaurant was fantastic and reasonbly priced. Highly recommend!
Aug 05, 2015
Excellent location for all Black Hills things to do. Shuttle to Mt Rushmore. Large RV pull thrus, excellent clean restrooms, friendly helpful staff. Full service restaurant on property. Loved our whole experience here and would return here next visit.
Aug 05, 2015
Very nice, clean friendly place to stay! A lot of things for kids and families and very convienent location for Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse!
Aug 04, 2015
This camp is well maintained and convenient. However, if you need cell phone service or wifi forget it.
Aug 04, 2015
By far the largest KOA we have stayed at, with a large variety of activities for the whole family. From car rentals, 4-wheelers, horse rides, swimming, mini golf, 2 swimming pools .very clean and well kept. Will definitely return in the future.
Aug 04, 2015
This is the 4th time we have stayed at your campground over the past years. So much to do just at the campground. We had mechanical issues with our car, having the onsite car rentals were so helpful in getting our car to a mechanic and also to sight see while it was being repaired. The only negative we had was a small fury visitor (mouse) in our cabin one night, door sweeps would be helpful.
Aug 04, 2015
The staff were all wonderful and friendly!! We were disapointed that our third party was in a site a few spots down when the one across from us was open or had different campers move in and out daily. The wifi was terrible. Location was super & grounds tidy. Also disapointed in lack of recycling bins for a campground that claims to be "green" It was expensive, ok if you spent lots of time there!
Aug 04, 2015
Nice clean area and the staff was very nice
Aug 04, 2015
The Wireless connection can be achieved in lobby but no where to sit, otherwise Wireless connection is not available at RV sites. The staff is friendly and the sites are maintained.
Aug 04, 2015
A Great place for camping with the kids
Aug 04, 2015
WOW, what a great stay!!There was almost too much to do!!! All the KOA staff was so friendly and helpful! Would definitely stay here again if we get back to SD.
Aug 04, 2015
Well-maintained with tons of activities for the whole family. Very helpful staff with finding destinations we were going to. Second year in a row we have stayed here and will be coming back again.
Aug 04, 2015
We had a great stay. I think you should post on your website the sturgis bike rally for people who are from away. The people were wonderful but the 6 am bike rev ups were not pleasant as were the midnight bike revs. We had very little sleep which was not so much fun as we are on a 14 day trip.
Aug 04, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay. We were not able to connect into the wifi at the coffee shop or the main office but that wasn't a big deal. Overall we had a great stay and the camping cabin was very nice.
Aug 04, 2015
Lots to do, very family friendly, campsites packed closely together, busy bathrooms and not very clean.
Aug 04, 2015
Personnel unfamiliar with campsites, fees are over priced for sites and breakfast.
Aug 04, 2015
It was close to Mt. Rushmore, so that was a big plus. On the downside, through no fault of campground, the storms that came through hindered some of the activities that they have to offer. Places are a little crowded to fit both your camper and vehicle in.
Aug 04, 2015
This is the Disney of all KOA's! Loved the campground, staff and managers. Truly a great experience!
Aug 04, 2015
It was a great experience and wonderful campground. The only comment I would make is that the motorcycles often started up way before quiet hours were over at 7 (5:45am) and were quite loud after 10pm. But other than that, everything was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Aug 04, 2015
The showers were very bad. Everything else was quite good.
Aug 04, 2015
We had a great time. Staff was very nice & helpful
Aug 04, 2015
We enjoyed every minute! While our main reason to stay at Palmer Gulch was to have a place to park/camp for a few days, we quickly began to realize that staying at Palmer Gulch was vacation enough and if we wanted, we didn't even have to go anywhere else! From the daily activities to swimming, the pancake breakfast, and restaurant~we were happily entertained! I can't wait to go back!
Aug 04, 2015
Had a great time at this KOA. Lots of activities for the kids, great trails and lots of amenities. Staff was great. Would definitely come back. 5 stars.
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
We were amazed at the size of the facility, and the number of options available for guests. We were very happy with our stay. The only comment I might give someone is to clarify whether they are looking for a smaller, more exclusive, campsite, this might not be the right choice. Nevertheless, we had a great time.
Aug 04, 2015
This is a very nice campground. The bathroom needs to be remodeled, and cleaned. The other bathroom facility closer to the splash park, pools, etc. was very nice, and I think it would be wise to have the one closest to the registration area up to date as well. I would have liked to have the motorcycles all in one area as they came and went at all hours of night into the morning.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.