Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
(1) Absolutely no cell phone reception. Was not advised of this until after we had signed in. Should have been informed & other arrangements would have been made. Very inexperienced help in check in office. Stayed an extra day & rec'd msg that we should have checked out even though we had paid for the extra night & had to move to another space. Again, shouldn't have happened. Could write more.
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
There were a few issues. 1) We notified staff about a child being sick around the pool area and nobody would take responsibility to clean it up.2) Garbage can by pool area was overflowing and again not cleaned up.3) Asked questions at the service desk and the responses were not positive.4) Large amounts of rain ruined many sites ours included and nothing was being done to resolve the issue.
Jul 13, 2015
first site smelled of dog poop. 2nd site already had another tent on it. 3rd site looked great; never experienced it as a hail storm hit without warning. No help from staff whatsoever.
Jul 13, 2015
Had fun. Love the pool
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Paid way to much for a spot that my tent was bigger than and after a day of driving I just wanted to relax but there was a firetruck going around the while campground. I ended up leaving the campground and going into the city to get away from the noise. I came back at night only to have a concert going on that echoed through the entire park.. very loud and obnoxious would never stay here again
Jul 13, 2015
Very helpful staff, very nice campground even if somewhat more expensive than other KOA's.
Jul 13, 2015
Great place to stay! Loved all of the activities that were available! Will be telling everyone I know about it!
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Not good.Camper did not fit first sight. 2nd slides almost hit electric post door almost hit tree. Sight Water looked like creek water very brown did not use. Canceled additional 2 nights went elsewhere to stay.
Jul 13, 2015
Great facilities and activities for families. Kids had a blast. Only complaint was that it felt very crowded. Must be the place to be.
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Great amenities for a campground! We could have stayed there without getting bored. The cabin was clean and in a great location relative to the restrooms/showers. We WILL come again!
Jul 12, 2015
Had a great time and was very family friendly with all the activities available. Well run, friendly staff and onsight facilities made our stay fun, easy and convenient. Extremely satisfied!
Jul 12, 2015
The deluxe cabin was really nice. It had everything you needed and a nice outside deck area as well. Lots of things for the kids to do and a great location for driving to other activities in the area.
Jul 12, 2015
Had a great time and took advantage of many of your amenities!!
Jul 12, 2015
Had a great time and took advantage of many of your amenities!!
Jul 12, 2015
The registration process was a bit of a joke.
Jul 12, 2015
The deluxe cabin we stayed in exceeded our expectations. We did a lot of the activities at the campground and my family enjoyed them all. It is a crowded and there are lots of people throughout the camp but the cabins blocked most of the noise and our neighbors were considerate. The Chuckwagon dinner felt overpriced for what was done. Will stay there again if in the area.
Jul 12, 2015
Great area, nice amenities. Staff was clearly overworked and facility was understaffed for it's size (according to comments from KOA staff!). We planned to eat at the restaurant onsite but when we walked in a KOA staff member was yelling at a customer, so we decided to leave. Sites were not cleaned well between guests. Overall dissapointed in this stay.
Jul 12, 2015
This place was great it had everything. The cabin was wonderful. The only issue was the internet, it was just hot spots and they never did work even after they had it fixed. We stayed for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Our kids had a wonderful time..
Jul 12, 2015
Great for families. Very clean sites. Some of the shower houses could be updated.
Jul 12, 2015
This KOA far surpasses any other. The cabins are cute, clean, and comfortable. There are tons of activities for the kids to do, and parents too! The setting is beautiful, and so close to Mt. Rushmore and many other attractions.
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Our one night stay was nice. because of the short time that we were there, the opportunity to use the extensive recreational activities offered never came about. The pull thru site was easy to get in to and out of. Maneuvering the 32' 5th wheel around the campground was easy with the wide turns and ample road surface. The power and water was easy to get to.
Jul 12, 2015
They need more bathrooms for the number of campers. Because of the traffic, the bathrooms and showers weren't always acceptable. Drainage needs to be addressed because the roads were washed out and needed to be repaired 3 times during our 7 day stay. A child threw up in the pool and no one responded to the request for assistance. Sites are way too small! Great location!
Jul 12, 2015
Kids sum it up amazing restaurant food was very good highly impressed over all
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Cabin on the hill overlooking the campground was beautiful. Family friendly! Nice bathrooms/showers. Would have been nice to have paper towels at bathroom sinks to wipe up water from previous user. Be helpful if potable water was pointed out at check-in for tenters and camping cabins to use for cooking.
Jul 12, 2015
Once we got a pull through site that we requested and paid for instead of back in that they wanted to put us in. Things were good
Jul 12, 2015
older bathrooms were hard to get into to very small, other than that very friendly and accommodating and clean with lots to do at this site.
Jul 12, 2015
Your Office Staff were extremely obliging. Your campgrounds are totally inadequate. (potholes, no pads, no WIFI, overpriced, uneven grounds, totally unsatisfactory)
Jul 12, 2015
We had a wonderful stay. Great staff and great facilities. It was just really loud for our little ones at night as they were going to bed. Wish we could have slept somewhere else and visited during the day. That being said we were in a central location right by the bathrooms and pool and stuff. We also couldn't believe how close it was to so many fun things like Mt Rushmore, Bear world etc....
Jul 12, 2015
Wonderful - very family friendly - associates were friendly - clean
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Someone was in our assigned place. The people working at the desk said the problem started earlier in the day when some other people camped in the wrong spot because the labels for the spots are not clearly placed. Luckily there was an empty spot nearby so it all worked out. All in all, we had a great time at this KOA! Lots of great activities for the kids.
Jul 12, 2015
Overall, great place. Much to do for our kids. They loved it! Cannot get internet/cell phone access. Bathrooms in the registration building needed much attention. For such a large operation, it was run fairly well.
Jul 12, 2015
It was fun from start to finish. The kids had a blast. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!
Jul 12, 2015
I don't like the $10 per camper pack this campground adds to the rate. Something about value - beyond me.
Jul 12, 2015
A great place to see the Black hills from. Clean, friendly staff, and so much to do at the KOA while you're there. The cabin was perfect.
Jul 12, 2015
I enjoyed the stay at Mt. Rushmore KOA. My only complaint is that I sent multiple emails trying to ask questions prior to my stay, only to have those emails not answered. Also, the day of our arrival, we were coming in very late and we repeatedly tried calling from the road and was unable to get anyone to answer the phone. Very disconcerting. campsite was great, communications poor.
Jul 12, 2015
Great activities for the kids. Loved the pancakes for breakfast.
Jul 12, 2015
Very clean and very friendly staff. Lots of on-site activities and the Ponderosa restaurant staff was excellent and served good food.
Jul 12, 2015
Great place to stay if in the Mr Rushmore area. The only suggestion I have is for more benches and chairs in the kid zone area for parents is with younger kids. With that being said, the kid zone is a great place to keep the kids entertained with water slideas and climbing walls and the pool
Jul 12, 2015
Nice campground with a lot of things to do, my kids loved it!!!
Jul 12, 2015
It was too high priced! We were seniors placed in the fun zone for kids. No wifi, no internet! Too far from camp sight to front and last but not least the shower floors were full of sand and water with no safety Matt to stand on. Too many in bathroom . Three deep to mirror. There were three nice people there. Other than that, wouldn't go back
Jul 11, 2015
enjoyed tie dying, pancakes, ATVing, seeing the sights.
Jul 11, 2015
lots of fun

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.