Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 04, 2017
Everything was great except for the fact that there is limited to no Wi-Fi access. Is very difficult to get weather updates and maps to plan our days. Other than that it was great!
Jul 04, 2017
The campground was a lot of fun. The website listed the tent sites as "generous," but this was definitely not the case. We had another tent less than a foot away from us. Overall, a good experience nonetheless.
Jul 04, 2017
Awesome place to take your family, so many things to do for both adults and kids. We are definitely heading out again for future camping fun
Jul 04, 2017
Pad not level, restrooms had a plumbing problem.
Jul 04, 2017
Jul 04, 2017
There was so much to do to keep our child entertained as well as us adults. We will be returning soon!
Jul 04, 2017
Further effort is needed to ensure that ALL campsites have WiFi and cable TV service, especially for the price of the campsite. You are doubling the campsite price of other KOA's with fewer of the services.
Jul 04, 2017
This was a stay that my kids will never forget. It was more that I could ever of hoped for. We have so much to do at the campground.
Jul 04, 2017
Further effort should be made to ensure that ALL campsites have WiFi and cable TV, especially for the price of the campsite which is almost double the usual KOA campsite.
Jul 04, 2017
The events were great! We loved the flashlight candy hunt! The staff is so friendly. My only improvement would be to have a little bit more attention to the pools/hot tubs.
Jul 04, 2017
Great place for kids Park is crowded and few trees for forested area Stayed 3 days bathroom needed better maintenance
Jul 04, 2017
Wonderful facility. Fun activities for all ages.
Jul 03, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
Nice campground. Lots of amenities onsite. Close to major attractions. Clean and maintained. Due to the amount of things to see in the area, I wish I chose a cheaper campground because I was never at the campground to use any of the amenities except to do laundry. Camp sites are small and crowded but most are pull-thru. Gave 4 stars only because of the small sites.
Jul 03, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
The campground was extremely cramped. All of the sites were right on top of each other. The comfort stations weren't very convienient to most sites. The two main ones were right in the middle of the rv sites and most rv'ers don't even use the comfort stations! We had to drive to the comfort station from our site. Also our tent site was not even level enough for a tent.
Jul 03, 2017
It was a great stay, lots to do. Rodeo was fun. Great staff, especially Skyler,Jamie,Martin and John. Would definitely go back.
Jul 03, 2017
Soo close to lots of activities but in campground comfort stations were so far away from some campsites it made it difficult.
Jul 03, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
This campground was huge and had so much to do. My kids loved it. The location is great and the area was pretty. Clean facilities. Only drawback was the small pull through site. Everyone was crammed together
Jul 03, 2017
We had a great time at the KOA - lots of things to do on the campground and location was great to see other things close by. We did the chuck wagon dinner - horse back riding and ATV at the campground and had a great time
Jul 03, 2017
We camp a lot, so we have a decent frame of reference. This place is amazing! Very busy, but well managed and overflowing with fun. Only slight issue we ran into was logistics because we were a bigger group and there is no cell service. There IS very spotty, slow wi-fi at three hot spots. But we will be back! Horseback riding, Fun Zone, chuckwagon dinner, the list goes on... Five Stars!
Jul 03, 2017
Great resort and well staffed and maintained. The services offered were excellent and fun for the whole family. We really appreciated the front desk staff which was helpful and was ready with tips and suggestions for touring the area.
Jul 03, 2017
Great place to stay! Lots of fun activities to enjoy!
Jul 03, 2017
Great staff. Lots for kids to do
Jul 03, 2017
We will stay again because we love this resort....however, we had multiple problems with the cabin, the mis-information & knowledge of the staff, and the hidden charges during the stay. We enjoy the setting & activities - but overall, the place is somewhat unappealing due to the crowds, and moderate hassles throughout the stay.
Jul 03, 2017
great facility , lots of activities for the kids
Jul 03, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
We enjoyed our time, but the campsites were WAY too small. We luckily had no immediate neighbors until our last day, but then we heard them talking normally and it seemed very loud at night. Going to the showers/toilets, we had to uncomfortably walk through people's sites because there was no easy, quick, way to the stations. KOA should remove a fourth of the sites and make the rest larger.
Jul 03, 2017
Definitely not well suited for tent camping. Our tent site overlooked a parking lot of RV's. Way too many people and cars. They need bike/walking paths. Saw little children walking mindlessly while cars backing out and driving about.
Jul 03, 2017
Clean, friendly, beautiful flowers. Our tent site was sloped which interfered with a good night's sleep. Entrance for registration unclear, we ended up parking in the shopping area which was confusing, unable to follow host, we found site ourselves.
Jul 03, 2017
a little tough for big rigs unless you are at the bottom where it is flat.
Jul 03, 2017
Nice campground lots of things to do for kids tentsite was a little small and unlevel slightly expensive
Jul 03, 2017
The campground has many amenities for families staying but we were only in for one night. Not all of he staff is equally informed in the area and the KOA. We asked one employee if there was food at Mount Rushmore and they did not know. Asked another employee where the water hook up was in our sight (they are situated on the posts differently than we are used to) and he didn't know.
Jul 03, 2017
Crowded. Everything was far away. Noisy all day and night. We hardly slept. Not at all what we expected from a KOA after our experiences with many others. Thankfully we were only there for one night.
Jul 03, 2017
The older bathrooms had mold in the caulk, also the shower area floor had one inch of old standing water kinda of nasty. The sand volleyball area was not exactly sand, I played VB for about an hour my feet were bleeding. The internet service was non existent, being self employed was not able to conduct any business. I would not come back again.
Jul 03, 2017
Great campground if you only have older kids. Not much in the way of activities for younger kids.
Jul 03, 2017
Nice campground. Great amenities. Only complaint was uneven plot for our tent and absolutely no wifi. Would stay there again for sure
Jul 03, 2017
Everyone was extremely helpful and kind and the facilities were quite clean and well kept! We had a great time and will be back for sure! My kids loved all of the activities offered and we took advantage of them all!
Jul 03, 2017
I have never been to a campground that had so many campers move spots as often as this one. We had to move - which was fine- but had a nasty gram on our camper accusing us of staying in the wrong spot. Had to go to the office to straighten it out and still got accused of it while at the office. Ridiculous when the campground had our camper's license plate but didn't bother to check. Very ㈶
Jul 03, 2017
The amenities were very good. Plenty of stuff for kids to do... However, our full hook up site was the worst we've had at any KOA campground. Was on a hill, sewage was above lvl so could not drain properly, big tree limbs hit our RV, and our site was a LONG ways from the amenities and there was mud most of the way. Also, wifi did not work at all. Worst part was it was the most we've ever paid KOA
Jul 03, 2017
Even though there was a mix up with our reservation the staff was prompt to correct it and the manager stopped by our site to offer credit to us. Very clean.
Jul 03, 2017
If I could I would give them -2 stars. The workers there were so dumb and didn't know anything, even McDonald's wouldn't hire them. There wasn't even a place to set our tent up and they refused to give us a refund or do anything to help. Worst campground I have ever stayed at and it was extremely overpriced for how horrible it was. I do NOT recommend anyone to stay here.
Jul 02, 2017
Great staff, kids and grandkids loved all the amenities, centrally located to all the places to see
Jul 02, 2017
We had a blast!
Jul 02, 2017
Although we made a reservation well in advance indicating the size of our RV, we got a very small site not suitable for a 25 ft RV.
Jul 02, 2017
Mostly good, terrible wifi, could not get on even at the designated spots. Very noisy.
Jul 02, 2017
Fantastic location at Mt. Rushmore. Love the restaurants, car rental, access to all the attractions and beauty of the location. We will definitely be back!!
Jul 02, 2017
The kids loved the jumping pillow. The camp kitchen was great with multiple double sinks, hot and cold running water, in an attractive outdoor pavilion. Campsite for 2 tents was adequate size.
Jul 02, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals