Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 04, 2015
Nice clean area and the staff was very nice
Aug 04, 2015
The Wireless connection can be achieved in lobby but no where to sit, otherwise Wireless connection is not available at RV sites. The staff is friendly and the sites are maintained.
Aug 04, 2015
A Great place for camping with the kids
Aug 04, 2015
WOW, what a great stay!!There was almost too much to do!!! All the KOA staff was so friendly and helpful! Would definitely stay here again if we get back to SD.
Aug 04, 2015
Well-maintained with tons of activities for the whole family. Very helpful staff with finding destinations we were going to. Second year in a row we have stayed here and will be coming back again.
Aug 04, 2015
We had a great stay. I think you should post on your website the sturgis bike rally for people who are from away. The people were wonderful but the 6 am bike rev ups were not pleasant as were the midnight bike revs. We had very little sleep which was not so much fun as we are on a 14 day trip.
Aug 04, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay. We were not able to connect into the wifi at the coffee shop or the main office but that wasn't a big deal. Overall we had a great stay and the camping cabin was very nice.
Aug 04, 2015
Lots to do, very family friendly, campsites packed closely together, busy bathrooms and not very clean.
Aug 04, 2015
Personnel unfamiliar with campsites, fees are over priced for sites and breakfast.
Aug 04, 2015
It was close to Mt. Rushmore, so that was a big plus. On the downside, through no fault of campground, the storms that came through hindered some of the activities that they have to offer. Places are a little crowded to fit both your camper and vehicle in.
Aug 04, 2015
This is the Disney of all KOA's! Loved the campground, staff and managers. Truly a great experience!
Aug 04, 2015
It was a great experience and wonderful campground. The only comment I would make is that the motorcycles often started up way before quiet hours were over at 7 (5:45am) and were quite loud after 10pm. But other than that, everything was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Aug 04, 2015
The showers were very bad. Everything else was quite good.
Aug 04, 2015
We had a great time. Staff was very nice & helpful
Aug 04, 2015
We enjoyed every minute! While our main reason to stay at Palmer Gulch was to have a place to park/camp for a few days, we quickly began to realize that staying at Palmer Gulch was vacation enough and if we wanted, we didn't even have to go anywhere else! From the daily activities to swimming, the pancake breakfast, and restaurant~we were happily entertained! I can't wait to go back!
Aug 04, 2015
Had a great time at this KOA. Lots of activities for the kids, great trails and lots of amenities. Staff was great. Would definitely come back. 5 stars.
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
We were amazed at the size of the facility, and the number of options available for guests. We were very happy with our stay. The only comment I might give someone is to clarify whether they are looking for a smaller, more exclusive, campsite, this might not be the right choice. Nevertheless, we had a great time.
Aug 04, 2015
This is a very nice campground. The bathroom needs to be remodeled, and cleaned. The other bathroom facility closer to the splash park, pools, etc. was very nice, and I think it would be wise to have the one closest to the registration area up to date as well. I would have liked to have the motorcycles all in one area as they came and went at all hours of night into the morning.
Aug 04, 2015
Nice campground...but our spot was literally in a swamp with 4 inches of mud surrounding all the hookups and the pad. Staff was professional but not particularly helpful.
Aug 04, 2015
This maybe a good campground for parents with children but without Internet service at most sites, and no television or cellphone service it is hard to recommend this place to older folks except as a stop over spot for visits to Mt Rushmore. On the positive side it is a pretty setting. We stayed in a full service spot.
Aug 04, 2015
Awesome KOA
Aug 04, 2015
Need more shuttle service from remote sites to areas around park
Aug 04, 2015
Noce very large KOA. Very close to Mt Rushmore
Aug 04, 2015
There is a lot of fun things to do there and the people who work there treated us great!
Aug 03, 2015
Wonderful campground, I would have given it a 5 star, but the sights are quite small, otherwise, there is a ton for kids to do all day, a wonderful place to stay, and would recommend to everyone.
Aug 03, 2015
professional...organized...well maintained. Nice area.
Aug 03, 2015
lot of things for families to do. not real motorcycle friendly. parking for motorcycle was not convenient.
Aug 03, 2015
Nice campground for a family vacation, many activities to keep children busy and a good location for visiting interesting sights in the surrounding area.
Aug 03, 2015
Great location..lots of activities for the kids. Our favorite part was the pancake breakfast...and catching the pancakes :-) . The only negative was they were having women's rest room issues when we were there.
Aug 03, 2015
Un seul problème on nous a déclassé sans pré avis pour nous localiser dans un espace trop petit pour notre roulotte suite à notre mécontentement on nous installe sur un site de qualité inférieure à ce que nous avions demandés ils nous ont chargé un prix moindre mais je suis quand même beaucoup decue
Aug 03, 2015
a huge kaon but had a smaller feel very well run wish wifi would have been available at site
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Reservation for 6 nights, stayed 4. Overall a typical KOA with sites very close together and packed in tightly. This KOA is very large with NOT enough staff to tend to it. The amount of taffice in/out daily requires twice the staff they had. Dirty showers and bathrooms were the norm. The staff overall were helpful, but many were not. Very poor directions from check in staff re lot location/no help
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Had a great time. Campsite and comfort station were clean and organized!! Staff very helpful and friendly.
Aug 03, 2015
Our fifth wheel site was fine. The problem was the tent site. We had two and they were both in low lying areas. It rained and the tents were in the path of water running across the road. Other tents were also flooded. We had actually changed from the first site as it was in tall grass and obvious that rain ran through it also. If there is not a tent site available just so:(
Aug 03, 2015
Very clean, , laundry facilities are below par, not recommended. If you want wifi or cell service spotty if any. The pool facilities are great, we are traveling with grandchildren and this place was made for them. We have a 40 ft towing and it was easy in out.
Aug 03, 2015
Enjoyed the stay..dissatisfied with the fire pit location
Aug 03, 2015
This KOA is amazing. The only thing I could say where it needs improvement is their cell phone reception. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend anyone to stay there.
Aug 03, 2015
We had the best time and the KOA was awesome!
Aug 03, 2015
one of the best KOA,plenty of things for kids, great staff, 2nd time here, gets better everytime
Aug 03, 2015
We love this KOA (5 years in a row). They have made great improvements every year. But this year we had a few issues. Two different days we had cold showers(stayed 4 days). And the water at the RV site and in the bathrooms was discolored(light brown and had an odor). Not sure what caused these issues but the overall facility is very good.
Aug 03, 2015
It was good fun with lots of things to do in the camp but also in a great location for the local sites.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Rustic cabin was clean and shower/toilet facility was acceptable given the campground was packed. Staff was accomodating and pleasant. Convenient and scenic location.
Aug 03, 2015
It was a very nice campground, very quiet at night. Alot of stuff to do and close to the places that we wanted to go and see. Liked the shuttle to Mt Rushmore so much easier than driving there ourselves. Enjoyed watching the horses being taken to and from the riding stables it was really cool to watch.
Aug 03, 2015
Great place in Black Hills with a ton of things to do for the kids. Treed spots are nice but like most KOAs you are pretty close to your neighbour. I would have given 5 stars but our site wasn't level at all. Great service though, when we needed more levelling boards they gave us a free 2x6 board to cut down into what we needed.
Aug 03, 2015
We were there with family and friends. Our campsite was on a slope so made getting in and out of camper a little difficult. Camp water was worse than we've ever seen it and had to go someplace else and run good clear water thru our whole water system to flush out the brown residue. Campsites are expensive for what we get and do. May not stay again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.