Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 09, 2014
It was centered in the area we wanted to tour. It is a good place for families. You keep it nice and clean. The staff answered our questions when put to them
Aug 09, 2014
The Mt Rushmore KOA is a vacation destination on it's own. We had a wonderful stay. Mark & Kath Henn The Villages, FL
Aug 09, 2014
We had a great visit. Enjoyed all of the activities. Kim, the trail leader was especially wonderful. We appreciated the rental cars and were relieved we could explore Sturgis, Crazy Horse and the surrounding area without having to unhook our RV. CHECK OUT MY TRIPADVISOR REVIEW . amymd2014.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
We loved everything! Disappointed in the bathrooms...need to be updated. Soap never worked by the sinks, bathrooms smelled like sewer back up all the time. Wish the Chuck Wagon dinner would still run even during Sturgis. Families are still there...not everyone is a biker.
Aug 09, 2014
Very scenic cabin. Nice amenities too including a public cooking area and sinks to wash dishes in. Bathrooms and showers were plenty and very clean.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Awesome! Lots of activities for the kids, two pools, hot tubs, this place is awesome!
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
This facilities were great. There were plenty of activities for the children. Plus it was a centralized location to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. The staff are extremely curtious and help.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
been going to this location for 4 years and this year they decided not to clean the camping kitchens, after we told them it needed attention they cleaned it once in a weeks time, traveling on a motorcycle and counting on these types of places is important to us with limited space.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Very nice campground! The only thing I have to complain about is the lack of room on the campsite for the towing vehicle.
Aug 08, 2014
Wished I would've known before making reservations! Added Charges: $10 daily resort fee on top of daily rate;on/off peak daily rates; $3 per day/per dog extra charge. This would've have been OK except the dog area was disgusting. Lots of old dog poop laying round;receptacle was overflowing. Cleaned up after complaining. Stinky showers with mold;water pressure at campsite was a trickle;no WFI;
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Enjoyed close proximity to Rushmore and Crazy Horse while still being in quiet country setting. Restaurant, coffee bar, stables all terrific, well stocked store a plus. Would like to see more gravel on unpaved roads, but overall upkeep is terrific.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
wonderful clean facilities and grounds. Quiet during night time. Support people were great at any time, store was stocked with what you needed. Great place to stay
Aug 08, 2014
Nice, clean, family friendly park.
Aug 08, 2014
Great location- loved the kids activity area, store on site and pancake tent! Only complaint is that hot tub and baby pool were dirty.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
I loved the amenities, but we were disappointed in the lack of internet service and poor cell phone service. I enjoyed the wine tasting and the other shops.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Had a camping cabin and stayed 5 nights and 6 days. Very happy with all the amenities offered.
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
8 of us camped on sites 304 and 305, it was amazing! We fished every morning, license were reasonable. The campsite was perfect, something to do everyday. We rented the ATVs and the golf carts, what a blast. The canoes and pedal boats were free, they were pretty fun too.
Aug 07, 2014
Crazy thunderstorm came through at 4:30 am blew our rain fly right off our tent. Thank goodness for the dryers in the laundry room!
Aug 07, 2014
This place is a great place to stay,but the 1st night in cabin 404 when we were making the bed the sheets for the pull out were totally dirty as well as the pillows were just disgusting had stains all over them. I took them to the front desk and they gave us new sheets but had no pillows and there was no dish soap. I wish they would have compenstated for thatbut they did not offer but still great
Aug 07, 2014
Was in for 3 nights of camping with my kids. I had previously stayed at this same KOA as a kid. Had a fantastic time...only downside was the incredibly loud bikes (Sturgis bike rally) and one rude neighbor, but even that didn't ruin our stay. Would likely plan to visit at least week prior/week after next time.
Aug 07, 2014
Great facilities with tons to do for everyone. Great location for attractions in the area
Aug 07, 2014
We had a quick stay, no problem checking in at 11:00 PM was nice. And who doesn't like all you can eat pancakes.
Aug 07, 2014
Great place for families with kids.
Aug 07, 2014
A great place...but they need to manage the flies. The stables have a fly and smell issue. We have stayed five years and it gets worse annually.
Aug 07, 2014
The only reason for the 3 rating is due to the poor cleanliness of the showers....we tried to use another area which was spotless but there was no hot water...maybe why they were so clean? Campsite was great, all activities offered were great, restaurant had good food & service. Horseback riding was excellent. Great big area for pets to run & play. Great camping experience overall! Thank you
Aug 07, 2014
Outstanding experience! Helpful staff, clean facilities and great activities for the kids!
Aug 07, 2014
The only thing I thought really needed improvement was the bathrooms. They had a bad gnat problem and were treating it but not wiping any of the dead gnats off of anything! But they were super nice and friendly and the camp had so many fun things to do and so many activities.
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Our cabin was not as good as others we have stayed in. The mattresses could be replaced, the door didn't open all the way, and the wood could use a good sweeping/cleaning. Everything else was very nice.
Aug 06, 2014
n wifi when I reserved the site it said i had wifi. water presser was low. staff weas helpfull but could do nothing about it.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
The activities for the kids are fabulous and the grounds are beautiful. The showers are needing some updating, but overall it is a great place!!
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
That was an awesome stay, our kids does not even want to leave the campground.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
My stay exceeded my every expectation; the camp ground was clean, the cabins are adorable, staff is friendly and helpful, and all of the amenities was a great surprise. My visit was over Sturgis weekend, and we were concerned with how full the campsite was, and about noise, but as instructed on our pamphlet, right at 10pm the whole place became quiet and we were able to sleep restfully.
Aug 06, 2014
I asked for shade for my tent site, but didn't get any. And, the site was on a slope so had to pitch right next to the road, which was the flattest part of the site. Showers were not as good as I have seen at other KOAs.
Aug 06, 2014
My first time to Black Hills. Simply beautiful. The KOA had everything a young family would ever want. Only one problem the fire pit to close to RV. Needs to be in middle of grassy space

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.