Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 09, 2016
Restroom cleaning/maintenance poorly timed. Tent site not level
Jul 09, 2016
We stayed in the cabin with the kid's loft. Great space. Loved that the shampoo, lotion, and coffee in the cabin were all organic. This location provides sheets and blankets for you. However, this location does not have great wifi which is a problem if you are a student or need to reach your email for work. They have three wifi locations but they were not great or even good quality.
Jul 09, 2016
Great, family friendly campground
Jul 09, 2016
great pancake breakfast, lots of fun things to do, and friendly staff. Beds in cabin were extremely uncomfortable, and Ponderosa Restaurant was mediocre at best.
Jul 08, 2016
No water pressure, sometimes no water at all. When reported, no one cared or tried to do anything. Cramped space.
Jul 08, 2016
I booked a 30 person reunion here. I expected good service at the price we paid. Instead we had to scavenge for amenities and service like towels, garbage retrieval, and basic amenities I'd expect to receive. Plus, trying to plan the trip was a nightmare because it's a rarity to get people to answer the phones at your facility! This place has potential to shine, but things seemed disjointed.
Jul 08, 2016
We had an amazing time camping here! My boys loved being able to swim, slide, basketball all the activities and Movie night many things for kids to do! We enjoyed our 1st family vaca in mount Rushmore KOA.we loved the horses riding behind our camp! So many things to do and. We'll be back for future vacations! Thank you so much for such a great time
Jul 08, 2016
Put the location aside, this campground is one of the best. The location obviously makes it better. Your activities and their staff, store, facilities were the best. Specifically your activity staff, they were some of the nicest people we have ever met and made my kids feel like family. My kids are at home writing letters to some of them.
Jul 08, 2016
Everything was in great repair and we had an excellent time! Never have found another camp ground with this kind of amenities!
Jul 08, 2016
Loved our stay here! One minor complaint would be the need for a few more showers, and air conditioned bathrooms. Hope to be back again!
Jul 08, 2016
When I made reservations I was not informed that I would be charged $3 a day for my two pets nor was I told that there was a $10 a day resort fee in which we did not use the pool, or any other amenities that the fee was for. The roads could also need some improvement as well. I spent over $400 for 6 nights for a space barely long enough for our trailer and truck to fit in.
Jul 08, 2016
Great campground. Love all the amenities. And who can beat the view, priceless!
Jul 08, 2016
We would have enjoyed our stay more, but unfortunately my wife had been sick.
Jul 08, 2016
It was a good place to stay, given that we didn't know the area. Because of the price, though, we would probably stay somewhere else next time.
Jul 08, 2016
Jul 08, 2016
While a very large campground facility, the staff work hard to keep the grounds clean and in good working order. We stayed over 4th of July weekend and had a great time. The kids loved the pool and slide when we were not out sight-seeing. Our neighbors were courteous and friendly. Sites 409, 410 and 411 are great selections. Away from the crowds, along a creek, and facing a pasture.
Jul 08, 2016
We had a great time. The campgrounds were clean, and accommodated our request to be near a friend that had booked separately. My boys loved the bouncy pillow!
Jul 08, 2016
very nice location; everything was perfect
Jul 08, 2016
Let me start with the fact this is a very well run facility. Clean, well equipped with great staff. Why I cannot give it a higher rating is that for me, it was just too big with too many people and all of the noise, crowding, etc. that comes with this. Quiet hours were not really followed and it was really only ever quiet between 11 PM and 5:30 AM. If this does not matter to you, it's GREAT.
Jul 08, 2016
Tent side was uneven and rocky. Not sure why they would put us there with so many flat grassy sites available. The pictures look great, until you actually want to us the amenities. The WIFI doesn't work unless you are an employee. The rock wall is only open from 2-5pm. I guess that is one way of advertising, without actually having to provide.
Jul 08, 2016
Jul 08, 2016
We had an excellent stay! Our kids loved all the activities!
Jul 08, 2016
Disappointed about the lack of cell reception. Promote you have wifi, but is really non-existant. Sites are extremely tight, barely room to park on your own site. Husband had egg shells in his fried egg from the restaurant. If you like being in the middle of no where, this is a great option. Kids loved seeing the horses and the ice cream was delicious.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for the lack of great connectivity this is why we do not promote our WiFi we actually warn you on our webpage that we are in the mountains and lack the infrastructure for great bandwidth. We hope that your time of being disconnected was relaxing nonetheless.
Jul 08, 2016
The campground states they have free Wi-Fi but out of all the visits I've stayed there, the Internet is either inaccessible or so slow that it won't perform.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for the lack of great connectivity this is why we do not promote our WiFi we actually warn you on our webpage that we are in the mountains and lack the infrastructure for great bandwidth. We hope that your time of being disconnected was relaxing nonetheless.
Jul 07, 2016
Great stay and the staff was eager to help with anything. The only improvement that I would suggest is to get cell phone service available.
Jul 07, 2016
The whole family had a blast and memories were made for a lifetime. The no service spots for WiFi was frustrating but the again we were on vacation
Jul 07, 2016
Love the place the kids had a good time. Already made reservation for next year.
Jul 07, 2016
So much to do...Staff very friendly. Very convenient to surrounding excursions. Grounds and bathrooms well taken care of. Overall great stay.
Jul 07, 2016
Great place/activity for kids. Many low places when it rains. Will book premium site next time.
Jul 07, 2016
Very nice campground with amenities for the kids.
Jul 07, 2016
We loved this KOA. We had a couple hitches. Our sites werent connected; the wifi didn't work at all (not cool with work deadlines); bathrooms were accessible but often dirty and wet. Otherwise, the staff was lovely, pools beautiful, location gorgeous. Definitely recommend!
Jul 07, 2016
Our site was incredibly flooded and muddy. All sites around us were flooded and staff continued to try and put others in the empty flooded sites. Unacceptable that a campground that large doesn't have recycling.
Jul 07, 2016
This location has a lot of amenities for the family. It's very large. A lot of the camp (tent) sites are not flat so you might be camping on an incline. The staff was nice.
Jul 07, 2016
If only they had reliable internet it would be the best KOA in the whole wide world.
Jul 07, 2016
The cabins clean. Everyone was super nice. Tons of activities for the family!
Jul 07, 2016
This was our third time at Palmer Gultch. Every time we visit the experience gets better. We love staying here.
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
It was awesome..great location and great faculities
Jul 07, 2016
Very nice campground with lots of fun things to keep us busy. We had a great time!
Jul 07, 2016
Absolutely wonderful!
Jul 07, 2016
Lots of activites.
Jul 07, 2016
a great place to see the black hills etc
Jul 07, 2016
Loved our stay! Our site was beautiful, the kids had fun & we are already planning a trip back
Jul 07, 2016
Top notch! A little something for everyone! Wonderful facility. Great kids activities. We all enjoyed ourselves.... nice, well-stocked store, friendly arrival, horses, 4-seater bikes to rent, big play structure, splash pad, pool with hot tub and mini golf. We will be back!!!
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
Did not appreciate a charge for something called a "Super Saver Package" or something like that. I have no idea what this is for and you are the only KOA that charged me for this. I feel ripped off.
Jul 06, 2016
The stay was awesome everyone loved the horse back riding & the facilities!
Jul 06, 2016
Great location! This KOA had some many amenities. You have to try to be bored. Courteous staff and well kept campground. Definitely would stay again.
Jul 06, 2016
my site held a lot of water and stayed muddy but loved the campground
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals