Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2015
Nice place. Stayed there many times. Very family oriented with tons of kids playing. So if you want quiet solitude not the best. But it is a good basecamp in the heart of the hills. Recommend.
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Has a lot of fun stuff for the kids, but it's a VERY BUSY campground. Should be expected by it's very convenient location to Rushmore.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to our Resort! We love to hear that there was plenty to do for your kids and that you found us convenient to Mt. Rushmore. While we have a very busy park,we recommend you request 4th area on your next visit as it is a much quieter place to camp.
Aug 19, 2015
Hands down the best KOA! (And we've camped at a lot of them!) We highly recommend this campground. Sooo much to do there. Conveniently located to lots of attractions. Can't wait to go back!!
Aug 19, 2015
My only complaint is that the bathrooms were small and far away from our campground.
Aug 19, 2015
Our stay at Mount Rushmore, SD KOA was wonderful! No Complaints what-so-ever. The staff was cordial and the services were tip top. The location is great and it's very easy to get anything you wish to see. We will definitely stay here again during our next trip to Mount Rushmore!
Aug 19, 2015
Very convenient to Mt. Rushmore. Unfortunately stayed only one night. Up the hill in the woods, far from restaurant and other amenities. In the Black Hills, okay. On our way to Littleton CO to meet family.
Aug 19, 2015
The campgrounds are very nice lots to do here. The only thing is you need to bring your bike to ride around because it takes you forever walk around. Some of the tent sites are on big hills and are not flat for your tent to go on. Also the staff should have a time zone for when they clean the washrooms NOT 9AM when people are getting out of bed and need to use them.
Aug 19, 2015
There was a bag of trash when we got to our cabin. Even though we reported it 3 times to staff, it was never removed. There was also a car at our cabin site. Somebody did come by once but ultimately at 10:00 pm, I had to ask the people to move it so my car was not out in the road.
Aug 19, 2015
Very accommodating. Originally put in a tiny sloped tent spot without shade. Went to the office and they allowed us to move spots with no hassle.
Aug 19, 2015
We were originally placed in a rather flooded site but KOA accommodated us with a drier site nearby. The bathrooms were VERY clean!!! Very clean park and facilities. There are a lot of activities for the kids and daily extra activities. The campground was one of their favorite things on the trip. I would only suggest having some of the activities later or twice a day as people are on day trips.
Aug 19, 2015
Too expensive. No cellular telephone access. WiFi only available near the office and speed was worse than "dial-up" of many years ago. We drove into Hill City and used our "hot-spot" for WiFi. The horse corrals are adjacent to the swimming pool which was unpleasant. They need to put down some gravel -- I had to wade in the mud to hook-up my car when we left. The flower displays were nice.
Aug 19, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
Great family KOA. Was going to stay one night, but decided to stay two. Lots of things to do.
Aug 19, 2015
Only got to stay one night but I'd bring family back ina minute for tent or cabin.
Aug 19, 2015
This place is more like it's own attraction and kind of takes away from why people go there to begin with. I remember when I was there about 17 yrs ago it was not yet as big but still fun. I'm kind of sad that they developed so big.
Aug 19, 2015
Nice place but all camping spaces were very close together
Aug 19, 2015
Very muddy in front of camper they need more gravel in someofthe camp sites,the lady that checked me in did a great job and found me a dealer to take my truck to to get fixed.
Aug 19, 2015
Nice campground but a little too pricey for lack of cable and wifi. A lot of activities and great location for Mount Rushmore
Aug 19, 2015
Just an overnight stop. Wish it was longer. Great campground with lots to do. Very large.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We wish you could have stayed longer too! Thank you for your great review! We hope the next time you are in the area you will be able to stay a little longer and enjoy all of the fun things we have to offer! Sincerely, Danielle Akey Assistant Manager
Aug 18, 2015
Great place for great views
Aug 18, 2015
There was a wide variety of activities available, as well as food options. I especially enjoyed the pancake breakfast in the big tent.
Aug 18, 2015
we were very pleased but found little help from the reunion manager and it was annoying not to be able to stay together or even know where everyone stayed.
Aug 18, 2015
We have always loved visiting here, and trust me, we drive over 18 hours just so the kids can enjoy this KOA. However, very disappointed that my family and other guests were unable to enjoy main fun zone due to busses of kids, not camping there, showing up and taking over the pool. Had no respect for KOA guests, lacked supervision, especially group from FYS. Spent a lot of time & $ for this trip.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
This campground is not the same as it was 6 years ago. Too crowded and staff not helpful. Campground does not warrant their high cost or the resort fee. If someone wants to use the "resort" activities, let them pay for it rather than everyone....resort fee is not warranted. I have stayed in many, many other KOAs that are much nicer and less expensive.....
Aug 18, 2015
Busy campground so not a great place for my young child as they couldn't really be outside unless held. Cars, trucks, campers were going by at all times of the day and night. Lots and lots to do for older children. Wifi does not work at all. Even the person in the coffee shop/Internet cafe couldn't get it to work. I gave up after the second day and went to Mt Rushmore to use theirs.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
This was our second stay. Only complaint was the significant sewer gas odor throughout our stay. This included the restrooms which consistently smelled bad.
Aug 18, 2015
Stayed here when I was 13, 18, 21 and now again at 34, bringing my own child! It keeps getting better! I love this KOA, always a friendly staff and so much to offer, never disappointed!! Great place to stay especially for a family vacation! Well priced too!
Aug 18, 2015
This was our first time at a KOA as new RV owners. We previously have only tent/pop up camped in state parks. We chose this KOA so we could stay near friends renting a cabin. We found the sites to be much closer together than what we are looking for. Obviously the convenience of hookups was awesome. The kid zone was great and we loved playing in the open space and climbing the big rocks.
Aug 18, 2015
We had a great stay! The kids were kept busy with all the activities. They loved the water slide and the bouncy ball! We had great meals at the 2 restaurants and fun entertainment at the wine bar. It was very relaxing.
Aug 18, 2015
our stay was very enjoyable. Every year there is something new and fun. Our 5 year old enjoyed the many events put on by the sun shiners. The rockets, strawberry floats and the coloring t-shirts. We have done every event that is offered whether free or a additional cost and always worth the time and or money. We always meet and make new friends. Wish every where we stayed we had this much fun
Aug 18, 2015
We stayed in a site that had the patio set on cement which we liked, but the cable TV did not come in, it was all fuzzy and the restroom/shower house was not very desirable.
Aug 18, 2015
This was kid HEAVEN! My family enjoyed every minute. The pool, playgrounds, waterslide, and jumping pillow were huge hits. Love the easy access to Mount Rushmore, the on-site general stores, and the activities. We will be back! My only complaint: no cell service and an overwhelmed wi-fi. Did not expect to be completely disconnected.
Aug 18, 2015
Great stay!
Aug 18, 2015
Unreal. To summarize, my only regret is that I couldn't stay longer! Thank you, KOA!
Aug 18, 2015
Have always loved staying at Palmer Gulch so much fun for everyone
Aug 18, 2015
Great stay and our tent site was a pleasure. Enjoyed the pool, hot tub and pancake breakfast, too.
Aug 18, 2015
tout est parfait juste décu que la réception nous aie fait attendre 45 minutes alors que notre chalet était vide mais la règle est 3:00 pm
Aug 18, 2015
We stayed in the small cabin without a bathroom. It was cleaning cozy plus the price was right!! We enjoyed our stay tremendously! Perfect location and lots to do on site!
Aug 18, 2015
Lots to do... Unfortunatley, we had to drive into hill city to get phone service... I had a few papers to trun in for work and the wifi was not working.
Aug 18, 2015
over priced..They also let kids (8-9) drive off road vehicles through the camp. Wi-Fi ? What a joke. There is none & no cell coverage. The water pressure was terrible. But the weather was nice.
Aug 18, 2015
This campground is nice but they have the site's right on top of each other. To crowded!! The man at the bike rental was totally rude and the kids got yelled at everywhere they tried to ride. To much traffic for bike rentals. UNSAFE!!
Aug 18, 2015
This was by far the best KOA that we have ever stayed at! Not only was the beautiful scenery breathtaking, there were so many activities to appeal to both the kids and adults! We will definitely be coming back to this resort.
Aug 18, 2015
It is conveniently close to Rushmore. Very nice. Lots of amenities and stuff to do. Pricey, but it is a resort. However, for that @$!# much money the WiFi should work everywhere in the park but it doesn't work even at the front desk area where they say it works. Ticked cause I really needed that. They need front loading washers for sleeping bags etc.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Too much chlor in pool. Burning eyes and color fadin in bath suit.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals