Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
No complaints exceptmore bathrooms and cleaner bathrooms/showers. Great amenities! Love the surroynding area. Great views! Very family friendly!
Aug 22, 2017
Great location, clean, friendly staff. So much for the kids to do you wouldn't have to leave to have fun.
Aug 22, 2017
What a great property! We have four kids (mostly under 10) and we always opt to stay in simple properties because we spend most of our time out sightseeing. This time, however, we decided to make this KOA a base to give the kids a break after our touring each day. The activities and events were fantastic and we all REALLY enjoyed the accommodations (tent for us). Thanks for the great time!!
Aug 22, 2017
Way too crowded. Overpriced.
Aug 22, 2017
Tons of great family things to do. Could easily spend a week here and never get bored.
Aug 22, 2017
This is our favorite KOA! It's going to be next year's family vacation as well. Can't say enough good about this place.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Best KOA facility we have stayed at. Will definitely stay there again if/when we come back to the area.
Aug 22, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 22, 2017
Great koa. Big but very nice. Had a full service pull through. Perfect for a 26ft toy hauler to unload harley. Location perfect for what we had wanted to do. Take their bus to my Rushmore lighting. Don't fight the traffic.
Aug 22, 2017
very enjoyable, the bathroom were a little messy.
Aug 22, 2017
This was our second visit to this particular KOA. The first time, it was just e and my husband and we secured a tent camp site. We enjoyed it so much, that we planned a visit with the kids for this year and stayed in a deluxe cabin. It was a gorgeous site, and we LOVED the spacious cabin. The kids wanted to stay and play all day. My son mentioned to me a few times that he wanted to live there.
Aug 22, 2017
I chose a number right in the middle as the campground was great except I NEEDED a wireless spot as promised because my sister was coming to the campsite [to stay at The Lodge] days after we arrived and I was not able to contact her as needed! I really feel that potential campers should be TOLD that there is rarely any connection instead of being assured of the 3 WIFI spots that don't deliver!
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Great place for kids and family absolutely love it!!
Aug 22, 2017
Great activities for all ages and close proximity to numerous attractions in the area.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Amazing amenities for the low cost!!
Aug 22, 2017
We had a great time, there was something to do all the time and your staff was very friendly.
Aug 22, 2017
Our family had a great time and we enjoyed our stay very much!
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Another brief stay along the way!
Aug 22, 2017
It is hard to make plans or change activity plans or bring up maps without internet or cell service. It would be nice to have that as an option.
Aug 22, 2017
You cram too many RVs in the place especially back by the arena. Some people could not even open their slide outs or put out their awnings. We did not have room for our trailer after all and had to leave it detached in the field.
Aug 22, 2017
Incredible! Gorgeous location, UNPARALLELED amenities. Price for a pull through w/e sight was the same as we've payed elsewhere throughout the country for a third of the amenities. Clean, well maintained, awesome staff.
Aug 22, 2017
Overall nice facility. A lot to do, but expensive. RV spaces are close together, but nice. Bathrooms are old, need updating.
Aug 21, 2017
Made reservations in Dec of 16 for a family reunion, asked for a larger lot with 50 amp service, was told no problem. We arrived on July 23rd of 2017, check in went great. When arrived on are camp site, this is where it went bad. It was about the smallest site on your property that I saw, it was only a 30 Amp service. Went up to office to discuss. Customer service sucked!! They could care less!!
Aug 21, 2017
This KOA iscentrally located to all the areas we were interested in seeing. We would:not have been ablek to fit it in if we had stayed some other place. This had everything you needed. Staff were awesome!
Aug 21, 2017
Love the campground, my only complaint is that I felt like the grounds could have been cleaned better, trash and wrappers
Aug 21, 2017
The accommodations was extremely nice, my grandkids had all kinds of things to do with or without us ! I would recommend staying at your campground to anyone, we had a great time and plan on coming back in the future!!
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
My site was on close to a 15 degree slope. I couldn't level it with blocks even. The site I had for what I paid I didn't feel was worth it.
Aug 21, 2017
the only thing they need better wifi internet as there wifi-interned doesnt work
Aug 21, 2017
We (5people) stayed in a 1-room camping cabin and it was perfect. The location is ideal for sight seeing, very close to all major attractions. The activities at campground kept the kids very busy. The Rodeo was a nice bonus during our stay. We also took advantage of the free President Wax Museum visit and mini-golf in Keystone. We will definitely be back and hope to bring more of our family with.
Aug 21, 2017
We were there 23 years ago with our kids. This time we brought my mother and my wife's dad. Wow has it changed. How is a good time so much to do and everybody is so nice to you. Definitely will be back with our grandkids. Thanks for the good time
Aug 21, 2017
We have stayed here at least 4 times over the years, and LOVE it! We would never stay anywhere else and recommend it to our friends and family often. Thank you for another great stay!
Aug 21, 2017
we enjoyed the stay. friendly staff, clean grounds. there was plenty to do on site as well in a hundred mile radius. Had a great time, will return.
Aug 21, 2017
It was an awesome place to stay very kid friendly I took my 3 grand kid's with me aging from 9 to 15 and there was something for all of us to do. Don't know if I will be back that way but I will be picking KOA camp ground's to stay in.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Wow!!! What an amazing stay we had at KOA Mt. Rushmore! With so much to do right at there we almost wish we had planned another day during our SD trip JUST for campground activities! Beautiful grounds with so much for kids of all ages, this campground says FAMILY! It was more a camp resort and we loved it! Clean, gorgeous site, friendly staff. This is THE place to stay for a memorable trip!
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
We loved everything about this place. You could spend 2 days just at the campground and not do everything they have to offer. Everything is reasonably priced and the staff is exceptional! We will definitely be back.
Aug 21, 2017
We had a great time. Kids kept busy only thing bad was Wi-Fi.
Aug 21, 2017
A lot of fun activities to do without having to leave the camp grounds. Bathrooms were nice but showers were always dirty/muddy. The convenient store was way too expensive. Other than that, I enjoyed my cabin. Clean and really cute small bed above the full size.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Very noisy the quiet time was not enforced. People started to get quiet after 12:00 midnight. We will not go to this place again. Ken. Edwards
Aug 21, 2017
disappointed when first showed up and there were three employees trying to figure out how to get an employee discount on something instead of talking to me. Then when I finally did get service I had to go out and get my license plate numer I came in and the lady was gone. Someone else had to come and help me. Other than that, the stay was fabulous.
Aug 21, 2017
It was very convenient for exploring Mount Rushmore and having the yellow school bus take and pick us up was perfect. We explored the area everyday and enjoyed the Saturday evening rodeo.
Aug 21, 2017
We stayed 9 nights with a 5 year old, 1 dog and 2 new puppies, and I would do it all over again! Our spot was perfect, the people were very nice and helpful, and the activities were fun! I am looking forward to next summer so we can do it again!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals