Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 16, 2016
The showers an bathrooms near our site were picked up but not as clean as I expected. Shower seats had mold in crevices, the bathroom didn't smell very good even immediately after the cleaning staff was in there and the toilet water was yellow in color several times during our stay which made me question how clean the water was that I showered with.
Aug 16, 2016
Great place, but pricey.
Aug 16, 2016
Our stay her was very good the campground is spectacular. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The manager even took me to the Post Office to get a package that was sent to me.
Aug 16, 2016
lots to keep the kids going
Aug 15, 2016
Clean friendly lots of fun.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
Host was great. Will stay again
Aug 15, 2016
great grounds and facilities, just need some shade threes...
Aug 15, 2016
Wonderful stay and nice mountains and trees
Aug 15, 2016
Beautifull resort!Treated excelent!
Aug 15, 2016
great place for the family!
Aug 15, 2016
we stayed in a cabin - which was dusty from the ground - had a very long walk to the bathrooms and the camp kitchen - this is a very busy camp ground with lots to do - some of the trailer sites are very cramped.
Aug 15, 2016
A fun, fun place...so much to see and do. Wish we could have stayed a week.
Aug 15, 2016
The ladies working in the Kitchen on Saturday night 8/13 (Helena and another who's name I didn't catch) were awesome!
Aug 15, 2016
had a blast
Aug 15, 2016
The cabin was very small to accomodate 5 people. There was only one shelf and no other benches or places to set personal items. Also, the cabin was very far from the bathroom and down a steep hill - not a trek I'd want to make in the middle of the night. It would be nice if basic bathrooms with toilet/sink were more plentiful even if you had to walk a little further to the shower house.
Aug 15, 2016
Shower house was very uncomfortable due to lack of any exhaust or ventilation; also lacked convenient shelving and/or hooks. Wifi/mobile capabilities far below advertised service. Rating and referral would otherwise be higher.
Aug 15, 2016
Great place!
Aug 15, 2016
My family and I had such a great time camping there (I have been camping plenty of times personally, but it was the rest of my family's first time). My wife is now fully on board with camping in the future and she has already been looking into camping at other KOA sites around the country.
Aug 15, 2016
Been staying here since 2000 always been excellent nicest Koa we stayed at keep up the good work thanks mike
Aug 15, 2016
Lots of activities for the kids. Great campground.
Aug 15, 2016
Good campground with lots to do! Close to mount Rushmore which is why we picked it. Only downsides were that the tent site we had was very small, so we were cramped and didnt have much room to cook, and that there were no trees that provided shade where we were. We will probably come again but will have to pay for a pull through site or something.
Aug 15, 2016
The people were friendly and the food was good. I especially liked the pool/hot tub. The tent spaces were closer together than expected but still comfortable.
Aug 15, 2016
Great experience at this family friendly campground. Lots of amenities and good store if you forgot something! clean shower building. Would go here again. Sites are a little tight, and not many trees in this valley to give privacy, had a broken water spigot also.
Aug 15, 2016
Very family oriented , organized and friendly helpful staff. I have a handicap and the service drivers were willing to meet our requests. Thank you
Aug 15, 2016
We had a great stay! Nice Kabin, great amenities, beautiful scenery. Thanks KOA!
Aug 15, 2016
Stayed here 7 years now for the Sturgis rally...Always great!! They have everything you need plus ALOT more !!
Aug 15, 2016
friendly staff gorgeous stores!
Aug 15, 2016
Love this place, one build would be to have an Wifi connection that actually works. I have stayed for a couple of years, but to know you have to leave the campground and go into Hill City to get a signal can be annoying.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
I loved the location. I loved the amenities. I was profoundly disappointed in how I was treated by some of the staff. I was given false information concerning rentals. And I felt like I was being "scammed" by threats of additional charges.
Aug 15, 2016
Loved it
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
This was a beautiful campground that had so many amenities that we were unable to take advantage of. Would love to come back again.
Aug 14, 2016
Only reason I don't give a full rate is the poor internet and cell service. I have friends that will not stay there for that reason. Mike the GM is awesome.
Aug 14, 2016
Aug 14, 2016
Awesome place for families with kids. Lots to do and close to all major sights. Enjoyed the trout pond, pancake breakfast and the tavern at night.
Aug 14, 2016
Awesome place. Kids enjoyed the Fun Zone and horseback riding. Very nice cabin. Will be back in the future.
Aug 14, 2016
Great campground. Loved amenities but really think the lack of wifi and tv hook ups decreases the appeal. I'm a doctor and not having cell service was dicey for me.
Aug 14, 2016
Great for families!Our kids are 11,9,& 7 yrs old and there was much to do at the KOA and in nearby towns & parks. Staff is friendly. Showers and restrooms are nice & clean. We enjoyed swimming, waterslide, horseback ride, live music, chainsaw art show, community campfire and smores,minigolf, movies at night, basketball, bag toss, & pan for gold. WiFi is terrible so used phones on our daytrips.
Aug 14, 2016
We really enjoy your KOA and have stayed there multiple times, but we may not stay there again if the wifi situation is not fixed. Connectivity and cell phone reception were notably worse than when we stayed there 2 years ago.
Aug 14, 2016
Beautiful resort; fantastic amenities; very well maintained; RV sites are very tight and can be an issue for longer units.
Aug 14, 2016
spectacular
Aug 14, 2016
Aug 14, 2016
This place is amazing! So many wonderful amenities! The kids loved this place and so did we! Can't wait to come back!
Aug 14, 2016
Very nice and scenic had a great time your people were very nice and polite. Hospitality was great.
Aug 14, 2016
Very helpful. Love the car rental option. Food was very good.
Aug 14, 2016
Very nice place. The campsite numbering system is a joke. Some of the tent sites on the hill are not even useable.
Aug 14, 2016
too big and too expensive
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals