Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2016
Best KOA we have ever stayed at! Super friendly staff, awesome accommodations and clean campsites! We were so busy taking in the sights in Mt Rushmore area we didn't have much time to enjoy all that the camp ground offered (like the pool area and fun land) but we did go for a horse back ride! Would have liked to have seen a site for recyclable items.
Aug 20, 2016
I ended up speaking to the General Manager when I called to book our stay. He was phenomenal! The rest of the staff was great too! Always something to do at the campground & friendly and helpful staff to boot!
Aug 20, 2016
We were in a small cabin with our three children and we had a blast. The children lived being able to run around and do their own thing. The cabin was clean, the bathrooms were maintained. The staff was so very friendly. We git home yesterday and the kids already asked when we can go back. Thank you for a great week.
Aug 20, 2016
Aug 19, 2016
This KOA we have stayed at the last 10 years. This year why to expensive we are looking at other places to save money. I am not happy with the resort fee when we use nothing as far as resort and have small place for the camper. Really there are other places with large lots and lower prices.I am just being honest.$90.00 to high a night to stay for 10-14 days
Aug 19, 2016
quiet and clean, lots to do, enjoyed the breakfast. I know its a family atmosphere, but better cell phone would be nice, we came in late could not contact others there before us and not sure where they were. I know its not the end of the world, we survived millions of years with out those dam cell phones, was funny to watch the young crawl the rocks looking for cell phone service. Wow spoiled....
Aug 19, 2016
Great location, clean, and very kid friendly.
Aug 19, 2016
We loved it. This campground is awesome. There is so much to do right on site. This was our second trip there and we are already planing our 3rd trip there.
Aug 19, 2016
Love the campgrounds,if you travel with children it's awesome! So much to keep them entertained.
Aug 19, 2016
It was quiet at night and that is something that is very important to me.Staff was very helpful.
Aug 19, 2016
The WiFi was unusable, the sites were narrow and short. It was a good place for families with a lot for kids to do. Over priced for what was received
Aug 19, 2016
Aug 19, 2016
Everything was great the hook ups large spaces for campers. 2 swimming pools and many activities for young kids only thing I can think on improving is the miniature golf course the refurbished.
Aug 19, 2016
Clean, many activities for kids and adults. Beautiful.
Aug 19, 2016
awesome place!!!
Aug 19, 2016
We love this KOA. Great amenities! Very clean.
Aug 19, 2016
This place is amazing! My husband and I had a wonderful stay here for my birthday, only downfall is the bathrooms and shower stalls, they were disgusting and need to be cleaned on a regular basis thruought the days.
Aug 18, 2016
We have stayed numerous time at your Kampground. We come for the Sturgis Rally and have always enjoyed our stay, besides the rally there is plenty to do. Already have reservations for next year.
Aug 18, 2016
Aug 18, 2016
Not happy about a few things. You advertise free Wi-Fi, we get there to find out its free Wi-Fi hot spots and if you don't log in first thing in the morning you probabley won't get in. Second and most important, the water at the sites is brown. How do you think this is sanitary for your guests? The third item, there is no place for adults to swim!!! NOT A HAPPY CAMPER.
Aug 18, 2016
Bathrooms need better daily cleaning in the children's camp area
Aug 18, 2016
Was not satisfied with original location. Manager Mike moved us to a great site!! Thanks
Aug 18, 2016
Lots to do for kids and close to all the Black Hills has to offer
Aug 18, 2016
Lots of stuff to do! Very nice, and people were pretty helpful.
Aug 18, 2016
Very nice with many activities for all ages. Would definitely go back.
Aug 18, 2016
Aug 18, 2016
The camp ground was nice, except lay out of some of the camping spots was confusing, our neighbours were using our fire pit and table d/t poor lay out.
Aug 18, 2016
The overall campground was great for kids. I was a little disappointed with the fact there was no cable or WIFI for the price we paid. As adults needing a place to stay this would not be my first choice in the future.
Aug 18, 2016
Need to state cable tv hookups are very limited. Very nice campground for our grandkids. Lot of things for young kids to do. Very clean and well maintained.
Aug 18, 2016
The showers were gross - wouldn't use them. Great place for kids - came in late on Fri - got chased out on Sunday - could have enjoyed some kid activities prior to leaving but were told to leave because of check out time - mostly empty campgrounds should encourage people to stay - not push them out the door
Aug 18, 2016
Great location, but small and unleveled tent site for a high price. Shower, restrooms not as well maintained as in other kampgrounds.
Aug 17, 2016
Too short. Too expensive. I've been staying at this KOA since 1996 because I thoroughly enjoy it. But you have nearly priced me out of your market. About a 60 percent price increases over a 20 year span. I retired in 2007 and my income decreased 40 percent. There are minor maintenance and repair issues that have been ignored at least 3 years. I did put it in writing before I left this year.
Aug 17, 2016
Showers dirty Steep hill to get to bathroom Long lines at store/check-in Very disappointing
Aug 17, 2016
Great visit, our three kids had a blast and we didn't even scratch the surface on all there is to do! Campsites are a little tightly packed, but we didn't stay here for a camping experience.
Aug 17, 2016
Aug 17, 2016
Nice pitch, great facilities, although showers could have been a little cleaner.
Aug 17, 2016
Very nice. Lots of things to do. The trip for the lighting of Mount Rushmore was very nice and the program was very moving.
Aug 17, 2016
The grounds are beautiful. Nice flowers and well maintained. We stayed in a cabin so used to bathroom facilities and the ahowers were not really clean but usable. Must have rained alot before we got there because the showers were full of mud. Kids loved the fun zone and horse back riding.
Aug 17, 2016
Poor or no wifi. Does 911 work? Patrick
Aug 17, 2016
Love all the options for the kids and appreciate that most of them are "free" (easier to pay the $10 resort fee ahead of time than each time they want to do something)
Aug 17, 2016
Pleasant stay based on location and the services provided. place to eat and drink or just get a snack
Aug 17, 2016
Aug 17, 2016
Too big for us. Got put on just about worse site in campground.
Aug 17, 2016
Our only complaint is that we didn't have cell phone service or Internet.
Aug 17, 2016
the only fault is i paid a sight garrenty didnt get that sight
Aug 17, 2016
Aug 17, 2016
Very nice campground with lots of kids activities. WiFi was not very strong in the camp sites. Worked best at the office and when you are out of country and rely on WiFi to contact people at home to let them know you are safe poor strength in campsite is not helpful.
Aug 17, 2016
Awesome! Kids had a great time! Everyone was friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.
Aug 17, 2016
As soon as I got there it started to rain and the storms kept coming. Not a lot to do for kids when there is bad weather. We ended up leaving after three hours
Aug 17, 2016
Only negative was being put in the kid area when I specifically asked not to be in the child area. Booked on line.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy