Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 15, 2013
Great place!! Close to Mt Rushmore. Great place for family and kids!!
Aug 15, 2013
The comfort stations need cleaned more then once a day when busy. The two trees at the entrance blocking the view of the curve in the road need removed. Its hard to see when turning in or out of the campground.
Aug 15, 2013
Awesome! Beautiful facility. Great fun area for kids, family movies lots to do. Highly recommend-we will be back next year!
Aug 15, 2013
It was stormy late at night but no shelters for tent campers. Restrooms should have paper towels so sink counters can be wiped down after using. Also, restrooms should be cleaned more often during busy weeks such as Sturgis Rally
Aug 15, 2013
The childrens activities were fabulous! Pancake breakfast was great. The sites were small and hilly. The bathrooms could have been cleaned more often. Overall, great location and great experience.
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
unbelievable, the cost for the site, then how small it was our camper fit from road to road, no place to park the truck. crammed in like sardines so many nice campgrounds around there look around before you go here too highly priced oh and wifi is terrible no phone service in the canyon either!!!
Aug 15, 2013
We arrived after dark. When registering, the associate was very sensitive to giving us a site that allowed for easy pull thru set-up. To do so he gave us an upgraded site. We did not take advantage of the full hookup but the point is he did a great job getting us to a good site. We were all set up in 15 minutes.
Aug 15, 2013
Check in didn't go well but the rest of our stay was great. My family had a great time. We will be returning. Thank you Koa staff
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Great campground, beautiful scenery but a bit expensive to camp at the water electric site with a tiny camper using little water & electric. Would have been cheaper to not pull the camper and to pay a little extra for a camping cabin. We didn't get to use all the amenities as we were away during the day exploring/doing tourist type stuff - the added cost wasn't worth it for us, but good for others
Aug 14, 2013
Great facilities. A bit crowded and washrooms of variable quality
Aug 14, 2013
Would definitely stay here again if we ever make it back to Mt. Rushmore. It was so clean and had a lot of activities to offer. We thoroughly enjoyed our campsite and the pancake breakfast!
Aug 14, 2013
The restrooms and especially the showers were not kept very clean! Also, would be really nice to have cell phone service at the campground. Makes it really hard to call anyone if there was an emergency or to get ahold of family. You should consider getting a tower. Otherwise our stay was great :)
Aug 14, 2013
We stayed in one of the new deluxe camping cabins and had a great experience. My only criticism was of the pools - they were green and looked unsanitary.
Aug 14, 2013
Great facility. Alot to do.
Aug 14, 2013
We had Grandma/Grandpa camp and all had a great time. Suggestion is to have check in desk be more knowledgeable about rates, i.e., executive lodge etc. Otherwise very pleased. Thanks.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Great Campground. Good people.
Aug 14, 2013
Used many of the offerings at or associated with the park Entire family found something fun to do. Pool was nice and the hot tube appreciated. Pub and restaurant we a nice hang out, Wifi was spotty in the campsites Rental car process was a breeze. Hertz/Avis should take note. Both daughters ANSI enjoyed the trail rides. Nice alternate diversion. Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 14, 2013
Excellent Kampground!! Will DEFINATELY stay there again when we come through. Great breakfast in the morning and TONS to do just there in the Kamp.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Really liked the pro-Christian atmosphere. Restaurant was exceptional. Gift shop/store was excellent. Cabin and bathrooms good.
Aug 14, 2013
Beautiful facility with many extra immenities and fun things for kids to do. However, the public showers were just gross. There seemed to be a large staff for this huge facility, but clearly the showers had been negected for quite some time.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
We've been staying at this campground during bike week for the last 13 years. We get the same kamping kabin every year.
Aug 13, 2013
Camping cabin flooded 3 times with the rain and little was tried to fix it after it happened even before our stay.
Aug 13, 2013
The rainy weather could not dampen our spirits when staying at Mt. Rushmore KOA! The facilities were clean, grounds were spotless, personel were friendly and helpful and the views were amazing! The ammenities were fabulous and watching the wranglers heard the horses in at sunrise and out again at dusk gave us a glimpse of the 'old west'. Thank you, KOA!
Aug 13, 2013
I will say all in all not bad however the conditions of the gravel roads mixed with the rain was a bad combo something more permanent should be done to resolve the wash issue out of order dryers were a little ridiculous and the showers could of been kept up on a little better I will say the location breakfast views from the pancake tent made my mornings
Aug 13, 2013
Tons of things to do. Love having the community gazebo for cooking and cleaning dishes. Pancake breakfasts also great. These made camping easier. Overall, super for young families, not as great for teens. Problems came with overcrowding and keeping camp clean with large numbers of people- Especially the bathrooms (also the pools). Cold showers at times.
Aug 13, 2013
was really unhappy with the cabin we had the only thing we could do at the cabin was sit on the porch and watch the people just below us dump at the dump station we could not use the picnic table because it was on the hill and sitting on three round rocks to level it and we did not like the idea of using round rocks as leveling blocks so no table to eat on and who wants to eat twenty ft from a d
Aug 13, 2013
Need to fix showers. They need a lot of work. Tiles broken fan didnt work the grout was terrible. We were told our site was 50 ft it was only 30 ft we had to jack up our trailer in the back there was a drop off. There was no room to park our vehicle. We called a week ahead to make sure the lot was 50 ft and was assured it was but it was not. Other than what I have mentioned it was nice.
Aug 13, 2013
We've been staying there for quite sometime, there is so much to do, this time we went horse back riding, it's very clean & the employees are quite helpful.
Aug 13, 2013
This was the 4th time staying with you at the park. When i go out west again I'll stay with you. Thanks
Aug 13, 2013
I was truly impressed with the cabin that we had. What a great facility. Will certainly stay here in the future.
Aug 13, 2013
Food at the Ponderosa food was great. Sites were good. Reasonable prices.
Aug 13, 2013
Cell phone and internet access more a "miss" than a "hit". Great scenery and amenities but getting run down. Bathroom showers disgusting. Should have full time attendant in showers at least to mop/wipe floors between use. Will recommend others to stay closer to rapid city.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Beautiful setting in the Black Hills, great location and lots of amenities right on site. A great family experience!
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
NO Cell service at all. No Internet and the greeter stated lightning had hit it, but we found out they have been having problems with the company that runs it. Need New Internet Server Company and It would be great! Very Nice Facility.
Aug 13, 2013
We spent 5 great nights in a deluxe cabin. Our family loves all the activities available. The cabin was nice; however, a few additional small hooks in the master bedroom, a large refrigerator; more shelves in the kitchen area, and more gravel or grass outside of the unit would be nice.
Aug 13, 2013
Overpriced, especially when I camped in the water for my entire stay! a $10 per day cost for facilities that were not used,worst KOA experience ever!No cable or antenna or cell service. I will send photos/comments of my site. please send proper corporate mailing address
Aug 13, 2013
Our stay was very pleasant, staff are very friendly and helpful. Will be back when back in the area.
Aug 13, 2013
Poor security. Drunken partiers in cabin across from our (myself and child) tent site allowed to party all night. When I asked (at midnight) that they at least turn off music they laughed and made obscene comments. Office staff said security came by a few times, I never saw them. In CA we would have Sheriff's Department take care of them after a warning. I doubt I'll go back to this KOA.
Aug 13, 2013
It was nice except it would have been better if workers could have gone around to the campsites and alerted people of the hail since there was a weather warning put out.
Aug 13, 2013
This was our third summer to camp at Palmer Gulch and we loved it. Next summer we plan on just staying at the campground instead of traveling to see other sights! There is so much for kids to do - they love it!
Aug 13, 2013
We only stayed one night but could have easily stayed longer - so many activities, so much to see. Only problem we had was that we found the lower bunk beds in the cabin too low - very difficult to get in and out without bumping our heads. We would definitely stay again but not in those cabins.
Aug 13, 2013
A large park with many amenities make this a great spot for families. The washrooms/showers were a fair distance away. The staff were friendly and helpful but we really missed the personal touches and the feeling that we were part of the KOA family that we have experienced at most other parks in our travels.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.