Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 07, 2015
One of the best KOAs we've stayed at!
Jun 06, 2015
We had a great time. There was plenty of activities to do.
Jun 06, 2015
Wonderful place to stay. Good central location for all the sights. Great stores, pools, hottubs, area. Highly recommend it!
Jun 06, 2015
We came to see the sites and enjoyed our stay. The amenities are outstanding!
Jun 06, 2015
Very courteous and helpful staff. The wifi connection was a little spotty.
Jun 06, 2015
This was our first time to stay at a KOA, and we were very pleased. This is an EXCELLENT camp sight with tons of fun things to do and extremely helpful staff. We really enjoyed our stay! It was also a perfect location between Mt. Rushmore and Crazyhorse.
Jun 06, 2015
Had a wonderful stay with my kids. Had so many activities for them. Will definitely come back here
Jun 06, 2015
This was my third stay at this KOA so obviously I keep coming back. My only complaint and the reason I don't give it five stars is the price for tent camping is just too high.
Jun 06, 2015
If you are near Mt. Rushmore this is a great place to hang out. Great pub and plenty of eats. Friendly staff even if you are site picky (thanks). Only negative is very spotty wifi but then again why would you need it.
Jun 05, 2015
The staff was friendly and available to answer questions. Considering the storms, the facility was well maintained. I highly recommend this KOA!
Jun 05, 2015
Beautiful site and very friendly and helpful staff
Jun 05, 2015
Great location, beautiful campground
Jun 05, 2015
so many activities for kids. On site stores and restaurants. Shuttle bus to Mt. Rushmore for a fee but you would have to pay a fee if you drove your own vehicle. Pricier than most KOA's but a lot to offer plus location.
Jun 04, 2015
Great place to stay our only disappointment was not being able to have a campfire on our site
Jun 03, 2015
Excellent stay! We would come again!
Jun 03, 2015
I love the location of this campground but they really need to work on the quality of the equipment in the kids areas especially the mini golf. The staff at the main office could defiantly be more friendly and open the other facilities on the campground on time as is posted on the building. I would recommend this place because of the views and location I'd love to give it a 5 star but it needs TLC
Jun 03, 2015
Jun 03, 2015
Great place to stay.
Jun 02, 2015
The location of this campground is what makes it so special. The people that run and service it are very friendly and make you feel welcome. I would recommend this campground to anyone visiting the Mount Rushmore area.
Jun 02, 2015
Second summer we have been to this KOA and second time kids have NOT been able to use water slide...Something always seems to be wrong...other than that this is a wonderful camp if your in the area...mini golf course could use a few, actually several touch ups...friendly folks and great trash pickup service which is really nice...a little attention to detail and this would be a 5 star!!
Jun 02, 2015
No WIFI or phone service. Come on guys, try harder! Camp sites too close. We felt like sardines. Price was too high for what we got. Would not stay there again.
Jun 02, 2015
Arrived after dark and although they gave us a map to our campsite, it was hard to find in the dark. Made two attempts to find it and finally ran into their security person, who escorted us to the campsite. People arriving after dark should be taken to their campsite (ours was on a hill with not very much lighting to find it).
Jun 02, 2015
This campground fits the description of a "have it all Resort", including the noise. It also come with "Brown" water. Unconcerned staff said not to worry, it's safe. Who drinks Brown water? Would KOA corporate staff have their family drink it? At $80 per night site with Brown water is a disgrace to the Resort description. Also, sites were unkept and weedy.
Jun 02, 2015
The staff was very helpful in assuring our stay was top notch. The campground was kept clean and we found many things to do to enjoy while at Palmer Gulch!
Jun 01, 2015
wet week but fun, KOA staff very friendly and accomodating
Jun 01, 2015
Check in staff unfamiliar with grounds layout. Gen store by mini golf untrained and had no support to resolve problems.Gravel road terrible condition. Shower/bath building needs quite a bit of Maint .Food prices too high.Room for improv, lots of potential.
Jun 01, 2015
GREAT PLACE AND AWESOME SERVICE!!!
Jun 01, 2015
I arrived after a day full of rain and was camping in a tent. The site they had initially reserved for me was washed out with rain. The friendly employee on his ATV gladly found me another site that was dry with a level ground for my tent without me even having to ask. The campground was very clean, including the restroom facilities. PERFECT campground for families or reunions!
Jun 01, 2015
AWESOME PLACE AND SERVICE!!!
May 31, 2015
Our 5-day stay occurred at a very rainy time when much of the campground was wet and muddy. When we we requested a specific site to replace the original site that was under water, we were told that that site (#213) was not available for our entire stay. We chose another site (#255) directly across from 213 and noted that no one ever checked into that site the entire length of our stay!!!
May 31, 2015
We have stayed here before, and location is great, but the service has gone downhill! I had called the week prior to our visit, and the local staff member didn't know if the pools were heated, if the dogs could be off-leash at Mount Barkmore, etc. Your website is VERY misleading regarding the "dog run", the climbing wall, etc. Our cabin didn't have dedicated parking, and activities were cancelled
May 31, 2015
Such a nice campground, unfortunately the weather kept us from using and doing a lot of things. Very impressed how nice staff was, we were concerned with the flooding, but were assured we would be notified if in danger and was offered another spot.
May 31, 2015
Outside staff outstanding. We needed a 2x4 for one of our slides not working properly. The staff found a board for us. Any questions we had they answered. Until this trip we had never stayed at koa's. This past 2 weeks has made us change our minds on quality. Would stay again!!!
May 31, 2015
Can't help Mother Nature but all the gravel roads dotted with pot holes which were filled with water entire stay and also tired of having to level at an KOA. Also put in reservations months in advance and got the primo spot with a view of the utility barn.
May 31, 2015
Water system needs better filtering. They say the minerals are harmless but the sediment plugged the screen in the supply line and the filter element had to be replaced.
May 30, 2015
It was a very lovely camp ground and very accommodating to our last minute request for a cabin. My only reservation was that on more than one occasion, I witnessed show utter frustration and irritation towards the new hire they were coaching and that I found to be unprofessional. It's not what you say, but how you say it. Otherwise, a totally positive experience.
May 30, 2015
Our family was impressed with this campsite. We are so happy we selected this location. We would recommend this site if you are touring the Black Hills. The Services and Staff are Outstanding. After a long day of site seeing it was nice to come back to a resort style full service site to unwind and rest for next day. Perfect for families.
May 30, 2015
Cabins are very nice, the staff is very friendly. The bathroom could be updated, though.
May 30, 2015
Women's restroom was not heated in less than 32 degree weather. Light at front door of women's was not working. Electrical outlet in cabin in front room did not work.
May 30, 2015
Beautiful campground. Nice and quiet. Beautiful view of the hills.
May 30, 2015
never been so disappointed at a KOA. Gave up a free campsite to get cable that was advertised just to be told that even with premier site cable was worthless. Since I had already given up a free site at another area I did stay 4 night but not again at this camp.
May 30, 2015
Over commercialized, COLD SHOWERS, no wifi and 2 times more the cost of other KOA facilities. I was NOT impressed.
May 29, 2015
Wonderful campground, employees are friendly, showers are clean and hot, lots of things to do and great places to eat.
May 29, 2015
May 28, 2015
We had floods and terrible rain, but the staff made the best of it. We will come back someday, hopefully with better weather. The campground was amazing with tons of great amenities.
May 28, 2015
The rain caused a lot of problems. The staff took good care of us. We paid for amenities that were closed because of weather. Wish there was some place for kids to play indoors when the weather is bad. Seemed pricey for small tent sites. Our tent wouldn't fit on the tent site. Had to get pull through RV site. Then the flood happened and we got a small cabin. Clean bathrooms and facilities.
May 28, 2015
Had a leaky focet, it was fixed in less than 30 minutes. Amazing service, outstanding views!
May 28, 2015
Enjoy very much our stay..would recommend everyone to stay at this camp and visit all that rushmore has to offer.
May 27, 2015
Rained entire time there. Staff made it as comfortable and convenient as they could, and never missed a beat to help us stay comfortable. Staff members were courteous and diligent. The location and environments they have there are really good. My 9 yr old son and 12 yr old daughter did not want to leave.
May 27, 2015
After busy days of sight-seeing, it was fun to make a campfire, roast s'mores, and rest at our camping cabin. We ate meals at our picnic table and enjoyed the view of the mountains from the swing. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Great location!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.