Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 17, 2017
We stay here whenever we are in the Black Hills, every 2-3 years. That said, our premium site was not well maintained. Big ruts full of water in our pull through and we had to request gravel to fill them in. That should have been done before we arrived. The grill was dirty and filled with grease that had spilled on concrete staining it. Grass and scrubs were not well maintained.
Aug 17, 2017
All in All it was a great two week stay at your property. We really enjoyed the pancake breakfast and the close vicinity to many Black Hills attractions. We didn't like that we could never obtain a web link in order to read e-mails or pay bills on the road like we can at most KOA facilities. We also had a hard time finding any cellphone connectivity but that may be typical for the BH's.
Aug 17, 2017
We were very pleased with our stay. The amenities and service were great. We look forward to returning.
Aug 17, 2017
KOA should identify that the Mount Rushmore site is in an area that you cannot receive any phone, wi-fi or tv services. Other than that a great campsite.
Aug 17, 2017
Everyone was wonderful. Just an all around great place with several things to do.
Aug 17, 2017
Everyone was so helpfull. The camp grounds were beautiful. We were amazed at how much there was to do at the camp ground. We will be back.
Aug 17, 2017
Everything you need for an extended stay is right here located in the heart of the black hills.
Aug 17, 2017
It would be nice to have access to recycling in the future. Also, there was an issue with our campsite set up as far as some confusion about a wooden bench/swing that were not in the proper locations. Otherwise, we had a great time.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
We really weren't there long enough to give an accurate opinion. Reserved and paid on-line so heck-in was very easy and despite how busy it was we didn't have to wait long to be taken to our spot.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
It was a very enjoyable stay. Love the family activities and the pan cake breakfast was a hit.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
Clean bathrooms and lots to do. Make sure not to use phone directions to find this KOA or you'll come in the single lane gravel back road. Guess there's supposed to be a sign to help avoid this but we sure didn't see it
Aug 17, 2017
All in all it was a very nice RV park with lots of activities for the kids. I must say the shower facilities needs cleaned. The fiberglass shower stalls had built up scum on them, that was disappointing considering the cost of $100.00 a night. Definitely a money maker for the owners!
Aug 17, 2017
The employees at the Play Zone do not care about their jobs or your children. My daughter was climbing the rock wall and almost to the top when the employee started freaking out that she forgot to put my daughter's helmet. She was to busy talking to another employee. I have more to say about the other activities but they will not let me write anymore!
Aug 17, 2017
The original site we had was too small for all our bikes and tents, but staff was able to rent is the spot next to us as well. This KOA is by far a 5 star campground!! Amazing grounds, tons of options, and bathroom #2 was outstanding!!
Aug 17, 2017
Very nice place to spend days or weeks, clean lot of activities, 5 star amenities, organised . Excellent.
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
It was amazing! We have had friends stay here and it lived up to their recommendation. We loved all the things for kids to do, the ATV trails, the location, etc.
Aug 16, 2017
yes nice campsite but if you want to stay in touch limited cell service
Aug 16, 2017
This campground is awesom! So much for the kids to do, and great facilities. By far the nicest campground we have stayed at!!
Aug 16, 2017
"Wow!" is all I can say. Everything under the sun was available and we even debated skipping all of our other plans, just to hang out at the campground!!! What a clean, friendly and AMAZING facility! We will be back for sure!
Aug 16, 2017
Beautiful setting, wonderful campstore with lots of merchandise. Coffee bar delicious. Friendly staff. Putt putt and activities superb. Need to improve bathroom facilities and cleanliness. Bathrooms may have been dirty due to crowd with Sturgis motorcycle fest, etc.
Aug 16, 2017
Rented a cabin that had hundreds of dead flies in it. No way housekeeping touched the place in awhile. Told the front desk and they did nothing.
Aug 16, 2017
Crowded but lots to do at the KOA and very close to Mount Rushmore. Very well run and organized.
Aug 16, 2017
Great location, great amenities, great service!
Aug 16, 2017
The location was great, and the amenities were amazing. Our camping site had the neighbors sewer hook up right in the middle of our sight which was not very nice....
Aug 16, 2017
The staff was always very helpful! The activities were great and kept both our 4 and 16 yr old busy!
Aug 16, 2017
Loved how there were so many opportunities for different activities.
Aug 16, 2017
A very convenient location, a massive campground that is well maintained, with lots to do for everyone. But, be warned, there is very poor cell coverage (AT&T) and wifi never works, even if they say it sometimes works!
Aug 16, 2017
We stayed 1 night in a cabin. It was a very busy KOA. Not really my kind of pace... But they had great amenities for kids. Although I thought charging for bike rentals was a bit over the top especially when you are already paying extra to stay at a KOA resort.
Aug 16, 2017
Staff was not very friendly when we arrived. Our tent site was TINY and didn't have any flat space to put our tent on, so we had to sleep on an incline. Restrooms were very clean and well kept, and the campground seemed like a fun and family-friendly atmosphere. Would return someday but definitely request a more secluded or bigger tent site so there's actually space to camp.
Aug 16, 2017
Staff were able to accommodate our request for a different tent site. Very spacious and clean. A lot of fun activities for kids and family. Staff were friendly. Would definitely return!
Aug 15, 2017
My favorite family campground
Aug 15, 2017
Cabin was very clean, we will be returning next year
Aug 15, 2017
FANTASTIC,,,the kids and adults,,had a great time,,,we shall return.. Thanks,, Scott
Aug 15, 2017
Stay was good, restrooms and showers need to be remodeled they are not in good shape and one shower didn't even work. Other showers have low pressure.
Aug 15, 2017
Very friendly staff. Campground was clean and well organized
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Very nice campground and very convenient to the sites of the Ruhmore area.
Aug 15, 2017
They put us right in a group of a family reunion people walking through our camp site and little kids riding there bikes through it. Was very disappointed.
Aug 15, 2017
I have stayed at this KOA several times and really enjoyed it but when booking a site and stating you are traveling on a motorcycle consideration should be taken for ease of access to your site.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
It was beautiful, the staff were friendly, you have everything available to you, the bathrooms were clean and our tent site was perfect.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals