Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

All Sites

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 20, 2017
Did tent camping. Nice set up & facilities were nice.
May 20, 2017
Wow, Place is huge and nice with friendly staff. Bathroom/shower could use some updating. Had a great stay there.
May 19, 2017
This place was amazing, even though many parts were not open yet we had an awesome time. The staff was very friendly and everything was clean.
May 19, 2017
This Campground was wonderful and more of a resort than a campground. Unfortunately we went in off-season and most of the amenities we're not opened yet.
May 19, 2017
We had a great stay! Beautiful campground, with very friendly and helpful staff. It rained part of every day (3days and 4 nights) we were there. I wish I had known about the deluxe campsites with cement patios!
May 19, 2017
I think you should invest in a network extender for phone service & increase your internet service.
May 19, 2017
May 19, 2017
What a big campground. Great gift shop. Lots of helpful folks. Beautiful spot.
May 19, 2017
Great park. Centrally located to so many area attractions
May 18, 2017
wow such facilities and activities in a great little secluded valeey amongst the peaks.
May 18, 2017
Pros: Beautiful park and very clean showers. Really nice workers. Convenient to be near Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore. Con: don't advertise that it has WIFI. It was almost non-existent.
May 17, 2017
This is a beautiful, pristine, well maintained campground with friendly staff and many things to do located 2 miles from Mount Rushmore. There are so many thing for both adults and children to do that no one will be less than happily tired by the end of the day! We had five perfect days/nights!
May 16, 2017
Great base for visiting the Bllack Hills. Nice clean campground in a beautiful setting. They rent cars and UTVs as well. Lots to explore in the Black Hills and this is a great location.
May 16, 2017
We camped before "the season" and will definitely be back during the season with our grandkids. So much to do right in the campground. Conveniently located to the major area attractions.
May 16, 2017
May 16, 2017
wish we had children now .
May 15, 2017
The grounds were keep clean and keep up. The staff answered every question we had.
May 15, 2017
Bathroom station #1 needs updating to be just like station #2. Thank you for refunding our 3rd evening, we ended up in Deadwood at that KOA and DID NOT expect the refund, thank you! We can only assume that during the summer, this place must be PACKED!
May 15, 2017
Overall we enjoyed our stay. It would have been better if the grass and holes in the K9 Bark area would be tended too.
May 15, 2017
Beautiful park! Everything and more you want in a resort park.
May 15, 2017
Label the men's and women's bathrooms better in comfort station 2. A man walked into bathroom while my 12 was in there

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the feedback. We will fix this immediately.
May 14, 2017
I know it's early in the season, but if you are going to open your doors, you should also open your services, or offer a reduced "pre-season" rate.
May 13, 2017
WE HAD A GREAT STAY AND ALL YOUR PERSONNEL WERE GREAT.WELL REVISIT AGAIN IN FUTURER.
May 13, 2017
great,clean campground with amazing facilities, BUY WORST INTERNET EVER. THEY NEED TO UPGRADE.
May 13, 2017
The only problem is the Internet Connection other wise this is a great KOA with a very friendly and accommodating staff.
May 13, 2017
nice
May 13, 2017
The campground is central to everything we wanted to go visit. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The campground will be great for summer as we traveled off season. there are a lot of amenities there for your family to enjoy.
May 12, 2017
Easy access to Mount Rushmore.
May 11, 2017
We took a group of 8th graders here for a class trip. It was a perfect place for our group. And everyone we dealt with through the process was awesome and very nice.
May 11, 2017
Should have wifi available throughout the camp. Need boosters scattered thru camp.
May 11, 2017
Convent location, very well maintained, friendly staff.
May 11, 2017
Great experience! The staff was superb-friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Facilities are the best we've seen. We were delighted that there was an onsite restaurant and pub. What a treat! We were also able to get a rental car for a day to see some sites hard to get to in the motor home. The only dissatifier was the lack of internet connection as we rely on that for our planning. A model KOA!
May 10, 2017
Great koa. Friendly helpful staff and beautiful park. Very well maintained Can't wait to visit again. Our 1st visit to South Dakota. Park convenient to everything near Rushmore
May 10, 2017
May 10, 2017
I have already recommended this KOA. The help were so kind and friendly. Right in the middle of what we wanted to see. Beautiful area. Very clean campgrounds.
May 09, 2017
Clean, friendly and lots of things to do right there
May 09, 2017
Cleanest and best management KOA I have ever stayed in. New shower facility is very nice! I will stay there again.
May 08, 2017
Loved it! A huge area with so many things to do to keep young ones entertained. Pet friendly!!! Very clean and well maintained. Will be staying there again.
May 08, 2017
Dog poo EVERYWHERE on my site and others. People walk by and let their dogs dump right in front of me. The internet Wi-Fi works only at the clubhouse. Cell phones don't work there. Satellite TV does not work there and no other TV is offered.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry to hear of your disappointment. I would like to confirm that the animal droppings are from the hundreds of deer, turkey and geese that call Palmer Gulch home.
May 06, 2017
Internet was very disappointing, becoming a very important point for choosing which parks to stay at
May 04, 2017
What a fantastic KOA campground. There are many around to beat this one.
May 03, 2017
I loved all the amenities and the staff is awesome. My only complaint: how is it possible that the wifi for a place of this size is so terrible? If the wifi was working, I would've stayed twice as long and worked remotely.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Since we are located in the mountains we have very limited bandwidth for internet. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Apr 29, 2017
We stayed here for four days in avRV before this park was officially open. We were welcomed warmly by Ben & Mike both park managers. We loved our site , paved patio with a glider, gas grill and patio furniture. Ben showed us highlights of this area to visit ( they are very centrally located to to Custer park, needles highway, Wind Cave & crazy horse. Highly recommend this resort.
Mar 05, 2017
This place was like a romperoom. Kids were out of control riding the bikes they rented from the KOA. They were slinging gravel and riding between cars and parents nor KOA staff cared😱. I'm surprised one was not hit by a car!!!
Dec 16, 2016
Fantastic resort! Fun for the whole family. Clean, well run. The only negative would be that the shower house needs to have ventilation fans put in to cut down on the horrible steam issue.
Nov 29, 2016
Upgraded from a tent to a cabin last minute. Cabin (site 113) was nice; however did had a few dead flies on one of the mattresses, but I just swept them on the floor. Cabin door is also a bit confusing to use for the first time. View from the front porch was beautiful; liked being up on a ridge overlooking the campgrounds. Bathrooms were clean and not too far from site.
Nov 13, 2016
Great location. Excellent staff. Lots of activities or total relaxation.
Nov 07, 2016
This is a VERY large campground lots of activity going on. The coffee shop lady was very informative about the area and very lovely to speak with. We were told the wrong area when we first got there and was required to locate camp spot on our own annoying but not a deal breaker. The restaurant on site stayed open for us as we went to eat 10 mins before closing.
Nov 06, 2016
Great staff, great service. Loves the little extras that are available like the coffee/wine shop! Only downfall is limited TV (only on premium sites) and very limited on site cell service. Would certainly stay again, as one of our favorites so far.
Oct 28, 2016
Just wish it had cell service and wifi
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals