Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 28 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 29, 2016
Upgraded from a tent to a cabin last minute. Cabin (site 113) was nice; however did had a few dead flies on one of the mattresses, but I just swept them on the floor. Cabin door is also a bit confusing to use for the first time. View from the front porch was beautiful; liked being up on a ridge overlooking the campgrounds. Bathrooms were clean and not too far from site.
Nov 13, 2016
Great location. Excellent staff. Lots of activities or total relaxation.
Nov 07, 2016
This is a VERY large campground lots of activity going on. The coffee shop lady was very informative about the area and very lovely to speak with. We were told the wrong area when we first got there and was required to locate camp spot on our own annoying but not a deal breaker. The restaurant on site stayed open for us as we went to eat 10 mins before closing.
Nov 06, 2016
Great staff, great service. Loves the little extras that are available like the coffee/wine shop! Only downfall is limited TV (only on premium sites) and very limited on site cell service. Would certainly stay again, as one of our favorites so far.
Oct 28, 2016
Just wish it had cell service and wifi
Oct 22, 2016
would stay again....THANKS!!
Oct 21, 2016
Always a pleasure to stay here! Friendly staff. Clean restrooms & showers. Love the Black Hills!!!
Oct 15, 2016
Beautiful facility. Helpful staff.
Oct 14, 2016
Nice campground but very disappointed. We reserved ahead, but got stuck in a crummy RV site next to the restrooms. No grass, tight fit for trailer. Should eliminate this spot as a site and plant grass!
Oct 10, 2016
Very enjoyable.
Oct 09, 2016
One of the best KOAs we've stayed at. The sites are a bit close together for motor homes, but the campground was beautiful with many places to walk and ride your bike. Nice dog park too!
Oct 06, 2016
The location of this KOA is excellent regarding the amazing sites in the area!
Oct 06, 2016
The best KOA location so far ... spectacular ... Buffalo WY location is also great.
Oct 05, 2016
We were here with our 4 kids the weekend they were closing so most of the extras were already closed for the season, but we loved this place. Very friendly staff, beautiful grounds, and surrounding scenery. Very convenient location to the area. Great place to just hang out with the kids, would love to come back during the summer and enjoy the rest of the fun here!!
Oct 05, 2016
poor service at the store!!
Oct 05, 2016
High Quality RV Park
Oct 05, 2016
We were almost the only ones there as the season is close to closing. However it was wonderful! We enjoyed the space, the silence and serenity. Plenty of things to do if you stay at the site, yet centrally located to so much more! We'd love to come back again and again!
Oct 04, 2016
Driving in late I was I was grateful for the easy night check in. A packet with our name, key, and map to our cabin sitting outside the registration door after hours. The gentleman checking me in the next morning was very helpful and accommodating. The cleaning/grounds crew were so very nice!! We will be back soon!! Thank you!
Oct 04, 2016
We usually bring our RV here, but wanted to try out your deluxe cabins. Very clean, beautiful, & comfortable. We loved it. We will be back in the spring as soon as you open. Wish you were open in the winter!
Oct 04, 2016
Everything worked and the weather was gorgeous. The young man who checked us in was super cool.
Oct 04, 2016
Oct 04, 2016
Facilities are great. Maintaining them was not a priority. Bathroom sinks not cleaned in 2 days I was there. Floors and showers neglected as well, trash in restrooms not emptied.
Oct 04, 2016
One of the best I seen and been too
Oct 03, 2016
We stayed in one of the camping kabins without a bathroom. It had a dangerous step up to the porch, no chair, old beds with the most uncomfortable mattress of any KOA that we have stayed at--other KOAs have had very comfortable ones.The cabin is located up a hill from the bathrooms, steps need to be constructed for a safe way down the hill.We saw two people almost fall trying to get down it.
Oct 03, 2016
Excellent staff and facilities!
Oct 03, 2016
Friendly staff. Clean, well-maintained facility and grounds. Have lots of activities available. Relaxing location.
Oct 03, 2016
Very nice site! Great service!
Oct 03, 2016
Very nice campground staff very helpful, about local attractions.
Oct 03, 2016
Beautiful, spacious and kind staff
Oct 03, 2016
Best KOA I've ever been to. Bathrooms were so clean and absolutely beautiful.
Oct 02, 2016
Accommodating!
Oct 02, 2016
Beautiful place
Oct 02, 2016
Great
Oct 02, 2016
The bathrooms need a remodel otherwise a great place to experience Mount Rushmore
Oct 01, 2016
This was our second time at this KOA, it is a great place to stay, as it is near everything and the staff is great.
Oct 01, 2016
Wonderful KOA, beautiful views and very helpful and friendly staff!!!!!
Oct 01, 2016
Oct 01, 2016
Loved the setting and location, convenient to nearby attractions.
Sep 30, 2016
The fudge shop, espresso shop, ice cream shop, pizza- all CLOSED as well as shuttle to the Mt. Rushmore site, which was the whole PURPOSE OF us WANTING TO STAY THERE! They should offer a huge discount if that's the case. I mean really. Enjoyed the deluxe cabin though.
Sep 29, 2016
wonderful location close to Mt Rushmore and Custer State Park. At the end of the season, many of the shops and activities were not available. Wifi is terrible; even from the desktop computer in the lodge, I could not get anything on the internet! Really not acceptable in the 21st century and for a quality facility such as this campground
Sep 29, 2016
Great staff, great bathroom. Outstanding view of Harney Peak from the campground.
Sep 29, 2016
Extremely nice and accommodating. Thank you!
Sep 28, 2016
Very nice!! We stayed here before and had great experiences both times!! Love the staff, so nice!!
Sep 27, 2016
We love the campground, not the resort fee. We are retired and don't use anything that we are paying for, please change that!!
Sep 27, 2016
I've been coming here since I was a kid, and now that I'm in my late 30's I love the executive lodges! Wow! Already planning our stay next year!
Sep 27, 2016
Great stay, friendly staff, would definitely stay here again.
Sep 27, 2016
Love the area.. KOA representatives are friendly and excel in what to do in the area.
Sep 27, 2016
Our favorite KOA that we have stayed at. Very convenient to all of the surrounding sights. Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Needles Highway
Sep 27, 2016
The campground and staff were great. Two things, upon check in the girl could of told us there were heaters for the cabins, we found out 2 days later that you had them. And secondly you over charge for wood, 6 dollars plus for 5 sticks of wood was ridiculous. Why not make it affordable to have camp fires. Why rape people on overpriced wood?
Sep 27, 2016
Nice, Clean And Friendly
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy