Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2015
too busy people and kids always walking out in front of the car we did not use the park for activities the $10 per day was not used and made the price of our stay per day too much for the price we paid
Jul 28, 2015
Amazing place! If I read the brochure in advance I would have known what's going on there so the place took me by surprise! So much to do and see! Keep up the good work!
Jul 28, 2015
I don't even know where to start, when you come around the bend and see this place you do not realize all that it holds. From the horseback riding, water slide, beautiful scenery, pools (2), walking trails, clean and family friendly environment, nice large bathrooms and showers with doors, playground, chess area, water park area for little ones - YOU CAN'T GO WRONG!!!
Jul 28, 2015
Excellent campsite with great amenities. Children loved it.
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
I really liked the pancake breakfasts because it let us get started early on site seeing.
Jul 28, 2015
Great campground with lots of activities/amenities. Friendly and helpful staff. Very close to Mt. Rushmore and other attractions.
Jul 28, 2015
This is the third time we have spend time at this very top rated KOA, we were spending our second honeymoon there as today is our 25th adv. everything was wonderful, i did miss the tour buss to Crazy horse that you had ten years ago. Specially love see the HIll City Slickers again.When we plan on a trip to the black hills our first choice is your place. thanks for making our weekend great.
Jul 28, 2015
This campground is more of a RESORT! It is amazing - the facilities are fantastic and very clean, there is so much to do for the kids from the pool, splash area, jump pillow, water slide, panning for gold -- and 4 eateries ON SITE and the Horse Stables!! Beautiful, would recommend this KOA to everyone!!
Jul 28, 2015
My family and I really enjoyed our four days at KOA. There was so much to do to keep busy and cool off. We also enjoyed the restaurant we ate at. Thank you so much for the great stay.
Jul 28, 2015
This KOA is close to lots of great activities, and we made several day trips from here (Custer Gold Days, Custer State Park, Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse Mt., Badlands, Deadwood, Devil's Tower, Sturgis, Jewel Cave, Wind Cave). Tons of activities on site for young kids. Older kids liked the horseback riding and ATV. Cabins and parking a bit tight, but workable. We'll be back!
Jul 28, 2015
Great location. So much to do onsite. Clean facilities but could be a bit more accessible - just a small pathway to get between the RVs. We had a great time, even with the wind storm!
Jul 28, 2015
This is a great family campground. The staff were amazing. The facilities were second to none. Shuttle service to Mount Rushmore was terrific. This is by far the best campground we have stayed at.
Jul 28, 2015
The activities during the day were well done.
Jul 28, 2015
I called while travling and asked one of the camp sites that had the patio furniture.I spent over 20 minutes asking her to makesure that the site was one with patio furniture. We arrived later that day and it was not. Instead, we arrived to a mud filled back in site that you had to walk on boards to hook up camper. We could not even get to the sewer connections. They charged us full price.
Jul 28, 2015
We stayed in the camping cabins. The bathrooms could have been cleaner. The workers were very helpful all the time.
Jul 28, 2015
Great fun for the kids. The bathrooms were always a bit crowded and not as clean as I would have liked but overall the whole experience was wonderful.
Jul 28, 2015
Great experience! Very friendly staff, clean facilities, and an overall great time! We will definitely return again!
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
Exactly what we needed after 5 weeks on the road.
Jul 28, 2015
Great kamping.
Jul 28, 2015
Where do I start? Everything from the locale to the Summer Shine workers, to the KOA staff members, to the play grounds, bathrooms, entertainment and just everything about this campground is awesome. We originally booked for 2 nights and quickly extended our stay for an additional 2 nights. We will definitely be back!!!! Thanks so much!!
Jul 28, 2015
Campsite was full of ruts and muddy from the day before rain. Maintenance came and added some gravel. Also gave me free bundle of wood for the problem. WiFi very limited, at Hot spots it hardly worked at all. Everything else was very good.
Jul 28, 2015
Our children enjoyed the kids fun zone. One thing I wished was that the visitors staying with pets would respect when there is a sign "no pets allowed" they would respect that.
Jul 27, 2015
The best campground ever! So beautiful and so much to do there! Staff extremely friendly and nice. We had a family reunion there and it was perfect! Will definitely camp there again and recommend highly to anyone. Just fabulous!
Jul 27, 2015
There was no place to park my tow vehicle, low water pressure, no internet WiFi or Hotspot. It felt like we were at a county park. Very disappointing for KOA. Resort activities did not start on time, kids were left to wait for attendants to get the equipment ready. If the jumping pillow opens at 9:00, then open at 9:00, not 9:45. The climbing wall was never open the when we were there...
Jul 27, 2015
This KOA is perfect. Plenty of things to do - ATV - The Chuck Wagon dinner, Dining at the Ponderosa - awesome!! Great Spot - we'll be back!
Jul 27, 2015
Great stay as always! Awesome activities and setting for the kids!
Jul 27, 2015
It would have been nice if the campsites were a little farther apart and the fire rings weren't so close to the campers. Was not able to get on the WiFy and we had no access to the cable tv. Other than that it was great. My grandson had a ball with the water slide and all of the other things there was for the kids to do.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
The whole place was very clean and the adult pool was nice. The staff takes very good care of you and helps when needed. I've never seen a place with so much to do and still keeping it so nice and clean. The showers and bathrooms were well kept. They give you garbage bags and pick up ever day. I would have liked a bigger sight but they allowed me to park my trailer for my Quads out of the way,
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time! Probably could use a few more people working to help with all the people. Very busy. Our site was nice and lots for the kids to do. They had a ball!!
Jul 27, 2015
Beautiful campground with amazing activities for the kids.
Jul 27, 2015
My son woke up missing the KOA this morning and said when he gets older he is going to work hard and a lot so he can stay longer. Second year here and we love it.
Jul 27, 2015
I wish EVERY KOA had the facilities and conveniences of this one! Places to eat, car rental, ATV rental, horseback riding...all at the campground! We are already planning a return trip!
Jul 27, 2015
Wifi is horrible.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Loved how kid friendly it was. Nice people and super friendly!
Jul 27, 2015
Bad thunder storms both nights(golf ball size hail). Not their fault! Very crowded. Got poison oak from creekside campsite!!
Jul 27, 2015
The staff was friendly. We camped in a back in site. Driving in it looked like every KOA. The entrance to the grounds were nice, but past that point, the campsites were not that great. They need a lot of work. The showers were outdated. We did not use the pool or any of the play areas so I can not rate these areas. It was the most expensive campground we stayed at on this trip and the poorest site
Jul 27, 2015
enjoyed it very much.the grandkids had a lot of fun.looking foward to coming back again soon. thank-you
Jul 27, 2015
Loved the wine tasting and all of the extra swimming, and fun perks. The staff was so kind and helpful. Will come again and recommend to others. The land was well kept and clean.
Jul 27, 2015
Beautiful location,; beautiful facilities overall. Friendly, helpful staff. Campsite (240) sucked. Requested space for 30ft. 5th wheel. Unit barely fit. Neighbors had to move their vehicles to enable me to park rig. Was unable to extend awning becuase truck took up space. Muddy. Grass uncut. Might stay agian IF I get a better site. Have had better sites in national forests at 1/3 the price.
Jul 27, 2015
Excellent facilities nice employees and great activities.
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time at our stay. Lot's of family activities. We wish we would have had some tree cover at our tent camp site. Other then that top notch.
Jul 27, 2015
It has really grown in the last 10 years! The restrooms could have been cleaner. Our Kamping Kabin was wonderful! It was very clean and comfortable. The food at the Ponderosa restaurant on site was awful. We couldn't eat it and they took 25% off our bill.
Jul 27, 2015
We felt very lucky to get a same-day site and appreciated the stores and food vendors available (as we got in too late to eat outside of the camp). My only critiques were that we were put right next to the playground (would've at least liked to have known that even if that's all that was open) and wish the sites were just a bit cheaper.
Jul 27, 2015
Would give 5 stars if they didn't bring the horses through the trail at 6 A.M. with VERY obnoxious yelling every morning.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.