Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 27, 2016
Awesome campground! Clean and inviting, helpful staff, family-friendly, and lots of amenities. $3 all-you-can eat pancakes is a nice touch. Very close to Mount Rushmore too! I would definitely stay here again.
Aug 27, 2016
Very good services, plenty of things for kids to do, very clean...enjoyed our stay
Aug 27, 2016
Very nice place. Great for kids. Close to everything. Could of had better Catv.
Aug 27, 2016
This is an amazing KOA, large with tons of activities. Just too busy for us, even at the end of the season. We prefer smaller resorts, but it was nice to try.
Aug 27, 2016
If there are children involved then great place to stay. Our only complaint is that we paid $80 for the 8 nights we stayed for an entertainment fee which we never used. Also, WIFI wasn't available at our campsite whereas other campgrounds have WIFI at the site.
Aug 27, 2016
The place is great, only negative things is that the sites are right on top of eachother. I know they want to have asome much room as possible, but it makes the stay less enjoyable. We did meet some new people though!
Aug 26, 2016
Aug 26, 2016
We were thrilled with the establishment & all it offered but even more that we got to attend their rodeo.
Aug 26, 2016
My wife and I have stayed at this campground two times in the past few years. We really enjoy it and will be back. The staff and grounds crew get a kudos from us always friendly and very well maintained. Keep up the great work!
Aug 26, 2016
Too small of site the neighbor camp fire was right by my camper. Other than that I was happy with my stay
Aug 26, 2016
A great family campground with numerous activities for the family! Campground is clean and very friendly staff. camoground is conveniently located to all things you wanna do/see in the black hills!
Aug 26, 2016
Spent four days here with our grandchildren. First they tried to put us on a hill site where my granddaughter rolled down the hill and scratched her face up. no place to sit and the picnic table was at such a slant that you could never serve a meal on it. Went to the office and complained and luckily they moved us. My only other complaint is that the shower and bathrooms weren't kept the clean
Aug 26, 2016
So much fun things to do in beautiful setting. Friendly helpful staff
Aug 26, 2016
Super clean grounds, helpful and friendly staff. Washrooms/shower were really great but personally I would like shower area cleaned a bit better.
Aug 26, 2016
Great fun in pool, horse ride, shows and movies. See you next summer!
Aug 26, 2016
Ideal for families. Had a lot of things to keep the children amused. We enjoyed the night shuttle to Mount Rushmore. The campground is so big and spread out that it took 15 minutes of fast walking to get to the KOA office from our camp site.
Aug 26, 2016
Nice camp grounds. The only thing is that the showers could have been cleaner.
Aug 26, 2016
Aug 26, 2016
What a beautiful place... We loved everything about this KOA. Everyone was extreamly helpful and my three boys loved the fun zone. We would highly recommened Mt. Rushmore KOA to anyone. We hadn't even left and we where already planning are return for next year. Thank you for the unforgettable memories that we made.
Aug 26, 2016
The cost for food items seemed much higher than expected in KOA store.Crazy..
Aug 26, 2016
Everything you might want in a resort.
Aug 25, 2016
Everything was great expect a couple things. KOA workers seemed to not know about the activities going on around the campground. Also the Pizza/Ice Cream shop late night workers were rude. They first burnt our pizza, then were reluctant to make a new one. This is the pizza place connected to the horse trail rides building.
Aug 25, 2016
Very large and busy place. Very tight sites, really just a parking lot. Premium price but no cable, wifi and weak phone service. Great location in the middle of the area attractions. Lots of kids activities.
Aug 25, 2016
Over all our stay was wonderful! The facility was clean and well kept! I was disappointed in the fact that I couldn't ride horse with my family, due to being more than 240 pounds (but I guess that's my problem not your). Also our fire pit was located very close to our neighbors camper. Thanks!
Aug 25, 2016
GREAT! Have stayed before. Plan on staying again. Need more cell phone service other than at office area.
Aug 25, 2016
Only thing we were not happy with is that we did not get our requested sites and we were camping with family and were given sites across the campground from each other!
Aug 25, 2016
We enjoyed the Mount Rushmore KOA Palmer Glutch so much!! It exceeded our expectations! With such a friendly staff and such a variety of activities and events, we can't wait to come back! Thank you so much for making our family vacation so incredible!
Aug 25, 2016
Overall we had a wonderful stay and the last minute car rental saved our vacation. Only downside was a small campsite for our size RV and fire pit could have used some TLC.
Aug 25, 2016
overall was a great place to stay with lots for our family to do! Would recommend to all our friends & family to stay here!
Aug 25, 2016
The BEST ever time we had with all the kids! Will be back next year! Thank You for a GREAT vacstion!
Aug 25, 2016
Great,friendly place!! Lots to do....
Aug 25, 2016
Great resort with lots to do! Only negative was the site we had was partially covered with water.
Aug 24, 2016
Great park. Great staff.
Aug 24, 2016
Cabin could be a little cleaner under the beds and in the corners. Staff was great.
Aug 24, 2016
Nice park, very large establishment. Sites were small, had a section of grass on my site removed. Caused more dirt and mud (rained during our stay)to be track into the trailer.
Aug 24, 2016
Aug 24, 2016
It was wonderful kids really enjoyed it will definitely come again
Aug 24, 2016
Excellent campgrounds especially if you have kid lots to do and clean facilities.
Aug 24, 2016
Pancake deal, not such a deal for larger groups. Will suggest others skip it due to cost. Consider allowing byo beverage/shareable sizes of meat at a discount. Great time with the grandkids, 8-6-2. Right across from Kids Zone.They had a blast! Thank you!!
Aug 24, 2016
Both the water slide and one pool were closed. I called to reserve a golf cart and got a person from another KOA that was extremely rude that hung up on me, her name was Erica. Otherwise, it was very big and beautiful.
Aug 24, 2016
Fantastic stay in the Black Hills - only wish we had booked for longer. Staff was friendly, facility was clean, and I was amazed with all that was going on. Definitely would stay there again on our next trip to the area.
Aug 24, 2016
Wish we had our grandkids with us!! They would have loved your campgrounds too!
Aug 24, 2016
This was the most amazing camp grounds I have ever stayed at.
Aug 24, 2016
We absolutely love going to the Mount Rushmore KOA. We were very disappointed to find that the water slide was closed for "maintenance" for the duration of this stay, as that is our daughter's favorite activity there, but it was still a good experience overall
Aug 24, 2016
This campground is priced too high unless you have small children to use the facilities. I stayed here because I could not find other suitable space. The showers were not maintained as well as they should have been. The wifi is only available at three places over a very large campground. There are flies everywhere and the cable is not up to date and maintained. I had to pay a resort fee.
Aug 24, 2016
Shower house 3 needs some work. It should be more like shower house 1. $5.00 for a dozen eggs!? We were there for only two days. Great place for young families. Just stock up groceries before you arrive.
Aug 24, 2016
The person taking the reservation on the phone told me we would have premium site. When we arrived the site wasn't a premium nor was was it dry. ( it was a giant mud puddle) After paying more for a premium site we asked what the extra $40.00 was for, we were told it was for the pool and other activities. We were never told about this. We cut our stay short and will not return
Aug 24, 2016
Aug 24, 2016
Very friendly staff! Many things to do at the campground.
Aug 24, 2016
Welcomed to KOA by Sarah at the front desk. Very friendly and was able to give us good direction to our campground, especially since we arrived when it was already dark out. Staff was friendly throughout stay and facility was clean and easy to navigate! Had a great time, was able to enjoy the gorgeous night sky amongst the forest green foliage.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals