Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open April 29 - October 2

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2016
What a great place to have a family reunion. However, some of us needed to stay connected due to our jobs and had to travel 5 miles or more to get cell service and WIFI. I was told at the front desk that you have three hotspots but sorry to say that none of them worked. Very disappointed with WIFI availability. I did like that there were lots of activities for the kids.
Jul 22, 2016
We had a great time! All 63 of us have a great time!
Jul 22, 2016
Had almost no water pressure the first morning in our camper. Some camping site extremely close together. We had a very nice stay.
Jul 22, 2016
Many improvements from last year, seen a big price jump in things from last year. Still one of the nieces camp grounds.
Jul 22, 2016
The campgrounds had so many activities such as the ATV rentals, horseback riding, chuck wagon dinner, swimming, putt-putt, and daily kids activities that you could never get bored. The staff was very helpful. It was a great place for our family to stay and enjoy the Black Hills.
Jul 22, 2016
This campground has everything! Clean, a lot of activities, and options for everything. We wish we would have been able to stay longer. We plan on returning. It was in a great location and absolutely beautiful!
Jul 22, 2016
Jul 22, 2016
Kids loved it! They really, really, really loved it. But beware: if you plan to work while you stay, plan for no wifi nor cell coverage. Best place is going into a nearby city and find free wifi and enjoy cell coverage. Still a great place especially if you plan to get away from it all.
Jul 22, 2016
Our site was muddy. The staff said it rained. No other sites were muddy. Our bbq (we paid for deluxe site) started on fire - it was so dirty!! We called for help to put the fire out. No one ever came and cleaned it. Good central place and great for people with kids.
Jul 22, 2016
While this KOA has fantastic amenities, the bathrooms were in poor shape needing a lot more attention to cleanliness. Very dirty!
Jul 22, 2016
It was a great place to stay with the kids/grand kids. Nice variety of events and activities/
Jul 22, 2016
A very nice place. Good facilities and plenty to do. We will probably come back when we have time to do more of the activities.
Jul 22, 2016
It really is a great place for kids. A ton of things to do. I wish the Comfort house had more restrooms. But you are camping and so the facilities meet those expectations.
Jul 22, 2016
Jackie was great!
Jul 22, 2016
We have stayed here several times. The cabins are always clean and comfortable. The shower house was clean and accessible. The riding staff was awesome and the activities were great. Was glad the store was open early and late to get water and snacks.
Jul 22, 2016
A little too large for us; camping sites close together, but probably necessary for the area. So many activities, we should have planned an extra day to stay there! Also disappointed that the individual at the information desk discouraged us from Crazy Horse Memorial by telling us it was $25 per person to get in. When we looked in the brochure, it was actually $28 per car. For the 5 of us, tha
Jul 22, 2016
Jul 22, 2016
The place was perfect except the showers were filthy. The cleaners were there once and it didn't look any better after they left.
Jul 22, 2016
We enjoyed the amenities, however KOA packs people in like sardines in a sardine can. The sites are WAY too close together.
Jul 22, 2016
Outlying restroom could be a lot cleaner.
Jul 22, 2016
It is nice staying in the camper cabins was disappointed I got put in one with no trees The Climbing Wall was never up the whole time we were there the wagon rides are gone and so is the paddle boats but all-in-all yes I would stay there again and recommend
Jul 22, 2016
We had a wonderful family vacation & enjoyed all the amenities your resort provided from the horseback riding to the water slide!
Jul 22, 2016
We found it to be family friendly. It is close to hot spots to check out. The personnel was friendly and service was good. We'll definitely stay there again.
Jul 22, 2016
Wonderful views. Very clean! Loved the UTV rental.
Jul 22, 2016
The shop did not have sufficient clerks to help everyone, people were in line for 15-20 minutes to buy ice in the evening before we left for the lighting ceremony. We needed to purchase an item but couldn't wait and the store was closed when we returned.
Jul 22, 2016
We don't usually stay at KOA. This was a great location and we liked the stay. Very large place with lots to do. The bar makes good drinks! People are so nice at camp, I wish the world was one big camp grounds.
Jul 22, 2016
Hot showers. Plenty to do. Quiet by bedtime. Lots of family options to plan and do. Great facility.
Jul 22, 2016
This was our first time camping at a KOA Kampground. Our original vacation plans were to camp one night and stay in a hotel the next night. We were so impressed when we got to our tent camp site, that we immediately cancelled our hotel reservation and reserved the second night at KOA! We plan on coming back next year, bringing more family, and staying longer!
Jul 22, 2016
Awesome KOA. Great for the kids. Only complaint is that the tent sites are too close together and not level.
Jul 22, 2016
Loved the skit. Clean bathrooms!!! Nicely kept up grounds and camping cabin.What a great place.
Jul 21, 2016
Stayed here many times. Very clean. Family friendly. Rodeo was a special treat! Wish you would reinstate recycling. Looking forward to next summer! Thank you for a great stay.
Jul 21, 2016
Absolutely amazing. Great activities and very friendly staff
Jul 21, 2016
Had a wonderful time. Campsite was in excellent condition. The fun park had what every child would want. I would recommend this campsite to anyone that wants a fun get away.
Jul 21, 2016
Great overall. Customer service and the cleanliness of the bathrooms/showers could definitely improve.
Jul 21, 2016
My kids love all the activities, highly recommended!
Jul 21, 2016
The kids loved all of the activities and amenities, the water slide especially. Lovely setting and great campground!
Jul 21, 2016
Way over priced. No WiFi ,no TV for news,no phone service.. Could not get an emergency call. Lost family member. didn't know for two days.Water bad can't even wash clothes. Would not recommend
Jul 21, 2016
We had a wonderful time!! We go to the Mt. Rushmore KOA every year.
Jul 21, 2016
Concrete patio, swing, grill and fire ring!! 15 min from Mount Rushmore and other attractions. Staff was very friendly.
Jul 21, 2016
Great place to stay! Lots to do with kids of all ages.
Jul 21, 2016
we loved the whole experience. There was lots to do and the area was beautiful. They even let us change tent sites so our boys could use their hammocks. The only thing we didn't like was the sand in the Volleyball pit it was full of rocks. They should just make it a grass court. We would definately stay here again!!
Jul 21, 2016
Everything was good except that we had some trouble to level out the motorhome. The site was so uneven that the standard yellow wedges were not good enough.
Jul 21, 2016
Staff was extremely accommodating, we lost our tent in a bad wind and rain storm and they were so nice in giving us a cabin to stay in for the night till we were able to replace our tent, above and beyond, the only thing that was not good was the food in the restaurants and the prices were a little much, but enjoyed our time for the most part.
Jul 21, 2016
This KOA is probably great for families with children, but for two retired folks we did not care for it. The wifi did not work and we needed to do banking and check our travel plans and could not. We had to go Mt Rushmore to get any wifi. Our phones did not work well either. We felt the sites were small for the prices. Again if you have children this KOA is probably just what you want.
Jul 21, 2016
Friendly
Jul 21, 2016
Jul 21, 2016
Best we have stayed at. Staff was wonderful.
Jul 21, 2016
We didn't have enough time for the kids to play because it rained. But we still had a great time!
Jul 21, 2016
First time at a KOA and was skeptical to try but this facility out performed our expectations as it was clean, with many extras we never knew would have been offered. The staff was well organized, courteous, and helpful in every way. I'm sure not all KOA's are this nice but this one was great. We were given a nice quiet spot on the outer edges of the campground after calling the same day.
Jul 21, 2016
Great stay. Great tent camping spots. The only negative thing I would say is that our camp spot was missing the number plaquered. This made it difficult to find and even the person that escorted us wasn't sure but gave us a spot in the area of where it should be. But I would stay again when I am back in SD.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals