Mount Rushmore KOA

PO Box 295

Hill City, SD 57745

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Mar 12, 2014
Feb 23, 2014
Amazing stay! We liked being able to rent a car for the day -- very convenient. Lovely setting -- very peaceful even though it was very full -- well done!
Feb 16, 2014
you have a lot to do there and that is awesome!! but bathroom cleanliness is very important. there was never a time that I saw them clean. you may need more bathrooms and more help for as many people that stay there. I saw that the same dead bugs and they were still there same place everyday. I was a housekeeper at a resort I look carefully.
Nov 19, 2013
Nice campsite, spacious. The showers were not the cleanest. We couldn't use the pool, waterslide and the play area because of the weather so we can't rate those.
Nov 18, 2013
excellent location. Extremely close to mt rushmore. Close to all of the other tourist attractions in the black hills. Not the best place for tent sites because there just are not many of them. Even if you are in a tent, though you get access to all of the amenities which are excellent. The people were very nice and for the price it is very good.
Nov 16, 2013
Overall it was a nice KOA with plenty for the kids to do. On site food options were rather expensive. This was our first time staying in a Kabin rather than our camper and we were disappointed. There was a 2" gap between the wall and the floor. The porch steps were pulling away from the porch and dangerous. Finally, the bathrooms weren't adequate for the # of people using them.
Nov 04, 2013
Nov 03, 2013
Oct 29, 2013
A large, very well run campground!
Oct 23, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
Rental car cost too much.
Oct 09, 2013
Oct 09, 2013
We had a wonderful time staying at this KOA Kamground near Moutn Rushmore. It was a beautiful very well maintianed facility and was close to all the things we wanted to see and do. We would highly recommend this KOA and would defnitely stay here again if our travels bring us through that part of the country again!
Oct 08, 2013
Stayed here to see Mt. Rushmore. Great location to see Mt. Rushmore & Crazyhorse Monuments, each within 5 miles or so. Due to the time of year nothing at the KOA was open which was a bummer because we would have liked to try the restaurant. During the high season though, I can tell kids would LOVE this park! They also have one of the best KOA stores i have seen so far!
Oct 07, 2013
crowded & lousy campsites
Oct 07, 2013
We brought our 7 grandkids in June & had so much fun we came back in Sept. & went to the Buffalo Roundup!!! This KOA is big rig friendly, location is the best!! KOA made our trip perfect when our daughter's boyfriend surprised her @ Mt. Rushmore and asked her to marry him. We ended up renting the President's cabin for them to stay while we stayed in our RV, our site had a large patio & furniture
Oct 07, 2013
What a great destination with lots of options for family fun. Unfortunately all, but the mini golf, were closed during our stay there. We felt it would be nice to have a reduced rate since most services weren't available.
Oct 05, 2013
Oct 04, 2013
Oct 03, 2013
as long as you advertise WiFi and cable-you should make sure they work properly; the problems we had detracted from an otherwise good experience; please address and fix
Oct 02, 2013
my husband and I were on our honeymoon and we made reservations for a camp site farther out and since the time of year those camp areas were closed for season. As we understand that.. we did speak with a real person when booking and they indicated those sites would be there. the manager at the KOA-- WAS not helpful and did not try and keep our business. we will not stay at any KOA's
Oct 02, 2013
We only had time to stay one night and this was our first time staying with KOA and I am happy to say you exceeded my expectations! I'm already working on next year's vacation plans using your cabins. Thank you!
Oct 02, 2013
This was by far the KOA with the most activities- only they were mostly closed!!! It was very disappointing. It seems only to cater for the summer holiday crowd. Also, the staff were very aloof, and didn't seem to care very much about the clients. It's a shame, becasue they have great facilities. I would stay there again, but only for that. The staff should at least try to be friendlier.
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
the campground was very clean and nice. The bathrooms and showers were especially clean and they even had HOT water. the sites were nice and the scenery was beautiful. Thanks for a wonderful stay.
Oct 01, 2013
Wow, this campground was amazing. We came at the end of their season so we were unable to utilize all of the facilities due to them being closed for the season...but we still had a great time. We'd love to come back during the open season-can't even begin to think of how awesome that would be. VERY kid centered!! Perfect for families.
Oct 01, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
This is 4th stay at this beautiful facility. I'm a little disappointed as the restroom/shower hall near the office was filthy, staff was not was friendly as normal, and out Kamp Kabin had a crooked door jam that prevented the door from closing completely. Made for a cold and drafty few nights.
Sep 30, 2013
Enjoyed our stay, quiet and very clean. Central, near a lot of activities.
Sep 30, 2013
This was our first time in the deluxe cabin. Overall, we were very disappointed. Fitted sheet for pullout couch was stained & floor under bed was filthy, bendable lights above master bed are impractical and broken too boot, shower curtain was moldy, no pans for cooking out (even though I asked in advance if they were provided). For the price, it's totally not worth it.
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
It was late in the season when we stayed there and I think we would of enjoyed it more earlier in the summer when the facility was in full swing. An awesome place for a young family to stay.
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 29, 2013
Sep 29, 2013
Sep 29, 2013
Your people, especially Mr. & Mrs Shook and Diane, went above and beyond the call of duty to help us in a personal tragedy we had there. We will be back!
Sep 29, 2013
Sep 29, 2013
A little more space between cabins would make this an even better place. Nice and quiet in late September!
Sep 28, 2013
It is frustrating that our cell phones would not work. We stayed the week of sept 21 and most all features were closed so I cannot comment on any of them. Even the coffee shop was closed. Would be nice to keep that open later in the season.
Sep 28, 2013
Everything about this RV park was great! Great spots, great amenities, great location and we were there just out of the summer season!
Sep 28, 2013
need more signs , we almost turned around and went somewhere else to camp.. otherwise everything else was good
Sep 28, 2013
My wife and I have been in a lot of KOA campgrounds over the last two years. We found that the staff was great with us. But, For a campground like yours I would think that the bathrooms and showers would be a lot better. We felt they were over used and out dated. The dinner at your restaurant was poor. My wife's dinner ended up in the garbage. Don't get me wrong, but, you can do better.
Sep 28, 2013
Very good service, great washrooms. We stayed 2 days and it was great
Sep 28, 2013
Loved it, had a wonderful time!
Sep 27, 2013
Nice campground- the bathrooms near our camper very very clean and well designed.
Sep 27, 2013
location!location!location! Great access to monuments and shopping but staff not as helpful or personable as other KOA's we've stayed in. No escort to site, no offer of assistance. No problems whatsoever,
Sep 27, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Loved being able to see Mt.Rushmore at night- shuttle from campground great. Nice staff and campground
Sep 26, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.