Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA

200 Cedar Avenue

Montrose, CO 81401

Reserve: 800-562-9114

Info: 970-249-9177

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Cabin Reviews

Aug 12, 2014
It was great! Very family friendly. The cabins and all facilities were very clean. Staff was also great. Can't wait to do it again!
Aug 11, 2014
Stayed in your "bungalow" WAY MORE than expected!! VERY NICE!!
Aug 10, 2014
Everything was clean and nice! Staff was very nice
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
The staff was not as friendly as we are used to at other KOA's. We had to pay a fee to have our dogs with us, we have never had to do this before. The customers are expected to keep their dogs contained, not so for the staff.
Jul 28, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay in Montrose, and we spent a Saturday nite and Thursday nite at the KOA. The grounds were well kept with lots of grass and nice big shady trees. The pool stayed open late enough to enjoy after the sun went down. If and when we come back to Montrose on our Harleys, we will again stay at the KOA.
Jul 27, 2014
Great managers and friendly people. It's just like being at home!
Jul 22, 2014
Mosquitos drove us out
Jul 20, 2014
First time for me in one of the cabins - they, in fact the entire KOA camp, was clean and very well maintained. The majority of those in camp were in self contained motorhomes so I had the baths all to myself!
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 05, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
Just can't put a word... need to go there and see....
Jul 02, 2014
Nothing on store racks...TV cable all over the place ...no tvs.....pool filthy with leaves....filter turned off....KOA janitor was sunning herself, she smiles and says (as she is leaving) "those leaves are OK, Iv'e swam in ponds that were worse!...and she exits without skimming or even turning the filter on .... worse KOA I've stayed at.....
Jul 02, 2014
We have stayed at KOA, Montrose, Co. 3 times and have been treated GREAT every time. Every one that works there treat us like family. Looking forward to our next stay.
May 31, 2014
May 27, 2014
Very clean and quiet campground. We had to ask for a fire pit. The dog walk was very minimal. No activities other than the pool and playground.
May 26, 2014
The cabin was clean and comfortable.
May 20, 2014
Met Tom who runs the place, along with some other employees. Tom especially was helpful with great locals eateries and making me feel at home at this KOA. When I return to this area later on, I'll stay here.
May 12, 2014
Cabin was next to the playground which was great for kids. The pavilion look nice but no events. The cabin & all facilities were clean. Beds could be a little more comfortable. Cabin is very primitave so cold air easily found its way in but the little heater worked well. Over all good stay - except for when the staff scolded us for walking on the grass - geez I thought thats what grass was for.
May 01, 2014
I was a late arrival but there was no note or email or anything with my instructions or information to know which kabin I was assigned. I had to call the "emergency" number and find out. When I departed, the office was locked and no one was around. While the facilities were great, the staff was very hands off.
Apr 18, 2014
Staff was fantastic. Cabin was perfect.
Nov 05, 2013
Absolutely the best KOA experience we've ever had: lovely trees, flowers, fountain, awesomely large pool. Everything reallly in top condition. Good cabins just across from us for the grandchildren. Keep shining !
Oct 22, 2013
The Bungalo was terrific! The Kampground was quiet, clean and had interesting scale airplanes throughout the area which made it an added "a pat on the back" for identifying a great era of war planes! We will be back, thank you!
Oct 04, 2013
Just a little disappointed that there were no bbq grills at our cabin like some of the others have
Oct 03, 2013
Our bungalow was neat and clean and extremely quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Sep 25, 2013
We had not been able to call ahead and let them know that we would be arriving after closing , but the kabin was ready and the key inside. What a welcome sight!
Sep 20, 2013
clean and comfortable. not liking the lack of privacy at the "Bungalo".
Sep 14, 2013
Park is well maintained. Staff if very friendly. Highly recommended.
Sep 11, 2013
This is one of the best koa's ive srayed at. From from the friendly sraff to the mountain views, the only thing that could make it the perfect stay would be a heated pool and hot tub.....oh snap, they had yhose too.. perfect september temps and excellant nearby motorcycle roads make this koa a perfect spot to use as a base for riding those roads.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 05, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Great place to stay, but no fire pits or charcoal grills!
Aug 17, 2013
Friendly staff! Very nice facilities, and minimal traffic noise. Really enjoyed our 3-night stay in a beautiful cabin! Thank you!
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Nice place even in the rain
Aug 12, 2013
Very nice, clean. need water source next to camper cabins.Great staff!
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
would recommend to friends w/ RV's. It's in town & you can walk to lots of places. Didn't give 5 stars because our cabin was right next to restrooms/showers. Lots of activity happens around there at all times of the day & night.
Aug 04, 2013
Wonderful staff, super clear facility, nice pool and jacuzzi, very homey feel with the lawn in front of the camper cabin. My doggies felt like it was their yard!!!
Aug 04, 2013
The KOA was nice and clean which was not the problem. The issue we had was we rented a "deluxe cabin" and they gave us a small converted space on the end of a privately owned modular home occupied by the family. This was not the cabin experience we were looking forward too.
Aug 02, 2013
Nice, clean, and friendly. Love the grass! Beautiful area to sight see. Not much for kids though.
Aug 01, 2013
Clean, efficient, friendly. Would definitely stay there again.
Jul 31, 2013
Excellent facilities close to restaurants.
Jul 30, 2013
Wish we had been in our motorhome instead of using one of your camping cabins. The unit was nice and clean; however, the lack of privacy or outside space to relax was a disappointment. We've been wondering why we never received the survey request. The "cover letter" indicates we stayed with you the night of July 28. We actually were there the night of June 12. Check it out!
Jul 30, 2013
Double booked the cabin I was in so I got woken up late at night to someone coming inside
Jul 29, 2013
The staff was friendly, the pool was nice. This was more like a RV park with permanent residences than a KOA. Nothing else, not a "real" KOA" would never go there again, or recommend it to anyone.
Jul 28, 2013
The facility was great. We used the pavilion and swimming pool as well as hot tub.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.