Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA

200 N Cedar Avenue

Montrose, CO 81401

Reserve: 800-562-9114

Info: 970-249-9177

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Cabin Reviews

Jul 31, 2015
Great: Staff, price, location, grounds and misc. pool. grill etc... Not so great: Cabin; smelled like urine, door hard to open, needs updating.
Jul 31, 2015
Check-in went smoothly. Our cabin was located very close to the restrooms. Both the cabin and restrooms were very clean.
Jul 29, 2015
We loved our cabins privacy and the grounds are beautiful! Staff was incredibly helpful.
Jul 28, 2015
Quiet KOA off main road. Shady. Nice swimming pool and kids area.
Jul 26, 2015
We were there 8 days and it was always very clean and quiet.
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
The beds were terribly uncomfortable in the Kabin. There were broken slats and they squeaked a ton.
Jul 23, 2015
Good facilities, there were no activities held or breakfast or social treats offered or served. Cabin smelled like urine. Campground was busy. Main't staff was friendly.
Jul 22, 2015
We got there late and left early the next am but everything was clean and very well kept. Enjoyed our short stay
Jul 18, 2015
Very nice campground! I do think a bit more variety in the store would be nice. Our cabin door stuck so bad that we felt we were a SWAT team entering and leaving and the cabin had an unpleasant body Oder smell. Please check cabins before turnover. The grounds are lovely!
Jul 18, 2015
Had a great time as allways
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 08, 2015
The pool and cabin were wonderful!
Jul 06, 2015
Everything was great from the check in to the check out. Since the weather was hot, the AC was very, very much appreciated.
Jun 29, 2015
We stayed in cabin c1 although I lov d it being close to the bathrooms and showers it was placed in a weird spot. I wish it was faced towards the pool to sit on the porch and enjoy the campground. I don't wanna see people parked to checking in. I did love the cozy cabin feel it's better then a tent! Staff we met were very nice! Thanks!
Jun 24, 2015
Need better chairs at the camping cabin. A nice porch swing would be great.
Jun 22, 2015
The staff were very friendly and helpful with accommodations,directions to local activities as well as restaurants, stores,etc Very clean and well maintained! One thing to know when tent camping it is on open grass, first come basis so very little privacy if that is important!
Jun 20, 2015
Quite; clean; well maintained. Bathroom/Shower facilities were clean. Had paper towels for drying hands. Convenient access for recreational activities.
Jun 17, 2015
The management was rude and the store was not very well stocked. I doubt we will stay there or at any KOA because there seems to be a pattern with KOA and I wish I would never have joined the membership club.
Jun 16, 2015
Very clean and quiet. The check in and staff were friendly. The cabins were excellent and amenities such as pool and spa were fabulous.
Jun 15, 2015
Ok. Stayed in a cabin. The floor wasn't very clean and there were holes in the screen door. Showers were clean. Handy to Black Canyon of the Gunnison
Jun 02, 2015
Warm welcome by staff and always very helpful
Jun 01, 2015
Bare bones accomodations-no chair inside. Okay -- in town but quiet area. NOT in/near Black Canyon. Staff in training was friendly.
May 26, 2015
The only complaint we had was, They do not have designated tent sites. But other wise great customer service and clean campground.
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Wish there were more cabins available as I don't have a RV. Clean.
May 20, 2015
Clean.
May 11, 2015
May 10, 2015
Heater didn't heat above 60 so couldn't spend much daytime in the cabin. Given the weather, that was a problem. ALso, the wifi code worked for my laptop but not my phone or my friend's iPad.
May 04, 2015
Very clean. Had everything we needed.
Apr 28, 2015
Loved the hot tub! I think it was a little pricey but overall good !
Nov 02, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
When we called ahead the staff had the cabin open for us since we were arriving just after they closed for the night making it a very easy night since we had driven all day.It was only a one night stay but their thoughtfulness towards us staying there made it worth the drive.
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 17, 2014
What a nice, clean, quiet Kampground! Located in central Montrose, it was amazingly quiet with very minimal vehicle noise. I highly recommend this KOA!
Oct 07, 2014
I would like to say that this is a great campground with the exception of the hosts, Debbie was none too friendly and welcoming. But what really clinched my disappointment, was when I heard the male host tell some people that might have been speeding to quote; Slow your a$$ down or keep the f#%k out. I respect the 5 mph but not the way that man represents KOA that is no way to handle that.
Sep 30, 2014
We stayed in a 4 person cabin - no bathroom. Very pleased with how clean everything was. The cabin, the grounds, the bathrooms - all exceptionally clean! WE only stayed one night, but the accommodations were just perfect for us.
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 20, 2014
The mobile home we stayed in, instead of a cabin, was fine except for the very awkward shower/bathroom and there was a strange smell that we thought was cats at first, but, after the first night we realized the pilot was out on the stove and leaking low level amounts of gas or propane...which we were breathing all night! This could have been a very dangerous situation...& not pleasant.
Sep 18, 2014
It is close to so many attractions. It is quiet, very clean, and quite beautiful!!!Thanks we so enjoyed our time with you!
Sep 16, 2014
Nice park.
Sep 03, 2014
Very clean
Sep 01, 2014
The pool and the cabins were nice and clean. It's a good location if you need to be in Montrose.
Aug 29, 2014
Love the location and amenities. However we were not able to sleep From 1:20-3:30 am during our stay. A young man drove up an left his truck running while he did laundry. He was literally 2 feet from the cabin window. Even when I got up and told him he was keeping us awake he kept the truck running until he was done. Very unfortunate and he was definitely not a guest of the campground.
Aug 25, 2014
We had a great stay! The room was neat and tidy, with everything we needed!
Aug 25, 2014
I was expecting a cabin, not a glorified Tuff shed. I have stayed at KOA's in Estes Park and Buena Vista and both had great, real log cabins with porches and swings. Needless to say I was a little disappointed. The campground and amenities were clean and pleasant.
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
It was great! Very family friendly. The cabins and all facilities were very clean. Staff was also great. Can't wait to do it again!
Aug 11, 2014
Stayed in your "bungalow" WAY MORE than expected!! VERY NICE!!
Aug 10, 2014
Everything was clean and nice! Staff was very nice
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.