Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA

200 N Cedar Avenue

Montrose, CO 81401

Reserve: 800-562-9114

Info: 970-249-9177

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Cabin Reviews

Aug 24, 2015
We were late arrivers by mistake and had no possibility to inform the KOA. They were prepared to manage this situation perfectly.
Aug 22, 2015
Clean, neat, reasonable cost and friendly.
Aug 14, 2015
The bed was squeaky and mattress was not the greatest. Great camp site clean and enjoyable experience. Pool was heated and clean. Great place for a family to vacation.
Aug 13, 2015
Aug 13, 2015
Spotless, nice friendly staff, watered green lawns at each cabin!
Aug 11, 2015
The deluxe cabin was great with everything needed to feel at home. The cleaniness of the cabin. thank you. --Valteaus
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
I rated it poor because they sent us an email the day that we arrived telling us that we were being charged a higher rate than agreed too. The campground is a nice place and no issues with the cabin. Just a poor way of doing business.
Aug 10, 2015
Cabin was fine, mattress was hard, two vehicles sat outside playing loud bass stereo till 4 am . Was in what seemed like bad part of town
Aug 10, 2015
We stayed in the cabins. Great for the price.. close to the restrooms and right next to the pool. A fire pit would make it better.. but there is a stove you can burn wood in on the patio.
Aug 09, 2015
Very friendly people .
Aug 08, 2015
Great service, nice grounds, cabin nice AC, but beds were very hard. Overall great stay! Thank you!
Aug 05, 2015
My mom, sister, and I came to Montrose from Oregon for a funeral and we greatly enjoyed our stay at the KOA! I had originally booked a kabin, but we got upgraded for free to one of the apartments on site due to an issue with our kabin door not locking. Debbie and her husband are wonderful people who did everything to make us feel safe. We will definitely stay here again!
Aug 03, 2015
Loved it. Looking forward to a future trip.
Aug 01, 2015
The campground is clean and tidy and the staff are friendly. Unfortunately it is located in a slightly run down area about 1000 feet from the county fair grounds. If you are there while the county fair is happening you may be subject to a strong oder of penned livestock wafting your way from time to time. Don't stay in cabin 1. It is 5 feet from the bathroom and 20 from the RV dump station.
Jul 31, 2015
Great: Staff, price, location, grounds and misc. pool. grill etc... Not so great: Cabin; smelled like urine, door hard to open, needs updating.
Jul 31, 2015
Check-in went smoothly. Our cabin was located very close to the restrooms. Both the cabin and restrooms were very clean.
Jul 29, 2015
We loved our cabins privacy and the grounds are beautiful! Staff was incredibly helpful.
Jul 28, 2015
Quiet KOA off main road. Shady. Nice swimming pool and kids area.
Jul 26, 2015
We were there 8 days and it was always very clean and quiet.
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
The beds were terribly uncomfortable in the Kabin. There were broken slats and they squeaked a ton.
Jul 23, 2015
Good facilities, there were no activities held or breakfast or social treats offered or served. Cabin smelled like urine. Campground was busy. Main't staff was friendly.
Jul 22, 2015
We got there late and left early the next am but everything was clean and very well kept. Enjoyed our short stay
Jul 18, 2015
Very nice campground! I do think a bit more variety in the store would be nice. Our cabin door stuck so bad that we felt we were a SWAT team entering and leaving and the cabin had an unpleasant body Oder smell. Please check cabins before turnover. The grounds are lovely!
Jul 18, 2015
Had a great time as allways
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 08, 2015
The pool and cabin were wonderful!
Jul 06, 2015
Everything was great from the check in to the check out. Since the weather was hot, the AC was very, very much appreciated.
Jun 29, 2015
We stayed in cabin c1 although I lov d it being close to the bathrooms and showers it was placed in a weird spot. I wish it was faced towards the pool to sit on the porch and enjoy the campground. I don't wanna see people parked to checking in. I did love the cozy cabin feel it's better then a tent! Staff we met were very nice! Thanks!
Jun 24, 2015
Need better chairs at the camping cabin. A nice porch swing would be great.
Jun 22, 2015
The staff were very friendly and helpful with accommodations,directions to local activities as well as restaurants, stores,etc Very clean and well maintained! One thing to know when tent camping it is on open grass, first come basis so very little privacy if that is important!
Jun 20, 2015
Quite; clean; well maintained. Bathroom/Shower facilities were clean. Had paper towels for drying hands. Convenient access for recreational activities.
Jun 17, 2015
The management was rude and the store was not very well stocked. I doubt we will stay there or at any KOA because there seems to be a pattern with KOA and I wish I would never have joined the membership club.
Jun 16, 2015
Very clean and quiet. The check in and staff were friendly. The cabins were excellent and amenities such as pool and spa were fabulous.
Jun 15, 2015
Ok. Stayed in a cabin. The floor wasn't very clean and there were holes in the screen door. Showers were clean. Handy to Black Canyon of the Gunnison
Jun 02, 2015
Warm welcome by staff and always very helpful
Jun 01, 2015
Bare bones accomodations-no chair inside. Okay -- in town but quiet area. NOT in/near Black Canyon. Staff in training was friendly.
May 26, 2015
The only complaint we had was, They do not have designated tent sites. But other wise great customer service and clean campground.
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Wish there were more cabins available as I don't have a RV. Clean.
May 20, 2015
Clean.
May 11, 2015
May 10, 2015
Heater didn't heat above 60 so couldn't spend much daytime in the cabin. Given the weather, that was a problem. ALso, the wifi code worked for my laptop but not my phone or my friend's iPad.
May 04, 2015
Very clean. Had everything we needed.
Apr 28, 2015
Loved the hot tub! I think it was a little pricey but overall good !
Nov 02, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
When we called ahead the staff had the cabin open for us since we were arriving just after they closed for the night making it a very easy night since we had driven all day.It was only a one night stay but their thoughtfulness towards us staying there made it worth the drive.
Oct 17, 2014
Oct 17, 2014
What a nice, clean, quiet Kampground! Located in central Montrose, it was amazingly quiet with very minimal vehicle noise. I highly recommend this KOA!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.