Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9114

Info: 970-249-9177


200 N Cedar Avenue

Montrose, CO 81401

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 06, 2016
Great location for access to the Black Canyon of the Gunnison...just a few minutes away. Pretty campground, lots of trees, quiet location, clean facilities. Very friendly front desk staff. The one downfall was that we rented the basic/cheapest cabin-online it advertises a "Queen size" bed and a set of bunks. Actually, it is a very uncomfortable full size bed ...too small for us, so no sleep!
Jun 06, 2016
I decided to go up the street to black canyon park where we are allowed to have a camp fire. I liked the amedities we didn't use them and I wanted to show wife what camping was all about but how can I do that without a campfire. I recommend this place to nobody and won't ever come back unless we just want to use hot tub or pool at night or morning


We are so very sorry that you did not have a positive experience at the Montrose KOA. We do have a limited number of fire rings available on request. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Jun 05, 2016
Very neat clean well maintain KOA Great stay
Jun 05, 2016
Great koa
Jun 04, 2016
The campground is very nice and very clean. The hot tub and pool were great! The pet walk area could have used more grass but it was nice to have a place for pets to "go". Only issue we had was there were no campfire rings. They did bring a portable one to our site though. Laundry facility was clean too. Could use more grassy areas on sites but it is Colorado where you need to irrigate.
Jun 03, 2016
This KOA had some very nice amenities. We were doing a cross country with motels usually and some camping. We never got a pool or jacuzzi except this place. It has Pool Jacuzzi Laundry The RV spots and cabins seemed very nice. Cons The actually tent site was on flat ground and the grass was nice but, we were the only tent. There are supposedly 10-11 spots but there are no designat
Jun 02, 2016
Jun 02, 2016
The host and staff were very helpful. Would love to stay here again. When I am back in Montrose.
Jun 02, 2016
Clean facility, friendly staff. WiFi was spotty and poor but if you're here for vacation & not into that it's a great place.
Jun 02, 2016
Nice campground and staff
Jun 01, 2016
They kept family sites together and the sites were beautifully maintained. The staff was very nice and brought us a fire pit for grandson's to roast marshmellows. Pool clean and warm.
Jun 01, 2016
Had as great time. Everyone there went out of there way to help us. Thanks
May 31, 2016
Staff was very helpful.
May 31, 2016
First time to stay at a KOA and we weren't disappointed! Very clean and friendly! Kids loved the pool and playground! Will definitely stay again!
May 31, 2016
May 30, 2016
Very clean place. Grounds well taken care of all around the campground. Very friendly staff.
May 29, 2016
Very convenient to Black Canyon NP. Park staff was efflcient and friendly.
May 29, 2016
The campground was very nice--clean and well-kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint is related to the WiFi. It is almost completely unusable. Very, very slow to the point of timing out when trying to connect to anything.
May 29, 2016
Great place, very friendly owners and staff. Very spacious and comfortable, quiet spaces... Only negative, showers are cleaned 10:00 to Noon. Maybe change cleaning hours to after noon for people catching a quick shower before 11:00 am check out.
May 28, 2016
Nice people,nice sites,great hot tub!
May 24, 2016
I only saw the front part of the campground so I can only comment on that. Sites were spacious with nice grass between the sites; maybe 15 feet between RVs if not a bit more. They have a pool and hot tub but we didn't use it. Small basic swing set. Other campers were quiet. Decent sized trees in sites as well.
May 24, 2016
Very clean campground. Staff is friendly. We'll maintained.
May 24, 2016
Your front desk staff worked very hard to get us and our friends a great space. Lovely park, laundry not red hot, tho, ate most of my quarters and only got back 3.
May 24, 2016
Clean place, and friendly staff
May 23, 2016
Very clean and friendly. Would definitely recommend to others.
May 19, 2016
We stayed twice at this campground and enjoyed both stays very much! It was easy to access and right on our way. The staff was also very pleasant. Would highly recommend this campground.
May 18, 2016
Clean, quiet, convenient to us as tourists
May 18, 2016
We love to stay at your koa. It's always clean and safe. Thank you for your efforts!
May 17, 2016
Very peaceful and pretty.
May 17, 2016
This is among the very best KOAs we have stayed at. The sites were large with individual grass areas and everything about the campground was perfectly maintained.
May 16, 2016
May 10, 2016
loved the pull thru sites and convenient location
May 10, 2016
Very pleasant so we stayed an extra day.
May 09, 2016
Clean. Very quiet. Very nice.
May 09, 2016
It was a perfect place to stay as we had relatives that live in the area come & visit us.
May 04, 2016
Vey clean, very quiet. Nice and shady
May 01, 2016
Apr 28, 2016
It was only one night,but the staff was very friendly and helpful. Park is clean and really nice. I would go back to this park again!!
Apr 27, 2016
Beautiful with trees and grass, nice curbing, and great gravel.
Apr 20, 2016
Clean park friendly staff well maintained
Apr 16, 2016
quite park but not enough involvement with customers. No coffee or extras. sites were ok and the cable and wifi were good.
Apr 14, 2016
very friendly host. They provided a fire pit and firewood so we could roast marshmallows.
Apr 13, 2016
Apr 11, 2016
Campground and facilities are very clean and quiet! Easy in and out from the highway and the folks are very nice and hospitable!
Apr 11, 2016
The camp site is in the middle of a town, tucked behind homes and business'. Not a 'camping' experience really. Staff was nice and facility was not bad. If you want a good 'camping' experience with the outdoors this is not the place.
Apr 09, 2016
Nice, clean, quiet. 4 stars only because Internet was a little sketchy.
Apr 07, 2016
Facilities were very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Apr 05, 2016
Tent camped with electric hookup for our tiny heater. No complaints. Bathrooms were close, showers were hot, staff was extremely kind. I'd recommend it to anybody.
Mar 31, 2016
Manager and maintenance tech very friendly and helpful. Electric heater in cabin worked well except for last night during stay when it wouldn't shut off when it reached appropriate temperature.
Mar 23, 2016
Love this Koa, and the cute cottsge.Debbie is great Ill be back

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy