Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9114

Info: 970-249-9177

Email

200 N Cedar Avenue

Montrose, CO 81401

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 785 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2015
Great campground. Easy in and out. Friendly staff.
Jul 22, 2015
We got there late and left early the next am but everything was clean and very well kept. Enjoyed our short stay
Jul 21, 2015
Bathrooms dirty/not regularly cleaned and poorly stocked. Women's room out of toilet paper on a couple of occasions. Tent site area is terrible. No assigned spaces means people scatter tents all over the place, you have to look for a nook or cranny to put yours. No fire pits or grills in the tent area. Community grills were dirty. Disappointing as I generally love kOA's.
Jul 20, 2015
Over all this is a very nice and clean KOA. But does not seem to be a lot put on by the host, like many of the other KOA do. No Pancake Breakfast etc. Overall we really enjoyed the stay and felt that the location was ideal. Close to town and it seems like it is in the middle of just about everything that Colorado has to offer. Look forward to heading back to this location next year.
Jul 20, 2015
Montrose KOA is in town and not near a highway ...thus quieter. Smart planting of trees provides shade on warm days. Walking downtown is easy. Enjoyed our stay
Jul 20, 2015
Park was very clean and kept up. Having some shade trees was very nice.
Jul 20, 2015
Great area
Jul 19, 2015
Nice setting with in town location
Jul 18, 2015
Very nice campground! I do think a bit more variety in the store would be nice. Our cabin door stuck so bad that we felt we were a SWAT team entering and leaving and the cabin had an unpleasant body Oder smell. Please check cabins before turnover. The grounds are lovely!
Jul 18, 2015
Had a great time as allways
Jul 17, 2015
This KOA does not advise campers with sewer hookups that they need to use elbow and or a seal nor do they patrol there campground to make sure they are being used. The site next to us sewer connection was within 10 feet of our bedroom window. We went to bed with the bedroom window open and went to sleep enjoying the cool breeze through our bedroom window however in the middle of the night we woke
Jul 17, 2015
Enjoyed our time in Montrose !!
Jul 17, 2015
Very clean and well maintained. I would stay there again.
Jul 17, 2015
Jul 17, 2015
Helpful staff found me an open site for a second night. This was the first campground where we found the wifi to work as advertised. That really helped us find info on area places to visit. The park was clean, shady, and quiet. All in all, we were very pleased and we will return next summer. Keep up the great work!
Jul 16, 2015
This park has the potential to be very good, but their dog area is horrible! They put absolutely no effort into their pet area, even gravel with no weeds would be better. I had my dogs in the area less than 5 minutes and both times it took over an hour to get the foxtails out of them. For a KOA this is truly unacceptable, I will not return to this park when in the area just because of this alone.
Jul 15, 2015
We were with a group of 12 trailers that spent several days there.We were impressed by the managers,it was the first time any campground had come to our meeting and thanked us for coming to their campground. That included several other KOA's. The managers were very helpful to our group an several tent camping groups that were there even with larger tents than planned.They just found more space .
Jul 15, 2015
Jul 15, 2015
It was awsome grate place
Jul 14, 2015
The KOA was very clean and nicely kept. The restrooms were clean. The Managers were very nice. Had a wonderful time at the KOA.
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
Clean, much shade, convenient. Worked well for our group.
Jul 13, 2015
Overall this KOA Kampground was one of the best Kampgrounds that I have stayed in. I loved the large well defined sites, and the were as expected very level and easy to navigate thru. The only negative that we found was that our site had a history of smokers that did not understand that some people don't want to see smokers "BUTTS" in the rocks and the grass. But we cleaned at least one site...
Jul 13, 2015
Well-maintained, clean restrooms and showers, sewers available at TV sites and close to Main St shopping and dining
Jul 13, 2015
I had looked at the tent space about 2 weeks prior to the arrival date and decided this spot would be perfect. We arrived and the spot was ready for us. It was a busy weekend so the area all around us filled up. It got a little crowded but it was still nice, The facilities were kept very clean and the staff was very courteous.
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
We did not enjoy our stay at this KOA. The tent sites are not designated, it's just a free-for-all in finding a spot and as one would expect, people aren't considerate and take more than their fair share of the space. There are limited picnic tables and only 3 fire pits for the entire campground which are handed out if the staff feel like it. We will never stay here again.
Jul 13, 2015
It really wasn't the campgrounds- they were nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The reason why we most likely will not come back is because the tenting area was so crowded. Very little room to set up.
Jul 13, 2015
Nice, friendly staff and a clean and safe campground.
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 11, 2015
The employees were not friendly at all, in some case they were just plain rude. In the evening we saw the KOA employees smoking weed, not a great example when traveling with kids. Site was small and dirty.Camp ground nosy with trucks and bike riding thru at night. Pool was good. I would never stay at this KOA again.
Jul 11, 2015
Very nice office staff and well maintained sites. Clean pool. Friendly atmosphere. Will definitely return.
Jul 10, 2015
Attractive, well maintained. Friendly staff.
Jul 09, 2015
Loved the pool. Had reservation for 8nights yet they put me in the worst possible spot at the entrance, no shade, lots of traffic. After I complained I received the perfect site in the back, full shade. Aren't VK members supposed to get the best sites? We will be back next year👍😉
Jul 09, 2015
Very neat and tidy kampground. When they say heated pool, they mean it. Made it very relaxing and felt like a hotsprings pool. Only drawback we saw to this KOA is for you to be wary of smokers. The staff smokes right outside the office and because the office closes at 8pm, it seemed there was no supervision to ensure the smokers and drinkers didn't take over the pool area in the evening.
Jul 09, 2015
Friendly staff, park is clean and well-run. We had large shady site. Enjoyed the pool, long enough for laps.
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 08, 2015
The pool and cabin were wonderful!
Jul 07, 2015
Everything was great except for the last night. This was beyond your control but was a cloud on our otherwise great stay. 1st: the people in the cabin C1 were extremely drunk and loud, shouting and caring on. I finally had to ask them to keep it down at 10;30. the men's toilet were not flushed and showers and sinks were covered in puddles. Sloppy campers. You run a nice place
Jul 06, 2015
Everything was great from the check in to the check out. Since the weather was hot, the AC was very, very much appreciated.
Jul 06, 2015
The stay was nice. The only thing I wished our site had was more trees
Jul 05, 2015
We have been using this KOA for several years now. Always clean with good sites and great managers that always aim to please!!
Jul 03, 2015
Enjoyed my stay there. Staff were really forthcoming with ideas.
Jul 02, 2015
One of the best, 3rd stay here and look forward to next year
Jul 01, 2015
nice gas grills , but not friendly to swim
Jun 30, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay the host was friendly and helpful and the pool was great water was warm had helpers to keep campground clean we liked the canopy and the grills worked great for us and the wifi was helpful We will come again
Jun 30, 2015
This is my favorite campground and the hosts are exceptional. It is the most picture perfect place for families and very peaceful. Pets are welcome.Rates a 5 star. Norm and Judi
Jun 29, 2015
We stayed in cabin c1 although I lov d it being close to the bathrooms and showers it was placed in a weird spot. I wish it was faced towards the pool to sit on the porch and enjoy the campground. I don't wanna see people parked to checking in. I did love the cozy cabin feel it's better then a tent! Staff we met were very nice! Thanks!
Jun 29, 2015
Very nice place, neatly kept and beautiful landscaping. Staff at check-in, Gina, was professional, friendly and welcoming. We will return if in the area.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals