Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9114

Info: 970-249-9177

Email

200 N Cedar Avenue

Montrose, CO 81401

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 19, 2016
Very nice quiet campsite, although so near to town and to the National Park; well run. Unfortunately there is no provision for tenters to have a fire or grill but the staff were very accomodating and let us use the grill station on the site which is well set up.
Jun 18, 2016
The KOA staff are very friendly and helpful. The Kampground has a lot of amenities for the whole family.
Jun 18, 2016
Very pleasant campground. Sites are a good size: you don't feel cramped or squeezed between your neighbours.
Jun 15, 2016
Nice quiet and clean.
Jun 14, 2016
Lost our reservation and made us move from original site because we didn't meet their criteria
Jun 14, 2016
Our stay at Montrose KOA was great. Debbie and her husband was wonderful , very nice , answered all our questions . We will defiantly be back . Loved it !!!!
Jun 13, 2016
This is an awesome campground. The managers definitely take a lot of pride in maintaining this KOA. Plenty of Shade and Very Clean!!!!!
Jun 12, 2016
We've stayed at 4 KOA's on this trip, and Montrose was by far the best. Big campsites, grass and shade. Clean and updated bathrooms. I would recommend they supply firewood for sale, since they do supply fire pits.
Jun 11, 2016
Nice area and wonderful staff
Jun 11, 2016
Very nice, clean
Jun 10, 2016
Beautiful park. Shady, neat, grassy areas, and well designed. I could stay there all summer. The only negative at all is that there is no fenced dog park.
Jun 10, 2016
A wonderful, relaxing place. Great camp host
Jun 10, 2016
Simple but satisfying.
Jun 09, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. But the pool needed maintenance, it was a foot below the filters. Other than that it was great.
Jun 08, 2016
Loved the big sites with beautiful grass "lawns" and shade trees. My daughter was thrilled with the pool and playground! We'll definitely be back. Thank you!
Jun 08, 2016
Everyone on staff were helpful and friendly. Very clean and wonderful shaded spots!
Jun 08, 2016
Always enjoy staying here
Jun 07, 2016
Jun 06, 2016
The people were very friendly! We had space #9 and it was perfect.
Jun 06, 2016
Great location for access to the Black Canyon of the Gunnison...just a few minutes away. Pretty campground, lots of trees, quiet location, clean facilities. Very friendly front desk staff. The one downfall was that we rented the basic/cheapest cabin-online it advertises a "Queen size" bed and a set of bunks. Actually, it is a very uncomfortable full size bed ...too small for us, so no sleep!
Jun 06, 2016
I decided to go up the street to black canyon park where we are allowed to have a camp fire. I liked the amedities we didn't use them and I wanted to show wife what camping was all about but how can I do that without a campfire. I recommend this place to nobody and won't ever come back unless we just want to use hot tub or pool at night or morning

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so very sorry that you did not have a positive experience at the Montrose KOA. We do have a limited number of fire rings available on request. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Jun 05, 2016
Very neat clean well maintain KOA Great stay
Jun 05, 2016
Great koa
Jun 04, 2016
The campground is very nice and very clean. The hot tub and pool were great! The pet walk area could have used more grass but it was nice to have a place for pets to "go". Only issue we had was there were no campfire rings. They did bring a portable one to our site though. Laundry facility was clean too. Could use more grassy areas on sites but it is Colorado where you need to irrigate.
Jun 03, 2016
This KOA had some very nice amenities. We were doing a cross country with motels usually and some camping. We never got a pool or jacuzzi except this place. It has Pool Jacuzzi Laundry The RV spots and cabins seemed very nice. Cons The actually tent site was on flat ground and the grass was nice but, we were the only tent. There are supposedly 10-11 spots but there are no designat
Jun 02, 2016
Jun 02, 2016
The host and staff were very helpful. Would love to stay here again. When I am back in Montrose.
Jun 02, 2016
Clean facility, friendly staff. WiFi was spotty and poor but if you're here for vacation & not into that it's a great place.
Jun 02, 2016
Nice campground and staff
Jun 01, 2016
They kept family sites together and the sites were beautifully maintained. The staff was very nice and brought us a fire pit for grandson's to roast marshmellows. Pool clean and warm.
Jun 01, 2016
Had as great time. Everyone there went out of there way to help us. Thanks
May 31, 2016
Staff was very helpful.
May 31, 2016
First time to stay at a KOA and we weren't disappointed! Very clean and friendly! Kids loved the pool and playground! Will definitely stay again!
May 31, 2016
May 30, 2016
Very clean place. Grounds well taken care of all around the campground. Very friendly staff.
May 29, 2016
Very convenient to Black Canyon NP. Park staff was efflcient and friendly.
May 29, 2016
The campground was very nice--clean and well-kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint is related to the WiFi. It is almost completely unusable. Very, very slow to the point of timing out when trying to connect to anything.
May 29, 2016
Great place, very friendly owners and staff. Very spacious and comfortable, quiet spaces... Only negative, showers are cleaned 10:00 to Noon. Maybe change cleaning hours to after noon for people catching a quick shower before 11:00 am check out.
May 28, 2016
Nice people,nice sites,great hot tub!
May 24, 2016
I only saw the front part of the campground so I can only comment on that. Sites were spacious with nice grass between the sites; maybe 15 feet between RVs if not a bit more. They have a pool and hot tub but we didn't use it. Small basic swing set. Other campers were quiet. Decent sized trees in sites as well.
May 24, 2016
Very clean campground. Staff is friendly. We'll maintained.
May 24, 2016
Your front desk staff worked very hard to get us and our friends a great space. Lovely park, laundry not red hot, tho, ate most of my quarters and only got back 3.
May 24, 2016
Clean place, and friendly staff
May 23, 2016
Very clean and friendly. Would definitely recommend to others.
May 19, 2016
We stayed twice at this campground and enjoyed both stays very much! It was easy to access and right on our way. The staff was also very pleasant. Would highly recommend this campground.
May 18, 2016
Clean, quiet, convenient to us as tourists
May 18, 2016
We love to stay at your koa. It's always clean and safe. Thank you for your efforts!
May 17, 2016
Very peaceful and pretty.
May 17, 2016
This is among the very best KOAs we have stayed at. The sites were large with individual grass areas and everything about the campground was perfectly maintained.
May 16, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy