Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9114

Info: 970-249-9177

Email

200 N Cedar Avenue

Montrose, CO 81401

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 785 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 10, 2015
I rated it poor because they sent us an email the day that we arrived telling us that we were being charged a higher rate than agreed too. The campground is a nice place and no issues with the cabin. Just a poor way of doing business.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Cabin was fine, mattress was hard, two vehicles sat outside playing loud bass stereo till 4 am . Was in what seemed like bad part of town
Aug 10, 2015
It was quiet, clean and friendly and close to all the shops. We'll be back! Chris and Nicki Broughton
Aug 10, 2015
We stayed in the cabins. Great for the price.. close to the restrooms and right next to the pool. A fire pit would make it better.. but there is a stove you can burn wood in on the patio.
Aug 10, 2015
The tent area was great, an out door kitchen sink prep area for the tent sites would be nice.
Aug 09, 2015
Stayed in the Tent area, but there are no dedicated sites, nice grassy space but no fire rings and it can get crowded. Bathrooms were clean and nice.
Aug 09, 2015
Very friendly people .
Aug 08, 2015
Very nice & clean facilities. level sites. Close to downtown area but still on edge of town. Has a nice Eastern view of the mountains.
Aug 08, 2015
Great service, nice grounds, cabin nice AC, but beds were very hard. Overall great stay! Thank you!
Aug 07, 2015
Internet sucks. Otherwise, enjoyed my stay, nice shady spot. Thanks.
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 05, 2015
Staff extremely helpful and proud of their city and business. Great to see hometown pride. Beautiful and level campground. Very clean. City has a wonderful waterpark excellent for running/biking/walking and within walking distance of campground.
Aug 05, 2015
We love Montrose and the location of this RV park. It has everything you need. Staff is wonderful
Aug 05, 2015
My mom, sister, and I came to Montrose from Oregon for a funeral and we greatly enjoyed our stay at the KOA! I had originally booked a kabin, but we got upgraded for free to one of the apartments on site due to an issue with our kabin door not locking. Debbie and her husband are wonderful people who did everything to make us feel safe. We will definitely stay here again!
Aug 05, 2015
Enjoyed the stay
Aug 04, 2015
It was very clean and friendly
Aug 03, 2015
Like they say, there's camping and there's KOA. Personally I prefer camping and especially not a KOA that has more rvs with no wheels parked in campasites
Aug 03, 2015
Enjoyed seeing the folks again always enjoy staying with these folks.
Aug 03, 2015
Wile the campground itself was very nice and clean we found that we were charged over our reservation amount when we checked in. We didn't know this until we arrived at home and checked our email to compare. This is poor practice on the campgrounds part. We were quoted $75.21 on the KOA site and charged $91.87 in person!
Aug 03, 2015
Loved it. Looking forward to a future trip.
Aug 03, 2015
We needed an extra night. Debbie worked hard and found us a spot.
Aug 03, 2015
Great Park! Easy parking, nice shade and grassy area! Loved the pool and hot tub!
Aug 02, 2015
Great facility with friendly staff. Quite. Has a nice pool and hot tub. Easy to find.
Aug 01, 2015
The campground is clean and tidy and the staff are friendly. Unfortunately it is located in a slightly run down area about 1000 feet from the county fair grounds. If you are there while the county fair is happening you may be subject to a strong oder of penned livestock wafting your way from time to time. Don't stay in cabin 1. It is 5 feet from the bathroom and 20 from the RV dump station.
Jul 31, 2015
The Montrose KOA is one of the best campgrounds we have stayed at since we began RVing several Hearst ago. Both the facility and the service were excellent. This park should be a model of how to run a campground. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.
Jul 31, 2015
Very friendly and clean.
Jul 31, 2015
Great: Staff, price, location, grounds and misc. pool. grill etc... Not so great: Cabin; smelled like urine, door hard to open, needs updating.
Jul 31, 2015
Check-in went smoothly. Our cabin was located very close to the restrooms. Both the cabin and restrooms were very clean.
Jul 30, 2015
only downside was traffic noise throughout the night
Jul 29, 2015
The arrival gift was a nice touch after a long day of travel.
Jul 29, 2015
We loved our cabins privacy and the grounds are beautiful! Staff was incredibly helpful.
Jul 29, 2015
nice campground with beautiful green grass for my little dog to roll in! she gets excited about grass when traveling in the West.
Jul 29, 2015
The people were very friendly but access to the Kampground was difficult do to very poor signage. There should be a sign on the highway and where there is a sign that says Campground it should say KOA Campgound.
Jul 28, 2015
Quiet KOA off main road. Shady. Nice swimming pool and kids area.
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
Nice well managed KOA. We will be back!
Jul 28, 2015
The park's location is great and centrally located to the great things to do in Montrose, Gunnison and Ridgway. The campground is very clean and spacious. We will definitely be back. We camped in our Fifth Wheel (40 ft) with plenty of room to spare. Some spaces are tight to navigate with big rigs but overall plenty of space to move around. The staff was exceptional from check-in to check-out!
Jul 28, 2015
Hello very clean very quiet nice large lots with grass and trees at every site the pool was very clean the laundry room was too the staff was very friendly and helpful
Jul 27, 2015
Great stay!
Jul 27, 2015
beautiful grassy sites, lovely clean pool, very quiet
Jul 26, 2015
We were there 8 days and it was always very clean and quiet.
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
The Good: The campground was clean, the staff was fantastic. The kids loved the pool. The Bad: Sites were not very level, not a huge deal breaker. A lot of road noise, traffic from town and near by businesses. Biggest issue for us was the event or business that was using a P.A. System till 2:30 in the morning didn't get much sleep.
Jul 25, 2015
Second time there over the years and will definitely return. Staff very helpful,all amenities well taken care of.
Jul 24, 2015
We were told we would have places to stay but they were given away when we got there!! Staying 2 nights meant we had to move to a 2nd site.
Jul 23, 2015
We had a great time camping at the Montrose KOA. The tent camping area was clean, on grass, and convenient to the bath house. There is so much to do in the area we couldn't work it all in. Even though the KOA is in "town" we enjoyed our stay, and hope to come again someday.
Jul 23, 2015
The beds were terribly uncomfortable in the Kabin. There were broken slats and they squeaked a ton.
Jul 23, 2015
Good facilities, there were no activities held or breakfast or social treats offered or served. Cabin smelled like urine. Campground was busy. Main't staff was friendly.
Jul 23, 2015
Nice grass pads and trees throughout. Very convenient to Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park and Main Street. My son enjoyed the pool; we enjoyed the hot tub. Wifi worked well. The only thing missing was an enclosed dog park.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals