Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA

200 N Cedar Avenue

Montrose, CO 81401

Reserve: 800-562-9114

Info: 970-249-9177

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 02, 2014
Would have been 5 stars but no one at office during regular business hours and answer machine did not work properly.
May 31, 2014
May 31, 2014
Friendly staff. Very helpful with anything you want. Campground was great.
May 30, 2014
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
Very nice campground! Had plenty of shade, grass at each site, nice playground for our kids and a pool everyone enjoyed. Clean bathrooms and laundry room. Look forward to returning to this campground in the future.
May 27, 2014
Very clean and quiet campground. We had to ask for a fire pit. The dog walk was very minimal. No activities other than the pool and playground.
May 27, 2014
Very nice except .........the WiFi was absolutely horrible!! It was all but unusable. Wi Fi is now a basic requirement not just a perk. Please consider an upgrade. Especially when the very pleasant trees make it impossible to get a line of sight on my satelite. So not Satelite and almost no WiFi!
May 26, 2014
The cabin was clean and comfortable.
May 26, 2014
A very nice place. Loved the trees and the lawns. It was quiet and the staff was friendly. The store was a little lacking. Loved the Black Canyon.
May 22, 2014
This was very nicely run/maintained, but was a little disappointed that hot tub/spa was working with very few jets, but I'm probably critical as I have had one since the 1980's.
May 22, 2014
Had a nice stay. I like the heated pool and hot tub. Friendly host. Walking distance to a great steakhouse. 🐂
May 20, 2014
Met Tom who runs the place, along with some other employees. Tom especially was helpful with great locals eateries and making me feel at home at this KOA. When I return to this area later on, I'll stay here.
May 13, 2014
one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed at recently. Very clean and quiet. Well placed utilities and great grass and trees.
May 12, 2014
Cabin was next to the playground which was great for kids. The pavilion look nice but no events. The cabin & all facilities were clean. Beds could be a little more comfortable. Cabin is very primitave so cold air easily found its way in but the little heater worked well. Over all good stay - except for when the staff scolded us for walking on the grass - geez I thought thats what grass was for.
May 11, 2014
May 08, 2014
Attractive campground, clean and quiet. However, the office was staffed very infrequently and not otherwise available if there were needs.
May 06, 2014
May 03, 2014
AWESOME! Friendly staff, we were there 9 months, my husband was even offered a job there, and did indeed work there for awhile. They wanted him to stay and work and even offered me a job cleaning part time as well. It was with much sadness and regret that we had to leave for a job offer in Utah. I'm praying that if we get ahead, we can return again one day! This KOA is BEAUTIFUL!
May 02, 2014
May 01, 2014
I was a late arrival but there was no note or email or anything with my instructions or information to know which kabin I was assigned. I had to call the "emergency" number and find out. When I departed, the office was locked and no one was around. While the facilities were great, the staff was very hands off.
Apr 29, 2014
The park is nice and clean. However, the throttled internet connection is slow and blocks some services. I would not stay here again, for that reason.
Apr 29, 2014
Apr 18, 2014
Staff was fantastic. Cabin was perfect.
Apr 09, 2014
Apr 04, 2014
It was great. I would have stayed longer.
Mar 17, 2014
We love staying there.
Mar 16, 2014
very nice location and park is great well set up with good PT sites for RVs towing a vehicle and very friendly staff We will go back for sure
Nov 15, 2013
Had RV problems and host graciously gave us a refund on a night that we couldn't stay. Also let us pick the perfect spot for us. Thanks
Nov 05, 2013
Absolutely the best KOA experience we've ever had: lovely trees, flowers, fountain, awesomely large pool. Everything reallly in top condition. Good cabins just across from us for the grandchildren. Keep shining !
Oct 22, 2013
The Bungalo was terrific! The Kampground was quiet, clean and had interesting scale airplanes throughout the area which made it an added "a pat on the back" for identifying a great era of war planes! We will be back, thank you!
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 12, 2013
Oct 06, 2013
you have to many trees 90% of your spaces you can't use your dish and you put small r/v in large spaces and large r/v in small spaces
Oct 06, 2013
Staff is very friendly. Bathrooms and grounds very clean. Nice location - quiet.
Oct 04, 2013
Just a little disappointed that there were no bbq grills at our cabin like some of the others have
Oct 04, 2013
Oct 04, 2013
Pleasantly surprised at the quality of the transient sites and especially that the cost was comparable to other RV parks in the area. Typically, that is not the case with KOA parks.
Oct 03, 2013
Our bungalow was neat and clean and extremely quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Oct 02, 2013
Had a great time nice campground
Sep 30, 2013
The campground is great. It is neat and clean and the sites are good size, with shade. The office was not open for the full hours stated, but the staff were friendly and helpful when there.
Sep 28, 2013
Good campground except: signage is very poor. Almost missed turn off US50 because sign was small and off the road. The sign telling where to stop for registration looked like a Stop Sign with graffiti. Also, WIFI very slow, frequently.
Sep 25, 2013
We had not been able to call ahead and let them know that we would be arriving after closing , but the kabin was ready and the key inside. What a welcome sight!
Sep 25, 2013
We checked in and asked to be near the pet walk since we had 3 dogs with us in our travel trailer. The map showed a nice long grassy area for the "pet walk". This was NOT true, it turned out to be a deep dangerous irrigation ditch! And it was apparent the operators never toured the park since we noticed several dogs off lease and dumping without being cleaned up after. Won't stay there again.
Sep 23, 2013
We like end sites and you gave us one. Nice clean sites . We will tell our friends.
Sep 22, 2013
Sep 20, 2013
clean and comfortable. not liking the lack of privacy at the "Bungalo".
Sep 17, 2013
Our RV site was fine, but the folks who were with us had a. Cabin that smelled like cat urine.
Sep 14, 2013
Park is well maintained. Staff if very friendly. Highly recommended.
Sep 14, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.