Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9114

Info: 970-249-9177

Email

200 N Cedar Avenue

Montrose, CO 81401

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 16, 2016
I stayed in a tent at this campground because I was attending a class in the area. A section of lawn was the area where people with tents stayed. This area was behind some cabins which was set apart from the larger RV section. It felt set apart from the sites for RVs. Just opposite the tent area was someone's yard. This was awkward. No picnic table was available for tent patron ' s use.
Jul 16, 2016
We arrived late, and they had our site information taped to the office door, so that was nice. Since we arrived late, we were not awake very early, went to shower at 9:45 am and the showers were already closed for cleaning (posted 10-12 closed for cleaning). If checkout is at 11, why not wait until after 11 to clean? OK for a quick overnight stop but would never stay longer. Wifi doesn't work!
Jul 15, 2016
The facilities are well kept and had nice amenities. As tent campers, we had to move our tent several times to accommodate grounds crew in their quest to water the grass.
Jul 14, 2016
Everyone was very curtious and the bathrooms were clean!
Jul 14, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
Great people, great RV spots extremely clean, very helpful staff.
Jul 12, 2016
Love this KOA. Clean, nice wide spots, friendly staff.
Jul 12, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
Nice and very clean cabin, great customer service.
Jul 12, 2016
Cozy, pretty, fun, lots to do, great location, mature trees, nice staff!
Jul 11, 2016
Since my last review of this campground it has sold to new owners. Only time will tell if they can continue to run it at the previous high standards. Appears to be more seasonal/permanent residents than on our previous visits over the years.
Jul 11, 2016
We rented a tent space and had a pleasant stay. The tent area was somewhat crowded but the overall facilities were great. The camp hostess was very accommodating. Thank you.
Jul 11, 2016
Sites are very close together. It is right in town. Had an issue at home come up and had to leave early. Would not refund any money. Very inflexible. What about credit for a future stay???

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry for your emergency at home We would give you a rain check for future stay if asked, You are more than welcome to email me and I will gladly mail you a rain check good for 1 year. Thank You, Debbie
Jul 10, 2016
Great
Jul 10, 2016
Very quiet location and super helpful staff. Concetta (spelling?) was the best!
Jul 10, 2016
A well maintained campground with clean showers and bathrooms, good campsites and nice facilities. Also, friendly and proficient staff. We enjoyed our stay.
Jul 09, 2016
We tent camped here for 1 night while visiting Black Canyon & drove the million dollar highway (US 550 S). The campground was very nice with clean restrooms & showers. Staff was very friendly & helpful. The only downside is it is pretty close to a busy highway so there was some road noise all night long. It wasn't terrible but definitely apparent. If you visit this area, don't miss scenic US 550!
Jul 09, 2016
Jul 09, 2016
Beautiful KOA. Clean, safe, well kept. Lovely grass areas at each site. Will return and recommend others.
Jul 09, 2016
This campground we can highly recommend. Renate and Immo Schill
Jul 08, 2016
Jul 08, 2016
Our cabin was clean and supplied with dishes, pans, BBQ grill and everything we needed to make our stay pleasant. Staff was polite and helpful. We enjoyed the pool too😊
Jul 08, 2016
Lovely place. Very close to the Black Canyon. Made our explorations easy.
Jul 08, 2016
Always a great place to stay when in the Montrose area. Large, well separated sites in most of the CG. Well managed and maintained.
Jul 08, 2016
Awesome park!
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 06, 2016
This KOA campground was beautiful - very clean and nice large sites.
Jul 06, 2016
The stay was great the camp grounds was very clean and the cabins was nice also! The only problem was never could get out electronic devices to connect to the internet! Don't know if it was the internet or our devices, but there was 5 devices that could not connect. Other that that little detail stay was wonderfull!
Jul 06, 2016
Campsite is nice and clean. Friendly staff. Camp is farther from the national park than anticipated. Good place to stay for one night on way to black canyon.
Jul 06, 2016
We loved our stay.we were also impressed by the staff. There was a storm blowing in and the staff went around the campsites and put up the awnings to motorhomes for people that were gone for the day.very impressed!
Jul 06, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
One of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed in. Green grass between each campsite, plenty of space and no dust like we have found in most of the south west campgrounds.
Jul 04, 2016
Great swimming pool. Great bathrooms, grassy sites, some shade trees.
Jul 04, 2016
Very nice park. Nice sites. Well maintained gravel pull throughs and grassy picnic table area for each site. People cutting through site next to us with vehicles and on foot.
Jul 03, 2016
Good location, clean, and staff was great.
Jul 03, 2016
Camp sites where good size, restrooms are good and clean. Only too many motorcycles parked driveway area hard to drive through RV park with motorhome
Jul 03, 2016
Clean. Friendly. Nice grass for me and my dog. Beautiful grounds and flowers. Convenient. Would stay again.
Jul 02, 2016
Park in very well kept. Host are erythromycin friendly and ready to help. We have 42' fifth wheel and had no problems. Great grass area at each space.
Jun 28, 2016
Friendly staff. Clean facilities. I stayed in one of the cabins and it was well kept and I was surprised it had air conditioning. That's a nice touch to cool the room down a little after returning home at night.
Jun 27, 2016
One of the best campgrounds we have stayed in. Large, level sites with a good amount of space in between sites. Great pool, wifi and cable TV.
Jun 27, 2016
As usual the campground was impeccably clean and the staff friendly. All the facilities were well kept and the pool blue and inviting.
Jun 25, 2016
Front desk staff was great. Bathrooms were spacious and clean. Pool was also very nice. Only issue was for us tenting. Tent sites are on a gravel road which seems slightly outside the main camping facility. Cars drive up and down road during the night which can be hard to sleep through.
Jun 24, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay! Very convenient, well kept, friendly staff. We met several guests that return each year. We are planning a return visit as there is so much to see and do in this area. Loved our stay! Thank you!
Jun 24, 2016
OMG.If you tent camp,DON'T!Tent area is a SMALL grassy spot along the pool,playground & shelter.No designated sites.Set up WHEREVER!TEN tents stacked is a small place.You could literally hear others snoring and farting all night.WORST tent night I ever had.(Cator to big rigs). Pool is cold and FULL of bugs,bees,leaves & bandaids, GROSS.Staff was friendly.Next time Gunnison KOA or Ouray KOA
Jun 23, 2016
The people that worked at the KOA were great- super friendly. However the location of KOA is terrible- it is right next to a very run down house and there were people tent camping next to us that were screaming at each other. They appeared to be homeless or townies that normally crash there but do not have to pay. The facilities themselves were okay but the tent locations were not appealing at all
Jun 21, 2016
A beautiful campsite. Very clean restrooms. Much space around .
Jun 21, 2016
Great place to stay
Jun 21, 2016
Beautiful campground! Well maintained, quiet, lots of shade.
Jun 21, 2016
It's a very nice campground, EXCEPT there is no dog park. And there's the perfect place for one in the vacant area at the north end of the campground. Hope you'll get one put in soon.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy