Montrose / Black Canyon Nat'l Park KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9114

Info: 970-249-9177

Email

200 N Cedar Avenue

Montrose, CO 81401

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 02, 2016
The hosts were all very kind and helped with any problems we had.
Aug 02, 2016
Very convenient to down town and all spots in town. Theater and drive in etc. Internet connection very pokey and intermittent.
Aug 02, 2016
If you are arriving at night to use a tent site, this is not a good KOA. I reserved a campground ahead of time, but there is really no security for that because there are no separated tent sites. It's one pretty small section of grass where people seemingly set up their tents at random. We arrived at night and were very confused, and ended up tenting somewhere weird. Facilities were nice though.
Aug 02, 2016
Wonderful experience. Clean and quiet and we will be staying there again in the future.
Aug 02, 2016
a "CAMP"of 24+ teenagers woke us at 6:10AM on 8/1, migrated to our picnic table for their breakfast & noisy conversation. Their girls used the men's room. I asked a KOA worker if there weren't some norms about being quiet and respecting other tent campers in the AM. He said no published norms existed.
Aug 01, 2016
This "campground" is no more than a grassy area. All campers camp in the same place, side by side. I was traveling with a buddy and we had 2 tents so we had to pay for 2 campsites. If you just need a place to sleep, it is adequate but no privacy, no campfire rings, and only 3 or 4 picnic tables for multiple campers. If you are looking for a true camping experience this is not it.
Aug 01, 2016
What a nice campground. Large sites with well maintained lawns, clean and large showers plus a refreshing pool and hot tub make this KOA a great stay.
Aug 01, 2016
We really enjoyed staying here. It's pretty with the grass. A few things- would be great if they had some events for the kids nightly and showers at times could be cleaner but we will definitely stay here again!
Aug 01, 2016
We appreciate the camp staff --they are great! The "deluxe" cabin is starting to need some TLC, however. For the price we paid per night, it should have been in better condition I think.
Aug 01, 2016
The staff was amazing. I didn't plan my 4x4 trip well and the Ouray KOA was full. Debbie (the owner or manager) was able to pull some strings for me and the rest of my party and accomodate us. Even though we had to move spots mid way through our stay we didn't have to leave and find a new campground. Beautiful place, clean facility, again awesome staff. Thank you.
Jul 31, 2016
Nice park but overpriced, as is all of your parks.
Jul 30, 2016
Convenient location to Black Canyon of the Gunnison. The cabin was clean and so were the bathrooms and showers. The staff was friendly and helpful in recommending places to eat!
Jul 30, 2016
Very nice campground.It could use a dog park back in the corner but nice other wise
Jul 29, 2016
very noisy but clean, need more tent space away from pool area with more shade
Jul 28, 2016
Campground is well-kept by friendly people. Campsites are shady, good sized big rigs and well laid out. I would definitely stay here again.
Jul 28, 2016
Restrooms need updating. Originally given camping cabin that is accessed outside the campground but was allowed to change when I expressed concern about safety.
Jul 27, 2016
Nice park.
Jul 27, 2016
Beautiful park -- great space between lots and space is grass, not gravel or weeds. Nice location. Nice pool. Great staff. Can't go wrong.
Jul 26, 2016
we enjoyed our stay. great park and the staff was very friendly
Jul 25, 2016
We were very impressed with how nice and clean everything at park was. Had a nice spot with shade. My family especially loved the pool and hot tub which was well maintained. I would definitely recommend this park to friends and family.
Jul 25, 2016
Nice, smaller campground that is well maintained. Bathrooms were older, but clean and everything worked. Heated pool was very nice, and they had a hot tub but we did not get in during our stay. I plan to stay here again when I am in the area.
Jul 25, 2016
Location was great. A few more shaded areas in the test area would be nice. Also they asked us not to use a tarp under our tent because it would burn the grass, our tent was damp. Staff very kind. Great pool and spa.
Jul 25, 2016
Our stay was only for one night, we were breaking up a long drive. There was absolutely no hastle at all in getting signed in and to our spot. We took a nice relaxing swim after a long drive, the pool and hot tub wee very clean and perfect temps.
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 23, 2016
Everything was was neat and tidy and clean. Grounds was well kept.
Jul 23, 2016
Nice campground with all amenities. The bathrooms are super clean and all the common areas too. The campsite are not intimate and you put your tent on the grass with all the other tents around you. The shady tables to cook and eat was very useful.
Jul 23, 2016
People were great
Jul 23, 2016
Jul 22, 2016
I really enjoyed being able to have everything ready right when we got there! The Host was a true Host. Thanks KOA! Linnea
Jul 22, 2016
One of best KOA we have stay in.
Jul 22, 2016
Had a wonderful time. Friendly staff who are knowledgeable about the area and what to see and accomplish in a short visit. Clean and quiet area.
Jul 22, 2016
We only stayed one night. People were exceptionally friendly at front desk. Easy parking and exiting. The park was very clean and well maintained and easy to find.
Jul 21, 2016
Stay was originally for 4 days, wrenched my back & stayed 3 additional. No problem with camp & didn't have to move. When leaving the staff came & did all of my unhooking & packing compartments & volunteered to help in any way. I was so pleasantly surprised & happy & grateful. I will come there anytime I can. They are so great. Norm Hansen Bakersfield, ca.
Jul 20, 2016
great time,great staff,and no problems.
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 19, 2016
This KOA is one of our favorites. Clean, nice pool and friendly staff! We will be back!!
Jul 19, 2016
Fantastic - super friendly staff, great place. Debbie called me back 2 different times, helping me get the nights I wanted. Thanks Debbie and staff!
Jul 18, 2016
Peaceful campground
Jul 18, 2016
Great park! Would have given it 5 stars if their wifi & cable were better. Everything else about the park is 5 stars!!!
Jul 18, 2016
Very nice park! Sites were wide and level, and very well maintained. Clean facilities, and very friendly staff! Wonderful stay!
Jul 18, 2016
Very clean, well kept campground. Disappointed that the office closed early at 8pm.
Jul 17, 2016
nice place and well taken care of
Jul 17, 2016
lotsvofntrees. GPS did not take us directly tonpark. We should have looked for the KOA sign though with it being dark that was not easy. The town has shopping a great brewery and another with good food.
Jul 17, 2016
WE enjoyed our stay. very quiet campground and nice amenities. It would have been nice if there were fire pits-part of the camping experience!
Jul 17, 2016
These facilities are very nice.
Jul 16, 2016
I stayed in a tent at this campground because I was attending a class in the area. A section of lawn was the area where people with tents stayed. This area was behind some cabins which was set apart from the larger RV section. It felt set apart from the sites for RVs. Just opposite the tent area was someone's yard. This was awkward. No picnic table was available for tent patron ' s use.
Jul 16, 2016
We arrived late, and they had our site information taped to the office door, so that was nice. Since we arrived late, we were not awake very early, went to shower at 9:45 am and the showers were already closed for cleaning (posted 10-12 closed for cleaning). If checkout is at 11, why not wait until after 11 to clean? OK for a quick overnight stop but would never stay longer. Wifi doesn't work!
Jul 15, 2016
The facilities are well kept and had nice amenities. As tent campers, we had to move our tent several times to accommodate grounds crew in their quest to water the grass.
Jul 14, 2016
Everyone was very curtious and the bathrooms were clean!
Jul 14, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy