Monroe Co. / Toledo North KOA

15600 Tunnicliffe Road

Petersburg, MI 49270

Reserve: 800-562-7646

Info: 734-856-4972

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
first time visiting your koa enjoyed our self and family very much will come back.Thanks for the hospitality.
Sep 04, 2013
Lots of fun activities for the kids, especially the water slide and fishing pond. On the negative side, I found it to be extremely crowded and felt more like I was hanging out in a trailer park than a campground. Also the showers have virtually no water pressure and they were really dirty.
Sep 04, 2013
Our family had lots of fun! The only draw back is the smell of the water in the bathrooms. Shower water smells terrible! Something really should be done about that because it really is a very nice campground! Lots of things to do!
Sep 04, 2013
great campground and we had free pancake on the Monday morning
Sep 03, 2013
I have washed our bathing suits and towels 3 times and can't get the sulfer smell out from the stinky water! The kids had fun though.
Sep 03, 2013
My wife and I just didn't feel it here. For my son it was a good place lots of things to do for him. I like the resort fee and all get wrist bans for everything. I found the swim pond very dirty. It could use some sort of fountain to move the water and perhaps skim the top. Observed people killing fish and then throwing them back and lots of trash around the fishing pond. Staff was very friendly
Sep 03, 2013
Upon arriving registration was a headache. The sites were much smaller than anticipated and for the rate I didn't think that it was worth it. Another very frustrating thing was the bathroom! They are very small and each day even though pancake breakfast started at 8am they had the main bathroom closed for cleaning. It really should have been done before everyone got up to eat.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
1st issue was with the WET firewood that they charge over $6.00 for. You couldn't burn it at all. 2nd issue was with the showers that only had a push button and had scalding hot water. 3rd issue was with the other campers who insisted on playing loud obscene music, even after I and the "patrol" people asked them not to. I go to KOA because they are normally family friendly.This one was not.
Sep 03, 2013
when I got there my site was not clean there was beer cans and trash from previous campers spent half an hour cleaning other then that we a great time staff was friendly and there was plenty of things to due this is second time I have camped at this koa and I would come back again
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Unfortunately we were extremely disappointed in so many things it would be difficult to recommend staying overnight. Seems like a one day water park. Water Sulfur smell bad, no golf carts allowed, extremely cramped sites (we got a premium site), odd configuration with little/no privacy at all and expensive for what you get.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Great stay. Lots of activities for the G-kids, only saw them for meals and bed time. :) Wonderful, helpful staff. We'll be back again soon.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Wonderful place for a family to relax and enjoy each other. The kids do not run out of outdoor activities; the camp ground is very well kept; and, the customer service is great!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
We had a great weekend!! So much fun so much for the kids!!!!
Sep 03, 2013
I would have like if our site had the grass cut. Our site was small so it would have taken 2 minutes to cut it before we arrived. Bathrooms were not clean. Showers are not clean. Not enough showers for that big of a campground. Kids activities were fun but most were extra cost when you already pay 3.00 per day per child. I dont think they should charge 5.00 per day for a dog.
Sep 03, 2013
Showers have no temperature adjustment. Rained for 15 mins and our site was flooded. Sites are not equally spaced nor are they clearly identified. We love the layout and understand the concept but it needs to be brought up to pricing standards.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
The staff were friendly,the grounds were clean and well kept.the showers had zero water pressure,that may have been the time of day. showers and restrooms were kept clean throughout the day. this KOA is not for adults looking for a quiet relaxing weekend! there are kids running everywhere. It is geared for family fun, If you are not into kids this is not for you.
Sep 03, 2013
Clean but, very expensive.
Sep 03, 2013
Great place to stay many activities for the children to do. Will be going back before the season is up.
Sep 03, 2013
We had a wonderful time like always. Just really think for holiday weekends the snack shack should be open longer and more staff to be work it. They always seemed to have a long line and wait for food. Other then that we had a great weekend and the kids really enjoyed the new glow wagon ride.
Sep 03, 2013
Excellent campground with great installations and amenties.
Sep 02, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised that there were enough activities available to entertain our 4 kids all weekend long! Very clean cabin, bathrooms, and beach, loved the free pancake breakfast!
Sep 02, 2013
Great for children and families! The water has a distinct odor and I would take cooking and drinking water with me.
Sep 01, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Aug 30, 2013
sites are extremely small and difficult to get into trash locations are not easy to get to very expensive
Aug 30, 2013
this campground needs to have better sites they were muddy uneven the showers and water to the rv`s smelled very bad you could use fill on the grounds also. for the price you charge i have been to nicer and cleaner campgrounds. i will not come here until it improves maybe never.
Aug 30, 2013
Aug 29, 2013
Always loved staying at the Monroe KOA. We stayed at the campground when our daughter was young and now we are bringing her children. The park was clean and well maintained, and the staff is very helpful and pleasant. The only problem I had was with our site. The ground was muddy and after the massive rain we were under 2 inches of water. The sites need leveling and gravel.
Aug 29, 2013
Love it here! Every time we stay we always have an amazing time! Employees are always helpful and pleasant. Lots to do for the kids. Only complaint is the state of the bathrooms.
Aug 28, 2013
We had a blast, very kid friendly environment. Shower water had a sulphur smell to it and was not always hot. Other than that we will return!
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
We had a great time as repeat customers. Kids love camping there. Only real complaint is the smelly water, it seems to get worse with more people. Maybe prop open shower doors when not in use to air them out.
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
My two girls and I were there for 4 nights in the treehouse cabin. I was one of our best KOA stays! Only 2 suggestions, up here in Canada our cabins have mini fridges which is a bonus, and my girls missed the jumping pillow they have had the experience with KOA Niagara Canada and KOA Cardinal ON. Although Monroe does have other exceptional features such as A/C which proved perfect for this wknd!
Aug 27, 2013
The smell of the sulfur in the water is terrible. I had to completely drain and rinse my water system when I got home. I heard other campers complain about the water. If this continues, I don't know if I will use this campground again. My wife's hair even smelled like sulfur after she washed it.
Aug 27, 2013
Good experience for first time camping. Pancake breakfast was a hit with the kids. No activities on Sunday or Monday (and we missed the activities on Saturday due to mid-day check in). I was told that you had a lot of staff depart (I'm guessing to return to school), but I had assumed it would be full activities through Labor Day -I would have scored the experience higher. Bike shop opened late
Aug 27, 2013
The site has full of attractions and my son of 6 yrs old liked them very much. I hope the water slide opens longer in a day. We stayed in a tent area with water and electricity (101). My wife and son did not mind, but I was annoyed by the noise of US-23 during night.
Aug 26, 2013
The park is great except for the sulphur water. the water was awful.
Aug 26, 2013
My family had a great time. The local fire department did a great job with their accident reenactment and they had great activities for the kids. The water slide and beach area were so much fun for the whole family!
Aug 26, 2013
I like that the staff is very friendly and helpful and that you have people keeping an extra eye on things at night. The only issues we had with our stay were the showers. Our first 3 nights there was no water coming out of the shower heads even after we had someone look at it and say it was fixed there still was only a small trickle. There were also 12 large nails scattered all over the site

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.