Monroe Co. / Toledo North KOA

15600 Tunnicliffe Road

Petersburg, MI 49270

Reserve: 800-562-7646

Info: 734-856-4972

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 01, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Aug 30, 2013
sites are extremely small and difficult to get into trash locations are not easy to get to very expensive
Aug 30, 2013
this campground needs to have better sites they were muddy uneven the showers and water to the rv`s smelled very bad you could use fill on the grounds also. for the price you charge i have been to nicer and cleaner campgrounds. i will not come here until it improves maybe never.
Aug 30, 2013
Aug 29, 2013
Always loved staying at the Monroe KOA. We stayed at the campground when our daughter was young and now we are bringing her children. The park was clean and well maintained, and the staff is very helpful and pleasant. The only problem I had was with our site. The ground was muddy and after the massive rain we were under 2 inches of water. The sites need leveling and gravel.
Aug 29, 2013
Love it here! Every time we stay we always have an amazing time! Employees are always helpful and pleasant. Lots to do for the kids. Only complaint is the state of the bathrooms.
Aug 28, 2013
We had a blast, very kid friendly environment. Shower water had a sulphur smell to it and was not always hot. Other than that we will return!
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
We had a great time as repeat customers. Kids love camping there. Only real complaint is the smelly water, it seems to get worse with more people. Maybe prop open shower doors when not in use to air them out.
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
My two girls and I were there for 4 nights in the treehouse cabin. I was one of our best KOA stays! Only 2 suggestions, up here in Canada our cabins have mini fridges which is a bonus, and my girls missed the jumping pillow they have had the experience with KOA Niagara Canada and KOA Cardinal ON. Although Monroe does have other exceptional features such as A/C which proved perfect for this wknd!
Aug 27, 2013
The smell of the sulfur in the water is terrible. I had to completely drain and rinse my water system when I got home. I heard other campers complain about the water. If this continues, I don't know if I will use this campground again. My wife's hair even smelled like sulfur after she washed it.
Aug 27, 2013
Good experience for first time camping. Pancake breakfast was a hit with the kids. No activities on Sunday or Monday (and we missed the activities on Saturday due to mid-day check in). I was told that you had a lot of staff depart (I'm guessing to return to school), but I had assumed it would be full activities through Labor Day -I would have scored the experience higher. Bike shop opened late
Aug 27, 2013
The site has full of attractions and my son of 6 yrs old liked them very much. I hope the water slide opens longer in a day. We stayed in a tent area with water and electricity (101). My wife and son did not mind, but I was annoyed by the noise of US-23 during night.
Aug 26, 2013
The park is great except for the sulphur water. the water was awful.
Aug 26, 2013
My family had a great time. The local fire department did a great job with their accident reenactment and they had great activities for the kids. The water slide and beach area were so much fun for the whole family!
Aug 26, 2013
I like that the staff is very friendly and helpful and that you have people keeping an extra eye on things at night. The only issues we had with our stay were the showers. Our first 3 nights there was no water coming out of the shower heads even after we had someone look at it and say it was fixed there still was only a small trickle. There were also 12 large nails scattered all over the site
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
It was a wonderful weekend! We loved it and we will be back next year!
Aug 26, 2013
The manager Ryan and his staff were awesome as usual!
Aug 26, 2013
Water smells like rotten eggs. Very, very cramped lots. Wet sansy lot with black ants.
Aug 26, 2013
Staff is friendly and helpful. Campground is clean. We feel secure in letting the children go on their own. They really enjoyed the pancakes and the movie. Firefighters were great and we all learned alot. Special kudos to Bob, Leyna, and Ryan.
Aug 26, 2013
Water park / beach are nice, but sites are small. A lot of trees, but some need to be taken down at the corners to accomodate larger campers, can't even make some corners because of people parking cars next to road. Plus, dump station shouldn't be right next to the office/store and no place to wait without blocking road.
Aug 26, 2013
Water smelled other than that the park is very nice
Aug 26, 2013
Fantastic if you have kids and plan to use the toys. Very expensive for those of us who used it as a stopover and did not swim or play put putt. $5 per night per dog? Highway robbery.
Aug 26, 2013
We had a wonderful time. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Campers were very respectful of each other. We planning to stay again in the near future.
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Everything was wonderful. The only problem was that the first night we stayed the showers by the rental shack was not working when we went to use them. There was only a trickle of water in only one shower. The others didn't even have any water. The staff is always great. We have been visiting for a few years.
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Most sites are grassy. If it rains, you might get puddles on your site. Day use campground. They have a water slide, swimming lake and a fishing lake. Lots for the kids to do. Lots of cabins. Not enough showers! Only 2at office. They do not post times for cleaning restrooms.
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
I think that our stay went well up until my interaction with the Camp Manager Ryan. While he was nice and friendly, I felt as though his condescending attitude toward me about my issue was offensive. While what I dealt with was not a big deal, he could have done SOMETHING to make me feel a little better. I felt like I was dealing with a lying politician and he was only interested in getting me out
Aug 23, 2013
Nice grounds, nice pond, very nice customer service BUT nothing to do. Things closed early, example inflatables until 5, closed at 4:15 one night...water slide till dusk closed before 6, store closed early during week there were NO activities going on. Disappointed.
Aug 23, 2013
there was no water pressure in the showers
Aug 23, 2013
We come here because of our kids. It is kid friendly. This trip the showers under the cabin were totally unacceptable, dirty, smelly & lots of insects taking up residence on the ceilings. Shower 1 did not work at all, 2 3 4 5 literally any water came out & 6 stopped working half way thru. This KOA needs to put some time, money & pride into those showers. It's enough to keep us from coming back!
Aug 23, 2013
facility is cleans. sites for RV are Extremely close together, to close for me. Water for campers is HORRIBLE! Water is not fit for consumption. I can not return to this site with these conditions
Aug 23, 2013
The water tasted and smelled of rotten eggs! Could not brush my teeth, did not want to take a shower!
Aug 23, 2013
+'s - big, attractive grounds, great for kids, nice slide, fishing pond, playground, games, etc. Minuses - 1-room cabin near entrance substandard quality, refused to stay there, upgraded to 1-room w/bath. Nice, could be cleaner. Posted rules say for guests to sweep, clean sink, toilet & shower on checkout. Really?? For a rate same as a decent hotel? Wondering what additional cleaning is done.
Aug 23, 2013
We took our first rv camping trip here. The campgrounds were very clean. The kids had a wonderful time and enjoyed the water slide, putt putt and riding bikes
Aug 23, 2013
The staff was friendly and helpful. Camping area was clean. The bathrooms were fairly clean. Other campers were friendly as a rule. There were campers a few rows down fighting and shouting obscenities around 11pm for 20 minutes or so. Started up again around 3:30am. Would like better security. We felt uneasy about the whole situation
Aug 22, 2013
to expensive
Aug 22, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
This was our first time camping and to walk into our cabin to find that there is a place like home made us smile from ear to ear. We will be back again. Family reunion or not we are coming back to visit. We truly enjoyed ourselves. Letetia Williams and family
Aug 21, 2013
Bathrooms were not cleaned often enough. I did not like the co-ed bathrooms. The men/women sign was removed from restroom and after telling management they didn't do anything.
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 21, 2013
Very large, busy and therefore dirty KOA. Not enough washroom facilities for the number of campers using them....ran out of hot water on the Sat night. Loud and way to busy weekend. Had to wait a long time to rent bikes for the kids not nearly enough available.Free pancake breakfast was really nice as was movie night. Couldn't hear any of the camp announcements in the rustic campground.
Aug 20, 2013
everyone was very,very nice. the sweet,sweet i had was very clean.and the bathroom and shower on the camp ground was very clean the only thing the bed was to hard.in all we have lot of fun the childern want to come back and the lady wnt to have a lady weekend there.Thank you keep up the good work.Had a ball Valerie Williams
Aug 20, 2013
The camp has nice, new facilities like the cabins, but, some of the other things are wearing out, like the cement pads are breaking up and the water has a serious smell. The Staff, though, is excellent in every way. I really want to have a 4.5 star rating. Thanks for your assistance.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.