Mitchell KOA

41255 South Dakota Highway 38

Mitchell, SD 57301

Reserve: 800-562-1236

Info: 605-996-1131

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Cabin Reviews

Aug 23, 2015
Great campground, enjoyed the quiet and relaxed atmosphere! Only stayed for one night but would love to stay longer and take advantage of the great amenities.
Aug 20, 2015
Clean campground; nice cabins; toilets could use upgrade - flushers did not work well & plugged toilets.
Aug 19, 2015
Great campground. Very clean, and very friendly people. Easy access to town, but away from the traffic of I90. We have stayed there for years.
Aug 19, 2015
Best showers around!! The attendees were very attentive and friendly....this was our favorite place throughout our trip this year!
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
Please get the bunk bed off of the double! I would not stay in KOA if I had a bed like that. Glad it was for only one night!
Aug 13, 2015
Great location and folks. will say the gravel is a bit thick and made negotiating on a motorcycle a bit challenging.
Aug 11, 2015
courteous, clean and comfortable
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Bravo to KOA hosts !!! Jim and Jerry you are the best!!! Been staying with you for 9 years. Your welcome is so sincere!!! We feel like family. Thanks for going the extra mile ( air conditioner on and cooling, porch light turned on...and when we are late, your are like a parent and wait for us). See you again next year!!! Friends from Iowa.
Aug 06, 2015
Everything's so clean and the three guys running it are so friendly. I even got a tour of the windmill appurtenances which was really nice. It was a perfect little place with old growth hardwood trees lining and shading the entire campground. Very well done.
Aug 06, 2015
The service was friendly, the staff was helpful, the cabins were clean. The only problem was that our air conditioner must have frozen up because it worked at first but didn't work after that.
Aug 05, 2015
It's convenient b/c it costs less than a hotel. However, it needs a bit of "upkeep" work. There was also a dog that barked ALOT that appeared to belong to someone who worked there, which wasn't enjoyable.
Aug 04, 2015
Good for an overnight stay. Clean and air conditioned cabin fit our needs well. Staff was friendly.
Aug 04, 2015
It was ok.
Aug 03, 2015
We stayed in the cabins. They were great for our family, and it was nice to not have to unpack the tent. My only concern was that there were several posts that were rotted and loose on the cabin porches. If those get taken care of it would be great.
Jul 29, 2015
The Kabin was clean, the air conditioner was already on when we checked in so that was a welcome relief to the heat. Nice bathrooms, too
Jul 27, 2015
Nice campground personel. Lousy WiFi.
Jul 25, 2015
Not very clean..
Jul 20, 2015
We arrived late and were fortunate to have the hosts turn on our air conditioning in our Kabin. However, they were a little grumpy in the morning! The playground was nice, but the bunks were not comfortable. My husband and I sank into the middle and both woke up with back aches. We will, however, stay here again as a nice location for a stopping point during our cross country trip.
Jul 20, 2015
Clean, efficiently run campground.
Jul 19, 2015
Our cabin was between the playground and a site that had lots of people who were loud until late. Air conditioner did not work well. No fan or TV. Funny smell in cabin. Probably one of our worst cabins at a KOA. Pool was small and overcrowded. Kids were riding bikes through our campsite. Wish I could get a refund. We will stay in Sioux Falls next time. We love that KOA.
Jul 18, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
Very clean, well taken care of property!
Jul 15, 2015
Great folks friendly clean will stay again
Jul 14, 2015
Beds in cabin are very hard to sleep on. Cabin doors very squeaky so wake someone up each time go in and out.
Jul 13, 2015
good camp
Jul 13, 2015
great camp
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 11, 2015
Jul 10, 2015
The stay was fine.
Jul 10, 2015
Clean and up to date
Jul 10, 2015
Enjoyed it, everyone was so helpful
Jul 07, 2015
We were tent camping & a thunderstorm was expected that night. The KOA folks were ready with a safe cabin where we watched an awesome light show and didn't get wet.
Jul 04, 2015
Wonderful location. Quick check in. Very clean bathrooms. Cabin mattresses in good shape. Cabin floor a bit dusty but hey it's a campground!
Jul 02, 2015
Not a lot in the store. Pool had tons of dead bugs. Rental bikes should be free - no one monitoring them anyway.
Jul 01, 2015
We have a 9-year-old son who has autism, and vacationing by staying at KOA sleeping cabins was the way we were able to take a family trip without the pressure. We stayed at four KOAs on our week-long trip, and we love the cabins and the consistency of services. My son absolutely loved the pool! We're super happy with KOA, and the friendly staff.
Jun 30, 2015
Great overall. Women's restroom toilets kept plugging. Septic or plumbing needs go be updated. Toilets not up to the task.Showers were fine,
Jun 27, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
We had a Kamper Kabin. Very clean. Easily slept 5. Nice pool for the kids. Will stay there again.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Like the cabins great way to travel economically. We are right by our vehicle.
Jun 21, 2015
Nice, shady, quiet campground. Got a good nights rest, kids had fun with the mini golf
Jun 18, 2015
The Mitchell campground is clean, tidy, and appealing (as one expects from KOA). Our only reservation involved the bed in our camping cabin. It was a queen/twin bunk combination, and the frame was rather flimsy. We never worried about it collapsing, but a sturdier frame would be a good idea.
Jun 14, 2015
Jun 08, 2015
Great place to stay. Very clean and super helpful and friendly staff.
Jun 08, 2015
Oct 27, 2014
My only complaint of this place is I wished the pathway to the bathroom was lite up more. We arrived late and not knowing where we were going the first time, especially with a 5 year old, wasn't much fun!
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 16, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.