Mitchell KOA

41255 South Dakota Highway 38

Mitchell, SD 57301

Reserve: 800-562-1236

Info: 605-996-1131

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 30, 2014
Stayed 1 night on the way back from the Black Hills. Clean and comfortable campground. Lots of fun activities to help pass the time.
Jul 30, 2014
Need to check your bathroom toilet partitions. The floor anchors are so caked with dirt and the brackets are quite rusted. There is a musty smell as well.
Jul 29, 2014
We stayed one night on the way to Mt. Rushmore and one night on the way back. The staff was very friendly and even though we arrived both nights after "closing", they came over to help get checked in and to our site. My only complaint is that the pool didn't open until noon and that the layout of the sites was funky.... water and electric seemed to be on someone elses site.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Pool area could use some cleaning, weeds, paint on back of building , boards rotting on bottom, all facing pool area, just needs a little maintenence and tlc.
Jul 29, 2014
Loved this quiet park! It was exactly what we needed for a quick stopover. Perfect long site; friendly owners and an easy on-off freeway.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Great roomy sites :-) good stay.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Stay was great. Only complaint was the grass was too tall and had bull thistle that scratched you when walking in grass at our campsite. Hosts were very nice. Will definantly stay again next time we come through .
Jul 28, 2014
enjoyable Thanks
Jul 28, 2014
Fastest WiFi of any place we have stayed. Good management, very efficient during check-in. Best place in central South Dakota. 1 mile from I-90, less traffic noise.
Jul 27, 2014
Thins were clean and well maintained. Staff was very nice in giving directions. spots were roomy.
Jul 27, 2014
Great campground. Friendly staff who will go above and beyond what is expected from them to ensure you have a great stay.
Jul 27, 2014
Nous avons eu un très bon accueil et ils se soucient vraiment de voir à ce qu'il ne nous manque rien. Très propre.
Jul 26, 2014
Clean and quiet. Friendly staff. Nice sized sites.
Jul 26, 2014
We had a great time. everythihk was clean our stay was wonderful
Jul 26, 2014
I am the only person I know with a camper so recommending you is not likely. I think the little dog space needs a seat for pet owners. I think the trees and the general layout of the camp was lovely.
Jul 25, 2014
Nice campground.
Jul 23, 2014
stayed because of local tourist attraction.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Arrived after 6 pm. Staff escorted me to my site. I had trouble with one of my tires and they recommended a local shop that could help with the repair. Very helpful staff. They picked up the trash for us. The campground was clean and comfortable.
Jul 22, 2014
Very friendly
Jul 21, 2014
If you want to see the Corn Palace this is the place. Easy in and out. Standard KOA
Jul 21, 2014
Noisy with the busy side road. Cabin and bathrooms were old but OK. There were some newer ones. Nice enough setting with trees.
Jul 21, 2014
Because the KOA was located between the interstate & another well used highway, the traffic noise at night was too loud. It wouldn't be so bad for those with motor homes.
Jul 21, 2014
Great place to stay. Shade trees. Fantastic owner. Small but everything you need at a great price.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Not a "fancy" KOA but... Very, very nice! Highly recommend!
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
We only strayed one night but had a great stay, the campground is extremely clean, wifi worked very well and the pool was spotless. I will definitely use this KOA again in the future.
Jul 19, 2014
Very clean, good service at site, great pool, beautiful area. The corn palace was great!!
Jul 19, 2014
had a great time, people at the KOA were very helpful.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
We stayed in a one room cabin. It was simple and clean. Perfect for non-tent people. The service was friendly and there is a little mini-golf course my kids liked.
Jul 18, 2014
The staff was extremely helpful and kind. The campsite and bathrooms were very clean.
Jul 18, 2014
Nice clean KOA. Pool was great for the little one. Great spot to stay if passing through on the way to Mt.Rushmore.
Jul 18, 2014
4.75 stars!! Quiet, away from major highway, lovely shade trees, nice pool and laundry room, 3 miles from Mitchell, but the hosts are the best thing about this KOA. Jim and Jerry are hosts in the best sense of the word. Friendly, welcoming, accommodating, and funny! Be sure to get them to tell you some of their side-splitting stories. B
Jul 17, 2014
The campground was clean enough and barely adequate. But the flies were terrible. We couldn't eat outside our tent camper because of them, and left before breakfast in order to avoid the swarms. I would not return to this KOA.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
We only stayed for the night while making our way home but we really liked this campground. The peope were very friendly, bathrooms were very clean, all the sites were well shaded. It was a great place to stay. Thanks!
Jul 15, 2014
Everything was really good. Friendly staff and clean.
Jul 15, 2014
Very nice and accommodating staff.
Jul 15, 2014
Helpful staff and very clean campgrounds!
Jul 14, 2014
Very easy to get to, very friendly staff, very old campground. I would only stay here if you are looking for a quick one night place to sleep and nothing else. Really needs an update.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.