Mitchell KOA

41255 South Dakota Highway 38

Mitchell, SD 57301

Reserve: 800-562-1236

Info: 605-996-1131

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Aug 31, 2014
Aug 31, 2014
Very friendly and helpful. Other friendly guests there too. Clean and had firepits and wood for campfires.
Aug 31, 2014
Les employés sont des menteurs. Ils nous vendent le site en promettant que le wifi fonctionne et c'est faux!!! Et un service pourri
Aug 31, 2014
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 30, 2014
This was an awesome site! Cabin and shower house were clean and maintained. Hot water at the dish washing station was a nice touch and much appreciated! Thank you again for a great stay!
Aug 30, 2014
Thanks for the great stay!
Aug 28, 2014
Aug 27, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Very helpful and welcoming! Met us after hours and showed us to our site.
Aug 25, 2014
Great place to stop on our drive to the Black Hills. Clean, well kept campgrounds with the cleanest showers we have ever seen! The pool was a bit too cold, but overall, a great place to stay.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 24, 2014
A lovely well maintained campground.
Aug 24, 2014
you need more 50amp spots! Campground was nice though. we were there in August, is that why so many flies???
Aug 24, 2014
The wifi could be better
Aug 24, 2014
I like the location, close enough to the interstate and town, but not too close.
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
Very nice park and staff with the best WiFi of any I have found in 49 campgrounds this year. Thanks and KOA could make use (and money) in making this the norm.
Aug 23, 2014
Once again being a Value Card Member our reservation and stay quickly processed our check-in. Highway 38 traffic was a bit noisy otherwise we enjoyed our stay. We'll be back.
Aug 22, 2014
Very helpful staff, quick, efficient check in. Will return.
Aug 22, 2014
Very nice place we were late to check in but they had our paperwork waiting for us. Restrooms were very clean, and it was very peaceful.
Aug 22, 2014
Upon arrival the smell of the neaby sewage lagoon was overpowering. It subsided but we were taking shelter in our RV til it did. Staff was not knowledgeable on local events.
Aug 21, 2014
very friendly staff, a nice clean pool, relaxing environment. far enough from the interstate that you have a quiet stay but close enough to get on the road quickly
Aug 21, 2014
What a nice place. We're always glad to stay at Mitchell KOA with its long shaded sites, clean play areas, and beautiful store. The owners are welcoming and helpful, always with a smile and a wave. This is our 3rd stay, and we'll definitely be back.
Aug 19, 2014
It's a nice little KOA for one or two nights but long term would be challenging due to lack of amenities and somewhat outdated sites however the staff is very friendly. Easy access to major stores such as Walmart. As stated, it's a good for one nighters.
Aug 19, 2014
It's hard to entertain teens when you're camping. They had plenty to do-went swimming in the pool, chased each other on the recumbent bikes and played a few rounds of mini golf. The campground was very well kept and lots of shade trees. Definitely will be coming back again =)
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Although we were just traveling through, the pull through site I had was very narrow. I would not have been happy if I was spending an entire weekend here, as the coach next door would have been very close, luckily no one was next door for my very short stay. There was a nice pool, but it was rather small and no hot tub. Compared to other KOA's we have been at, this KOA was not as nice for kids
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Beautiful, quiet campground with lovely, large sites. Great Hosts!
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Nice campground. Rocky pavement is biggest downfall. People nice.
Aug 16, 2014
We've been staying at this KOA for over 25 years. We have some fond memories of staying here. It has been a few years since we stayed here last and were disappointed. Seems kind of run down. Office is dark, no more ice cream, no more hayrides, etc.
Aug 16, 2014
Next time we will request a site away from the swimming pool. Too noisy.
Aug 16, 2014
This was a very comfortable stay for us. Campground is clean, restrooms/showers are well kept and clean. They have a very large dog run. Major kudos! Love being able to off leash the dogs and let the dogs run after a long day of traveling. I enjoyed our short stay here. Thanks much to the owners for keeping it clean.
Aug 15, 2014
Very clean and friendly staff.
Aug 14, 2014
Staff was friendly and accommodating, and made an extra effort to get our big rig a spot in their almost-full campground (due to rodeo in town). The site was very tight for our rig (40 ft 5th wheel) but we appreciated their help parking. We would stay here again.
Aug 13, 2014
No complaints.
Aug 13, 2014
Very Clean, Quiet and nice people.
Aug 12, 2014
Nice clean and quiet camp ground. I'm thinking this was the 7th or 8th time we have stayed there on the way to Sturgis...
Aug 12, 2014
The hosts at this KOA were extremely helpful to me when I experienced a coolant line failure. Excellent advice given on where to go in town for help. All of the employees are very nice people and JIM evenb let us borrow his trailer hitch to tow our vehicle a couple times!!
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
everything went very good
Aug 12, 2014
the stay at Mitchell was very friendly and a good nights rest thank you
Aug 12, 2014
nice site and friendly staff, see you next year
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Everything at this KOA camp site was excellent for our stay. Thank you and we will be back next year.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.