Mitchell KOA

41255 South Dakota Highway 38

Mitchell, SD 57301

Reserve: 800-562-1236

Info: 605-996-1131

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 08, 2015
Jun 07, 2015
Great time!
Jun 07, 2015
Clean grounds, immaculate restrooms, congenial and helpful host.
Jun 07, 2015
We loved the new pet runs. Also, the staff were very helpful.
Jun 07, 2015
Very nice place.
Jun 05, 2015
We came in late, called for directions and there was someone waiting to lead us to our camping space. Both our arrival and departure were easy, fast and friendly.
Jun 04, 2015
Very friendly staff. Park was clean. Only drawback were the gravel roads and dust they created whenever someone drove past.
Jun 03, 2015
We had to get off the road in bad weather and the hosts were very welcoming.
Jun 02, 2015
The Mitchell KOA needs some upgrades, the sites are tight. It was a weekend with lot of campers so you'd think they'd be ready, but whole campground needed to be mowed.
Jun 01, 2015
The staff was great and we loved the site they put us on. It was perfect (C15).
Jun 01, 2015
level pull thru sites....lots of trees. Friendly service.
May 31, 2015
We only stayed for one night on our way to somewhere else (home from Mt. Rushmore), but it was a very satisfactory stay. It was very nice to be offered free popcorn in the afternoon and free coffee in the morning.
May 31, 2015
Jim & Jerry are great hosts! We intended to stay one night but ended up staying three nights! The campground is very relaxing - close to town but in the country. We will stay again when passing through South Dakota.
May 31, 2015
My family and I were traveling to Gillette, Wyoming on a mission trip, we stayed here for one night and were very pleased with the friendliness of the people and the cleanliness of the entire campground. We would definitely stay again if the opportunity arises.
May 30, 2015
May 29, 2015
Friendly folks. Clean facilities. Paths & roads well maintained.
May 29, 2015
May 28, 2015
We really enjoyed having a fire pit!
May 28, 2015
Outstanding campground. Staff was friendly and very helpful in all aspects.
May 28, 2015
Nice clean site and very courteous staff on duty.
May 27, 2015
Decent place but the campsites were way to close together
May 26, 2015
Great staff - very friendly and helpful!
May 22, 2015
Very easy access and friendly staff. Would stay again.
May 22, 2015
Jim and Jerry are friendly, helpful, and overall super hosts. The park is shady and quieter than most. I will definitely stay there again.
May 21, 2015
They are in process of much needed upgrades.
May 21, 2015
The Mitchell KOA is well organized and clean. The hosts are very accomodating and respectful of campers privacy. A very enjoyable stay as always, Thank You!
May 20, 2015
Great place. Staff very helpful with solving problems with our MH. Easy in and out.
May 20, 2015
May 19, 2015
We only stayed one night but it was a great place to stay. great place for a dog or two to walk and enjoy the outdoors. Very clean bathrooms and showers. Nice kept up place next to a nice ranch to see the cows.
May 19, 2015
Great Kampground hosts. The area isn't really conducive for long-term vacationing, but I would certainly stay there again as I drive through!
May 19, 2015
Arrived late and our reservation was waiting. Easy in and out, everything worked great
May 19, 2015
We had a great stay the one night the week before, that we decided to stay there on our way back home one night. It is great for you dog or dogs with plenty of walking area. The place is very clean and well kept up with clean showers, bathrooms and quiet.
May 19, 2015
The KOA was fine but Mitchell was cold and windy.
May 18, 2015
Great hot showers, clean and comfortable stay. Very windy, but that's how south Dakota can be!
May 17, 2015
This KOA is set up very conducive for the camper. The gentleman that operate the facility are extremely accommodating and welcoming making extended stays very comfortable and warm.
May 15, 2015
May 12, 2015
Had a really good two days, the operators not only made sure our campsite was perfect but also made sure where we needed to see the attractions in town
May 12, 2015
Mitchell KOA is a lovely little campground with owners who have big hearts. We enjoyed Jim and Jerry, and are looking forward to a return visit. Amenities are excellent - strong WiFi and super clean bathrooms. Pool looked nice, but we visited prior to its opening.
May 12, 2015
Very friendly and helpful.
May 11, 2015
Hosts went above and beyond. Will definitely stay again. Even with a horrible storm coming in had to leave early. We will be back for sure.
May 10, 2015
Loved it!!! Jerry remembered us from our last stay 7 years ago!! Friendly,clean,a pleasant experience!!!
May 09, 2015
Very friendly hosts. Good level sites. Just getting up and running this spring when we stayed there.
May 04, 2015
They were very nice and helpful we need a tire repair and they referred us to the best tire repair in Mitchell awesome people
May 04, 2015
We stayed here one night. The customer service was super. Our site was large and level. We even had shade.
Apr 29, 2015
Friendly staff , very helpful.
Apr 27, 2015
We stayed before they were open but treated well and was a good one night stay.
Apr 20, 2015
Perfect first weekend out this season. Wonderfu, friendly campground managers!
Dec 11, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
My only complaint of this place is I wished the pathway to the bathroom was lite up more. We arrived late and not knowing where we were going the first time, especially with a 5 year old, wasn't much fun!
Oct 25, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.