Mitchell KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-1236

Info: 605-996-1131

Email

41255 South Dakota Highway 38

Mitchell, SD 57301

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 28, 2016
Helpful staff. Overall a great campground, although some signs of needing maintenance here and there. Loved the free mini golf. Only KOA we stayed at (out of 8) where the wifi actually worked properly...good job!
Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
The areas are nicely shaded. The restrooms were clean, but in need of remodeling..
Jun 28, 2016
Mitchell KOA is a small, quiet park near the I-90. Bathrooms and facilities are dated but clean and everything works well. Office closes early so plan ahead! Less than 2 miles to town for food, shopping, and the Corn Palace! Some sites are a challenge for leveling - overall it's a really good KOA!
Jun 28, 2016
Great to have big trees! Away from interstate noise.
Jun 27, 2016
Employees were very friendly and helpful. Campgrounds and facilities clean.
Jun 27, 2016
Hosts were friendly. Kamper Kabin was clean and comfortable.
Jun 27, 2016
This is a small KOA but very convenient on the way through South Dakota. Pool, laundry well taken care of. New gravel has been put down in sites but not all packed down and level yet so the rain during the night left a few "rivers". Big rig friendly and a good stop for the night.
Jun 27, 2016
Nice mature trees for shade.As just an overnight stop it was ok.
Jun 27, 2016
A comfortable and pleasant place to spend the nite. Would stop here again when in the area.
Jun 27, 2016
Jerry was able to get us in and was very helpful. Was good to see a campground full and it was great that there was a KOA there
Jun 26, 2016
Upon arrival we were led to our assigned parking spot only to find out it was taken by another camper. After the porter going to the office and returning with another employee , we were give a different location. If campers are led in by golfcart, how can they be in wrong spot. We ended up with combined 46' on a 40' site. Had asked about larger site but informed all sites were taken.
Jun 26, 2016
nice site with nice trees
Jun 26, 2016
Great spot for a stopover on the way to or from the Black Hills. The pool was cool on a hot day. The wifi had a good signal, which is important with teenagers.
Jun 25, 2016
Small, right off the freeway, store shelves were bare, small pool, just stayed 1 night while we were passing through.
Jun 25, 2016
We enjoy this location. Friendly staff!
Jun 25, 2016
Nice and shady and windy not much to do in the area great pull off to stay
Jun 24, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
This is a very good RV park near Mitchell SD. A bit compact, but our 42' motorhome worked OK. Pool, dog park, nice grassy fields around it.
Jun 21, 2016
Just an overnight stay, but a very nice campground. Love the trees for shade, restrooms and bathhouse facilities were very good.
Jun 21, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
One night stay while traveling to Yellowstone in a 31 ft RV. Lovely, quiet place. Wonderfully welcoming staff. Very well maintained facillty. Clean pool. A little road noise.
Jun 21, 2016
Friendly and very accomadating. A great atmosphere for a family camping experience!
Jun 20, 2016
Great campground and super friendly and helpful staff.
Jun 20, 2016
We arrived late but we easily found our paperwork and our cabin. The cabin was great, bathrooms clean, and lush trees.
Jun 20, 2016
Nice clean campground and facility. Friendly and helpful staff. Individual sites could have more room between them.
Jun 20, 2016
Nice grounds. My only complaint was traffic noise from freeway. Know you can't help that but for light sleepers not so good!
Jun 20, 2016
Good value, just passing thur and needed to camp the night. Pool was clean and bathrooms too.
Jun 20, 2016
I tried to change my res. 6/17, the 800 operator cancelled it ($10 cancellation fee). I arrived 11:30 P.M. 6/18 & took an open space. The camp operator wouldn't try to amend the canc. fee & in fact was quite rude chastising me for taking an open space because they were sold out for the nite, and didn't give me my KOA member discount. Very displeased with this stay.
Jun 19, 2016
Easy on off access to highway. Well maintained and clean facility. Very plesant and outgoing staff. Very nice level pull through sites.
Jun 19, 2016
Only 1 tv channel but the wifi was great. Enjoyed our 3 night stay
Jun 18, 2016
Quiet, shady campground. Well stocked store, nice owner. Mini golf needs a little love but the pool was great.
Jun 18, 2016
Sites were great, but the office area needed some attention. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous.
Jun 17, 2016
Very nice stay. We enjoyed the CG and staying in Mitchell. We visited the Indian dig site and the Corn Palace; played 9 holes of golf also. Everything exceeded our expectations.
Jun 16, 2016
We love this KOA - clean, accessible, recreation options, great staff and management - everything you could ask for. This stay they shone even more - our tow vehicle broke and despite having to re-arrange other guests multiple times, allowed us to stay until the vehicle was fixed. When in the area, we won't stay anywhere else! Highly recommend you do the same.
Jun 16, 2016
Nice place, close to Cabela's, but look out for mosquitos. Tent sites have plenty of room.
Jun 16, 2016
Very pleasant overnight stay. Helpful staff.Liked our shady end site.
Jun 16, 2016
All went well.
Jun 16, 2016
The grass was high and is next a cattle feed lot which stank a lot and insect. From the feed lot chased us indoors. The owners were verry nice
Jun 16, 2016
Jun 15, 2016
Very much enjoyed our stay. Only left because it got so hot and our RV air-conditioner could not handle it.
Jun 15, 2016
Average stay and cabin
Jun 14, 2016
Nice people, pretty site, peaceful, clean great showers.
Jun 14, 2016
Jun 14, 2016
Friendly and clean!
Jun 14, 2016
Sites were very small. Not much room from your door to back side of next camper. Area clean, but out-dated.
Jun 14, 2016
It fit our needs.
Jun 14, 2016
Wish that the cell service was better but realize that because of your location (in a gulch) there's probably not much you can do about that.
Jun 14, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
Seems like it's a little short staffed. The guy at the desk seemed to do everything including checking people I and answering the phone. Also the grass was pretty long and needed cutting.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals