Minneapolis Southwest KOA

3315 West 166th Street

Jordan, MN 55352

Reserve: 800-562-6317

Info: 952-492-6440

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 19, 2014
Nice, clean campground. Pool was great. WIFI worked poorly & sometimes not at all. A little noisy with the hwy & trucks hauling from surrounding businesses, which can't be helped.
Jul 18, 2014
It was ok for 1 night. It was older, a bit run down, staff weren't friendly to koa standards. We had another night booked on our return trip but cancelled and booked with north minni koa
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
The staff is very friendly and helpful. It would be nice if the store opened prior to 9 AM and the bathrooms could use a facelift, but overall it was a good experience. I was very glad for our cabin since it rained.
Jul 15, 2014
The people were friendly and the campsite was nice, although a bit close together. It needs some TLC! Many things are run down and need paint or fixing up. The bathrooms are clean which is a good thing.
Jul 15, 2014
Sites to close and not clearly marked road
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
The staff were really nice and so helpful! Bathroom facilities were much nicer than other campgrounds I have been to. The firewood is not very good, but overall we had a great stay here!
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
My family and I had a wonderful stay. Great campground that's located near all the attractions of the cities.
Jul 14, 2014
The pull thru sites are a little tight and narrow, and the trees make it impossible to pull all the way thru when exiting - we had to back out. The facilities were generally clean.
Jul 14, 2014
It was to see my son and their family and everyone was very nice and helpful the camp was very clean and well taken care of
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Good area, clean. Would have appreciated less bugs--spray for mosquitoes.
Jul 10, 2014
We have been KOA members for many years and have stayed in a lot of KOA campgrounds. This was the worst experience that we have ever had at a KOA. Getting into the campground you had to cross a 2 lane very busy hwy. The site they put us in was not suitable for the RV and trailer that we had. To pull into the site far enough to get the trailer off the road, we had no connection to the sewer and th
Jul 09, 2014
the owner was very unfriendly. Yelled us for washing our windshield. We reserved a 50 amp and had a confirmation, when we got there, the tried to put us in a 30 amp!! As we were getting ready to park they came out and said they had found a 50 amp for us!1 Seems not very well organized or people friendly.
Jul 08, 2014
this is our second time staying here. enough said
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 03, 2014
We had a great time!
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Got eaten up by mesquitoes!
Jun 30, 2014
The cabins were cute and clean and the mattress on the double bed was surprisingly comfortable. We enjoyed the pool being outdoors and were happy that the building had been taken down for the summer. Clean bathrooms and showers too. Overall a very nice place to stay!
Jun 30, 2014
Friendly Staff. Quiet, shaded campground. Only problem we had was the distance from our black water drop to the camp site sewer dump.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Easy night check-in process, very friendly staff to deal with in the morning!
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
Weather caused damage prior to our arrival, but we were not told pool was closed all week until we inquired. Should have been cheaper. Ruined our plans. We left a day earlier than planned for that reason.main reason for choosing was the indoor pool advertised which didn't even exist!
Jun 27, 2014
Easy to get to. Nice cool pool.
Jun 26, 2014
Very nice and accommodating staff. Our stay was after 20 inches of rain so the campground was not up to normal standards. There was erosion from the rains which closed the pool and puddled the roadways. They were working furiously to get things back up and running, but unfortunately during our stay we weren't able to enjoy the full campground experience. Location great, great scenery.
Jun 25, 2014
Pool had been flooded out due to heavy rains so that was a bummer, but we received a discount so that was appreciated. Everyone was super friendly and the playground kept the kids busy/entertained all day.
Jun 25, 2014
Great service, super friendly and helpful. Campsite was fine, though admittedly all the rain in the area makes it tough for the campground. We'd come back.
Jun 25, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
Not bad at all. Bathrooms clean, showers clean, nice workers, quiet at night. Only thing was pool was closed all weekend Friday till Monday. Also fire pit was full of water. Otherwise good.
Jun 24, 2014
Did not get the site needs I requested. Did not have 50 amp and could not reach the sewer connection. Very unhappy.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Although it happens very seldom, it is disappointing when there is confusion about the reservation and the guest is not in the site requested. In some sites, if our guest does not unhook a tow car and pulls very forward in the site, they may not reach the sewer with a shorter sewer hose.
Jun 23, 2014
The pool was down due to high rains prior. I called the week prior and told them that we book camping for my son and his friends and purposely choose a KOA that has a pool. The only option they offered me was free mini golf and a 10% reduction on our bill. Upon reviewing my receipt, I realized that the 10% reduction wasn't even applied. We are very unsatisfied customers with this KOA.
Jun 23, 2014
Would have been nice to know pool was closed in advance. With two little girls and hot temps we had to leave campground to find a way to keep cool.
Jun 23, 2014
We asked for a quiet site as it was our first time camping with our two-year old daughter. They obliged, and even wished us good luck when we checked in. Hopefully they will continue to improve the facilities! Advertised for an indoor pool but instead had a closed outdoor pool, drained due to mudslides. Bummer!
Jun 22, 2014
Jun 21, 2014
Restrooms and laundry well maintained. Staff very responsive to special needs. Not easy to enter main highway with cars moving at high speeds at the campground exit.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The road coming into the campground is on a four lane road. There is a great turning lane to assist in making the turn onto the campground road. Unfortunately, there are times when there is oncoming traffic and you have wait a few minutes for the road to clear to complete the turn.
Jun 20, 2014
Unfortunately, a big storm hit and flooding occurred which made things difficult. Campground is well equipped and has a variety of sites. Host are friendly and helpful.
Jun 19, 2014
KOAs are usually higher priced than other campgrounds. Sometimes their amenities make it worth while. This campground was the second worst KOA I ve been in. The site was poorly maintained and marked, as were many others. The dump station was in an inconvenient location. Just not up to typical KOA standards.
Jun 18, 2014
Very nice place to stay. Good access to mall of America.
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
the owners/caretakers are AWESOME!!!!! We love being at this KOA and bring family with us whenever we can!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.