Mesa / Apache Junction KOA

1540 South Tomahawk Road

Apache Junction, AZ 85119

Reserve: 800-562-3404

Info: 480-982-4015

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Mar 19, 2015
WiFi shouldn't be advertised if signal is too weak to use. Dog "poop area" is a joke. No one used it. They need a real dog area. Staff were very nice and park was clean.
Mar 19, 2015
Very quiet campground. Roomy and flat sites. Close to everything we wanted, from attractions to stores.
Mar 19, 2015
Appreciated the cleanliness of the campground. Friendly, helpful staff, and most of all the off leash dog area. Thanks.
Mar 19, 2015
Overall this is a good campground. However, I rely on the Internet for trip planning, finance, and keeping in touch. I was unable to use the Internet at all when I was at this campground for three nights, even when I tried at 3:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m.
Mar 18, 2015
Nice lot. Quiet. Great showers. Close to amenities.
Mar 18, 2015
nice place to stay. clean and neat. only improvements would be a bigger laundry and some of the staff there were always crabby. if they can't be happy don't work there.
Mar 18, 2015
We usually stay with KOA's while traveling as they are the most kid friendly and that's important while traveling with a 5 & 3 year old. This KOA is not oriented towards little ones. From the Child Activity fee (what activity I don't know) to the counter attendent who didn't know if there was a playground or not, this was not a family oriented campground.
Mar 18, 2015
Awesome.
Mar 18, 2015
Great location, clean and organized
Mar 18, 2015
Units are too close together and need cable!
Mar 17, 2015
Only one restroom all the way across camp. Wi-Fi would not work at camp site, only by office and very slow. Nice level site, and staff took you to site.
Mar 17, 2015
Would have rated higher but for worthless wifi!
Mar 16, 2015
Mar 16, 2015
Great campground, great location, great staff, and we will be back next fall for 6 months.
Mar 16, 2015
We had a good time while staying at the Mesa/Apache Junction KOA. The wifi could be stronger and more available from our motor home. Otherwise, everyone was most friendly.
Mar 16, 2015
Front desk lady very friendly. Most comfortable. Good place for pets. Restaurant very near. Everything you need is right there. GOOD JOB KOA.
Mar 16, 2015
Had a good time here. Our needs were met to satisfaction. wifi could have been stronger so that we could utilize it from our motorhome.
Mar 16, 2015
Mar 16, 2015
Mar 15, 2015
Sites are decent. WORST attitude ever at a KOA; both manager and staff on duty when checking in. Issues with site we had booked, extending a day and buying propane. Not enough room here to explain full extent. See Trip Advisor for full details. TERRIBLE!!! Will never stay here again!!!
Mar 15, 2015
Showers could have nicer shower heads. We had a screw impalled in a trailer tire. The mobile detailed allowed in was very good.
Mar 14, 2015
Clean and quiet. Low water pressure at times. overall nice place to stay.
Mar 14, 2015
Like the location and the landscaping in your park. The laundry is always clean but small.Would really enjoy a longer stay with you.
Mar 14, 2015
We will stay here again
Mar 14, 2015
I had a reservation.Arrived a few minutes after 5pm.Office was closed with note on door that new office hours were 8-5.Web site said office was open till 7.Another sign said store was open until 7, but store was inside office.I found a note that said if you had a reservation there would be a site map with your name on it taped to the office door.There was nothing with my name on it.A few minutes l
Mar 13, 2015
no ice, internet is very slow, lots of traffic noise late night and early morning, mostly motorcycles
Mar 13, 2015
Mar 13, 2015
Nice clean campground. Advertise WiFi but at check they said "good luck, there are just many people using it. It's really slow." No cable for TV. This seems to be almost a standard at other KOAs. Dogs area or park is in name only. We did enjoy our stay and the staff. Clean restrooms & laundry. However, showers varied from hot to cold while showering and pressure also varied.
Mar 13, 2015
This is the fourth time I have stayed at this KOA. I really like this place. People are nice. Place is clean. People come back to this place year after year. People next to me have been coming back for 14 years! It is about 40 minutes from Phoenix proper. Closed to Mesa and numerous ballparks. One hour from Peoria tho where Padres play at but it is an easy drive.
Mar 13, 2015
There was an error in the way I had made the reservation on line and they fixed right away and were very friendly about it. We also had some tickets to a festival we were not going to be able to attend and they mentioned it to another camper and he bought our tickets. We were not there very long but it was a very pleasant stay.
Mar 13, 2015
Clean campground. Staff friendly and accommodating, I arrived as they were getting ready to leave for the day and they stayed and checked us in and escorted us to our assigned campsite. There is some noise from the highway next to the campground but usually in the morning nothing you can do about it. I will return in this KOA again.
Mar 12, 2015
Mar 12, 2015
we enjoyed our stay immensely; however the water pressure was not great as the shower was more like a water drop than a shower and the Wi-Fi was very intermittent at best. Everything else was great.
Mar 12, 2015
No wifi again at another KOA. Why do they always make up an excuse by saying well were full so the Wi-Fi is really weak. Why do they just not say the Wi-Fi does not work in the park! I feel that KOA is being dishonest with their people.We joined a different camping club.
Mar 11, 2015
They were very helpful guiding me into a space where I had to back in!!!
Mar 11, 2015
Great sites, clean and friendly....the complaints about the free WiFi are true, it is really bad, but who goes camping for free internet? And there was a homeless person in the showers one night. I do wish the pool stayed open later than 8pm, the hot tub was nice
Mar 10, 2015
Had a good week. Site #43 should only be used if others are full. The electric and water were under our canopy and crowded the space. Pool is supposed to be heated but I found it very cool. I hope that changed.
Mar 10, 2015
This campground needs improving but we will most likely stay again. Very disappointed when we checked in for our reserved pull-thru and were told since we were 30 amp they had us in a 50 amp spot so therefore we had to use a back-in spot. Website needs to indicate whether you are 30 or 50 when you book! Dog walk needs to be enlarged but walking thru the park is very enjoyable. Park is clean!
Mar 10, 2015
Nice park, well maintained. Country feel on the edge of the city. Great views of the Superstition mtns.
Mar 09, 2015
Campground very nice!
Mar 09, 2015
Not very kid friendly. No activities. Shared hookups and pre-designed parking directions make it hard to hook up water and electricity with stock hoses and cords. Needed to turn my trailer around in order to use my standard equipment, but wasn't allowed. Was told not to use a door marked "laundry room". Told to go around back. Door needs to have the sign taken off.
Mar 08, 2015
Friendly staff. Clean facility. Close to hiking and attractions.
Mar 08, 2015
Good location very nice staff enjoyed our stay the internet was terrible did not work at all
Mar 08, 2015
Mar 08, 2015
Easy access to Scottsdale. Allowed us to refill our propane tanks. No problem maneuvering through campground while pulling a dinghy vehicle.
Mar 07, 2015
as large as the area, not much happening around there, except for a tractor parade down the st.
Mar 06, 2015
Clean, easy to get to, convenient
Mar 06, 2015
Great place, wonderful time meeting all the "Snow Birds" parked next to us.
Mar 05, 2015
Staff was very helpfull restrooms and pool area where clean . Between nature and city
Mar 04, 2015
poor lighting at night

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.