Mesa / Apache Junction KOA

1540 South Tomahawk Road

Apache Junction, AZ 85119

Reserve: 800-562-3404

Info: 480-982-4015

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Mar 02, 2015
Very friendly staff .
Mar 02, 2015
Good proximity to locations we desired. Sites clean but structure haphazard. Example, our site (and others) had hook ups on wrong side requiring connections to be run below our unit. Our biggest issue was extremely unreliable WIFI.
Mar 02, 2015
Dog "park" is joke
Mar 02, 2015
Very clean and nice site, wifi weak but this seems to be the norm these days.
Mar 01, 2015
Always a great time in Apache Junction.
Feb 27, 2015
Clean,everything worked,very nice and helpful hosts
Feb 27, 2015
We love the area and the physical campground. We did find the office staff to somewhat rude and unorganized and a bit lacking in customer service.
Feb 26, 2015
Lot not quite big enough for motorhome and tow vehicle. We didn;t stay long enough to use all that was offered but now that we know where you are and what you have we will be back
Feb 26, 2015
Clean and well organized. Great southwestern landscaping. Very friendly, helpful staff.
Feb 25, 2015
The campground was clean and the staff pleasant and help full. However we feel we were discriminated against because have a pickup camper and we're not allowed to set off our camper so we could use our pickup to run errands or sightsee.
Feb 25, 2015
The only thing I thought was lacking at this KPOA was their pet facilities. The small pen they have doesn't cut it. They need to make part of there overflow area a dog park.
Feb 24, 2015
Friendly staff. Clean resort. Easy to find; good location.
Feb 24, 2015
The park is fine and the spaces are roomy. We were parked against the fence behind the restaurant and found it very noisy with all the motor bikes etc. on the highway. Would stay again but would want a different spot. Park is well maintained and clean. Our biggest complaint and it seemed to be with our people too is that there isn't internet all over the park. It needs to be ungraded.
Feb 24, 2015
We have stayed at this KOA a number of times and have always enjoyed our stay. Very nice place to camp.
Feb 23, 2015
Clean and comfortable.
Feb 23, 2015
Carl helped us in a big way with a problem we had. Hats off to him.
Feb 23, 2015
Nice and clean. My only complaint was that one of the RVs was being washed by a mobile cleaning service. It was loud and seemed to take a long time.
Feb 23, 2015
Grate people camping ground well taken care of very helpful staff Will be staying in the future. THANKS
Feb 23, 2015
Stayed two nights, very clean. Bath-house was well kept. Would have been 5 stars but had to go into my neighbors area to turn on water/elec. Didn't seem right. Also, sewer stench near campsite 45 (mine at the time). Lots of highway noise at night on this side.
Feb 22, 2015
Feb 21, 2015
The campground was clean but the spot we had was close to the highway and there was lots of noise. But worse was the fact that the pump out station was locked and we were unable to pump out before 8 am. We needed to leave at 7. We were not happy about that.
Feb 21, 2015
friendly, helpful staff
Feb 19, 2015
Great place to stay. Only problem is the internet.
Feb 18, 2015
It's was okay
Feb 18, 2015
very nice in all respects except highway noise
Feb 17, 2015
Nice place, quite and clean. The only down side is the wifi. As I have found in most KOA's is that the band width is for about five people, not 300. If something is offered as a benefit, it should work.
Feb 17, 2015
Feb 17, 2015
Our stay was very relaxing for my family and I. We met the nicest people and visited the zoo.
Feb 17, 2015
Campsite that I reserved was not equipped with correct electrical connector so I was moved to campsite #50 which was next to an unfriendly permanent resident. The noise from the intersection just behind campsite #50 was unreal and lasted throughout the night.
Feb 17, 2015
Noisy spot next to well used gravel road. The RV slot was narrow so we were on top of our neighbors. Misrepresented in KOA guide.
Feb 16, 2015
Clean,quiet,friendly atmosphere. Loved the trees & native plants. Would prefer shorter restroom closures(for cleaning).
Feb 16, 2015
Clean and well maintained.
Feb 16, 2015
Feb 16, 2015
This is one of the worst koa's that we have stayed at. The quality of our stay from last year ( 1 wk. ) to this year ( 2 wks. ) has declined to a Ghetto status. The Y-Fi to the camp sites did not work, we heard every lie & excuse that you could imagine except the truth. We were put in the long term stay area or Ghetto. People are staying there & working for cash under the table. The I.R.S. should
Feb 15, 2015
One overnight in a pull thru site at a clean, friendly KOA. This was a return visit for us. We'll be back again.
Feb 13, 2015
Only drawback is no dog play area. Nice campground, great location!
Feb 13, 2015
We found it well maintained and the RV sites pretty level and well spaced.
Feb 12, 2015
The road noice, barking dogs, wi-fi very poor, water pressure very low and laundry hours limited were not very accommodating. Most of the staff were very friendly and the campground was kept up.
Feb 11, 2015
The facility was very nice.Our second stay. However the front dest personnel were not very helpful . Questions on wi fi and area were unsuccessful Did not feel welcome.
Feb 11, 2015
The dog park at the campground needs major improvements. It was only 5 x 10 and my dogs would not go in it because it smelled so bad. They had an overflow parking next to it that they could have taken part of for a decent size dog park. Other campers with dogs felt the same way as we did.
Feb 10, 2015
the staff in the office were cranky with family with children assuming the children were going to touch everything in the store. Seemed like a 55+ park and catered to that. Wouldnt reccomend it to families.
Feb 10, 2015
Compared to other koa campgrounds this ones dog yard was a joke . Others have had the big fenced area, water should be available in the dog yard . I'm sorry but a 6 foot fenced i area should not be allowed to be advertised as a dog yard . Otherwise the park was great
Feb 09, 2015
Easy check in, clean property, only grip (not the owners fault) is that the traffic noise is a little high
Feb 09, 2015
Feb 09, 2015
Didn't answer phones, no cable TV, WiFi not very usable, small picnic table,
Feb 08, 2015
Feb 07, 2015
Checkin friendly and efficient, nice cabin and clean facilities. Very convenient.
Feb 06, 2015
Feb 06, 2015
Most helpful.office personnel very nice. Spotter was very cordial and helped us line up. Nice showers and restrooms. Have everything A traveler needs and a smile too. Thanks
Feb 05, 2015
Loved it! Great view! No problem!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.