Mesa / Apache Junction KOA

1540 South Tomahawk Road

Apache Junction, AZ 85119

Reserve: 800-562-3404

Info: 480-982-4015

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 06, 2015
Apr 06, 2015
This is a nice park and we will return, but it is very dusty. A little concrete or paved roads would make a big difference.
Apr 05, 2015
3 1/2 stars for the site itself. Internet was very bad and that is an important factor for us.
Apr 05, 2015
Pool was murky for a while, but got cleaned up eventually. Staff was grumpy and basically lied to me when I asked to check to see if I could pick another site. They said they were full so could not change anyway. Many sites were unused that night and all of the 8 or 9 nights we stayed there. You would thin that such a loyal customer would get some options.
Apr 05, 2015
All of the workers very helpful. We were disappointed that the office is closed from 11:30-3:00 because the kids wanted to get souvenirs the last day when we were leaving but no one would come up to allow this.(the hours on the phone were different than what was listed on the door sign.
Apr 05, 2015
Clean, friendly , and beautiful scenery !!!!!
Apr 05, 2015
Very nice facility. Close driving distance to Superstition Mountains.
Apr 04, 2015
e enjoyed our stay very much. Would have enjoyed it more had we had good WIFI.
Apr 04, 2015
Enjoyed the stay. However, being so close to such a large metro area, something needs to be done about the internet access.
Apr 04, 2015
perfect!!!!
Apr 03, 2015
This is definitely for older couples (55+) campsite. Did not have activities for kids besides the pool.
Apr 03, 2015
I love the landscaping, the staff, the location. We don't use the pool, but it looked inviting for someone who like to swim. We have stayed here twice and we make it our home anytime we visit the Mesa/Apache Junction area!
Apr 03, 2015
Nice open sites and friendly staff.
Apr 02, 2015
Apr 02, 2015
Apr 02, 2015
Staff was rude. rec room opened till 8:30 but office closes at 7. found the on call rep and he wouldn't open the rec room for me. said office needs to be open. My kids were in the hot tub with me sitting in the chair next to them. the staff member walks right pass me and starts asking my kids how old are they and they can't be in there without an adult. I told the staff they where my kids.
Apr 01, 2015
We have been staying there for about 10 years. Its always friendly. the only thing is the water pressure in the showers.
Apr 01, 2015
The site was good sized - long, wide, and level. The park was easy to maneuver in my motorhome. The staff was friendly during check-in and assisting me receiving mail.
Apr 01, 2015
We had a very nice stay!!
Mar 31, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. Most everyone was quite friendly.
Mar 31, 2015
Mar 31, 2015
I stay with the Devos brothers and have neen doing so for 4 years and it's been a great experience.
Mar 31, 2015
Check in was a breeze, the woman at the counter was extremely nice and helpful. They personally escort you to the site. Not much room between sites, I guess this is normal for KOA. Pretty noisy, right by the old hwy. Women's showers have very low water pressure. The campground & pool were kept very clean, making the stay comfortable. So glad we found KOA, no other campgrounds allowed children!
Mar 31, 2015
Excellent, staff very friendly. Campgrounds clean very well kept Clean bathrooms.
Mar 31, 2015
Tent sites are too close together and unbearably exposed. So hot, no escape from heat of the sun.
Mar 31, 2015
There was absolutely NO information on things to do in the area. The WiFi was very slow making it difficult to do any research. Personnel in the office weren't knowledgable of the Renaissance, the Easter Pageant, Arizona Opry, etc. The pet area is very small - not much of a place to walk or play with pets. Restrooms and pool were very clean. Sites were clean and well maintained.
Mar 31, 2015
Nice and clean good helpers, Debbie, Mike
Mar 31, 2015
I reserved a pull thru site but received a back in site when we arived. Confirmation email had pull thru. Staff said "well we are really full!" We arrived after hours and our map did not have the bathroom code. Went to the store 30 minutes before closing and they were already closing the register so I couldn't buy anything. Keep going - stay somewhere else.
Mar 31, 2015
They have done a great job with the vegetation at this KOA. Staff was friendly but we had issues with our sites. Booked two nights then another and problems occurred. Seemed like a communication problem amongst the staff. Also a water problem while we were there. Hate to give a negative review but things could have gone smoother.
Mar 30, 2015
All amenities clean and working,friendly staff, and nice size sights.
Mar 30, 2015
Very enjoyable and Quiet. Just wish check out was a few hours later so you can enjoy your last day there. 11am came to quick leaving no time to enjoy the morning . But over all a 10
Mar 30, 2015
Mar 30, 2015
Lots of sun and fun.
Mar 30, 2015
The staff was nice. It was packed but it didn't seem like it. We had a good time and would recommend this K.O.A. WE WILL BE BACK!
Mar 30, 2015
Well run, beautiful and clean - my favorite KOA. Immaculate upkeep and wonderful desert landscaping. The best KOA anywhere.
Mar 30, 2015
We came in late after hours. The space next to use had moved the rocks used as space indicators. They had a pitbull dog on a 12 foot chain that kept going under our travel trailer both day and night. Because they had the dog on a long chain prior to use getting there, the dog had pooped all over in our site and when setting up at night we could not see it and were stepping in it. Loud partys.
Mar 30, 2015
The tent spaces are very close together, making for a loud and sleepless night, even when your neighbors are trying to be quiet.
Mar 30, 2015
The park was very clean and the people very friendly. The only draw back were the hours of the pool and laundry facility. They closed at 8pm. By the time we finished dinner, everything was closed. Otherwise, it was a great stay.
Mar 30, 2015
Mar 29, 2015
Cozy....generally quiet...great!!
Mar 29, 2015
Great Family Park!!! Staff are wonderful, great location and motorcycle friendly!!
Mar 28, 2015
Mar 28, 2015
We were very satisfied with the people that work there. Thank you.
Mar 26, 2015
The whole site is in need of refurbishment. The sites are of very old gravel and not at all level. The WiFi reception was non existent and antenna TV was only 2 channels. There is no maintenance of sites when people leave that is raking the gravel etc. There was only one shower/restroom block near the office which was a long way from some of the sites. Big complaint no policing of dog owners.
Mar 26, 2015
Mar 25, 2015
We always come back to this campground!The staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful.Campground is well maintained. The bathrooms are clean. We stayed here 5 weeks and the only complaint is that wifi is not reliable. Best to go near the pool area .Though if your site is near the office ,you may have no problem with reception. We would also wish they had cable tv! Enjoyable stay .
Mar 25, 2015
We were disappointed in the pool because the water is not clear. It is a murky and you can't see the bottom of the pool. all other pools at RV parks are crystal clear. So we didn't want to go in yours. Otherwise everything else was fine.
Mar 25, 2015
Our site was great but when we reserved a site and my sister reserved a cabin we asked to be as close as posible. We could not have been any farther away. I do hold the staff culpable for our niehbors. There dog crapped in our site twice and barked continueously when left alone. They were very noisy
Mar 25, 2015
First of all, the staff are very helpful and understanding. Especially, Faye and Joe. Thanks again. The campground is clean and well kept. The pet area could use some improvement. I give it 5 because of the staff. Very good folks.
Mar 25, 2015
We stayed here last year for several days and really liked it so came back this year. Great staff, good location close to everything we wanted, motorcycle friendly and we met great fellow campers. Wifi could be better but otherwise, a perfect spot for us to camp with our tent!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.