Mesa / Apache Junction KOA

1540 South Tomahawk Road

Apache Junction, AZ 85119

Reserve: 800-562-3404

Info: 480-982-4015

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Mar 14, 2015
Clean and quiet. Low water pressure at times. overall nice place to stay.
Mar 14, 2015
Like the location and the landscaping in your park. The laundry is always clean but small.Would really enjoy a longer stay with you.
Mar 14, 2015
We will stay here again
Mar 14, 2015
I had a reservation.Arrived a few minutes after 5pm.Office was closed with note on door that new office hours were 8-5.Web site said office was open till 7.Another sign said store was open until 7, but store was inside office.I found a note that said if you had a reservation there would be a site map with your name on it taped to the office door.There was nothing with my name on it.A few minutes l
Mar 13, 2015
no ice, internet is very slow, lots of traffic noise late night and early morning, mostly motorcycles
Mar 13, 2015
Mar 13, 2015
Nice clean campground. Advertise WiFi but at check they said "good luck, there are just many people using it. It's really slow." No cable for TV. This seems to be almost a standard at other KOAs. Dogs area or park is in name only. We did enjoy our stay and the staff. Clean restrooms & laundry. However, showers varied from hot to cold while showering and pressure also varied.
Mar 13, 2015
This is the fourth time I have stayed at this KOA. I really like this place. People are nice. Place is clean. People come back to this place year after year. People next to me have been coming back for 14 years! It is about 40 minutes from Phoenix proper. Closed to Mesa and numerous ballparks. One hour from Peoria tho where Padres play at but it is an easy drive.
Mar 13, 2015
There was an error in the way I had made the reservation on line and they fixed right away and were very friendly about it. We also had some tickets to a festival we were not going to be able to attend and they mentioned it to another camper and he bought our tickets. We were not there very long but it was a very pleasant stay.
Mar 13, 2015
Clean campground. Staff friendly and accommodating, I arrived as they were getting ready to leave for the day and they stayed and checked us in and escorted us to our assigned campsite. There is some noise from the highway next to the campground but usually in the morning nothing you can do about it. I will return in this KOA again.
Mar 12, 2015
Mar 12, 2015
we enjoyed our stay immensely; however the water pressure was not great as the shower was more like a water drop than a shower and the Wi-Fi was very intermittent at best. Everything else was great.
Mar 12, 2015
No wifi again at another KOA. Why do they always make up an excuse by saying well were full so the Wi-Fi is really weak. Why do they just not say the Wi-Fi does not work in the park! I feel that KOA is being dishonest with their people.We joined a different camping club.
Mar 11, 2015
They were very helpful guiding me into a space where I had to back in!!!
Mar 11, 2015
Great sites, clean and friendly....the complaints about the free WiFi are true, it is really bad, but who goes camping for free internet? And there was a homeless person in the showers one night. I do wish the pool stayed open later than 8pm, the hot tub was nice
Mar 10, 2015
Had a good week. Site #43 should only be used if others are full. The electric and water were under our canopy and crowded the space. Pool is supposed to be heated but I found it very cool. I hope that changed.
Mar 10, 2015
This campground needs improving but we will most likely stay again. Very disappointed when we checked in for our reserved pull-thru and were told since we were 30 amp they had us in a 50 amp spot so therefore we had to use a back-in spot. Website needs to indicate whether you are 30 or 50 when you book! Dog walk needs to be enlarged but walking thru the park is very enjoyable. Park is clean!
Mar 10, 2015
Nice park, well maintained. Country feel on the edge of the city. Great views of the Superstition mtns.
Mar 09, 2015
Campground very nice!
Mar 09, 2015
Not very kid friendly. No activities. Shared hookups and pre-designed parking directions make it hard to hook up water and electricity with stock hoses and cords. Needed to turn my trailer around in order to use my standard equipment, but wasn't allowed. Was told not to use a door marked "laundry room". Told to go around back. Door needs to have the sign taken off.
Mar 09, 2015
everything weas great clean very nice. we were in for spring training so didnt spend alot of time at the kampground. diffently will be back to enjoy the grounds and surrounding areas
Mar 08, 2015
Friendly staff. Clean facility. Close to hiking and attractions.
Mar 08, 2015
Good location very nice staff enjoyed our stay the internet was terrible did not work at all
Mar 08, 2015
Mar 08, 2015
Can't be better
Mar 08, 2015
Easy access to Scottsdale. Allowed us to refill our propane tanks. No problem maneuvering through campground while pulling a dinghy vehicle.
Mar 07, 2015
as large as the area, not much happening around there, except for a tractor parade down the st.
Mar 06, 2015
Clean, easy to get to, convenient
Mar 06, 2015
Great place, wonderful time meeting all the "Snow Birds" parked next to us.
Mar 05, 2015
Staff was very helpfull restrooms and pool area where clean . Between nature and city
Mar 04, 2015
poor lighting at night
Mar 04, 2015
Though staff were friendly, talking with fellow campers frequent errors were made. Very odd configuration of hookups often led to crossing in front of sites or under trailer. TV lounge and group room under strict lock and key 24/7 with 1990's TV. Nice foliage but major upgrades needed. Pool very good
Mar 04, 2015
Nice and clean, friendly helpful staff. Love the cabins.
Mar 04, 2015
Very clean park and helpful staff. Provides good access to SW Phoenix destinations and activities.
Mar 04, 2015
Great guest service from the office. I called last minute to see if there was space available for the weekend, and she did a wonderful job getting us a great spot, especially on such a busy AJ weekend. Very nice location, and the sights are all well maintained and landscaped very nicely. Will stay again when in the area!
Mar 04, 2015
Unable to locate hookups. Mismarked electrical boxes. Wifi advertised but was told "good luck" it doesn't work. Workers not as helpful or friendly as other koas. Will never stay or recommend this park.
Mar 03, 2015
Good 2 day stay. Unlike a year ago, the site was terrific! Didn't like >20 minute bathroom wait or office opening late and closing early.
Mar 03, 2015
Mar 03, 2015
Thanks so much for a great park, sorry we couldn't stay longer. However its nice that the park is full, well maybe next time we can visit longer.
Mar 02, 2015
we like to stay here every year for our wedding anniversary. It's always nice and clean with "just the right amount of friendly". have friends who stay here too. Great place!
Mar 02, 2015
it was okay, staff was friendly, sites were clean. wifi was just terrible. not usable at all.
Mar 02, 2015
Very friendly staff .
Mar 02, 2015
Good proximity to locations we desired. Sites clean but structure haphazard. Example, our site (and others) had hook ups on wrong side requiring connections to be run below our unit. Our biggest issue was extremely unreliable WIFI.
Mar 02, 2015
Dog "park" is joke
Mar 02, 2015
Very clean and nice site, wifi weak but this seems to be the norm these days.
Mar 01, 2015
Always a great time in Apache Junction.
Feb 27, 2015
Clean,everything worked,very nice and helpful hosts
Feb 27, 2015
We love the area and the physical campground. We did find the office staff to somewhat rude and unorganized and a bit lacking in customer service.
Feb 26, 2015
Lot not quite big enough for motorhome and tow vehicle. We didn;t stay long enough to use all that was offered but now that we know where you are and what you have we will be back
Feb 26, 2015
Clean and well organized. Great southwestern landscaping. Very friendly, helpful staff.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.