Madison / Pittsburgh S.E. KOA

764 Waltz Mill Road

Ruffs Dale, PA 15679

Reserve: 800-562-4034

Info: 724-722-4444

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jul 27, 2013
Kids enjoyed the jumpy pillow. Mom wished there had been more accessible coffee. Store too far away from the rest of the campground. The bathroom was late.
Jul 27, 2013
Overall a good experience. The camp store was VERY UNDERSTOCKED and the permenant campsites appeared to be very cluttered and messy. I'm surprised that the camp ground management allows such cluttered sites.
Jul 26, 2013
a little disappointed in the cleaniness of the area, discarded soda and water bottles in the grassy playground area noticed friday..still there sunday when we left..(also disappointed in the guests that left them there)
Jul 24, 2013
Great Place. Good information and lots of places to eat. Bathrooms close to cabin.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Staff were so helpful! After a trip filled with 'nightmare' experiences (ER visits, transmission breakdown, etc) the staff took care of getting us settled and provided good directions to get us on the way! Great place to stay!
Jul 19, 2013
The beds in Kamping Kabins are terribly uncomfortable and the head desk people at Madison KOA weren't that friendly. Otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Jul 12, 2013
My wife and I enjoyed our stay. Our Kabin was spotless, as was the one from last summer. The additional amenities (bathroom, fridge, microwave & tv) were really great to have. The fish in the lake, however, proved to be quite sly and uncooperative. (Sneaky buggers!!) But we had fun trying to catch them, anyway. We also enjoyed the karaoke and bingo games.
Jul 12, 2013
This KOA is relatively small compared to most. They do have a unique trampoline-type structure the kids will love. This KOA seems to be more for just relaxing at your cabin than to do any activities. The cabins are air-conditioned, which is wonderful. The adult staff is very pleasant.
Jul 11, 2013
This was the second summer my grandchildren and I stayed. it's perfect for relaxing, very entertaining, and fun. I don't worry about the kids there. we feel safe. I can't say enough about the staff. they are professional , they all know what needs done and it's all taken care of .the grounds are perfect ,& the pool is very clean . we love it . we'll be back next year. thank you
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
cabin #97 was awesome. The view was great and the extended porch (due to the angle of the cabin) was excellent. The bathrooms left a lot to be desired. The first night I wanted a shower and the bathroom smelled and the floors were wet, the second day was okay, and the third day the bathrooms were out of order because they were all backed up.
Jul 09, 2013
Good time. Friendly staff. Friendly people. Nice ammenities.
Jul 09, 2013
A slightly better stay. Ran into a difficulty using my VKR points as a discount upons checking in, but it all worked out OK. July 4 karaoke was fun. Unfortunately, men's restroom flooded yet again, making it impossible to use. Staff seems frustrated over this recurring problem. Hope to return when all is fixed.
Jul 08, 2013
An OK stay. I probably had the least-favorite cabin (#98) as it had very poor lighting at night and no readily available water source (neighboring cabins did). Also, my cabin had no picnic table upon check-in (they delivered one on the second day), while all others did. Sewage system in men's room was bad. Staff is nice, but often distracted.
Jul 05, 2013
Cabin sites are too close together. Neighboring campers had to walk across out site in order to reach their cabin site. A very cramped campground. We left a day early and stayed at a nearby hotel. No more KOA stays for us.
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Great staff, very nice. The place itself was pretty dirty - the lake filthy, the rental boats unattended for days, bits of trash here and there. The site itself is very nice if not too crowded. Great pool.
Jul 01, 2013
We had a nice stay and hope to enjoy this and other koas in the future. Love the cabin. This was our first time. The camp itself seemed a little tired and old in spots, but clean, very clean. I appreciated that.
Jun 25, 2013
Great cabin
Jun 24, 2013
My family stayed over father's day weekend we had family from PA and Ohio. about 45 of us total. Great time was had by all. The cabins were clean and spacious and had air conditioning!!! Definitely would come back. Staff was helpful and friendly.
Jun 21, 2013
The over all stay was wonderful. I was surprised at the size of the cabin. I was expecting half the space w/no shower.The only prob that we had to deal with was the hot water running out, standing water in the tub and the ants and spiders in the cabin. I know that it was on the side of a mountain, but I would have thought you could have had some type of repellent for inside.
Jun 14, 2013
Jun 05, 2013
Good playground, great for kids..only real drawback was that our parking space for our 2 room cabin was not close to OUR cabin, but great for the cabin next door...also we were on a SERIOUS tilt...and they were aware that we were bringing a small RV...bad for the fridg, impossible to use the tables for food/cereal...everything slid right off.
May 29, 2013
We have stayed here in the past,and have always enjoyed the stay. we decided to stay in the cabins this time, althought the cabins where clean they where WAY TO CLOSE TO EACH OTHER! Another thing that needs alot of attention is the bathrooms, the showers WOULD BACK UP AND FLOOD WHICH MADE IT IMPOSSABLE TO DRY OFF AND PUT CLEAN CLOTHS ON BECAUSE YOU COULD NOT GET OUT OF THE WATER PLEASE FIX THIS.
May 14, 2013
May 13, 2013
Apr 26, 2013
Great service and friendly staff. Campground is a little dumpy and " large ravine" overlook is basically a ditch
Apr 05, 2013
Jan 22, 2013
We stayed in the off season, however the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Facilities were still maintained, and I would certainly stay here again.
Dec 12, 2012
Only stayed overnight in winter, so I can't say anything about a lot of the features. Nice, cozy cabin with heat and amenities I never expected. I was just looking for a warm, dry place to sleep. This was much, much more. Thanks, KOA.
Nov 30, 2012
The owners were extremely helpful! Thank you!
Oct 13, 2012
The Madison KOA employees were amazing, very helpful and friendly. The "Red Roof Inn" cabin is a fantastic place to stay. See you next year!
Oct 02, 2012
I stayed in a kabin and it was great. It seemed like I was in the middle of no where but I had access to civilization within minutes. My only issue was that when we pulled the sheets off one of the bunk beds, they had a bit of a musty, mildewy smell to it. But great otherwise. Thanks!
Sep 29, 2012
Sep 24, 2012
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Place was very cleann and nice. Had a great time. My only complaint was that the heater did not work in cabin K99; you should check on this. thanks.
Sep 21, 2012
This was the friendliest group of personell I have met during my camping The staff went above and beyond to make our stay as pleasant and fun as possible The cabin we stayed in was very clean and welcome as home thanks for a wonderful time
Sep 17, 2012
Reserving a space was nearly impossible. I could not get anyone at the campsite on the phone. I spoke with a representative who did not work for KOA and had very limited info. They told me our cabins were together, but they weren't. They didn't know the giant inflatable pillow was broken, or even our cabin numbers. On top of this, we spent $84.84 per cabin, way too much for the tiny space.
Sep 04, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
My whole family had an incredible time(as we always do). Even though it rained on and off the staff kept to the schedule of entertainment. Lots of fun. We will be back next year.
Sep 01, 2012
Sep 01, 2012
cabins are to close together you walk through each others camp sight liked it before they moved them.
Aug 29, 2012
Frustrating found facilities not well maintained with poor attitude catering to a well drilling clientele rather than family culture that previously existed
Aug 29, 2012
Nice, quiet location. This KOA still managed to sound "quiet" even though it was full of campers! Cabin K100 smelled musty when I checked in and had several dead bugs on the large bed. Much of the ground in front of the cabin is uneven and a noticeable dropoff leading to firepit. Suggest grading it to avoid possibility of injury during darkness. Outdoor faucet needs adjusting. Thanks!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.