Madison / Pittsburgh S.E. KOA

764 Waltz Mill Road

Ruffs Dale, PA 15679

Reserve: 800-562-4034

Info: 724-722-4444

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 10, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
It was a nice campground but the bathhouse/shower needs work. One thing I noticed on my recent trip and I stayed at 3 different KOAs, there were no planned activities during the week. Each had weekend activities but nothiing during the week and with the weather unusually cool and rainy, entertainment in a popup needs help. Consider weeknight activities such as movies, games etc.
Aug 09, 2013
First let me say that the young lady that checked us in was a big help. Because we were in a tent and our site was located next to a main drive we were kept awake by traffic throughout the night. Had to set up our tent on the gravel because there was no other place on our site to place a tent.
Aug 09, 2013
Pretty campground. Nice campsites. Lots of noise from large diesel pickups at 6AM on Tuesday morning - apparently lots of folks going to work. Work is good, but it doesn't make for a quiet campground in the morning.
Aug 08, 2013
the only complaint we had was the sharp limestone rocks on the sites! we really injoyed ourselves!thank you very much
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Bathrooms need work. Rocky roads are hard to walk on. Our fire ring was nearly on the side of the road.
Aug 07, 2013
The Cabins were clean and comfortable as was the entire campground. The kids Liked everything about the campground and really Loved the Jumping Pillow and pool. We will be back for a longer stay.
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
While I want to rate the KOA Madison Campground with a perfect "10", I can't because of the noise there. It's an otherwise peaceful quite place off the beaten path, however there are "storm chasers" renting/living there and they are up at the crack of dawn going to work every day but Sunday. Their lound diesel trucks and equipment clangs on their ladder racks. It's not fair to campers.
Aug 06, 2013
Great experience! Owners & staff were great, lots for the kids to do, & tent sites T6&7 were perfect for our 2 families. Can't wait to return!
Aug 06, 2013
The staff was exceptionally friendly. Enjoyed the cabin and the whole environment
Aug 06, 2013
Kozy Kabins are awesome! Clean,air conditioning,Great outdoor space.This camp has all the amenities of home! Quiet at night, fun for the whole family during the day. Tons of planed activities, Dog friendly areas and cabins. Super friendly staff. Nothing but 5 *'s all the way!
Aug 06, 2013
We enjoyed our stay! Staff was very welcoming and responsive to our needs. Only one thing....pool was not heated.
Aug 06, 2013
Hard to rate this camground. We checked in after-hours (@ 12:30 am)... and it was very convenient and easy-to-understand. We then left before 7:00 am the next morning. From what I could tell from our brief stay, it was a very nice camground. We stayed in a KOA near Gettysburg the following night.
Aug 06, 2013
Our grankids had a blast! I can't remember when I laughed so hard as I did on the water hay ride! What a great idea! Everyone was super nice!
Aug 06, 2013
everyone is great expecially the manager debby ricci. we have stayed every season for over a decade and would not think of staying elsewhere.
Aug 06, 2013
This is a nice campground but has VERY steep hills. Sites are not very wide but do have fire rings.
Aug 05, 2013
Decided to stay here on the way back from Mi to NJ not knowing the area thought I couldn't go wrong with a KOA campground. I was wrong, they put me on a site that was so out of level my sewer had to flow uphill(Not Good). The men's bathroom was disgusting, it appeared to me like a seasonal type campground and if you've been to one you know what I mean.
Aug 04, 2013
We had no water for several hours and the cable was poor
Aug 03, 2013
Staff very friendly. Sites were not level. Interior roads could use some work. Wi-fi was spotty. Water pressure was low. Lots of traffic within the park, cars coming and going. Good for overnight stay.
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
We chose this campground because it is close to home for those short trips and has y-fi. There was a large Mexican reunion when we arrived which made the stay miserable. They were loud and took up half the park. There was a time in which they used the pool and playground for ceremonies. My kids could not use these luxuries. They also diminished water supply and we could not use bathrooms.
Aug 01, 2013
We thought the owner was sort of rude we had some issues with pets and after hearing a complaint from a CHILD she came to our site and started complaining about our dogs without investigating the situation. Another time my brother was riding his moped and she came up to him and said "When are you leaving". Then told him not to ride it. W/O insurance papers We saw other ATVS afterward W/O plates
Jul 30, 2013
This trip was the worst KOA trip we have ever had. The owner was told by an employee on Friday the water was low. He ignored him. They ran out of water. We heard this outage from other campers not from the owner himself. He never showed his face. He canceled the activities even though his employees gave him suggestion on how it could work with no water. Poor ownership!!!
Jul 30, 2013
Although there are many things to do there, my granddaughter and her friend were all about the fishing. They were thrilled to be catching so many fish and so many different kinds.
Jul 30, 2013
We needed a campsite close to Pittsburgh with easy highway access. This KOA fit the bill. The staff was friendly and helpful, check-in was easy. The only complaint I would have is that the sites were very close together.
Jul 30, 2013
This was a stop-over on the way home. I found this campground to be not well managed, crowded, noisy, in need of repair of several areas. We woke the next morning to no water :-( Not a good experience unfortunately.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
HORRIBLE CAMPGROUND. The head of KOA should really go out there and clean up the place! Campsite was horrific, rotten railroad ties, not cleaned from last camper, the bathroom/shower was despicable!! So glad we only stayed there one night. This was our first experience with KOA so afraid the others would be the same, had 4 more to visit on our 2 week trip. THIS was the only bad experience we had
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Kids enjoyed the jumpy pillow. Mom wished there had been more accessible coffee. Store too far away from the rest of the campground. The bathroom was late.
Jul 27, 2013
Sites are nice size. Campground is needs a little TLC. Kids that lived there knocked on our camper 3 times to sell lemonade or tea. I don't mind if they have a stand but I didn't care for them to knock on camper. Ruined my nap! Wifi worked fine.
Jul 27, 2013
Overall a good experience. The camp store was VERY UNDERSTOCKED and the permenant campsites appeared to be very cluttered and messy. I'm surprised that the camp ground management allows such cluttered sites.
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
a little disappointed in the cleaniness of the area, discarded soda and water bottles in the grassy playground area noticed friday..still there sunday when we left..(also disappointed in the guests that left them there)
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
Great Place. Good information and lots of places to eat. Bathrooms close to cabin.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Staff were so helpful! After a trip filled with 'nightmare' experiences (ER visits, transmission breakdown, etc) the staff took care of getting us settled and provided good directions to get us on the way! Great place to stay!
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Easy to find and access; located 45 minutes from downtown Pittsburgh via toll road. Bathrooms were clean and spacious but had bugs & centipedes. Campground roads are hilly and filled with gravel which is not conducive to bike riding. Main entrance road also had large potholes.
Jul 19, 2013
The beds in Kamping Kabins are terribly uncomfortable and the head desk people at Madison KOA weren't that friendly. Otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Jul 18, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.