Madison / Pittsburgh S.E. KOA

764 Waltz Mill Road

Ruffs Dale, PA 15679

Reserve: 800-562-4034

Info: 724-722-4444

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
The KOA folks were nice, helpful and polite, but we were disappointed in the park itself. As we approached the site and saw the lush meadows and trees surrounding it, we were excited, and looked forward to staying there. The park was clean but it was stark and lacked any of the beauty of the surrounding countryside. We did not use the public facilities so we can't comment on them.
Sep 04, 2013
We stayed here to go to the Renaissance Festival. We had a great time - great activities for our 6 teenage boys to do. They are safe on the grounds. People were friendly (specifically meaning the ones who stay there for the season). Women who ran the Kamp Store were very polite and helpful. I would recommend making reservations weeks in advance because our site had no shade/trees.
Sep 03, 2013
This was our third time stopping through this KOA. Always clean and easy check in/check out! Thank you!
Sep 03, 2013
Had a great time ~ campground clean, well kept and everyone very friendly!!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
There were plenty of activities for the kids. Nice large sites.
Sep 03, 2013
I had a very relaxing time away from home, work,kids, etc. the grandkids were to come, but got sick and only made it to camp one evening. They still had a good time fishing, swimming and playing bingo. My husband and I enjoyed the pancake breakfast and the DJ. Great times.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Beautiful location!
Sep 02, 2013
Too many gas well construction workers that make noise and have trucks coming and going. Very noisy and dusty. Laundry room is very clean and the store is well stocked. Management needs more restrictions on the monthly gas construction workers habits.
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
This is basically a transient worker trailer park. Large amount of permanent sites with construction workers from the south. Knock down the bath house and rebuild it. If you don't have bath and shower facilities in your camper, I would not recommend this KOA. A large President's Award sign on the front office, but from what I have read elsewhere it is 14 years old. Not a campground for young kid
Aug 30, 2013
It rained. I was trying to read. They just KEPT grading the road for Four Freaking HOURS! No kidding, I thought I would lose my mind. Plus first few days they were drilling a well. I usually rate high - not this one
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
Great camping atmosphere lots of shade to relax after playing fishing and swimming
Aug 27, 2013
Very average, all the sites are right on top of one another. Bathrooms need to be updated. We asked for shade and privacy. We were given a site right across from the pool and play ground. Our neighbor on one side had a trailer and a tent. Sites so small the tent was next to our window. Early morning we could hear the man letting huge farts and the wife complaining loudly.
Aug 27, 2013
We have been traveling across the US and have stayed at a number of KOA's they have all been great.
Aug 26, 2013
Campground is nice, small and cozy. Very nice pool, kids playground and nice small fishing lake. All of my girls, 16, 11 and 9 really liked it. Would go again.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Very friendly and accommodating hosts. Others campers very nice and respectful too. Thank you.
Aug 25, 2013
Activities were awesome and staff amazing, cabin was a little bit dirty. I would definitely go back! Affordable and fun!
Aug 25, 2013
I would not stay here again. Lots of traffic in and out at all hours. Sites are very unlevel as campground sits on a hill. No security there. This campground needs a lot of upgrading.
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Close to shopping center alot of large stones to walk on. Quiet.
Aug 22, 2013
Pour 1 nuit ou 2 afin d'aller visiter Pittsburg, c'est passable, mais pas plus. Les chemins sont en mauvais état, les bâtiments laissent à désirer, ce n'est pas ce qu'on est habitué de voir dans les Koa. Nous avons visité 6 koa cet été, et c'est le moins intéressant.
Aug 21, 2013
We were there with our grandchildren and they really enjoyed their time there. Had fun in the pool and on the bouncing pillow.
Aug 21, 2013
I appreciated the relative privacy of tent sites due to surrounding brush. My only criticism is that the tent site was hard to find, as road not visible from office. Some KOAs escort with golf cart. It required extensive walking to find road/site. Also, gravel road through tent area very steep and a challenge for a street motorcycle loaded with camping gear.
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Camp store cute, easy check in.
Aug 20, 2013
All the campground people were very friendly and helpfull.
Aug 20, 2013
Have stayed here before and will stay here again on our next trip west from Philly.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
We typically stay at this KOA once a year. It's in a perfect location for us to visit family and to have some of our children visit us. While we didn't interact with any of the staff other than check-in, I could tell that improvements were being made from our visit last year. Thank you
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Upon arriving at the campsite there were two cars parked and we noticed garbage was not cleaned up. We bought wood so our daughter could make Smores and it would not catch. Needless to say our daughter didn't get to roast any marshmallow's. The reason for two stars is because they have activities for the kids.
Aug 18, 2013
Easy to find and get to from I70. Staff was very friendly and the campground was very quiet at night. :-)
Aug 18, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. Very nice setting.
Aug 18, 2013
Noisy. Many sites very cluttered. Tight roads due to number of vehicles on some sites. A lot of traffic in campground .
Aug 17, 2013
The camp ground overall seemed to be nice. The pool jump pillow and playground were nicely maintained and we enjoyed using them. The front desk manager lady who checked us in was some what rude and not super friendly in her manners. We were on a cross country trip at the end so we only stayed one night. I would probably stay there again if I was in the area.
Aug 17, 2013
Wow, Des gens super gentils et accueillants. Un peu loin de Pittsburgh mais ca en vaut la peine car le site est très beau et tranquille en plus d'être très bien entretenu. Francois de la beauce
Aug 17, 2013
Pros:The kids enjoyed the stay especially the jumping pillow was a great attraction. The pool was great and the cabins were nice. Cons: The campsite is really noisy with lot of maintenance activities all day and is close to hwy.
Aug 16, 2013
Nice park. need dust control.
Aug 16, 2013
This was my 3rd time camping here and the first 2 times everything was excellent but this time I had a very unlevel site. Being handicapped it is very hard to bend over and get the leveling blocks to level it off which made my steps even higher. A walk to the office would have been impossible. I guess I should have asked at check-in but never thouught it would be that far off, about about 5 inches
Aug 16, 2013
the firewood that I purchased at koa store was wet and couldn't be fired at all. Just waist of 6 dollars.
Aug 16, 2013
The cabin was clean and the flat screen TV was a welcome surprise. The mattress on the sleeper couch was not fit to sleep on and the blinds were all bent and broken. We expected to have toilet paper in the bathroom and we did not. Quite inconvenient. The grounds were quiet and the fire pit, fishing hole and pool added to the enjoyment.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.