Madison / Pittsburgh S.E. KOA

764 Waltz Mill Road

Ruffs Dale, PA 15679

Reserve: 800-562-4034

Info: 724-722-4444

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 24, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
We stayed in a cabin and it was very clean. The campground was nice also, had a smaller but clean pool and pool area and a good size play area for the children. We plan to return for our next visit after summer
Jun 23, 2014
This was a terrible experience. There was only 1 tent site for us and it was completely rained out. Even if it hadn't been rained out, the site was small and not condusive of tent camping. There was no call to let us know of the rain out so we had to scramble late at night to find a hotel. The kids area was in terrible shape - peeling paint on equipment. Not recommended at ALL!
Jun 22, 2014
very nice cabin except bed was very uncomfortable--
Jun 20, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. Employees very friendly and accommodating. Will be back next year.
Jun 20, 2014
we had an overnight stop over and appreciated our accommodations.
Jun 18, 2014
Campground roads are in very poor condition. Water was not usable, but fresh drinking water was supplied. Staff is VERY friendly.
Jun 18, 2014
This is a great KOA for weary travelers looking for a place to unwind, even if only for one night. Great staff, fun amenities and a pretty location.
Jun 18, 2014
sites could be a little larger
Jun 17, 2014
Although the lady in the office was very nice, the park is a dump! Many trashy long-term trailers and very unlevel sites. The fact that there was no drinking water available was simply wrong place/wrong time. This is the second time that a KOA park has not had running water that is fit to drink.
Jun 15, 2014
We have stayed at this KOA for the last 10 years in our travels West.
Jun 14, 2014
The bathroom facilities were really dirty and there was definitely more the feel of a work camp than a place for people to stay for a break.
Jun 12, 2014
The mens shower rooms are in need of a complete make over. 3 out of 4 down. All missing shower heads, unsafe drains and flooring. Firtst 4 hrs arrived two young men said it was time to trim the two huge pine trees on our site with a chain saw. My nerves were shot !! The check in, store, etc need a redo as well. The locations is beautiful. They need MEN, not boys and some money invested back
Jun 11, 2014
This is a very nice park. However the roads are in need of repair, probably because of the hard winter. All other services and facilities are top notch.
Jun 10, 2014
We have stayed here once a year for the past seven years. The last two years I have seen improvements that tell me that the new owners want to make it their own and aren't satisfied with the status quot. Keep doing what you are doing, before long it will be the way you want it. Thank you
Jun 09, 2014
We will no longer stay at this park because: 1 - Security cards are no longer being used - anyone can enter. 2 - Our site smelled of sewage. All water was chlorinated - we had to use bottled water. 3 - No activities or events. 4 - Kids kept smoking pot near our tent. 5 - Lots of drinking & loud noise after 10p.
Jun 08, 2014
When we arrived we were given a jug of water for drinking. New well had not passed inspection. Narrow, in level sites. Loud traffic noise. Dirty bathroom. Unkept park. Old, broken picnic table. Long, loose cut grass everywhere. Disappointing visit. Will not return. Overnight stay. In motorhome.
Jun 07, 2014
Sights are small but ok. They were having a water problem but did offer bottled water.
Jun 06, 2014
My reservation call was very poorly handled(I waited while I heard Debbie dealing with other customers. When we arrived next day there was no reservation(turns out she had checked us in as a walk-in rather than making our reservation for the next day. The grounds were poorly maintained (grass not cut,showers were terrible and wld rate only a 1 compared to our KOA stay the prev nite near Dayton)
Jun 02, 2014
As long as there is a problem with the water, it is not a pleasant campground to stay and certainly not worth the nightly charge for a site.
Jun 01, 2014
Sites are very narrow
May 31, 2014
May 30, 2014
Very peaceful and pretty yet close to the burgh!
May 30, 2014
Here is another KOA with a great location to the interstate! The staff was helpful and accommodating. The sites were neat & a good size for pull thrus! Thanks KOA.
May 27, 2014
We were told the water connections had high levels of chlorine in it and were given free gallons of water. This was good but the bottled water had a way higher level of chlorine in them, we ended up not using them and used the RV filtered water! Otherwise nice park, on a hill so not great for bike riding. Nice pool area and fishing pond. Our site had an uphill sewer connection..:(
May 22, 2014
May 21, 2014
Not the greatest KOA campground I've ever stayed at, but it looked they were rennovating the bathrooms and it will probably be a much better place after the rennovation.
May 19, 2014
overpriced, not well maintained. restrooms in disrepair.
May 16, 2014
Most convenient to Pittsburgh, but interior roads are awful. Sites nice and level.
May 16, 2014
Pleasant receptionist but bath-house under renovation & no electricity until early morning.
May 14, 2014
Because of construction, things were a bit of a hassle. But getting better. Lots of good activities. Friendly staff. Great deal because of special weekend.
May 14, 2014
Cabin was clean and site was OK. Men's bathroom/shower still reeks of raw sewage. Good thing I didn't drink the water before I saw the notice in the KOA office the next day. Oh, and 10:40 a.m. is too late to show up for the 9-11 a.m. (and poorly advertised) pancake breakfast, as they've already dumped the batter. Been here several times and this was the last time I'll be disappointed by this KOA.
May 13, 2014
Everything was great, I was disappointed in the puddles by the gate.
May 13, 2014
We had some intermittent power issues, but the place was packed, so I'm sure that contributed. Great people, great times!
May 12, 2014
The cabins and the layout is very nice, staff friendly. The bathrooms even after upgrade smell and are the worst KOA bathrooms I have ever run across. The covered the walls with metal for some reason
May 12, 2014
Mother's Day weekend. Lot of work going on but the people working there were great.
May 10, 2014
bathrooms were the worst standards for KOA
May 07, 2014
The staff was very nice. The grounds were not. We were given apologies for the over chlorinated water, the bathhouse in repair, and the fact that our reserved site was taken by another camper. We had to deal with a very uneven base for our trailer and a noisy camp site after quiet hours.
May 06, 2014
Madison/Pittsburgh KOA Truly memorable. Free SD cable. Friendly staff; seldom seen, office seldom open. Water not fit to drink (EPA PWS 5650449). Overflowing dumpsters. Too many potholes to count. Free wifi; with limited or no connectivity. Large laundry; without iron or board. Now Im at another RV park with good water  how long do I need to flush my RVs water system before I can drink fro
May 06, 2014
Restroom under renovation and could only use Men's restroom which was not very nice. Water full of clorine and could not drink it. Muddy..Staff gave us free water to drink. Should have been told prior to making reservation.
Apr 30, 2014
Apr 30, 2014
Office closed at 3 in afternoon no packet waiting. long term resident was parked in the entry making it difficult to make it through the front gate
Apr 29, 2014
Apr 29, 2014
At check-in I was told the women's bath house was out of service. I asked where I was supposed to go. She said don't you have one in there? And you don't need a shower if you're only here 2 nights. We were also told to boil water and given 1 gallon of bottled for 4 adults to use for 2 days. No one was in the office for much of our stay.
Apr 29, 2014
Apr 24, 2014
Bad pot holes at entrance. No one on duty at 4 pm. Very noisy neighbor until 3 AM. Nice walk around lake for pups.
Apr 23, 2014
They were in the middle of renovating the bathrooms so they were a mess and really should not have been open. It is great to see improvements but in the times we were there we didn't see anyone working on them. Some of the KOA campgrounds we have used recently have not been up to the quality that they were advertised to be.
Apr 20, 2014
A little early in the season to really gauge. There are a lot of non-campers staying (gas industry workers)
Apr 18, 2014
You might consider obtaining a "box scraper" for the tractor that you already have. A box scraper does a wonderful job of leveling parking sites and driveways.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.