Mackinaw City / Mackinac Island KOA

566 Trailsend Road

Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Reserve: 800-562-1738

Info: 231-436-5643

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 08, 2015
The staff was super friendly and could answer any questions I had! It was so close to everything in town and I'll definitely be back again!
Aug 07, 2015
Park roads need pavement!!! Way to much mud when it rains.
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
The KOA in Mackinaw was a pleasure to camp at. I beautiful, quiet place to stay with clean amenities! The staff was kind and always around when you needed someone. The bike path which leads to town was right there and the beach is down the street. We will definitely be back! Thanks!!!
Aug 07, 2015
Needs a good cleanup and upgrade. This in an OK overnight campground but as a destination it is sub-par.
Aug 06, 2015
Nice place for a overnight stay
Aug 06, 2015
WiFi totally inadequate
Aug 06, 2015
Great, clean KOA & good transportation arrangements to tourist attractions in Mackinaw City. Staff were very helpful with advice concerning tourist attractions. Will definitely visit this KOA again.
Aug 06, 2015
was disappointed in the dog policy, much to restricted. Only one bathroom/showers for the whole CG. Our picnic table was dried up and one of the top boards was split and it was is need of a paint job. On the plus sided, it was quit and peaceful and located close to town.
Aug 05, 2015
The workers seemed very friendly. We did not enjoy the small completely gravel lot. Some rules seemed excessive. Not sure we will stay at a koa again.
Aug 05, 2015
The campground was very friendly and clean. The staff was helpful and pleasant.
Aug 05, 2015
We always enjoy staying here as when we are in the area. The toilet rooms could use a little upgrading but were clean. We had an end spot this time and the fire pit and picnic table were on the opposite side from our doors. We were told after we had been there a day that we could have pulled in from the opposite direction since we had the end site but it was too late to unhook, move and re-hook
Aug 05, 2015
I would recommend it for the location. I gave it only 4 stars because of the dated park and Wi-Fi was only working 1/2 the time.
Aug 05, 2015
The WiFi was unbelievabley slow and unacceptable.
Aug 05, 2015
Loved location and site. Did not like the coed showers with no locks provided. Staff were super helpful and friendly.
Aug 04, 2015
Great location very close to the highway and Mackinaw City. Friendly staff and very nice sites. Kids playground equipment lacks compared to other KOA's we have stayed at.
Aug 04, 2015
Nice campground, pool, Internet was weak, could only get email..
Aug 04, 2015
Very well maintained. Level site, clean restrooms. Nice Dog Run
Aug 04, 2015
Definitely would stay again, the sites are a little short for both MH and toad, or 5th wheel and a truck, but campers make it work. Office staff is excellent; easy access to town. You can request a free shuttle to take you to the ferry docks, would stay here again.
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
Super nice people that run the place.. Sites are a little small for the big rigs. Left a day early because of bad storms moving in wouldn't give us a refund . I know they don't because of weather but do they really want people there with trees falling down on them? They should rethink this policy and refund only if there are tornado or storm warnings ( which there was)
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
The only draw back was that the sites were a little bit cramped and we were not able to have a camp fire because the fire pit ended up under our Awning.
Aug 03, 2015
Would stay here again and again. Wish you had some grcoeries on hand. Pleased with everything. Wonderful place and clesan.
Aug 03, 2015
The place was clean and exactly what a I expected. The only problem I had was while I was gone a gust of wind blew my tent and canopy over. Several of the campers around me reported it, someone came to look at it, said they could do nothing, and never contacted me to let me know. I didn't know about it until I returned. I had to fix everything in the darkness. A phone call should have been made.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Very nice campground. Only complaint is the showers. Some of the doors would not close and most of the doors did not lock which I really did not like.
Aug 03, 2015
We had a very good time. Didnt stay but two days and we where not at the sight but at night. Bathroom shower stalls..some didnt lock. A little bit of a hike to the bathrooms. clean.
Aug 02, 2015
We had a great time. It's a short bike ride to the ferry. Awesome location. Very friendly staff. Exceptionally clean.
Aug 02, 2015
Enjoyed the campground and the people there. The sites are good and it's well located; however, the interior roads NEED to be paved. Dirt/gravel roads now create too much dust!
Aug 02, 2015
Very good condition. . Nice location
Aug 01, 2015
Great location. Easy 15 minute bike ride to Mackinaw City. Disappointed in: bathroom showers very small, one shower door does not shut another does not lock... Pool closed at 8:30...too early. Should stay open till 9 or 9:30 Very friendly and helpful staff!
Aug 01, 2015
We felt like friends the moment we walked into the office. The staff was incredibly hospitable and very helpful. They recommended places to eat, things to see and what to do. They chatted as if we had known them but hadn't seen them in a while. The sites were clean as were the bathrooms and showering facilities. The kids enjoyed the pool. Even the other campers were friendly and chatty.
Aug 01, 2015
Bathhouses were always dirty. Our site was supposed to have cable and it didn't. Would not recommend this KOA.
Jul 31, 2015
Nice little campground and very close to shopping and attractions clean.
Jul 31, 2015
Super nice people. Site was a little small, but other than that, very nice.
Jul 31, 2015
Very nice. Clean, quiet, well maintained.
Jul 31, 2015
Easy access to Mackinaw City. Staff very friendly. Pool is small but adequate. Sites were level. Oak trees rained sticky sap everywhere :( met lots of nice people.
Jul 31, 2015
It was a great location for us as we were heading west! Very easy to find and very friendly helpful staff!
Jul 31, 2015
Fire pit was right next to neighbors sewer. Couldn't get a good signal for wifi or cable. Although other people said theirs was very good.
Jul 31, 2015
Staff always helpful. Facility ALWAYS clean
Jul 31, 2015
Shower situation with men and women in same area was uncomfortable. Door on one shower would not close. Needs some repairs. Night staff was friendly.
Jul 30, 2015
staff very helpful. campground and facilities clean
Jul 30, 2015
Very nice park. Excellent location. Having the shuttle was great!
Jul 30, 2015
I reserved a 30/50 amp site with full hookup. I said in the reservation I had 2 slide outs. Was put in a site with a few trees I had to manuever the trailer so i could put out my slideouts but was unable to use my fire pit. Why ask how many slideouts if you don't use that info. Small close sites.
Jul 30, 2015
Great park. Very quiet and managed well. Staff are very helpful and friendly. The only reason I didn't give it a five were the bathrooms. Although very nice, half the time the bathroom doors wouldn't close enough to lock. I like to make sure the family is okay while alone in the shower. Doors just need to be worked on. Other that, Great Place!
Jul 30, 2015
WI Fi a little iffy. Otherwise a great place to stay. People very helpful
Jul 29, 2015
The worst KOA I have stayed at. Communal showers, doors don't close or lock. Not very clean. Only a pool for kids and a very old playground. Lots to close together. Miserable unfriendly staff!
Jul 29, 2015
Enjoyed staying there, loved that there was a walking trail to downtown!
Jul 29, 2015
We came to Mackinaw for our honeymoon in July of 1965 and return every year to celebrate our anniversary. This year is our 50th anniversary and we have been camping with you since you first opened in the late 1970's We love your campground and look forward to camping on site #51 every year. Thanks for the Memories and God Bless You.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.