Mackinaw City / Mackinac Island KOA

Open May 1 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-1738

Info: 231-436-5643

Email

566 Trailsend Road

Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations, Cabins

Check-in: 11:00 am, Check-out: 2:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 24, 2016
This was our first stay at this campground and the staff was very friendly and everything was very clean. We have a 3 & 6 year old and the play area was perfect! Thank you!
Jul 24, 2016
We had a wonderful time there and the employees were all very nice. It was very clean and very quiet.
Jul 24, 2016
Had a great stay, will be back.
Jul 24, 2016
Clean, close to town, very friendly and accommodating staff.
Jul 24, 2016
Very friendly staff. Nice feature to have shuttles come to take campers to ferries. Need more sites with sewer hookup. Store is limited. Shower room set up is weird shared hallway accessed from both men and ladies restroom. Showers are private stalls with doors but several people did not realize the area serves both men and women. My wife saved a lady from an awkward moment.
Jul 23, 2016
Had a great time! Great location. Beautiful fire works for the 4th of July downtown.
Jul 23, 2016
Great owners and staff. Wonderful location. Will be going back in the near future.
Jul 23, 2016
Had a great time spending time with my husband and friends! Everyone at the koa was really nice! Our friend ran out of gas and they let us borough two gas cans to go rescue them . Thanks everyone for making our stay special! God's Blessings to all of you!
Jul 23, 2016
Jul 23, 2016
This campground is awesome! Very, very clean! The owners were friendly and helpful. We'll definitely be back!
Jul 23, 2016
Jul 22, 2016
Great campground, great location, great new owners.
Jul 22, 2016
The campground is very clean and the employees seem to go out of their way to keep everyone satisfied and happy. We will stay here again!
Jul 22, 2016
Very helpful, friendly staff; park well-maintained.
Jul 22, 2016
Great place to stay while in mackinac city. The cabin was perfect with a small fridge. The location keeps close to every thing from town to the beach. The pool and showers are well kept. Most important the staff was friendly and always smiling.
Jul 22, 2016
This KOA was very clean and well maintained. Everyone working there was quite friendly and a wealth of information. We enjoyed our time there.
Jul 22, 2016
The Owners and Staff were very friendly.
Jul 22, 2016
Great inexpensive stay!
Jul 22, 2016
Great hosts and nice facilities.
Jul 21, 2016
I really liked the location. I realize that the new owners have only been in place since 10-15. The park needs some serious upgrading. Hope it gets it as I like to stay here due to the location near the city.
Jul 21, 2016
It was the first time we stayed at a KOA and it was great! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The camp was clean and pleasant. Just an all around wonderful experience! Thank you!!
Jul 21, 2016
Wonderful staff- clean facility and nicely stocked camp store; however the bathrooms are small and way too few showers for number of campers
Jul 21, 2016
very nice
Jul 21, 2016
Excellent site. Very well kept with both grounds & washrooms exceptionally clean.
Jul 20, 2016
My two boys and myself had a great stay was a good base camp to explore the sights in mackinaw and the upper peninsula quite convenient with easy ten minute bike ride into town.
Jul 20, 2016
Clean and quiet!
Jul 20, 2016
Very nice tent sites with tree s to hang a hammock...
Jul 19, 2016
We enjoyed our stay, very clean, and the pool was great for the Kids, the WiFi isn't super fast,(but nice if you need to do some work while on vacation) and the dishwashing station was a added bonus. Thanks.
Jul 19, 2016
Nice cozy campground 😊 Close to everything.
Jul 19, 2016
Great location close to Mackinaw city and a local beach. Good destination for cyclists to get around.
Jul 19, 2016
Very clean. We even had a family member in a wheelchair who could not get up the step in the bathroom, the manager fixed the problem with a small ramp before the end of the day. What a great campground. Everyone one was every friendly. They picked up you trash daily from your sight.
Jul 19, 2016
The park's location is close to nearby attractions, and it fits in with the rustic quality of northern Michigan.
Jul 19, 2016
This koa is wonderful. We will be back..
Jul 19, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
1.Great location!!! Super close to Mackinaw City & the Lk.Michigan beach. The bike trail into town is also great. 2. Campground staff were outstanding. Some of the friendliest people to interact with! 3. I wouldn't recommend this campground for tent campers. This campground was dominated by large motorhomes. 4.Campground could use some more trees- very open. 5.Need path thru middle to restro
Jul 18, 2016
Clean and level sites my wife and I had a great time.
Jul 18, 2016
They were all so friendly and helpful. They kept everything neat and clean. Enjoyed the entire stay!
Jul 18, 2016
I loved it here. Clean bathrooms, clean showers and hot water. The only thing I would change is having more woods for campers. Being right next to someone isn't my idea of camping. Other than that it was a great stay! Friendly workers and campers.
Jul 18, 2016
The most professional, cheerful, accommodating staff encountered during our trip. Location exceptional for any activities of your choosing. Sites level, restrooms spotless, laundry above par. Even provided us with up-to-date information about inclement weather and bridge closures on our projected travel path. They go above and beyond to make your stay pleasant and comfortable.
Jul 18, 2016
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. If you're looking for a small, quiet, safe campground, this is it. Not a whole lot of extra-curricular activities or amenities but we weren't at the campground a lot during our stay - we biked and hiked a lot near the area attractions. Great biking/walking path into Mackinaw City.
Jul 18, 2016
Everything was great! This was my 1st trip to a KOA, so I'm not sure if this is standard for the brand or if this place is exceptional! The staff was so friendly & accommodating. The bathrooms were clean. And the location was perfect to get to town, McGulpin Pt Lighthouse and The Headlands all by bike. If you're tent camping I recommend sites A or Q as they are more spacious & away from noise.
Jul 18, 2016
this was by far one of the cleanest campgrounds I have ever stayed on. quiet at night and very well kept. stayed in a cabin with my best friends and we made memories to last a lifetime! included a fire pit and grill, lockable cabins, and plenty of room for fun! bathrooms were great, hot water and very tidy. everyone was super helpful!
Jul 18, 2016
Staff was great. Friendly hard working and clean restrooms ! The only negative was wifi reception but hay that's why you go camping to get away from all that - right. Can not say how great the staff was again hard workers polite. 👍 The Coopers
Jul 18, 2016
Extremely friendly staff and wonderful facility.
Jul 18, 2016
Great place, very helpful staff and friendly. Clean facilities. New owner was very nice. Love the on site bike path to town.
Jul 18, 2016
Facilities were very clean, staff was friendly, had a great weekend of camping.. Thanks!
Jul 18, 2016
Our stay was very peaceful. the staff was polite and willing to answer any questions.
Jul 18, 2016
I was shocked to see bathrooms only cleaned between 12 & 2. You need to address this at least six times in a twenty four hour period with this many families. Cars should not be allowed to enter after 11:00pm and should be required to park in the guest lot after that. Late check in should be limited to 11:00 as well. Friendly, responsive staff and a great location to bike to the ferries.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing Mackinaw City KOA. We will reevaluate our signage outside of our restrooms to clear up any confusion. We deep clean our restroom everyday from 12-2 but go in hourly to make sure they are clean. I am so glad you felt welcome here and enjoyed the bike trail. Kathleen
Jul 17, 2016
Few full hook-ups. Dogs cannot stay in the trailer unattended, a burden if you want to shop.
Jul 17, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy