Mackinaw City / Mackinac Island KOA

566 Trailsend Road

Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Reserve: 800-562-1738

Info: 231-436-5643

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 10, 2015
Was only there one night. Had no experience at the campsite itself to report good or bad.
Jul 10, 2015
This is a gem of a campground with wooded sites, lots of activities for adults and children. The sites are situated to provide as much privacy as possible. The campground is well maintained and the staff are simply the best! One suggestion would be to upgrade the picnic tables - they are in need of some tlc. We are picky campers and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return again.
Jul 10, 2015
Nice place to "come home to" after a long day visiting Mackinaw Island and Mackinaw City.
Jul 10, 2015
We stayed in one of the cabbens and it was cozy. The campground was clean
Jul 09, 2015
Campground was clean & well kept. WE stayed in cabin #5 and it was clean & neat.1 small annoyance was the cool little log swing on the porch was facing right at the pool which was right next to the cabin. We thought the cabins would be more secluded than they were. Other than that good time was had by the whole family.
Jul 09, 2015
we asked for a pull thru and was given one with hardly any grass as requested but had way too many bushes on site-no room to sit outside other than that very friendly. CABLE wasn't working for us which disappointed hubby but wasn't parks fault! we will go go back there again
Jul 09, 2015
We only stayed one night but it was satisfactory from the showers, store, and site
Jul 09, 2015
It was just OK for the money, KOA campgrounds are pricy and I expect more when I pay more.
Jul 08, 2015
The staff was a mixture of friendly from some and plain rude from others. There was no attempt to spray for mosquito's and the trip was almost unbearable. The showers were very dirty. The camp store was not stocked with things campers forgot.
Jul 08, 2015
Very nice people. Wish the site we had would have had a little grass. Kids enjoyed pool. Also would be nice if all sites were a little bigger.
Jul 08, 2015
Good site, treed, easy in/out. Restrooms, showers clean. Staff very pleasant, helpful. Recycling available.
Jul 07, 2015
Staff is exceptional, grounds very clean, quiet time is excellent. We'll be back next year.
Jul 07, 2015
Always love it here. So peaceful and quiet and close to so many great places to experience. We have been camping here for over 30 years and always look forward to returning.
Jul 07, 2015
Very good stay, did not spend much time at the campground but what we did was good.
Jul 07, 2015
We did not spend much time at the campground with so much to do elsewhere. Place was clean and well run. Friendly staff. Bathrooms seemed dirty (well used) most of the time.Might want to consider increasing daily cleanings.
Jul 07, 2015
IT WAS GREAT. VERY CLEAN AND FRIENDLY. GREAT FOR OUR DOGS TOO!QUIET AND A SUPER K.O.A.
Jul 07, 2015
Great location, easy bike ride to Mackinaw City. Bathrooms were relatively clean too. However, actual sites are very small and not very private.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
great place, and wonderful people running the facilities. will be going back for another stay
Jul 07, 2015
Was great !, quiet , well maintained, friendly staff, gave us a cord to borrow, clean second time camping couldn't be more pleased :)
Jul 07, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and bugs were not bad at all. Staff was very helpful during the busy 4th of July weekend. Would stay again. Thanks
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
The campground was what I expected. There were a few areas that could use TLC and could use a few more showers. Most of the staff was friendly and made me feel welcome.
Jul 07, 2015
Game Room = Gross Staff = Rude or annoying, no middle ground Way too crowded. The spaces were TINY. My space was intended for an RV, but barely fit a tent. Dirty when we arrived-- no upkeep between campers. Long walks to the ONE restroom.
Jul 07, 2015
Owners very friendly and helpful. Laundry and washrooms nice and clean.
Jul 06, 2015
We had such a great time being in Mackinaw. We stayed at the KOA and the staff was very friendly. We plan on returning again in the near future.
Jul 06, 2015
This was a well maintained, camper friendly campground! Not only are you greated by friendly staff but owner as well. We will definitely be back!
Jul 06, 2015
Excellent service and very friendly. Highly recommend staying at this KOA.
Jul 06, 2015
We stayed in a two room cabin. The cabin was super nice for our family of 5. Our only concerns would be that there werent any external power outlets for regular power strips, the fridge had a nasty smell, and the wifi signal was pretty non existent (the preteens were pretty worried about this). But overall, the stay and the people were great. The location is ideal and we would come again.
Jul 06, 2015
Great folks, clean restrooms and just down right Awesome place to stay!
Jul 06, 2015
Very friendly!
Jul 06, 2015
We were 4 adults and had my 2 yr old girl who cosleeps with us, so we had booked a room for 4, but one of the staff members gave us a hard time about this, which wasn't necessary. Just 400 chars, really!?
Jul 06, 2015
It seems like a great campground for RVs lots of space, shade, and very clean restrooms and showers. The tent area on the other hand needs some work. Tiny sites, no privacy besides some weird fence panel in between each site, and it seemed like we were just shoved back in the corner of the campground. But overall our stay was nice and it was a great location to town, with a nice paved biked trail.
Jul 06, 2015
Nice clean park - staff is very nice and very helpful
Jul 06, 2015
The staff is always friendly and professional. The grounds are always clean and well kept. The staff should be given bonuses!!!!!
Jul 06, 2015
Sites to close together. Staff came to us complaining we had too many people in the pool and I only had my 2 kids in there. I didn't even swim. Also having to put out the campfire at midnight is crazy. Won't stay here again!!!
Jul 06, 2015
We had a great time. Very clean, beautiful time and place. Thank you KOA!
Jul 06, 2015
I was disappointed on the cost. I had stayed at Gaylord KOA for half the price and the facility was much better. You do not have enough showers and bath facilities for the number of spaces you have. Unit next to me must have had a campfire as I ended up with ash on my tent not enough space between spots.
Jul 05, 2015
Awesome will be returning soon
Jul 05, 2015
The staff is friendly & grounds are well maintained. The shower area is shared by males and females...not our cup of tea, but we realize not everyone shares our opinion. The campsites are really close together; if you like seeing & hearing your neighbors, you'll be golden.
Jul 05, 2015
Bare bones tent sites fairly long walk to bath house. Good location for access to town & tourist sites. Staff very helpful
Jul 05, 2015
Jul 04, 2015
Great location. There's a 1.4 mile paved bicycle trail that takes you right into town. Staff was very friendly.
Jul 04, 2015
Always a great place to stay. It's our go to campground every year!
Jul 04, 2015
We.enjoyed staying on the cabins, we had great weather and enjoyed taking walks on the island
Jul 04, 2015
Tent sites are too far from the only bathroom. Use the hiking path area as a dump. Whole place smells of dog poo at times for some reason.$56 for 2 nights in a tent with membership seems a bit high. (2 nights on Drumond Island is only $32.)
Jul 03, 2015
Great family campground. The free shuttle to the ferries and coupons the KOA gave us helped make our trip even better!
Jul 02, 2015
It was very wet due to rain during our visit so we did not enjoy much of th facilities but everything was very clean and nice tent sights.
Jul 02, 2015
Very clean cabins. We really enjoyed our stay and hated to leave.Thank you!!!
Jul 02, 2015
Nice people, and clean campground.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.