Mackinaw City / Mackinac Island KOA

566 Trailsend Road

Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Reserve: 800-562-1738

Info: 231-436-5643

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
We were up the road at another campground that we weren't thrilled about so randomly hit the KOA website, saw there was an available pull thru, reserved it online, drove to the campground, and sure enough it all went without a hitch! Great easy campsite, great amenities, great people! We will be back! It was close enough to everything for us to ride bikes right into town! Loved it! Thanks tons!
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
Location was great, everything at the cabin was situated very nicely. 1 recommendation - a ceiling fan or some sort of fan would have been excellent. It was hot and stuffy in our cabin and I didn't sleep well. But overall - out stay was excellent.
Jul 28, 2015
Good location, next to bike trail to downtown/ferry dock area (1 mile).
Jul 28, 2015
Nicely treed. A little tight for us. We prefer wider sites. No extra lights and very quiet...like and like.
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Great weekend stay...found everything I needed (except coffee creamer) at the camp store. Friendly staff.
Jul 27, 2015
The campground hosts were very helpful in planning our outings and making suggestions. We really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 27, 2015
Had such a great time. Staff and facilities were amazing. Can not wait for next time!!
Jul 27, 2015
My only suggestion would be the cleanliness of the bathroom. Someone had vomited and it remained for almost 24 hours.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
it was an enjoyable stay and reasonably priced
Jul 27, 2015
We really loved the campground but online they said they had cable and wi-fi. We could not get the wi- fi to work at all. It was quaint and a little old fashioned but we had a great time. The game room was very outdated and extremely hot.
Jul 27, 2015
The staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our time there.
Jul 27, 2015
Great campsite, the staff was very friendly and the site was well kept
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time. The cabin was clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly!
Jul 27, 2015
Very Friendly Staff! Our Site was a 50 amp pull through (premium), it was large and nice, our 38 foot fifth wheel fit fine. No cement slabs and the roads are dirt. But, overall the campground was good & clean. The Pool was an added value. Restrooms were clean too!
Jul 27, 2015
Kia Mackinac City was very well organized. Warm welcome. East checkin. Seamless coordination with Schepler Ferries van from campground to dick. Great campsites. Kids enjoying themselves showed vacation laid back attitude of owners. Efficient and accommodating.
Jul 27, 2015
it was great :)
Jul 26, 2015
We had a Great Stay, Nice clean lots and bathrooms. Loved the trail that you could ride your bike to the city.
Jul 26, 2015
We love Mackinaw KOA. Will stay again. However, matresses are hard and need bathroom in back of campground.
Jul 26, 2015
The camp sites are flat, shaded and nice size. The bath house is nice. The 6 showers for the entire campground is co-ed. Need 1 more smaller bath house. It is shaded and management is very nice. The shuttle to Shepler's is very convenient.
Jul 26, 2015
We had a great stay in mackinaw city was a very quit park
Jul 26, 2015
Great proximity to attractions!
Jul 26, 2015
we enjoyed our stay
Jul 25, 2015
My friends and I went up for a 4 day, 3 night trip to visit Mackinac Island and the U.P. Mackinaw City KOA was a perfect place for us to start and end our busy days. The accommodations were excellent and all of the KOA staff was knowledgeable about the city and very friendly! I would highly recommend staying here. Thanks for a great trip!
Jul 25, 2015
The best KOA we have been to! Will come back again.
Jul 25, 2015
Nice park. Our site was a little too close to a main road however we were only there for a couple of nights so it was fine and I liked the site because it was close to the bathroom. Bathrooms were clean, water was hot even after many people had showered and I really enjoyed the mature trees that were all around us
Jul 25, 2015
inadequate restrooms for this many campsites resulting in lines for stalls. Men's and women's restrooms connecting to shared shower area is a safety concern.
Jul 24, 2015
Friendly staff. Well kept grounds. Being a tent camper it would be nice to have paths to "cut" thru to get to restrooms.
Jul 24, 2015
Great management - clean sites and restrooms
Jul 24, 2015
Friendly staff and pretty setting
Jul 23, 2015
Campground was nice and staff helpful and friendly. Very close to downtown and also a nice beach less than 2 miles down road. Did not care for the shared showers room.
Jul 23, 2015
Wonderful, clean, quiet. A++++
Jul 23, 2015
very clean, very nice people. will be back to camp again.
Jul 23, 2015
Would defiantly stay here again. Staff very helpful cabin was the best we have ever stayed in and a very peaceful and relaxing campground
Jul 23, 2015
Kristy in office was super. Sites are small and tight. Overall this campground looks tired. Pool is in poor shape, grass needs trimming, paint touched up, firepits dirty, picnic tables black with dirt, etc. Needs some TLC.
Jul 23, 2015
We stayed there about 5 years ago an really liked the park which is why I booked again. This time I found that the site was very small (narrow), bathrooms were run down (bad curtains, floors and walls) and the pool is not heated. I was not impressed given the nightly rate as I could spend about $5 more per night and have much better amentities. We will not return to this park.
Jul 23, 2015
The staff was so nice and the campground was beautiful. I am definitely going to plan another stay there sometime soon!
Jul 22, 2015
Needs work. Sites need gravel or grass. Not very well kept and overall appearance is lacking Not what we expected from KOA in a resort area.
Jul 22, 2015
Sights need to be maintained. Roads and sights need to be rocked Garbage should not be seen were you come it.will not come back
Jul 22, 2015
Jul 22, 2015
Ladies restrooms had loose taps, not really clean. Need better locks on showers.
Jul 22, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
We had a lovely time. The park is wonderful, clean and quiet! We will be back!
Jul 21, 2015
Sites are way too small. The people in neighboring campsite were just steps away from our tent when they were sitting around their campfire. I called before making reservations because they have a one tent per site policy. We are a family of 3 with 2 small tents, I was told it was fine since they were small. While we were there camping we were told that it wasn't acceptable, very frustrating.
Jul 21, 2015
the campground was weedy and poorly kept. Could use more gravel on the roads and at the camp sites. Cable had poor reception. The people were friendly at the office.
Jul 21, 2015
Stayed in a kabin - price very high compared to other KOA's. WiFi didn't work at all from our Kabin. Store was nice.
Jul 21, 2015
The campground was very nice. We camped in the back tent sites. We didn't want to disturb others while camping since we were a bunch of rowdy kids, and we didn't have any complaints. The bathrooms were kept up well, and the beach right down the road is very nice. Everyone was very friendly, except one employee who was a bit rude to my friend and I. But, we didn't see him again after.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.