Mackinaw City / Mackinac Island KOA

566 Trailsend Road

Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Reserve: 800-562-1738

Info: 231-436-5643

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 27, 2015
Very Friendly Staff! Our Site was a 50 amp pull through (premium), it was large and nice, our 38 foot fifth wheel fit fine. No cement slabs and the roads are dirt. But, overall the campground was good & clean. The Pool was an added value. Restrooms were clean too!
Jul 27, 2015
Kia Mackinac City was very well organized. Warm welcome. East checkin. Seamless coordination with Schepler Ferries van from campground to dick. Great campsites. Kids enjoying themselves showed vacation laid back attitude of owners. Efficient and accommodating.
Jul 27, 2015
it was great :)
Jul 26, 2015
We had a Great Stay, Nice clean lots and bathrooms. Loved the trail that you could ride your bike to the city.
Jul 26, 2015
We love Mackinaw KOA. Will stay again. However, matresses are hard and need bathroom in back of campground.
Jul 26, 2015
The camp sites are flat, shaded and nice size. The bath house is nice. The 6 showers for the entire campground is co-ed. Need 1 more smaller bath house. It is shaded and management is very nice. The shuttle to Shepler's is very convenient.
Jul 26, 2015
We had a great stay in mackinaw city was a very quit park
Jul 26, 2015
Great proximity to attractions!
Jul 26, 2015
we enjoyed our stay
Jul 25, 2015
My friends and I went up for a 4 day, 3 night trip to visit Mackinac Island and the U.P. Mackinaw City KOA was a perfect place for us to start and end our busy days. The accommodations were excellent and all of the KOA staff was knowledgeable about the city and very friendly! I would highly recommend staying here. Thanks for a great trip!
Jul 25, 2015
The best KOA we have been to! Will come back again.
Jul 25, 2015
Nice park. Our site was a little too close to a main road however we were only there for a couple of nights so it was fine and I liked the site because it was close to the bathroom. Bathrooms were clean, water was hot even after many people had showered and I really enjoyed the mature trees that were all around us
Jul 25, 2015
inadequate restrooms for this many campsites resulting in lines for stalls. Men's and women's restrooms connecting to shared shower area is a safety concern.
Jul 24, 2015
Friendly staff. Well kept grounds. Being a tent camper it would be nice to have paths to "cut" thru to get to restrooms.
Jul 24, 2015
Great management - clean sites and restrooms
Jul 24, 2015
Friendly staff and pretty setting
Jul 23, 2015
Campground was nice and staff helpful and friendly. Very close to downtown and also a nice beach less than 2 miles down road. Did not care for the shared showers room.
Jul 23, 2015
Wonderful, clean, quiet. A++++
Jul 23, 2015
very clean, very nice people. will be back to camp again.
Jul 23, 2015
Would defiantly stay here again. Staff very helpful cabin was the best we have ever stayed in and a very peaceful and relaxing campground
Jul 23, 2015
Kristy in office was super. Sites are small and tight. Overall this campground looks tired. Pool is in poor shape, grass needs trimming, paint touched up, firepits dirty, picnic tables black with dirt, etc. Needs some TLC.
Jul 23, 2015
We stayed there about 5 years ago an really liked the park which is why I booked again. This time I found that the site was very small (narrow), bathrooms were run down (bad curtains, floors and walls) and the pool is not heated. I was not impressed given the nightly rate as I could spend about $5 more per night and have much better amentities. We will not return to this park.
Jul 23, 2015
The staff was so nice and the campground was beautiful. I am definitely going to plan another stay there sometime soon!
Jul 22, 2015
Needs work. Sites need gravel or grass. Not very well kept and overall appearance is lacking Not what we expected from KOA in a resort area.
Jul 22, 2015
Sights need to be maintained. Roads and sights need to be rocked Garbage should not be seen were you come it.will not come back
Jul 22, 2015
Jul 22, 2015
Ladies restrooms had loose taps, not really clean. Need better locks on showers.
Jul 22, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
We had a lovely time. The park is wonderful, clean and quiet! We will be back!
Jul 21, 2015
Sites are way too small. The people in neighboring campsite were just steps away from our tent when they were sitting around their campfire. I called before making reservations because they have a one tent per site policy. We are a family of 3 with 2 small tents, I was told it was fine since they were small. While we were there camping we were told that it wasn't acceptable, very frustrating.
Jul 21, 2015
the campground was weedy and poorly kept. Could use more gravel on the roads and at the camp sites. Cable had poor reception. The people were friendly at the office.
Jul 21, 2015
Stayed in a kabin - price very high compared to other KOA's. WiFi didn't work at all from our Kabin. Store was nice.
Jul 21, 2015
The campground was very nice. We camped in the back tent sites. We didn't want to disturb others while camping since we were a bunch of rowdy kids, and we didn't have any complaints. The bathrooms were kept up well, and the beach right down the road is very nice. Everyone was very friendly, except one employee who was a bit rude to my friend and I. But, we didn't see him again after.
Jul 21, 2015
Very clean, friendly helpful staff. However, site 82 is dangerous, lots of large tree roots (condusive to wooded lots camping), the picnic table sat in a depression and we had to walk on a "ledge" to manuvuer around the camper, not safe for elderly or young children. This will not keep me from camping here again, I will make sure that I specifically ask not to have that site again.
Jul 20, 2015
Our stay was great, quiet, well patrolled. Our thanks to the staff for accomodating our requests and making us feel welcomed. When we arrived they even remembered we where celebrating our annisversary this week! Kudos for the customer service!
Jul 20, 2015
Dirt roads surrounded this campground and every time a vehicle went by the dust just rolled. Camp site was 90% dirt and grass only grew at the tent sites. Pool was very nice though.
Jul 20, 2015
Our stay was a good experience. Cabin was very clean, restrooms were clean, staff was very friendly
Jul 20, 2015
I had a great time
Jul 20, 2015
Great shuttle service to the ferry. Right beside the city bicycle path
Jul 20, 2015
The staff was very kind and knowledgeable of the area. My kids were very happy. We can't wait to visit again. : )
Jul 20, 2015
I liked everything about it except for your tent regulations. There were tents out there that were the size of apartments in Chicago. I had 2 small tents for single person only. So, if there are 6 grown people in one huge tent and only 2 people in 2 small tents, how is this regulated? Other than that, I had a great time!
Jul 20, 2015
VERY pleased 1st the person at the desk was very friendly. The sites are roomy and clean and the campground was quiet. Will definitely go back there next time I am camping in the area.
Jul 20, 2015
Great stay. Friendly staff that was very accommodating.
Jul 20, 2015
Campground is quiet, could not see the lake or bridge as noted. Sites are narrow and are not level unless you pay for the higher priced lots. Will go to Mill Creek for less, with a better location in August. It's cleaner too.
Jul 20, 2015
Clean and nice campground. WIFI and TV do not work.
Jul 19, 2015
Completely helpful staff!! Definitely going to stay there the next time we come to Mackinaw.
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Excellent experience! Showers were nice and the whole bathroom was kept very clean. Great location, which allowed us to make several day trips to Mackinaw Island, into Mackinaw City, Tahquamenon Falls, and the Soo Locks, but come back to the camp to relax. The nicest staff ever, they were always helpful and knowledgeable in the local area. Glad this was a part of our epic Michigan tour.
Jul 19, 2015
Our stay was choice because it is close to our family who live near there. The city with so much to do and see is close. Your walking trail was liked bY us and family! It is a clean environment for us especially in the wash rooms. The overall experience was great. We have stayed a number of times before!! Thank You All!!
Jul 19, 2015
U didn't make a effort to put Emmons and the Betterley's together. Out of 21 KOA's Mackinaw City KOA and Cody KOA didn't care so we won't be back.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.